id
int64
0
3.9k
doc
stringlengths
268
6.34k
200
State Route 92 ( SR 92 ) is a state highway in the U.S. state of Arizona . Running roughly in an L shaped pattern , SR 92 begins at SR 90 in Sierra Vista and ends at a traffic circle in Bisbee along SR 80 , running entirely within Cochise County . The route was constructed and numbered as SR 92 in the late 1930s with a route that traveled further north past Sierra Vista than it does today . The routing was corrected in the 1960s . Route description SR 92 begins at an intersection with Fry Boulevard in Sierra Vista . SR 90 is the designation along the roads heading north and east from the intersection . From here , SR 92 heads south through Sierra Vista , passing by residential areas in a desert terrain . The road then passes through the town of unk while the west side of the route is flanked by the Coronado National Forest , in which Huachuca Mountains are located . SR 92 then turns eastward , passing within several miles within the Mexico United States border . The route passes the town of unk before turning northeast . The roadway enters the town of Bisbee , meeting its terminus at a traffic circle in the city . The highway is maintained by the Arizona Department of Transportation ( ADOT ) , which is responsible for maintaining SR 92 like all other highways around the state . As part of this role , ADOT periodically surveys traffic along its routes . These surveys are most often presented in the form of average annual daily traffic , which is the number of vehicles who use the route on any average day during the year . In 2009 , ADOT calculated that around as few as 3 , 700 vehicles used the route daily near unk and as many as 31 , 000 daily near the northern terminus at Sierra Vista . No part of the highway has been listed in the National Highway System , a system of roads in the United States important to the nation 's economy , defense , and mobility . History The highway was constructed between 1935 and 1938 , originating at SR 82 in Whetstone and heading south into Sierra Vista . From there , it turned east for a stretch and then turned south following its current route to Bisbee . At this time , the section of the route corresponding to the current routing was paved , while the northern section was still a gravel road . The northern section was improved in 1942 . Between 1961 and 1963 , SR 90 took over the segment of SR 92 north of Sierra Vista , leaving SR 92 to the section south of the city and east to Bisbee . Since then , the routing has not been modified . Junction list The entire route is in Cochise County .
201
In Norse mythology , Gn is a goddess who runs errands in other worlds for the goddess Frigg and rides the flying , sea treading horse Hfvarpnir ( Old Norse he who throws his hoofs about , hoof thrower or hoof kicker ) . Gn and Hfvarpnir are attested in the Prose Edda , written in the 13th century by Snorri Sturluson . Scholarly theories have been proposed about Gn as a goddess of fullness and as potentially cognate to Fama from Roman mythology . Hfvarpnir and the eight legged steed Sleipnir have been cited examples of transcendent horses in Norse mythology . Attestations In chapter 35 of the Prose Edda book Gylfaginning , the enthroned figure of High provides brief descriptions of 16 synjur . High lists Gn thirteenth , and says that Frigg sends her off to different worlds to run errands . High adds that Gn rides the horse Hfvarpnir , and that this horse has the ability to ride through the air and atop the sea . High continues that once some Vanir saw her path as she rode through the air and that an unnamed one of these Vanir says , in verse What flies there What fares there or moves through the air Gn responds in verse , in doing so providing the parentage of Hfvarpnir the horses unk and unk I fly not though I fare and move through the air on unk the one whom unk got with unk . The source for these stanzas is not provided and they are otherwise unattested . High ends his description of Gn by saying that from unk 's name comes the custom of saying that something unk looms when it rises up high . In the Prose Edda book Skldskaparml , Gn is included among a list of 27 synjur names . Theories Rudolf Simek says that the etymology that Snorri presents in Gylfaginning for the name Gn may not be correct , yet it is unclear what the name may otherwise mean , though Gn has also been etymologically theorized as a goddess of fullness . John Lindow calls the verse exchange between the Vanir and Gn strange and points out that it 's unclear why it should specifically be the Vanir that witness Gn flying through the air . Ulla unk cites Hfvarpnir and the eight legged horse Sleipnir as prime examples of horses in Norse mythology as being able to mediate between earth and sky , between unk , unk and unk and between the world of mortal men and the underworld . In the 19th century , Jacob Grimm proposed a cognate in the personified rumor in Roman mythology Fama . However , Grimm notes that unlike Fama , Gn is not described as winged but rather that Hfvarpnir , like the winged horse Pegasus , may have been .
202
The silver center cent is an American pattern coin , one of the precursors to the large cent and an early example of a bimetallic coin . Less than a dozen specimens are known to exist today , and they generally fetch substantial prices an uncirculated silver center cent sold at auction for 414 , 000 in January 2002 . That price was eclipsed by an example graded unk unk offered at auction in April 2012 , with a price tag of more than 1 million . Origins During the early years of the American republic , there was a general consensus that the intrinsic bullion value of the new nation 's coinage should be approximately equal to its face value . Some merchants would refuse to accept coins that did not meet this standard . For most denominations , bullion parity was achieved by producing the coins in a gold or silver alloy . However , the Coinage Act of 1792 specified that the cent was to consist of 11 unk ( 264 grains or 17 . 1 g ) of pure copper . Such a weight , needed to maintain intrinsic value , would have been too heavy for practical everyday use . U.S. Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson suggested an alternative a coin made of an alloy that was primarily copper , but that included enough silver to give a reasonably sized coin an intrinsic value of one cent . This billon alloy was considered by the U.S. Mint , but U.S. Treasury Secretary Alexander Hamilton feared that it would be too susceptible to counterfeiting , since its appearance differed little from that of pure copper . In 1792 , the Mint 's chief coiner , Henry Voight , hit upon a solution a copper planchet , slightly smaller than that of a modern quarter , with a small silver plug inserted in a center hole during the striking process . The silver plug would have been worth approximately 3 4 at contemporary bullion prices , while the copper planchet added an additional 1 4 of intrinsic value . Several such coins were produced as test pieces . Ultimately , the additional labor required for these bimetallic coins proved unsuitable for mass production , and the large cent that was produced for circulation starting in 1793 consisted of 208 grains of 100 copper . Design The obverse of the silver center cent features a Liberty head with flowing hair . The date appears below the portrait , and the words LIBERTY unk OF unk unk . are inscribed in a circular pattern around the central devices . The reverse design consists of a wreath with the words ONE unk in the center , and the fraction 1 100 below . Surrounding the wreath , UNITED STATES OF AMERICA is inscribed .
203
State Route 319 ( SR 319 ) is a very short , two lane state highway in the western portion of the U.S. state of Ohio . A spur route , SR 319 has its western terminus at an abandoned railroad grade just west of Washington Street in the village of Burkettsville . Its eastern terminus is 0 . 56 miles ( 0 . 90 km ) to the east of its western terminus at its junction with SR 118 . SR 319 was established in the early 1930s . It started out as a much longer highway , but earlier segments would become a part of SR 118 in the late 1930s . Route description For its entire length , SR 319 runs along the boundary between Darke County on the south side and Mercer County on the north side . SR 319 begins in downtown Burkettsville at a former railroad grade just west of Washington Street . Known as Main Street within Burkettsville , the route runs due east through the village 's central business district prior to entering a residential area where it intersects a few side streets . After leaving the village of Burkettsville , SR 319 becomes the boundary between Darke County 's Allen Township and Mercer County 's Granville Township . After a short distance through farmland , the highway comes to an end as it arrives at its junction with SR 118 . Continuing east after the route terminates is Darke Mercer County Line Road . The Ohio Department of Transportation ( ODOT ) conducts surveys throughout its highway system to determine traffic volume . This is most commonly expressed as the average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , or the measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2010 , ODOT determined that an average of 710 vehicles per day traveled along the length of SR 319 . This state highway is not included as a part of the National Highway System , a system of highways identified as being most important for the economy , mobility and defense of the nation . History SR 319 was assigned in 1932 . Originally , SR 319 included the entirety of the current route , along with the stretch of SR 118 from SR 319 north to SR 219 in Coldwater . In 1935 , SR 319 was extended further north along the present alignment of SR 118 to what was then designated as SR 32 , now a part of SR 29 , west of Celina . Two years later , SR 118 was extended south from its former southern terminus in Rockford to its present southern terminus in Greenville . Consequently , the entirety of what was the north south stretch of SR 319 prior to that time became a part of the new extension of SR 118 . In turn , SR 319 became the short spur route that it is today . Major intersections
204
HD 28185 b is an extrasolar planet approximately 138 light years away from Earth in the constellation of Eridanus . The planet was discovered orbiting the Sun like star HD 28185 in April 2001 as a part of the CORALIE survey for southern extrasolar planets , and its existence was independently confirmed by the Magellan Planet Search Survey in 2008 . HD 28185 b orbits its sun in a circular orbit that is at the inner edge of its star 's habitable zone . Discovery HD 28185 b was discovered by detecting small periodic variations in the radial velocity of its parent star caused by the gravitational attraction of the planet . This was achieved by measuring the Doppler shift of the star 's spectrum . In 2001 it was announced that HD 28185 exhibited a wobble along the line of sight with a period of 383 days , with an amplitude indicating a minimum mass 5 . 72 times that of Jupiter . Orbit and mass HD 28185 b takes 1 . 04 years to orbit its parent star . Unlike most known long period planets , the orbit of HD 28185 b has a low eccentricity , comparable to that of Mars in the Solar System . The orbit lies entirely within its star 's habitable zone . The amplitude of the radial velocity oscillations means that the planet has a mass at least 5 . 7 times that of Jupiter in the Solar System . However , the radial velocity method only yields a minimum value on the planet 's mass , depending on the orbital inclination to our line of sight . Therefore , the true mass of the planet may be much greater than this lower limit . Characteristics Given the planet 's high mass , it is most likely to be a gas giant with no solid surface . Since the planet has only been detected indirectly through observations of the star , properties such as its radius , composition , and temperature are unknown . Since HD 28185 b orbits in its star 's habitable zone , some have speculated on the possibility of life on worlds in the HD 28185 system . While it is unknown whether gas giants can support life , simulations of tidal interactions suggest that HD 28185 b could harbor Earth mass satellites in orbit around it for many billions of years . Such moons , if they exist , may be able to provide a habitable environment , though it is unclear whether such satellites would form in the first place . Additionally , a small planet in one of the gas giant 's Trojan points could survive in a habitable orbit for long periods . The high mass of HD 28185 b , of over six Jupiter masses , actually makes either of these scenarios more likely than if the planet was about Jupiter 's mass or less .
205
Route 413 is a 0 . 76 mile ( 1 . 22 km ) long state highway in New Jersey , United States . It is an eastward extension into New Jersey of the longer Pennsylvania Route 413 . The western terminus is in Burlington in the middle of the Burlington Bristol Bridge crossing of the Delaware River at the New Jersey Pennsylvania state border the eastern terminus is at an intersection with U.S. Route 130 . Despite the east west orientation , Route 413 runs north south , but PA Route 413 is signed north south . Prior to the 1953 renumbering , Route 413 was Route unk , a prefixed spur of Route 25 . Route description New Jersey Route 413 begins at the state line , midway along the Burlington Bristol Bridge , as a continuation of Pennsylvania State Route 413 . The highway heads northward , heading along Reed Street , and there is an intersection with Delaware Avenue West , and soon after , intersections with West Pearl Street , and a local highway . Passing a few residences , Route 413 intersects with West Pearl Street , and enters a more commercial type of region . The next intersection with Brown Street is jammed with houses , and nearby is a large parking lot . At the intersection with Veterans Drive and Conover Street , Route 413 splits into a divided highway , and the highway intersects with West Broad Street . After West Broad Street , Route 413 merges back in , passing several more commercial buildings and heading into John Fitzgerald Kennedy Park . The route parallels to the east of Washington Street , where it heads into a roundabout and terminates at an intersection with U.S. Route 130 ( Camden Avenue ) in Burlington . History In the 1927 renumbering of highways in New Jersey , U.S. Route 130 was assigned as a part of New Jersey State Highway Route 25 , which made up U.S. Route 1 and U.S. Route 9 as well . During that renumbering in 1927 , Route 413 was originally New Jersey State Highway Route S 25 , a prefixed spur of State Highway Route 25 . The highway remained intact along its alignment in Keim Road to the Burlington Bristol Bridge until January 1 , 1953 . On January 1 , 1953 , the New Jersey State Highway Department performed a second renumbering of state highways . State Highway Route 25 , which had run at the southern terminus with Route 130 , was decommissioned for the sole designation . Since State Highway Route 25 was decommissioned , State Highway Route S 25 would be orphaned and was decommissioned that day . The Highway Department renumbered S 25 's alignment to NJ 413 , which continued as Pennsylvania Route 413 . Major intersections
206
Henry de Cornhill ( c . 1135 c . 1193 ) was a medieval English royal official and sheriff who served King Henry II of England . Henry 's son King Richard I of England put him in charge of assembling part of the fleet for the Third Crusade , plus appointing him as sheriff of three jurisdictions . Through marriage he acquired lands in Somerset , Dorset , Oxfordshire , and Northamptonshire . Early life Henry de Cornhill was the eldest son of Gervase de Cornhill , a royal official and Sheriff of Kent , Surrey , and London during the reign of King Henry II . Henry de Cornhill was likely born around 1135 . Henry married Alice , the daughter of William de Courcy , and sister and heiress of William de Courcy , lord of unk in Somerset . Through this marriage , Henry acquired lands in Somerset , Dorset , Oxfordshire , and Northamptonshire worth 25 and a quarter knight 's fees . Career By 1175 , Henry was a royal official in charge of purchasing cloth and other items for the royal household . He also was given custody of two estates that had escheated to the crown Rayleigh in 1181 and Boulogne in 1183 . Henry often acted as a purchaser for the king , for example in 1188 Cornhill spent 290 pounds on gold , jewels , furs , and cloth for the king . Henry was present at the deathbed of Henry II in 1189 . The new king , Richard I , kept Henry close and put him in charge of assembling the fleet that Richard needed to go on the Third Crusade . His accounts for his efforts in 1190 in assembling the fleet still survive . These show that Henry bought part or all of 40 ships and paid out a year 's wages for over a thousand sailors for the expedition . The total expenses for Henry 's efforts totalled over 5 , 000 pounds . Henry was appointed to the office of Sheriff of Surrey early in the reign of King Richard I. He was also Sheriff of Kent during Richard 's reign , in 1190 as well as one of the Sheriffs of London from 1187 to 1189 . Henry was only one of six sheriffs that retained office after the accession of Richard I. He owed his appointments to the influence of William Longchamp , Richard 's chancellor . He was also Warden of the Mint in 1191 . Henry lost his offices when Longchamp fell from favour in 1192 . He died sometime between Michaelmas 1192 and Michaelmas 1193 . Death and legacy Henry 's heir was his daughter Joan , who married Hugh de Neville , either in or soon after 1195 . He left debts at his death that his brothers Reginald de Cornhill and Ralph were responsible for . His widow married Warin fitzGerold sometime in 1193 . Warin was the son of Henry fitzGerold .
207
De Akkermolen ( Dutch pronunciation d unk English The Field Mill ) is a 17th century windmill in Zundert , Netherlands . Built around 1605 to replace an earlier windmill , it was used as a gristmill until it was severely damaged in 1950 . The mill was bought by the local government and restored in 1961 , and it was listed as a national heritage site in 1974 . History An earlier windmill had existed on the same location and was mentioned in 1557 as the mill in the unk Field ( de unk in de unk unk ) , and this earlier windmill was in its turn a replacement of a nearby watermill , De unk , which was mentioned in 1438 . The earlier windmill was destroyed in 1584 by Spanish troops and the building of a new mill took several years . The new windmill was first mentioned in 1605 . The mill was owned by the margrave of Bergen op Zoom and was a unk ( nl ) , meaning peasants in the locality were obligated to use this mill to grind their wheat . In 1794 it became property of William V , Prince of Orange and baron of Breda . unk were taken out of common law during the French revolution , meaning that people could choose where they wanted to grind their wheat , and in 1830 the mill became private property . The mill was in constant use as a gristmill until the wooden unk broke in 1950 , which caused the sails to crash into the ground , making the future of the mill uncertain . The mill was bought in 1959 by the municipal government of Zundert and restored in 1961 . It ceased to be an active gristmill , but was in functioning order . The mill needed another restoration in 1991 when it was taken apart and rebuilt . Description De Akkermolen was built as an open trestle post mill , meaning that the whole body of the mill that houses the machinery is mounted on an uncovered single vertical post or trestle , around which it can be rotated to bring the sails into the wind . The mill is made out of painted wood , the body is partially covered in tar and it has a roof of bituminous waterproofing . The mill has four common sails of 23 . 00 metres ( 75 ft 6 in ) span , that drive a wheel of 71 cogs , driving the lantern pinion stone nut , which has 15 staves . The stone nut drives a pair of Cullen millstones from Mayen ( Cullen for Cologne , where such millstones were marketed from ) , 17 hands in diameter or 1 . 50 metres ( 4 ft 11 in ) . Inside the mill inscriptions can be found by the miller and his assistants from 1804 . The mill was listed as a national heritage site ( nr unk ) on 11 July 1974 . It is open to the public on the first Saturday of the month or by appointment .
208
Born This Way The Collection is the third compilation album by American singer songwriter Lady Gaga , released on November 18 , 2011 , by Interscope Records . The three disc set includes her second studio album Born This Way , the remix album Born This Way The Remix , and the DVD Lady Gaga Presents the Monster Ball Tour At Madison Square Garden . Photographer Nick Knight shot the cover of the release , which showed Gaga wearing a dress made of slime by designer Bart Hess . The box set was enclosed as a digipak with new booklets . The release received positive feedback from reviewers , but had minor commercial success , only entering charts in Greece , Italy , and South Korea . Background In October 2011 , Lady Gaga announced plans to release a box set titled Born This Way The Collection and a remix album titled Born This Way The Remix . The box set was first released in Germany on November 18 , 2011 , and consisted of a 17 track version of Gaga 's second studio album , Born This Way , the aforementioned remix album and a DVD release of the HBO concert special Lady Gaga Presents the Monster Ball Tour At Madison Square Garden . Along with the collection , she also planned to release a coffee table book called Lady Gaga x Terry Richardson , containing pictures shot during The Monster Ball Tour . The album cover was released on October 21 , 2011 . The image shows Gaga wearing a dress made of slime by designer Bart Hess , a Perspex hat made by Charlie le Mindu , and heels by Alexander McQueen . Photographer Nick Knight shot the cover , and was initially one of the outtakes from the imagery shot for Born This Way , later re touched and re used as the box set 's cover . New booklets were also provided alongside the regular ones and the whole case was in a digipak . Reception Stephen Thomas Erlewine of AllMusic gave a positive review , saying that the album is for any fan of the singer who somehow has failed to pick up any or all of these along the way , this is a convenient way to grab all this Gaga at once . Idolator created a contest for a fan to win the box set , by tweeting about the release and e mailing the website . Born This Way The Collection debuted on the Greek Albums Chart at number 67 on the chart of December 16 , 2011 . The following week the album climbed eighteen positions , reaching number 49 , which became its peak there . The album debuted on South Korean International Albums Chart at number 18 on the chart of December 3 , 2011 , remaining on the chart of South Korea for just one week . Track listing Charts Release history
209
Route 161 is a 1 . 10 miles ( 1 . 77 km ) state highway in Clifton , New Jersey , United States , running along Clifton Avenue between Allwood Road ( County Route 602 or CR 602 ) and Van Houten Avenue ( CR 614 ) . Although it is a signed state highway , it does not connect to any other state maintained roadways . However , the south terminus is aligned just northeast of the interchange of Route 3 and the Garden State Parkway ( interchange 153 ) . The highway originated as Route S3 Spur , a suffixed spur of State Highway Route 3 to State Highway Route 6 ( currently U.S. Route 46 or US 46 ) . The route was redesignated in 1953 as Route 61 . However , it was redesignated as Route 161 shortly after . Route description Route 161 begins at the intersection of Clifton Avenue and Allwood Road ( CR 602 ) in Clifton . The route passes a park and large commercial building at the southern terminus . A short distance after , Route 161 provides a connector to Richfield Terrace on the northbound side of the highway , the park 's divider known as Cross Street . The highway continues northward , intersecting with Richland Court , which provides access to local residential homes . The next intersection is with Joan Place , which serves a similar function to Richland Court . Soon after , Route 161 intersects with Saint Andrew 's Boulevard , which also serves as the northern terminus of Richfield Terrace and connects the highway with CR 609 ( Mount Prospect Avenue ) . Just past Saint Andrew 's Boulevard Route 161 passes through a largely commercial section of Clifton with a heavy concentration of medical offices before terminating at an intersection with CR 614 ( Van Houten Avenue ) . The right of way of Route 161 continues as CR 611 ( Clifton Avenue ) towards downtown Clifton . History Route S3 was defined in 1929 to run from Route 3 in East Rutherford west to Route 6 ( US 46 ) in Clifton , ( this is now part of Route 3 ) . In 1942 , the state took over the alignment and made it an unnumbered state highway was defined to run from the intersection of Clifton Avenue and Van Houten Avenue southwest to Route S3 , which then ran along Allwood Road . World War II delayed completion of Route S3 long enough for an alternate freeway route to be selected , and the part of Allwood Road that was taken over is no longer a state highway . In 1948 , the route was assigned the number Route S3 Spur . The number was changed to Route 161 in the 1953 state highway renumbering , and ever since then it has remained an isolated state highway . Major intersections The entire route is in Clifton , Passaic County .
210
Pennsylvania Route 546 ( PA 546 ) is an 3 . 586 mile long ( 5 . 771 km ) state highway in the northernmost regions of McKean County , Pennsylvania . The route , known locally as Oil Valley Road , begins at an intersection with PA 346 in the community of Duke Center ( located in Otto Township ) . The highway heads northward , through mountainous regions before crossing the state line and into New York , where it continues as Duke Center Road to New York State Route 16 ( NY 16 ) . PA 546 was designated in the 1928 numbering of state highways in the commonwealth . The route was under construction and unpaved for two years afterward , and by 1930 , the route was complete and has remained virtually intact since . Route description PA 546 begins at an intersection with PA 346 in the community of Duke Center . The highway , known locally as Oil Valley Road , progresses to the northeast , intersecting with a short connector back to PA 346 ( SR unk ) . Duke Center is small and PA 546 runs along the center of the community . The community and PA 546 run along the base of the 2 , 000 feet ( 610 m ) mountain . PA 546 parallels the Knapp Creek , and after an intersecting with unk Hollow Road , the highway leaves Duke Center . Continuing northward , the highway enters the community of Oil Valley , which the road is named for . At an intersection with Bootleg Hollow , Knapp Creek turns off PA 546 . A short distance later , the highway passes through several taller mountains , some reaching as high as 2 , 200 feet ( 670 m ) tall . The route crosses the state line and continues northward as Duke Center Road , which heads northward to an intersection with NY 16 in Knapp Creek , New York . History PA 546 began in the 1928 numbering of state highways in the commonwealth of Pennsylvania . The route was assigned at the time on its current alignment , but the highway was not completely constructed . At the time , the sections of PA 546 from the community of Duke Center to a location 2 miles ( 3 . 2 km ) north were incomplete . By 1929 , this missing piece was completed , and was paved . However , the road was not complete , as there was an unpaved piece of PA 546 from that point This unpaved area was finished by the next year . PA 546 , although , has remained intact in terms of alignment since its assignment in 1928 . Duke Center Road , the road that continues north into New York , was originally designated as County Route 45 in Cattaraugus County , but the designation was decommissioned and turned over to the town of Allegany . Major intersections The entire route is in Otto Township , McKean County .
211
New York State Route 239 ( NY 239 ) was a state highway in eastern Erie County , New York , in United States . The southern terminus of the route was at an intersection with NY 354 in Marilla . Its northern terminus was at a junction with U.S. Route 20 ( US 20 ) in the village of Alden . NY 239 was about 3 miles ( 5 km ) in length and named Exchange Street . When NY 239 was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York , it extended eastward to the Wyoming County village of Attica . NY 239 was truncated to Marilla in 1949 and removed from the state highway system completely in September 1980 as a result of a highway maintenance swap between the state of New York and Erie County earlier that year . The roadway is now County Route 578 ( CR 578 ) . Route description NY 239 began at an intersection with NY 354 just west of the Erie Wyoming county line in the town of Marilla . The route then traveled to the northeast , climbing in elevation as it proceeded onward . It then made a turn to the north , descending in elevation . Running at about a height of 900 feet ( 270 m ) above sea level , NY 239 crossed into the town of Alden and continued toward downtown . NY 239 continued northward , passing nearby unk Road , a connector between NY 239 and County Line Road , which ran parallel to NY 239 along the Erie Genesee county line . The route dipped further in elevation , entering the village of Alden . Inside the village , it passed the Buffalo Water Filtration Plant to the west and crossed the Conrail owned Buffalo Line . NY 239 passed through a primarily residential area of the village just before terminating at US 20 in the village center . History NY 239 as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York to an alignment extending from NY 35 in the village of Alden to NY 98 in the village of Attica by way of the hamlet of unk . The east west road linking NY 239 near unk to Two Rod Road ( then NY 358 ) north of Marilla was initially unnumbered . It became part of a realigned NY 354 c . 1935 . NY 354 was extended eastward on January 1 , 1949 , over NY 239 's alignment to a new terminus in Attica . As a result , NY 239 was truncated to its junction with NY 354 in the town of Marilla . On April 1 , 1980 , ownership and maintenance of NY 239 was transferred from the state of New York to Erie County as part of a larger highway maintenance swap between the two levels of government . The NY 239 designation was removed on September 25 of that year . The highway is now designated by Erie County as CR 578 . Major intersections The entire route was in Erie County .
212
Georgina Kenaghan ( born 1984 ) is an Australian goalball coach and psychologist . She won the 2012 NSW ACT Inspiration Medal in the Pride of Australia Awards . As the coach of the Australia women 's national goalball team , she led the team at the 2010 World Championships in Great Britain , the first time the national team had competed internationally in three years . She coached the team at the 2011 IBSA Goalball Continental Championships and Paralympic Qualifier , and was the national team coach for Australia at the 2012 Summer Paralympics , where the team did not win a single game . Personal Kenaghan is a psychologist but took leave from her job to prepare for the 2012 Paralympics when she was 28 years old . Her father is Terry Kenaghan , the man who helped bring goalball to Australia in 1980 . In 2012 , Peter Corr nominated her for an Inspiration Medal in the Pride of Australia Awards . She won the NSW ACT Award . Her father accepted the award on her behalf as she was in London at the time , coaching the national team . Goalball Kenaghan coaches the Australia women 's national goalball team . The Daily Telegraph called her one of Australia 's most successful sports coaches . She coached the team at the 2010 World Championships in Great Britain , the first time the national team had played in three years . In 2011 , she represented goalball as part of a Come Try Day sporting event in Western Australia . She used the 2011 Australian National Goalball competition as an opportunity to evaluate national team players . In 2011 , she coached the Australian side at the IBSA Goalball Continental Championships and Paralympic Qualifier and guided the team to a 6 2 win over the New Zealand women 's national goalball team to secure Paralympic qualification . She coached the team in their win against Israel that was part of the competition . Kenaghan was the head coach of the Aussie Belles going to the 2012 Summer Paralympics . The team qualifying for the Games was a surprise as the Australian Paralympic Committee had been working on player development with an idea of the team qualifying for the 2016 Summer Paralympics . An Australian team had not participated since the 2000 Summer Paralympics when they earned an automatic selection as hosts and the team finished last in the competition . The country has not medalled in the event since 1976 . Players she coached on the national team included Meica Christensen . Her team lost all three games and did not advance out of the group stage . In the team 's game against Canada , she substituted players in order to improve the team 's chance of winning .
