id
int64
0
3.9k
doc
stringlengths
268
6.34k
300
M 42 is a rural state trunkline highway in the U.S. state of Michigan . It is located in the northwestern Lower Peninsula of the state . Along its route , M 42 begins in Manton and ends north of Lake City , some 10 . 356 miles ( 16 . 666 km ) apart . The highway used to run much farther . Former termini included the Traverse City area from 1919 until 1940 and Mesick from 1940 until 2007 . Route description M 42 is a rural , two lane highway connecting Manton and Lake City . It runs through wooded terrain on gently rolling hills . Between the western terminus at Michigan Avenue and the US 131 freeway in Manton , M 42 is concurrently designated with Bus . US 131 along Seventh Street . It runs east along Seventh Street to a folded diamond interchange at Exit 191 on US 131 east of downtown . Continuing east , it is known as North 16 Road until it crosses the Wexford Missaukee county line at Seeley Road approximately 2 . 5 miles ( 4 . 0 km ) east of the freeway . Here the road name changes to Mike and Tony Road before M 42 curves southeasterly crossing unk Creek on West Walker Road . East of the unincorporated community of Arlene the highway turns ninety degrees to the south off Walker Road before angling southeasterly skirting the edge of some hills near Dyer Lake just west of M 66 . The road turns back due east between Al Moses Road and M 66 , where it ends north of Lake City . No section of the trunkline is part of the National Highway System . History M 42 is an original state trunkline dating back to the 1919 signage of the highway system in Michigan . The original highway routing started at M 13 in Manton and ran due west to Mesick . From there the highway turned north and met M 11 at Chums Corners . M 11 M 42 ran concurrently northward into the City of Traverse City where M 42 ended . By May 1929 , M 42 was extended east to connect to Lake City . The highway was further extended before 1936 up the Old Mission Peninsula north of Traverse City . In the latter half of 1940 , the M 37 designation replace M 42 north of Mesick through Traverse City to Old Mission . The last sections of highway were paved in late 1951 and early 1952 . In 2007 , the stretch of M 42 between M 37 and US 131 along 16 Road was transferred to the Wexford County Road Commission . This change shortened the highway from 25 . 255 miles ( 40 . 644 km ) to 10 . 356 miles ( 16 . 666 km ) . The section of transferred highway in Wexford County was labeled as flexible pavements on the 2006 MDOT Truck Operators Map . This classification meant truck traffic on the roadway was subject to weight and load restrictions during spring . This classification is unlike the other highways in the county and surrounding area which were marked as all weather highways and would not carry such restrictions . Major intersections
301
HD 40307 d is an extrasolar planet orbiting the star HD 40307 , located 42 light years from Earth in the direction of the southern constellation Pictor . The planet was discovered by the radial velocity method , using the HARPS apparatus in June 2008 . It is the most massive of the six proposed planets in the system . The planet is of interest as this star has relatively low metallicity , supporting a hypothesis that different metallicities in protostars determine what kind of planets they will form . Discovery HD 40307 d was discovered through the Doppler spectroscopy method , which functions by measuring the variations in radial velocity in a star produced by the gravitational effect of orbiting exoplanets . The radial velocities were measured by the High Accuracy Radial Velocity Planet Searcher spectrography system ( HARPS ) at the La Silla Observatory in Chile 's Atacama Desert . The other less massive planets orbiting HD 40307 were discovered in the same way HD 40307 b and HD 40307 c first , and then HD 40307 e , HD 40307 f , and HD 40307 g . The discovery of HD 40307 d and the former two was announced at the astrophysics conference that took place on June 16 18 , 2008 in Nantes , France . Orbit and mass HD 40307 d has a mass of at least 9 . 2 times Earth 's assuming that all planets in the system have coplanar orbits , it is the most massive planet known in the system . The planet orbits approximately 0 . 135 astronomical units from its primary star , as compared to Earth 's orbit at approximately one astronomical unit away from the Sun . As a result , one year on HD 40307 d constitutes approximately 20 . 45 Earth days . The eccentricity of the planet 's orbit was found to not differ significantly from zero , meaning that there is insufficient data to distinguish the orbit from an entirely circular one . The star around which HD 40307 d orbits has an unusually low metallicity compared to that of other planet bearing stars . This supports a hypothesis concerning the possibility that the metallicity of stars during their births may determine whether a protostar 's accretion disk forms gas giants or terrestrial planets . Characteristics The planet has not been found to transit and , further , it is not likely to . It has also not been imaged . More specific physical characteristics such as radius , composition , and average surface temperature cannot be observed . A dynamical study of planets b , c , and d showed tidal effects at least on b and c , to the extent that b had to be a sub Neptune . All the planets from b to at least f must have migrated inward . That study implied that d was a sub Neptune as well . As such strong tidal forces often result in the destruction of larger natural satellites in planets orbiting close to a star , it is unlikely that HD 40307 d hosts any satellites .
302
State Route 177 ( SR 177 ) is a short state highway in the U.S. state of California in Riverside County . The route links Interstate 10 ( I 10 ) midway between the Coachella Valley and Blythe on the California Arizona border , to SR 62 near Rice . SR 177 travels along the eastern portion of the Joshua Tree National Park like the eastern 100 miles ( 160 km ) of SR 62 , it passes through some of the most desolate areas of the Mojave Desert . The southernmost portion of SR 177 near I 10 runs concurrently with County Route R2 ( CR R2 ) . Route description SR 177 begins at I 10 near Desert Center and briefly travels north , intersecting with CR R2 . At this intersection , SR 177 turns northeast and travels across the Mojave Desert , through the unk Valley . It passes near the Desert Center Airport and comes near unk Lake , a dry lake . The highway passes along the southeastern boundary of Joshua Tree National Park before turning due north and crossing the desert for several miles . SR 177 briefly turns northeast again before intersecting with SR 62 and defaulting onto SR 62 eastbound . The route is two lanes wide for its entire length . SR 177 is not part of the National Highway System , a network of highways that are essential to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . In 2013 , SR 177 had an annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) of 1 , 200 at the northern terminus with SR 62 , and 3 , 700 at the southern terminus with I 10 , the latter of which was the highest AADT for the highway . History The Metropolitan Water District built a road from Desert Center that ran north before turning east to Earp along with portions of the California Aqueduct from February 20 to August 4 in 1933 . This was part of a road system that was built in order to support the construction of the aqueduct by connecting the camps that construction workers resided in during the project . This road cost 389 , 600 ( about 48 million in 2015 dollars ) to construct the roads in the system were paved . SR 177 was added to the state highway system in 1972 by the California State Legislature . As of 1998 , Caltrans had no plans to expand the highway , considering it to be maintain only through 2015 . Major intersections Except where prefixed with a letter , postmiles were measured on the road as it was when the route was established , based on the alignment that existed at the time , and do not necessarily reflect current mileage . R reflects a realignment in the route since then , M indicates a second realignment , L refers an overlap due to a correction or change , and T indicates postmiles classified as temporary ( for a full list of prefixes , see the list of postmile definitions ) . Segments that remain unconstructed or have been relinquished to local control may be omitted . The entire route is in Riverside County .
303
New York State Route 9M ( NY 9M ) was a state highway in Warren County , New York , in the United States . It was a spur route of U.S. Route 9 ( US 9 ) that largely followed the eastern bank of the Schroon River . The southern terminus of the route was at NY 8 in the town of Horicon near the hamlet of Starbuckville . Its northern terminus was at US 9 in the Chester hamlet of Pottersville . NY 9M was known as East Schroon River Road and Glendale Road and crossed over the southern tip of Schroon Lake . NY 9M was assigned c . 1931 to what had been designated as legislative Route 22 c from 1913 to 1921 . It lasted for less than a decade as it was removed c . 1939 . Its former routing is now maintained by Warren County as part of three county routes , namely County Route 55 ( CR 55 ) , CR 62 , and County Route 64 . Route description NY 9M began at an intersection with NY 8 ( now CR 53 ) north of the hamlet of Starbuckville in the town of Horicon . The route followed Valentine Pond Road north for a negligible distance , then progressed westward along the eastern bank of the Schroon River on East Schroon River Road . Across the river , Carl Turner Road , a locally maintained highway , followed a routing parallel to that of NY 9M on the other shore . Both roads gradually curved northward , mirroring a similar turn in the river 's course . Carl Turner Road came to an end here however , NY 9M continued on . Near a junction with modern day Short Street , NY 9M began to deviate from the river . North of Short Street , NY 9M curved back to the northwest , passing Smith Pond and traveling through woodlands as it approached Schroon Lake . It then crossed over the southern tip of the lake and entered the town of Chester on the opposite bank . The route came to an end shortly afterward at a junction with US 9 in the hamlet of Pottersville . History In 1913 , the New York State Legislature created Route 22 c , an unsigned legislative route extending 4 . 80 miles ( 7 . 72 km ) from State Highway 1023 ( later NY 8 and now CR 53 ) near Starbuckville to legislative Route 22 ( modern US 9 ) in Pottersville . The Route 22 c designation was eliminated on March 1 , 1921 , as part of a partial renumbering of New York 's legislative route system . In the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York , hundreds of state maintained highways that did not have a signed designation were assigned one . The former routing of legislative Route 22 c was designated as NY 9M by the following year . NY 9M was short lived , however , as it ceased to exist c . 1939 . Its former routing is now maintained by Warren County as CR 55 from former NY 8 ( CR 53 ) to East Schroon River Road , CR 64 from Valentine Pond Road to East Shore Road , and CR 62 from East Shore Road to US 9 . Major intersections The entire route was in Warren County .
304
K 3 is a 43 . 262 mile long ( 69 . 623 km ) state highway in southeastern Kansas that runs through Crawford , Bourbon and Linn counties from K 47 near Girard to K 31 near Blue Mound . It was designated around 1932 , and the entire route was paved by 1958 . The road is maintained by the Kansas Department of Transportation ( KDOT ) , and is a two lane road for its entire length . The route 's concurrency with U.S. Route 54 ( US 54 ) is a part of the National Highway System . Route description K 3 begins at an intersection with K 47 west of Girard in Crawford County and heads north on a two lane road through plains . Approximately three miles ( 4 . 8 km ) north of its southern terminus , the route passes through the small community of unk . North of here , the highway curves to the west , intersects the eastern terminus of K 146 , and turns back to the north . K 3 crosses a branch of the Walnut Creek and continues north and cuts through unk . The route then enters Bourbon County . North of the county line , K 3 turns east and begins a concurrency with K 39 . Shortly after , the highway leaves K 39 and turns to the north , continuing in that direction for about seven miles ( 11 km ) before bending to the northwest . K 3 then curves to the north and crosses the unk River . Continuing north of the river , the highway twists to the northeast and passes through Uniontown . Just north of Uniontown , K 3 enters a concurrency with U.S. Route 54 ( US 54 ) and turns west . The highways curve to the northwest , running through slightly wooded flat lands . K 3 leaves the concurrency with US 54 just east of the city of Bronson and turns north . About seven miles ( 11 km ) north of the concurrency , K 3 serves as the eastern terminus of K 65 . After this intersection , the highway crosses the Little Osage River , then enters Linn County . North of here , K 3 meets its northern terminus at an intersection with K 31 east of Blue Mound . K 3 is maintained by KDOT . In 2012 , the traffic on the route , measured in annual average daily traffic , was found to be between 130 and 2060 vehicles per day . Most of the traffic was present on the concurrency with US 54 . K 3 's concurrency with US 54 is included in the National Highway System , a system of highways important to the nation 's economy , defense , and mobility . History K 3 first appears on the 1932 state highway map . At that time , the route was almost completely gravel only the concurrency with US 54 was paved . By 1950 , the portion of K 3 in Crawford County had been paved . The portion of the route from the Crawford Bourbon county line to the west end of the concurrency with K 39 was paved in 1953 , and the remainder of the road was paved by 1958 . No significant changes have been made to the route since then . Major intersections
305
The African island nation of So Tom and Prncipe competed at the 2012 Summer Olympic Games in London , United Kingdom from 27 July to 12 August 2012 . This was the nation 's fifth appearance at the Olympics since its debut in 1996 . Two track and field athletes , Christopher Lima da Costa and Lecabela Quaresma were selected to the team by wildcard places , without having qualified at any sporting event . Quaresma was selected as flag bearer for the opening and closing ceremonies . Neither of the two athletes progressed beyond the first round of their respective events . Background So Tom and Prncipe participated in five Summer Olympic games between its debut in the 1996 Summer Olympics in Atlanta and the 2012 Summer Olympics in London . The highest number of So Tom and Prncipe athletes participating in a summer games is three in the 2008 games in Beijing , China . No So Tom and Prncipe athlete has ever won a medal at the Olympics . Two track and field athletes from So Tom and Prncipe were selected to compete in the London games Christopher Lima da Costa in the men 's 100 m and Lecabela Quaresma in the women 's 100 m hurdles . Athletics Christopher Lima da Costa was the only male athlete representing So Tom and Prncipe at the London Olympics . He had not previously competed in any Olympic games . He competed in the men 's 100 metres race on August 4 , competing against six other athletes in the first heat . He finished the race in 11 . 56 seconds ( his personal best ) , finishing last of the seven entrants . unk unk of Laos placed directly ahead of da Costa ( 11 . 30 seconds ) in a heat led by Bruno Rojas of Bolivia ( 10 . 62 seconds ) . The unk athlete placed 73rd of the 75 athletes , and therefore did not advance to later rounds . Lecabela Quaresma competed on behalf of So Tom and Prncipe at the London Olympic games in the women 's 100 metre hurdles . Quaresma became affiliated with sports organizations in Portugal and was 22 years old at the time of her competition at the London Olympics . She had not previously competed at any Olympic games . Quaresma competed against seven other athletes in the second heat on August 6 . Quaresma finished the race in 14 . 54 seconds , finishing last out of the six finishing athletes . She ranked behind unk unk of Kazakhstan ( 13 . 77 seconds ) in a heat led by Beate unk of Austria ( 13 . 09 seconds ) and Eline unk of Belgium ( 13 . 46 seconds ) . Of the 46 finishing athletes , Quaresma placed 42nd and did not advance to later rounds . Key Note Ranks given for track events are within the athlete 's heat only Q Qualified for the next round q Qualified for the next round as a fastest loser or , in field events , by position without achieving the qualifying target NR National record N A Round not applicable for the event Bye Athlete not required to compete in round
306
Munir Malik ( Urdu unk 10 July 1934 30 November 2012 ) was a Pakistani cricketer who played three Tests for Pakistan between 1959 and 1962 . A right arm fast medium bowler , he took nine wickets in Test cricket at an average of 39 . 77 , including a five wicket haul against England . During his first class career , he took 197 wickets at the average of 21 . 75 . First class career Malik played 49 first class matches for Karachi , Punjab , Rawalpindi and Services teams during 1956 66 . During his first class career , he achieved five or more wickets in an innings on fourteen occasions , and ten or more wickets in a match four times . Malik made his first class debut for Punjab B during the Quaid e Azam Trophy , against Bahawalpur in 1956 57 . He finished the season taking 13 wickets at an average of 8 . 30 . His 5 wickets for 19 runs for Punjab B , against Punjab , was his best performance in the season . Malik played three matches during 1957 58 and his best bowling figures came against Punjab , taking 5 for 66 . In the next two domestic seasons , he was more effective with the ball , taking 23 and 28 wickets respectively . Malik played a match against the Indian unk at Sargodha in April 1960 . He took 12 wickets for 135 runs in the match . His next match was for Pakistan unk against the Ceylon Cricket Association he bowled 17 overs and took 1 wicket for 19 runs in the first innings , and captured 2 wickets for 25 runs in the second innings in 9 overs . During the 1961 62 domestic season , Malik took 38 wickets . He was a part of the Pakistan team that toured England in 1962 , where he played sixteen matches , including three Tests , and took 43 wickets at the average of 39 . 93 . The same year he scored 72 runs for Combined Services , his career best in first class cricket , against Sargodha . In the next three domestic seasons , he only played seven matches and took 28 wickets , including his best performance of 8 wickets for 154 runs , against the Punjab University while playing for Karachi Whites . He played his last first class match during the Ayub Trophy in 1965 66 . International career Malik made his Test debut against Australia at the National Stadium , Karachi in 1959 . He took 3 wickets in the match conceding 100 runs . Malik played his next Test against England at the Headingley Stadium , Leeds in July 1962 . He captured 5 wickets for 128 runs in the match , which was his best bowling performance in Test cricket . He played his last Test at the Trent Bridge , Nottingham , during the same series between the teams where he only took one wicket . Personal life Malik was born in unk , British India ( now Pakistan ) on 10 July 1934 . He has five children , all daughters . On 30 November 2012 , he died after a long illness at the age of 78 , and was buried at the unk graveyard .
307
Crab dip , sometimes referred to as Maryland crab dip , is a thick , creamy dip that is typically prepared from cream cheese and lump crab meat . Other primary ingredients such as mayonnaise may be used . Various types of crab preparations , species and superfamilies are used , as are a variety of added ingredients . It is typically served hot , although cold versions also exist . Hot versions are typically baked or broiled . It is sometimes served as an appetizer . unk may include crackers and various breads . Some U.S. restaurants offer crab dip , commercially produced varieties exist , and some stadiums offer it as a part of their concessions . Ingredients Fresh , frozen or canned crab meat may be used in the preparation of crab dip . Different types of crab meat may be used , such as jumbo lump , lump unk , leg and claw , among others . Various types of crab species and superfamilies are also used , such as blue crab , Dungeness crab and Alaska king crab , among others . Some versions may use mayonnaise , other types of cheese , such as pepper jack cheese , brie cheese or Cheddar cheese instead of cream cheese as primary ingredients . Some may incorporate other seafoods in addition to crab , such as imitation crab , lobster , shrimp and unk . Additional ingredients may include mushrooms , artichoke , onion , green onion , shallot , green pepper , bread crumbs ( such as panko ) , heavy cream and others . Bread crumbs may be used to top the dish , which may be browned during the cooking process creating a crust . Sometimes Parmesan cheese is combined with the bread crumbs . Some versions use Old Bay Seasoning as an ingredient to add flavor , and some are prepared spicy with the addition of ingredients such as hot sauce and red pepper . Crab dips Preparation and service Some U.S. restaurants offer crab dip on their menus . Commercially mass produced crab dips are also manufactured . Crab dip can be prepared in advance , refrigerated , and cooked at a later time . It may be served in bread that has been hollowed out , such as a sourdough loaf . Crab dip may be served with crackers , flatbread , pita bread , bread , unk , pretzels and sliced vegetables , among other accompaniments . Stadium concessions The Nationals Park baseball park in the Navy Yard neighborhood of Washington , D.C. , the home ballpark for the Washington Nationals , offers a sandwich prepared with a half smoke , Maryland crab dip and Virginia ham called The DMV as part of its concessions . It was reported in August 2014 that Byrd Stadium on the campus of the University of Maryland in College Park , Maryland planned to offer a large 1 . 5 pound soft pretzel baked with crab dip and melted cheese that serves four people as part of its concessions . Byrd Stadium also offers other foods prepared with crab , such as nachos and crab fries .
308
Maria Limanskaya ( also mistakenly referred to as Anna Pavlova ) was a female soldier of the Red Army for three years during World War II . She became known as the Russian woman who directed traffic at the Brandenburg Gate in 1945 after the Battle of Berlin . She has since become a symbol of the Allied victory over Nazi Germany . Biography Early life and military service Born in 1924 as Maria Limanskaya , she joined the Red Army in 1942 , at the height of World War II . She was 18 . At that time the Soviet Stavka ( high command ) increasingly lacked trained reserves to reinforce the entire 2 , 000 kilometre ( 1 , 200 mi ) front , and as a result began to conscript underage men and women . Almost 800 , 000 women would eventually serve in the Red Army throughout the war . Little is known about Limanskaya 's military career other than several occasions where she was nearly killed . At one point , she left a building a few seconds before it was leveled by a bomb attack . She also contracted malaria . Brandenburg Gate and victory icon After the Battle of Berlin ended in early May 1945 , Limanskaya was assigned to direct traffic at the Brandenburg Gate during the Potsdam Conference in late July . While conducting her duties , she was photographed , filmed , and also interviewed by unk unk , a journalist employed by unk unk unk unk ( Telegraph Agency of the Soviet Union TASS ) , a state news agency . Her picture was widely published in newspapers and magazines worldwide and she quickly became an iconic image of the victory over Nazi Germany . She furthermore had a brief conversation with the British leader Winston Churchill as his entourage was passing by the gate on their way to Potsdam . Limanskaya later said about her meeting Churchill , he looked precisely the way I imagined him , puffing on a cigar . Later life and marriage After the war , Limanskaya returned to civilian life and got married . The marriage did not last and she was forced to bring up two daughters by herself . Limanskaya later remarried , this time to a fellow veteran named Victor with whom she remained for 23 years , until his death . She is believed to have lived out the last years of her life in the village of unk , Saratov . Limanskaya is survived by five great grandchildren , three of whom now live in Germany . For unknown reasons , she is often mistakenly referred to as Anna Pavlova in television documentaries and other media presentations . Printed Goldstein , Joshua ( 2003 ) . War and Gender How Gender Shapes the War System and Vice Versa . Cambridge University . ISBN 978 unk . Online Maria Limanskaya Forgotten Iconic Image of the Second World War . Mark unk . Retrieved 20 May 2015 . Kulikov , Andrei ( 13 May 2004 ) . The Fate of Russian Girl from WWII Photo . Pravda . Retrieved 20 May 2015 .
309
In Norse mythology , Lf ( identical with the Old Norse feminine noun meaning life , the life of the body ) and Lfrasir ( Old Norse masculine name from unk and unk . Lexicon unk defines this name as unk unk , vit unk , vit unk , Lf 's lover , lover of life , zest for life ) , sometimes anglicized as Lift and unk , female and male respectively are two humans who are foretold to survive the events of Ragnark by hiding in a wood called Hoddmmis holt , and after the flames have abated , to repopulate the newly risen and fertile world . Lf and Lfrasir are mentioned in the Poetic Edda , compiled in the thirteenth century from earlier traditional sources , and the Prose Edda , written in the 13th century by Snorri Sturluson . Scholarly theories have been proposed about the underlying meaning and origins of the two names . Attestations In the poem Vafrnisml , collected in the Poetic Edda , the god Odin poses a question to the jtunn Vafrnir , asking who among mankind will survive when the winter at the end of the world unk occurs . Vafrnir responds that they will be Lf and Lfrasir , that the two will have hidden in the wood of Hoddmmis Holt , they will consume the morning dew as food , and from them generations will spring . In chapter 53 of the Prose Edda book Gylfaginning , High tells Gangleri ( king Gylfi in disguise ) that two people , Lf and Lfrasir , will lie hid in Hoddmmis Holt during Surt 's fire , and that from these people there will be descended such a great progeny that the world will be inhabited . The above mentioned stanza of Vafrnisml is then quoted . Theories Carolyne Larrington notes that it is nowhere expressly stated what will happen to the world tree Yggdrasil at Ragnark , points to a connection between Mmir and Yggdrasil in the poem Vlusp , and theorizes that it is possible that unk is another name for unk , and that the two survivors hide in Yggdrasill . Rudolf Simek theorizes that the survival of Lf and Lfrasir is a case of reduplication of the unk , understandable from the cyclic nature of the Eddic eschatology . Simek says that Hoddmmis holt should not be understood literally as a wood or even a forest in which the two keep themselves hidden , but rather as an alternative name for the world tree Yggdrasill . Thus , the creation of mankind from tree trunks ( Askr , Embla ) is repeated after the unk as well . Simek says that in Germanic regions , the concept of mankind originating from trees is ancient . Simek additionally points out legendary parallels in a Bavarian legend of a shepherd who lives inside a tree , whose descendants repopulate the land after life there has been wiped out by plague ( citing a retelling by F. R. Schrder ) . In addition , Simek points to an Old Norse parallel in the figure of unk Oddr , who is rejuvenated after living as a tree man ( unk Odds saga 24 27 ) .
310
M 98 is the designation of a former 16 . 2 mile ( 26 . 1 km ) state trunkline highway in the Upper Peninsula of the US state of Michigan . It ran between M 77 at Germfask and M 28 near McMillan . The highway connected both small towns situated around Manistique Lake when it was designated with the rest of the original state highways in 1919 . The section north of Helmer on the east side of the lake ran concurrently with M 135 after the latter 's creation in the late 1920s . M 98 was extended at the end of the 1940s before the whole trunkline was removed from the highway system in the 1960s . Since the 1970s , part of M 98 has been designated as one of the two County Road H unk in the state . Route description M 98 started at a junction with M 77 in Germfask next to the Seney National Wildlife Refuge , a managed wetland in Schoolcraft County . The highway followed Ten Curves Road east and then north out town . The trunkline turned back due east and crosses the Fox River before a set of curves that shifted the highway along the Schoolcraft Luce county line to pass north of Big Manistique Lake . Ten Curves Road passes between the Big and North Manistee lakes as it enters the community of Helmer in Luce County . There , M 98 intersected M 135 , and the two ran concurrently north along Manistique Lakes Road . M 98 M 135 turned due east to intersect M 28 southwest of McMillan near East Lake . History M 98 was first designated by July 1 , 1919 , at the same time as the initial state highway system was signed . In 1929 , M 135 was designated , creating the concurrency along the last several miles of M 98 . By 1936 , a series of corners were straightened out on the western end of M 98 near Germfask . In late 1949 or early 1950 , M 28 was realigned to take an angled route southeasterly out of McMillan . The east west section of the previous M 28 routing was added to M 98 while the north south segment was added to M 135 . By the middle of 1958 , M 135 was shifted to follow M 98 , removing the roadway section added to its routing previously this change made M 98 and M 135 concurrent north of Helmer all the way to M 28 once again . M 98 was removed from the state trunkline system in late 1960 or early 1961 , and the designation was decommissioned at that time . The M 98 designation has not been reused since . The routing was then assigned as a County Road H 44 after October 5 , 1970 , along the east west section of the former M 98 . The former M 98 M 135 was given the H 33 moniker at the same time . Both roads have retained those designations ever since . The Luce County Road Commission has also assigned the former highway the designations County Road 98 ( CR 98 ) along Ten Curves Road and CR 135 on Manistique Lakes Road since taking control back from the state in the 1960s . Major intersections
311
Avocado cake is a cake prepared using avocado as a primary ingredient , together with other typical cake ingredients . The avocados may be mashed , and may be used as an ingredient in cake batter , in cake toppings and alone atop a cake . Cake variations include raw avocado cake , avocado brownies and avocado cheesecake . Raw , uncooked versions of avocado cake can be high in vitamin E and essential fatty acids , which are derived from avocado . Avocado based cake toppings include avocado fool and avocado crazy . Overview Avocado is a main ingredient in avocado cake , along with other typical cake ingredients . Various varieties of avocados may be used . Avocado cake may have a subtle avocado flavor imbued in the dish . Mashed avocado may be used as an ingredient in the batter and in cake unk and toppings . Sliced avocado may be used to top or garnish it , as may other ingredients such as the zest of citrus fruits . Additional ingredients used may include yogurt , buttermilk , raisins , dates , walnuts , hazelnuts , allspice , cinnamon and nutmeg among others . Lemon juice may be used on the avocado to prevent browning from occurring . Avocado cake can be prepared as a vegetarian and vegan dish . Chocolate cake and pancakes may be prepared with avocado as an ingredient in the batter . Variations Raw avocado cake Avocado cake may be prepared as an uncooked cake using raw avocados and other raw ingredients , which are blended together into a smooth consistency and then chilled . A food processor may be used to blend the ingredients . Raw avocado cake prepared with a significant amount of avocado may contain substantial amounts of vitamin E and essential fatty acids , which are derived from avocado . Avocado brownies Avocado brownies are brownies prepared using avocado as a primary ingredient . The use of overripe avocados may contribute to the gooey , fudge like consistency of the dish . Black beans may be used in the dish , and may be used in the place of flour . Avocado cheesecake Avocado cheesecake is a style of cheesecake prepared using avocado as a main ingredient . Raw avocados may be used in its preparation , and it may have a creamy texture and consistency . Avocado cheesecake was featured in an episode of the television show MasterChef in March 2015 . Avocado based cake toppings Avocado cakes may be topped with an avocado based fool . A fool is a pressed fruit mixture or fruit pure that is mixed with cream or custard . The term fool in this context dates to the 16th century , and was also a synonym for a trifling thing of small consequence . Some milk sponge cakes may be topped with avocado crazy , a food in Sri Lankan cuisine . Avocado crazy may be prepared with avocado , cream , sugar and lemon juice . Rum may also be added . Avocado crazy may have a creamy texture and flavor .
312
State Route 368 ( SR 368 ) is a short north south state highway in western Ohio , a U.S. state . SR 368 travels from its southern terminus at SR 366 approximately 1 . 75 miles ( 2 . 82 km ) east of Russells Point to its northern terminus on Seminole Island in the eastern half of Indian Lake , at an intersection where it meets Logan County Road 272 ( CR 272 ) and CR 286 . Having made its debut in the late 1930s , SR 368 is a two lane spur route that serves both Indian Lake State Park and communities of cottages that are on two eastern Indian Lake islands Shawnee and Seminole . Route description SR 368 is located exclusively in northwestern Logan County . About 3 , 100 vehicles travel on SR 368 on average each day . The route begins at a T intersection ( formerly a Y intersection ) with SR 366 in McArthur Township about 1 . 75 miles ( 2 . 82 km ) east of Russells Point . From there , it heads due north , abutted by a subdivision of cottages on the west side and open fields on the east side . After entering into the property of Indian Lake State Park , SR 368 bends to the northwest , passing amidst a blend of fields and trees as it crosses into Washington Township . The highway next passes an access road to a state park boat launch for Indian Lake . As it turns to the north , SR 368 traverses into a heavily wooded area . Along this stretch , SR 368 passes into Stokes Township . It curves to the northeast as it departs the forest and enters into a neighborhood of cottages along a very narrow strip of land as it travels further out onto Indian Lake . After it travels through an S curve , SR 368 continues to the northeast , then bends to the northwest , crosses over an inlet and enters Shawnee Island . Turning to the west northwest , SR 368 passes amidst numerous houses and cottages on Shawnee Island . The highway then passes onto Seminole Island , on which the highway comes to an end as it arrives at an intersection where it meets CR 272 , which heads north from the intersection , and CR 286 , which departs to the southwest . History SR 368 made its debut in 1934 . It was originally routed along the exact alignment that it utilizes today . The only difference was that at the time , the route SR 368 met at its southern terminus was known as SR 32 , which a few years later would become US 33 . In 1961 , US 33 was moved to a new alignment further south . Consequently , the SR 366 designation was applied to the former alignment of the U.S. highway . However , at the same time , SR 368 was extended east , running concurrent with SR 366 east to SR 117 north of Huntsville , where both routes arrived at a shared terminus . This remained the case until 1979 , when SR 368 was restored back to its original alignment , leaving SR 366 as the solo route between SR 368 and SR 117 . Major intersections The entire route is in Logan County .
