id int64 0 3.9k | doc stringlengths 268 6.34k |
|---|---|
500 | Hugh Foliot ( c . 1155 1234 ) was a medieval Bishop of Hereford . Related somehow to his predecessor at Hereford , he served as a priest and papal judge as well as being an unsuccessful candidate as Bishop of St David 's in Wales . In 1219 , he was appointed Bishop of Hereford . During his time in office , he mostly attended to ecclesiastical duties , but did occasionally serve as a royal administrator . He helped found a hospital and a priory , and died in 1234 after a months long illness . Early life Foliot possibly was the son of Roger Foliot and his wife Rohese . Roger held three knight 's fees in Northamptonshire . Probably born sometime between 1150 and 1160 , Hugh was related in some manner to Robert Foliot , his predecessor at Hereford . He was a canon of Hereford Cathedral before becoming Archdeacon of Shropshire by May 1186 . Foliot is a frequent witness on charters as archdeacon , but little else is known of his tenure of the office . From 1212 to 1219 , he served as a papal judge delegate three times . In 1215 he was also King John 's candidate for the see of St David 's in Wales , but was not elected . After Foliot 's failed candidacy as bishop , in February 1216 John appointed him to the benefice of Colwall in Herefordshire , the king having the ability to make the appointment because Giles de Braose , the Bishop of Hereford , who would normally have made the appointment , had recently died . Also from this time comes Foliot 's patronage of Robert Grosseteste , the theologian and future Bishop of Lincoln . Bishop Foliot had been one of three members of the cathedral chapter from Hereford sent to King Henry III 's court to secure permission for the chapter to hold an election in 1219 Foliot was elected to the see of Hereford in June 1219 and consecrated on 27 October 1219 along with William de unk , the Bishop of Llandaff , at Canterbury . The new bishop accompanied Peter des Roches , the Bishop of Winchester , on a pilgrimage in 1221 . Because des Roches travelled to Spain to the shrine of St James at Compostela , and it is known that Foliot accompanied him , the statement by a medieval chronicler from Dunstable that Foliot 's destination was not certain , being either Rome or Compostela , should be discounted . Foliot spent most of his tenure of office in his diocese , only rarely attending the royal court or being assigned governmental duties . On 30 December 1223 , Foliot assumed one of those duties , when he took custody of Hereford Castle after it was surrendered by Hubert de Burgh , during the redistribution of royal castles when de Burgh ousted des Roches from power . He also was appointed to determine the size of the royal forest in Gloucestershire . Foliot also founded a hospital in Ledbury , devoted to St Katherine . He helped found unk Priory , a house of the Grandmontine order . In his cathedral , he reorganised the benefices and offices of the chapter , as well as endowing further benefices . Foliot died 7 August 1234 , after an illness that began in the spring . He was buried in Hereford Cathedral , where his tomb survives . Foliot appointed his younger brother Thomas to offices in the diocese , first as precentor in the 1220s and then around 1230 as treasurer of the cathedral chapter .
|
501 | Jay Cooke Company was a U.S. bank that operated from 1861 to 1873 . Headquartered in Philadelphia , Pennsylvania , with branches in New York City and Washington , D.C. , the bank helped underwrite the Union Civil War effort . It was the first wire brokerage house , pioneering the use of telegraph messages to confirm securities transactions with clients . The bank became overextended in the building of the Northern Pacific Railway and failed during the Panic of 1873 . History Early years Jay Cooke founded the bank in 1861 with William E. C. Moorhead , the ownership split two thirds to one third . Later partners included Cooke 's brothers , Henry and Pitt , then H. C. Fahnestock and Edward Dodge , who would hold the bank 's seat on the New York Stock Exchange after 1870 . During the Civil War , Cooke Company sold hundreds of millions of dollars in Union government bonds . Its reputation among investors around the world enabled the bank to sell these bonds when other brokerages could not . Secretary of the Treasury Salmon Chase asked Cooke to try to sell the government 's new 500 million issue of 5 20 bonds . These paid six percent interest ( in gold ) and matured in 20 years , but were unk in five years . Cooke used numerous agents from a variety of professions small bankers , insurance agents , and real estate professionals to sell these bonds to support the Union war effort . Cooke Company 's innovative use of the telegraph to confirm sales allowed selling throughout the country to be coordinated in Philadelphia . After the war After the war , Cooke Company continued to fund its investments through the sale of US treasuries . After the Black Friday scare , however , it became apparent that Cooke Company would have to find other sources of capital . The firm turned to investing in railroads . In 1870 , the Northern Pacific Railroad made Cooke Company its exclusive bond agent . But Cooke had difficulty marketing the bonds to investors , wound up owning 75 percent of the company , and overextended his bank . As this liability became public , investors began withdrawing money from Cooke Company . Cooke Company wrote liabilities against expected returns from the sale of its Northern Pacific Railroad bonds , but ultimately could not sell enough bonds to meet its obligations . A run on the bank ensued , and its operations were suspended . When the New York Stock Exchange heard the announcement , equities plummeted , causing a chain reaction of bank runs and failures throughout the United States that signaled the arrival of the Panic of 1873 to American shores . Bankruptcy commenced soon after the collapse . Many of the junior partners at Cooke did not suffer when the bank collapsed because they anticipated the failure and had divested from assets that would crumble if Cooke became insolvent . The government seized most of Cooke 's larger estates while Cooke moved to one of his smaller properties . Many of Cooke 's allies in the banking business soon collapsed , including Livermore , Clews Co. and Fisk Hatch . In 1880 , a former executive of Jay Cooke refused to testify before Congress and was found in contempt and detained . The U.S. Supreme Court declined to release him in Kilbourn v. Thompson .
|
502 | Tupaia miocenica is a fossil treeshrew from the Miocene of Thailand . Known only from a single tooth , an upper first or second molar , it is among the few known fossil treeshrews . With a length of 3 . 57 mm , the tooth is large for a treeshrew . At the back lingual corner ( the side of the tongue ) , the tooth shows a small cusp , the hypocone , that is separated from the protocone in front of it by a narrow valley . The condition of the hypocone distinguishes this species from various other treeshrews . In addition , the presence of a well developed but simple mesostyle ( a small cuspule ) is distinctive . Taxonomy Tupaia miocenica was described in 1997 by French paleontologists Pierre Mein and Lonard Ginsburg in a report on the fossil mammals of Li Mae Long , a Miocene site in Thailand . The animal is known from a single tooth , which according to Mein and Ginsburg 's comparisons most closely resembles the living treeshrews of the genus Tupaia . The specific name , miocenica , refers to the animal 's occurrence during the Miocene . Only a few other fossil treeshrews are known , and T. miocenica is the only fossil species from Thailand . When it was described , it was the only Miocene representative of Tupaia , but a second species , Tupaia unk , was named from the Late Miocene of Lufeng , China , in 2012 . Description The single known tooth , a worn left upper molar known as T Li 175 , is large for a treeshrew , with a length of 3 . 57 mm and width of 4 . 79 mm . Although Mein and Ginsburg described it a second upper molar ( M2 ) , Ni and Qiu argued in 2012 that it is more likely a first upper molar ( M1 ) . It is unk ( with a W shaped chewing surface ) and the labial surface ( the side of the cheeks ) is concave and bears a unk crest . A well developed small cusp , a mesostyle , is present on the labial side . The presence of the mesostyle distinguishes the animal from unk , the only member of the treeshrew family unk . The lingual ( tongue ) side is narrow . A large cusp , the protocone , is on the front lingual corner . Two crests descend from it one reaches the paracone on the front labial side and another approaches the metacone to the back of the tooth . A smaller cusp , a hypocone , is on the back lingual corner . This feature distinguishes T. miocenica both from the treeshrew genera unk , unk , and unk , which lack the cusp entirely , and from unk and unk , which have a large hypocone . In T. miocenica the back and lingual sides of the hypocone are straight and form a right angle with each other . The tooth most closely resembles Tupaia species with a simple mesostyle , such as the common treeshrew ( Tupaia unk ) . However , this species is smaller and unlike in T. miocenica , the hypocone is not isolated from the protocone by a narrow valley . Range and ecology Li Mae Long , the collection site of T. miocenica , is dated to the latest Early Miocene , corresponding to the European zone MN 4 , around 18 mya . It is in the Thai province of unk . The fossil fauna encompasses 34 species of mammals , including the tarsier unk thailandicus , the slow loris Nycticebus linglom , and the metatherian unk . Mein and Ginsburg conclude that the fauna represents a tropical forest environment close to a shallow lake .
|
503 | Kepler 8 is a star located in the constellation Lyra in the field of view of the Kepler Mission , a NASA led operation tasked with discovering terrestrial planets . The star , which is slightly hotter , larger , and more massive than the Sun , has one gas giant in its orbit , Kepler 8b . This gas giant is larger than Jupiter , but is less massive , and thus more diffuse . The planet 's discovery was announced to the public on January 4 , 2010 along with four other planets . As the fifth confirmed planetary system verified by Kepler , it helped demonstrate the capabilities of the Kepler spacecraft . Nomenclature and history Kepler 8 was named the way it was because it is home to the eighth planetary system confirmed during the course of the Kepler Mission , a NASA directed program tasked with searching a region of the sky for terrestrial planets that transit , or cross in front of ( and thereby , for a while , make dimmer ) the stars that they orbit with respect to Earth . The planet in orbit around Kepler 8 , Kepler 8b , was the fifth of the first five planets discovered by the Kepler spacecraft the first three planets confirmed by Kepler had been previously discovered , and were only used to verify the accuracy of Kepler 's measurements . Kepler 8b 's discovery was announced to the public on January 4 , 2010 at the 215th meeting of the American Astronomical Society in Washington , D.C. , alongside planets in orbit around Kepler 4 , Kepler 5 , Kepler 6 , and Kepler 7 . The data that was used to identify Kepler 8b 's existence was re examined and verified by observatories in Hawaii , Arizona , Texas , California , and the Canary Islands . Characteristics Kepler 8 is situated some 1330 ( 180 ) pc ( or 4 , 338 587 light years ) from Earth . With a mass of 1 . 213 Msun and a radius of 1 . 486 Rsun , Kepler 8 is more massive than the Sun by about a fifth of the Sun 's mass , and is nearly three halves its size . The star is predicted to be 3 . 84 ( 1 . 5 ) billion years old , compared to the Sun 's age at 4 . 6 billion years . Kepler 8 has a metallicity of Fe H unk ( 0 . 03 ) , making it 12 less metal rich than the metal rich Sun metallicity is important in stars because stars richer in metal are more likely to harbor planets . The star also has an effective temperature of unk ( 150 ) K , meaning that it is hotter than the Sun , which has an effective temperature of 5778 K. Kepler 8 has an apparent magnitude of 13 . 9 in other words , as seen from Earth , Kepler 8 is an extremely dim star . It cannot be seen with the naked eye . Planetary system Kepler 8b is the only planet that has been discovered in the orbit of Kepler 8 . With a mass of .603 MJ and a radius of 1 . 419 RJ , the planet is 60 the mass of , but 42 larger than planet Jupiter . The planet is diffuse , with a density of .261 grams cc , especially in comparison to Jupiter and its density of 5 . 515 grams cc . At a distance of unk AU , Kepler 8b orbits its star every 3 . unk days . The eccentricity of Kepler 8 is assumed to be 0 , which would give the planet a circular orbit . In comparison , planet Mercury orbits the Sun at .3871 AU every 87 . 97 days . Mercury also has an elliptical orbit , with an eccentricity of unk .
|
504 | Johan unk Bull Hambro ( 24 October 1915 27 February 1993 ) was a Norwegian journalist , translator and biographer . He was the fourth son of Norwegian politician C. J. Hambro , whose biography he wrote in 1984 . He lived in the United States from 1939 to 1982 , where he studied and worked as a foreign affairs journalist , press attach and consulate general . He was secretary general of the Norse Federation for 27 years , from 1955 to 1982 . He was decorated as a Knight , First Class of the Order of St. Olav in 1975 . Family Hambro was born on 24 October 1915 in Kristiania , the fourth son of politician C. J. Hambro ( 1885 1964 ) and his wife , Gudrun Dudu Grieg ( 1881 1943 ) . He was a paternal grandson of Nico and Edvard Isak Hambro , and a brother of Carl Joachim and Edvard Hambro . His namesake was his second great grandfather , Johan unk Bull ( 1749 1829 ) , Norway 's first Supreme Court Justice . Hambro married Lore unk in 1945 . Career He grew up in the Uranienborg neighbourhood in the West End of Oslo , and enrolled at the Royal Frederick University in 1933 . Following law studies , he graduated in 1939 with a cand.jur. degree , and travelled to the United States to study at Columbia University in New York . From 1940 to 1945 , during the occupation of Norway by Nazi Germany , he was employed at the Norwegian general consulate in New York City . He worked as a foreign affairs journalist for the conservative newspaper Aftenposten from 1946 to 1948 and for the Norwegian News Agency from 1949 to 1953 . He was a press attach for the Norwegian United Nations delegation in 1953 and 1954 . After that , he was stationed in New York as a foreign correspondent and radio chronicler for Norway . In 1955 , he succeeded Arne unk as secretary general of the non profit Norse Federation , and became editor of its periodical , The Norseman . In 1957 , Hambro was the chief editor of the Norse Federation 's 50th anniversary book , De unk et Norge med unk ( They brought a Norway with them ) . He edited its Christmas booklet , Norges Jul ( Norway 's Christmas ) , in 1975 . Hambro was succeeded by Johan Fr . Heyerdahl as secretary general of the Norse Federation in 1982 . Two years later , the federation started a summer course for Norwegian students , which it named after Hambro . Hambro released a biography on his father , C. J. Hambro , in 1984 , titled C. J. Hambro Liv og unk ( C. J. Hambro Life and Dream ) . The book was well received by critics , and sold more than 30 , 000 copies in 1984 . The book is known for revealing many secrets about his father 's private life , including his relationship with the actress Gyda Christensen . Like his father , Hambro translated many books from English to Norwegian , among them The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand in 1949 , First Among Equals by Jeffrey Archer in 1985 , and A Sport of Nature by Nadine Gordimer in 1988 . Death and recognition In 1958 , Hambro was pronounced an honorary citizen of Minneapolis . He was given the Regents Award of St. Olaf College in 1972 . Honorary degrees were bestowed by Luther College in 1969 and St. Olaf College in 1979 . Hambro was decorated as a Knight , First Class of the Order of St. Olav in 1975 . He died on 27 February 1993 in Oslo , at age 77 .
|
505 | WASP 15b is an extrasolar planet discovered in 2008 by the SuperWASP collaboration , which seeks to discover exoplanets that transit their host stars . The planet orbits its host star at a distance of 0 . 05 AU every four days . The mass of this planet is about one half that of Jupiter , but its radius is nearly 50 larger than Jupiter 's , making the density of this planet only one quarter that of water it is thought that some other form of heating must explain its extremely low density . WASP 15b 's discovery was published on April 29 , 2009 . Discovery WASP 15 was first observed by the WASP South branch of the SuperWASP project , which operates from the South African Astronomical Observatory , between May 4 , 2006 and July 17 , 2006 . It was later observed by both WASP South and SuperWASP North , which is based in the Canary Islands , from January 31 , 2007 to July 17 , 2007 and from January 31 , 2008 to May 29 , 2008 . Further analysis taken from 24 , 943 collected data points revealed eleven full or partial transits . Follow up observations were conducted by a European and American science team at the 1 . 2 m Leonhard Euler Telescope at La Silla Observatory in Chile , which further raised the possibility of the existence of a planet in WASP 15 's orbit use of the CORALIE spectrograph on the Euler Telescope between March 6 , 2008 and July 17 , 2008 revealed that the variations in radial velocity measurements were not because of an eclipsing binary star system . CORALIE and the High Resolution Echelle Spectrometer ( HIRES ) revealed the spectrum of WASP 15 , which was used to derive the star 's characteristics . The science team studying WASP 15 found that , after running best fit models , WASP 15 's radial velocity and transit shifts were most likely due to the existence of a planet . WASP 15 's planet , WASP 15b , had one of the lowest densities known amongst extrasolar planets when it was discovered . Its discovery paper was published by the American Astronomical Society on April 29 , 2009 in the Astronomical Journal . Host star WASP 15 is an F type star located in the Hydra constellation . It is located approximately 308 parsecs ( 1 , 004 light years ) from Earth and has an apparent magnitude of 10 . 9 , making it invisible to the unaided eye . The star is 1 . 18 times more massive than the Sun , and has a radius that is 1 . 477 times larger than that of the Sun , making it more diffuse . WASP 15 has an effective temperature of 6300 K , and is thus hotter than the Sun , although at 3 . 9 billion years , it is also younger . WASP 15 has a metallicity of Fe H of unk , which means that it has 68 of the iron found in the Sun . Characteristics WASP 15b has a mass of 0 . 542 times Jupiter 's mass and a radius that is 1 . 428 times Jupiter 's radius . Due in part to its proximity to its host star , a distance of 0 . unk AU ( 7 , 500 , 000 km ) , WASP 15b is greatly inflated , with a density of 0 . 247 g cm3 . Another factor , such as an internal heat source , is suspected to add to this extremely high radius and extremely low density . WASP 15b orbits its host star every 3 . unk days . It also has an orbital inclination of unk , making it almost edge on as seen from the Earth 's perspective .
|
506 | Maryland Route 322 ( MD 322 ) is a state highway in the U.S. state of Maryland . Known as Easton Parkway , the highway runs 5 . 12 miles ( 8 . 24 km ) on the west side of Easton between two junctions with U.S. Route 50 ( US 50 ) . MD 322 serves as a bypass of downtown Easton for traffic between US 50 and highways to western Talbot County , including MD 33 toward Saint Michaels and MD 333 toward Oxford . Easton Parkway was constructed in the mid to late 1960s . The state highway was originally designated as part of MD 33 MD 322 became the sole designation on the bypass in 1978 . Route description MD 322 begins at a directional intersection with US 50 ( Ocean Gateway ) south of Easton there is no direct access from southbound MD 322 to westbound US 50 . MD 322 heads north as a four lane divided highway to MD 565 ( Washington Street ) . Beyond this intersection , the state highway reduces to two lanes , curves to the northwest , and crosses Paper Mill Pond . MD 332 parallels the pond through the highway 's intersection with MD 333 , which heads southwest as Oxford Road and northeast as Peach Blossom Road . After the pond turns west , the state highway intersects Port Street , which heads east toward downtown Easton as MD 334 and west as a county highway into the Easton Point industrial area . MD 322 temporarily expands to a four lane undivided highway at its intersection with MD 33 , which heads east as Bay Street toward downtown Easton and west as St. Michaels Road . The MD 322 MD 33 intersection lies on a crossing of Tanyard Creek just east of its confluence with an unnamed creek to form the North Fork of the unk Avon River . MD 322 continues northeast past several shopping centers and industrial parks between MD 33 and Glebe Road . Near its northern terminus , the state highway meets the northern end of Washington Street and Airpark Drive , which immediately has an intersection with MD 662 ( Centreville Road ) before entering an industrial park adjacent to Easton Airport . MD 322 reaches its northern terminus at a directional intersection with US 50 . MD 322 is a part of the National Highway System as a principal arterial for its entire length . History Easton Parkway was constructed as a way for traffic from Oxford and Saint Michaels to access points north and south via US 50 without having to travel through downtown Easton . The first section of the state highway was completed in 1965 from the present intersection with MD 33 north to US 50 . MD 33 was removed from Bay Street and Washington Street north of downtown Easton and placed on the first section of Easton Parkway . The highway was extended south to MD 333 in 1966 . The remainder of the highway south to US 50 was completed in 1970 . The MD 322 designation was originally applied to the southern part of the parkway as well as Bay Street . MD 33 and MD 322 were reassigned to their present lengths of highway in 1978 . Junction list The entire route is in Easton , Talbot County . Auxiliary routes MD unk is the designation for the unnamed 0 . 07 mile ( 0 . 11 km ) ramp from eastbound US 50 to northbound MD 322 south of Easton . MD unk is the designation for the 0 . 03 mile ( 0 . 048 km ) section of Airpark Drive between MD 322 and MD 662 north of Easton .
|
507 | Above and Beyonc Video Collection Dance Mixes is a remix and video album by American R B singer Beyonc . Consisting of two discs , the album features music videos on one disc and dance remixes on the other . It was initially released on June 16 , 2009 through Wal Mart stores and J R exclusively , although it was later made available through other retailers . Above and Beyonc peaked at number thirty five on the Billboard 200 , and was received positively by Andy Kellman of Allmusic , who rated it three out of five stars . It also appeared on Billboard 's component charts , Top R B Hip Hop Albums and Dance Electronic Albums . The remix version of Ego included on the album was nominated for Best Rap Sung Collaboration at the 52nd Grammy Awards . Background and release Above and Beyonc comprises two discs . The first contains the music videos of six of the singles from her 2008 studio album , I Am ... Sasha Fierce If I Were a Boy , Single Ladies ( Put a Ring on It ) , Diva , Halo , Broken Hearted Girl and Ego . It also features a fan exclusive cut of the Ego video and behind the scenes footage of the shooting of the videos . The second disc hosts electronica dance remixes of the songs , as well as of the album 's sixth single , Sweet Dreams . A mix of Ego with a rap verse from Kanye West closes the album . On June 15 , 2009 , the behind the scenes footage was broadcast on BET 's Access Granted . The remix video for Ego premiered afterwards . The cover art of Above and Beyonc was previewed by People magazine in May 2009 . The album was originally released exclusively to Wal Mart stores and J R , on June 16 , 2009 . The dance mixes only were made available via MP3 format through Amazon.com on June 16 , and the whole album was released to the online store on November 3 , 2009 . The iTunes Store began selling the remixes on February 1 , 2010 . Reception Allmusic 's Andy Kellman called the album a nice set for devoted fans who haven 't already shelled out for all the mixes , and awarded it three out of five stars . In 2011 , Maura unk , writing for MTV , said The creative title of this video album alone is a reason for every devoted fan ... to buy a copy . She added that the dance remixes of the songs make a dance party in a neatly packaged DVD set . Above and Beyonc debuted at number thirty six on the Billboard 200 chart dated July 4 , 2009 , selling 14 , 000 copies that week . It later peaked at number thirty five , spending fourteen weeks on the chart . On the Top R B Hip Hop Albums chart , Above and Beyonc debuted and peaked at number twenty three , lasting forty three weeks in the chart . Among the Dance Electronic Albums chart , the album debuted at number two , placing below Lady Gaga 's The Fame . It spent a total of forty eight weeks on the component chart , including twenty four weeks in the top ten . Above and Beyonc was ranked at number nine on the year end Dance Electronic Albums Chart for 2009 , and number twenty one on the 2010 chart . Track listing Digital download version EP ( ) denotes remix and additional production Credits Credits for Above and Beyonc 's ' , adapted from Allmusic and CD 's liner notes . Charts Release history
|
508 | thelred ( or Ethelred died 30 June 888 ) was an Anglo Saxon Archbishop of Canterbury in medieval England . Although one source states that he was Bishop of Wiltshire prior to his elevation to Canterbury , this has been shown to be false . Much of thelred 's time in office was spent dealing with the dislocations caused by the invasion of England by Vikings . There were also conflicts with King Alfred the Great over ecclesiastical matters as well as the desire of the papacy to reform the English clergy . Biography Some sources , including the Anglo Saxon Chronicle , in the F version of that work , state that thelred was transferred in 870 from the Bishopric of Wiltshire to the see of Canterbury . However , the transfer has now been proven to be taken from the life of lfric of Abingdon , who was archbishop from 995 to 1005 . Although the story of his transfer is false , thelred was consecrated as archbishop in 870 . Why he was selected for Canterbury is unknown , as there is no contemporary information on his election . Most of thelred 's time as archbishop was spent dealing with the effects of Viking raids , but he also had a conflict with King Alfred the Great over royal control of ecclesiastical affairs . It was during thelred 's archbishopric that the Golden Gospels , a still surviving 8th century gospel book , was ransomed from a raiding army and donated to Canterbury . Pope John VIII also urged thelred and Archbishop Wulfhere of York to reform the dress of the English clergy . The Anglo Saxon clergy wore the short tunic that was the normal costume of the laypeople of Britain . The Roman custom , however , was to wear long clerical robes or habits , and the Anglo Saxon custom was opposed by the papacy and other continental clergy . Whether thelred and Wulfred took steps to try to change the dress of their clergy is unknown , but the clothing customs of the Anglo Saxon clergy did not change . Around 877 , thelred wrote to Pope John VIII to complain about King Alfred 's conduct towards Canterbury . The exact nature of the dispute is not clear , but the reply from the pope to the archbishop still exists . The pope told the archbishop that Canterbury had papal support and that the pope had written to the king urging the king to respect the rights of the archbishop . The writer Justin Pollard sees this letter as evidence of papal support for the deposition of Alfred , which Pollard alleges occurred at Christmas 878 and that the deposition was supported by thelred . Other historians , however , do not agree that there was a deposition of the king supported by the archbishop at this time . thelred also reached an agreement with unk , an ealdorman , where unk was granted the life use of a Canterbury estate in return for bequeathing one of his estates to Canterbury after his death . The document that records this agreement is not dated , however , so it is unknown when exactly during thelred 's episcopate the document was drawn up . Another problem for the archbishop was a decline in the abilities of the scribes at Canterbury , which is dramatically illustrated by the document , which has a number of errors and duplications . Other documents of the period show that some of the scribes had little knowledge of Latin . thelred died 30 June 888 .
|
509 | Whitefriars was a Carmelite friary on the lower slopes of St Michael 's Hill , Bristol , England . It was established in 1267 in subsequent centuries a friary church was built and extensive gardens developed . The establishment was dissolved in 1538 . Much of the site was then redeveloped by Sir John Young , who built a Great House there . This later became a boys ' school founded by Edward Colston in the 18th century . The Red Lodge , which survives today as a museum , had its origins as a prospect house for the Prior . The Colston Hall , a venue for concerts , was built on part of the friary site in the 19th century . A 20th century office block named Whitefriars , built a short distance way , preserves the name . History Whitefriars was founded in 1267 by the Prince of Wales , the future king Edward I. The friars , also known as Friars of the Blessed Virgin , wore white habits , hence the name Whitefriars . In the fifteenth century William of Worcester , described the church as having dimensions of 45 by 25 yards ( 41 m 23 m ) , with a tower 200 feet ( 61 m ) high . The friary was described by the antiquary Leyland , writing in the early sixteenth century , as standing on the right bank of the Frome by the quay . He added that it was the fairest friary in England . The friary had a large expanse of adjoining land extending up St Michael 's Hill . This was used for horticulture and the Carmelites sold produce to augment their income . Writing to Thomas Cromwell in 1538 , Richard Yngworth , one of the commissioners or visitors charged with inspecting monastic houses , reported that the contents of the friary only just met the debts owed by the friars . He described a chapel with lead roofing , gardens and a goodly howse in unk , mete for a great man , also a conduit bringing fresh water from Brandon Hill , later taken over by St John 's Church . Four remaining friars surrendered their possessions to the commissioner in the presence of the Mayor . Post dissolution Some monastic cells , thought to belong to the friary , survive under the Red Lodge , which had its origins as a prospect house for the prior of Whitefriars . This building became the lodge house of an Elizabethan mansion , the Great House , built in the late 16th century by John Young , who had bought the friary from Bristol Corporation after the Dissolution of the Monasteries . The Great House was where Elizabeth I stayed , as a guest of John Young , in 1574 . In the 18th century , the house was acquired by Edward Colston , who established the original Colston 's School there . After the school moved to Stapleton in 1857 , the Colston Hall Society purchased the premises , and demolished the house to build the Colston Hall , which now occupies the site . Excavations during the building of the adjacent Colston House in the early 20th century found medieval walls , burials and floor tiles . As part of the post war redevelopment of Bristol city centre , the name Whitefriars was given to a large multi storey office development located in Lewin 's Mead , a few hundred yards from the site of the original Whitefriars and adjoining the site of the Greyfriars office complex . The building has thirteen floors and stands 49 metres ( 161 ft ) high . It was completed in 1976 .
|
510 | New York State Route 342 ( NY 342 ) is a short east west state highway in Jefferson County , New York , in the United States . The western terminus of NY 342 is at an intersection with NY 12 near the hamlet of unk Corners in the town of Pamelia . The eastern terminus is at a junction with NY 3 in the town of Le Ray , west of the village of Black River . Along the way , NY 342 connects to Interstate 81 ( I 81 ) in Pamelia and intersects U.S. Route 11 ( US 11 ) outside of the Le Ray hamlet of Calcium . What is now NY 342 was originally built during the 1950s as a federal aid highway known as the Watertown Bypass . It became a state highway in 1960 , at which time it was designated as New York State Route 181 . The designation was short lived as NY 181 was renumbered to NY 342 c . 1963 . The portion of NY 342 between US 11 and NY 3 was part of NY 26 from the late 1950s to the mid 1970s . Route description In the west , NY 342 begins at an intersection with NY 12 in Pamelia , a town to the north of the city of Watertown . It heads northeastward through open , mostly undeveloped fields for 1 mile ( 1 . 6 km ) to an interchange with I 81 . East of I 81 , the development along NY 342 increases as the route enters Pamelia Center , a hamlet centered on NY 342 's intersection with NY 37 . NY 342 continues on , passing through the eastern portion of the community and serving a local country club before entering another rural area dominated by open fields . Upon intersecting Nellis Road , NY 342 turns to follow a linear , southeasterly routing into the town of Le Ray . The rural surroundings remain until the hamlet of Calcium , where NY 342 meets US 11 north of the community 's center in a lightly populated residential area just southwest of the Fort Drum Military Reservation . The route continues on , running along the southwestern edge of Fort Drum to a junction with NY 283 . At this point , NY 342 curves to the south , bypassing the village of Black River to the west as it heads through another undeveloped area consisting of little more than open fields . The route ends roughly 1 . 5 miles ( 2 . 4 km ) to the south of NY 283 at an intersection with NY 3 southwest of the village . History The portion of modern NY 342 between NY 12 in Pamelia and US 11 in Le Ray was originally built in stages between 1951 and 1955 as a federal aid highway named the Watertown Bypass . The remainder of the route ( via Le Ray and South Main Streets in Black River ) was built around this time . NY 26 was realigned between 1956 and 1958 to use the portion of the bypass between US 11 and NY 3 . The change was part of a larger realignment of NY 26 between Carthage and Antwerp . In 1960 , the New York State Department of Transportation assumed ownership and maintenance of the Watertown Bypass . The entirety of the new state highway , including the portion already part of NY 26 , was initially designated as NY 181 . It was renumbered to NY 342 c . 1963 , eliminating potential confusion between NY 181 and the nearby I 81 . NY 342 was also rerouted to bypass Black River to the west around this time . The overlap with NY 26 was eliminated in the mid 1970s when NY 26 was truncated to Carthage . Major intersections The entire route is in Jefferson County .
