Unnamed: 0
int64
0
6.53k
text
stringlengths
29
6.12k
label
int64
0
51
2,290
white house says trade bill generally good white house spokesman marlin fitzwater said the administration had some disagreements with the trade bill that cleared a house subcommittee yesterday but generally felt good about the bill generally we feel very good about the bipartisan consideration of the trade legislation ...
48
849
pakistan s foreign exchange reserves fall pakistan s foreign exchange reserves fell to billion rupees in february from billion in january compared with billion in february the state bank of pakistan said the bank gave no reason for the fall but local bankers said big import bills had affected the reserves the federal b...
40
6,374
wormald to acquire stake in holmes protection fire protection and security group wormald international ltd woia s said british listed holmes protection group inc has agreed to issue it with mln common shares of one u s cent par value at stg each the two groups have also begun exploratory talks on a possible merger of t...
0
5,619
poloron products inc year oper net oper shr cts vs cts oper net vs revs mln vs mln note excludes loss of mln dlrs or dlrs shr vs gain of dlrs or cts from discontinued operations also excludes extraordinary gain equal to cts shr ended dec and ended nov in company changed fiscal year end to dec reuter
12
669
buffton corp buff buys b and d instruments buffton corp said it completed the purchase of b and d industruments inc for two mln dlrs cash and shares of common stock it said b and d is a private company headquartered in kansas and had sales of dlrs in buffton said the company designs and manufactures aviation computer d...
0
6,507
people ridesharing systems ride st qtr net shr primary profit two cts vs loss nine cts shr diluted profit one cent vs loss six cts net profit vs loss revs vs avg shrs vs note full name of company is people ridesharing systems inc reuter
12
2,720
central pennsylvania cpsa buys stake in firm central pennsylvania savings association said it made a pct investment in pinnacle mortgage investment co terms were not disclosed pinnacle incorporated in generates about mln dlrs in closed mortgage loans annually central pennsylvania also said its directors recently approv...
0
2,538
national pizza piza corrects figure national pizza co said the seven straw hat piza restaurants in los angeles and bakersfield calif that it announced plans to buy friday are expected to generate annual sales of about dlrs not the eight mln dlrs the company originally announced the company said it will convert the rest...
0
1,684
comtech inc cmtl nd qtr jan net oper shr profit one ct vs profit two cts oper net profit vs profit sales vs st half oper shr profit two cts vs loss cts oper net profit vs loss sales vs backlog mln vs mln note current year net excludes tax credits of dlrs in quarter and dlrs in half reuter
12
6,001
union bank raises its prime rate to pct the union bank subsidiary of standard chartered plc said today it was raising its prime lending rate to pct from pct effective immediately reuter
22
6,050
guinness to sell retail interests guinness plc guin l said that as part of a new strategy for the company it will be selling its retail interests to concentrate resources on developing its international beverage businesses among the firms to be sold are martin s and gordon drummond pharmacies the eleven convenience sto...
0
4,624
asta group inc unit in loan purchase asta group inc said its pct owned liberty service corp affiliate has purchased about mln dlrs face value of credit card installment receivables from a major financial institution it did not name for a significant discount from face value it said the portfolio consists mostly of char...
12
4,030
safeguard scientific sfe unit buys subsidiary safeguard scientific inc said its subsidiary coherent communications systems corp purchased a telecommunications equipment business for an undisclosed amount of cash notes and coherent common stock safeguard said it bought the business unit from comsat telesystems inc a sub...
0
2,793
macgregor sporting goods inc mgs nd qtr jan shr one cent vs nine cts net vs sales mln vs mln first half shr cts vs five cts net vs sales mln vs mln note net includes gains of dlrs or one cent a share vs dlrs or seven cts a share in quarter and dlrs or seven cts a share vs dlrs or one cent a share in half from tax loss ...
12
1,031
carmel container systems ltd kml year oper net oper shr dlrs vs cts oper net vs revs mln vs mln avg shrs vs note excludes gain of dlrs vs dlrs from benefit of tax loss carryforward results for tel aviv israel based company translated at rate of one dlr to new israeli shekels reuter
12
3,227
ohio art co oar sets quarterly qtly div six cts vs six cts prior pay may eight record april reuter
12
3,345
fleet flt aims to speed merger with norstar fleet financial group hopes its proposed merger with norstar bancorp nor ranked as the largest u s banking merger can be completed by the beginning of according to an executive of fleet robert lougee director of corporate communications for rhode island based fleet told reute...