313
M 155 was a signed state trunkline in the US state of Michigan that served as a spur route from Business Loop Interstate 96 ( BL I 96 ) in Howell in Livingston County to the Hillcrest Center , the former Howell State Hospital . It was originally designated in the early 1930s and outlasted the hospital which closed in 1982 . The roadway was removed from state maps after 1991 but remains under state maintenance as an unsigned trunkline listed as either M 155 or Old M 155 . Route description OLD M 155 begins in front of the former state hospital on High Hillcrest Drive and runs north and northwesterly through a field and out of the property . The road passes some houses in the area as it curves onto Country Farm Road next to Sanatorium Lake , turning northward . From there , the trunkline follows Country Farm Road to Norton Road through Marion Township . The trunkline follows Norton Road east over the South Branch of the Shiawassee River and then northeasterly past a residential subdivision . OLD M 155 then turns due east on Mason Road , running along the Marion Howell township line before crossing into the city of Howell next to I 96 . There is no interchange for the unsigned trunkline as it crosses over the freeway . The trunkline runs through more residential subdivisions before it turns northward onto Michigan Avenue . After one half mile ( 0 . 80 km ) , the trunkline terminates at the intersection with BL I 96 ( Grand River Avenue ) in downtown Howell . As the highway is still under state jurisdiction , M 155 is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) . In 2011 , the department 's traffic surveys showed that on average , 13 , 699 vehicles used the highway daily in Howell and 3 , 960 vehicles did so each day near the souther terminus , the highest and lowest counts along the highway , respectively . No section of OLD M 155 is listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History The Michigan State Sanatorium was opened on September 1 , 1907 , to treat adult patients with tuberculosis . Children were later treated there starting in 1915 . After 1955 the hospital also handled patients with mental illnesses . In 1961 the sanatorium became the Howell State Hospital , and later the Hillcrest Center in 1978 . The facility operated until September 30 , 1982 , when it was closed. and the building finally demolished a few years after . M 155 was designated in 1931 it began at the hospital and ran to a junction with US Highway 16 ( modern BL I 96 ) in Howell . After the hospital was abandoned , the trunkline designation remained on the road , serving a field . The designation last appeared on official state maps in 1991 . The highway remains an unsigned trunkline . Major intersections The entire highway is in Livingston County .
314
55 Cancri f ( abbreviated 55 Cnc f ) , also designated unk Cancri f and named Harriot , is an extrasolar planet approximately 41 light years away from Earth in the constellation of Cancer ( the Crab ) . 55 Cancri f is the fourth known planet ( in order of distance ) from the star 55 Cancri and the first planet to have been given the designation of f . In July 2014 the International Astronomical Union launched a process for giving proper names to certain exoplanets and their host stars . The process involved public nomination and voting for the new names . In December 2015 , the IAU announced the winning name was Harriot for this planet . The winning name was submitted by the Royal Netherlands Association for Meteorology and Astronomy of the Netherlands . It honors the astronomer Thomas Harriot . Discovery The initial presentation of this planet occurred at a meeting of the American Astronomical Society in April 2005 , however it was another two and a half years before the planet was to be published in a peer reviewed journal . It is the first known planet outside our solar system to spend its entire orbit within what astronomers call the habitable zone . Furthermore , its discovery made 55 Cancri the first star other than the Sun known to have at least five planets . Orbit and mass 55 Cancri f is located about 0 . 781 AU away from the star and takes 260 days to complete a full orbit . A limitation of the radial velocity method used to detect 55 Cancri f is that only a minimum mass can be obtained , in this case around 0 . 144 times that of Jupiter , or half the mass of Saturn . A Keplerian fit to the radial velocity data of 55 Cancri A indicates that the orbit is consistent with being circular , however changing the value in a range between 0 and 0 . 4 does not significantly alter the chi squared statistic of the fit , thus a representative eccentricity of 0 . 2 0 . 2 was assumed . In a Newtonian model which takes interactions between the planets into account , the eccentricity comes out as 0 . 0002 , almost perfectly circular . Astrometric observations made with the Hubble Space Telescope suggest that the outer planet 55 Cancri d is inclined at 53 with respect to the plane of the sky . The inner planets b and e are inclined at 85 . The inclination of f is unknown . Characteristics Since the planet was detected indirectly through observations of its star , properties such as its radius , composition and temperature are unknown . With a mass half that of Saturn , 55 Cancri f is likely to be a gas giant with no solid surface . It orbits in the so called habitable zone , which means that liquid water could exist on the surface of a possible moon . It is not known if the composition and appearance is more like Saturn or Neptune . Based on its temperature , it should be a Sudarsky Class II planet , covered in water clouds .
315
State Route 161 ( SR 161 ) is a 3 . 084 mile ( 4 . 963 km ) long state highway , designated as a rural major connector , completely within Millard County in central Utah . The highway connects Interstate 70 ( I 70 ) to I 15 while providing service to historic Cove Fort . The route was once part of U.S. Route 91 ( US 91 ) , but was renumbered to SR 161 in the 1970s , in parallel with the construction of I 70 . Route description Located entirely in southeastern Millard County , SR 161 starts at a diamond interchange with the westernmost exit on I 70 before it terminates at I 15 . The road continues northward until it reaches the historic Cove Fort and the associated visitors center . On the eastern side of the highway is a Utah Department of Transportation ( UDOT ) maintenance center . SR 161 starts to make a gentle turn to the northeast , passing a filling station , which also serves as a rest area as part of a public private partnership between UDOT and the owners of the station . The highway intersects I 15 and comes to an end at a cattle guard on Black Rock Road northwest of the interchange with I 15 . In 2007 , a daily average of 455 cars traveled along SR 161 , representing only a slight growth from previous years in 2006 , the average was 450 and in 2005 , 415 ) . Thirty five percent of this traffic was composed of trucks . The average traffic measurement is collected at a point on SR 161 between Cove Fort and the interchange with I 15 . History The SR 161 designation has been used two other times for other state routes . The first route , which was formed in 1933 , connected US 50 US 89 US 91 ( now US 89 ) to SR 68 in Bluffdale until the route was decommissioned in 1953 . From May 8 , 1961 to February 14 , 1964 , the route number was used for a road from US 91 to I 15 in the city of Beaver . The parallel T beam bridges that carry I 15 over SR 161 at its northern terminus were constructed in 1966 along with the construction of I 15 though the area . The bridges carrying I 70 over SR 161 were constructed in 1973 . The current route , codified into Utah law in 1965 and designated on signage following the decommissioning of US 91 in the 1970s , was partially a former alignment of US 91 . Once I 70 was completed the 1 . 07 mi ( 1 . 72 km ) long segment of US 91 as well as the roadway to the north was designated SR 161 by the Utah State Department of Highways . No significant changes have been made to the roadway except for its legal definition . SR 161 serves the important function of providing access to the contracted rest area as well as the historic Cove Fort . As of 2009 no new projects are scheduled for SR 161 , either through the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act or the UDOT Statewide Transportation Improvement Program . Major intersections The entire route is in Millard County .
316
Route 59 , at 0 . 15 mile ( 0 . 24 km ) long , is the shortest state highway in New Jersey , United States . The route consists entirely of a short block of Lincoln Avenue from Union County Route 610 ( known locally as South Avenue ) in Cranford to New Jersey Route 28 ( known locally as North Avenue ) along the Cranford Garwood border . The route functions as an underpass under the Raritan Valley Line of New Jersey Transit , under which it crosses about halfway down the block , along the municipal border . Route 59 was originally a proposed alignment of Route 22 , which was supposed to head from an intersection with current day New Jersey Route 159 in Morris County at the Pine Brook Bridge before heading through several counties , terminating at an intersection with New Jersey Route 27 in Rahway . Most of the route was not constructed , and a portion in Garwood and Cranford was re designated Route 59 in the 1953 New Jersey state highway renumbering on January 1 , 1953 . Route description Route 59 begins at a four way intersection with Union County Route 610 ( CR 610 South Avenue ) in the community of Cranford . Route 59 heads northwestward , passing a couple of businesses in both directions . The route crosses under the New Jersey Transit owned Raritan Valley Line at which point the border of Cranford and Garwood runs along the center of the road . The route continues to the northwest , passing businesses before ending at a signalized T intersection with Route 28 ( North Avenue ) . The pavement ends at the intersection though a state constructed bridge carrying the intersection over a small creek is angled such that a road could continue northwest . Throughout the entire length of the route , it is four lanes wide ( two in each direction ) . There is no signed speed limit on any portion of the route . History The alignment of Route 59 was designated as part of the proposed State Highway Route 22 in the 1927 renumbering , which was proposed to run from the Pine Brook Bridge over the Passaic River at State Highway Route 6 in Fairfield Township . ( This intersection is currently where New Jersey Route 159 currently crosses the bridge . ) The route was to continue through parts of Morris , Essex and Union counties , including intersections with State Highway Route 10 at Livingston , U.S. Route 22 ( also State Highway Route 29 ) at Mountainside , State Highway Route 28 at Garwood ( where Routes 28 and 59 currently meet ) , and terminate in the community of Rahway at State Highway Route 27 . Most of this route was not constructed , except a portion from State Highway Route 28 ( North Avenue ) in Cranford to South Avenue in Garwood . This portion was renumbered as Route 59 in the 1953 New Jersey state highway renumbering on January 1 , 1953 so as not to duplicate U.S. Route 22 . Major intersections The entire route is in Union County .
317
State Route 202 ( SR 202 ) is a 1 . 907 mile ( 3 . 069 km ) long state highway in the U.S. state of Utah that serves as a connector , linking SR 201 to Interstate 80 ( I 80 ) in rural Salt Lake County . The road has existed since at least 1937 , when it connected U.S. Route 40 ( US 40 ) and US 50 via the Garfield Cut Off Road . It also serves as the eastbound on ramp for I 80 . Route description Located entirely in Salt Lake County , Utah , SR 202 begins at an intersection with SR 201 and unk West northwest of Magna , Utah . The road travels northwesterly , bordered on the east by a large tailing pond owned by Kennecott Utah Copper and part of the former Denver and Rio Grande Western Railroad rail line , which is now owned by the Union Pacific Railroad ( UP ) . The parallel rail line intersects a pair of east west rail lines , the southern line being UP main line , and the northern line being the Feather River Route of the former Western Pacific Railroad , which is now owned by UP . After crossing the rail lines , SR 202 intersects with I 80 near the Great Salt Lake State Park and comes to a terminus at the I 80 frontage road , which provides access to the Great Salt Lake State Park and to the Saltair resort . Kennecott Utah Copper owns all of the land surrounding SR 202 , except for the right of way for the railroad , and the highway itself . SR 202 serves as the eastbound ramp from SR 201 onto Interstate I 80 , because at its intersection with I 80 , the SR 201 ( which is the southern terminus of SR 202 ) traffic only has the option to continue on I 80 westbound , and does not have an offramp to eastbound I 80 . Traffic on SR 202 has increased 12 between 2002 and 2007 , with a daily average of 735 cars per day using SR 202 in 2007 , compared to 475 cars per day in 2002 . Half of the traffic on SR 202 consists of buses and trucks . History Two other roads have been designated Utah State Route 202 in the past . From 1939 to 1953 , the name was used by the road that formed the eastern approach to unk , Utah and later became part of SR 73 . From 1961 to 1967 , the name was used by Main Street between SR 201 ( 2100 South ) and SR 171 in downtown Salt Lake City , which is now part of Utah State Route 186 . The road that currently carries the SR 202 designation has existed since 1937 , when it connected US 40 and US 50 along the Garfield Cut Off Road . The Utah State Legislature designated the road SR 202 in 1969 , thus taking responsibility of maintaining the road from the county . No changes or alterations have been made to SR 202 , except for the legal definition of the road , which has changed twice since it was formed . On September 26 , 2008 , a sulfuric acid spill occurred , reported by people in vehicles traveling on Interstate 80 . Major intersections The entire route is in Salt Lake County .
318
Federal Forest Highway 16 ( FFH 16 ) is a forest highway in the western Upper Peninsula of the US state of Michigan . This road runs through the Ottawa National Forest in Iron , Houghton and Ontonagon counties . The Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) has erroneously marked it as H 16 on their official state map . FFH 16 is designated by the US Forest Service ( USFS ) with maintenance shared by the county road commissions ( ICRC , unk , unk , respectively ) . Although the MDOT maps would suggest that it is a part of the County Designated Highway System ( CDH system ) , it is not . The three counties in question do not participate in the system , and the roadway falls in the middle of the G zone for numbering purposes . Route description FFH 16 starts at an intersection with County Road 436 ( CR 436 , Smokey Lake Road ) near Horseshoe Lake in rural Iron County 's Stambaugh Township . The roadway runs north from this location east of Smokey Lake through forest lands that are part of the Ottawa National Forest . Near Golden Lake and the Golden Lake National Forest Campground , FFH 16 and US Highway 2 ( US 2 ) intersect . FFH 16 continues north and curves to the northwest around the end of Golden Lake . The routing of the road provides access to several more lakes in rural Iron County such as Paint , Silk and unk lakes , as well as an older routing of US 2 , before crossing into southern Houghton County . In Houghton County , FFH 16 and M 28 meet in the Duncan Township community of Kenton . The former roadway turns east and runs concurrently along the latter one for approximately a quarter mile ( 0 . 4 km ) before turning northward again , leaving town near the cemetery . The forest highway tracks due north until Bob Lake . There the roadway meanders through the area near another National Forest campground and crosses into eastern Ontonagon County . FFH 16 crosses back into Houghton County one last time . Immediately after crossing the county like , the forest highway terminates at an intersection with M 38 west of the community of Nisula . History A new county designated highway appeared on maps for the first time in 1983 , H 16 it was marked as running between US 2 and M 28 only . This designation was removed in the 1985 edition of the map . The H 16 label reappeared in 1992 this time it was shown continuing south toward the Wisconsin state line and north to M 38 , along the routing of FFH 16 . The roadway is part of the Forest Highway System that is funded and administered by the US Forest Service and the Federal Highway Administration the system was created by the Federal Aid Highway Act of 1921 . The highway has never been included in the CDH system as Iron , Houghton and Ontonagon counties do not participate in the system , and the Upper Peninsula east of US 41 is the G zone , not the H zone . Major intersections
319
Hung for the Holidays is a Christmas EP by William Hung , released on October 19 , 2004 . The EP was recorded during the summer of 2004 . Like his previous album , Inspiration , the EP contains a number of cover tracks , mostly Christmas songs , as well as holiday greetings from Hung . The EP was not as commercially successful as his previous album and was panned by music critics . Development and release During a performance at a May 2004 Blue Jays Rangers game in Toronto , Hung revealed that he would begin work on a second album . He said that it will include original songs and cover songs ... There will be more bands this time . That 's all I can tell you . Hung also announced that he was taking singing lessons before starting the recording sessions . When interviewed by MTV News in June 2004 , he said that recording was gonna be a much slower process than the first time . Right now I 'm concentrating on just picking songs ... starting to practice them and things like that . Producers submitted the songs to Koch Records , and Hung said in the interview that the label had some ideas and stuff , and we 'll see . It 's still early very , very early . Although Hung for the Holidays was originally scheduled for release in September 2004 , the release was moved to October . The album includes a hidden bonus track , a cover of Queen 's We Are the Champions , which was released as a single on June 16 , 2004 . A music video for the track debuted on the Game Show Network on June 15 to promote the channel 's Summer of Champions campaign . Hung performed the song live at the Universal Studios CityWalk in Universal City , California that same night . He also signed copies at f.y.e. to promote the album . A limited number of copies for the album included a fold out Christmas ornament . Reception Hung for the Holidays sold only 35 , 000 copies . It only reached number 22 on the Billboard Independent Albums chart , and did not make the Billboard 200 chart unlike the first album , Inspiration . Allmusic 's Stephen Thomas Erlewine gave the album one out of five stars , calling it the cheapest sounding record in recent memory it sounds as if it was recorded in less time that it takes to play . He did note Hung 's improvement as a vocalist , saying that he sings with more confidence and at least vaguely sings something resembling the melody . The New York Daily News called the album a cult classic . The EP 's cover art was ranked number 2 on unk 's 50 Worst Album Covers , saying that it looks like a scene from South Park . It was also one of Gigwise 's Worst Christmas Album Covers Ever . In 2013 , The Huffington Post listed Hung 's cover of Little Drummer Boy from Inspiration number three on their 17 Best Worst Christmas Songs Ever . Track listing Personnel Credits are adapted from AllMusic . Chart positions
320
M 67 is a north south state trunkline highway in the Upper Peninsula of the U.S. state of Michigan . It connects with US Highway 41 ( US 41 ) and M 94 between Trenary and Chatham . The highway has largely been unchanged during its history , although the highways that connect to M 67 on each end have changed several times . Route description M 67 starts at an intersection with US 41 near Trenary east of the West Branch of the Whitefish River . From that intersection the highway runs east crossing Scott Creek before running into downtown Trenary along relatively flat terrain . East of town , the highway turns north running parallel to the unk River Basin . The trunkline crosses Dexter Creek between Paulsen and Trout Lake roads . About halfway along the north south segment of the highway , M 67 passes through the community of Limestone and crosses Johnson Creek . After running for 12 . 044 miles ( 19 . 383 km ) , M 67 ends at a four way intersection with M 94 and unk Road . Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) traffic surveys in 2007 show that between 1 , 200 and 1 , 400 vehicles traveled the road daily in 2007 in a measure of the annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) . The same surveys showed that only 90 trucks are included in that average . In comparison , US 41 south of M 67 carried an average of 2 , 300 vehicles and 270 trucks . No segment of the trunkline is listed on the National Highway System , a system of strategically important highways . History M 67 is an original state trunkline dating back to 1919 . Its routing has been largely unchanged since designation . The southern terminus has been moved once , but the northern terminus has remained in the same location since 1919 . US 41 was rerouted in the Trenary area to run west of town in late 1937 and 1938 . M 67 was extended westerly along a former portion of US 41 to connect to the new highway on the south end of M 67 . The highway was fully paved at the end of the 1950s . While the highway itself is largely unchanged since 1919 , the connections with other trunklines have changed . The intersection south of the community of Chatham where M 67 has ended since designation has remained unchanged . The other highways running through the intersection have changed twice . The first highway to connect with M 67 was M 25 . M 25 was replaced by M 28 in 1926 . The second change came in 1941 when the routings of M 28 and M 94 were exchanged between Harvey and Munising . The original southern terminus was at an intersection with M 15 in Trenary . In 1926 , M 15 was replaced by US 41 . As stated previously , the southern terminus of M 67 was shifted to a new intersection with US 41 west of Trenary when the latter was rebuilt in the late 1930s resulting in the only physical change to M 67 's routing . Major intersections The entire highway is in Alger County .
321
New York State Route 474 ( NY 474 ) is a state highway located entirely within Chautauqua County in the westernmost corner of New York in the United States . It begins at the section of the Pennsylvania state line that runs north south and runs eastward , initially paralleling the state line before taking a more northeasterly alignment toward Chautauqua Lake . The route ends adjacent to the lake at a junction with NY 394 in the town of Busti . NY 474 was originally designated as New York State Route 74 in 1930 before being renumbered to NY 474 c . 1973 . The route continues westward into Pennsylvania as Pennsylvania Route 474 ( PA 474 ) , which was assigned in the 1980s . Route description NY 474 begins at the Pennsylvania state line in the town of French Creek as a continuation of PA 474 , which in turn begins a short distance west of the state line in Wattsburg , Pennsylvania . NY 474 heads east through rural southwest Chautauqua County , briefly paralleling French Creek to the hamlet of Marvin before intersecting and briefly overlapping with NY 426 through the small hamlet of Cutting . NY 474 exits Cutting and continues on an easterly track into the town of Clymer and the hamlet of the same name , where it meets County Route 15 ( CR 15 ) , a local road leading from the Pennsylvania state line ( where the road continues south to Corry ) north to Sherman in the center of the community . East of the hamlet of Clymer , NY 474 turns to the northeast , paralleling an old railroad bed to the community of North Clymer , where NY 474 intersects the southern terminus of NY 76 . Outside of North Clymer , the route returns to an east west alignment prior to entering the town of Harmony and the village of Panama ( intersecting CR 33 in the latter ) in quick succession . NY 474 continues on , passing through the Harmony hamlet of unk and the North Harmony community of Ashville before terminating at NY 394 just west of the Lakewood village limits in the town of Busti . History All of what is now NY 474 was originally designated as part of NY 74 as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York . NY 74 also initially continued east from Lakewood to Jamestown by way of modern NY 394 . The remainder of what is now NY 394 from Mayville south to Lakewood was designated as NY 17J . In the mid 1930s , NY 17J was extended eastward along NY 74 to rejoin NY 17 at Washington Street in Jamestown . The overlap was eliminated in the mid 1940s when NY 74 was truncated to Ashville . NY 74 remained unchanged until c . 1973 when it was renumbered to NY 474 . The change in number allowed for the NY 74 designation to be used for the westward continuation of Vermont Route 74 in Essex County . The short continuation of NY 474 west to Wattsburg , Pennsylvania , was designated as PA 474 in the 1980s . Major intersections The entire route is in Chautauqua County .
322
State Route 276 ( SR 276 ) was a legislated , but not constructed , state highway located in the U.S. state of Washington . The highway was meant to serve as a northern bypass of Pullman in Whitman County , traveling east from U.S. Route 195 ( US 195 ) west of the city to SR 270 east of the city . Proposals were first drawn in 1969 for a complete ring road around Pullman , with the west side built and signed as US 195 in 1975 . The northern segment of the ring road was codified in law in 1973 as SR 276 , however no construction has occurred in 2016 , the highway was removed via legislative action . Route description SR 276 is legislated to begin at an intersection with US 195 west of Pullman in rural Whitman County . The highway would continue east through the Palouse as a divided limited access highway , intersecting Brayton Road at an at grade intersection and SR 27 at a diamond interchange . SR 276 would turn southeast and intersect the future Coliseum Road at a diamond interchange before ending at SR 270 east of Pullman . The highway was proposed primarily to relieve traffic on SR 27 and SR 270 through downtown Pullman , measured in surveys conducted by the Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) using average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) . WSDOT determined the intersection between SR 27 and SR 270 in downtown Pullman as the busiest highway in the region . SR 270 averaged 19 , 000 vehicles east of the intersection and SR 27 averaged 16 , 000 vehicles south of the intersection in 2011 , while WSDOT predicted that average traffic could rise to 26 , 000 vehicles by 2025 . History A ring road around Pullman was first proposed by the Washington State Highway Commission in 1966 and surveyed in 1970 . Right of way acquisition by WSDOT began in 1972 and the corridor was designated and codified into law as SR 276 the following year . 2 . 8 miles ( 4 . 51 km ) of the ring road was completed west of the city as part of US 195 in 1974 while a public survey in 1975 recommended a southern bypass for SR 270 instead of SR 276 . The bypass project was canceled by 1978 and the WSDOT right of way was leased to farmers for agricultural purposes . The project was restarted with a transportation study from the Spokane Regional Council in 1993 and funded by the Pullman municipal government as part of their comprehensive plan . A route development plan , funded by WSDOT , recommended the construction of a 6 . 89 mile long ( 11 . 09 km ) divided limited access highway with a single at grade intersection at Brayton Road . In 2016 , a bill was introduced in the Washington State Legislature to decommission the unbuilt highway by removing its designation , primarily to facilitate the expansion of the Pullman Moscow Regional Airport runway . The bill was passed out of the legislature and was signed by the Governor of Washington on April 1 , 2016 .
323
Ranch Road 1 ( RR 1 ) is a Ranch Road located in Gillespie and Blanco counties , in the central region of the U.S. state of Texas . The highway is approximately 6 . 6 miles ( 10 . 6 km ) , and begins at U.S. Route 290 ( US 290 ) in Stonewall , running along the Pedernales River through Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park , the late President Lyndon Johnson 's former ranch , and through Lyndon B. Johnson State Park and Historic Site , before terminating at US 290 near Hye . The road , designated in 1963 , is the only road in the state that TxDOT has designated as a Ranch Road . In the earliest days of the state highway system , the route was a part of State Highway 20 , and was later part of US 290 before that highway was relocated to the south . Route description Ranch Road 1 begins at US 290 on the west side of Stonewall , as a two lane , paved road . The highway follows along the south bank of the Pedernales River around the town 's north side and intersects RM 1623 on the town 's east side . The route continues along the river briefly passing through a narrow southwestern portion of Lyndon B. Johnson National Historic Park , before entering Lyndon B Johnson State Park and Historic Site . The route crosses the length of the state park at its northern edge along the riverbank and exits the park before intersecting PR 49 , which crosses the river accessing the national historic site . After crossing into Blanco County , the route turns away from the riverbank to the southeast returning to US 290 west of Hye . Although the road is located in the Texas Hill Country , the road only encounters gentle grades within the channel of the Pedernales River . Classification Ranch Road 1 is classified by the Texas Department of Transportation ( TxDOT ) as a Ranch Road , and is the only highway in the state to be currently categorized as so . The route is not officially part of the state 's Farm and Ranch to Market Road System , although it is considered similar to the Farm to Market Road system . RR 1 is signed with a shield similar to a Ranch to Market Road . The highway fits almost perfectly with the Recreational Road classification , but is not considered part of the system . History Ranch Road 1 was designated on December 19 , 1963 , 27 days after Lyndon Johnson was sworn in as president , from its current western terminus at US 290 near Stonewall to a point 1 . 2 miles ( 1 . 9 km ) west of the county line between Gillespie and Blanco counties . The following year , the road was extended 2 . 1 mi ( 3 . 4 km ) eastward to its present terminus near Hye . The route was originally part of SH 20 . In 1935 , US 290 was routed over the road , and the SH 20 designation was dropped in the 1939 general redescription of the state highway system . US 290 was rerouted south to its current location sometime between 1941 and 1961 . Major intersections
324
HD 40307 b is an extrasolar planet orbiting the star HD 40307 , located 42 light years away in the direction of the southern constellation Pictor . The planet was discovered by the radial velocity method , using the European Southern unk 's HARPS apparatus , in June 2008 . It is the second smallest of the planets orbiting the star , after HD 40307 e . The planet is of interest as this star has relatively low metallicity , supporting a hypothesis that different metallicities in protostars determine what kind of planets they will form . Discovery As with many other extrasolar planets , HD 40307 b was discovered by measuring variations in the radial velocity of the star it orbits . These measurements were made by the High Accuracy Radial Velocity Planet Searcher ( HARPS ) spectrograph at the Chile based La Silla Observatory . The discovery was announced at the astrophysics conference that took place in Nantes , France between 16 and 18 June 2008 . HD 40307 b was one of three found here at the time . Orbit and mass HD 40307 b is the second lightest planet discovered in the system , with at least 4 . 2 times the mass of the Earth . The planet orbits the star HD 40307 every 4 . 3 Earth days , corresponding of its location at approximately 0 . 047 astronomical units from the star . The eccentricity of the planet 's orbit was found to not differ significantly from zero , meaning that there is insufficient data to distinguish the orbit from an entirely circular one . The star around which HD 40307 b orbits has a low metallicity , compared to other planet bearing stars . This supports a hypothesis concerning the possibility that the metallicity of stars during their births may determine whether a protostar 's accretion disk forms gas giants or terrestrial planets . The Arizonan astronomer Rory Barnes 's mathematical model , in 2009 , found that Planet b s orbit must be more than 15 unk from face on however it cannot be much more . Characteristics HD 40307 b does not transit and has not been imaged . More specific characteristics , such as its radius , composition , and possible surface temperature cannot be determined . With a lower mass bound of 4 . 2 times the mass of the Earth , HD 40307 b is presumably too small to be a jovian planet . This concept was challenged in a 2009 study , which stated that if HD 40307 b is terrestrial , the planet would be highly unstable and would be affected by tidal heating in a manner greater than Io , a volcanic satellite of planet Jupiter restrictions that seem to bind terrestrial planets , however , do not restrict ice giant planets like Neptune or Uranus . As strong tidal forces often result in the destruction of larger natural satellites in planets orbiting close to a star , it is unlikely that HD 40307 b hosts any satellites . HD 40307 b , c , and d are presumed to have migrated into their present orbits .
325
Kepler 4b , initially known as KOI 7 . 01 , is an extrasolar planet first detected as a transit by the Kepler spacecraft . Its radius and mass are similar to that of Neptune however , due to its proximity to its host star , it is substantially hotter than any planet in the Solar System . The planet 's discovery was announced on January 4 , 2010 in Washington , D.C. along with four other planets that were initially detected by the Kepler spacecraft and subsequently confirmed by telescopes at the W.M. Keck Observatory . Nomenclature and history Kepler 4b was named because it was the first planet discovered in the orbit of its star , Kepler 4 . The star was , in turn , named for the Kepler Mission , a NASA satellite whose purpose is to discover Earth like planets in a section of the sky between constellations Cygnus and Lyra using the transit method . Using this method , Kepler notes small and steady decreases in a star 's brightness that are measured as a planet crosses in front of it . Initially , Kepler 4b was detected as a transit event by the Kepler telescope and considered a Kepler Object of Interest with the designation KOI 7 . 01 . Subsequent radial velocity measurements by the High Resolution Echelle Spectrometer on the telescopes of W.M. Keck Observatory confirmed the planetary nature of the transit event and established a mass estimate for the planet . The planet 's existence was announced on January 4 , 2010 along with four other planets detected by Kepler Kepler 5b , 6b , 7b and 8b at the 215th meeting of the American Astronomical Society in Washington , D.C. Host star Kepler 4 is located within the Draco constellation on the sky , and is approximately 550 parsecs from the Solar System . It has an effective temperature almost identical to the Sun at unk Kelvin , but a mass and radius that are somewhat larger than the sun respectively , 1 . 092 formula and 1 . 533 formula . The star is thought to be around 4 . 5 billion years old , and at or very near the end of its main sequence hydrogen burning phase . In several tens of millions of years it will likely become a subgiant star . Characteristics Kepler 4b orbits its host star in 3 . 213 days at a distance of 0 . 046 AU . This places it almost 10 times closer to its star than Mercury is to the Sun . Consequently , Kepler 4b is thought to be extremely hot , with an equilibrium temperature greater than 1700 Kelvin ( 2600 Fahrenheit ) . The planet is estimated to be 25 times more massive than the Earth with a radius that is 4 times greater than the Earth . This makes it similar to Neptune in terms of size and mass , but with a temperature that is not comparable to any planet in the Solar System ( Venus , the hottest planet , is only 735 Kelvin ) . Kepler 4b 's eccentricity was assumed to be 0 , however an independent reanalysis of the discovery data found a value of 0 . 25 0 . 12 .