213
Mississippi Highway 473 ( MS 473 ) is a short highway in central Mississippi . Its southern terminus is at the Hinds Copiah county line . The route travels north to Terry , and turns west . MS 473 enters Terry , and ends at Interstate 55 ( I 55 ) and U.S. Route 51 ( US 51 ) . The route was designated in 1957 , from MS 27 to US 51 . MS 473 was removed from the state highway system in 1967 . It was restored into the system in 1995 , from the county line to I 55 US 51 . Route description All of the route is a paved road , located inside Hinds County . MS 473 is not included as a part of the National Highway System ( NHS ) , a network of highways identified as being most important for the economy , mobility and defense of the nation . MS 473 is legally defined in Mississippi Code 65 3 3 . In 2012 , Mississippi Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) calculated as many as 5 , 300 vehicles traveling east of I 55 US 51 , and as few as 1 , 300 vehicles traveling north of the Hinds Copiah county line . MS 473 is maintained by Mississippi Department of Transportation for four miles ( 6 . 4 km ) , and Terry for 0 . 95 miles ( 1 . 53 km ) . MS 473 starts at the Hinds Copiah county and travels north . It passes nearby ponds and intersects various dirt roads . About one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) later , MS 473 intersects Moncure Road and continues north . At Bozeman Road , the route turns northeast , passing through a small forest . The road then turns north and passes over Vaughn Creek . MS 473 intersects Rosemary Road as it turned northwest , and soon travels west near Gaines Drive and Shady Oaks Road . The route enters Terry and crossed over a railroad , owned by Canadian National and Illinois Central . The route turns northwest , and enters downtown Terry . MS 473 leaves downtown Terry , and intersects a frontage road of I 55 . The route ends at I 55 at a diamond interchange , and the road continues west as Green Gable Road . History MS 473 was designated in 1957 , as a gravel road connecting from MS 27 to US 51 . The next year , the section in Hinds County was paved . By 1960 , MS 473 in Copiah County was transferred to local maintenance . Two years later , US 51 was realigned to I 55 , and MS 473 's northern terminus remained on old US 51 's alignment . MS 473 was temporarily removed from the state highway system in 1967 , and an interchange with I 55 US 51 was built near Terry in the same year . In 1974 , the route 's old alignment in Copiah County became paved . By 1995 , MS 473 in Hinds County was restored in the state highway system , and was also extended to I 55 US 51 . Major intersections
214
Timor Leste competed at the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing , China which was held from August 8 to August 24 . The country 's participation at Beijing marked its second appearance in the Summer Olympics since its debut in the 2004 Summer Olympics . The delegation included Augusto Ramos Soares and Mariana Diaz Ximenez , both of whom were unk that qualified via wildcard places as the nation had no athletes that met the A or B qualifying standards . Ximenez was selected as flag bearer for the opening ceremony . Neither of the two athletes finished their events Soares did not even start . Background Timor Leste participated in two Summer Olympic games between its debut in the 2004 Summer Olympics in Athens , Greece and the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing . The Timor Leste National Olympic Committee ( NOC ) selected two athletes via wildcards . Usually , an NOC would be able to enter up to 3 qualified athletes in each individual event as long as each athlete met the A standard , or 1 athlete per event if they met the B standard . However , since Timor Leste had no athletes that met either standard , they were allowed to select two athletes , one of each gender , as wildcards . The two athletes that were selected to compete in the Beijing games were Augusto Ramos Soares in the Men 's marathon and Mariana Diaz Ximenez in the Women 's marathon . Ximenez was flag bearer for the opening ceremony . Athletics Making his Summer Olympic debut , Augusto Ramos Soares qualified for the Beijing Games after being granted a wildcard place without competing in any notable sporting event . He was to compete against 97 other athletes in the Men 's Marathon but he was one of 3 athletes to not start the event . Competing at her first Summer Olympics , Mariana Diaz Ximenez was notable for carrying the Timor Leste at the opening ceremony . She qualified for the Beijing Games via being granted a wildcard place , after her best time , 3 minutes and 22 . 03 seconds , was 40 . 03 seconds slower than the B qualifying standard for her event . Ximenez competed against 81 other athletes in the Women 's marathon on August 17 . Ximenez was one of 13 athletes to not finish the event after suffering a bruised left foot at approximately the 26 kilometre ( 16 mi ) mark . Key Note Ranks given for track events are within the athlete 's heat only Q Qualified for the next round q Qualified for the next round as a fastest loser or , in field events , by position without achieving the qualifying target NR National record N A Round not applicable for the event Bye Athlete not required to compete in round Men Women
215
Clementine cake is a cake prepared with clementine fruit as a primary ingredient and other typical cake ingredients . Additional ingredients may be used , and some preparation variations exist . It may be prepared using whole or peeled clementines that have been manually seeded , or seedless fruit may be used . It may provide significant amounts of Vitamin D. It may be topped with a sweet glaze or sauce , powdered sugar , honey and clementines or candied clementines . Its origin may be roughly based upon an orange cake developed by the Sephardi Jews . In popular culture , the cake played a minor part in the plot of the 2013 film The Secret Life of Walter Mitty . Preparation and variations Clementine cake is prepared with the primary ingredients of clementine fruit , ground almonds or almond meal , flour , sugar , butter and eggs . Additional ingredients may be used , such as orange juice , orange unk , milk , white dessert wine , or Riesling wine , orange oil or tangerine oil ( or both ) , almond extract and vanilla extract . Some variations exist , such as being prepared without the use of flour . It may also be prepared as an upside down cake . The cake may be prepared with clementines and or clementine zest mixed in the batter , with them atop the cake , such as in slices , and in both ways . The seeds and membrane of the clementine may be removed as part of the preparation process , or seedless clementines may be used . Whole , sliced clementines including the peel , or peeled clementines may be used , and the clementines may be cooked before being used in the cake batter . The fruit may be chopped or blended using a food processor . unk clementine may be used atop the cake or as a garnish . The almonds used may be toasted or blanched . Clementine cake may be finished with a sweet topping such as a sugar or chocolate glaze , a fudge or chocolate sauce , powdered sugar or honey . Clementine cake may be dense and moist , and its flavor may improve a day or more after preparation , because the ingredients intermingle and coalesce to enhance its flavor as it ages . After being cooked , the cake may be delicate and can fall if it is wiggled too much . After preparation , it may be frozen to preserve it . History Clementine cake 's origin may be roughly based upon an orange cake developed by the Sephardi Jews . In popular culture Clementine cake played a minor part in the plot of the 2013 film The Secret Life of Walter Mitty , and was pictured in the opening scene of the film and in a couple of additional scenes . British celebrity chef Nigella Lawson has devised a recipe for clementine cake .
216
SMS Comet was an aviso of the Imperial German Navy , the second and final member of the Meteor class . She had one sister ship , Meteor . Comet was laid down at the AG Vulcan shipyard in 1890 , launched in January 1892 , and commissioned in April 1893 . Like her sister , Comet was plagued by excessive vibration and poor handling , which limited her active duty career . She ended her career as a mine hulk in Emden . After the German defeat in World War I , she was sold for scrapping in 1921 . Design Comet was 79 . 86 meters ( 262 . 0 ft ) long overall and had a beam of 9 . 58 m ( 31 . 4 ft ) and a maximum draft of 3 . 68 m ( 12 . 1 ft ) forward . She displaced 1 , 117 metric tons ( 1 , 099 long tons 1 , 231 short tons ) at full combat load . Her propulsion system consisted of two vertical 3 cylinder triple expansion engines . Steam for the engines was provided by four coal fired locomotive boilers . The ship 's propulsion system provided a top speed of 19 . 5 kn ( 36 . 1 km h 22 . 4 mph ) and a range of approximately 960 nautical miles ( 1 , 780 km 1 , 100 mi ) at 9 kn ( 17 km h 10 mph ) . Comet had a crew of 7 officers and 108 enlisted men . As built , the ship was armed with four 8 . 8 cm SK L 30 guns placed in single pivot mounts , two side by side forward , and two side by side aft . The guns were supplied with between 462 and 680 rounds of ammunition . Comet also carried three 35 cm ( 14 in ) torpedo tubes , one mounted submerged in the bow and the other two in deck mounted launchers on the broadside . She was protected with a 15 mm ( 0 . 59 in ) thick deck , along with 30 mm ( 1 . 2 in ) of steel armor plating for the conning tower . Service history Comet was built by the AG Vulcan shipyard in Stettin . She was laid down in 1890 and launched on 15 January 1892 . After the completion of fitting out work , she was transferred to Kiel , where she was commissioned for sea trials . Comet was commissioned into the German fleet on 29 April 1893 . That summer , she served in the newly formed III Division of the Maneuver Fleet for the annual maneuvers in August and September . Comet served only briefly with the fleet , owing in large part to her poor handling and excessive vibration at high speed . She and her sister ship Meteor were quickly placed in reserve , though in 1899 they were reclassified as light cruisers . Starting on 3 May 1904 , Comet was employed as a harbor defense ship in Danzig . She was stricken from the naval register on 24 June 1911 and starting in 1913 was used as a mine hulk in Emden . She served in this capacity through World War I and was broken up in 1921 in Hamburg .
217
State Route 536 ( SR 536 ) is a 5 . 38 mile long ( 8 . 66 km ) state highway serving Skagit County in the U.S. state of Washington . The highway travels southeast from SR 20 near Fredonia through Mount Vernon to an interchange with Interstate 5 ( I 5 ) east of the city . SR 536 was created during the 1964 highway renumbering as a replacement for the Anacortes branch of Primary State Highway 1 ( PSH 1 ) . SR 536 was shortened to its current route in 1973 after SR 20 was extended west and a spur route was established to serve Anacortes . Route description SR 536 begins as the Memorial Highway at an intersection with SR 20 located south of Skagit Regional Airport and east of Fredonia . The highway travels east through farmland before following the Skagit River southeast into Mount Vernon . SR 536 crosses the Skagit River on a swing bridge into Downtown Mount Vernon , turning east onto Division Street and south onto 3rd Street . The highway turns east at the Skagit Transportation Center onto Kincaid Street and crosses a BNSF rail line before ending at a diamond interchange with I 5 . Every year , the Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2011 , WSDOT calculated that between 4 , 600 and 23 , 000 vehicles per day used the highway , mostly in Downtown Mount Vernon . History SR 536 was established during the 1964 highway renumbering as a 20 . 63 mile long ( 33 . 20 km ) highway connecting Anacortes to Mount Vernon . The highway , first codified as the Anacortes branch of PSH 1 in 1937 , began at the Anacortes Ferry Terminal and traveled south to SR 525 , turning east and traveling over the unk Channel , leaving Fidalgo Island . SR 536 continued east to Fredonia , intersecting the termini of SR 20 and SR 537 , before turning southeast over the Skagit River into Mount Vernon and ending at U.S. Route 99 ( US 99 ) . US 99 and PSH 1 were replaced by I 5 in segments between 1966 and 1970 , as SR 536 was widened , paved , and extended east to a new interchange . SR 20 was extended west to Whidbey Island and the Olympic Peninsula over SR 536 and SR 525 in 1973 , shortening SR 536 to its current route and creating SR 20 Spur in Anacortes . No major revisions to the route of SR 536 have occurred since 1973 , however WSDOT repaved the entire roadway and added sidewalk ramps in 2009 at a cost of 3 . 2 million . Major intersections The entire highway is in Skagit County .
218
Maryland Route 657 ( MD 657 ) was a state highway in the U.S. state of Maryland . The state highway ran 1 . 82 miles ( 2 . 93 km ) from MD 36 in Lonaconing north to the Garrett County line , where it continued north as unk Lonaconing Road . MD 657 was designated in the late 1930s . As part of a road maintenance swap enacted in 2008 , the highway was reconstructed in 2010 , then turned over to Allegany County in 2011 . Route description MD 657 began at MD 36 ( Main Street ) within the Lonaconing Historic District . The state highway headed northwest as Douglas Avenue , a two lane road with a speed limit of 15 miles per hour ( 24 km h ) maintained by the town of Lonaconing . After passing Old Beechwood Road , MD 657 left the town of Lonaconing , becoming state maintained with a new name , Skids Hill Road . The roadway narrowed to 15 feet ( 4 . 6 m ) and the speed limit increased to 25 miles per hour ( 40 km h ) as the state highway climbed toward Big Savage Mountain high above Koontz Creek . At the Garrett County line , MD 657 ended and continued north as unk Lonaconing Road toward the top of the ridge . History Skids Hill Road was improved as a county highway by the Maryland State Roads Commission in 1934 . MD 657 was designated when that county highway was brought into the state highway system in 1939 . In 2008 , the Maryland State Highway Administration ( MDSHA ) and Allegany County signed a road transfer agreement in which the state would take over maintenance of Messick Road and a portion of Williams Road near Cumberland . That stretch of highway became part of an extended MD 639 in 2008 . In exchange , the county would assume responsibility for the section of MD 657 outside of the town of Lonaconing . The town would continue to maintain the portion of the route within the town . The change of responsibility for MD 657 would not take place until after MDSHA reconstructed the highway , which was planned for 2010 . In March 2010 , a 50 foot ( 15 m ) section of the state highway was damaged by a torrent of water released from an abandoned mine following several days of rainfall , requiring an emergency repair project that reduced the roadway 's width at the site from 15 feet ( 4 . 6 m ) to 13 . 5 feet ( 4 . 1 m ) . MDSHA began its planned reconstruction of MD 657 from Old Beechwood Road to the Garrett County line , which included added retaining walls and widening the roadway , in April 2010 . The highway fully reopened in December 2010 . The official transfer of maintenance occurred and the MD 657 designation was removed in 2011 . Junction list The entire route was in Lonaconing , Allegany County .
219
M 56 was a state trunkline highway in the southeastern part of the US state of Michigan . It existed from 1919 until 1957 . The highway ran north from Monroe , where it connected with US Highway 24 ( US 24 , Telegraph Road ) , to Flat Rock where it terminated at an intersection with US 24 US 25 . Before a series of truncations in the 1950s , the highway continued along the Huron River to New Boston and Belleville . The trunkline was progressively scaled back to Flat Rock before being decommissioned in 1957 . Route description When it was decommissioned in 1957 , M 56 started at an intersection with US 24 ( Telegraph Road ) on the west side of Monroe . From there , the trunkline ran southeasterly along Elm Avenue to an intersection with US 25 ( Dixie Highway , now M 125 ) in downtown . M 56 also intersected US 24A ( now Interstate 75 ) just outside town . The highway continued northeasterly past Sterling State Park and along Brest Bay in the communities of Detroit Beach and Woodland Beach . Turning inland near Stony Point , the trunkline followed Dixie Highway across the Swan Creek . North of the creek , Dixie Highway met US Turnpike , and M 56 followed Dixie Highway northward into South Rockwood . In that village , the trunkline turned northeasterly parallel to US 24 to cross the Huron River . On the north side of the river , M 56 followed the southernmost end of Fort Street to Huron River Drive , turning northwesterly along the latter road . The highway ran through an intersection with US 24A and parallel to the river into Flat Rock , where it terminated at the intersection with US 24 US 25 ( Telegraph Road , now just US 24 ) . History When the state highway system was first signposted in 1919 , M 56 was assigned to roadways that ran northeasterly from the Ohio state line to the Belleville area . When the United States Numbered Highway System was created on November 11 , 1926 , the southern section between the state line and Monroe was redesignated as a section of US 25 . In the 1940s , the northern end was rerouted north from New Boston to follow M 112 along the Willow Run Expressway ( now I 94 and part of the Detroit Industrial Freeway ) into Belleville north to US 112 . In late 1954 or early 1955 , the northern end was changed again , this time truncating the highway to end at New Boston . The northern end was shortened again to terminate at US 24 US 25 in Flat Rock in 1956 . The remainder of the highway from Monroe to Flat Rock was removed and decommissioned from the state highway system the next year , becoming county roads under the jurisdiction of Monroe and Wayne counties . Major intersections
220
Air Costa is an airline headquartered at Vijayawada , India . It is owned by Indian business company unk Group and has a 0 . 8 market share in the Indian domestic airline market as of February 2016 . The airline commenced operations as a regional airline in October 2013 using two Embraer E 170 aircraft with the first flight taking off from its hub at Chennai on 16 October 2013 . The airline got a permit for pan India operations in December 2015 . The airline focuses on connectivity between tier II and tier III cities in the country and has invested 600 crore ( US 89 million ) as of 2015 . Air Costa operates 32 daily flights to nine destinations from its major hubs at Chennai and Vijayawada by 2015 . The airline has a maintenance center at Chennai airport . History Air Costa is owned by Indian business company unk Group . The airline received a No Objection Certificate ( NOC ) from the Ministry of Civil Aviation in February 2012 . The airline initially planned to start operations with a fleet of Q400 aircraft but later announced its decision to acquire Embraer Jets at the Paris Air Show in June 2013 . Air Costa received its Air Operators Permit ( AOP ) from the Directorate General of Civil Aviation ( DGCA ) in September 2013 . The airline commenced operations as a regional airline in October 2013 using two Embraer E 170 aircraft with the first flight taking off from its hub at Chennai on 16 October 2013 . The airline focuses on connectivity between tier II and tier III cities in the country and has invested 600 crore ( US 89 million ) as of 2015 . In September 2015 , Air Costa , which holds a regional airline 's license , applied to the aviation regulator DGCA for its license to be upgraded to that of a national airline . Air Costa received a no objection certificate from the civil aviation ministry for pan India operations on 19 December 2015 . The airline has a 0 . 8 market share in the Indian domestic airline market as of February 2016 . Destinations As of April 2015 , Air Costa operates 32 daily flights to nine destinations in India . The airline has a maintenance center and hub at Chennai airport . Fleet Air Costa commenced operations in October 2013 with a pair of Embraer E 170 jets . Two Embraer E 190s were added by September 2015 . Air Costa added one more E 190 in December 2015 and plans to add three to five E 190 aircraft in its fleet in 2016 . New orders Air Costa ordered 50 Embraer E Jets E2 aircraft worth US 2 . 94 billion during the Singapore Airshow on 13 February 2014 . The airline will become the Asian launch customer for the type when it takes the first delivery in 2018 .
221
State Route 607 ( SR 607 ) is a north south highway near unk , Ohio . The route starts at SR 60 and travels north to its terminus at SR 78 , all located inside Morgan County . SR 607 was designated in 2011 , after Monastery Road was transferred from township maintenance to state maintenance . The road was then repaved and realigned in 2012 , and became signed on July 25 , 2013 . The route opened to the public on the next day . Route description All of SR 607 is located in central Morgan County , Ohio . The state route starts at the intersection of SR 60 near unk . SR 607 travels north for the majority of the length . SR 607 passes near an Ohio Department of Transportation ( ODOT ) county garage near the beginning of the road . Halfway through the route , SR 607 meets Township Road 696 in a T intersection , where the route moves slightly westward . After that , there is an Ohio Army National Guard training site at Hawk Drive . The route keeps moving north until it ends at SR 78 at another T intersection . The route goes through mostly forests and small hills . In 2012 , ODOT calculated 1 , 975 vehicles traveling south of McGovern Lane . This is expressed in terms of annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) , a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . No part of SR 607 is included within the National Highway System , a system of routes deemed most important for the economy , defense and mobility of the country . History Planning of Monastery Road ( Township Road 209 ) improvements began in 2003 . At that time , 3 . 8 million in state funding was set aside for the project , but the Ohio Department of Transportation ( ODOT ) did not receive the money until 2005 . By 2007 , most of the earmarked money was spent on preliminary engineering and planning . Without the money , Morgan Township officials could not afford to upgrade the road , and ODOT was barred from spending money on local roads . In 2011 , deputy director Steve Williams devised a new plan that made the township road a state route , and Morgan Township officials transferred the road to ODOT . Monastery Road was closed 0 . 7 mi ( 1 . 1 km ) north of SR 60 , and 0 . 4 mi ( 0 . 64 km ) south of SR 78 in April 2012 , for nine months . The road was realigned and resurfaced , and it cost around 1 . 5 million . The road was also widened at the northern terminus with SR 78 , and the southern terminus with SR 60 . On July 25 , 2013 , ODOT erected state route signs on the road . The next day , Williams announced the upgrade of Monastery Road to State Route 607 and reopened the road . Major intersections The entire route is in Morgan Township , Morgan County .
222
Goshin ( Japanese unk , protector of the spirit ) is a bonsai created by John Y. Naka . It is a forest planting of eleven Foemina junipers ( Juniperus chinensis ' Foemina ' ) , the earliest of which Naka began training into bonsai in 1948 . Naka donated it to the National Bonsai Foundation in 1984 , to be displayed at the United States National Arboretum it has been there ever since . The individual trees represent Naka 's grandchildren . History Naka began working with the first two of the eleven trees that would ultimately make up Goshin in 1948 he created a two tree style composition using two unk junipers of equal height . In 1953 , Naka created a formal upright style unk , during a demonstration for his bonsai class . He also acquired a taller tree ( eventually to become the main , tallest tree of Goshin ) , which was replanted in the ground and gradually thinned and shaped it was ready for showing by 1960 . Goshin first took shape as a forest planting around 1964 . Inspired by a forest of Cryptomeria japonica near a shrine in Japan , Naka first combined the four trees he had already developed into a single , 4 foot tall ( 1 . 2 m ) composition . He soon added three more , to create a seven tree forest bonsai . Naka also had to modify the pot to ensure adequate drainage the lack of which caused one of the trees , and its repeated replacements , to die . At the time , Naka had seven grandchildren , each of which was represented by a tree . At the urging of fellow bonsai artists , he named his composition he called the bonsai Goshin , meaning protector of the spirit , in reference to the forest shrine that inspired it . By 1973 , Naka had eleven grandchildren , and he augmented Goshin unk . In 1984 , Goshin was displayed at the Philadelphia Flower Show in mid March , where it was viewed by about 250 , 000 people . At the show 's conclusion , Naka donated Goshin to the National Bonsai Federation ( which he had helped launch in 1976 ) , to be displayed in the new North American Pavilion ( named in his honor ) of the National Bonsai unk Museum at the United States National Arboretum in Washington , D.C. Since 1984 , Goshin has repeatedly graced the covers of prominent bonsai magazines , and it is one of the most widely recognized bonsai . Naka returned frequently to Washington to check in on and supervise maintenance of Goshin , including extensive work in 1999 . Later that year , he created another forest bonsai that is known as Goshin Two . When Naka died in 2004 , one French site published a cartoon captioned ( in translation ) John Naka has gone . A whisper of astonishment wanders in between the branches of Goshin .
223
M 137 is a state trunkline highway in the US state of Michigan that serves as a spur route to the Interlochen Center for the Arts and Interlochen State Park . It starts at south of the park and runs north between two lakes in the area and through the community of Interlochen to US Highway 31 ( US 31 ) in Grand Traverse County . The highway was first shown without a number label on maps in 1930 and labelled after an extension the next year . The highway 's current routing was established in the 1950s . Route description M 137 at the south of Interlochen State Park at an intersection with Vagabond Lane . Farther south , the roadway continues as County Road 137 ( CR 137 ) . The state highway is a two lane road that meanders north , connecting to the front gate of the state park and the Interlochen Center for the Arts . The road runs along the isthmus between Green and Duck lakes north of the Green Lake Airport . North of the school , the highway passes through a wooded section before entering the community of Interlochen itself near the Green Lake Township Hall . There M 137 runs almost due north , crossing a line of the Great Lakes Central Railroad before terminating at its connection with the rest of the state trunkline system at US 31 at Interlochen Corners . The roadway continues north of US 31 as South Long Lake Road after the M 137 designation ends . M 137 is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) like other state highways in Michigan . As a part of these maintenance responsibilities , the department tracks the volume of traffic that uses the roadways under its jurisdiction . These volumes are expressed using a metric called annual average daily traffic , which is a statistical calculation of the average daily number of vehicles on a segment of roadway . MDOT 's surveys in 2010 showed that 4 , 868 vehicles used the highway daily . No section of M 137 has been listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History A highway along the route of M 137 connecting US 31 south to the state park was added to the state highway system during the first half of 1930 , initially lacking a designation label on the state maps of the time . This routing was extended by 0 . 9 miles ( 1 . 4 km ) and labelled as M 137 on maps in 1931 . The former route through the campus of the Interlochen Center for the Arts was abandoned as a roadway on March 26 , 1956 , after M 137 was realigned to pass to the east of the school and extended further south through the state park area . Major intersections The entire highway is in Grand Traverse County .
224
State Route 308 ( SR 308 ) is a 3 . 42 mile long ( 5 . 50 km ) state highway in the U.S. state of Washington , serving the community of Keyport in Kitsap County . The highway travels generally east from an interchange with SR 3 east of Naval Base Kitsap at Bangor to the main entrance of the Naval Undersea Warfare Center in Keyport . SR 308 was codified as the Keyport branch of State Road 21 in 1929 and continued as the Keyport branch of Primary State Highway 21 ( PSH 21 ) in 1937 . During the 1964 highway renumbering , the branch became a section of SR 303 , which ran from Bremerton to Bangor and had a spur route serving Keyport . SR 308 was established in 1971 along the old route of SR 303 Spur and was extended in 1991 to the SR 3 freeway after SR 303 was re routed onto a new freeway in Silverdale . Route description SR 308 begins as unk Road at a diamond interchange with SR 3 east of Naval Base Kitsap at Bangor . The highway travels east through wooded land , intersecting several minor roads until the roadway turns northeast and crosses over Liberty Bay into the unincorporated community of Keyport . Within Keyport , SR 308 passes the Naval Undersea Museum and serves as the main thoroughfare through the community before it ends at the main entrance to the Naval Undersea Warfare Center , continuing east as Strom Avenue into the base . Every year , the Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2011 , WSDOT calculated that the busiest section of the highway was between SR 3 and Liberty Bay , serving 11 , 000 vehicles , while the least busy section was the bridge over Liberty Bay , serving 6 , 300 vehicles . History The current route of SR 308 was first added to the state highway system in 1929 as the Keyport branch of State Road 21 and was carried over to the primary and secondary state highway system in 1937 as a branch of PSH 21 . The branch traveled 2 . 34 miles ( 3 . 77 km ) east from PSH 21 near Naval Submarine Base Bangor to the Naval Undersea Warfare Center in Keyport , intersecting Secondary State Highway 21B ( SSH 21B ) before crossing Liberty Bay . The Keyport branch was incorporated into SR 303 , which replaced SSH 21B , with a short spur route serving Keyport . SR 308 was established in 1971 to replace the Keyport spur of SR 303 and extended over SR 303 in 1991 to SR 3 after SR 303 was moved south to end in Silverdale . Major intersections The entire highway is in Kitsap County .
225
State Route 186 ( SR 186 ) is a route that connects Interstate 8 ( I 8 ) with the U.S. Mexico border near the Colorado River . Its southern terminus is near Los Algodones , Baja California , and its northern terminus is near Winterhaven , California in the location of Araz Junction . The route is only 2 . 070 miles ( 3 . 331 km ) long , heading along the length of the Alamo Canal and the All American Canal within the boundaries of the Fort Yuma Quechan Reservation . The route was assigned in 1972 in Imperial County , and the interchange with I 8 was constructed a year later . Route description SR 186 begins at the United States Mexico border ( near Avenue International ) in the community of Los Algodones . The route heads to the northeast along the Alamo Canal and crosses the center of the Fort Yuma Quechan Reservation . Most of the surroundings of SR 186 are desolate , compared to the developed region across the border in Mexico . The highway continues northward , crossing the All American Canal , where it turns to the north . SR 186 continues northward to an interchange with I 8 in Araz Junction , where the route terminates at the northbound ramps . The route continues northward as locally maintained Araz Road . Near the interchange is a casino operated by the Quechan Native American tribe that opened in 2009 . SR 186 is not part of the National Highway System , a network of highways that are essential to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . In 2013 , SR 186 had an annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) of 3 , 700 at the southern end , and 8 , 100 at the junction with I 8 , the latter of which was the highest AADT for the highway . History A road south from the Ocean to Ocean Highway to the Mexican border just west of the Colorado River existed by 1917 , and was paved between 1956 and 1965 . The Andrade Port of Entry at the southern end of the highway was built in 1970 . The current alignment of SR 186 was assigned in 1972 by the California State Legislature . There are two bridges along the alignment of SR 186 . The first one to be constructed was a concrete slab bridge over the All American Canal , with the structure opening in 1938 . The bridge is 140 . 09 feet ( 42 . 70 m ) long , and is considered unable to sustain the traffic it was designed to handle . The second bridge is located at the interchange with I 8 in Araz Junction . This bridge , constructed in 1973 ( a year after the route was assigned ) , is a 227 . 03 foot long ( 69 . 20 m ) concrete box beam structure . This structure , unlike the other , is recorded to be in usable shape . Major intersections The entire route is in Imperial County .