0
4,146
american express board approved nippon life purchase of shearson interest
0
2,694
ashland oil chairman sees loss from operations in the second fiscal quarter
12
5,250
csm systems inc csms year ended dec loss shr loss cts vs profit cts net loss vs profit revs vs note earnings per share restated retroactively for all periods to reflect pct stock dividend in april and pct stock split september revenues include progress receivables on long term contracts not billed to customers and refl...
12
5,673
p c quote inc pcqt year loss shr loss cts vs loss cts net loss vs loss sales vs reuter
12
1,657
bayer usa bayry affiliates increased sales bayer usa inc said sales of its affiliated operating cmpanies based in the u s increased in by pct from the previous year combined sales were billion dlrs up from billion dlrs in the company said however the company said net income was mln dlrs three pct below bayer said its o...
12
1,965
wiener enterprises inc wpb year jan net shr cts vs cts qtly div cts vs cts prior net vs sales mln vs mln note dividend pay april record april nine reuter
12
5,384
harper international hnt in acquisition harper international inc said it intends to buy the major asset patents and trade name of demarkus corp a designer and installer of process gas systems for the soft drink and brewing industries the purchase price is about dlrs demarkus sales were dlrs in reuter
0
723
first savings bank florida fsbf sets meeting first savings bank of florida said it expects a special shareholder meeting to be held around may to consider the proposed merger into gibraltar financial corp gfc it said the annual meeting will be held april to elect two directors and ratify the appointment of auditors reu...
0
4,847
nichols institute lab st qtr feb net shr two cts vs one ct net vs revs mln vs reuter
12
4,530
crossland savings crld acquires western savings crossland savings fsb said it has acquired western savings and loand co with the assistance of the federal savings and loan insurance corp crossland said salt lake city based western has been combined with its two florida based thrift subsidiaries the parent company contr...
0
2,967
cross boosts frost and sullivan frsl holdings a shareholder group led by new york investor theodore cross said in a securities and exchange commission filing that it boosted its stake in frost and sullivan inc common stock to shares or pct of the total outstanding the group said cross bought shares in the open market b...
0
870
baker international corp sues hughes tool seeking merger completion
0
2,146
southland slc unit raises crude postings southland corp s citgo petroleum corp said it raised the contract price it will pay for crude oil cts a barrel effective today the increase bring s citgo s posted price for the west texas intermediate and west texas sour grades to dlrs a barrel the light louisiana sweet south on...
10
2,495
clark equipment ckl stake acquired clark equipment co said it was informed by arthur m goldberg acting on behalf of a group of investors that the group had accumulated shares or about pct of clark s outstanding common stock it said goldberg recently approached clark to repurchase the shares however negotiations for the...
0
3,150
first connecticut fco sets quarterly payout qtly div cts vs cts prior pay april record april three note first connecticut small business investment co reuter
12
5,830
monsanto mtc invests in biotechnology biod biotechnology development corp said its medicontrol corp subsidiary received a dlr investment by monsanto co s g d searle and co subsidiary the company said the investment was made pursuant to an option searle held and increases searle s stake in medicontrol to pct with a tota...
0
4,280
claremont to boost champion products ch stake claremont group ltd a new york investment banking firm said it intends to boost its current pct stake in champion products inc to as much as pct of the total outstanding common stock claremont added that it asked champion to put two representatives on its nine member board ...
0
6,414
wall street stocks marion labs mkc marion laboratories inc s stock rose sharply today after the company presented a bullish earnings scenario at a meeting for pharmaceutical analysts monday traders and analysts said the company said it expects earnings for fiscal ending june to rise more than pct over a year ago that p...
12
2,272
german bank sees good soviet trade prospects soviet west german trade is expected to develop favourably due to moscow s increasing openness to east west economic relations dresdner bank ag s moscow representative michael stein said he told a bank presentation the soviet union was last year hit by the fall in world oil ...
48
3,553
burnup and sims inc bsim rd qtr jan net shr profit five cts vs loss cts net profit vs loss revs mln vs mln avg shrs mln vs mln nine mths shr profit cts vs loss cts net profit vs loss revs mln vs mln avg shrs mln vs note current year net both periods includes dlr gain from sale of property reuter
12
1,348
swiss industrial output rises in fourth qquarter swiss industrial output rose nine pct in the fourth quarter last year after a four pct third quarter decline and was up three pct from the final three months of the federal office of industry trade and labour said for the full year the index base stood at after up four p...
