id int64 0 3.9k | doc stringlengths 268 6.34k |
|---|---|
400 | SMS Jagd was an aviso of the Imperial German Navy , the second and final member of the Wacht class . She had one sister ship , Wacht . Jagd was laid down in 1887 at the AG Weser shipyard , launched in July 1888 , and commissioned in June 1889 . She served in the German fleet for the next fifteen years , until she was withdrawn from active duty in 1904 . Thereafter , she was used as a harbor ship . In 1910 , she was stricken from the naval register and hulked . She was later used as a torpedo training platform until 1920 , when she was sold for scrapping . Design Jagd was 85 . 5 meters ( 281 ft ) long overall and had a beam of 9 . 66 m ( 31 . 7 ft ) and a maximum draft of 3 . 74 m ( 12 . 3 ft ) forward . She displaced 1 , 499 metric tons ( 1 , 475 long tons 1 , 652 short tons ) at full combat load . Her propulsion system consisted of two angled 3 cylinder triple expansion engines . Steam for the engines was provided by four coal fired locomotive boilers . The ship 's propulsion system provided a top speed of 19 kn ( 35 km h 22 mph ) and a range of approximately 2 , 860 nautical miles ( 5 , 300 km 3 , 290 mi ) at 10 kn ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . Jagd had a crew of 7 officers and 134 enlisted men . As built , the ship was armed with three 10 . 5 cm ( 4 . 1 in ) K L 35 gun placed in single pivot mounts . The guns were supplied with a total of 180 rounds of ammunition . Jagd also carried three 35 cm ( 14 in ) torpedo tubes , one mounted submerged in the bow and the other two in deck mounted launchers on the broadside . In 1891 , four 8 . 8 cm SK L 30 guns in single mounts were added . The ship was the first German aviso to carry armor a 10 mm ( 0 . 39 in ) thick deck , along with 25 mm ( 0 . 98 in ) of armor plating for the conning tower . Service history Jagd was laid down at the AG Weser shipyard in Bremen in 1887 . She was launched on 7 July 1888 , after which fitting out work was completed . The finished ship was commissioned into the German fleet on 25 June 1889 . She served in the fleet starting in 1889 . Jagd served in the Training Squadron in 1891 as a torpedo boat flotilla leader , along with the avisos Blitz and Pfeil . During the annual summer exercises , the Training Squadron served as the hostile fleet , and conducted a mock attack on the harbor at Kiel . In 1893 , Jagd was assigned as the dispatch vessel for the II Division of the Maneuver Squadron . During the 1896 annual maneuvers , Jagd was assigned to the I Division . She was transferred to the I Division in 1897 , where she participated in the annual fleet exercises in August and September . After the conclusion of the maneuvers , the Maneuver Squadron returned to its home port in Wilhelmshaven . She served in the defending squadron during the August September 1900 maneuvers . In 1904 , Jagd was withdrawn from active service and used as a harbor ship . Jagd was stricken from the naval register on 14 May 1910 and subsequently hulked . She was based in Friedrichsort outside Kiel and used as a firing platform for torpedo training until she was broken up for scrap in 1920 at Rstringen .
|
401 | Kepler 9b is one of the first planets discovered outside the solar system ( exoplanets ) by NASA 's Kepler Mission . It revolves around the star Kepler 9 within the constellation Lyra . Kepler 9b is the largest of three planets detected in the Kepler system by transit method its mass is slightly smaller than the planet Saturn , and it is the largest planet in its system . Kepler 9b and Kepler 9c display a phenomenon called orbital resonance , in which gravitational pull from each planet alters and stabilizes the orbit of the other . The planet 's discovery was announced on August 26 , 2010 . Nomenclature and history Kepler 9b 's name denotes that it is the first exoplanet discovered in orbit around the star Kepler 9 . The star , in turn , was named for the Kepler Mission , a NASA project designed to search for Earth like planets . Kepler 9 's planets were among 700 planetary candidates collected during Kepler 's first 43 days online . The system in particular was flagged as one of five systems that appeared to have held more than one transiting exoplanet . Kepler 9b 's discovery was announced on August 26 , 2010 . It was the part of the first confirmed star system in which multiple planets transited the same star . The planet was confirmed by the Kepler satellite by the transit method , in which the planet passes across the face of its star in relation to Earth , dimming that star 's light by a small amount this light difference is then used to determine the planet and several of its characteristics , including size and distance from its home star . Initial estimates for Kepler 9b 's mass were refined by the W. M. Keck Observatory at Mauna Kea , Hawaii . In doing so , scientists found that Kepler 9b is the larger of the two gas planets discovered in the Kepler 9 system , although in mass it is smaller than planet Saturn . Characteristics Kepler 9b is a gas planet that has an approximate mass of 0 . 252 MJ thus , it is about one fourth the mass of planet Jupiter . It has a radius of approximately 0 . 842 RJ , or about 80 the radius of Jupiter . The planet orbits Kepler 9 every 19 . 243 days , and it lies some .14 AU from the star . To compare , planet Mercury 's average distance from the Sun is .387 AU and takes 87 . 969 days to complete an orbit . Kepler 9b is the second closest planet to its star in the Kepler 9 system . The first known case of orbital resonance in exoplanets has been noted between Kepler 9b and Kepler 9c . The two planets , whose orbits correspond in a roughly 1 2 ratio , maintain the orbit of the other by gravitational tug . Kepler 9b 's orbit grows , on average , four minutes longer every orbital period . Eventually , this trend will reverse and increase . Over time , it can be seen that the planets ' orbits oscillate slightly above and below the 1 2 ratio . unk Weinberger of the Carnegie Institution has stated that the Kepler 9 gas giants probably formed further away from the star than they are , and the appearance of the orbital resonance phenomenon may help explain the history of their inward migration .
|
402 | M 27 is a north south state trunkline highway in the extreme north of the Lower Peninsula of the US state of Michigan . The trunkline runs between Interstate 75 ( I 75 ) just north of Indian River and Cheboygan , where it meets US Highway 23 ( US 23 ) near Lake Huron . It remains as a relic of the old US 27 which disappeared north of Grayling after being supplanted by I 75 , which lies close to old US 27 between Grayling and Indian River . Route description I 75 takes a more direct route between Indian River and Mackinaw City . M 27 follows old US 27 through Topinabee and Cheboygan . With US 23 it is a scenic , if indirect , alternative to I 75 on its approach to the Mackinac Bridge . M 27 runs along the western shore of Mullett Lake and forms the main street of Topinabee . The highway intersects M 33 near the confluence of the Cheboygan and Black rivers . North of the M 33 junction , M 27 runs parallel to the Cheboygan River on the west river bank into downtown Cheboygan . M 27 has the local road name of Main Street in Cheboygan and Straits Highway outside of the city . State Street ( US 23 ) and Main Street ( M 27 ) form the two major streets in the Cheboygan street grid . The main downtown businesses are located along Main Street south to the city limits . The highway has not been listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's defense , economy and mobility . History Previous alignment This is the second time a highway was designated M 27 in Michigan . The original M 27 was located in The Thumb , running from the Mount Clemens area east and north through New Baltimore to Port Huron . There it ran through unk and Minden City to Harbor Beach and along Lake Huron to Port Austin . This version of M 27 was designated by July 1 , 1919 , and would last until 1926 . All of the original M 27 was given to other contemporary highways including M 29 ( Mount Clemens to Port Huron ) , M 51 ( Port Huron to M 83 ) , and M 29 ( Harbor Beach to Port Austin ) . Current alignment In the late 1950s , US 27 was the main highway connection between Grayling , Gaylord , and Cheboygan . After the construction of the Mackinac Bridge , US 27 was extended north to St. Ignace . The construction of I 75 in the early 1960s obsoleted the northern portion of US 27 . Between Grayling and Indian River , I 75 replaced US 27 as the main highway in the area . North of Indian River , I 75 was built along a different routing . Where US 27 ran northwest through Topinabee to Cheboygan and then concurrently along US 23 to Mackinaw City , I 75 was built due north of Indian River before turning northwest parallel and several miles inland from Lake Huron , bypassing Cheboygan completely . M 27 was designated in the latter half of 1961 on the current alignment replacing US 27 which was truncated back to Grayling . Today , the stretch from Grayling to about Wolverine is known as Old 27 , and from there to Indian River , it is called Straits Highway . Major intersections The entire highway is in Cheboygan County .
|
403 | Delaware Route 300 ( DE 300 ) is an 11 . 83 mile long ( 19 . 04 km ) state highway in Kent County , Delaware . The route is a continuation of Maryland Route 300 ( MD 300 ) from the Maryland border near Everetts Corner . It runs in a northeast direction from there to Smyrna , where it ends at U.S. Route 13 ( US 13 ) while concurrent with DE 6 . Along the way , DE 300 passes through rural areas as well as the towns of Kenton and Clayton . The road intersects DE 44 in Everetts Corner , DE 11 southwest of Kenton , DE 42 in Kenton , DE 15 between Kenton and Clayton , and DE 6 in Smyrna . The road was first built as a state highway in the 1920s and 1930s between the Maryland border and Clayton , with the DE 300 designation given to the road by 1936 . The route was extended to its current terminus in the 1950s . Route description DE 300 begins at the Maryland border , where it continues west into that state as MD 300 . From the state line , the route heads east on two lane undivided Sudlersville Road through agricultural areas and woods with some homes . A short distance after the state line , the road intersects the western terminus of DE 44 in Everetts Corner . DE 300 continues east northeast , intersecting the northern terminus of DE 11 . The route curves northeast , crossing an abandoned railroad line before entering Kenton . At this point , the road becomes Main Street and passes homes with a few businesses , intersecting DE 42 in the center of town . Past Kenton , DE 300 continues northeast on unk Pond Road , passing through more farm fields with some woodland and residences . The road forms a brief concurrency with DE 15 before heading north . DE 300 enters Clayton , running northeast through industrial areas and crossing Norfolk Southern 's Delmarva Secondary railroad line . The route continues past a mix of homes and businesses , heading into Smyrna and intersecting DE 6 . At this point , DE 6 turns northeast and forms a concurrency with DE 300 on Glenwood Avenue . The road widens into a divided highway before it intersects US 13 in a business area . At this point , DE 300 ends and DE 6 turns southeast to form a concurrency with US 13 . DE 300 has an annual average daily traffic count ranging from a high of 16 , 120 vehicles at the eastern terminus at US 13 to a low of 1 , 756 vehicles at the DE 11 intersection . The portion of DE 300 between the Maryland border and DE 44 is part of the National Highway System . History By 1920 , what is now DE 300 existed as an unimproved county road . The road was completed as a state highway between Kenton and Clayton and was proposed as one west of Kenton four years later . By 1931 , the entire route between Clayton and the Maryland border was completed as a state highway . DE 300 was designated between the Maryland border and an intersection with DE 6 between Clayton and Smyrna by 1936 . By 1954 , DE 300 was extended east to its present terminus at US 13 in Smyrna . By the 1990s , DE 6 was routed along DE 300 in Smyrna , bypassing the downtown area . Major intersections The entire route is in Kent County .
|
404 | Hurricane Cosme was an unusually large tropical cyclone that made landfall in south western Mexico in June 1989 . The third tropical storm and second hurricane of the 1989 Pacific hurricane season , Cosme formed on June 19 from a tropical wave , the storm initially moved westward before being upgraded into Tropical Storm Cosme . It ultimately intensifying into a Category 1 hurricane . Cosme turned northward and made landfall near Acapulco during the night of June 21 . It rapidly weakened over land . The storm caused excessive rainfall on land , leading to deadly and destructive flooding . It is estimated that 30 people died in the hurricane . Meteorological history In early June 1989 , a tropical wave emerged from the west coast of Africa and traversed the Atlantic Ocean , eventually crossing into the eastern North Pacific . Initially , several centers of circulation were associated with the system . Continuing organize , the storm is estimated to have attained tropical depression status at 0000 UTC on June 18 . The depression was broad and lacked substantial thunderstorm activity . However , it did have respectable outflow and banding . It moved towards the west and intensified into a tropical storm at 0000 UTC on June 20 , 48 hours after being classified . Upon being named , Cosme meandered and remained nearly stationary as it continued to intensify . It became a hurricane midday UTC on June 21 this upgrade was delayed in real time . At this time , the hurricane accelerated towards the north . As the cyclone approached the coast of Mexico , it reached maximum sustained winds of 85 mph ( 140 km h ) and a minimum barometric pressure of 979 millibars . During the night of June 21 , Cosme made landfall just east of Acapulco . It moved inland and quickly deteriorated , weakening into a tropical storm shortly after coming ashore . It trekked northward through eastern Mexico and further diminished into a tropical depression before becoming indistinguishable south of Brownsville , Texas on June 23 . Tropical Storm Allison 's development in the Gulf of Mexico was partially related to residual conditions from Cosme 's remnants . Preparations and impact Prior to the hurricane 's landfall , Mexican officials evacuated nearly 260 people from low lying areas near Acapulco . Ports in the region were also closed several days before the storm and remained closed for two days after as a precaution . In addition , flash flood watches and warnings were issued . Cosme brought heavy rains , which killed at least 30 people due to drowning . Many adobe homes were destroyed , but the specific cost of damage is unknown . The highest rainfall recorded in relation to Cosme was 16 . 1 in ( 410 mm ) in San Bartolo Yautepec , Mexico . Many mountainous areas received rainfall in excess of 7 in ( 180 mm ) and most other areas received 1 in ( 25 mm ) . High winds produced by the storm damaged numerous trees and power lines throughout the affected areas . Authorities in Acapulco stated that there were no major damage or injuries from the storm , with only one hotel sustaining minor damage .
|
405 | New York State Route 333 ( NY 333 ) was an east west state highway located in southeastern Steuben County , New York , in the United States . The western terminus of the route was at an intersection with County Route 11 ( CR 11 ) and CR 24 in Risingville , a hamlet within the town of Thurston . Its eastern terminus was at a junction with NY 415 in the town of Campbell . In between , NY 333 passed through the hamlet of Thurston . The route was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York and remained unchanged until April 1 , 1997 , when ownership and maintenance of the route was transferred from the state of New York to Steuben County as part of a highway maintenance swap between the two levels of government . NY 333 was subsequently redesignated as County Route 333 . Route description NY 333 began at an intersection with CR 11 and CR 24 in Risingville , an isolated hamlet within the Steuben County town of Thurston . It headed eastward , following Michigan Creek along the base of a valley surrounding the waterway . Due to the terrain of the area , NY 333 intersected only a handful of roads , one of which was Cranberry Lake Road ( CR 2 ) , a north south highway that met NY 333 midway between the hamlets of Risingville and Thurston . The route continued onward , turning northeastward toward Thurston Pond and the small hamlet of Thurston at the eastern edge of the small lake . Here , NY 333 curved back to the east as it met Savona Thurston Road ( CR 12 ) in the western half of the community . East of Thurston hamlet , NY 333 continued to run along the base of the Michigan Creek valley into the town of Campbell , where the valley met a larger valley surrounding the Cohocton River . The route proceeded eastward across the width of the latter valley , crossing over the river on its way into the riverside hamlet of Campbell , the largest community along NY 333 . It proceeded eastward through the hamlet along Main Street to an interchange with the Southern Tier Expressway ( then NY 15 and NY 17 ) just east of the community . NY 333 ended just east of the Southern Tier at a junction with NY 415 . The right of way also terminated at the junction . History NY 333 was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York as a spur connecting U.S. Route 15 ( US 15 , now NY 415 ) in Campbell to the hamlet of Risingville in the town of Thurston . It remained unchanged until April 1 , 1997 , when ownership and maintenance of the route was transferred from the state of New York to Steuben County as part of a highway maintenance swap between the two levels of government . In the switch , NY 333 and nearby NY 432 , both maintained by the state , were given to Steuben County in exchange for maintenance of NY 415 from Meads Creek Road in Coopers Plains ( northwest of Painted Post ) to Babcock Hollow Road in Bath as well as for maintenance of Hamilton Street ( the original routing of NY 17 ) between US 15 and Gang Mills . NY 333 was redesignated as CR 333 as a result . Major intersections The entire route was in Steuben County .
|
406 | Ernest Melville Charles Guest DFC ( May 1920 4 October 1943 ) was a Southern Rhodesian Royal Air Force pilot of the Second World War . He was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross in 1942 having flown more than 1 , 000 operational hours . Posted to South Africa as a flight navigation instructor , he was unhappy and got himself transferred back to England on operational duties . He soon went missing in October 1943 after taking on six Ju 88s while on an anti submarine sortie . Early life Ernest ' Melville ' Guest was born in Salisbury , Southern Rhodesia , in May 1920 , one of the twin sons of Ernest Lucas Guest , a prominent Rhodesian politician . Before the outbreak of the Second World War , he was nominated by the Governor of Southern Rhodesia to be a Royal Air Force cadet at RAF College , Cranwell . He was granted a permanent commission as Pilot Officer in the General Duties Branch on 9 October 1939 . Career Shortly after he passed out of Cranwell , he returned home on leave to attend the wedding of his elder sister , Gwen , and a telegram addressed to him was included by mistake in the congratulatory telegrams read out at the reception . It read Return to England immediately and report to Air Ministry . He was posted to No. 206 Squadron RAF and flew a number of sorties over enemy territory . When Queen Wilhelmina of the Netherlands , along with Crown Princess Juliana and other members of the Dutch Royal Family fled to England in May 1940 aboard the British destroyer HMS Hereward , Guest was in the air escort that accompanied her to safety . He was promoted to Flying Officer on 9 October 1940 and then Flight Lieutenant on 9 October 1941 . In the meantime , he was posted to the Gambia in June 1941 with No. 200 Squadron RAF , which was formed from a section of No. 206 Squadron . Later , he transferred to 61 Air School at George , Cape Province , South Africa , as a navigation instructor . He was unhappy at George and soon sought to return to operational duty . Guest returned to England and joined No. 53 Squadron RAF in 1943 , flying B 24 Liberator bombers from RAF Thorney Island on anti submarine patrols over the Bay of Biscay . Soon after arriving in England , on 4 October 1943 , his and another aircraft were sent out on patrol . They were attacked by six Ju 88s . The other aircraft sought the protection of the clouds but Guest decided to fight it out . He did not return . He was pronounced missing in January 1944 . Honours As well as two Mentions in Despatches , he was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross in 1942 This officer has now completed over 1 , 000 hours operational flying . His qualities of endurance are phenomenal , his ability as a pilot is exceptional , and his devotion to duty is of the highest order . All his work has been done quietly and efficiently . He has set an excellent example to the younger pilots of the Squadron . Family Guest married Katherine Mary Hustler of unk , Yorkshire in Knaresborough in 1941 . A few weeks after his death on 4 October 1943 , she gave birth to their son , Melville , on 18 November .
|
407 | The National Conference Center ( NCC ) is a corporate training facility in Leesburg , Virginia . It hosts over 14 , 000 individuals per month and comprises 265 , 000 square feet ( 24 , 600 m2 ) of meeting space , one of the largest in the region . The center contains 250 conference rooms , an athletic facility , and 917 guest rooms . The building was built in 1974 as the Xerox Conference Center at a cost of 55 million . It was designed to assist in copier and technology training for company employees . It was designed by Vincent G. Kling Partners , and is currently managed by NCC EE , LLC . In 1994 Xerox permitted outside organizations to use the grounds . The center was sold to Oxford Capital Partners in 2000 . Two years later , the Center completed a 29 million renovation , in order to ameliorate its training operations . The current design implements living learning modules , a series of color coded buildings underground tunnels a ballroom and walking trails . History The Center was built by Xerox in 1974 under the name of Xerox International Center for Training and Management Development . It was later changed to Xerox Document University when an additional building was added to train employees in copier technology and equipment . In 1994 Xerox opened the facilities to other corporations , and sold it to Oxford Capital Partners in 2000 as part of an exit from the hospitality industry . In part this exit was due to a continuous under capacity in event bookings , despite such events as the National Veterans Golden Age Games being hosted at the site . From its opening in 1974 until May 2014 , it was run by unk Harrison Lodging , a management services unk May 2014 , NCC EE , LLC became the new management services group . Renovation Following a 29 million renovation , it was reopened in 2002 to service a wide range of corporate training needs . The Center is composed of several buildings which are color coded ( blue , purple , red , orange , and yellow ) into living learning modules . A network of underground tunnels connect the main buildings and attached West Belmont Ballroom , constructed in 2007 . Facilities The Center was originally situated on 2 , 265 acres ( 9 . 17 km2 ) of land in Leesburg , Virginia . Through subsequent sales and subdivisions , the current complex sits on 66 . 8 acres ( 0 . 270 km2 ) of the original land . Among its 265 , 000 square feet ( 24 , 600 m2 ) of meeting space are the 16 , 500 square feet ( 1 , 530 m2 ) ballroom , an 5 , 000 square feet ( 460 m2 ) athletic facility and 250 conference rooms . The remainder of the nearly 1 , 200 , 000 square feet ( 110 , 000 m2 ) of the facility include 917 guest rooms ( up from 863 rooms in the original facility ) and common areas . These facilities were converted from Xerox 's dormitory style accommodations , which included shared bathrooms . The Center retained the confusing navigational layout of the Xerox era , which was allegedly intended to encourage team building among participants . The distinctive brutalist architecture was also retained , despite extensive renovations .
|
408 | The 2006 Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup , sometimes called the Al unk Senior Challenge Cup due to being sponsored by Ethiopian millionaire Mohammed Hussein Al unk , was the 30th edition of the international football tournament , which involved teams from Southern and Central Africa . The matches were all played in Addis Ababa from 25 November to 10 December . It was competed between the same teams as the previous tournament , except for Eritrea , who did not enter due to their long running clash with Ethiopia regarding borders , and Kenya , the five time champions , were serving a ban which was issued on 18 October 2006 , which was then an indefinite from international football by the decree of the Fdration Internationale de Football Association ( ' International Federation of Association Football ' ) , or FIFA this after Kenya regularly violated or ignored Fifa 's statutes , regulations and decisions . Malawi and Zambia joined the tournament after being invited , and competed as guest teams as they were from the federation Council of Southern Africa Football Associations ( COSAFA ) , whereas the rest of the teams were from the Council for East and Central Africa Football Associations ( CECAFA ) . The reasoning behind their invitation was that it would boost the competitiveness of this year 's tournament . The defending champions , Ethiopia , were knocked out in the quarter finals after coming second in their group , and Sudan claimed their second title despite being beaten by Zambia , as Zambia were guests . Background The CECAFA Cup is considered Africa 's oldest football tournament , and involves teams from Central and Southern Africa . The matches in the 1973 tournament were played from 22 September 1973 until 29 September 1973 . The tournament was originally the Gossage Cup , contested by the four nations of Kenya , Uganda , Tanganyika ( modern day Tanzania ) , and Zanzibar , running from 1929 until 1965 . In 1967 , this became the East and Central African Senior Challenge Cup , often shortened to simply the Challenge Cup , which was competed for five years , until 1971 , before the CECAFA Cup was introduced in 1973 . Ethiopia were the defending champions , having won the 2005 tournament in Rwanda , after finishing second in their group , and going on to beat Zanzibar and Rwanda in the final . The 2006 champions Sudan failed , however , to emerge from the 2005 group stages . Participants 11 teams competed , four teams from the original tournament competed ( excluding Tanganyika , which changed names and is currently called Tanzania ) . Group stages The group stage began on 25 November and ended on 3 December with Group C 's final matches between Rwanda against Sudan , and Uganda against Somalia . Groups A and C contained four teams , but as there were only 11 partaking teams , group B contained only the three teams of Burundi , Zambia , and Zanzibar . At the end of the group stage , the team who finished bottom of their group was eliminated , whereas the teams who finished in positions other than last in the group progressed to the knock out rounds .
|
409 | MOA 2009 BLG 387Lb is an exoplanet in the orbit of the red dwarf MOA 2009 BLG 387L . Its discovery was announced on February 21 , 2011 , making it the eleventh planet discovered using gravitational microlensing . The planet is thought to be over twice the mass of Jupiter and to have an orbit 80 percent larger than that of Earth 's , lasting approximately 1 , 970 days . However , its exact characteristics are difficult to constrain because the characteristics of the host star are not well known . Characteristics Mass and orbit MOA 2009 BLG 387Lb is a gas giant , with an estimated mass 2 . 6 times that of Jupiter 's and an estimated mean distance of 1 . 8 AU from its host star . It has an orbital period of approximately 1970 days . Although the mass and mean distance of MOA 2009 BLG 387Lb is estimated , the confidence intervals are very large , indicating that there is a large uncertainty present . These uncertainties are largely due to how the exact parameters of the host star are not known . Host star The planet is the only one known to be in the orbit of the star MOA 2009 BLG 387L , which is an M type dwarf star that has a mass that is approximately 0 . 19 times that of the Sun . The star is located at an estimated 5700 parsecs ( 18 , 591 light years ) from the Earth . The star is named for the Microlensing Observations in Astrophysics group , which saw the star as a gravitational microlensing event in 2009 and combed the data in hope of discovering a planet . Discovery MOA 2009 BLG 387 was a gravitational microlensing event detected by the Microlensing Observations in Astrophysics collaboration on July 24 , 2009 , which searches and documents chance and brief alignments of stars with other stars or objects such alignments cause a gravitational lens effect , which bends light and causes distorted , but magnified , images that can be interpreted . The detection of two caustics were logged over the next few days by the South African Astronomical Observatory , the Perth Observatory , and the Canopus Hill Observatory in Tasmania , with a separation of about seven days between caustic events . On June 7 , 2010 , long after the microlensing event had subsided , the science teams studying the star used the NACO adaptive optics facility at the Very Large Telescope in Chile to determine the actual apparent magnitude of the star that unk its background star , hoping to compare it to the magnitude of the star measured during the microlensing event . A discrepancy was found , a discrepancy that may have been a result of either error or of a planetary body . Interpretation of follow up observations led to the planet 's confirmation . The ratio between the planet 's mass and its host star 's mass is well constrained , but a large interval of uncertainty exists because the host star 's mass is known within a large confidence interval that spans the mass of all red dwarf stars . The discovery of the planet MOA 2009 BLG 387Lb was published on February 21 , 2011 in the journal Astronomy and Astrophysics by the European Southern Observatory .
|
410 | Djibouti women 's national football team represents the country in international competitions . Football is organised by Fdration unk de Football , with women 's football formally organised in the country in 2002 , and a national team was later created . The country has no women 's youth national teams . Djibouti has only played in one FIFA recognised match , which they lost to Kenya by a score of 7 0 . The team is unranked . The development of women 's football in the country faces both national and regional issues that impede the team 's potential success . Background and history The country became independent in 1977 . Fdration unk de Football was founded in 1977 and joined FIFA in 1994 . Football is one of the most popular sports in the country . Women 's football development in Africa has to deal with several challenges that impact the ability to develop a high level of play , including limited access to education , poverty amongst women in the wider society , and fundamental inequality present in the society that occasionally allows for female specific human rights abuses . When high level women 's players are developed , many leave the country seeking greater opportunity in Northern Europe or the United States . Another issue facing women 's football in Africa is that most of the money for the game does not come from national football federations but instead from FIFA . In 1985 , almost no country in the world had a women 's national football team . Djibouti was no exception women 's football was not officially organised in the country until 2002 and then , only for players sixteen years and older . As of 2009 , there were only eight women 's clubs for these players in the country . There is a regional and national women 's competition , which was established in 2007 . The league provided the first opportunity for women outside the capital and major cities to play football . The country has a women 's national team but has no youth teams , meaning no U17 or U20 teams . 12 of the money from the FIFA Financial Assistance Programme ( FAP ) is targeted at the technical development of the game , which includes women 's football , sport medicine and futsal . This compares to 11 specifically set aside for men 's competitions and 10 set aside for youth football . Between 1991 and 2010 , there was no FIFA FUTURO III regional course for women 's coaching . A FUTURO III regional course men 's coaching workshop was hosted in 2008 . In 2007 , there was a women 's football seminar held in the country . In 2007 , there was a FIFA MA course held for women youth football . Performance Between 1977 and April 2012 , Djibouti women 's national football team played in only one FIFA sanctioned match . It was played in Nairobi on 26 March 2006 , with Kenya women 's national football team winning 7 0 , holding a lead of 4 0 over Djibouti at the half . The women 's national team has not competed at the Women 's World Cup . They played two non sanctioned games , one in 2004 and one in 2005 . In March 2012 , the team was not ranked in the world by FIFA and did not formally exist .
|
411 | H 33 is a county designated highway in the Upper Peninsula of the U.S. state of Michigan between Gould City and McMillan that was previously M 135 , a former state trunkline highway . The roadway follows Manistique Lakes Road from Gould City at a junction with US Highway 2 ( US 2 ) near Lake Michigan north to M 28 near McMillan . The northern section of the highway is also called County Road 135 ( CR 135 ) in Luce County . From 1929 until 1960 , the road was part of the state highway system as M 135 . The northern end of the highway always contained a section that ran concurrently with M 98 , another state highway in the area . For a period in the 1950s , M 135 had a different northern terminus separate from M 98 's endpoint . A few years before both highways were removed from the highway system , M 135 was moved to use M 98 's terminus with M 28 . Since the 1970s , M 135 has been a part of the county designated highway system and assigned the number H 33 , a moniker it has borne since . Route description H 33 begins at an intersection with US 2 just west of Gould City . From there the route travels due north through woodlands on Manistique Lakes Road , passing by Mitten and South Manistique lakes . The road crosses Norton and Strom creeks near South Manistique Lake before entering the community of Curtis . In that town , H 33 intersects the eastern end of H 42 . North of Curtis , H 33 passes Manistique Lake as the road crosses the Mackinac Luce county line . North of the line , H 33 has also been designated CR 135 by the Luce County Road Commission . Continuing north , the roadway enters the community of Helmer where it meets a junction with the eastern terminus of the eastern H 44 ( CR 98 , Ten Curves Road ) near North Manistique Lake . The roadway also crosses Locke Creek , which flows into that lake . After H 33 leaves Helmer , it continues northward to a junction with North Road Lake Road ( CR 438 ) and unk Road ( CR 417 ) . Manistique Lakes Road turns to the east , replacing North Round Lake Road , and H 33 follows suit . The road continues to a junction with M 28 just south of McMillan near East Lake . There H 33 terminates near farms and several small business . History In 1929 , M 135 was designated , creating the concurrency along the last several miles of M 98 . In late 1949 or early 1950 , M 28 was realigned to take an angled route southeasterly out of McMillan . The east west section of the previous M 28 routing was added to M 98 while the north south segment was added to M 135 . By the middle of 1958 , M 135 was shifted to follow M 98 , removing the roadway section added to its routing previously this change made M 98 and M 135 concurrent north of Helmer all the way to M 28 once again . M 135 was removed from the state trunkline system in late 1960 or early 1961 , and the designation was decommissioned at that time . The M 135 designation has not been reused since . The routing was then assigned as County Road H 33 after October 5 , 1970 , The road has retained that designation ever since . Major intersections
|
412 | Delaware Route 82 ( DE 82 ) is a state highway in the northwest suburbs of Wilmington in New Castle County , Delaware . The route runs 5 . 51 miles ( 8 . 87 km ) from DE 52 near Greenville to the Pennsylvania border near Yorklyn , where it continues as Pennsylvania Route 82 ( PA 82 ) . The route runs through areas of woods and fields in northern New Castle County , with much of the route paralleling the Red Clay Creek . The entire route is a part of the Red Clay Scenic Byway , created in 2005 . DE 82 was first numbered by 1952 on its current alignment . In 2010 , DelDOT had proposed eliminating the route number , but the plan fell through due to public opposition . Route description DE 82 heads to the west of DE 52 near Greenville as two lane undivided Campbell Road . East of DE 52 , the road continues to DE 100 as Kirk Road . The road passes through wooded areas with some fields and homes before crossing over the Hoopes Reservoir . A short distance after the reservoir , DE 82 makes a left turn onto New London Road to head to the south . The route passes through woodland , curving to the west as it follows a winding alignment . The road reaches an intersection with Mt . Cuba Road in the community of Mount unk where it heads northwest on Creek Road and parallels the Red Clay Creek and the Wilmington and Western Railroad . It continues on a winding alignment and passes over the creek twice before crossing the railroad two times . Along this stretch , the road passes through the community of Ashland and by the Ashland Nature Center . The route reaches the community of Yorklyn , where it turns southwest briefly . After making a turn to the northwest to continue on Creek Road , DE 82 continues north alongside the Red Clay Creek with the Wilmington and Western Railroad heading to the southwest . A short distance past Yorklyn , the route reaches the Pennsylvania border , where it becomes PA 82 and continues toward Kennett Square , Pennsylvania . The entire length of DE 82 is a part of the Red Clay Scenic Byway , a designation given to several roads in the Red Clay Creek valley . The Red Clay Scenic Byway is a part of the Delaware Byways system . DE 82 has an annual average daily traffic count ranging from a high of 4 , 682 vehicles at the southern terminus at DE 52 to a low of 197 vehicles at Mt . Cuba Road . None of DE 82 is part of the National Highway System . History When Delaware started numbering state highways in the 1930s , what is now DE 82 was originally an unnumbered road . By 1952 , DE 82 was created on its current alignment to connect PA 82 to DE 52 near Greenville . DE 82 was incorporated into the Red Clay Scenic Byway , the second scenic byway in Delaware , in 2005 . In 2010 , DelDOT considered removing the DE 82 designation in order to preserve the route as a scenic byway . After a public workshop on the proposed designation removal was held , DelDOT decided in April 2010 to keep the DE 82 designation due to strong opposition from area residents on the plan . Major intersections Mileposts run from north to south . The entire route is in New Castle County .