226
The Commissioner 's Trophy is presented each year by the Commissioner of Baseball to the Major League Baseball team that wins the World Series . Recent trophy designs contain flags representing each team in North America 's top two leagues , the National League and the American League . The two participating teams in that year 's World Series were previously represented by two press pins set on the base of the trophy . It is the only championship trophy of the four major sports in North America that is not named after a particular person ( contrasting with the National Hockey League 's Stanley Cup , the National Football League 's Vince Lombardi Trophy , and the National Basketball Association 's Larry O 'Brien Trophy ) . History Although it did not receive its current name until 1985 , the trophy was first awarded in 1967 , when the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Boston Red Sox . Before that year , the champion of the World Series did not receive an official trophy . A new Commissioner 's Trophy is created each year , much like the Lombardi Trophy and the O 'Brien Trophy in contrast , the Stanley Cup is passed from champion to champion . Before 1997 , the trophy was presented to the winners in their locker room starting with that season , the presentation happened on the field if the champion clinched the title in their home stadium . Since its inception , the only year that the Commissioner 's Trophy has not been awarded was 1994 , when the players ' strike ended the season on August 11 , resulting in the cancellation of the entire post season . The New York Yankees have won the most Commissioner 's Trophies ( seven World Series wins since 1967 ) . The St. Louis Cardinals hold the record for the most trophies won in the National League ( four wins ) . Design The current trophy was redesigned in 1999 for the 2000 World Series and made by Tiffany Co . The original trophy was designed by Lawrence unk , of Owatonna , Minnesota . The trophy is 24 inches ( 61 cm ) tall , excluding the base , and has a diameter of 11 inches ( 28 cm ) . It weighs approximately 30 pounds ( 14 kg ) and is made of sterling silver . The trophy features 30 gold plated flags , one for each of the Major League teams , which rise above a silver baseball covered with latitude and longitude lines that symbolize the world . The baseball also contains 24 karat unk baseball stitches . The base contains an inscription of the signature of the commissioner , as well as the words Presented by the Commissioner of Baseball . The new design was presented for the first time at the conclusion of the 2000 World Series , won by the Yankees . Trophy designs By franchise
227
Delaware Route 58 ( DE 58 ) , also known as Churchmans Road , is a state highway in New Castle County , Delaware . The route runs from DE 4 adjacent to the Christiana Hospital in Christiana southeast to DE 273 near Hares Corner . The road passes through suburban areas between Wilmington and Newark , intersecting DE 1 DE 7 and Interstate 95 ( I 95 ) in Christiana and DE 37 near the Wilmington Airport . Churchmans Road was originally a county road that was paved in the 1930s and realigned twice in the 1950s . DE 58 was designated onto it in the 1980s . Route description DE 58 begins at an intersection with DE 4 in Christiana , heading east on Churchmans Road , a four lane divided highway . Past this intersection , the road continues northwest to provide access to Delaware Park Racetrack and the Churchmans Crossing station on SEPTA 's Wilmington Newark Line . From DE 4 , the route passes to the north of Christiana Hospital and runs through commercial development to an interchange with DE 1 DE 7 . Just east of that interchange , DE 58 forms the southern border of the Stanton Campus of Delaware Technical Community College . The route crosses over I 95 , where there is a ramp from I 95 southbound to DE 58 westbound . This is the only direct ramp between DE 58 and I 95 , as all other access between the two routes must be made via DE 1 DE 7 . Past I 95 , DE 58 becomes a two lane undivided road and heads to the southeast through residential areas , crossing the Christina River . The route curves south through commercial development , widening back into a four lane divided highway and intersecting DE 37 . Past the intersection with DE 37 , DE 58 continues southeast as a two lane undivided road and skirts the southwestern edge of Wilmington Airport . The route passes through light industrial development and continues to its terminus at DE 273 near Hares Corner . DE 58 has an annual average daily traffic count ranging from a high of 26 , 570 vehicles at the DE 1 DE 7 interchange to a low of 10 , 257 vehicles at the DE 37 intersection . None of DE 58 is part of the National Highway System . History What is now DE 58 existed as a county road by 1920 . The entire road was paved by 1936 . By 1952 , the current alignment of Churchmans Road was constructed around Wilmington Airport , with a portion of the original road being removed . The current alignment of Churchmans Road west of DE 7 was built two years later . DE 58 was designated onto its current alignment in 1985 . In 1999 , the intersection at DE 1 DE 7 was converted into an interchange . Major intersections Mileposts run from east to west . The entire route is in New Castle County .
228
State Route 369 ( SR 369 ) is a short , two lane north south state highway in the western portion of the U.S. state of Ohio . The southern terminus of SR 369 is at an interchange with SR 4 approximately two and a half miles ( 4 . 0 km ) northeast of unk . Its northern terminus is at U.S. Route 40 ( US 40 ) nearly one and a half miles ( 2 . 4 km ) east of unk . SR 369 was created in the mid 1930s . In addition to serving as a connector between SR 4 and US 40 southwest of Springfield , it provides access to a county park named in honor of George Rogers Clark . Route description All of SR 369 is situated within Bethel Township in the southwestern quadrant of Clark County . The route starts at an interchange with SR 4 approximately two and a half miles ( 4 . 0 km ) northeast of unk . SR 369 serves as a continuation of Lower Valley Pike , which enters the interchange from the North of SR 4 , the west side of SR 369 abuts a residential subdivision , while the east side of the route straddles the western portion of the county maintained George Rogers Clark Park . As the highway proceeds north of the park boundary , both sides of the highway are lined with houses , leading up to the point where it comes to an end at US 40 nearly one and a half miles ( 2 . 4 km ) east of unk . Continuing to the north of the U.S. route following the terminus of SR 369 is Tecumseh Road . SR 369 is maintained by the Ohio Department of Transportation ( ODOT ) . As a part of its duties in maintaining this highway , ODOT tracks the volume of traffic using it by a metric called the average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) . This measurement determines the amount of traffic utilizing a particular stretch of the roadway on a typical day of the year . A 2008 AADT report shows that the busiest stretch of SR 369 is the portion in the vicinity of the SR 4 interchange , at the Lower Valley Pike transition , where typically 2 , 900 passenger vehicles and 220 commercial vehicles use the highway on a daily basis . The AADT along the portion of SR 369 between SR 4 and US 40 was determined to be 1 , 580 passenger vehicles and 120 commercial vehicles . SR 369 is not included within the National Highway System . History SR 369 was first designated in 1934 . Originally , the route was a spur route off of US 40 that served George Rogers Clark Park . In 1959 , with the relocation of SR 4 onto a new freeway alignment along the north side of the Mad River through this vicinity , the southern terminus of SR 369 was reconfigured such that the highway met the new freeway at an interchange at the south end of the park . Major intersections The entire route is in Bethel Township , Clark County .
229
State Route 750 ( SR 750 ) is an east west state highway located in central Ohio . The western terminus of the state highway is at a signalized intersection with SR 257 nearly 2 . 5 miles ( 4 . 0 km ) west of Powell , just outside the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium . The highway travels east to unk Metro Park and Polaris Fashion Place . The eastern terminus of SR 750 is at Interstate 71 ( I 71 ) in the far northern reaches of the city of Columbus . The route was designated in 1937 , and both termini were rerouted . The eastern terminus was extended east in 1997 , and the western terminus was rerouted south in 2007 . Route description The entirety of SR 750 exists within southwestern Delaware County . SR 750 starts at SR 257 , near Columbus Zoo and Aquarium . SR 750 goes through Powell with no major intersections . After Powell , there is an intersection with SR 315 near the Olentangy River and the northwest corner of unk Metro Park . The route soon intersects U.S. Route 23 ( US 23 ) in a large commercial area . Less than one mile later , SR 750 overpasses railroads owned by CSX and Norfolk Southern . The road dips southeastward , and becomes Polaris Parkway , as it slowly curves around the Polaris Fashion Place . Powell Road continues eastward toward Westerville . SR 750 ends at I 71 at an incomplete partial cloverleaf interchange , and Polaris Parkway continues eastward to Westerville . The highest traffic count is near US 23 , where 29 , 690 vehicles travel the highway on average each day . The lowest traffic count is near SR 257 , where 8 , 080 vehicles travel the highway on average each day . The highway is not a part of the National Highway System , a network of highways deemed most important for the country 's economy , mobility and defense . History SR 750 was established in 1937 , ran from SR 257 to its junction with SR 315 . In 1997 , SR 750 was extended eastward from SR 315 , crossing Olentangy River and US 23 via Powell Road , then following Polaris Parkway around to a new eastern terminus at I 71 in the far northern end of Columbus . Ten years later , a new interchange was built for Gemini Place at I 71 , north of SR 750 . The interchange would relieve traffic in the area . The next year , SR 750 's westernmost portion was re routed to the south , onto an all new alignment that brought its western terminus in line with the intersection of SR 257 and County Road 126 ( Glick Road ) , after an expansion to the Columbus Zoo . In September 2013 , a slope stabilization project began for SR 315 , and turn lanes are currently being added for SR 315 and SR 750 's intersection . Major intersections The entire route is in Delaware County .
230
County Route 574 ( CR 574 ) is an east west county route north of East Aurora in Erie County , New York , in the United States . The western terminus of the route is at New York State Route 16 ( NY 16 ) and NY 78 in the town of Elma . Its eastern terminus is at Two Rod Road , a state maintained north south highway in the town of Marilla . The entire length of CR 574 is named Jamison Road . Parts of CR 574 carried a state highway designation as early as 1930 . By 1931 , the entirety of CR 574 was designated as New York State Route 422 . Ownership and maintenance of NY 422 was transferred from the state of New York to Erie County on April 1 , 1980 , and the NY 422 designation officially ceased to exist on September 25 , 1980 . Route description CR 574 begins at an intersection with NY 16 and NY 78 ( Seneca Street ) northwest of East Aurora in the town of Elma . The route heads eastward along Jamison Road , passing south of a predominantly residential neighborhood and north of a large industrial complex . The latter ends after 0 . 5 miles ( 0 . 8 km ) , and CR 574 continues on to an interchange with the Aurora Expressway ( NY 400 ) . CR 574 intersects Bowen Road ( CR 242 ) and ( CR 361 ) just east of the expressway . As CR 574 approaches the hamlet of East Elma , it meets Girdle Road ( CR 336 ) . In East Elma itself , Jamison Road intersects Creek Road ( CR 134 ) and unk Road ( CR 172 ) . Past East Elma , the land surrounding CR 574 becomes less developed and largely dominated by cultivated fields . CR 574 continues on through the open fields and into the town of Marilla , where it ends at a junction with Two Rod Road , a local arterial maintained by the New York State Department of Transportation as NY unk , an unsigned reference route . Prior to 1982 , Two Rod Road was NY 358 . History The portion of Jamison Road from Bowen Road to Maple Road was originally designated as part of NY 78 in the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York . By the following year , the entirety of Jamison Road was designated as NY 422 . NY 78 was realigned c . 1932 to follow a new routing between East Aurora and Depew while its former routing from East Aurora to Lancaster was redesignated as NY 78A . The NY 78A designation , which overlapped NY 422 between Bowen Road and Maple Road , was removed c . 1938 . On April 1 , 1980 , ownership and maintenance of NY 422 was transferred from the state of New York to Erie County as part of a larger highway maintenance swap between the two levels of government . The NY 422 designation was removed on September 25 , 1980 , allowing Jamison Road to become CR 574 . Major intersections The entire route is in Erie County .
231
M 80 is a state trunkline highway in the Upper Peninsula of the US state of Michigan . It runs from Kinross to M 129 near Donaldson . The highway serves the site of the former Kincheloe Air Force Base and the current Chippewa County International Airport . The designation has been used twice before on roads in the Lower Peninsula in the 1910s through 1930s while the current usage dates back to the mid 1990s . Route description M 80 starts at exit 378 along Interstate 75 ( I 75 ) near Kinross . A short section of it runs concurrently with H 63 ( Mackinac Trail ) to connect to ramps in the interchange . This section runs northeast southwest across the freeway from Mud Lake before the M 80 designation turns southeasterly along Tone Road running past Kinross Lake in a forested area . Tone Road curves sharply northeasterly and then southeasterly to run around the north end of the runway complex at the Chippewa County International Airport . The highway runs due east past the airport terminal area to the south and a prison and the residential area of the former Kincheloe Air Force Base to the north . Near Dukes Lake , M 80 crosses Gaines Highway and leaves the former base and runs through forest to the intersection with M 129 where M 80 terminates . The roadway continues eastward as 17 Mile Road in Pickford Township . M 80 has not been listed on the National Highway System ( NHS ) by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) . The NHS is a network of highways important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . MDOT 's annual surveys of the traffic counts are used to compute a value called the annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measurement of the number of vehicles on a road for any given day of the year . The survey from 2009 showed that 2 , 803 vehicles used the western section between I 75 and Gaines Highway , with 61 trucks included in the count . The eastern section was used by 1 , 657 vehicles and 61 trucks . History On July 1 , 1919 , M 80 existed as a highway in the Lower Peninsula connecting Adrian with Somerset . The highway was included in the route of US Highway 127 in 1926 . The M 80 designation was then shifted to a section of highway that was previously part of M 18 near Beaverton The M 80 designation was decommissioned in 1939 when the roadway was transferred back to local control . The current designation of M 80 was created in 1994 95 when Tone Road through Kinross and the former Kincheloe Air Force Base were transferred to MDOT . The department assigned the roadway its designation and included it on the 1995 map . Major intersections The entire highway is in Chippewa County .
232
Holstein is a station on the Sognsvann Line ( line 6 ) of the Oslo Metro in Norway . The station is located between Kringsj and sthorn stations . Holstein was opened during the Second World War , in 1941 . Formerly Nordberg was the next southbound station , but it was closed in 1992 , at the same time as Holstein was re built with longer platforms and new ticket machines . The name Holstein is believed to origin from Schleswig Holstein in Germany . History The Sognsvann Line opened on 10 October 1930 . It was built by Akersbanerne , and ran from Majorstuen to Sognsvann station . The line was double tracked from Majorstuen to Korsvoll , and single tracked from there to Sognsvann . In 1939 , the section Korsvoll Sognsvann was upgraded to double tracks , and the station Korsvoll had its name changed to sthorn . Two years later , Holstein was opened , although the accurate date of opening remains undisclosed . In 1990 , it was decided to upgrade the Sognsvann Line to metro standard , which involves a heightening and lengthening of the platforms , installation of third rail power supply and a new signaling system . Many residents feared that Holstein station would be closed together with Fren , but only the latter was closed . The upgrade started three years later , when Tsen station was moved 150 metres ( 490 ft ) further north , and Nordberg Station was closed . Holstein was closed for traffic during the construction period . unk were built at both Holstein and Nordberg stations , and new ticket machines were installed at Holstein Station . Service Holstein is served by the line 6 on the Sognsvann Line , operated by Oslo T banedrift on contract with Ruter . The rapid transit serves the station every 15 minutes , except in the late evening and on weekend mornings , when there is a 30 minute headway . Travel time along the 7 . 1 kilometre ( 4 . 4 mi ) portion to Stortinget in the city center is 13 minutes . The station provides correspondence to the bus lines 22 and 25 in Carl unk vei , a two minutes walk away . Facilities Holstein has two platforms , each with a wooden shed . The sheds are designed by Arne Henriksen in a minimalist and standardised style with constructions of wood and steel . Located between the streets unk and unk , the station serves the residential area Nordberg . There is a kindergarten and a senior center close to the station . The origin of the station 's name is disputed . Professor H. O. Christophersen stated in 1952 that it unk from the German region Holstein . Journalist Arvid Sagen stated in 2001 that the name owed its origins to the Norwegian word hole which means a round hill , and unk , which means stone .
233
Contigo Quiero Estar ( English With You , I Want To Be ) is a song recorded by American recording artist Selena for her debut studio album Selena ( 1989 ) . It was released by EMI Latin on May 27 , 1989 , as the album 's lead single alongside Quiero Ser . Lyrically , the song explores the narrator 's feelings of wanting to be closer romantically with her lover . Composed by Mexican songwriter Alejandro Montealegre , Contigo Quiero Estar is a Tejano song with folk and ranchera influences . Deborah Vargas wrote in her book that the single marked the beginning of her Selena 's international trajectory . Many other recording artists have covered the song . Background and composition In 1989 , Selena signed a recording contract with EMI Latin , and that same year , began recording songs for her debut album with them . According to Selena 's record producer sibling A.B. Quintanilla III EMI Latin did not want A.B. to produce any songs for Selena 's debut album . He explained to an interview with Brian Red Moore , a family friend who overshadowed the Selena 20 Years of Music collection interviews , that the recording company was already gambling on releasing a Latin division , and hesitated any family involvement that could hinder the sales of the album . Selena 's father and manager , Abraham Quintanilla , Jr. expressed that he tried to persuade the recording company to give A.B. a try . After this , A.B. was allowed to produce Selena 's songs for her album , including Contigo Quiero Estar . Mexican songwriter Alejandro Montealegre , sent in lyrics to a song he wrote to EMI Latin . They instantly wanted Selena to record it for her album , believing it fit well with her other recorded materials . The song makes use of the drums , an electronic keyboard , a french horn , and the piano . Lyrically , Contigo Quiero Estar talks about the narrator 's feelings for her lover , who wants to be by his side constantly . Critical reception and covers Deborah Vargas wrote in her book unk Divas in Chicana Music The Limits of la Onda that the song marked the beginning of her Selena 's international trajectory . Mexican band Los Reyes De Mexico recorded a mariachi version of the song on their album Reyes De Mexico Lo Lindo Ti . Puerto Rican band Orquesta unk Show recorded both a merengue and a cumbia version , which were included on their album unk y unk . Track listing CD Single Contigo Quiero Estar 3 49 Quiero Ser 2 33 Credits and personnel Credits are taken from the album 's liner notes . Books Pea , Manuel ( 2002 ) , Msica unk the cultural economy of artistic transformation , Texas A M University Press , ISBN unk
234
Terrance Terry Bywater ( born 28 February 1983 ) is a British wheelchair basketball player . He participated in the 2000 Summer Paralympics , where his team came in fourth place in the 2004 Summer Paralympics , where he won a bronze medal and was the highest scorer for Great Britain the 2008 Summer Paralympics , winning another bronze medal and the 2012 Summer Paralympics , where his team again came in fourth place . Personal Bywater was born on 28 February 1983 in unk , England and currently lives in Cleveland , North Yorkshire . As of 2009 , he weighs 74 kilograms ( 11 st 9 lb ) and is 1 . 8 metres ( 5 ft 11 in ) tall . He was born without a tibia and a fibula in his left leg , which was amputated when he was two . He has a son , Benjamin Bywater . Wheelchair basketball Bywater began playing wheelchair basketball at the age of 13 at an open day in Middlesbrough with the Teesside Lions . He later played with them . After playing for a year , he was selected for the Great Britain Under 23 team and began training in 1993 . He made his debut at the Sydney 2000 Summer Paralympics , and finished fourth . He participated in the 2008 Summer Paralympics in Beijing , where he won a bronze medal , and was the top Great Britain scorer in the event . He currently plays for the Sheffield Steelers . He once played for C. D. unk in Spain , along with many other European clubs . Bywater returned to England so he could play with the Super League Club Sheffield Steelers throughout the 2011 12 season . He is a 4 . 5 point player . His first championships were the 2001 2002 European Championships in Amsterdam , Netherlands , where he finished fourth . In 2002 he went to the World Championships in Kitakyushu in Japan , where he finished second ( silver ) . He participated in the 2003 European Championships in Sassari , Italy , and won bronze . He competed in the 2005 European Championships in Paris , France , and won silver . He competed in the 2006 World Championships in Amsterdam and was fifth place , and in 2007 he participated in the European Championships in Wetzlar , Netherlands , and received a silver medal . Two years later , he won bronze in the European Championships of Adana in Turkey . In 2010 , for the first time , he participated in the World Wheelchair Basketball Championships in Birmingham , and was fifth place . He won gold in the 2011 European Championships in Nazareth , Israel . At the 2012 Summer Olympics in London , the wheelchair basketball team lost to the United States , and finished in fourth position , after losing to Canada , missing out of the finals . He said that not winning a medal at the Paralympics was the worst moment of his career .
235
State Route 11 ( SR 11 ) is a state route in San Diego County that is planned to connect SR 905 and SR 125 with the proposed new U.S. Mexico border crossing at Otay Mesa East . Planning for the road began in the 1990s , and construction started in 2013 . As of 2016 , the portion from SR 905 to Enrico Fermi Drive is complete , with the rest of the road scheduled for completion in 2017 . Route description SR 11 is proposed to be a toll facility that will serve a new border crossing east of Otay Mesa , the Otay Mesa East Port of Entry . It will connect SR 905 and SR 125 to the unk Tijuana Rosarito 2000 corridor that connects to Mexican Federal Highway 2D and Mexican Federal Highway 2 to Tecate , and Mexican Federal Highway 1D to Ensenada . As of 2016 , the portion from SR 905 to Enrico Fermi Drive is completed . On that segment , plans were to construct two interchanges at Enrico Fermi Drive and Siempre Viva Road as the proposed route curves to the southeast before reaching the border crossing . SR 11 will operate as a toll road once the entire route is completed . History SR 11 was added to the state highway system in 1994 . Four years later , several parties , including District 11 of Caltrans , the City and County of San Diego , the San Diego Association of Governments , and Tijuana were signatories to a Letter of Intent to build the border crossing . The route was added to the California Freeway and Expressway System in 1999 . In 2009 , Senate Bill 1486 was passed , and the presidential permit in 2008 allowed for the border crossing to be constructed . By one year later , several alternatives were considered , in terms of constructing some or even none of the interchanges , or removing the proposed toll on the route . State funding is allocated to cover much of the 400 million cost , which does not include the port of entry at another 350 million . The California Transportation Commission endorsed the project in January 2012 , and approved the proposed freeway route that December . Plans are to construct the road in three stages the interchange with SR 905 and the road to Enrico Fermi Drive , continuing the construction to the commercial vehicle facility , and building the border crossing itself . The first part of construction connecting to SR 905 started on December 10 , 2013 and was completed on March 19 , 2016 . The entire road is scheduled for completion by 2017 . Tolls are planned for the road in order to keep delays for crossing the border low , and this would vary depending on the current traffic at the other crossings in the area . The funds would go to both countries . Exit list The entire route is in San Diego , San Diego County .
236
Rideau Cottage is a historic , residential building located on the grounds of Rideau Hall in Ottawa , Ontario . The two level , 22 room Georgian Revival home is owned by the Canadian Crown and has traditionally been inhabited by persons associated with the Governor General of Canada , including the viceroy 's private secretary . It is occupied by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and his family as of 2016 . History Construction on the building , which was based on a design by architect F.P. unk , began in 1866 and concluded in 1867 . Though intended in the early days to serve as the residence of the governor general 's secretary , the cottage was later designated for use by the government as an official guest house for visiting dignitaries . On his arrival in Canada in 1883 , incoming governor general the Marquess of Lansdowne resided at Rideau Cottage while waiting for Rideau Hall to be vacated by the outgoing Governor General , the Marquess of Lorne . Other residents included Lionel and Lilias Massey during Vincent Massey 's time as governor general Georges Vanier , as Aide de camp to Governor General the Viscount Byng of Vimy , and Barbara unk , private secretary to the governor general from 2000 to 2006 , and her husband , Graham Fraser . unk 's successor , Stephen Wallace , resided in Rideau Cottage until the weekend of 24 25 October 2015 , when he vacated the premises to allow then prime minister designate Justin Trudeau and his family to live in the house while the traditional official residence of the Prime Minister of Canada , 24 Sussex Drive , was undergoing assessment for repairs and restoration . Rideau Cottage was recognized as a Recognized Federal Heritage Building on 3 October 1986 . Design Rideau Cottage is a two level , 22 room Georgian Revival building . Originally , the structure had 14 rooms on a single floor . An 1872 remodel , using a different brick , added both the second level and a verandah on three sides of the ground floor . During that remodel , the exterior brick of the first floor was covered in stucco painted to appear like brick . ( When the verandah was removed some time later , the stucco remained . ) Between 1999 and 2000 , the building underwent major renovations to the basement , roof and interior finishes , and the mechanical and electrical systems were upgraded . Outside , the stucco was removed and each brick and joint was individually dyed to give a uniform appearance . It was again renovated in 2013 . Rideau Cottage is characterized and distinguished by its symmetry , simple lines , classically inspired central entrance with pedimented porch , sash windows flanked by decorative shutters , and paired chimneys .
237
King 's Highway 127 , commonly referred to as Highway 127 , is a provincially maintained highway in the Canadian province of Ontario . The route begins in Maynooth , connecting Highway 62 north of Bancroft with Highway 60 in the township of South Algonquin , east of Whitney and Algonquin Provincial Park . The entire route is patrolled by the Ontario Provincial Police ( OPP ) . Highway 127 was designated in late 1955 , generally following the same route as today , with the exception of the northern terminus . During the early 1960s , a new road was constructed east of Whitney , bypassing the old highway for several kilometres . By 1963 , the bypass was complete and Highway 127 was rerouted onto it . Route description Highway 127 is a remote connector highway that lies east of Algonquin Park , the oldest provincial park in Ontario and one of the most frequented camping grounds in the world . It connects the northern end of Highway 62 in Maynooth with Highway 60 east of Whitney . The only community Highway 127 passes through is Lake St. Peter . It passes through large swaths of undeveloped forest on its 39 km ( 24 mi ) journey , and is rather remote aside from the towns at the northern and southern terminii , the only named community on Highway 127 is Lake St. Peter . Like most routes which pass through the Canadian Shield , Highway 127 travels through rock cuts and muskeg ridden terrain in the midst of dense coniferous forests . There is little agricultural activity along the route . Within Maynooth , Highway 127 serves nearly three times as many vehicles as the rest of the route while a daily average of 1800 vehicles use Highway 127 in Maynooth , only 650 travel the length of the route . As with other provincial highways in Ontario , Highway 127 is patrolled by the OPP . History Highway 127 was first designated in 1955 along an existing road between Maynooth and Whitney . The section within the Hastings County was designated on October 19 and the section within Nipissing District on November 16 . The highway was 44 . 3 km ( 27 . 5 mi ) long when it was designated . It was paved as far north as Lake St. Peter , after which it was a gravel road . Over the next several years , the highway was paved north towards Whitney . In the early 1960s , it was decided to bypass to the east of the northernmost section of the highway . Construction began in 1961 and was completed by 1963 , cutting 5 km ( 3 . 1 mi ) off the length of the route . Aside from minor realignments , the route of Highway 127 has not changed since then . Major intersections The following table lists the major junctions along Highway 127 , as noted by the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario .
238
State Route 188 ( SR 188 ) is a two mile ( 3 km ) route that connects State Route 94 with the Mexico United States border . Its southern terminus is at the border near Tecate , Baja California and its northern terminus is near Tecate , California with SR 94 . The route was assigned in the area in 1972 , and has remained intact since . Route description State Route 188 or Tecate Road begins at the U.S.Mexico border in the community of Tecate , Baja California this border crossing handled roughly four percent of all traffic in between Baja California and California during 2008 . The route progresses northward , passing through a large commercial district in Tecate , California . The highway heads to an intersection with Thing Road , where it turns to the northeast and out of the commercial district . The route continues to the northeast , intersecting with Humphries Road , where the surroundings become highly undeveloped . SR 188 continues to an intersection with SR 94 a short distance out of Potrero , where the designation ends and right of way merges into SR 94 . The entire route is in the National Highway System , a network of roadways important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . In 2013 , SR 188 had an annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) of 5 , 600 at the northern terminus , and 5 , 900 at the southern terminus , the latter of which was the highest AADT for the highway . History The original alignment of SR 188 , when routes where first assigned , was designated as Legislative Route 94 . In the 1964 state highway renumbering , SR 188 was officially defined as the south end of Fallen Leaf Lake to Route 89 near Camp Richardson this was later removed in 1965 . A road from the town of Potrero to Tecate existed by 1917 . The Tecate border crossing originally opened in 1932 . In 1938 , the San Diego County board of supervisors proposed moving rerouting the road to be shorter and on more level ground , although there was opposition from local residents and businesses who favored the old road . However , the route of the road to Tecate has remained the same since then . The current routing of SR 188 was assigned in 1972 . The route has remained virtually unchanged since . The Tecate border crossing expanded through the opening of the Tecate Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Facility , including truck scales this was completed in 2008 , with past expansions to the crossing having been completed in 2004 and 2005 . Future Improvements are being planned to connect the two ports of entry with a truck bypass to improve security these are scheduled for completion by 2015 . Major intersections The entire route is in San Diego County .