23
3,147
vista chemical vc sees year net higher vista chemical co said it expects earnings for the year ending september to be up substantially but extensive planned downtime at two of its plants is expected to affect third quarter results it said it is looking at a number of financial options for increasing shareholder value b...
12
2,572
colombia coffee exporters believe in pragmatism private coffee exporters say colombia s more pragmatic coffee marketing policy will ensure that the country does not suffer excessively from current depressed prices and erratic market conditions gilberto arango president of the exporters association said in an interview ...
5
4,076
phh phh buys two design firms phh group inc said it acquired two design firms for undisclosed terms in the two firms neville lewis associates of new york and walker associates inc of l a produced mln dlrs in total fees reuter
0
3,637
harmon hrmn to buy recycling firm for cash harmon industries inc said it signed a letter of intent to acquire for about mln dlrs a majority of the stock of snp inc a portland oregon based company which has patents to reprocess used railroad ties into new ties for resale reuter
0
5,272
heritage communications hci in special meeting heritage communications inc said it expects to hold a special shareholder meeting in may to consider its proposed acquisition by an investor group including members of senior management and tele communications inc tele the company said it is seeking to obtain all regulator...
0
1,532
u s sells mo bills at pct stop pct mo pct stop pct
22
873
baker bko sues to force hughes ht merger baker international corp said it has filed suit in state court in houston to compel hughes tool co to complete its proposed merger with baker late yesterday hughes said it had terminated the merger agreement because baker would not agree to an alternative divestiture plan devise...
0
4,178
swire seen reporting pct rise in profit swire pacific ltd swpc hkg is likely to show a more than pct rise in operating profits when it reports results tomorrow reflecting gains in its aviation and property businesses share analysts said analysts polled by reuters estimated after tax profits from operations will be betw...
12
2,050
trinity industries inc trn sets quarterly qtly div cts vs cts prior pay april record april reuter
12
1,535
u s bill auction rates average pct the u s treasury said its weekly auction of three month bills produced an average rate of pct with a pct rate on six month bills these rates compared with averages of pct for the three and pct for the six month bills sold last week the bond equivalent yield on three month bills was pc...
22
5,067
restaurant associates ra a sets st qtr gain restaurant associates industries inc said it expects to record a pretax gain of mln dlrs in the first quarter from the sale and lease of real estate the company said it received a mln dlrs partial payment in connection with the sale of property in manhattan and an additional ...
0
5,643
echo bay has nevada gold discovery echo bay mines ltd said it discovered a gold deposit in the cove area near its mccoy gold mine in nevada echo bay said it encountered gold in of drill holes at cove it said seven holes averaged ounce gold a short ton and ounces of silver with the seven intersections averaging feet in ...
16
1,163
residential mortgage investments inc rmi payout qtly div cts vs cts prior pay april record march reuter
12
4,219
prudential corp plc prul l year shr p vs p adjusted div p making p vs p adjusted pretax profit mln vs mln tax and minorities mln vs mln profit attributable mln vs mln pretax profit includes long term business mln vs mln general insurance business underwriting loss mln vs mln investment income mln vs mln trading loss ml...
12
3,404
u k money market given mln stg assistance the bank of england said it provided the money market with mln stg in assistance this morning this compares with the bank s revised shortage forecast of around mln stg the central bank purchased bank bills outright at the new dealing rates established yesterday these comprised ...
32
1,102
cambior inc five mths dec net shr cts vs not given net vs not given revs mln vs not given reuter
12
1,698
bankers trust co raises broker loan rate bankers trust co said it raised its broker loan rate to pct from seven pct effective immediately u s trust co which also quotes its broker loan rate publicly is posting a pct rate reuter
22
2,130
new hampshire savings nhsb to buy bank new hampshire savings bank corp said it agreed to buy seashore bankshares inc in an exchange of stock according to the terms of the deal it said seashore s shares will be exchanged for mln dlrs of new hampshire savings stock it said seashore bankshares has assets of about mln dlrs...
0
3,819
hudson s bay co year oper shr profit cts vs loss dlrs
12
4,131
saxon oil development partners sax in payout qtly div two cts vs two cts prior pay may record march note full name saxon oil development partners lp reuter
12
613
empi inc empi th qtr loss shr loss cts vs profit cts net loss vs profit sales mln vs mln mths shr loss cts vs profit cts net loss vs profit sales mln vs nine mln reuter
12
5,157
islamic banks establish mln dlr trade portfolio the islamic development bank idb and islamic banks signed an agreement to establish a mln dlr trade portfolio to finance trade among islamic countries idb sources said they said idb s share in the portfolio which will only finance exports and imports of the private sector...