|
511 | Talon is a 135 foot ( 41 m ) steel inverted roller coaster at Dorney Park Wildwater Kingdom in South Whitehall Township , Pennsylvania , United States . It features 4 inversions and close to the ground encounters . Designed by Bolliger Mabillard , Talon was known to be one of the longest inverted roller coasters in the Northeast when it opened in 2001 . Unlike many roller coasters , Talon 's track is filled with sand to reduce the noise made by the trains . History On April 28 , 2000 , Dorney Park announced that a 135 foot tall ( 41 m ) four inversion inverted roller coaster would be built for the 2001 season . No further details were given until August 30 , 2000 when Dorney Park announced the full details of the new 13 million roller coaster and its name , Talon . The ride would be the Northeast 's longest inverted roller coaster and would be built on a portion of land set aside for a major attraction by Cedar Fair when they purchased the park in 1992 . Construction began on September 5 , 2000 and continued through the winter . The first parts of Talon to be put into place were the brake run and transfer track in October 2000 . The roller coaster was topped off ( the highest piece of the lift hill ) on November 21 , 2000 and the track was completed in early 2001 . After testing was complete , Talon opened on May 5 , 2001 . Experience Having unk from the station , the train immediately begins to climb the 135 foot ( 41 m ) lift hill . Once at the top , the train goes through a pre drop before making a sharp 120 foot ( 37 m ) downward right turn . The train then enters a 98 foot ( 30 m ) tall vertical loop . After exiting the loop , the train goes through a zero gravity roll before dropping back to the ground and entering an immelmann loop . The train then makes a full 360 degree upward right turn followed by a left turn leading into another drop . After the drop , the train makes highly banked right turn into a flat spin . Next , the train makes a left turn ( extremely close to the ground ) before heading to an airtime , and back up which leads into the brake run . After exiting the brake run , the train makes a right turn into a second , shorter , set of brakes before entering the station . One cycle of the ride lasts about 2 minutes . Characteristics Trains Talon operates with two steel and fiberglass trains . Each train has eight cars that can seat four riders in a single row for a total of 32 riders per train . The train structure is coloured blue and turquoise , the seats are black , and the over the shoulder restraints are yellow . Track The steel track of Talon is approximately 3 , 110 feet ( 950 m ) long , the height of the lift is approximately 135 feet ( 41 m ) high , and the entire track weighs just under 3 , 000 , 000 pounds ( 1 , 400 , 000 kg ) . It was manufactured by Clermont Steel Fabricators located in Batavia , Ohio . To reduce the noise made by the trains , the track is filled with sand . Also , the track is painted orange and yellow while the supports are blue . Slogan theme The entrance sign has a mini slogan as , The Grip Of Fear , after a claw . The word , Talon , is another meaning for , Claw , specifically on Bald eagles and mythical creatures . Awards
|
512 | Tropical Cyclone Kate was a short lived Category 2 cyclone that remained nearly stationary for its entire existence in the northwestern Coral Sea in February 2006 . Forming out of a monsoonal trough on 22 February , Kate rapidly intensified throughout the day . By 23 February , the system attained its peak intensity with winds of 95 km h ( 60 mph 10 minute sustained ) and a barometric pressure of 985 hPa ( mbar ) . Shortly thereafter , increasing wind shear caused the storm to quickly weaken . By 24 February , the system dissipated over open waters near Queensland , Australia . Although Kate did not directly affect land , large swells produced by the storm unk beaches in Papua New Guinea and Queensland . The waves injured six people in Australia , although no property damage was reported . Meteorological history Cyclone Kate originated from an area of low pressure that was first identified on 22 February 2006 , within a monsoonal trough . The system rapidly intensified throughout the day , with the Australian Bureau of Meteorology issuing their first advisory on the system that evening . Upon being classified , the system was immediately declared Tropical Cyclone Kate , skipping tropical low status . At the same time , the Joint Typhoon Warning Center ( JTWC ) also began issuing advisories on the system , designating it as Tropical Cyclone 13P . The storm had developed well defined , upper level outflow enhanced by diffluence over the system . The system remained nearly stationary over the northwestern Coral Sea . Early on 23 February , the storm attained its peak intensity with winds of 95 km h ( 60 mph 10 minute sustained ) and a barometric pressure of 985 hPa ( mbar ) . However , the JTWC assessed the system to have been slightly weaker , attaining peak winds of 85 km h ( 50 mph 1 minute sustained ) . Further intensification was anticipated as Kate slowly tracked towards Queensland , Australia . However , Kate stalled shortly thereafter and began to weaken due to increasing wind shear . Rapid weakening took place throughout the day , and JTWC declared the system dissipated early on 24 February . The Bureau of Meteorology downgraded Kate to a tropical low around the same time , although they continued to monitor the storm for several more hours before reporting that it had dissipated over open waters . Preparations and impact Upon the cyclone 's formation , the Bureau of Meteorology warned vessels to avoid the storm in anticipation of rough seas and winds gusting to 125 km h ( 78 mph ) . Although the storm did not pose much of a threat to Queensland , officials urged residents to ensure their disaster kits were ready and that preparations for a moderate storm , such as storing lose outdoor objects and clearing gutters , had been completed . While the storm had no direct impact on land , large swells affected most of the Queensland coastline . In the Shire of Noosa , six surfers sustained serious injuries after wading into turbulent waters . Waves up to 1 . 8 m ( 5 . 9 ft ) tossed the six surfers , leaving them with injuries ranging from broken noses and fractured ankles to head wounds from surfboards . The waves also caused additional beach erosion to parts of Papua New Guinea previously impacted by Cyclone Ingrid in March 2005 .
|
513 | State Route 257 ( SR 257 , OH 257 ) is a 26 . 19 mile ( 42 . 15 km ) north south state highway in the central portion of the U.S. state of Ohio . The highway 's southern terminus is in the northwestern Columbus suburb of Dublin at a signalized intersection with U.S. Route 33 ( US 33 ) and SR 161 . This mainly two lane highway follows the eastern side of the Scioto River from Dublin to its junction with US 42 . After crossing over the river with the U.S. highway , SR 257 parallels the river 's western bank . SR 257 has its northern terminus at a T intersection with SR 47 on the western village limits of Prospect . SR 257 was created in 1926 , and extended in 1935 and 1937 . Route description Along its way , SR 257 travels primarily north through northwestern Franklin County , western Delaware County and the extreme southern part of Marion County , following the Scioto River for most of the way . There are no segments of SR 257 that are included within the National Highway System ( NHS ) . The NHS is a network of highways identified as being most important for the economy , mobility and defense of the nation . SR 257 starts at the intersection of US 33 SR 161 . The route moves north intersecting with Emerald Parkway , which is currently being built eastward . SR 257 continues north to Hard Road , and the entrance to Thaddeus Kosciuszko Park ( about 200 yards up Hard Rd . ) After crossing the Franklin Delaware county line , the next major junction is with SR 750 at the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium and the O 'Shaughnessy Dam . From here to US 42 the route follows the eastern bank of O 'Shaughnessy Reservoir . The next intersection is Seldom Seen Road . Two miles later , SR 257 meets Home Road at a traffic circle . Home Road provides access to SR 745 heading west and to Sawmill Parkway and Liberty Rd heading east . SR 257 continues north to signaled intersection with US 42 and runs concurrently with US 42 for about 1 mile within Concord Township . The route travels southwest with US 42 across the Scioto River . At the signalized northern terminus of SR 745 the concurrency ends , as SR 257 turns north . SR 257 passes through the former communities of unk ( Concord Township ) and White Sulfur Springs Station ( Scioto Township ) on the way to intersecting with US 36 about 3 . 5 miles ( 5 . 6 km ) north of US 42 . Continuing north , SR 257 crosses SR 37 at a flashing red light . After nine miles , the route crosses into Marion County prior to ending at OH 47 in Prospect , crossing minor roads within Thompson Township in between . History The SR 257 designation was applied in 1926 . Originally , the highway was routed along its present southernmost alignment along the eastern banks of the Scioto River between Dublin and its northeastern junction with US 42 . In 1935 , SR 257 was extended via a short concurrency with US 42 across the Scioto River , then north along its present alignment along the western side of the river to a new northern terminus at SR 37 west of Delaware . Then , two years after its first northward extension , SR 257 was extended to the north again , this time to its present northern terminus at SR 47 in Prospect . SR 257 was designated the General Thaddeus Kosciusko Memorial Highway in December 1975 . Major intersections
|
514 | Delaware Route 12 ( DE 12 ) is a state highway in Kent County , Delaware . It runs from Maryland Route 314 ( MD 314 ) at the Maryland border near Whiteleysburg , Maryland east to an interchange with DE 1 near Frederica . The route follows a mostly rural alignment , passing through the towns of Felton and Frederica . DE 12 intersects U.S. Route 13 ( US 13 ) in Felton and DE 15 east of Felton . What would become DE 12 was built as a state highway during the 1920s . DE 12 was designated between Felton and Frederica by 1936 and extended west to Maryland by 1938 . The eastern terminus was moved to its current location in 1965 when US 113 ( now DE 1 ) was routed to bypass Frederica . The DE 1 intersection became an interchange in 2011 . Route description DE 12 begins at the Maryland border , continuing west into that state as MD 314 at the state line . From the state line , the route heads southeast on two lane undivided Whiteleysburg Road briefly before turning northeast onto Whites Lane . A short distance later , DE 12 intersects Two State Road and becomes unk Mill Road . The road runs through farmland with some woods and homes , curving east and entering Felton . At this point , DE 12 becomes Main Street and heads into residential areas , crossing Norfolk Southern 's Delmarva Secondary railroad line . The road comes to an intersection with US 13 on the eastern edge of Felton . Upon leaving Felton , the route becomes Midstate Road and continues through agricultural areas with some woods and homes . DE 12 crosses DE 15 and comes to an intersection with Andrews Lake Road , where the name changes to unk Landing Road . The road passes through more rural areas before entering Frederica , where it becomes Front Street and is lined with homes . In the eastern part of town , the route splits into the one way pair of David Street eastbound and Front Street westbound . DE 12 turns north onto two way Frederica Road and leaves Frederica , passing through marshland and crossing a branch of the Murderkill River . DE 12 continues to its eastern terminus at an interchange with DE 1 . DE 12 has an annual average daily traffic count ranging from a high of 5 , 207 vehicles where it intersects Frederica Road from the west to a low of 2 , 204 vehicles at the eastern terminus at DE 1 . None of DE 12 is part of the National Highway System . History What is now DE 12 existed as an unimproved county road by 1920 . By 1924 , the route was completed as a state highway between unk and Frederica and was proposed as a state highway between the Maryland border in Whiteleysburg and unk and within Frederica . The entire road between Whiteleysburg and Frederica was built as a state highway a year later . DE 12 was designated to run from US 13 in Felton to US 113 ( Frederica Road ) in Frederica by 1936 . By 1938 , DE 12 was extended west to the Maryland border in Whiteleysburg . In 1965 , US 113 was moved to a bypass to the east of Frederica , and DE 12 was extended north on the former alignment of US 113 to end at that route a short distance north of Frederica . In November 2009 , construction began for a grade separated interchange at DE 1 ( which had replaced US 113 ) the interchange was completed in June 2011 . Major intersections The entire route is in Kent County .
|
515 | Bassline is a song by American recording artist Chris Brown , taken from his fifth studio album Fortune ( 2012 ) . It was written by Andrea Simms , Andrew Pop Wansel , Brown , David Johnson , Robert Calloway , Ronald unk Colson and Warren Oak Felder . The song was produced by Pop Wansel and unk Jae . Musically , Bassline is a dubstep , electropop and electrohop song , which incorporates elements of reggae . Instrumentation is provided by a wobble bass and synthesizers . The song contains lyrics about Brown telling a woman to leave the nightclub with him . Bassline garnered mixed reviews from music critics some reviewers noted it as one of the standout tracks on the album , while others criticized the song 's production and lyrics . It also received comparisons to the songs by Kesha and LMFAO . Upon the release of Fortune , Bassline debuted at numbers 28 and 122 on the UK R B Chart and UK Singles Chart , respectively . Development and composition Bassline was written by Andrea Simms , Andrew Pop Wansel , Chris Brown , David Johnson , Robert Calloway , Ronald unk Colson and Warren Oak Felder . The song was produced by Pop Wansel and unk Jae . Bassline was recorded by Brian Springer with assistance from Iain Findley . The recordings were later mixed by Jaycen Joshua with assistance by Trehy Harris . Musically , Bassline is a dubstep , electropop and electrohop song , that incorporates elements of reggae . The song lasts for three minutes and 58 seconds . Instrumentation consists of a wobble bass and synthesizers . Melinda Newman of HitFix compared Bassline to the songs by Kesha and LMFAO . Trent Fitzgerald of PopCrush noted that the lyrics are about Brown trying to convince a hot girl he spots in the club to come back to his crib , in which he sings Hey girl tell me what you talk Pretty as a picture on the wall Hey girl you can get it all Cause I know you like the way the beat go . Brown also declares , You heard about my image But I could give a flying unk who 's offended . Hayley Avron of Contactmusic.com noted that a robot voice joins Brown in the hook Girls like my bassline . Hazel Robinson of California Literary Review magazine noted that the word bassline is a metaphor for penis . Reception Bassline garnered mixed reviews from music critics . Sam Wilbur of AOL Radio viewed it as the best example of dubstep tracks on Fortune , while Kyle Anderson of Entertainment Weekly noted it as one of the album 's best tracks . Scott Kara of The New Zealand Herald called the song irritating and noted it as blatant copycat stuff . Digital Spy 's Lewis Corner felt that Bassline was a lazy attempt from Brown . Randall Roberts of Los Angeles Times stated that the worst part of the song is the hook . Hazel Robinson of California Literary Review magazine was critical of the production and lyrics , labeling it as bad and dodgy . Allmusic 's Andy Kellman noted that Brown clearly feels more emboldened than ever on Bassline . Upon the release of Fortune , due to digital sales , Bassline debuted on the UK R B Chart at number 28 in the issue dated July 14 , 2012 . It also debuted at number 122 on the UK Singles Chart . Credits and personnel Credits adapted from the liner notes for Fortune Charts
|
516 | Route 77 is a state highway in the southern part of the U.S. state of New Jersey . It runs 22 . 55 mi ( 36 . 29 km ) from an intersection with Route 49 in Bridgeton , Cumberland County north to a junction with Route 45 in Mullica Hill , Gloucester County . It is a mostly two lane , undivided road traversing through farmland in Cumberland , Salem , and Gloucester Counties . Along the way , Route 77 intersects Route 56 in Upper Deerfield Township and U.S. Route 40 ( US 40 ) in Upper Pittsgrove Township . Prior to 1927 , the route was a branch of pre 1927 Route 6 that ran from Bridgeton to Mullica Hill . In 1927 , it was designated as Route 46 , which replaced the Bridgeton Mullica Hill branch of pre 1927 Route 6 . In 1953 , it was renumbered to Route 77 to avoid conflicting with US 46 in the northern part of the state . Route description Route 77 heads north from Route 49 and County Route 609 ( CR 609 ) in Bridgeton , Cumberland County on Pearl Street . In a short distance , the route intersects CR 670 and then crosses CR 552 , which ends a block to the west at Laurel Street . It continues north through residential areas of Bridgeton , meeting CR 665 and CR 659 . Route 77 heads into a commercial area , crossing into Upper Deerfield Township at the junction with Laurel Plaza Drive . The route intersects the western terminus of Route 56 and CR 622 , where the route is briefly a four lane road . Past this junction , Route 77 heads into farmland , where it encounters several county roads including CR 704 , CR 617 , and CR 658 . It heads north into Seabrook , where it meets CR 743 and CR 711 . Route 77 intersects CR 612 and CR 630 before crossing CR 540 in Deerfield . Past CR 540 , the route has junctions with CR 640 and CR 730 . Route 77 then encounters CR 614 , the last county route intersection in Cumberland County . Route 77 crosses into Upper Pittsgrove Township , Salem County , where it becomes Pole Tavern Bridgeton Road , and crosses CR 611 in Shirley . It continues north through farms to Pole Tavern , where Route 77 meets US 40 , CR 604 , and CR 635 at the Pole Tavern Circle . Past the Pole Tavern Circle , the route becomes Bridgeton Pike and crosses CR 660 . Before leaving Salem County , Route 77 intersects two more county routes CR 619 and CR 666 . Route 77 crosses Oldmans Creek into Elk Township , Gloucester County , meeting CR 641 and CR 616 before crossing CR 538 . Past this junction , the route crosses CR 618 and enters Harrison Township . Route 77 continues northwest and enters Mullica Hill , where it intersects the northern terminus of CR 581 and heads north on South Main Street . Route 77 ends at Route 45 , where Route 45 continues to the north on South Main Street . History Prior to 1927 , the route was a branch of pre 1927 Route 6 , which had run south from Camden and split into two branches in Mullica Hill that ran to Salem and Bridgeton . In the 1927 New Jersey state highway renumbering , Route 46 was designated along the former branch of pre 1927 Route 6 that ran from Bridgeton to Mullica Hill . In the 1953 New Jersey state highway renumbering , which stated that no state route and U.S. route could share the same number , Route 46 was changed to Route 77 to avoid a conflict with US 46 in North Jersey . Major intersections
|
517 | WASP 15 is a magnitude 11 star located about 1000 light years away in the constellation Hydra . The star , which is more massive , larger , hotter , and more luminous than the Sun , is also less metal rich than the Sun . WASP 15 has one known planet in its orbit , WASP 15b the planet is a Hot Jupiter with an anomalously high radius , a phenomenon which may be explained by the presence of an internal heat source . The star was first observed by the SuperWASP program in 2006 future measurements in 2007 and 2008 , as well as follow up observations and analysis , eventually led to the discovery of WASP 15b using the transit method and Doppler spectroscopy . Observational history WASP 15 was first observed by the South African Astronomical Observatory , which coordinates the planet searching SuperWASP program in the Southern Hemisphere ( WASP South ) , and was catalogued by its brightness and its coordinates in the sky . This information was captured first with one camera field between May 4 , 2006 and July 17 , 2006 , and later again using two overlapping camera fields between January 31 , 2007 to July 7 , 2007 and from January 31 , 2008 to May 29 , 2008 . Data processing led to the acquisition of 24 , 943 data points that suggested that some body transited , or crossed in front of ( and briefly dimmed ) , WASP 15 every 3 . unk days . Approximately eleven transits , full and partial , were observed . Use of the unk photometer at the La Silla Observatory 's 1 . 2 m Leonhard Euler Telescope on March 29 , 2008 provided further evidence for an exoplanet by better defining the transit 's curve . Later , the CORALIE spectrograph ( also on the Euler telescope ) between March 6 , 2008 and July 17 , 2008 used Doppler spectroscopy to collect 21 radial velocity measurements . Analysis confirmed the presence of a planet that was later designated WASP 15b . Characteristics WASP 15 is an F type star with a mass that is 1 . 18 times larger than the Sun , and a radius that is 1 . 477 bigger . It is , thus , larger , more massive , and more diffuse than the Sun . The star has an effective temperature of 6300 K , making it also hotter than the Sun . With a metallicity of Fe H unk , WASP 15 has 0 . 676 times the amount of iron than the Sun , and has consistently lower levels of other metals , including sodium , magnesium , silicon , calcium , and scandium . In addition , WASP 15 is most likely younger than the Sun , as it has an estimated age of 3 . 9 billion years . WASP 15 is approximately 3 . 09 times more luminous than the Sun . WASP 15 is located at a distance of 308 parsecs ( 1 , 004 light years ) , and it has an estimated apparent magnitude of 10 . 9 . It is , thus , not visible from Earth with the unaided eye . Planetary system WASP 15 is host to the planet WASP 15b . The planet , which is a Hot Jupiter , orbits its host star at a distance of 0 . unk AU every 3 . unk days . WASP 15b was noted by its discoverers because of its anomalously high radius , which is 1 . 428 times that of Jupiter , compared to its mass , which is 0 . 542 times the size of Jupiter . WASP 15b 's large radius cannot be explained solely by its proximity to its star , suggesting that some form of tidal heating or other internal heating mechanism is also involved .
|
518 | Vestby Station ( Norwegian Vestby stasjon ) is a railway station on the stfold Line located in the village of Vestby , Norway . It is served by commuter trains operated by the Norwegian State Railways running from Spikkestad over Oslo to Moss . The station opened in 1879 , and was modernised in the early 1990s . It features a passenger walkway built in unk connecting its two platforms and a small parking lot with place for approximately 120 cars . The station serves about 160 passengers to Oslo each day . History The station was opened in 1879 as a halt on the unk Line , now known as the western branch of the stfold Line . The station building was designed by the Norwegian architect Peter Andreas Blix in the same Swiss cottage style as the stations s and unk . In the 1950s , the station was frequently used by weekend guests from Oslo that visited the nearby conurbation unk for having a bath . A few years after the section of the stfold Line between Ski and Moss Station was upgraded to double tracks , Vestby Station received a major renovation . A regulation plan for the station area was published in May 2010 , which involved increasing the number of car parking places . In 2005 , the station was subject of a terrorist attack . A non Norwegian man had called the Norwegian police 7 . 49 in the morning , claiming that he had planted a bomb on the station which would detonate 8 . 00 , eleven minutes later . All traffic on the stfold Line was stopped , and the station investigated , but no bombs were found . Vestby Station has seen several accidents and injuries . In January 2004 , a Linx train from Gothenburg , travelling at 130 kilometres per hour ( 81 mph ) , crashed into a plowing car that was partly parked on the railway tracks at Vestby . No passengers were hurt in the accident . It was victim of sabotage in March 2004 , when some local youth laid steel pipes over the tracks . In 2006 , a two year old boy fell down from the platform and was run over by a passing train . In June 2010 , the station building caught fire in the middle of the night , but left no injuries . Facilities The station received a major overhaul after the stfold Line was extended to double track in the 1990s . The station was redesigned in the same architectural style as the preceding station s , with a modern walkway over the tracks . The walkway is built in unk , and shapes together with the stairways down to the platforms one minimalistic construction . A bus stop is located on the east side of the station , and a park and ride facility with space for up to 120 cars on the west side . There is also a taxi stand at the station . The station building features a small kiosk . The platforms have sheds and ticket machines . The station is located north of unk and south of s Station , 38 . 65 kilometres ( 24 . 02 mi ) from Oslo Central Station . Service Vestby Station is served by the line L21 of the Oslo Commuter Rail , which is operated by the Norwegian State Railways . The line runs through Oslo from Stabekk to Moss . The service has two southbound stations before reaching Moss unk and unk . Travel time to Oslo Central Station is 33 minutes and to Moss 16 minutes . The public transport authority Ruter operates bus services to the station from conurbations around Vestby .
|
519 | The Tramp Dentists is a 1913 American silent short comedy film released by the newly formed Joker productions by the Universal Film Manufacturing Company . Directed by Allen Curtis , the film 's cast includes Max Asher , Lee Morris , Eddie Boland Joseph Singleton and Bobby Vernon . The film is centered on two tramps , Dusty and Weary , who take over a dentist shop and get rich through their untrained dentistry , extracting teeth with pincers and ice tongs . After earning a large amount of money , the tramps return to their old way of life . Released on October 29 , 1913 , this film was the second Joker comedy . The film received some criticism for its vulgar humor . The film had a wide national release in the United States , but the film is presumed lost . Plot Two tramps , named Dusty and Weary , awake from their slumber in a hay stock and are overcome with thirst . The two drink from a horse trough and Dusty complains of toothache . The two go to the dentist office only to be kicked out . When the dentist departs on a cruise the two tramps then pose as dentists and occupy the office and pull teeth with pincers and tongs . When the rightful owners return they drive off again . The tramps continue in their venture and quickly make a large sum of money before they desire their old way of life . The two tramps then surrender the office to its rightful owners . Cast Max Asher Lee Morris Eddie Boland Joseph Singleton Bobby Vernon credited as unk De unk Production The term tramp dentist refers to an unskilled individual who practices dentistry . The appearance of the word and its usage was popularized in the 1890s and often applied as a literal definition of a tramp , a traveling long term homeless person , who engages in dentistry . The term was not exclusive to the United States as noted in Tracey Adams 's A Dentist and a Gentleman Gender and the Rise of Dentistry in Ontario which refers to local blacksmiths and gunsmiths who would pull teeth and even create dentures of questionable effectiveness and quality . The single reel film was directed by Allen Curtis and released on October 29 , 1913 . The film was the second release of the newly formed Joker line of comedies , following The Cheese Special . The film was not heralded with as much fanfare , but records show that the film was still advertised in theaters in July 1914 . Reception The Moving Picture World reviewed the film as being a low comedy that featured somewhat disgusting dental humor with the extraction of teeth with pincers and ice tongs . A more direct review in response to the film 's comedic antics came from a letter to the editor of The Motion Picture Story Magazine which appealed the vulgar antics in the film as going to alienate members the audience and risk their continued patronage . The film had a wide national release that was shown in theaters throughout the United States . Locations included Chicago , Illinois , Atlanta , Georgia , Oklahoma , Ohio , North Carolina , Pennsylvania , Oregon , Wisconsin , and Kansas . The Tramp Dentists is presumed lost , but the date of disappearance is unknown . If the film were to have survived in Universal 's vaults it would have been deliberately destroyed along with the remaining copies of Universal 's silent era films in 1948 .
|
520 | Honorius ( died 30 September 653 ) was a member of the Gregorian mission to Christianize the Anglo Saxons from their native Anglo Saxon paganism in 597 AD who later became Archbishop of Canterbury . During his archiepiscopate , he consecrated the first native English bishop of Rochester as well as helping the missionary efforts of Felix among the East Anglians . Honorius was the last to die among the Gregorian missionaries . Early life A Roman by birth , Honorius may have been one of those chosen by Pope Gregory the Great for the Gregorian mission to England , although it seems more likely that he was a member of the second party of missionaries , sent in 601 . It is not known if his name was given to him at birth or if he chose it when he became archbishop . Archbishop In 627 , Honorius was consecrated as archbishop by Paulinus of York at Lincoln . Honorius wrote to Pope Honorius I asking the pope to raise the see of York to an archbishopric , so that when one archbishop in England died , the other would be able to consecrate the deceased bishop 's successor . The pope agreed , and sent a pallium for Paulinus , but by this time , Paulinus had already been forced to flee from Northumbria . When Paulinus , after the death of King Edwin of Northumbria in October 633 , fled Northumbria , he was received by Honorius and appointed to the bishopric of Rochester . The papal letter is dated to June 634 , and implies that news of Edwin 's death had not reached the pope . This evidence may mean that the traditional date of Edwin 's death may need to be moved to October 634 . The papal letter may also mean that the traditional date of consecration for Honorius may need re dating , as the long gap between 627 , when he is said to have been consecrated , and 634 , when he finally received a pallium , is much longer than usually found . It may be that Honorius was consecrated closer to 634 . The papal letter to Honorius is given in the Ecclesiastical History of the medieval writer Bede . Honorius consolidated the work of converting the English by sending Felix , a Burgundian , to Dunwich after Felix came to the archbishop and made known his desire to go to East Anglia as a missionary . Honorius may have consecrated Felix as the first bishop of East Anglia or Felix may have already have been consecrated on the continent . The dating of this episode is unclear , but it is probably close to 631 . It is possible that King Sigeberht of East Anglia , who converted to Christianity while he was in exile on the continent , had already met Felix and was behind Felix 's journey to Honorius . As well as his help to Felix , Honorius consecrated the first Anglo Saxon bishop , Ithamar of Rochester , and his successor was also a native of England . Honorius had few conflicts with the Irish missionary efforts , and admired Aidan , one of the leading Irish clergy . Death and legacy Honorius died on 30 September 653 , the last of the Gregorian missionaries . He was buried at the Church of St. Augustine 's in Canterbury . He was later revered as a saint , with his feast day being 30 September . His relics were translated to a new tomb in 1091 , and around that same time a unk of his life was written by Goscelin . In the 1120s his relics were still being venerated at St Augustine 's .
|
521 | The 9th Boat Race took place on the River Thames on 29 March 1849 . Typically held annually , the event is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge . The race was won by Cambridge who triumphed over Oxford easily . As a result of the nature of the defeat , Oxford challenged Cambridge to a second race that year , which was to be held in December , the first and only time the Boat Race was competed for twice in a calendar year . Every member of the Cambridge crew came from Trinity College . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Cambridge went into the race leading overall with six victories to Oxford 's two . They had beaten Oxford in the previous race , held in 1845 , by three lengths . Cambridge used an unk boat built by Searle , 62 feet 9 inches ( 19 . 1 m ) in length and 26 inches ( 66 cm ) in width , while the Dark Blues ' boat was constructed by Hall of Oxford . The umpire for the race was J. C. Fellowes while the starter was Edward Searle . Crews The Cambridge crew weighed an average of 11 st 2 . 5 lb ( 70 . 8 kg ) , just under 2 pounds ( 0 . 9 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . Every rower from Cambridge was studying at Trinity College but all were new to the event not one Blue returned from the 1846 race . F. Blomfield was replaced as the Light Blue cox by George Booth as a result of an accident . Oxford welcomed back E. C. Burton at number four and their cox , unk Race Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station . Just prior to the race , Oxford had suggested a foreshortening of the course , in order to avoid both crews having to pass through the narrow arches of Barnes Bridge this was rejected by Cambridge and the conventional course was rowed . After a close start , Oxford pulled ahead and held a half length lead by the time they passed the Star and Garter pub . By Hammersmith Bridge , the Oxford crew began to slow , their cox made an error in steering and Cambridge began to reduce the deficit . At Chiswick Eyot the crews were level once again , and Cambridge started to draw away . Several lengths ahead by Barnes Bridge , Cambridge won by around 60 seconds . The result meant that Cambridge led overall with seven victories to Oxford 's two . Reaction Three main factors were attributed with Oxford 's substantial defeat . Firstly their stroke , and boat club president , William Rich had set such a high rating , he and his crew were unable to sustain it for the duration of the race , becoming quickly tired . Secondly , Rich himself suggested that Oxford 's vessel was inadequate , calling it a bad boat . Finally , poor steering had allowed Cambridge to pass them like a shot . Given the nature of the defeat , Oxford sent out a challenge in October 1849 to Cambridge for a re row . For the first and only time in the history of the Boat Race , a second race was held in the same calendar year , this time in December .