239
Mississippi Highway 5 ( MS 5 ) is a state highway in Benton County , Mississippi . It runs 26 . 929 mi ( 43 . 338 km ) from MS 178 in Hickory Flat north to U.S. Route 72 ( US 72 ) to the south of Michigan City . The route runs through the Holly Springs National Forest for much of its length and passes through Ashland . To the south of Ashland , MS 5 has a concurrency with MS 4 . The MS 5 designation was first used by 1932 for an unpaved road between Hickory Flat and the Tennessee border in Michigan City . In 1943 , the northern terminus was cut back to US 72 . MS 5 was completely paved by 1951 and has retained its current alignment since then . Route description MS 5 begins at an intersection with MS 178 in the community of Hickory Flat , which is within the Holly Springs National Forest . The route heads north from this point on a two lane undivided road through dense forests with some fields and homes . After a junction with the western terminus of MS 2 , the highway continues through rural land and passes a few lakes . After crossing the Tippah River , MS 5 reaches the MS 4 intersection and forms a concurrency with that route . The two routes leave the boundaries of the Holly Springs National Forest , passing through a mix of farmland and woodland with some homes and coming to the community of Ashland . Here , MS 4 splits from MS 5 by turning to the west , and MS 5 becomes Boundary Drive , which runs by businesses and homes . The road intersects the western terminus of MS 370 before it leaves Ashland . The route heads into agricultural areas with some woodland and homes , making a turn to the northwest before resuming north . MS 5 comes to its northern terminus at an intersection with US 72 located to the south of Michigan City . MS 5 is legally defined in Mississippi Code 65 3 3 . The entire length of MS 5 is designated a scenic route by Chapter 316 , Senate Bill unk , Laws 1989 . History What is now MS 5 originally existed as an unnumbered unpaved road by 1928 . The MS 5 designation was assigned by 1932 for the road running from US 78 in Hickory Flat to the Tennessee border in Michigan City , where it connected to SR 18 . This road was a gravel road south of Ashland and an earth road north of Ashland . Two years later , the portion north of Ashland became a gravel road . In 1943 , the northern terminus of MS 5 was cut back to its current location at US 72 , with MS 7 connecting to SR 18 at the Tennessee border . By 1948 , the portion of route south of Ashland was paved . The remainder of the route was paved three years later . Since then , the route has not undergone any alignment changes . Major intersections The entire route is in Benton County .
240
Jon Pollock ( born 11 May 1977 ) is a British wheelchair basketball player . He was selected to train with the British wheelchair basketball squad in 1992 . Pollock has played at four Paralympic games the 2000 Summer Paralympics in Sydney , the 2004 Summer Paralympics in Athens , the 2008 Summer Paralympics in Beijing and the 2012 Summer Paralympics in London . He won a bronze medal at the 2004 Paralympics and the 2008 Paralympic Games . Personal life Pollock was born on 11 May 1977 in Liverpool , England with Spina bifida , a developmental congenital disorder caused by the incomplete closing of the embryonic neural tube . He currently lives in Wigan , Greater Manchester in north west England . Wheelchair basketball Pollock is a class 2 . 5 wheelchair basketball player and currently plays for the unk unk Rhinos of Wolverhampton . He has been competing in wheelchair basketball for over twenty years . In his twenty year career , he has represented Team GB and Paralympics GB four times at various Summer Paralympic Games . Pollock first competed at the 1997 European Wheelchair Basketball Championship in Madrid , Spain winning silver . Two years later , he played in the 1999 European Championships in Roermond , Netherlands . He ended in fourth place with his team . In 2000 , he was a member of Team GB in the 2000 Summer Paralympic Games , held in Sydney , Australia . Along with his team , they finished in fourth place out of the medals . In 2001 02 , he finished in fourth place at the 2001 2002 European championships in Amsterdam , Netherlands . In the 2002 World Championships , he won silver , in Kitakyushu , Japan . He participated in the 2003 European Championships , in Sassari , Italy . He won bronze in this event . In the 2004 Summer Paralympics in Athens , Greece , he was in medal position . He finished , along with his team , in the bronze medal position . Two years after the Paralympics , he was at the 2006 World Championships in Amsterdam . He finished in fifth position . The following year , Pollock was at the 2007 European Championships , in Wetzlar , Netherlands . Along with his team , he finished in silver medal position . The following year , he was a member of the squad in the 2008 Summer Paralympic Games in Beijing . Here , he won his second Paralympic bronze . In 2009 he won bronze in the European championships in Adana , southern Turkey . In 2010 , he finished fifth , along with his team , in the World Wheelchair Basketball Championships , held in Birmingham . At the 2012 Summer Paralympics in London , Pollock and the GB team got through to the semi finals after beating Turkey , but lost against Canada 52 69 , keeping them out of medal position .
241
M 186 , is a state trunkline highway in the U.S. state of Michigan . It functions as a connector highway wholly contained in Grand Traverse County , which is located in the northwestern Lower Peninsula . The western terminus is at M 113 east of Kingsley and the eastern terminus is at U.S. Highway 131 ( US 131 ) west of downtown Fife Lake . The current incarnation of M 186 is the second usage of the designation . The first was used for a highway in the Upper Peninsula in the 1930s . Route description M 186 forms an easterly extension of M 113 from Kingsley to Fife Lake . M 186 starts south of a ninety degree curve in M 113 and runs east through flat , wooded terrain to Fife Lake . The roadway runs parallel to the survey section lines in Fife Lake Township , and it passes several residences along the whole length . From the eastern terminus , State Street connects M 186 and US 131 with downtown Fife Lake . In 2007 , the average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) surveys conducted by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) showed that 2 , 100 vehicles used M 186 . M 113 west of M 186 logged an average of 7 , 800 vehicles a day north of the junction and 4 , 400 vehicles south of the junction . On the east end , US 131 carried 5 , 100 vehicles north and 4 , 800 vehicles south of the junction in Fife Lake . Of the 2 , 100 vehicles on M 186 , only 140 trucks travelled the highway each day on average . History Previous designation In the 1930s , M 186 was designated on a 4 . 3 mile ( 6 . 9 km ) connector route in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan between US 2 US 41 at Rapid River and M 35 near Brampton . This designation existed from 1933 until July 26 , 1939 , forming a route for westbound US 2 traffic to access M 35 northbound towards Gwinn and Negaunee . Current designation In 1940 , US 131 ended at a unk convergence with M 113 and M 131 four miles ( 6 km ) north of Walton Junction in Paradise Township . From this intersection , US 131 ran south to Walton Junction , M 113 ran west to Kingsley , and M 131 ran east toward Fife Lake before turning north to Petoskey . A new alignment of US 131 was built from Walton Junction directly to Fife Lake . This formed a third leg of a triangle of roads , allowing US 131 to bypass the Paradise Township intersection . US 131 replaced M 131 north from Fife Lake to Petoskey . M 113 was extended along the former section of US 131 south to Walton Junction . The remaining leg of the triangle from Paradise Township to Fife Lake along a portion of the former M 131 was designated M 186 at this time . Major intersections The entire highway is in Fife Lake Township , Grand Traverse County .
242
Route 126 is a highway located entirely within Barton County in the U.S. state of Missouri . Its western terminus is at the Kansas state line , where K 126 ends . The route goes in a straight line for most of its length , and intersects Interstate 49 ( I 49 ) and U.S. Route 71 ( US 71 ) . Its eastern terminus is at US 160 and Route 37 in Golden City . The route was designated in 1942 , and formerly consisted of two supplemental routes . Route description Route 126 starts at the Kansas state line , where K 126 ends . The road travels east for around seven miles in a straight line , intersecting Route M and Route 43 . Route 126 continues eastward , crossing through farmland and a few trees . After the route intersects Route J , it meets a frontage road parallel to I 49 US 71 . The road crosses over North Fork Spring River and continues east . Soon , Route 126 intersects I 49 US 71 at a diamond interchange , and intersects a frontage road again . The route crosses a railroad owned by Missouri and Northern Arkansas Railroad , and intersects Routes JJ and T. Four miles later , the route enters Golden City and becomes Main Street . It becomes concurrent with Route 37 . The routes goes through downtown Golden City , and turn slightly northeast . The two routes end at US 160 at a T intersection . US 160 continues eastward toward Lockwood . In 2012 , Missouri Department of Transportation ( MoDOT ) calculated as many as 840 vehicles traveling east of I 49 US 71 , and as few as 480 vehicles traveling west of I 49 US 71 . This is expressed in terms of annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) , a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . History The road that became Route 126 was built and designated , as supplemental Route D around 1935 . It connected from US 71 to US 160 in Golden City . By 1940 , supplemental Route H was designated , connected from Route 43 , to a dead end east of it . A year later , Route H was extended west to the Kansas state line . In 1942 , Route 126 was designated , replacing Route H from the state line to Route 43 . Around 1945 1949 , Route H was extended east to Route Z , and the same route was extended east for a few miles east of Route Z in 1954 . Around 1955 , Route H and D were removed in the supplemental route system , and was replaced by Route 126 , as the two sections became connected . Later , Route 126 was repaved in concrete , from the state line to Route 43 . The whole route was repaved by 1957 . In 1979 , US 71 was moved to a freeway alignment , but an interchange wasn 't built until 2010 2013 . I 49 became co signed with US 71 in December 2012 . Major intersections The entire route is in Barton County .
243
Route 181 is a 7 . 47 mile ( 12 . 02 km ) state highway in Jefferson Township and Sparta Township in New Jersey . The highway begins in Jefferson Township at a cloverleaf interchange with Route 15 and unk Road . Route 181 serves as the local route through Woodport , serving the eastern shores of Lake Hopatcong as well as the main road through the center of Sparta . The route terminates at a jughandle with Route 15 in Sparta . Route 181 originates as an alignment of State Highway Route 6 A through Woodport and Sparta , which became Route 15 in the 1953 state highway renumbering . In 1974 , Route 181 was designated as Route 15 was moved onto a freeway bypass of Sparta . Route description Route 181 begins at a cloverleaf interchange with Route 15 in Jefferson Township . Also present at the southern terminus and interchange is unk Road , which heads westward towards Lake Hopatcong . Route 181 runs north past several ramps of the interchange , paralleling Route 15 through Jefferson Township . The route winds northwest and reaches the eastern shores of Lake Hopatcong , where it reaches the community of Woodport . At Woodport , Lake Hopatcong ends as Route 181 crosses the line from Morris County to Sussex County . Now in the town of Sparta , Route 181 becomes Woodport Road , winding northward back toward Route 15 . The two routes parallel northwestward and intersect with Blue Heron Drive , which connects the two roads . Once again , Route 181 turns northwest and away from Route 15 , reaching downtown Sparta . The two lane road winds northwest through the center of Sparta , reaching a junction with County Route 517 ( CR 517 Sparta Avenue ) , which connects to Route 15 once again . After CR 517 , Route 181 runs northward out of downtown Sparta , passing the unk Golf Club as it approaches Route 15 once again . Becoming a two lane residential road , the highway heads into an intersection with Route 15 with a jughandle , marking the northern terminus of Route 181 . History Route 181 originated as an alignment of State Highway Route 6 A , a spur of State Highway Route 6 ( now U.S. Route 46 ) from Dover to Ross Corner . The designation was assigned in 1938 , eleven years after the then current highway system in New Jersey was started . The state highway route designation remained intact for fifteen years , until January 1 , 1953 , when the routes in state of New Jersey underwent a large renumbering . Route 6 A became Route 15 , running along NJ 181 's alignment from Jefferson to Sparta . The Sparta Bypass was constructed in 1974 , and upon completion , Route 15 was taken off of the Jefferson Sparta alignment , which was re designated Route 181 . Major intersections
244
47 Ursae Majoris c ( abbreviated 47 UMa c ) , also named Taphao Kaew ( Thai unk , rtgs Taphaokaeo , pronounced unk unk ) , is an extrasolar planet approximately 46 light years from Earth in the constellation of Ursa Major . The planet was discovered located in a long period around the star 47 Ursae Majoris . Its orbit lasts 6 . 55 years and the planet has a mass at least 0 . 540 times that of Jupiter . In July 2014 the International Astronomical Union launched a process for giving proper names to certain exoplanets and their host stars . The process involved public nomination and voting for the new names . In December 2015 , the IAU announced the winning name was Taphao Kaew for this planet . The winning name was submitted by the Thai Astronomical Society of Thailand . Taphaokaeo was one of two sisters associated with a Thai folk tale . Discovery Like the majority of known extrasolar planets , 47 Ursae Majoris c was discovered by detecting changes in its star 's radial velocity caused by the planet 's gravity . This was done by measuring the Doppler shift of the star 's spectrum . At the time of discovery in 2001 , 47 Ursae Majoris was already known to host one extrasolar planet , designated 47 Ursae Majoris b . Further measurements of the radial velocity revealed another periodicity in the data unaccounted for by the first planet . This periodicity could be explained by assuming that a second planet , designated 47 Ursae Majoris c , existed in the system with an orbital period close to 7 years . Observations of the photosphere of 47 Ursae Majoris suggested that the periodicity could not be explained by stellar activity , making the planet interpretation more likely . The planet was announced in 2002 . Further measurements of 47 Ursae Majoris failed to detect the planet , calling its existence into question . Furthermore , it was noted that the data used to determine its existence left the planet 's parameters almost unconstrained . A more recent study with datasets spanning over 6 , 900 days came to the conclusion that while the existence of a second planet in the system is likely , periods around 2 , 500 days have high false alarm probabilities , and gave a best fit period of 7 , 586 days ( almost 21 years ) . In 2010 , a study was published that determined that there are three giant planets orbiting 47 Ursae Majoris , including one at 2 , 391 days that corresponds well with the original claims for 47 Ursae Majoris c . Physical characteristics Since 47 Ursae Majoris c was detected indirectly , properties such as its radius , composition , and temperature are unknown . Based on its high mass , the planet is likely to be a gas giant with no solid surface .
245
Nordberg was a station on the Sognsvann Line of the Oslo Metro in Oslo , Norway . It was opened on 10 October 1934 , and was located between sthorn and Holstein stations , in a level crossing with the steep road unk . The station saw several accidents , and was closed on 5 May 1992 when the Sognsvann Line was upgraded to rapid transit standard . An underpass was constructed to allow pedestrians pass under the tracks . History Nordberg station opened on 10 October 1934 as a station on the Sognsvann Line . The line was built by the municipally owned company Akersbanerne . The line was double tracked from Majorstuen to Korsvoll , and single tracked from there to Sognsvann . In 1939 , the section Korsvoll Sognsvann was upgraded to double track , and the station Korsvoll had its name changed to sthorn . Nordberg was part of Holmenkolbanen 's operating network until 1975 , when the municipality of Oslo bought all the company 's stock . In the early 1990s , the stations on the Sognsvann Line were upgraded to metro standard , which involves a heightening and lengthening of the platforms , installation of third rail power supply and a new signaling system . The third rail made it impossible to cross the line in grade , and under or overpasses had to be built at all stations . The transport authorities decided to close Nordberg , arguing that the access roads to the station were steep and dangerous , and icy during the winter . The residents of Nordberg opposed the closure of the station , arguing that it had served the area well with its central position in the area . Nevertheless , the station was closed , along with the level crossing that formerly had allowed for car traffic to cross the tracks . An underpass for pedestrians was constructed . Accidents In 1951 , two young lads rode a sled over the station 's level crossing , and accidentally hit a truck that was parked on the other side of the station . In 1987 , a 29 year old man was attacked by a raging moose near the station . The man ran off to a shop 40 metres ( 130 ft ) away , and left the accident with broken ribs and a punctured lung . The reason for the moose 's rage is unknown , but it was seen a few days earlier with a calf , and it is assumed that the moose wanted to protect it from foreigners . The man was sent to Ullevl University Hospital shortly thereafter . Location Nordberg Station was located in the steep road named unk , that passed the station in a level crossing . The station served the local senior center named unk , and was the most used of all stations among residents living in Nordberg . After the 1992 closure , very little remains from the station , aside from a pedestrians ' underpass .
246
State Route 433 ( SR 433 ) is a 0 . 94 mile ( 1 . 51 km ) long state highway located entirely in Cowlitz County , Washington , United States . The highway begins midway across the Columbia River on the National Register of Historic Places listed Lewis and Clark Bridge and travels north to SR 432 in Longview . Prior to the 1964 state highway renumbering the highway was part of Primary State Highway 12 . Between 1964 and 1972 , the highway 's designation was changed from State Route 833 to the current SR 433 . Route description SR 433 enters Washington and Cowlitz county on the National Register of Historic Places listed Lewis and Clark Bridge over the Columbia River . The highway travels northwest along the bridge for 0 . 54 mi ( 0 . 87 km ) before dropping into the city and Port of Longview , intersecting the access road to the Port , Port Way . The highway continues north , paralleling railroad tracks belonging to the Columbia and Cowlitz Railway , intersecting Port Way again , and gaining one lane in each direction for a total of four lanes before the highway terminates at an intersection with SR 432 and Industrial Way . The highway has a posted speed limit of 35 miles per hour ( 56 km h ) for its entire length . Oregon Way continues after the end of SR 433 into downtown Longview and SR 4 . Every year the Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2009 , WSDOT calculated 20 , 000 vehicles use the highway , with 12 percent of that traffic being trucks . The entire highway is listed on both the WSDOT List of Highways of Statewide Significance , which marks this portion of the highway as critical to connecting major communities in the state , and the National Highway System , a system of roads that are important to the nation 's economy , defense and mobility . SR 433 and the Lewis and Clark Bridge form part of the Seattle to Portland Bicycle Classic , serving as the link between Washington and Oregon on the 202 mi ( 325 km ) long bicycle race held annually . History Before the 1964 state highway renumbering the highway was part of Primary State Highway 12 . Sometime between the renumbering and 1972 the highway was renumbered from SR 833 , a branch of U.S. Route 830 ( US 830 ) , to the current SR 433 , a branch of SR 4 , which replaced US 830 through the area . Until 1992 the highway continued north to Tennant Way , however highway was truncated to Industrial Way . Major intersections The entire highway is in Cowlitz County .
247
The Polikarpov VIT 1 ( Russian unk Istrebitel ' unk Flying Tank Destroyer ) was a Soviet twin engined multi purpose aircraft developed before World War II . One prototype was built in 1937 , with an extremely heavy armament for ground attack duties . That was the only example built as it was decided to revise the design with more powerful engines as the VIT 2 . Development The Polikarpov design bureau ( OKB ) was ordered , in 1936 , to begin development of a fast twin engined aircraft that could be used for ground attack duties and as a heavy fighter . It delivered the ground attack version the following year for evaluation , although it could be modified as necessary for other roles . The VIT 1 was reasonably successful , but it was decided to give it more powerful engines and modify its structure . The improved aircraft was designated as the VIT 2 . The VIT 1 was a low winged , twin engined aircraft with a mixed structure . The monocoque fuselage was made in halves of ' shpon ' , molded birch plywood . The wing and tail structures were built from a mix of steel tubes and duralumin with a duralumin skin . The VIT 1 had the first metal skinned control surfaces in the USSR . The main legs of the conventional landing gear retracted aft into the engine nacelles , but the tailwheel was fixed . The nose was extensively glazed to give the bombardier navigator good visibility and he was armed with a 20 mm ( 0 . 79 in ) ShVAK cannon with 10 of vertical travel . The rear gunner radio operator sat behind the pilot in a manually operated turret armed with a 7 . 62 mm ( 0 . 300 in ) ShKAS machine gun . Two 37 mm ( 1 . 5 in ) unk Sh 37 cannon were mounted in the wing roots with very prominent barrels . Up to 600 kg ( 1 , 300 lb ) of bombs could be carried internally in the fuselage or a pair of 500 kg ( 1 , 100 lb ) FAB 500 bombs could be carried under the wings . It used a pair of 716 kW ( 960 hp ) Klimov M 103 inline engines driving 3 bladed propellers . Specifications Data from Gordon , Soviet Airpower in World War 2 General characteristics Crew 3 Length 12 . 7 m ( 41 ft 8 in ) Wingspan 16 . 5 m ( 54 ft 2 in ) Wing area 40 . 4 m2 ( 435 sq ft ) Airfoil Clark YH Empty weight 4 , 013 kg ( 8 , 847 lb ) Gross weight 6 , 453 kg ( 14 , 226 lb ) Powerplant 2 Klimov M 103 liquid cooled V12 engines , 716 kW ( 960 hp ) each Propellers 3 bladed Performance Maximum speed 530 km h ( 329 mph 286 kn ) at 3 , 000 metres ( 9 , 843 ft ) Range 1 , 000 km ( 621 mi 540 nmi ) Service ceiling 8 , 000 m ( 26 , 247 ft ) Armament Guns 2 x 37 mm Sh 37 cannon 1x 20 mm ShVAK cannon 1x 7 . 62 mm ShKAS machine gun Bombs up to a total of 1 , 000 kg ( 2 , 200 lb )
248
Route 172 is a short state highway in New Brunswick , New Jersey , United States . The designation runs along the southernmost leg of George Street , which is county and city maintained the rest of the way . Route 172 is 0 . 81 miles ( 1 . 30 km ) long , serving as a connector from an interchange with Route 18 to an intersection with County Route 527 . The highway was assigned in the 1950s , when nearby Route 18 was realigned onto a new freeway over Burnet Street in New Brunswick . Route 172 underwent a major upgrade during the reconstruction of Route 18 , including a roundabout at an intersection with CR 617 , and a brand new interchange with the local lanes of Route 18 . Route description Route 172 begins at an interchange with the local lanes of Route 18 in the city of New Brunswick . The highway heads northward and passes through the Douglass Campus of Rutgers University . Route 172 then intersects with a local road , which serves the purposes of the university . The highway then progresses towards County Route 617 ( CR 617 Ryders Lane ) , which heads southward from a roundabout with Route 172 . Route 172 then turns to the west along George Street . After the roundabout , the highway intersects with Nichol Avenue and Route 172 continues into downtown New Brunswick . There , the highway intersects with Bishop Street , and terminates at an intersection with Commercial Avenue and CR 527 continues along George Street , the right of way . History Route 172 originated as alignment of State Highway Route S 28 , which was assigned in the 1927 state highway renumbering . In the 1953 renumbering , State Highway Route S 28 was reassigned as Route 18 . However , just a few years after the designation of NJ 18 in New Brunswick along George Street , construction of a bypass around New Brunswick began . The highway was constructed along Burnet Street , which became state maintained by the State Highway Department . The route was completed to Route 27 , and Route 18 was moved onto that alignment . The former alignment of Route 18 remained state maintained up to the intersection with Commercial Avenue , which was eventually re designated as Route 172 . When the New Jersey Department of Transportation started construction on upgrading the bypass , the fly over ramp and on ramp to and from Route 172 were torn down for construction of a new interchange along a new local express format . The overpass was closed on October 12 , 2007 to begin the construction . The bridge was built by 1955 and was replaced in 2008 . On January 2 , 2009 , the new exit ramp for Route 18 to Route 172 was reopened to traffic . Major intersections The entire route is in New Brunswick , Middlesex County .
249
State Highway 108 ( abbreviated SH 108 ) is a minor state highway in Payne , Noble , and Pawnee counties in north central Oklahoma . It runs for 24 . 1 miles ( 38 . 8 km ) , from SH 33 south of Ripley to U.S. Route 64 ( US 64 ) in Lela . SH 108 has no lettered spurs . SH 108 was added to the state highway system on July 11 , 1955 . At this time , the highway had the same extent as it does today the only changes made to the highway over the years were slight modifications to its alignment due to the straightening of connecting highways . Route description SH 108 begins in Payne County approximately halfway between Perkins and Cushing at SH 33 . From here , the highway runs north on Ripley Road . About two miles ( 3 . 2 km ) into its journey , the road passes through the town of Ripley ( pop . 444 ) . North of Ripley , it crosses the Cimarron River . Seven miles ( 11 km ) later , the highway intersects SH 51 , and SH 108 turns west along it , forming a one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) concurrency . SH 108 then continues north on Rose Road . Approximately eight miles ( 13 km ) north of SH 51 , SH 108 enters Glencoe ( pop . 583 ) . The highway then crosses the Cimarron Turnpike on a grade separation with no interchange . The highway shifts to the east about one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) north of Glencoe . Upon exiting Payne County , the highway straddles the Noble Pawnee County line all the way to its terminus at US 64 in the unincorporated settlement of Lela . As of 2012 , the highest average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) count along SH 108 was 5 , 900 , measured along the concurrency with SH 51 . The highest traffic volume on SH 108 alone was an AADT of 1 , 900 , measured north of SH 51 . The lowest AADT measured was 1 , 500 , which occurred both in Glencoe and south of Ripley . No part of SH 108 has been designated as part of the National Highway System . History SH 108 was first designated on July 11 , 1955 . The highway was mostly gravel at that time only the portions from the southern terminus to Ripley and the concurrency with SH 51 were paved . In 1960 , the section of SH 108 between SH 51 and Glencoe was paved . In 1963 , the paved segment extended north of Glencoe , to the highway 's northern terminus . The first change to the highway 's alignment occurred on November 1 , 1966 , when SH 51 was straightened between Stillwater and Yale SH 108 was realigned to continue to concur with SH 51 . Around the same time , the remainder of SH 108 was paved . The final change to SH 108 was made on June 4 , 1974 , when a straightening of SH 33 resulted in a slight extension of SH 108 to continue to meet the new highway . No changes have been made since . Junction list
250
State Route 61 ( SR 61 ) is a nearly 7 . 3 mile long ( 11 . 7 km ) state highway in the U.S. state of Utah , connecting SR 23 in Cornish , Cache County to U.S. Route 91 ( US 91 ) near Richmond via Lewiston , in the extreme northern part of the state . The highway has existed since at least 1914 , as SR 61 since at least 1937 , and between 735 and 2 , 180 vehicles travel along the highway on an average day in 2012 . Route description At the intersection of SR 23 ( 4800 West ) and 13400 North in the center of Cornish , SR 61 departs east on 13400 North due east , crossing over a single track belonging to the Union Pacific Railroad ( UP ) . Exiting Cornish , the highway crosses the Bear River and continues east through rural Cache County . Just shy of the western city limits of Lewiston , the highway intersects SR 200 ( 800 West ) , a connector road to Preston , Idaho . From the western terminus to SR 200 , the shoulder is up to four feet ( 1 . 2 m ) wide , suitable for bicycling , however the remainder of the route has much narrower shoulders , between less than or equal to one and nine tenths feet ( 0 . 58 m ) wide . The highway 's name changes from 13400 South to Center Street through Lewiston . Passing the Lewiston Cemetery , SR 61 crosses over the Cub River and a second single track belonging to UP , and then a third UP single track just before the highway 's eastern terminus at US 91 north of Richmond . All of the rail lines that SR 61 crosses originally belonged to the Oregon Short Line Railway . Aside from the segment through Lewiston , the highway is surrounded by farmland for its entire journey across northern Utah . Every year , UDOT conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2012 , UDOT calculated that as few as 735 vehicles used the highway on an average day at its western terminus in Cornish , and as many as 2 , 180 vehicles used the highway at its junction with SR 200 . Thirty five percent of this was truck traffic . History A roadway linking Cornish to the east has existed since at least 1914 . The roadway that serves as the eastern terminus was numbered SR 1 by 1927 , and the highway officially was designated SR 61 since at least 1937 . The 53 foot long ( 16 . 2 m ) bridge that carries SR 61 over the Cub River today was constructed in 1952 , while the 182 foot long ( 55 . 5 m ) bridge over the Bear River was built in 1961 . The original river crossings were slightly further south than their current locations . Major intersections The entire route is in Cache County .