48
4,800
anchor glass agls now sees higher st qtr net anchor glass container corp said first quarter net income is now expected to exceed the mln dlrs earned before extraordinary items in the year earlier quarter previously the company had said first quarter results would likely be lower than for the period due to production di...
12
1,849
restaurant associates inc ra th qtr jan shr cts vs cts net mln vs mln revs mln vs mln year shr cts vs cts net mln vs mln revs mln vs mln note th qtr includes loss from carryforward shares restated to give effect to to one stock split in the form a pct class a dividend in august reuter
12
2,456
u k money market deficit forecast revised upwards the bank of england said it had revised its estimate of the shortage in the money market today up to billion stg before taking account of its early operations earlier the bank forecast the deficit at billion stg and gave mln stg assistance at an early round of bill offe...
32
766
e systems inc esy sets quarterly qtly div cts vs cts prior pay april one record march reuter
12
5,022
essilor international essi pa year ended dec provisional consolidated net attributable profit mln francs vs mln investments mln vs mln dividend on ordinary shares francs vs francs dividend on priority shares francs vs francs reuter
12
3,017
hallwood group inc hwg nd qtr jan loss shr loss nine cts vs profit cts net loss vs profit revs vs six mths shr profit nine cts vs profit cts net profit vs profit revs vs note includes tax loss carryforward gains of dlrs vs dlrs in quarter and gains of dlrs vs dlrs in the six months reuter
12
2,739
pay n save payn st qtr jan net shr profit one ct vs loss cts net profit vs loss sales mln vs mln reuter
12
5,526
telecast tcst completes acquisition financing telecast inc said it closed on the financing portion of its previously announced acquisition of approximately hotel rooms from dynavision inc the three mln dlr financing package was provided by sanwa business credit corp a subsidiary of sanwa bank ltd of japan the company s...
0
1,115
n z december quarter retail sales fall pct retail sales in the quarter ended december fell a seasonally adjusted pct compared with a pct rise in the september quarter and a pct fall a year ago period the statistics department said actual retail sales in the december quarter totalled billion n z dlrs compared with billi...
41
1,591
gkn plc gknl l year shr p vs p final div p making p vs p pre tax profit mln stg vs mln net profit befire minorities mln vs mln sales billion stg vs billion extraordinary debit mln vs mln trading surplus after depreciation mln stg vs mln investment and interest income mln vs mln interest payable mln vs mln profits from ...
12
5,777
u k intervention board details ec sugar sales a total tonnes of current series white sugar received export rebates of a maximum european currency units ecus per kilos at today s european community ec tender the u k intervention board said out of this traders in france received tonnes in west germany in belgium in the u...
45
2,897
analysts see early one point cut in u k base rate british bank base lending rates are likely to fall by as much as one full point to pct this week following the sharp three billion stg cut in the u k central government borrowing target to four billion stg set in today s budget bank analysts said the analysts described ...
22
4,155
amstutz says farm trade accord possible in u s agriculture undersecretary daniel amstutz said it is possible to reach a global agreement to scale back agricultural supports in calendar speaking to a senate agriculture appropriations committee hearing amstutz said i think we can reach agreement in calendar amstutz said ...
48
5,429
japan to cut microchip output boost imports leading domestic semiconductor makers will boost imports and cut production of key memory microchips from next month in line with government attempts to ward off u s trade sanctions company spokesmen said the moves might persuade the u s to call off the sanctions despite obst...
48
1,074
fairfield communities inc fci mos dec shr loss dlrs vs profit cts net loss mln vs profit mln revs mln vs mln note year ago figures based on months ended february because company changed reporting period to end december months loss includes mln dlrs writedown of certain assets reuter
12
6,054
rank makes increased avana offer final ranks hovis mcdougall plc rhml l said it was making an increased and final offer for the avana group plc avna l the company already holds about pct or mln avana ordinary shares it said in a statement the terms of the offer will be new rank hovis shares for every five avana ordinar...
0
4,097
geo a hormel and co hrl qtly div cts vs cts previously pay may record april reuter
12
3,389
embargoed for release at gmt thurs march uk feb adjusted unemployment fell total mln or pct official
26
801
itel itel gets financing for anixter buy itel corp said it obtained commitments from a syndicate of banks for a six year secured loan of about mln dlrs and had separately filed registration statements for two public offerings for a total of mln dlrs to fund its december acquisition of anixter bros inc it said one of th...