|
413 | Delaware Route 279 ( DE 279 ) is a 1 . 05 mile ( 1 . 69 km ) long state highway located in northern New Castle County , Delaware . It runs from the Maryland state line southwest of Newark , where it continues as Maryland Route 279 ( MD 279 ) , northeast to DE 4 and DE 896 in Newark . DE 279 follows a four lane divided highway called Elkton Road and serves as part of the route connecting Elkton , Maryland with Newark . The roadway is maintained by the Delaware Department of Transportation ( DelDOT ) . DE 279 was originally the westernmost portion of DE 2 , designated in the 1930s . This portion of road was widened into a divided highway in 1972 . In 2013 , DE 2 was truncated from the Maryland border to east of Newark to unk the route designations through Newark , resulting in DE 279 being designated to its current alignment . Route description DE 279 begins at the Maryland border southwest of Newark . The road continues southwest into that state as MD 279 , which heads towards Elkton . From the state line , the route heads northeast on Elkton Road , a four lane divided highway . DE 279 heads through commercial areas of Newark , where it comes to an intersection with Otts Chapel Road ( Road 397 ) . The road continues past more commercial development and comes to an intersection with the western terminus of DE 4 and DE 896 ( Christiana Parkway ) . Here , DE 279 ends and Elkton Road continues northeast as part of DE 896 towards downtown Newark . The entire length of the route is located in New Castle County . The route passes through flat to gently rolling terrain at an elevation of about 100 feet ( 30 m ) . DE 279 has an annual average daily traffic count of 33 , 231 vehicles west of Otts Chapel Road and 31 , 069 vehicles east of Otts Chapel Road . The entire length of DE 279 is part of the National Highway System . History What is now DE 279 was originally an unimproved county road by 1920 . By 1924 , the road was paved . In 1925 , suggestions were made for the state to take over maintenance of the highway connecting the Maryland border to Newark . In 1927 , the state took over maintenance of the highway between the Maryland border and Newark . When Delaware designated its state highways by 1936 , the current alignment of DE 279 was designated as the westernmost part of DE 2 , which ran from the Maryland border through Newark east to Wilmington . The portion of DE 2 along Elkton Road between the Maryland border and Newark was widened into a divided highway in 1972 . In 2013 , DelDOT proposed the renumbering of routes in and around Newark , which involved truncating DE 2 from the Maryland border to the eastern edge of Newark and the removal of DE 2 Bus. through downtown Newark . As a result of these changes , the portion of Elkton Road between the Maryland border and the Christiana Parkway was to be designated as DE 279 . The goal of the project was to simplify the route designations in Newark , reduce sign clutter , and reduce sign maintenance costs . The changes were completed in summer 2013 . Major intersections The entire route is in Newark , New Castle County .
|
414 | M 183 is a north south state trunkline highway in the Upper Peninsula of the US state of Michigan . It serves Fayette State Park as an access route from US Highway 2 ( US 2 ) . The highway runs through rural farmlands of the Garden Peninsula and next to Big Bay de Noc , a bay of Lake Michigan . The community at Fayette dates back to the 1860s . It has been a state park since the late 1950s , and the connecting road has been a state highway since the 1980s . Route description M 183 lies on the Garden Peninsula in Delta County . Running along the east shore of Big Bay de Noc , the highway starts at the gate to Fayette State Park . South of entrance to the park , the roadway continues under local jurisdiction as Delta County Road 483 ( CR 483 ) . From there north , it is a rural two lane road that runs northeasterly through woodland . The trunkline turns north along LI Road through farmland , and then east along 16th Road near Puffy Bay . South of Garden , the highway turns north through the village on State Street . M 183 continues north of town running through the farms of the Garden Peninsula along Big Bay de Noc through the Lake Superior State Forest to the northern terminus at US 2 in Garden Corners . The Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) maintains the highway like all other state trunkline highways under its jurisdiction . As a part of these responsibilities , the department tracks the volume of traffic along its highways . These surveys are expressed using a metric called average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a calculation of the traffic counts for a segment of roadway on any average day of the year . In 2009 , MDOT determined that 692 vehicles a day used the segment near the state park . Through the middle section in Garden , the peak volume was 892 vehicles daily which dropped to 878 at the US junction . The commercial AADT was 54 trucks for the entire highway . M 183 has not been listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History Fayette State Park encompasses an historical iron smelting town site from the 1800s . Now a ghost town , the Jackson Iron Company operations lasted here from 1867 1891 . The town was used as a location to produce charcoal iron , a purified form of the iron ore mined in the UP . After the furnaces shut down , the town operated as a resort community until the park was created . The Michigan Conservation Department created the park in 1959 after it traded land to obtain the 90 acres ( 36 ha ) from the Escanaba Paper Company and the 71 acres ( 29 ha ) from Cleveland Cliffs Iron Company . The Delta County Commission had been requesting state assistance for improving the road since 1975 . In February 1985 , MDOT took control of the road from the county road commission and designated it M 183 . The number was chosen to reflect the CR 483 designation it once bore . After the transfer , the state resurfaced the road as part of a program of improvements to benefit park visitors . Major intersections The entire highway is in Delta County .
|
415 | The 2000 CECAFA Cup was the 24th edition of the football tournament , which involves teams from Southern and Central Africa . The matches were played in Uganda , a decision which Tanzania protested , but to no avail . Tanzania were also banned from international football by FIFA , the world football governing body . The matches were played from 18 November to 2 December 2000 . Prior to the tournament , Djibouti withdrew due to monetary difficulties , but re entered . Sudan and Zanzibar also withdrew , but stayed out . The reasoning behind their withdrawal was unknown . Nine teams entered the tournament , as opposed to the twelve teams competing at the previous tournament in 1999 . However , there were only eight different nations competing in the tournament as Uganda entered two teams Uganda ( A ) and Uganda ( B ) . Uganda ( A ) was in Group A , and Uganda ( B ) was in Group B , enabling the two the correct set up to be able to meet each other in the final , as occurred here . Both unk topped their respective groups , and progressed to the knockout stages along with Ethiopia and Rwanda . Uganda ( A ) beat Rwanda , and Uganda ( B ) beat Ethiopia to mean that the Cranes ( Uganda A ) and the Lions ( Uganda ( B ) ) would meet in the final . In the final , Uganda ( A ) captained by George unk of Express , won 2 0 . Ethiopia finished third after beating Rwanda on penalties 4 2 after the match finished 0 0 . Background The CECAFA Cup is considered Africa 's oldest football tournament , and involves teams from Central and Southern Africa . The tournament was originally named the Gossage Cup , contested by the four nations of Kenya , Uganda , Tanganyika ( modern day Tanzania ) , and Zanzibar it ran from 1929 until 1965 . In 1967 , this became the East and Central African Senior Challenge Cup , often shortened to simply the Challenge Cup , which was competed for five years , until 1971 , before the CECAFA Cup was introduced in 1973 . The 1999 champions were Rwanda ( B ) , in 2000 they emerged from their group second , after Uganda ( B ) , 5 points behind but 2 points ahead of the next team , Eritrea . They were then knocked out in the semi finals against Uganda ( A ) . The 2000 champions , Uganda , were knocked out in the 1999 semi finals by none other than Rwanda . Participants 9 teams from 8 countries competed , three teams from the original tournament competed ( excluding Tanganyika , which changed names and is currently called Tanzania ) , all 8 nations at this tournament had competed at the 1999 CECAFA Cup . Group stage The group stage began on 18 November and ended on 27 November with Group A 's final match between Ethiopia and Burundi . At the end of the group stage , the teams who finished bottom of their group were eliminated , along with the two teams above them ( in Group A ) , and the team above them ( in Group B ) , whereas the teams positioned in the top two slots in the groups progressed to the knock out rounds . Due to there being an odd number of teams , Group A contained more matches and an additional team , with a total of 5 to Group B 's 4 teams .
|
416 | Pero Me Acuerdo de Ti ( English But I Remember You ) is a song written and produced by Rudy Prez . It was first recorded by Puerto Rican singer Lourdes Robles on her album Definitivamente ( 1991 ) . In the ballad , the singer remembers her lover even when she tries to forget . Nine years later , American recording artist Christina Aguilera performed a cover version on her second studio album Mi Reflejo which Prez also produced . It was released as the second single from the album in December 2000 . The music video for Aguilera 's version was directed by Kevin Bray . Aguilera performed the song live at the 2001 Grammy Awards . Her version peaked at number eight on the Billboard Hot Latin Songs chart in the United States and number three in Spain . It received a Latin Grammy nomination for Record of the Year . It has been covered by Mexican singer Edith Mrquez and Jencarlos Canela . Background In 1991 , Puerto Rican recording artist Lourdes Robles released her third studio album Definitivamente which was arranged and produced by Cuban American musician Rudy Prez . Prez wrote three songs for the album including Pero Me Acuerdo de Ti . The song tells the story of a woman who cannot forget her lover . It was later included on Robles 's greatest hits album unk y Sus Exitos ( 2007 ) . In 2000 , American recording artist Christina Aguilera covered Pero Me Acuerdo de Ti on her second studio album Mi Reflejo which was also produced by Prez . Christina Aguilera version Release and reception Pero Me Acuerdo de Ti was serviced to Latin radio stations on the second week of December 2000 in the United States . It reached number eight on Hot Latin Songs and five on Hot Latin Pop Songs in the US . In Spain , it reached number three on the country 's singles chart . Kurt B. unk from Wall of Sound was positive toward the song , saying that Aguilera is persuasive and engaging on the song . Orlando Sentinel editor Perry Gettelman was not impressed , writing that She seems equally fond of acrobatic trills and low , sex kittenish moans . At the 2nd Latin Grammy Awards , Pero Me Acuerdo de Ti received a Latin Grammy nomination for Record of the Year which went to Alejandro Sanz for El Alma al Aire . Promotion The video for Pero Me Acuerdo de Ti was directed by Kevin G. Bray , which features Aguilera performing the song in a recording studio . Aguilera also gave a performance at the 2001 Grammy Awards in February , performing Pero Me Acuerdo de Ti and Falsas Esperanzas Leila Cobo of Billboard magazine called Aguilera 's Grammy performance remarkably mainstream . Charts Weekly charts Year end charts Other cover versions Mexican singer and actress Edith Mrquez performed a cover of the song on her studio album unk de Cabaret ( 2008 ) . In the same year , America band Dark Latin Groove performed a salsa cover of the song on their album unk ( 2008 ) which was produced by Sergio George . It was also performed live by American actor and singer Jencarlos Canela ( whom Prez has also worked with ) in the House of Blues , Orlando .
|
417 | Delaware Route 23 ( DE 23 ) is a 14 . 76 mile long ( 23 . 75 km ) state highway in Sussex County , Delaware . Its southern terminus is at Massey 's Landing in Long Neck , near the confluence of Rehoboth Bay and Indian River Bay and its northern terminus is at the Five Points intersection , where it ends at U.S. Route 9 ( US 9 ) , DE 1 , and DE 404 . From the southern terminus , route runs west through residential areas of Long Neck before heading north through rural areas with some development . DE 23 is concurrent with DE 5 between the DE 24 intersection in Long Neck and Fairmount . It is also concurrent with DE 24 Alternate ( DE 24 Alt . ) between Hollymount and the DE 1D intersection in Five Points . The road originally existed as an unnumbered road except along the DE 5 concurrency , becoming fully paved by 1970 . The DE 23 designation was assigned by 1994 . Route description DE 23 begins at a boat ramp parking lot at Massey 's Landing in Long Neck , near the confluence of the Rehoboth Bay and the Indian River Bay . From here , the route heads west on two lane undivided Long Neck Road , passing through a mix of residential areas and marshland between Rehoboth Bay to the north and Indian River Bay to the south . The road winds west through homes , commercial development , and a few farms . Farther west , DE 23 comes to an intersection with DE 5 DE 24 . At this intersection , the name changes to Indian Mission Road , and DE 23 begins a concurrency with DE 5 . The two routes head northwest through a mix of farmland and woodland with some housing subdivisions . In Fairmount , DE 5 splits to the northwest and DE 23 continues north on Beaver Dam Road . In Hollymount , DE 23 intersects DE 24 Alt. and forms a concurrency with that route , with the road curving northeast . In Five Points , DE 23 intersects DE 1D and turns to the north , with DE 1D DE 24 Alt. continuing straight and curving to the southeast . A short distance later , DE 23 intersects US 9 DE 404 and turns east northeast to join those two routes on the four lane divided Lewes Georgetown Highway . DE 23 reaches its northern terminus at an intersection with DE 1 , at which point DE 404 also ends and US 9 turns east to join DE 1 . Past this intersection , the road becomes US 9 Business ( US 9 Bus . ) . DE 23 has a total length of 14 . 76 mi ( 23 . 75 km ) . The route has an annual average daily traffic count ranging from a high of 13 , 167 vehicles at the northern terminus at DE 1 to a low of 1 , 671 vehicles at the south end of the DE 24 Alt. concurrency . The small portion of DE 23 that is concurrent with US 9 DE 404 is part of the National Highway System . History By 1920 , what is now DE 23 existed as an unimproved county road . The portion of the present route that is concurrent with DE 5 was upgraded to a state highway by 1931 and became a part of DE 5 by 1938 . By 1970 , the road was paved . DE 23 was assigned onto its current alignment by 1994 . DE 24 Alternate was designated to run along DE 23 between Hollymount Road and Plantation Road by 2006 . Major intersections The entire route is in Sussex County .
|
418 | K 43 is a 20 . 718 mile long ( 33 . 342 km ) state highway in the U.S. state of Kansas . The highway runs from K 4 in Hope north to Interstate 70 ( I 70 ) and U.S. Route 40 ( US 40 ) north of Detroit . The entire highway is located within Dickinson County . K 43 is maintained by the Kansas Department of Transportation ( KDOT ) , and is a relatively minor highway . K 43 is not part of the National Highway System . The highway was established around 1932 , with the northern terminus being the now decommissioned US 40S . In 1962 , the route was extended north a bit to a new diamond interchange with I 70 . Route description K 43 begins at an intersection with K 4 at the northern city limit of Hope . The highway heads north for about seven miles ( 11 km ) before turning west and entering the small community of Navarre . The route crosses the BNSF Railway and turns to the north , continuing through flat farmland . The highway crosses the railway again before entering the city of Enterprise . In Enterprise , K 43 turns east along 5th Street , then north onto Factory Street . The highway curves northwest and crosses the BNSF Railway a third time before crossing the Smoky Hill River on a 160 foot long ( 49 m ) truss bridge constructed in 1924 . Upon crossing this bridge , K 43 leaves Enterprise . The route bends to the north and crosses the BNSF Railway a fourth and final time . Continuing north through level plains , K 43 meets a railroad operated by Union Pacific and comes to an intersection with its former northern terminus at an old alignment of US 40 . At this intersection , the route turns to the northeast and travels through the community of Detroit before turning back to the north . North of here , K 43 meets its northern terminus at a diamond interchange with I 70 and US 40 . K 43 is maintained by the Kansas Department of Transportation ( KDOT ) . The traffic numbers on the route in 2012 , measured in annual average daily traffic , were relatively low compared to other state highways . Between 185 and 1900 vehicles traveled the highway each day , including between 30 and 95 trucks . The most traffic was present in the segment of the highway between Enterprise and Detroit . No segment of K 43 is included in the National Highway System , a system of highways considered to be important to the nation 's defense , economy , and mobility . History K 43 first appears on the 1932 state highway map . At that time it followed largely the same alignment it does today , running from K 4 in Hope to an intersection with what was then US 40S . Most of the road was dirt , but it was paved with gravel from Enterprise north to its northern terminus . By 1936 , the whole route had been upgraded to gravel pavement . In 1945 , the portion north of Enterprise was paved . The entire highway had been paved by 1956 . In 1962 , the highway was extended slightly to the north , moving its northern terminus from US 40 to an interchange with the newly constructed I 70 . The route has not changed significantly since 1962 . Major intersections The entire route is in Dickinson County .
|
419 | M 88 is a state trunkline highway in the U.S. state of Michigan . It runs between US Highway 31 ( US 31 ) and US 131 M 66 in the Lower Peninsula . Running from Mancelona to Eastport , M 88 also goes through the communities of Bellaire and Central Lake . The highway is completely within Antrim County and is known by the street name of Scenic Highway outside of the various communities along its routing . M 88 is an original trunkline dating back to the 1919 signing of the state system . An extension in the 1920s and paving in the late 1930s created the highway as it exists today . The highway was not listed on the National Highway System , nor is it included in the Lake Michigan Circle Tour . Route description M 88 starts in the community of Eastport at an intersection four blocks east of the Grand Traverse Bay of Lake Michigan next to Barnes County Park . From its start , it runs east along the northern end of Torch Lake . M 88 zig zags south and east along Scenic Highway to the community of Central Lake . In Central Lake it runs south along Main Street , following the western shore of Intermediate Lake . South of Intermediate Lake , M 88 crosses the Intermediate River on a historic designation eligible Depression era bridge along Bridge Street in Bellaire . This section of M 88 is just west of the Antrim County Airport before the highway turns east on Cayuga Street in downtown and south on Division Street . The Bellaire section of the trunkline is the location of the highest traffic levels along the highway . The Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) measures the annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) in traffic surveys . The 2007 survey showed that 5 , 200 vehicles used the section of roadway on the average day in Bellaire . South of Bellaire , M 88 passes the Chief Golf Course and the Legend , Summit and Bellaire golf clubs . M 88 crosses the Shanty Creek , which is the namesake of a resort in the area . South of the Bellaire Golf Club , M 88 turns eastward again , passing south of Schuss Mountain , another resort . This section of trunkline is used by 3 , 300 vehicles in the 2007 AADT survey . Past Schuss Mountain , M 88 turns east at Alden highway and enters the community of Mancelona , passing the Fairview Cemetery . The highway runs along on State Street into downtown . M 88 ends at an intersection with US 131 M 66 running along Williams Street , and State Street continues eastward as C 38 . History M 88 was first designated by July 1 , 1919 along its current routing between Mancelona and Bellaire . It was extended in 1927 through Central Lake to end in Eastport . It was used as a temporary routing of US 31 between Eastport and Bellaire while the Elk Rapids to Eastport section of US 31 was reconstructed . The first sections of roadway were paved near Bellaire in late 1936 . Paving was completed on the entire highway by late 1940 No changes have been made to the highway since . None of the highway was added to the National Highway System , a system of strategically important highways . Major intersections The entire highway is in Antrim County .
|
420 | The 39th Boat Race took place on 1 April 1882 . The Boat Race is an annual side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . In the race , umpired by former Cambridge rower Robert Lewis Lloyd , Oxford won by a margin of seven lengths in a time of 20 minutes 12 seconds , taking the overall record to 21 17 in their favour . Background The Boat Race is an annual rowing eight competition between the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge . First held in 1829 , the competition is a 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) race along The Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities and followed throughout the United Kingdom and worldwide . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions having won the previous year 's race by three lengths , and held the overall lead , with 20 victories to Cambridge 's 17 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . Oxford were coached by Tom Cottingham Edwards Moss ( who rowed for the Dark Blues four times between the 1875 and 1878 race ) and Walter Bradford Woodgate ( who represented Oxford in the 1862 and 1863 races ) . There is no record of Cambridge 's coaches . The Oxford boat was manufactured by unk and Winship and was used in preference to one built by Harry Clasper which had been tested extensively in practice . The umpire for the race was Robert Lewis Lloyd ( who had rowed for Cambridge four times between 1856 and 1859 ) and the starter was Edward Searle . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 11 st 11 . 125 lb ( 74 . 7 kg ) , 0 . 125 pounds ( 0 . 1 kg ) more than their opponents . Cambridge saw five former Blues return , including Llewellyn Rhys Jones whose poor health had prevented him from rowing since the 1878 race . The Light Blue crew also included the only non British competitor in the race in Australian Steve Fairbairn ( whose brother Charles had competed in the 1879 race ) . Oxford 's crew also contained five individuals with Boat Race experience , including R. S. Kindersley and David Edward Brown , both of whom were rowing in their third race . Race Oxford were firm pre race favourites , having rowed the course twenty seconds quicker than Cambridge in practice . Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey side of the river to Oxford . The race commenced at 1 02 p.m. in conditions described by author and former Oxford rower George Drinkwater as fine and warm with a breeze from the north west . Cambridge made the better start , taking a lead of a canvas length , but were in front for less than a minute . Oxford took the lead and were clear of the Light Blues by the Mile Post and held a three length lead at Hammersmith Bridge . Cambridge encountered choppy water and , according to Drinkwater , fell to pieces . Oxford drew away to win by seven lengths in a time of 20 minutes 12 seconds . It was Oxford 's third consecutive win and the fastest winning time since the 1873 race . The result took the overall record to 21 17 in their favour .
|
421 | The River Road National Scenic Byway ( also called the River Road National Forest Scenic Byway ) is a National Scenic Byway and National Forest Scenic Byway in the US state of Michigan . This 23 1 2 mile long ( 37 . 8 km ) byway follows M 65 and River Road it extends eastward into the Huron National Forest and ends in the historic community of Oscoda near Lake Huron . The road parallels the historic Au Sable River ( French Rivire aux Sable , River of Sand ) which has historically been a major transportation route for floating Michigan s giant white pine from the forest to the saw mill towns on Lake Huron . Along its course , the roadway offers access to several recreational areas as well as the local scenery . The section of the River Road that follows M 65 was added to the State Trunkline Highway System in the 1930s . The River Road was given National Forest Scenic Byway status in 1988 , and National Scenic Byway status in 2005 . Route description The scenic byway starts at the intersection of M 65 and unk Road and runs eastward along M 65 near Loud Dam Pond . The road runs through the Huron National Forest and along the Five Channels Dam Pond to a junction with River Road . There , the byway leaves M 65 to follow River Road eastward along the south bank of the Au Sable River . The road passes the unk 's Memorial , the Kiwanis Monument and the Lumberman 's Monument near Cooke Dam Pond . River Road runs away from the river , cutting across forest land near a bend in the Au Sable . Near the Old Orchard Park , the byway follows the southern shore of Foote Dam Pond . From here east , the roadway continues along the south bank of the river , across from Oscoda Wurtsmith Airport , as it runs into Oscoda . The eastern terminus of the byway is at a junction with US 23 in town , a few blocks from Lake Huron . The segment of the byway that follows M 65 is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) , while River Road is under the jurisdiction of the Iosco County Road Commission ( ICRC ) . Recreational opportunities Byway travelers will find abundant , year round recreation opportunities , with many trails for hiking and cross country skiing . Camping , fishing , and wildlife viewing are popular activities along the byway . Visitors can enjoy the forest and vistas from the scenic overlooks along the route . Other sites along the byway include the Lumberman 's Monument and its visitors ' center which are dedicated to telling the story of Michigan 's lumber industry in the 19th century . The unk Springs Interpretive Site presents visitors with exhibitions on natural springs and boardwalks along the river . History The section of the byway that follows M 65 was first added to the state highway system in the mid 1930s . On December 20 , 1988 , the National Forest Service designated the River Road National Forest Scenic Byway in Iosco County . A second designation was added on September 22 , 2005 , when the Federal Highway Administration listed the roadway as the River Road National Scenic Byway . Major intersections The entire byway is in Iosco County .
|
422 | Kepler 7 is a star located in the constellation Lyra in the field of view of the Kepler Mission , a NASA operation in search of Earth like planets . It is home to the fourth of the first five planets that Kepler discovered this planet , a Jupiter size gas giant named Kepler 7b , is as light as styrofoam . The star itself is more massive than the Sun , and is nearly twice the Sun 's radius . It is also slightly metal rich , a major factor in the formation of planetary systems . Kepler 7 's planet was presented on January 4 , 2010 at a meeting of the American Astronomical Society . Nomenclature and discovery Kepler 7 received its name because it was the home to the seventh planetary system discovered by the NASA led Kepler Mission , a project aimed at detecting terrestrial planets that transit , or pass in front of , their host stars as seen from Earth . The planet orbiting Kepler 7 was the fourth planet to be discovered by the Kepler spacecraft the first three planets combed from Kepler 's data had been previously discovered , and were used to verify the accuracy of Kepler 's measurements . Kepler 7b was announced to the public on January 4 , 2010 at the 215th meeting of the American Astronomical Society in Washington , D.C. along with Kepler 4b , Kepler 5b , Kepler 6b , and Kepler 8b . Kepler 7b was noted for its unusually and extremely low density . The planet 's initial discovery by Kepler was verified by additional observations made at observatories in Hawaii , Texas , Arizona , California , and the Canary Islands . Characteristics Kepler 7 is a sunlike star that is 1 . 347 Msun and 1 . 843 Rsun . This means that the star is about 35 more massive and 84 wider than the Sun . The star is estimated to be 3 . 5 ( 1 ) billion years old . It is also estimated to have a metallicity of Fe H 0 . 11 ( 0 . 03 ) , meaning that Kepler 7 is approximately 30 more metal rich than the Sun metallicity plays a significant role in the formation of planetary systems , as metal rich stars tend to be more likely to have planets in orbit . The star 's effective temperature is unk ( 44 ) K. In comparison , the 4 . 6 billion year old Sun releases less heat , with an effective temperature of 5778 K. The star has an apparent magnitude of 13 . 3 , meaning that it is extremely dim as seen from Earth . It cannot be seen with the naked eye . It is estimated to lie between 1000 and 1400 light years from the Solar System . Planetary system Kepler 7b is the only planet that has been discovered in Kepler 7 's orbit . It is .433 MJ and 1 . 478 RJ , meaning it is 43 the mass of planet Jupiter , but is nearly three halves its size . With a density of unk grams cc , the planet is approximately 17 the density of water . This is comparable to styrofoam . At a distance of unk AU from its host star , Kepler 7b completes an orbit around Kepler 7 every 4 . unk days . Planet Mercury , however , orbits the Sun at .3871 AU , and takes approximately 87 . 97 days to complete one orbit . Kepler 7b 's eccentricity is assumed to be 0 , which would give Kepler 7b a circular orbit by definition .
|
423 | State Route 101 ( SR 101 ) is a 21 . 811 mile ( 35 . 101 km ) long state highway located in the U.S. state of Utah . The route serves as a spur route into the Uinta Wasatch Cache National Forest through the cities of Wellsville and Hyrum , with an intermediate intersection with U.S. Route 89 ( US 89 ) and US 91 . SR 101 starts at an intersection of Main Street and SR 23 ( Center Street ) . Heading generally eastward , the highway terminates at the Hardware Ranch Wildlife Management Area . SR 101 was first designated in 1931 as a loop off SR 1 from Logan , south to Hyrum , and west to Wellsville . Route description Located entirely in Cache County , SR 101 starts at an intersection of Main Street and SR 23 ( Center Street ) . The highway heads easterly for the first 0 . 4 mi ( 0 . 64 km ) before it turns northeasterly , crossing the Little Bear River and intersects US 89 US 91 at a traffic light controlled at grade interchange . After the interchange , SR 101 turns to the southeast after entering Wellsville city limits . At 400 West , SR 101 turns south for 3 blocks before turning back to the east , and intersecting SR 165 . After leaving Hyrum , SR 101 dips to the southeast again , entering the Uinta Wasatch Cache National Forest and a canyon formed by the Blacksmith Fork River . The final 13 . 9 mi ( 22 . 4 km ) are inside the forest , serving as an access route to several campgrounds , as well as a diversion dam , and electric plant . The route comes to an end at the Hardware Ranch Wildlife Management Area , a working ranch owned and run by the state of Utah . For the year 2007 , a daily average of 5 , 075 cars traveled along SR 101 at the intersection with US 89 US 91 . This represents only a slight growth from previous years ( in 2006 , the average was 5 , 005 in 2005 , 4 , 620 ) . Nineteen percent of this traffic was composed of trucks . The lowest amount of traffic is accounted for on the final stretch of the highway through the Uinta Wasatch Cache National Forest , with an average of 670 cars per day traveling to the Hardware Ranch visitors center . This represents a small increase from previous years , with an average of 635 cars per day in 2006 and 585 cars per day in 2005 traveling to the visitors center . History SR 101 was formed in 1931 as a loop off SR 1 ( now US 91 ) from Logan south to Hyrum and west to Wellsville . The road from Hyrum east to the Hardware Ranch was added to the state highway system in 1949 as State Route 242 , and that route was extended south to SR 39 in 1965 . The legislature redefined the Hyrum area routes in 1969 , taking SR 101 east from Wellsville to the Hardware Ranch over former SR 242 , and returning the extension to SR 39 to local control . The leg of former SR 101 from Hyrum north to Logan became part of a new SR 165 at that time . On March 17 , 1972 , the roadway connecting the Hardware Ranch Visitors Center to SR 101 was added to the state route system as an addition to SR 101 . The connector road was previously designated Collector Road 311 . Major intersections The entire route is in Cache County .
|
424 | New York State Route 148 ( NY 148 ) is a state highway in Niagara County , New York , in the United States . It runs in a north south direction for 7 . 53 miles ( 12 . 12 km ) between an intersection with NY 104 in the town of Hartland and a junction with NY 18 north of the village of Barker in the town of Somerset . The entire length of NY 148 is named Quaker Road and maintained by Niagara County as part of County Route 15 ( CR 15 ) . The concurrent county route number is unsigned , as are all county routes in Niagara County . NY 148 was assigned in 1960 , supplementing the preexisting CR 15 . Route description NY 148 begins at an intersection with NY 104 ( Ridge Road ) and Quaker Road in the town of Hartland , just east of the Hartland Central Cemetery . The highway proceeds north through Hartland as a two lane rural road , maintained by Niagara County as part of the unsigned CR 15 . NY 148 proceeds north , running along a short residential strip before the intersection with Chapman Road . After Chapman Road , NY 148 continues to pass homes until its junction with Seaman Road , where it enters more rural surroundings . The route crosses a canal as it proceeds northward through Hartland , bending northeast into the town of Somerset at Town Line Road . In Somerset , NY 148 remains a two lane roadway , passing through sparsely developed areas on its way to the village of Barker . In the southern part of the community , the route meets Coleman and West Somerset roads ( CR 2 and CR 3 , respectively ) . Through Barker , NY 148 is a two lane residential street , passing west of Barker Free Library and east of Barker High School . After Haight Road , NY 148 leaves the village , continuing north through a lightly populated area . At Arlington Road , the number of homes along NY 148 rises once again as the route enters the hamlet of Somerset , located at the junction of NY 148 and NY 18 ( Lake Road ) . This junction serves as the northern terminus of NY 148 , while CR 15 continues north through Somerset towards Lake Ontario . History Quaker Road was established as a north south highway between Hartland and Somerset sometime prior to 1897 . By 1915 , the segment of Quaker Road between Ridge Road and Lake Road in the hamlet of Somerset was taken over by Niagara County and designated as CR 15 . On March 10 , 1915 , the county awarded a contract worth 65 , 258 ( equivalent to 1 . 53 million in 2016 ) to rebuild the highway . Construction on the road began sometime around May 1 , and it was reopened to traffic around November 1 . The project finished slightly over budget with a final cost of 65 , 554 ( equivalent to 1 . 53 million in 2016 ) . A celebration commemorating the completion of the rebuilt road was organized by the Barker Chamber of Commerce and held on December 6 , 1915 . The portion of Quaker Road between Ridge and Lake roads ( then U.S. Route 104 and NY 18 , respectively ) was designated as NY 148 by the state of New York in 1960 however , ownership and maintenance of the route remained in the hands of Niagara County . Major intersections The entire route is in Niagara County .
