Unnamed: 0
int64
0
5.48k
text
stringlengths
29
5.29k
label
int64
0
7
1,481
ranchmen s resources ltd year loss shr loss seven cts vs loss dlrs net profit vs loss revs mln vs mln note current shr after preferred dividends of mln dlrs prior shr and net includes mln dlr writedown on oil properties reuter
2
436
magellan corp sets merger with balzac magellan corp said it has entered into a letter of intent to acquire balzac investments inc in a transaction that will result in former balzac shareholders owning about pct of the combined company the company said on completion of the merger the combined company wopuld be known as ...
0
1,596
canada january trade surplus mln dlrs canada had a trade surplus of mln dlrs in january compared with an upward revised mln dlrs surplus in december statistics canada said the december surplus originally was reported at mln dlrs the january surplus last year was billion dlrs january exports seasonally adjusted were bil...
7
4,538
smith international inc sii th qtr loss newport beach calif shr loss dlrs vs loss dlrs net loss mln vs mln revs mln vs mln year shr loss dlrs vs loss dlrs net loss mln vs loss mln revs mln vs mln note current qtr net includes pretax charges of mln dlrs against inventory adjustments and currency costs related to fluctua...
2
15
brazil anti inflation plan limps to anniversary inflation plan initially hailed at home and abroad as the saviour of the economy is limping towards its first anniversary amid soaring prices widespread shortages and a foreign payments crisis announced last february the plan froze prices fixed the value of the new cruzad...
7
4,571
hapag orders new container ship from china hapag lloyd ag said it ordered a new container vessel from china for its australia service the order was given to the hudong shipyards in shanghai after lengthy negotiations with west german shipbuilders the company said in a statement the chinese firm offered to build the ves...
6
5,009
wall street stocks loral corp lor loral corp climbed to amid rumors the company might be a takeover target of general electric co ge however analysts said they were skeptical jack welch doesn t want any more exposure to defense markets said one analyst who heard the rumors but doubted their accuracy the reference was t...
0
4,997
itel itel buys castle cooke cke unit assets itel corp said it has completed the previously announced acquisition of the container fleet and related assets of castle and cooke inc s flexi van leasing inc subsidiary for about mln dlrs in cash and marketable securities mln dlrs in notes three mln common shares and the ass...
0
1,380
tenera lp tlpzv sets initial quarterly tenera lp said it will make an initial quarterly distribution of cts per unit on april to holders of record march the partnership said the dividend is greater than it had expectd to pay and was warranted by fourth quarter results and anticipated results for this year s first quart...
2
998
midmississippi river opens today for season the mississippi river is now open for barge traffic up to the twin cities in minnesota after repairs were completed and the first barges moved upstream through lock and dam near quincy ill at cst today an army corps of engineers spokesman said about to inches of ice were repo...
6
773
eqk green acres lp ega raises quarterly qtly div cts vs cts prior pay aug record june reuter
2
3,803
general computer corp gccc rd qtr feb net shr cts vs cts net vs revs vs avg shrs vs nine mths shr cts vs cts net vs revs mln vs avg shrs vs reuter
2
1,648
circuit city stores inc cc sets quarterly qtly div cts vs cts prior pay april record march reuter
2
4,274
galactic resources ltd galcf year loss shr loss dlrs net loss mln revs mln note prior results not given shr and net include change in accounting policy resulting in loss of mln dlrs or dlrs share results in u s funds reuter
2
2,977
first financial ffmc bids for comdata cdn first financial management corp said it has offered to acquire comdata network inc for dlrs per share in cash and stock or a total of about mln dlrs the company said for each comdata share it would exchange half a first data share and enough cash to bring the total value up to ...
0
1,271
bank board says mortgage rates down in february the federal home loan bank board said interest rates on both fixed rate and adjustable rate home mortgage loans were down substantially in early february the bank board said the average effective commitment rate for fixed mortgages with a maturity of at least years for ne...
4
2,675
st joseph light saj sets split hikes payout st joseph light and power corp said its board declared a three for two stock split and raised the quarterly dividend on presplit shares to cts per share from cts the company said the dividend is payable may to holders of record may and the split is subject to approval by shar...
2
2,643
chemclear inc cmcl terminates merger talks chemclear inc said it terminated merger talks with environmental systems co esc chemclear said it was unable to reach agreement with environmental which was considering buying chemclear chemclear said it is considering other options including other business combinations and fi...
0
1,570
bangladesh port workers end strike cargo handling resumed at bangladesh s chittagong port today after workers ended their three day walk out triggered by a pay dispute port officials said loading and unloading of ships stranded by the strike started this morning and will be completed as quickly as possible they said th...