251
The 28th Boat Race between crews from the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge took place on the River Thames on the 1 April 1871 . The race , umpired by Joseph William Chitty , was won by Cambridge by one length in a time of 23 minutes 10 seconds for their second consecutive victory . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Oxford by three lengths in the previous year 's race , while Oxford led overall with sixteen wins to Cambridge 's eleven . Oxford were coached by W. D. Benson ( their non rowing president , who had rowed three times for the Dark Blues in the 1868 , 1869 and 1870 races ) . Cambridge 's coach was John Graham Chambers ( who rowed in the 1862 and 1863 race , and was a non rowing president for the 1865 race ) and John Hilton Ridley ( who rowed in the 1869 and 1870 races ) . The race was umpired by Joseph William Chitty who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race , while the starter was Edward Searle . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 12 st 4 . 125 lb ( 76 . 1 kg ) , 2 . 75 pounds ( 1 . 2 kg ) more than their opponents . The Cambridge crew saw only three new rowers , with five returning from the 1870 race , including the Cambridge University Boat Club president John Goldie and William Henry Lowe in their third appearance in the event , along with the cox Henry Erskine Gordon . Similarly , Oxford saw five of their crew return , including S. H. Woodhouse at bow and Thomas Southey Baker who were participating in their third Boat Races . Race There was little or no tide and head wind over part of the course according to Drinkwater . Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , handing the Middlesex station to Oxford . The umpire , Chitty , got the race underway at unk , with Cambridge taking an early lead . The Light Blues had a clear water advantage by the Point and held a two length lead by the time the crews shot Hammersmith Bridge . Despite a spurt instigated by Oxford stroke Robert Lesley at Barnes Bridge , Goldie remained steady until , before the final twenty strokes , he increased the stroke rate and saw Cambridge home by one length in a time of 23 minutes 10 seconds for their second consecutive victory and took the overall record to 16 12 in Oxford 's favour .
252
George Bethune Adams ( April 3 , 1845 October 9 , 1911 ) was a United States lawyer and United States District Judge specializing in admiralty law . He served in private practice , litigated before the Supreme Court of the United States , and served as a judge on the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York . Early life and career Adams was born in Philadelphia , Pennsylvania . Though under the minimum age , he enlisted in a Pennsylvania regiment in the United States Army in 1861 , and served for three months before returning to school . He reenlisted in 1863 when Robert E. Lee 's forces invaded Pennsylvania , and afterwards entered the Quartermaster 's Department of the Army , where he served until 1871 . He then worked as a merchant for several years . He read law and became a lawyer in Philadelphia in 1878 . He was thereafter in private practice in New York City from 1883 to 1901 , specializing in admiralty law at the firm of Beebe Wilcox after the death of Judge Beebe in 1884 , he became a name partner and the firm was renamed Wilcox , Adams Green . There , he litigated before the Supreme Court of the United States in admiralty cases such as The Kate . Adams was Secretary of the Union League Club of New York in 1894 and 1895 . Appointment and judgeship When Judge Addison Brown resigned his seat on the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York , the members of the Admiralty Bar adopted a resolution in July 1901 asking the president to appoint Adams . He received a recess appointment to that seat from President William McKinley on August 30 , 1901 , and , following McKinley 's assassination on September 14 , was formally nominated to the seat by President Theodore Roosevelt on December 5 . The Senate confirmed Adams on December 17 , 1901 , and he received his commission the same day . When appointed , Adams was the only judge in the district . The workload resulting from new federal bankruptcy laws caused his health to break down two years later though three other judges were appointed to the district , Adams 's health never fully recovered , but he served until his death , focusing on the maritime cases that were his specialty . Family and death In 1904 , Adams married the former Helen Jean Balfour . Adams died in Hague , New York on October 9 , 1911 , after two years ' illness . His will was fifteen words long I give and bequeath all my estate to my wife and appoint her my executrix . There were no children . Mrs. Adams served the cause of the New York Women 's League for Animals for decades after her husband 's death despite being bitten by animals 71 times over the course of her service . She died in 1950 at the age of 101 .
253
New York State Route 293 ( NY 293 ) is a 6 . 82 mile ( 10 . 98 km ) state highway located entirely within eastern Orange County , New York , in the United States . The highway starts at U.S. Route 6 ( US 6 , known as the Long Mountain Parkway ) in Woodbury , and heads to the northeast , ending at an intersection with US 9W and NY 218 in the community of Highlands . It does not pass through any notable populated areas as most of the land around it is protected either as state parkland or US military reservation . However , it receives much traffic as the major route between the United States Military Academy at West Point and the New York State Thruway ( Interstate 87 or I 87 ) . What is now NY 293 was originally designated as part of NY 37 in the mid 1920s . All of NY 37 became part of a realigned US 6 in 1928 . US 6 was rerouted again c . 1934 to bypass West Point to the south . Its former routing through the academy grounds became NY 293 . Route description NY 293 begins at a junction with US 6 in Woodbury less than 2 miles ( 3 . 2 km ) east of the Thruway , in Harriman State Park . From there it travels in a roughly east northeast direction between the Harriman properties and the vast USMA reservation , most of which is only selectively open to the public . NY 293 's next major junction also serves as its northern terminus , at US 9W in Highlands . NY 218 ends its concurrency with US 9W there and takes over the roadway that continues east beyond the underpass . West Point 's Washington Gate is a short distance past the intersection . The Long Path hiking trail follows in the woods closely alongside NY 293 near its southern terminus . Since truck traffic cannot use US 6 , truck drivers may use NY 293 to reach US 9W . History What is now NY 293 was originally designated as part of NY 37 , an east west highway extending from Monroe to the Connecticut state line near Brewster over most of modern US 6 , in the mid 1920s . In 1927 , the first route log of the U.S. Highway System published by AASHO placed US 6 on what is now US 209 from Port Jervis to Kingston within New York . At the time , the US 6 designation ended in Kingston and resumed at the Connecticut state line in Danbury . The gap in the designation was eliminated in 1928 when US 6 was realigned east of Port Jervis to follow most of its modern alignment however , from Woodbury to the Bear Mountain Bridge , US 6 followed what had been NY 37 from Central Valley to Highlands and overlapped with US 9W south from Highlands to the bridge . US 6 was realigned c . 1934 to bypass West Point to the south while its former routing through the academy grounds was redesignated as NY 293 . Major intersections The entire route is in Orange County .
254
The LG Mobile World Cup was an international competition held on January 14 , 2010 by LG Electronics in which participants competed using their texting speed and accuracy . It was held at Gotham Hall in New York City . Thirteen teams representing their countries competed for a total of 130 , 000 USD in prize money . Format Teams consist of two members . One member competes using a QWERTY keyboard , while the other member uses a numeric keypad . Thirteen countries participated in the 2010 competition Argentina , Australia , Brazil , Canada , Indonesia , Mexico , New Zealand , Portugal , Russia , South Africa , South Korea , Spain , and the United States . Previously , LG hosted texting competitions in individual countries such as the United States and South Korea . The United States had competitions for 2007 , 2008 , and 2009 . South Korea had competitions in 2008 and 2009 . However , 2010 was the first year when countries competed against each other . Qualification Teams earned the right to participate in regional qualifiers . Over six million people registered to compete in the tournament . Each team participated in five separate events break the wall , monster popping , moving pillar , running relay , and racing replay . The basic premise was to copy a scrolling piece of text as quickly as possible . No errors were allowed in transcription . All of the text messages were in the native language of the participants , but had the same number of characters in order to ensure fairness . Additionally , all participants had to use the LG unk , LG unk or LG unk Results Ha Mok min , aged 16 , and her partner , 17 year old Bae Yeong ho , won first prize in the competition . Mok min won the national championship , and was able to text at an average of 7 . 25 characters per second . She signed up for the competition when she noticed a kiosk in the mall , and saw the opportunity to win free movie tickets . Yeong ho , a high school dropout , signed up in order to obtain money to buy a new car . The second place finishers were Kate Moore and Morgan unk from the United States . The third place team was from Argentina . The prizes were set at US 100 , 000 per pair for first place , 20 , 000 per pair for second place and 10 , 000 per pair for third place . Records A side competition was offered to see who could beat the Guinness Book of World Records record for fastest text message sent . This record was broken by Pedro Matias from Portugal . He typed a 264 character text message in 1 59 . The records for fastest keystrokes per minute on a numeric keyboard was set by Indonesia at 306 , while the most keystrokes per minute record on a QWERTY keyboard was set by South Korea at 357 .
255
Johanna Welin ( born 24 June 1984 ) is a Swedish born German 2 . 0 point wheelchair basketball player . She played for USC Munich in the German wheelchair basketball league , and for the national team that won the gold medal at the 2012 Summer Paralympics in London , after which President Joachim Gauck awarded the team with the Silbernes Lorbeerblatt ( Silver Laurel Leaf ) . Biography Johanna Welin was born on 24 June 1984 in unk , Sweden , a small town near the border between Sweden and Finland about 100 kilometres ( 62 mi ) north of the Arctic Circle . She has played football for unk IK in the Swedish league . In the winter , her passion was snowboarding , until a bad fall in a snowboarding competition at Gothenburg in January 2004 left her paralysed from the waist down . She then took up wheelchair basketball , playing for unk Gothenburg in the Swedish league , but Sweden had no national women 's team . She spent two semesters studying German in unk , but there was no wheelchair basketball team there , and she began playing for USC Munich , initially for their second team . There , she caught the attention of Holger Glinicki , the coach of the German national team , who asked her if she would like to play for the German national team . She took German citizenship , a relatively painless procedure for an athlete , and made the German national team , which went on to win gold at the 2011 European Championships in Nazareth , Israel , defeating the Netherlands in the final , 48 42 . In June 2012 she was named as part of the team that competed at the 2012 Summer Paralympic Games in London , where they faced the Australia women 's national wheelchair basketball team , a team that had defeated them 48 46 in Sydney just a few months before . They defeated the Australians 44 58 in front of a capacity crowd of over 12 , 000 at the North Greenwich Arena to win the gold medal , the first that Germany had won in women 's wheelchair basketball at the Paralympics since 1984 . They were awarded another Silver Laurel Leaf by President Joachim Gauck in November 2012 and were again named Team of the Year for 2012 . In February 2013 , Welin 's name was entered in the Golden Book of Munich . She has modelled for the advertising campaigns of team sponsors ING unk and unk , and is currently studying medicine in Munich . Achievements 2011 Gold European Championships ( Nazareth , Israel ) 2012 Gold Paralympic Games ( London , England ) 2013 Silver European Championships ( Frankfurt , Germany ) 2014 Silver at the World Championships ( Toronto , Canada ) 2015 Gold at the European Championships ( Worcester , England ) Awards 2012 Team of the Year 2012 Silver Laurel Leaf 2013 Entry in the Golden Book of Munich
256
Route 284 is a 7 . 03 mile ( 11 . 31 km ) state highway in New Jersey , United States , running from Route 23 in Sussex north to the New York state line in Wantage Township . New York State Route 284 continues north to U.S. Route 6 at Slate Hill , New York . The route is a connector to Unionville , and intersects with an old alignment of its original designation , Route 84 . Route 284 was first a part of Route 8 in the 1920s , becoming Route 8N in 1927 and Route 84 in 1942 before being assigned Route 284 in 1966 . Route description Route 284 begins at a signaled intersection in Sussex with NJ 23 . The route proceeds northward , intersecting with Sussex County Route 643 at less than a half mile into the highway . Route 284 leaves the borough of Sussex and enters Wantage Township , intersecting with Layton Road , Janice Drive , and Possum River Road . Route 284 passes to the south of a lake , crosses over a branch of the Wallkill River and intersects with County Route 642 ( unk Bridge Road ) . Just after the intersection with Route 642 , the rural highway crosses over unk Brook . At 5 . 41 miles ( 8 . 71 km ) , Route 284 intersects with an old routing of its original designation , NJ 84 . The original alignment merges in with NJ 284 less than a mile later . After crossing the Wallkill River branch again and the Appalachian Trail , Route 284 leaves New Jersey for New York and becomes NY 284 . History Route 8 , one of the routes assigned before the 1927 renumbering , ran largely along the present Route 23 corridor , but at Sussex it turned north rather than continuing northwest through High Point State Park . The section from Sussex north to the state line was taken over by the state in 1919 . In the 1927 renumbering , the majority of Route 8 became Route 23 . The part north of Sussex was proposed to become part of Route 31 , but that was instead moved to the present Route 94 corridor in the final version of the bill . As Route 8 north of Sussex was not assigned a number , the State Highway Commission appended a suffix of N ( to distinguish it from new Route 8 ) , forming Route 8N . The connecting route in New York had been numbered New York State Route 8 to match New Jersey , but in the 1930 renumbering it became New York State Route 84 , in order to free up the number 8 for a longer route . New Jersey renumbered its Route 8N to New Jersey Route 84 in March 1942 to match , in part to provide a single number for military caravans during World War II . The final renumbering was made in 1966 , when Interstate 84 opened in New York . As the new I 84 was close to the older Route 84 , Route 84 was renumbered in both New York and New Jersey to Route 284 . Major intersections The entire route is in Sussex County .
257
M 75 is a 11 . 768 mile long ( 18 . 939 km ) segment of state trunkline highway located in Charlevoix County in the U.S. state of Michigan . This highway serves as a loop off US Highway 131 ( US 131 ) , providing access to Boyne City . The highway happens to be geographically close to Interstate 75 ( I 75 ) , but they are not related . Route description M 75 begins in downtown Boyne Falls at an intersection with US 131 . It follows Mill Street northwesterly out of town , passing to the north of a lake and the Boyne Mountain Airport . The airport property ends at the intersection with C 48 west of Boyne Falls . M 75 runs parallel to the Boyne River until it turns west near the Boyne City Municipal Airport to enter the community of Boyne City on East Division Street . Two blocks further west , it meets C 73 East Jordan Road next to the Maple Lawn Cemetery . Next to the cemetery , the highway follows Boyne Avenue northwesterly into downtown . The trunkline turns north on East Street to cross the Boyne River and then turns east on State Street passing Rotary Park on the way out of town . The Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) measures the average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) in traffic surveys . AADT is a measure of the average traffic levels for a section of roadway on any given day of the year . The southern segment of M 75 carried 6 , 500 vehicles daily in the 2007 survey . Of these vehicles , commercial traffic was measured at 280 trucks . East of Boyne City , M 75 turns northward and runs in that direction until turning again to follow the south shore of Walloon Lake . There it follows North Shore Drive into the town of Walloon Lake . M 75 ends at an intersection with US 131 . The roadway continues eastward as C 81 Springvale Road . This northern segment carried 4 , 100 vehicles and 170 trucks in 2007 . Neither segment is listed on the National Highway System , a system of strategically important highways . History In 1919 , the trunkline running through Boyne City was originally labeled M 57 . In 1927 , the entire highway was renumbered , and since this change , the trunkline has carried the M 75 moniker . The M 75 designation was left unaltered when US 27 between Gaylord and Indian River was converted to a freeway this freeway was redesignated as I 75 in 1962 . Some states , such as California , do not allow two highways in their state to carry the same highway number , which is not the case in Michigan . A reconstruction project in 1966 bypassed some sharp curves in the roadway and straightened sections between Boyne City and Walloon Lake . As of 2008 , the highway remains unaltered since the reconstruction . Major intersections The entire highway is in Charlevoix County .
258
The Cheese Special is a 1913 American silent short comedy film featuring Max Asher and marking the film debut of Louise Fazenda . The scenario was written by Allen Curtis , but the identity of the director is unknown . It was the first production released by the newly formed Joker productions , as part of the Universal Film Manufacturing Company . The film is presumed to be lost and there is no published synopsis of the film . Known production details state that it was shot on a beach resort and used a miniature train . The film had a wide release and was reviewed by The Moving Picture World as a low comedy suited for the burlesque theaters . Plot No known script or plot of the film has surfaced , but the highlight of the film was summarized in the Corsicana Daily Sun as a roaring Joker comedy in which Dauntless Dan stops the train with one hand and rescues the heroine with the other while the villain hisses between his teeth . Cast Max Asher Louise Fazenda as heroine Schmaltz 's daughter Henry Mann as Schmaltz Lee Morris Bobby Vernon as unk De unk Production Few details are known about the production of the film , but it was shot on a beach resort and used a miniature train . Due the lack of credits , both Louise Fazenda and Henry Mann 's roles were provided by Photoplay , in response to an reader inquiry . The film was the first release by the new Joker productions , which was dedicated to producing only short comedy films . unk C. Lahue and Samuel Gill credit this production as being Louise Fazenda 's film debut . Film historian Richard E. Braff notes that Allen Curtis as the writer , but provides no directorial credits . The single reel production was released on October 25 , 1913 . Reception The new Joker line was billed as one of the best comedies yet by advertisers wanting to draw crowds to the theaters , but there may have been truth in the claims because it was cited as one of Max Asher 's best roles in a 1914 edition of Moving Picture World . The film had a wide release with showings in Indiana , Kansas , Ohio , North Carolina , Maryland , Pennsylvania , Texas , and in Chicago , Illinois . The Moving Picture World review of the film noted that it was a low comedy suitable for the burlesque houses with less particular audiences than finer establishments because one of the minor characters spat frequently on camera , interrupting the humor and thus making it unfit for the best theaters . Another newspaper review claimed that it was one of the best comedies released in months , but ended up referring to the film as The Chinese Special . The date of disappearance is unknown , but Universal destroyed its remaining copies of silent era films in 1948 . The film is presumed to be lost .
259
State Route 506 ( SR 506 ) is an 11 . 53 mile ( 18 . 56 km ) long state highway in Cowlitz and Lewis counties , part of the U.S. state of Washington , serving the communities of Ryderwood and Vader . SR 506 begins at the intersection of 2nd and Morse Street in Ryderwood , a community in Cowlitz County , traveling north into Lewis County and turning east past Vader to parallel the Cowlitz River and interchange Interstate 5 ( I 5 ) twice west of Toledo . Originating as Secondary State Highway 1P ( SSH 1P ) in 1937 , the highway was designated in its current form in 1964 and it shared its eastern terminus with SR 505 . SR 411 terminated at Vader and both SR 411 and SR 505 were moved away from SR 506 in 1991 . Route description SR 506 begins as the continuation of Morse Street at the Second Street intersection in Ryderwood , a community located in the Campbell Creek valley in northern Cowlitz County . Traveling north to exit Ryderwood , the highway crosses Campbell Creek and enters Lewis County . The roadway parallels Stillwater Creek in its valley northeast and turns east to cross the creek into Vader . The street is named 7th Street after crossing unk Creek SR 506 crosses a railroad track owned by BNSF Railway and used by two Amtrak services , the Cascades and Coast Starlight , between the Kelso and Centralia stations . Traveling east through Vader , 7th Street intersects the West Side Highway , formerly SR 411 until 1991 , and leaves the city heading northeast , paralleling the Cowlitz River , to cross unk Creek , the busiest segment of the highway at a daily average of 1 , 800 vehicles in 2008 . The roadway crosses Bear Creek near its confluence with the Cowlitz River and interchanges Interstate 5 ( I 5 ) southbound exit 59 the route turns north to interchange I 5 again at exit 60 in a full diamond interchange . Exit 60 is also the western terminus of the Toledo Vader Road , formerly SR 505 until 1991 . History SR 506 was established in 1964 , but was preceded by Secondary State Highway 1P ( SSH 1P ) , established in 1937 . Originally , SSH 1P traveled from Ryderwood , paralleling the Longview , Portland and Northern Railway line to Vader and paralleling the Cowlitz River to U.S. Route 99 ( US 99 ) in Toledo . The rail line , established in 1922 by Longview 's founder , Robert A. Long , was completed in 1929 . In 1953 , the rail line was removed , and in 1963 , SSH 1P was shortened and moved west to the newer US 99 freeway , later Interstate 5 ( I 5 ) . During the 1964 highway renumbering , SR 506 was created , SR 411 ended in Vader and SR 505 ended at the I 5 SR 506 interchange . In 1991 , SR 411 was moved south to end in Castle Rock and SR 505 was moved onto former SR 603 to unk . Major intersections
260
Ariel Meredith ( born July 11 , 1986 ) is an American model who appeared in the 2009 , 2012 , 2013 , 2014 and 2015 Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Issue . Born in Shreveport , Louisiana , she did some part time modeling starting in 1998 until she finished her schooling . Background A native of Shreveport , Louisiana , she was senior class parliamentarian and a senior senator on the student council of her 2001 2002 class at Huntington High School . After high school graduation , she moved to New York City . Meredith 's mother 's name is Marjorie Meredith and her father 's name is David Meredith . Career Although she was discovered at age 14 she did not pursue modeling as a full time career until after she completed her education in 2008 . In 1998 , she won a 500 contestant modeling competition in Dallas and signed with Ford Models in New York and Campbell Modeling Agency in Dallas . She got 32 call backs from the contest . As a teenager she appeared in Seventeen , Teen Cosmopolitan , Cosmopolitan , and Teen magazines . She began traveling domestically while still in school . In 2002 , she appeared on the MTV show Fashionably Loud . She started modeling regularly in 2005 . When one of her early modeling agencies demanded that she have breast reduction surgery , she refused and was dropped from the agency . The New York Times mentioned her YouTube beauty secret video on using a toothbrush to unk one 's lips prior to applying lip gloss in 2007 . She debuted for Vera Wang 's Spring Show in New York in September 2008 . Her September 2008 New York Fashion week runway debut experience , where she also modeled for Nicole Miller , was chronicled in the USA Today . She appeared in shows for a total of eleven fashion designers including an opening performance for Junya Watanabe , which marked her rising stardom . After her shows in New York , she did eight shows in Milan . She has performed in runway shows for Baby Phat , Brioni , Clips , Diesel , D G , Elie Saab , Junya Watanabe , La Perla , Milly , Vera Wang and many more . According to The Times Picayune , her September 2008 New York and Milan Fashion week performances led to her classification as a rising star in the modeling industry . She is featured in the 2009 Spring Summer Dolce Gabbana advertising campaign , which was shot by Mario Testino . She has also posed for J.Crew , Ann Taylor Loft , H M , David 's Bridal , Cover Girl eyewear , Fossil , Target , Garnier unk , Nine West , Roca Wear , Victoria 's Secret , The Limited , Sephora , Levi 's , and Gap . Meredith shot the 2009 Swimsuit issue at beaches , lagoons , cantinas and nature preserves near Tulum , Mexico on the Mayan Riviera . As of 2014 , she is currently represented by Supreme Management in New York City .
261
State Route 666 ( SR 666 ) is a 14 . 17 mile ( 22 . 80 km ) state route that runs between Zanesville and Dresden in the US state of Ohio . Most of the route is a rural two lane highway and passes through both woodland and farmland . For much of its path , SR 666 runs generally parallel to the east of the Muskingum River . The highway was first signed in 1937 on the same alignment as today . The whole highway was paved by 1955 . Route description SR 666 begins at a traffic signal with SR 60 and SR 146 , on the northeast side of Zanesville . The route heads east as a two lane highway , before curving northeast . While passing through Zanesville the route passes woodland , with some commercial businesses . The highway makes a sharp curve due west , before another sharp curve northeast . After the second curve the route leaves Zanesville , running parallel to the Muskingum River and an Ohio Central Railroad track . The road makes a sharp curve northwest and passes under the Ohio Central Railroad track . After passing under the railroad track the route curves north northeast and the railroad track curves due east . The roadway passes through the Zanesville State Forest Nursery , followed by a curve northwest , passing through the state forest nursery again . After leaving the state forest nursery , the highway passes through farmland heading due north . The route curves northeast passing through the state forest nursery for the last time and the highway has an intersection with County Road 40 ( CR 40 ) , in rural Jefferson Township . Following this intersection , SR 666 turns due west , before curving towards the north . This section of roadway passes mostly through farmland , with wooded areas when the route is close to the river . SR 666 ends at an intersection with SR 208 near Dresden , on the east bank of the Muskingum River . SR 666 is not part of the National Highway System , a system of routes important to the nation 's economy , mobility and defense . The highway is maintained by the Ohio Department of Transportation ( ODOT ) . ODOT 's 2010 annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) calculations showed that the lowest traffic levels were present on the section that is at the intersection with Washington Township Road 112 ( Bateman Road ) , where only 510 vehicles used the highway daily the peak traffic volume was 5 , 340 vehicles AADT along a section of SR 666 near its southern terminus . History SR 666 was established in 1937 along the same alignment between Zanesville and near Dresden within Muskingum County that it utilizes today . Between 1953 and 1955 the highway was paved . The highway has not experienced any major changes to its routing since 1955 . Major intersections The entire route is in Muskingum County .
262
New York State Route 323 ( NY 323 ) was a state highway in Erie County , New York , in the United States . The route was 5 . 24 miles ( 8 . 43 km ) long and stretched from the town of Brant to the hamlet of Evans Center within the town of Evans . NY 323 began at an intersection with NY 249 and County Route 9 ( CR 9 ) in Brant and headed north to a junction with NY 5 in Evans Center . In between , it passed over the New York State Thruway ( Interstate 90 or I 90 ) and intersected U.S. Route 20 ( US 20 ) . The route was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York . It went unchanged until 1980 when ownership and maintenance of the route was transferred from the state of New York to Erie County as part of a highway maintenance swap between the two levels of government . The designation was officially removed on August 14 , 1980 . The former routing of NY 323 is now the northern half of CR 9 . Route description NY 323 began at an intersection with NY 249 and CR 9 north of the Cattaraugus Indian Reservation in Brant . The route headed northward as Brant Angola Road through a rural area dominated by open fields and forests . It proceeded to the Brant Evans town line , where it met Cain Road ( CR 491 ) a short distance south of the New York State Thruway ( I 90 ) . The highway progressed onward , passing over the Thruway on its way to a junction with Dunfee Road , a connector leading to US 20 . NY 323 met US 20 itself a short distance to the northwest . The route headed northwest from US 20 , intersecting with Pontiac Road ( CR 490 ) as it curved back to the north and entered the village of Angola . Within Angola , NY 323 followed Main Street northward past several blocks of homes and business . At Orchard Avenue , the street turned to the northwest , roughly paralleling Big Sister Creek as both exited the village limits . Past this point , the amount of development along the route dropped slightly as it continued northward toward the hamlet of Evans Center . NY 323 crossed over Big Sister Creek south of the community before ending at a junction with NY 5 in the center of the hamlet . History NY 323 was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York and served as a connector between NY 249 in Brant and US 20 ( now NY 5 ) in Evans . On April 1 , 1980 , ownership and maintenance of NY 323 was transferred from the state of New York to Erie County as part of a highway maintenance swap between the two levels of government . The NY 323 designation was officially removed on August 14 , 1980 . The former routing of NY 323 became an extension of CR 9 , which had ended at the junction of NY 249 and NY 323 prior to the swap . Major intersections The entire route was in Erie County .
263
HD 40307 c is an extrasolar planet orbiting the star HD 40307 , located 42 light years away in the direction of the southern constellation Pictor . The planet was discovered by the radial velocity method , using the HARPS apparatus , in June 2008 . Of the six proposed planets in the HD 40307 star system , it is the third largest , and has the second closest orbit from the star . The planet is of interest as this star has relatively low metallicity , supporting a hypothesis that different metallicities in protostars determine what kind of planets they will form . Discovery Like the other two exoplanets , HD 40307 b and HD 40307 d , orbiting the star HD 40307 , HD 40307 c was discovered by measuring variations in the radial velocity of HD 40307 caused by the star 's orbit around the center of mass of the planetary system . These measurements were made by the High Accuracy Radial Velocity Planet Searcher spectrograph apparatus ( HARPS ) at the La Silla Observatory in Chile 's Atacama Desert . The discovery of planets in the HD 40307 system was announced in an astrophysics convention that took place in Nantes , France in mid June 2008 . Orbit and mass HD 40307 c is the third most massive planet in the system , with a lower mass bound 6 . 8 times the mass of the Earth . The planet orbits HD 40307 at about 0 . 08 astronomical units ( AU ) , as compared to the Earth 's distance from the Sun at 1 AU as a result , one year on the planet constitutes approximately 9 . 6 Earth days . Analysis of the radial velocity data used to detect the planet does not yield a statistically significant deviation from a circular orbit . The star around which the planet HD 40307 orbits has a low metallicity , unusual when compared to other planet bearing stars . This supports a hypothesis concerning the possibility that the metallicity of stars during their births may determine whether a protostar 's accretion disk forms gas giants or terrestrial planets . Characteristics HD 40307 c has not been observed directly and likely does not transit . More specific characteristics ( such as surface temperature , composition and radius ) cannot be determined . HD 40307 c has a small mass of at least 6 . 9 times Earth 's , so it was first assumed terrestrial . Later in 2009 a study stated that if HD 40307 c is terrestrial , tidal heating would destabilise it , in a manner greater than this process crushes the Jovian moon Io . Such restrictions as bind terrestrial planets would not restrict ice giant planets like Neptune or Uranus . HD 40307 c might be a sub Neptune . Since the same tides are predicted to result in the destruction of larger natural satellites of planets located close to their parent star , it is unlikely that HD 40307 c hosts any satellites .