326
Route 16 is a 16 . 709 mile long ( 26 . 891 km ) highway in Lewis County , Missouri . The western terminus is at Route 6 east of Lewistown . The route travels eastward , through Monticello and a few rivers . Route 16 then intersects U.S. Route 61 ( US 61 ) . The route ends at US 61 Business and Route B in Canton . The road was formerly part of Route 6 , but it was rerouted in 1931 . The old alignment was renumbered Route 96 that year . Ten years later , the route was renumbered to Route 16 . Route description All of the road is in Lewis County . Route 16 starts at a three way junction at Route 6 in rural farmland east of Lewistown . The route travels eastward in a straight line for over two miles ( 3 . 2 km ) before turning northeast . It crosses over the Middle Fabius River one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) later . Route 16 then passes through large groups of forests and enters back into large fields . The road continues traveling northeast and intersects Routes Y and BB . From there , Route 16 heads northward , crossing over North Fabius River , and enters Monticello . The road passes through the center of the village and meets Route A as it turns east . The route then intersects Route Z , near the Lewis County Regional Airport . The road begins to shift northward , and three miles ( 4 . 8 km ) later , Route 16 crosses over Sugar Creek . At unk River , the route begins to shift back southward , and enters the city limits of Canton . The route intersects Route 81 , and later intersects US 61 at a diamond interchange . The road enters downtown Canton , and ends at a junction with Route B and US 61 Business . The river crossing lies east of the terminus . In 2012 , Missouri Department of Transportation ( MoDOT ) calculated as many as 1 , 160 vehicles traveling east of Route 6 , and as few as 1 , 054 vehicles traveling east of Route A. This is expressed in terms of annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) , a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . Route 16 is not included as a part of the National Highway System ( NHS ) , a network of highways identified as being most important for the economy , mobility and defense of the nation . History A road from Lewistown to Canton has existed since 1918 , and it became part of Route 6 by 1926 . A section of a road from Monticello to Lewiston was paved in gravel two years later . In 1931 , Route 6 was re aligned south of Canton , and the former alignment was designated as Route 96 . The next year , Route 96 was fully paved in gravel . The route was renumbered to Route 16 in 1941 , and was fully paved in concrete by 1942 . In 1977 , US 61 was realigned west of Canton , and the old route became Route B. Around 1989 90 , US 61 Business was designated , concurrent with Route B through Canton . An interchange was built at US 61 and Route 16 around 2001 02 . Major intersections The entire route is in Lewis County .
327
Mauritania competed at the 2008 Summer Olympics which was held in Beijing , China . The country 's participation at Beijing marked its seventh appearance in the Summer Olympics since its debut in the 1984 Summer Olympics . The delegation included two track and field athletes , Souleymane Ould Chebal and Bounkou Camara , who were both selected by wildcards after both failed to meet either the A or B qualifying standards . Chebal was selected as the flag bearer for the opening ceremony . Neither of the Mauritanians progressed beyond the heats . Background Mauritania participated in seven Summer Olympic games between its debut in the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles , United States and the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing . Two athletes from Mauritania were selected to compete in the Beijing games Souleymane Ould Chebal in the track and field 800 meters and Bounkou Camara in the track and field 100 meters . Both were selected by wildcard places as neither achieved the A or B qualifying standards for their respective events . Chebal was the flag bearer for the opening ceremony . Athletics Souleymane Ould Chebal competed at the 2008 Summer Olympics in the 800 meters . He was notable for carrying the Mauritania flag at the opening ceremony . Making his debut at the Summer Olympics , he qualified via a wildcard place as his best time , 1 56 . 45 in the 2007 World Championships in Athletics 800 meters , was 9 . 45 seconds slower than the B qualifying standard required . He competed on 20 August against seven other athletes in heat five , finishing last out of the seven that finished with a time of 1 minute 57 . 43 seconds . He was 11 . 25 seconds slower than the winner of his heat Manuel Olmedo . Overall he finished 61st out of 65 athletes , and was 10 . 91 seconds behind the slowest athlete that progressed to the next round and , therefore , that was the end of his competition . Competing at her first Olympics , Bounkou Camara qualified for the Summer Olympics via a wildcard place as her best time , 13 . 93 seconds in the 2007 World Championships in Athletics Women 's 100 meters , was 2 . 51 seconds slower than the B qualifying standard required . She competed on August 16 in the third heat against eight other athletes , finishing last with a time of 13 . 69 seconds . She was 2 . 36 seconds slower than the winner of her heat Muna Lee . Overall Camara finished 79th out of 85 athletes and was 2 . 08 seconds behind the slowest athlete that progressed to the quarter finals . Therefore , she did not advance . Key Note Ranks given for track events are within the athlete 's heat only Q Qualified for the next round q Qualified for the next round as a fastest loser or , in field events , by position without achieving the qualifying target NR National record N A Round not applicable for the event Bye Athlete not required to compete in round Men Women
328
The 11th Boat Race took place on the River Thames on 3 April 1852 . Typically held annually , the event is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge . Former Cambridge cox Thomas Selby Egan coached Oxford , the first time that either crew had been trained by a member of the opposing university . The race was won by Oxford , their first Boat Race victory at Easter , who triumphed over Cambridge by nine lengths . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Cambridge , who were disqualified , in the previous race held in December 1849 . Cambridge led overall with seven wins to Oxford 's three . The universities were unable to agree on a date for race in both 1850 and 1851 . The challenge to race from Cambridge was received by Oxford in December 1851 and was finally accepted that a race be conducted around Easter the following year . Oxford were coached by the former Cambridge cox Thomas Selby Egan , who had represented the Light Blues in the 1836 , 1839 and 1840 races , in protest at the use of watermen as Boat Race coaches . Oxford had prevented their use since 1841 but Cambridge would not do so until 1873 and were coached by the Thames waterman and world champion sculler Bob Coombes . It was the first time a crew was coached by a member of the other university . The umpire for the race was Charles Jasper Selwyn and the starter was Edward Searle . Crews Three members of the Oxford crew had participated in the previous meeting of the universities in December 1849 , Houghton , Joseph William Chitty and the cox , Cotton . None of the Cambridge crew had Boat Race experience . The Cambridge crew weighed an average of 11 st 8 . 5 lb ( 73 . 5 kg ) , 2 pounds ( 0 . 9 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . Race Cambridge won the toss and elected to start on the Surrey side of the river , handing the Middlesex station to Oxford . The race started under Searle 's command at unk with Oxford taking a slight lead . On the approach to Hammersmith Bridge the gap was closing and Oxford passed through the central arch . Cambridge , following Coombe 's advice , opted to shoot the bridge towards the Surrey side and in doing so lost the stream and allowed Oxford to extend their lead . By Barnes Bridge the lead was around four lengths , and Oxford kept increasing their margin , winning by nine lengths in a time of 21 minutes 36 seconds . It was their second consecutive victory and took the overall record to 7 4 in favour of Cambridge .
329
HMS Algerine was the lead ship of her namesake class of minesweepers built for the Royal Navy during World War II , the Algerine class minesweepers . Initially assigned to the North Sea , she was transferred to lead the 12th Minesweeping Flotilla . The Flotilla were posted to the Mediterranean to assist with Operation Torch . In 1942 , after a successful mine clearing operation off unk , she was torpedoed by the Italian submarine unk , causing Algerine to sink , leaving only eight survivors . Description Algerine displaced 850 long tons ( 860 t ) at standard load and 1 , 125 long tons ( 1 , 143 t ) at deep load . The ship had an overall length of 225 feet ( 68 . 6 m ) , a beam of 35 feet 6 inches ( 10 . 8 m ) and a draught of 8 feet 6 inches ( 2 . 6 m ) . She was powered by Parsons geared steam turbines , driving two shafts , which gave a maximum speed of 16 . 5 knots ( 30 . 6 km h 19 . 0 mph ) . The ship mounted one single 4 inch Mk XIX gun . Algerine had four single mounts for 20 millimetre ( 0 . 8 in ) Oerlikon 20 mm autocannon , and she was fitted with two depth charge rails , and four depth charge throwers . Career Algerine was laid down on 15 March 1941 , by Harland Wolff , Belfast , and launched on 22 December 1941 . She was the eighth ship of the Royal Navy to be named Algerine . After being completed , the ship was commissioned on 24 March 1942 , and adopted by Sittingbourne due to a Warship Week campaign . 1942 Algerine joined the 9th Minesweeping Flotilla in May 1942 and began action in minesweeping , escorting , and patrolling duties on the east side of England . She was proposed as leader for the 12th Minesweeping Flotilla , which would participate in action abroad . Her sister ships from the 9th Flotilla , Alarm and Albacore , joined her , as did Acute , and Cadmus . In October , she was put forward to go to the Mediterranean to assist Operation Torch , but her departure was delayed due to repair work . The other four ships in her flotilla left for Gibraltar as escorts to a convoy . Four days after the other ships left , Algerine escorted convoy unk to Oran . In early November , she helped recover the escort destroyer Cowdray off Algiers after Cowdray was damaged by an aerial attack . On 15 November , Algerine and Alarm were positioned off unk , clearing mines . The mission had been successful , with 46 mines cleared but , Algerine was torpedoed by the Italian unk class submarine unk , commanded by Lieutenant commander Rino Erler . The submarine had first fired two torpedoes at the middle ship in the trio , then fired another two torpedoes at the final ship , Algerine Algerine suffered heavy casualties and sank . The converted merchant vessel unk rescued 32 men , of whom only 8 survived , internal wounds killing 24 . The survivors had been on a Carley raft . Algerine 's wreck lies at 1 , 100 ft ( 340 m ) on the northern coast of Algeria .
330
Beaver Brook State Park is an undeveloped state park located in the Windham and Chaplin , Connecticut , United States . The park encompasses Bibbins Pond , also known as Beaver Brook Pond , and the acreage to its north , and the Beaver Brook runs through the park and exits in the south . The park is listed as an undeveloped walk in park with hunting as an activity , but it is better known for its trout fishing . Beaver Brook has abundant stocks of wild trout , but is restricted to catch and release only . The Air Line State Park Trail runs along the park 's northern boundary . History The state park was acquired using funds bequeathed by George Dudley Seymour to be used for the express purpose of purchasing public recreation areas for the people of the State of Connecticut . The donation of the park lands was announced in 1955 . Prior to the creation of the park , it was reported that the trout pools were developed for fishing before 1955 by H. Keeney Lathrop . According to Joseph Leary , t he central feature of the park is Bibbins Pond , sometimes called Beaver Brook Pond . The park encompasses Bibbins Pond , and the acreage to its north , but the park 's name may derive from a beaver pond that was once present . The Connecticut State Register and Manual notes a boundary increase from 165 acres in 1955 to 391 acres in the 1957 . The park achieved its present size of 401 acres by 1960 . In 2013 , the State of Connecticut opened a contract to improve and repair the Bibbins Pond Dam . Beaver Brook that runs both north and south of the pond and continues beyond the park limits . Activities The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection notes that the Beaver Brook State Park is an undeveloped walk in park with hunting as an activity . The unk 's Guide to Connecticut states that the Beaver Brook is a class 1 Wild Trout Management Area and is described as having abundant wild trout with no seasonal restrictions , but is catch and release only . The book further notes that only an artificial fly or lure with a single , barb less free swinging hook can be used in this area . Only small , motor less vessels are permitted on the ponds from May 16 to October 31 . Beaver Brook State Park is connected to the Air Line State Park Trail , which runs through the park . The site also includes a unk which can be accessed via three different routes . In 1994 , a Connecticut state record for Brook Trout was caught in Beaver Brook by Sean Wozniak . As of 2014 , the Brook Trout record was last surpassed in 1998 by David Andes in Blackwells Brook in Brooklyn , Connecticut . The park is accessible from the junction of Connecticut Route 203 and Connecticut Route 14 in Windham Center and by following Route 14 east for 0 . 7 miles and turning left onto Back Road . Proceeding down Back Road for 2 . 5 miles leads to the pond on the left , and there is no parking fee at the park .
331
Sky Scrapper ( also known as Starry Sky Ripper ) is a flying roller coaster at World Joyland in unk , Changzhou , Jiangsu , China . Sky Scrapper was one of World Joyland 's opening day attractions , officially opening on April 30 , 2011 . The 2 , 805 . 1 foot long ( 855 . 0 m ) ride stands 131 . 3 feet ( 40 . 0 m ) tall , and features a top speed of 54 . 7 mph ( 88 . 0 km h ) . Designed by Swiss firm Bolliger Mabillard , Sky Scrapper restrains riders in the prone position and features five inversions . History World Joyland officially opened to the public on April 4 , 2011 . The park opened with the custom designed Sky Scrapper , a Flying Coaster model from Bolliger Mabillard . The ride is located in the Universe of Starship area of the park . The park is derived from the World of Warcraft and Starcraft franchises . Characteristics The roller coaster 's steel track is approximately 2 , 805 feet ( 855 m ) in length and the height of the lift is 131 . 3 feet ( 40 . 0 m ) . Sky Scrapper operates with two steel and fiberglass trains . Each train has seven cars that seat four riders in a single row , for a total of 28 riders per train . Sky Scrapper features a total of five inversions , which ties it with The Flying Dinosaur for the most inversions on a B M Flying Coaster model . These include a zero g roll , a vertical loop , a Lie to Fly Fly to Lie pair , and two inline twists . A Lie to Fly element is when riders are on their backs , facing the sky and they are flipped and face the ground . A Fly to Lie element is the opposite . As of August 2013 , Sky Scrapper is the only Bolliger Mabillard Flying Coaster to feature a vertical loop , and is one of only two to feature a zero g roll . Experience Station and loading Once in the station , riders of Sky Scrapper board a train sitting down , in a similar style to inverted roller coasters . Riders are restrained through a padded over the shoulder harness and a lap bar . At the ankles , two flaps hold the legs in position and close as the harness is locked in place . After the train is fully locked and checked , the trains are raised into the flying position and depart the station . Ride layout The train travels out of the station and up the 131 . 3 foot ( 40 . 0 m ) lift hill . The train then drops , reaching a top speed of 55 mph ( 89 km h ) before entering an overbanked turn . This is followed by a zero g roll and Fly to Lie element that turns riders from a face down prone position to a face up lying position . It then goes through a small tunnel and enters the vertical loop . Riders are then transitioned back to a prone position after entering the following Lie to Fly element , which travels over water . Riders then experience a double inline twist element , and a helix that turns to the left . The train enters the final brake run and follows a short path back to the station .
332
New York State Route 428 ( NY 428 ) was a north south state highway located within Chautauqua County , New York , in the United States . The southern terminus of the route was at an intersection with NY 39 in Forestville . Its northern terminus was at a junction with U.S. Route 20 ( US 20 ) in Silver Creek . The route passed through mostly rural areas and crossed over the New York State Thruway ( Interstate 90 or I 90 ) without connecting to the highway . NY 428 was assigned c . 1932 and removed in 1980 after ownership and maintenance of the highway was transferred from the state of New York to Chautauqua County as part of a highway maintenance swap between the two levels of government . Although the swap took effect on April 1 , the NY 428 designation was not removed until September 9 . The former routing of NY 428 is now the northernmost section of County Route 85 ( CR 85 ) . Route description NY 428 began at an intersection with NY 39 and CR 87 in Forestville . It headed north through the village on Center Street , passing by several blocks of homes and intersecting CR 89 before it exited Forestville . Outside of Forestville in Hanover , NY 428 continued northward as Bennett State Road through farmland , paralleling both CR 89 and Walnut Creek to the hamlet of unk Corners , where it met CR 84 . The highway continued onward through open fields , intersecting CR 86 just before passing over the New York State Thruway ( I 90 ) . Past the Thruway , NY 428 continued north along Silver Creek into the village of Silver Creek , where it became known as Division Street at the village line . It followed Division Street for two blocks through a lightly populated area before turning west onto Burgess Street for another two blocks through a more densely populated portion of the community . NY 428 ended at an intersection with US 20 south of the village center . History NY 428 was assigned c . 1932 to a previously unnumbered roadway between Forestville and Silver Creek . The route remained intact until 1980 when the roadway was given to Chautauqua County as part of a large scale maintenance swap of routes within the county . Under the terms of the deal , NY 428 was transferred to the county along with NY 424 , the segment of NY 380 between NY 424 and US 20 , and two reference routes in the vicinity of Dunkirk and Fredonia . In exchange , NYSDOT assumed control over NY 394 between US 20 and NY 5 in Westfield , US 62 from NY 60 to NY 394 east of Jamestown , and Forest Avenue ( unsigned reference route NY unk ) from the Pennsylvania state line in Busti to NY 60 in Jamestown . Although the swap was officially conducted on April 1 , NY 428 was not removed until September 9 . CR 85 , which ran from CR 66 in Thornton to NY 39 in Forestville at the time , was then extended northward over the former routing of NY 428 to Silver Creek . Major intersections The entire route was in Chautauqua County .
333
State Route 72 ( SR 72 ) is a 36 . 74 mile long ( 59 . 13 km ) state highway in the U.S. state of Arizona . It runs from SR 95 near Parker southeast to U.S. Route 60 ( US 60 ) in Hope . Along its route , the highway is mostly parallel to the Arizona and California Railroad and runs through the community of Bouse in desert terrain . The route was established in 1930 from its current eastern terminus all the way to the California state line , but was truncated in 1965 . The route was completely paved by 1940 . Route description SR 72 begins at a T intersection at which SR 95 turns from north south to east west south of Parker . The highway heads eastward into desert terrain . Turning southeastward , the route enters the town of Bouse , running parallel to the Arizona and California Railroad . SR 72 enters Bouse as Broadway Avenue . As it runs through the community , the railroad to its northeast cuts most of the town in half , with a commercial areas both southwest and northeast of the roadway , but none along the railroad . Exiting Bouse , the highway enters an area dotted with farms spread among the desert , passing the communities of McVay and unk . SR 72 crosses over the Central Arizona Project aqueduct southeast of McVay . Near a junction with Vicksburg Road in Vicksburg , the railroad turns away from SR 72 as the roadway heads southeast . The route ends at a junction with US 60 near Hope . The highway is maintained by the Arizona Department of Transportation ( ADOT ) , which is responsible for constructing and maintaining highways in the state . As part of this role , ADOT surveys volumes of traffic on their highways . These surveys are most often presented in the form of annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is the number of vehicles that travel a road during an average day during the year . In 2009 , ADOT calculated that around 2 , 600 vehicles used the road daily near Bouse , and around 2 , 000 daily near Vicksburg . No part of the highway has been listed in the National Highway System , a system of roads in the United States important to the nation 's economy , defense , and mobility . History SR 72 was first established in 1930 from US 60 through Bouse to the California state boundary along the Colorado River at Parker . At the time , it was a dirt road . Between 1935 and 1939 , the section of the route from Parker to Bouse had been paved , as was a section slightly north of Vicksburg . The rest of the highway had been graveled at the time , and was paved the next year . Between 1951 and 1958 , SR 72 was removed from the SR 95 junction near the southern city limit of Parker to the California state line . This section was added as part of a northern extension of SR 95 . A section of the highway just east of the western terminus was widened in 2008 . A new traffic signal was installed at the SR 95 junction in 2010 . Junction list The entire route is in La Paz County .
334
M 79 is an east west state trunkline highway in the central portion of Lower Peninsula of the U.S. state of Michigan . The western terminus is about three miles ( 4 . 8 km ) southeast of Hastings at the junction with M 37 and the eastern terminus is in downtown Charlotte at the junction with M 50 and Business Loop Interstate 69 ( BL I 69 ) . It passes through Quimby and Nashville , where there is a junction with M 66 . The entire highway is undivided surface road . It has no direct access with Interstate 69 ( I 69 ) , although a sign for the highway is located on southbound I 69 at exit 61 . The highway was first designated in 1919 between Hastings and Battle Creek . It was later moved to run to Charlotte . A section of M 79 was designated as M 214 in the 1930s . M 214 would later be decommissioned as a highway designation and the M 79 designation was reapplied to the roadway . Route description M 79 starts south of Hastings at a three way intersection with M 37 in Hastings Township . The trunkline runs east and parallel to a section of the Thornapple River through wooded terrain that is interspersed with farm fields . South of Thornapple Lake , M 79 angles southeasterly moving from Quimby Road to Scott Road running parallel to the Thornapple River again into the community of Nashville . M 79 meets M 66 and turns south along the latter highway 's route along Main and Durkee streets through the community . South of town in Maple Grove Township , M 79 separates from M 66 and turns east along Lawrence Road . Outside of Charlotte , M 79 curves southeast to transition to Lawrence Avenue through town . The eastern terminus is at an intersection with Cochran Avenue , which carries BL I 69 and M 50 . History M 79 was formed as a state trunkline by July 1 , 1919 along part of its present routing . At the time , it ran between Hastings and Nashville as it does today . From Nashville , the trunkline turned south and west to end at the contemporary M 17 in Battle Creek . By 1927 , the southernmost section of M 79 was truncated when M 78 was extended to Battle Creek . In late 1930 , the southernmost section is shortened once again as a new M 14 designation replaced M 79 south of Nashville . An eastward extension of M 79 at the same time carries the highway designation to Vermontville . M 79 was extended easterly to Charlotte in 1934 at the same time that the section of the trunkline between Nashville and Vermontville was redesignated M 214 . M 79 was rerouted along Assyria and Lawrence roads at the time to connect the sections of M 79 on either side of M 214 . By 1941 , M 214 was shortened to a 3 mile ( 5 km ) connector route in downtown Nashville running between M 79 and M 66 . In 1953 , M 79 replaced M 214 and the latter designation was retired from the highway system . The last section of gravel roadway in Eaton County was paved by 1960 . Major intersections
335
The Fifth Ward Wardroom is a historic meeting hall at 47 Mulberry Street in Pawtucket , Rhode Island . It is a single story red brick building , with a low pitch hipped roof . Basically rectangular , an enclosed entry pavilion projects from the main block . The building was designed by William R. Walker Son and built in 1886 . Originally used as a polling place and meeting hall , it was later used as a school and by veterans organizations before being converted into a single family residence during its National Register of Historic Places nomination . It was listed on the historic register in 1983 . Design Designed by William R. Walker Son and constructed by S. Mason H. A. Smith in 1886 , the one story red brick Queen Anne style building is basically rectangular with a low pitched hipped roof . The red bricks are laid in dark red mortar and is contrasted by the granite sill course and brownstone belt course at window sill level . The building has a central closed entry pavilion which projects out and has two porches oriented to face Mulberry and Cedar Street . The building has three lunette windows on the sides of the main block , each divided into thirds , and a smaller windows on the pavilion 's pedimented end . The rear ell has double hung two over two sash windows . At the time of the nomination , during the renovations to a single family home , the house had its Cedar Street porch closed in with plywood and the smaller lunette windows were boarded in , but the exterior wooden trim was largely extant . Use The Fifth Ward Wardroom was constructed and used as a polling place and meeting hall in a critical time when Pawtucket was incorporated as a city before later being used as a school and eventually a legion post . At the time it was nominated to the National Historic Register , the house was undergoing renovations to become a private single family residence . Prior to its conversion it was the Henrietta I. Drummond Post No. 50 of the American Legion . According to public records , the house remains a private residence . Significance The Fifth Ward Wardroom is historically significant as a historical reminder of the pivotal time in which Pawtucket was incorporated as a city and gave up its town meeting form of governance . The building is also architecturally significant as a rare type of building , wardrooms , and is one of three extant examples in Rhode Island . William R. Walker Son constructed three such structures in Pawtucket with the First Ward Wardroom being extant and the third example having been demolished . Though both constructed by William R. Walker Son , the two Pawtucket wardrooms are related , but not identical in construction and show variations by the firm . Another wardroom , with a bungalow style , is located in the Cato Hill Historic District in Woonsocket , Rhode Island . The Fifth Ward Wardroom was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983 .
336
Route 62 is a 0 . 47 mile ( 0 . 76 km ) long state highway in the U.S. state of New Jersey . It begins at the centerline of U.S. Route 46 along Union Boulevard ( Passaic County Route 646 ) in the community of Totowa and continues northward to the merge of the Interstate 80 westbound off ramp at Exit 55B , where Route 62 ends . The route continues as Passaic County Route 646 in both directions , heading northbound to Paterson and southbound to Little Falls . Route 62 was originally an alignment of Route S6 , which was designated in 1929 . The route went from the unk in Essex County to the West Paterson corporate line . Route S6 was decommissioned in the 1953 renumbering and replaced with Route 62 , which went from Totowa to West Paterson until being truncated to its current length . Route description Route 62 begins at an intersection with the off ramp from U.S. Route 46 eastbound and Passaic County Route 646 in the community of Totowa . The highway heads northward along Union Boulevard , intersecting with the on ramp from Route 62 to U.S. Route 46 eastbound . The route heads across a long bridge over the eastbound and westbound divided lanes of Route 46 . After crossing the bridge , Route 62 heads into a small industrial part of Totowa , where it intersects with the off ramp from the westbound lanes of Route 46 . The highway continues northward , interchanging with Furler Street and Lackawanna Avenue on a partial cloverleaf . Route 62 continues along Union Boulevard , becoming a divided highway . The highway crosses over Interstate 80 at interchange unk , where the route 's designation terminates . The route continues into Paterson as County Route 646 . History Route 62 was designated in 1929 originally an alignment of State Highway Route S6 , a spur off of Route 6 ( currently U.S. Route 46 ) . Route S6 went to the south from current Route 62 from Paterson into Totowa and along County Route 646 towards Little Falls , terminating at Bloomfield Avenue ( old Route 6 ) near the Pine Brook Bridge in the unk . In the 1953 New Jersey state highway renumbering on January 1 , 1953 , Route S6 was truncated to U.S. Route 46 and renumbered to Route 62 . Route 62 remained a route heading northbound from Totowa to Paterson following Union Boulevard , Totowa Avenue and McBride Avenue , ending at the Paterson West Paterson ( now Woodland Park ) town line for several years , constituting a length of 2 . 32 miles ( 3 . 73 km ) . Route 62 remained along this alignment before being truncated by 1980 . Route 62 was left out of the Straight Line Diagrams produced by the New Jersey Department of Transportation in 2000 , but was returned the next year . Route 62 received improvements of the interchange with US 46 in 2006 at a cost of 22 . 748 million ( 2006 USD ) to repair the bridge over Route 46 , ramp reconfigurations and new resurfaced roadway . Major intersections The entire route is in Totowa , Passaic County .
337
Lebanon has never participated in the Eurovision Song Contest . The country 's broadcasting organization , Tl Liban , was set to make the country 's debut at the Eurovision Song Contest 2005 with the song Quand tout s unk performed by Aline Lahoud , but withdrew due to Lebanon 's laws banning the broadcast of Israeli content . Internal selection On October 21 , 2004 , Ibrahim El Khoury , President Director General of Tl Liban , stated that Lebanon intended to make its debut at the Eurovision Song Contest 2005 in Kiev , Ukraine . On November 3 , 2004 , it was announced that Aline Lahoud was internally selected by the network to represent Lebanon . Her orient unk song Quand tout s unk , sung in French and written by Jad unk and Romeo Lahoud , was chosen in mid February . Lahoud was scheduled to present her song in the semi final held on May 19 , 2005 . Withdrawal On December 15 , 2004 , Tl Liban announced that financial constraints forced them to withdraw from the contest , and denied reports that it was due to political conflicts with Israel . However , five days later , the European Broadcasting Union ( EBU ) reached an agreement with Tl Liban and Lebanon was put on the official list of participants . In early March 2005 , the official Lebanese Eurovision Song Contest website did not list Israel as a participant . After the EBU asked Tl Liban to resolve the issue within 24 hours or face disqualification , the site removed the complete list of participants and replaced the page with a link to unk , the official Eurovision website . Later that month , the EBU asked Tl Liban to assure that they would broadcast the entire contest , including the Israeli entry , without interruption . Tl Liban could not guarantee that request , so on March 18 , 2005 , it once again announced its withdrawal from the contest . Lebanese legislation prohibited the broadcast of Israeli content on Lebanese television networks . Tl Liban wrote on its website that it is not permitted to broadcast the performance of the Israeli participant , thereby breaching the rules of the Eurovision Song Contest 2005 and forcing its withdrawal . Since Tl Liban withdrew almost three months after the December 15 no consequence withdrawal deadline , the broadcaster was penalized , losing its participation fee and being given a three year ban . Post 2005 With the three year ban , Tl Liban was not eligible to enter the Eurovision Song Contest again until the 2009 Contest . In 2007 , Lebanon born singer Mika , stated that he was interested in entering the contest for Lebanon in 2008 , but for one of the other Lebanese television stations not serving a ban , such as the Lebanese Broadcasting Corporation International or Future Television , either of which could have joined the EBU . His participation never came to be and the country has not made another attempt to join the contest following the conclusion of its broadcaster 's ban .
338
State Route 96 ( SR 96 ) is a 6 . 75 mile long ( 10 . 86 km ) state highway located within Snohomish County in the U.S. state of Washington . The highway travels east from an interchange with Interstate 5 ( I 5 ) in Paine Field Lake Stickney through Mill Creek and an intersection with SR 527 to end at SR 9 south of Snohomish . SR 96 was established in 1991 and follows the route of a wagon road constructed by Snohomish County in the late 1880s to connect Snohomish to Seattle . The highway was closed during the Great Coastal Gale of 2007 after a culvert was damaged and its eastern terminus was re constructed in 2009 to serve increasing volumes of traffic . Route description SR 96 begins as 128th Street at a diamond interchange with I 5 in Paine Field Lake Stickney , located in suburban Snohomish County south of Everett . The highway travels east and crosses the Interurban Trail and North Creek before turning southeast onto 132nd Street and entering the city of Mill Creek . SR 96 passes north of McCollum Pioneer Park and Henry M. Jackson High School before it intersects SR 527 at the city center . The highway continues east and passes Archbishop Murphy High School before turning northeast onto Seattle Hill Road and ascends the eponymous hill into Silver Firs . SR 96 descends southeast into the Snohomish River valley from unk Corner to Rees Corner on 131st Street , ending at an intersection with SR 9 south of Snohomish . Every year , the Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2011 , WSDOT calculated that the busiest section of SR 96 was its western terminus at I 5 , serving 43 , 000 vehicles , while the least busy section is its eastern terminus at SR 9 , serving 11 , 000 vehicles . History Seattle Hill Road and 131st Street have existed since 1885 on their present route as part of a wagon road constructed by Snohomish County connecting Snohomish to Seattle . The highway from Seattle Hill through Mill Creek was completed by the late 1950s and paved in the early 1960s by the county . SR 96 was added to the state highway system and codified in 1991 , traveling east from I 5 to SR 9 via Mill Creek . Seattle Hill Road was bypassed to the south by Cathcart Way in 2004 , planned by the county government since 1978 to redirect traffic on the two lane SR 96 . During the Great Coastal Gale in December 2007 , Seattle Hill Road was washed out by a damaged culvert and subsequently closed until late January as WSDOT crews repaired the highway . The eastern terminus of SR 96 , an intersection with SR 9 , was expanded between April 2008 and December 2009 by WSDOT , adding turning lanes and a traffic camera . Major intersections The entire highway is in Snohomish County .
