Datasets:
|
Download profiles/discovery-map.md from FranchiseDepth/franchise-database-sample: direct link, hf CLI and curl.
- Browser
- Download file 3.81 kB
-
https://huggingface.co/datasets/FranchiseDepth/franchise-database-sample/resolve/main/profiles/discovery-map.md
- Command line
-
hf download hf://datasets/FranchiseDepth/franchise-database-sample/profiles/discovery-map.md
-
curl -L -o discovery-map.md https://huggingface.co/datasets/FranchiseDepth/franchise-database-sample/resolve/main/profiles/discovery-map.md
3.81 kB
Discovery Map
- Brand slug: discovery-map
- Legal name: Discovery Map International, Inc
- Industry: B2B Supplies
- FDD year: 2025 (MN)
- Source: https://www.cards.commerce.state.mn.us/CARDS/
- FranchiseDepth page: https://franchisedepth.com/franchise/discovery-map/
- Hand-checked against the FDD: yes
Fees and investment (Items 5-7)
- initial_fee_low_usd: 25,000
- initial_fee_high_usd: 25,000
- royalty_pct: 10
- royalty_min_monthly_usd: not disclosed
- marketing_fee_pct: 1
- marketing_min_monthly_usd: not disclosed
- tech_fee_monthly_usd: not disclosed
- total_investment_low_usd: 29,250
- total_investment_high_usd: 36,300
- liquid_capital_usd: not disclosed
- net_worth_usd: not disclosed
Fee notes
Royalty 10% of printed advertising, 25% of website ads. Advertising 1% of gross sales. DPS fee $2,200/year.
Outlets, closure rate, growth and all-in fee
- total_outlets: 116
- franchised_outlets: 116
- company_outlets: 0
- states_count: 28
- closure_rate_pct: 4.1
- closures: 14
- closures_not_itemized: 0
- reacquired: 1
- franchised_outlet_years: 345
- closure_year_from: 2023
- closure_year_to: 2025
- closure_ranking_eligible: yes
- growth_pct: -1.7
- growth_outlets_from: 118
- growth_outlets_to: 116
- growth_year_from: 2023
- growth_year_to: 2025
- growth_ranking_eligible: yes
- all_in_fee_pct: 11
- all_in_basis: royalty + marketing fund
Comparable revenue
- annual_revenue_usd: 53,210
- basis: median, franchises publishing map in fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, completed selling cycle, standard sizes (102 outlets)
Item 19 figures
| metric | cohort | outlets | avg | median | min | max | period | page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales (Average Sales per Map) | franchises publishing map in fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, completed selling cycle, standard sizes | 102 | 58,171 | 53,210 | 10,430 | 214,930 | fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 | 33 |
Franchised outlet turnover by year (Item 20 Table 3)
| year | start | opened | terminated | non-renewed | reacquired | ceased | transferred | end |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 114 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 15 | 113 |
| 2024 | 113 | 11 | 5 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 10 | 118 |
| 2025 | 118 | 4 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 116 |
Revenue relative to cost (revenue is not profit)
- comparable_annual_revenue_usd: 53,210
- investment_midpoint_usd: 32,775
- revenue_to_investment: not disclosed
- royalty_pct: 10
- revenue_per_royalty_point_usd: 5,321
Rank against peers
| metric | value | rank | peers | peer median | order | peer group |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| inv_low | 29,250 | 18 | 70 | 78,025 | lowest first | B2B Supplies |
| fee_low | 25,000 | 24 | 65 | 35,900 | lowest first | B2B Supplies |
| royalty | 10 | 36 | 47 | 7 | lowest first | B2B Supplies |
| allin | 11 | 38 | 47 | 7.5 | lowest first | B2B Supplies |
| outlets | 116 | 21 | 68 | 41.5 | highest first | B2B Supplies |
| growth | -1.7 | 26 | 44 | 0 | highest first | B2B Supplies |
| closure | 4.1 | 13 | 40 | 6.55 | lowest first | B2B Supplies |
Similar alternatives (closest first)
- Coastal Angler Magazine (same industry; investment from $28,975)
- AmSpirit (same industry; investment from $21,400)
- City Lifestyle (same industry; investment from $37,600)
- RedKnight (same industry; investment from $17,900)
- Dealer Specialties International (same industry; investment from $17,400)
- Unishippers (same industry; investment from $17,365)
- Schmidt (same industry; investment from $44,743)
- Sculpture Hospitality (same industry; investment from $45,500)
- Network Lead Exchange (same industry; investment from $12,450)
- City Publications (same industry; investment from $46,300)