|
425 | Rachel Henderson ( born 8 September 1992 ) is an Australian goalball player and is classified as a B2 competitor . While only starting playing the game in 2010 , she made the national team in 2011 and competed in the 2011 IBSA Goalball World Cup and 2011 African Oceania regional Paralympic qualifying competition . She was selected to represent Australia at the 2012 Summer Paralympics in goalball . Personal life Henderson was born in unk , South Australia , on 8 September 1992 . She has the visual disability of retinitis pigmentosa , a heredity disease she was diagnosed with when she was four years old . As a child , Henderson was involved in javelin , and only stopped competing in 2010 following taking up goalball . She was also involved in swimming , representing South Australia in a few national competitions , before leaving the sport at the same time she quit athletics . She graduated from unk High School in 2010 . As of 2012 , she is studying with the goal of becoming a preschool teacher . Goalball Henderson is a goalball player , and is classified as a B2 competitor . She has a goalball scholarship with the South Australian Institute of Sport . In 2011 2012 , the Australian Sports Commission gave her a A 7 , 000 as part of their DAS grant program . She does not play for a state team . Rather , she is coached by Australian Paralympic Committee ( APC ) Development Coordinator and athletics coach Cathy Lambert . Having not even heard of goalball a few months before , Henderson took up the sport in 2010 following an invitation to attend a team training camp . She made the national team in January 2011 at the national trials , and her national team debut in 2011 at the IBSA Goalball World Cup , where her team finished sixth , and she scored four total goals . Her team made it the quarter finals before losing to Russia 3 6 . It then met the Spain women 's national goalball team to try to earn a spot in the fifth sixth place match , where Australia walked away 8 7 victors . In the fifth sixth place match , it lost to the Israel women 's national goalball team 6 8 . She played in the 2011 African Oceania regional Paralympic qualifying competition and in its gold medal game against the New Zealand women 's national goalball team , which Australia won . Henderson was a named a member of the Aussie Belles that was going to the 2012 Summer Paralympics . She was the youngest member of the team , and the only South Australian . That the team qualified for the Games came as a surprise , as the Australian Paralympic Committee had been working on player development with the idea of qualifying for the 2016 Summer Paralympics . An Australian team had not participated since the 2000 Summer Paralympics , when they earned an automatic selection as hosts , and the team finished last in the competition . The country has not medalled in the event since 1976 . Going into the Paralympics , the team was ranked eighth in the world . In the 2012 Summer Paralympics tournament , the Belles played games against Japan , Canada , the United States and Sweden . They lost every game , and did not advance to the finals .
|
426 | West Pennard Court Barn ( which is also known as the Court Barn , West Bradley ) is a late 14th or early 15th century tithe barn which was built for Glastonbury Abbey . The Grade I listed building is between West Pennard and West Bradley in the English county of Somerset . The barn was restored by the Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings in the 1930s following the collapse of the roof and then given to the National Trust . At 50 feet ( 15 m ) long and 20 feet 6 inches ( 6 . 25 m ) wide it is the smallest of the barns associated with the abbey . It has a cruck braced timber framed roof and is supported by two stage buttresses . History The barn which was originally known as Parson 's Barn , was built on the orders of the unk of Glastonbury Abbey in the late 14th or early 15th century . There is no written record of the exact date and there is some debate about the likely age of the building based on the architectural features . Along with several others barns it was used to collect the tithes or dues to the abbey , often one tenth of a farm 's produce . It fell within the hundred of Glaston Twelve Hides which was named after the hides who gave food rent to Glastonbury Abbey . The West unk Court Barn is the smallest of those which survive . A survey in 1932 found that the roof was cracked and it eventually collapsed in 1935 . In 1936 the roof structure was straightened , preserving the medieval trusses where possible , and covered with clay tiles . The restoration was undertaken by the Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings , with the work being funded by Roger Clark of the local shoemakers C. J. Clark who bought the derelict barn for 5 . It has been owned by the National Trust since 1938 . Designation as a Grade I listed building first took place in 1961 . A survey in 2002 found minor repairs were needed to the doors and wall plate . Architecture The rectangular five bay barn is 50 feet ( 15 m ) long and 20 feet 6 inches ( 6 . 25 m ) wide , although it was previously larger . The middle bay is slightly longer than the others because of the central porches . The barn is built of local Blue Lias stone with some better quality oolitic ashlar used for the quoins on the corners and the porches which provided cover for unk being loaded and unloaded at the doors . It is supported by two stage buttresses reaching to three quarters of the height of the walls . Each of the side walls has ventilation slits , or breathers , with those in the end walls being in the shape of a cross unk . The barn originally had an attached dovecote on the western end , and still has niches for birds inside the barn and on the east gable wall . The dovecote was adapted into a calf shed . The roof was originally thatched but now is tiled , and is supported by cruck bracing to the timber frame of six principal trusses . The design of the roof is similar to that in the other tithe barns of Glastonbury Abbey at Pilton , Manor Farm , Doulting and Glastonbury itself , which is now part of the Somerset Rural Life Museum . The carriage porch where wagons would have been unloaded is covered by the sloping roof .
|
427 | Kepler 9c is one of the first seven extrasolar planets , exoplanets , discovered by NASA 's Kepler Mission , and one of at least two planets orbiting the star Kepler 9 . Kepler 9c and Kepler 9b were the first exoplanets confirmed to be transiting their star . The planet 's discovery was announced by the Kepler Mission team on August 26 , 2010 after its initial discovery by Kepler . At the time , it was one of 700 planetary candidates noted by Kepler . Observations of the planet have suggested that it is a hydrogen helium gas giant that is slightly smaller than Saturn , and that it orbits nearby its star at .225 AU . Kepler 9c and b are notable in that the planets share a pattern of orbital resonance , in which the orbit of each planet stabilizes the orbit of the other . During the time it was observed by the spacecraft , the planet 's orbit , which lasts on average approximately 38 days , shortened by 39 minutes every orbital period because of this effect . Its orbit , over time , oscillates slightly above and below a 2 1 ratio with planet b . Nomenclature and history As with most exoplanets , the name Kepler 9c denotes that it is the second planet discovered in the orbit of the star Kepler 9 . Kepler 9 itself was named after the Kepler Mission , a NASA project oriented towards discovering planets that are transiting their home stars . The planet was one of 700 planetary candidates considered by Kepler in its first 43 days of operation . It was highlighted as a part of one of five star systems that seemed to hold multiple transiting planets . Kepler 9c and Kepler 9b were confirmed as the first planets discovered to transit the same star . Initial estimates concerning Kepler 9c 's mass were refined by follow up observations made by the Keck 1 Telescope at the W.M. Keck Observatory at Mauna Kea , Hawaii . Keck was able to confirm that Kepler 9c and Kepler 9b were planets that were slightly smaller than planet Saturn . Characteristics Kepler 9c is a gas giant that is smaller and slightly less massive than planet Saturn . It is approximately 0 . 171 MJ , or 17 the mass of planet Jupiter . It also has a radius of 0 . 823 RJ , which makes it slightly smaller ( 1 . 5 ) than Saturn . The planet is , on average , situated 0 . 225 AU from the star . It is probable that the planet is composed of hydrogen and helium . The planet orbits on the same plane as Kepler 9b , a second and larger gas giant located in the Kepler 9 system . While observing the planet , the Kepler team noticed that Kepler 9b and c orbited in a 1 2 ratio , where Kepler 9b orbits its star every 19 days and Kepler 9c orbits every 38 days . The gravitational pull that each planet has on the other , known as orbital resonance , keeps the planets in a stable orbit . This phenomenon is the first of its kind seen outside the Solar System . Every time Kepler 9c completed an orbit during the observation period , its orbital period decreased by about 39 minutes . At some point , however , this trend will reverse and its orbit will increase . The lengths of its orbit will oscillate slightly above and below the 2 1 ratio .
|
428 | Confienza was the last of four Goito class torpedo cruisers built for the Italian Regia Marina ( Royal Navy ) in the 1880s . She was armed with a variety of light guns and five 14 inch ( 356 mm ) torpedo tubes , and was capable of a top speed of 17 knots ( 31 km h 20 mph ) . The ship was built in the late 1880s , with her keel laying in September 1887 at the Arsenale di La Spezia she was completed in April 1890 and thereafter entered service with the Italian fleet . Confienza had a short and uneventful career she spent her time in Italian waters and did not see any action . Stricken from the naval register in August 1901 , she was thereafter broken up for scrap . Design Confienza was 73 . 4 meters ( 241 ft ) long overall and had a beam of 8 . 05 m ( 26 . 4 ft ) and an average draft of 3 . 04 m ( 10 . 0 ft ) . She displaced 756 metric tons ( 744 long tons 833 short tons ) normally . Her propulsion system consisted of two double expansion steam engines each driving a single screw propeller , with steam supplied by four coal fired locomotive boilers . Confienza was slightly slower than her three sister ships , with a top speed of 17 knots ( 31 km h 20 mph ) from 1 , 962 indicated horsepower ( 1 , 463 kW ) the other members of her class were a knot faster . Confienza had a cruising radius of 1 , 100 nautical miles ( 2 , 000 km 1 , 300 mi ) at a speed of 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . She had a crew of between 105 and 121 . The primary armament for Confienza was five 14 in ( 356 mm ) torpedo tubes . She carried a heavier gun armament than her sisters , and was the only vessel of the class to carry a medium caliber weapon , a single 4 . 7 inch ( 120 mm ) 32 caliber ( cal . ) gun mounted on the bow . She was also equipped with six 57 mm ( 2 . 2 in ) 40 cal. guns and two 37 mm ( 1 . 5 in ) 20 cal. guns , all mounted singly . The ship was protected with an armored deck that was 1 . 5 in ( 38 mm ) thick . Service history The keel for Confienza was laid down at the Arsenale di La Spezia in September 1887 , the last member of her class to begin construction . She was launched on 28 July 1889 , and fitting out work was completed on 11 April 1890 . She then began her sea trials , which concluded in June . In 1894 , the ship was assigned to the Third Division of the Italian fleet , along with the ironclad San Martino and the newly commissioned protected cruiser Liguria . The following year , Confienza was stationed in the 2nd Maritime Department , split between Taranto and Naples , along with most of the torpedo cruisers in the Italian fleet . These included her sister ships Monzambano , Montebello , and Goito , the eight Partenope class cruisers , and Tripoli . The ship was stationed in Naples in 1900 , along with the old ironclads Regina Maria Pia , Castelfidardo , and Affondatore , the armored cruiser Marco Polo , the other three Goito class cruisers , Tripoli , and the two new Agordat unk . Confienza 's career was the shortest of the members of her class , having spent just over a decade in service before she was stricken from the naval register on 26 August 1901 and broken up for scrap .
|
429 | New York State Route 216 ( NY 216 ) is a short state highway located entirely in Dutchess County , New York , in the United States . At 6 . 22 miles ( 10 . 01 km ) in length , it connects NY 52 and NY 55 between the hamlets of Stormville ( within the town of East Fishkill ) at the east end and Poughquag ( within the town of Beekman ) at the west . The route serves the hamlet of Green Haven and passes by the Green Haven Correctional Facility . Route 216 was originally part of NY 39 in the 1920s . The portion of NY 39 from Stormville to West Patterson was redesignated as part of NY 52 in the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York . At the same time , an alternate route of NY 52 between Stormville and Towners was assigned the NY 216 designation . The alignments of NY 52 and NY 216 between the two locations were largely swapped c . 1937 . In 1970 , Route 216 was truncated to its current eastern terminus in Poughquag . Route description NY 216 's western terminus is at an intersection with NY 52 just south of the Trump National Golf Club in Stormville , a hamlet within the town of East Fishkill . It heads northeast into the center of Stormville and intersects with Old Route 52 , a former alignment of NY 52 . The route makes a sharp turn to the north before intersecting with Phillips Road and turning eastward . Proceeding east , NY 216 intersects Green Haven Road ( County Route 8 or CR 8 ) in the hamlet of Green Haven . South of this intersection is the Green Haven Correctional Facility . After intersecting with several local roads , it turns north and intersects Main Street ( CR 7 ) in the Beekman hamlet of Poughquag . South of the Beekman Cemetery , NY 216 terminates at NY 55 . History In the mid 1920s , NY 39 was assigned to an alignment extending from Poughkeepsie to Patterson via East Fishkill , Stormville and Poughquag . In the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York , the portion of NY 39 between East Fishkill and the western fringe of Patterson was redesignated as part of the new NY 52 while the segment between Patterson and NY 22 was renumbered to NY 311 . At the same time , NY 216 was assigned to a highway extending from NY 52 in Stormville southeast to NY 52 near Towners . NY 216 followed modern NY 52 north of Ludingtonville and Ludingtonville Road south of the hamlet . NY 52 and NY 216 largely swapped alignments c . 1937 as part of a larger realignment of NY 52 through Dutchess and Putnam counties . Route 52 was relocated onto NY 216 between Stormville and Ludingtonville , from where it followed a new roadway south to Lake Carmel . The former alignment of NY 52 between Stormville and Towners became NY 216 , which was also extended eastward along NY 164 to a new eastern terminus at NY 22 east of Towners . The alignment of NY 216 remained unaltered until January 1 , 1970 , when Route 216 was truncated to its current eastern terminus in Poughquag . As part of the truncation , NY 216 's former alignment from West Pawling to Patterson was renumbered to NY 292 while the east west roadway through Towners became NY 164 . Major intersections The entire route is in Dutchess County .
|
430 | The 27th Boat Race between crews from the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge took place on the River Thames on the 6 April 1870 . Cambridge won by one and a half lengths in a time of 22 minutes 4 seconds , their first victory since the 1860 race . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Cambridge by three lengths in the previous year 's race and led overall with sixteen wins to Cambridge 's ten . Cambridge were coached by George Morrison who had also coached them in 1869 . He had rowed in the 1859 , 1860 and 1861 races and had also acted as a non rowing president for the 1862 race , yet the previous year 's decision to engage a member of the opposing university was greeted with consternation and considered by many Cantabrigians as a disgrace to the Club . Morrison had also coached Oxford six times previously . Oxford 's coach was Frank Willan , who had rowed in four victories for the Dark Blues between the 1866 and the 1869 race . He also rowed for Oxford against Harvard University in 1869 . The race was umpired by Joseph William Chitty who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race , while the starter was Edward Searle . Crews The two sets of rowers averaged the same weight , at 11 st 13 . 25 lb ( 75 . 7 kg ) each . Oxford 's crew contained four Blues , two of whom ( S. D. Darbishire and W. D. Benson ) were rowing in their third consecutive race . Similarly , Cambridge saw four of the 1869 crew return including the Cambridge University Boat Club president John Goldie and John Dale . Race According to Drinkwater , despite Oxford being manifestly the weaker crew , they were pre race favourites based on their prestige . A report in The Graphic noted that only two steamers were present , following the race , one carrying the umpire , the other to transport the Edward , Prince of Wales ( who later became King Edward VII ) and the Francis , Prince of Teck amongst others . Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , handing the Middlesex side of the river to Oxford . Cambridge took an early lead even though their stroke rate was lower than that of the Dark Blues , and led by three quarters of a length by the time the crews shot Hammersmith Bridge . Oxford stayed in touch for the next 0 . 5 miles ( 0 . 8 km ) but following a spurt , they almost levelled the race by Chiswick Eyot . Cambridge 's stroke John Goldie led a surge to pull back ahead of Oxford , and despite their best efforts , Oxford could not recover . Cambridge won by one and a half lengths in a time of 22 minutes 4 seconds . The victory was Cambridge 's first since the 1860 race , and brought the overall record to 16 11 in Oxford 's favour .
|
431 | The Vinyl Conflict is a box set by the thrash metal band Slayer , released October 12 , 2010 . It includes all ten of Slayer 's studio albums since 1986 and their 1991 live album Decade of Aggression . The idea of releasing a second box set was made public in August 2010 . It was first released with a price of 199 . 99 . The albums are all in vinyl and are remastered . It received generally positive reception from critics . Conception In August 2010 , it was announced that band would be releasing a second box set after Soundtrack to the Apocalypse ( 2003 ) , and would include every one of Slayer 's studio albums from 1986 's Reign In Blood to 2009 's World Painted Blood . It originally had a price tag of 199 . 99 , but is now sold at retail price of 149 . 98 . It was released through American Recordings and Sony . Blabbermouth.net noted that they are treating the albums the way they would treat a great jazz , classical , Bob Dylan or Miles Davis record , something that isn 't normally done for metal records . To increase quality , unk were cut several times , and the original albums were remastered . It was released as a high quality 180 gram audiophile vinyl , pressed at RTI , an American pressing plant . The vinyl discs are packaged in a standard , clear inner sleeve to preserve the vinyl , and are also in high quality litho wrapped jackets , and boxed in a slipcase . Reproductions of the original albums inner sleeve artwork were converted to 12 inch square inserts to fit the standard vinyl disc covers . Adam Farber of Sony Music Entertainment explained The vinyl box is a real treat for fans , especially with today 's renewed and increased interest in vinyl . It is the first time that ten of Slayer 's studio albums have been mass produced on vinyl . Dino Paredes of American Records relates It 's been years and years since the Slayer vinyl has been in print only the two most recent albums are currently available on vinyl , the rest have been out of print for years and very hard to find . These albums sound spectacular they sound like you 've never heard them before . Everything about ' The Vinyl Conflict ' the look of it , the feel of it is very strong , very powerful , very Slayer , from the music to the dripping , bloody pentagram on the front of the box . It 's perfect . Reception John unk of the Associated Press criticized its price , stating For 200 , casual fans may want to steer clear . unk also said that what it offers the hard core listener goes beyond the distinct romance of vinyl 's warm , earthy sound . Bob Gendron of unk wrote that the box set was a godsend and also said that they were amazingly produced LPs that bring to life several of the greatest metal records ever made Guitar World praised the box set for its mastering , saying the benefits of the treatment are immediately clear when you drop the needle onto one of these babies . Basically all the songs Slayer fans lose their mind over are here , sounding heavier , livelier and more brutal than ever . He also said that the remastering made a listener want to thoroughly listen to the music . Album listing
|
432 | Typhoon Olive was the strongest Pacific typhoon in 1952 . The thirteenth tropical storm and the ninth typhoon of the season , it developed about 1 , 600 mi ( 2 , 600 km ) southwest of Honolulu , Hawaii on September 13 . The next day , the system attained tropical storm intensity . Beginning to rapidly intensify , Olive attained typhoon intensity on September 15 . Olive reached Category 5 intensity on the modern day Saffir Simpson hurricane wind scale on September 16 . Olive produced significant damage on Wake Island , where wind gusts reached 142 mph ( 229 km h ) . Significant flooding was reported , and the majority of the structures were destroyed . However , few injuries were reported , and the island 's facilities were restored in 1953 . Typhoon Olive remains one of the most intense tropical cyclones to affect the island . Meteorological history On September 8 , an area of disturbed weather , located near 12 . 0 N 169 . 0 W , was plotted as a tropical wave on surface weather maps . Operationally , however , the system was not classified as a tropical storm until September 15 however , postseason analysis determined that the system acquired tropical storm intensity on 0000 UTC on September 15 . Tropical Storm Olive , moving west northwest near 10 mph ( 16 km h ) , turned toward Wake Island on September 15 . Around 1800 UTC Olive was upgraded into typhoon , with winds of 75 mph ( 121 km h ) . Continuing to intensify , Olive passed near Wake Island , where maximum sustained winds of 127 mph ( 204 km h ) were recorded . Around this time , reconnaissance aircraft reported a minimum central pressure of 945 mbar ( hPa 27 . 91 inHg ) . On September 16 , Olive intensified from a Category 2 to a Category 4 typhoon , attained the equivalence of super typhoon intensity , and strengthened to a peak intensity of 185 mph ( 298 km h ) the following day far from land . On September 18 , Olive weakened from a Category 5 to a Category 2 typhoon and recurved northeast . On September 19 , the cyclone lost typhoon intensity . Tropical Storm Olive transitioned into an extratropical cyclone and was last monitored on September 21 . Preparations and impact On Wake Island , 750 people sheltered in World War II bunkers . Olive , the second typhoon to affect the island since 1935 , produced sustained wind speeds of 120 mph ( 190 km h ) and peak gusts of 142 mph ( 229 km h ) on the island . Significant flooding was also recorded . Damage was severe it is estimated that 85 of the island 's structures were demolished due to the storm . All of the homes and the island 's hotel were destroyed . Additionally , the island 's chapel and quonset huts were destroyed . The island 's LORAN station , operated by the United States Coast Guard , was also destroyed . On September 18 , water and power services were restored . The facilities on the island were fully restored in 1953 . The total cost to repair damages caused by Olive amounted to 1 . 6 million ( 1952 USD 13 million 2009 USD ) . No fatalities occurred on the island , and four injuries were reported . None of the 230 Pan American World Airways employees received injuries .
|
433 | Cape Verde competed at the 2012 Summer Olympics which were held in London , United Kingdom from 27 July to 12 August 2012 . The country 's participation at London marked its fifth appearance in the Summer Olympics since its debut in 1996 . The delegation included Ruben Sana , a long distance runner Lidiane Lopes , a sprinter and Adysngela Moniz , a judoka . Moniz and Sana were also selected as the flag bearers for the opening and closing ceremonies respectively . Of the three Cape Verdean athletes , only Moniz progressed further than the first round . Background Cape Verde participated in five Summer Olympic games between its debut in the 1996 Summer Olympics in Atlanta , US and the 2012 Summer Olympics in London . The highest number of Cape Verdean athletes participating in a summer games is three in the 1996 games in Atlanta , US , the 2004 games in Athens , Greece and in the 2012 games in London . No Cape Verdean athlete has ever won a medal at the Olympics . Three athletes from Cape Verde were selected to compete in the London games Ruben Sana in the track and field 5000 m , Lidiane Lopes in the track and field 100 m and Adysngela Moniz in the judo 78kg . Athletics Cape Verde was represented by one male athlete at the 2012 Olympics in athletics Ruben Sana , a 5000 metres runner . Making his Olympic debut at these Games , Sana was given a university place after previously competing in the marathon at the 2011 World Championships and the 1500 meters at the 2009 unk Games . He competed on 8 August in the 5000 metres event , finishing last out of 21 athletes in heat two in a time of 14 minutes and 35 . 19 seconds . He was 1 minute and 20 . 04 seconds behind the winner of his heat , unk unk . Overall he finished 40th out of 43 athletes , and he was 1 minute and 13 . 98 seconds slower than the slowest athlete that progressed to the final round and , therefore , that was the end of his competition . Competing at her first Olympics , Lidiane Lopes was the youngest ever competitor for Cape Verde at the Olympics , aged 17 . She competed in the 100 meters on 3 August . Lopes was drawn into heat four and ran a time of 12 . 72 seconds and finished fourth in her preliminary heat , 1 . 12 seconds behind the winner , unk unk . She finished 17th out of 33 athletes overall and was 0 . 48 seconds behind the slowest athlete who progressed to the heats . Therefore , Lopes did not progress to the heats . Key Note Ranks given for track events are within the athlete 's heat only Q Qualified for the next round q Qualified for the next round as a fastest loser or , in field events , by position without achieving the qualifying target NR National record N A Round not applicable for the event Bye Athlete not required to compete in round Judo Cape Verde had one judoka competing in the 2012 Olympics . This woman was Adysngela Moniz , a 25 year old athlete , competing at her first Olympic Games . She competed in the 78kg event . Moniz received a bye in the first round and fought in match four against unk Ortz from Cuba in the second round . Moniz lost and therefore did not progress to the quarter finals .
|
434 | This Time Around is a song by American recording artist and songwriter Michael Jackson that features the vocals from rapper The Notorious B.I.G. The song appears on Jackson 's ninth studio album , entitled HIStory Past , Present and Future , Book I , which was released in 1995 as a two disc set . The song and lyrics were written by Michael Jackson , while the music was composed by Dallas Austin , Bruce Swedien and Rene Moore . Dallas Austin and Michael Jackson produced the song , while Bruce Swedien and Ren Moore served as co producers . The song 's lyrics details a musician 's problems with being famous and dealing with stardom . In December 1995 , the track was released as a promotional single in the United States only , containing a radio edit and remixes . This Time Around had a good chart performance , having charted solely due to radio airplay throughout the country . The song received positive reviews from contemporary music critics . Background and composition The song and lyrics were written by Michael Jackson , while the music was composed by Dallas Austin , Bruce Swedien and Rene Moore . This Time Around is a song by Jackson that features vocals by rapper The Notorious B.I.G. Austin and Jackson produced the song , while Swedien and Moore co produced the song . It was recorded by both American musicians in 1994 and 1995 for Jackson 's ninth studio album , entitled HIStory Past , Present and Future , Book I , which was released in 1995 as a two disc set . This Time Around was written in common time , and was played in the key of D minor . The track 's tempo is a moderate 108 beats per minute . The track has a basic sequence of Dm11 Dm9 as its chord progression . The song 's lyrics are about Michael and Biggie 's problems with being famous and dealing with stardom , and throughout the song Jackson asserts that he 's been falsely accused . On December 26 , 1995 , the track was released by Epic Records as a promotional single in the United States only . The promo was formatted in three different versions , which were as a standalone CD single with just the song , as a 12 single with remixes and as a maxi single . Release and reception This Time Around received positive reviews from contemporary music critics in their review for the album . James Hunter of Rolling Stone described the song as being a dynamite jam ... done with Atlanta R B hotshot Dallas Austin that 's ripe for remixes . Jon Pareles of The New York Times believed that Jackson muttered lyrics such as They thought they really had control of me . Although This Time Around did not chart on the Billboard Hot 100 , the track had a good chart performance on music component charts in the United States . The song charted on music charts based solely on radio airplay throughout the country . It charted within the top 40 of the Billboard Rhythmic Top 40 chart in 1995 , peaking at number 36 . The song peaked at number 18 on the Billboard Dance Music Club Play Singles music charts 1996 . In 1996 , the track also peaked at number 23 on the Billboard Hot R B Hip Hop Songs chart . Track listings and formats Charts
|
435 | Mauritania competed at the 2004 Summer Olympics in Athens , Greece , from 13 to 29 August 2004 . The country 's participation at Athens marked its sixth appearance in the Summer Olympics since its debut in the 1984 Summer Olympics . The delegation included two track and field athletes , Youba Hmeida and Aminata Kamissoko , who were both selected by wildcards after both failed to meet either the A or B qualifying standards . Hmeida was selected as the flag bearer for the opening ceremony . Neither of the Mauritanians progressed beyond the heats . Background Mauritania participated in six Summer Olympic games between its debut in the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles , United States and the 2004 Summer Olympics in Athens . The Mauritania National Olympic Committee ( NOC ) selected two athletes via wildcards . Usually , an NOC would be able to enter up to 3 qualified athletes in each individual event as long as each athlete met the A standard , or 1 athlete per event if they met the B standard . However , since Mauritania had no athletes that met either standard , they were allowed to select two athletes , one of each gender , as wildcards . The two athletes that were selected to compete in the Athens games were Youba Hmeida in the Men 's 400 meters and Aminata Kamissoko in the Women 's 100 meters . Hmeida was flag bearer for the opening ceremony . Athletics Making his Summer Olympics debut , Youba Hmeida was notable for carrying the Mauritania flag at the opening ceremony . He qualified for the Summer Olympics via a wildcard place , as his best time , 47 . 87 seconds at the 2001 World Championships in Athletics 400 meters , was 1 . 92 seconds slower than the B standard required . He competed on 20 August in Heat 3 against seven other athletes . He ran a time of 49 . 18 seconds , finishing seventh after Russia 's Anton Galkin was disqualified . El Salvador 's Takeshi Fujiwara placed ahead of him ( 46 . 70 seconds ) , in a heat led by Cuba 's unk Lpez ( 45 . 44 seconds ) . Out of 63 athletes , Hmeida ranked 57 and was 3 . 30 seconds behind the slowest athlete that progressed to the semi finals . Therefore , that was the end of his competition . Competing at her first Summer Olympics , Aminata Kamissoko qualified after being granted a wildcard as her best time , 13 . 70 seconds in the 2003 World Championships in Athletics 100 meters , was 2 . 30 seconds slower than the B qualifying standard . She competed on August 20 in Heat 3 against seven other athletes , finishing last with a time of 13 . 49 seconds . Palau 's unk Florencio ranked ahead of her ( 12 . 76 seconds ) , in a heat led by United States ' Lauryn Williams . Overall , Kamissoko was 2 . 06 seconds behind the slowest athlete that progressed , therefore not advancing to the quarter finals . Key Note Ranks given for track events are within the athlete 's heat only Q Qualified for the next round q Qualified for the next round as a fastest loser or , in field events , by position without achieving the qualifying target NR National record N A Round not applicable for the event Bye Athlete not required to compete in round Men Women
|
436 | Live Intrusion is a home video by Slayer which was released in 1995 through American Recordings and filmed at the Mesa Amphitheater in Mesa , Arizona on March 12 , 1995 . The video features a cover of the Venom song Witching Hour performed by Slayer with assistance from Chris Kontos and Robb Flynn of Machine Head . It was reissued on DVD on August 17 , 2010 . Live Intrusion received positive reception from the few critics that reviewed the video . Conception Live Intrusion was filmed at the Mesa Amphitheatre in Mesa , Arizona , on March 12 , 1995 while promoting Divine Intervention on tour . The Machine Head members Chris Kontos and Robb Flynn gave assistance to the band while performing Witching Hour , originally recorded by Venom in 1981 . The video was released as a VHS ( Video High Standard ) through American Recordings on October 31 , 1995 . The video features live footage of Slayer and exclusive unseen footage of Slayer on and off the road . The beginning of the video features a portrait of some of Slayer fans , including a picture from the mid 1990s , about a fan , who had Slayer carved onto their forearm . It was directed and produced by Phil Tuckett , with the audio recorded by Sylvia Massy . On August 17 , 2010 , Live Intrusion was remastered and released as a DVD ( Digital Video Disc ) . It was created using the original VHS master and edited the footage with newer technology . The DVD was sold at retail and online for ( USD ) 13 . 98 . The DVD was also released in the Slayer Live DVD 3 Pak , also released on August 17 , 2010 . It was sold for ( USD ) 29 . 98 . Critical reception Chris Beaumont of Blogcritics recommended the DVD to consumers , giving it three and a half out of five stars . He noted that the audio quality was pretty strong , and allows listeners to clearly hear every chord , note , and word that the band outputs , while the crowd noise proves that it is a live video , but is not so loud that it distracts viewers . unk also said that the video 's quality lacks a lot of the polish that more recent recordings have , but he later said that he would rather see it in low quality rather than high quality . Chad Bowar of About.com also gave the DVD three and a half out of five stars . He noted that the video is in decent quality , but , due to poor lighting and shaky camera work , he considered the DVD to be marginal . Track listing Raining Blood ( Hanneman , King ) 4 23 Killing Fields ( Araya , King ) 3 56 War Ensemble ( Araya , Hanneman ) 4 51 At Dawn They Sleep ( Araya , Hanneman , King ) 5 03 Divine Intervention ( Araya , Bostaph , Hanneman , King ) 5 33 Dittohead ( King ) 2 50 Captor of Sin ( Hanneman , King ) 3 21 213 ( Araya , Hanneman ) 4 51 South of Heaven ( Araya , Hanneman ) 4 58 Sex . Murder . Art . ( Araya , King ) 1 50 Mandatory Suicide ( Araya , Hanneman , King ) 4 03 Angel of Death ( Hanneman ) 4 50 Hell Awaits ( Hanneman , King ) 4 53 Witching Hour ( Venom cover ) 2 54 Chemical Warfare ( Hanneman , King ) 5 17 Source unk Personnel Source both Allmusic and the video 's notes .
|
437 | Maryland Route 615 ( MD 615 ) is a state highway in the U.S. state of Maryland . The state highway runs 4 . 35 miles ( 7 . 00 km ) from Interstate 70 ( I 70 ) and U.S. Route 40 ( US 40 ) east of Hancock north to the Pennsylvania state line , where the highway continues as State Route 2001 in Fulton County . MD 615 has two sections , an east west section that closely parallels I 70 and US 40 and a north south highway that follows Heavenly Acres Ridge . The ridge road was constructed as MD 615 in the mid 1930s . The east west segment is part of the original alignment of US 40 constructed in the mid 1910s . After I 70 was constructed east of Hancock in the early 1960s , MD 615 was extended along the old alignment of US 40 parallel to the new freeway . Route description MD 615 begins at an intersection between Millstone Road , which continues east as a county highway , and the Exit 5 ramp from westbound I 70 and US 40 ( Eisenhower Memorial Highway ) . The state highway heads west , closely paralleling I 70 and US 40 to the south . At Hollow Road , MD 615 has a ramp to eastbound I 70 and US 40 the ramp also provides access to a parking lot for the Western Maryland Rail Trail and Chesapeake and Ohio Canal National Historical Park . The highway continues west until it intersects the ramps to and from I 70 and US 40 in the direction of Hancock . MD 615 's name changes to Heavenly Acres Ridge Road and curves north to climb out of the narrow valley of the Potomac River onto Heavenly Acres Ridge . The highway follows the ridge north to its terminus at an intersection with White Oak Ridge Road at the Pennsylvania state line . Heavenly Acres Ridge Road continues north as State Route 2001 in southeastern Fulton County . History The Millstone Road portion of MD 615 follows a narrow corridor on the north side of the Potomac River that has carried multiple modes of transportation between Hancock and Licking Creek , where the river valley opens up . In the early 20th century , this corridor featured the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal , the Western Maryland Railway , and the National Pike , which ran between the canal and the railroad . When the Maryland State Roads Commission constructed the state road between Hancock and Licking Creek in 1915 , the highway was placed on a new alignment north of the railroad tracks to eliminate four grade crossings . This highway was designated US 40 in 1927 . The Heavenly Acres Ridge portion of MD 615 was paved from US 40 to the Pennsylvania state line in 1936 . By 1939 , White Oak Ridge Road was also marked as MD 615 . White Oak Ridge Road retained the state highway designation until 1956 . In 1960 , US 40 was constructed parallel to its existing alignment as a freeway from the east end of Main Street in Hancock to what is now the eastern end of MD 615 . This upgrade included the modern ramps between the freeway and Millstone Road . This freeway was marked as I 70 in addition to US 40 in 1962 and MD 615 was extended south and east from Heavenly Acres Ridge Road along its modern extent . Junction list The entire route is in a sparsely populated area east of Hancock in Washington County .