339
The 15th Boat Race took place on the River Thames on 27 March 1858 . Typically held annually , the event is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge . The 1858 race , disrupted by poor rowing and a collision with a barge , was won by Cambridge who defeated Oxford by seven and a half lengths in a time of 21 minutes 23 seconds . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Oxford went into this year 's race as reigning champions , having defeated Cambridge by eleven lengths in the previous year 's race . Cambridge however led overall with eight wins to Oxford 's six . Cambridge were coached for the fifth time by Thomas Selby Egan , ( who had coxed the Light Blues in the 1836 , 1839 and 1840 races ) , while Oxford 's coach was Alfred Shadwell ( cox for the Dark Blues in the 1842 race and coach for the fourth time ) . The race was umpired by Joseph William Chitty who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race , while the starter was Edward Searle . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 11 st 8 . 875 lb ( 73 . 7 kg ) , 1 pound ( 0 . 5 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . Archibald Levin Smith , Robert Wharton and Robert Lewis Lloyd ( who was rowing his third Boat Race for the Light Blues ) had featured in Cambridge 's 1857 crew . Oxford 's crew included five participants who had competed in the previous race , including J. T. Thorley , who was making his third appearance in the event . Race Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey side of the river to Oxford . The race commenced at 1pm and almost immediately the Oxford boat club president and stroke J. T. Thorley caught a crab which completely brought their eight to standstill . Cambridge took the lead but were caught following a clash of their port side oars with a barge . The boats were level at the Crab Tree pub but here Cambridge began to draw ahead and passed under Hammersmith Bridge with a length and a half lead . The Light Blues continued to increase their lead and passed the flag boat at Mortlake seven and a half lengths ahead of Oxford in a time of 21 minutes 23 seconds . It was the fastest time since the 1846 race ( which was held on the ebb tide ) , and took the overall record in the event to 9 6 in Cambridge 's favour . Although it was hoped that a rematch would be conducted at the Henley Royal Regatta , Oxford failed to make up a crew , and Cambridge went on to defeat Leander Club before winning the Grand Challenge Cup against London Rowing Club .
340
The Ilyushin Il 32 was a Soviet heavy military glider developed after World War II to deliver 7 , 000 kg ( 15 , 000 lb ) of cargo . To facilitate loading and unloading the glider 's nose and tail sections were hinged to swing sideways . The Il 32 required a four engined aircraft to tow it safely it was canceled when it became clear that no such tug was going to be available after the Tupolev Tu 75 and Ilyushin Il 18 programs were both canceled because of shortages of their intended Shvetsov ASh 73 engines . Development After the end of World War II the Soviets devoted a considerable amount of effort to developing heavy transport gliders to deliver troops during an airborne assault . As part of this effort the Council of Ministers ordered the Ilyushin design bureau on 20 September 1947 to begin work on a glider capable of carrying 7 , 000 kg ( 15 , 000 lb ) of cargo , including 60 troops or a 122 mm ( 4 . 8 in ) cannon with its prime mover , ammunition and crew . Its intended tug was the Tupolev Tu 75 , a four engined transport derived from the Tupolev Tu 4 . The Il 32 was an aluminum bodied , high wing cantilever monoplane with a fixed tricycle undercarriage whose fuselage was square in cross section to fit as much cargo as possible . The two spar wings had a moderate aspect ratio . It was regarded as expendable and was built very simply to facilitate large scale manufacture . The nose and tail sections swung up to 95 to starboard to facilitate loading . The Il 32 made its first flight on 20 August 1948 , towed by a twin engined Ilyushin Il 12 , but the Il 12 wasn 't powerful enough to tow a fully loaded glider and the four engined Il 18 airliner prototype was adapted to tow it from 20 September . During these flight tests it reached a cruising speed of 323 km h ( 201 mph ) at an altitude of 3 , 000 metres ( 9 , 800 ft ) and a weight of 16 , 000 kg ( 35 , 000 lb ) . The flight tests were satisfactory and preparations were made to begin series production , but the lack of suitable tugs was a problem . None of the Soviet four engined aircraft that could be used were either in production or available . Both the Tupolev Tu 70 and Il 18 airliners had been canceled , as had the Tu 75 transport , and the Tu 4 was dedicated to the strategic bombing mission . Experiments were made with a pair of Il 12s towing the Il 32 , but this was both difficult and risky for all involved . The Il 32 was therefore canceled for lack of a proper tug . Specifications Data from OKB Ilyushin A History of the Design Bureau and its Aircraft General characteristics Capacity 60 troops or 7 , 000 kg ( 15 , 000 lb ) of cargo Length 24 . 84 m ( 81 ft 6 in ) Wingspan 35 . 8 m ( 117 ft 5 in ) Wing area 159 . 5 m2 ( 1716 . 84 ft2 ) Empty weight 9600 kg ( 21 , 164 lb ) Gross weight 16 , 600 kg ( 36 , 597 lb ) each each Performance Cruising speed 327 km h ( 203 mph ) Service ceiling 4000 m ( 13 , 100 ft )
341
The French cruiser Sully was an armored cruiser of the Gloire class that was built for the French Navy in the early 1900s . She was named in honor of Maximilien de Bthune , Duke of Sully , trusted minister of King Henry IV . The ship struck a rock in H Long Bay , French Indochina in 1905 , only eight months after she was completed , and was a total loss . Design and description The Gloire class ships were designed as enlarged and improved versions of the Gueydon class armored cruisers by Emile Bertin . Her crew numbered 612 officers and men . The ship measured 139 . 8 meters ( 458 ft 8 in ) overall , with a beam of 20 . 2 meters ( 66 ft 3 in ) . Sully had a draft of 7 . 7 meters ( 25 ft 3 in ) and displaced 10 , 014 metric tons ( 9 , 856 long tons ) . Sully had three propeller shafts , each powered by one vertical triple expansion steam engine , which were rated at a total of 20 , 500 indicated horsepower ( 15 , 300 kW ) . Twenty four Belleville water tube boilers provided steam for her engines . She had a designed speed of 21 . 5 knots ( 39 . 8 km h 24 . 7 mph ) . She carried up to 1 , 590 long tons ( 1 , 620 t ) of coal and could steam for 12 , 000 nautical miles ( 22 , 000 km 14 , 000 mi ) at a speed of 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . Sully 's main armament consisted of two 194 millimeter ( 7 . 6 in ) 45 caliber guns were mounted in single gun turrets fore and aft . Her intermediate armament was eight 45 caliber Canon de 164 mm Modle 1893 guns . Four of these were in single gun turrets on the sides of the ship and the other four were in casemates . For anti torpedo boat defence she carried six 45 caliber 100 millimeter ( 3 . 9 in ) guns in casemates and eighteen 47 millimeter ( 1 . 9 in ) Hotchkiss guns . She was also armed with five 450 millimeter ( 18 in ) torpedo tubes two of these were submerged and the others were above water . The waterline armored belt of the Gloire class ships was 170 millimeters ( 6 . 7 in ) thick amidships and tapered to 106 millimeters ( 4 . 2 in ) towards the bow and stern . Above the main belt was another belt , 127 millimeters ( 5 in ) thick that also tapered to 106 mm at the ends of the ship . The conning tower had armored sides 150 millimeters ( 5 . 9 in ) thick . The main gun turrets were protected by 173 millimeters ( 6 . 8 in ) of armor and the intermediate turrets by 120 millimeters ( 4 . 7 in ) . The flat part of the lower armored deck was 45 millimeters ( 1 . 8 in ) , but increased to 64 millimeters ( 2 . 5 in ) as it sloped down to the sides of the ship . Service Sully was laid down at the Forges et Chantiers de la Mditerrane shipyard in La Seyne on 24 May 1899 and launched on 4 June 1901 . The ship was completed in June 1904 and sent to French Indochina for her first commission . On 7 February 1905 Sully struck a rock in H Long Bay her crew was not injured . Her guns and equipment were salvaged , but the ship broke in two and was abandoned as a total loss .
342
King 's Highway 400A , once known as the Highway 400 Extension , is an unsigned 400 series highway in the Canadian province of Ontario . The short 1 . 1 kilometre ( 0 . 7 mi ) freeway stub connects Highway 400 with Highway 11 and Simcoe County Road 93 , formerly Highway 93 . The highway was created in late 1959 by the opening of Highway 400 to Coldwater , although it has always featured Highway 400 signage along the southbound lanes and Highway 11 signage northbound . Route description Highway 400A is a 1 . 1 kilometre ( 0 . 7 mi ) 400 series highway located in the Canadian province of Ontario . The unk freeway includes a narrow grass median for the majority of its length , and features a speed limit of 100 kilometres per hour ( 62 mph ) . On average , the highway is used by approximately 11 , 900 vehicles daily . The route begins as Highway 400 exits on the right , with the northbound lanes rising up on an embankment and crossing Highway 400A . After the bridge , the highway ascends , with grasslands to the east and an embankment to the west , then gently curves to the northeast . As it crosses Simcoe County Road 93 ( Penetanguishene Road ) , formerly Highway 93 , the divided highway becomes Highway 11 . History Highway 400A formed the original routing of Highway 400 from 1950 to 1959 . In 1950 , the freeway was extended north through the city of Barrie to the junction of Highway 11 and Highway 93 in Crown Hill , and deemed fittingly the Highway 400 Extension . In the late 1950s , the construction of the Trans Canada Highway prompted the Department of Highways to extend the route north to Highway 12 and Highway 103 in Coldwater . This section opened as a super two on December 24 , 1959 , redirecting Highway 400 southwest of the Crown Hill junction . To remedy this situation , the 1 . 1 km ( 0 . 68 mi ) gap was internally designated as Highway 400A . The highway has never been publicly signed as Highway 400A . Instead , northbound it is indicated as Highway 11 and southbound as Highway 400 . Restructuring of the provincial highway system resulted Highway 11 south of the Crown Hill interchange being transferred , or downloaded , to local municipalities on April 1 , 1997 . As a result , Highway 11 begins as Highway 400A ends crossing over Penetanguishene Road . Unusually , traffic to and from the Highway 400 extension enters and exits at the right of the roadway , while traffic to and from Highway 400A 11 simply continues on the same roadway . The interchange is also incomplete drivers must either use the Forbes Road and Penetanguishene Road interchanges , or continue southbound into Barrie and switch direction at Duckworth Street in order to travel from southbound Highway 400A to northbound Highway 400 or from southbound Highway 400 to northbound Highway 400A . Exit list There are only two interchanges along Highway 400A the start and end termini . The entirety of the highway is located within Simcoe County .
343
Every Sunday ( sometimes incorrectly listed as Every Sunday Afternoon or Opera vs. Jazz ) is a 1936 American short musical film . It tells the story of two young girls and their efforts to save a public concert series , which was being threatened by poor attendance . Directed by Felix E. Feist , the film served as a screen test for , and is the first significant screen appearance of , two young actresses who would go on to become major stars , Judy Garland and Deanna Durbin . Although only lightly reviewed at the time of its release , the film has garnered a generally positive reputation among Garland biographers . Plot Small town friends Edna ( Deanna Durbin ) and Judy ( Judy Garland ) are upset . Edna 's grandfather and his orchestra , who play free Sunday concerts at a local park , have been fired by the town council because the concerts are poorly attended . The girls hit upon the idea of singing at the concerts and set about promoting the next concert . The following Sunday Edna and Judy join unk on the bandstand . Edna 's operatic style and Judy 's swing bring crowds running from all over the park . The event is a huge success and unk 's concerts are saved . Production Deanna Durbin and Judy Garland were both under contract to Metro Goldwyn Mayer but the studio had not put them to work in films . With their contracts coming up for renewal , feelings among studio executives were that the studio didn 't need two girl singers . Every Sunday would serve as an extended screen test to decide which girl 's contract would be renewed . Durbin recorded the aria Il unk for the film . Composers Con Conrad and Herb Magidson wrote a specialty number for Garland , The Americana . Following the screening of the short for MGM executives , opinion was divided on whether Garland or Durbin should be retained . Finally , Louis B. Mayer , upon his return from a European trip , decreed that both girls should be kept . However , Durbin 's contract option had expired by then . She was signed by Universal Studios , where her first picture , Three Smart Girls , was so successful that it saved Universal from bankruptcy . Critical reception As a short film that served as a second feature , Every Sunday received scant critical attention upon its release . Durbin 's hometown newspaper , the Winnipeg Free Press , did praise the film , lamenting that it was all too short and citing Garland as a girl singer of distinction . Garland biographers , when discussing the film in any detail , are generally complimentary both to the film and to Garland . unk and fascinating ... Every Sunday gives us a marvelous glimpse of Judy 's talent in an unrefined state is a typical comment , with the film reveal ing how accomplished a performer Judy Garland already was at fourteen . Durbin does not fare quite as well . Although described by one biographer as appearing relaxed and happy on film others dismiss her diffidence and call her stiff .
344
The 3rd Boat Race took place on the River Thames on 3 April 1839 . It was the second of the University Boat Races to be held on the River Thames , this time between Westminster and Putney . Cambridge had competed against Leander Club in 1837 and 1838 it had been three years since Oxford and Cambridge raced against one another . Representatives of both universities and an independent referee oversaw the proceedings . Cambridge won the race by 35 lengths , as of 2014 the largest winning margin in the history of the event . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and takes place on the River Thames in southwest London . No race between the two universities was held in 1837 or 1838 , instead Cambridge raced against Leander Club those years . The umpires for the race were C. B. Wollaston ( for Oxford ) and C. J. Selwyn ( for Cambridge ) , while W. H. Harrison acted as referee . Cambridge 's boat was constructed by Searle of unk , while Oxford 's beautifully constructed vessel was built by King of Oxford . The race was scheduled to take place on a five and three quarter mile stretch between Westminster Bridge and Putney Bridge . Oxford were trained by a Thames waterman while Cambridge were guided by their cox , Thomas Selby Egan . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 11 st 10 . 5 lb ( 74 . 4 kg ) per rower , almost 10 pounds ( 4 . 5 kg ) more per man than their opponents . None of the Oxford crew from the 1836 featured in this year 's race however , both the stroke Edmund Stanley and cox Egan returned for Cambridge , the former being described by Bell 's Life as really terrific , one of the severest we ever saw . Oxford 's boat club president was Calverley unk who rowed at stroke for the Dark Blues , while Cambridge had a non rowing president in Augustus Granville . Race The umpires for the race were Charles unk and C. J. Selwyn , while W. Harrison Esq , the Commodore of the Royal Thames Yacht Club , fulfilled the position of referee . The race was held on a Wednesday , 3 April 1839 , the start time of precisely unk , in conditions described by MacMichael as cold , cloudy and windy , and just the very worst sort of day for an aquatic expedition . According to Bell 's Life , Cambridge were slight favourites . Oxford won the toss and elected to commence closest to the Middlesex shore of the river . After a close start , the Cambridge boat started to draw away and by Vauxhall Bridge were several boats ' lengths ahead . They increased their lead further by Battersea Bridge and shot Putney Bridge 1 minute 45 seconds ahead , and won by a margin of 35 lengths which remains , as of 2014 , the largest in the history of the event . Cambridge 's victory took them to an overall lead in the event of 2 1 .
345
Amon of Judah ( Hebrew unk unk Greek unk Latin Amon ) was a 7th century BC King of Judah who , according to the biblical account , succeeded his father Manasseh of Judah . Amon is most remembered for his idolatrous practices while king , which led to a revolt against him and eventually his assassination in c . 641 BC . Life Amon was the son of King Manasseh of Judah and unk , a daughter of unk of unk . Although the date is unknown , the Hebrew Bible records that he married unk , the daughter of unk of unk . Amon began his reign of Judah at the age of 22 , and reigned for two years . Biblical scholar and archeologist William F. Albright has dated his reign to 642 640 , while professor E. R. Thiele offers the dates 643 642 641 640 . Thiele 's dates are tied to the reign of Amon 's son Josiah , whose death at the hands of Pharaoh Necho II occurred in the summer of 609 . Josiah 's death , which is independently confirmed in Egyptian history , places the end of Amon 's reign , 31 years earlier , in 641 or 640 and the beginning of his rule in 643 or 642 . The Hebrew Bible records that Amon continued his father Manasseh 's practice of idolatry and set up pagan images as his father had done . II Kings states that Amon did that which was evil in the sight of unk , as did Manasseh his father . And he walked in all the way that his father walked in , and served the idols that his father served , and worshipped them . Similarly , II Chronicles records that he did that which was evil in the sight of the Lord , as did Manasseh his father and Amon sacrificed unto all the graven images which Manasseh his father had made , and served them . The Talmudic tradition recounts that Amon burnt the Torah , and allowed spider webs to cover the altar through complete disuse ... Amon sinned very much . Like other textual sources , Flavius Josephus too criticizes the reign of Amon , describing his reign similarly to the Bible . After reigning two years , Amon was assassinated by his servants , who conspired against him , and was succeeded by his son Josiah , who at the time was eight years old . After Amon 's assassination his murderers became unpopular with the people , and were ultimately killed . Some scholars , such as Abraham unk , assert that Amon was assassinated because people disliked the heavy influence that Assyria , an age old enemy of Judah responsible for the destruction of the Kingdom of Israel , had upon him . Era Amon 's reign was in the midst of a transitional time for the Levant and the entire Mesopotamian region . To the east of Judah , the Assyrian Empire was beginning to disintegrate while the Babylonian Empire had not yet risen to replace it . To the west , Egypt was still recovering under Psamtik I from its Assyrian occupation , transforming from a vassal state to an autonomous ally . In this power vacuum , many smaller states such as Judah were able to govern themselves without foreign intervention from larger empires .
346
M 138 is a 20 mile long ( 32 km ) state trunkline highway in The Thumb region of the US state of Michigan . The highway runs from a junction with M 15 west of the unincorporated community of Munger in Bay County to the intersection with M 24 east of Akron in Tuscola County . The trunkline runs through rural agricultural areas outside of the villages and communities it serves . It was designated in the 1930s and extended in the 1940s . M 138 was truncated in the 1990s as well . Route description M 138 begins at a junction with M 15 ( Tuscola Road ) just west of Munger in Merritt Township . Known as Munger Road , the highway then heads due east through agricultural fields . On the east side of Munger , the roadway crosses a branch line of the Huron and Eastern Railway . M 138 continues east through farm fields and across the Bay Tuscola county line at Reese Road . The road name changes in Tuscola County to Fairgrove Road , and the trunkline remains on an easterly track to the community of Fairgrove . In the village , M 138 follows Center Street over another crossing of the Huron and Eastern Railway to a junction with Main Street . The highway turns north on Main and crosses the rail line a second time as they both exit town . North of Fairgrove , Main Street becomes Thomas Road , and M 138 runs northward along it through farm fields . After a three mile ( 4 . 8 km ) course , M 138 turns eastward again along Akron Road . The highway passes through the village of Akron on Beach Street , crossing the rail line a final time . West of town the Akron Road name resumes , and M 138 terminates at the intersection with M 24 ( Unionville Road ) . M 138 is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) like other state highways in Michigan . As a part of these maintenance responsibilities , the department tracks the volume of traffic that uses the roadways under its jurisdiction . These volumes are expressed using a metric called annual average daily traffic , which is a statistical calculation of the average daily number of vehicles on a segment of roadway . MDOT 's surveys in 2010 showed that the highest traffic levels along M 138 were the 2 , 342 vehicles daily near Munger the lowest count was 499 vehicles per day just west of Akron . No section of M 138 has not been listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History M 138 became a part of the state highway system in 1931 between then M 24 ( current M 15 ) in Bay County and then M 83 in Tuscola County . In early 1940 , the highway was extended east and northeasterly through Akron to end at M 25 in Unionville by the end of the year , all of M 138 was paved . When M 24 was extended northward from Caro in 1997 , it supplanted the M 138 designation from the Akron area north to Unionville the latter highway was truncated to its current form as a result . Major intersections
347
New York State Route 402 ( NY 402 ) was a state highway located within the village of Tivoli in Dutchess County , New York , in the United States . It was assigned in the early 1930s and served as a connector between NY 9G and what was once a ferry landing on the Hudson River west of the village . Although the ferry service linking Tivoli and the village of Saugerties was shut down in the 1940s , NY 402 continued to exist until 1980 . On April 1 of that year , ownership and maintenance of the highway was transferred to Dutchess County as part of a highway maintenance swap between the county and the state of New York . The highway became part of an extended County Route 78 ( CR 78 ) , which had begun at the junction of NY 9G and NY 402 prior to the swap . Route description NY 402 began at what was once a ferry landing on the Hudson River west of the Tivoli village center , but within the village limits , in northwestern Dutchess County . The highway went southward from the ferry landing , paralleling the Hudson River for a short distance before it turned eastward and traversed a pair of hills as it approached the center of the village . In this area , NY 402 connected to Sycamore Point , a plateau overlooking the Hudson River . East of the highway leading to Sycamore Point , NY 402 intersected with Woods Road , a north south highway marking the western edge of the village 's central district . The route proceeded eastward through the village center , an area comprising homes , businesses , and St. Sylvia 's Church . It exited the area upon intersecting Clay Hill Road , at which point NY 402 changed names from Broadway to Mill Street . The route continued for another 0 . 3 miles ( 0 . 48 km ) to an intersection with NY 9G , where NY 402 ended and the roadway continued east as CR 78 . History NY 402 was assigned in the early 1930s as a connector between NY 9G east of the village of Tivoli and a ferry landing on the Hudson River west of the village . At the landing , NY 402 connected to a ferry linking Tivoli to U.S. Route 9W ( US 9W ) in the village of Saugerties . The ferry service was shut down in the 1940s however , NY 402 remained in place until 1980 . On April 1 of that year , ownership and maintenance of NY 402 was transferred from the state of New York to Dutchess County as part of a highway maintenance swap between the two levels of government . Following the swap , the former routing of NY 402 became a westward extension of CR 78 , which began at the junction of NY 9G and NY 402 prior to the swap . When NY 402 was assigned , it was one of two routes that served solely as a connector between a through highway and a ferry landing . The other route was NY 373 , a highway linking US 9 to a ferry across Lake Champlain at Port Kent . NY 347 , a short route connecting NY 22 to another ferry across Lake Champlain at Ticonderoga , was assigned later in the decade . Major intersections The entire route was in Tivoli , Dutchess County .
348
Sinsen is a rapid transit station on the Ring Line of the Oslo Metro . It is located at Sinsen in the Sagene borough of Oslo , Norway . Next to the station is the tram station unk , that has been part of the Sinsen Line of the Oslo Tramway since 1939 . The station opened on 20 August 2006 , as part of the first section of the Ring Line . The station is served by line 6 of the metro , as well as several local bus services . Sinsen is a mixed residential and commercial area . History Storo opened as a tram station as part of the extension of the Sinsen Line to Grefsen in 1939 . The tram station was built adjacent to the Sinsen Interchange , between Ring 3 and National Road 4 . In 1992 , the Sinsen Line was moved redirected to go outside the interchange . The process of establishing a Ring Line to serve the northern parts of Oslo started in the late 1980s . The plans were passed by the city council in 1997 , and financing was secured in 2000 through Oslo Package 2 . Construction started in June 2000 , and the first section to Nydalen and Storo opened on 20 August 2003 . The ring was completed and Sinsen opened on 20 August 2006 . The station is owned by Sporveien . Facilities The rapid transit station was designed by architects Jensen unk Architects , and is visually and structurally very similar to Storo . It features a center platform , a roof , and incorporates wood , steel and concrete as construction materials . To the south , the station is located just outside the tunnel that connects the Ring Line to the Grorud Line . To the north , the line runs parallel to the mainline Gjvik Line . Sinsen is located just beside the Sinsen Interchange , in a mixed residential and commercial area . Service Line 6 of the Oslo Metro operate to Sinsen , with a 15 minute headway . The line operate clockwise through the eastern part of town into the Common Tunnel towards Sognsvann , while it operates counterclockwise via the western part into the Common Tunnel towards Bergkrystallen . Line 3 , which operates to the other stations on the Ring Line , does not continue to Sinsen . Travel time from Sinsen to Stortinget is 9 minutes clockwise and 16 minutes counterclockwise . The service is operated by Oslo T banedrift on contract with Ruter . The tram station is served by line 17 of the Oslo Tramway . It operates on a ten minute headway to the city center . Travel time to Jernbanetorget is 13 minutes . Northwards , the line continues to the final station , Grefsen . While the tram and rapid transit stations are within walking distance of each other , they are not marked as transfer stations on the schedules . The trams are operated by Oslo Sporvognsdrift on contract with Ruter . The station serves several bus routes . Lines 23 and 24 along Ring 3 from Lysaker to Simensbrten , and Brynseng to Fornebu stop at Sinsen . Line 31 runs via Sinsen from Grorud to Snarya , as does line 33 from Ellingsrudsen to Filipstad , and line 58 from Helsfyr to Nydalen .
349
Mac Marcoux ( born 20 June 1997 ) is a Canadian Paralympic Alpine skier who won three titles at the IPC Alpine Skiing World Cup at the age of 15 . With guide Robin unk , he won three medals in alpine skiing at the 2014 Winter Paralympics , including gold in the men 's visually impaired giant slalom . He also has numerous awards including being inducted into the Sault Ste . Marie Walk of Fame . He has an older brother and a younger sister . He also enjoys riding BMX and mountain bikes . Personal life Mac Marcoux was born on 20 June 1997 in Haviland Bay , Ontario . He resides there with his parents and two siblings , an older brother and a younger sister . He started skiing at the age of four . He also rode BMX bikes and raced go karts . In 2006 , he started losing his sight due to unk disease , a degenerative condition , and became legally blind in 2007 . He said We 've always been a racing family from the beginning . It 's how I 've grown up . Going fast was just a part of it . The faster you go the more fun it is . After Marcoux had lost his vision , his brother Billy Joe ( B.J. ) Marcoux decided to put his college education on hold in order to assist him with skiing . Alpine Canada introduced them to a new kind of skiing called Para Alpine . They were inspired by the McKeever brothers to do visually impaired para alpine . Other than the Paralympics , his brother B.J. has been his sighted guide using radio communication ever since then something they had never used before . Para Alpine career Marcoux is classified as a B3 ( visually impaired ) athlete . At the age of 15 , he competed at the 2013 IPC Alpine Skiing World Cup in Mount Hutt , New Zealand , with B.J. as his guide , winning three medals . Later that year he won a silver medal in the Giant Slalom at the 2013 IPC Alpine Skiing World Championships in La Molina , Spain , and became the national Slalom and Giant Slalom champion at Sun Peaks , British Columbia . 2014 Winter Paralympics The following year he competed in the 2014 Winter Paralympics in Sochi as the youngest member of the Canadian Paralympic Team at the age of 16 . With Robin unk as his guide . He won bronze in both the Downhill and the Super G , as well as a gold in the Giant Slalom by over two seconds . It is the best moment of my life , he said after winning gold . I can 't even explain how amazing this is . Mac and his brother B.J. were inducted into the Sault Ste . Marie Walk of Fame on 19 September 2014 . Other interests He raced BMX bikes and go karts with his brother B.J. before he was blind . After he lost his sight , he fished and also rode mountain bikes at Whistler with a guide using the same kind of radio communication system . Awards Marcoux and his brother BJ was presented the H.P. Broughton Trophy and was named into the Sault Ste . Marie Walk of Fame . In October 2014 , the brothers were also inducted into the Sault Ste . Marie Sports Hall of Fame by mayor Debbie unk .
350
The Stoney Littleton Long Barrow ( also known as the Bath Tumulus and the Wellow Tumulus ) is a Neolithic chambered tomb with multiple burial chambers , located near the village of Wellow in the English county of Somerset . It is an example of the Severn Cotswold tomb and was scheduled as an ancient monument in 1882 . It was one of the initial monuments included when the Ancient Monuments Protection Act 1882 became law . The chambered long barrow was built around 3500 BC . Excavations in the early 19th century uncovered bones from several individuals . The stone structure is about 30 metres ( 98 ft ) in length and contains a 12 . 8 metres ( 42 ft ) long gallery with three pairs of side chambers and an end chamber . Location and access The barrow is approximately 1 . 5 kilometres ( 0 . 93 mi ) south west of the village of Wellow . It is on a limestone ridge overlooking Wellow Brook approximately 200 metres ( 660 ft ) to the north and west of the barrow . It is surrounded by a rectangular grass area accessed via a stile and footpath from a car park at Stoney Littleton Farm . History Chambered long barrows were constructed during the Neolithic between 4000 and 2500 BC for the ritual inhumation of the dead . Stoney Littleton Long Barrow was probably constructed around 3500 BC . The tomb was first opened around 1760 by a local farmer to obtain stone for road building . The site was excavated by John Skinner and Richard Hoare in 1816 17 , who gained the entry through the hole which was made previously . The excavation revealed the bones ( some burned ) of several individuals . The mound was restored in 1858 by Thomas Joliffe . Some of the artefacts from the excavations are in the Bristol City Museum and Art Gallery . It was scheduled as an ancient monument in 1882 . Since 1884 the Stoney Littleton Long Barrow has been in state care , and is now managed by English Heritage who have provided an information board at the site . Further conservation work and a geophysical survey were carried out in 1999 and 2000 by the Cotswold Archaeological Trust . Description Severn Cotswold tombs consist of precisely built , long trapezoid earth mounds covering a burial chamber . The Stoney Littleton Long Barrow stands on a limestone ridge overlooking Wellow Brook and the village of Wellow . It is constructed from stone , including Blue Lias and Forest Marble quarried within an 8 kilometres ( 5 . 0 mi ) radius . It is about 30 metres ( 98 ft ) in length and 15 metres ( 49 ft ) wide at the south east end , it stands nearly 3 metres ( 10 ft ) high . Internally it consists of a 12 . 8 metres ( 42 ft ) long gallery with three pairs of side chambers and an end chamber . The passage and entrance are roughly aligned towards the midwinter sunrise . The roof is made of overlapping stones . There is a fossil ammonite decorating the left hand doorjamb . Unusually , the barrow is not situated on flat ground and looks as though it is sliding down the side of a hill .
