FranchiseDepth's picture
Free sample: 25 US franchise brands, 2026 edition
d80b6eb verified
|
Raw History Blame Contribute Delete
5.89 kB

Tuffy

Fees and investment (Items 5-7)

  • initial_fee_low_usd: 30,000
  • initial_fee_high_usd: 30,000
  • royalty_pct: 5
  • royalty_min_monthly_usd: not disclosed
  • marketing_fee_pct: 5
  • marketing_min_monthly_usd: not disclosed
  • tech_fee_monthly_usd: not disclosed
  • total_investment_low_usd: 222,000
  • total_investment_high_usd: 723,500
  • liquid_capital_usd: not disclosed
  • net_worth_usd: not disclosed

Fee notes

$30,000 standard fee; reduced fees for additional units ($25k/2nd, $20k/3rd, $15k/4th, $10k/5th+); area developers pay $5,000 per franchise opened; initial advertising fee $3,000-$15,000 additional

Outlets, closure rate, growth and all-in fee

  • total_outlets: 129
  • franchised_outlets: 101
  • company_outlets: 28
  • states_count: 14
  • closure_rate_pct: 2
  • closures: 7
  • closures_not_itemized: 0
  • reacquired: 53
  • franchised_outlet_years: 348
  • closure_year_from: 2022
  • closure_year_to: 2024
  • closure_ranking_eligible: yes
  • growth_pct: -20.9
  • growth_outlets_from: 163
  • growth_outlets_to: 129
  • growth_year_from: 2022
  • growth_year_to: 2024
  • growth_ranking_eligible: yes
  • all_in_fee_pct: 10
  • all_in_basis: royalty + marketing fund

Comparable revenue

  • annual_revenue_usd: 1,343,137
  • basis: median, 59 franchised Tuffy Auto Service Centers in operation at least two full calendar years (as of December 31, 2024) with at least four bays (59 outlets)

Item 19 figures

metric cohort outlets avg median min max period page
Gross Sales-2024 59 franchised Tuffy Auto Service Centers in operation at least two full calendar years (as of December 31, 2024) with at least four bays 59 1,416,325 1,343,137 468,196 4,916,047 Calendar Year 2024 45
Annual Car Count-2024 59 franchised Tuffy Auto Service Centers in operation at least two full calendar years (as of December 31, 2024) with at least four bays 59 3,283 2,979 789 13,719 Calendar Year 2024 45
Average Repair Ticket Amount-2024 59 franchised Tuffy Auto Service Centers in operation at least two full calendar years (as of December 31, 2024) with at least four bays 59 466 432 235 1,284 Calendar Year 2024 45
Cost of Goods Sold as a Percentage of Sales-2023 59 franchised Tuffy centers that reported cost of goods sold 59 35.34 30 21.02 75.06 2023 per table row labels (Item 19 narrative says calendar year 2024) 45
Labor as a Percentage of Sales-2023 57 franchised Tuffy centers that reported labor cost 57 24.06 25.1 0 70.24 2023 per table row labels (Item 19 narrative says calendar year 2024) 45
Rent as a Percentage of Sales-2023 51 franchised Tuffy centers that reported rent 51 7.25 6.39 0 19.81 2023 per table row labels (Item 19 narrative says calendar year 2024) 45

Franchised outlet turnover by year (Item 20 Table 3)

year start opened terminated non-renewed reacquired ceased transferred end
2022 145 4 4 1 41 0 not disclosed 103
2023 103 9 1 0 11 0 not disclosed 100
2024 100 3 1 0 1 0 not disclosed 101

Agreement terms (Item 17)

  • term_years: 15
  • renewal_count: 3
  • renewal_term_years: 5
  • renewal_fee: The Franchise Agreement automatically renews unless you elect not to renew or we do not consent to renewal. As conditions to renewal, we may require that you release us from claims, execute our standard form of License Agreement in use at the time of renewal and renovate your franchise location…
  • transfer_fee: Transfer fee paid (amount not specified in Item 17 table)
  • cure_period_days: 10
  • noncompete_post_term_years: 2
  • noncompete_post_term_radius_miles: 5
  • dispute_resolution: mediation
  • governing_law_state: OH
  • fdd_page: 38

Revenue relative to cost (revenue is not profit)

  • comparable_annual_revenue_usd: 1,343,137
  • investment_midpoint_usd: 472,750
  • revenue_to_investment: 2.84
  • royalty_pct: 5
  • revenue_per_royalty_point_usd: 268,627

Rank against peers

metric value rank peers peer median order peer group
inv_low 222,000 13 22 203,500 lowest first Repair & Maintenance
fee_low 30,000 10 23 30,000 lowest first Repair & Maintenance
royalty 5 1 16 6.45 lowest first Repair & Maintenance
allin 10 11 16 8 lowest first Repair & Maintenance
outlets 129 9 23 62 highest first Repair & Maintenance
growth -20.9 14 14 -2.25 highest first Repair & Maintenance
closure 2 5 14 3.4000000000000004 lowest first Repair & Maintenance

Similar alternatives (closest first)

  1. Meineke (same sub-category; investment from $224,898)
  2. Car Doctor Plus (same sub-category; investment from $218,000)
  3. AAMCO (same sub-category; investment from $236,800)
  4. Michelin Commercial Service Network (same sub-category; investment from $189,000)
  5. Honest1 (same sub-category; investment from $255,750)
  6. Precision Tune Auto Care (same sub-category; investment from $181,601)
  7. Merlin (same sub-category; investment from $264,745)
  8. Mr. Transmission / Milex Complete Auto Care (same sub-category; investment from $267,500)
  9. Summit Auto Calibration (same sub-category; investment from $160,550)
  10. Bosch Auto Service (same sub-category; investment from $146,600)