|
438 | Delaware Route 42 ( DE 42 ) is a state highway in Kent County , Delaware . It runs from DE 6 in Blackiston east to DE 9 in Leipsic . DE 42 passes through rural areas along with the towns of Kenton and Cheswold . The route intersects DE 300 in Kenton , DE 15 between Seven Hickories and Moores Corner , and U.S. Route 13 ( US 13 ) in Cheswold . The road was built as a state highway during the 1920s and 1930s . DE 42 was designated by 1936 between Kenton and Leipsic and extended to Blackiston by 1966 . Route description DE 42 begins at an intersection with DE 6 in Blackiston . Northwest of DE 6 , the road becomes Longridge Road , which changes names to Delaney Maryland Line Road and Clayton Delaney Road before it reaches the Maryland border and becomes Maryland Route 330 ( MD 330 ) . MD 330 heads west into Kent County , Maryland and , by way of MD 313 , provides access to US 301 . From the western terminus , DE 42 heads southeast on two lane undivided Blackiston Road . The route runs through agricultural areas with some woods and homes . The road reaches Kenton , where it becomes Commerce Street . In Kenton , the route crosses an abandoned railroad line and passes residences , intersecting with DE 300 in the center of town . Past Kenton , DE 42 heads to the east southeast on Seven Hickories Road into farmland with woods and residences . In Seven Hickories , the route intersects DE 15 and the two routes head east for a concurrency . In Moores Corner , DE 15 splits from DE 42 by turning southeast on Kenton Road . DE 42 continues east northeast to the south of Delaware Airpark . The route enters Cheswold , where it becomes Main Street . The road passes homes and some businesses in the town , crossing Norfolk Southern 's Delmarva Secondary railroad line . DE 42 reaches an intersection with US 13 on the eastern edge of Cheswold at Bishops Corner . After the US 13 intersection , the route heads northeast on Fast Landing Road . DE 42 passes over the DE 1 toll road , where it has ramps for emergency vehicles but no public access . The road runs through farmland with some woodland and homes , curving to the east . Farther east , the route turns southeast into marshland adjacent to the Leipsic River . DE 42 enters the town of Leipsic where it heads east into residential areas and ends at DE 9 . Past the eastern terminus , the road continues east as Second Street . DE 42 has an annual average daily traffic count ranging from a high of 8 , 800 vehicles at the Commerce Street intersection in Cheswold to a low of 516 vehicles at the eastern terminus at DE 9 . None of DE 42 is part of the National Highway System . History By 1920 , what is now DE 42 existed as an unimproved county road . The road was completed as a state highway between Kenton and unk four years later . The route was under construction as a state highway between Blackiston and Kenton by 1932 . By 1936 , DE 42 was assigned to its current alignment between DE 300 in Kenton and DE 9 in Leipsic and the state highway between Blackiston and Kenton was completed . By 1966 , the route was extended to Blackiston . Major intersections The entire route is in Kent County .
|
439 | The 4th Boat Race took place on the River Thames on 15 April 1840 . It was the third of the University Boat Races to be held on the Thames , between Westminster Bridge and Putney Bridge . Oxford University Boat Club was formed to assist in the selection of the Oxford crew . Nevertheless , Cambridge won the race by three quarters of a length to lead the overall record at 3 1 . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and takes place on the River Thames in southwest London . Following heavy defeats in the 1836 and 1839 races , and in order to improve the selection of the crew , Oxford University Boat Club was formed on 23 April 1839 , to which anyone at the university could subscribe and which was governed by the various college boat club captains . The initial letter of challenge was delivered to Cambridge from Oxford in February . After considerable discussion , mainly about the restriction of crew selection to undergraduates only , the date of the race , 15 April 1840 , was agreed sixteen days prior to the race itself . The umpires for the race were Calverley unk ( for Oxford ) and Charles Jasper Selwyn ( for Cambridge ) , while W. H. Harrison , the Commodore of the Royal Thames Yacht Club , was the referee . The race was to take place on a five and three quarter mile ( 9 . 2 km ) stretch of the Thames between Westminster Bridge and Putney Bridge . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 11 st 10 . 5 lb ( 74 . 4 kg ) per rower , 2 . 5 pounds ( 1 . 1 kg ) more per man than their opponents . Cambridge saw former Blues Alfred Shadwell and cox Thomas Selby Egan return , while Oxford 's crew also contained two veterans of the race , in Samuel Maberly and R. G. Walls . Race Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex side of the river , handing the Surrey side to Cambridge . The race commenced from below Westminster Bridge at unk , with Edward Searle acting as the starter . With a number of steamers blocking the route , Oxford made a good start and took an early lead . The wake of the steamers caused rough water in which both crews struggled to maintain a consistent rhythm . The lead had extended by the time the crews passed below Vauxhall Bridge and was nearly three lengths by the Spread Eagle pub . At this point Cambridge began to reduce the deficit , but following a warning from Robert Coombes who was steering the umpire 's boat Dolphin , Oxford 's cox Garnett steered across the path of Cambridge . The Light Blues maintained their course and Oxford were forced back again . By the Red House , Cambridge had restored parity and started to pull away . Despite suffering further rough water from the wake of another steamer at Battersea Bridge , Cambridge maintained their lead and passed through the centre arch of Putney Bridge three quarters of a length ahead of Oxford . The winning time was 29 minutes 3 seconds , and the victory took the overall lead to 3 1 in favour of Cambridge .
|
440 | A. Merritt 's Fantasy Magazine was a pulp magazine which published five issues from December 1949 to October 1950 . It took its name from fantasy writer A. Merritt , who had died in 1943 , and it aimed to capitalize on Merritt 's popularity . It was published by Popular Publications , alternating months with Fantastic Novels , another title of theirs . It may have been edited by Mary Gnaedinger , who also edited Fantastic Novels and Famous Fantastic Mysteries . It was a companion to Famous Fantastic Mysteries , and like that magazine mostly reprinted science fiction and fantasy classics from earlier decades . Publication history and contents In 1942 , Popular Publications acquired Famous Fantastic Mysteries and Fantastic Novels , both of them pulp magazines specializing in reprints of fantasy , from the Munsey Company . Fantastic Novels had ceased publication in April 1941 , but was relaunched by Popular in early 1948 as a companion to Famous Fantastic Mysteries , which was still being published . The following year Popular decided to add another fantasy reprint magazine to their line up the title they chose was A. Merritt 's Fantasy Magazine , and the first issue was dated December 1949 . Abraham Merritt ( usually known as A. Merritt ) , after whom the magazine was named , was one of the most popular fantasy authors of the pulp era the magazine was intended to take advantage of his popularity , but only five issues appeared , over a period of just under a year , before the magazine was cancelled . In addition to Merritt 's novel Creep , Shadow , which appeared in the first issue , the magazine printed several well received stories . These included The Smoking Land , a novel by Frederick Faust , under the pseudonym George Challis , and a detective novel by Jack Mann , The Ninth Life . A letter to the magazine from a young Robert Silverberg appeared in one of the letter columns . Different theories have been offered as to why the magazine failed . Editor and science fiction historian Malcolm Edwards suggests that Merritt 's death six years earlier , in 1943 , made the magazine a risky proposition , despite Merritt 's continuing popularity in the late 1940s . Science fiction historian and critic Sam Moskowitz suggests that , conversely , the magazine did not go far enough in depending on Merritt 's popularity , as it only printed three works of his during its run . This may have been because Merritt was sufficiently popular that it was not easy for the magazine to obtain reprint rights to his stories . Bibliographic details The editor was not announced in the magazine . Mary Gnaedinger was the editor for the two companion magazines , Famous Fantastic Mysteries and Fantastic Novels , but Sam Moskowitz has suggested that it was unlikely Gnaedinger was the editor for A. Merritt 's Fantasy Magazine . The magazine remained in pulp format throughout its short run . It was 132 pages and priced at 25 cents for all five issues . A Canadian edition of all five issues appeared these were identical to the originals in every way except for the back cover advertisement and the format the Canadian issues were half an inch longer .
|
441 | The 12th Boat Race took place on the River Thames on 8 April 1854 . Typically held annually , the event is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge . The race was won by Oxford who triumphed over Cambridge by seven lengths . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Cambridge by nine lengths in the previous race . Cambridge led overall with seven wins to Oxford 's four . There was no Boat Race in 1853 as the Henley Royal Regatta was scheduled for the same time as that proposed by Cambridge in their challenge to Oxford . The universities did however race each other that year , in the Grand Challenge Cup , which was won by Oxford . On 11 February 1854 , a challenge was sent to Oxford by the former Light Blue cox Thomas Selby Egan , who had assumed temporary captaincy of Cambridge University Boat Club , despite having coached the Dark Blues to victory in the 1852 race . Although Oxford arrived at Putney as favourites to win the race , Cambridge 's style was enough to force the odds to evens . However , in a practice race , the Dark Blues defeated a watermen scratch crew easily and restored their position as pre race favourites . Both crews rowed in 65 foot ( 20 m ) long boats manufactured by Searle . The umpire for the race was Charles Jasper Selwyn and the starter was Edward Searle . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 11 st 1 lb ( 70 . 1 kg ) , 5 . 75 pounds ( 2 . 6 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . Cambridge saw one rower return from the 1852 race in F. Johnson , while Oxford 's crew contained two former Blues in unk and the Oxford University Boat Club president Olliver Meade King . Race Oxford were pre race favourites . They won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing Cambridge the Surrey side of the river . The race commenced at unk , with Oxford pulling away from the start . The Dark Blues were clear of Cambridge by the time the crews reached the Crab Tree . By Hammersmith Bridge both coxes were forced to take evasive action as a result of a barge blocking their route . With a lead of two lengths after the bridge , Oxford continued to increase their lead , eventually passing the flag boat with a seven length advantage in a time of 25 minutes 29 seconds . It was their third consecutive victory and took the overall record to 7 5 in Cambridge 's favour . In a speech in the evening 's celebrations , Charles Selwyn , who had umpired this and the previous four Boat Races , declared that he was no longer young and active enough to continue to act in the capacity of umpire he would be replaced in 1856 by W. G. Rich , the former Cambridge University Boat Club president who had rowed in both the March and December races of 1849 .
|
442 | Delaware Route 9A ( DE 9A ) is a two to four lane road in Wilmington , Delaware that serves as the primary access route to the Port of Wilmington as well as provide access to Interstate 495 ( I 495 ) . The official designation of the route runs 0 . 78 miles ( 1 . 26 km ) along Terminal Avenue between DE 9 and the Port of Wilmington , interchanging with I 495 . Signage has the route continuing north along Christiana Avenue to an intersection with U.S. Route 13 ( US 13 ) and DE 9 for a total length of 2 . 0 mi ( 3 . 2 km ) . Christiana Avenue originally became a state highway in the 1920s , becoming a part of US 40 that connected to a ferry across the Delaware River to Penns Grove , New Jersey . US 40 was removed from this road in the 1930s and it later became part of DE 48 , which was subsequently removed in the 1950s following the discontinuance of the ferry . DE 9A was designated by 1971 . Route description DE 9A begins at an intersection with DE 9 in Wilmington , heading east southeast as two lane undivided Terminal Avenue through residential areas . The road widens into a four lane divided highway and comes to an interchange with I 495 . Past I 495 , the road heads through industrial areas , becoming an undivided road as it crosses over Norfolk Southern 's New Castle Secondary railroad line at a grade crossing . The road crosses another railroad branch before reaching the entrance to the Port of Wilmington at the Christiana Avenue intersection . At this point , DelDOT officially marks the end of DE 9A , but signage shows it turning north onto Christiana Avenue . DE 9A proceeds north northwest as a two lane road , passing through more industrial areas and crossing under I 495 again , this time underneath of the I 495 bridge over the Christina River . After this , the route crosses over both the Norfolk Southern 's New Castle Secondary and Shellpot Branch at grade crossings in marshland . The road continues between residential and commercial areas to the west and industrial areas to the east before terminating at both US 13 and DE 9 near the Christina River drawbridge leading into Wilmington 's central business district . DE 9A has an annual average daily traffic count of 8 , 527 vehicles along Terminal Avenue . The portion of DE 9A along Terminal Avenue between I 495 and the entrance to the Port of Wilmington at Christiana Avenue is part of the National Highway System . History What is now DE 9A was a county road by 1920 . By 1924 , the Christiana Avenue portion of the route was constructed as a state highway . Christiana Avenue became a portion of US 40 in 1926 , running from US 13 to a ferry that went across the Delaware River to Penns Grove , New Jersey . By 1931 , US 40 was removed from this road . The road became the easternmost portion of DE 48 by 1936 , which crossed the Delaware River on the ferry to connect to New Jersey Route 48 in Penns Grove . DE 48 was removed from this road by 1952 after the ferry between Wilmington and Penns Grove was discontinued in 1949 . DE 9A was designated around 1971 onto its current alignment . Major intersections The entire route is in Wilmington , New Castle County .
|
443 | Sierra Leone competed at the 2012 Summer Olympics in London , from 27 July to 12 August 2012 . This marked the nation 's tenth appearance at the Summer Olympics since its debut in the 1968 Summer Olympics . The Sierra Leone delegation included two track and field athletes Ibrahim Turay , a sprinter and Ola Sesay , a long jumper . Sesay and Turay were selected as flag bearers for the opening and closing ceremonies respectively . Neither of the two athletes progressed beyond the first round . Background Sierra Leone participated in ten Summer Olympic games between its debut in the 1968 Summer Olympics in Mexico City , Mexico and the 2012 Summer Olympics in London , with the exception of the 1972 Summer Olympics in Munich , and the 1976 Summer Olympics in Montreal , the latter because of a boycott relating to the New Zealand national rugby union team touring South Africa . The highest number of Sierra Leonean athletes participating in a summer games is fourteen in the 1980 Summer Olympics in Moscow , Russia and the 1996 Summer Olympics in Atlanta , USA . As of 2015 , no Sierra Leonean athlete has ever won a medal at the Olympics . Two athletes from Sierra Leone qualified for the London games Ibrahim Turay in the track and field 200 m and Ola Sesay in the long jump . They both qualified after meeting the A and B qualifying standards for their events respectively . Sesay and Turay were flag bearers for the opening and closing ceremonies respectively . Athletics The 2012 Summer Games marked Ibrahim Turay 's Olympic debut . He qualified for the 200 metres after posting a time of 22 . 54 seconds in the 2010 Commonwealth Games Men 's 200 metres , 0 . 01 seconds faster than the A qualifying standard . He competed on 7 August in heat two , finishing last out of eight athletes , despite achieving a personal best time of 21 . 90 seconds . He ranked behind Chile 's Cristin Reyes ( 21 . 29 seconds ) , in a heat led by France 's Christophe Lemaitre ( 20 . 34 . seconds ) . Overall he finished 51st out of 55 athletes , and was 1 . 18 seconds slower than the slowest athlete that progressed to the final round and , therefore , that was the end of his competition . Competing at her first Olympics , Ola Sesay was notable for carrying the Sierra Leone flag for the opening ceremony . She qualified for the Olympics after meeting the B qualifying standard in the long jump . She competed on 7 August in Group A , and finished joint 11th out of 16 athletes with Philippines ' unk Torres , both of whom posting a jump of 6 . 22 metres . She ranked ahead of Ukraine 's unk unk ( 6 . 19 metres ) in a group led by Great Britain 's Shara Proctor ( 6 . 83 metres ) . Sesay finished 23rd out of 32 athletes overall , and was 0 . 18 metres behind a qualification spot , therefore not advancing to the final . Key Note Ranks given for track events are within the athlete 's heat only Q Qualified for the next round q Qualified for the next round as a fastest loser or , in field events , by position without achieving the qualifying target NR National record N A Round not applicable for the event Bye Athlete not required to compete in round Men Women
|
444 | New York State Route 185 ( NY 185 ) is an east west state highway in Essex County , New York , in the United States . It serves as a connector between NY 9N and NY 22 in Crown Point and the Lake Champlain Bridge , by which the highway enters Vermont and becomes Vermont Route 17 ( VT 17 ) . NY 185 , named Bridge Road , passes through Crown Point State Historic Site and runs the entire length of Crown Point , a peninsula protruding into Lake Champlain . NY 185 was assigned on April 4 , 2008 , as a signed replacement for New York State Route 910L , an unsigned reference route . It is the third signed designation that Bridge Road has carried , preceded by New York State Route 347 ( during the early 1930s ) and NY 8 ( 1930s to the 1960s ) . NY 185 originally connected to the Champlain Bridge on its east end however , that structure was closed and demolished in late 2009 . Its replacement opened to traffic in November 2011 . Route description NY 185 begins at an intersection with NY 9N and NY 22 in Crown Point . The route progresses eastward as a two lane highway named Bridge Road . Heading away from the western terminus , there is a fork in the road to the left is NY 185 , and to the right is a road to a housing development . Most of NY 185 runs along the lowlands around Lake Champlain , making curves at intersections , and heading on relatively flat elevations . As the highway approaches the lake , it makes a curve to the north . There , it intersects with County Route 48 ( Lake Road ) and begins to follow the lake shore . The highway passes to the east of the Crown Point State Historic Site and its campground before ascending up the approach to the Lake Champlain Bridge . After making a final curve to the northeast , NY 185 begins to cross Lake Champlain by way of the bridge . The route ends at the Vermont state line at the bridge 's midpoint , and the roadway continues into Vermont as VT 17 . History The Champlain Bridge was built in 1929 , connecting Crown Point in New York to Chimney Point in Vermont . A short connector highway between the bridge which connected to VT 17 in Vermont and NY 22 in Crown Point , named Bridge Road , was originally designated as NY 347 as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York . NY 347 became part of an extended NY 8 c . 1934 . NY 8 was truncated south to Hague c . 1968 , eliminating a lengthy overlap with NY 22 and NY 9N . Its former routing along Bridge Road became NY 903 , an unsigned reference route . The NY 903 designation was later replaced with NY 910L when a new numbering system for reference routes was adopted by the New York State Department of Transportation , and NY 910L itself was redesignated and signed as NY 185 on April 4 , 2008 . On October 16 , 2009 , the Champlain Bridge was closed to traffic due to structural concerns . The bridge was demolished on December 28 , 2009 , as a result of those concerns , temporarily reducing NY 185 in purpose to a spur route linking NY 9N and NY 22 to Crown Point . Its replacement , the Lake Champlain Bridge , opened to traffic on November 7 , 2011 . Major intersections The entire route is in Crown Point , Essex County .
|
445 | Tsing Yi North Coastal Road , also abbreviated as TYNCR , ( Chinese unk Jyutping unk unk unk unk unk unk pinyin unk Bi unk unk ) is a dual carriageway in Tsing Yi , Hong Kong . The road starts at Tsing Tsuen Road , where it travels through the northern part of the island . It ends at Route 3 and Route 8 on the western side of the island at a left in left out interchange , 2 . 2 kilometres ( 1 . 4 mi ) from its eastern terminus . The road was first planned in 1998 to relieve traffic coming from Lantau . It was constructed in 1999 , and was opened in February 2002 . Description The road starts at the border of the Tsing Ma Control Area , on the eastern exit ramps of the Tam Kong Shan Interchange and the western terminus of Tsing Tsuen Road . The road travels westward , with ramps reemerging from the interchange , which is surrounded by noise barriers . TYNCR then travels across multiple viaducts on the northern side of Tsing Yi , with hills south of the road , and the coastline north of it . About 1 . 4 kilometres ( 0 . 87 mi ) from the eastern terminus , TYNCR travels to Tam Kong Shan Road , near a shipyard and a cement factory . The exit ramp is accessible from westbound lanes , and the entrance ramp from Tam Kong Shan Road to eastbound lanes . The road continues eastward and ends at a left in left out intersection , located east of the Lantau Link Visitors Centre . The interchange then connects to Routes 3 and 8 . In 2014 , 15 , 240 vehicles traveled the road between Tam Kong Shan Road interchange and Tsing Tsuen Road . It is measured in average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which measures the amount of traffic daily on average . The road is classified as a District Distributor by the Transport Department . History Planning for the road began around 1996 , as part of the Tsing Ma Control Area , a small region of highways with special management . The road was to relieve the higher traffic traveling through Tsing Yi , especially with the new Hong Kong International Airport and developments in Lantau being built . The project included the road and its ramps , pedestrian pathways , noise barriers around the highway , surveillance system , and a maintenance centre in Tsing Yi . The Highways Department signed a contract with Gammon Construction Limited for unk 775 . 6 million in February 1999 , after it invited qualified contractors in October 1998 . Construction began later that month . During construction , techniques were used to prevent air pollution . Water was sprayed on roads , vehicles , and other areas to keep dust from leaving the site . Multiple viaducts , road embankments , and retaining walls were constructed in the project , with a set of walls replaced after its footings were damaged . Construction of the traffic control system began in November 2000 , after the Transport Department signed an agreement with ABB Industrial and Building Systems Limited . The road was opened on February 2 , 2002 , after Donald Tsang inaugurated the road in a ceremony on February 1 . New speed limits were set to 70 kilometres per hour ( 43 mph ) upon opening . Major intersections The entire road is in Kwai Tsing District .
|
446 | State Route 903 ( SR 903 ) is a 10 . 06 mile long ( 16 . 19 km ) state highway located entirely in Kittitas County , Washington , United States . The highway links Lake Cle Elum to Roslyn , Cle Elum and SR 970 , which provides access to Interstate 90 . The highway has existed as a numbered highway since at least 1939 , however a highway linking Lake Cle Elum to Cle Elum has existed since 1897 . The Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) had previously considered turning control of the highway over to Kittitas County , however this never happened , and WSDOT continues to maintain the highway . Route description SR 903 begins at an intersection with SR 970 just north of the Interstate 90 ( I 90 ) SR 970 interchange , headed westerly into the town of Cle Elum . Before entering Cle Elum , the highway intersects its spur route , SR 903 Spur , which serves as a bypass for travelers on SR 970 who wish to avoid the main interchange of SR 903 . The roadway parallels a railroad line before it terminates in South Cle Elum . The highway jogs to the north for a block before turning back west along Second Street , exiting the town and turning northwesterly . SR 903 continues through a roundabout before entering the town of Roslyn . The highway continues through town , turning southwesterly on Nevada Street , before turning back northwesterly at Seventh Street , exiting Roslyn . The highway continues through Ronald before terminating at the boundary of the Wenatchee National Forest , east of Cle Elum Lake . The roadway continues northerly however as Salmon La Sac Road . The Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) measures traffic counts , measured in terms of annual average daily traffic , with as few as 1 , 100 cars at the northern terminus , and as many as 7 , 400 cars just past the intersection at Pennsylvania Avenue in Roslyn . History The current highway was numbered Secondary State Highway 2E ( SSH 2E ) since at least 1939 , though maps show a roadway following roughly the same alignment in existence since at least 1897 . During the 1964 state highway renumbering , the designation was changed from SSH 2E to SR 903 . WSDOT was considering dropping SR 903 from the state highway system and turning over the highway to Kittitas County in 1992 however , the idea was quickly dropped . The roundabout at Bullfrog was first proposed in 2002 , and was estimated to cost 1 . 2 million , paid for by unk Resort . The roundabout opened to traffic sometime between May 7 and July 15 , 2005 . Completed in August 2007 , WSDOT repaved 8 . 1 mi ( 13 . 0 km ) of highway between Cle Elum and the National Forrest boundary for a cost of 2 million . Major intersections The entire highway is in Kittitas County . Spur route Washington State Route 903 Spur is a 0 . 33 mile ( 530 m ) long two lane spur route of SR 903 , constructed between 1973 and 1984 . The spur route serves as a short connector allowing travelers on SR 970 who wish to continue west towards Cle Elum along SR 903 to bypass the main junction between SR 903 and SR 970 just north of I 90 . On average , 3 , 000 cars per day travel over the spur route .
|
447 | The 36th Boat Race took place on 5 April 1879 . The Boat Race is an annual side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . Each crew contained four Blues . In a race umpired by former Oxford rower Joseph William Chitty , Cambridge led all the way , and won by a margin of three lengths in a time of 21 minutes 18 seconds . The victory took the overall record to 18 17 in Oxford 's favour . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions having won the previous year 's race by ten lengths . However Oxford held the overall lead , with 18 victories to Cambridge 's 16 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . Cambridge 's coaches were James Brooks Close ( who rowed for the Light Blues in the 1872 , 1873 and 1874 races ) , Herbert Edward Rhodes ( who took part in four races between 1873 and 1876 ) and Robert John unk ( a Blue in 1878 ) . Oxford were coached by William Grenfell ( who had rowed for the Dark Blues in 1877 and was the non rowing president of Oxford University Boat Club ) . The race was umpired by Joseph William Chitty who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race , while the starter was Edward Searle . Crews The Cambridge crew weighed an average of 12 st 0 . 5 lb ( 76 . 2 kg ) , 0 . 75 pounds ( 0 . 3 kg ) more than their opponents . Oxford 's crew contained four former Blues , including H. P. Marriott who was rowing in his fifth consecutive Boat Race . Similarly , Cambridge saw four Blues return to their crew , including cox George Latham Davies who was steering the Light Blue boat for the fifth time . unk and author George Drinkwater stated that neither of the crews this year was up to the high standard of the winning crews in the past few years . The Cambridge crew included the only non British participant in the race , Australian rower Charles Fairbairn . He was born in Victoria and was educated at Geelong Grammar School before matriculating at Jesus College . Race Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , handing the Middlesex side of the river to Cambridge . Cambridge made the better start and were clear of Oxford within the first 90 seconds of the race . Despite a lower stroke rate , the Light Blues had extended their lead to three lengths by Hammersmith Bridge . Encountering rough water in Corney Reach , Cambridge slowed and allowed Oxford to gain on them , but as the crews passed under Barnes Bridge into smoother water , the Light Blues reasserted their dominance . They passed the finishing post three lengths ahead in a time of 21 minutes 18 seconds . It was Cambridge 's first victory since the 1876 race , and their seventh in the last ten races , taking the overall record to 18 17 in Oxford 's favour .
|
448 | M 222 is the current designation of a state trunkline highway in Allegan County of the US state of Michigan . It runs between the city of Allegan , where it connects with M 40 M 89 , and the US Highway 131 ( US 131 ) freeway near Martin . The highway runs along a series of streets in Allegan and through rural farm fields and woods between the two communities along 116th Avenue . The roadway was a state highway back in 1919 when the system was initially signed . It was assigned as part of M 89 and M 40 before being given its own number , M 118 . That designation was applied to the highway until 1988 when that was retired in favor of the current M 222 . Route description M 222 begins at an intersection with M 40 M 89 in the town of Allegan at the corner of Cutler and Cedar streets . From there , the trunkline runs northward on Cedar Street for a block before turning eastward on Monroe Street . Then the highway proceeds through residential areas along Monroe and turns onto Grand Street to cross over the Kalamazoo River . M 222 intersects A 37 ( Main Street ) and runs next to Padgham Field before exiting town . From there , the highway continues on due eastward as 116th Avenue through rural areas and agricultural fields . Further east , the fields are taken over by forested area and residential subdivisions in places near Watson . The trunkline jogs to the south to bisect Wetheral Lake . M 222 ends north of US 131 Motorsports Park near exit 55 on US 131 east of Martin . Like other state highways in Michigan , M 222 is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) . In 2011 , the department 's traffic surveys showed that on average , 9 , 147 vehicles used the highway daily in Allegan between M 40 M 89 and A 37 and 5 , 470 vehicles did so each day between near the eastern terminus , the highest and lowest counts along the highway , respectively . No section of M 222 is listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History When the state highway system was initially signposted in 1919 , the highway between Allegan and Martin was part of M 89 . In 1926 , when M 40 was extended from Allegan to Martin , M 89 was rerouted out of Allegan to the southeast along its present day alignment to terminate at US 131 in Plainwell . In 1929 , the routing from Allegan to Martin was removed and renumbered M 118 , and M 40 was extended to the north out of Allegan along M 89 and its modern routing to a new terminus in Holland ending at US 31 . By the middle of 1960 , the US 131 was opened as far south as Martin the section of M 118 between the new freeway and the old routing was used as a connector until the next section south to Plainwell opened the next year . After this next freeway segment was opened , M 118 was truncated to end at the freeway . In 1988 , the M 118 designation was decommissioned and the highway was renumbered M 222 to prevent confusion with 118th street which runs parallel to the route about one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) to the north for most of the length . Major intersections The entire highway is in Allegan County .
|
449 | The Rudyard Kipling was a British steam trawler launched in 1920 that undertook fishing operations off the coasts of Great Britain and Ireland for almost 20 years . On 16 September 1939 , shortly after the outbreak of World War II , the trawler was captured 40 miles west of Clare Island by the German submarine U 27 . After removing food , equipment , and the crew from the ship , the Germans sunk her with the use of scuttling charges . Several hours later the crew of the Rudyard Kipling were cast adrift 5 nautical miles ( 9 . 3 km ) off the coast of Ireland . They eventually landed their lifeboats at unk . The Rudyard Kipling was the 27th merchant ship , the 26th British merchant ship , and the second British trawler to be sunk by a German U boat in World War II . Construction and design The Rudyard Kipling was constructed in the town of Selby by the shipbuilder Cochrane Sons Ltd . The trawler was launched from yard number 686 on 11 November 1920 . Named the Rudyard Kipling by the ship 's owner Newington Steam Trawling Co Ltd . , she was registered in the port of Hull on 4 February 1921 and completed later that month . Her official number was unk . She had a net tonnage of 140 and her gross tonnage was 333 . The trawler was 138 . 8 feet ( 42 . 3 m ) from bow to stern with a draught of 12 . 9 feet ( 3 . 9 m ) and a breadth of 23 . 7 feet ( 7 . 2 m ) . Her engine was a unk cylinder from C. D. Holmes Co Ltd . , also of Hull . Service history Early service Following completion and registration , the Rudyard Kipling began fishing off of the coast of Ireland and Great Britain . In May 1934 , the trawler was sold to The Sun Steam Trawling Co Ltd . On 10 May , her registry from Hull was closed and on 16 May , she was registered in the English port town of Fleetwood , where her new owners were based . The Rudyard Kipling remained with the Sun Steam Trawling Co Ltd. for the rest of her career . Sinking On 16 September 1939 , the Rudyard Kipling left Fleetwood for a routine fishing trip to an area off the west coast of Ireland . The trawler , under the command of Skipper Charles Robinson and with a crew of 12 men , was about 100 nautical miles ( 190 km ) west of the Irish town of Donegal when U 27 came alongside and ordered them to pull over to the submarine and surrender . The German crew then took the Rudyard Kipling 's food , including sugar , bread and fish , as well as the trawler 's wireless radios , and transferred them over to the U boat . Timed explosive charges were then placed on the trawler and three minutes later , at 15 53 , the trawler exploded and sank . While raiding the trawler , the Germans took the crew of the Rudyard Kipling on board and provided them with food and warm clothes . Eight hours later , in the early hours of 17 September , the Germans allowed the crew of the Rudyard Kipling to reboard their lifeboats and set them adrift 5 miles ( 8 . 0 km ) west of the port town of Donegal . Sometime later the crew landed at unk to the west of the town . The Rudyard Kipling was the 27th merchant ship ( the 26th one to be British ) and the second British trawler to be sunk by a German U boat in World War II .