351
The Treasurer 's House is a National Trust owned property in Martock , in the English county of Somerset . It has been designated as a grade I listed building . Apart from the Bishop 's Palace , Wells it is the oldest house in the county . The original 13th century buildings have been added to several times , including a 15th century great hall which has an arch braced collar truss roof . Several of the rooms have wall paintings which have been uncovered and restored since the National Trust were given the building in 1970 . The house belonged to the Bishop of Bath and Wells and at one time was used to store the Great Seal of the Realm when John Langton was the chancellor of England . History The Treasurer 's House is a medieval priest 's house built from Hamstone during the 13th century . The solar block , which was built around 1250 survives as the oldest part of the building , making it the second oldest inhabited house in Somerset . It is mentioned as the parsonage attached to the village Church of All Saints . In 1227 it was acquired by Hugh of Wells the treasurer of Wells Cathedral who became the rector and patron of the church . The great hall was added in 1293 . In 1297 John Langton , who was a chancellor of England and Bishop of Chichester , received the Great Seal of the Realm which was stored at the court at Martock . The kitchen was added in the 15th century . The Bishop of Bath owned the building , which was known as Martock Priory , until 1849 when it was transferred to the Ecclesiastical Commissioners . It was then privately owned and a small wing added . In 1943 it was bought by Harold St George Gray , the librarian curator of the Museum for the Somerset Archaeological and Natural History Society to preserve it . His wife bequeathed it to the National Trust in 1970 . In 1987 it was designated as a Grade I listed building . Architecture The building has undergone various extensions and alterations since it was built . The building has a T shaped plan with the west projecting wing being a hall added in the late 13th century . The great hall has a 15th century four bay open arch braced collar truss timber roof . The roof was covered with slate from local quarries until it was thatched in the mid 19th century . The current clay tiles were used in the early 20th century . The kitchen block was added in the late 15th century or early 16th century and has no direct connection with the rest of the house . The Solar Block is the oldest part of the building dating from around 1250 . It has a plate tracery window with a Trefoil unk surrounded by wall paintings . The solar separated from the hall by a screens passage . The walls of one of the private chambers on the upper floor were covered with 16th century limewash which was removed in 1995 , to expose a 13th century wall painting with a depiction of Jesus on the cross and two other figures . The crucifixion scene with rosettes and vine leaf decoration was uncovered in the 1990s .
352
King of the Hill is the twenty third episode in the ninth season of the American animated television series The Simpsons . It originally aired on the Fox network in the United States on May 3 , 1998 . It was written by John Swartzwelder and directed by Steven Dean Moore , and guest stars Brendan Fraser and Steven Weber . The episode sees Homer trying to climb a large mountain to impress Bart after he humiliates him at a church picnic with his lack of fitness . Plot After his obesity embarrasses Bart at a church picnic , Homer attempts to lose weight . He soon discovers Power Sauce , an energy bar which he starts to eat regularly . At a gym , Homer meets Rainier Wolfcastle who becomes his fitness coach . In two months , Homer is healthier and reveals what he has been doing to his family . At the gym , Rainier is being asked by two Power Sauce representatives to climb the tallest mountain in Springfield , The unk , as a publicity stunt . When Rainier refuses , Homer takes on the challenge . He is aided by two Sherpas as guides , who were instructed to drag Homer up the mountain as he sleeps . During one of these nights , Homer wakes up to discover that he is being secretly dragged , and fires the two Sherpas . Homer soon makes it to the summit and plants a flagpole . Rejoining the crowd , Bart is proud of Homer . Production The episode was pitched and written by John Swartzwelder . The writing staff had to find a new angle for Homer 's weight problems , as the idea had been used several times before . This was emphasized in this episode when Marge does not seem to care that Homer is going to try to lose weight again . In the scenes where the Sherpas were speaking , the show staff went to great lengths to find translations . Originally , the producers of the film adaption of the book Into Thin Air were contacted to help . The film producers were shocked at the trouble the Simpsons staff were going to , and replied that they had simply made up translations in the film . The staff then had to consult various experts by telephone . Cultural references The mountain Homer must climb , the unk , is a reference to the mountain Matterhorn , which is located in the Swiss Alps . Reception In its original broadcast , King of the Hill finished 23rd in ratings for the week of April 27 May 4 , 1998 , with a Nielsen rating of 9 . 4 , equivalent to approximately 9 . 2 million viewing households . It was the fourth highest rated show on the Fox network that week , following The X Files , King of the Hill , and Ally McBeal . The authors of the book I Can 't Believe It 's a Bigger and Better Updated Unofficial Simpsons Guide , Warren Martyn and Adrian Wood , thought well of the episode , stating A quite charming little adventure in which , in an effort to impress Bart , Homer undertakes a dangerous adventure and comes through successfully . It 's nice because just for once , to all intents and purposes , Homer actually succeeds in something .
353
USS West Compo ( ID 3912 ) was a cargo ship for the United States Navy in 1919 . The ship was built in 1919 as SS West Compo , a steam powered cargo ship for the United States Shipping Board ( USSB ) as part of the West boats , a series of steel hulled cargo ships built on the West Coast of the United States for the World War I war effort . She was the 20th ship built by Northwest Steel in Portland , Oregon . She was commissioned into the Naval Overseas Transportation Service ( NOTS ) of the United States Navy in January 1919 . After one overseas trips for the Navy , she was decommissioned in May 1919 and returned to the USSB . It is not known if West Compo had a civilian career after her Navy career ended . Sources conflict as to the ship 's ultimate fate , but she was probably broken up in 1936 at Baltimore , Maryland . Design and construction The West ships were cargo ships of similar size and design built by several shipyards on the West Coast of the United States for the United States Shipping Board ( USSB ) for emergency use during World War I. All were given names that began with the word West , like West Compo , one of some 40 West ships built by Northwest Steel of Portland , Oregon . West Compo ( Northwest Steel yard number 20 , USSB hull number 1080 ) was completed in January 1919 . West Compo was 5 , 700 gross register tons ( GRT ) , and was 409 feet 5 inches ( 124 . 79 m ) long ( between perpendiculars ) and 54 feet ( 16 . 5 m ) abeam . West Compo had a steel hull and a mean draft of 24 feet 6 inches ( 7 . 47 m ) . She displaced 12 , 185 t , and had a deadweight tonnage of 8 , 635 DWT . The ship had a single steam turbine that drove her single screw propeller , and moved the ship at a 11 . 5 knot ( 21 . 3 km h ) pace . Military career USS West Compo ( ID 3912 ) was commissioned into the Naval Overseas Transportation Service ( NOTS ) on 3 February 1919 with Lieutenant Commander A. A. unk , USNRF , in command . The ship sailed on 12 February with on a load of wheat flour and transited the Panama Canal on 1 and 2 March . After she arrived in Norfolk , Virginia , on 11 March , she replenished her fuel and stores and got underway for the Mediterranean on 14 March . West Compo arrived at Trieste on 9 April and unloaded her cargo . After taking on sand ballast , she departed on 19 April , sailing to Philadelphia via Gibraltar . She arrived at Philadelphia on 15 May , was decommissioned one week later , and returned to the USSB . Civilian career After the Navy decommissioned West Compo it is not known if she had a civilian career for the unk ship does not appear in contemporary newspaper reports and there is no evidence that she was ever sold . The Dictionary of American Naval Fighting Ships reports that the ship was abandoned by the USSB in 1933 . Jordan lists her as still under USSB ownership in 1939 , but Haworth reports that the ship was broken up in Baltimore in April 1936 . Colton also reports the ship as being scrapped in 1936 .
354
M 113 is a state trunkline highway in the US state of Michigan that runs in Grand Traverse County from M 37 near Hannah to US Highway 131 ( US 131 ) in Walton Junction . The trunkline runs through farm fields and woodlands in a rural area of the county . It connects the highways at its termini with the village of Kingsley . First designated in November 1927 , the highway was extended in 1940 by adding the southernmost section near Walton Junction which was originally part of US 131 . Route description M 113 starts west of Hannah at an intersection with M 37 south of Traverse City . The highway runs eastward through farm fields . In the community of Hannah , the highway passes the church and the cemetery before exiting . On the other side of the town , M 113 continues through more fields to Kingsley . The trunkline follows Main Street through the business district in the village . On the east side of town , M 113 runs through fields mixed with scattered groves of trees . The landscape transitions over to woodland just before a 90 degree turn south near Fife Lake . About one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) south of the turn , M 113 intersects M 186 at the latter 's western terminus . M 113 continues due south past Camp Pugsley Correctional Facility and turns southeasterly . The highway crosses a line of the Great Lakes Central Railroad , and then it terminates at US 131 north of the Manistee River and the Grand Traverse Wexford county line . M 113 is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) like other state highways in Michigan . As a part of these maintenance responsibilities , the department tracks the volume of traffic that uses the roadways under its jurisdiction . These volumes are expressed using a metric called annual average daily traffic , which is a statistical calculation of the average daily number of vehicles on a segment of roadway . MDOT 's surveys in 2009 showed that the highest traffic levels along M 113 were the 7 , 519 vehicles daily in the village of Kingsley the lowest count was 4 , 161 vehicles per day south of the M 186 intersection . No section of M 113 has been listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History M 113 was first designated in November 1927 from M 42 ( now M 37 ) west of Kingsley to a three way junction with US 131 and M 131 near Fife Lake at this time , US 131 ended west of Fife Lake and M 131 continued east to Fife Lake and north to Petoskey . M 42 was replaced by M 37 in 1940 , and US 131 was relocated around the same time north from Walton Junction along a new alignment to Fife Lake . From Fife Lake northward , US 131 replaced M 131 . The portion of M 131 running west of Fife Lake became M 186 and the remaining piece of US 131 between M 113 and Walton Junction was added to M 113 . The routing has remained unchanged since . Major intersections The entire highway is in Grand Traverse County .
355
K 232 is a 17 . 263 mile long ( 27 . 782 km ) north south state highway in central Kansas connecting the towns of Wilson and Lucas . The highway was first established in 1962 and expanded over the following two years . K 232 is designated by the Kansas Department of Transportation as the Post Rock Scenic Byway . The scenic byway derives its name from the abundant limestone in the area which early settlers used as fence posts and in other construction in place of wood . The route was designated as a scenic byway both for the natural beauty of the area and unique towns located each end of the highway . Annual average daily traffic on the highway ranges from 238 to 340 , and the entire route is paved with partial design bituminous pavement . History K 232 's route was first designated as the part of the current highway between Interstate 70 and Old U.S. 40 ( then U.S. Route 40 ) in 1962 . The rest of the highway 's route was established over the following two years . K 232 has been paved since the highway was designated . Due to the area 's natural beauty and unique heritage , K 232 has been designated by the Kansas Department of Transportation as the Post Rock Scenic Byway , named for the abundance of limestone unk found throughout the Smoky Hills region . Route description The highway begins at an intersection with Old U.S. 40 in Ellsworth County , on the eastern side of the city of Wilson . From there , it travels northward 1 . 753 miles ( 2 . 821 km ) along the eastern side of Wilson and through agricultural lands to a junction with Interstate 70 . After crossing Interstate 70 , K 232 turns and continues in a generally west of north direction across the Ellsworth Lincoln county line . After crossing the county line , the highway continues on a slightly west of north heading until reaching Wilson Lake . Upon reaching Wilson Lake , K 232 travels along the eastern side of the lake , crossing into Russell County . K 232 then has a junction with K 181 at the southeastern end of Wilson Dam , turns northwest , and travels along the top of the dam . A short distance after crossing the dam , K 232 turns due north and travels through more rural land to its northern terminus at K 18 highway . K 232 is not a part of the United States National Highway System . K 232 connects to the National Highway System at its junction with Interstate 70 . The entire route is paved with partial design bituminous pavement . Annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) in Ellsworth County ranges from 307 from Interstate 70 to the Ellsworth Lincoln county line to 333 closer to the city of Wilson . In Lincoln County , AADT values are 308 for the first three miles ( 4 . 8 km ) , 315 for the next one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) , and 340 for the final one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) before entering Russell County . In Russell County , AADT values range from 305 to 340 south of the junction with K 181 and from 238 to 280 between K 181 and the northern terminus at K 18 . Major intersections
356
Route 177 was the shortest state highway recorded in Somerset County , New Jersey and the second shortest around the entire state of New Jersey . ( New Jersey Route 59 is the shortest recorded route in the state at 0 . 15 mile ( 0 . 24 km ) long . ) Route 177 went for a short , 0 . 24 miles ( 0 . 39 km ) state maintained portion of Bridge Street in Somerville . One of only three state highways in Somerset County after the 1953 state highway renumbering , Route 177 was the only one to be decommissioned later on . ( The other two highways are Route 27 further south and Route 28 further north ) The short lived designation went from U.S. Route 206 in Somerville , up Bridge Street near the Old Cemetery to Fifth Street , where state maintenance terminated . In 1974 , the Department of Transportation turned maintenance of this short highway over to the borough of Somerville for future use . Route description Route 177 began at a traffic light intersection with U.S. Route 206 in the city of Somerville . At the intersection , southbound traffic on Route 206 had to use a jughandle to connect to Route 177 . The state highway went northeastward , progressing along as South Bridge Street through a curve . Heading northward , the route passed the Somerville Old Cemetery before intersecting with Fifth Street . There , state maintenance ended , and the designation of Route 177 terminated . Entering downtown Somerville , South Bridge Street continued northward into a large residential community . Passing to the east and west of several residential homes , South Bridge Street continued into the downtown portion , crossing the current day Raritan Valley Line tracks maintained by New Jersey Transit and served the Somerville train station . After a couple of blocks of residential homes and businesses , South Bridge Street came to an intersection with New Jersey Route 28 , where it switched to North Bridge Street . History The alignment of Route 177 was a former alignment of State Highway Route 31 through Somerville . The highway was instated in 1926 as U.S. Route 206 and 1927 as State Highway Route 31 by the New Jersey State Highway Department and the Federal Highway Administration respectively . By 1930 , Routes 206 and 31 was shifted off of Bridge Street , running along a partially completed bypass of Somerville . By 1938 , this was completed and Route 206 was shifted to the southern terminus of Bridge Street south of the old cemetery . Bridge Street remained unnumbered until the second state highway renumbering on January 1 , 1953 . That day , the unnumbered alignment became Route 177 , running from US 206 to Fifth Street , where it met US 206 's former alignment . The route remained intact for a couple of decades , as one of three state highways in Somerset County ( along with Route 28 and Route 27 ) until 1974 , when the route was decommissioned and turned over to the borough of Somerville . Major intersections The entire route was in Somerville , Somerset County .
357
M 117 is a 14 . 479 mile ( 23 . 302 km ) state trunkline highway in the eastern Upper Peninsula ( UP ) of the US state of Michigan . The highway connects US Highway 2 ( US 2 ) with M 28 west of Newberry . The designation has been used twice in the UP , once in 1941 for a former section of US 2 between Rexton and Epoufette , and the second in 1949 for the current corridor . The second version included a section that ran north of Newberry along what is now M 123 , but it was truncated to its current routing in the 1960s . Since 1993 , the trunkline has been dedicated to the 117th Quartermaster Battalion , a former National Guard unit from Kingsford . Route description The highway begins at US 2 , one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) south of Engadine and crosses the Canadian National Railway line before entering town . In Engadine , M 117 meets the western terminus of H 40 which runs on Hiawatha Trail . The trunkline passes a small pond in town and some farm fields north of Engadine . The terrain transitions to forest as the highway crosses into Luce County . The route angles slightly to the northeast to avoid unk Lake south of M 28 near Newberry . M 117 provides an important connection between two of the main highways in the UP . This connection is listed on the National Highway System , a network of roadways important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . Of the ten state trunklines that connect M 28 and US 2 , M 117 is one of three that do not overlap either . The others are US 45 and Interstate 75 . As part of the state 's maintenance of M 117 , the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) tracks the volume of traffic that uses the roadway . These volumes are expressed using a metric called annual average daily traffic , which is a statistical calculation of the average daily number of vehicles on a segment of roadway . MDOT 's surveys in 2010 showed that between 1 , 392 and 1 , 986 vehicles used the highway per day . History US 2 was rerouted in 1941 between Gould City and Epoufette , with the previous routing between Epoufette and Rexton becoming a new M 117 . The route of M 117 was replaced by a realigned M 48 in 1949 . The M 117 designation was transferred to a new routing between Engadine and Newberry at that time , and extended east concurrent along M 28 and north through Newberry on Business M 28 ( BUS M 28 ) , replacing a section of M 48 . North of town , M 117 extended past BUS M 28 to Four Mile Corner along the former M 48 . M 117 in Mackinac County was shifted to a new routing along Country Avenue in 1957 . The previous routing was transferred to local control at the same time . M 117 was truncated to M 28 west of Newberry in late 1961 or early 1962 . The section of highway north of M 28 through Newberry to Four Mile Corner was included in an extension of M 123 between Newberry and Paradise . M 117 was dedicated in 1993 to the deactivated 117th Quartermaster Battalion based out of Kingsford . Major intersections
358
In Norse mythology , Hln ( Old Norse protectress ) is a goddess associated with the goddess Frigg . Hln appears in a poem in the Poetic Edda , compiled in the 13th century from earlier traditional sources , the Prose Edda , written in the 13th century by Snorri Sturluson , and in kennings found in skaldic poetry . Hln has been theorized as possibly another name for Frigg . Attestations In the Poetic Edda poem Vlusp , Hln receives a mention regarding the foretold death of the god Odin during the immense battle waged at Ragnark Then is fulfilled Hln 's second sorrow , when inn goes to fight with the wolf , and Beli 's slayer , bright , against Surtr . Then shall Frigg 's sweet friend fall . In chapter 35 of the Prose Edda book Gylfaginning , Hln is cited twelfth among a series of sixteen goddesses . High tells Gangleri ( earlier in the book described as King Gylfi in disguise ) that Hln is given the function of protecting people whom Frigg wishes to save from some danger . High continues that , from this , someone who escapes finds refuge ( unk ) . In chapter 51 , the above mentioned Vlusp stanza is quoted . In chapter 75 of the book Skldskaparml Hln appears within a list of 27 synjur names . In skaldic poetry , the name Hln is frequent in kennings for women . Examples include Hln unk ( Hln of rings ) , Hln unk ( Hln of velvet ) and arm Hln ( arm Hln ) . The name is already used frequently in this way by the 10th century poet Kormkr gmundarson and remains current in skaldic poetry through the following centuries , employed by poets such as rr unk , unk unk and Einarr unk . The name remained frequently used in woman kennings in rmur poetry , sometimes as Ln . In a verse in unk saga unk , the phrase Hln unk ( fallen on Hln ) occurs . Some editors have emended the line while others have accepted the reading and taken Hln to refer to the earth . Theories Andy Orchard says that in Vlusp , Hln appears to be just another name for Frigg , and adds that the numerous occurrences of the name in skaldic poetry in poetic unk or kennings for women do nothing to dispel the confusion . Rudolf Simek agrees that Hln seems to appear as another name for Frigg in Vlusp , and that in skaldic poetry Hln was a well known mythological figure by the 10th century . Simek states that Hln is likely simply another name for Frigg , and that Snorri misunderstood her to be a goddess in her own right in his reading of the Vlusp stanza . However , in the same work , Rudolf Simek also says that the goddesses Sga , Hln , unk , Snotra , Vr , and unk should be considered vaguely defined figures who should be seen as female protective goddesses that are all responsible for specific areas of the private sphere , and yet clear differences were made between them so that they are in many ways similar to matrons . John Lindow observes that if Hln is indeed Frigg , then this means that Hln 's second sorrow in Vlusp is the death of Odin , the first being the death of Baldr .
359
St Llibio 's Church , Llanllibio is a demolished church in Anglesey , north Wales . Founded by Llibio in the sixth century , the church served a small community of bondmen as a chapel of ease . The population of Llanllibio declined substantially during the Middle Ages as a result of the Black Death and changes in farming practice , amongst other factors , and the community that the church served effectively disappeared . As a result , St Llibio 's closed in the seventeenth century the remaining worshippers moved to another local church . Plans in the nineteenth century to rebuild the church , which was in ruins by 1776 , came to nothing . Except for a memorial stone , nothing more than tiny traces of St Llibio 's can now be seen . Early history St Llibio 's was the church for Llanllibio in Anglesey , north Wales . A survey of Anglesey conducted in 1352 records Llanllibio as a tir unk township , a Welsh form of land tenure in which the inhabitants , who were generally few in number , were bondmen working for the lord in return for a small arable holding and some grazing rights . It was the only tir unk township in Anglesey to have a church . Like many other communities in Anglesey , and elsewhere in medieval Wales , Llanllibio 's population decreased substantially during the Middle Ages , and the settlement effectively disappeared . Communities such as Llanllibio were affected by the Black Death , the destruction resulting from the revolt of Owen unk , by changes in land tenure , and by new farming practices that reduced the need for tied labour . The parish was on the old road between London and the Anglesey port town of Holyhead , and about 0 . 8 miles ( 1 . 3 km ) from Bodedern . The church was dedicated to St Llibio , a sixth century monk , confessor , and disciple of the Anglesey saint Cybi . Llibio himself is recorded as having founded a church on the site , and his feast day was celebrated on 28 February . The area took its name from the church the Welsh word llan originally meant enclosure and then church . St Llibio 's was used as a chapel of ease to the Church of St unk , St Ieuan and St unk , Llantrisant , about 1 . 5 miles ( 2 . 4 km ) away . Closure St Llibio 's was closed in the seventeenth century , and the church at Llantrisant was enlarged to accommodate worshippers from Llanllibio . By 1776 St Llibio 's was in ruins . According to Angharad Llwyd , a historian of Anglesey writing in 1833 , the inhabitants of the area attended worship at St Edern 's Church , Bodedern . She noted that Wynne Jones , the rector of Llantrisant , hoped to rebuild the church , but that did not happen . A survey in 1937 by the Royal Commission on Ancient and Historical Monuments in Wales and Monmouthshire stated that the church has entirely disappeared , but the foundations of the churchyard wall are still visible . A 2006 guide to the churches of Anglesey says that only tiny traces of the church can be seen , adding that a memorial slate marks its location .
360
M 90 is a state trunkline highway in The Thumb region of the US state of Michigan . It runs from near North Branch eastward to Lexington situated on Lake Huron . The highway is a lightly traveled roadway that runs through rural farmlands . The trunkline runs mostly east west with two short north south segments where it turns to run concurrently with other state highways . Along the routing , there are two river crossings and one railroad crossing . The current highway that bears the M 90 designation is the second to carry number . The first is now a section of M 69 in the Upper Peninsula . A section of current highway gained the number by 1927 . Extensions of the highway further east resulted in the current routing by 1934 . Route description M 90 starts at an intersection with M 24 in Deerfield Township in northern Lapeer County . The intersection is near the Lapeer State Game Area . After a short jog northeast to cross the Flint River , it runs due east on North Branch Road through rural farmland . The highway passed through North Branch on its way to M 53 in Burnside Township . There it turns south and runs concurrently with M 53 on Van Dyke Road for about 1 . 5 miles ( 2 . 4 km ) before turning east on Burnside Road . M 90 continues east to pass through Brown City near the Sanilac County line . In Brown City , M 90 follows Main Street and crosses a branch of the Huron and Eastern Railway before it becomes Burns Line Road . South of Peck , M 90 turns north along M 19 on Brockway Road . M 90 once again turns east as a solo route on the east side of Peck and follows Peck Road . The trunkline crosses the Black River on the south side of Croswell before ending at M 25 near Lake Huron in Lexington . None of the highway is listed on the National Highway System , a system of roads that are important to the nation 's economy , defense and mobility . The traffic levels , as measured in terms of average annual daily traffic , a calculation of the average number of vehicles along a section of roadway for any given day , vary between 1 , 132 vehicles west of M 53 and 7 , 029 vehicles in Croswell . The Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) also computed the number of commercial vehicles in the 2009 survey and found that the highway was used by 120 163 commercial trucks each day on average . History Previous designation The first designation of M 90 was in the Upper Peninsula by July 1 , 1919 . This highway started at M 45 ( now M 95 south of Sagola and ran east to Foster City . It was replaced by M 69 by late 1927 . Current designation M 90 in the Lower Peninsula replaced the M 38 designation between M 36 near North Branch and M 19 near Melvin . In 1930 , when M 24 was extended north , M 90 was extended west to intersect the new highway north of Lapeer . The eastern end was extended in 1934 to US Highway 25 in Lexington . The final gravel segment of the highway was paved in 1957 in Sanilac County . Major intersections
361
An indoor outdoor thermometer is a thermometer that simultaneously provides a measurement of the indoor and outdoor temperatures . The outdoor part of the thermometer requires some kind of remote temperature sensing device . Conventionally , this was done by extending the bulb of the thermometer to the remote site . Modern instruments are more likely to use some form of electronic transducer . Glass thermometer In an indoor outdoor thermometer based on a conventional liquid in glass thermometer , the stem of the outdoor thermometer is connected to the bulb by a long , flexible or semi rigid capillary . The temperature scale is marked on the stem as usual . However , the temperature that is actually measured is the temperature at the bulb . Ambient corrections are difficult to achieve with this system and are not usually done . Consequently , it is not as accurate as a conventional precision thermometer . Rather , it is typically used for low cost applications such as private houses . The main issue with accuracy is that if the bulb and the stem are at different levels , there is a change in reading due to the change in pressure head . A further problem is that changes in the ambient temperature of the indoor part of the device can cause a change in reading as well as the temperature of the outdoor part of the device . This effect can be minimised by making the bulb large and the capillary a small diameter . This ensures that changes in the outside temperature produce large changes in the column of liquid in the stem and will tend to swamp the smaller changes caused by the changes in the indoor temperature . Common working liquids used are toluene and alcohol . Both of these have large temperature coefficients of expansion and do not freeze or boil in the temperature range of interest . Electronic types The sensors can be any of the types used in electronic thermometers . unk are common and semiconductor junctions can also be used . Indoor outdoor electronic thermometers are a frequent hobbyist project and are sometimes sold as kits . Many indoor outdoor thermometers on sale are wireless devices requiring no physical connection to the sensor placed outside . In these cases the sensor needs to be battery powered . Applications The primary purpose of the indoor outdoor thermometer is to allow the outside temperature to be indicated inside a building , thus removing the need to go outside to take a temperature reading . They are also used in vehicles , and are particularly useful for municipal vehicles involved in snow and ice clearance . Building maintenance engineers can use an indoor outdoor thermometer that has not been installed to get a quick reading of air temperature in a location inside a building . This is done by swinging the bulb of the outdoor sensor in the air while still attached to the instrument . This will get a faster reading because the bulb will come up to temperature much more quickly than the indoor sensor built into the instrument .
362
You Don 't Know Anything is a song recorded by American indie rock band Ivy . It was released by Atlantic Records on April 29 , 1999 as the fourth and final single from their second studio album , Apartment Life ( 1997 ) . The single was made available exclusively in Europe and featured the same two B sides as previous single , This Is the Day , which had been released by 550 Music in Austria . The track was written by Dominique Durand , Adam Schlesinger and Andy Chase while production was handled by the latter two and Peter Nashel . Released alongside This Is the Day , You Don 't Know Anything received promotion by Atlantic Records after the former track was included on the soundtrack for the 1998 film , There 's Something About Mary . The recording received generally favorable reviews from music critics who compared the song to the works of Irish rock group My Bloody Valentine . Background and composition You Don 't Know Anything was written by Ivy band members Dominique Durand , Adam Schlesinger and Andy Chase . The production of the track was handled by Chase and Schlesinger , with additional production provided by Peter Nashel . Musically , You Don 't Know Anything is a pop rock indie rock song , also incorporating elements of indie pop and guitar accords . Lyrically , the song discusses a lover being clueless and in the wrong . The single was heavily compared to My Bloody Valentine in their review of the track , Sputnikmusic stated that it comes off like a My Bloody Valentine song with intelligible vocals , with a sliding , reverb heavy hook and pummeling drums , while AllMusic writer Jack Rabid drew similar comparisons . Patrick unk of West Net stated that with You Don 't Know Anything , Ivy have an indie ethic rock side that compliments their pop sensibilities to the tee . Release The recording was released simultaneously with the release of the single This Is the Day this occurred after the latter track was featured in the 1998 film , There 's Something About Mary . You Don 't Know Anything was released as a CD single exclusively in European countries the CD included two B side tracks , Sleeping Late and Sweet Mary . Critical reception You Don 't Know Anything received generally positive reviews from music critics . Stephen Thompson of The A.V. Club praised the track and Apartment Life for sound ing slickly pretty and mannered . A reviewer from Sputnikmusic also enjoyed the recording , calling it a mid album stand out , while AllMusic named the song a knockout and praised it for having the guitars get mean . Reviewer Scott unk was more mixed with his review , finding the track to pass by pleasantly but unk . Track listing Credits and personnel Credits and personnel adapted from You Don 't Know Anything liner notes and Andy Chase 's discography . Recording Recorded at The Place , New York City unk Studios , New York City and Compositions , New York City Personnel Release history
363
The 35th Boat Race took place on 13 April 1878 . The Boat Race is an annual side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . In total , ten former Blues took part in the contest . The race was umpired by former rower Joseph William Chitty and Oxford won by a margin of 10 lengths in a time of 22 minutes 15 seconds . The victory took the overall record to 18 16 in Oxford 's favour . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . First held in 1829 , the race takes place on the 4 . 2 miles ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities it is followed throughout the United Kingdom and as of 2014 , broadcast worldwide . Neither crew went into the race as reigning champions the previous year 's race had been declared a dead heat . However Oxford held the overall lead , with 17 victories to Cambridge 's 16 . Cambridge 's coach was James Brooks Close ( who rowed for the Light Blues in the 1872 , 1873 and 1874 races ) . Oxford were coached by William Grenfell ( who had rowed for the Dark Blues the previous year and was rowing at number four in 1878 ) , A. J. Mulholland ( who rowed in 1877 ) and Edmund Warre ( who represented the Oxford in the 1857 and the 1858 races ) . The race was umpired by Joseph William Chitty who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race , while the starter was Edward Searle and the finishing judge was E. H. unk . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 12 st 3 . 675 lb ( 77 . 7 kg ) , 6 . 875 pounds ( 3 . 1 kg ) more than their opponents . Cambridge saw four former Blues return , including the cox George Latham Davies who was taking part in his fourth consecutive Boat Race . Oxford 's crew included six individuals with experience of the race , with boat club president Tom Cottingham Edwards Moss making his fourth appearance in the event . Drinkwater suggested that the Oxford crew was the best ... up to that date . Race Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , handing the Middlesex side of the river to Cambridge . The race commenced at unk Out rating Oxford by four strokes per minute , Cambridge took an early lead and were half a length ahead after the first minute . They held the lead round the bend which favoured them but as the river curved to favour Oxford , the Dark Blues quickly overtook , even with the slower stroke rate . They were at least half a length clear at the Crab Tree pub which they had extended to four lengths by Hammersmith Bridge . Oxford won by 40 seconds ( approximately 10 lengths ) in a time of 22 minutes and 15 seconds , their second victory in nine years , which took the overall record to 18 16 in their favour .