0
2,816
viceroy resource corp details gold assays viceroy resource corp said recent drilling on the lesley ann deposit extended the high grade mineralization over a width of feet assays ranged from ounces of gold per ton over a foot interval at a depth of to feet to ounces of gold per ton over a foot interval at a depth of to ...
16
3,133
timberland industries inc timb th qtr net shr cts vs cts net vs sales mln vs mln year shr cts vs cts net vs sales mln vs mln reuter
12
3,472
countrywide credit industries inc ccr th qtr feb end shr cts vs cts shr diluted cts vs cts net vs revs mln vs mln avg shrs mln vs mln shr dlrs vs cts shr diluted dlrs vs cts net mln vs revs mln vs mln note share adjusted for stock dividends declared through today reuter
12
6,178
mangood corp mab year oper loss oper shr loss vs loss dlrs oper net loss vs loss sales mln vs mln avg shrs vs note earnings exclude a gain on restructuring of dlrs or dlrs a share reuter
12
6,222
new york futures exchange to relocate lewis horowitz president of the new york futures exchange said the new york stock exchange board yesterday approved in principle an agreement to relocate the futures exchange at the new york cotton exchange the agreement is subject to the approval of the cotton exchange board which...
7
745
computer horizons chrz in acquisition computer horizons corp said it purchased computerknowledge inc a software training education company headquartered in dallas terms were not disclosed reuter
0
4,063
swedish gnp rose less than expected figures show sweden s gross national product rose pct last year against pct in mainly due to a lower than forecast growth in exports and a sharp fall in total investments the central bureau of statistics reported private consumption rose pct during against pct in whereas the finance ...
15
2,150
seal sinc acquires ademco ltd seal inc said it acquired ademco ltd a united kingdom company which distributes mounting and laminating equipment and supplies for a combination of cash and stock valued at mln dlrs based on current exchange rates seal said it will pay up to an additional mln dlrs contingent on the market ...
0
4,638
u s shoe inc th qtr shr cts vs cts
12
266
mutual of omaha interest shares muo qtly div qtly div cts vs cts prior pay april one record march reuter
12
5,540
treasury s baker says u s backs stability treasury secretary james baker said the united states and the five other industrialized nations signing the recent paris accord remain committed to fostering the exchange rate at around current levels but he declined to comment on what he believed to be an appropriate level of ...
32
285
final trust for thrift institutions payout set massachusetts financial services co said it has set the final income and capital gain distributions for trust for thrift institutions high yield series of dlrs and dlrs respectively payable today reuter
12
208
corning to offer share for each hazleton share under earlier agreement
0
4,865
technitrol inc tnl sets quarterly qtly div cts vs cts prior pay april record april seven reuter
12
6,464
partnership buys pct orange co oj stake parsow partnership ltd an elkhorn neb investment partnership said it bought a pct stake in orange co inc common stock as an investment in a filing with the securities and exchange commission parsow said it had bought all its orange co shares in the open market with funds from its...
0
861
nigerian currency firms at latest auction the nigerian naira firmed pct against the dollar after banks were disqualified from bidding at today s weekly foreign exchange auction the central bank said the naira finished at to the dollar against last week only mln dlrs of the mln dlrs on offer was sold with all bidding ba...
32
27
assets of u s money funds rose in week assets of money market mutual funds increased mln dlrs in the week ended yesterday to billion dlrs the investment company institute said assets of institutional funds rose mln dlrs to billion dlrs general purpose funds rose mln dlrs to billion dlrs and broker dealer funds rose mln...
33
1,169
treasury s baker forecasts reduction in japanese trade surplus this year
48
5,771
tempo enterprises inc tpo year net shr cts vs cts net vs revs mln vs mln reuter
12
2,738
harris ups centerre bancorp ctbc stake harris associates l p a chicago investment advisor said it raised its stake in centerre bancorporation to shares or pct of the total outstanding from shares or pct in a filing with the securities and exchange commission harris said it bought centerre common shares between jan and ...
0
1,617
swiss sight deposits fall billion francs sight deposits of commercial banks at the swiss national bank fell billion swiss francs in the first days of march to billion the national bank said foreign exchange reserves rose billion francs to billion sight deposits are a major indicator of money market liquidity in switzer...
32