FranchiseDepth's picture
Free sample: 25 US franchise brands, 2026 edition
d80b6eb verified
|
Raw History Blame Contribute Delete
8.64 kB

Dogtopia

Fees and investment (Items 5-7)

  • initial_fee_low_usd: 40,095
  • initial_fee_high_usd: 49,500
  • royalty_pct: 7
  • royalty_min_monthly_usd: not disclosed
  • marketing_fee_pct: 2
  • marketing_min_monthly_usd: not disclosed
  • tech_fee_monthly_usd: 899
  • total_investment_low_usd: 664,355
  • total_investment_high_usd: 1,478,820
  • liquid_capital_usd: not disclosed
  • net_worth_usd: not disclosed

Fee notes

Standard fee $49,500; 10% multi-unit discount to $44,550; veteran discount: $44,550 first Center or $40,095 subsequent Center. REAFC Fee additional $15,500-$44,500 depending on conversion/ownership status. Pre-opening tech fee $250/month; microsite setup $700 one-time.

Outlets, closure rate, growth and all-in fee

  • total_outlets: 266
  • franchised_outlets: 225
  • company_outlets: 41
  • states_count: 37
  • closure_rate_pct: 0.7
  • closures: 4
  • closures_not_itemized: 0
  • reacquired: 2
  • franchised_outlet_years: 599
  • closure_year_from: 2023
  • closure_year_to: 2025
  • closure_ranking_eligible: yes
  • growth_pct: 9
  • growth_outlets_from: 244
  • growth_outlets_to: 266
  • growth_year_from: 2023
  • growth_year_to: 2025
  • growth_ranking_eligible: yes
  • all_in_fee_pct: 9
  • all_in_basis: royalty + marketing fund

Comparable revenue

  • annual_revenue_usd: 915,213
  • basis: median, Franchised Stores, open 24+ months as of 12/27/2025 (169 outlets)

Item 19 figures

metric cohort outlets avg median min max period page
2025 Gross Sales for All Qualifying Outlets – All Outlet Types All Qualifying Outlets (Franchised + Company & Affiliated), open 24+ months as of 12/27/2025 202 935,548 921,160 295,287 2,153,303 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 64
2025 Gross Sales for Franchised Qualifying Outlets – All Franchised Stores, open 24+ months as of 12/27/2025 169 927,566 915,213 295,287 1,876,551 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 64
2025 Gross Sales for Company & Affiliated Qualifying Outlets – All Company & Affiliated Stores, open 24+ months as of 12/27/2025 33 976,425 937,399 565,111 2,153,303 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 64
2025 Gross Sales – Franchised Operating 24 to 36 Months Franchised Stores Operating 24 to 36 Months 26 861,559 838,627 378,182 1,362,555 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 64
2025 Gross Sales – Franchised Operating 36+ Months Franchised Stores Operating 36+ Months 143 939,567 920,536 295,287 1,876,551 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 64
2025 Gross Sales – All Outlets Operating 24 to 36 Months All Outlets (Franchised + Company & Affiliated) Operating 24 to 36 Months 28 843,049 820,238 378,182 1,362,555 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 64
2025 Gross Sales – All Outlets Operating 36+ Months All Outlets (Franchised + Company & Affiliated) Operating 36+ Months 174 950,433 928,292 295,287 2,153,303 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 64
Net Operating Margin – All Qualifying Outlets (Table 6) All Qualifying Outlets – Franchised + Company & Affiliated (134 outlets) 134 19.2 18.9 -39.4 51.4 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 63
Net Operating Margin – All Franchised Qualifying Outlets (Table 6a) All Franchised Qualifying Outlets (101 outlets) 101 18.5 19.4 -36 51.4 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 63
Net Operating Margin – Franchised $0-$900,000 Sales Bracket (Table 6a) Franchised Stores with $0-$900,000 Annual Gross Sales (2025) 34 9.3 14.7 -36 29.1 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 63
Net Operating Margin – Franchised $900,000-$1,000,000 Sales Bracket (Table 6a) Franchised Stores with $900,000-$1,000,000 Annual Gross Sales (2025) 13 14.7 16.9 -4.1 32.6 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 63
Net Operating Margin – Franchised $1,000,000-$1,500,000 Sales Bracket (Table 6a) Franchised Stores with $1,000,000-$1,500,000 Annual Gross Sales (2025) 52 21.7 21.2 5.6 51.4 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 63
Net Operating Margin – Franchised $1,500,000+ Sales Bracket (Table 6a) Franchised Stores with $1,500,000+ Annual Gross Sales (2025) 2 28.6 28.7 21.4 36 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 63
2025 Gross Sales – Franchised Bottom 25% by Sales (Table 9a) Franchised Stores Bottom 25% by 2025 Gross Sales 42 555,451 588,558 295,287 698,476 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 65
2025 Gross Sales – Franchised Next 25% (26-50th pct) by Sales (Table 9a) Franchised Stores Next 25% (26th-50th percentile) by 2025 Gross Sales 42 800,345 792,896 698,950 910,959 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 65
2025 Gross Sales – Franchised Next 25% (51-75th pct) by Sales (Table 9a) Franchised Stores Next 25% (51st-75th percentile) by 2025 Gross Sales 42 1,013,135 1,002,715 915,213 1,130,574 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 65
2025 Gross Sales – Franchised Top 25% by Sales (Table 9a) Franchised Stores Top 25% by 2025 Gross Sales 43 1,331,715 1,312,781 1,132,640 1,876,551 2025 fiscal year (ended December 27, 2025) 65