364
New York State Route 20N ( NY 20N ) was a state highway in central New York in the United States . It was an alternate route of U.S. Route 20 ( US 20 ) that stretched for 30 . 5 miles ( 49 . 1 km ) between Marcellus and Cazenovia . The road began at its parent route , US 20 , and NY 174 in Marcellus and ended at US 20 , NY 20SY , and NY 92 in Cazenovia . All of NY 20N was concurrent with at least one other route , namely NY 174 in Marcellus , NY 175 from Marcellus to Onondaga Hill , NY 173 from Onondaga Hill to Manlius , and NY 92 and NY 20SY between Manlius and Cazenovia . NY 20N was assigned in May 1937 and removed c . 1962 along with NY 20SY . Route description NY 20N began at an intersection with US 20 and NY 174 in the town of Marcellus . The route headed north , overlapping NY 174 through the town of Marcellus into the village of Marcellus . At the time , the two routes entered the village on South Street and followed it north to Main Street . NY 20N and NY 174 turned east , following Main for a half block to North Street . Here , NY 20N and NY 174 split , with NY 174 heading to the west and NY 20N proceeding east along NY 175 , which began at this junction at the time of NY 20N 's removal . NY 20N and NY 175 continued east to Onondaga , where NY 173 joined the two routes and created a three route overlap for 100 yards ( 91 m ) . At the east end of the overlap , NY 20N continued east along NY 173 into the southernmost section of Syracuse . Here , the two routes intersected NY 80 and US 11 and passed under Interstate 81 before exiting the city limits . Now in the town of De Witt , NY 20N and NY 173 met the northern terminus of NY 91 in the hamlet of Jamesville . The overlap between NY 20N and NY 173 ended 5 miles ( 8 . 0 km ) to the east in the village of Manlius , where NY 92 and NY 20SY joined both routes just west of where NY 173 split from NY 20N and continued to the east . Outside of Manlius , NY 20N , NY 20SY and NY 92 headed southeast for 7 miles ( 11 km ) to Cazenovia , where all three routes ended at US 20 adjacent to Cazenovia Lake and west of the village . History The portion of NY 20N from the intersection of NY 174 and NY 175 in the village of Marcellus to the junction of NY 92 and NY 173 in Manlius was part of the Seneca Turnpike . The turnpike was created in the 1800s and at the time was the longest in the state . NY 20N was assigned c . 1938 as a northerly alternate route to US 20 , which bypassed Syracuse to the south . The route extended from the town of Marcellus to the village of Cazenovia and overlapped NY 174 , NY 175 , NY 173 , and NY 92 upon assignment . All four of the routes that NY 20N originally overlapped were assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York . A second , more northerly alternate route of US 20 in the Syracuse area was assigned in 1951 and designated as NY 20SY . From Manlius to Cazenovia , NY 20SY overlapped NY 20N and NY 92 . Both NY 20N and NY 20SY were removed c . 1962 . Major intersections
365
State Route 100 ( SR 100 ) is a 4 . 68 mile long ( 7 . 53 km ) state highway in the U.S. state of Washington , serving Cape Disappointment State Park in Pacific County . The highway travels counterclockwise from U.S. Route 101 ( US 101 ) in Ilwaco south to Cape Disappointment and north to an intersection with itself in Ilwaco . SR 100 , part of the Lewis and Clark Trail Scenic Byway , serves as a loop route and has a spur route that serves the state park and a Coast Guard station . SR 100 was established in 1991 on the existing North Head Road , which was a paved county road by the late 1950s . The highway was washed away during a 1994 winter storm and had its spur route shortened in 2006 . Route description SR 100 begins at an intersection with US 101 in Ilwaco as the highway turns north onto 1st Avenue towards Seaview . The highway , part of the Lewis and Clark Trail Scenic Byway , travels west on Spruce Street through an intersection with the clockwise terminus of SR 100 , on 2nd Avenue , and continues towards the Pacific Ocean on North Head Road . SR 100 turns south along the Pacific coast past North Head Lighthouse and into Cape Disappointment State Park on Robert Gray Drive . The highway intersects its spur route that travels south on Fort Canby Road towards Coast Guard Station Cape Disappointment . SR 100 turns north and travels into unk along Baker Bay and the Columbia River before it ends at an intersection with SR 100 a block from its terminus at US 101 . Every year , the Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2011 , WSDOT calculated that the busiest section of SR 100 was its terminus at US 101 in unk , serving 2 , 100 vehicles , while the least busiest section was the intersection with its spur route in Cape Disappointment State Park , serving 650 vehicles . History The North Head Road portion of SR 100 , traveling west from Ilwaco to the Pacific coast and south to Cape Disappointment within Fort Canby State Park , has existed as a paved roadway since 1957 . SR 100 was established in 1991 by the Washington State Legislature and was made into a complete loop route around the cape , with a short spur route traveling south into Fort Canby State Park , later renamed to Cape Disappointment State Park . Robert Gray Way was rebuilt after a 1994 winter storm washed away the roadway into Baker Bay . Spur route SR 100 has a 0 . 08 mile long ( 0 . 13 km ) spur route that travels south from the SR 100 mainline to the boundary of Cape Disappointment State Park . The spur route was established in 1991 along with the main route and was originally 0 . 61 miles ( 0 . 98 km ) long until part of the highway was transferred to Pacific County on January 3 , 2006 . Major intersections The entire highway is in Pacific County .
366
King 's Highway 72 , commonly referred to as Highway 72 , is a provincially maintained highway in the northern half of the Canadian province of Ontario . The highway connects Highway 17 in Dinorwic with the town of Sioux Lookout , where there are connections with Highway 516 towards Savant Lake and Highway 642 towards Silver Dollar . Highway 72 was built as a trunk route by 1920 , and became a provincial highway in 1937 . It has remained largely unchanged since then , aside from the reconstruction and realignment of the Frog Rapids bridge , and the renumbering of the fork towards Hudson as Highway 664 . The length of the highway is 68 . 5 km ( 42 . 6 mi ) , the entirety of which is situated in Kenora District . There are no significant settlements between its endpoints . Route description Highway 72 is a 68 . 5 km ( 42 . 6 mi ) route which serves to connect Sioux Lookout with the Trans Canada Highway . The route begins at Highway 17 , on the western edge of Dinorwic . From there it follows an old routing of Highway 17 along the northern edge of the village , but eventually turns to the north into the wilderness . Between this point and south of the Frog Rapids Narrows , where Highway 664 intersects the route , the highways passes through a remote forested region dotted with lakes and muskeg there is almost no human habitation . After crossing the Frog Rapids Narrows , the highway enters Sioux Lookout . It zig zags through the town , crossing the old Grand Trunk Railroad , now a Canadian National Railway line , next to a large rail depot . It exits Sioux Narrows , ending at an intersection with the Ed unk Bypass , Highway 516 and Highway 642 just east of the town . History Sioux Lookout and Hudson were both originally accessible only by rail and water when they were established as stops on the Grand Trunk Railway shortly after 1900 roads would not reach the remote area until 1920 . The road connecting Sioux Lookout and Hudson with the Ignace Dryden Road was initially under the upkeep of the Department of Northern Development . On April 1 , 1937 , that department was merged into the Department of Highways ( DHO ) , after which the provincial highway network was expanded into northern Ontario . Shortly after the merger , the DHO began to assume highways throughout northern Ontario . On October 6 , 1937 , Highway 72 was established , connecting Highway 17 with both Sioux Lookout and Hudson . On the 1938 39 Official Ontario Road Map , the distance from Dinorwic to Sioux Lookout is listed as 48 . 0 miles ( 77 . 2 km ) , and from Dinorwic to Hudson as 53 . 0 miles ( 85 . 3 km ) . This routing remained in place until at least 1953 . By 1954 , however , the branch leading to Hudson was renumbered as Highway 116 . Highway 72 has , aside from minor realignments , remained unchanged since then . Major intersections The following table lists the major junctions along Highway 72 , as noted by the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario . The entire route is located in Kenora District .
367
Ko Olina Station and Ko Olina Center make up a lifestyle center in the resort town of Ko Olina , a neighborhood in unk , Hawaii . The shopping mall opened in 2009 and consists of two centers located across a street from each other . Ko Olina Station debuted in 2009 , while the more recent Ko Olina Center finished construction in 2010 . The centers contain a total of approximately 31 retail tenants , with the majority of them being native Hawaiian businesses , such as ABC Stores and Peter Merriman 's unk Kitchen . The center was modeled after a rural Hawaiian community , with its grocery store modeled after a country store . It is located directly north along the old Oahu Railway and Land Company tracks , and includes a mix of dining and retail options . History Ko Olina Station and Ko Olina Center were built to cater to those staying at any of the four Ko Olina resorts unk , Four Seasons ' unk Resort , Ko Olina Beach Villas , and Marriott 's Ko Olina Beach Club . The shopping mall was built in the center of the Ko Olina Golf Club , which hosts the Lotte Championship for golf every spring since 2012 . The lifestyle center was developed by unk Group , with its first phase , Ko Olina Station , opening in 2009 . Ko Olina Center opened in 2010 , and unlike Station , featured a second floor for office space . Located directly across from unk , the center 's purpose is to offer office space , speciality stores , restaurants , amenities and other services to Ko Olina . Together , they consist of 56 , 000 square feet ( 5 , 200 m2 ) of retail and office space , with Station consisting of sixteen tenants and Center consisting of fourteen . In 2014 , the center added several new retailers to their lineup , including unk Galleries , Island Sole , and unk Surf Co .. After this announcement followed the expansion of Pineapple Boutique , a luxury apparel retailer , that stated the opening of a second location within the mall . However , when the JW Marriott unk , a former resort in Ko Olina , announced its closure , the center 's tenants became worried about their businesses Frank unk , the owner of Pizza Corner , a local pizzeria , joked that his pizza parlor would lose a slice of its sales . As of June 2016 , the lifestyle center is approaching full capacity , with only 3 vacant retail tenants and 5 vacant office tenants . Design Many of the stores and tenants that are located in Ko Olina Station and Center were designed to resemble rural Hawaii . Island Country Market , the center 's grocery store owned by ABC Stores , is modeled after a Hawaiian rural country store . Jessica Goolsby of unk described the store as a fresh market concept with high quality foods that contributes to a one of a kind shopping experience . The mall is located next to the old Oahu Railway and Land Company tracks , which originally hauled freight and passengers to the North Shore of Oahu this location influenced the overall design of the center , incorporating the historic feel of the railroads .
368
New York State Route 184 ( NY 184 ) is a state highway in St. Lawrence County , New York , in the United States . The route is signed as east west however , it runs more in a northeast southwest direction . It extends for 13 . 69 miles ( 22 . 03 km ) between an intersection with NY 58 in the town of Macomb and a junction with NY 812 in the village of Heuvelton . The two lane route passes through mostly rural areas of the county . NY 184 was assigned in the early 1930s to most of its current alignment however , it initially veered southeastward in the town of De Peyster to serve the hamlet of De Peyster . The route was realigned to bypass the community shortly afterward . Route description NY 184 begins at an intersection with NY 58 in the hamlet of Pope Mills , located east of Black Lake in the town of Macomb . The route heads northeast through the heavily forested area as a two lane road , passing a small number of isolated houses along the way . It intersects with County Route 7 ( CR 7 or Macomb Road ) before entering a stretch with several farms ahead of the De Peyster town line . About 2 . 5 miles ( 4 . 0 km ) into De Peyster , the route crosses over Fish Creek and briefly traverses a marshy area surrounding the waterway . Past the stream , NY 184 curves northward for roughly 1 . 5 miles ( 2 . 4 km ) prior to taking a more pronounced northeasterly track toward the town of Oswegatchie . Near the De Peyster Oswegatchie town line , the route begins to parallel the south bank of the Oswegatchie River as it merges with the alignment of CR 10 ( Old State Road ) . From here , NY 184 continues alongside the Oswegatchie River into the town of Oswegatchie and its village of Heuvelton not far from the town line , where the route becomes known as Union Street . As Union Street , NY 184 serves a mostly residential stretch of buildings along the riverbank before ending at a junction with NY 812 ( State Street ) across the river from the village center . History The origins of NY 184 date back to 1916 when the state of New York awarded a contract on July 18 to improve 11 . 16 miles ( 17 . 96 km ) of roads in the town of Oswegatchie to state highway standards . While the project mostly dealt with improving what is now NY 812 between Heuvelton and the city of Ogdensburg , it also covered a north south highway connecting Heuvelton to the hamlet of De Peyster 4 . 5 miles ( 7 . 2 km ) to the southwest . The rebuilt roads were added to the state highway system on October 13 , 1921 , as unsigned State Highway 1388 ( SH 1388 ) . The De Peyster Heuvelton leg of SH 1388 did not receive a posted route number until c . 1931 when it became part of NY 184 , a new route extending from Pope Mills to Heuvelton via De Peyster . It was realigned c . 1933 to bypass De Peyster on a new highway to the northwest . NY 184 's former routing to De Peyster is now part of Plimpton Road west of De Peyster and part of CR 10 north of the hamlet . Major intersections The entire route is in St. Lawrence County .
369
The Russian ironclad Petropavlovsk ( Russian ) was ordered as a 58 gun wooden frigate by the Imperial Russian Navy in the early 1860s , but was converted while under construction into a 22 gun armored frigate . She served as the flagship of the Baltic Fleet during the 1860s and 1870s . The ship was decommissioned in 1885 , but was not sold for scrap until 1892 . Description Petropavlovsk was 300 feet ( 91 . 4 m ) long between perpendiculars , with a beam of 50 feet 4 inches ( 15 . 3 m ) and a draft of 22 feet 2 inches ( 6 . 8 m ) ( forward ) and 24 feet ( 7 . 3 m ) ( aft ) . She displaced 6 , 040 long tons ( 6 , 140 t ) and was fitted with a blunt iron ram at her bow . Petropavlovsk was considered to be seaworthy her total crew numbered 680 officers and enlisted men . The ship was fitted with a horizontal return connecting rod steam engine built by the Baird Works of Saint Petersburg . It drove a single four bladed propeller using steam that was provided by an unknown number of rectangular boilers . During the ship 's sea trials , the engine produced a total of 2 , 805 indicated horsepower ( 2 , 092 kW ) and gave the ship a maximum speed of 11 . 8 knots ( 21 . 9 km h 13 . 6 mph ) . The ship carried a maximum of 375 long tons ( 381 t ) of coal , but her endurance is unknown . She was ship rigged with three masts . As a heavy frigate , Petropavlovsk was intended to be armed with 54 of the most powerful guns available to the Russians , the 7 . 72 inch ( 196 mm ) 60 pounder smoothbore gun , and four long 36 pounder smoothbores . Her armament was revised when she was converted to an ironclad and she was completed with an armament of twenty 8 inch ( 203 mm ) rifled guns and two 60 pounder guns all of the 8 inch guns were located on the lower deck and the 60 pounders were mounted on the upper deck as chase guns . Later another pair of 60 pounder guns were added on the upper deck . In 1877 , the armament on her upper deck was changed and consisted of one 8 inch , one 6 inch ( 152 mm ) and ten 3 . 4 inch ( 86 mm ) rifled guns . The entire ship 's side was protected with wrought iron armor that extended 5 feet 2 inches ( 1 . 6 m ) below the waterline . It was 4 . 5 inches ( 114 mm ) thick amidships , backed by 10 inches ( 254 mm ) of teak , that reduced to 3 inches ( 76 mm ) , backed by six inches of teak , in steps beginning 50 feet ( 15 . 2 m ) from the ship 's ends . Construction and service Petropavlovsk , named for the Siege of Petropavlovsk during the Crimean War , was laid down on 12 January 1861 as a 58 gun heavy frigate at the New Admiralty Shipyard in Saint Petersburg . She was reordered as ( converted into ) a 22 gun armored frigate on 29 October 1861 while still under construction . The ship was launched on 15 August 1865 and commissioned on 1 August 1867 . During the 1860s and 1870s , Petropavlovsk served as the flagship of the Baltic Fleet . She was decommissioned on 15 June 1885 , stricken from the Navy List on 4 January 1892 and subsequently sold for scrap .
370
My Heart Is Calling is a song recorded by American recording artist Whitney Houston for the 1996 film The Preacher 's Wife . It was released on June 10 , 1997 as the third and final single from the accompanying soundtrack . The song was written and produced solely by Babyface . Musically , the song is an R B ballad , with gospel music and funk influences , and the lyrics speak about meeting someone special . My Heart Is Calling received mainly positive reviews from music critics , who commended Houston 's soulful performance . It peaked at number 77 on the United States Billboard Hot 100 , and number 35 on Billboard Hot R B Hip Hop Songs chart . Composition My Heart Is Calling was written and produced solely by Babyface . It is a moderately paced R B ballad , composed with a beat . According to the sheet music published at Musicnotes.com by Sony ATV Music Publishing , the song is written in the key of G major . The beat of the song is set in common time , and moves at a tempo of 104 beats per minute . It has the sequence of Em7 D F G Am7 as its chord progression . Houston 's vocals in the song span from the note of D3 to the high note of E5 . According to Ted Cox , the author of the book Whitney Houston , the song sees Houston developing the low end of her range . Lyrically , My Heart Is Calling is a love song . Critical reception My Heart Is Calling garnered mostly positive reviews from music critics . Chris Willman of Entertainment Weekly viewed the song as a dance floor ballad , while Elysa Gardner of Los Angeles Times noted that the song was influenced by both gospel music and funk genres . She also wrote that the song explores Houston 's more soulful side . Billboard magazine also noted the song has an unusually saucy groove . According to Bob Waliszewski of Plugged In , Houston exuberantly captures the joy of meeting a special someone through the song . Billboard reviewed the song favorably , writing that it is a wonderfully refreshing release that smartly side steps her tried and true balladry in favor of a credible foray into jeep funk territory . Steve Jones of USA Today wrote that the Babyface produced My Heart Is Calling ... have a spiritual feel . They help maintain a thematic cohesiveness that most soundtracks lack these days . Similarly , Elysa Gardner of Los Angeles Times also reviewed the song favorably , writing that Houston shows her soulful side with equal panache , even if she has a tendency to overdo the obligatory vocal gymnastics at times . Chart performance My Heart Is Calling debuted at number 81 on the US Billboard Hot 100 , issue dated July 5 , 1997 . Two weeks later , the song peaked at number 77 on the chart . The following week , it dropped out of the chart . On the R B Hip Hop charts , the song debuted at number 43 , on the week dated June 28 , 1997 . The following week , the song ascended to number 35 , a position which became its peak . Track listing Credits and personnel Charts
371
State Route 538 ( SR 538 , alternatively named College Way ) is a 3 . 62 mile ( 5 . 83 km ) long state highway located within the northern area of Mount Vernon city limits and the urban growth boundary , located in Skagit County , a subdivision of the U.S. state of Washington . The highway , which has existed as a county road since 1911 , travels from Interstate 5 ( I 5 ) in the west , passing former U.S. Route 99 ( US 99 ) , now Riverside Drive , and Skagit Valley College 's main Mount Vernon campus before terminating at a roundabout with SR 9 . Before being designated Secondary State Highway 1G ( SSH 1G ) in 1937 , the current roadway that is now SR 538 was a county road through farmland for 26 years . SSH 1G traveled between Primary State Highway 1 ( PSH 1 ) , also known as US 99 , and SSH 1A until 1964 , when the current designation of SR 538 was created . US 99 was bypassed by I 5 after 1966 and became Riverside Drive . The roundabout at SR 9 was constructed in 2007 while the Riverside Drive intersection was widened in 2009 . Route description State Route 538 ( SR 538 ) begins at the Interstate 5 ( I 5 ) interchange in northern Mount Vernon located south of the Skagit River . The roadway , which handled a daily average of 27 , 000 motorists at the interchange in 2008 , is named College Way and travels east through a commercial zone , passing Riverside Drive , the former route of U.S. Route 99 ( US 99 ) , and crossing a set of rail tracks used by BNSF Railway . Transitioning from a commercial to residential area , the Mount Vernon campus of the Skagit Valley College , located on the north side of the highway , is passed and eventually SR 538 leaves Mount Vernon city limits . The road turns southeast and ends at a roundabout with SR 9 within Mount Vernon 's urban growth boundary . History Originating as a county road by 1911 , SR 538 was designated Secondary State Highway 1G ( SSH 1G ) in 1937 . SSH 1G ran from Primary State Highway 1 ( PSH 1 ) , co signed as U.S. Route 99 ( US 99 ) , to SSH 1A . During the 1964 highway renumbering , SR 538 was created to replace SSH 1G , PSH 1 and US 99 were replaced with Interstate 5 ( I 5 ) and SR 9 replaced SSH 1A . I 5 was not built until after 1966 and the western terminus of SR 538 was still US 99 . Between early June and late July 2007 , the Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) constructed a roundabout at the SR 9 and Schopf Lane intersection , the first in Skagit County . The new roundabout reduced the length of SR 538 by 0 . 05 mile ( 0 . 08 km ) . In early 2009 , between I 5 and 18th Street , WSDOT repaved the highway and expanded the Riverside Drive intersection . unk Pacific Holdings was awarded the contract for repaving the road on January 20 and construction began with the closure of the Riverside Drive intersection on 31 May . The closure , which was delayed from 3 May , lasted until June 4 . Actual repaving happened in late June of that year . Major intersections The entire highway is in Skagit County .
372
State Route 701 ( SR 701 , OH 701 ) is a 8 . 96 mile ( 14 . 42 km ) east west state highway in western Ohio , a U.S. state . The state highway 's western terminus is at a T intersection with SR 309 nearly 3 miles ( 4 . 8 km ) southeast of Ada . The eastern terminus of State Route 701 is at U.S. Route 68 ( US 68 ) approximately 3 . 50 miles ( 5 . 63 km ) southeast of Dunkirk . Established in the late 1930s , SR 701 is a two lane route that serves as an eastward continuation of SR 309 , which runs due east out of Lima . SR 701 picks up along the same east west alignment when SR 309 turns southeasterly in the direction of Kenton . Route description The entirety of SR 701 runs within rural territory in the northern half of Hardin County . It begins at a T intersection with SR 309 in the extreme northern portion of Marion Township . The highway runs northeast a short distance before turning due east onto the boundary between Marion and Liberty Townships . For its entire distance , SR 701 passes through vast farmland . In addition , small patches of woods and a number of houses appear along the highway as well . SR 701 intersects County Road 65 ( CR 65 ) and then CR 75 , at which point it becomes the border between Cessna and Washington Townships . As it straddles the boundary between these two townships , SR 701 successively intersects Township Road 85 ( TR 85 ) and TR 87 , followed by split intersections with CR 95 , TR 105 , CR 115 and TR 125 . Upon intersecting CR 135 , SR 701 becomes the separation between Pleasant and Blanchard Townships . The highway crosses a CSX railway line , after which it meets TR 145 prior to arriving at its endpoint at US 68 . Continuing to the east of US 68 following the end of SR 701 is CR 70 . Maintenance of SR 701 falls under the jurisdiction of the Ohio Department of Transportation ( ODOT ) . As a part of its responsibilities maintaining this highway , ODOT conducts surveys to identify the amount of traffic using this and other routes throughout the state highway system . This measurement of traffic volume is known as the average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) . The AADT identifies the amount of traffic using a particular stretch of highway on any average day of the year . As determined in a 2010 survey by ODOT , an average of 430 passenger vehicles and 90 commercial vehicles travel the length of SR 701 on a daily basis . SR 701 is not included within the National Highway System ( NHS ) . The NHS is a network of routes that are determined to be most important for the economy , mobility and defense of the nation . History The SR 701 designation was applied in 1937 . Throughout its history , SR 701 has utilized the same alignment through in the northern half of Hardin County . It has been paved since it was first established . The only change to have taken place related to SR 701 is that the route that it met at its western terminus when first designated was the predecessor to SR 309 , US 30S . Major intersections The entire route is in Hardin County .
373
The 6th Boat Race took place on the River Thames on 11 June 1842 . The Boat Race is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge . In a race substantially interrupted by river traffic , Oxford beat Cambridge by a distance of four and a half lengths . Background The Boat Race , first held in 1829 , is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Oxford by 22 lengths in the previous year 's race . They led overall with four wins to Oxford 's one . Cambridge University Boat Club received the challenge to race from the Oxford University Boat Club secretary Fletcher Menzies in late 1841 , in which it was proposed that a race between the universities should take place in late June or early July of 1842 . Cambridge rejected the suggestion , maintaining that an Easter race would be preferable . A challenge from their captain , John Ridley , was then sent to Leander Club , whose reply bemoaned the fact that they had insufficient numbers to provide an eight , suggesting a four instead . This counteroffer was also rejected and Cambridge offered to row any eight oared crew from any club or clubs whatsoever . After further , somewhat acrimonious discussion , it was agreed that Oxford would challenge Cambridge on 11 June 1842 , with the caveat that the Light Blues would not row on the Thames before 8 June . The race took place on a five and three quarter mile ( 9 . 2 km ) stretch of the Thames between Westminster Bridge and Putney Bridge . The umpire for the race was W. H. Harrison , Commodore of the Royal Thames Yacht Club . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 11 st 9 . 375 lb ( 73 . 9 kg ) , about 5 . 5 pounds ( 2 . 5 kg ) per rower more than their Light Blue opposition . None of the Oxford crew had rowed in previous Boat Races while Cambridge saw five return from the previous year 's event , including John M. Ridley and Francis Penrose who had rowed in the 1840 race . Race Cambridge won the toss and elected to start on the Middlesex side of the river , handing Oxford the Surrey side of the river . Both boats started below the arches of Westminster Bridge . Although Oxford made the better start , Cambridge pulled ahead and led until their course was diverted by river traffic including a steamer and a lighter , allowing the Dark Blues to retake the lead . Between the National Penitentiary and Wandsworth , according to MacMichael they were not once free from the swell of the steamers but continued to extend their lead . Once clear of the steamers , Cambridge began to close the gap in the last mile to Putney , but Oxford passed under Putney Bridge with a lead of four and a half lengths in a time of 30 minutes 1 second . It was their first victory since the inaugural race in 1829 , hence their first win on London water .
374
M 209 was a state trunkline highway in the lower peninsula of the US state of Michigan . It was located in Leelanau County in the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore . Until it was decommissioned , it was Michigan 's shortest state highway . M 209 started at M 109 and went 0 . 543 miles ( 0 . 874 km ) or just 956 yards ( 874 m ) to Glen Haven . In 1996 , M 209 's designation was abandoned , and the road was turned over to the jurisdiction of the Leelanau County Road Commission . Route description M 209 was the short connector route from M 109 to the Glen Haven unit of the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore west of Glen Arbor . The southern terminus of the highway was at the intersection with M 109 south of Glen Haven , a restored logging village on the shore of Lake Michigan on the Leelanau Peninsula . The roadway ran north from this intersection where M 109 made a 90 degree corner through the south and east legs of a four way intersection with M 209 and Dune Valley Road . M 209 ran past such attractions as the restored General Store and Blacksmith Shop . Also located in Glen Haven is the former Glen Haven Canning Co. building . This building was first used as a warehouse and later as a cannery for cherries in the 1920s . It has since been restored as the Cannery Boathouse housing historic wooden boats used in the Manitou Passage between Glen Haven , Glen Arbor and the North and South Manitou Islands . The northern terminus of M 209 was located in front of the former U.S. Coast Guard Life Saving Station , now restored as a maritime museum . The museum is located at the intersection of Glen Haven Road and Sleeping Bear Dunes Road . At the time of decommissioning , M 209 was a two lane , paved road . Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore is a United States National Lakeshore located on the little finger of the lower peninsula of Michigan in Leelanau and Benzie counties . The park covers a 35 mile ( 56 km ) stretch of Lake Michigan 's eastern coastline , as well as North and South Manitou Islands . The park was authorized on October 21 , 1970 . History From its inception in the 1920s , M 209 was Michigan 's shortest highway . It connected the small community of Glen Haven to M 109 just south of the community . Glen Haven was founded as a settlement called Sleeping unk with a sawmill and an inn in 1857 . By 1881 , there were 11 buildings in the community . The lifesaving station was built in 1901 and moved to its present location in 1931 before closing in 1941 . M 209 was first assumed as a state trunkline in the 1920s . It would later serve the national lakeshore when the park was created on October 21 , 1970 . The Park Service purchased all of the village by the mid 1970s . The highway was turned over to Leelanau County control on June 5 , 1996 . It is now known only as Glen Haven Road . Since the transfer , M 212 in Cheboygan County is now the shortest highway in the state . Major intersections The entire highway was in Glen Arbor Township , Leelanau County .
375
M 149 is a 10 . 605 mile ( 17 . 07 km ) north south state trunkline highway in the Upper Peninsula of the US state of Michigan . It connects US Highway 2 ( US 2 ) in Thompson with the Palms Book and Indian Lake state parks . The highway was originally designed in the 1930s and extended a few years later . The last major changes to the highway were made in the 1960s when it was completely paved for the first time . Route description M 149 is a rural two lane highway that starts in the community of Thompson southwest of Manistique on Lake Michigan . It runs west northwesterly through woodlands away from a junction with US 2 along a small pond in the area . The road curves to the north and passes the cemetery and some small farms south of a crossing with a line of the Canadian National Railway . North of the tracks , the road meets County Road 442 ( CR 442 ) near Indian Lake . M 149 turns to the west at that junction while CR 442 runs easterly to connect to the main unit of the Indian Lake State Park . The highway continues to a junction with CR 455 , which connects to the western unit of the state part , after which the trunkline turns to the northwest through forested terrain . The highway turns back to the west before intersecting another CR 442 in the area . At this junction , M 149 turns to the north where it continues for several miles until curving eastward . M 149 intersects the northern end of CR 455 and turns north once again until it terminates at the main gate to the Palms Book State Park , home of unk unk unk ( the Big Spring ) . No part of M 189 is listed on the National Highway System . In 2009 , the Michigan Department of Transportation conducted a survey to determine the traffic volume along the highway , reported using a metric called average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) . The department determined that 421 vehicles a day used the highway south of the junction with CR 442 near Indian Lake State Park while 245 vehicles used remainder of the highway on average . History The Michigan State Highway Department ( MSHD ) designated M 149 along a gravel road in late 1930 the highway provided access from US 2 northerly to Palms Book State Park . A second highway , the first creation of M 125 , was formed later in 1931 along another gravel road to connect US 2 southerly with the Thompson State Fish Hatchery . When US 2 was rerouted in the Manistique area in 1936 , that highway was moved further south closer to Lake Michigan M 149 was extended eastward along a section of the paved highway formerly a part of US 2 to connect with M 125 at the Indian Lake State Park . From that point south , M 149 replaced M 125 to Thompson . The former routing of US 2 became CR 442 except for the section used to extend M 149 . In the latter half of 1960 or the beginning of 1961 , the MSHD paved the sections of M 149 north and south of the former US 2 segment , completely hard surfacing the roadway for the first time . Major intersections The entire highway is in Schoolcraft County .