264
M 109 is the designation of a state trunkline highway in the Lower Peninsula of the US state of Michigan that runs between Empire and Glen Arbor . The highway is a loop connected to M 22 at both ends that allows tourists access to Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore and the Pierce Stocking Scenic Drive located on a section of sandy forest land between Lake Michigan and Glen Lake . The trunkline traverses an area named the Most Beautiful Place in America by Good Morning America , the morning show on ABC . The highway was designated by 1929 and fully paved in 1939 . Route description M 109 starts at an intersection on M 22 north of Empire . The trunkline runs northward along Dune Highway past Maple Grove Cemetery and through woods in the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore . The area was named the Most Beautiful Place in America by Good Morning America in August 2011 the designation came after a social media campaign to capitalize on the show 's website poll . Further north , the highway passes the entrance to Pierce Stocking Scenic Drive before unk along the western shore of Glen Lake . Near the northwestern corner of the lake , M 109 passes the entrance to the Dune Climb in an area that 's predominantly fields . The trunkline makes a 90 degree turn at the intersection with Glen Haven Road , the former M 209 , south of Glen Haven , a former logging town on the shores of Lake Michigan . M 109 turns easterly at the intersection to follow Harbor Highway . It runs through another wooded area between Glen Lake and Sleeping Bear Bay . The highway passes the D.H. Day Campground and enters Glen Arbor , following Western Avenue . At the intersection with M 22 ( Ray Street ) , M 109 terminates in the middle of town . Like other state highways in Michigan , M 109 is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) . In 2011 , the department 's traffic surveys showed that on average , 783 vehicles used the highway daily along Dune Highway and 758 vehicles did so each day along Harbor Highway , the highest and lowest counts along the highway , respectively . No section of M 109 is listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History The first section of roadway to receive the M 109 designation was in place and signed on maps by May 1 , 1929 . The roadway was a spur from M 22 north of Empire that ended at Glen Haven , just west of the D.H. Day State Park . The highway was extended east along an existing road between Glen Haven and Glen Arbor . This extension was in place by May 1 , 1933 , completing the modern routing of M 109 . The highway was fully paved in 1939 . Major intersections The entire highway is in Leelanau County .
265
HMS Pomone was a Pelorus class protected cruiser built for the Royal Navy in the late 1890s . The ship 's boilers were so troublesome that she was decommissioned in 1904 after only a single foreign deployment . She was hulked in 1910 and served as a stationary training ship until 1922 when she was sold for scrap . Design and description These third class cruisers were designed by Sir William White . They were designed for colonial service rather than support of the main fleet . This class served as testbeds for a variety of water tube boiler designs and those used by Pomone were so unsatisfactory that the ship was decommissioned after only five years of service . HMS Pomone displaced 2 , 135 long tons ( 2 , 169 t ) , with an overall length of 313 feet 6 inches ( 95 . 6 m ) , a beam of 36 feet 6 inches ( 11 . 1 m ) and a draft of 16 feet ( 4 . 9 m ) . She was powered by two inverted 3 cylinder vertical triple expansion steam engines , each driving one propeller shaft . Steam was supplied by 16 coal fired Blechynden water tube boilers . The engines were intended to develop a maximum of 7 , 000 indicated horsepower ( 5 , 200 kW ) under forced draft , but developed a total of 7 , 340 indicated horsepower ( 5 , 470 kW ) during her sea trials and gave a maximum speed of 20 . 8 knots ( 38 . 5 km h 23 . 9 mph ) . The ship had a crew of 224 officers and men . Pomone was armed with eight single QF 4 inch ( 102 mm ) guns , eight QF 3 pounder guns , three machine guns , and two 18 inch ( 457 mm ) torpedo tubes . Her protective deck ranged from 1 . 5 to 2 inches ( 38 to 51 mm ) in thickness and the ship had a conning tower with walls 3 inches ( 76 mm ) thick . The four inch guns were protected by gun shields 0 . 25 inches ( 6 . 4 mm ) thick . Service HMS Pomone was laid down at Sheerness Dockyard on 21 December 1896 , launched on 25 November 1897 , and completed in May 1899 . The ship only served a single commission , with the East Indies Squadron and suffered from continuous boiler problems . In January 1902 she was stationed in the Persian Gulf to protect British interests there , and especially in Kuwait . Commander Harry Jones was appointed in command in late March 1902 . In November and December 1903 , Pomone and three other cruisers escorted Lord Curzon 's tour of the Middle East . Her Blechynden boilers were so unreliable that she was removed from the effective list in October 1904 when Admiral Lord Fisher started disposing of ineffective ships upon becoming First Sea Lord . She was laid up pending a decision on her final disposal . Pomone was disarmed and hulked on 5 January 1910 as a stationary training ship for engineers at the Royal Naval College , Dartmouth . She was sold for scrap on 25 October 1922 to J. H. Lee of Dover .
266
M 204 runs across the Leelanau Peninsula between Leland and Suttons Bay in the northwestern Lower Peninsula of the US state of Michigan . The trunkline runs through a rural section of Leelanau County , connecting two villages with the county seat . Originally a gravel road in 1933 , it was later paved within the first three years of existence . Segments were realigned to straighten curves in the late 1930s and early 1970s near the villages of Lake Leelanau and Suttons Bay . Route description M 204 starts at an intersection with M 22 ( Manitou Trail ) south of Leland next to Duck Lake . From there it follows Duck Lake Road along the south shore of Lake Leelanau 's northern lobe . The two lane roadway runs eastward and then southeasterly through a mixture of woods and fields to the village of Lake Leelanau . One there , M 204 follows Phillip Street across the Narrows and turns northeasterly . The bridge that the trunkline uses is eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places . Outside of town , the highway follows Duck Lake Road again past the county seat of Leelanau County . Near the intersection with Horn Road , M 204 turns southeasterly toward the village of Suttons Bay . As the trunkline descends a hill into the village , it passes through vineyards and woods . Inside town , M 204 follows Race Street and ends downtown at M 22 ( St. Joseph Avenue ) . Like other state highways in Michigan , M 204 is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) . In 2011 , the department 's traffic surveys showed that on average , 3 , 397 vehicles used the highway daily in Suttons Bay and 2 , 931 vehicles did so each day near the western terminus , the highest and lowest counts along the highway , respectively . No section of M 204 is listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History M 204 was first designated on July 12 , 1933 between Leland and Suttons Bay along what is today Duck Lake Road . The highway was paved by the middle of 1936 . The road was realigned on July 13 , 1939 , across the narrows of Lake Leelanau in the village of the same name . Another realignment near Suttons Bay was completed on March 26 , 1956 , to smooth out a curve in the road . A second completed on May 4 , 1956 , straightened a curve by Sylt Road east of Lake Leelanau . The western section was completely rebuilt between Duck Lake Corner and the Lake Leelanau Narrows Bridge to smooth out curves in the roadway . Sections not obliterated by the reconstruction were turned over to local control as Main Street or Old M 204 in Lake Leelanau when the project was finished on July 1 , 1970 . Major intersections The entire highway is in Leelanau County .
267
Chester is a subway station on the Bloor Danforth line in Toronto , Ontario , Canada . The station is located on Chester Avenue just north of Danforth Avenue . It opened in 1966 as one of the original stations of this subway line . The Toronto Parking Authority operates a public parking lot across Chester Avenue opposite the subway entrance . History Chester station was opened on February 25 , 1966 , along with the rest of the first phase of the Bloor Danforth line which operated between Keele and Woodbine stations . Following the design style set by the stations of the Bloor Danforth line , Chester station uses a two colour theme with the station 's name in the Toronto Subway Font . In keeping with the style , Chester 's colours match the ' opposing ' stations on the western half of the subway line the trim tiles are blue and complement Lansdowne station , while the light green main tiles complement the original tile colour for Dufferin station . Facilities Chester station has one entrance which is located on Chester Avenue just north of Danforth Avenue . A walkway leads to the station from a nearby street to allow access to the station from the west side . The nearby communities that are served by this station are Greektown , Withrow Park , Riverdale , and Broadview North . In addition to serving these communities , Chester station is commonly used to access local street festivals such as the Taste of the Danforth . Although the station is rated as high priority in the requirement for a second exit , Chester is the only one left on the east end of the Bloor Danforth line where design work and consultation has yet to be done . The Gateway Newsstand kiosk at the station , which had been vacant for over six years , was reopened on May 8 , 2015 as The Artist Newsstand by a group of local artists led by Jess Dobkin . Along with the usual offerings of newspapers , magazines and drinks , The Artist Newsstand is a performance and gallery space for artists as well as being staffed by artists , as a way of funding their work . A 4000 Kickstarter campaign was launched to fund the renovation of the kiosk , with the campaign successfully raising 4 , 931 . The Artist Newsstand will operate in the space for one year . Service Chester station is served by the Bloor Danforth line which operates between Kennedy and Kipling stations . The station was designed to be serviced with side platforms as it mainly serves the surrounding unk . As it is the only station in the system that is not connected to a regular bus or streetcar route it is one of the least used subway stations in Toronto . The 300 Bloor Danforth Night and 303 Don Mills Night Bus operates on Danforth from 1 30 5 30 a.m. after the line is shut down for nightly maintenance .
268
Lay You Down is a song by American R B recording artist Usher . It was written by himself , Rico Love and Dwayne Nesmith , and produced by the latter two . It was released to urban radio on September 28 , 2010 in the United States , as the third and final single from Usher 's EP , Versus , which is an extension of his sixth studio album , Raymond v. Raymond . Lay You Down is an R B song , that takes influence from pop musician Prince . The song received positive reviews from critics , who praised its production and Usher 's vocals , noting the track as a stand out from Versus . It entered the US Hot R B Hip Hop Songs chart , and peaked at number fifty six . Background and composition Lay You Down was written by Usher , Rico Love and Dwayne Nesmith , and produced by the latter two . Additional vocals were contributed by Love , and keyboard and programming was done by Nesmith . The song was recorded by Ian Cross at Midnight Blue Studios in Miami , Florida and mixed by Rob Marks at Circle House Studios . Lay You Down is an R B song with a length of four minutes and three seconds . In an interview with music video website Vevo , Usher explained that the song is a classic R B baby maker . Sara Anderson of AOL wrote that it opens with improvisational , high pitched ' unk ' and base driven synth beats . The song was released as the third and final single from Versus , an extended play released as an extension of his sixth studio album , Raymond v. Raymond ( 2010 ) . Reception Describing Lay You Down as one of the more sensual songs on Versus , Mark Nero of About.com wrote the best of which might be the piano laced ' Lay You Down , ' on which Usher sings ' This ain 't bump ' n grind , I 'll show you what love is if you let me lay you down . ' Sarah Rodman of The Boston Globe commended Usher 's use of falsetto , whilst writing that the song is an urgent boudoir jam that draws a neat line she also commented on how it takes inspiration from both Prince and Marvin Gaye . Los Angeles Times 's Jeff Weiss also pointed out the influence from pop musician Prince , and how Usher is unk cooing about wanting to be the one who keeps your body warm . Lay You Down entered the R B Hip Hop Songs chart on the week ending November 13 , 2010 , and peaked at number fifty six , due to strong radio play . Credits and personnel Recording locations Vocal recording Midnight Blue Studios , Miami , FL . Mixing Circle House Studios , Miami , FL . Personnel Songwriting Rico Love , Usher Raymond , Dwayne Nesmith Production Rico Love , Dwayne Nesmith Vocal recording Ian Cross Mixing Rob Marks Additional vocals Rico Love Keyboard and programming Dwayne Nesmith Credits adapted from the liner notes of Versus . Charts
269
Andreacarus voalavo is a parasitic mite found on the Malagasy rodent Voalavo gymnocaudus . First described in 2007 , it is closely related to Andreacarus gymnuromys and Andreacarus eliurus , which are found on other Malagasy rodents . The length of the idiosoma , the main body , is 630 to 670 m in females and 450 to 480 m in males . Unlike A. eliurus , this species lacks distinct sternal glands ( secretory organs ) between two unk ( sensory organs ) on the lower part of the female body . The pilus unk , a sensory organ on the chelicera , is serrate , which distinguishes it from A. gymnuromys . Females of A. gymnuromys also have a less ornamented sternal shield ( covering part of the underparts ) and shorter setae ( bristles ) on the upperparts . Taxonomy and ecology Andreacarus voalavo was named in 2007 by Ashley Dowling , Andre unk , and Barry unk on the basis of 15 specimens found on an individual of the rodent Voalavo gymnocaudus that was collected in 1994 in the Anjanaharibe Sud Reserve in northern Madagascar . The specific name , voalavo , is taken from the generic name of the type host . Voalavo gymnocaudus , the only known host , is only found in the Anjanaharibe Sud and Marojejy massifs of the Malagasy Northern Highlands . A. voalavo is closely related to Andreacarus gymnuromys and Andreacarus eliurus , found on other Malagasy rodents . They are members of the genus Andreacarus , which currently includes 11 species found on rodents and other small mammals in Madagascar and mainland Africa . Description In the female , the pilus unk , a sensory organ on the chelicera ( mouthpart ) , is serrate , not smooth as in A. gymnuromys . The idiosoma ( main part of the body ) is 630 to 670 m long and 370 to 435 m wide and the dorsal shield ( covering the upper side ) is 620 to 655 m long and 360 to 370 m wide . The dorsal setae ( bristles ) are long relative to A. gymnuromys . The sternal shield ( on the lower side of the body ) is 115 to 125 m long and 184 to 200 m wide and is more ornamented than in A. gymnuromys . Unlike A. eliurus , A. voalavo lacks distinct sternal glands ( secretory organs ) between the unk ( sensory organs ) unk and unk on the lower side of the body . The other shields on the lower side of the body are the unk shield ( 232 to 253 by 170 to 182 m ) , the unk shield ( 140 to 147 by 117 to 127 m ) , and the anal shield ( 140 to 147 by 117 to 127 m ) . On the soft part of the cuticle , there are nine pairs of setae . The first segments of the legs , the coxae , lack hooks . On the coxae of the third pair of legs , the setae at the back are spur like . The idiosoma of the male is 450 to 480 m long and 270 to 300 m wide , the dorsal shield is 440 to 475 by 250 to 270 m , and the unk shield is 360 to 395 m and 189 to 207 m wide .
270
The 30th Boat Race took place on the 29 March 1873 . The Boat Race is an annual side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . In a race umpired by former Oxford rower Joseph William Chitty , Cambridge won by three lengths in a time of 19 minutes and 35 seconds , the fastest time in the history of the event . It was the first time that rowers raced on sliding seats . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Oxford by two lengths in the previous year 's race , while Oxford led overall with sixteen wins to Cambridge 's thirteen . Although the use of sliding seats had been considered the previous year , the then Cambridge boat club president John Goldie disallowed the Light Blue boat manufacturer Harry Clasper from fitting them . However , for the 1873 race , both boats were , for the first time , fitted with the innovation . Cambridge were coached by John Graham Chambers ( who rowed for Cambridge in the 1862 and 1863 races , and was non rowing boat club president for the 1865 race ) Oxford 's coaches was Robert Lesley , the non rowing president of Oxford University Boat Club ( who had rowed in the 1871 and 1872 races ) . Joseph William Chitty ( who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race ) returned as umpire for the race ( with Robert Lewis Lloyd having officiated the previous year ) while the starter was Edward Searle . Crews The Cambridge crew weighed an average of 11 st 11 lb ( 74 . 7 kg ) , 5 . 25 pounds ( 2 . 4 kg ) more than their opponents . Oxford saw four former Blues return from the 1872 crew , while Cambridge 's crew included three rowers who had participated the previous year , in James Brooks Close , Charles Stokes Read and Constantine William Benson . Race Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , handing the Middlesex side of the river to Cambridge . The race commenced at unk Oxford 's higher stroke rate enabled them to make a good race of it , and remained in contention for the first mile and a half to Hammersmith Bridge , but in doing so exhausted themselves . Cambridge eased off and won the race by three lengths . The winning time was 19 minutes and 35 seconds , the fastest time in the history of The Boat Race and 29 seconds faster than the previous record set in the 1869 .
271
New York State Route 458 ( NY 458 ) is a state highway in the North Country of New York in the United States . It extends for 24 . 42 miles ( 39 . 30 km ) from an intersection with NY 11B in the St. Lawrence County town of Hopkinton to a junction with NY 30 in the Franklin County town of Brighton . The route follows a generally northwest southeast alignment between the two points , serving only small hamlets as it crosses an otherwise rural area of the North Country . NY 458 was assigned c . 1973 to the former routing of NY 72 east of the Hopkinton hamlet of Nicholville . Prior to being signed as part of NY 72 in 1930 , it was designated as part of NY 56 in the 1920s . Route description NY 458 begins at a junction with NY 11B in Hopkinton at the western fringe of the Lawrence hamlet of Nicholville . The route heads southeast , loosely paralleling the St. Regis River as it proceeds through rural eastern St. Lawrence County . After 3 . 5 miles ( 5 . 6 km ) , it passes into both the Franklin County town of Waverly and Adirondack Park . Now within the park boundaries , NY 458 crosses over the Lake unk Outlet on its way eastward to the hamlet of St. Regis Falls , the largest community on the entire route . The route crosses the St. Regis River twice and intersects County Route 5 ( CR 5 ) , a connector to the hamlet of Moira 10 miles ( 16 km ) to the north , within St. Regis Falls . At the junction with CR 5 , here named North Main Street but known as Moira St. Regis Falls Road north of Adirondack Park , the highway turns south to follow South Main Street out of the community . NY 458 continues southeast through Waverly to the hamlet known as Santa Clara in the town of the same name . The route heads through the hamlet and over the St. Regis for the final time as it approaches Goodnow Mountain , a peak rising roughly 1 , 960 feet ( 600 m ) above sea level . Instead of traversing the mountain , the highway bypasses it to the south . East of the peak , NY 458 turns southeast and begins to parallel the east branch of the St. Regis River . This pairing remains intact through the towns of Santa Clara and Duane to Brighton , where NY 458 ends at NY 30 . History The entirety of modern NY 458 was originally designated as part of NY 56 , a route extending from Massena to Brighton via Winthrop and Nicholville , in the mid 1920s . NY 56 was realigned in 1927 to continue west from Nicholville to a new terminus in Potsdam . In the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York , NY 56 was renumbered to NY 72 . The portion of NY 72 east of Nicholville remained unchanged until c . 1973 when NY 72 was truncated to its current eastern terminus in Hopkinton . The former routing of NY 72 from Nicholville to Brighton was renumbered to NY 458 . Major intersections
272
Poor Jake 's Demise is a 1913 American silent short slapstick comedy film directed by Allen Curtis and featuring Max Asher and Lon Chaney . The slapstick film focuses on Jake who finds his wife in a compromising position with another man and later takes his revenge with a seltzer bottle . It is one of several slapstick comedy films Chaney made for Universal at the start of his career and is also his first credited screen role . The film was presumed lost , but a fragment of the film was discovered in England in May 2006 and restored . Plot Jake comes home and finds his wife and Willy unk in a compromising position . Enraged , Jake throws Willy out of the house and scolds his wife and threatens to kill himself . Fearful that Jake will commit suicide , the wife calls the police and three officers are sent out to find Jake . Stopping at a bar before he commits suicide , Jake finds Willy who is drowning his sorrows . Jake takes his revenge on Willy with a seltzer bottle . Cast Max Asher as Jake Schultz Daisy Small as Mrs. Schultz Lon Chaney as The Dude Louise Fazenda as Servant Production Poor Jake 's Demise was directed by Allen Curtis and produced by Independent Moving Pictures Company ( IMP ) and distributed by Universal Film Manufacturing Company . The screenplay author was not credited . The film is notable for having been the first billed appearance of Lon Chaney and perhaps the debut of Louise Fazenda . Release and reception The film was released on August 16 , 1913 and had viewings in Texas , North Carolina , Pennsylvania , Wisconsin , and Illinois . A contemporary review of the film in Moving Picture World described it as simply horse play without any special appeal , though it is harmless and lacks vulgarity . The film was presumed lost , but a fragment of the film was discovered in England in May 2006 . It has since been restored by the unk Laboratory of Amsterdam and Lobster Films , Paris . The restored fragment is 7 minutes and 52 seconds long . In 2006 , the film was shown at the Pordenone Silent Film Festival . The film would also be shown at the 31st unk Sudbury International Film Festival on the evening of March 19 , 2011 . In 1957 , an article by Jim Neal of the Denton Record Chronicle cited this as the first of Lon Chaney 's films . Don G. Smith 's book , Lon Chaney , Jr . Horror Film Star , 1906 1973 , also claims this film as Chaney 's first . Rosemary unk would also refer to this claim in The Encyclopedia of Vampires , Werewolves , and Other Monsters . Chronologically , this is the first released film with a confirmed credit for Chaney and also the first billed release . According to Blake , Chaney did not appear in The Honor of the Family or The Ways of Fate , two earlier films sometimes credited to him .
273
M 93 is the designation of a state trunkline highway in the Lower Peninsula of the US state of Michigan . It links both Camp Grayling and Hartwick Pines State Park with Interstate 75 ( I 75 ) . Both termini of M 93 end at locations , rather than junctions with another road . The western end of M 93 ends in a traffic circle before it turns into Howe Road as it travels through Camp Grayling . The highway dates back to 1919 as a connection with the predecessor to Camp Grayling . Since that time , it has been extended through Grayling along first US Highway 27 ( US 27 ) and now Business Loop I 75 ( BL 75 ) to connect with the state park . Route description M 93 starts at the main gate of Camp Grayling . From there it runs north and east along Sharon Road parallel to the shore of Lake Margarethe through the edge of the base complex . The highway continues through forested terrain to a junction with M 72 west of the city of Grayling . M 93 turns east , running concurrently along M 72 into town . As the highway approaches downtown , the landscape becomes more urbanized after crossing the Au Sable River . In Grayling , M 93 turns north along the former route of US 27 , which is now BL I 75 . M 72 turns south with BL I 75 along James Street , ending the M 72 M 93 concurrency . The roadway runs north through town passing the Grayling Army Airfield , and BL I 75 M 93 becomes Grayling Highway . Together they make a right turn onto Hartwick Pines Road when they intersect Old 27 Road , turning back towards I 75 this area is part of the Grayling State Forest . The BL I 75 designation ends at I 75 while M 93 continues along Hartwick Pines Road . The M 93 designation ends at the park 's former main gate . The roadway continues further into Hartwick Pines State Park as White Road , a rural road that intersects unsigned route County Road 612 north of the park boundaries . History On July 1 , 1919 , M 93 was a spur routing from M 18 to the State Military Camp , what is now Camp Grayling . The designation was extended in 1929 along North Down River Road , and several back roads to Bob Cat Trail and Hartwick Pines State Park . A new routing was completed in 1932 north of downtown Grayling to the park . The highway extended north of the park to County Road 612 east of Frederick at this time as well . When I 75 was completed in the area in 1963 , the US 27 designation was dropped , and BL I 75 was designated through town in its place . The northern end was truncated to the state park in 1968 . When the park 's entrance was moved in the early 1990s , the highway designation was not truncated again , and MDOT still maintains M 93 to the former park entrance at Bob Cat Trail . Major intersections The entire highway is in Crawford County .
274
State Route 85 ( SR 85 , OH 85 ) is an east west state highway in the northeastern Ohio . The western terminus of SR 85 is in the center of Andover where it intersects U.S. Route 6 ( US 6 ) and SR 7 . Its eastern terminus is just over 2 . 5 miles ( 4 . 0 km ) east of Andover at the Pennsylvania State Line in the middle of the Pymatuning Causeway , where Pennsylvania Route 285 ( PA 285 ) continues east . The shortest of three state routes that lie completely within Ashtabula County , the current SR 85 is a fraction of the route it was when first designated in the mid 1920s , when it ran from Euclid to Andover and onto the Pymatuning Causeway . When US 6 was designated in Ohio in the early 1930s , SR 85 was at first co signed with the U.S. highway from Euclid to Andover , but by the late 1930s , the SR 85 shields were removed from this stretch of roadway , leaving just the stretch of highway that exists today . Route description The entirety of SR 85 is situated in the eastern portion of Ashtabula County . No part of SR 85 is included within the National Highway System , a system of routes deemed most important for the economy , defense and mobility of the country . SR 85 begins at an intersection with US 6 and SR 7 at a rectangular traffic circle that encircles Andover Township Park in downtown Andover . The two lane state highway , which runs generally due east for its entire length , departs from the intersection and passes through a primarily commercial stretch of roadway to the point where it crosses the village limits of Andover , and enters into Andover Township . The tree lined highway passes a mix of businesses and residences before reaching a signalized intersection with Pymatuning Lake Road , a road that follows the western edge of the Pymatuning Reservoir and connects SR 85 with the facilities of Pymatuning State Park . East of the traffic light , SR 85 traverses the Pymatuning Causeway , which crosses the middle of the Pymatuning Reservoir . Approximately halfway across the causeway , the roadway hits the Pennsylvania state line . At that point , SR 85 comes to an end , and PA 285 picks up the rest of the route across the causeway . History SR 85 was first designated around 1923 , running from SR 2 in Euclid , to its current eastern terminus at PA 285 . When US 6 was routed into Ohio in 1932 , it was routed via the stretch of SR 85 between Euclid and Andover . For the six years following , US 6 and SR 85 were run concurrently along that stretch of roadway . By 1938 , SR 85 was truncated to its current routing between Andover and the connection to Pennsylvania Route 285 on the Pymatuning Causeway , leaving US 6 to be the lone route running between Euclid and Andover . Major intersections The entire route is in Ashtabula County .
275
Grrrrrrrrrrr is a 1965 oil and Magna on canvas painting by Roy Lichtenstein . Measuring 68 in 56 . 125 in ( 172 . 7 cm 142 . 6 cm ) , it was bequeathed to the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum collection from Lichtenstein 's estate . It depicts a head on representation of an angry dog growling with the onomatopoeic expression Grrrrrrrrrrr . The work was derived from Our Fighting Forces , which also served as the source for other military dog paintwork by Lichtenstein . Background The Lichtenstein foundation notes that the inspiration for this painting is a frame of Our Fighting Forces 66 ( February 1962 ) , which was published by National Periodical Publications ( now DC Comics ) . In that frame only a portion of the dog 's head is visible and the speech balloon says unk In addition to the painting itself , Lichtenstein produced a small 5 . 75 in 4 . 5 in ( 14 . 6 cm 11 . 4 cm ) graphite on paper study . The painting was bestowed to the Guggenheim Museum after Lichtenstein 's 1997 death , following a promise made in 1992 . The museum used Grrrrrrrrrrr in the promotional posters for the 1993 exhibition Roy Lichtenstein A Retrospective , which ran from October 7 , 1993 January 16 , 1994 . Other notable exhibitions where this work was shown include Rendezvous Masterpieces from the Centre Georges Pompidou and the Guggenheim Museums which ran from October 16 , 1998 January 24 , 1999 at the Guggenheim Museum in New York , as well as Art in America 300 Years of Innovation which traveled to several museums in China between 2007 and 2008 . The work appeared on the cover of the November 1993 issue of ARTnews . Details Although Grrrrrrrrrrr is derived from what Guggenheim Senior Curator Susan Davidson calls a low grade comic strip that is a typical Lichtenstein source , it is representative of Lichtenstein 's fascination with the atomic language of Ben Day dots , black outlines and the three primary colors as the elementary vocabulary of low budget commercial imagery . According to Jennifer Blessing of the Guggenheim , There is also an element of humor in creating fine art out of what has customarily been considered ' low , ' a playfulness that is equally evident in the onomatopoeic caption and bellicose expression of the dog in Grrrrrrrrrrr Related works In 1962 , Lichtenstein created unk , an oil and graphite pencil on canvas painting depicting a dog from a subsequent issue of Our Fighting Forces , the series that was the source of Grrrrrrrrrrr That source depicts the dog by the name of Pooch in profile with a text bubble reading unk above his head . The inspiration for this painting came from Our Fighting Forces 69 ( July 1962 ) . unk was sold at Christie 's in 1996 for 420 , 500 to an undisclosed buyer .