Franchised outlet turnover by year (Item 20 Table 3)

year start opened terminated non-renewed reacquired ceased transferred end
2023 174 33 0 0 2 0 not disclosed 205
2024 205 15 0 0 0 0 not disclosed 220
2025 220 9 2 0 0 2 not disclosed 225

Agreement terms (Item 17)

  • term_years: 10
  • renewal_count: 1
  • renewal_term_years: 10
  • renewal_fee: You must: not be in default; give us timely notice; have substantially complied with the Franchise Agreement; sign then-current form of franchise agreement; sign general release (subject to state law); pay renewal fee; remodel Center and upgrade furniture, fixtures and equipment to current standards; complete refresher training (if we require it); and extend lease for duration of renewal term.
  • transfer_fee: You must: submit transfer application; be in compliance with Franchise Agreement; assign lease, if applicable; pay transfer fee; subordinate transferee's ongoing payments owed to you (if any) to transferee's financial obligations owed to us; and sign general release (subject to state law).
  • cure_period_days: 30
  • noncompete_post_term_years: 2
  • noncompete_post_term_radius_miles: 15
  • dispute_resolution: mediation
  • governing_law_state: AZ
  • fdd_page: 56

Revenue relative to cost (revenue is not profit)

  • comparable_annual_revenue_usd: 915,213
  • investment_midpoint_usd: 1,071,587
  • revenue_to_investment: 0.85
  • royalty_pct: 7
  • revenue_per_royalty_point_usd: 130,745

Rank against peers

metric value rank peers peer median order peer group
inv_low 664,355 13 17 470,000 lowest first Daycare & Boarding
fee_low 40,095 7 17 49,000 lowest first Daycare & Boarding
royalty 7 12 17 6 lowest first Daycare & Boarding
allin 9 13 17 8 lowest first Daycare & Boarding
outlets 266 1 16 12.5 highest first Daycare & Boarding
growth 9 17 28 12.65 highest first Pet Services
closure 0.7 5 27 2.8 lowest first Pet Services

Similar alternatives (closest first)

  1. Hounds Town USA (same sub-category; investment from $667,610)
  2. All American Pet Resorts (same sub-category; investment from $687,500)
  3. District Dogs (same sub-category; investment from $622,225)
  4. Camp Run-A-Mutt (same sub-category; investment from $588,900)
  5. A Dog's Day Out (same sub-category; investment from $749,750)
  6. Central Bark (same sub-category; investment from $522,474)
  7. DoggieWorld (same sub-category; investment from $470,000)
  8. Camp Bow Wow (same sub-category; investment from $954,606)
  9. Dogdrop (same sub-category; investment from $356,050)
  10. Playful Pack (same sub-category; investment from $286,250)