|
450 | 55 Cancri b ( abbreviated 55 Cnc b ) , occasionally designated 55 Cancri Ab ( to distinguish it from the star 55 Cancri B ) , also named Galileo , is an extrasolar planet orbiting the Sun like star 55 Cancri A every 14 . 65 days . It is the second planet in order of distance from its star , and is an example of a hot Jupiter , or possibly rather warm Jupiter . In July 2014 the International Astronomical Union launched a process for giving proper names to certain exoplanets and their host stars . The process involved public nomination and voting for the new names . In December 2015 , the IAU announced the winning name was Galileo for this planet . The winning name was submitted by the Royal Netherlands Association for Meteorology and Astronomy of the Netherlands . It honors early 17th century astronomer and physicist Galileo Galilei . Discovery 55 Cancri b was discovered in 1996 by Geoffrey Marcy and R. Paul Butler . It was the fourth known extrasolar planet , excluding pulsar planets . Like the majority of known extrasolar planets , it was discovered by detecting variations in its star 's radial velocity caused by the planet 's gravity . By making sensitive measurements of the Doppler shift of the spectrum of 55 Cancri A , a 15 day periodicity was detected . The planet was announced in 1996 , together with the planet of Tau Botis and the innermost planet of Upsilon Andromedae . Even when this inner planet , with a mass at least 78 times that of Jupiter was accounted for , the star still showed a drift in its radial velocity . This eventually led to the discovery of the outer planet 55 Cancri d in 2002 . Orbit and mass 55 Cancri b is in a short period orbit , though not so extreme as that of the previously detected hot Jupiter 51 Pegasi b . The orbital period indicates that the planet is located close to a 1 3 mean motion resonance with 55 Cancri c , however investigations of the planetary parameters in a Newtonian simulation indicate that while the orbital periods are close to this ratio , the planets are not actually in the resonance . In 2012 , b 's upper atmosphere was observed transiting the star so its inclination is about 85 degrees , coplanar with 55 Cancri e . This helped to constrain the mass of the planet but the inclination was too low to constrain its radius . The mass is about .85 that of Jupiter . Characteristics 55 Cancri b is a gas giant with no solid surface . The atmospheric transit has demonstrated hydrogen in the upper atmosphere . That transit is so tangential , that properties such as its radius , density , and temperature are unknown . Assuming a composition similar to that of Jupiter and that its environment is close to chemical equilibrium , 55 Cancri b 's upper atmosphere is predicted to be cloudless with a spectrum dominated by alkali metal absorption . The atmosphere 's transit indicates that it is slowly evaporating under the sun 's heat . The evaporation is slower than that for previously studied ( hotter ) hot Jupiters . The planet is unlikely to have large moons , since tidal forces would either eject them from orbit or destroy them on short timescales relative to the age of the system .
|
451 | Illinois v. McArthur , 531 U.S. 326 ( 2001 ) , was a United States Supreme Court case decided in 2001 . The case concerned the extent of the government s power to limit an individual s complete control of his or her home pending the arrival of a search warrant . A divided Court held that the search was not unconstitutional because there was a reasonable law enforcement need to acquire a warrant , namely , to prevent the potential destruction of evidence within the home . Background Tera McArthur asked two police officers to accompany her to a trailer home where she lived with her husband Charles , so that she could take her belongings out of the home . Just after she came out of the trailer , she told the police that Charles McArthur had drugs inside . The police knocked and asked Charles if they could search , which he refused . He then came out of the trailer an officer prevented him from going back inside while the other policeman rushed to get a warrant . The Illinois Appellate Court held that this action violated the Fourth Amendment , which prohibits unreasonable searches and seizures without a warrant . The Supreme Court granted certiorari to hear the case in 2000 . Opinion of the Court The Court voted 8 1 to reverse the Illinois Appellate Court to hold the actions of the police officers at question constitutional . Justice Breyer wrote the majority opinion which upheld the search . Due to the specific circumstances of the case , the police needed to prevent the investigation scene from being contaminated . Breyer wrote that the Court found no case in which we have held unlawful a temporary seizure that was supported by probable cause and was designed to prevent the loss of evidence while the police diligently obtained a warrant in a reasonable period of time . Moreover , McArthur 's argument that his decision to remain on his porch and not allow the police entry did not amount to a constructive eviction . Instead , Breyer noted that the Court found in a prior case that the doorway of a house is in a ' public place ' and thus not subject to warrant rules . He noted in conclusion that the hard to contest fact of probable cause made it difficult to accept McArthur 's claims . Souter 's concurrence Justice Souter joined Breyer 's opinion in all respects but wrote separately to condition his support on the belief that the search was appropriate only because of the immediate danger that the evidence could have been destroyed . Only in this unique instance could the warrant requirement be waived . Stevens ' dissent Justice Stevens wrote a brief dissenting opinion arguing that the case should have been dismissed because the Illinois legislature has largely reduced penalties for marijuana possession , which made it ridiculous for the officers to rush to get a warrant . He said that even if he reached the merits of the question , he would affirm and hold the search unconstitutional because the majority misapplied a balancing of privacy related and law enforcement related concerns . He wanted to give broader protection to the idea of the home as a place for protection , even if the home in this case was a trailer .
|
452 | Wulfhelm ( died 941 ) was Bishop of Wells before being promoted to the Archbishopric of Canterbury about 926 . Nothing is known about his time at Wells , but as archbishop he helped codify royal law codes and gave lands to monasteries . He went to Rome soon after his selection as archbishop . Two religious books that he gave to his cathedral are still extant . Biography Wulfhelm was elected and consecrated Bishop of Wells between 923 and September 925 . Nothing else is known about his time at Wells . Wulfhelm was translated from the Bishopric of Wells to be Archbishop of Canterbury in about 926 . While he was archbishop , he was a frequent attendee of the royal court , and King thelstan of England says in his law code that Wulfhelm was consulted on the drafting of the laws . Wulfhelm also advised the king on the Ordinance on Charities issued by thelstan . One of the surviving manuscripts of thelstan 's laws has an epilogue that stated that the law was declared and decided at a synod held at Grately where Wulfhelm was present . From other parts of the laws issued by the king , it appears that Wulfhelm also presided at a council held at Thunderfield , at which the reeves of London pledged to keep the king 's peace . The implication of the various accounts of the laws of thelstan is that Wulfhelm was highly involved in royal efforts to improve the law code . Wulfhelm also went to Rome to receive his pallium in person from Pope John X. Why he chose to go to Rome in person for his pallium rather than having it sent to him like most of his predecessors is unknown . One suggestion has been that because he had been translated from another see , Wulfhelm felt the need to have papal approval of his translation made explicit . Given the low status of the papacy at the time , it is unlikely that the impetus for the change in tradition came from the pope . Wulfhelm died while archbishop on 12 February 941 . During his time as archbishop , he received as gifts two gospels that are still extant , as Wulfhelm donated them to Christ Church . One of the gospels was produced in Ireland , the other either in Lotharingia or Germany . The second gospel may originally have been a gift to thelstan during the negotiations over the marriage of thelstan 's sister Edith to the future Emperor Otto I. These diplomatic events probably explain the appearance of Wulfhelm 's name in the confraternity books of some German monasteries . He may also have given land to the church , although the record is a bit unclear as to exactly what was given . Another grant of land was of land at unk , Wiltshire to Glastonbury Abbey while he was archbishop . Wulfhelm was buried at Canterbury . He was buried at first the church of St John the Baptist near the Saxon era Canterbury Cathedral . When a new cathedral was constructed under Archbishop Lanfranc after the Norman Conquest of England , the earlier archbishops of Canterbury were moved to the north transept of the new cathedral . Later , Wulfhelm and his predecessor as bishop and archbishop Athelm were moved to a chapel dedicated to St Benedict , which later was incorporated into the Lady Chapel constructed by Prior Thomas Goldstone ( d . 1468 ) .
|
453 | Maryland Route 285 ( MD 285 ) is a state highway in the U.S. state of Maryland . The state highway runs 2 . 43 miles ( 3 . 91 km ) from MD 213 east to the Delaware state line within Chesapeake City . MD 285 roughly parallels the north side of the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal in southern Cecil County . The state highway was paved along Biddle Street from Lock Street , then part of U.S. Route 213 ( now MD 213 ) , east to the state line around 1930 . When US 213 was moved to the Chesapeake City Bridge in the late 1940s , MD 285 was extended along Lock Street to reconnect with US 213 . Route description MD 285 begins at an intersection with MD 213 ( Augustine Herman Highway ) just north of the Chesapeake City Bridge . The state highway , which heads east as two lane Lock Street , curves to the south at the intersection with county maintained Hemphill Street . At the intersection with MD 284 ( Hemphill Street ) , MD 285 curves to the southwest , following Lock Street into the town of Chesapeake City to its intersection with Biddle Street . MD 285 turns east onto Biddle Street while a stub of Lock Street continues south to the edge of the canal as unsigned MD 537B . The state highway passes through a residential section of the north side of the town , meeting the other end of MD 284 . MD 285 runs through an S curve before leaving the town limits . The state highway passes through a mix of farmland and scattered residences as it parallels the north side of the canal . At Knights Corner Road , MD 285 curves northeast away from the canal to its eastern terminus at the Delaware state line . The roadway continues east as Chesapeake City Road , which heads to an intersection with Delaware Route 71 ( DE 71 ) . History MD 285 was constructed in three sections . The portion of Lock Street between county maintained Hemphill Street and the northern junction with MD 284 was part of the original Cecilton Elkton highway passing through Chesapeake City that was designated for improvement by the Maryland State Roads Commission in 1909 . This segment of state road was paved in 1914 . Following the expansion and straightening of the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal in the 1920s , the portion of Lock Street from the northern junction with MD 284 to Biddle Street was constructed as the approach to a vertical lift bridge constructed by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers , connecting Lock Street on the north side with George Street on the south side of the town in 1926 . This new alignment became part of US 213 when the federal highway was marked through southern Cecil County around 1927 . Biddle Street was paved from US 213 to the Delaware state line and designated MD 285 around 1930 . The vertical lift bridge used by US 213 to cross the canal was destroyed by the tanker Franz Klasen on July 28 , 1942 . A ferry was established to carry traffic across the canal until the completion of a new bridge . The Chesapeake City Bridge was completed in 1948 along with new approach roads US 213 was moved to the new bridge and approach roads and MD 285 was extended north on Lock Street to its present western terminus at US 213 . Junction list The entire route is in Cecil County .
|
454 | Alan Moore ( 1 August 1914 24 September 2015 ) was an Australian war artist during World War II . He is best known for his images of the Bergen Belsen concentration camp . Early life Moore was born in Melbourne in 1914 . He began life drawing art classes at age 16 , but was forbidden by his father from continuing because the subjects were nude . He took up his studies again when he turned 18 , at the National Gallery of Victoria Art School , this time completing his studies to obtain a degree . He also studied under J.S. Watkins in Sydney . He won several art and drawing prizes in Melbourne , including the Grace Joel scholarship prize in 1942 for a nude painting . On 14 July 1939 Moore married this first wife , Maria . Career During the war Moore enlisted in the Royal Australian Air Force ( RAAF ) in 1942 , where he was tasked with drawing airplane diagrams . A problem with one leg prevented him from being aircrew . In late 1943 , following recommendations from artists William Dargie and Harold Herbert , he was commissioned as an official war artist attached to the army , and given the rank of lieutenant . Moore 's first deployment as an artist was with the RAAF in Papua New Guinea in early 1944 . His earlier watercolour paintings , made in Milne Bay and Goodenough Island , were destroyed by wet weather and humidity he subsequently changed to working with oils , which were more suitable for the tropical environment . During his time in Papua New Guinea he flew in several bombing raids to make sketches from the air . Towards the end of World War II , he recorded war scenes from Papua New Guinea , the Middle East , Italy , England and Germany . In 1945 Moore accompanied the British 11th Armoured Division when they liberated the Bergen Belsen concentration camp in Germany . He spent three days sketching and painting the state of the camp , its prisoners and their captors , including Fritz Klein . It was suggested by one soldier that nobody would believe the portrayals , prompting Moore to also photograph the scenes as proof . After the war After the war , Moore returned to Melbourne , where he painted images from his Belsen sketches and photographs . They were exhibited commercially , but failed to sell . The Australian War Memorial initially rejected the material because it did not depict Australian soldiers however it accepted them in 1969 when they were donated by Moore . In 2013 14 the Belsen images formed the basis of a year long exhibition at the Australian War Memorial in Canberra , which Moore himself visited at the invitation of the Memorial . The War Memorial also commissioned Moore to paint several large portraits , including of Generals Douglas MacArthur and Arthur Samuel Allen . As of 2015 the War Memorial holds more than 200 of his works . After the war Moore spent some years in Europe . He taught painting at Swinburne Technical College from c . 1963 . Later life Moore continued to paint at his studio in Avoca until he was 95 , stopped by arthritis and failing vision . At about the same time he moved into a nursing home in Avoca . He died on 24 September 2015 , survived by his third wife , Alison .
|
455 | Sing Like Me is a song by American recording artist Chris Brown . It was released as a promotional single from his third studio album , Graffiti , on November 24 , 2009 in the United States . The number was written by Brown , Big Makk , Keith Thomas , Lorenza Big Lo Lennon and unk Towns , and produced by Makk , Thomas and Lennon . A pop and R B ballad , the song contains lyrics about Brown leaving a nightclub with several women . Sing Like Me received mixed response from critics , and charted for two weeks on the US Hot R B Hip Hop Songs in 2010 , peaking at number eighty four . Background and composition Sing Like Me was written by Chris Brown , Big Makk , Keith Thomas , unk Lorenza Big Lo Lennon , with Makk , Thomas and Lennon producing the track . It was recorded at The Compound a recording studio in Orlando , Florida and Tony Maserati mixed the tune at The Record Plant a studio in Los Angeles , California . The cover art of the song 's promotional release is styled similarly to the cover of Graffiti . It has a retro look , showing Brown wearing black clothes and a red cardigan and sunglasses . Sing Like Me was released by Jive Records and RCA Records via the United States iTunes Store on November 24 , 2009 . Sing Like Me is a slow jam pop and R B ballad , featuring 808 drum beats and a string arrangement featuring Asian influences . Billboard 's Sarah MacRory likened the tune 's beat to R. Kelly 's Feelin ' on Yo Booty ( 2001 ) . Lyrically , the track is about Brown leaving a nightclub with several women , none of whom Brown wants to marry . The song 's chorus features the hook I gotta girl singin ' like me . Yahoo Music 's reviewer said that the song has lyrics where Brown boasts about the girls who can 't get enough of him , and described the lyrics as Brown raving about his celebrity status and his skills with women . A writer for Rap Up wrote that on the song Brown make s the ladies sing his praises . Reception Sing Like Me was noted as one of the best tracks on Graffiti by a Yahoo Music critic . That Grape Juice 's review called the song ridiculously catchy , and appreciated the subtlety with which Brown gave the lyrics , comparing the technique to Janet Jackson . The Associated Press described it as cocky but alluring . Time Out New York 's reviewer disliked the fact that Sing Like Me and Crawl were placed adjacently on Graffiti , but called both tunes otherwise strong songs . The Boston Globe 's Sarah Rodman called the song skeevy , and compared it to the sex stuff and braggadocio of R. Kelly . Melinda Newman of HitFix noted its lack of creativity , while Nathan S. from the DJ Booth wrote that there is nothing particularly unk e about Sing Like Me and Graffiti 's lead single , I Can Transform Ya . Roxana unk of Express Night Out was unimpressed with the selfish adult lyrics on Sing Like Me . While it was not officially sent to radio , Sing Like Me entered the Billboard Hot R B Hip Hop Songs at number ninety six on March 6 , 2010 . The next week it rose to its peak position of number eighty four , before falling off the chart the following week . Personnel Source
|
456 | H 63 is a county designated highway ( CDH ) in the Upper Peninsula of the US state of Michigan . The highway parallels the Interstate 75 ( I 75 ) corridor between St. Ignace and Sault Ste . Marie . The road is called Mackinac Trail after the Upper Peninsula branch of an Indian trail used before European settlers reached the area . Originally , the roadway was built as a section of US Highway 2 ( US 2 ) before being added to the CDH system in the 1970s . H 63 serves as a two lane alternative to the I 75 freeway across the eastern end of the Upper Peninsula . Between the northern side of St. Ignace , the roadway has connections to two state highways before running concurrently with M 48 near Rudyard . H 63 ends on the south side of Sault Ste . Marie . Route description H 63 starts a winding trail at Business Loop I 75 ( BL I 75 ) north of St. Ignace in rural Mackinac County . From there , the highway heads northward towards the unk Casino . The road then passes within viewing distance of I 75 past the Horseshoe Bay Wilderness . As it continues , H 63 has a connection to the southern terminus of M 123 with access to I 75 via a connecting road to M 123 . After crossing to the west side of I 75 , H 63 has access to I 75 via a connecting road to the western terminus of M 134 . The CDH runs to the north and into Chippewa County . As it does so , H 63 turns away from I 75 as the latter curves northeastward . South of Rudyard and into center of the community , H 63 runs concurrently with M 48 for about three miles ( 4 . 8 km ) . From Rudyard northward , H 63 turns northeasterly toward , and runs parallel to , I 75 . At Kinross , there is an interchange between I 75 and M 80 H 63 has a brief concurrency with M 80 so that the latter can connect to all of the ramps in the interchange . The trail then crosses to the eastern side of I 75 . Near Dafter , the CDH intersects M 28 . Along this section , H 63 is roughly a half mile ( 0 . 8 km ) away from the I 75 freeway at any given point as it continues northward to the Sault Ste . Marie area . H 63 terminates at its intersection with Business Spur I 75 ( BS I 75 ) on the south side of the city . History The first transportation route in the area was the Mackinac Trail , used by Native Americans before the Europeans arrived in the area the trail in the area was the Upper Peninsula branch of a longer route that also connected the modern day Saginaw with Mackinaw City and the Straits of Mackinac . Until 1933 , no roadway was built along the path of the Indian trail . After that year , US 2 was rerouted between St. Ignace and Sault Ste . Marie using the modern routing of H 63 . This placed the Mackinac Trail on the state trunkline highway system for the first time . In 1962 and 1963 , the state transferred the highway to county control when US 2 was rerouted to follow the completed I 75 freeway . With the transfer to local control , Mackinac Trail became a county road . Later , it was given the H 63 designation after October 5 , 1970 as part of the County Designated Highway System . The designation on the 1971 state map follows the routing used today . Major intersections
|
457 | A Floorless Coaster is a type of steel roller coaster manufactured by Bolliger Mabillard where riders sit with no floor underneath them allowing their feet to swing freely just above the track . Development of the Floorless Coaster began between 1995 and 1996 with Medusa ( now known as Bizarro ) at Six Flags Great Adventure opening on April 2 , 1999 , making it the world 's first Floorless Coaster . Floorless Coasters also tend to have 3 to 7 inversions incorporated in the layout of the coaster . Recently , Bolliger Mabillard have used floorless trains on their Dive Coasters , such as Griffon and SheiKra . Though they contain floorless trains , the coasters are still not considered Floorless Coasters as B M classifies them as another model . Also , Maurer Shne have designed their own version of the Floorless Coaster , a variant of their X Car called X Car Floorless , but currently do not have any installations . History According to Walter Bolliger , development of the Floorless Coaster began between 1995 and 1996 . In 1999 , the world 's first Floorless Coaster opened at Six Flags Great Adventure as Medusa . In 2009 , the coaster was renamed Bizarro and re themed . After the success of Bolliger Mabillard 's prototype Floorless Coaster , SeaWorld , Cedar Fair , Six Flags , and independent parks , unk unk , Parque Warner Madrid , Tivoli Gardens , and Ocean Park Hong Kong have built other coasters of this model at their parks . There are currently 14 Floorless Coasters in operation with Dominator being the only one relocated to another park . Design The design of a Floorless Coaster has one main difference from traditional steel roller coasters around the world it has no floors between the seats . While a train is in the station , a floor is used only for loading and unloading purposes . Because the front row has nothing in front of it to stop riders from walking over the edge of the station , a gate is placed in front of the train to prevent this from happening . Once all the over the shoulder restraints are locked , the floor separates into several pieces and moves underneath the station . The gate then opens , allowing the train to move forward . When the train returns to the station , the floor is brought back up and the gate is closed as the next riders board the roller coaster . Aside from the station , a Floorless Coaster has several inversions similar to B M 's Sitting Coaster 's . Installations Bolliger Mabillard has built thirteen Floorless Coasters with an additional roller coaster converted from a Stand up Coaster . The roller coasters are listed in order of opening dates . Converted from a Stand up Coaster to a Floorless Coaster . Note Although some Dive Coasters ( such as SheiKra and Griffon ) feature floorless trains , they are not considered Floorless Coasters . Similar rides Maurer Shne , a German roller coaster and steel manufacturer , has developed their own version of the Floorless Coaster called the X Car Floorless . The car is the same as the original X Car with the only difference being that there is no floor during the ride . As of 2012 , no X Car Floorless roller coasters have been manufactured .
|
458 | Mississippi Highway 172 ( MS 172 ) is a state highway located in Tishomingo County , Mississippi . The route runs 12 . 074 mi ( 19 . 431 km ) from U.S. Route 72 ( US 72 ) near Burnsville east to US 72 near Oldham , just west of the Alabama border . The route is a two lane undivided road its entire length and runs mostly through wooded areas . It also passes through the town of Iuka , where it has an intersection with MS 25 . What is now MS 172 was originally designated as part of the Lee Highway auto trail in 1920 before becoming part of US 72 when the U.S. Highway System was created in 1926 . The route was briefly US 78 before being redesignated US 72 by 1932 . The route was fully paved by the end of the 1930s and served as a part of US 72 until 1986 , when a new divided highway was built to the south . By 1998 , the former routing of US 72 was designated MS 172 . Route description MS 172 begins at an intersection with US 72 near Burnsville in the western part of Tishomingo County . The route heads to the north of US 72 as a two lane undivided road before soon turning east southeast at an intersection with County Road 982 . From this point , the road heads through woodland with some farm fields and homes . Several miles later , the route turns more east and the surroundings become more developed as it becomes Quitman Street and reaches an intersection with MS 25 on the western edge of Iuka . Past MS 25 , MS 172 passes several businesses in Iuka as it comes to the MS 25 Business junction . The route continues east through wooded residential neighborhoods prior to making a turn to the southeast . MS 172 leaves Iuka and heads back into forests as an unnamed road , running a short distance to the southwest of a Norfolk Southern railroad line . Further southeast , the route draws closer to US 72 and curves to the east , passing a few fields . MS 172 makes a sharp turn south away from the railroad tracks and comes to its eastern terminus at US 72 immediately west of the Alabama border near Oldham . MS 172 is legally defined in Mississippi Code 65 3 3 . History What is now MS 172 was originally designated as a part of the Lee Highway , an auto trail that connected Washington , D.C. with San Diego , in 1920 . With the establishment of the U.S. Highway System in 1926 , this route was initially designated as part of US 72 , a U.S. route that was to run from Memphis , Tennessee east to Chattanooga , Tennessee . However , the route was instead designated as part of US 78 by 1928 , at which time it was a gravel road . By 1932 , US 72 and US 78 switched routes in Mississippi , with the present day alignment of MS 172 again becoming part of US 72 as initially planned in 1926 . In 1935 , the road was paved to the east of Iuka . The paved portion was extended slightly west of Iuka in 1936 and further west by 1938 . By 1939 , the section of US 72 that would be redesignated as MS 172 was fully paved . In 1986 , US 72 was moved to a new divided highway alignment to the south through Tishomingo County . By 1998 , MS 172 was marked on the former two lane alignment of US 72 in Tishomingo County . Major intersections The entire route is in Tishomingo County .
|
459 | sthorn ( until 1939 Korsvoll ) is a station on the Sognsvann Line ( line 6 ) of the Oslo Metro in Norway . It is located 7 . 1 kilometres ( 4 . 4 mi ) from Stortinget station between Tsen and Holstein stations . As one of the original stations on the line , sthorn was opened on 10 October 1934 . Nordberg was formerly the next northbound station , but it was closed in 1992 , when the Sognsvann Line was upgraded to metro standard . sthorn is located near a hill named Havnabakken , where local residents toboggan at winter 's time . History Korsvoll station opened on 10 October 1930 , when Akersbanerne had finished the unk Line from Majorstuen to Sognsvann station . The line was double tracked from Majorstuen to Korsvoll , and single tracked from there to Sognsvann . In 1939 , the section Korsvoll Sognsvann was upgraded to double tracks , and the station Korsvoll had its name changed to sthorn . The name sthorn owes its origins to a crag by the same name that was demolished during the construction of the Sognsvann Line . The station is now positioned inside the remains of the crag , with metal nest put up to prevent any crumbling of the surrounding crag . sthorn was part of Holmenkolbanen 's operating network until 1975 , when the municipality of Oslo bought all the company 's stock . In 1993 , the stations on the Sognsvann Line were upgraded to metro standard , which involves a heightening and lengthening of the platforms , and installation of third rail power supply and a new signaling system . During the upgrade , Tsen station was moved 150 metres ( 490 ft ) further north , and Nordberg station was closed . Many local residents opposed the new station upgrades , arguing that Nordberg had served the area well with its close connection to the elderly center unk . Many wanted to rather close sthorn or Holstein than Nordberg , since the latter was the most used station in the area . Oslo Sporveier stated that the access roads to Nordberg were very steep and dangerous , and referred to a case in the 1950s where some local youth had been tobogganing over the rail intersection at Nordberg , and hit a truck near the station . They also argued that the 200 metres ( 660 ft ) distance between Nordberg and Holstein was too close for having two stations , and promised to build a walkway from Nordberg to Holstein . Service sthorn is served by the line 3 on the Sognsvann Line , operated by Oslo T banedrift on contract with Ruter . The rapid transit serves the station every 15 minutes , except in the late evening and on weekend mornings , when there is a 30 minute headway . Travel time along the 7 . 1 kilometre ( 4 . 4 mi ) portion to Stortinget in the city center is 13 minutes . The station provides correspondence to the bus lines 22 and 25 on the top of Havnabakken , a five minute walk away . Facilities sthorn has two platforms , each with a wooden shed . The sheds are designed by Arne Henriksen in a minimalist and standardised style with constructions of wood and steel . sthorn serves the residential areas Korsvoll and Nordberg . The station is located at the bottom of a small hill named Havnabakken , where local residents toboggan at winter 's time .
|
460 | The Reina Victoria Eugenia class was a class of three battleships of the Spanish Navy authorized as the Plan de la Segunda Escuadra under the Navy Law of 1913 . The class , as well as the lead ship , were named for King Alfonso XIII 's English queen consort , Victoria Eugenie of Battenberg . The other two ships were classified as B and C . It was supposed to be designed by Vickers Armstrongs , and built by John Brown . The ships were never built due to Britain 's involvement in World War I , which halted all foreign projects being constructed in British yards . Background Following disastrous losses in the Spanish American War of 1898 , Spain lacked the money to rebuild its navy , so it was not until the Navy Law of 7 January 1908 that a new program authorizing three new battleships , the Espaa class ( Espaa , Alfonso XIII , and Jaime I ) , along with other ships , was passed . The delay enabled Spain to take advantage of experience gained by Britain with the world 's first commissioned dreadnought , HMS Dreadnought , and by the United States with its first dreadnought , USS South Carolina . As Spain was incapable of building the Espaa class herself due to a lack of resources , Armstrongs were contracted for the design and John Brown for the construction of the shipyard and ships themselves . A second Navy Law was passed in 1912 named the Plan de la Segunda Escuadra ( Second Squadron Plan ) . It called for , among several other ships , three dreadnoughts to supplement the Espaa class . These dreadnoughts were named the Reina Victoria Eugenia class . They were to be in laid down in 1914 and 1915 and completed around 1920 . Design history The class consisted of three ships , Reina Victoria Eugenia , the lead ship , and two others named B and C. The lead ship was named after King Alfonso 's English wife . They were designed by Vickers Armstrongs and were planned to displace 21 , 000 long tons ( 21 , 000 t ) with a speed of 21 knots ( 39 km h 24 mph ) . Early plans for the type called for an armament of four twin 15 inch ( 380 mm ) guns however , financial difficulties resulted in the selection of an armament of four twin 13 . 5 inch ( 340 mm ) guns instead , which still would have had a longer range than most contemporary ships . The secondary armament would have been 20 6 inch ( 150 mm ) guns . Other specifications of the ships were never decided upon , although it is probable that they would have resembled contemporary British ships , with two closely spaced funnels along with super imposed turrets fore and aft . As with the Espaa class battleships , significant technical assistance from Britain would have been required . The outbreak of the First World War led to both the delay of the Espaa class and the cancellation of the Reina Victoria Eugenia project . Since Spain did not sign the Washington Naval Treaty , whose signatories were forced to limit their ships to no more than 35 , 000 tons , the class was available for future Spanish governments to construct , either as a main ship or as support to other planned designs , like a possible Littorio class battleship or a ship based on the Gneisenau . However , the class was never constructed .
|
461 | The 62nd Boat Race took place on 1 April 1905 . Held annually , the Boat Race is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions having won the previous year 's race . In this year 's race , umpired by former rower Frederick I. Pitman , Oxford won by three lengths in a time of 20 minutes 35 seconds . The victory took the overall record to 34 27 in their favour . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities it is followed throughout the United Kingdom and , as of 2015 , broadcast worldwide . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions , having won the 1904 race by four and a half lengths , while Oxford led overall with 33 victories to Cambridge 's 27 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . Cambridge were coached by John Edwards Moss who had rowed in the 1902 and 1903 races , Francis Escombe and David Alexander Wauchope ( who had rowed in the 1895 race ) . Oxford 's coaches were William Fletcher , who rowed for them in the 1890 , 1891 , 1892 and 1893 races and C. K. Philips who had represented the Dark Blues four times between 1895 and 1898 . The umpire for the third year was old Etonian and former Cambridge rower Frederick I. Pitman who rowed in the 1884 , 1885 and 1886 races . Crews The Cambridge crew weighed an average of 12 st 0 lb ( 76 . 0 kg ) , 1 . 375 pounds ( 0 . 6 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . Oxford 's crew contained five rowers with Boat Race experience , including A. K. Graham who was rowing in his third consecutive race . Cambridge saw four rowers return to their crew , including P. H. Thomas who was making his fourth appearance in the event . All of the participants in the race were registered as British . According to former Oxford rower and author George Drinkwater , the Dark Blues , while they had no great difficulties in training ... never got really together or attained any great place . Conversely , the Cambridge crew suffered many misfortunes . Old Etonian W. P. Wormald was forbidden from joining the crew by doctors , his replacement Stanley Bruce had to stand down soon after the Light Blues arrived at Putney , and he was replaced by novice P. H. Thomas who was unfit having recently returned from Africa . Race Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey side of the river to Oxford . The race started at 11 30 a.m. under the command of umpire Pitman , and the Dark Blues took the lead . According to Drinkwater , they had the race well in hand at the Mile and won as they liked it . Oxford won by three lengths in a time of 20 minutes 35 seconds . It was their first victory in four years and the narrowest winning margin since the 1901 race .
|
462 | Scott S. Bacigalupo is a former lacrosse goaltender . He was a high school All American , four time collegiate United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association ( USILA ) All American , three time National Collegiate Athletic Association ( NCAA ) goaltender of the year , two time NCAA tournament outstanding player and a national player of the year . Scott Bacigalupo starred as a member of the Princeton Tigers men 's lacrosse team from 1991 through 1994 where he helped them win their first two NCAA Men 's Lacrosse Championships and was inducted into the Lacrosse Museum and National Hall of Fame on October 30 , 2010 . Scott was selected to the NCAA Lacrosse Silver Anniversary team in 1995 . He was a four time All Ivy League ( three times first team ) selection . In his four year college career , Princeton won its first two NCAA tournament Championships , two Ivy League Championships and earned four NCAA Men 's Lacrosse Championship tournament invitations . Background Scott Bacigalupo was a high school All American at St. Paul 's of unk , Maryland . College career Bacigalupo started all 60 of Princeton 's games during his career from 1991 to 1994 . During those four years , Princeton posted a 52 8 record , including a 7 2 record in four NCAA tournament appearances . On five different occasions he recorded 15 or more saves in a NCAA Division I Men 's Lacrosse Championship tournament game , and the Tigers won the NCAA Division I Men 's Lacrosse Championship in both 1992 and 1994 . The 1992 and 1993 teams were undefeated 6 0 outright Ivy League champions . Bacigalupo will be inducted into the Lacrosse Museum and National Hall of Fame on October 30 , 2010 . He is a three time winner of the Ensign C. Markland Kelly , Jr . Award ( 1992 , 1993 , 1994 ) as the NCAA 's best goaltender and a former Lt. Raymond unk Award winner ( 1994 ) as the NCAA Division I lacrosse player of the year . He was a first team USILA All American Team selection in 1992 , 1993 , and 1994 and a second team selection in 1991 . In addition , he was a 1994 USILA Scholar All American . He was first team all Ivy League in 1991 , 1992 and 1993 and a second team selection in 1994 . His 732 career saves are 122 more than any other Princeton goaltender . Lacrosse Magazine named him to its All Century team and he participated in the 1994 North South All Star Game . During the 1992 NCAA Division I Men 's Lacrosse Championship game against Syracuse , Bacigalupo allowed Syracuse to tie the score when he lost a ball near his own goal , but he made a key save in the first overtime . The Tigers eventually won their first NCAA championship in the second overtime , and Bacigalupo was selected as the most outstanding player of the tournament . Bacigalupo also performed well in the 1993 NCAA Division I Men 's Lacrosse Championships and was again the most outstanding player during the 1994 NCAA Division I Men 's Lacrosse Championship tournament when the Tigers won the championship for a second time . Professional career After college , he took a Wall Street job with Merrill Lynch . Bacigalupo has not played professionally in either the National Lacrosse League or Major League Lacrosse .