6
2,660
corrected university patents inc upt nd qtr qtr ends jan oper shr loss cts vs loss cts oper loss vs loss revs vs six mths oper shr loss cts vs loss cts oper loss vs loss revs vs note prior year excludes losses from discontinued operations of cts per share in the quarter and cts per share in the year corrects march item...
2
558
pyro energy corp btu year net shr cts vs cts net vs revs mln vs mln reuter
2
4,133
entertainment publications epub sees loss entertainment publications inc said it expects an after tax loss of cts a share in its third quarter from the disposal of three units it closed the company said its board approved a plan to discontinue the operations of three subsidiaries which are primarily involved in direct ...
2
4,598
magellan petroleum corp mpet rd qtr jan shr loss nil vs profit nil net loss vs profit revs vs avg shrs mln vs mln nine mths shr profit nil vs loss one ct net profit vs loss revs vs avg shrs mln vs mln note net includes tax credits of dlrs vs dlrs in quartrer and dlrs vs dlrs in nine mths reuter
2
4,741
royex makes bid for international corona royex gold mining corp said it is making an offer for international corona resources ltd of dlrs per share and dlrs per warrant the offer covers four mln corona common shares and all outstanding dlr corona share purchase warrants expiring august royex said royex said that if it ...
0
318
swiss capital exports rise in january swiss capital exports rose to billion francs in january after billion in december and a year earlier billion the swiss national bank said new bond issues accounted for billion of the total after december s billion and credits mln after mln in january before the national bank ended ...
7
142
davis water dwws declares stock dividend davis water and waste industries inc said its board declared a pct stock dividend payable march to holders of record march reuter
2
3,527
german february import prices fall import prices in west germany fell pct in february from january to stand pct below their level in february the federal statistics office said in january the import price index base was unchanged compared with december but pct lower against january february export prices same base as i...
7
4,634
arvin industries sees flat st qtr per share net compared with cts last year
2
1,377
katy industries inc kt th qtr net oper shr profit cts vs loss cts oper net profit vs loss sales mln vs mln year oper shr profit cts vs loss cts oper net profit vs loss sales mln vs mln note earnings exclude losses from discontinued consolidated operations of dlrs or eight cts a share vs dlrs or cts a share in the quart...
2
3,307
japan long term prime seen cut to record low soon japan s long term banks will soon cut their prime rate now at a record low pct by or percentage point in response to falling secondary market yields on their five year debentures long term bankers said the long term prime rate is customarily set percentage point above t...
4
3,296
world bank likely to urge changes on jakarta world bank president barber conable is expected to press indonesia the third world s sixth largest debtor to maintain the momentum of economic policy changes to tackle the slump in its oil revenues western diplomats said conable who flew to indonesia yesterday from tokyo wil...
1
4,849
boliden says it now leader in mining gear swedish mining and metals group boliden ab blds st said the takeover of the u s allis chalmers corp s ah o mining machinery division made it the world s leading maker of such equipment president kjell nilsson announcing the mln crown deal told a news conference boliden would no...
0
158
corning glw hazleton hlc set excahnge ratio corning glass works said the exchange ratio for its previously announced acquisition of hazleton laboratories corp has been established at corning common share for each hazleton common share corning said the prospectus regarding the merger is expected to be mailed tomorrow to...
0
4,291
southam to sell pct interest in brandon sun southam inc said it agreed to sell its pct interest in sun publishing co ltd which publishes the brandon sun to majority shareholder publisher lewis d whitehead terms were not disclosed southam said the proposed sale resulted from an offer made by whitehead whose family has h...
0
1,797
citgo raises crude postings cts today wti to dlrs bbl
1
4,750
american pacesetter aec th qtr net oper shr profit cts vs loss six cts oper net profit vs loss revs mln vs mln avg shrs vs year oper shr profit dlrs vs profit three cts oper net profit vs profit revs mln vs mln avg shrs vs note current qtr figures exclude gain from discontinued operations of dlrs or cts per share vs lo...
2
499
power corp of canada th qtr net oper shr cts vs cts oper net vs revs mln vs mln year oper shr dlrs vs cts oper net vs revs mln vs mln note fourth quarter results exclude extraordinary and other items which raised final net to dlrs or cts a share and lowered final net to dlrs or cts a share in full year results exclude ...
2
1,408
mem co inc mem declares qtly div qtly div cts vs cts prior pay may record march reuter
2
3,336
general partners in gencorp gy proxy fight general partners the group tendering for all gencorp inc shares at dlrs each said it has started soliciting proxies against gencorp s proposals to increase its number of authorized shares outstanding create a board with staggered election dates and eliminate cumulative voting ...