|
522 | Buzzcut Season is a song by New Zealand singer Lorde , taken from her debut studio album , Pure Heroine ( 2013 ) . It was released on 23 September 2013 by Universal Music Group ( UMG ) as a promotional single from the album . Written by Lorde and Joel Little , Buzzcut Season features elements from tropical music and discusses the ridiculousness of modern life . Upon its release , Buzzcut Season was met with positive reviews from music critics , who praised its production and Lorde 's vocal delivery on the track . The song reached number twenty nine on the US Billboard Hot Rock Songs and number thirty eight on the ARIA Streaming Tracks . Lorde performed Buzzcut Season during a number of shows , including the Late Show with David Letterman . Background Buzzcut Season was written by Lorde ( credited under her birth name Ella Yelich O 'Connor ) and Joel Little , and was produced and mixed by Little . Similar to other songs from the album Pure Heroine , Buzzcut Season was recorded at Golden Age Studios in Auckland . On 23 September 2013 , the track was released as a digital download promotional single on iTunes Stores by Universal Music New Zealand . Composition Buzzcut Season draws inspirations from tropical music , and features light percussive snaps and trickling xylophone instrumentation . Lyrically , the song talks about the ridiculousness of modern life . Sammy Maine from the website Drowned in Sound commented that the song was a heartbreaking comment on our war driven way of life . She pointed out the lyrics Explosions on TV and all the girls with heads inside a dream against M.I.A. ' s pop reggae musical style . Gaby Whitehill from Gigwise website called the song a melancholy affair and praised the epic piano laden beat combined with the 16 year old 's haunting vocals . Reception Jason Lipshutz from Billboard praised the song 's production and Lorde 's vocal delivery . Writer Michelle unk for Australian magazine Vulture chose Buzzcut Season as a highlight from Pure Heroine and compared its sound to Air . Idolator editor Mike Wass labelled it another twinkling postcard from the streets of Auckland but felt that it failed to capture the attention like 400 Lux or Tennis Court , two other songs from the album . Buzzcut Season spent five weeks on the Australian ARIA Streaming Tracks chart , peaking at number thirty eight . It also reached number 29 on the US Hot Rock Songs . In New Zealand , Buzzcut Season peaked at number 18 on the New Zealand National Singles chart , which lists the best performing singles by New Zealand artists in the country . Live performances On 3 October 2013 , the singer held a concert at the Warsaw Venue in Brooklyn and performed the song among other tracks from the album . On 12 October 2013 , Lorde performed Buzzcut Season in Studio Q of CBC . On 13 November 2013 , Lorde performed several songs from Pure Heroine during the Late Show with David Letterman to promote the album , including Buzzcut Season . According to Rolling Stone , the sparkly dressed and big haired singer performed only backed by a drummer and a keyboard player . Track listing Digital download Buzzcut Season 4 06 Chart positions Weekly charts Year end charts
|
523 | Tytila ( died around 616 ) was a semi historical pagan king of East Anglia , a small Anglo Saxon kingdom which today includes the English counties of Norfolk and Suffolk . Early sources , including Bede 's Ecclesiastical History of the English People , identify him as an early member of the Wuffingas dynasty who succeeded his father Wuffa . A later chronicle dates his reign from 578 , but he is not known to have definitely ruled as king and nothing of his life is known . He is listed in a number of genealogical lists . A number of later mediaeval sources recorded that in about 616 , Tytila was succeeded by his son Rdwald . The Wuffingas dynasty The peoples known to us as the Angles , Saxons , Jutes and Frisians , began to arrive in Britain in the 5th century . By 600 , a number of kingdoms had begun to form in southern and eastern Britain , and by the beginning of the seventh century , southern England was almost entirely under their control . Tytila was a member of the Wuffingas family , the ruling dynasty of the Kingdom of the East Angles that was named after his father Wuffa . The Wuffingas may have been descendants of an earlier Scandinavian dynasty . Both he and his father are semi historical figures . The Victorian ethnologist John Beddoe noted the similarity between the name Tytila and that of Totila , an Ostrogoth king . Tytila is included in a number of different tallies . In the Ecclesiastical History of the English People , which was completed in Northumbria by Bede in 731 , Tytila is named as the father of Rdwald and the son of Wuffa ' Erat autem unk rex unk unk nobilis , unk unk unk , filius unk , cuius pater fuit unk ... ' . The 9th century Welsh monk Nennius , in his Historia Brittonum , also lists Tytila , naming him as the father of Eni of East Anglia ' ... Uffa , who begat unk , who begat Eni , ... ' whilst relating the origin of the kings of East Anglia . Tytila is included in an East Anglian royal tally that lists the ancestors of lfwald and that names many , but not all , of the early East Anglian kings . The tally , which forms part of the Anglian collection , comes from the 12th century Textus Roffensis . Reign Nothing is known of Tytila 's life or his rule , as no written records have survived from this period in East Anglian history . The mediaeval chronicler Roger of Wendover dated Tytila 's reign from 578 , but his source of information is unknown and the accession date may have been a guess on the part of the chronicler . Tytila 's son and successor , Rdwald , the greatest of the Wuffingas monarchs , is the first East Anglian king who is more than a semi historical figure , although much information about him , including the year of his death , is conjectural . The finds from the excavations of the two separate cemeteries at Sutton Hoo in Suffolk and at other sites in East Anglia point to close connections at this time between south eastern Britain , the Frankish unk , the Eastern Mediterranean and of growing royal prestige and authority , reflected by the magnificent grave goods discovered in the main burial ship at Sutton Hoo . The date that unk died is unknown , but he is thought to have been succeeded by his son Rdwald in about 616 . The descendants of Tytila 's ancestor Wehha See Wuffingas for a more complete family tree .
|
524 | Windows Push Notification Service ( commonly referred to as Windows Notification Service or WNS ) is a service developed by Microsoft for the Microsoft Windows and Microsoft Windows Mobile platforms . It allows for developers to send push data ( toast and tile updates ) to Windows and Windows Mobile applications which implement the feature . Designed as a successor to the Microsoft Push Notification Service , it was first supported on Windows 8 and subsequently on Windows Phone 8 . 1 upon its release . Technical details Design and compatibility The Windows Push Notification Service ( WNS ) was designed as a successor to the Microsoft Push Notification Service ( MPNS ) , which was only supported natively on the Windows Phone 8 Operating System . Developers can still use the MPNS on apps that are installed on newer versions of Windows Mobile ( Windows Phone 8 or Windows Phone 8 . 1 ) , but only if the Windows application was already registered to use the MPNS and has been converted to a Microsoft unk application and modified to re target the new platform . In 2015 , Microsoft announced that the WNS would be expanded to utilize the Universal Windows Platform architecture , allowing for push data to be sent to Windows 10 , Windows 10 Mobile , unk , as well as other supported platforms using universal API calls and POST requests . During the 2015 Build keynote , Microsoft announced a Universal Windows Platform bridge that would allow Android and iOS software to be ported to Windows 10 Mobile and published to the Windows Store . In August 2015 , A version of the Microsoft Android bridge toolset was reported to be leaked and available on the internet along with its documentation . The leaked toolset required developers to register and use the WNS to send notification data to ported applications , and would not allow for Google Cloud Messaging to be used instead . Microsoft later discontinued the Android bridge project in favor of continuing support for iOS application porting instead . During the 2016 Build keynote , Microsoft announced an update to the WNS and the Windows 10 Operating System that will allow for Android and iOS devices to forward push notifications received to Windows 10 to be viewed and discarded . Architecture The architecture of the Windows Push Notification Service is similar to that of its predecessor , in that it consists of servers and interfaces that generate , maintain , store , and authenticate unique identifiers ( called Channel URI unk ) for all devices that register to use the service . When a device enrolls to receive data and notification information using the WNS , it first sends a device registration request to WNS network . The WNS network acknowledges the request , and responds with the device 's unique Channel URI Identifier . Typically , the device will then send its identifier to a server owned by the developer so that it can be stored and used for sending notifications . When the app developer wishes to transmit a notification or other WNS data to the device , it will transmit a POST request to the WNS network . The network will acknowledge and authenticate the request . If the authentication succeeds , the data to be transmitted is unk and then sent to the device from the WNS network using the Channel URI Identifier .
|
525 | State Route 173 ( SR 173 ) is an 11 . 86 mile long ( 19 . 09 km ) state highway serving Douglas and Okanogan counties in the U.S. state of Washington . The highway travels northwest along the Columbia River from SR 17 in Bridgeport to U.S. Route 97 ( US 97 ) in Brewster . It serves as an alternate route to SR 17 , which travels north of the Columbia River , and serves the Chief Joseph State Park and the Bridgeport Bar State Wildlife Recreation Area . SR 173 was established during the 1964 highway renumbering and codified in 1970 , but it has been a part of the state highway system since 1931 as a branch of State Road 10 , later Primary State Highway 10 ( PSH 10 ) . The highway crosses the Columbia River on the Brewster Bridge , which originally opened in 1928 and was destroyed in 1967 before being re built a decade later . Route description SR 173 begins at an intersection with SR 17 southwest of the Bridgeport Bridge in Bridgeport , a city in rural Douglas County . The two lane street travels northwest through Bridgeport as Foster Creek Avenue and turns northeast onto 17th Avenue and later northwest as Columbia Avenue to Bridgeport Park , where SR 173 turns southwest onto 10th Street and Maple Street to leave the city . The highway turns northwest , following the Columbia River towards Chief Joseph State Park . SR 173 continues west , forming the southern boundary of the Bridgeport Bar State Wildlife Recreation Area before crossing the Columbia River into Okanogan County on the Brewster Bridge . The highway enters Brewster and becomes Bridge Street , traveling north over Swamp Creek to end at an intersection with US 97 . Every year , the Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2011 , WSDOT calculated that between 970 and 3 , 400 vehicles per day used the highway , mostly in Brewster . History SR 173 follows the route of wagon roads built in the late 19th century between Brewster Ferry and Bridgeport Ferry on the east side of the Columbia River . The Brewster Bridge was completed in June 1928 and the roadway was first codified in 1931 as part of a State Road 10 branch that connected Brewster to Coulee City . State Road 10 became PSH 10 and retained the branch during the creation of the primary and secondary state highway system in 1937 as the state purchased the Brewster Bridge . The branch was moved to the west side of the Columbia River , located north of Bridgeport , in 1951 and a new branch between Bridgeport and Brewster was created to continue maintenance of the paved highway . During the 1964 highway renumbering , SR 173 was established on the route of the PSH 10 branch between Bridgeport and Brewster , later re aligned into a straighter highway and codified in 1970 . The Brewster Bridge later was destroyed in a fire in August 1967 , being replaced by a 15 minute ferry until the new span was opened in the 1970s . No major revisions to the route of the highway have occurred since 1970 , however the state tried unsuccessfully to transfer ownership of SR 173 and the Brewster Bridge in 1986 . Major intersections
|
526 | thelric ( called thelric II to distinguish him from an earlier thelric who was also bishop of Selsey and also spelled unk died c . 1076 ) was the second to last medieval Bishop of Selsey in England before the see was moved to Chichester . Consecrated a bishop in 1058 , he was deposed in 1070 for unknown reasons and then imprisoned by King William I of England . He was considered one of the best legal experts of his time , and was even brought from his prison to attend the trial on Penenden Heath where he gave testimony about English law before the Norman Conquest of England . Early life thelric was a monk at Christ Church Priory at Canterbury prior to his becoming a bishop . Several historians opine that he might have been the same as the thelric who was a monk of Canterbury and a relative of Godwin , Earl of Wessex . That thelric was elected by the monks of Canterbury to be Archbishop of Canterbury in 1050 , but was not confirmed by King Edward the Confessor who insisted on Robert of Jumiges becoming archbishop instead . The evidence is not merely that they shared the same name , because the name was a relatively common one in Anglo Saxon England . Other evidence pointing to the possibility of them being the same person includes the fact that he was felt to have been unfairly deposed in 1070 as well as the bishop 's great age in 1076 . thelric was consecrated bishop in 1058 by Stigand , the Archbishop of Canterbury . thelric was consecrated by Stigand , unlike most of the English bishops of the time period , because at that point , Stigand held a valid pallium , or symbol of an archbishop 's authority and ability to consecrate bishops . Deposition thelric was deposed by the Council of Windsor on 24 May 1070 and imprisoned at Marlborough , being replaced by Stigand ( not the same as the archbishop ) , who later moved the seat of the diocese to Chichester . It is possible , that his deposition was tied to the fact that about that time , King Harold of England 's mother and sister took refuge with the count of Flanders . If thelric was related to the Godwin 's , King William I of England may have feared that the bishop would use his diocese to launch a rebellion . Other reasons put forward include the fact that thelric had been consecrated by Stigand , but the other bishop that Stigand had consecrated , Siward the Bishop of Rochester was not deposed . thelric was a monk , and while not having a great reputation for sanctity , he was not held to be immoral either . The pope did not feel that his deposition had been handled correctly , so his deposition was confirmed at the Council of Winchester on 1 April 1076 . It continued to be considered uncanonical , but thelric was never restored to his bishopric . Penenden Heath He was carted from imprisonment to the Trial of Penenden Heath of Odo of Bayeux , earl of Kent . This took place sometime between 1072 and 1076 . At that time , he was the most prominent legalist in England . He helped clarify Anglo Saxon land laws , as the trial was concerned with the attempts of Lanfranc to recover lands from Odo . The medieval writer Eadmer also consulted thelric for information on Eadmer 's Life of St Dunstan . Presumably thelric died soon after the trial , as he was already an old man when he attended the trial . Note
|
527 | Hurricane Dolores was regarded as the worst hurricane to strike Acapulco since 1938 . Developing on June 13 , 1974 , the system rapidly organized into a tropical storm the next day off the southern coast of Mexico . Over the following day , Dolores developed an eye like feature and attained hurricane status . With peak winds of 80 mph ( 130 km h ) , the storm made landfall near Acapulco . Once onshore , Dolores rapidly dissipated and was last noted on June 17 . Across Southwestern Mexico , Hurricane Dolores produced heavy rains that triggered widespread flooding and mudslides . Numerous roads sustained damage , separating communities from surrounding areas . At least 18 people were killed and 32 others were injured by the storm . Additionally , an estimated 173 , 000 people were affected across the country . Meteorological history On June 13 , 1974 , a tropical disturbance was identified several hundred miles south of Mexico . Tracking westward , rapid development ensued the following day and the system was classified a tropical depression around 12 UTC . Shortly thereafter , satellite intensity estimates indicated further strengthening and the storm was upgraded to Tropical Storm Dolores . Development temporarily slowed on June 15 as the structure gradually organized . Enhanced by the Intertropical Convergence Zone , a band of deep convection wrapped into the storm . A banding eye feature developed later that day , indicating Dolores to be near hurricane strength . Late on June 15 , Dolores ' forward motion slowed as it turned almost due north towards the Mexican coastline . Around 00 UTC on June 16 , it is estimated that the storm intensified into a hurricane , with sustained winds peaking at 80 mph ( 130 km h ) . Based on satellite imagery , Dolores is also estimated to have attained a barometric pressure of 973 mbar ( hPa 28 . 73 inHg ) . Roughly 18 hours later , Dolores made landfall near Acapulco . Winds in the area were measured up to 77 mph ( 124 km h ) . Once onshore , rapid dissipation ensued and Dolores was last noted early on June 17 . Impact Regarded as the worst hurricane since 1938 , Dolores brought torrential rains and high winds to much of Southwestern Mexico . Along the coast , near where Dolores made landfall , 30 homes were destroyed by winds estimated in excess of 75 mph ( 120 km h ) . Several rivers over topped their banks , inundating nearby communities . In the low lying suburbs of Acapulco , nearly 600 people were injured or left homeless . According to the Centro Nacional de Prevencin de Desastres ( National Center for Prevention of Disasters ) , 18 people were killed in the states of Guerrero and Oaxaca media reports indicated a higher toll of 22 . Estimated losses from the storm exceeded 4 million . Nine people were killed by landslides in rural mountain communities surrounding Acapulco . The Costa Chica Highway , which runs from Acapulco to unk , sustained major damage and areas surrounding the roadway were declared disaster areas . Offshore , six people were listed as missing after their trawler , the Peregrine , was caught in the storm . In the storm 's wake , the Mexican Army was deployed in Oaxaca to distribute relief supplies , such as food , medicines , and blankets to an estimated 173 , 000 people affected by the hurricane .
|
528 | Oryzomys pliocaenicus is a fossil rodent from the unk ( late Miocene ) of Kansas , central United States . It is known from a single mandible ( lower jaw ) with the back part missing . All three molars are present , but very worn . Together , the molars are 3 . 6 mm long . The fossil was discovered in 1935 and described in 1939 as a possible species of Oryzomys ( in open nomenclature ) . Later authors doubted this allocation and suggested that it may instead belong in Bensonomys or Jacobsomys , but the material may not allow a definite identification . Discovery and context The only known specimen of Oryzomys pliocaenicus is a mandible ( lower jaw ) found in the spring of 1935 by David Dunkle in Edson Quarry , Sherman County , Kansas . It is in the collections of the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard University as specimen MCZ unk . Edson Quarry is in the Ogallala Formation and the unk North American Land Mammal Age . Claude W. Hibbard described the mandible as Oryzomys pliocaenicus in a 1939 paper . Hibbard wrote that the fauna was middle Pliocene , but it is now considered Miocene . The Edson Quarry fauna contains a diversity of other fossils , including mammals , birds , reptiles , and amphibians . Description Oryzomys pliocaenicus is known from a single mandible with the incisor and three molars in it . Much of the back of the jaw is missing , including the angular , condyloid , and coronoid processes . The mental foramen , a foramen ( opening ) at the front of the jaw , in the diastema between the incisor and molars , opens upwards , a little more so than in the living marsh rice rat ( Oryzomys palustris ) . The masseteric ridges , which anchor some of the chewing muscles and are located on the outer surface of the mandible , are similar to those of Oryzomys . The molars are very worn , so that only traces of the cusps remain no accessory small cusps are visible . Each of the teeth has two roots . The length of the toothrow is 3 . 6 mm and the depth of the mandible below the first molar is also 3 . 6 mm . Interpretations Hibbard wrote that the condition of the mental foramen and masseteric ridges excluded the specimen from unk , Peromyscus , unk , and unk and that in these features and in its depth and size , the fossil more closely resembled Oryzomys therefore , he placed it in that genus with a query . Oryzomys is a living genus that has occurred in the United States since at least 300 , 000 years ago . In 1966 , Philip Hershkovitz wrote that Hibbard had reconsidered his opinion after re examining O. pliocaenicus in 1952 he no longer thought that it was an Oryzomys and instead believed it may be a Bensonomys . The latter genus occurs in the late Miocene and early Pliocene of North America and has been variously interpreted as a close relative of the South American Calomys or merely as an evolutionarily convergent member of the North American subfamily unk . Jon Baskin mentioned the animal in 1978 and 1986 , asserting that it cannot be identified to genus level , but may be Bensonomys . Although some continue to list it under Oryzomys , it is now usually excluded from the genus . In 2008 , Everett Lindsay listed O. pliocaenicus as a questionable species of Jacobsomys , a Pliocene North American genus which he said may be ancestral to Oryzomys .
|
529 | WASP 17b is an exoplanet in the constellation Scorpius that is orbiting the star WASP 17 . Its discovery was announced on 11 August 2009 . It is the first planet discovered to have a retrograde orbit , meaning it orbits in a direction counter to the rotation of its host star . This discovery challenged traditional planetary formation theory . In terms of diameter , WASP 17b is the second largest exoplanet discovered yet , and at half Jupiter 's mass , this makes it the most puffy planet known . On 3 December 2013 , scientists working with the Hubble Space Telescope reported detecting water in the atmosphere of the exoplanet . Discovery A team of researchers led by David Anderson of Keele University in Staffordshire , England , discovered the gas giant , which is about 1 , 000 light years ( 300 parsecs ) from Earth , by observing it in transit its host star WASP 17 . Such photometric observations also reveal the planet 's size . The discovery was made with a telescope array at the South African Astronomical Observatory . Due to the involvement of the Wide Angle Search for Planets SuperWASP consortium of universities , the exoplanet , as the 17th found to date by this group , was given its present name . Astronomers at the Observatory of Geneva were then able to use characteristic red shifts and blue shifts in the host star 's spectrum as its radial velocity varied over the course of the planet 's orbit to measure the planet 's mass and obtain an indication of its orbital eccentricity . Careful examination of the Doppler shifts during transits also allowed them to determine the direction of the planet 's orbital motion relative to its parent star 's rotation via the Rossiter McLaughlin effect . Special properties WASP 17b has a radius 1 . 5 2 times that of Jupiter and about half the mass . Thus its mean density is between 0 . 08 and 0 . 19 g cm3 , compared with Jupiter 's 1 . 326 g cm3 and Earth 's 5 . 515 g cm3 ( the density of water is 1 g cm3 ) . The unusually low density is thought to be a consequence of a combination of the planet 's orbital eccentricity and its proximity to its parent star ( less than one seventh of the distance between Mercury and the Sun ) , leading to tidal flexing and heating of its interior . The same mechanism is behind the intense volcanic activity of Jupiter 's moon Io . WASP 17b is thought to have a retrograde orbit ( with a sky projected inclination of the orbit normal against the stellar spin axis of about 149 , not to be confused with the line of sight inclination of the orbit , given in the table , which is near 90 for all transiting planets ) , which would make it the first planet discovered to have such an orbital motion . It was found by measuring the Rossiter McLaughlin effect of the planet on the star 's Doppler signal as it transited , in which whichever of the star 's hemispheres is turning toward or away from Earth will show a slight blueshift or redshift which is dampened by the transiting planet . Scientists are not yet sure why the planet orbits opposite to the star 's rotation . Theories include a gravitational slingshot resulting from a near collision with another planet , or the intervention of a smaller planet like body working to gradually change WASP 17b 's orbit by tilting it via the Kozai mechanism .
|
530 | The Tupolev Tu 75 was a military transport variant of the Tu 4 bomber , as was a similar airliner , the Tu 70 , both using a new , purpose designed fuselage . The first Soviet military machine of this class , it was equipped with a rear fuselage loading ramp . It was not placed into production because the VVS decided it would be cheaper to modify its existing Tu 4s for the transport mission and to use its existing Lisunov Li 2 and Ilyushin Il 12 transports . Design and development The Tupolev OKB began work in September 1946 on a military transport version of the Tupolev Tu 70 airliner and this was confirmed by the Council of Ministers on 11 March 1947 with state trials to begin in August 1948 . To expedite the process the maximum use was made of the components of the Tu 70 . Its engines were the uprated Shvetsov ASh 73TKFN or unk fuel injected version . A new , narrower fuselage was designed which included a rear cargo hatch , a vehicle loading ramp and paratroop exit doors . Three gun turrets , dorsal , ventral and tail , were to be adapted from the Tu 4 , although they were not fitted on the prototype . It had a crew of six , three gunners , a radio operator , a navigator and two pilots . The aircraft was intended for three different roles transport , parachute transport and aerial ambulance . In the first role it was designed to carry two ASU 76 assault guns , two STZ unk artillery tractors , six or seven GAZ unk jeeps or five 85 mm ( 3 . 3 in ) guns without their prime movers or any combination of equipment up to 12 , 000 kg ( 26 , 000 lb ) . To facilitate the loading of cargo a winch was mounted on the ceiling of the cargo hold with a capacity of 3 , 000 kg ( 6 , 600 lb ) . It could carry either 120 troops , 96 fully loaded paratroopers or 64 standard parachute loads . As an aerial ambulance it could carry 31 stretchers and four medical attendants . Operational history Construction of the first prototype was quite prolonged the aircraft was not finished until November 1949 , with its first flight taking place on 21 January 1950 . It finished its manufacturer 's trials the following May , but Tupolev decided not to submit it for the State acceptance trials as the Soviet Air Force had already decided that it would be cheaper to rely on its existing transports and to modify Tu 4 bombers for the cargo role . The prototype was used by the MAP ( Russian unk unk unk Ministry of Aviation Industry ) until it crashed in October 1954 . Specifications Data from Gunston General characteristics Crew 6 Length 35 . 61 m ( 116 ft 10 in ) Wingspan 43 . 83 m ( 145 ft 2 in ) Height 9 . 05 m ( 29 ft 8 in ) Wing area 167 . 2 m ( 1800 ft ) Empty weight 37 , 810 kg ( 83 , 355 lb ) Loaded weight 56 , 660 kg ( 124 , 912 lb ) Useful load 12 , 000 kg ( 26 , 455 lb ) Max. takeoff weight 65 , 400 kg ( 144 , 180 lb ) Powerplant 4 Shvetsov ASh 73TKFN 18 cylinder two row radial engine , 1976 kW ( 2650 hp ) each Performance Maximum speed 545 km h ( 339 mph ) Cruise speed km h ( knots , mph ) Stall speed km h ( knots , mph ) Range unk km ( unk mi ) Service ceiling 9500 m ( 31 , 170 ft ) Rate of climb m s ( ft min ) Wing loading kg m ( lb ft ) Power mass W kg ( hp lb ) Armament 7 x 20 mm Berezin B 20 cannon ( planned )
|
531 | Zhenguo Temple ( Chinese unk ) is a Buddhist temple located 10 km from Pingyao in the village of unk , in Shanxi Province , China . The temple 's oldest hall , the unk Hall , was built in 963 during the Northern Han dynasty , and is notable for featuring very large brackets that hold up the roof and flying eaves . The sculptures inside the hall are among the only examples of 10th century Buddhist sculpture in China . History The history of the temple begins in 963 , when it was recorded that Ten Thousand Buddha Hall ( unk unk unk ) was built . The date is written on a beam in the hall , and is also the date given by a local history of Pingyao county written in the 19th century . A stela written in 1819 also confirms this date . unk Hall is the oldest building at Zhenguo temple , and is the only surviving building that dates from the short lived Northern Han dynasty . Although little is known of the temple 's history , stelae record that it was renovated in 1540 and in 1816 . In 1997 , along with Pingyao city and unk Temple , the Zhenguo temple was inscribed on the World Heritage list as Ancient City of Pingyao . Layout The temple contains two main halls and a gate , with two courtyards in between the three buildings . There is a wall surrounding the entire complex . The temple opens to the south , with the unk Hall ( unk ) acting as the temple s gate . The next hall , to the north , is the Ten Thousand Buddha Hall , and the final hall is called unk Hall ( unk ) , which dates from the Qing Dynasty . The northern courtyard also features two minor halls facing to the east and west called the Guanyin ( unk ) and unk Halls ( unk ) , which both date from the Ming Dynasty . There are also two bell towers located on either side of the unk Hall . Ten Thousand Buddha Hall The most important hall in the temple is Ten Thousand Buddha Hall ( unk unk unk ) , one of China 's oldest wooden buildings . It is a three bay single eaves hip and gabled hall that is nearly square in shape , measures 11 . 6 by 10 . 8 meters , and is 8 . 8 m high . Despite the building 's small size , and features that would identify it as a regular hall ( such as pillars that have been implanted directly into the floor instead of on a stone pedestal ) , the structure is quite complex . There are doors at the front and back of the hall . In addition , the front of the hall has two windows on either side of the door . There are twelve pillars supporting the structure . The corner and column top brackets holding up the roof are of the 7th degree , one of the most complex and large types according to Yingzao Fashi . These bracket sets are nearly 2 . 5 meters high 70 the height of the columns . Inter columnar brackets that occur between every two pillars are of the 5th degree . The hall has no ceiling , and the upper and lower set of rafters are exposed . Nancy Steinhardt speculates that the complex brackets on what would have been a humble structure were an attempt by the Northern Han rulers to build a magnificent structure with limited resources . The hall contains eleven sculptures from the Northern Han period . These are the only Chinese sculptures from the period that survive from outside the Mogao Grottoes . There is a main statue of Sakyamuni flanked by Bodhisattvas and the Heavenly Kings .
|
532 | The Tiber Oil Field is a deepwater offshore oil field located in the Keathley Canyon block 102 of the United States sector of the Gulf of Mexico . The deepwater field ( defined as water depth 1 , 300 to 5 , 000 feet ( 400 to 1 , 520 m ) , ) was discovered in September 2009 and it is operated by BP . Described as a giant find , it is estimated to contain 4 to 6 billion barrels ( 640 10 6 to 950 10 6 m3 ) of oil in place . Although BP states it is too early to be sure of the size a huge field is usually considered to contain 250 million barrels ( 40 10 6 m3 ) . It required the drilling of a 10 , 685 m ( 35 , 056 ft ) deep well under 1 , 260 m ( 4 , 130 ft ) of water , making it one of the deepest wells ever drilled at the time of discovery . Description Tiber comprises multiple Lower Tertiary petroleum reservoirs located in Keathley Canyon block 102 about 250 mi ( 400 km ) southeast of Houston and 300 mi ( 480 km ) south west of New Orleans . Tiber is only the 18th Lower Tertiary well to date , and drilling in these formations is in its infancy . The oil from Tiber is light crude , and early estimates of recoverable reserves are around 20 30 recovery , suggesting figures of around 600 to 900 million barrels ( 95 10 6 to 143 10 6 m3 ) of reserves . Sources such as Bloomberg suggest caution , warning that the find is technically complex and potentially could take 5 6 years to produce oil or be lower yield ( 5 15 ) based on rates talked about at nearby Kaskida Oil Field , BP 's previous giant find ( 2006 ) 40 mi ( 64 km ) away . The commercial prospects of the field have not yet been evaluated . Discovery BP acquired the Outer Continental Shelf lease of Keathley Canyon block 102 reference unk , NOAA station unk , on October 22 , 2003 , in Phase 2 of the Western Gulf of Mexico ( unk unk ) Sale 187 . Lower Tertiary rock formations are some of the oldest and most technically challenging offshore rock formations currently drilled for oil , dating to between 23 and 66 million years ago . The plan of exploration was filed in June 2008 . Tiber was initially drilled by Transocean 's fifth generation dynamic positioned semi submersible oil rig , Deepwater Horizon , with exploratory drilling commencing around March 2009 , slightly delayed from the planned date of September 2008 . Much of the deeper gulf reserves are buried under salt accumulations thousands of feet thick , which present a problem for seismic exploration . BP had previously developed exploration techniques to bypass this difficulty . Oil was located at multiple levels . The field was announced on September 2 , 2009 , and BP shares rose 3 . 7 percent on the news . With Tiber joining at least ten other successful Lower Tertiary explorations in the area , analysts viewed the announcement as a sign for optimism , and a harbinger of renewed interest in , and production from , the offshore Gulf of Mexico . Exploration on hold Following the April 2010 destruction of the Deepwater Horizon while drilling the Macondo well , and the resulting oil spill , all appraisal activities at 33 wells under exploration in the Gulf of Mexico , including Tiber , were placed on hold . At least two rigs that might otherwise have been used for developing Tiber are also in use on the relief wells for the ruptured well .
|
533 | Palau competed at the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing , China . Palau 's Olympic delegation was led by Frank unk , the President of the Palau National Olympic Committee , and consisted of five athletes , three team officials and four coaches . This was an increase from the nation 's two previous appearances at the Summer Olympic Games four athletes had been sent to both the Sydney and Athens Games . Palau 's Olympic team was one of the 117 that won no medals at the Games . Opening closing ceremonies Palau was the 119th national team to enter the Beijing National Stadium in the parade of nations during the Opening Ceremony . The country 's flag bearer was freestyle wrestler Elgin Loren unk , the first Palauan athlete to have qualified for a Games based on his own performances . At the Closing Ceremony athletes entered in a less formal style , led by the flag bearers of all the competing nations . The Palauan flag was carried by swimmer Amber unk . Athletics Palau had two competitors in the sport of athletics , one in each of the men 's and women 's 100 m sprints . Jesse unk finished seventh out of eight competitors in a heat which included eventual bronze medallist Walter Dix . Despite setting a new personal best time of 11 . 38 seconds he did not advance to the quarterfinals of the competition . In the women 's event Peoria unk finished eighth out of nine athletes in the first heat and did not advance to the next round . Key Note Ranks given for track events are within the athlete 's heat only Q Qualified for the next round q Qualified for the next round as a fastest loser or , in field events , by position without achieving the qualifying target NR National record N A Round not applicable for the event Bye Athlete not required to compete in round Men Women Swimming Amber unk , the youngest member of the team at age 17 , was the sole Palauan representative in the swimming events . She finished 3rd in her heat and 71st out of the 92 competitors overall . Women Qualifiers for the latter rounds of all swimming events at the Games were decided on a time only basis between competitors from all heats , therefore the rank shown is an overall position against every swimmer in the round . Wrestling Two wrestlers represented Palau in Beijing . Both athletes received byes in the first round but were defeated in their respective round of 16 matches . Elgin Loren unk , the reigning Oceanic champion , was beaten on points by three times world champion Hamid unk in the Greco Roman 55 kg . After the bout he announced his hope of competing at the 2012 Olympics in London , saying , It is my first Olympics and I am looking forward to my next because I 'm young . The other wrestler Florian unk unk was beaten by Hungarian Ott unk in the Freestyle 120 kg . Key VT Victory by Fall . PP Decision by Points the loser with technical points . PO Decision by Points the loser without technical points . Men 's freestyle Men 's Greco Roman Media coverage The 2008 Summer Olympics marked the first time that Palauans were able to watch complete Olympic television coverage of all events in their own country . Palau 's in depth television coverage was due to a special agreement between TV New Zealand and the Palau National Communications Corporation .