|
463 | The Puncheon Run Connector is an unnumbered four lane freeway in Dover , Delaware . It is named after Puncheon Run , a stream it follows . It provides a connection between U.S. Route 13 ( US 13 ) and the northbound direction of the Delaware Route 1 ( DE 1 ) toll road , with an intermediate interchange at Bay Road . The road is part of the National Highway System and serves as part of a north south route for traffic crossing the Delmarva Peninsula . Planning for the Puncheon Run Connector began in the 1980s and originally included a freeway upgrade for US 13 south to Woodside . The connector was scaled back to its current routing in 1992 . The freeway was built between 1998 and 2000 at a cost of 25 million . Route description The Puncheon Run Connector begins at an at grade intersection with US 13 in Dover , heading to the northeast as a four lane freeway . After passing over State Street , the freeway curves to the east and passes between woods to the south and residential and commercial development to the north . The road crosses over the marshy St. Jones River and continues east northeast , passing between a residential neighborhood to the south and the Delaware Department of Transportation ( DelDOT ) headquarters to the north before coming to an eastbound exit and westbound entrance at Bay Road . Immediately after the Bay Road interchange , the Puncheon Run Connector merges into northbound DE 1 a short distance to the north of Dover Air Force Base . The Puncheon Run Connector has an annual average daily traffic count of 13 , 406 vehicles . The entire length of the Puncheon Run Connector is part of the National Highway System . History Planning for the Puncheon Run Connector dates back to the 1980s , when a Relief Route was proposed for US 13 between Dover and Wilmington . In 1987 , plans called for the Puncheon Run Connector to be built along its current alignment between US 13 and DE 1 , with an intermediate interchange at US 113 ( Bay Road ) , in addition to US 13 being upgraded to a freeway south to Woodside , with interchanges at Webbs Lane in Dover and DE 10 in Camden . In 1992 , DelDOT held a meeting to discuss proposals for the road , including a possible Far West By Pass Connector through the western part of Dover . The city of Dover initially opposed the Puncheon Run Connector and favored the Far West By Pass Connector as the latter would ease traffic congestion caused by development in the western part of the city . Plans for the connector were modified in 1992 to not include the upgrade of US 13 to a freeway between Woodside and Dover . Prior to the construction of the Puncheon Run Connector , a site along Puncheon Run had to be excavated by DelDOT and Louis Berger Associates as it consisted of Native American artifacts from prehistoric times . The excavation of the site lasted from October 1997 to September 1998 . Construction on the road began in October 1998 . The Puncheon Run Connector was completed and opened to traffic in a ribbon cutting ceremony on December 19 , 2000 . The road was constructed by David A. Bramble , Inc. and G.A. F.C. Wagman , Inc. at a cost of 25 million . Exit list The entire route is in Kent County .
|
464 | HD 40307 is an orange ( K type ) main sequence star located approximately 42 light years away in the constellation of Pictor ( the Easel ) , taking its primary name from its Henry Draper Catalogue designation . It is calculated to be slightly less massive than the Sun . HD 40307 was observed during or before 1900 as part of the Cape Photographic Durchmusterung . The star has six known planets , three discovered in 2008 and three more in 2012 . One of them , HD 40307 g , is a potential super Earth in the habitable zone , with an orbital period of about 200 days . This object might be capable of supporting liquid water on its surface , although much more information must be acquired before its habitability can be assessed . History and nomenclature The designation HD 40307 is from the Henry Draper Catalogue , which is based on spectral classifications made between 1911 and 1915 by Annie Jump Cannon and her co workers , and was published between 1918 and 1924 . Characteristics As a K type star , HD 40307 emits orange tinted light . It has only about three quarters of the Sun 's radius and mass . Its temperature is measured at slightly under 5000 K. This is relatively high for a K type star , approaching the temperatures normally found in G type stars such as the Sun . The astronomers who discovered the planets orbiting HD 40307 suggested that the metallicities of stars determine whether or not the planetary bodies that orbit them will be terrestrial , like Earth , or gaseous , like Jupiter and Saturn . Distance and visibility Despite its relative proximity to the Sun at 42 light years , HD 40307 is not visible to the naked eye , given its apparent magnitude of 7 . 17 . It came within 6 . 4 light years of the Sun about 413 , 000 years ago . Planetary system After spending five years observing the star , the European Organisation for Astronomical Research in the Southern Hemisphere ( ESO ) announced that they had discovered three super Earths in orbit around HD 40307 in June 2008 . All three planets were detected by the radial velocity method , using the HARPS spectrograph system . In 2012 , an independent analysis carried out by a team of astronomers led by Mikko unk of the University of Hertfordshire confirmed the existence of these planets and found an additional three planets in the systems . Five of the planets orbit very close to the star , with the farthest of them located twice as close to HD 40307 than is the planet Mercury is to the Sun . The outermost planet orbits at a distance similar to the distance of Venus to the Sun and is situated well in the system 's liquid water habitable zone . The minimum masses of the planets in the system ranges from three to ten times the mass of the Earth , placing them somewhere between Earth and gas giants like Uranus and Neptune . Dynamical analysis of the innermost planets suggests that planet b is unstable at its age unless it is an ice giant , having migrated from further away . That implies similar for the other planets , even further out . The most recent discovery also indicates via dynamical analysis that the true planetary masses can not be much higher than their minimum masses .
|
465 | Gibraltar competed at the 2011 Commonwealth Youth Games ( officially known as the IV Commonwealth Youth Games ) held in the Isle of Man from 7 to 13 September 2011 . This was their second appearance in the Commonwealth Youth Games . The British Overseas Territory of Gibraltar was represented by the Commonwealth Games Association of Gibraltar , which is responsible for the Commonwealth Games and Commonwealth Youth Games in Gibraltar . The Association selected a delegation of five male competitors , who participated in eleven events of three different sports . None of the athletes won any medals . Jerai Torres reached to the semifinal of 200 m sprint , in which he finished last . Two other athletics competitors , Sean Collado and Karl Baldachino , failed to advance past the preliminary stages of their respective events . Cyclist Frank Warwick ranked 35th in the time trial event and 37th in the road race event . James Sanderson participated in five different events of swimming two of butterfly and three of freestyle he failed to reach in the final of any of five . Background Gibraltar made its first appearance at the Commonwealth Games in 1954 in Vancouver , British Columbia , Canada . The country has participated in every edition of the Games since then . The Commonwealth Games Association of Gibraltar is responsible for the Commonwealth and Commonwealth Youth Games in Gibraltar . Gibraltar did not send any representative for the first two editions of the Commonwealth Youth Games in Edinburgh ( 2000 ) and Bendigo ( 2004 ) . A delegation of seven athletes from Gibraltar participated in the 2008 Commonwealth Youth Games in Pune . None of the seven athletes won any medal . Gibraltar was one of the 63 nations that participated in the 2011 Commonwealth Youth Games held in the British Crown Dependency of Isle of Man from 7 to 13 September 2011 , making its second Commonwealth Youth Games appearance . Commonwealth Games Association of Gibraltar selected a delegation of five competitors . The delegation had only male athletes and they participated in the eleven different events of athletics , cycling and swimming . Athletics In athletics , Commonwealth Games Association of Gibraltar entered three competitors Sean Collado , Jerai Torres and Karl Baldachino . All three athletes competed in two events ( 200 m and 400 m sprint races ) . Jerai Torres , who participated in both events , reached to the semifinal of 200 m . He took a time of 23 . 25 seconds to finish the race and ranked last in his semifinal heat , which was not sufficient to qualify him for the final . Sean Collado and Karl Baldachino both were eliminated in their respective heats . Q Qualified for the next round Cycling Frank Warwick was the only cyclist in the delegation of Gibraltar . He competed in both the events of cycling time trial and road race . He did not medal in any of the two events . Swimming James Sanderson represented Gibraltar in five different events of the swimming 50 m butterfly , 200 m freestyle , 100 m freestyle , 100 m butterfly and 50 m freestyle . His best performance came in 50 m butterfly in which he finished at twelfth place in the final standings of the heat round .
|
466 | New York State Route 268 ( NY 268 ) is a state highway located in southwestern Delaware County , New York , in the United States . It runs from NY 97 in Hancock north over 10 miles ( 16 km ) to a bridge over Cannonsville Reservoir near the former site of the hamlet of Rock Rift in Tompkins . There , it ends at a junction with NY 10 . NY 268 meets the Quickway ( NY 17 ) east of the Hancock village limits . From Hancock to the NY 17 interchange , NY 268 follows the pre Quickway routing of NY 17 . Between NY 17 and NY 10 , the route follows the former alignment of New York State Route 236 , a connector between then NY 17 and NY 10 that existed during the 1930s . In the floods of 2006 some of the areas along this rural highway suffered serious landslides , leading to a temporary closure of the road . Route description NY 268 begins at an intersection with NY 97 in eastern Hancock . The route heads northeast , paralleling the Quickway ( NY 17 ) and following the east branch of the Delaware River 's northern bank through the town of Hancock toward the hamlet of Cadosia . South of the hamlet , NY 268 connects to NY 17 at exit 87A however , there is no access between NY 268 and westbound NY 17 . Just past the exit , NY 268 leaves the pre Quickway routing of NY 17 and follows Cadosia Creek north through a large valley into Cadosia . Past Cadosia , NY 268 proceeds through a heavily rural area of Delaware County . Upon entering the town of Tompkins , the route passes through Kerry Siding , a small community composed of less than a dozen structures . Farther north , Cadosia Creek reaches its source 2 miles ( 3 . 2 km ) from the town line and midway between Kerry Siding and Apex , another small hamlet situated on the route . NY 268 continues past Apex to the eastern portion of the Cannonsville Reservoir , which it crosses by way of a 184 . 1 meter long ( 604 ft ) bridge before terminating at NY 10 on the northern bank of the reservoir . All of NY 268 is part of New York State Bicycle Route 17 , which continues southeast toward Port Jervis on NY 97 and west toward Deposit on NY 10 . History The segment of modern NY 268 between the Hancock hamlet of Cadosia and NY 10 in Tompkins was originally designated NY 236 c . 1931 . At its southern end , the route connected to NY 17 , which followed current NY 268 southwest into the village of Hancock at the time . The NY 236 designation was removed c . 1939 however , the route remained state maintained long afterward as NY 989 and later NY 990P , both unsigned reference route designations . In the mid 1960s , NY 17 was rerouted onto a new limited access highway , known as the Quickway , in the vicinity of Hancock and Cadosia . The former routing of NY 17 remained state maintained as an extension of NY 989 and NY 990P between the two locations . All of NY 990P was redesignated as NY 268 between 1989 and 1993 . In the floods of 2006 between June 25 and July 5 , some of the areas along NY 268 suffered serious landslides and , as a result , was temporarily closed off by the New York State Department of Transportation . The road was reopened to traffic in mid July . Major intersections The entire route is in Delaware County .
|
467 | The 63rd Boat Race took place on 7 April 1906 . Held annually , the Boat Race is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having won the previous year 's race , and their crew was slightly heavier than their opponents . In a race umpired by Frederick I. Pitman , Cambridge won by three and a half lengths in a time of 19 minutes 25 seconds , the fastest winning time for four years . The win took the overall record to 34 28 in Oxford 's favour . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities it is followed throughout the United Kingdom and , as of 2015 , broadcast worldwide . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having won the 1905 race by three lengths , and led overall with 34 victories to Cambridge 's 27 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . Cambridge were coached by Francis Escombe ( for the third consecutive year ) , Stanley Muttlebury , five time Blue between 1886 and 1890 , and David Alexander Wauchope ( who had rowed in the 1895 race ) . Oxford 's coaches were William Fletcher , who rowed for them in the 1890 , 1891 , 1892 and 1893 races and Harcourt Gilbey Gold ( Dark Blue president for the 1900 race and four time Blue ) . The umpire for the fourth year was old Etonian and former Cambridge rower Frederick I. Pitman who rowed in the 1884 , 1885 and 1886 races . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 12 st 3 . 5 lb ( 77 . 6 kg ) , 4 . 125 pounds ( 1 . 9 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . The Cambridge crew included two rowers with Boat Race experience , in Banner Johnstone and Ronald Powell , both of whom were rowing in their third consecutive event . Powell was rowing alongside his brother Eric . Oxford 's crew contained four who had represented their university in the event , including E. P. Evans who was making his third appearance . All of the participants in the race were registered as British . Race Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , handing the Middlesex side of the river to Cambridge . According to former Oxford rower and author George Drinkwater , the Light Blues went into the race as firm favourites . Conditions were described as very fast , a strong tide and no wind . Umpire Pitman started the race at noon , and Cambridge led from the first stroke . Going clear within two minutes , the Light Blues held an advantage of at least four lengths by the time they passed below Barnes Bridge . The victory secured , they paddled to the finish , winning by three and a half lengths in a time of 19 minutes 25 seconds . It was their fourth win in five years in the fastest winning time since the 1902 race , and took the overall record in the event to 34 28 in Oxford 's favour .
|
468 | Mzoli 's ( also known as Mzoli 's Place , Mzoli 's Meat , or Mzoli 's unk ) is a butchery in Gugulethu , a township on the outskirts of Cape Town , South Africa . Since Mzoli 's opened in early 2003 , the restaurant has become a popular gathering spot for Cape Town residents and a tourist attraction . Amongst Gugulethu 's residents , Mzoli 's Place has a reputation for public drunkenness and disrespect for the local community . Mzoli 's is named after the founder and owner , Mzoli Ngcawuzele . History The establishment opened in early 2003 . Owner Mzoli Ngcawuzele obtained start up funding from the Development Bank of South Africa , which supports black owned businesses . In October 2006 , an economic study said that Mzoli had moved , from selling meat informally from a garage , to owning one of the most popular hangouts in Cape Town . In November 2006 , more than 30 restaurant patrons , including a group of tourists and Democratic Alliance councillor unk unk , were arrested in a police raid for drinking in public . The restaurant did not sell alcohol , but Ngcawuzele explained that he could not stop people from bringing their own . The incident generated controversy in the local press . Tour operator Ryan Hunt claimed that police swore at the patrons and threatened people for asking questions . The police created a dangerous situation . People are always encouraged to visit township attractions , but now they are turned away with that kind of situation , he said . unk , a member of Cape Town 's economic development committee , added , Mzoli 's is internationally acclaimed and is key to township tourism . What kind of message is the police sending The African National Congress approved the police actions , citing a need to curtail public drunkenness . Business Located in the township of Gugulethu , a black neighbourhood 15 kilometres southeast of the centre of Cape Town , Mzoli 's is a do it yourself market and eatery , selling meat to patrons who in turn hire independent entrepreneurs running unk stalls on the grounds to grill the meat and prepare meals . Mzoli 's also provides live entertainment and has become noted as a venue for deep house and unk music . As well as local people , Mzoli 's attracts television stars , DJs such as DJ Fresh , politicians such as Tony unk , businesspeople , tourists , and college students . Mzoli 's is considered to be a base camp where black diamonds gather and network . In September 2006 , Sasha Planting of Financial Mail called it the destination for everyone . Reception by locals Some local residents near a long planned shopping mall that is being built by a business partly owned by Mzoli 's owner criticized his plans in 2008 . Some businesses were legally evicted or threatened with eviction from older buildings owned by Mzoli , which were then knocked down to make room for the new property development . Other nearby residents have complained that the property developer has not hired enough local residents . Critics threatened to vandalize or burn both Mzoli 's Place and Ngcawuzele 's home if he did not meet their demands for jobs and permanent , guaranteed space for informal traders at the new shopping mall .
|
469 | John T. J.T. White ( July 10 , 1920 November 21 , 2005 ) was a college football assistant coach , and a second team 1947 College Football All American center who played for national championship teams at both the University of Michigan and Ohio State University . White also played basketball for the Ohio State Buckeyes men 's basketball team . Although White was drafted to play professional football , he chose to pursue a career as an assistant football coach for both the Michigan Wolverines and Penn State Nittany Lions football teams . He served as an assistant coach for a national champion at Michigan and three undefeated and untied seasons at Penn State . White served in the United States Army during World War II causing a break in his collegiate education . Personal White was born in Wadley , Georgia and raised in River Rouge , Michigan . White earned his bachelor 's degree in education from Michigan in 1948 . He earned his master 's degree in education at Michigan . White married the former Verna McQueen , and they had one son , Brian . Verna and White were married for 53 years before she died at 75 in October 1997 of emphysema . Athletic career At River Rouge High School he played baseball , basketball and football before attending Ohio State . In 1942 , he lettered in both basketball and football at Ohio State as a sophomore . He was a player for national champions on both the 1942 Ohio State Buckeyes football team and the 1947 Michigan Wolverines football team . He is one of only three players ( along with Justin Boren and Howard Yerges ) to have played for the football teams of both Michigan and Ohio State this low number can be attributed to the strong rivalry between the two schools . White matriculated at The Ohio State University , where he earned a varsity letter playing for Paul Brown 's 1942 team . White played at Ohio State for two years . He served in the United States Army from 1943 to 1945 during World War II and lettered two years for Fritz Crisler 's Michigan teams . His younger brother , Paul was captain at Michigan when White transferred . J. T. was the starting center for the 1946 and 1947 teams . The Football Writers Association of America named him as their second team All American center for the 1947 college football season . White played in the 1948 College All Star Game , and he was drafted by two pro teams the Detroit Lions with the first pick of the 21st round ( 186th overall ) in the 1947 NFL Draft and the Brooklyn Dodgers of the All America Football Conference . Coaching career He chose to join Bennie Oosterbaan 's Michigan coaching staff for six years ( 1948 53 ) , including the national champion 1948 Michigan Wolverines football team . Then , for 26 seasons , from 1954 through 1979 , J.T. was a defensive line coach at Penn State , first under Rip Engle and then under Joe Paterno , who took over in 1966 . When White moved to Penn State to work for Engle , the staff included Paterno , Earle Bruce , Sever unk , Jim O unk and Jim Patrick . His tenure on the staff included three undefeated and untied seasons ( 1968 , 1969 and 1973 ) . Subsequently , from 1980 1982 , he served as assistant to the Penn State Athletic Director .
|
470 | M 49 is a north south state trunkline highway in the south central portion of the US state of Michigan . It runs from the Ohio state line north to Litchfield through rural Hillsdale County . M 49 is the only Michigan highway in which the road crossing into another state has the same state highway number . M 49 continues as State Route 49 ( SR 49 ) , near the Indiana Michigan Ohio tripoint south of Camden . The highway dates back to 1930 and was only altered once in the 1940s . M 49 runs through Southern Michigan farmlands connecting several small towns along its path . Route description M 49 starts as the continuation of SR 49 into Michigan from Ohio . The highway crosses the state line south of Camden east of the tripoint with Indiana and Ohio . Running north through rural Hillsdale County , the roadway follows Edon Road through farm land . The highway follows two sweeping curves to cross Territorial Road and continue into the village of Camden . M 49 follows Main Street through town and turns northeasterly on the north side of the village on the way to Reading . Returning to a due north course , the highway crosses a branch of the Indiana Northeastern Railroad on the south side of Reading . The Edon Road name gives way to Main Street through the city . M 49 runs north out of Reading , once again called Edon Road , through farm lands dotted with occasional trees . At Weston Road on the southeast side of Allen , the highway turns to the northeast to a junction with US 12 ( Chicago Road ) . M 49 turns west along US 12 , running concurrently into the village . M 49 resumes its northerly course at Railroad Street , separating from US 12 in the process . Outside of town , the roadway changes names to Allen Road , and through more Southern Michigan farmland , M 49 runs north to Genesee Road . The highway turns east on Genesee to Anderson Road , and then north to Litchfield . Crossing into that city , M 49 follows Chicago Street to the intersection with M 99 downtown . At that junction , M 49 terminates nearly 25 . 5 miles ( 41 . 0 km ) north of the state line . No part of the highway has been listed on the National Highway System , a system of highways important to the nation 's economy , defense , and mobility . History M 49 was added to the state highway system in 1930 , running along its current routing between M 9 ( now M 99 ) in Litchfield and the Ohio state line south of Camden . Near the state line , the highway jogged along Territorial Road for a short distance to make the connection with the continuation of SR 49 . The second version of M 120 ran concurrently with M 49 on this section of Territorial Road starting in 1939 . This concurrency was removed in late 1946 or early 1947 when M 49 was realigned to smooth out the corners in the roadway at M 120 . The routing of M 49 has remained the same since . It is currently the only state highway that connects with a like numbered state highway from another state . The only other highways in Michigan to share a number with a cross border connection are components of the Interstate Highway System or the United States Numbered Highways . Major intersections The entire highway is in Hillsdale County .
|
471 | Allan Wade Key ( born October 14 , 1946 ) is a former professional American football guard and offensive tackle in the National Football League who played ten seasons for the Philadelphia Eagles from 1970 1979 . After playing college football for Southwest Texas State University , he was drafted in the thirteenth round of the 1969 NFL Draft by the Eagles . He was named to the Eagles ' 75th Anniversary Team in 2007 . Early years Key attended Edison High School in San Antonio , Texas . He lettered in football and track and field . In the Hub City Relays in Alice , Texas , in 1963 , Key placed fifth in the discus . He played tight end in football , and was selected to an all star team for the Texas High School Coaches Association clinic in 1964 . College career After graduating high school , Key played college football for Southwest Texas State University as a starting tight end . In track and field , he placed first in the shot put during the Lone Star Conference finals with 54 feet 3 . 25 inches ( 16 . 54 metres ) in May 1967 . He finished fourth in the discus in the finals . In the Texas Relays in April 1968 , Key placed third in the shot put with 55 feet 9 . 5 inches ( 17 . 01 metres ) . He was inducted into the Texas State Bobcats Hall of Honor in 1983 . Professional career Key was selected by the Philadelphia Eagles in the thirteenth round ( 314th overall ) of the 1969 NFL Draft . He signed a contract with the team on February 16 , but he was released before the start of the 1969 season on September 2 , 1969 . He spent the season on the team 's taxi squad and played for the Pottstown Firebirds of the Atlantic Coast Football League ( unk ) during his tenure . The Firebirds won the unk championship in 1969 . After starting at left offensive tackle from 1970 to 1972 , and missing only one game in that span , Key was moved to left guard for the 1973 season . He played in 12 games in 1973 , missing two due to injury , and all 14 games in 1974 , despite suffering hand and thumb injuries in a game against the Washington Redskins . During the 1975 season , he suffered a knee injury during mini camp in May that required surgery , a dislocated toe in the first game of the season against the New York Giants that was thought to take at least six weeks to recover from , and a fractured forearm in practice on October 16 that also required surgery . He was placed on injured reserve due to the broken arm on October 17 after playing in only two games during the season . From 1976 to 1978 , he played in 40 games and started in 39 of them . In 1979 , Key was the Eagles ' longest tenured player with ten seasons played . After missing six games in 1979 due to hamstring and groin injuries , and undergoing surgery to remove calcium deposits in his leg , he was waived by the team on September 1 , 1980 . Key finished his career with 121 games played , and was selected as a member of a 75th anniversary team in honor of the Eagles ' 75th season in 2007 . After football After his NFL career was over , Key was a track and football coach for more than seventeen years for John Jay High School and Sam Houston High School in San Antonio . He was the offensive coordinator at Sam Houston .
|
472 | M 108 was a state trunkline highway in the US state of Michigan . The highway followed Nicolet Street , although some maps also labeled it as the Mackinaw Highway . The road was on the boundary between Emmet and Cheboygan counties . The original M 108 designation dated back to 1928 . This version was transferred to local control in 1957 , but revived later under a different routing in 1960 . On April 29 , 2010 , the Petoskey News Review reported that the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) will rebuild the roadway in preparation to transfer it back to local control once again . MDOT and local officials signed memoranda of understanding , completing the transfer of the roadway on December 9 , 2010 . Route description The 1 . 069 mile ( 1 . 720 km ) long route connected two interchanges off Interstate 75 ( I 75 ) on the south side of Mackinaw City with a tourist welcome center . The southern terminus was at a partial interchange with I 75 ( exit 337 ) just south of Mackinaw City on the boundary between Emmet and Cheboygan counties . This interchange is about two miles ( 3 km ) north of the northern terminus of US Highway 31 ( US 31 ) . M 108 followed Nicolet Street north from I 75 into the Village of Mackinaw City past the Thunder Falls Water Park and some local motels to an intersection with US 23 . North of the US 23 intersection is the Michigan Welcome Center and other tourist amenities on the west side of the street . State maintenance ends at the intersection with the off ramp from northbound I 75 exit 338 . History In 1928 , the first M 108 designation was commissioned along a rare three legged route connecting the State Highway Ferry Docks with the Fort Michilimackinac State Historic Park and US 31 . At one point while traveling westbound on M 108 , motorists could turn right onto northbound M 108 or left onto southbound M 108 . In preparation for the opening of the Mackinac Bridge , the Michigan State Highway Department transferred all of M 108 to local control in late 1957 , decommissioning the designation at the same time . In 1960 , the current M 108 was commissioned along the current routing . On April 29 , 2010 , MDOT announced plans to transfer M 108 in its entirety to the Village of Mackinaw City and Emmet County . In preparation for this transfer , MDOT repaved , widened and reconstructed the roadway . While rebuilding the section of the highway between US 23 and the northern terminus , the Welcome Center was closed . Plans had this section to be completed , and the center to bed reopened , for Memorial Day weekend , with the remainder of construction to be completed in August . Following the transfer to local control , M 108 ceased to be a state highway and the designation was decommissioned . Previous news reports stated that the roadway was too small to merit highway status under federal guidelines . The transfer was completed on December 9 , 2010 when MDOT and local officials signed memoranda of understanding to affect the transfer . The section within the Village of Mackinaw City was transferred to the village , and the remainder to Emmet County . Major intersections The entire highway was on the Emmet Cheboygan county line .
|
473 | Iowa Highway 56 ( Iowa 56 ) is a state highway that runs from west to east in northeastern Iowa . It begins at Iowa Highway 150 in West Union and ends at Iowa Highway 13 south of Elkader . As a largely rural route , Iowa 56 passes through the farmland of Fayette and Clayton counties . Through Elkader and to its eastern end , the highway runs parallel to the Turkey River . The 24 mile long ( 39 km ) highway is an original route from 1920 . It originally extended from West Union to Guttenberg , but it was shortened to Elkader by 1925 . Since then , both the western and eastern endpoints have shifted slightly , but the route otherwise remains the same . Route description Iowa Highway 56 begins at an intersection with Iowa 150 in the southern part of West Union . The route starts out heading to the east , but turns to the south as it leaves the city limits . Approximately one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) south of town , it curves to the south southeast . Southeast of West Union , Iowa 56 splits the distance between the Volga River and Echo Valley state parks , each approximately two miles ( 3 . 2 km ) from the highway . Being a largely rural route , it passes through the rolling farmland of Fayette and Clayton counties . It continues to the south southeast until it nears Elkader . There , it briefly turns to the northeast before turning southeast again along Second Street parallel to the Turkey River . The street plan of Elkader was influenced by the river , which flows from the northwest to southeast through town . Iowa 56 follows Bridge Street for one block it heads to the southeast again along First Street . The highway meanders to the south , following the river , to an intersection with Iowa 13 near where that highway crosses the Turkey River . Clayton County 's Turkey River Park is located at the intersection of Iowa 13 and Iowa 56 . History When the Iowa primary highway system was created in 1920 , Primary Road No. 56 extended from West Union eastward to Guttenberg . It began in a different location in West Union than it does today , beginning at Primary Road No. 19 in the northeastern part of town . The route then headed south along Pine Street . In Elkader , Primary Road No. 56 joined Primary Roads No. 10 and No. 13 and crossed the Turkey River on the Keystone Bridge . Shortly after leaving Elkader , Primary Road No. 56 split away from the other two routes and headed east . It turned south at Primary Road No. 20 and the two routes headed to Guttenberg . The Primary Road No. 56 designation ended in Guttenberg . Primary Road No. 56 's length past Elkader did not last long . By 1925 , the two overlaps were removed and the standalone stretch between them was renumbered Primary Road . No. 128 . By the 1950s , the western end of the route shifted to its current position in West Union . In the early 1980s , a new bypass and Turkey River bridge were built around Elkader . Iowa 13 was shifted onto the bypass and Iowa 56 was extended southward along the former Iowa 13 to the new highway . In 2004 , the two intersections of Iowa 56 along Bridge Street were rebuilt to allow large trucks to take the sharp turns . unk began on June 1 and the street reopened on August 4 . Major intersections
|
474 | Plegmund ( or unk died 2 August either 914 or 923 ) was a medieval English Archbishop of Canterbury . He may have been a hermit before he became archbishop in 890 . As archbishop , he reorganised the Diocese of Winchester , creating four new sees , and worked with other scholars in translating religious works . He was canonised after his death . Early life Little is known of the early life of Plegmund except that he was of Mercian descent . A later tradition , dating 300 years after his death , stated that Plegmund lived as a hermit at unk in Cheshire . His reputation as a scholar attracted the attention of King Alfred the Great , who was trying to revive scholarship . Some time before 887 , Alfred summoned Plegmund to his court . There he worked with three other scholars , unk , Bishop of Worcester , thelstan and unk in working on translating Pope Gregory the Great 's treatise Pastoral Care into Old English . Archbishop of Canterbury Plegmund was selected for the see of Canterbury in 890 by King Alfred . Plegmund 's election to the Archbishopric of Canterbury is recorded in Manuscript E of the Anglo Saxon Chronicle Here Archbishop Plegmund was elected by God and all the people . Fulk , Archbishop of Reims , praised the election of Plegmund , stating that he would help root out the last remnants of paganism in the people . However , there was a gap in time between the death of the previous Archbishop of Canterbury , Ethelred , and the consecration of Plegmund this may have been because the see had been offered to Grimbald , a Flemish monk and scholar , who refused it . Plegmund was granted his pallium by Pope Formosus . During the 9th century , the see of Canterbury was at a low point . As such , one of Plegmund 's responsibilities was to re establish its authority , and , in an attempt to do this , between 909 and 918 he created new sees within the existing Diocese of Winchester in Crediton , Ramsbury , Sherborne and Wells . This meant that each future shire of Wessex had its own bishop of Crediton for Devon and Cornwall , of Ramsbury for Wiltshire , of Sherborne for Dorset and of Wells for Somerset , as well as the diocese of Winchester for Hampshire . To do this , Plegmund had to gain the approval of Pope Sergius III , who had annulled all of the acts of Pope Formosus , and in 908 Plegmund travelled to Rome so that he could be regranted his pallium . He was the first archbishop of Canterbury to visit Rome for nearly a century , and he returned with the relics of Saint Blaise . Under Plegmund 's archbishopric , the quality of the Latin used by his scribes improved , surpassing the poor quality used by the scribes of the previous two archbishops , Ceolnoth and thelred . When Alfred died in 899 , Plegmund crowned his son Edward as king . In addition to his religious duties , Plegmund was involved in matters of state and he attended the formal councils held by Edward the Elder in 901 , 903 , 904 and 909 . He dedicated the tall tower of the New Minster at Winchester in 909 . Death and legacy Plegmund died on 2 August 914 or 2 August 923 . After his death Plegmund was considered a saint , with a feast day of 2 August . However , his cult dates only from the 13th century .
|
475 | Simon of Southwell ( sometimes Simon of Sywell , or Simon of unk ) was a medieval English canon lawyer and canon who became treasurer of the cathedral chapter of Lichfield Cathedral . He served in the household of Hubert Walter , who was Archbishop of Canterbury from 1193 to 1205 . Pope Celestine III appointed Simon as a papal judge delegate , and Simon also served Walter in Rome on two legal cases . A number of the glosses on a late twelfth century copy of Gratian 's Decretum are ascribed to Simon . Early career Simon was treasurer of the cathedral chapter in 1203 . He also held a prebend at Lichfield until 1209 . Previously he had been a lecturer in canon law at Bologna , Paris and at Oxford . In Paris , Simon argued a case before Peter the Chanter that dealt with papal mandates , and his arguments won over Peter to his side of the discussion . While at Oxford , Simon , along with John of Tynemouth , Honorius of Kent , and possibly Nicholas de Aquila are the first securely attested lecturers on law known for Oxford . Simon may also have studied canon law at Bologna . Service to Hubert Walter Simon served in the household of Hubert Walter , who was Archbishop of Canterbury from 1193 to 1205 . Simon served along with other canon lawyers including John of Tynemouth and Honorius of Kent . He had previously been with the household of Hugh , Bishop of Lincoln , transferring to Walter 's household about 1195 . Pope Celestine III appointed Simon as a papal judge delegate , and Simon also served Walter in Rome on two legal cases . In 1202 , while Walter was on the continent , Simon was named as administrator of the diocese of Canterbury during the archbishop 's absence . In 1203 , Thomas of Marlborough , who was a monk of Evesham Abbey , pleaded a case for Evesham before Archbishop Walter , and later , in his chronicle , he noted that Simon , John of Tynemouth , and Honorius , all canon lawyers from the archbishop 's household , sided with the abbey . He also described the three men as magistri mei in unk . Surviving evidence shows that Simon and John frequently found themselves on opposing sides of cases , which suggests a rivalry between the two over their expositions of canon law . Thomas appears to have studied under Simon , John and Honorius at Oxford . One of the cases that Simon pleaded for the archbishop was Walter 's case against Gerald of Wales , who had been elected to the Bishopric of St David 's in Wales . Walter opposed Gerald 's appointment , and Simon , along with John of Tynemouth and another canon lawyer , were sent to Rome to argue Walter 's case against Gerald . Teachings Like John of Tynemouth , a number of the glosses on a late twelfth century copy of Gratian 's Decretum are ascribed to Simon . These take the form of notes from his lectures that were later added to the margins of copies of the Decretum . This combined work is now at Gonville and Caius College at Cambridge University , catalogued as manuscript ( MS ) 283 676 . Another set of student notes from his lectures , this time entitled Quaestiones , survives as part of British Library MS Royal unk This work includes lecture notes not only from Simon 's classes , but from John and Nicholas ' as well .