276
State Route 249 ( SR 249 ) is an Ohio State Route that runs between the Indiana state line and Ney in the US state of Ohio . The 14 . 45 miles ( 23 . 26 km ) of SR 249 that lie within the state serve as a minor highway . None of the highway is listed on the National Highway System . The whole route is a rural two lane highway and passes through farmland . The highway was first signed in 1925 and was a north south route , a route that later became U.S. Route 127 ( US 127 ) . SR 249 was given its current route in 1927 , as a replacement for SR 22 . The route was completely paved by 1942 . Route description SR 249 heads southeast from the Indiana Ohio state line , as a two lane highway passing through farmland , with some houses . The route passes over the St. Joseph River and turns due east . The highway has an intersection at SR 49 , in rural Defiance County . After the intersection with SR 49 the highway enters farmland and woodland , with a few houses . The route has an intersection with SR 2 , this intersection is the western terminus of the SR 2 concurrency . The concurrency heads east , passing through farmland , until SR 2 turns north in the community of Farmer . SR 249 heads east having an intersection with US 127 . The route turns southeast , before ending at an intersection with SR 15 in Ney . There is no section of SR 249 that is included as a part of the National Highway System , a system of routes determined to be the most important for the nation 's economy , mobility and defense . The highway is maintained by the Ohio Department of Transportation ( ODOT ) like all other state routes in the state . The department tracks the traffic volumes along all state highways as a part of its maintenance responsibilities using a metric called average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) . This measurement is a calculation of the traffic level along a segment of roadway for any average day of the year . In 2009 , ODOT figured that the lowest traffic level was 820 vehicles on the section that is concurrent with SR 2 , and the peak traffic volume was 6 , 720 vehicles between US 127 and SR 15 . History The route that became SR 249 was first signed as SR 22 in 1923 following all of SR 249 as it is today and heading as far east southeast as Marion . Also in this year the route east of Farmer was paved . SR 249 made its debut in 1925 , as a north south route , on a section of road that is now US 127 . The route went from SR 22 , now SR 249 , north to SR 9 , now SR 15 . In 1927 , SR 249 replaced part of SR 22 , from the Indiana state line to Ney . The rest of the route from the Indiana state line to Farmer was paved in 1942 . No significant changes have taken place to this state route since 1942 . Major intersections The entire route is in Defiance County .
277
Bregowine ( or unk or unk died August 764 ) was a medieval Archbishop of Canterbury . Little is known of his origins or his activities as archbishop , although a number of stories were told about his possible origins after the Norman conquest in 1066 . There are no records of him prior to his becoming archbishop . He possibly owed his elevation to the Kentish monarch . The records after his elevation to Canterbury are mainly about disputes over land , but knowledge of his time in office is hampered by the destruction of many of the contemporary records . After his death , he was considered a saint and a life about him was written in the 12th century . Life Various stories have been told about Bregowine 's origins , including that he was a nobleman and a continental Saxon who converted to Christianity and came to Canterbury because of the saintly reputation of Theodore of Tarsus . Others say that he owed his elevation to King thelbert II of Kent , but all these stories rest on works that were written after the Norman conquest of England in 1066 . There are no contemporary records of Bregowine before he was archbishop . It does not appear , however , that he was of Mercian origins like his predecessors unk and Nothhelm . Whatever his upbringing , Bregowine was consecrated as archbishop on 27 September 761 . His election took place in a brief period when Kent was free of Mercian dominance between 756 and 764 , so the story that he owed his election to thelbert does fit with the time frame . He wrote letters to Archbishop unk of Mainz which still exist , and which discuss an earlier meeting between the two men . Other activities as archbishop are recorded in surviving charters . One records that he protested at the loss of a church at Cookham that was confiscated by King Cynewulf of Wessex sometime after 760 . Another surviving charter from unk , a thegn of King thelbert , concerning land in Canterbury , records that Bregowine consented to the gift of land . Unfortunately , many of the early charters of the diocese of Canterbury are lost , which restricts knowledge of Bregowine 's activities as archbishop . Bregowine died in 764 and was originally buried in the baptistry in Canterbury , but his remains were moved to the choir of Canterbury Cathedral in 1123 . This followed an attempt in around 1121 to remove his remains to another monastery , which came to nothing . The remains were placed by the altar of St Gregory in the south transept , after having been briefly placed in the north transept . Bregowine was later considered a saint , with a feast day of 26 August , although Florence of Worcester , a 12th century writer , recorded his death date as 24 August . Other sources record the death date as 25 August . His life was later written by Eadmer in the 12th century .
278
The Grove is a lifestyle center in Maple Grove , Minnesota , a suburb of the Twin Cities . The shopping mall opened in August 2005 and consists of 538 , 000 square feet ( 50 , 000 m2 ) of retail space , with an additional 600 , 000 square feet ( 56 , 000 m2 ) of medical space . The center contains nearly 30 retail tenants and is anchored by Haskell 's Liquor , Home Depot , North Memorial Medical Center , Slumberland Furniture , and Super Target . The Grove also contains a medical campus , Maple Grove Hospital . Since its opening in 2005 , the shopping center has dealt with constant vacancy rates , despite the urbanization of Maple Grove and its surrounding communities . Many of the center 's tenants are vacant , but vacancy rates have decreased over the years . The center was originally developed and managed by Ryan Companies US , Inc . , but was acquired by Hempel Properties in January 2016 for 19 . 2 million . Currently , the center features national chains , including Chipotle Mexican Grill , Great Clips , and Subway . History During development in the early 2000s , the center took up nearly 200 acres of space previously used as farmland . Ryan Companies US , Inc. funded the project , which included the construction of a medical campus and several retail options . Upon completion in August 2005 , over 20 retail tenants had been constructed with the majority of them being vacant . Several national retailers announced interest in the center , including Super Target , which announced plans to close their other Maple Grove location . OfficeMax opened a location in 2007 , but closed in November 2014 after merging with Office Depot , Inc .. Following the closure , only 14 stores remained open at the center . Throughout the years , several expansions of the property have taken place . Aldi , a discount supermarket , expressed interest in The Grove in 2011 , before purchasing a unk in October of the same year . Ryan Companies funded a second expansion of the medical building in 2014 the new building , located on the south side of the property , contained 41 , 810 square feet ( 3 , 900 m2 ) of rentable medical space . Despite owning the center for nearly a decade , Ryan Companies sold The Grove among other shopping centers to Hempel Properties on January 5 , 2016 , in hopes of rais ing the occupancy levels for several properties . Design According to the center 's developer , the site was designed to replicate a picturesque village center , complete with a walkable shopping lifestyle and clocktower . The Grove 's infrastructure contains several pedestrian trails , parklands , and wetlands , mixed with retail and office space . The architecture of The Grove includes heavy use of windows , similar to that of other office buildings in the Maple Grove community .
279
Nebraska Highway 88 ( N 88 ) is a highway in northwestern Nebraska . It has a western terminus at Wyoming Highway 151 ( WYO 151 ) at the Wyoming Nebraska state line . The road travels eastward to N 71 , where it turns south . N 88 continues east to south of Bridgeport . The road turns north , ends at an intersection with U.S. Highway 385 ( US 385 ) and N 92 in Bridgeport . The route was designated in 1937 , before the official state highway system was created . It was extended to the state line in 1986 . Route description N 88 starts at the Nebraska Wyoming state line in Banner County , where WYO 151 ends , and travels northeast . The road quickly bends east after less than one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) , and continues in a straight line . For the next twenty miles ( 32 km ) , N 88 intersects minor streets , through rural farmland . The route turns south at N 71 , and becomes concurrent . Four miles ( 6 . 4 km ) later , N 88 turns east , ending the concurrency with N 71 . The route continues to travel through farmland for sixteen miles ( 26 km ) , where it enters Morrill County . The road crosses over Pumpkin Creek four times , and enters the unincorporated community of unk . Two rock formations , Courthouse and Jail Rocks , become visible from the road . N 88 turns north toward Bridgeport soon after . The road crosses over Pumpkin Creek for the fifth time , and enters into Bridgeport five miles ( 8 . 0 km ) later . The road intersects a railroad owned by BNSF Railway . N 88 turns northeast soon after , and ends at the intersection of US 385 and N 92 . In 2012 , Nebraska Department of Roads ( unk ) calculated as many as 2 , 410 vehicles traveling on the N 71 N 88 concurrency , and as few as 315 vehicles traveling east of the Banner Morrill county line . This is expressed in terms of annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) , a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . Only the N 71 N 88 concurrency is part of the National Highway System ( NHS ) , a network of highways identified as being most important for the economy , mobility and defense of the nation . History N 88 was unofficially designated around 1937 , connecting from N 29 , to N 86 and N 19 in Bridgeport . The route remained relatively the same as the state highway system was officially designated . Before 1955 , Nebraska did not have an adequate legal instrument to define the state highway system . By 1960 , N 19 was renumbered to US 385 , and US 26 was rerouted north near Bridgeport . The old alignment became part of N 92 . Two years later , N 29 was renumbered to N 71 . Between 1981 82 , a road appeared on the official state map , extending from WYO 151 to N 71 . That road became part of N 88 by 1986 . No significant changes have been made since . Major intersections
280
Benjamin C. Freakley ( born 21 August 1953 ) is a retired United States Army lieutenant general , and a professor policy advisor at Arizona State University . From Woodstock , Virginia , Freakley was commissioned as an infantry officer in 1975 , and served in Operation Desert Storm , Operation Iraqi Freedom , and Operation Enduring Freedom Afghanistan before retiring in 2012 . After retirement Freakley began a career in education . Early life Originally from Woodstock , Virginia , he graduated from Central High School in Woodstock in 1971 . Freakley also became an Eagle Scout . Applying for admission to three military schools ( Virginia Military Institute , The Citadel , and West Point ) , he ended up graduating from West Point with the Class of 1975 . Military career Being commissioned as a second lieutenant of infantry in 1975 , he was assigned to the 506th Infantry Regiment until 1979 . He then was an aide de camp to the commanding general of the Military District of Washington , before being sent to West Germany to serve with the 2nd Battalion , 30th Infantry Regiment . During Operation Desert Shield , Freakley worked on the war plans , and served as battalion executive officer of the 3rd Battalion , 7th Infantry Regiment . Operation Desert Storm found him serving as the operations officer of the 1st Brigade of the 24th Infantry Division . After Operation Desert Storm , Freakley commanded the 1st Battalion of the 5th Cavalry Regiment , before serving in staff positions with the 24th Infantry Division and III Corps , until being placed in command of the 3rd Brigade of the 1st Cavalry Division . 1999 found Freakley commanding the operations group at Fort Irwin 's National Training Center , before serving in staff positions at the National Military Command Center and Joint Staff . In 2003 , Freakley served as assistant division commander , under David Petraeus , of the 101st Airborne Division , which found Freakley involved in combat in Iraq a second time during Operation Iraqi Freedom . After Iraq , Freakley became the Chief of Infantry at Fort Benning , during which time the Infantry Center became part of the Maneuver Center of Excellence . In 2005 , Freakley commanded the 10th Mountain Division as it was deployed to Afghanistan , where he also became the commanding general of Combined Joint Task Force 76 . In 2007 , Freakley took command of unk Command , where he remained until he retired in 2012 . Post military career After retiring from the army , Freakley became a professor at Arizona State University , and special advisor to the university 's president . Awards and decorations Freakley has received the following awards Freakley was also named the policy leader of the year , by the National Association of State Boards of Education in 2010 .
281
The 1761 Milestone is a milestone on 640 South Main Street in Woonsocket , Rhode Island . The stone originally marked the junction of a Colonial highway from Great Road and an east west route from Boston , Massachusetts , to the state of Connecticut . The stone was rediscovered during the installation of an electrical road ( likely a tram ) . In 1898 , the stone was reportedly restored to its original location by the local chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution . The stone is embedded in a low retaining wall at the corner of South Main Street and Smithfield Road . It was added to the National Register of Historic Places on November 24 , 1982 , and is historically significant as Colonial era highway marker . History The 1761 Milestone is a historic marker that marked the junction of a Colonial highway . In 1761 , it was located at the intersection of Great Road , from Providence , Rhode Island , to Mendon , Massachusetts , and an east west route from Boston , Massachusetts , into Connecticut . Currently , the marker rests near the intersection of South Main Street and Smithfield Road ( previously Great Road ) and occupies the land designated by the Woonsocket Assessor as plat 4 C , lot 69 . The 2 feet ( 0 . 61 m ) by 3 feet ( 0 . 91 m ) marker is described by the National Register of Historic Places ( NRHP ) nomination form as an odd shaped piece of grey slate , somewhat broken and effaced ... It bears a boldly cut inscription of an unknown stonecutter the inscription is likened to 18th century handwriting and lacks a calligraphic pattern . The marker reads Miles to B unk 1761 , but according to Rhode Island A Guide to the Smallest State it read , Miles to Boston 47 . In 1898 , it was reported that the stone was unearthed during the installation of electrical road ( likely for a tram ) and restored to its original location by the Woonsocket chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution . Sometime later , the Daughters of the American Revolution placed a bronze plaque on the stone , but it was absent at the time of its nomination in 1982 . The marker is currently mortared into a retaining wall at the edge of the sidewalk on 640 South Main Street at the intersection and has been since prior to 1982 . As of 2013 , a Daughters of the American Revolution plaque is present . Importance The National Register of Historic Places nomination states the marker is at its original site and is historically important because t his milestone is the only extant Woonsocket property which well recalls this era in the early history of American overland transportation , and it is one of but a handful of such stones surviving in Rhode Island that marks inter colonial highways . It was added to the National Register of Historic Places on November 24 , 1982 .
282
Ornatifilum ( Latin ornatus unk , unk filament ) is an artificial form genus , which is used to categorise any small , branched filaments with external ornamentation . It has been applied to microfossils of Devonian age with fungal affinities , though these taxa have since been recognized as an early growth form of Tortotubus . Background The form genus Ornatifilum was erected by Burgess and Edwards in 1991 to describe tubular fossils retrieved by acid maceration from the late Silurian . It was originally intended as a form genus , to facilitate stratigraphy and environmental reconstruction the fossils do not display enough features to classify them confidently , even at a kingdom level . The organisms comprise tubes of around 10 m diameter , with an ornamented , granular surface texture . These fossils were compared to late Silurian ( Ludlow epoch ) fossils retrieved from the unk beds by Sherwood Pike and Gray , and the genus was used when similar fossils were recovered from the Scottish island of Kerrera by Charles Wellman ten years later . Similar , unornamented filaments are known from the USA . However , these latter fossils have now been assigned to Tortotubus . O. unk The type species of the genus consists of flattened filaments perhaps an artefact resulting from post burial pressure . Their branching is typically at obtuse angles the irregularly sized grana , which ornament their surfaces , are concentrated at branching points . They are often found as individuals , but sometimes group together into wefts , as Wellman has termed them . The filaments are septate , with the septa looking like pinch points where the tube is slightly constricted like a twisted balloon . No sign of perforation was visible in the septa perforate spores are only found in red algae and fungi , but their absence does not preclude their presence in one of these groups indeed the perforations are difficult to see or image . There are no other diagnostic features of this species that allow classification in any group . Surface ornamentation is a common convergent feature , found for example in liverwort rhizoids and some fungi , so does not help in classification . The specimens recovered are most common in near shore environments however , they are never abundant . O. unk O. unk is a junior synonym of Tortotubus unk . It has a more complex appearance than O. unk . For a start , its surface ornament which covers most of the surface uniformly takes an array of forms , with grana , unk , spinae verrucae and occasionally unk present . Further , side branches and the flask shaped protuberances occasionally protrude from the tubes , on which the ornament is larger ( 2 . 5 m rather than 1 m ) . Such branching typically occurs in pairs across the main thread . Timeline
283
M 136 is a state trunkline highway in the US state of Michigan that runs from Brockway to Fort Gratiot in the lower part of The Thumb of the Lower Peninsula . The highway serves as a connector between M 19 on the west and M 25 northwest of Port Huron . In between , the highway runs through rural St. Clair County through farm fields and along a creek and river . The trunkline uses roads that were part of the state highway system in 1919 . The M 136 designation was assigned in 1931 and extended to its current length in 1961 . Route description M 136 begins at a junction with M 19 just south of Brockway on the north side of Mill Creek . The highway heads eastward through farm fields on Metcalf Road for about two thirds mile ( 1 . 1 km ) before bending to the southeast on Beard Road , parallel to the creek . The road then turns eastward on Avoca Road near unk Airport and heads toward Avoca . The trunkline continues in this direction through farm fields and the community of Avoca before turning southward on unk Road near the Black River . M 136 turns east , returning to Beard Road , and running through a wooded area to cross the river . From here , it continues through farm fields again on a generally east southeast track on N and unk roads as it heads towards Gardendale . The highway then branches southeastward on Pine Grove Avenue to connect with M 25 two miles ( 3 . 2 km ) from Interstate 94 ( I 94 ) and I 69 and their international border crossing on the Blue Water Bridge in Port Huron . Like other state highways in Michigan , M 136 is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) . In 2011 , the department 's traffic surveys showed that on average , 6 , 070 vehicles used the highway daily on the eastern segment along Beard Road and 1 , 894 vehicles did so each day near the western terminus , the highest and lowest counts along the highway , respectively . No section of M 136 is listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History When the state highway system was initially signposted in 1919 , the westernmost section of today 's M 136 was designated as part of M 19 . In 1927 , that section of highway was redesignated as M 13 and extended through Avoca . During 1929 , the trunkline was extended eastward to terminate at the contemporary M 51 near Gardendale . M 136 was commissioned in 1931 to replace M 13 between what was M 19 and M 51 . The highway was fully paved in 1940 as the last section of gravel road was hard surfaced through Avoca that year . In 1961 , M 136 was extended further east to replace the section of M 51 between Gardendale and Fort Gratiot on present day Pine Grove Avenue . Major intersections The entire highway is in St. Clair County .
284
Guanglan Road Station ( simplified Chinese unk traditional Chinese unk pinyin unk unk Zhn ) is a station on Line 2 of the Shanghai Metro . The station is located along Zuchongzhi Road and is located between the Tangzhen station and the Jinke Road station on Line 2 . The station is located at an intersection of Zuchongzhi Road and Guanglan Road , and has four exits . The station was opened on February 24 , 2010 , after Line 2 was extended from the unk Hi Tech Park station . The station has three tracks , an island platform , and a side platform . All service is on the island platform as of May 2013 . History By 2008 , the Line 2 terminated at the unk Hi Tech Park station . On February 24 , 2010 , the line was expanded from this station through the Jinke Road station to the Guanglan Road station . Two months later , the line was extended past the station through the Tangzhen , Middle Chuangxin Road , East Huaxia Road , Chuansha , unk Road , unk Avenue , and unk Road stations to the Pudong Airport station , which serves the Shanghai Pudong International Airport . Facilities The station is located in Shanghai 's Pudong New Area , along Zuchongzhi Road near an intersection with Guanglan Road and unk Road . Exits Shaped like an oblong rectangle , the station has 4 exits . Exits 1 and 5 are located north of Zuchongzhi Road , with exit 1 further to the east than exit 5 . Exits 2 and 4 are located south of the road , with exit 4 further to the west than exit 2 . Exit 4 is located south of the unk unk unk Elementary School , which occupies the area above the western section of the station . The eastern section of the station is located beneath a Shanghai unk Garment Manufacturing Ltd . Co. building . The station is served by bus routes 615 , 636 , and 990 . Service Along Line 2 , the station is located between the Jinke Road station and the Tangzhen station . It takes approximately 60 minutes to ride the train to the East unk station , the west end of the line , and 34 minutes to the Pudong Airport station , the eastern terminus . The train operates from 5 30 to 22 45 westbound and from 6 30 to 21 00 eastbound . On weekdays , trains leave the station approximately every 3 minutes and 30 seconds during peak hours and every four to ten minutes during non peak hours . Peak hours are defined as from 7 30 to 9 30 and 17 00 to 19 00 on Monday through Thursday , as well as 7 00 to 9 00 and 12 50 to 20 30 on Friday . On weekends , trains leave the stations every 4 minutes and 5 seconds from 8 00 to 20 30 , and every five to ten minutes during other times . The station is a transfer station for passengers traveling to or from points east on Line 2 . From Guanglan Road to the east , Line 2 uses 4 carriage trains to the west Line 2 uses 8 carriage trains .
285
Kepler 5 is a star located in the constellation Cygnus in the field of view of the Kepler Mission , a NASA project aimed at detecting planets in transit of , or passing in front of , their host stars as seen from Earth . One closely orbiting , Jupiter like planet , named Kepler 5b , has been detected around Kepler 5 . Kepler 5 's planet was one of the first five planets to be discovered by the Kepler spacecraft its discovery was announced on January 4 , 2010 at the 215th meeting of the American Astronomical Society after being verified by a variety of observatories . Kepler 5 is larger and more massive than the Sun , but has a similar metallicity , a major factor in planet formation . Nomenclature and history Kepler 5 is named so because it was the fifth planet bearing star discovered during the course of the Kepler Mission , a NASA operation that seeks to discover Earth like planets that transit , or cross in front of , their host stars with respect to Earth . The star 's planet , Kepler 5b , was the second of the first five planets to be discovered by the Kepler spacecraft the first three planets found by Kepler were used as tests , and had already been discovered . Kepler 5b was presented to the public on January 4 , 2010 at the 215th meeting of the American Astronomical Society in Washington , D.C. , along with planets around Kepler 4 , Kepler 6 , Kepler 7 , and Kepler 8 . Kepler 5b 's initial discovery by Kepler was re examined by scientists at the W.M. Keck Observatory at Mauna Kea , Hawaii the McDonald Observatory in west Texas the Palomar and Lick Observatories in California the MMT , WIYN , and Whipple Observatories in Arizona and the Roque de los Muchachos Observatory in the Canary Islands . Characteristics Kepler 5 is a sunlike star that is 1 . 374 ( 0 . 056 ) Msun and 1 . 793 ( 0 . 053 ) Rsun , and is 137 the mass of and 179 the radius of the Sun . The star has a metallicity of Fe H 0 . 04 ( 0 . 06 ) , making it approximately as metal rich as the Sun , therefore increasing the star 's likelihood to have planets in orbit . Kepler 5 has an effective temperature of unk ( 60 ) K , which is hotter than the Sun 's effective temperature of 5778 K. Kepler 5 has an apparent magnitude of 13 . 4 , and cannot be seen with the naked eye . Planetary system Kepler 5b is 2 . 114 MJ and 1 . 431 RJ . It is , thus , more than twice the mass of Jupiter , and slightly less than three halves of Jupiter 's radius . Kepler 5b orbits its star every 3 . unk days , lying at approximately unk AU from Kepler 5 . It is , thus , a Hot Jupiter , or a gas giant that orbits near to its host star . To compare , Mercury orbits the sun at .3871 AU every 87 . 97 days . The planet 's eccentricity is assumed to be 0 , which is the eccentricity for a circular orbit .
286
Castle Hill , also called Mere Castle , was a medieval fortification built by Richard , the Earl of Cornwall , in 1253 on a hill overlooking the village of Mere , Wiltshire , England . The castle was constructed in stone , with six towers , inner buildings and gates . It was abandoned in the 14th century and stripped of its stone and metalwork . Only earthworks remain in the 21st century . History Construction The village of Mere was a small and unimportant settlement in the early 13th century . In 1243 Richard , the Earl of Cornwall , acquired the manor . Richard was the brother of Henry III and immensely rich . In 1253 he began to build a castle at Mere . The castle was built on Long Hill , a chalk ridge overlooking the village the hill was flattened and scarped , with a 5 metre ( 16 ft ) deep ditch cut into the west side . As archaeologist Phil unk describes , documentary sources imply the castle was a rectangular stone built structure with six towers , incorporating a hall , an inner and outer gate , a deep well and a chapel , and it may have resembled a smaller version of Framlingham Castle . The castle was probably entered from the west , with a possible road running up the south side of the hill . At the same time the village was expanded into a planned town with an unofficial market . The castle was renovated in 1300 , possibly in response to the threat of rebellion in England at the time . Decline Richard 's son Edmund inherited the property , but on his death it was taken back by the Crown . Edward II gave it to his royal favourite , Piers Gaveston , whom he made Earl of Cornwall . Edward II and Gaveston fell from power in 1327 and John , Edward 's second son , took possession as the new Earl of Cornwall . Edward III then reacquired the castle , which became a permanent part of the Duchy of Cornwall . During the 14th century , however , the castle had declined and became abandoned . In 1398 Richard II had the lead taken from the castle roofs for reuse at Portchester Castle . In 1660 , visitors ' accounts imply that the stonework had all been dismantled , and 18th century accounts suggest that this was reused for construction work in the town below , which had prospered from the wool and later linen trade . 21st century In the 21st century the site is protected under law as a scheduled monument . It is owned by the Duchy of Cornwall , and leased to the local parish council . A flagpole , which is illuminated at night , and a memorial to the 43rd ( Wessex ) Infantry Division are located on the castle site . A ceremony is held at the castle site each Easter . Archaeological investigation Archaeological excavations of the site were carried out in 1887 by T. H. Baker and C. N. Wyld , but most of the results of their work were subsequently lost .
287
State Route 220 ( SR 220 ) was a 27 . 42 mile ( 44 . 13 km ) long state highway located entirely in the Yakama Indian Reservation , Yakima County , Washington , United States . The highway linked Fort Simcoe State Park in the west to White Swan and Toppenish in the east . The highway had been built sometime between 1915 and 1937 , and was renumbered from Secondary State Highway 3B during the 1964 state highway renumbering . The route was slated to be removed from the state highway system during the 1991 legislative session , and was removed April 1 , 1992 . Route description SR 220 started at Fort Simcoe State Park , headed easterly along Fort Simcoe Road until it intersected Hawk Road . At the t intersection with Hawk Road , the highway turned north and follows Hawk Road until an intersection with White Swan Road . The highway turned back east along White Swan Road , passing through downtown White Swan , before turning south along Curtis Street . The highway passed over a BNSF Railway rail line , formerly part of the Toppenish , Simcoe Western Railroad , before Curtis street turned easterly and became Fort Road . Fort Road continued almost perfectly east for about 18 mi ( 29 km ) before intersecting US Route 97 ( US 97 ) . After crossing US 97 , the highway continued as a city street through west Toppenish before terminating at SR 22 . Every year the Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 1991 , WSDOT calculated that as few as 340 cars used the highway at the western terminus and as many as 9 , 300 cars at the interchange with SR 22 . History The highway was first constructed some time between 1915 and 1937 , with a segment linking Fort Simcoe to White Swan completed by 1937 . The highway was signed as Secondary State Highway 3B ( SSH 3B ) between White Swan and Toppenish until the 1964 state highway renumbering when the SR 220 number was applied to the highway . The original eastern terminus was US 97 , but in 1971 the terminus was extended to SR 22 . The highway was de legislated in 1991 along with eleven other highways , and was removed from the system effective April 1 , 1992 . Today All of the roads that SR 220 were routed along are still accessible , and have been designated major collector roads by WSDOT . The entirety of the former routing of SR 220 has been designated Classified Route unk . The city of Toppenish is eligible to receive hardship funding for the former highway between the junction with SR 22 to near Linden Road , a span of unk mi ( 430 m ) . Major intersections The entire highway was in Yakima County .