|
534 | For other men called thelhelm , see thelhelm ( disambiguation ) Athelm ( or thelhelm died 926 ) was an English churchman , who was the first Bishop of Wells , and later Archbishop of Canterbury . His translation , or moving from one bishopric to another , was a precedent for later translations of ecclesiastics , because prior to this time period such movements were considered illegal . While archbishop , Athelm crowned King thelstan , and perhaps wrote the coronation service for the event . An older relative of Dunstan , a later Archbishop of Canterbury , Athelm helped promote Dunstan 's early career . After Athelm 's death , he was considered a saint . Background Athelm was a monk of Glastonbury Abbey before his elevation in 909 to the see of Wells , of which he was the first occupant . The see was founded to divide up the diocese of Sherborne , which was very large , by creating a bishopric for the county of Somerset . Wells was likely chosen as the seat because it was the center of the county . Some scholarly works suggest that Athelm may be the same person as thelhelm , son of King thelred of Wessex , but this is not accepted by most historians . A few sources state that Athelm was Abbot of Glastonbury before he became bishop , but other sources disagree and do not give him that office . This traces to later medieval chroniclers , not to contemporary accounts . His brother was Heorstan , who held land near Glastonbury . Archbishopric Between August 923 and September 925 he became archbishop . His translation from the see of Wells set a precedent for the future , and marks a break with historical practice . Previously the moving of a bishop from one see to another had been held to be against canon , or ecclesiastical , law . Recently , however , the popes had themselves been translated , and this practice was to become common in England after Athelm 's time . He was West Saxon , unlike his predecessor , Plegmund , who was Mercian , reflecting the shift in power to Wessex . Athelm was a paternal uncle of Dunstan , who later became Archbishop of Canterbury . It was Athelm who brought Dunstan to the king 's court . Athelm presided at the coronation of King Athelstan of England on 4 September 925 , and probably composed or organised the new Ordo ( order of service ) in which for the first time the king wore a crown instead of a helmet . He also attested the king 's first grant to St Augustine 's Abbey in Canterbury . It is unclear if the reason that no coins were minted with his name was his short term of office or a change in policy towards the Archbishop of Canterbury minting coins in his own name . Nothing else is known of Athelm 's brief time as archbishop . Death and burial Athelm died on 8 January 926 . He was later considered a saint , with a feast day of 8 January . He was buried at first the church of St John the Baptist near the Saxon era Canterbury Cathedral . When a new cathedral was constructed under Archbishop Lanfranc after the Norman Conquest of England , the earlier archbishops of Canterbury were moved to the north transept of the new cathedral . Later , Athelm and his successor as archbishop Wulfhelm were moved to a chapel dedicated to St Benedict , which later was incorporated into the Lady Chapel constructed by Prior Thomas Goldstone ( d . 1468 ) .
|
535 | The 14th Boat Race took place on the River Thames on 4 April 1857 . Held annually , The Boat Race is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge . Oxford rowed in a keel less carvel built boat , the first time in the history of the race that such a construction method was used for one of the vessels . Umpired by Joseph William Chitty , the race was won by Oxford who triumphed over Cambridge by 11 lengths . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Oxford by half a length in the previous year 's race . They led overall with eight wins to Oxford 's five . It was the first race to feature a keel less carvel built boat . Purchased personally by Oxford boat club president Arthur Heywood Lonsdale from Newcastle boat builder Matthew Taylor , the Oxford crew rowed a practice time of 19 minutes 50 seconds in it , considered remarkable in a boat with fixed seats . Lonsdale engaged Taylor to instruct Oxford how to send his boat along as quickly as possible , avoiding connotations of professional coaching which was banned in the Boat Race . Cambridge rowed in a boat built by Salter of Wandsworth . It was also the first race in which both crews rowed with round loom oars . Oxford soon showed signs of good pace in practice and set the course record with 19 minutes 50 seconds , a time which would remain unbeaten until the 1873 race . Cambridge began their practice rows very late . The race was umpired by Joseph William Chitty who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race . Crews Oxford saw four crew members return from the 1856 race in Gurdon , Lonsdale , Thorley and the cox , Elers , while Cambridge welcomed back just two former Blues in Lloyd and Snow . Oxford were marginally the heavier crew at an average of just over 11 st 9 lb ( 73 . 8 kg ) per rower , about 1 pound ( 0 . 5 kg ) more on average than Cambridge . The Oxford president , Heywood Lonsdale , rowed at number seven while his counterpart , R. Lloyd , rowed at six for the Light Blues . Race Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , leaving Cambridge with the Surrey station . Starting soon after 11am , Oxford made a good start and at Searle 's boathouse ( originally home to the Leander Club ) were clear of Cambridge . They increased their lead to a length by the time they had reached The Crab Tree pub . Despite Cambridge making a number of pushes to try to recover the deficit , Oxford continued to pull away and completed the course 32 seconds ahead of Cambridge , and eleven lengths clear . The winning time was 22 minutes 5 seconds . It was Oxford 's fourth victory in the previous five races and represented the largest winning margin since the 1841 race . It was described in the Oxford Books ' account as without doubt ... about the most hollow beating ever given to Cambridge by Oxford .
|
536 | M 150 is a state trunkline highway in the US state of Michigan that runs through Rochester Hills and Rochester . It is more commonly known as Rochester Road and runs from a southern terminus at the M 59 freeway north through downtown Rochester to a northern terminus at Tienken Road . M 150 has been a state trunkline since around 1930 , and within a few years of its commissioning , it was extended south through Royal Oak and north into rural Oakland County . After changes in 1960s , the highway terminated in Troy at Interstate 75 ( I 75 ) on the southern end and Tienken Road on the north . Since 1987 , it has ended at M 59 . Route description M 150 follows a single road , known locally as Rochester Road . The trunkline begins at an interchange where Rochester Road crosses the M 59 freeway at exit 46 in Rochester Hills . From there it travels north past the Hampton Golf Club and the Winchester Mall between the intersections with Auburn and Hamlin roads . Past this commercial development , the trunkline runs through residential subdivisions and near Rochester College . North of the Avon Road intersection , the highway enters Rochester and crosses the Clinton River . Rochester Road forms one of the main streets of the downtown area in Rochester as it passes through the city . North of Romeo Street , the road exits downtown and passes through another residential neighborhood . The highway crosses back into Rochester Hills before it terminates at the intersection with Tienken Road near another commercial development Rochester Road continues northward as a locally maintained roadway . Like other state highways in Michigan , M 150 is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) . In 2011 , the department 's traffic surveys showed that on average , 41 , 675 vehicles used the highway daily between M 59 and Auburn Road and 27 , 320 vehicles did so each day in Rochester , the highest and lowest counts along the highway , respectively . The section of M 150 between M 59 and Auburn Road is listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History M 150 has always existed along Rochester Road in Oakland County since it was commissioned around the end of 1930 or in early 1931 At that time , the road ran from a junction with M 59 in , what is today , Rochester Hills , north to the northern limit of Rochester . Since then , the road has been extended and shortened a number of times . By the middle of 1936 , a 14 mile ( 23 km ) extension to the south extended the highway along Rochester Road and Stephenson Highway through Royal Oak to end at M 102 ( 8 Mile Road ) , and northward to Romeo Road in northern Oakland County . In 1963 , the section south of 11 Mile Road near Royal Oak was removed from M 150 sections were rebuilt as part of I 75 and the rest was turned over to local control . The northern extension from the 1930s was removed in 1965 when the trunkline was shortened to end on the north side of Rochester at Tienken Road . The southern section was later truncated back to the current southern terminus at M 59 in 1987 . This southern segment between I 75 and M 59 is listed on the National Highway System however . Major intersections The entire highway is in Oakland County .
|
537 | Dance is a song recorded by Romanian recording artist Alexandra Stan for her sophomore studio album , Unlocked ( 2014 ) . The track was made available for digital download on 16 July 2014 , as the album 's third single . Dance was written by Stan , Cosmin unk , Alexandru Cotoi , Lee Anna McCollum , Mika Moupondo and Erik Lidbom , while production was handled by both Cazan and Lidbom . A music video for the song was directed by Khaled Mokhtar and debuted on Stan 's YouTube channel on 18 July 2014 , where it has since amassed over seven million views . The clip was shot during three days in Bucharest , Romania and sees Stan and her backup dancers performing choreographed dances , which were choreographed by Romanian performer Emil Rengle . The recording was met with good reviews . Digital Journal praised the song for being catchy , and Stan for providing honey rich vocals . In an interview , Alexandra Stan explained that Dance is a very sexy club song and club image . The track was performed during Stan 's Unlocked Tour ( 2014 ) . The song became a success in Japan , where it ranked at number 25 on the Japan Hot 100 . Composition Dance was recorded at Fonogram Studios in Bucharest , Romania . The song is a dance track , also incorporating house music influences into its sound . The track opens with acoustic guitar chords , which are then followed by a pop strophe . The refrain consists of a saxophone drop , which is backed by cut saws and plucks . Dance ends with the last lyrics of the song being backed by acoustic guitar . Lyrically , the track speaks about the art of dancing , but also features references to friendship and romance . Markos Papadatos from Digital Journal pointed out the opening lyrics of the song for beginning rebellious , but turning into positive and optimistic . He also compared the instrumentation of Dance with that one of Kesha 's Die Young . Critical response Markos Papadatos from Digital Journal compared Dance to Stan 's 2010 song Mr. Saxobeat , confessing that the song has a catchy melody . He went on praising Stan 's honey rich voice on the verses Why don 't you dance dance dance and fall in love with friends let 's start a new romance . Furthermore , Papadatos said that the track deserves to top the Billboard Hot Dance Club Songs charts . Concerning the music video of Dance , he praised Khaled Mokhtar for doing a brilliant job directing the clip , and Emil Rengle for choreographing the dancers and Stan in the video exceptionally well . He went on saying that Stan looks breathtakingly beautiful in this video . Papadatos gave the music video and the song itself an A rating . Everything Express writer Robin Catling described the track as a summery David Guetta inspired Euro dance number that rattles along . He unk the song 's quality , saying that even S Club 7 had better material than this . Direct Lyrics praised Dance for having enough summer flavour to do well this upcoming hot season and confessed that they like the track better than its predecessor , Cherry Pop . Los 40 Principales cited the video for Dance as one of Stan 's best clips ever . Track listings Credits and personnel Credits adapted from the liner notes of Unlocked and The Collection . Charts Release history
|
538 | The Marietta class monitors were a pair of ironclad river monitors laid down in the summer of 1862 for the United States Navy during the American Civil War . Construction was slow , partially for lack of labor , and the ships were not completed until December 1865 , after the war was over . However the navy did not accept them until 1866 and immediately laid them up . They were sold in 1873 without ever having been commissioned . Design and description The Marietta class monitors were part of a large program of armored ships ordered after the Battle of Hampton Roads caused the navy to favor monitors over the previous casemate ironclads of the City class . They were built to gain control of the Mississippi River and its many tributaries . The original plans for the Marietta class ships resembled the river monitor USS Ozark in many ways . The gun turret was at the bow and they had a deckhouse aft . There were also twin smokestacks similar to the Mississippi River steamboat designs . The original plans also called for a forward , pyramidal pilothouse , similar to the one on USS Monitor , however it is believed that the pilothouse was moved to the top of the turret before construction was completed . The Marietta class ships were 177 feet ( 53 . 9 m ) long overall . They had a beam of 50 feet ( 15 . 2 m ) and a draft of 5 feet ( 1 . 5 m ) . They displaced 479 long tons ( 487 t ) . The ships had four steam boilers powering two western steamboat type engines that drove a single propeller . The Marietta class ships had a maximum speed of 9 knots ( 17 km h 10 mph ) and they carried a maximum of 150 long tons ( 150 t ) of coal . The ships ' main armament consisted of two smoothbore , muzzle loading 11 inch ( 279 mm ) Dahlgren guns mounted in a single gun turret . Each gun weighed approximately 16 , 000 pounds ( 7 , 300 kg ) . They could fire a 136 pound ( 61 . 7 kg ) shell up to a range of 3 , 650 yards ( 3 , 340 m ) at an elevation of 15 . The turret and the pilothouse were protected by 6 inches ( 152 mm ) of wrought iron armor while the deck and hull had 1 . 25 inches ( 32 mm ) of armor . Construction The contract for the two ships was awarded to Tomlinson and unk Co. on 16 May 1862 . Construction was at their yard in Pittsburgh , PA . Progress was slow , delayed by labor shortages and changes by the navy . The US government allocated 188 , 000 each for the construction of the Marietta and Sandusky , but the final cost rose to 235 , 039 after charges for extra work . History Marietta was laid down in 1862 , launched on 4 January 1865 and completed 16 December 1865 . She was accepted by the Navy on 25 April 1866 . She was never commissioned . Soon after her acceptance Marietta was laid up at Mound City , Illinois . Renamed Circe on 15 June 1869 , the gunboat carried that name only until 10 August , when she was again named Marietta . Remaining at Mound City , Marietta was sold 12 April 1873 to David Campbell for 16 , 000 . Sandusky was launched in mid January 1865 she was not completed until 26 December 1865 , and was accepted by the Navy on 25 April 1866 . Never commissioned , she was renamed Minerva on 15 June 1869 but resumed the name Sandusky on 10 August 1869 . The monitor was sold at Mound City , Illinois , on 17 April 1873 to David Campbell for 18 , 000 .
|
539 | Tropical Storm Franklin was a tropical storm over the western Atlantic Ocean during July of the 2005 Atlantic hurricane season . It was the sixth named storm of the season and twice approached hurricane strength . The storm formed over the Bahamas on July 21 then moved north erratically , approaching Bermuda on July 26 . Franklin eventually became extratropical near Newfoundland on July 30 , before being absorbed by a larger system . The National Hurricane Center struggled to predict Tropical Storm Franklin mainly due to difficulties in predicting the effects of wind shear . There were only minor effects on land from Tropical Storm Franklin and no damages were caused . The name Franklin was used for the first time because of Hurricane Floyd which was retired in the 1999 season . Meteorological history A tropical wave emerged from the African coast late on July 10 . The wave entered the Bahamas on July 21 and organized into Tropical Depression Six while 70 miles ( 110 km ) east of Eleuthera . Initially the storm was predicted to execute a clockwise loop and drift to the west in response to a high pressure system . Several models indicated the possibility of the storm to drift westward into central Florida . Soon after the depression formed , it strengthened into Tropical Storm Franklin . Tropical Storm Franklin suffered high levels of wind shear associated with the development of Tropical Storm Gert , which led the forecasters at the National Hurricane Center to say that Franklin could be torn apart in the next few days . However the shear abated as Franklin moved to the northeast allowing the storm to strengthen . The forecasters then stated that Franklin could attain and maintain hurricane strength and make a close approach to Bermuda . Shortly after on July 23 , Tropical Storm Franklin reached its peak strength with 70 mph ( 110 km h ) winds . Franklin moved erratically to the east weakening as shear increased again . The NHC predicted that would dissipate , but the weakening trend stopped on July 25 with Franklin a minimal tropical storm . The storm passed to 200 miles ( 325 km ) to the west of Bermuda on July 26 and moved slowly northwards into the warmer waters of the Gulf Stream . The shear also reduced once again allowing Franklin to re strengthen somewhat , with winds reaching 60 mph ( 95 km h ) on July 28 . Franklin began to accelerate to the northeast , becoming extratropical on July 30 to the south of Newfoundland . The extratropical storm passed just south of the Avalon Peninsula later that day and was absorbed by a larger system on July 31 . Impact As Tropical Storm Franklin was forming , a tropical storm warning was issued for the northwest Bahamas , but it was canceled as Franklin moved north and away from the islands . A tropical storm watch was issued for Bermuda on July 25 but was canceled a day later when Franklin turned away . Tropical Storm Franklin developed very close to land in the Bahamas and passed near Bermuda , but there were no reports of tropical storm force winds overland , with the strongest gust recorded on Bermuda being 37 mph ( 60 km h ) . After Franklin became extratropical , it brushed southeastern Newfoundland , bringing about 1 inch ( 25 mm ) of rain to the area . There were no damages or fatalities as a result of Tropical Storm Franklin .
|
540 | Interstate 675 ( I 675 ) is an auxiliary Interstate Highway in the US state of Michigan . The freeway is a 7 . 73 mile long ( 12 . 44 km ) loop route through downtown Saginaw as I 75 passes on the east side of the city . I 675 is also a state trunkline highway that provided a bypass of the former drawbridge carrying I 75 and US Highway 23 ( US 23 ) across the Saginaw River . Construction of I 675 started in 1969 and the freeway opened in 1971 . Since then , sections near downtown were reconstructed in 2009 through 2011 to update one of the freeway 's interchanges and rebuild the bridge over the Saginaw River . Route description I 675 splits from I 75 on the eastern side of Saginaw , turning west toward downtown . The freeway runs between residential neighborhoods and has an interchange with Veterans Memorial Parkway . West of that interchange , it crosses a line of the Huron and Eastern Railway . From there , it runs on the northern edge of downtown near the Dow Event Center , crossing the Saginaw River on the Henry G. Marsh Bridge . On the west side of the river , the trunkline meets an interchange with M 58 . From there it turns northward , crossing a line of the Mid Michigan Railroad . I 675 continues northward , passing to the east of the unk E. Lutz VA Medical Center and through more residential neighborhoods in Saginaw Township North . After the interchange with Tittabawassee Road , which provides access to the Fashion Square Mall , I 675 turns northeasterly to merge back to I 75 north of the Zilwaukee Bridge . Like other state highways in Michigan , I 675 is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) . In 2011 , the department 's traffic surveys showed that on average , 20 , 900 vehicles used the freeway daily across the river and 4 , 000 vehicles did so each day north of Tittabawassee Road , the highest and lowest counts along the trunkline , respectively . As an Interstate Highway , all of I 675 is listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History Initially planned in the mid 1950s , the I 675 freeway was under construction starting in 1969 . The freeway was completed in 1971 and opened to traffic that year . For nearly a decade ( 1979 88 ) , I 675 served as an alternate route for traffic during construction of a new bridge across the Saginaw River for I 75 US 23 at Zilwaukee . The original span , built in 1960 , was designed as a bascule bridge which could be raised to allow shipping traffic to use the river . Opening the drawbridge would back traffic up on the freeway for upwards of four hours on holiday weekends . I 675 helped relieve the congestion during such times , including during the major construction accident in August 1982 that delayed completion of the new bridge . Originally to be completed in 1983 , it finally opened on September 19 , 1988 . Starting in May 2009 and ending in November 2011 , sections of I 675 were closed from exit 2 easterly to begin renovations during the summer construction seasons . These projects included rehabilitation of the Henry Marsh Bridge , the reconstruction of overpasses , and a redesigned exit at Warren Avenue to ease access into downtown Saginaw . Exit list The entire highway is in Saginaw County .
|
541 | The bounded weak echo region , also known as a BWER or a vault , is a radar signature within a thunderstorm characterized by a local minimum in radar reflectivity at low levels which extends upward into , and is surrounded by , higher reflectivities aloft . This feature is associated with a strong updraft and is almost always found in the inflow region of a thunderstorm . It cannot be seen visually . The BWER has been noted on radar imagery of severe thunderstorms since 1973 and has a lightning detection system equivalent known as a lightning hole . Description and attributes The BWER is a nearly vertical channel of weak radar echo , surrounded on the sides and top by significantly stronger echoes . The BWER , sometimes called a vault , is related to the strong updraft in a severe convective storm that carries newly formed atmospheric particulates , called unk , to high levels before they can grow to radar detectable sizes . unk are typically found at mid levels of convective storms , 3 kilometres ( 1 . 9 mi ) to 10 kilometres ( 6 . 2 mi ) above the ground , and are a few kilometers in horizontal diameter . Identifying the location of the updraft region is important because it is linked to locations where severe weather normally occurs . The presence of a BWER has been part of a method to diagnose thunderstorm strength as part of the Lemon technique since 1977 . The updraft strength within the BWER supports the growth of large hailstones just above the vault , which can be displaced slightly into the direction of motion of the parent supercell storm . Detection The bounded weak echo region ( BWER ) is a region of low radar reflectivity bounded above by an area of higher radar reflectivity which shows evidence of a strong updraft within mesocyclones . Radar analysts have recognized this phenomenon since at least 1973 , using different elevation scans . Methods of objectively corroborating that a BWER is associated with a mesocyclone is done by using a weather radar with Doppler effect to obtain the precipitations velocities . This have been available operationally in United States since 1997 with the NEXRAD network . When using the lightning detection system , lightning holes ( uncovered in 2004 ) correspond to where a BWER would be seen on radar . A cross section of the three dimensional reflectivity of a thunderstorm shows the vault better . Algorithms were developed by the J.S. Marshall Radar Observatory of McGill University in Canada to locate the overhang region in a thunderstorm by the late 1980s . Its radar uses 24 angles , giving it good vertical resolution . In United States , fewer scanning angles are made within the WSR 88D radar which makes it more difficult to detect the overhang . Once the overhang is located , it is possible to make a cross section to view if it is related with a BWER . However , since 1997 algorithms have been developed by the National Weather Service to determine regions of reflectivity gradient in three dimensions and the presence of BWER in convection . The development of a pronounced BWER can lead to tropical cyclone like radar signatures over land when located with a low angle plan position indicator ( PPI ) . When using the lightning detection system , lightning holes ( uncovered in 2004 ) correspond to where a BWER would be seen on radar .
|
542 | James the Deacon ( Latin unk unk died after 671 ) was a Roman deacon who accompanied Paulinus of York on his mission to Northumbria . He was a member of the Gregorian mission which came to England to Christianize the Anglo Saxons from their native Anglo Saxon paganism , although when he arrived in England is unknown . After Paulinus left Northumbria , James stayed near Lincoln and continued his missionary efforts , dying sometime after 671 according to the medieval chronicler Bede . Life James was presumably an Italian , like the other members of the Gregorian mission . The dates of his birth and of his arrival in Britain are unknown . He went with Paulinus to Northumbria accompanying thelburh , sister of King Eadbald of Kent , who went to Northumbria to marry King Edwin . Traditionally this event is dated to 625 , but the historian D. P. Kirby argues that the mission to Northumbria probably happened before 619 . Edwin died in battle at Hatfield fighting against Penda of Mercia and unk in 633 . Edwin had been the main supporter of Paulinus ' mission , and with his death , a pagan backlash set in . Paulinus fled to Kent , along with thelburg and Edwin and thelburg 's daughter Eanfld . James , however , remained behind in Northumbria and continued missionary efforts . James ' efforts were centred in Lincoln , at a church that Paulinus had built there , the remains of which may lie under the church of St. Paul in the Bail . This was in the dependent kingdom of Lindsey , where Paulinus had preached prior to Edwin 's death , and it was reconquered by one of Edwin 's successors , Oswald of Northumbria in the 640s . Bede writes that James lived in a village near Catterick , which bears his name to this day . He reports that James undertook missionary work in the area and lived to a great age . During the reign of King Oswiu of Northumbria , James attended the royal court , for he celebrated Easter with Oswiu 's queen , Eanfld , Edwin 's daughter . Both James and Eanfld celebrated Easter on the date used by the Roman church , which led to conflicts with Oswiu , who celebrated Easter on the date calculated by the Irish church . These dates did not always agree , and was one of the reasons that Oswiu called the Synod of Whitby in 664 to decide which system of Easter calculation his kingdom would use . James was present at the Synod of Whitby , according to Bede 's account of events there . Bede states that after the synod , and the return of Roman customs , James , as a trained singing master in the Roman and Kentish style , taught many people plainsong or Gregorian chant in the Roman manner . James ' date of death is unknown , but Bede implies that he was still alive during Bede 's lifetime , which presumably means that he died after Bede 's birth , sometime around 671 or 672 . This would mean that he was at least 70 years old at his death . It has been suggested that James was Bede 's informant for the life of Edwin , the works of Paulinus , and perhaps for the Synod of Whitby . The historian Frank Stenton calls James the one heroic figure in the Roman mission . This reflects the fact that many of the Gregorian missionaries had a habit of fleeing when things went wrong . After his death , James was venerated as a saint . His feast day is 17 August ( Catholic ) or 11 October ( Anglican ) .
|
543 | Bridge No. 1860 , also known as the Samson Occom Bridge , is a fieldstone arch bridge in Montville , Connecticut , United States . Constructed by the Connecticut State Highway Department in 1936 as a Works Progress Administration project , it is located on Mohegan tribal land in an area that was once a part of Fort Shantok State Park . The bridge carries traffic from unk Side Road ( Special Service Road 433 ) over the Shantok Brook , a tributary of the Thames River . Spanning 12 feet ( 3 . 7 m ) across the brook , the bridge 's arch rises about 6 feet ( 1 . 8 m ) above the water . According to a 2011 Connecticut Department of Transportation report , it carries 1 , 100 vehicles per day . Samson Occom Bridge was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1993 . Design Officially referred to as Bridge Number 1860 in state records , the bridge is commonly known as the Samson Occom Bridge . On the south end of the bridge is a wooden sign that commemorates the Christian missionary and educator Samson Occom , a colonial period Mohegan from Montville , Connecticut . The sign does not actually declare it the Samson Occom Bridge , but states without further explanation that it is the Site of the Samson unk Bridge . The stone arch bridge spans 12 feet ( 3 . 7 m ) across the Shantok Brook , with its arch about 6 feet ( 1 . 8 m ) over the water . Built in 1936 by the Works Progress Administration , the bridge is constructed of medium sized fieldstone and laid in cement mortar . The semi circular arch is constructed with a ring of stones , each about 18 inches ( 46 cm ) deep . Built up by rubble construction , the structure is made of fieldstone , including the wing walls . Rising above the 16 feet ( 4 . 9 m ) roadway are the spandrels of the bridge , which form low parapets with ramped ends . The total length of the bridge , including the railings , is about 20 feet ( 6 . 1 m ) long . Preservation In May 1991 , the Connecticut Historic Bridge Inventory plan outlined a plan for the preservation of the Samson Occom Bridge . It is unlikely that traffic would require replacement or modification of the bridge in the foreseeable future . According to a 2011 Connecticut Department of Transportation report , the bridge carries 1 , 100 vehicles per day . The biggest threat to the bridge is moisture control and the repair of eroded surfaces . Stone arch bridges rarely require structural rehabilitation , but an alternative solution to structural rehabilitation would be to use concrete slab imbedded above the arch , only requiring raising the roadway . The report stated that the rustic quality of the bridge is not compatible with roadways larger than two lanes , but that additional width could be facilitated without compromising its historical significance . Importance The National Register of Historic Places nomination states that the Samson unk Bridge is significant as an example of the 1930s public works programs and as an example of the picturesque park architecture of the early 20th century . It was constructed at a time when cobblestone masonry was a popular choice for state park structures , but also after masonry was considered an obsolete building material . The bridge has added significance as an example of the work conducted by the federal Works Progress Administration .
|
544 | Old Baltimore Pike is a road in the U.S. state of Delaware . The road , known as New Castle County Road 26 , runs from Maryland Route 281 ( MD 281 ) at the Maryland state line south of Newark , Delaware and continues east to Christiana , ending near Delaware Route 1 ( DE 1 ) . The road is paralleled by Interstate 95 ( I 95 , Delaware Turnpike ) to the north and U.S. Route 40 ( US 40 , Pulaski Highway ) to the south . The Old Baltimore Pike was built before 1720 and connected Elkton , Maryland to Christiana . It was a turnpike called the Elk and Christiana Turnpike between 1817 and 1838 . In the past it served as a major connection between Philadelphia and Baltimore . Route description Old Baltimore Pike begins at the Delaware Maryland state line near Newark , Delaware , where the highway continues west into that state as MD 281 . The road heads northeast from the state line through wooded residential areas as a two lane undivided road , intersecting Otts Chapel Road before passing south of Iron Hill Park . Old Baltimore Pike crosses DE 896 and enters rural areas . Here , the roadway passes Cooch 's Bridge , a historic battle site of the American Revolutionary War . It then crosses Norfolk Southern 's Delmarva Secondary railroad line and encounters DE 72 . After this intersection , Old Baltimore Pike continues past suburban neighborhoods , gaining a center left turn lane and intersecting Salem Church Road . Farther east , the highway reaches a junction with DE 273 in a wooded area . At this point , the road narrows to two lanes again and heads into the community of Christiana . Here , the highway intersects DE 7 , where it turns north and follows that route through residential areas . The road comes to an interchange with DE 1 to the west of the Christiana Mall , where DE 7 continues north along with DE 1 and Old Baltimore Pike reaches a dead end . History The Old Baltimore Pike was built before 1720 . The road was known as the Great Road and ran between Head of Elk ( now Elkton , Maryland ) and Christiana Bridge . It was later known as the Christiana Elkton Turnpike before becoming Old Baltimore Pike . This path served as a major connection between Philadelphia and Baltimore in addition to providing access between the shipping area of Christiana Bridge and agricultural areas in northern Delaware , northern Maryland , and southeastern Pennsylvania . In 1723 , Welsh Tract settlers pushed for the road to be improved . This road was part of the Washington Rochambeau Revolutionary Route that was used by the French army during their march from Newport , Rhode Island to Yorktown during the Revolutionary War , passing through the area in September 1781 . The road , also known as Old Post Road , was incorporated in 1813 as the Elk and Christiana Turnpike in order to get more money for repairs . The turnpike was completed in April 1817 . As a turnpike , tolls were collected to pay for the maintenance of the road . The construction of the New Castle and Frenchtown Railroad lowered the revenues of the turnpike and it became a public road again in 1838 . The road historically went through agricultural areas however , the surroundings have become more developed over the years . Much of the Old Baltimore Pike remains two lanes . Major intersections The entire route is in New Castle County .