0
4,609
capital bancorp capb sees gain on unit sale capitol bancorp said it has sold its pct interest in cap mortgage co inc for mln dlrs adding this is expected to result in an after tax gain of about dlrs to be reported in the first quarter capitol bancorp said the cap mortgage interest was sold to michael m bronstein presid...
2
1,781
tony loma co inc tlam th qtr shr profit nil vs loss cts net profit vs loss revs mln vs mln year shr loss cts vs loss cts net loss vs loss revs mln vs mln note net includes extraordinary gain of dlrs or cts per share reuter
2
2,731
enron ene to pay dividends on preferred enron corp said it will pay accrued second quarter dividends on the three series of preferred stock it will redeem on may the company said it will pay second quarter accrued dividends to the redemption date of cts per share on the pct stock cts on pct and cts on pct reuter
2
3,214
central banking system inc csys qtly dividend qtly div ten cts vs ten cts pay april record april reuter
2
4,004
bp units seek five billion dlr revolving credit bp international and bp north america are seeking a five billion dlr four year syndicated credit facility in support of british petroleum co plc s tender offer for the pct of standard oil co it does not already own morgan guaranty trust co of new york said as arranger the...
0
1,100
sierra pacific resources inc srp dividend qtly div cts vs cts prior payable may one record april reuter
2
1,226
advo system inc advo sees break even nd qtr advo system inc said it could report a break even second quarter ending march compared with a loss of mln dlrs or cts a share in fiscal s second quarter ended march advo said it previously announced it would report a net loss for the quarter reuter
2
3,015
tri star trsp buys cineplex theater tri star pictures inc said it agreed to acquire the roosevelt field century theatre from canada s cineplex odeon corp s rko century warner theatres inc for mln dlrs the recently refurbished and expanded theater is located in garden city n y reuter
0
448
ccr video st qtr nov net shr cts vs nil net vs sales vs reuter
2
46
coleco industries clc sees profit in coleco industries inc said it expects to return to profitability in earlier coleco reported a net loss of mln dlrs for the year ended december compared to a profit of mln dlrs in the year earlier in a prepared statement the company said the dramatic swing in operating results was du...
2
204
mercury entertainment corp mcry year nov shr loss four cts vs loss one ct net loss vs loss revs vs reuter
2
1,202
bally bly to take mln dlr st qtr charge bally manufacturing corp said it expects a charge to earnings in the first quarter of this year of mln dlrs as a result of its deal to buy back mln of its common shares from real estate developer donald trump in a filing with the securities and exchange commission the chicago bas...
2
3,705
resorts int l rt a receives takeover offer resorts international inc said it received a proposal from ksz co inc under which holders of resorts class b stock would receive dlrs a share in cash and one share of common stock in a new company to be formed through the takeover under the offer resorts said holders of its cl...
0
609
digicon dgc completes sale of unit digicon inc said it has completed the previously announced disposition of its computer systems division to an investment group led by rotan mosle inc s rotan mosle technology partners ltd affiliate reuter
0
1,817
chock full o nuts corp nd qtr jan loss new york march oper shr loss cts vs profit cts oper net loss vs profit revs mln vs mln six mths oper shr loss cts vs profit cts oper net loss vs profit revs mln vs mln note year ago oper excludes loss from discontinued operations of dlrs for qtr and dlrs for six mths reuter
2
3,658
kodak ek to cut polyester fiber operations eastman kodak co said it will reduce capacity and employment levels in two polyester fiber operations of its eastman chemicals division a company spokesman said the company will take some writeoff in connection with the action in the first quarter and there will probably be a ...
2
793
holder proposes unitel unv sale or liquidation michael landes a major stockholder in unitel video inc said he has asked the company to consider liquidating or selling some or all of its assets mr landes has requested the company to implement a program to maximize shareholder values which might include a sale of all or ...
0
4,902
staodynamics inc sdyn th qtr net shr three cts vs six cts net vs revs vs avg shrs vs year shr cts vs eight cts net vs revs vs avg shrs vs reuter
2
238
franklin high yield tax free sets payout mthly div cts vs cts prior pay march record march note franklin high yield insured tax free income fund reuter
2
3,904
cyclops corp reforms board after dixons group fails to get majority of cyclops stock
0
5,462
group raises texstyrene foam stake to pct an investor group led by dart container corp a sarasota fla plastic utensil maker told the securities and exchange commission it raised its stake in texstyrene corp to common shares or of the total outstanding the group said it bought the shares for investment and intends to co...