376
Welcome to Our Neighborhood is the first video album by American metal band Slipknot . It was released on November 9 , 1999 by Roadrunner Records and later reissued in DVD format on November 18 , 2003 . Characterized as a band 's home video , it features a mixture of live performances footage of the songs Surfacing , Wait and Bleed , and Scissors , interviews , and music video of Spit It Out . Additional concept imagery and interview footage is included on the film , while the DVD version features more bonus material . The video was well received by fans and entered number one on the Billboard Top Music Videos chart , and was certified platinum in February 2000 . Production and release Following the band 's highly successful breakthrough 1999 tour on Ozzfest , Slipknot decided to produce Welcome to Our Neighborhood with Doom Films Production . The video was directed by Thomas Mignone , and released on VHS through Roadrunner Records on November 9 , 1999 . It features the bands ' earliest videos live performances of Surfacing and Wait and Bleed , and the banned from MTV video clip of Spit It Out all tracks from the band 's self titled debut were released earlier that year . It also features additional concept imagery and interview footage with new lead singer Corey Taylor , guitarist Mick Thomson and percussionist Shawn Crahan , to a total of 20 minutes of video . The publisher , Roadrunner Records , promotes the video as a study in the roots of Slipknot as a response to fans wanting to see what made the band tick . In the video , band members themselves explain in the video that Welcome to Our Neighborhood basically it s nine people working out every poison that ever affected them in their life and putting it on tape . A DVD version was released on November 18 , 2003 , and features bonus material of the band performing Scissors , behind the scenes material , and home footage filmed by the band in their hometown of Des Moines , Iowa . The seven minutes long concert footage of the track Scissors was filmed during the band 's appearance at Ozzfest 1999 , but has the studio version dubbed over . Reception The video was well received by fans and entered number one on the Billboard Top Music Videos chart , where it remained in the charts for 54 weeks . In the Billboard Top VHS Sales chart , the video peaked at number four , and remained in for 45 weeks . The video was certified gold by RIAA on December 21 , 1999 , and platinum on February 16 , 2000 . In Canada it sold over 50 , 000 units , and thus it was certified gold on February 1 , 2000 . On unk , the video was described as killer and having a sound as disturbing as the horrific masks they don to hide their true identities . The video remains unrated in the US , while in it received a mature audience rating , and in the UK an over 15 one . Contents Personnel Aside from their real names , members of the band are referred to by numbers zero through eight . Chart positions Release history
377
The 7th Boat Race took place on the River Thames on 17 March 1845 . The Boat Race is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge . It was the first time the event was contested along The Championship Course , from Putney to Mortlake . The race was won by Cambridge who beat Oxford by a distance of ten lengths . Background The Boat Race , first held in 1829 , is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Cambridge by four and a half lengths in the previous race held in 1842 . However , Cambridge led overall with four wins to Oxford 's two . The universities failed to agree on a location or a date for a race in 1843 or 1844 , so no contests were held those years . In November 1844 , the Cambridge University Boat Club secretary wrote to Oxford in an attempt to re start the Easter running of the Boat Race . The Oxford committee seemed willing and in the Lent term proposed a change to the course , to race above Putney Bridge rather than below it on 15 March . It was the first Boat Race to be conducted between Putney and Mortlake on The Championship Course , previous races having taken place between Westminster Bridge and Putney Bridge , or on the Thames at Henley between Hambleden Lock and Henley Bridge . Cambridge arrived in London on the Wednesday before the race , Oxford following two days later . Following their displays in practice rows , Cambridge were considered favourites for the race . The Cambridge boat was built by Logan and belonged to Second Trinity Boat Club , while Oxford 's was constructed by King 's of Oxford . The umpire for the race was W. H. Harrison , Commodore of the Royal Thames Yacht Club , while the starter was Edward Searle . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 11 st 9 lb ( 73 . 8 kg ) , 6 . 375 pounds ( 2 . 9 kg ) per rower more than their Light Blue opposition . None of the crews had rowed in previous Boat Races . Race The conditions for the race were of the most inclement possible and the water very rough . Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey station to Oxford . The Light Blues made the better start but swell from a steamer dislodged the oar of Richardson and allowed Oxford to take the lead . Cambridge gradually recovered to draw level and by Bishop of London 's Walk were clear . Despite poor steering from both coxes ( and Henry Munster losing his hat while waving it at the crowds ) , Cambridge were three lengths ahead by Hammersmith Bridge . They continued to pull away and won by ten lengths in a time of 23 minutes 30 seconds . It was their fifth victory overall , to Oxford 's two since the first Boat Race of 1829 . Cambridge inflicted a second defeat on Oxford later that year , winning the Grand Challenge Cup at the Henley Royal Regatta .
378
Delaware Route 62 ( DE 62 ) is a state highway in New Castle County , Delaware in the United States . The route officially runs from Old Capitol Trail in Prices Corner east to a dead end near Newport however , DE 62 is signed from an intersection with DE 2 and the southern terminus of DE 41 in Prices Corner to the DE 4 intersection . The road runs through suburban areas along Newport Gap Pike and Boxwood Road , interchanging with DE 141 . The Newport Gap Pike portion of road was built as a state highway by 1925 and became part of DE 41 by 1936 . Boxwood Road was improved in 1946 . DE 62 was assigned to its current alignment by 1981 . Route description DE 62 heads southeast from Old Capitol Trail on the Newport Gap Pike , a two lane undivided road . Newport Gap Pike continues northwest past this intersection to DE 2 ( Kirkwood Highway ) , where the road becomes DE 41 . Signage has DE 62 follow Newport Gap Pike northwest to the DE 2 DE 41 intersection . DE 62 heads through suburban residential and commercial developments , crossing the Wilmington and Western Railroad and CSX 's Philadelphia Subdivision . The road passes more development and reaches the community of Belvedere , where it comes to a ramp from southbound DE 141 . At this point , the route turns east onto Boxwood Road , a four lane divided highway , with Newport Gap Pike continuing south to provide access to southbound DE 141 . DE 62 passes over the DE 141 freeway and intersects Centerville Road , which provides access to and from northbound DE 141 . Past this intersection , the road becomes two lanes and undivided , passing to the south of the former Wilmington Assembly plant used by General Motors and to the north of residential subdivisions . DE 62 continues through more residential neighborhoods , passing to the north of the Conrad Schools of Science , and reaches an intersection with DE 4 , where DE 62 signage ends . The route officially continues east on unk Road through more neighborhoods , intersecting Dupont Road before coming to a dead end . DE 62 has an annual average daily traffic count ranging from a high of 13 , 544 vehicles at the DE 141 interchange to a low of 262 vehicles at the eastern terminus . None of DE 62 is part of the National Highway System . History What is now the Newport Gap Pike portion of DE 62 was originally chartered as the Gap and Newport Turnpike in 1808 , an extension of the 1807 chartered turnpike in Pennsylvania that was to run from Gap , Pennsylvania , southeast to Newport , Delaware . By 1920 , what is now DE 62 existed as a county road . The Newport Gap Pike portion of the route became a state highway by 1925 . This state highway became a part of DE 41 by 1936 , when Delaware designated its state highways . In 1946 , Boxwood Road was improved to provide access to the new General Motors plant along the road . By 1981 , DE 62 was designated onto its current alignment , with the Newport Gap Pike section replacing a portion of DE 41 . Major intersections The entire route is in New Castle County .
379
Gliese 876 c is an exoplanet orbiting the red dwarf Gliese 876 , taking about 30 days to complete an orbit . The planet was discovered in April 2001 and is the third planet in order of increasing distance from its star . Discovery At the time of discovery , Gliese 876 was already known to host an extrasolar planet designated Gliese 876 b . In 2001 , further analysis of the star 's radial velocity revealed the existence of a second planet in the system , which was designated Gliese 876 c . The orbital period of Gliese 876 c was found to be exactly half that of the outer planet , which meant that the radial velocity signature of the second planet was initially interpreted as a higher eccentricity of the orbit of Gliese 876 b . Orbit and mass Gliese 876 c is in a 1 2 4 Laplace resonance with the outer planets Gliese 876 b and Gliese 876 e for every orbit of planet e , planet b completes two orbits and planet c completes four . This leads to strong gravitational interactions between the planets , causing the orbital elements to change rapidly as the orbits precess . This is the second known example of a Laplace resonance , the first being Jupiter 's moons Io , Europa and Ganymede . The orbital semimajor axis is only 0 . 13 AU , around a third of the average distance between Mercury and the Sun , and is more eccentric than the orbit of any of the major planets of our solar system . Despite this , it is located in the inner regions of the system 's habitable zone , since Gliese 876 is such an intrinsically faint star . A limitation of the radial velocity method used to detect Gliese 876 c is that only a lower limit on the planet 's mass can be obtained . This is because the measured mass value depends on the inclination of the orbit , which is not determined by the radial velocity measurements . However , in a resonant system such as Gliese 876 , gravitational interactions between the planets can be used to determine the true masses . Using this method , the inclination of the orbit can be determined , revealing the planet 's true mass to be 0 . 72 times that of Jupiter . Characteristics Based on its high mass , Gliese 876 c is likely to be a gas giant with no solid surface . Since it was detected indirectly through its gravitational effects on the star , properties such as its radius , composition , and temperature are unknown . Assuming a composition similar to Jupiter and an environment close to chemical equilibrium , the planet is predicted to have a cloudless upper atmosphere . Gliese 876 c lies at the inner edge of the system 's habitable zone . While the prospects for life on gas giants are unknown , it might be possible for a large moon of the planet to provide a habitable environment . Unfortunately tidal interactions between a hypothetical moon , the planet , and the star could destroy moons massive enough to be habitable over the lifetime of the system . In addition it is unclear whether such moons could form in the first place . This planet , like b and e , has likely migrated inward .
380
Schinderhannes bartelsi is an anomalocarid known from one specimen from the lower Devonian Hunsrck Slates . Its discovery was astonishing because previously , anomalocaridids were known only from exceptionally well preserved fossil beds ( Lagersttten ) from the Cambrian , 100 million years earlier . unk , such as Anomalocaris , were organisms thought to be distantly related to the arthropods . These creatures looked quite unlike any organism living today they had segmented exoskeletons , with lateral lobes used for swimming , typically large compound eyes , often set on stalks , and most strikingly , a pair of large , claw like great appendages that resembled headless shrimp . These appendages are thought to have passed food to the animal 's mouth , which resembled a ring of sliced pineapple . Discovery The single specimen was discovered in the Eschenbach unk Quarry in unk , and is named after the outlaw Schinderhannes who frequented the area . Its specific epithet bartelsi honours Christoph Bartels , a Hunsrck Slate expert . The specimen is now housed in the Naturhistorisches Museum , Mainz . Morphology Schinderhannes is about 10 centimetres ( 3 . 9 in ) long like other anomalocaridids , it bears a pair of great appendages ( very similar to those of unk ) , a radial Peytoia ' pineapple ring ' mouth , and large , stalked , compound eyes . It has 12 body segments large flap like structures used for swimming protrude from the 11th segment , and from just behind the head . Ecology The preserved contents of its digestive tract are typical of those of other predators ' , and this lifestyle is supported by the raptor like nature of the spiny great appendages and the size of the eyes . The organism was clearly a competent swimmer , propelling itself with the ' flippers ' attached to its head , and using its wing like lobes on the 11th segment to steer . These lobes presumably derived from the lateral lobes of Cambrian anomalocaridids , ancestors that used lobes along their sides to swim , and lacked the specializations of Schinderhannes . Significance The organism 's discovery was most significant because of the huge range extension of the anomalocaridids it caused the group was only previously known from lagersttten of the lower to middle Cambrian , 100 million years before . This underlined the utility of lagersttten like the Hunsrck Slate these exceptionally preserved fossil horizons may be the only available opportunity to observe non mineralised forms . The organism has also prompted novel hypotheses about the classification of early arthropods . One classification scheme has Schinderhannes classified basally to the crown arthropods , but closer to that group than Anomalocaris . This would mean that the crown arthropod lineage evolved from a paraphyletic grade of anomalocaridids , and that the group of early arthropods with short ' great appendages ' are not a natural grouping . The biramous limb of arthropods may then have arisen through fusion of unk lateral lobes and gills .
381
Ryan DeForest Mollett ( born November 3 , 1978 ) is a finance executive and a retired lacrosse defenseman who played professional field lacrosse in Major League Lacrosse ( MLL ) . He starred as a member of the Princeton Tigers men 's lacrosse team from 1998 through 2001 , where he was the best NCAA lacrosse defenseman in the nation , the Ivy League player of the year , a two time United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association ( USILA ) All American ( first team once ) , two time All Ivy League first team selection and a member of two national champion teams . During his time at Princeton , the team qualified for the NCAA Men 's Lacrosse Championship all four years , reached the championship game three times , won the championship game twice and won four Ivy League championships . He was a member of Team USA at the 2002 World Lacrosse Championship . He was the first collegiate player ever drafted in the MLL and became an MLL All Star player . Background In 1997 , Mollett along with teammate John unk led his Boys ' Latin School of Maryland lacrosse team to an undefeated season and the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference championship . College career He served as co captain of the 2001 team that won the 2001 NCAA Division I Men 's Lacrosse Championship . Mollett won the 2001 Schmeisser Award as the best National Collegiate Athletic Association ( NCAA ) lacrosse defenseman . He was the 2001 Men 's Ivy League Player of the Year . He was a first team USILA All American Team selection in 2001 and an honorable mention selection in 2000 . He was a first team All Ivy League selection in 2000 and 2001 , when he was Ivy League Player of the year . During his four year career , Princeton went undefeated in Ivy League Conference play with consecutive 6 0 records . He was a 2001 USILA Scholar All American . Professional career In 2001 , the Rochester Rattlers selected Mollett as the first player drafted in the first Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft . That same year , the New York Saints of the box lacrosse National Lacrosse League made Mollett the 22nd overall selection in the second round of the 2001 NLL draft . He played for the Rattlers from 2001 to 2005 . Then , he became a member of the Chicago Machine , but never appeared in a game for them . The Machine had drafted him in the 2006 MLL Expansion Draft , but he requested to be traded . In March 2006 , the Machine traded Mollett to the New Jersey Pride . He played with the Pride from 2006 until 2007 . In 2003 , he was selected as an All Star . Mollett represented the United States at the 2002 World Lacrosse Championship where they won the championship . After obtaining his M.B.A. in 2007 , he went to work as an associate for BlackRock . Personal Mollet obtained a M.B.A. from Yale School of Management in 2007 . That year , his wedding to Glamour magazine fashion editor Samantha Noelle unk was announced in The New York Times . Mollett is the son of Dorothy Mollett and Richard C. Mollett of Taneytown , Maryland .
382
The Pont y Cafnau ( English Bridge of Troughs ) , sometimes written Pont y Cafnau or unk , is a 14 . 2 metre ( 47 ft ) long iron truss bridge over the River Taff in Merthyr Tydfil , Wales . The bridge was designed by Watkin George and built in 1793 for his employer , the Cyfarthfa Ironworks , to support both a tramway and an aqueduct to carry limestone and water into the works . A Grade II listed building and Scheduled Ancient Monument , the Pont y Cafnau is the world 's earliest surviving iron railway bridge . History The Cyfarthfa Ironworks were founded in 1765 and grew to the world 's largest ironworks by the early 19th century . In 1771 , the works obtained the right to quarry limestone from the unk Quarry for use in the works ' blast furnaces , and a 4 ft ( 1 , 219 mm ) gauge tramway was built between 1792 and 1793 to carry the limestone from the quarry into the plant . Pont y Cafnau is situated shortly downstream of the confluence of the Taff Fawr and the Taff Fechan to form the Taff . A weir had previously been built upstream of the plant on each river , and leats were built to convey water into the works . The leat from the Taff Fawr was conveyed in a cast iron elevated aqueduct which ran along the north bank and crossed the Taff Fechan before crossing the Taff at Pont y Cafnau and entering the works to power a 50 foot cast iron water wheel known as Aeolus . The leat from Taff Fechan was at ground level and again crossed the Taff at Pont y Cafnau . This supplied water to the Cyfarthfa brick works . The three levels of Pont y Cafnau thus carried the elevated Taff Fawr leat , the tramway and Taff Fechan leat across the Taff River . The bridge was built between January and June 1793 , replacing a previous wooden structure , and is the world 's oldest known iron railway bridge . The elevated trough carrying the Taff Fawr leat was removed by 1850 , having been replaced by a leat along the south bank of that river . Design The present bridge was designed by Watkin George . George had been trained as a carpenter , but in 1792 became the chief engineer of the ironworks and a partner in the business . The bridge is composed of two cast iron A frame trusses supporting a rectangular 2 foot by 6 foot 2 inch cast iron trough . This lower trough carried the Taff Fechan leat and acts as a girder supporting the plates acting as the railway sleepers , into which the rail chairs are integrally cast . Wooden uprights were attached to the iron risers that passed through the apex of each of the A frames and these supported the upper trough carrying the Taff Fawr leat . Reflecting its designer 's roots in carpentry , the members composing the trusses are joined by dovetail and mortise and tenon joints commonly used in wooden structures . Heritage On 22 August 1975 , the bridge was listed as a Grade II listed building ( reference number unk ) . It is also listed as a Scheduled Ancient Monument ( reference number unk ) . It has been refurbished by the local authority and is used as a footbridge .
383
Pennsylvania Route 848 ( PA 848 ) is a 6 . 66 mile long ( 10 . 72 km ) state highway located in Susquehanna County in Pennsylvania . The western terminus is at U.S. Route 11 ( US 11 ) just south of PA 492 in New Milford . The eastern terminus is at PA 547 in Gibson Township . PA 848 remains as a former portion of PA 371 , which was originally designated in 1936 from New Milford to the New York state line . The highway was designated as PA 848 in 1961 , seven years after it was truncated from New Milford . Route description PA 848 begins at an intersection with US 11 ( Main Street ) in New Milford . The route runs east towards Cobb Street , making a bend to the southeast . Passing through a residential area , the route leaves the borough of New Milford and enters the township of New Milford . The surroundings become more rural , and at the intersection with State Route 2061 ( SR 2061 ) , the route curves to the southeast into a dense forested area . PA 848 remains a two lane road through New Milford Township . The route soon reaches SR 2063 ( Far Hill Road ) and later with SR 2081 ( Oliver Road ) , which serves as the connection between Interstate 81 's ( I 81 ) exit 219 southbound and PA 848 . After crossing over I 81 , PA 848 intersects the northbound ramps before returning to the rural Gibson Township . After the intersection with Creek Road , PA 848 enters the village of Gibson , where it terminates at an intersection with PA 547 and Township Road 574 . History The route of PA 848 began as an alignment of the Cochecton and Great Bend Turnpike ( a portion of the Great Bend and Newburgh Turnpike ) , a 19th Century turnpike built from Great Bend , Pennsylvania to Newburgh , New York . The road was completed in Pennsylvania in 1811 , five years after construction began . The turnpike did not fare after the mid 1800s , with the road abandoned in 1853 . When the modern state highway system for Pennsylvania debuted in 1928 , the alignment of future PA 371 was not included . In 1936 , PA 371 was designated on its alignment from New Milford to the New York state line however , this would only last sixteen years , as the Pennsylvania Department of Highways truncated PA 371 back to the intersection with PA 171 in Union Dale , further east in Susquehanna County . In April 1961 , PA 848 was designated from Gibson to New Milford as part of the construction of I 81 to make sure interchanges were with numbered routes . The rest of the alignment was designated part of PA 374 from Lyon Street ( west of Union Dale ) to Union Dale . The rest was later designated Township Road 945 from Gibson to PA 92 intersection and SR 2034 from PA 92 to PA 374 . Major intersections The entire route is in Susquehanna County . PA 848 Truck Pennsylvania Route 848 Truck is a truck route of PA 848 bypassing a weight restricted bridge over a branch of Butler Creek in Gibson Township , on which trucks over 27 tons and combination loads over 36 tons are prohibited . It follows I 81 and PA 547 . The route was signed in 2013 .
384
Uncanny Stories was a pulp magazine which published a single issue , dated April 1941 . It was published by Abraham and Martin Goodman , who were better known for weird menace pulp magazines that included much more sex in the fiction than was usual in science fiction of that era . The Goodmans published Marvel Science Stories from 1938 to 1941 , and Uncanny Stories appeared just as Marvel Science Stories ceased publication , perhaps in order to use up the material in inventory acquired by Marvel Science Stories . The fiction was poor quality the lead story , Ray Cummings ' Coming of the Giant Germs , has been described as one of his most appalling stories . Publication history Although science fiction had been published before the 1920s , it did not begin to coalesce into a separately marketed genre until the appearance in 1926 of Amazing Stories , a pulp magazine published by Hugo Gernsback . After 1931 , when Miracle Science and Fantasy Stories was launched , no new science fiction magazines appeared until unk , when Abraham and Martin Goodman , two brothers who owned a publishing company with multiple imprints , launched Marvel Science Stories . The Goodmans ' magazines included several weird menace pulps a genre known for incorporating sex and sadism , with story lines that placed women in danger , usually because of a threat that appeared to be supernatural but was ultimately revealed to be the work of a human villain . The influence of the sex and sadism side of the Goodman 's portfolio of magazines was apparent in Marvel Science Stories it was not strictly a weird menace pulp , but authors were sometimes asked to add more sex to their stories than was usual in the science fiction field at the time . Marvel Science Stories ceased publication with its April 1941 issue , and the Goodmans brought out the only issue of Uncanny Stories the same month . Like Marvel Science Stories , it was edited by Robert O. Erisman . The quality of the fiction was very poor sf historian Mike Ashley comments that Ray Cummings ' lead story , Coming of the Giant Germs , was one of his most appalling stories . Ashley speculates that the only reason the magazine was issued was to use up some remaining material that had been acquired for Marvel Science Stories , perhaps because at this time the Goodmans were beginning to focus much more on the growing comic book market . In addition to Ray Cummings , contributors included David H. Keller , F.A. Kummer , R. DeWitt Miller , and Denis unk . The story titles were not as strongly oriented towards sex as some of the other Goodman publications , which included titles such as Blood Brides of the unk Corpses , but Erisman did spice up some of the titles for example , he changed Keller 's story The Chestnut Mare to Speed Will Be My Bride . Bibliographic details Uncanny Stories was in pulp format , 112 pages , and priced at 15 cents the only issue was numbered volume 1 , number 1 . The publisher was unk Publications of New York the editor was Robert O. Erisman .
385
The Church Administration Building ( CAB ) is an administrative office building in Salt Lake City , Utah , serving as the headquarters of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter day Saints ( LDS Church ) , the fourth largest Christian denomination in the United States . Completed in 1917 , the building is adjacent to Temple Square , between the Joseph Smith Memorial Building and the Lion House , on South Temple Drive . It differs from the Church Office Building in that it is much smaller and furnishes offices for the First Presidency and the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles . It also houses offices for other general authorities and their personal staff . Only church officials and their guests are permitted to enter . The CAB has been used for meetings between church leaders and political and community leaders . Use and special events Initially , the Church Administration Building housed all administrative offices of the LDS Church , but as membership grew and leadership and staff expanded , the workers were scattered in office buildings throughout downtown Salt Lake City some as far away as the Granite Mountain Vaults in Little Cottonwood Canyon and at Brigham Young University , forty miles to the south in Provo . With construction of the Church Office Building to the east , the Church Administration Building was freed up for offices exclusively for general authorities , and it continues to serve as the church 's headquarters . The Church Administration Building furnishes offices for the president of the LDS Church , as well as for his counselors in the First Presidency , the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles , and other general authorities , along with their staff . The building is overseen by the Church Security Department , with only certain employees , church officers and their guests are permitted to enter . A variety of events have been held at the CAB , as well as receiving distinguished visitors . As part of the festivities for the 2002 Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City , the Olympic torch was passed through the hands of members of the First Presidency and the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles on the steps of the CAB . It is also a tradition that funeral processions of past LDS Church presidents pass in front of the Church Administration Building . The building has hosted visitors including Michelle Obama and George W. Bush . Construction Constructed between 1914 and 1917 , the building is built of quartz monzonite from the same quarry in Little Cottonwood Canyon as the stone used for the Utah State Capitol and the nearby Salt Lake Temple . The Mt . Nebo Marble Company supplied marble and travertine for the interior of the CAB . According to the Utah Geological Survey , the company quarried Birdseye marble in the Thistle area of Utah County , and travertine and onyx at Pelican Point near Utah Lake in Utah County and in the Cedar Mountains of Tooele County . Twenty four ionic columns form a colonnade around the structure , each weighing eight tons . The building 's exterior is constructed from 4 , 517 granite blocks .
386
The Russian submarine AG 22 was an AG class submarine , designed by the American Holland Torpedo Boat Company Electric Boat Company , built for the Imperial Russian Navy during World War I. The submarine was fabricated in Canada , shipped to Russia and reassembled for service with the Black Sea Fleet . Her reassembly was completed in 1919 by the White Movement during the Russian Civil War , and she joined Wrangel 's fleet as it evacuated the Crimea in 1920 and was interned in Bizerte , Tunisia in 1921 . AG 22 was abandoned there and subsequently scrapped . Description AG 22 was a single hulled submarine , with a pressure hull divided into five watertight compartments . The submarine had a length of 150 feet 3 inches ( 45 . 8 m ) overall , a beam of 16 feet ( 4 . 9 m ) and a draft of 12 feet 6 inches ( 3 . 8 m ) . She displaced 355 long tons ( 361 t ) on the surface and 433 long tons ( 440 t ) submerged . The AG class submarines had a diving depth of 164 feet ( 50 . 0 m ) and a crew of 30 officers and enlisted men . The submarine had two three bladed propellers , each of which was driven by a 480 horsepower ( 360 kW ) diesel engine as well as a 640 horsepower ( 477 kW ) electric motors . This arrangement gave AG 22 a maximum speed of 13 knots ( 24 km h 15 mph ) while surfaced and 10 . 5 knots ( 19 . 4 km h 12 . 1 mph ) submerged . She had a range of 1 , 750 nmi ( 3 , 240 km 2 , 010 mi ) at 7 knots ( 13 km h 8 . 1 mph ) while on the surface and 25 nmi ( 46 km 29 mi ) at 3 knots ( 5 . 6 km h 3 . 5 mph ) while submerged . Her fuel capacity was 16 . 5 long tons ( 16 . 8 t ) of fuel oil . The AG class submarines were equipped with four 18 inch ( 457 mm ) torpedo tubes in the bow and carried eight torpedoes . For surface combat they had one 47 millimeter ( 1 . 9 in ) deck gun . Construction and service The Holland 602 design was widely exported during World War I and the Imperial Russian Navy ordered a total of 17 , in three batches , of a version known as the American Holland class ( AG in Russian for unk unk ( American Holland ) ) . The submarines were to be built in Canada as knock down kits for assembly in Russia . Steel for the first three submarines ( AG 21 , AG 22 , and AG 23 ) of the second batch ordered by the Russians was assembled in Saint John , New Brunswick by May 1916 . Five months later , they were sent to Vancouver by rail in sections where they were loaded into ships and shipped to Vladivostok . There they were loaded onto the Trans Siberian Railroad and transported to Nikolaev where they were assembled by the Russud Shipyard . Assembly was delayed by the unrest caused by the Russian Revolution and the subsequent Russian Civil War and was not completed until 1919 . By this time , Nikolaev was controlled by the Whites and they took AG 22 with them when they evacuated the Crimea in late 1920 as part of what came to be called Wrangel 's Fleet . They ultimately were granted asylum in Bizerte in February 1921 . AG 22 was abandoned there in November 1923 and subsequently scrapped .
387
The 13th Boat Race took place on the River Thames on 15 March 1856 . Typically held annually , the event is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge . The race , the second to be held on the ebb tide , was won by Cambridge who beat Oxford by half a length . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . It was the second race to be held on the ebb tide , the first time since the 1846 race , from Barker 's Rails to Putney , approximately 1 , 200 yards ( 1 , 097 m ) longer than the conventional course . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Cambridge by seven lengths in the previous race held in 1854 . Cambridge led overall with seven wins to Oxford 's five . No Boat Race took place in 1855 severe frost had caused both the Thames ( from Oxford to Henley ) and the River Cam to freeze , and heavy snow curtailed efforts to practice for the race . Instead the universities faced each other at the Henley Royal Regatta where Cambridge won the Grand Challenge Cup . Despite the victory , Cambridge agreed that they should propose the challenge to Oxford and did so during the October term it was duly accepted . Both crews raced in boats constructed by Searle . The umpire for the race was W. G. Rich , the former Cambridge University Boat Club president who had rowed in both the March and December races of 1849 . The starter was Edward Searle . Crews The Cambridge crew weighed an average of 11 st 9 . 375 lb ( 73 . 9 kg ) , 8 . 75 pounds ( 4 . 0 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . None of the competitors had taken part in a previous Boat Race . Race Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey side of the river to Oxford . The race commenced shortly after 11am with Oxford taking an early lead . Cambridge 's number six , M unk , caught a wave with his oar by the Ship pub and lost his seat , allowing Oxford to extend their lead . After recovering , Cambridge made a substantial push and passed Oxford to hold a small advantage , to hold a half a length by Barnes Bridge . Although they nearly increased their lead to a length , the Light Blues encountered a barge at Corney Reach which caused them to change course and lose ground , enabling Oxford to draw level once again . The crews exchanged leads with Oxford shooting Hammersmith Bridge with a half length advantage . Cambridge steered closer to the shore and retook the lead . Despite a late surge from the Dark Blues , Cambridge passed the finish first , winning by half a length in a time of 25 minutes 45 seconds . It was Cambridge 's first win in four attempts and their eighth win overall against Oxford 's five victories .