|
476 | An antimetric electrical network is an electrical network that exhibits anti symmetrical electrical properties . The term is often encountered in filter theory , but it applies to general electrical network analysis . unk is the unk opposite of symmetric it does not merely mean asymmetric ( i.e. , lacking symmetry ) . It is possible for networks to be symmetric or antimetric in their electrical properties without being physically or topologically symmetric or antimetric . Definition References to symmetry and antimetry of a network usually refer to the input impedances of a two port network when correctly terminated . A symmetric network will have two equal input impedances , unk and unk . For an antimetric network , the two impedances must be the dual of each other with respect to some nominal impedance R0 . That is , formula or equivalently formula It is necessary for antimetry that the terminating impedances are also the dual of each other , but in many practical cases the two terminating impedances are resistors and are both equal to the nominal impedance R0 . Hence , they are both symmetric and antimetric at the same time . Physical and electrical antimetry Symmetric and antimetric networks are often also topologically symmetric and antimetric , respectively . The physical arrangement of their components and values are symmetric or antimetric as in the ladder example above . However , it is not a necessary condition for electrical antimetry . For example , if the example networks of figure 1 have an additional identical T section added to the left hand side as shown in figure 2 , then the networks remain topologically symmetric and antimetric . However , the network resulting from the application of Bartlett 's bisection theorem applied to the first T section in each network , as shown in figure 3 , are neither physically symmetric nor antimetric but retain their electrical symmetric ( in the first case ) and antimetric ( in the second case ) properties . Two port parameters The conditions for symmetry and antimetry can be stated in terms of two port parameters . For a two port network described by impedance parameters ( z parameters ) , formula if the network is symmetric , and formula if the network is antimetric . Passive networks of the kind illustrated in this article are also reciprocal , which requires that formula and results in a z parameter matrix of , formula for symmetric networks and formula for antimetric networks . For a two port network described by scattering parameters ( S parameters ) , formula if the network is symmetric , and formula if the network is antimetric . The condition for reciprocity is , formula resulting in an S parameter matrix of , formula for symmetric networks and formula for antimetric networks . Applications Some circuit designs naturally output antimetric networks . For instance , a low pass Butterworth filter implemented as a ladder network with an even number of elements will be antimetric . Similarly , a bandpass Butterworth with an even number of resonators will be antimetric , as will a Butterworth mechanical filter with an even number of mechanical resonators . Glossary notes
|
477 | The Hope Highway , also known as the Hope Road unk , is a Forest Highway located in the Kenai Peninsula Borough , in the U.S. state of Alaska . The highway connects the city of Hope to the Seward Highway , and travels through 17 miles ( 27 km ) of the Chugach National Forest . The road passes the ghost town of Sunrise City and several smaller settlements , remnants of the gold rush that occurred in that area . The highway was created circa 1928 and was designated as Forest Highway 14 by the Federal Highway Administration . Route description The Hope Highway begins at an intersection with the Seward Highway ( AK 1 ) , inside Chugach National Forest . The highway proceeds north , traveling through several miles of pine forest , in a valley in the Kenai Mountain range . The highway passes alongside the Resurrection Creek , which was the source for the settlement of this area . The road proceeds through the abandoned settlement of Sunrise City , which was an old mining town . The roadway proceeds to the unk Arm , and turns in a westward direction . The road continues along the arm for several miles before entering the city of Hope . The highway passes through Hope , intersecting the Old Hope Highway and several smaller streets before exiting the town and reentering the forest . The highway reaches its northern terminus , an access road to the Porcupine Creek Campgrounds . The entire length of the Hope Highway is located in the Chugach National Forest . No portion of the highway is listed on the National Highway System . Traffic Traffic on the Hope Highway is very low , with the highest traffic count being just over 400 vehicles daily , at its intersection with the Seward Highway . The daily average vehicle count for the highway is just under 300 . History The Hope Highway was first established in 1928 . The original highway connected the city of Hope to Moose Pass , which then took people to Anchorage via the Alaska Railroad . The Seward Highway was completed in 1951 , which allowed travelers to get to Hope without having to transport their vehicle on a train . The highway operated as an improved dirt road until 1952 or 1953 , when the highway was finally paved . The portion of the highway that connected Hope to the campgrounds was created in the 1970s . Around the same time as the extension of the route , the Hope Highway was rerouted around the city of Hope , with the original path that traveled through the city being renamed the Old Hope Highway . In 1982 , during the expansion of the Federal Forest Highway System , the Hope Highway was added to the system , due to its location and local importance . Major junctions The entire highway is in Kenai Peninsula Borough . Old Hope Highway The Old Hope Highway is a short , historic route of the Hope Highway located in the city of Hope . The road is just 0 . 259 miles ( 0 . 417 km ) long , and connects the Hope Highway to the central region of Hope . The road has an unpaved , gravel surface , and passes several small businesses and homes located in Hope . The road was part of the original Hope Highway , which was created in 1928 , and remained part of the highway until circa 1970 , when the highway was rerouted around Hope .
|
478 | Captive Heart is a song by American Tejano pop singer Selena . It was the second promotional single released from Dreaming of You ( 1995 ) , behind God 's Child ( Baila Conmigo ) . It was written by Mark Goldenberg and Kit Hain , and was produced by Guy Roche . Recording sessions took place at Selena 's father , Abraham Quintanilla , Jr . ' s recording studio Q Productions and at several other locations . The song was given mixed reviews by music critics . Captive Heart is an electropop song performed in a rhythmical pop groove . Production and composition Captive Heart was recorded at unk Studios in Burbank , California in January 1995 , Q Productions in Corpus Christi , Texas and at Conway Studios in North Hollywood . It was written by Mark Goldenberg and Kit Hain , and was produced by Guy Roche . It was mixed by Nathaniel Mick unk , engineered by Mario Lucy , Brian Red Moore and Mona unk who also was credited at the assistant engineer . American singer Donna De Lory was the backing vocalist for Captive Heart . Recording sessions had taken nearly less than a week to complete the song . Captive Heart is an unk song performed in a rhythmical R B pop groove . It draws influences from synthpop , fast rock , dance pop and electronic dance music . According to the sheet music published at Musicnotes.com by EMI Music Publishing , the song is composed in the key of D major with a time signature in common time , and with a moderate groove of 91 beats per minute . Critical reception Vibe editor Ed Morales compared both Evelyn Champagne King and Wherever You Are ( duet with the Barrio Boyzz ) with the song Captive Heart . While , according to the Chicago Tribune , Captive Heart was destined for urban contemporary radio . Leonard Charles of Miami Today , commented on Captive Heart ' s lack of impact on the Hot 100 , stating that the song would have been stronger if EMI Records had promoted the single extensively . Charles also commented that he believes that the record company didn 't put in much effort on the song but believed that EMI had only put in effort on singles Dreaming of You and I Could Fall in Love . Benson Ramos of The Gaston Gazette believed Captive Heart wasn 't crossover potential . Steven Washington of Aurora Sentinel praised the song 's electronic feels and Latin flavors that it brings to the song . Sabrina Moore of Corsicana Daily Sun , disliked the song because it felt unoriginal but commented that Selena could have done better in another Latin flavored ballad . The Daily Vault believed Selena made a mistake with Captive Heart , stating that the song was a surprising and painful flaw , because it showcases a mistake of exerting too much throat , which many popular singers currently do . The Daily Vault instated that it was a one way ticket to voice destruction . Mario Tarradell of The Dallas Morning News stated while reviewing I 'm Getting Used To You that the songs are a bit more uptempo , bordering on that New Jill Swing sound popularized by Mary J. Blige and Jade . Track listing U.S. Promo Single ( 1995 ) Captive Heart 4 23 4 18 U.S. Cassette Single ( 1995 ) Captive Heart 4 23 Credits and personnel
|
479 | State Route 127 ( SR 127 ) is a 27 . 05 mile long ( 43 . 53 km ) state highway serving the eastern region of the U.S. state of Washington . The highway , listed on the National Highway System , begins in rural Garfield County at U.S. Route 12 ( US 12 ) and travels north across the Snake River on the Elmer Huntley Bridge . The roadway continues into Whitman County before it ends at SR 26 in Dusty . SR 127 formed a section of the Inland Empire Highway and Primary State Highway 3 ( PSH 3 ) prior to becoming US 295 in 1926 . US 295 was decommissioned in 1968 and replaced by a longer SR 127 , traveling its full length from Dodge to Colfax from its establishment in 1970 until an extension of SR 26 to Colfax in 1979 . Route description SR 127 begins at an intersection with US 12 in the unincorporated community of Dodge , located between Starbuck and Pomeroy in rural Garfield County . The highway travels north around Dodge Hill and into the hills along New York Gulch before reaching the Snake River . SR 127 crosses the Snake River on the Elmer Huntley Bridge into Whitman County east of the former Central Ferry State Park . The highway continues northeast up the Central Ferry grade to Dusty , where SR 127 ends at an intersection with SR 26 . Every year , the Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2012 , WSDOT calculated that the busiest section of SR 127 was its northern terminus at SR 26 , serving 1 , 000 vehicles . The entire route of SR 127 is designated as part of the National Highway System , a highway system that includes roadways important to the national economy , defense , and mobility and as a Highway of Statewide Significance by WSDOT , which includes highways that connect major communities in the state of Washington . History The present route of SR 127 was added to the Washington state highway system in 1913 as part of the Inland Empire Highway , traveling in a circular arc from Ellensburg through the Yakima Valley and into the Palouse towards the Canadian border in Laurier . The Inland Empire Highway was numbered as State Road 3 in 1923 and PSH 3 in 1937 as part of the primary and secondary state highways . The United States Highway System was adopted on November 11 , 1926 by the American Association of State Highway Officials ( AASHO ) and included US 295 , traveling northeast from US 410 at Dodge to US 195 in Colfax and crossing the Snake River at Central Ferry . US 295 succeeded PSH 3 during the 1964 state highway renumbering , but was decommissioned in 1968 before the new state highway system was codified . The roadway was re designated as SR 127 after the new sign route number system was codified into the Revised Code of Washington in 1970 , traveling 43 . 82 miles ( 70 . 52 km ) from US 12 at Dodge to US 195 in Colfax and crossing the Snake River on the Elmer Huntley Bridge , completed in 1969 . SR 127 was truncated to its present route after SR 26 was extended east to Colfax over the former route of SR 127 . Major intersections
|
480 | M 114 was the designation of a former state trunkline highway and planned beltline in the US state of Michigan around the city of Grand Rapids . It was designated by the end of 1929 on various streets in adjoining cities and townships . By the 1940s , sections of it on the west and south sides of Grand Rapids were given new designations and the segment along the east side of town was finished . By late 1945 the highway designation was completely decommissioned in favor of other numbers . M 114 split into two branches , one running east west and the other running north south . The east west spur routing is now local streets while the rest is part of state highways . History The first segments of M 114 were completed by January 1 , 1930 , and ran along the west side of Grand Rapids , on what is now Wilson Avenue between Lake Michigan Drive and Leonard Street . At the same time , what would become a spur was also finished from the town of Cascade to US 131 ( Division Avenue ) . By July 1 that same year , the southern segment was extended west to Clyde Park Avenue in Wyoming Township . By the end of 1936 M 114 was a three legged trunkline around the Grand Rapids area . It started at US 16 in Walker Township and ran south to Grandville where it turned to run eastward to the community of Cascade . The third leg was shown on maps as under construction from a junction in Paris Township north to a junction with US 16 in East Grand Rapids the trunkline continued north from US 16 to a junction with US 131 in Plainfield Township north of Grand Rapids . By June 15 , 1942 the highways in the Grand Rapids area were reconfigured . A Bypass US 16 ( BYP US 16 ) designation was assigned to the portion of M 114 that traveled around the southwest side of Grand Rapids ( now M 11 ) , leaving just the east and unfinished north segments left . The section along the east side of the city was completed as M 114 . A northern leg was added along 3 Mile Road at the same time . By 1945 , the northern leg of M 114 was turned back to local control and removed from the highway system . The eastern leg was assigned a BYP US 131 designation , thereby eliminating the last remaining portion of M 114 . A BYP M 21 designation was also used along part of the southern and eastern legs . East Beltline now carries M 37 and M 44 . Route description As it existed before the designation was removed , M 114 started at the corner of BYP US 16 ( 28th Street ) and what is now East Beltline Avenue in Paris Township ( now Kentwood ) and ran northward . The trunkline intersected the mainline for US 16 M 50 at Cascade Road and the mainline for M 21 at Fulton Street near East Grand Rapids in Grand Rapids Township . Further north , the highway split into two . In Plainfield Township , a leg of M 114 continued west along the modern 3 Mile Road through an intersection with US 131 to terminate at Coit Avenue near the Grand River and the other leg continued north to a terminus with US 131 at Northland Drive and Plainfield Avenue . Major intersections South leg The entire highway was in Kent County . West leg The entire highway was in Grand Rapids Township , Kent County . North leg The entire highway was in Kent County .
|
481 | The Last Exit on Brooklyn was a Seattle University District coffeehouse established in 1967 by Irv Cisski . It is known for its part in the history of Seattle 's counterculture , for its pioneering role in establishing Seattle 's coffee culture , and as a former chess venue frequented by several master players . History The Last Exit on Brooklyn opened on June 30 , 1967 at unk Brooklyn Avenue NE near the University of Washington campus in a small light industrial building leased from the University . It was one of the pioneer espresso bars in Seattle , adding an espresso machine shortly after Caf Allegro opened the first in 1975 . The Last Exit was known for its original espresso concoction named the Caff Medici a unk poured over chocolate syrup and orange peel with whipped cream on top . Described in 1985 as America 's second oldest , continuously running coffeehouse , it was also known for its inexpensive food and as a venue for folk music and bohemian conversation . The Last Exit was also notable as a popular destination for Seattle 's amateur and professional Go and chess players including Peter Biyiasas , unk unk , and Yasser Seirawan , who wrote of the venue , Those first chess lessons soon led me to the legendary Last Exit on Brooklyn coffee house , a chess haven where an unlikely bunch of unusual people congregates to do battle . Interviewed by Sports Illustrated in 1981 , Seirawan described the Last Exit as Scrabble players , backgammon players , chess and game hustling ... This became my home . This was to become my family . When interviewed by Mary Lasher of Chess Life in 1985 , owner Irv Cisski said , So what if games people turn away business . They add flavor . Chess and Go are assets to a coffeehouse . The Last Exit was the subject of a 1987 retrospective in The Seattle Times in which Cisski described his intent to create a haven where students and the benign crazies were welcome and where everyone felt equal and there were no sacred cows . It was later described by Seattle writer and journalist Knute Berger as one of Seattle 's great ' 60s landmarks , a gathering place for UW students , radicals , poets , nut jobs , chess masters , teens , intellectuals , workers , musicians , artists , beatniks , and hippies ... I remember the din , the open mike music , cigarette smoke , impromptu poetry readings , the arguments of lefties , libertarians , crackpots , and cultists . You could hear the rhythm and roar of the counterculture as it lived and breathed . Cisski died on August 25 , 1992 . In 1993 the University repossessed the building occupied by the coffeehouse , and the Last Exit 's new owners moved it to upper University Way . The Last Exit on Brooklyn closed in 2000 . The space the original Last Exit once occupied now houses staff members from the University of Washington 's Human Resources Department . In popular culture The Last Exit was included in Clark Humphrey 's 2006 book of historical photographs , Vanishing Seattle . Descriptions of the interior and atmosphere of the Last Exit appear in Kristin Hannah 's 2008 novel , Firefly Lane , in David Guterson 's 2008 novel , The Other , and in Marjorie Kowalski Cole 's 2012 The City Beneath the Snow Stories .
|
482 | Haddam Island State Park is an undeveloped 14 acre ( 5 . 7 ha ) island in the lower Connecticut River in the town of Haddam , Connecticut , in the United States . Originally used by the Wangunk tribe , the island was reserved for their use as part of a 150 square mile ( 390 km2 ) land sale to English colonists in May 1662 . In the 19th century , the island was used for fishing and farming . The early 20th century saw it as a place of public recreation , and the State of Connecticut purchased the island and made it a state park in 1944 . The park is only accessible by boat , and recommended activities are boating , fishing , and birdwatching . History The English settlers in the Connecticut Colony originally named the island Thirty Mile Island because it was erroneously believed to be 30 miles ( 48 km ) north of the Connecticut River 's mouth . The original English settlement in the area was called Thirty Mile Island Plantation . In May 1662 , an area of 150 square miles ( 390 km2 ) of land , including the island , was sold by the Wangunk tribe to the English settlers for 30 coats . However , the natives reserved the right to use the island as part of the sale stipulations . Though little documentation exists today , the Wangunk tribe lived on the island and in the surrounding area before selling it along with the rest of their land . Recorded deeds show that the Wangunk tribe made another land sale in 1672 , and the remaining parcels of Wangunk land were sold between 1765 and 1769 . At the close of the 18th century , the island was one of the most important fishing locations on the Connecticut River . By 1819 , the island was listed as 18 acres ( 7 . 3 ha ) in area and was expected to increase in size following the construction of a pier 90 rods north of the island , which caused the accumulation of sand at the head of the island . The island is currently listed as 14 acres ( 5 . 7 ha ) in size . In the 19th century , two fishing companies operated from the island and constructed piers , and the island was also used for grazing cattle and farming corn . Records in the late 19th century indicate that the Haddam Island area of the Connecticut River was dredged annually . The island became a popular recreational area with picnics and private events in the beginning of the 20th century . The island was purchased by the State of Connecticut in 1944 , and it became a state park . According to legend , Captain Kidd buried some of his treasure on the island , but none has been found . Activities Haddam Island State Park is home to a large number of bird species , especially during annual migrations , which make it suitable for birdwatching . Bird banding and other research activities have taken place on the island . Other recommended activities are boating and fishing fishing was the historic use of the island from centuries ago . To access to the island , one must cross the Connecticut River , and there is no parking area or fees . The northern side of the island has a beach that is fragile and cannot support heavy visitation , and the island has a significant amount of poison ivy . The nearest access point is the Haddam Meadows State Park boat launch , which features chemical toilets and parking .
|
483 | F 41 is a county designated highway in the Lower Peninsula of Michigan . It was previously designated as M 171 , a former state trunkline highway , until 1960 , running from US Highway 23 ( US 23 ) just north of Oscoda , and coming back to US 23 about 20 miles ( 32 km ) south of Alpena . The road runs through rural , forested areas of Iosco and Alcona counties , inland from Lake Huron . Although it has been a county road since 1960 , F 41 was a state highway in 1919 when the state trunkline highway system was formed . It was a segment of the original M 10 that was replaced by US 23 in 1926 . Later changes to US 23 shifted that road closer to Lake Huron , and the Michigan State Highway Department ( MSHD ) created two different routings for M 171 out of the former US 23 routings in the area . The second of these highways has been designated F 41 since 1970 . Route description F 41 begins at an intersection with US 23 on the north side of Oscoda . The route travels to the northwest away from town , passing between Van Etten Lake and what was previously Wurtsmith Air Force Base . The road continues north through a rural area of Alcona County on Somers and Mikado roads , running parallel , but inland , to the Lake Huron shoreline . It passes through the small communities of Mikado and Gustin before coming to a junction with M 72 . After crossing M 72 , F 41 turns east into the community of Lincoln along Traverse Bay State Road , 2nd Street and Main Street before leaving town to the north . The road continues on to the north on Barlow Road through Alcona County before terminating at a second junction with US 23 . The highway travels through wooded terrain along its routing . History The first highway designation to run from Oscoda toward Spruce to Alpena was the original M 10 on July 1 , 1919 . This segment of highway was later redesignated as a part of US 23 in 1926 when the United States Numbered Highway System was established . Realignments of US 23 created both versions of M 171 . The initial incarnation of M 171 served as a loop route off US 23 which departed the main highway east of Spruce , traveled west through Spruce , then north past Hubbard Lake and through Wilson before returning to US 23 near Alpena . This roadway was part of US 23 before it was redesignated M 171 in 1932 . This routing is now occupied by the present day routings of Spruce , Hubbard Lake and Wilson roads . This version of M 171 was removed from the system in 1934 . The second version of M 171 that ran between Oscoda and Caledonia Township in Alcona County was assumed into the state trunkline system in 1936 . This was another former segment of US 23 . Expansion of the Oscoda Army Air Field ( later Wurtsmith Air Force Base ) in the early 1940s shifted M 171 eastward , more closely following the west shore of Van unk Lake . Portions of the old route were taken up by the expansion , while the rest became part of present day unk Avenue . M 171 existed along the Oscoda to Caledonia Township route for 24 years before being decommissioned in late 1960 or early 1961 . The routing was then assigned County Road F 41 after October 5 , 1970 , and has retained that designation ever since . Major intersections
|
484 | Twin tunnels form the Wheeling Tunnel in Wheeling , Ohio County , West Virginia . The tunnels are 0 . 27 miles ( 430 m ) long , cutting though Wheeling Hill , and each carries two lanes of Interstate 70 and U.S. Route 250 . The tunnels originally took three years to construct , costing 6 . 9 million . Reconstruction of the tunnel , originally planned to take a total of 6 months , took over three years to complete between 2007 and 2010 , at a cost of 13 . 7 million . Overview The Wheeling Tunnel sits between exits 1A and 1B on Interstate 70 and U.S. Route 250 , which run concurrent through the city of Wheeling . The tunnel cuts through Wheeling Hill , and has two travel lanes in each tube . Due to the closeness of exit 1A to the western end of the tunnels , the tunnels ' right lanes function as acceleration and deceleration lanes . Through traffic is restricted to the left lane in each tunnel and lane changes are prohibited . A series of accidents involving semi trailer trucks prompted local political candidates to push for trucks to be banned from the tunnel , diverting them to the nearby I 470 . Construction The twin tunnels , which cost 6 . 9 million ( equivalent to 53 million in 2016 ) to construct , are lined with a total of 13 , 000 square feet ( 1 , 200 m2 ) of industrial tile . Then governor William Wallace Barron , and the state roads commissioner broke ground on the tunnel on August 22 , 1963 , which he stated was the largest single construction project in the state 's Interstate Highway program . The construction contract was awarded to C.J. unk Son , Inc. located in Baltimore , Maryland . Several workers became ill after being exposed to high amounts of carbon monoxide fumes , which brought construction to a halt in 1964 until ventilation fans were installed . The tunnel officially opened to traffic on December 7 , 1966 . Renovations Plans for the reconstruction of the tunnel were formed in 2005 , with reconstruction work beginning in January 2007 . Reconstruction of the tunnel was planned to take 3 months , but reconstruction of the eastbound tunnel , which was not totally completed , took over eleven months . After the issues with the reconstruction work , local politicians suggested closing the tunnels altogether , and to just build the freeway over Wheeling Hill , however after opposition from the NAACP and other groups , the suggestions were dropped . Completion of the eastbound tunnel reconstruction begin in July 2008 , when the tiles were replaced for the first time with new tiles fabricated by a German tile manufacturer . The Division of Highways had to award the contract to the German company because no other company could complete the request within the time frame required . The original tiles were made by a now defunct company based in Cleveland . During the second round of eastbound tunnel reconstruction , the westbound tunnel was also closed overnight for construction work . The eastbound tunnel reconstruction was completed on October 31 , 2008 . The westbound tube was closed in February 2010 , and opened a month ahead of schedule in September 2010 . The total cost of the project was over double the original bid , totaling 13 . 7 million , due to the delays .
|
485 | Mike Cierpiot ( born January 14 , 1953 ) is a Republican member of the Missouri House of Representatives . He represents the 30th District , which encompasses a part of Jackson County . Cierpiot currently serves as the Majority Floor Leader in the Missouri House . Personal life Cierpiot was born January 14 , 1953 , in Kansas City , Missouri . He was educated at Longview Community College and the University of Missouri Kansas City . He is married to Connie J. Cierpiot , who also served in the Missouri House of Representatives , and they have two sons , Patrick and Lucas , and two grandchildren , Ellie and Louis . In addition to his career as a legislator , Cierpiot was once a network engineer for AT T. Cierpiot and his family attend First Church of the Nazarene , in Blue Springs . Political career Cierpiot has served in the Missouri House of Representatives since 2011 . From 2011 to 2013 , he represented District 56 . As of 2013 , he represents District 30 . Before becoming a representative , he was a committee member of the Jackson County Republican Party from 1993 to 2003 . Cierpiot currently intends to run unopposed in the 2014 election . Due to Missouri 's term limits , Cierpiot term as a state representative must end in 2018 . In November after the 2012 election Cierpiot was selected by House Republicans as the Assistant Majority Floor Leader . In August 2015 Cierpiot was selected by House Republicans as the Majority Floor Leader . 2012 election In 2012 , Cierpiot was unopposed in the Republican primary , and defeated Shere Alam ( D ) in the general election for Missouri 's 30th district . Legislative assignments In addition to his position as Assistant Majority Floor Leader , Mike Cierpiot is an ex officio member of all committees of the House , as well as a member of the following committees Elementary And Secondary Education Leadership For Missouri Issue Development ( vice chair ) Utilities ( communications , energy , environmental and transportation ) Issue Development Standing Committee On Cowboy Caucus On Agricultural Issues Missouri Sportsman Issue Development Joint Committee on Missouri 's Promise Oral Health Issue Development Political views Cierpiot describes himself as a conservative , and favors reducing government restrictions on business . He has expressed support for the use of tax incentives in an attempt to attract business to Missouri . He has expressed concern that western cities in Missouri are losing jobs to Kansas . On September 12 , 2012 , Cierpiot voted to overturn Governor Jay Nixon 's veto of unk . The bill allowed health insurance providers to refuse to provide coverage for contraception based on moral convictions . In 2012 , Cierpiot endorsed the Missouri Public Prayer Amendment , which was approved by Missouri voters on August 7 , 2012 . In 2014 , Cierpiot has voted in favor of reducing income taxes on individuals in Missouri , and against the use of red light cameras in the state . Cierpiot has received a 92 rating from the National Rifle Association , a 82 rating from the American Conservative Union . , and a 96 rating from the Missouri Chamber of Commerce , one of the highest in the Missouri House of Representatives .
|
486 | State Route 253 ( SR 253 , OH 253 ) is a very short east west state highway in the southern part of the U.S. state of Ohio . With an overall length of just 0 . 56 miles ( 0 . 90 km ) , the majority of SR 253 is a part of the Jesse Stuart Memorial Bridge , which crosses over the Ohio River near Franklin Furnace , Ohio . The western terminus of SR 253 is at about the midspan of the bridge , where it crosses the Kentucky State Line and becomes Kentucky Route 10 ( KY 10 ) . The eastern terminus of the highway is at a diamond interchange with U.S. Route 52 ( US 52 ) near the eastern landing of the Ohio River crossing . The current SR 253 was established in the late 1980s . However , an earlier version of the highway existed in the Medina vicinity from the early 1920s until the late 1950s . Route description SR 253 runs exclusively within Green Township in southeastern Scioto County , near the community of Franklin Furnace . This short highway starts at the Kentucky state line on the two lane Jesse Stuart Memorial Bridge over the Ohio River , at the very point where KY 10 terminates . The highway departs the bridge to the east . After a short distance , it then crosses a shorter bridge over the Norfolk Southern Railway line . Right at the east end of that bridge , SR 253 comes to an end at a diamond interchange it has with the US 52 expressway . East of the interchange is a short connector to Scioto County Road 1 , which runs parallel to US 52 to the east through this area . On a regular basis , the Ohio Department of Transportation ( ODOT ) conducts surveys to measure the amount of traffic that uses its highway system . These traffic counts are commonly given in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , a determination of the number of vehicles on a particular segment of roadway on any typical day of the year . A traffic count by ODOT in 2008 showed that 7 , 210 cars and 710 trucks utilized SR 253 on a daily basis . The entirety of SR 253 is included within the National Highway System , a system of routes deemed most important for the economy , mobility and defense of the country . History The SR 253 designation has been utilized on two separate occasions . The first iteration of the highway began in 1925 . At the time , in the northern half of Medina County , a segment of what is now county maintained Fenn Road between the SR 18 SR 57 concurrency and U.S. Route 42 was brought into the state highway system . This roadway , which is located less than 1 mile ( 1 . 6 km ) north of the city limits of Medina , was given the designation of SR 253 . In 1937 , the route was extended east along Fenn Road to a new eastern terminus at SR 3 northeast of Medina . SR 253 's time of being routed along this stretch of roadway came to an end in 1958 when jurisdiction of Fenn Road was transferred from the state to Medina County . By 1989 , SR 253 was re introduced to the state highway system . Coinciding with the completion of the Jesse Stuart Memorial Bridge across the Ohio River , the designation was applied to the brief alignment that it maintains to this day from the Kentucky state line on the bridge to the US 52 expressway . Major intersections The entire route is in Green Township , Scioto County .
|
487 | Monzambano was a torpedo cruiser of the Goito class built for the Italian Regia Marina ( Royal Navy ) in the 1880s . The ship was built at the Arsenale di La Spezia , beginning with her keel laying in August 1885 and ending with her completion in August 1889 . She was armed with a variety of light guns and five 14 inch ( 356 mm ) torpedo tubes , and was capable of a top speed of 18 knots ( 33 km h 21 mph ) . The ship spent her career in the main Italian fleet conducting training exercises , and did not see action . She spent 1898 patrolling the eastern Mediterranean Sea with the Levant Squadron . Monzambano was withdrawn from service in 1901 and broken up for scrap that year . Design Monzambano was 73 . 4 meters ( 241 ft ) long overall and had a beam of 7 . 88 m ( 25 . 9 ft ) and an average draft of 3 . 31 m ( 10 . 9 ft ) . She displaced 856 metric tons ( 842 long tons 944 short tons ) normally . Her propulsion system consisted of three double expansion steam engines each driving a single screw propeller , with steam supplied by four coal fired locomotive boilers . Exact figures for the ship 's performance have not survived , but the members of the Goito class could steam at a speed of about 18 knots ( 33 km h 21 mph ) from 2 , 500 to 3 , 180 indicated horsepower ( 1 , 860 to 2 , 370 kW ) . Monzambano had a cruising radius of 1 , 100 nautical miles ( 2 , 000 km 1 , 300 mi ) at a speed of 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . She had a crew of between 105 and 121 . The primary armament for Monzambano was five 14 in ( 356 mm ) torpedo tubes . She was also equipped with six 57 mm ( 2 . 2 in ) 40 caliber guns , which were mounted singly . The ship was protected with an armored deck that was 1 . 5 in ( 38 mm ) thick . Service history Monzambano was laid down at the Arsenale di La Spezia on 25 August 1885 , the first member of her class to begin construction . She was launched on 14 March 1888 and fitting out work was completed on 11 August 1889 . In 1893 , Monzambano was laid up in La Spezia for the year , along with several other torpedo cruisers of the Partenope class , her sister Goito , and Pietro unk at the time , the Italian fleet mobilized only a handful of vessels for the annual training maneuvers , preferring to keep the most modern vessels in reserve to reduce maintenance costs . That year , Monzambano was activated for the major fleet maneuvers conducted in July with the 1st Division , with the ironclad battleships Lepanto and Ruggiero di Lauria , the torpedo cruiser Euridice , and four torpedo boats . She served in the attacking squadron during a set of exercises that simulated a French attack on Naples . In 1895 , Monzambano was stationed in the 2nd Maritime Department , split between Taranto and Naples , along with most of the torpedo cruisers in the Italian fleet . These included her sister ships Goito , Montebello , and Confienza , the eight Partenope class cruisers , and Tripoli . In 1898 , Monzambano was assigned to the Levant Squadron that patrolled the eastern Mediterranean . She served on the station with the ironclad battleship Sardegna , the protected cruiser Etruria , Montebello , and the torpedo cruiser Aretusa . The ship was stricken on 26 August 1901 and broken up for scrap .