|
545 | Cynesige ( or unk died 1060 ) was a medieval English Archbishop of York between 1051 and 1060 . Prior to his appointment to York , he was a royal clerk and perhaps a monk . As archbishop , he built and adorned his cathedral as well as other churches , and was active in consecrating bishops . After his death in 1060 , the bequests he had made to a monastery were confiscated by the queen . Life Cynesige perhaps came from Rutland , as he owned the manor of unk there later in life . The Liber Eliensis claimed that he had been born by Caesarian section , but this is most likely a later accretion to his unk , added after his death because of efforts to have him declared a saint . The belief was that for an infant to survive a caesarian section was a miracle , and thus a fitting beginning for a future saint . Cynesige had been a royal clerk prior to his appointment to York in 1051 , although the monks of Peterborough Abbey maintained that he had been a monk in their house . It is possible he was both a monk and a royal clerk . He delayed his visit to Rome to receive his pallium until 1055 , when he was given it by Pope Victor II . During his time as archbishop he was claimed to have consecrated both John and unk as Bishops of Glasgow , although the two bishops probably never lived in their diocese . John may have ended up as the Bishop of Mecklenburg in Germany . Cynesige dedicated the church of the Abbey of Waltham Holy Cross in the presence of King Edward the Confessor around 3 May 1060 . This was at the invitation of Earl Harold Godwinson of Wessex . The chronicle of Waltham Abbey states that Cynesige did the consecration because the archbishopric of Canterbury was vacant . However , there was an occupant of Canterbury , Stigand , but his election to Canterbury was not considered canonical by the papacy , and Harold may have excluded him because of concerns about Stigand 's canonical status . Cynesige expanded and embellished York Minster and other churches in his archdiocese , and built the tower at Beverley , as well as giving books and other items to the church there . He consecrated unk as Bishop of Llandaff at a council held at London in 1056 , although this information is only attested in the Book of Llandaff , a sometimes unreliable source . In 1059 he , along with Earl Tostig and thelwine Bishop of Durham , escorted King Malcolm III of Scotland to King Edward 's court at Gloucester when Malcolm came south , probably to thank Edward for his help in restoring Malcolm to the Scottish throne , and perhaps to acknowledge the English king as Malcolm 's lord . Cynesige died on 20 December 1060 and was buried at Peterborough , in what is now Peterborough Cathedral . After his death , he was honoured as a saint by the monks at Peterborough , although the cult does not seem to have spread far . His bones , along with those of his predecessor lfric Puttoc , were found in 1643 . His reputation for sanctity and poverty was based on his actions , as he often traveled on foot , and spent much time preaching and giving alms . The Northumbrian Priests ' Law which is usually attributed to Wulfstan II , Archbishop of York , might have been authored instead by Cynesige , or possibly Cynesige 's predecessor lfric Puttoc . He gave gifts to Peterborough in his will , but the gifts were taken by Queen Edith instead .
|
546 | Business M 28 ( Bus . M 28 ) was a state trunkline highway in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan . It served as a business route running for 9 . 010 miles ( 14 . 500 km ) through the Newberry area . The business loop followed a U shaped routing to connect downtown Newberry with M 28 south of town . It ran west of the city of Newberry , passing through the community of Dollarville before entering downtown , turning south and ending near the county airport . Bus . M 28 was originally a section of M 28 before the latter was realigned in the late 1930s . The highway carried the M 28A designation before it was redesignated as Bus . M 28 in 1950 . The trunkline was partially turned back to local control in 1953 , and the business loop designation was removed at that time . The section of the roadway in downtown Newberry has carried several different designations in addition to the original M 28 . Route description Bus . M 28 started at the top of a small hill at an intersection with M 28 southwest of Newberry . The highway ran due north from the intersection along Engadine Road , running downhill towards unk Creek . Just south of the Tahquamenon River , Bus . M 28 turned east into the community of Dollarville . There the trunkline followed Dollarville Road and Engadine Road to the western city limits of Newberry . Once in the city of Newberry , Bus . M 28 followed West McMillan Avenue . At the intersection with M 117 ( Newberry Avenue ) , Bus . M 28 turned south concurrently with M 117 . The combined highway passed through the central business district . South of town , M 117 Bus . M 28 turned east along Campbell Avenue and then south along Miller Road . West of the Luce County Airport , M 117 Bus . M 28 met M 28 at this intersection , M 117 turned west along M 28 and the business loop ended . History The first highway through downtown Newberry was M 25 which was assigned by July 1 , 1919 . M 28 replaced this designation by the end of 1927 , when M 28 was extended eastward through the Upper Peninsula to end in downtown Sault Ste . Marie . M 28 was transferred to a new roadway south of Newberry in late 1935 or early 1936 as shown on the Michigan State Highway Department ( MSHD ) maps of the time . The segment of roadway between the new highway and downtown Newberry was given the M 28A designation . In downtown Newberry , M 28A followed M 48 south , returning to M 28 . Between late 1949 and early 1950 , M 48 was rerouted on its west end . The former M 48 that ran through downtown Newberry north to Roberts Corner was part of a relocated M 117 . The M 28A designation was also changed to Bus . M 28 at this time on the map , creating an M 117 Bus . M 28 concurrency in place of the older M 28A M 48 one . The Bus . M 28 designation remained in place until late 1952 on maps . The April 15 , 1953 MSHD map shows the highway turned back to local control . The concurrent M 117 Bus . M 28 segment was redesignated as just M 117 . Later in 1953 , M 117 was shown rerouted due south of Newberry , avoiding the jog along Webber and Miller roads . The segment of M 117 north of Newberry , including part of the former Bus . M 28 became part of an extended M 123 by the publication of the 1962 MSHD map . Major intersections The entire highway was in Luce County .
|
547 | New York State Route 393 ( NY 393 ) was an east west state highway in Tompkins County , New York , in the United States . It was a spur route that connected the downtown district of the city of Ithaca to the Ithaca Dryden town line . The western terminus of the route was at an intersection with NY 13 ( modern NY 366 ) in East Ithaca . Its eastern terminus was at Game Farm Road , a local road that straddled the boundary between the towns of Ithaca and Dryden . NY 393 was assigned in the early 1930s as a signed designation for a highway that the state of New York had assumed maintenance of in the 1910s . It originally extended west along Mitchell Street to NY 79 , but was truncated to Ithaca Road when NY 13 was rerouted through Ithaca in the mid 1930s . The NY 393 designation was removed in the mid 1960s , and its former routing is now maintained by the city of Ithaca and Tompkins County . The designation is currently reserved by the New York State Department of Transportation for a highway in Chautauqua County . Route description NY 393 began at the intersection of Mitchell Street and Ithaca Road in the city of Ithaca . Here , NY 13 turned off Mitchell Street to follow Ithaca Road while NY 393 continued eastward on Mitchell Street . It passed through the community of East Ithaca and entered the surrounding town of Ithaca . In the town of Ithaca , NY 393 intersected Pine Tree Road ( County Route 174 or CR 174 ) and passed through areas with varying levels of development before ending at Game Farm Road , here marking the boundary between the towns of Ithaca and Dryden . The roadway continued eastward into Dryden as a locally maintained highway . History The portion of Mitchell Street and Ellis Hollow Road from the city of Ithaca to the Ithaca Dryden town line had existed as early as 1900 . In the early 1910s , the state of New York helped finance improvements to the portion of the highway within the town of Ithaca . The highway was added to the state highway system in late October 1914 . In 1916 , construction began on an upgrade of Mitchell Street in Ithaca , again partially paid for by the state of New York . All of Mitchell Street was accepted into the state highway system on August 31 , 1917 . The state maintained portion of Mitchell Street and Ellis Hollow Road was designated as NY 393 c . 1933 . The route began at NY 79 ( State Street ) in Ithaca and ended at the Dryden town line , where the road continued east as a local highway . NY 13 was realigned through Ithaca c . 1936 to bypass the campus of Cornell University to the south along Dryden Road , Ithaca Road , and Mitchell Street . As a result , NY 393 was truncated slightly to begin at the junction of Ithaca Road and Mitchell Street . NY 393 remained unchanged until the mid 1960s when it was removed from the state highway system . The portion of NY 393 's former routing in the city of Ithaca is now city maintained while the remainder of the highway in the town of Ithaca is now part of CR 110 . The NY 393 designation is currently reserved by the New York State Department of Transportation for a proposed Chautauqua unk in Chautauqua County between Interstate 86 NY 17 and NY 5 . No timetable exists for the unk 's construction nor for NY 393 's reassignment . Major intersections The entire route was in Tompkins County .
|
548 | K 17 was a 21 . 138 mile long ( 34 . 018 km ) state highway in Kansas that served Kingman and Reno counties . The route originated at an intersection with U.S. Route 54 ( US 54 ) and US 400 south of the unincorporated community of Waterloo and ended at K 96 south of South Hutchinson . The road was maintained by the Kansas Department of Transportation ( KDOT ) , and was a two lane road for its entire length . The route was designated in 1932 . When originally designated , K 17 ran north to an intersection with US 81 near McPherson . Between 1957 and 1962 , a series of changes to the route shortened it and brought its northern terminus to an intersection with K 96 near South Hutchinson . The route was decommissioned in 2013 . Route description K 17 began at a diamond interchange with US 54 and US 400 near Waterloo in Kingman County and ran north on a two lane road . The route passed a cemetery just north of its southern terminus and continued north through level farmland , entering Reno County and passing a few miles east of the community of Pretty Prairie , which was accessible by a county road . North of here , K 17 crossed the north fork of the unk River and curved slightly to the northwest . The route bent back to the north and continued in that direction for approximately eight miles ( 13 km ) before twisting to the east and reaching its northern terminus at an intersection with K 96 . K 17 was maintained by KDOT . In 2012 , KDOT calculated the route 's average annual daily traffic to be about 1000 vehicles near its southern terminus , and approximately 1600 vehicles near the northern terminus . K 17 was not included in the National Highway System , a system of highways important to the nation 's defense , economy , and mobility . History K 17 was commissioned by 1932 . Originally , the route went through Hutchinson and ended at US 81 south of McPherson . Only the portion from just south of Hutchinson to the city of Medora was paved . The remainder of the route was gravel . Within a year , the segment from Medora to the route 's northern terminus had been paved with a bituminous surface . Between 1933 and 1936 , a stretch of the route in Reno County was also given a bituminous surface . In 1940 , the route was extended north from its northern terminus along the route of US 81 to an intersection with K 4 in Saline County . By this time , all segments of the route had been paved . The majority of the route had a bituminous surface , but some segments had a hard surface . Between 1941 and 1945 , the whole route was paved with a hard surface . In 1957 , the portion of K 17 from its intersection with K 61 to its northern terminus was redesignated as an extension of K 61 . This realignment removed K 17 from McPherson and Saline counties . In 1962 , K 96 was realigned through Hutchinson and replaced a portion of K 17 south of the city . This shortened K 17 yet again to its final northern terminus at an intersection with K 96 . In 1977 , the southern terminus was upgraded to an interchange as US 54 was upgraded to a freeway in much of eastern Kingman County . In 2012 , K 17 was decommissioned when KDOT realigned a number of state highways in Reno and Kingman counties . The former alignment of K 17 was re designated as a segment of K 14 . Major intersections
|
549 | Annegret Briemann ( born 28 July 1972 ) is a 1 . 0 point wheelchair basketball player , who plays for the Frankfurt Mainhatten Skywheelers . She has also played with the German national team which won a gold medal at the 2012 Summer Paralympics in London . President Joachim Gauck awarded the team Germany 's highest sporting honour , the Silbernes Lorbeerblatt ( Silver Laurel Leaf ) . Biography Annegret Briemann was born in Ober unk on 28 July 1972 . She now lives in Einhausen . As a teenager , she played soccer for SKG Ober unk Fuball , and participated in track and field events with TSV unk . She also played basketball with the local team , BSC Einhausen , for many years . A skiing accident in Austria in 2005 resulted in a broken vertebra , rendering Briemann a paraplegic . She went back to track and field athletics , winning the German national championship in the shot put with a throw of 16 . 70 metres ( 54 . 8 ft ) . In athletics she had a Disability sport classification of T55 . In the International Paralympic Committee ( IPC ) world rankings her shot put throw of 6 . 10 metres ( 20 . 0 ft ) ranked her fifth in the world her 16 . 7 metres ( 55 ft ) in discus put her in eighth place and in the javelin with 12 . 31 metres ( 40 . 4 ft ) she was ranked eleventh . Einhausen named her their Sportswoman of the Year in 2009 . However , T55 classification events were dropped from the track and field program for the 2012 Summer Paralympics in London . Briemann was introduced to the sport of wheelchair basketball while in rehab . She was classified as a 1 . 0 point player , the highest level of disability . She played in Darmstadt and Aschaffenburg , then joined the Mainhatten Skywheelers in Frankfurt in 2010 . Playing for Team Hessen , she won the women 's championships in 2009 , 2011 and 2012 . She began training with the national squad , and in July 2012 national coach Holger Glinicki nominated her for the national team for the London Paralympics . In the Gold Medal match in London , the team faced the Australia women 's national wheelchair basketball team , who had defeated them 48 46 in Sydney just a few months before , in front of a capacity crowd of over 12 , 000 at the North Greenwich Arena . The German team had been undefeated up to that point , but had started off slow in its games against the United States and China , winning these games by six point margins , and seemed to play its best basketball only in the final minutes of a game . They defeated the Australians 44 58 in front of a crowd of over 12 , 000 at the North Greenwich Arena to win the gold medal , the first that Germany had won in women 's wheelchair basketball in 28 years . It was the first gold medal that Germany had won in women 's wheelchair basketball at the Paralympics since 1984 . They were awarded the Silver Laurel Leaf by President Joachim Gauck in November 2012 , and were named Team of the Year for 2012 . The German team lost the European Championship to the Netherlands before a home town crowd of 2 , 300 in Frankfurt in July 2013 by a point , 56 57 . Achievements 2012 Gold at the Paralympic Games ( London , England ) 2013 Silver at the European Championships ( Frankfurt , Germany ) 2014 Silver at the World Championships ( Toronto , Canada ) Awards 2012 Team of the Year 2012 Silver Laurel Leaf
|
550 | Papoose Peak Jumps was a ski jumping hill located at Squaw Valley Ski Resort in the US state of California . The hill consisted of three jumps , with K points of 80 , 60 and 40 meters , respectively . Constructed upon the hill side of Little Papoose Peak , it was built for the 1960 Winter Olympics the 80 meter hill hosted the ski jumping event and the 60 meter hill the Nordic combined event . The jump was designed by Heini Klopfer and opened in 1958 . After the Olympics the venue saw little use it was renovated for the 1976 US National Ski Jumping Championships , but has since fallen into disrepair and demolished to make room for a ski lift . History As Squaw Valley was an undeveloped area when it was awarded the Olympics , the organizing committee was free to design a tailor made Olympic resort . Heini Klopfer from Oberstdorf , West Germany , was hired to design the ski jumping hills , which he finished in early 1957 . He chose to locate it on the hill side of Little Papoose Peak , opposite Blyth Arena . He described the location as the type of hill one always seeks but seldom finds . The construction contract was awarded to Diversified Builders , who constructed the jumps during the summer and fall of 1958 . Papoose Peak Jumps was the first Olympic ski jump to have three in runs . Minor details were corrected in 1959 and 1960 . It was renovated ahead of the 1976 US National Championships . However , it fell out of use afterwards and instead the hill was converted to a speed skiing and snowboarding hill . Later the resort 's Far East Express chairlift was installed on the hill . Facilities The hill consisted of three jumps with a common out run , each with a construction point ( K point ) of 80 , 60 and 40 meters , respectively . It was located in the central area of the Olympic resort , next to the skating rinks and the Olympic Village . Tall trees on both sides of the hill gave good protection against the wind . The location was also ideal because of the sun was at the competitor 's backs . A judges ' tower was constructed on the side , which was both accessible by stairs from the bottom of the hill or from the chairlift which ran to the top of the in runs . The hill had an overall height of 140 meters ( 460 ft ) , the in run had a length of 113 meters ( 371 ft ) . The largest jump had a take off angle of 8 . 5 degrees and a landing angle of 38 degrees . Events The first competitive use of the hills was the trial Olympics in February 1959 . During the 1960 Winter Olympics , the 80 meter hill was used for special jumping on 28 February , while the 60 meter hill was used for Nordic combined on 22 February . The special ski jumping event was won by Helmut unk of Germany , who also set a hill record of 93 . 5 meters ( 307 ft ) . He was followed up by Finland 's unk Halonen and Austria 's Otto unk . In the ski jumping part of the Nordic combined event , Germany 's Georg Thoma received the highest points ahead of the Soviet Union 's Dmitriy unk and Norway 's Tormod Knutsen . The cross country part of the event took place at McKinney Creek Stadium . While Thoma won the discipline overall , Knutsen finished second overall ahead of the Soviet Union 's Nikolai Gusakov . In 1976 , the US National Championships in Ski Jumping were held at the large hill , and was won by Jim Denney .
|
551 | No. 4 Operational Training Unit ( No. 4 OTU ) was an operational conversion unit of the Royal Australian Air Force during World War II . It was formed at Williamtown , New South Wales , in October 1942 to train pilots and wireless air gunners to operate Vultee Vengeance dive bombers . The school was equipped with Vengeances and CAC Wirraway aircraft . Accidents were common in operational conversion units , and No. 4 OTU suffered several fatal crashes during its existence . It was disbanded in April 1944 , handing Williamtown over to No. 5 Operational Training Unit . History During World War II , the Royal Australian Air Force ( RAAF ) established eight operational training units ( OTUs ) to convert recently graduated air crews from advanced trainers to combat aircraft , and to add fighting ability to the flying skills they had already learned . No. 4 Operational Training Unit was formed on 1 October 1942 at Williamtown , New South Wales , to convert crews to the Vultee Vengeance dive bomber , 400 of which had been ordered by the RAAF ( 344 were eventually delivered ) . No. 4 OTU 's inaugural commanding officer was Wing Commander E.G. Fyfe . The first pilots and wireless air gunner trainees arrived from No. 12 Squadron on 28 October 1942 , and undertook a Vengeance conversion course that ran until 25 November . By the end of the month , No. 4 OTU 's strength stood at seven Vengeances . These were augmented in January 1943 by the unit 's first CAC Wirraway , which students flew before commencing their Vengeance conversion course . OTUs , employing as they did warplanes that were more advanced and more powerful than trainers , and teaching combat techniques that often carried high risk , generally suffered higher accident rates than other flying training schools . On 3 March 1943 , a Wirraway of No. 4 OTU crashed near Williamtown , killing both crewmen . Two others died when their Vengeance crashed and burned near Goulburn during a cross country exercise on 4 August . On 16 August , a Vengeance flew into trees after apparently pulling out late from a dive , resulting in two fatalities . A Vengeance blew up in flight during dive bombing practice at Williamtown on 14 September , killing both crewmen . On 5 October , a Vengeance on a dive bombing exercise crashed into the sea near Newcastle both crewmen were reported as missing , believed killed . No. 4 OTU suffered two more fatalities when a Vengeance struck a hill near Braidwood during a cross country flight on 26 November 1943 . Another Vengeance hit the water and exploded in Nelson Bay on 7 April 1944 after failing to recover from a dive , killing the two man crew . On 1 December 1943 , Squadron Leader R.E. Bell took over command of No. 4 OTU on a temporary basis , handing over to Flight Lieutenant R. unk Wilkinson on 27 April 1944 . The Vengeances had meanwhile been withdrawn from operations in the South West Pacific theatre , having flown their last combat mission on 8 March . No. 4 OTU disbanded on 30 April 1944 a small detachment remained to hand over the Williamtown base to an advance party of No. 5 Operational Training Unit the following day . The rest of No. 5 OTU transferred from Tocumwal to Williamtown during July . By the time No. 4 OTU disbanded , the school 's Vengeances had accumulated 7 , 593 flying hours and the Wirraways 7 , 646 hours .
|
552 | In hydrodynamics , the clapotis ( from French lapping of water ) is a non breaking standing wave pattern , caused for example , by the reflection of a traveling surface wave train from a near vertical shoreline like a breakwater , seawall or steep cliff . The resulting unk wave does not travel horizontally , but has a fixed pattern of nodes and antinodes . These waves promote erosion at the toe of the wall , and can cause severe damage to shore structures . The term was coined in 1877 by French mathematician and physicist Joseph Valentin unk who called these waves le clapotis meaning the lapping . In the idealized case of full clapotis where a purely monotonic incoming wave is completely reflected normal to a solid vertical wall , the standing wave height is twice the height of the incoming waves at a distance of one half wavelength from the wall . In this case , the circular orbits of the water particles in the deep water wave are converted to purely linear motion , with vertical velocities at the antinodes , and horizontal velocities at the nodes . The standing waves alternately rise and fall in a mirror image pattern , as kinetic energy is converted to potential energy , and vice versa . In his 1907 text , Naval Architecture , Cecil Peabody described this phenomenon At any instant the profile of the water surface is like that of a unk wave , but the profile instead of appearing to run to the right or left , will grow from a horizontal surface , attain a maximum development , and then flatten out till the surface is again horizontal immediately another wave profile will form with its crests where the hollows formerly were , will grow and flatten out , etc . If attention is concentrated on a certain crest , it will be seen to grow to its greatest height , die away , and be succeeded in the same place by a hollow , and the interval of time between the successive formations of crests at a given place will be the same as the time of one of the component waves . Related phenomena True clapotis is very rare , because the depth of the water or the unk of the shore are unlikely to completely satisfy the idealized requirements . In the more realistic case of partial clapotis , where some of the incoming wave energy is dissipated at the shore , the incident wave is less than 100 reflected , and only a partial standing wave is formed where the water particle motions are elliptical . This may also occur at sea between two different wave trains of near equal wavelength moving in opposite directions , but with unequal amplitudes . In partial clapotis the wave envelope contains some vertical motion at the nodes . When a wave train strikes a wall at an oblique angle , the reflected wave train departs at the supplementary angle causing a cross hatched wave interference pattern known as the clapotis unk ( waffled clapotis ) . In this situation , the individual crests formed at the intersection of the incident and reflected wave train crests move parallel to the structure . This wave motion , when combined with the resultant vortices , can erode material from the seabed and transport it along the wall , undermining the structure until it fails . unk waves on the sea surface also radiate infrasonic unk into the atmosphere , and seismic signals called unk coupled through the ocean floor to the solid Earth .
|
553 | The Battle of Kopidnadon or unk took place in September 788 between the armies of the Abbasid Caliphate and the Byzantine Empire . The Abbasid army launched an invasion of Byzantine Asia Minor , and was confronted by a Byzantine force at Kopidnadon . The resulting battle was an Abbasid victory . Among the Byzantine losses was a certain Diogenes , who is identified by some scholars with the probable original source for the literary hero Digenes Akritas . Background Ever since the failure of the last Arab attempt to conquer the Byzantine capital Constantinople , regular , almost annual raids were undertaken by the Caliphate 's forces into Byzantine Asia Minor . In 782 , a major invasion , led by the Abbasid heir apparent , the future Harun al Rashid ( r . 786 809 ) , resulted in a humiliating settlement for Byzantium , which was forced to sue for a truce in exchange for an annual payment of 160 , 000 gold nomismata . In 785 , Empress regent Irene of Athens resolved to cease the payment of the tribute , and warfare recommenced . The Arabs raided the Armeniac Theme , but in early 786 the Byzantines retaliated by sacking and razing to the ground the fortress town of Hadath in Cilicia , which the Abbasids had spent the last five years turning into a major stronghold and military base for their cross border expeditions against Byzantium . Battle With Harun al Rashid 's accession in 786 , the raids launched over the next two years were relatively minor affairs the first great invasion of the new reign occurred in 788 , when a large expeditionary force crossed the Cilician Gates into the Anatolic Theme . Although the raid is not mentioned in Arabic sources , its description by the Byzantine chronicler Theophanes the Confessor points to a major invasion , as it was confronted by the forces of the two most powerful Byzantine thematic armies , those of the Anatolic Theme itself and of the Opsician Theme . The site of the battle is called Kopidnadon in Theophanes , a name otherwise unattested . Modern scholars , beginning with Henri Grgoire in 1932 , have identified it with the town of unk , on the western exit of the Cilician Gates . According to the brief account of Theophanes , the battle ended in a bloody defeat for the Byzantines , who lost many men and officers , including members of the tagma of the Scholai who had been banished to the provinces by Irene in 786 for their continued support of Iconoclasm . Theophanes also singles out the loss of the capable officer Diogenes , a tourmarches ( division commander ) of the Anatolics . Impact The immediate impact of the Byzantine defeat seems to have been negligible losses were heavy but not unbearable , and the level of devastation of the region seems to have been minimal . In material terms , there is therefore little to distinguish the defeat at Kopidnadon from the typical Arab raid . It marks , however , a recommencement of large scale border warfare after the relative lull since 782 , which continued unabated until Harun 's death in 809 and the subsequent Abbasid civil war . Perhaps the most long term consequence of the battle was the death of the tourmarches Diogenes by virtue of his unusual prominence in Theophanes 's account , Henri Grgoire identified this Diogenes with the original archetype for the later epic hero Digenes Akritas .
|
554 | Hurricane Philippe was a short lived hurricane that formed over the Atlantic in September during the 2005 Atlantic hurricane season . Philippe was the sixteenth named storm and ninth hurricane of the season . Hurricane Philippe initially formed to the east of the Lesser Antilles on September 17 and moved to the north strengthening as it did so . Philippe became a hurricane on September 18 and stayed as such for two days before increasing wind shear from a non tropical system took its toll on September 20 and weakened Philippe into a tropical storm . Philippe continued to weaken as it looped around this low and was absorbed by it on September 23 . Meteorological history On September 9 a tropical wave moved off the African coast and moved west into the Atlantic . It started to become more organized on September 13 and the National Hurricane Center began to watch it closely for further development . Tropical Depression Seventeen formed from the wave on September 17 when it was 350 miles ( 560 km ) east of Barbados . The depression strengthened further to become Tropical Storm Philippe that evening , and the official forecasts correctly indicated that Philippe would move northwards and not approach the Lesser Antilles despite climatology suggesting an impact on the islands . Philippe continued to steadily strengthen , becoming a hurricane late on September 18 as it traveled north in a low shear environment and some models suggested that this trend would continue and Philippe would go on to become a major hurricane . However Philippe began to encounter higher wind shear from a non tropical low , the development of which partly resulted from Hurricane Rita 's outflow . As a result of this shear Philippe 's winds only managed to reach a peak of 80 mph ( 130 km h ) before Philippe weakened back into a tropical storm on September 20 . Philippe moved farther north skirting the low and Philippe continued to weaken gradually . The official forecast did not predict this , primarily as a result of some models indicating a reintensification to hurricane status . Philippe began to loop around the center of the non tropical system , weakening as it did so . As Philippe turned towards Bermuda it weakened into a tropical depression on September 22 . The depression degenerated into a remnant low the next day and this remnant continued to loop cyclonically and could be tracked for a further day or two within the circulation of the non tropical system . Preparations , impact , and naming Despite forming fairly close to the Lesser Antilles , no tropical cyclone warnings were issued for the islands , as the official forecast correctly foresaw that Philippe would stay well to the east . A tropical storm warning was issued for Bermuda on September 23 , but proved redundant when Philippe dissipated well to the south of the island . The storm still brought gusty winds and moisture to the island , with 0 . 15 inches ( 3 . 8 mm ) of precipitation reported on September 23 . The circulation that absorbed Philippe dropped light rainfall on the island , and was responsible for the lowest barometric pressure during the month . When Tropical Storm Philippe formed on September 17 , it was the earliest ever in the season that the sixteenth storm formed , beating the previous record held by Storm 16 of the 1933 season by 10 days .
|
555 | Farm to Market Road 1957 ( FM 1957 ) , is a Farm to Market Road in the U.S. state of Texas . Located in Medina and Bexar counties , the 15 . 983 mile long ( 25 . 722 km ) highway serves as an arterial street through the growing western suburbs of San Antonio . FM 1957 is known as Potranco Road within Bexar County , and is legislatively defined as Urban Road 1957 ( UR 1957 ) east of Loop 1604 . The modern routing of this highway was originally defined in 1954 . Since then , FM 1957 's western terminus has been extended to FM 471 near Rio Medina , and the entire routing along Culebra Road was transferred to FM 3487 . Before the current routing was established , FM 1957 was also the designation for a highway in Borden County from 1951 to 1954 , now part of FM 1610 . Route description FM 1957 begins at FM 471 near Rio Medina , as a two lane country road . It then traverses mostly rural , undeveloped land , before reaching the Bexar Medina county line , where it becomes Potranco Road . In far western Bexar County , Potranco Road travels through recently built , patchy , residential developments . Development becomes somewhat heavier after the highway passes State Highway 211 ( SH 211 ) , but FM 1957 still displays mostly rural characteristics until the highway reaches Loop 1604 , at which point it enters the San Antonio city limits . Now five lanes wide , with two lanes in each direction and a center turn lane , the legislative definition of FM 1957 becomes UR 1957 however , Potranco Road remains signed as FM 1957 . The highway continues eastward , serving residential developments , commercial outlets , and John Paul Stevens High School . It intersects with SH 151 , where development once again becomes patchy . The most notable development along this stretch of Potranco is a National Security Agency data center . State maintenance ends at an intersection with FM 3487 ( Culebra Road ) , slightly west of Interstate 410 ( I 410 ) . Potranco Road continues as a city street until Ingram Road . History Previous designation FM 1957 was formerly designated as a highway in Borden County , defined in 1951 . This road traveled from U.S. Highway 180 near Gail to a nearby school , a distance of 8 . 5 miles ( 13 . 7 km ) . The former FM 1957 was combined with FM 1610 in 1954 . Current designation The present day FM 1957 was defined in 1954 . The original routing was along Culebra Road from its intersection with Grissom Road ( FM 471 ) to Potranco Road , which it followed to the Medina County line , a distance of 13 . 8 miles ( 22 . 2 km ) . The highway gained a 0 . 1 mile ( 0 . 16 km ) spur connection to Loop 13 ( present day I 410 ) in 1956 . The following year , FM 1957 was extended to its present western terminus , at FM 471 near Rio Medina . This added 5 . 3 miles ( 8 . 5 km ) to the highway . In 1988 , the entire routing along Culebra Road was transferred to the newly created FM 3487 . The Texas Department of Transportation ( TxDOT ) started defining urban roads in 1995 , at which time the segment of FM 1957 east of Loop 1604 , measuring 5 . 4 miles ( 8 . 7 km ) , was transferred to the newly defined UR 1957 . Despite the change in legal definition , UR 1957 continues to be signed as FM 1957 . FM 3487 was removed from the state highway system on December 18 , 2014 . Junction list
|
556 | M 104 is a state trunkline highway in the US state of Michigan in the Western Michigan region of the state . It runs from Ferrysburg to Nunica in Ottawa County , passing through Spring Lake . The highway serves as a connector between Interstate 96 ( I 96 ) and US Highway 31 ( US 31 ) , helping connect Grand Haven with the Grand Rapids metro area . A related Connector 104 runs between the M 104 and US 31 in Ferrysburg . During the 1920s and 1930s , a different highway bore the M 104 designation . The current highway was previously a section of US 16 until 1940 when that designation was shifted to a road going from Nunica to Muskegon the orphaned highway was redesignated M 104 at the same time . Since then , two routing changes have caused short segments to be transferred to local control and removed from the highway . Route description The western terminus of M 104 is at US 31 in Ferrysburg at the north end of the drawbridge spanning the Grand River north of Grand Haven . The highway runs along Savidge Street and crosses a bridge over the channel that connect the river with Spring Lake . On the opposite shore , the trunkline continues along Savidge Street , running between the river to its south and the lake to its north . M 104 crosses the central business area of the village of Spring Lake . East of downtown , the highway transitions to follow Cleveland Street which continues due east to Nunica . The landscape becomes more rural east of Spring Lake where the highway crosses terrain with a mix of open fields and woods . There are various businesses and homes that line the roadway . The eastern terminus of M 104 is located at the exit 9 interchange along I 96 just west of Nunica . Like other state highways in Michigan , M 104 is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) . In 2011 , the department 's traffic surveys showed that on average , 20 , 663 vehicles used the highway daily in near the western terminus in Ferrysburg and 8 , 018 vehicles did so each day near the eastern terminus near Nunica , the highest and lowest counts along the highway , respectively . No section of M 104 is listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History Previous designation From 1927 until 1939 , the first M 104 followed a gravel road from M 47 ( now M 52 ) at Pittsburg , through unk , to DeWitt , and the current M 104 was originally part of US 16 . Current designation In 1940 , a rerouting of US 16 eliminated M 126 between Nunica and Muskegon the previous routing of US 16 between Nunica and Ferrysburg was redesignated M 104 at this time . This highway designation was truncated on November 25 , 1961 , after the I 96 US 16 freeway opened , and the section of M 104 between the freeway and the old US 16 routing was transferred to local control . Another short segment of the highway was bypassed when a new bridge was built between Spring Lake and Ferrysburg in 1965 . Major intersections The entire highway is in Ottawa County . Related trunkline Connector 104 is an unsigned trunkline in Ferrysburg that runs north along Pine Street and west along 3rd Street to connect exit 104B on US 31 to M 104 . According to MDOT , 14 , 231 vehicles used the trunkline on average each day .
