Supercuts uses a Development Fee structure in lieu of a separate Initial Franchise Fee for new franchisees (those signing after September 29, 2011). The Development Fee serves as full payment for development and franchise rights: $39,500 for a Single Salon, $69,500 for 3-Salon Fast Start, $99,500 for 6-Salon Fast Start, plus $10,000 for each additional Salon beyond 6. There is no separate Initial Franchise Fee charged under the Franchise Agreement for these new franchisees. Existing franchisees who signed before September 30, 2011 pay lower Development Fees ($10,000–$12,500 per Salon) and $0 Initial Franchise Fee. During the last fiscal year, Development Fees ranged from $0 to $39,500, reflecting possible waivers or reductions in unique situations.
Outlets, closure rate, growth and all-in fee
total_outlets: 1,801
franchised_outlets: 1,701
company_outlets: 100
states_count: 47
closure_rate_pct: 7.6
closures: 478
closures_not_itemized: 0
reacquired: 108
franchised_outlet_years: 6257
closure_year_from: 2023
closure_year_to: 2025
closure_ranking_eligible: yes
growth_pct: -13.3
growth_outlets_from: 2,077
growth_outlets_to: 1,801
growth_year_from: 2023
growth_year_to: 2025
growth_ranking_eligible: yes
all_in_fee_pct: 11
all_in_basis: royalty + marketing fund
Comparable revenue
annual_revenue_usd: 297,216
basis: median, TOTALS (1,661 outlets)
Item 19 figures
metric
cohort
outlets
avg
median
min
max
period
page
Average Gross Sales / Median Gross Sales / Max Gross Sales / Min Gross Sales
Top
553
478,554
438,149
356,437
1,199,963
Fiscal Year 2024-2025 (July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025)
66
Average Gross Sales / Median Gross Sales / Max Gross Sales / Min Gross Sales
Mid
554
300,051
297,217
250,731
356,384
Fiscal Year 2024-2025 (July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025)
66
Average Gross Sales / Median Gross Sales / Max Gross Sales / Min Gross Sales
Bottom
554
188,594
195,944
35,691
250,421
Fiscal Year 2024-2025 (July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025)
67
Average Gross Sales / Median Gross Sales / Max Gross Sales / Min Gross Sales
TOTALS
1,661
322,306
297,216
35,691
1,199,963
Fiscal Year 2024-2025 (July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025)
67
Franchised outlet turnover by year (Item 20 Table 3)
year
start
opened
terminated
non-renewed
reacquired
ceased
transferred
end
2023
2,252
14
0
0
0
196
not disclosed
2,070
2024
2,070
10
0
0
0
145
not disclosed
1,935
2025
1,935
11
0
0
108
137
not disclosed
1,701
Revenue relative to cost (revenue is not profit)
comparable_annual_revenue_usd: 297,216
investment_midpoint_usd: 254,695
revenue_to_investment: 1.17
royalty_pct: 6
revenue_per_royalty_point_usd: 49,536
Rank against peers
metric
value
rank
peers
peer median
order
peer group
inv_low
185,930
10
17
184,794
lowest first
Hair Salon
fee_low
39,500
8
17
39,500
lowest first
Hair Salon
royalty
6
4
13
6
lowest first
Hair Salon
allin
11
12
13
8
lowest first
Hair Salon
outlets
1,801
2
17
48
highest first
Hair Salon
growth
-13.3
8
11
0.3
highest first
Hair Salon
closure
7.6
8
11
5.8
lowest first
Hair Salon
Similar alternatives (closest first)
Lemon Tree (same sub-category; investment from $184,794)
SmartStyle (same sub-category; investment from $184,440)
Great Clips (same sub-category; investment from $187,800)
Sharkey's Cuts for Kids (same sub-category; investment from $189,415)
Cost Cutters (same sub-category; investment from $180,990)
Snip-its Salon (same sub-category; investment from $200,455)
Sit Still (same sub-category; investment from $157,984)
Primp and Blow (same sub-category; investment from $144,970)
Hair Cuttery (same sub-category; investment from $230,462)
Cookie Cutters (same sub-category; investment from $138,200)