0
2,594
morgan grenfell says profits hit by guinness morgan grenfell group plc said its pre tax profits were lower than forecast because of depreciation in the value of its guinness plc guin l shares and because of securities trading losses in the u s morgan chairman lord catto said the losses on the group s seven mln guinness...
2
4,450
clayton and dubilier inc sells burpee privately held clayton and dubilier inc said it has sold w atlee burpee co to a new company formed by wicks capital corp bankers trust new york corp bt and burpee management for undisclosed terms the garden supply company was acquired from itt corp itt in december along with o m sc...
0
1,346
telephone and data systems inc tds th qtr net oper shr cts vs cts oper net vs revs mln vs mln avg shrs vs year oper shr cts vs cts oper net vs revs mln vs mln avg shrs vs note net excludes discontinued operations gain dlrs vs loss dlrs in quarter and gain dlrs vs loss dlrs in year net both periods includes charge dlrs ...
2
2,963
greyhound g buys general motors gm bus unit greyhound corp said it has signed a definitive agreement to buy general motors corp s u s transit bus and parts business for an undisclosed sum the agreement tentatively set in january includes production tooling design and equipment for urban transit buses inventories and tr...
0
5,395
tele communications tcoma sells cable systems knight ridder inc kri said its tkr cable co joint venture with tele communications inc has signed a letter of intent to acquire cable television systems with basic subscribers in wildwood n j and ramapo and warwick n y from tele communications for undisclosed terms reuter
0
4,264
tokheim corp tok st qtr feb net shr cts vs cts net vs rev mln vs mln reuter
2
3,135
sunshine mining co th qtr shr loss cts vs loss cts
2
2,420
noel industries inc nol st qtr jan loss shr loss cts vs loss cts net loss vs loss revs vs reuter
2
3,802
oakridge holdings inc nd qtr dec net shr cts vs four cts net vs sales vs six mths shr cts vs cts net vs sales vs note net includes a gain of cts a share from the sale of a funeral home and tax credits of cts net includes tax credits of one cent in the quarter and cts in the six months period reuter
2
1,330
ultramar says fourth quarter showed improvements ultramar plc umar l said that while its fourth quarter had improved from the operational point of view several special charges adversely affected results overall the year had not been a good one with upstream operations dramatically hit by the fall in crude oil prices an...
2
61
drexel official has stake in epsilon data epsi a senior official of drexel burnham lambert inc and his father told the securities and exchange commission they have acquired shares of epsilon data management inc or pct of the total outstanding kenneth thomas senior vice president investments at drexel s los angeles offi...
0
1,439
gevaert nv gevn br year consolidated group net profit billion francs vs billion net financial and operating profit billion vs mln extraordinary earnings mln vs mln net dividend francs vs reuter
2
4,899
guillevin international inc year jan net shr cts vs cts net vs sales mln vs mln reuter
2
5,155
utilicorp ucu seeks to split stock utilicorp united inc said its management is recommending to the board of directors a three for two stock split and an increase in the quarterly cash dividend rate currently at cts per common share the company said it is also submitting to shareholders at its may annual meeting a propo...
2
5,056
first national bank of boston bkb raises prime the first national bank of boston the main banking unit of bank of boston said it is raising its prime lending rate to pct from pct effective immediately reuter
4
4,003
lucas industries plc lucs l halfyear ended jan shr p vs p interim div p vs same pre tax profit mln stg vs mln net profit before minorities mln vs mln turnover mln vs mln trading profit mln stg vs mln related companies profit mln vs mln interest payable mln vs mln reorganisation and redundancy costs mln vs mln tax mln v...
2
1,434
lord abbett and co declares mutual fund divs lord abbett value appreciation fund annual div cts vs cts prior long term capital gain vs cts prior short term capital gain cts vs cts prior pay april record march lord abbett u s government securities fund daily div cts vs cts prior pay april record april lord abbett tax fr...
2
2,107
trade interests ready for fight in u s congress u s lawmakers are gearing up for a showdown between protectionists and free traders as a major trade bill winds its way through committees to a vote by the full house of representatives in late april in a move to toughen u s enforcement of trade laws a key house subcommit...
7
4,116
pay n pak stores inc pnp th qtr feb net shr cts vs cts net vs revs mln vs mln year shr cts vs cts net vs revs mln vs mln reuter
2
3,923
john labatt sees good fourth quarter year john labatt ltd anticipates a good fourth quarter and a new peak in sales and earnings for the fiscal year ending april president peter widdrington told financial analysts he would not make any specific forecast but said he was optimistic for further growth in fiscal in the com...