|
488 | State Route 266 ( SR 266 ) is a state highway in the U.S. state of California . The route is a connector between Nevada State Route 264 and Nevada State Route 266 , intersecting SR 168 and thus providing a connection to the rest of the Owens Valley . Portions of the route were added to the state highway system in 1931 , and became part of SR 168 in the 1964 state highway renumbering . SR 266 was officially designated in 1968 . Route description State Route 266 begins at the western terminus of Nevada State Route 266 at the Nevada state line . The route travels west northwest , then turns to the west for another 1 . 8 miles ( 2 . 9 km ) before approaching Oasis , the only unincorporated community that the route passes through . At Oasis , SR 266 intersects SR 168 , which serves as the gateway into the Owens Valley from Nevada . Upon leaving Oasis , SR 266 continues to the west briefly , then turns north northwest . Within the last 7 miles ( 11 km ) , SR 266 slowly curves northwest as the route approaches the Nevada state line . The route ends at the state line at the southern terminus of Nevada State Route 264 . The section of SR 266 from the western terminus to the junction with SR 168 is designated by the California State Legislature as eligible by law for the State Scenic Highway System however , it has not officially been designated by Caltrans as such . The entire route , consisting of two lanes for two way traffic , traverses on the flat land in the Fish Lake Valley east of the White Mountains , and it can serve as transportation of agricultural goods between California and Nevada via the route 's only junction State Route 168 . In the event that SR 168 is closed , SR 266 connects to Nevada State Route 264 , which intersects with U.S. Route 6 in order to provide an alternate access to California . History The segment of present day SR 266 from Oasis to the Nevada state line ( now Nevada State Route 264 ) was incorporated into the State Highway System in 1931 as Legislative Route 63 it had formed part of the Midland Trail , one of the first auto trails crossing the entire country . The route remained unchanged until 1965 , when in that year the route 's name was designated as Mono County Road 101 . In 1984 , the definition was modified to unk the segment as an extension of State Route 168 in order for that route to be connected to Nevada . Two years later , in 1986 , there was a construction of a new segment traveling east from Oasis and connecting to Nevada State Route 266 . When the extension was complete , the two segments the SR 168 extension and the newly completed were assigned SR 266 . Major intersections Except where prefixed with a letter , postmiles were measured on the road as it was in 1964 , based on the alignment that existed at the time , and do not necessarily reflect current mileage . R reflects a realignment in the route since then , M indicates a second realignment , L refers an overlap due to a correction or change , and T indicates postmiles classified as temporary ( for a full list of prefixes , see the list of postmile definitions ) . Segments that remain unconstructed or have been relinquished to local control may be omitted . The entire route is in Mono County .
|
489 | HMS Phoenix was a Parthian class submarine of the Royal Navy , launched in 1929 . She was the eighteenth warship of the Royal Navy to use the name Phoenix . She served on the China Station from her commissioning until the start of the Second World War . Phoenix was then relocated to the Mediterranean Sea and was sunk by the Italian torpedo boat Albatros on 16 July 1940 . Design The Parthian class was designed as an improvement of the earlier Odin class the new class was larger , built with a raked stem , and given a shield to cover the 4 inch gun . The class had a design flaw in that the riveted external fuel tanks leaked , leaving an oil trail on the surface . Phoenix was fitted with a four cycle blast injection eight cylinder diesel engine , which provided 4 , 640 horsepower ( 3 , 460 kW ) submerged propulsion was provided by a 1 , 635 horsepower ( 1 , 219 kW ) electric motor . Phoenix was 289 feet ( 88 . 1 m ) long with a breadth of 30 feet ( 9 . 1 m ) and displaced 2 , 040 long tons ( 2 , 070 t ) of water while submerged . All submarines of the Parthian class were outfitted with eight 21 inch torpedo tubes , one QF 4 inch ( 102 mm ) Mk XII deck gun , and two machine guns . The class was the first to be outfitted with the Mark VIII torpedo . Phoenix had six tubes in the bow and two tubes at the stern . Submarines of the Parthian class were designed for a complement of 53 officers and men . Phoenix had a crew of 56 . History Phoenix was laid down at Cammell Laird shipyard in 1928 . The ship was the 18th in a series of British warships named after the mythical phoenix , and had the motto unk ( Latin for I will rise again ) Phoenix was originally deployed on the China Station as part of the 4th submarine flotilla . Ships of the China Station were tasked with trade protection and were used as a symbol of British power . In later September 1935 , Phoenix , HMS Pandora , HMS Osiris , HMS Oswald , and the depot ship HMS Medway were ordered to travel to the Mediterranean . While in the Mediterranean , the ships participated in naval exercises including the crash dive manoeuvre . Eight months later , the small group was ordered back to Hong Kong . In April 1940 , the flotilla , along with Medway , was ordered to the Mediterranean Sea to support naval operations there and the 1st submarine flotilla was established . Service in the Second World War Phoenix was stationed in Alexandria and patrolled the Aegean Sea and waters around the Dodecanese from 14 June to July 1940 . In July 1940 , Phoenix , under the command of Lt Cdr Gilbert Hugh Nowell , and Rorqual were given the task of screening a convoy of British ships bringing supplies from Malta to Alexandria . Phoenix made a contact report on 8 July after sighting the Italian battle fleet . Admiral Andrew Cunningham ordered his ships to cut off the Italian fleet from their base at Taranto , which led to the Battle of Calabria . Phoenix fired torpedoes at two Italian battleships , Giulio Cesare and Conte di Cavour , but missed both targets . While off the coast of Augusta , Sicily , Phoenix fired torpedoes at the Italian torpedo boat Albatros , but missed her . Albatros counter attacked and sank Phoenix with depth charges . All hands were lost .
|
490 | King Queen is a studio album by American recording artists Otis Redding and Carla Thomas . It is Thomas ' fourth album and Redding 's sixth and the final studio album before his death on December 10 , 1967 . Influenced by Marvin Gaye 's duets , the album features ten covers of soul classics and the eleventh finishing song co written by Redding . The album includes crossover hits Tramp and Knock on Wood . Following Redding 's death , the single Lovey Dovey was also released . The original album 's liner notes were written by Tennessee Senator Howard H. Baker , Jr . It was released on March 16 , 1967 , by Stax Records . Background and recording Producer Jim Stewart had the idea to produce a duet album with Otis Redding and Carla Thomas , as he thought it would help their musical careers ' progress , and that Redding 's rawness and Thomas 's sophistication would work well together . Another reason to combine the two artists was in the hopes of achieving a success similar to that which Motown singer Marvin Gaye had with both Tammi Terrell and Kim Weston . Carla Thomas was already successful in the R B business she had already had many singles appear in both the Hot 100 and Hot Rhythm Blues Singles charts , most recently her 1966 song B A B Y . Redding agreed to record with Thomas , simply stating , Well , hey , you from Memphis , you from Tennessee , you can hang . At the time the album was recorded in January 1967 , Thomas was studying at Howard University in Washington D.C. for an M.A. in English . Recorded in about six days ( another source states only three days ) , the album features eleven songs ten covers of soul classics , and an eleventh song , Ooh Carla , Ooh Otis , that Redding co wrote with Al Bell . It features house band Booker T. the M.G. ' s , pianist Isaac Hayes , and the brass section The Memphis Horns . Six out of eleven songs were cut during their session the rest were overdubbed by Redding in the following days owing to their concert obligations . Release Three singles were released from the album Tramp , the first cut song , was released as a single in April and peaked at number two on Billboard Hot Rhythm Blues Singles chart and at number twenty six on Billboard Hot 100 Knock on Wood peaked in September at number eight on the Hot Rhythm Blues Singles chart and number thirty on the Hot 100 charts and Lovey Dovey was released late in 1968 , and charted at number twenty one on the Hot Rhythm Blues Singles list and number sixty on the Hot 100 . The album was released on March 16 , 1967 . Retrospective reviews In retrospective reviews King Queen has gained positive comments . Jason Ankeny of Allmusic gives the album 4 . 5 stars out of 5 . He states that Redding and Thomas enjoy an undeniable chemistry , and they play off each other wonderfully , and summarizes the album as follows Otis Redding never recorded a lighter , more purely entertaining record than King Queen . Robert Christgau gives it an A although he says the album was pretty ephemeral , he praises the exciting music , and writes that it sounds vivacious , catchier and funnier than most soul music . Track listing Personnel Source Allmusic Charts
|
491 | Batman The Dark Knight ( formerly known as Batman The Ride ) is a steel floorless roller coaster designed by Bolliger Mabillard located in the south end of Six Flags New England . The roller coaster has 2 , 600 feet ( 790 m ) of track , reaches a maximum height of 117 . 8 feet ( 35 . 9 m ) , and features five inversions . The coaster was announced on February 6 , 2002 and opened to the public on April 20 , 2002 . In 2008 , the ride 's name was changed to Batman The Ride to avoid confusion with The Dark Knight Coaster that was planned to be built at the park after the project was cancelled , the ride 's name reverted to its original . History Batman The Dark Knight was announced to the public on February 6 , 2002 though construction had started in September 2001 . After construction and testing was completed by Martin Vleminckx , the ride officially opened on April 20 , 2002 . In 2007 , Six Flags announced three The Dark Knight Coaster roller coasters would be built at Six Flags Great Adventure , Six Flags Great America , and Six Flags New England . Because Batman The Dark Knight 's name was so similar to the new roller coaster , it was renamed to Batman The Ride . However , as construction on the new roller coaster progressed , the city of Agawam forced Six Flags to stop construction after it was discovered the park had not received the appropriate construction permits . In April 2008 , Six Flags cancelled the project due to the delays and Batman The Ride was renamed back to its original . Ride experience Once the train is ready to dispatched , part of the station 's floor is lowered . The train then departs and immediately begins to climb the 117 . 8 foot ( 35 . 9 m ) lift hill . Once at the top , the train goes through a pre drop before making a sharp downward left turn back to the ground . When the train reaches the bottom , it then enters a vertical loop . Upon exiting the loop , the train then rises back up and goes through a dive loop . The train then makes a 180 degree left turn through the loop before going through a set of trim brakes . Next , the train enters a zero gravity roll followed by a right turn leading into interlocking corkscrew 's . After exiting the first corkscrew , the train makes a left turn before going through the second corkscrew . The train then makes another left turn into the final brake run which leads back to the station . One cycle of the ride lasts about 2 minutes and 20 seconds . Track The steel box track of Batman The Dark Knight is approximately 2 , 600 feet ( 790 m ) long and the lift is 117 . 8 feet ( 35 . 9 m ) tall . It was manufactured by Clermont Steel Fabricators located in Batavia , Ohio who manufactures Bolliger Mabillard 's roller coasters . The track is colored purple ( with blue rails ) while the supports are black . Trains Batman The Dark Knight operates with two steel and fiberglass trains . Each train has seven cars that can seat four riders in one row for a total of 28 riders per train . The train structure uses similar colors as the track , the seats are purple , and uses over the shoulder restraints that are yellow . Also , unlike traditional steel roller coasters , Batman The Dark Knight has no floor on its trains .
|
492 | WASP 13 is a star in the Lynx constellation . The star is similar , in terms of metallicity and mass , to the Sun , although it is hotter and most likely older . The star was first observed in 1997 , according to the SIMBAD database , and was targeted by SuperWASP after the star was observed by one of the SuperWASP telescopes beginning in 2006 . Follow up observations on the star led to the discovery of planet WASP 13b in 2008 the discovery paper was published in 2009 . Observational history According to SIMBAD , WASP 13 was first observed in 1997 , when it was catalogued by astronomers measuring the proper motion of stars in regions of the sky where galaxies are detected . Between November 27 , 2006 , and April 1 , 2007 , the SuperWASP North telescope in the Canary Islands observed WASP 13 analysis of the data suggested that a planet could be in the orbit of the star . Follow up observations were conducted by a team of British , Spanish , French , Swiss and American astronomers using the photometer on the James Gregory Telescope in Scotland using visual comparisons to the nearby bright star HD unk , the star 's light curve was better defined . In combination with measurements of WASP 13 's spectrum measured using the SOPHIE chelle spectrograph at the Haute Provence Observatory in France , the star 's radial velocity was also discovered . The Fibre Fed Echelle Spectrograph on the Nordic Optical Telescope gathered additional measurements of WASP 13 's spectrum , allowing astronomers to determine WASP 13 's characteristics . Use of SOPHIE 's data led to the discovery of the planet WASP 13b in 2008 the planet was reported in 2009 . Based on SIMBAD 's archive , WASP 13 was included in ten more papers between its discovery and 2010 . Characteristics WASP 13 is a sunlike , G type star that is situated approximately 156 parsecs ( 509 light years ) in the Lynx constellation . With an apparent magnitude of 10 . 42 , the star cannot be seen with the unaided eye from the perspective of someone on Earth . The star 's effective temperature , at unk K , is hotter than that of the Sun . However , its metallicity is similar this can be seen in how the concentration of iron , or Fe H , is approximately 0 . WASP 13 's surface gravity is measured at 4 . 04 km s2 , while the rate at which it rotates is at most 4 . 9 km s . WASP 13 has a mass that is 1 . 03 times the mass of the Sun and a radius that is 1 . 34 times the Sun 's radius . Measurements of its lithium content suggest that the star has used up all of its helium and is now fusing lithium in the shell around its core . With this , its estimated age is 8 . 5 billion years , over twice the age of the Sun , but this age may vary to any point between 4 . 4 and 14 billion years in age because of the high uncertainty surrounding this aspect of the star 's age . Planetary system WASP 13b is a planet that orbits its host star at a distance of 0 . unk AU , or approximately 5 . 27 of the mean distance between the Earth and Sun . The planet completes an orbit every 4 . unk days , or approximately 4 days and 8 . 5 hours . WASP 13b 's estimated mass is 0 . 46 times the mass of Jupiter , while its radius is about 1 . 21 times that of the planet .
|
493 | The ZBGM 75 Advanced Intercontinental Ballistic Missile , also known as Weapons System 120A ( WS 120A ) , was a program to develop an intercontinental ballistic missile ( ICBM ) , proposed by the United States Air Force in the 1960s as a replacement for the LGM 30 Minuteman as the Air Force 's standard ICBM . Funding was not allocated for the program and the project was cancelled in 1967 . Background The Department of Defense began the STRAT X study on 1 November 1966 to evaluate a new ballistic missile proposal from the Air Force , which was designated the Advanced Intercontinental Ballistic Missile ( AICBM ) . The project was intended to provide a successor to the LGM 30 Minuteman ICBM then in United States Air Force service . The program was officially launched in April 1966 , and in June the project received the designation ZBGM 75 , the Z prefix indicating a project in the planning stage . The specifications for the ZBGM 75 called for a large solid fuel powered missile , which would be fitted with between 10 and 20 multiple independently unk reentry vehicles ( unk ) . The missiles would be based in silo launchers , which were specified to be hardened by a factor of 10 over the existing silos used by Minuteman missiles . In addition , there was also a plan to develop a railroad based deployment system for the AICBM . Improvements in accuracy over existing missiles , combined with penetration aids under development to enhance the effectiveness of each missile , were expected to make the AICBM capable of defeating existing and projected Soviet anti ballistic missile systems . Cancellation Ultimately , the Navy won the STRAT X competition with the design that would become the Ohio class ballistic missile submarines . Nevertheless , the final report , issued in August 1967 , recommended that the ZBGM 75 also be developed . Accordingly , the Joint Chiefs of Staff recommended to Secretary of Defense Robert McNamara that the ZBGM 75 be funded starting in Fiscal Year ( FY ) 1969 , with a projected entry into service by 1973 . This recommendation came after the Air Force had completed the preliminary studies on the missiles and the new , hardened silos . McNamara instead kept the missile in advanced development , which stopped all work on the project . Only development of the new super hardened silos was approved for funding these would be used by the Minuteman missiles . As a result , the missile 's development was cancelled . McNamara 's rationale for cancelling the program was the destabilizing influence of the new missile , which could have rendered existing Soviet anti ballistic missile defenses ineffective . McNamara saw relative parity between the two powers the strategic basis for mutually assured destruction as the best method to keep the Soviet Union in a position where it must negotiate with the United States . After the cancellation of WS 120A , the Air Force made no further development of new ICBMs until 1972 . In that year the M X project was begun , which resulted in the development of the LGM 118 Peacekeeper . The Peacekeeper entered service in the mid 1980s and served until 2005 the Minuteman III is still in service , and has outlasted both of its planned replacements .
|
494 | .sj is the Internet country code top level domain ( ccTLD ) reserved for the designation Svalbard and Jan Mayen . The domain name registry is Norid , but .sj is not open for registration . The issuing of the domain was based on the ISO 3166 designation of Svalbard and Jan Mayen , which consists of two separately administrated integrated territories of Norway the Arctic archipelago Svalbard and the nearly uninhabited volcanic island Jan Mayen . .sj was designated on 21 August 1997 , at the same time as Bouvet Island was allocated .bv. Both were placed under the .no registry Norid , which is also the sponsor . Norwegian policy states that .no is sufficient for those institutions connected to both Svalbard and Jan Mayen , and therefore the domain is not open to registration . It is Norwegian policy not to commercialize domain resources , so there are no plans to sell .sj. Should the domain later come into use , it will be under regulation of the Norwegian Post and Telecommunications Authority and follow the same policy as .no. There are two second level domains reserved for the two areas unk and jan unk , but other web addresses are also used . History Svalbard and Jan Mayen are two integrated territories of Norway with special status ( unincorporated area ) . The Svalbard Treaty grants Norway full sovereignty of Svalbard , but the archipelago holds special status as among other things a free economic zone and is not part of the European Economic Area and the Schengen Area . Jan Mayen is a nearly unpopulated volcanic island in the Atlantic Ocean and is a fully integrated part of Norway . During the establishment of the ISO 3166 codes , it was proposed that Svalbard have its own code , but the Norwegian authorities chose to also include Jan Mayen in the area . Following the ISO codes , .sj was allocated on 21 August 1997 , at the same time .bv was allocated . In June 2015 , Norwegian computer scientist Hkon Wium Lie and the Socialist Left Party proposed using the .sj domain , along with .bv , as online free havens . The proposal aims at protecting both the Norwegian authorities and foreign dissidents from surveillance . Policy Management of .sj lies with the Trondheim based Norid , which is also the domain name registry for .no and the unused .bv. Norid is a limited company owned by Uninett , which is again owned by the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research . The legal right to manage the domains is two fold , based both on an agreement with the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority ( IANA ) and regulations under the Telecommunication Act which is supervised by the Lillesand based Norwegian Post and Telecommunications Authority . The policy for use of .sj is regulated by the Regulation Concerning Domain Names Under Norwegian Country Code Top level Domains , also known as the Domain Regulation . This regulation also regulates Norway 's other two ccTLDs , .bv and .no. Should .sj later come unto use , the same rules and procedures currently regarding .no would be used for .sj. The domain remains reserved for potential future use . Sale of the two unused ccTLDs has not been an item to consider for policymakers , as commercialization of the domain resources is in direct contradiction to Norwegian policy .
|
495 | The 33rd Boat Race between crews from the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge took place on the River Thames on 8 April 1876 . Six of the Oxford crew had Boat Race experience while Cambridge 's crew contained three Blues . Umpired by Joseph William Chitty , Cambridge won the race easily in a time of 20 minutes 20 seconds , following confusion as to the positioning of the finish . The victory took the overall record to 17 16 in Oxford 's favour . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Cambridge by ten lengths in the previous year 's race , and led overall with seventeen wins to Cambridge 's fifteen . Cambridge were coached by Constantine William Benson who had rowed for Cambridge in the 1872 , 1873 and 1875 races , and James Brooks Close who had represented the Light Blues in the 1872 , 1873 and 1874 races . There is no record of who coached Oxford . Joseph William Chitty was the umpire for the race . He had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in March and December ) and the 1852 race . The starter was Edward Searle . Crews Both crews weight an average of 11 st 13 . 875 lb ( 76 . 0 kg ) . The Cambridge crew contained three former Blues William Brooks Close , cox George Latham Davies and Herbert Rhodes ( rowing in his fourth Boat Race ) . Oxford saw six Blues return , including H. J. Stayner who was making his third Boat Race appearance . Author and rower G. C. Drinkwater stated that the placement of Tom Cottingham Edwards Moss , described as one of the best sevens that ever rowed , at stroke was a mistake . In contrast , Cambridge were considered by many to be the finest seen at Putney up to that time . Race Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey side of the river to Cambridge . Weather conditions were warm but with a foul wind in Corney Reach ( about 3 miles ( 4 . 8 km ) along the course ) , and the race commenced at 2 02 p.m. The crews remained almost level for the first four minutes of the race , after which Cambridge began to pull ahead . By Hammersmith Bridge they had a clear water advantage and were three lengths up by Chiswick Eyot . Extending their lead , the Light Blues were five lengths ahead by The Ship pub . When Oxford finally passed the pub , they stopped , apparently unaware that they had not completed the course . Author and former Oxford rower Dickie Burnell suggested the course was approximately 60 yards ( 55 m ) too long . Cambridge , having sprinted to the finish , received the finishing gun while eight lengths ahead . As a result of the confusion , the judge declared the winning distance as four lengths . However , official records state that Cambridge won the race easily , in a time of 20 minutes 20 seconds . It was their sixth win in seven years and took the overall record to 17 16 in Oxford 's favour .
|
496 | WKEY ( 1340 AM ) is an American radio station licensed to serve the community of Covington , Virginia . The station , which began broadcasting in 1941 , is owned and operated by Todd P. Robinson , Inc . The WKEY broadcast license is held by unk , LLC . The station broadcasts a country music format to the Covington Clifton Forge area . WKEY is branded , along with its broadcast translator unk ( 103 . 5 FM , Covington ) , as 103 . 5 Big Country . History WKEY began broadcasting on May 23 , 1941 as WJMA with 250 watts of power . WJMA was owned by John Arrington Jr. and his wife , Marcia . On May 26 , 1942 , WJMA was sold to Earl M. Key and the callsign changed to WKEY in 1943 . By 1964 , the station 's power had increased to 1 , 000 watts during the day , while the nighttime power remained at 250 watts . On June 1 , 1973 , WKEY was sold to WKEY , Inc . , headed by E.H. Barr , for an undisclosed amount . WKEY increased its nighttime power in 1987 to 1 , 000 watts , matching its daytime power . On December 20 , 2002 , WKEY was acquired by Quorum Radio Partners of Virginia , Inc. for 650 , 000 . During 2002 , WKEY switched from its longtime country format to oldies . On April 20 , 2005 , Quorum Radio Partners of Virginia , Inc. filed for bankruptcy and WKEY placed into debtor in possession status pending a sale . On January 1 , 2006 , WKEY was sold to Todd P. Robinson , Inc . , for 100 , 000 . On May 1 , 2008 , the station changed its format from oldies to Southern Gospel , under The Cross branding . On January 14 , 2012 , WKEY began simulcasting sister station unk FM , after its move to Forest , Virginia , and away from Covington . On August 9 , 2012 , WKEY began simulcasting full time on translator station unk ( 103 . 5 FM ) , located in Covington , with the country format that was previously heard on unk . On November 18 , 2013 , WKEY began streaming its signal live on the internet . Programming WKEY carries a mix of local and syndicated programming . Weekdays begin with a locally produced morning show called Highway 64 with Big Al . The station also has a news department which prepares and broadcasts local news reports on weekdays . The bulk of the broadcast day 's programming comes from Dial Global 's Mainstream Country network . Nationally syndicated programs aired on WKEY include the Tim White Bluegrass Show and unk Racing Country . The station carries a one minute newscast from Fox News Radio at the top of each hour . WKEY broadcasts live football games from Covington High School in the Fall . WKEY is an affiliate of the University of Virginia 's Virginia Sports Network , which carries the school 's football and basketball games . NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races can also be heard on WKEY with live coverage provided by the Motor Racing Network and the Performance Racing Network . On Sunday mornings , WKEY airs an assortment of religious programming . Beginning with a half hour , locally produced Gospel music program , the station then airs the syndicated In Touch Ministries and Focus on the Family programs , rounding out the block with a live local church service broadcast . Translator In addition to the main station , WKEY is relayed by an FM translator to widen its broadcast area .
|
497 | 16 Cygni or 16 Cyg is the Flamsteed designation of a triple star system approximately 69 light years away from Earth in the constellation of Cygnus . It consists of two Sun like yellow dwarf stars , 16 Cygni A and 16 Cygni B , together with a red dwarf , 16 Cygni C. In 1996 an extrasolar planet was discovered in an eccentric orbit around 16 Cygni B. Distance The parallax of the two brightest stars were measured as part of the Hipparcos astrometry mission . This yielded a parallax of 47 . 44 milliarcseconds for 16 Cygni A and 47 . 14 milliarcseconds for 16 Cygni B. Since the two components are associated , it is reasonable to assume they lie at the same distance , so the different parallaxes are a result of experimental error ( indeed , when the associated parallax errors are taken into account , the ranges of the parallaxes overlap ) . Using the parallax of the A component , the distance is 21 . 1 parsecs . The parallax of the B component corresponds to a distance of 21 . 2 parsecs . Stellar components 16 Cygni is a hierarchal triple system . Stars A and C form a close binary with a projected separation of 73 AU . The orbital elements of the A C binary are currently unknown . At a distance of 860 AU from A is a third component designated 16 Cygni B. The orbit of B relative to the A C pair was determined in 1999 and not updated since ( as of June 2007 ) plausible orbits range in period from 18 , 200 to 1 . 3 million years , with a semimajor axis ranging from 877 to 15 , 180 AU . In addition B orbits between 100 and 160 degrees inclination , that is against the A C pole such that 90 degrees would be unk . Both 16 Cygni A and 16 Cygni B are yellow dwarf stars like the Sun . According to data from the Geneva Copenhagen survey , both stars have masses similar to the Sun . Age estimates for the two stars vary slightly , but 16 Cygni is likely to be much older than the Solar System , at around 10 , 000 million years old . 16 Cygni C is much fainter than either of these stars , and may be a red dwarf . Planetary system In 1996 an extrasolar planet in an eccentric orbit was announced around the star 16 Cygni B. The planet 's orbit takes 798 . 5 days to complete , with a semimajor axis of 1 . 68 AU . Like the majority of extrasolar planets detectable from Earth , 16 Cygni Bb was deduced from the radial velocity of its parent star . At the time that only gave a lower limit on the mass in this case , about 1 . 68 times that of Jupiter . In 2012 , two astronomers , E. unk and unk unk , showed that the stable orbit would demand about 2 . 38 Jupiter masses , such that its orbit was inclined at either 45 or 135 . For the 16 Cyg B system , only particles inside approximately 0 . 3 AU remained stable within a million years of formation , leaving open the possibility of short period planets . For them , observation rules out any such planet of over a Neptune mass . There was a METI message sent to the 16 Cygni system . It was transmitted from Eurasia 's largest radar the 70 meter ( 230 foot ) Eupatoria Planetary Radar . The message was named Cosmic Call 1 it was sent on May 24 , 1999 , and it will reach 16 Cygni in November 2069 . The 16 Cygni system is within the field of view of the Kepler space telescope .
|
498 | Pennsylvania Route 858 ( designated by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation as SR unk ) is a 16 . 465 mile long ( 26 . 498 km ) state highway located in Susquehanna County in Pennsylvania . The southern terminus is at PA 706 in Rush Township . The northern terminus is the New York state line in Little Meadows . The route from there continues as Tioga County Route 41 . The route was assigned in 1928 , completed a year later , and has remained the same since , with an exception of its southern terminus changing designations from Pennsylvania Route 67 . Route description PA 858 begins at an intersection with PA 706 in the Rush Township community of Rushville . The highway begins its long trek in Susquehanna County by progressing northward in a patch of forests . PA 858 , which runs west of a creek , is sparsely populated and homes are rare . PA 858 winds its way in and out of forests , heading on a northeast direction . Soon after , there is an intersection with unk Hill Road , a locally maintained highway . After unk Hill Road , PA 858 heads back into a dense patch of trees . In the forest , is an intersection with C. Warner Road , and soon after comes one for unk Road . Although the dense forest ends , trees continue to surround the highway . The route turns a short drift off its alignment at an intersection with Miller Road . The route turns from the northward direction it was heading to a northwestern direction and intersects eventually with unk Road . The dense forestry returns , and Route 858 begins winding its way along . Residential homes have all but disappeared from the route , with trees showing the way into Middletown Center . PA 858 passes a pond to the east , intersecting with the former alignment of PA 859 , now a locally maintained highway known as Vet Davis Road and Camp Corby Road . After leaving Middletown Center , PA 858 continues northward and sometimes northeastward . After Middletown Center , PA 858 is surrounded by nothing but trees . There is a break in the trees when PA 858 intersects with an unnamed road , which serves as a connector to Township Road 768 . The state traffic route continues to the northwest , intersecting with Township Road 687 . As PA 858 continues , it enters unk Township , where the dense forestry begins to break , and homes begin to show the way . After a short pond is passed , the highway enters Little Meadows . At Maple Avenue , PA 858 runs on its final stretch , passing homes all the way to the New York state line . There , PA 858 ends and becomes County Route 41 upon entering Tioga County , New York . History PA 858 was first assigned in the mass numbering of state traffic routes in Pennsylvania in 1928 . However , the southern terminus of the highway was not an intersection with Pennsylvania Route 706 . Instead , it was an intersection with PA 67 . When it was assigned , it only ran from U.S. Route 106 to Town House Road , since the rest had not been completed yet . The final , already paved segment of SR 858 was completed by the next year . In 1932 , the route south of Town House Road was paved . In 1972 , PA 67 was decommissioned , and the route at the southern terminus became PA 706 . Major intersections The entire route is in Susquehanna County .
|
499 | Keturah ( Hebrew unk , Modern unk , Tiberian unk Incense ) was a wife and concubine of the Biblical patriarch Abraham . According to the Book of Genesis , Abraham married Keturah after the death of his first wife , Sarah Abraham and Keturah had six sons . One modern commentator on the Hebrew Bible has called Keturah the most ignored significant person in the Torah . Some Jewish scholars have believed Keturah to be the same person as Abraham 's concubine Hagar , but this view is not universally held . Relationship of Keturah to Abraham Keturah is referred to in Genesis as another wife of Abraham ( Hebrew unk unk . ' unk Translated woman , wife ) . In First Chronicles , she is called Abraham 's concubine ( Hebrew unk unk . unk Translated concubine ) . Eric Lyon theorizes that it is possible that Keturah was Abraham s ' concubine ' in the beginning , and then became his ' wife ' at a later time . Keturah and Hagar There is disagreement amongst Jewish scholars as to whether Keturah was , or was not , the same person as Hagar the servant of Abraham 's wife Sarah , and Abraham 's concubine who ( together with her son Ishmael ) was sent away by Abraham at the insistence of Sarah . The discussion of Genesis 25 1 6 in the Genesis Rabbah includes statements by Rabbi Yehuda ha Nasi arguing that Hagar returned to Abraham and was renamed Keturah . Her new name ( Keturah means incense in Hebrew ) is said to refer to the pleasant aroma of incense symbolic of her having turned from misdeeds committed during her time away from Abraham . Since Keturah is referred to in First Chronicles as Abraham 's concubine ( in the singular ) , some scholars concluded that this was why Keturah was identified with Hagar in the Midrash and the Palestinian unk . An alternative interpretation of the name Keturah ( based on an Aramaic root meaning to tie or to adorn ) is also cited in the Genesis Rabbah to suggest that Hagar did not have sexual relations with anyone else from the time she left Abraham until her return . The theory that Keturah was Hagar was also supported by the 11th century scholar Rashi . Biblical scholar Richard Elliott Friedman dismisses the identification of Keturah with Hagar as an old rabbinic idea for which there is no basis ... in the text , and also notes that the idea was rejected by traditional commentators such as Ibn Ezra , Ramban , and unk . The Book of Jubilees also supports the conclusion that Keturah and Hagar were two different people , by stating that Abraham waited until after Hagar 's death before marrying Keturah . Descendants Keturah bore Abraham six sons unk , unk , Medan , Midian , unk , and unk . Genesis and First Chronicles also list seven of her grandsons ( Sheba , Dedan , unk , unk , Enoch , unk , and unk ) . Keturah 's sons were said to have represented the Arab tribes who lived south and east of Palestine . According to the African writer Olaudah Equiano , the 18th century English theologian John Gill believed the African people were descended from Abraham via Keturah . According to the Bah ' author John Able , Bah 's consider their founder , Bah 'u'llh , to have been descended doubly , from both Abraham and Sarah , and separately from Abraham and Keturah .
|
Subsets and Splits
No community queries yet
The top public SQL queries from the community will appear here once available.