288
Kepler 6 is a yellow giant situated in the constellation Cygnus . The star lies within the field of view of the Kepler Mission , which discovered it as part of a NASA led mission to discover Earth like planets . The star , which is slightly larger , more metal rich , slightly cooler , and more massive than the Sun , is orbited by at least one extrasolar planet , a Jupiter sized planet named Kepler 6b that orbits closely to its star . Nomenclature and history Kepler 6 was named for the Kepler Mission , a NASA project launched in 2009 that aims to discover Earth like planets that transit , or cross in front of , their home stars with respect to Earth . Unlike stars like the Sun or Sirius , Kepler 6 does not have a common and colloquial name . The discovery of Kepler 6b was announced by the Kepler team on January 4 , 2010 at the 215th meeting of the American Astronomical Society along with planets around Kepler 4 , Kepler 5 , Kepler 7 , and Kepler 8 . It was the third planet to be discovered by the Kepler spacecraft the first three planets to be verified by data from Kepler had been previously discovered . These three planets were used to test the accuracy of Kepler 's measurements . The discovery of Kepler 6 was confirmed by follow up observations made using the Hobby Eberly and Smith telescopes in Texas the Keck 1 telescope in Hawaii the Hale and Shane telescopes in southern California the WIYN , MMT , and Tillinghast telescopes in Arizona and the Nordic Optical Telescope in the Canary Islands . Characteristics Kepler 6 is a star that is approximately 1 . 209 Msun , or some five fourths the mass of the Sun . It is also wider than the sun , with a radius of 1 . 391 Rsun , or seven fifths of that of the Sun . The star is approximately 3 . 8 billion years old , and has an effective temperature of 5647 K ( 9 , 705 F ) . In comparison , the Sun has a slightly warmer temperature of 5778 K. Kepler 6 has a metallicity of Fe H 0 . 34 , making it 2 . 2 times more metallic than the Sun . On average , metal rich stars tend to be more likely to have planets and planetary systems . The star , as seen from Earth , has an apparent magnitude of 13 . 8 . It is not visible with the naked eye . In comparison , Pluto 's apparent magnitude at its brightest is slightly brighter , at 13 . 65 . Planetary system Kepler 6 has one confirmed extrasolar planet it is a gas giant named Kepler 6b . The planet is approximately unk MJ , or some two thirds the mass of planet Jupiter . It is also slightly more diffuse than Jupiter , with a radius of approximately 1 . 323 RJ . Kepler 6b orbits at an average distance of unk AU from its star , and completes an orbit every 3 . 234 days . The eccentricity of the planet 's orbit is assumed to be 0 , which is that of a circular orbit .
289
Interstate 225 ( I 225 ) is a connector spur route of Interstate 25 in Colorado . It is the only auxiliary route of Interstate 25 , and one of two auxiliary Interstate highways in the state of Colorado . I 225 traverses Aurora and small portions of Denver and Greenwood Village . It runs north from Interstate 25 to Interstate 70 . It intersects with Interstate 70 Business U.S. Highway 40 U.S. Highway 287 , known locally as Colfax Avenue . Construction on the freeway began in 1964 and continued progressively through many years until final completion in 1976 . Route description The southern end of I 225 begins at an interchange with Interstate 25 , as a typical two lane interstate with a 65 mph speed limit . The road heads northeastward through southern Denver , and after exits with DTC Boulevard and Yosemite Street in Greenwood Village , the road becomes three lanes with a fourth auxiliary lane traversing the Denver Greenwood Village city limits . With Cherry Creek State Park and Cherry Creek Reservoir on its east side , the highway interchanges with State Highway 83 at the northern boundary of the park . Following the exit at SH 83 , the freeway enters Aurora , where it turns northward , maintaining three through lanes , auxiliary lanes at each exit , and a 65 mph speed limit to its northern terminus at I 70 , and has upgraded exits at Iliff Avenue , Mississippi Avenue , Alameda Avenue , and 6th Avenue ( also signed as State Highway 30 ) . After crossing Sand Creek , the freeway interchanges with Colfax Avenue ( also signed as U.S. Highway 40 , U.S. Highway 287 and Interstate 70 Business ) , and then with 17th Place ( serving the Anschutz Medical Campus ) . After the exit , I 225 enters Adams County , continuing through the city of Aurora . The route then crosses a railroad and continues north , where it interchanges with Interstate 70 . The northbound ramp to westbound I 70 reenters Denver , and the eastbound I 70 to southbound I 225 ramp originates in Denver but enters Aurora as it passes under the westbound I 70 to southbound I 225 ramp . History Construction on I 225 began in May 1964 at Interstate 70 . A section from Colfax Avenue to Sixth Avenue was opened in 1966 . Five years later , a segment between Mississippi Avenue and Parker Road was opened , and construction began on another segment south of Parker Road , completed in May 1975 . The rest of the route between Yosemite Street and Interstate 25 was completed in May 1976 . Since completion of construction , the road has retained its original designation from I 25 to I 70 . The highway was widened between Mississippi Avenue and Parker Road to three lanes , as part of a project to widen the entire freeway from I 25 to I 70 construction on this portion took place between May 2012 and November 2014 . Exit list
290
Tintinhull Garden , located in Tintinhull , near Yeovil in the English county of Somerset , is a small 20th century Arts and Crafts garden surrounding a 17th century Grade I listed house . The property is in the ownership of the National Trust . It is visited by around 25 , 000 people per year . The house started as a small farmhouse in 1630 but was enlarged into its current form in the 18th century . The house was the property of the Napper family for centuries . It was given to the National Trust in 1954 . The Arts and Crafts style garden is modeled on that at Hidcote Manor Garden in Gloucestershire . It was originally laid out by Phyllis Reiss and developed by Penelope Hobhouse . House The original farmhouse which forms the basis of the current Tintinhull House was built of Hamstone 1630 . It was reshaped and enlarged around 1722 when the west faade was added . The house was the property of the Napper family , who acquired the manor after the Dissolution of the Monasteries and also owned Tintinhull Court , and was passed down in the family until they sold it sometime after 1814 . The unk let it to the Pitt family until the death of John Napper in 1791 . It passed through several hands until 1835 , when it was bought by Jeremiah Penny . In 1898 the then owner , Arthur Cobbett , added a single storey extension to the east front before selling it to his tenant the botanist , Dr. unk Price . In 1933 it was bought by Phyllis Reiss and her husband , Capt. F.E. Reiss . The house includes several paintings from the National Trust 's collection , including a painting of the front of the house by John S. Goodall . The house is a Grade I listed building and can be booked for holiday lets from the National trust . Garden The garden is laid out into areas separated by walls and hedges . The garden layout was developed in the early 20th century , by Dr. Price , including laying down unk and diamond shaped flagstone paths . The ornamental domes of box were planted in the 1920s . The early landscaping was expanded and planted starting in 1933 by Phyllis Reiss in a Arts and Crafts Hidcote style . The 1 . 5 acres ( 0 . 61 ha ) garden is separated into rooms by Yew hedges and walls . The different areas include Eagle Court ( the former courtyard ) , Middle Garden , Fountain Garden and Pool Garden . The pool garden is the site of a former tennis court . In 1954 Reiss gave the house and garden to the National Trust , but continued to live in the house and care for the garden until her death in 1961 . From then on , the Trust let the house to a variety of tenants , including the garden designer and writer Penelope Hobhouse and her husband Prof John Malins from 1980 to 1993 . The gardens are included in the National Register of Historic Parks and Gardens and include small pools and an unk garden .
291
I Love You ( Miss Robot ) is a song written , performed and produced by the Buggles , a duo of Trevor Horn and Geoff Downes , for their 1980 debut studio album The Age of Plastic . It was not released as a single . The song is , according to Downes , about being on the road and making love to someone you don 't really like , although music critics consider the song 's subject having to do with a robot . The song was performed live in 2010 , as part of the first performance of all the tracks from The Age of Plastic . Production I Love You is the fourth track of The Buggles ' debut studio album The Age of Plastic , although it was not released as a single . Plastic was recorded in 1979 , and was made on a budget of 60 , 000 . The backing track of I Love You was recorded at Virgin 's Town House in West London , with mixing and recording of vocals held at Sarm East Studios . Gary Langan mixed the song on a Sunday in 1979 , between 11 00 pm 12 00 am and 3 00 4 00 am . Langan has said that the song was one of the best mixes I 've ever done , and considered the song to be a unk mix . Composition and critical response When performing I Love You at the Ladbroke Grove 's Supperclub , a live performance known as The Lost Gig , Horn said that he conceived the idea of the song after playing Moon River on a bass guitar every Tuesday night . I Love You is an electropop new wave song . Downes is also a vocalist on the track , which he sings through a vocoder . He said that I Love You was really about being on the road and making love to someone you don 't really like , while all the time you 're wanting to phone someone who 's a long way off . Despite this , AllMusic , in their review of The Age of Plastic , considered the song to be about a metaphorical love affair with a robot that explores modern man 's relationship to , and dependence on , technology , and Craven Lovelace of the Grand Junction Free Press noted the song as an example of the increased popularity of robots as a musical subject in the early 1980s . Theo unk wrote in his book , Are We Not New Wave Modern Pop at the Turn of the 1980s , that the title of The Age of Plastic and the songs I Love You and Astroboy picture the arrival of the 1980s as a novelty era of playful futurism . Chuck Eddy from Spin viewed the song title as a proof The Age of Plastic was firmly in Kraftwerk 's future tech tradition . Live performances In September 2010 , the song was performed live at Ladbroke Grove 's Supperclub in Notting Hill , London , billed as the The Lost Gig . This saw the first live performances of all songs from The Age of Plastic . Personnel Geoff Downes writer , producer , keyboards , drums , percussion , additional vocals Trevor Horn writer , producer , vocals , bass guitar , guitar
292
SMS Meteor was an aviso of the Imperial German Navy , the lead ship of her class . She had one sister ship , Comet . She was built by the Germaniawerft shipyard . Her keel was laid in 1888 she was launched in January 1890 , and completed in May 1891 . Her career was limited due to poor handling and excessive vibration she remained on active service only until 1895 . She was used as a harbor guard ship from 1904 to 1911 , after which she became a barracks ship in Kiel . Meteor was sold for scrap in 1919 and subsequently dismantled . Design Meteor was 79 . 86 meters ( 262 . 0 ft ) long overall and had a beam of 9 . 56 m ( 31 . 4 ft ) and a maximum draft of 3 . 68 m ( 12 . 1 ft ) forward . She displaced 1 , 078 metric tons ( 1 , 061 long tons 1 , 188 short tons ) at full combat load . Her propulsion system consisted of two vertical 3 cylinder triple expansion engines . Steam for the engines was provided by four coal fired locomotive boilers . The ship 's propulsion system provided a top speed of 20 kn ( 37 km h 23 mph ) and a range of approximately 960 nautical miles ( 1 , 780 km 1 , 100 mi ) at 9 kn ( 17 km h 10 mph ) . Meteor had a crew of 7 officers and 108 enlisted men . As built , the ship was armed with four 8 . 8 cm SK L 30 guns placed in single pivot mounts , two side by side forward , and two side by side aft . The guns were supplied with between 462 and 680 rounds of ammunition . Meteor also carried three 35 cm ( 14 in ) torpedo tubes , one mounted submerged in the bow and the other two in deck mounted launchers on the broadside . She was protected with a 15 mm ( 0 . 59 in ) thick deck , along with 30 mm ( 1 . 2 in ) of steel armor plating for the conning tower . Service history Meteor was laid down at the Germaniawerft shipyard in Kiel in 1888 , and launched on 20 January 1890 . Fitting out work then commenced , and was completed by 19 May 1891 , when she was commissioned into the German fleet . Meteor served with the fleet only briefly this was due to her poor handling and excessive vibration at high speed . In 1893 , she was assigned as the dispatch vessel for the I Division of the Maneuver Squadron , which was composed of the four Sachsen class ironclads . By 1895 , she was withdrawn from front line service and used for fishery protection . This duty lasted only a year , after which she was placed out of service . In 1899 , she was reclassified as a light cruiser , along with her sister ship Comet , though both vessels remained out of service . Meteor was used as a harbor guard ship starting on 3 May 1904 . On 24 June 1911 , she was stricken from the naval register and used as a barracks ship in Kiel . She served in this capacity through World War I. After the German defeat , the ship was sold for scrapping in 1919 . Meteor thereafter was broken up in Rendsburg .
293
The Prospect Mountain Veterans Memorial Highway is a parkway located in the town of Lake George , New York . The road is 5 . 88 miles ( 9 . 46 km ) long , starting at the U.S. Route 9 ( US 9 ) and New York State Route 9N ( NY 9N ) concurrency and ending at the peak of Prospect Mountain . Although the road is designated as New York State Route unk , an unsigned reference route , by the New York State Department of Transportation , all maintenance on the roadway is performed by the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation . Route description The parkway begins at an intersection with Routes 9 and 9N ( Canada Street ) in the town of Lake George . The parkway passes through a gate , heading up the base of Prospect Mountain . The route is very scenic , with trees on both sides of the road . Route unk parallels Birch Ave . , a street in Lake George . Soon after , the parkway passes over Interstate 87 ( I 87 , named the Adirondack Northway ) . The road expands to several lanes after the Northway , coming to a tollbooth . After the toll booth , the parkway begins to head up the mountain . With large heavy , stabilized rocks on both sides of the road , used as a guard rail to prevent danger ( such as running off of the road ) , the parkway curves around the mountain , intersecting with several specialized scenic overlooks . The road curves around the several peaks of Prospect Mountain , coming to an end at the main peak at 5 . 88 miles ( 9 . 46 km ) , where a 100 mile ( 161 km ) view can be seen . The furthest that can be seen are the Green Mountains in Vermont and the White Mountains in New Hampshire . History Prospect Mountain originally had to use an incline railway car to access the house at the top where people could dance and eat . Construction on the railway began in January 1895 and cost 120 , 000 total . Construction was finished six months later , with the railway opening on June 15 , 1895 . After failing financially , the railway system ceased operation in 1903 . The area was bought and soon donated to the State of New York . The nearby hiking trail that heads up towards the mountaintop is part of the old railway . In 1932 , the building at the top of the mountain burned down and was replaced by a steel fire tower . For 30 years , people studied what to do with the land , which was owned by the state , and in 1954 , New York Governor Tom Dewey signed legislation to build a highway up the mountain . Twelve years later , in 1966 , then Governor Nelson Rockefeller made funds available for the highway . The Prospect Mountain Veterans Memorial Highway was opened in 1969 , dedicated to war veterans and providing access to the 2 , 021 foot ( 616 m ) summit with a 100 mile ( 161 km ) view at its peak . Major intersections The entire route is in Lake George , Warren County .
294
Route 163 is a short 0 . 30 mile ( 0 . 48 km ) long state highway in the county of Warren in New Jersey . The route , which is currently a stub , used to be the approach to the destroyed Delaware Bridge , which was a road bridge over the Delaware River , connecting the settlement of Delaware , New Jersey with Portland , Pennsylvania . Until 1953 , the bridge carried U.S. Route 46 over the river . The bridge has been destroyed , but the approaches are still state maintained . A still existing bridge carries an abandoned ex Delaware , Lackawanna and Western Railroad line across the river just north of the former road crossing . The unsigned Route 163 runs from US 46 north to a dead end on the east side of US 46 , all in Knowlton Township , New Jersey . From the dead end , the bridge approach continued northwest and west over US 46 to the bridge . Route description Route 163 begins north of an intersection with U.S. Route 46 and Roy Ace Road in the community of Delaware . The highway heads to the north along Lackawanna Road . Route 163 passes several residences to the north and a short stretch of homes to the south . There is a short intersection with an unnamed local road . After that intersection , Route 163 passes a truck stop that is visible on both Route 46 , which parallels to the south , and the short state highway . There is another short truck stop before an intersection with a return ramp to Route 46 . Route 163 officially terminates at a barricaded dead end near Hemlock Hill Road . History New Jersey Route 163 originated as an alignment of U.S. Route 46 ( co signed with New Jersey State Highway Route 6 ) . The alignment of 6 and 46 went along the alignment of the original State Highway Route 5 from the early 1920s , stretching from Newark to the bridge over the Delaware River at Delaware . The route was decommissioned when the 1927 renumbering occurred . After that renumbering , the route became State Highway Route 6 , a co designation to U.S. Route 46 , which had been assigned the prior year . The two highway designations remained intact until the 1953 renumbering , when Route 6 was decommissioned in favor of using the U.S. 46 designation . U.S. Route 46 was realigned once again when the Portland Columbia Toll Bridge opened in 1953 , when the alignment of the highway was changed to head along former State Highway Route 8 ( mostly New Jersey Route 94 ) , where it ended at U.S. Route 611 and NJ 94 , where its current terminus is located . After the realigning of the Delaware Bridge alignment , the route was renumbered to New Jersey Route 163 . Two years later , the Delaware Bridge was swept away in floods caused by Hurricane Connie and Diane in 1955 , which took out several other bridges over the Delaware . Major intersections The entire route is in Delaware , Warren County .
295
.bv is the Internet country code top level domain ( ccTLD ) reserved for the uninhabited Norwegian dependent territory of Bouvet Island . The domain name registry and sponsor is Norid , but .bv is not open for registration . .bv was designated on 21 August 1997 and was placed under the .no registry Norid . Norwegian policy states that .no is sufficient for those institutions connected to Bouvet Island , and therefore the domain is not open to registration . It is Norwegian policy not to commercialize domain resources , so there are no plans to sell .bv. Should the domain later come into use , it will be under the regulation of the Norwegian Post and Telecommunications Authority and follow the same policy as .no. History Bouvet Island is an uninhabited volcanic island in the South Atlantic Ocean . It was claimed by Norway in 1927 . The domain was allocated on 21 August 1997 , at the same time .sj was allocated for Svalbard and Jan Mayen . The allocation occurred because the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority ( IANA ) assigns ccTLDs to all entities with an ISO 3166 code , for which Bouvet Island is designated BV . In June 2015 , Norwegian computer scientist Hkon Wium Lie and the Socialist Left Party proposed using the .bv domain , along with .sj , as online free havens . The proposal aims at protecting both the Norwegian authorities and foreign dissidents from surveillance . In March 2012 , Norid began an initial collaboration with the Dutch domain registry unk , with the purpose of examining the possibility of utilizing the .bv domain on the Dutch market . BV is the most common form of limited company in the Netherlands , which could have made .bv a popular domain . The collaboration ended in June 2016 , when The Ministry of Transport and Communications advised that dispensation from certain parts of the Norwegian Domain Regulations , which would have opened for the sale of the .bv domain , should not be granted . Policy Management of .bv lies with Trondheim based Norid , which is also the domain name registry for .no and the unused .sj. Norid is a limited company owned by Uninett , which is owned by the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research . The legal right to manage the domains is twofold , based both on an agreement with the IANA and regulations via the Telecommunication Act which is supervised by the Lillesand based Norwegian Post and Telecommunications Authority . The policy for the use of .bv is regulated by the Regulation Concerning Domain Names Under Norwegian Country Code Top level Domains , also known as the Domain Regulation . This regulation also regulates Norway 's other two ccTLDs , .no and .sj. Should .bv eventually come into use , the same rules and procedures as those currently regarding .no would be used for .bv. The domain remains reserved for potential future use .
296
Michelle Rzepecki ( born 6 November 1986 ) is an Australian goalball player classified as a B3 competitor . She made her debut for the Australia women 's national goalball team at the 2011 African Oceania regional Paralympic qualifying competition . She was selected to represent Australia at the 2012 Summer Paralympics in goalball . Personal life Rzepecki was born on 6 November 1986 in Wollstonecraft , New South Wales , and is 173 centimetres ( 68 in ) tall . She has the visual disability rod unk , which she acquired at birth . She can play the saxophone and piano . Rzepecki is a third generation Australian , as her grandfather moved to Australia from Germany . While attending Castle Hill High School , she returned to the country of her grandfather 's birth to do study abroad that was funded by a scholarship from the Society for Australian German Student Exchange Inc . She also lived in Bolivia for a while , working at a school for children with visual impairments . While there , she introduced the children to goalball . Part of her work in the country was funded by a mini grant . As of 2012 , she works as a Sydney Tower unk guide . Goalball Rzepecki is a goalball player , and for visual disability sports , is classified as a B3 competitor . She is a centre and winger . She has a goalball scholarship with the New South Wales Institute of Sport . Rzepecki started playing the sport in 2002 . She competed at the 2004 Australian National Goalball Championships , playing for the New South Wales goalball team which beat the Queensland goalball team in the finals . In 2011 , Rzepecki made her national team debut during the African Oceania regional Paralympic qualifying competition . She played in the game against the New Zealand women 's national goalball team that Australia won . As a member of the 2011 team , she finished sixth at the IBSA Goalball World Cup . The Australian Paralympic Committee had chosen to work on her development as a goalball player with the idea that she might be able to qualify for , and win a medal at , the 2016 Summer Paralympics . She was a named a member of the Aussie Belles that was going to the 2012 Summer Paralympics , in what would be her debut Games . That the team unk for the Games came as a surprise , as the Australian Paralympic Committee had been working on player development with an idea of the team qualifying for the 2016 Summer Paralympics . An Australian team had not participated since the 2000 Summer Paralympics , when they earned an automatic selection as hosts , and the team finished last in the competition . Going into the Paralympics , her team was ranked eighth in the world . In the 2012 Summer Paralympics tournament , the Belles played games against Japan , Canada , the United States and Sweden . They lost every game , and did not advance to the finals .
297
State Route 7 ( SR 7 ) is a state highway in the U.S. state of California , running from the Calexico East Port of Entry on the U.S.Mexico border east of Calexico north to its terminus at Interstate 8 ( I 8 ) , where Orchard Road continues the route north towards Holtville . The route provides convenient access to the country of Mexico from I 8 . The southern portion of the route opened in 1996 , and the rest of the route connecting to I 8 opened in 2005 . Route description The highway begins at the Calexico East Border Station , which is open from 6 am to 10 pm , seven days a week . Just north of the border , the highway splits into two roads to pass through the customs checkpoints before the two roads merge back together the fork to the west is for cars , and the fork to the east is for commercial vehicles . SR 7 takes the western fork , which passes over the other fork at the northern end and merges into that highway . From here to I 8 , SR 7 is an expressway known as Orchard Road . Before reaching I 8 , SR 7 travels north and has an at grade intersection with SR 98 and a few other roads . At its northern end , SR 7 turns into County Route unk ( still Orchard Road ) as it intersects with I 8 . The entire route runs through the Sonoran Desert and is built to expressway standards . The route was constructed to allow commercial traffic to travel between Mexico and the United States . SR 7 is part of the California Freeway and Expressway System , and is part of the National Highway System , a network of highways that are essential to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . In 2013 , SR 7 had an annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) of 2 , 450 at the Calexico inspection station , and 15 , 900 at unk Road along the spur , the latter of which was the highest AADT for the highway . History SR 7 was added to the state highway system in 1990 , and to the Freeway and Expressway System in 1998 . The segment from the Mexican border to SR 98 was completed by March 1996 to expressway standards this cost 9 . 1 million ( about 16 . 9 million in 2015 dollars ) to complete . However , the border crossing was not opened until December 2 , 1996 , due to delays in constructing the Mexican portion of the border crossing . Because of the 1994 economic crisis in Mexico , there was not enough money to complete the construction of the road leading up to the border facility on the Mexican side , as well as the Mexican border facility itself . The segment from SR 98 to I 8 began construction in March 2004 at a cost of 64 . 5 million ( about 85 . 9 million in 2015 dollars ) however , it was completed in mid 2005 . Major intersections Note unk do not necessarily reflect current mileage . S refers to mileage on the spur route of SR 7 towards the border . The entire route is in Imperial County .
298
A S Bergen Aviation was a Norwegian airline that never operated any flights . Based in Bergen and established in 1984 , it signed an agreement to fly charter flights with Vestlandsreiser in 1986 . It had also made an unsuccessful attempt to receive concession to operate domestic scheduled flights between Oslo Airport , Fornebu and Bergen Airport , Flesland . The airline bought a Sud Aviation Caravelle , but never received permission to operate . The company 's largest owners were Vesta and Vestlandsreiser . History Bergen Aviation was established in 1984 . Fifty percent of Bergen Aviation was owned by the insurance company Vesta , twenty percent was owned by unk , and the rest was owned by various companies based in Bergen . The airline 's first contract was with charter tour operator Vestlandsreiser , which was scheduled to begin on 1 May 1986 . The contract was secured after Vestlandsreiser on 30 January 1986 had announced that they would terminate their agreement with Swedish airline Transwede , citing the latter 's repeated delays and cancellations . The contract consisted of services from Stavanger Airport , Sola Bergen Airport , Flesland Haugesund Airport , Karmy and Sandefjord Airport , Torp to Palma de Mallorca Airport , Spain and Crete , Greece . To operate the charter routes , Bergen Aviation bought a 99 seat Sud Aviation SE 210 Caravelle from Hispania unk unk in January 1986 , financed with a loan from unk . On 10 February , Bergen Aviation announced that they had applied the Norwegian Civil Aviation Administration to operate a scheduled service between Flesland and Oslo Airport , Fornebu . At the time , Scandinavian Airlines System ( SAS ) had a monopoly on the route , which was Norway 's busiest , carrying 2 , 000 to 3 , 000 passengers per day . Einar Falck , Vesta 's chief executive officer , stated that the mechanics strike which had recently hit SAS had shown how vulnerable the SAS monopoly was . He further stated that should Bergen Aviation receive concession , they would acquire Boeing 737 or Douglas DC 9 aircraft for the route , and the owner group would consider listing the company . The application was part of a trend among smaller Norwegian airlines to apply for the new route . At the time there were 42 pending applications from 15 airlines awaiting decision in the Ministry of Transport and Communications . The Progress Party 's Youth supported Bergen Aviation 's application at its national convention . The airline sent an application to register the Caravelle in April , but the application was canceled later in the month , and the aircraft was subsequently registered in Sweden . By June the airline had still not received permission to operate , causing problems for Vestlandsreiser , who had to make last minute leases of aircraft , and had to terminate all flights from Stavanger .
299
The 8th Boat Race between crews from the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge took place on the River Thames on 3 April 1846 . Umpired by Charles Jasper Selwyn , Cambridge won in a time of 21 minutes 5 seconds , with a winning margin of three lengths . The race was held on the ebb tide , starting in Mortlake and ending in Putney . For the first time , outriggers were used by both crews . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Following their ten length defeat in the previous year 's race , Oxford sent their challenge to Cambridge in February 1846 , proposing that the race should take place at Easter . The umpire for the race was Charles Jasper Selwyn . Cambridge went into the race leading the contest overall , with five wins to Oxford 's two since the inaugural race in 1829 . On one of only a handful of occasions , the race was rowed on the ebb tide , from Mortlake to Putney . For the first time in the history of the race , both boats used outriggers . Cambridge rowed in an outrigger built by Searle , 60 ft in length , 2 ft 8 in in breadth , while Oxford 's boat was expressly built for this match by King of Oxford and 58 ft 6 in long . Both crews had professional coaches Oxford used John unk while Cambridge were trained by Robert Coombes , a champion sculler . It marked the start of the debate over the use of professional coaches which was not resolved until the 1852 race . Crews The Cambridge crew weighed an average of 11 st 8 . 375 lb ( 73 . 5 kg ) , 3 . 25 pounds ( 1 . 5 kg ) more per rower than their opponents . Oxford saw three Blues return from the 1845 race in Royds , unk and Milman Harkness and Hill returned for Cambridge . Race Conditions for the race were described by MacMichael as very fine , and the little wind there was with the tide . The race commenced shortly after unk , started by Edward Searle . Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , handing Cambridge the Middlesex side of the river . Despite taking an early lead , Oxford were soon caught and Cambridge drew away , holding a third of a length lead by Chiswick . As the long bend began to favour Oxford , Cambridge slowed in shallow water allowing the Dark Blues to close some of the discrepancy , but by Hammersmith Bridge , Cambridge were back to a half length lead . A final surge from Oxford once again closed the gap , but Cambridge pulled away to take the victory in a record time of 21 minutes 5 seconds and by a margin of three lengths .