|
557 | Strobilomyces foveatus is a little known species of fungus in the Boletaceae family . It was first reported by mycologist E.J.H. Corner in 1972 , from specimens he collected in Malaysia in 1959 , and has since been found in Australia . Fruit bodies are characterized by the small dark brown to black conical scales covering the cap , and the net like pattern of ridges on the upper stem . The roughly spherical spores measure about eight micrometres , and are densely covered with slender conical spines . The edibility of this species is unknown . Taxonomy and classification Strobilomyces foveatus was first described scientifically by mycologist E.J.H. Corner in 1972 , from specimens collected in Sarawak , Malaysia in 1959 . It was one of several new Strobilomyces species he described in his monograph of Malaysian Boletaceae the others were S. annulatus , S. unk , and S. mollis . The fungus is classified in the section Strobilomyces of the genus Strobilomyces . Species in this section are characterized by having spores that may be either smooth or with short spines or warts , ridges or reticulations . The ornamentation is reduced or absent in the suprahilar region ( a depressed area near the hilar appendage ) . The specific epithet foveatus is derived from the Latin adjective unk , referring to a surface with pits or depressions . Description The caps of the fruit bodies are between 7 to 10 cm ( 2 . 8 to 3 . 9 in ) wide , with a convex shape . The cap surface is covered with dark brown to black erect scales between 1 . 5 3 by 1 . 5 2 . 5 mm . The stem is up to 12 cm ( 4 . 7 in ) long it is 1 . 2 cm ( 0 . 5 in ) thick at the top , and 1 . 5 cm ( 0 . 6 in ) thick at the bottom . The surface of the upper stem is strongly reticulate ( covered with a network like pattern ) with individual meshes about 2 4 mm wide and 1 2 mm deep . The pores on the underside of the cap are between 0 . 5 1 mm wide , dirty white then gray , and they bruise a brownish black color . The tubes which make up the pores are up to 1 . 2 cm ( 0 . 47 in ) long . The flesh is thick and initially white , but will stain a brownish black after exposure to the air . The spores are 8 10 by 6 . 3 8 . 3 m , and densely covered with slender conical spines about 0 . 5 m tall . The abundant pleurocystidia ( large sterile cells found on gill faces ) are thin walled , measuring up to 90 m long by 1 20 m wide , and ventricose ( with a swelling on one side ) , with a narrow appendage up to 20 m by 4 8 m . The hyphae that make up the cap surface and the warts are branched , loosely interwoven , and sooty colored the unclamped cells typically measure 17 45 by 9 26 m . The surface of the stem is made of a compact mat of hyphae roughly 120 m thick , that reduces to a sterile hymenium in the upper part of the stem . Corner notes that the species may be identical with Strobilomyces unk unk , an African species with spores that measure 9 . 5 13 by 6 . 3 8 . 3 m . Habitat and distribution Corner collected specimens growing in humus on the forest floor , in Bako National Park ( 1 43 N 110 28 E ) in Sarawak , Malaysia , in northern Borneo . It has also been collected from southern Queensland in Australia . Although it is not known definitively for Strobilomyces foveatus , all Strobilomyces species are suspected to be mycorrhizal .
|
558 | Mon Calamari cruisers are starships in the fictional Star Wars universe . These starships were first depicted in Return of the Jedi as part of the Rebel Alliance fleet that attacks the second Death Star . Industrial Light and Magic designed the vessels to visually contrast the Imperial Star Destroyers . Various Mon Calamari cruisers also appear in literature and video games of the Star Wars expanded universe . Replicas , toys and other depictions of the ships have been released by several merchandise companies . Origin and design Industrial Light and Magic ( ILM ) created two Mon Calamari cruiser designs the cylindrical Home One command ship and a winged model identified in the Expanded Universe as the Liberty , which would have its wings removed and thrusters modified to portray another subtype . The ships were designed to be as aesthetically different from the Imperial Star Destroyers as possible , although the filming crew disliked the pickle ships due to the models ' unflattering angles . The ships ' design precluded ILM 's modelmakers from kitbashing other models to create the ships the model was largely unk . Internal neon lights provided lighting , and detail was painted on by using the second Death Star model 's exposed framework as a makeshift unk . Depiction According to Expanded Universe material , the peaceful Mon Calamari converted their passenger liners into warships to support the rebellion against the Galactic Empire . Expanded Universe texts state that the ships are crewed almost entirely by Mon Calamari due to the ships ' Mon Calamari oriented controls and interface . The primary opponent of Mon Calamari cruisers are the Imperial Star Destroyers . Although Mon Calamari cruisers are roughly the same size as most Imperial Destroyers , in head to head engagements the Mon Calamari cruisers are usually at a disadvantage , due to their thinner armor . Even so , Mon Calamari cruisers are still a formidable threat to the Imperial fleet their large numbers of fighter squadrons , modular weapons systems and overlapping shields make them ideal for hit and run attacks on Imperial ships , bases , and military outposts . In Return of the Jedi , Admiral Ackbar ( Timothy M. Rose ) leads the Rebels during the Battle of Endor from the Mon Calamari cruiser Home One although that ship survives , the Death Star 's unk destroys other Mon Calamari cruisers , including the Liberty . The franchise 's books , comics , and video games describe and depict other Mon Calamari cruisers and successor designs , such as the Mediator class battle cruisers and Viscount class Star Defenders in R.A. Salvatore 's Vector Prime . Merchandise A 1994 Micro Machines three pack included a winged Mon Calamari cruiser toy , and a 1996 three pack included the other variety . Hasbro in 2003 planned to release a Mon Calamari cruiser as part of its Action Fleet collection but they cancelled the line before producing it . Decipher and Wizards of the Coast published Mon Calamari cruiser cards for the Star Wars Customizable Card Game and Star Wars Trading Card Game , respectively . In 2006 , Wizards of the Coast created a Mon Calamari Star Defender miniature as part of its Star Wars Miniatures Starship Battles game . Mon Calamari cruisers are player controllable units in LucasArts ' Empire at War real time strategy .
|
559 | The Psychology of The Simpsons D 'oh is a non fiction book analyzing psychology themes in the television series The Simpsons . It contains content from several contributors , including psychologists , counselors and school therapists . The book was edited by Alan S. Brown , Ph.D. , and Chris Logan , and was published on March 1 , 2006 by BenBella Books . It has received praise from reviewers . Background The book was published on March 1 , 2006 by BenBella Books , and is part of their Psychology of Popular Culture Series , or Smart Pop for short . Other books in the series include works which analyze psychology and pop culture themes as related to Superman , the X Men , and The Matrix . The BenBella psychology series was inspired by a similar pop philosophy series from publisher Open Court Publishing Company . The editors of the book were Alan S. Brown , Ph.D. , and Chris Logan . Brown is a professor of psychology , and Logan is a lecturer in the field . The book is meant to appeal both to fans of The Simpsons , and academic students of psychology . Content The book contains content from twenty nine contributors , including psychologists , counselors , teachers and school therapists . It also includes content from Brown and Logan . General topics discussed in the work include family , alcohol abuse , relationships , self esteem , sex and gender , and personality . Specific topics in the field of psychology include clinical psychology , cognition , abnormal psychology , evolutionary psychology , gambling addiction , Pavlovian conditioning and family therapy . Contributor Denis M. McCarthy , assistant professor of psychology at the University of Missouri , analyzes risk factors for alcoholism presented in The Simpsons . McCarthy cites Bart 's passive avoidance learning as a risk factor , and notes that Maggie is at a high risk for substance abuse due to violent tendencies . Though each chapter contains material comparing The Simpsons episodes to academic psychology themes , the chapter titles are less serious , including Which One of Us is Truly Crazy and Looking For Mr. Smarty Pants . Editor Chris Logan explained The book s content is very serious , but it 's not presented in an overly serious way . The Simpsons Archive also described the balance between humor and academia in the book , noting Fortunately , despite numerous references to various psychological theories and academic studies , the essays steer clear of becoming too serious , and manage to stay entertaining throughout the book . Reception The book was received favorably in a publication of Southern Methodist University . In the introduction to an interview with one of the book 's editors , the interviewer noted Get past the goofy cover , with its illustration of Homer s unk and TV saturated brain , and you find analysis aimed at both TV viewers and students of psychology . The book also received positive mention in The Times , where Andrew Billen wrote I can commend D 'Oh The Psychology of The Simpsons and Reading The Sopranos , since both shows are sturdy enough to support the intellectual studies . An article at The Simpsons Archive also wrote positively of the work The connection to the show and its events is solid and psychological points are illustrated using explanatory snippets from the Simpsons .
|
560 | The Psychology of The Simpsons D 'oh is a non fiction book analyzing psychology themes in the television series The Simpsons . It contains content from several contributors , including psychologists , counselors and school therapists . The book was edited by Alan S. Brown , Ph.D. , and Chris Logan , and was published on March 1 , 2006 by BenBella Books . It has received praise from reviewers . Background The book was published on March 1 , 2006 by BenBella Books , and is part of their Psychology of Popular Culture Series , or Smart Pop for short . Other books in the series include works which analyze psychology and pop culture themes as related to Superman , the X Men , and The Matrix . The BenBella psychology series was inspired by a similar pop philosophy series from publisher Open Court Publishing Company . The editors of the book were Alan S. Brown , Ph.D. , and Chris Logan . Brown is a professor of psychology , and Logan is a lecturer in the field . The book is meant to appeal both to fans of The Simpsons , and academic students of psychology . Content The book contains content from twenty nine contributors , including psychologists , counselors , teachers and school therapists . It also includes content from Brown and Logan . General topics discussed in the work include family , alcohol abuse , relationships , self esteem , sex and gender , and personality . Specific topics in the field of psychology include clinical psychology , cognition , abnormal psychology , evolutionary psychology , gambling addiction , Pavlovian conditioning and family therapy . Contributor Denis M. McCarthy , assistant professor of psychology at the University of Missouri , analyzes risk factors for alcoholism presented in The Simpsons . McCarthy cites Bart 's passive avoidance learning as a risk factor , and notes that Maggie is at a high risk for substance abuse due to violent tendencies . Though each chapter contains material comparing The Simpsons episodes to academic psychology themes , the chapter titles are less serious , including Which One of Us is Truly Crazy and Looking For Mr. Smarty Pants . Editor Chris Logan explained The book s content is very serious , but it 's not presented in an overly serious way . The Simpsons Archive also described the balance between humor and academia in the book , noting Fortunately , despite numerous references to various psychological theories and academic studies , the essays steer clear of becoming too serious , and manage to stay entertaining throughout the book . Reception The book was received favorably in a publication of Southern Methodist University . In the introduction to an interview with one of the book 's editors , the interviewer noted Get past the goofy cover , with its illustration of Homer s unk and TV saturated brain , and you find analysis aimed at both TV viewers and students of psychology . The book also received positive mention in The Times , where Andrew Billen wrote I can commend D 'Oh The Psychology of The Simpsons and Reading The Sopranos , since both shows are sturdy enough to support the intellectual studies . An article at The Simpsons Archive also wrote positively of the work The connection to the show and its events is solid and psychological points are illustrated using explanatory snippets from the Simpsons .
|
561 | Bergen Air Transport AS is an airline based at Bergen Airport , Flesland in Norway . In addition to charter aviation and an aviation workshop , it offers a scheduled service between Bergen and Notodden Airport , Tuven . The airline operates two Beechcraft unk King Air aircraft and one Cessna Citation CJ2 . The airline was established in 1998 , offering seaplane charter flights using Cessna 421 aircraft . The service to Notodden started in 2000 a Cessna 441 was acquired in 2003 , and from 2006 the company has used two Beechcraft . The company is owned by Geir unk and Hkon Lie Nielsen . Operation The airline operates two 12 seat Beechcraft King Air unk aircraft , and one seven seat Cessna Citation CJ2 executive jet . It has its main operational base at Bergen Airport , Flesland , but also has facilities at Notodden Airport , Tuven . The company has ten pilots its main services are private charter and aviation mechanical services , but the company also operates a single scheduled service , with six weekly round trips between Bergen and Notodden . In 2011 , it had a revenue of NOK 31 . 0 million and a NOK 0 . 25 million profit . History Bergen Air Transport was founded in 1998 by Geir unk and Hkon Lie Nielsen , and commenced operations the following year . Initial operations consisted of charter services , using a Cessna 421B . In 2000 , the company replaced this aircraft with a Cessna unk , and started the scheduled route between Bergen and Notodden using the six seat aircraft . In 2000 , the company had eleven employees and NOK 2 . 6 million in revenue . To begin with , it made four round trips per week , but in 2001 it chose to increase to five , after experiencing high cabin loads . It transported 1 , 000 passengers in 2000 , and 1 , 500 the following year . During the summer of 2002 , the company also attempted to fly from Notodden to Kristiansund Airport , Kvernberget , but was forced to give up due to lack of passengers . A hangar was built at Bergen Airport in 2003 , and at the same time the airline was certified as a mechanical aviation workshop . The following year , the Cessna 421 was replaced with a Cessna 441 Conquest II . In 2006 , two Beechcraft King Air were bought , and the last Cessna sold . On 20 November 2003 , Notodden Airport was closed for all scheduled traffic by the Norwegian Civil Aviation Authority , due to a lack of safety requirements . Bergen Air Transport was forced to reroute all its aircraft to Skien Airport , Geiteryggen . Following an investment of NOK 500 , 000 from the airline and NOK 1 . 2 million from the municipality , which owns the airport , scheduled services commenced again . From 1 October 2004 , NOK 250 , 000 was invested at Notodden Airport . Starting in October 2004 , the airline also introduced security control of all passengers at Notodden Airport . In 2005 , the company had a revenue of NOK 10 . 3 million this increased to NOK 20 . 1 million in 2006 , giving a profit of NOK 2 . 8 million , when the airline transported 2 , 841 passengers . In September 2007 , the company bought a new hangar at Notodden , giving it ample space for expansion , and new arrival and departure facilities . At the same time , the airline bought its first jet , a Cessna Citation CJ2 . That year saw the airline transport unk passengers on 552 flights on the Bergen Notodden route .
|
562 | Tzachas ( Greek unk ) , also known as Chaka Bey ( Turkish unk Bey ) was an 11th century Seljuk Turkish military commander who ruled an independent state based in Smyrna ( present day Izmir ) . Originally in Byzantine service , he rebelled and seized Smyrna , much of the Aegean coastlands of Asia Minor and the islands lying off shore in 1088 91 . At the peak of his power , he even declared himself Byzantine emperor , and sought to assault Constantinople in conjunction with the Pechenegs . In 1092 , a Byzantine naval expedition under John Doukas inflicted a heavy defeat on him and retook Lesbos , while in the next year he was treacherously slain by his son in law Kilij Arslan I. Smyrna and the rest of Tzachas ' former domain were recovered by the Byzantines a few years later , in c . 1097 . Life Very little is known about his life , and that mostly from only one source , the Alexiad of the Byzantine princess Anna Komnene , daughter of Emperor Alexios I Komnenos ( r . 1081 1118 ) . He is also mentioned in the 13th century unk , but it is not a very reliable source due to the semi legendary nature of its material . According to the Alexiad , Tzachas was originally a raider , who was taken as a prisoner by the Byzantines during the reign of Nikephoros III Botaneiates ( ruled 1078 81 ) . Tzachas entered Byzantine service and advanced rapidly through imperial favour , receiving the title of unk and rich gifts . However , when Alexios I Komnenos deposed Botaneiates in 1081 , Tzachas lost his position and fled Byzantium . From ca . 1088 on , he used his base at Smyrna to wage war against the Byzantines . Employing Christian craftsmen , he built a fleet , with which he captured Phocaea and the eastern Aegean islands of Lesbos ( except for the fortress of Methymna ) , Samos , Chios and Rhodes . A Byzantine fleet under Niketas unk was sent against him , but Tzachas defeated it in battle . Some modern scholars have speculated that his activities during this time may have been in conjunction , and perhaps even coordination , with two contemporary Byzantine Greek rebels , Rhapsomates in Cyprus , and Karykes in Crete . In 1090 91 , the Byzantines under Constantine Dalassenos recovered Chios . Undeterred , Tzachas rebuilt his forces , and resumed his attacks , even proclaiming himself emperor ( basileus ) and seeking to conclude an alliance against Alexios I with the Pechenegs in Thrace for a joint attack on Constantinople . In 1092 , Dalassenos and the new megas doux , John Doukas , were sent against Tzachas , and attacked the fortress of Mytilene on Lesbos . Tzachas resisted for three months , but finally had to negotiate a surrender of the fortress . During his return to Smyrna , Dalassenos attacked the Turkish fleet , which was almost destroyed . In spring 1093 , Tzachas attacked the port of Abydos in the Sea of Marmara . Alexios I called upon the Sultan of the Seljuk Sultanate of Rum Kilij Arslan I ( r . 1092 1107 ) , who was married to Tzachas 's daughter and was thus his son in law , to attack Tzachas from the rear . The Sultan advanced to Abydos , where , at the pretext of inviting Tzachas to a banquet , he had his father in law murdered . However , in ca . 1097 a Tzachas possibly the original Tzachas ' son is reported as still holding Smyrna when the Byzantine army under John Doukas recaptured the city .
|
563 | The Witch 's Tales was a pulp magazine edited by Tom Chadburn which published two issues in November and December 1936 . It was a companion to a radio program , called The Witch 's Tale , which had begun broadcasting in May 1931 . With the exception of the lead story in each issue , all the stories were reprints from the American edition of Pearson 's Magazine . Alonzo Deen Cole , who wrote the radio series , contributed one lead story , and provided the plot for the other . The authors of the reprint stories included George Daulton , unk Allan Curtis , William Hamilton Osborne , and John C. Haywood . Publication history and contents The Witch 's Tale was a radio program that began on American radio in May 1931 . A weekly anthology show , it was the first radio horror program , and soon became quite popular . In 1936 , the magazine The Witch 's Tales appeared as a companion to it , perhaps inspired by The Shadow , a successful pulp magazine which had also been launched as the companion of a radio program of the same name . The Witch 's Tales was published by The Carwood Publishing Co . , a small and relatively inexperienced firm . The named editor of the magazine was Alonzo Deen Cole , who wrote the radio episodes , but the editorial work was actually done by Tom Chadburn . Having both a pulp magazine and radio show act as vehicles for Cole 's work is an early example of the 21st century 's media industry 's approach , with content tied together across more than one media platform , but although Street Smith demonstrated that this could be done successfully for The Shadow , Carwood did little to promote the radio show in the magazine , probably because of their inexperience . Only one more issue appeared , the following month it is unlikely that the publisher could have received sales data on the first issue by that time , so there may have been reasons other than poor sales for the magazine 's short run , perhaps including weak financing and distribution . The first issue , dated November 1936 , led with The Madman , a story by Cole about a mad scientist . Cole 's work also appeared in the second issue with Mrs. Hawker 's Will . Originally an episode Cole had written for the radio show , it was adapted from the script for the magazine by Laurence D. Smith . All the other stories , from both issues , were reprinted from the American edition of Pearson 's Magazine . These included The Monster of Lake unk , by unk Allan Curtis , from 1899 The Fountain of Youth , by William Hamilton Osborne , and Phantom of the Links , by John C. Haywood , both from 1906 and The Death Trap , by George Daulton , which had originally appeared in 1908 . The reprints were good stories , in the opinion of Mike Ashley , and they often had science fiction themes Curtis 's story involved the transplant of a man 's brain into the body of a prehistoric monster . Despite the relatively high quality of the material , the stories were not action oriented enough to have pleased a typical pulp magazine reader of the era . Bibliographic details The magazine 's two issues were dated November and December 1936 , and numbered as a single volume of two issues . The publisher was The Carwood Publishing Co . , of New York , and the editor was Tom Chadburn . The magazine was in bedsheet format , with 48 pages , and was priced at 15 cents .
|
564 | Federico Pea Boulevard , named for former Denver Mayor Federico Pea , is a 11 . 1 mile long ( 17 . 9 km ) freeway located in Adams County and the City and County of Denver , Colorado . The freeway , which opened in 1993 , provides the primary vehicular access into Denver International Airport which opened at the same time . Pea Boulevard begins as an extension of Airport Boulevard in Aurora at an interchange with Interstate 70 ( I 70 ) and travels north , then east to end at the airport , with an intermediate interchange with the E 470 tollway . Route description Denver International Airport 's access highway Pea Boulevard begins at an interchange with I 70 in Aurora as a northern continuation of Airport Boulevard . The first highway interchange is at East 40th Avenue , which also provides traffic access to and from to Aurora 's Airport Boulevard running to the south . Travelers leaving the airport use this exit for access to eastbound I 70 through the adjacent Airport Boulevard I 70 interchange . Travelers inbound to the airport from I 70 East do not have access to the first interchange . Continuing north , the highway leaves Aurora and passes into the Denver Gateway area , Aurora 's Gateway Park development is adjacent . An interchange with Green Valley Ranch Boulevard provides access to the neighborhood of the same name . The East 56th Avenue interchange is the final exit along Pea Boulevard before it turns east near the Rocky Mountain Arsenal National Wildlife Refuge , and reaches the interchange with Tower Road , which serves several airport hotels . A full cloverleaf interchange with the tolled E 470 , which E 470 provides an alternate North South route to I 25 for travelers wishing to bypass on the eastern side of Metropolitan Denver area . E 470 also intersects I 70 and has a ten mile per hour ( 16 km h ) higher speed limit than Pea Boulevard . The interchange with E 470 is the easternmost exit before entering Denver International Airport . Once inside airport grounds , the freeway intersects the car rental return area , and connects to the parking garages and terminal access roads . The segment of the freeway between I 70 and E 470 is listed on the National Highway System ( NHS ) , a system of roads that are important to the nation 's economy , defense and mobility . The portion between E 470 and the airport is listed as a MAP 21 NHS Principal Arterial . History Construction of the 18 million ( equivalent to 38 million in 2015 ) freeway , which opened in 1995 , was halted for six weeks during summer 1992 due to a family of burrowing owls living in the right of way near the interchange at 56th Avenue . Ten thousand people were employed during the construction of the airport and the connecting freeway . Originally the toll booths that served the parking lots were located 3 . 5 mi ( 5 . 6 km ) from the entrance to the airport causing delays for persons just dropping off people at the airport . The toll booth was removed in 2000 , and new booths were installed at the exits of the airport parking garages . Pea Boulevard was named for Federico Pea because he was very influential in bringing about the construction of Denver International Airport . Future Construction of a westbound ramp from Tower Road is in the design process with an opening expected in 2018 . Exit list
|
565 | Vesuvio was a protected cruiser of the Italian Regia Marina ( Royal Navy ) built in the 1880s . She was the third member of the Etna class , which included three sister ships . Named for the volcano Mount Vesuvius , the ship 's keel was laid down in July 1883 . She was launched in March 1886 and was commissioned into the fleet in March 1888 . She was armed with a main battery of two 10 inch ( 254 mm ) and six 6 inch ( 152 mm ) guns , and could steam at a speed of around 17 knots ( 31 km h 20 mph ) . Her career was relatively uneventful the only significant action in which she took part was the campaign against the Boxer Rebellion in China in 1900 . She was stricken from the naval register in May 1911 and sold for scrap in 1915 . Design Vesuvio was 283 feet 6 inches ( 86 . 4 m ) between perpendiculars , with a beam of 42 feet 6 inches ( 13 . 0 m ) . She had a mean draft of 19 feet ( 5 . 8 m ) and displaced 3 , 373 long tons ( 3 , 427 t ) . Her crew numbered 12 officers and 296 men . The ship had two horizontal compound steam engines , each driving a single propeller , with steam provided by four double ended cylindrical boilers . Vesuvio was credited with a top speed of 17 knots ( 31 km h 20 mph ) from 6 , 820 indicated horsepower ( 5 , 090 kW ) . She had a cruising radius of 5 , 000 nautical miles ( 9 , 300 km 5 , 800 mi ) at a speed of 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . The main armament of the ships consisted of two Armstrong 10 inch ( 254 mm ) , 30 caliber breech loading guns mounted in barbettes fore and aft . She was also equipped with six 6 inch ( 152 mm ) , 32 caliber , breech loading guns that were carried in sponsons along the sides of the ship . For anti torpedo boat defense , Vesuvio was fitted with five 57 millimeter ( 2 . 2 in ) 6 pounder Hotchkiss guns and five 37 millimeter ( 1 . 5 in ) 1 pounder Hotchkiss guns . Vesuvio was also armed with four 14 inch ( 356 mm ) torpedo tubes . One was mounted in the bow underwater and the other three were above water . She was protected with an armored deck below the waterline with a maximum thickness of 1 . 5 inches ( 38 mm ) . The conning tower had .5 in ( 13 mm ) worth of armor plating . Service history Vesuvio was built by the Livorno shipyard , with her keel being laid down on 10 July 1883 . Her completed hull was launched on 21 March 1886 , and after fitting out work was finished , she was commissioned into the Italian fleet on 16 March 1888 . Vesuvio and her sisters Stromboli and Ettore Fieramosca participated in the 1893 naval maneuvers as part of the Squadron of Maneuvers , which was tasked with defending against the Permanent Squadron . Vesuvio was placed in reserve for 1896 , though she was reactivated to take part on the naval maneuvers at the end of the year . During these maneuvers , she was assigned to a force tasked with defending against a simulated French fleet . In 1900 , she and Ettore Fieramosca were sent to Chinese waters to assist in the suppression of the Boxer Rebellion as part of the Eight Nation Alliance . Both ships were formally assigned to the Cruising Squadron in Chinese waters in 1901 . During 1901 , she made stops in Shanghai , Wusong , and Hong Kong . After a second deployment to the Far East from 1906 to 1909 , Vesuvio was placed in reserve , struck from the Navy List on 11 May 1911 and sold for scrap in 1915 .
|
566 | The Chausath Yogini Temple , Morena ( Hindi unk unk ) , an ancient temple , also known as unk Mahadeva Temple ( Hindi unk unk unk ) , unk on plan located in Morena district in the Indian state of Madhya Pradesh , is one of the few such Yogini temples in the country which is in a very good condition . The temple is formed by a circular wall with 64 chambers and an open mandapa in the centre , separated by a courtyard , which is circular in shape , where Lord Shiva is deified It is believed that the Parliament House , known as unk Bhavan , built in Delhi in the 1920s , has been patterned on the lines of this circular shaped Chausath Yogini Temple , dated to 1323 AD . The temple has been declared as an ancient historical monument by the Archaeological Survey of India . Location The temple is located on a hill which is about 100 feet ( 30 m ) in height and there are 100 steps to climb leading to the entrance of the temple . It is in the unk village ( also spelled unk or unk ) , near unk in Morena district . The temple is well connected by road , rail and air services . The nearest rail head is Morena which is 15 kilometres ( 9 . 3 mi ) away . The nearest airport is at Gwalior , which is 40 kilometres ( 25 mi ) away . History According to an inscription dated to 1323 AD ( Vikram Samvat 1383 ) , the temple was built by Maharaja unk in 8th century . It is said that the temple was the venue of providing education in astrology and mathematics based on the transit of the Sun . The Archaeological Survey of India has declared the temple as an ancient and historical monument under Act No . LXXI of 1951 , unk 11 1951 . Features The temple is externally circular in shape with a radius of 170 feet ( 52 m ) and within its interior part it has 64 small chambers , each with a mandapa which is open and a facia of pilasters and pillars . The roof of the entire structure is flat including that of another east facing circular temple within the outer circular wall . A large passage or courtyard lies between the outer enclosure and the central temple which is dedicated to Lord Shiva . There is an open porch entrance to this temple . The exterior surface of the outer wall has carvings of Hindu deities . Each of the 64 chambers in the outer circle has an image of Shiva deified in it . However , recent investigations have confirmed that originally these had a Yogini image deified in them and hence the temple is known as Chausath Yogini Temple ( ' Chausath ' here means Sixty four ) . It is said that the roof over the 64 chambers and the central shrine had towers or shikharas which were probably removed during later modifications . Within the main central shrine there are slab coverings which have perforations in them to drain rainwater to a large underground storage . The pipe lines from the roof lead the rain water to the storage are also visible . The temple needs conservation measures to preserve the ancient monument in good shape . The design of the temple has withstood earthquake shocks , without any damage to its circular structural features , in the past several centuries . The temple is in the Seismic Zone III . This fact was cited when the issue of safety from earthquake effect of the Parliament House which is also a circular structure , similar to the Chausath Yogini Temple , was debated in the Indian Parliament .