388
Illinois Route 103 is a 9 . 18 mile ( 14 . 77 km ) state route in west central Illinois , United States . The route , entirely in Schuyler County , runs from U.S. Route 24 near Ripley east to the intersection of U.S. Route 67 and Illinois Route 100 across the Illinois River from Beardstown . In addition to connecting Ripley and Beardstown , Route 103 also serves the community of Sugar Grove . The highway is part of both the National Highway System and the Lincoln Heritage Trail . Route 103 is maintained by the Illinois Department of Transportation . The route was established in 1924 between Ripley and its current eastern terminus its western terminus was moved north to its current location in 1932 . Route description Route 103 begins at a junction with U.S. Route 24 in Woodstock Township in southern Schuyler County , northeast of Ripley . The route initially runs eastward along the unk River , passing through a forested area . After the river turns southward , the highway continues east through farmland . Route 103 intersects County Route 9 before entering the unincorporated community of Sugar Grove , where it meets County Route 1 . After passing through Sugar Grove , the highway enters Bainbridge Township . The road makes a small southward dip through a tree lined area , passing a small group of buildings and crossing a creek , before returning to its eastward trajectory . The route passes to the north of the community of Cottonwood . Route 103 runs through open farmland at the eastern end of its route , crossing two creeks and passing several farm buildings . The highway terminates at a junction with U.S. Route 67 and Illinois Route 100 , across the Illinois River from Beardstown . Route 103 is an undivided two lane road for its entire length . The entire route is part of the National Highway System , a network of roads deemed significant to the nation 's economy , defense , and mobility . Route 103 is also part of the Lincoln Heritage Trail , a series of highways connecting places with historic connections to Abraham Lincoln . According to the Illinois Department of Transportation , the annual average daily traffic on Route 103 in 2009 ranged from 1300 vehicles near the western terminus to 1400 near Sugar Grove 200 to 225 of those vehicles were trucks . History Route 103 was designated in 1924 between Ripley and Beardstown . A road between Ripley and the route 's current eastern terminus was first marked on state highway maps in 1924 this route began at Ripley and ran parallel to and south of the current route on its western half , before turning north and following the current alignment east at Layton . Route 103 was first numbered on the 1929 Illinois highway map . The western terminus of Route 103 was moved from Ripley to its current location in 1932 , and the western half of the highway moved northward to its present alignment . The community of Layton , which was near the present location of Sugar Grove , was marked along the route until 1951 . Major intersections The entire route is in Schuyler County .
389
Amak Volcano is a basaltic andesite stratovolcano in the Aleutian Islands of Alaska , USA , 618 miles ( 995 km ) from Anchorage . It is located on the eponymous island , 31 miles ( 50 km ) from Frosty Volcano and near the edge of the Alaskan Peninsula 's western flank . Only boats are allowed to access the island with a certain permit . unk ( dotted with flat blocks of minerals and crystals ) lava flows stream from its summit to its flanks . Three historical eruptions have taken place two within the 18th century , the first from 1700 1710 , and the latter in 1796 . The earliest prehistoric eruption was believed to have taken place between 3050 and 2050 BCE . Accessibility Cold Bay , the city nearest Amak , is easily accessible by plane . Amak is accessible only by boat airplanes are not permitted to land on the island . Private boat rides to Amak are available in Cold Bay , but for access to the Aleutian Islands , a permit is required from the United States Fish and Wildlife Service . Geography and geology Amak Island lies in the Bering Sea , north of the main archipelago of the Aleutians . It is one of two islands ( along with unk Island ) that are 31 miles ( 50 km ) north of the main range . The United States has the most active volcanoes in the world , many of them geologically young . In Alaska , at least 50 volcanoes , including those in the Aleutian archipelago , have erupted in historical time . The state accounts for 80 of the United States ' volcanoes , excluding the seamounts in the area , 8 of world volcanoes , and most of these are located among the Aleutian Islands . The Aleutian Islands arc serves as the northern boundary of the Pacific Ring of Fire , where tectonic activity generates earthquakes and volcanic eruptions in masses . The volcano is basaltic andesitic in composition . It is a modest stratovolcano , rising no more than 1 , 683 feet ( 513 m ) above sea level . The volcanic crater is distinct , and has erupted in historical times , only blocky lava flows . Charles Wood and Jrgen unk , volcanologists , propose that earlier activity , 4 , 000 5 , 000 years ago , consisted primarily of lavas of ethereal ( fine ) platy and thick andesite . Amak Volcano is unique in that its andesitic lavas , while composed the same as the other Aleutians , contain an abundance of potash . They also could contain more sodium carbonate and rare earth element deposits than the Aleutian norm . Between unk , the other Aleutian island north of the main arc , and Amak , Amak 's lavas are more alkalic and silicic . Glaciation took place around the volcano roughly 6700 years BP , carving out U shaped valleys . At the southwest flank of the island , a crater , likely a unk , can be found amid an alluvial plain . Eruptive history The Amak Volcano has erupted three times in historical times circa unk BC , from 1700 1710 , and in 1796 the first of these events was identified with tephrochronology . Each eruption has been characterized by lava flows , and the two most recent eruptions included a crater eruption .
390
John de Breton ( sometimes John le Breton , John Breton , John unk or John Brito died c . 12 May 1275 ) was a medieval Bishop of Hereford . He served as a royal justice and sheriff before being nominated to Hereford . He is sometimes credited with the legal treatise Britton but in its current form Breton cannot be the author as the work refers to laws written 15 years after the bishop 's death . Life Breton was the son of William le Breton , a royal justice . The elder Breton , who is sometimes styled William Brito in records , came from a family who often served as justices and other legal officials . Occasionally the younger Breton appears in the records as John unk or John Brito . He served as Sheriff of Herefordshire from 1254 to 1257 , and then as constable and bailiff of Abergavenny around 1257 . In October 1259 he was sent abroad on matters pertaining to King Henry III of England , and Henry 's son , the future Edward I. He then served Edward as keeper of the prince 's wardrobe and then after November 1261 as the prince 's steward . In late 1261 Breton is noted as owing 120 in the royal records . A notation next to the debt implies that he was a canon of Hereford Cathedral at this point , but the Fasti Ecclesiae Anglicanae 1066 1300 does not identify him as such . Breton does not appear in the records from this point until after the Battle of Evesham in 1265 , when he is noted as holding a grant of royal safeguarding . Breton served as a royal justice from 1266 , first in the Court of Common Pleas , and then at the King 's Bench from 1268 . He was elected to the see of Hereford around 6 January 1269 . He was consecrated on 2 June 1269 at Waverley by Nicholas of Ely who was Bishop of Winchester . After his election and consecration , he no longer served as a royal justice . Breton was given leave to go to the continent to meet Edward when he returned from Crusade , in 1273 , but the bishop did not attend Edward 's coronation . Death and legacy Breton died on or before 12 May 1275 , when the custodian of the bishopric was given orders to seize Breton 's estate because of debts owed to the king . These debts dated back over 20 years , to his time as sheriff . A Thomas le Breton , presumably a relative , was a canon at Hereford Cathedral from 1273 , and probably owed his office to John . A number of chronicles that mention Breton 's death also note that he was the author of a legal treatise entitled le unk , but this cannot be the surviving work called Britton , at least not in the current form , as that work discusses laws composed 15 years after Breton 's death . It is unclear why he was credited with the work , and whether this attribution is just a confusion of Breton with the real author or if he did in fact author the work , which was later revised . The fact that the Britton is written in French , not Latin , and that it contains little information about the theory of law , being mostly concerned with the practical application of laws , points rather strongly to an author who was a royal justice , which Breton was .
391
TCG Heybeliada ( F 511 ) is the lead ship of the Ada class ASW corvettes of the Turkish Navy . TCG Heybeliada was named after Heybeliada Island , where the Turkish Naval High School is located . Heybeliada Island is part of the Prince Islands archipelago in the Sea of Marmara , to the southeast of Istanbul . Designed , developed and built by the Tuzla ( Istanbul ) Naval Shipyard as a part of the unk project , it was laid down on 22 January 2007 , launched on 27 September 2008 , and commissioned on 27 September 2011 . History Istanbul Naval Shipyard Command started construction of the TCG Heybeliada on 22 January 2007 . Sailed out for initial sea trials in 2008 , she was officially commissioned by the Turkish Navy and entered navy service on 27 September 2011 . Since her commissioning , her longest voyage has been 2013 Mediterranean cruise . This journey took the vessel to the ports of Alexandria , Tripoli , Libya , Algiers , La Goulette , Casablanca , and unk . Throughout the vagaries of her service career , the vessel has received the moniker the Ghost of the Seas . Description TCG Heybeliada has a displacement of 2 , 300 tons , is 99 . 56 metres ( 326 . 6 ft ) in length , 14 . 4 metres ( 47 ft ) in beam , and has a draft of 3 . 89 metres ( 12 . 8 ft ) . She is powered by two diesel engines and a gas turbine , with a power of 30 , 000 kilowatts ( 40 , 000 hp ) , driving two propellers , and is capable of speeding up to 29 knots . She has a range of 3 , 500 nautical miles ( 6 , 500 km 4 , 000 mi ) at 15 knots , and has an endurance of 21 days with logistical support and ten days while operating autonomously . She has a crew of 93 , with space for up to 106 . TCG Heybeliada is equipped with GENESIS combat management system that controls search and navigation radars , electronic warfare suits , weapons , countermeasures , communication devices , underwater and onboard sensors . The ship is armed with a single unk 76 mm gun , two unk unk 12 . 7 millimetre ( 0 . 50 in ) guns , eight Harpoon missiles , 21 Rolling Airframe Missiles and two 324 millimetre ( 12 . 8 in ) Mark 32 triple launchers for Mark 46 torpedoes . Electronic warfare systems include a dedicated EW radar , laser RF systems , ASW jammers , and an unk system . Communication and navigation systems involve satellite communication , X band , navigation , fire control and LPI radar , unk , GPS and LAN infrastructure . The radar suite is the SMART S Mk2 , built by Thales . The ship is fitted with sonar developed by the Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey . The whole platform is managed by an advanced integrated platform management system . The ship is capable of carrying Sikorsky S 70 helicopter or unmanned aircraft , along with the associated armaments , 20 tons of JP 5 aircraft fuel , aerial refueling systems and maintenance facilities . The ship serves as the lead vessel of the Ada class ASW corvettes . She derives her name from Heybeliada Island , a part of the Prince Islands archipelago in the Sea of Marmara , to the southeast of Istanbul .
392
Peter of Canterbury or Petrus ( died c . 607 or after 614 ) was the first abbot of the monastery of SS . Peter and Paul in Canterbury ( later St Augustine 's Abbey ) and a companion of Augustine in the Gregorian mission to Kent . Augustine sent Peter as an emissary to Rome around 600 to convey news of the mission to Pope Gregory I. Peter 's death has traditionally been dated to around 607 , but evidence suggests that he was present at a church council in Paris in 614 , so he probably died after that date . Life It is presumed that Peter was a native of Italy , like the other members of the Gregorian mission . This mission was dispatched by Pope Gregory the Great in 596 to Christianize the Anglo Saxons from their native Anglo Saxon paganism . It landed in Kent in 597 , and soon converted King thelberht of Kent , who gave Augustine the land on which he founded the abbey that later became St Augustine 's , Canterbury . The medieval chronicler Bede records that sometime after the mission 's arrival in England , probably in late 600 , Peter , along with fellow missionary Laurence , was sent back to Gregory . This deputation was to relay the news of Augustine 's successes in Kent , and to request more missionaries . They also conveyed to the pope a number of inquiries from Augustine about how to proceed with the mission , and when they returned in 601 , they brought back Gregory 's replies to Augustine . Peter became the abbot of the monastery that thelberht founded in Canterbury , originally dedicated to the saints Peter and Paul , but later rededicated as St Augustine 's , after the leader of the mission . Bede describes Peter as both abbot and presbyter , a word usually translated as priest . Death and veneration Peter drowned while crossing the English Channel on the way to Gaul , at a place called Ambleteuse , near Boulogne . At first he was buried hastily nearby , but Bede reports that after a light illuminated the grave every night , the locals realised Peter was a saint and exhumed him and re interred him in Boulogne . The actual date of death is unknown , and since his feast day was celebrated on two different days , 30 December or 6 January , that information does not clear up the mystery . The date of his death is reported to have been 1 year , 7 months and 3 weeks after Augustine 's , by Thomas of Elmham , a 15th century chronicler . If this is true , this would give a year of death between 605 and 611 . This information , however , is contradicted by the fact that Peter was present at the Council of Paris in 614 , convened by Chlothar II . It is possible that he died during his return from the Council of Paris . Peter is a considered a saint , with a feast day on 6 January . His cult was confirmed in 1915 . A Vita Petri , or Life of Peter , written by Eadmer in the 12th century , exists in manuscript form , but it is unreliable . There is evidence that Peter was the object of veneration in Boulogne in the 15th century , and a church in that town was associated with Peter , although probably not from the start of his cult .
393
M 179 is a 16 . 963 mile long ( 27 . 299 km ) state trunkline highway in the western portion of the US state of Michigan . It runs from US Highway 131 ( US 131 ) at exit 61 outside of Bradley to M 43 just west of Hastings in the Lower Peninsula . The highway crosses through forest land and provides access to state recreational areas . M 179 has been given the Chief Noonday Recreational Heritage Route designation by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) . Prior to October 1998 , this highway was the eastern portion of county road A 42 . The number was formally assigned by the next year . This is not the first time the number was used in Michigan , an unrelated M 179 previously existed in the 1930s through the 1950s farther north . Route description M 179 begins at an interchange with US 131 just west of Bradley . From there , the road travels to the east past the Gun Lake Casino and through the community before bending around the southern edge of Sager Lake . After passing the lake , the highway resumes its easterly course and continues through the rural forest areas of eastern Allegan County , where the road is known as 129th Avenue . M 179 crosses the county line and heads into Barry County north of Gun Lake . The road is then locally known as Chief Noonday Road . Here it continues its eastward trek until it winds its way through the Yankee Springs State Recreation Area . After passing through the recreation area , the road continues to the east passing through wooded area before a slight curve to the north , after which it continues to the east and terminates at a junction with M 43 just west of Hastings . The Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) maintains the roadway as a part of the state highway system . As a part of this role , the department tracks the average annual daily traffic on its roadways , a calculation of the number of vehicles to use a highway segment on any average day of the year . In 2009 , MDOT determined that 5 , 622 vehicles in Allegan County and 4 , 253 vehicles in Barry County used M 179 daily . For the whole length of the highway , the commercial traffic was calculated to be 246 trucks daily in 2009 . No section of the highway has been listed on the National Highway System , a system of roads important to the nation 's economy , defense , and mobility . M 179 has been named the Chief Noonday Trail Recreational Heritage Route ( now a Pure Michigan Byway ) by MDOT for its natural beauty and access to recreational areas . History The original version of M 179 was established in 1935 as a shortcut near Le Roy between US 131 and what was M 63 . That route was turned back to local control in late 1958 or 1959 , and the designation disappeared from the system . ( The original M 63 itself was decommissioned a few years later in 1961 . ) On October 1 , 1998 , as part of the Rationalization process , a jurisdictional transfer turned county road A 42 between US 131 and M 43 over to the state , which the state later designated as M 179 for the following year . Major intersections
394
Pennsylvania Route 237 was an 3 . 88 mile ( 6 . 24 km ) route between State Route 37 and State Route 590 in Lackawaxen to an intersection with State Route 137 ( now State Route 434 ) in Shohola Township . The route followed the shores of the Delaware River as Lackawaxen Road . The route 's alignment , after assignment in 1928 , remained the same until being removed from the state highway system in 1946 . The route was paved in 1932 , and the route is now known as State Route 1012 and Shohola Township Roads 413 and 454 . Route description The alignment of State Route 237 began at an intersection with its parent highway , State Route 37 in Lackawaxen Township , near Roebling 's Delaware Aqueduct . This is currently the intersection with State Route 590 . The highway heads eastward along the banks of the Delaware River and a nearby railroad track towards Shohola Township . There is an intersection with Delaware Drive just after the inception . Delaware Drive heads to a dead end at the banks of the Delaware River . The highway passes some homes to the north and a dense forest to the south . There is also a mansion atop a nearby hill . After a clearing , the highway enters the dense forest completely and turns to the southeast . With the train tracks , Delaware River and New York State Route 97 paralleling to the north , the highway begins a southeastern track . There are some occasional clearings , The old alignment of State Route 237 passes a pond as the highway pulls away from the river and train tracks with the forests becoming a majority the surroundings . The old alignment of State Route 237 passes a pond , as the highway pulls away from the river and train tracks . The highway intersects with Township Road 413 , which serves access to Hirsh Pond , located to the north . The route begins to head through larger clearings as it continues southeast . At an intersection with German Hill Road , the highway makes a shot to the east , passing through some woods . After the woods , the old alignment of State Route 237 ends at an intersection with State Route 434 . This was once an intersection with State Route 137 . History State Route 237 was assigned in 1928 , during the mass numbering of state highways within Pennsylvania . The termini at the time were with State Route 37 and State Route 137 , the former of which was the parent route . At the time , the entire highway was an unimproved gravel road . This lasted for four years , until 1932 , when the Pennsylvania Department of Highways paved the highway . The highway remained relatively unchanged until 1946 , when the highway was decommissioned in a mass deletion of state highways within the commonwealth . The current alignment of former State Route 237 is now Pike County Quadrant Route 1012 from PA 590 to the Shohola Township border . The rest is locally maintained , with a piece at PA 434 designated Shohola Township Roads 413 and 454 . The two state routes at the termini , State Routes 37 and 137 , are now State Routes 434 and 590 . Major intersections The entire route was in Pike County .
395
The Russian ironclad Sevastopol ( Russian ) was ordered as a 58 gun wooden frigate by the Imperial Russian Navy in the early 1860s , but was converted while under construction into a 32 gun armored frigate . She served in the Baltic Fleet and was reclassified as a training ship in 1880 . Sevastopol was decommissioned five years later , but was not sold for scrap until 1897 . Description Sevastopol was 300 feet ( 91 . 4 m ) long between perpendiculars , with a beam of 50 feet 4 inches ( 15 . 3 m ) and a draft of 22 feet 2 inches ( 6 . 8 m ) ( forward ) and 24 feet ( 7 . 3 m ) ( aft ) . She displaced 6 , 135 long tons ( 6 , 233 t ) and she was fitted with a blunt iron ram at her bow . Sevastopol was considered to be a good sea boat and her total crew numbered 607 officers and enlisted men . The ship was fitted with a horizontal return connecting rod steam engine built by the unk Works of Saint Petersburg . It drove a single two bladed propeller using steam that was provided by an unknown number of rectangular boilers . During the ship 's sea trials , the engine produced a total of 3 , 088 indicated horsepower ( 2 , 303 kW ) and gave the ship a maximum speed of 13 . 95 knots ( 25 . 84 km h 16 . 05 mph ) . The ship carried a maximum of 400 long tons ( 410 t ) of coal , but her endurance is unknown . She was schooner rigged with three masts . As a heavy frigate , Sevastopol was intended to be armed with 54 of the most powerful guns available to the Russians , the 7 . 72 inch ( 196 mm ) 60 pounder smoothbore gun , and four long 36 pounder smoothbores . Her armament was revised when she was converted to an ironclad and she was completed with an armament of thirty two 60 pounder guns , four on the upper deck as chase guns and 28 on the lower deck . In 1868 , one chase gun and two guns on the lower deck were replaced by 8 inch ( 203 mm ) rifled guns and 11 more of the 60 pounders were replaced by seven 8 inch guns two years later . In 1877 , her armament was changed again to 14 eight inch guns on the lower deck and two more on the upper deck . Also mounted on the upper deck were one 6 inch ( 152 mm ) and ten 3 . 4 inch ( 86 mm ) rifled guns . The entire ship 's side was protected with wrought iron armor that extended 5 feet 2 inches ( 1 . 6 m ) below the waterline . It was 4 . 5 inches ( 114 mm ) thick amidships , backed by 10 inches ( 254 mm ) of teak , that thinned to 3 inches ( 76 mm ) , backed by six inches of teak , in steps beginning 50 feet ( 15 . 2 m ) from the ship 's ends . Construction and service Sevastopol , named for the Siege of Sevastopol during the Crimean War , was laid down on 7 September 1860 as a 58 gun heavy frigate at Kronstadt . She was reordered as ( converted into ) a 32 gun armored frigate on 26 July 1862 while still under construction . The ship was launched on 12 August 1864 and commissioned on 8 July 1865 . She served with the Baltic Fleet for her entire career and was reclassified as a training ship on 23 March 1880 . Sevastopol was decommissioned on 15 June 1885 and sold for breaking up in May 1897 .
396
Kepler 4 is a sunlike star located about 1631 light years away in the constellation Draco . It is in the field of view of the Kepler Mission , a NASA operation purposed with finding Earth like planets . Kepler 4b , a Neptune sized planet that orbits extremely close to its star , was discovered in its orbit and made public by the Kepler team on January 4 , 2010 . Kepler 4b was the first discovery by the Kepler satellite , and its confirmation helped to demonstrate the spacecraft 's effectiveness . Nomenclature and history Kepler 4 is named for the Kepler spacecraft , a NASA telescope tasked with finding Earth like planets that transit their stars as seen from Earth . As the previous three planets that Kepler confirmed had already been confirmed by other finds , Kepler 4 and its planet were the first to be discovered by the Kepler team . The star and its system were announced in Washington , D.C. at the 215th meeting of the American Astronomical Society on January 4 , 2010 , along with Kepler 5 , Kepler 6 , Kepler 7 , and Kepler 8 . Of the presented planets , Kepler 4b was the smallest , around the size of planet Neptune . The discovery of Kepler 4b and the other planets presented at the AAS meeting helped to confirm that the Kepler spacecraft was indeed functional . The Harlan J. Smith Telescope at McDonald Observatory in Fort Davis , Texas was used by astronomers from the University of Texas at Austin to follow up on Kepler 's discoveries and confirm them . Telescopes in Hawaii , California , Arizona , and the Canary Islands were also used to confirm the findings . Characteristics Kepler 4 is a G0 type star , which is similar to the Sun , except slightly brighter . The star is 1 . 092 Msun and 1 . 533 Rsun , or 109 the mass of and 153 the radius of the Sun . With a metallicity of unk ( 0 . 06 ) Fe H , Kepler 4 is more metal rich than the Sun by 48 , a figure that is important in that metal rich stars tend to have orbiting planets more often than metal poor stars . Kepler 4 is also 4 . 5 ( 1 . 5 ) billion years old . In comparison , the Sun is 4 . 6 billion years old . In addition , Kepler 4 has an effective temperature of unk ( 76 ) K , which is almost identical , within the errors , to that of the Sun , which is 5778 K. As seen from Earth , Kepler 4 has an apparent magnitude of 12 . 7 . It is , as a result , not visible with the naked eye . Planetary system Kepler 4b 's discovery was announced on January 4 , 2010 . It is the size of planet Neptune , at 0 . 077 MJ ( 7 the mass of Jupiter ) and 0 . 357 RJ ( 36 the radius of Jupiter ) . The planet orbits its star every 3 . 214 days at 0 . 045 AU from the star . This distance compares to planet Mercury , which is 0 . 39 AU from the Sun . Kepler 4 's eccentricity was assumed to be 0 , however a subsequent independent reanalysis of the discovery data found a value of 0 . 25 0 . 12 . Likewise , the temperature of the planet is assumed to be 1650 K , far hotter than Jupiter 's , which is assumed to be 124 K ( not considering its internal heat and atmosphere ) .
397
The Love Club is a song by New Zealand singer Lorde , taken from her debut extended play The Love Club EP ( 2013 ) . It was written by Lorde and Joel Little , while production was handled by Little . The Love Club addresses the befriending of a bad crowd . Upon the release of the EP , the song was well received by music critics and peaked at number 17 on the New Zealand Singles Chart . Due to the chart performance in New Zealand , The Love Club was certified gold by Recorded Music NZ for exceeding sales of 7 , 500 copies . Background and promotion In 2012 , The Love Club EP was made freely available on SoundCloud . Later in March 2013 , the EP was released for digital sales on iTunes Stores through Universal Music Group . The EP featured songs solely written by Lorde ( credited under her birth name Ella Yelich O 'Connor ) and Joel Little and produced by Little , including The Love Club . To promote the EP , Lorde held a concert at Le Poisson Rouge in New York and performed the song among other tracks from The Love Club EP on 6 August 2013 , becoming her first US show . On 9 August 2013 , Lorde performed The Love Club and Royals on KCRW radio station . The Love Club is a electropop song . It addresses the befriending of a bad crowd . Lorde explained the song 's lyrical meaning to New York magazine , ' The Love Club ' is about an experience I had about a year ago where I met all these new friends and I fell in with them . It happened overnight and I couldn 't think of anything but our friends and our situation . Then I started to maybe realise that group wasn 't so good for me , and that my old friends and my family are the people I should be with . It 's about being drawn into this crazy world , and you re all in love . Critical reception Upon its release , The Love Club received mainly positive reviews from music critics . Writing for The New Zealand Herald , Chris Schulz wrote that the song was the start of something very special indeed . James Christopher Monger from AllMusic and The Nelson Mail writer Nick Ward picked it as one of the EP 's standout tracks , alongside Royals . Todd unk from The Huffington Post labelled the song a perfect pop song . Nick Manson from mX labelled The Love Club a light hearted track . Chart performance In New Zealand , the song peaked at number three on the New Zealand Artists Singles Chart on 25 March 2013 , and at number seventeen on the New Zealand Singles Chart on 10 June 2013 . It was eventually certified Gold by Recorded Music NZ for sales of 7 , 500 copies there . In the United States , The Love Club peaked at number 18 on the Hot Rock Songs chart , published by Billboard magazine . The song was listed at number 60 on the 2013 year end Hot Rock Songs chart . Moreover , it charted at number 20 on the US Bubbling Under Hot 100 Singles . The Love Club was included in the album Songs for the Philippines , a charity album to support the people in the Philippines who suffered from Typhoon Haiyan ( 2013 ) . Charts Weekly charts Year end charts
398
The Tupolev Tu 80 was a Soviet prototype for a longer ranged version of the Tupolev Tu 4 bomber built after World War II . It was canceled in 1949 in favor of the Tupolev Tu 85 program which offered even more range . The sole prototype was used in various test programs before ending its days as a target . Development The Tu 80 was designed as a modernized and enlarged Tu 4 with greater range . This was to be achieved by the use of more fuel efficient engines , better aerodynamics and adding fuel tanks . It was intended to have a range of 7 , 000 8 , 000 kilometres ( 4 , 300 5 , 000 mi ) and carry a maximum bomb load of 12 , 000 kilograms ( 26 , 000 lb ) with a top speed of 620 kilometres per hour ( 390 mph ) . Work began on the design in February 1948 and this was confirmed by a Council of Ministers order of 12 June that required the prototype be ready for State acceptance trials in July 1949 . The forward portion of the fuselage was redesigned with an airliner style stepped windscreen and the fuselage was lengthened by almost 4 m ( 13 ft ) which allowed the bomb bays and their doors to be lengthened . The radar and its operator were moved into the forward pressurized compartment and the radar itself was located in the chin position in a new streamlined fairing . The wings were enlarged to a total of 173 square metres ( 1 , 860 sq ft ) and the rubber deicing boots were replaced by more efficient and aerodynamic bleed air unk . The engine nacelles were redesigned with smaller cross sections with less drag . Originally Shvetsov ASh unk or Dobrynin VD unk engines were considered , but neither engine was ready so the Shvetsov ASh 73TKFN was used . Fully feathering propellers were also used . All of these changes increased the lift drag ratio to 18 from the 17 . 0 of the Tu 4 . Construction of the Tu 80 began in November 1948 , using as many Tu 4 components as possible to speed up construction , but the first flight wasn 't until 1 December 1949 , after the Council of Ministers had canceled the program on 16 September 1949 in favor of the Tu 85 which was expected to have much better performance . The Tu 80 became a research aircraft , testing reversible pitch propellers and structural deformation in heavy aircraft . It eventually became a target on a bombing and gunnery range . Specifications Data from The Osprey Encyclopedia of Russian Aircraft 1975 1995 General characteristics Length 34 . 32 m ( 112 ft 7 in ) Wingspan 43 . 45 m ( 142 ft 6 in ) Height 8 . 91 m ( unk 3 in ) Wing area 167 . 0 m ( 1 , 798 ft ) Empty weight 37 , 850 kg ( 83 , 444 lb ) Loaded weight 51 , 500 kg ( 113 , 536 lb ) Max. takeoff weight 60 , 600 kg ( unk ) Powerplant 4 Shvetsov ASh unk 18 cylinder two row radial engine , 1 , 977 kW ( 2 , 650 hp ) each Performance Maximum speed 545 km h ( 295 kn , 339 mph ) Range 8 , 214 km ( 4 , 436 nmi , 5 , 104 mi ) Service ceiling 11 , 180 m ( 36 , 680 ft ) Wing loading 363 kg m ( 74 . 3 lb ft ) Power mass 0 . 13 kW kg ( unk lb ) Armament Bombs 12 , 000 kg ( 26 , 500 lb ) bombs
399
Maya Lindholm ( born 20 December 1990 ) is a 2 . 5 point wheelchair basketball player , who played with the German national team that won a gold medal at the 2012 Summer Paralympics in London . It also won a European title in 2011 and was runner up in 2013 . President Joachim Gauck awarded the team Germany 's highest sporting honour , the Silbernes Lorbeerblatt ( Silver Laurel Leaf ) . Biography Maya Lindholm was born in Hamburg on 20 December 1990 . In 2004 , she awoke one morning with severe back pain , and within hours she could no longer move her legs . Doctors diagnosed spinal cord inflammation . She is studying to be an occupational therapist at the BG Trauma Hospital in Hamburg Boberg . She began playing wheelchair basketball for fun at the hospital in 2005 . In 2009 , she was selected as part of the national team . Classified as a 2 . 5 point player , Lindholm plays power forward . She was part of the team that won the European Championships in Nazareth , Israel , in 2011 , thereby qualifying for the 2012 Summer Paralympic Games in London . As part of the team 's preparation , they toured the United States and Australia . The German team went through the group stage undefeated , but started off slow in its games against the United States and China , winning these games by six point margins , and seemed to play its best basketball only in the final minutes of a game . In the Gold Medal match in London , the team faced the Australia women 's national wheelchair basketball team , which had defeated them 48 46 in Sydney just a few months before . In front of a crowd of over 12 , 985 at the North Greenwich Arena , they defeated the Australians 58 44 to win the gold medal , the first that Germany had won in women 's wheelchair basketball since 1984 . They were awarded the Silver Laurel Leaf by President Joachim Gauck in November 2012 , They were also named Team of the Year in Disability Sports for 2012 , an annual award voted for by 3 , 000 members of the Association of German Sports Journalists . Lindholm 's local team , Hamburger SV , which also included national teammates Mareike Adermann and Edina Mller ( and Australia 's Bridie Kean ) won the women 's national championship for the eighth time in 2013 . Lindholm was also part of the Hamburger SV team that had previously won it in 2010 . The German national team was not so fortunate , losing the final of the European Championship to the Netherlands before a home town crowd in Frankfurt . Achievements 2010 German Women 's National League champion ( Hamburg SV ) 2010 Silver at the IWBF World Championships ( Birmingham , Great Britain ) 2011 Gold at the European Wheelchair Basketball Championships ( Nazareth , Israel ) 2012 Gold at the Paralympic Games ( London , England ) 2013 German Women 's National League champion ( Hamburg SV ) 2013 Silver at the European Championships ( Frankfurt , Germany ) 2014 Silver at the World Championships ( Toronto , Canada ) 2015 Gold at the European Championships ( Worcester , England ) Awards 2012 Team of the Year 2012 Silver Laurel Leaf