2
2,354
qintex again extends princeville pvdc offer qintex america ltd said its offer for mln princeville development corp shares has been extended to march from march as of yesterday qintex said princeville shares had been tendered in response to the offer and not withdrawn down from over mln on march qintex said it is extend...
0
2,124
diversified industries dei st qtr oper net period ended jan oper shr two cts vs eight cts oper net vs sales mln vs mln avg shrs vs note full name is diversified industries inc earnings exclude gains from utilization of tax loss carryforwards of dlrs or one ct a share vs dlrs or six cts a share reuter
2
4,401
scientific micro smsi sees higher revenues scientific micro systems inc said it expects first quarter revenues to rise by about pct to mln dlrs compared with the mln reported for the first quarter last year the company said it experienced revenue growth across all product lines during the quarter it also said revenue g...
2
754
general refractories grx to sell operations general refractories co said it agreed to sell its european refractories and building products operations for about mln dlrs to an austrian investor group the european operations had sales of mln dlrs in the last year for which results have been released the company said the ...
0
907
brown transport co inc btci th qtr net shr profit cts vs profit cts net profit vs profit revs mln vs mln avg shrs mln vs mln mths shr profit dlrs vs loss cts net profit vs loss revs mln vs mln avg shrs mln vs mln reuter
2
1,470
jim walter jwc busy owens corning ocf plant jim walter corp said it completed the acquisition of owens corning fiberglas corp s mineral ceiling and fiberboard plant in meridian miss terms were not disclosed the plant s operations will complement existing ceiling materials production within jim walter s building materia...
0
3,649
microsize inc msiz nd qtr ends feb net shr profit one cent vs loss cts net profit vs loss revs vs six mths shr profit one cent vs loss four cts net profit vs loss revs vs reuter
2
2,901
economic spotlight u s deficit with nics the u s trade deficit with taiwan and korea is expected to widen this year despite some economic and currency adjustments by the two newly industrialized countries economists said the surpluses that taiwan and korea ran with the u s in will get bigger this time next year the u s...
7
3,450
auditors lift qualification on brunswick bc auditors of brunswick corp lifted a four year qualification on the company s financial statements vice president finance frederick florjancic told securities analysts here the financial results for the diversified leisure and defense aerospace company had been qualifed by art...
2
1,708
flight international group inc flti rd qtr periods ended january shr profit cts vs loss cts net profit vs loss revs vs nine mths shr profit cts vs loss three cts net profit vs loss revs mln vs mln note year ago revenues include dlrs in quarter and dlrs in nine months from operations of subsidiary sold in april reuter
2
2,000
forest city feca completes sale forest city enterprises inc said it completed the previously announced sale of assets of its retail store division excluding real estate to handy andy home improvement centers inc a private gurnee ill firm the sale is for cash and notes but exact terms were not disclosed reuter
0
1,326
gkn pretax profit mln stg vs mln
2
2,940
burke parsons bowlby corp sets regular payout qtrly div three cts vs three cts prior pay may record april reuter
2
2,222
new plan realty trust npr nd qtr net qtr ends jan shr cts vs cts net vs revs vs avg shrs mln vs mln six mths shr cts vs cts net vs revs mln vs mln avg shrs mln vs mln note earnings were restated to reflect the three for two stock split on april one reuter
2
2,885
u k money market given mln stg late assistance the bank of england said it provided the money market with late assistance of around mln stg this brings the bank s total help today to some mln stg and compares with its forecast of a shortage in the sytem of around mln stg reuter
5
1,613
dudley taft to pursue taft broadcast tfb bid taft broadcasting co vice chairman dudley taft and narragansett capital inc narr said they intend to pursue their effort to acquire taft broadcasting despite the rejection yesterday of their dlr per share offer by the taft broadcasting board dudley taft and narragansett in a...
0
3,928
wesco financial corp wsc th qtr net shr cts vs dlrs net vs revs mln vs mln year shr dlrs vs dlrs net vs revs mln vs mln note current qtr figures include securities gain of mln dlrs or cts per share vs gain of mln dlrs or dlrs per share current year figures include security gain of mln dlrs or cts per share vs gain of m...
2
312
corrected major swiss banks raise customer time deposit rates point to pct credit suisse
4
4,332
straits trading co ltd stcm si year shr cts vs cts fin div cts vs cts group net mln dlrs vs mln turnover mln dlrs vs mln note fin div pay may record may reuter
2
378
knutson mortgage corp knmc sets quarterly qtly div cts vs cts prior pay april record march reuter
2