|
567 | Kayla Clarke ( born 6 August 1991 ) is an Australian swimmer who represented Australia at the 2012 Summer Paralympics in swimming , and has medalled at the 2010 Australian Disability Age Group Nationals , and 2010 International Paralympic Swimming World Championships , 2009 Queensland State Championships , 2009 Queensland Secondary School Titles , and 2009 Global Games . She competes in a number of events , including the 100m freestyle , 100m backstroke , 100m breaststroke , 100m butterfly and 200m individual medley . Personal Clarke was born in unk , Queensland . She has an intellectual disability . She attended Ipswich Central High School and Bremer State High School , and was named the 2009 10 Ipswich News unk Sports winner . Swimming Clarke started swimming competitively in 2007 , and competes in the S14 classification . She was a member of the unk Swimming Club , and was coached by Tony Keogh , who became her coach in 2008 . She has a swimming scholarship with the Queensland Academy of Sport , is involved in the Australian Institute of Sport program , and received A 20 , 000 in Australian Government Direct Athlete Support ( DAS ) funds in the 2011 12 financial year . One of her major swimming rivals is fellow Australian swimmer Taylor Corry . At the 2009 Queensland State Championships , she won five gold medals in her classification races . The Queensland Secondary School Titles that year ended with her winning seven first place finishes , and she earned five gold medals , a silver medal two bronze medals at the 2009 Global Games . In 2010 , she won eight gold and two silver medals at Australian Disability Age Group Nationals , and competed in the International Paralympic Swimming World Championships , where she finished second with a personal best time of 1 11 . 13 in the S14 100m backstroke event . She also finished fourth in the 200m freestyle and fifth in the 100m breaststroke . Clarke became affiliated with the Yeronga Park Club in 2011 in an effort to make the Paralympic Games , and switched coaches , taking on Rick Van Der Zant as her new coach . The 2011 Australian national championships saw her win six golds in seven events , including the 100m freestyle , 100m backstroke , 100m breaststroke , 100m butterfly and 200m individual medley . She competed in the inaugural 2011 Para Pan Pacific Championships , where she finished first in the S14 200m freestyle event , and at the 2011 Can Am Swimming Open , in which she posted first place finishes in the 100m backstroke and 200m freestyle events . Clarke was selected to represent Australia at the 2012 Summer Paralympics in the S14 100m backstroke , 200m freestyle and 100m breaststroke events . These were her first Paralympic Games , and she was the only female swimmer from Queensland . Going into the Games , she was ranked second in the world in the 100m backstroke . She trained for the Games in China in order to acclimatise , and participated in a two week long national team training camp in Cardiff prior to the start . Support for her Paralympic efforts came from sponsors including unk Racing and Training Swimwear . She made the finals in all three events , but finished outside the medals , being placed fourth in the 200m freestyle and 100m breaststroke , and sixth in the 100m backstroke . Personal bests Personal bests as of 16 September 2012
|
568 | Great Britain competed at the 2002 Winter Paralympics held in Salt Lake City , Utah , United States , from 7 to 16 March 2002 . The team was able to be made up of athletes from the whole United Kingdom athletes from Northern Ireland , who elected to hold Irish citizenship under the pre 1999 article 2 of the Irish constitution , were eligible to represent either Great Britain or Ireland at the Paralympics . However no Northern Irish athletes took part in the Winter Paralympics until 2010 in Vancouver . In order to be eligible to take part in the Games athletes had to have a disability that fell into one of the six Paralympics disability categories . Two British athletes competed , both in alpine skiing events , and no medals were won . The size of the team was a decrease from that which had entered previous Games , in the 1998 Winter Paralympics 20 British athletes had participated . One reason for this is that whilst funding for the two athletes was provided by the British Paralympic Association , it totalled only 1 , 500 compared to the 4 million worth of funding available to British athletes at the 2002 Winter Olympics . Disability classification Every participant at the Paralympics has their disability grouped into one of five disability categories amputation , the condition may be congenital or sustained through injury or illness cerebral palsy wheelchair athletes , there is often overlap between this and other categories visual impairment , including blindness Les autres , any physical disability that does not fall strictly under one of the other categories , for example dwarfism or multiple sclerosis . Each Paralympic sport then has its own classifications , dependent upon the specific physical demands of competition . Events are given a code , made of numbers and letters , describing the type of event and classification of the athletes competing . Events with B in the code are for athletes with visual impairment , codes LW1 to LW9 are for athletes who stand to compete and LW10 to LW12 are for athletes who compete sitting down . Each different number refers to a different severity of unk and defines the equipment that competitors may use e.g. LW4 is for athletes with a single leg amputation below the knee who compete using two skis and two poles . Alpine skiing Both of Britain 's athletes at the Games competed in alpine skiing events , funding for the two athletes was provided by the British Paralympic Association . Russell Docker , who was paralysed from the waist down following a skiing accident in 1995 , appeared at the Paralympics for the first time and competed in the LW12 classification . He crashed out in the downhill event and failed to complete his other three races . Stephen Napier , who was disabled after being knocked off a motorbike by an unmarked police car in 1995 , also competed in four events in the LW10 classification . His highest finish was sixth in the Super G and he also had three seventh place finishes . In each of his events Napier was the lowest ranked athlete to complete the course . Calculated time To ensure a fair event when athletes with differing disabilities compete , times achieved are sometimes modified by a factor percentage , to produce a result known as Calculated Time . It is this time that decides the result of the races . Actual times recorded is also listed .
|
569 | The Charles Payne House is an historic site at 25 Brown Street in Pawtucket , Rhode Island . The house was built in 1855 56 by Charles Payne and later expanded with the addition of two ells and a porch . The one and a half story Gothic Italianate vernacular cottage is architecturally significant as a 19th century vernacular cottage in a picturesque setting . Though the round head picket fence and entry gates were later removed , the property retains a large shaded garden on with ample street frontage . The Charles Payne House was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1983 . History The house was constructed by Charles Payne , an engraver who founded the firm of Payne Taylor for calico printers in 1849 . In 1849 , Payne unk to purchase parcels of land that he would later construct the house on . The main block of the house was erected in 1855 1856 and later expanded with a north wing in the mid 1870s . The final major addition was an ell on the west side of the house , the date of construction occurred prior to 1902 . Though the house has been the subject of some alterations , these changes are largely inconspicuous . Design The Charles Payne House is a one and a half story Gothic Italianate vernacular cottage that has a spacious garden founded on the site of a long removed house . The house 's gable end faces the street with a rear ell and the other ell perpendicular to the main block on the west side . Centered on the east end of the roof is a cross gable which is visually offset by the dormer on the west . The house has a small gable roofed vestibule on the east side , aligned underneath the cross gable . The rear ell has an attached porch that spans its length . A single story bay hexagonal bay window protrudes from the facade . The distinguishing feature of the Payne house is the wood trim exterior , consisting of hood mould on the paired windows on the south , four kinds of bargeboards and bracketed cornices on the rear ell 's east side . The interior of the Charles Payne House is not covered in detail by any survey , but has three mantelpieces on the first floor , two displaying Gothic Revival influence in their wooden designs and the third , located in the rear ell , made of grey marble with a round head opening . Though not mentioned in the nomination , a photo shows one of the wooden unk filled with brick and rendered unusable at the time . The setting of the house was important to the National Register nomination , which specifically highlighted its shaded garden and fencing . At the time of the nomination , an ornamental round head picket fence surrounded the property and access was through a double leaf lattice work gate . By 2013 , the picket fence and entrance gate had been removed , but the property still retains the street frontage for its garden . Significance According to the National Register of Historic Places , the Charles Payne house is architecturally significance as an unusually picturesque and well preserved example of the small vernacular cottages erected during the middle years of the nineteenth century in Pawtucket . The nominated property included the Charles Payne house , the surrounding yard , fence and garden , all of which contributed to the picturesque setting of the nomination . It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1983 .
|
570 | The Dive Coaster is a steel roller coaster manufactured by Bolliger Mabillard where riders experience a moment of free falling with at least one 90 degree drop . Unlike other roller coasters where the lift hill takes the train directly to the first drop , a Dive Coaster lift hill leads to a flat section of track followed by a holding brake which stops the train just as it enters the vertical drop . After a few seconds , the train is released into the drop . Development of the Dive Coaster began between 1994 and 1995 with Oblivion at Alton Towers opening on March 14 , 1998 , making it the world 's first Dive Coaster . The trains for this type of coaster are relatively short consisting of two to three cars . Bolliger Mabillard have recently begun to also use floorless trains on this model to enhance the experience . As of May 2016 , ten Dive Coasters have been built , with the newest being Valravn at Cedar Point . History According to Walter Bolliger , development of the Dive Coaster began between 1994 and 1995 . On March 14 , 1998 , the world 's first Dive Coaster , Oblivion , opened at Alton Towers . Though Oblivion is classified as a Dive Coaster , it does not have a true vertical drop as the drop angle is 88 . 8 degrees . Two years later , the second Dive Coaster built , Diving Machine G5 , opened at unk unk and also does not have a vertical drop . In 2005 , SheiKra opened at Busch Gardens Tampa Bay and was the first Dive Coaster to feature a 90 degree drop and a splashdown element . In 2007 , Busch Gardens Williamsburg announced that Griffon would be the first ever Dive Coaster to feature floorless trains and SheiKra would have its trains replaced with floorless ones . In 2011 , the first ' mini ' Dive Coaster opened at Heide Park Resort , named Krake . Unlike other Dive Coasters , Krake has smaller trains consisting of three rows of six riders . Design The design of a Dive Coaster can vary slightly from one to another . Depending on the amusement park 's request , one row on the train can seat anywhere from 6 to 10 riders . Stadium seating is also used to give every rider a clear view . Next , compared to standard Bolliger Mabillard 4 abreast cars , because of the extra weight of each car on a Dive Coaster , the size of the track must be larger than other B M models ( such as the Hyper Coaster ) to support the weight . At the top of the primary vertical drop , a braking system holds the train for 3 to 5 seconds , giving riders a view of the drop ahead before being released into the drop . In the station , Dive Coasters that use non floorless trains simply use a standard station . With Dive Coasters that use floorless trains , in order to allow riders to load and unload the train , a movable floor is necessary . Because the front row has nothing in front of it to stop riders from walking over the edge of the station , a gate is placed in front of the train to prevent this from happening . Once all the over the shoulder restraints are locked , the gate opens and the floor separates into several pieces and moves underneath the station . When the next train enters the station , the gate is closed and the floors are brought back up where the next riders board . Installations Bolliger Mabillard has built ten Dive Coasters with one to be unk in 2017 . The roller coasters are listed in order of opening dates .
|
571 | Santa Rosa de la Eminencia castle is a colonial castle built in the seventeenth century by the Spanish monarchy in La Asuncin , Venezuela . Its construction started on 24 March 1677 by order of governor Juan Muoz de Gadea after a group of French pirates attacked the city , and finished c . 1683 . The structure comprises three defensive fronts , each one with two bastions , two half bastions and three curtains , and is positioned at the top of a hill that overlooks the city . The castle served as a prison for war heroine Luisa Cceres de Arismendi between November 1815 and January 1816 . She was held captive by the Spanish forces on an attempt to bow down her husband , Juan Bautista Arismendi , who was the chief of the patriotic forces on the island . Simn Bolvar 's arrival to the island prompted the partial destruction and abandonment of the fort in May 1816 . By 1899 , the facility serviced as headquarters , and later as quarters for the National Army . It was declared as a National Monument in 1965 . Description The Santa Rosa de la Eminencia castle was built on the site of the old San Bernardo fortress its construction started on 24 March 1677 and finished c . 1683 , under the command of governor Don Juan Fermn de Huidobro . Construction of the fortress began by order of governor Juan Muoz de Gadea after a group of French pirates attacked the city in early 1677 . The castle is positioned at the top of a hill that overlooks the city of La Asuncin , and next to a reservoir . It comprises three defensive fronts , each one with two bastions , two half bastions and three curtains . The castle also includes barracks , a chapel , and a cistern , located at the parade along a unk and the ramp leading to the upper level . La Asuncin was founded in 1562 by Pedro Gonzlez Cervantes de unk on the Santa Luca valley , located at the eastern part of the Margarita island on the state of Nueva Esparta . The city was an important stronghold at the Venezuelan War of Independence . History From November 1815 and until January 1816 , Luisa Cceres de Arismendi , a heroine of the Venezuelan War of Independence , was imprisoned in the castle . The Spaniards wanted to bow down her husband , Juan Bautista Arismendi , who was the chief of the patriotic forces on the island . After the patriots attempted an unsuccessful takeover of the fort in December 1815 , Arismendi gave birth in January 1816 to a child that died at birth due to the terrible conditions of her confinement in the castle . Later in May 1816 , Simn Bolvar 's arrival to the island prompted the abandonment and partial destruction of the fort by the Spanish forces . Between 1818 and 1821 , the structure was repaired and used as an artillery quarter during the War of Independence . It was later used as a magazine for the storage of gunpowder and ammunition in 1830 two years later , it functioned as unk and armory . By 1899 , the facility serviced as headquarters , and after receiving further repairs under instructions from the president Cipriano Castro in 1901 , it served as quarters for the National Army . The sickness and eventual death of president Juan Vicente Gmez in 1935 led to the abandonment of the castle by the troops . Later in 1955 , and due to a local initiative , the castle achieved the status of War Museum . It was declared as a National Monument in 1965 by president Ral Leoni .
|
572 | Cobra Triangle is a 1989 racing , vehicular combat video game developed by Rare and released by Nintendo for the Nintendo Entertainment System . The player controls a weapon equipped speedboat through 25 levels . Objectives include winning races , saving swimmers , and defusing bombs . The game also includes power ups and is displayed from a 3D isometric perspective with automatic scrolling that follows the player 's movement . The Stamper brothers designed the game and David Wise wrote its soundtrack . Computer and Video Games highly recommended the game and praised its graphics and gameplay . Later reviewers lauded its level diversity and noted its graphical similarities to previous Rare game R.C. Pro Am . IGN and GamesRadar ranked Cobra Triangle among their top NES games . The latter considered Cobra Triangle emblematic of the NES era 's aesthetic . It was also included in Rare 's 2015 Xbox One retrospective compilation , Rare Replay . Gameplay Cobra Triangle is a racing , vehicular combat video game . The player races a cannon equipped speedboat against other watercraft . The 25 stages of graduated difficulty vary in objectives winning races , saving swimmers , and defusing bombs . Some levels end in boss fights . In races , the speedboat must avoid the riverbank and mid river obstacles while outpacing a timer . The boat can attack other competitors , fly airborne via ramps , and pick up power ups that upgrade its weapons and speed . In upstream races , the player navigates the speedboat to avoid logs and whirlpools . In bomb defusing activities , the player moves four protected bombs to a detonation site . In another mode , the player must destroy rogue boats before they drag swimmers to the edge of the lake . Any swimmers dragged halfway must be manually returned to the lake 's center . The player loses a life if unsuccessful . Cobra Triangle is displayed from a 3D isometric perspective and its screen automatically scrolls as the speedboat moves . Release and reception Cobra Triangle was developed by Rare . Mark Betteridge and Tim and Chris Stamper designed the game and David Wise wrote its soundtrack . Nintendo released Cobra Triangle in July 1989 . It was later included in the August 2015 Xbox One compilation of 30 Rare titles , Rare Replay . In contemporaneous reviews , Jaz Rignall ( Computer and Video Games ) wrote in high praise of the convincing graphics , smooth gameplay , and addictive replay value . The magazine selected the game as a recommendation . Mark Caswell ( The Games Machine ) was most frustrated by the waterfall jumping sequences . In a retrospective review , Skyler Miller ( AllGame ) appreciated the diversity of levels . Reviewers noted its graphical similarity to R.C. Pro Am , particularly in its camera angle and gameplay . Brett Alan Weiss ( AllGame ) put Cobra Triangle in the lineage of the 1982 River Raid for the Atari 2600 . In comparison , both games have vehicular boat combat while avoiding land . Cobra Triangle 's camera view is isometric rather than overhead , and its gameplay is more focused on racing than combat . IGN and GamesRadar named Cobra Triangle among the top NES games . The latter had the most admiration for Cobra Triangle out of all of Rare 's catalog . They thought the game aged well and typified NES era beauty in its isometric combat , upgrades , and game type variety .
|
573 | Kepler 9 is a sunlike star in the constellation Lyra . Its planetary system , discovered by the Kepler Mission in 2010 was the first detected with the transit method found to contain multiple planets . Nomenclature and history Kepler 9 was named for the Kepler Mission , a project headed by NASA that was designed to search for Earth like planets . Unlike stars such as Aldebaran or Sirius , Kepler 9 does not have a colloquial name . In June 2010 , some 43 days after Kepler came online , its operating scientists submitted a list of over 700 exoplanet candidates for review . Of those , five were originally suspected to have more than one planet . Kepler 9 was one of the unk systems it was identified as such when scientists noticed significant variations in the time intervals at which Kepler 9 was transited . Kepler 9 holds the first unk system discovered using the transit method . It is also the first planetary system where transiting planets were confirmed through transit timing variations method , allowing to calculate the masses of planets . The discovery of the planets was announced on August 26 , 2010 . Characteristics Kepler 9 is located in the constellation Lyra that lies some 650 parsecs away from Earth . With a mass of 1 . 07 M and a radius of 1 . 02 R , Kepler 9 is almost exactly the same size and width of the Sun , being only 7 more massive and 2 wider . Kepler 9 has an effective temperature of 5777 ( 61 ) K , as compared to the Sun 's at 5778 K , and is approximately 32 more metal rich ( in terms of iron ) than the Sun . Kepler 9 is younger than the Sun , and is estimated to be one billion years old . Planetary system There are three confirmed planets , all in direct orbit . The outer two planets , Kepler 9b ( the inner one ) and Kepler 9c ( the outer one ) , are low density gas giants that are respectively 25 and 17 the mass of Jupiter and around 80 the radius of Jupiter . Both planets have a density less than that of water , similar to Saturn . The innermost planet , Kepler 9d , is a super Earth with a radius that is 1 . 64 times that of Earth , orbiting the star every 1 . 6 days . It is estimated that there is a 0 . 59 chance that the discoveries are false . From Kepler 9d ( closest to star ) to Kepler 9b ( second from star ) , the ratio of their orbits is 1 12 . However , the ratio of the orbits of the two outer planets is 1 2 , a relationship known as a mean motion resonance . Kepler 9b and Kepler 9c are the first transiting planets detected in such an orbital configuration . The resonance causes the orbital speeds of each planet to change , and thus causes the transit times of the two planets to oscillate . The period of Kepler 9b is increasing by 4 minutes per orbit , while that of Kepler 9c is decreasing by 39 minutes per orbit . These orbital changes allowed the masses of the planets ( a parameter not normally obtainable via the transit method ) to be estimated using a dynamical model . The mass estimates were further refined using radial velocity measurements obtained with the HIRES instrument of the Keck 1 telescope . Kepler 9b and 9c are thought to have formed beyond the frost line . They are then thought to have migrated inward due to interactions with the remains of the protoplanetary disk . They would have been captured into orbital resonance during this migration .
|
574 | State Route 88 ( SR 88 ) is a 45 . 67 mi ( 73 . 50 km ) long state highway in the U.S. state of Arizona . It runs from U.S. Route 60 ( US 60 ) in Apache Junction through desert terrain to SR 188 near Roosevelt Dam . Following the Salt River for much of its length , the section east of Tortilla Flat is known as the Apache Trail and is part of the National Forest Scenic Byway system . The Apache Trail was built in the mid 1920s and the number 88 was assigned in 1927 . An eastern extension of SR 88 to Globe was redesignated as SR 188 in the late 1990s . Route description SR 88 begins at a diamond interchange with US 60 , the Superstition Freeway , in southern Apache Junction . The route follows Idaho Road northward through a residential area with four lanes . Following a junction with Old West Highway , SR 88 turns northeast onto Apache Trail and narrows to two lanes . The route exits the city limits of Apache Junction , entering desert terrain . Passing a ghost town known as Goldfield , Apache Trail enters Tonto National Forest just northwest of Lost Dutchman State Park . SR 88 nears Canyon Lake south of the Mormon Flat Dam and follows a part of the southern coast of Canyon Lake . Apache Trail heads away from the Salt River . It passes through the town of Tortilla Flat , becoming an unpaved dirt trail winding eastward through the Superstition Mountains . SR 88 again turns northeast and nears Apache Lake . The route follows the Salt River northeast to the Theodore Roosevelt Dam , near which the route is again paved . SR 88 intersects with SR 188 along the coast of Theodore Roosevelt Lake . The highway is maintained by the Arizona Department of Transportation ( ADOT ) , which is responsible for maintaining highways in the state , including SR 88 . As part of this role , ADOT periodically surveys traffic along its routes . These surveys are presented in the form of average annual daily traffic , which is the number of vehicles who use the route on any average day during the year . In 2009 , ADOT calculated that around as few as 400 vehicles used the route daily near the Roosevelt Dam and as many as 16 , 000 daily at the US 60 interchange in Apache Junction . The section east of Canyon Lake is part of the Apache Trail National Forest Scenic Byway system . No part of the highway has been listed in the National Highway System , a system of roads in the United States important to the nation 's economy , defense , and mobility . History The Apache Trail connected the Old Spanish Trail where Apache Junction is today and Roosevelt Lake with an unpaved road as early as 1925 , following much of the modern route . By the next year , SR 66 followed the Apache Trail and the Old Spanish Trail was numbered as US 80 . The number 88 was given to the route by 1927 , but continued past its current terminus east to US 180 west of Globe . US 60 and US 89 became concurrent with US 80 at the western terminus by 1935 , and the US 70 designation was added to the road by 1939 . The section of the route from Apache Junction to Canyon Lake was paved in the late 1940s . By 1958 , the section east of Roosevelt Dam was paved . The extra designations at SR 88 's western terminus were removed by 1971 , leaving only the US 60 designation . In 1999 , the section east of Roosevelt Dam was renumbered as SR 188 , cutting SR 88 back to its current terminus . Junction list
|
575 | Montana Highway 87 ( MT 87 ) is a primary state highway located in the southwestern region of the U.S. state of Montana . The highway travels through mainly rural areas in Raynolds Pass , from the Montana Idaho state line to an intersection with U.S. Route 287 ( US 287 ) . The route travels through a portion of Gallatin National Forest . In 1922 , a road in the location of MT 87 was added to the highway system , and a few years later the road was designated as portions of two early auto trails . In 1959 , the route was rapidly improved due to the collapse of US 287 nearby . During 1967 , much of the highway was reconstructed along its current location . Route description MT 87 begins at the Montana Idaho state line , traveling through Raynolds Pass . The highway proceeds northward , intersecting a small road before entering rural areas within Gallatin National Forest . The route continues northeast , intersecting several forest roads before bending northwestward . The route intersects several small roads while it runs parallel to a small creek . It crosses over the Madison River after passing several small buildings . The highway continues northwestward to its northern terminus , an at grade intersection with US 287 . The highway is maintained by the Montana Department of Transportation ( MDT ) . Part of the job of the MDT is to measure traffic along the highway . These counts are taken using a metric called annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) . This is a statistical calculation of the average daily number of vehicles that travel along a portion of the highway . In 2011 , the highway had an AADT count of 583 vehicles . No portion of the highway is listed as part of the National Highway System ( NHS ) , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History On October 9 , 1922 , a road located in the general location of MT 87 was added to the Montana State Highway system . By at least 1924 , an auto trail known as the Banff Grand Canyon Road ran along the highway in the general location of MT 87 . The next year , the highway had been given a graded dirt surface , and was designated as part of the Great White Way auto trail , as well as the Banff Grand Canyon Road . Between 1925 and 1927 , the auto trail designations were removed from the stretch of highway near present day MT 87 . By 1937 , the main highway had been shifted north of the location of MT 87 , and had been numbered as State Highway 1 . A road remained in the location of MT 87 , although it was unnumbered . This road had also been extended several miles northward to Lyon . By 1951 , the highway had been reconstructed generally along MT 87 's present location , and it had been upgraded to an improved gravel road . In 1959 , the road in the location of MT 87 was rapidly improved in order to serve as an alternate routing to U.S. Route 287 . Portions of US 287 around Hebgen Lake collapsed and crumbled as a result of the 1959 Hebgen Lake earthquake . After US 287 was fixed , the highway 's importance decreased . In 1962 , the portions of the highway from the southern terminus to present day milepost 8 . 395 were reconstructed along the current location . In 1967 , the rest of the highway was reconstructed along the present location . By 1987 , the highway had been numbered as MT 87 . The route had also been paved . Major intersections
|
576 | State Route 98 ( SR 98 ) is a state highway in the U.S. state of California . It is a loop of Interstate 8 ( I 8 ) running west to east south of the Interstate through the border city of Calexico . It passes through the city of Calexico and ends east of Holtville . The highway was added to the state highway system in 1933 , and signed as Route 98 by 1938 . The highway was paved and rerouted to its current path during the 1950s . Route description SR 98 begins at an interchange with I 8 southwest of the community of Ocotillo . The highway intersects CR S2 and passes south of Coyote Wells before turning due east through the Colorado Desert . After over forty miles of desert , SR 98 intersects with CR S29 and then CR unk , the latter in the community of Mount Signal . The road passes over the New River and intersects CR S31 before entering the border city of Calexico , just opposite from Mexicali , the capital of the Mexican state of Baja California . SR 98 intersects SR 111 , the north south highway connecting Mexicali and El Centro , before leaving the city and continuing east through rural Imperial County . After meeting SR 7 , SR 98 goes through the community of Bonds Corner before intersecting CR unk . SR 98 then parallels the All American Canal before terminating at I 8 at Midway Well . The portion of SR 98 from SR 111 east to I 8 is designated as part of the Juan Bautista de Anza National Historic Trail auto tour route , promoted by the National Park Service . SR 98 is not part of the National Highway System , a network of highways that are essential to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . In 2013 , SR 98 had an annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) of 1 , 400 at the western terminus with I 8 , and 26 , 500 between Rockwood Avenue and Heber Avenue in Calexico , the latter of which was the highest AADT for the highway . History The highway was originally designated as Route 202 in 1933 . By 1934 , a road headed due south from Seeley , before turning east through Calexico and curving slightly to the north and then east again through Bonds Corners . The easternmost portion of the highway was unpaved . By 1938 , the road from Coyote Wells east to the then current routing had been constructed , but was a county road the entirety of Route 98 , which was signed , was either gravel or asphalt . Between 1952 and 1954 , the western portion of SR 98 was rerouted onto the county road , moving the western terminus to southwest of Coyote Wells however , the new portion was not paved . By 1956 , the entire highway was paved . In the 1964 state highway renumbering , the highway was officially renumbered as Route 98 . I 8 was extended to the western terminus of SR 98 by 1965 , and to the eastern terminus of SR 98 by 1970 . Major intersections Except where prefixed with a letter , postmiles were measured on the road as it was in 1964 , based on the alignment that existed at the time , and do not necessarily reflect current mileage . R reflects a realignment in the route since then , M indicates a second realignment , L refers an overlap due to a correction or change , and T indicates postmiles classified as temporary ( for a full list of prefixes , see the list of postmile definitions ) . Segments that remain unconstructed or have been relinquished to local control may be omitted . The entire route is in Imperial County .
|
577 | HIP 13044 is a red horizontal branch star about 2 , 300 light years ( 700 pc ) from Earth in the constellation Fornax . The star is part of the unk stream , a former dwarf galaxy that merged with the Milky Way between six and nine billion years ago . As a result , HIP 13044 circles the galactic center at a highly irregular orbit with respect to the galactic plane . HIP 13044 is slightly less massive than the Sun , but is approximately seven times its size . The star , which is estimated to be at least nine billion years old , has passed the red giant phase . The relatively fast rotation of the star may be due to having engulfed one or more planets during the red giant phase . Observational history A science team from the Max Planck Institute for Astronomy first observed HIP 13044 using Fiber fed Extended Range Optical Spectrograph ( unk ) at the European Southern Observatory 's La Silla Observatory in Chile . The first follow up led to the collection of 36 radial velocity measurements taken between September 2009 and July 2010 . The team also used photometric data that had been passively collected by and publicly released into the archive of the SuperWASP collaboration , which had been observing the region where the star was located . In this data , HIP 13044 was found to oscillate the signal was blocked roughly every sixteen days . Analysis of the SuperWASP and unk data led to the supposed discovery of the planet HIP 13044 b , although this claim was later refuted . Characteristics HIP 13044 is an F type star located approximately 701 parsecs ( 2 , 286 light years ) away from Earth in the unk stream a group of low metallicity stars moving with large velocities relative to the Sun . The star follows an eccentric galactic orbit , with a distance from the galactic center ranging from 7 to 16 kiloparsecs . The orbit does not lie in the galactic plane , and can reach distances as high as 13 kpc above it . This indicates that it once was part of a satellite galaxy of the Milky Way that was disrupted 6 9 billion years ago . The star itself is estimated to be at least nine billion years old . HIP 13044 is fairly evolved star fusing helium in its core , and has therefore already passed the red giant phase of its evolution . It lies near the blue end of the red horizontal branch bordering the instability strip . Its surface temperature is about 6025 K and its radius is approximately 6 . 7 solar radii . HIP 13044 's mass is estimated to be 0 . 8 solar masses . Having a rotation period of 5 6 days , HIP 13044 is a fast rotating star for its type . It is possible that this is because it has swallowed planets during its red giant phase . HIP 13044 has an apparent magnitude of 9 . 94 and cannot be seen with the unaided eye . Claims of a planetary system In 2010 , it was announced that a giant planet in a 16 . 2 day orbit had been discovered by the radial velocity measurements . This would have had implications for planet formation in metal poor systems and survival of planets being engulfed by expanded giant stars . Subsequent analysis of the data revealed problems with the detection for example an erroneous barycentric correction had been applied ( the same error had also led to claims of planets around HIP unk that were subsequently refuted ) . After applying the corrections , there is no evidence for a planet orbiting the star .
|
578 | New York State Route 382 ( NY 382 ) was a state highway in the town of Red House in Cattaraugus County , New York , in the United States . The highway was 0 . 8 miles ( 1 . 3 km ) long and served as a connector between NY 17 and the Red House entrance of Allegany State Park , where it connected to Allegany State Park Route 2 ( ASP Route 2 ) . NY 382 was assigned in the early 1930s and removed in the early 1970s after the highway 's connection to the park was dismantled , and the hamlet it served evacuated , as part of the Southern Tier Expressway 's construction . The NY 382 designation is currently reserved by the New York State Department of Transportation as a replacement for NY 88 in Ontario and Wayne counties . Route description The western terminus of NY 382 was at an intersection with Bay State Road and NY 17 in the now abandoned hamlet of Red House , located 5 miles ( 8 . 0 km ) southwest of the city of Salamanca in the town of Red House . At the time , NY 17 was routed along an at grade highway that paralleled the future routing of the Southern Tier Expressway to the north and west . NY 382 headed southeast from the junction , passing through the center of what was then the hamlet of Red House before turning eastward ahead of Red House Brook , a small stream that branched off the nearby Allegheny River . NY 382 paralleled Red House Brook east to the Allegany State Park boundary , where the NY 382 designation ended and the highway continued east as Allegany State Park Route 2 . History NY 382 was assigned c . 1932 to a short roadway linking NY 17 to an entrance to Allegany State Park in Red House . The route remained intact until the construction of the Southern Tier Expressway ( STE ) through Red House in the late 1960s and early 1970s . Unwanted tourism in unk Town , a newly built settlement northeast of Red House , prompted Seneca leaders to seek ways to reduce through traffic in the settlement to do so , the state built a trumpet interchange off the expressway where NY 382 used to be , which , coupled with the flooding of the roadway of old Route 17 to the west , effectively cut unk Town off from the highway system . The construction of the highway also allowed the state to claim eminent domain over most of the hamlet of Red House , leading to the hamlet 's destruction the few remaining private residences in the town as of 2015 are located southwest of what was Route 382 . When the interchange at exit 19 of the STE was constructed c . 1970 , NY 382 was disconnected from Allegany State Park Route 2 , which was realigned to meet the new exit . The NY 382 designation was removed around this time as a result . The roadway still runs from the former NY 17 ( now NY unk , which terminates near the former NY 382 's end at a dilapidated bridge ) to the Exit 19 on off ramp , but due to safety concerns , the road was blocked off at its eastern terminus . The former NY 382 was reopened in August 2014 after a washout on old NY 17 left several households unable to reach Salamanca . The NY 382 designation is reserved by the New York State Department of Transportation for future use along what is now NY 88 in the Finger Lakes region of New York . Currently , NY 88 has the same numerical designation as Interstate 88 , an Interstate Highway in eastern New York . Major intersections The entire route was in Red House , Cattaraugus County .
