# Discovery Map - Brand slug: discovery-map - Legal name: Discovery Map International, Inc - Industry: B2B Supplies - FDD year: 2025 (MN) - Source: https://www.cards.commerce.state.mn.us/CARDS/ - FranchiseDepth page: https://franchisedepth.com/franchise/discovery-map/ - Hand-checked against the FDD: yes ## Fees and investment (Items 5-7) - initial_fee_low_usd: 25,000 - initial_fee_high_usd: 25,000 - royalty_pct: 10 - royalty_min_monthly_usd: not disclosed - marketing_fee_pct: 1 - marketing_min_monthly_usd: not disclosed - tech_fee_monthly_usd: not disclosed - total_investment_low_usd: 29,250 - total_investment_high_usd: 36,300 - liquid_capital_usd: not disclosed - net_worth_usd: not disclosed ## Fee notes Royalty 10% of printed advertising, 25% of website ads. Advertising 1% of gross sales. DPS fee $2,200/year. ## Outlets, closure rate, growth and all-in fee - total_outlets: 116 - franchised_outlets: 116 - company_outlets: 0 - states_count: 28 - closure_rate_pct: 4.1 - closures: 14 - closures_not_itemized: 0 - reacquired: 1 - franchised_outlet_years: 345 - closure_year_from: 2023 - closure_year_to: 2025 - closure_ranking_eligible: yes - growth_pct: -1.7 - growth_outlets_from: 118 - growth_outlets_to: 116 - growth_year_from: 2023 - growth_year_to: 2025 - growth_ranking_eligible: yes - all_in_fee_pct: 11 - all_in_basis: royalty + marketing fund ## Comparable revenue - annual_revenue_usd: 53,210 - basis: median, franchises publishing map in fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, completed selling cycle, standard sizes (102 outlets) ## Item 19 figures | metric | cohort | outlets | avg | median | min | max | period | page | |---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---| | Gross Sales (Average Sales per Map) | franchises publishing map in fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, completed selling cycle, standard sizes | 102 | 58,171 | 53,210 | 10,430 | 214,930 | fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 | 33 | ## Franchised outlet turnover by year (Item 20 Table 3) | year | start | opened | terminated | non-renewed | reacquired | ceased | transferred | end | |---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---| | 2023 | 114 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 15 | 113 | | 2024 | 113 | 11 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 118 | | 2025 | 118 | 4 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 116 | ## Revenue relative to cost (revenue is not profit) - comparable_annual_revenue_usd: 53,210 - investment_midpoint_usd: 32,775 - revenue_to_investment: not disclosed - royalty_pct: 10 - revenue_per_royalty_point_usd: 5,321 ## Rank against peers | metric | value | rank | peers | peer median | order | peer group | |---|---|---|---|---|---|---| | inv_low | 29,250 | 18 | 70 | 78,025 | lowest first | B2B Supplies | | fee_low | 25,000 | 24 | 65 | 35,900 | lowest first | B2B Supplies | | royalty | 10 | 36 | 47 | 7 | lowest first | B2B Supplies | | allin | 11 | 38 | 47 | 7.5 | lowest first | B2B Supplies | | outlets | 116 | 21 | 68 | 41.5 | highest first | B2B Supplies | | growth | -1.7 | 26 | 44 | 0 | highest first | B2B Supplies | | closure | 4.1 | 13 | 40 | 6.55 | lowest first | B2B Supplies | ## Similar alternatives (closest first) 1. Coastal Angler Magazine (same industry; investment from $28,975) 2. AmSpirit (same industry; investment from $21,400) 3. City Lifestyle (same industry; investment from $37,600) 4. RedKnight (same industry; investment from $17,900) 5. Dealer Specialties International (same industry; investment from $17,400) 6. Unishippers (same industry; investment from $17,365) 7. Schmidt (same industry; investment from $44,743) 8. Sculpture Hospitality (same industry; investment from $45,500) 9. Network Lead Exchange (same industry; investment from $12,450) 10. City Publications (same industry; investment from $46,300)