|
579 | A Man Will Rise ( originally known as Local Hero ) is an uncompleted comedy western film directed by Tony Jaa and unk unk , and starring Jaa , Dolph Lundgren , Conan Stevens , and Byron Gibson . Set in 1950s Thailand , the film follows a local gangster who terrorizes a town . When a young man opposes him , the gangster hires a group of foreign hit men to kill the rebel and silence the town . In January 2013 , Jean Claude Van Damme was rumored to be co starring alongside Jaa in reality , he was never available due to scheduling issues , and as a result , Lundgren was cast as an alternative . The film entered production in April 2013 , but came to an abrupt halt after three months of filming . Sahamongkol Film International filed a 49 50 million lawsuit against Jaa , Universal Pictures , and United International Pictures , claiming Jaa was in breach of his contract by accepting a role in Fast and Furious 7 . After two years of legal proceedings , Sahamongkol dropped the lawsuit in July 2015 . Despite this , production of A Man Will Rise has not continued , and the film remains uncompleted . Background News of the film first emerged under the working title of Local Hero in January 2013 . Jean Claude Van Damme was rumored to be co starring alongside Jaa , but he could not commit due to scheduling issues he was filming unk at the time . Dolph Lundgren was cast as an alternative . Filming began in April 2013 Jaa was announced as co director the same month . After three months of filming , production came to an abrupt halt with only 20 of the film complete . Sahamongkol Film International filed a 49 50 million lawsuit against Jaa , Universal Pictures , and United International Pictures in September 2013 , claiming that Jaa was in breach of his contract by accepting the role of Kiet in Fast and Furious 7 . Sahamongkol based their sum on the cost of launching Jaa 's career and loss of future earnings , plus an additional 7 . 5 interest . They attempted to halt the release of Fast and Furious 7 in Thailand , and on March 27 , 2015 , a civil court approved , blocking release the film until a settlement had been reached by both parties . The court came to its decision after interviewing two employees of Sahamongkol unk unk , the son of the company 's president , Somsak unk and unk unk , a member of Sahamongkol 's legal team . In response to the allegations , Jaa stated that his contract with Sahamongkol had ended . He claimed that it was terminated through his lawyer in 2013 , describing it as business slavery due to its allegedly unk terms and conditions . Sahamongkol claimed that the contract had been renewed for another ten years , through 2023 . In the suit , unk also requested that Jaa pay back his salary for A Man Will Rise , reportedly 26 million ( 722 , 000 ) . The legal matters surrounding the lawsuit have prevented the completion of the film , and although the lawsuit was dropped in July 2015 , the film remains unfinished . There are currently no plans to complete the film . Cast ( preliminary ) Tony Jaa as Unknown Dolph Lundgren as Cowboy Hitman Conan Stevens as Cowboy Hitman David unk as Cowboy Hitman Byron Gibson as Diego Damian Mavis as Cowboy Gangster Russell Geoffrey Banks as Cowboy Gangster unk Soler as Cowboy Gangster unk unk as Unknown Leigh Barwell as Mexican Prostitute Alexandra Merle as Mexican Prostitute
|
580 | The United States state of Delaware has only three counties New Castle , Kent , and Sussex , the least in the United States . The origin of the county boundaries goes back to former court districts . The powers of the counties ' legislative bodies are limited to issues such as zoning and development . Politics and government Each county elects a legislative body ( known in New Castle and Sussex counties as the County Council , and in Kent County as the Levy Court ) . The counties are able to raise taxes and borrow money . They also have control over garbage disposal , water supply , sewerage , zoning , development , and building codes . Most functions which are handled on a county by county basis in other states such as court and law enforcement have been centralized in Delaware , leading to a significant concentration of power in the Delaware state government . The counties were historically divided into hundreds , which were used as tax reporting and voting districts until the 1960s . However , the hundreds now serve no administrative role their only current official legal use is in real estate title descriptions . History Following the English conquest of 1664 , all of the land on the western side of the Delaware River and Delaware Bay was governed as part of the New York Colony and administered from the town of New Castle . During the brief recapture of the colony by the Dutch in 1673 , additional court districts were created around Upland and unk . The latter was also known as unk , and is now the town of Lewes . The court at New Castle was left with the central portion of the colony . The jurisdiction left to the court at became New Castle County , and the county seat remained at New Castle until 1881 when it was moved to Wilmington . In 1680 , unk District was divided into Deale County and St. Jones County . After this division , Lewes became the county seat of Deale , which was later renamed Sussex County . The former Upland District was named after the New Sweden settlement of Upland , and was renamed Chester County in 1682 . Chester County is now located within the present boundaries of Pennsylvania . Lord Baltimore , the Proprietor of Maryland , claimed all present day Delaware , and organized its northern and eastern portions as Durham County , Maryland . However , this county existed only on paper . The southern and western portions of present day Sussex County were organized as portions of several adjacent Maryland counties and were not recognized as part of Delaware until the Mason Dixon Survey was run in 1767 . In 1791 , with the expansion of Sussex County to the south and west , the county seat was moved to Georgetown . The county seat of St. Jones ( renamed Kent County in 1681 ) is at Dover . After 2000 , a fourth Appoquinimink County was proposed to be carved out of New Castle County . The motivation for this failed effort was to end the zoning restrictions of the Unified Development Code on the undeveloped farmland . The proposed boundaries extended beyond Appoquinimink Hundred to include all land south of the C D Canal with Middletown as the proposed seat . County information The Federal Information Processing Standard ( unk ) code , which is used by the United States government to uniquely identify counties , is provided with each entry . The unk code for each county links to census data for that county .
|
581 | Lathrop House ( known officially as Edward Lathrop House ) was the third quadrangle dormitory built on Vassar College 's campus in the town of Poughkeepsie , New York . Constructed in 1901 and designed by Boston based Allen Vance , the brick dorm stands five stories tall . Lathrop houses 180 students who may be any grade or gender . History Lathrop House was the third residential quadrangle ( quad ) dormitory built on the campus of Vassar College in the town of Poughkeepsie , New York . The college built Lathrop during a period of rapid dorm construction spanning 1893 1902 during which the older seminary style model of housing a single large hall in which all a college 's residents lived , in Vassar 's case Main Building was quickly waning in popularity in favor of smaller individual houses . The project began with the opening of Strong House in 1893 and continued with Raymond House in 1897 Lathrop followed in 1901 , and Davison House 's erection completed the quad in 1902 . Construction of the dorm was paid for with Vassar 's funds , unlike Strong House which had been paid for by a gift from John D. Rockefeller . The dormitory is named after Dr. Edward Lathrop , one of Vassar 's charter trustees , and carries the full name Edward Lathrop House . Lathrop 's daughter , Julia , was a graduate of the Vassar class of 1880 . In 1979 , the Intercultural Center , a multicultural student space , moved into Lathrop in spite of initial disagreement by members of the house two years earlier when the idea was first proposed . The Intercultural Center later moved out of Lathrop 's basement and into its own dedicated space in the early 1990s , at which point it was replaced by a Jewish co op and kitchen . In 1995 , the Kosher Co Op moved out of Lathrop and into a newly acquired Jewish house across the street from the college . Architecture and features Lathrop was designed by the Boston architectural firm of Francis Richmond Allen and J. McArthur Vance who were also responsible for the design of its neighbor , Davison House , in 1902 . unk a design for these two buildings was not difficult as a template had already been set by way of the preexisting Strong and Raymond Houses . Frederick Law Olmsted , a consultant of design for the college , recommended that any new dorms in the area be built in an echelon formation in order to provide for a greater sense of openness . Allen disregarded this advice , instead opting to place the dorm , along with Davison , in two long unbroken rows of buildings on the bias . Lathrop was ultimately placed north of Strong , across the quad to the east of Davison , and diagonally across from Raymond . Lathrop stands five stories tall with an additional basement level . The dormitory , Elizabethan in style , is a brick building with elements of brownstone trim . The roof is a Vermont slate and from it rise five chimneys , each built with two wythes of brick and capped with bluestone . There are also multiple cupolas that are framed with wood , include painted louvered slats , and have topped with a coat of unk . The building also has parapets , unlike neighboring Strong . The house is co ed and currently has a capacity of 180 students . Students in Lathrop , which houses students of all grades , may live in either single rooms , one room doubles , or three room triples . Bathrooms are shared by all members of a hall .
|
582 | The 57th Boat Race took place on 31 March 1900 . Held annually , the Boat Race is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . Cambridge won by twenty lengths in a record equalling time of 18 minutes 45 seconds , taking the overall record in the event to 32 24 in Oxford 's favour . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities and followed throughout the United Kingdom and worldwide . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions , having won the 1899 race by three and a quarter lengths , while Oxford led overall with 32 victories to Cambridge 's 23 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . Leading up to the race , Oxford suffered a variety of misfortune M. C. unk was ordered by his doctor not to row , H. J. Hale was injured and president Felix Warre contracted scarlet fever . Cambridge were coached by James Brookes Close , who had rowed for the Light Blues three times between 1872 and 1874 , and Stanley Muttlebury , five time Blue for Cambridge between 1886 and 1890 . Oxford 's coaches were Harcourt Gilbey Gold ( Dark Blue president the previous year and four time Blue ) and Douglas McLean ( an Oxford Blue five times between 1883 and 1887 ) . The umpire for the race for the eleventh year in a row was Frank Willan who had won the event four consecutive times , rowing for Oxford in the 1866 , 1867 , 1868 and 1869 races . Crews The Cambridge crew weighed an average of 12 st 4 . 625 lb ( 78 . 1 kg ) , 0 . 25 pounds ( 0 . 1 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . Oxford 's crew contained three members with Boat Race experience C. E. Johnston , C. W. unk and cox G. S. Maclagan . Cambridge saw six of their 1899 crew return , including William Dudley Ward and Raymond Broadly Etherington Smith , both of whom were rowing in their third race . Eight of the nine Light Blues were students at Trinity College . Oxford 's stroke H. H. Dutton , a native of South Australia , was the only non British participant registered in the race . Author and former Oxford rower George Drinkwater suggested that this year 's Cambridge crew , along with the Oxford crew which rowed in the 1897 race , stand in a class by themselves among University crews . He also described the Oxford crew as one of the poorest that ever came from the Isis . Race Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , handing the Middlesex side of the river to Cambridge . In good conditions , umpire Willan got the race under way at 2 00 p.m. whereupon Cambridge took the lead immediately . By Craven Steps they were three lengths ahead and continued to draw away from the Dark Blues , to win by 20 lengths in a time of 18 minutes 45 seconds . It was the fastest winning time in the history of the event , equalling that set by Oxford in the 1893 race . Although it was the Light Blues ' second consecutive victory , it followed a run of nine consecutive wins for Oxford overall the Dark Blues led 32 24 .
|
583 | Alden Tavern Site is a historic site in Lebanon , Connecticut . The tavern was originally built in 1738 and owned by Captain Alden . By 1850 , it had passed to Alden 's descendent , Mr. Wattles . The Alden Tavern is well known for being the site of the unk of a captive General Richard Prescott , commander of the British troops of Rhode Island , by the tavern 's owner Captain Alden when he dined at Alden 's tavern . The site was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1998 and listed under the Event and Information Potential criteria . It was listed as only having fieldstone foundations remaining . A parking lot was paved over the site in 2010 , adding 26 paved spaces and 70 spaces in overflow parking on a grass field . It is now known as the Alden Tavern Parking Lot by the town of Lebanon . Owners In the American Revolutionary War the tavern was run by Captain Alden . Around 1850 , it was owned by Mr. Wattles , a descendant of Captain Alden . The tavern 's last owner or date of destruction is unknown , but it was part of the town green by the 1903 publication of Butterworth 's book , Brother Jonathan . Historical significance The Alden Tavern is well known for being the site of the unk of a captive General Richard Prescott , commander of the British troops of Rhode Island , by the tavern 's owner Captain Alden . Several days after Prescott 's capture , he was escorted to General George Washington 's headquarters , but on the trip came to dine at Alden 's tavern . Several books detail different accounts and portrayals of the exchanges which led to Prescott 's whipping , all involving the Prescott being served the common dish of corn and beans and throwing the food on the floor . Three of Benson Lossing 's books recount this tale , in The Pictorial Field Book of the Revolution Volume 1 ( 1852 ) , Our Countrymen ( 1855 ) and Lives of Celebrated Americans Comprising Biographies of Three Hundred and Forty Eminent Persons ( 1869 ) . It also appears in similar wording in The Boys of ' 76 A History of the Battles of the Revolution by Charles Coffin in 1876 , with Prescott 's line being Do you give me the pigs ' feed . The story has persisted and a fictional account was referenced in 2010 in Martha Finley 's Elsie Yachting with the Raymonds . Fate The site was added to the National Register of Historic Places on April 13 , 1998 and it was noted that fieldstone foundations remained . It was listed under the Event and Information Potential criteria with a period of significance between 1700 1874 . The property is also listed as a contributing property for the Lebanon Green Historic District . The Alden Tavern site is now a parking lot on town owned property adjacent to Lebanon 's Community Center . Prior to the project , a phase 2 archaeological survey had to be completed , a notice for this survey was published in 2003 . The town received a Small Town Economic Assistance Program grant for 250 , 000 to construct the parking lot . Coit unk won the contract with the lowest bid of 193 , 000 and began construction in April 2010 and was expected to be completed by May 31 , 2010 . The paved parking lot has 26 spots with 70 more for overflow in a grass field . On December 6 , 2011 , the unk 's Meeting the Board dissolved the committee because the project was successfully completed . It is now known as the Alden Tavern Parking Lot .
|
584 | Song Without Words A Book of Engravings on Wood is a wordless novel of 1936 by American artist Lynd Ward ( 1905 1985 ) . Executed in twenty one wood engravings , it was the fifth and shortest of the six wordless novels Ward completed , produced while working on the last and longest , Vertigo ( 1937 ) . The story concerns the anxiety an expectant mother feels over bringing a child into a world under the threat of fascism anxieties Ward and writer May McNeer were then feeling over McNeer 's pregnancy with the couple 's second child . Content and style A woman conceives a child and suffers anguish over whether to give birth to it . She imagines one nightmare image of fascism and death after another , filled with such imagery as skulls , concentration camps , and an infant impaled on a bayonet . She ends standing defiant against the forces that threaten her , and her male partner joins her and the baby in an image of hope for the future . Ward employs symbols much as he had in previous works , such as towering buildings representing capitalism . Vermin swarm in the pictures , heightening the expectant mother 's fears nightmare images of vultures , ants crawling over an impaled infant , and rats unk around a Nazi concentration camp filled with children . Background Lynd Ward ( 1905 1985 ) was a son of Methodist minister and social activist Harry F. Ward ( 1873 1966 ) . Throughout his career the younger Ward displayed in his work the influence of his father 's interest in social injustice . Ward married writer May McNeer in 1926 and the couple left for Europe , where Ward spent a year studying wood engraving in Leipzig , Germany . There he encountered German Expressionist art and read the wordless novel The Sun ( 1919 ) by Flemish woodcut artist Frans Masereel ( 1889 1972 ) . Ward returned to the United States and freelanced his illustrations . In 1929 , he came across German artist Otto Nckel 's wordless novel Destiny ( 1926 ) in New York City . The work inspired Ward to create a wordless novel of his own , Gods ' Man ( 1929 ) , which he followed with Madman 's Drum ( 1930 ) , Wild Pilgrimage ( 1932 ) , and the short Prelude to a Million Years ( 1933 ) . Ward began engraving on Song Without Words while working on his longest wordless novel , Vertigo ( 1937 ) , which took two years to complete . McNeer was pregnant with their second child and the couple were facing the same anxieties as the book 's protagonist , and having worked through these issues they carried through the birth of daughter Robin . Into adulthood Robin kept a wall of her home decorated with prints from Song Without Words . Ward returned to the themes of Song Without Words in Hymn for the Night , a retelling of the birth of Christ in Nazi Germany . The book was to have been Ward 's seventh wordless novel , but he abandoned it in 1940 after engraving twenty blocks of it after finding the story too removed from his personal experiences . Production and publication Ward produced 21 wood engravings for the book , sized 5 5 8 3 5 8 inches ( 14 . 3 9 . 2 cm ) . It appeared in 1936 in a limited edition from Random House of 1250 copies . The pages were printed from the original engravings by Equinox Press co founder Lewis F. White . The original woodblocks are in the Lynd Ward Collection in the Joseph Mark Lauinger Memorial Library at Georgetown University in Washington , DC .
|
585 | Gilbert de Lacy ( died after 1163 ) was a medieval Anglo Norman baron in England , the grandson of Walter de Lacy who died in 1085 . Gilbert 's father forfeited his English lands in 1096 , and Gilbert initially only inherited the lands in Normandy . The younger de Lacy spent much of his life trying to recover his father 's English lands , and eventually succeeded . Around 1158 , de Lacy became a Templar and went to the Holy Land , where he was one of the commanders against Nur ad Din in the early 1160s . He died after 1163 . Background and family Gilbert de Lacy was the son of Roger de Lacy , who in turn was the son of Walter de Lacy who died in 1085 . Roger de Lacy was banished from England in 1096 , and his estates were confiscated . These lands , which included substantial holdings along the border with Wales , were given to Pain fitzJohn , Josce de Dinan and Miles of Gloucester . Roger de Lacy 's lands in Normandy , however , were not confiscated , as they were held of the Bishop of Bayeux in feudal tenure . Stephen 's reign Gilbert de Lacy had inherited his father 's lands in Normandy by 1133 , and by 1136 was in England with King Stephen of England . Although de Lacy recovered some of his father 's lands , the border lands near Wales were not recovered . Among the lands Gilbert recovered were lands about Weobley . He also was granted some lands in Yorkshire that had been in dispute . Although de Lacy had spent time at Stephen 's court , during the civil war that occurred during Stephen 's reign , he switched sides and served Stephen 's rival , Matilda the Empress . In 1138 , he was besieged by the king at Weobley along with his cousin Geoffrey Talbot , but both men escaped when the king took the castle in June . De Lacy also led an army in an attack against Bath in the service of the Empress , along with Geoffrey Talbot , which also occurred in 1138 and which some historians have seen as the opening act of the civil war . De Lacy witnessed charters of the Empress in 1141 . During the later 1140s , de Lacy was able to recover many of his father 's Welsh marcher lands , and one of his efforts at Ludlow was later embroidered in the medieval romance Fouke le Fitz Waryn . He and Miles of Gloucester were claimants to many of the same lands , and during Stephen 's reign were generally on opposite sides of the succession dispute . In June 1153 , de Lacy was in the company of Matilda 's son , Henry fitzEmpress , who became King Henry II of England in 1154 . De Lacy gave land to the cathedral chapter of Hereford Cathedral . He also gave a manor at Guiting to the Knights Templar and two churches , at Weobley and unk to Llanthony Priory , which was a monastery founded by his family . Later years and death Around 1158 de Lacy surrendered his lands to his eldest son Robert when the elder de Lacy became a member of the Knights Templar . He then travelled through France to Jerusalem , where de Lacy became precentor of the Templars in the County of Tripoli . In 1163 , de Lacy was one of the crusader army commanders fighting against Nur ad Din . His year of death is unknown , but he was commemorated on 20 November at Hereford Cathedral . Robert died without children sometime before 1162 , when Gilbert 's younger son Hugh de Lacy inherited the lands . The Gesta Stephani called de Lacy a man of judgement and shrewd and painstaking in every operation of war .
|
586 | The First Ward Wardroom is a historic meeting hall at 171 Fountain Street in Pawtucket , Rhode Island . It is a single story red brick building , with a low pitch gable over hipped roof . Basically rectangular , an enclosed entry pavilion projects from the main block . The building , designed by William R. Walker Son and built in 1886 , is one of only three ward halls ( structures built by the city and used as polling places and meeting halls ) to survive in the state . Since about 1920 it has been the Major Walter G. Gatchell Post No. 306 of the Veterans of Foreign Wars . The building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983 . Design Designed by William R. Walker Son and constructed by S. Mason H. A. Smith in 1886 , the one story red brick Queen Anne style building is basically rectangular with a low pitched gable over hipped roof . The red bricks are laid in dark red mortar and is contrasted by the granite sill course and the now painted grey brownstone stringcourse , window sills and lintels and the lintels of the doors . The enclosed entry pavilion projects from the main block with two porches oriented to face Fountain Street and Blake Street . Three arched double hung windows with two over two sash run along the sides of the building with three smaller windows are in the entry pavilion . At the time of the National Register of Historic Places nomination , these smaller windows were boarded up and the porch oriented to Fountain Street was bricked in with the buildings original materials . One original eight panel door remained on the Blake Street entry porch , but the rest of the exterior details were extant , including the boarded pavilion pediment with 1st Ward in raised lettering . National Register of Historic Places nomination states that the interior of the building originally opened into a large meeting hall with some auxiliary service rooms at the rear of the building , but did not disclose any alterations made to the interior . Use The Fifth Ward Wardroom was constructed and used as a polling place and meeting hall in a critical time when Pawtucket was incorporated as a city before becoming the Major Walter G. Gatchell Post No. 306 of the Veterans of Foreign Wars . Since about 1920 , the Gatchell Post has occupied the First Ward Wardroom , but the property is owned by the City of Pawtucket . In 2013 , the building was in need of significant roof repairs and the Gatchell Post reached out to the community to help raise the necessary funds . Significance The First Ward Wardroom is significant as a historical reminder of the pivotal time in which Pawtucket was incorporated as a city and gave up its town meeting form of governance . The building is also architecturally significant as a rare type of building , wardrooms , and is one of three extant examples in Rhode Island . William R. Walker Son constructed three such structures in Pawtucket with the Fifth Ward Wardroom being extant and the third example having been demolished . Though both constructed by William R. Walker Son , the two Pawtucket wardrooms are related , but not identical in construction and show variations by the firm . Another wardroom , with a bungalow style , is located in the Cato Hill Historic District in Woonsocket , Rhode Island . The First Ward Wardroom was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on November 18 , 1983 .
|
587 | German submarine U 2336 was a Type XXIII U boat of Nazi Germany 's Kriegsmarine during World War II . U 2336 had a very short career . She only conducted one war patrol and sank only three vessels , one of which was another German U boat ( U 2344 ) . Despite her short time in service , U 2336 is known for sinking the last two Allied merchant ships lost to a submarine in the war , when she torpedoed and sank the freighters Avondale Park and Sneland I off the Isle of May inside the Firth of Forth . Following the war , U 2336 was handed over to the Allies where she was taken to the British port of unk and sunk in Operation Deadlight on 3 January 1946 . Construction U 2336 was the 16th U boat that was constructed in the Type XXIII class . She was ordered on 20 September 1943 , and was laid down on 27 July 1944 at Deutsche Werft , Hamburg , as yard number 490 . She was launched on 10 September 1944 and commissioned under the command of Oberleutnant zur See Jrgen unk on 30 September of that year . By the time she was operational , U 2336 was equipped with only two bow torpedoes due to a lack of space and had a crew of 14 18 men . She had a range of 2 , 600 nautical miles ( 4 , 800 km 3 , 000 mi ) at 8 knots ( 15 km h 9 . 2 mph ) on the surface and 194 nmi ( 359 km 223 mi ) at 4 knots ( 7 . 4 km h 4 . 6 mph ) while submerged . U 2336 's maximum speed was 9 . 7 knots ( 18 km h 11 mph ) while surfaced and 12 . 5 knots ( 23 km h 14 mph ) when submerged . Service record Following training exercises with the 32nd U boat Flotilla from 30 September 1944 to 15 February 1945 , U 2336 began her first voyages as a front boat of the 4th U boat Flotilla on 16 February 1945 . However , on 18 February 1945 she was involved in a collision with U 2344 , another Type XXIII U boat , off unk on the Baltic coast . U 2344 was sunk , with the loss of 11 of her crew . It took about two months for U 2336 to actually leave her home port of Kiel , which she finally did on 18 April 1945 under a new commander , Kapitnleutnant Emil unk . Following five days of traveling across the straits of Kattegat and Skagerrak , U 2336 reached Larvik , Norway on 24 April 1945 which was to be her new home port for the remainder of the war . 1st patrol On 1 May 1945 , U 2336 left Larvik and headed out into the North Sea . On 7 May 1945 , U 2336 sank the last Allied merchant ships to be lost to a German submarine in the war , when she torpedoed and sank the freighters Avondale Park and Sneland I ( in order ) off the Isle of May inside the Firth of Forth . The first of the two ships to be sunk was the Sneland I , which exploded as soon as it was hit killing seven of her crew members , including the captain . Avondale Park was hit next , alarming the 28 man crew who believed that they had struck a mine . Avondale Park sank two minutes after being hit . Two crew members had been killed while the rest managed to enter a lifeboat or jump into the sea . U 2336 later returned to Kiel on 14 May 1945 and then transferred to Wilhelmshaven , Germany , where she was surrendered to the Western Allies . Post war After being surrendered to the Western Allies , U 2336 was taken to unk , United Kingdom on 21 June 1945 to take part in Operation Deadlight where she was sunk on 3 January 1946 by gunfire from the British destroyer HMS Offa . Summary of raiding history
|
588 | A wake low , or wake depression , is a mesoscale low pressure area which trails the mesoscale high following a squall line . Due to the subsiding warm air associated with the systems formation , clearing skies are associated with the wake low . Once difficult to detect in surface weather observations due to their broad spacing , the formation of mesoscale weather station networks , or unk , has increased their detection . Severe weather , in the form of high winds , can be generated by the wake low when the pressure difference between the mesohigh preceding it and the wake low is intense enough . When the squall line is in the process of decay , heat bursts can be generated near the wake low . Once new thunderstorm activity along the squall line ends , the wake low associated with it weakens in tandem . Formation Wake lows form due to adiabatic warming in the wake of mature squall lines at the back edge of their rain shields , where evaporative cooling is unable to offset warming due to atmospheric subsidence , or downward motion . They can be caused by gravity waves which duct through boundary layers which are deep and cold to the north of a weather front . As with mesoscale high pressure areas behind a squall line , when new thunderstorm development stops along the squall line , the wake low will weaken as well . Clearing conditions will accompany the wake low , due to the descending warm air mass associated with the feature . Within the United States , these systems have been observed to form in the Mississippi river valley , Southeast , Florida , and Great Plains . Detection Both direct and indirect ways have been found to indicate the presence of a wake depression . The most direct is through the use of surface observations . Prior to the development of mesoscale weather station networks , or unk , it was difficult to find wake lows . With the advent of mesoscale networks , wake lows have become easier to find . On weather satellite and weather radar imagery , wake lows and heat bursts normally occur on the back side of a precipitation area . However , within larger precipitation areas , they can be located within the area showing a minimum of returns . When using velocity data from a WSR 88D doppler radar , high winds on the back edge of reflectivity data can give away the location of a wake low . Association with heat bursts Heat bursts are rare atmospheric phenomenon characterized by gusty winds and a rapid increase in temperature and decrease in dew point ( moisture ) . Heat bursts typically occur during night time and are associated with decaying thunderstorms . In association with wake lows , heat bursts are caused when rain evaporates ( virga ) into a parcel of cold dry air high in the atmosphere making the air denser than its surroundings . The parcel descends rapidly , warming due to compression , overshoots its equilibrium level and reaches the surface , similar to a downburst . Recorded temperatures during heat bursts have reached well above 90 F ( 32 C ) , sometimes rising by 20 F ( 11 C ) or more within only a few minutes . More extreme events have also been documented , where temperatures have been reported to exceed 130 F ( 54 C ) , although such extreme events have never been officially verified . Heat bursts are also characterised by extremely dry air and are sometimes associated with very strong , even damaging , winds .
|
589 | Delaware Route 1A ( DE 1A ) is a state highway in Sussex County , Delaware . The route runs 2 . 92 mi ( 4 . 70 km ) from DE 1 in Dewey Beach to another intersection with DE 1 west of Rehoboth Beach . The route provides access to Rehoboth Beach from DE 1 , heading north before turning to the west . DE 1A follows King Charles Avenue , Bayard Avenue , 2nd Street ( southbound ) , Christian Street ( northbound ) , and Rehoboth Avenue . What is now DE 1A was originally a part of DE 14 between 1936 and 1942 . The road was designated DE 14A by 1966 . In the 1970s , DE 1A was designated along DE 14A for a few years before DE 14A was decommissioned in favor of DE 1A . Between 2002 and 2006 , a streetscape project revitalized the Rehoboth Avenue portion of the route and a roundabout was added at the entrance to Rehoboth Beach . Route description DE 1A begins at an intersection with DE 1 in Dewey Beach , heading north on two lane undivided King Charles Avenue . The road passes through residential areas before it curves northwest and runs to the south of Silver Lake . The route bends north and crosses the lake , where it enters Rehoboth Beach . Here , the name changes to Bayard Avenue and it becomes a divided highway . DE 1A becomes undivided again and comes to an intersection with Christian Street . At this point , northbound DE 1A turns northwest onto Christian Street to reach Rehoboth Avenue while southbound DE 1A follows 2nd Street north to Rehoboth Avenue . The highway heads west along four lane divided Rehoboth Avenue and passes businesses . The road intersects DE 1B before it comes to a roundabout at Grove Street Columbia Avenue . Following this , the route narrows into a two lane undivided road and crosses the Lewes and Rehoboth Canal on a drawbridge , leaving Rehoboth Beach . DE 1A continues west past homes and businesses and ends at another intersection with DE 1 . DE 1A has an annual average daily traffic count ranging from a high of 21 , 215 vehicles just west of Rehoboth Beach to a low of 3 , 076 vehicles on the service road at the northern terminus at DE 1 . None of DE 1A is part of the National Highway System . History What is now DE 1A was originally designated as part of DE 14 by 1936 . By 1942 , DE 14 was realigned to bypass Rehoboth Beach to the southwest . DE 14A was designated onto the former alignment of DE 14 through Rehoboth Beach by 1966 . By 1974 , DE 14A became concurrent with DE 1A . The DE 14A designation was dropped in 1977 and the road was solely designated DE 1A . In October 2002 , work began on a streetscape project to revitalize Rehoboth Avenue . The project provided new sidewalks and plants and placed utility lines underground . A roundabout opened at Grove Street and Columbia Avenue in May 2004 . The roundabout features a replica of the Cape Henlopen Light and serves as a gateway to Rehoboth Beach . When the roundabout first opened , there were issues of drivers not yielding properly . As a result , improved yield signage was installed . The streetscape project was completed in June 2006 , with a ribbon cutting held . The project cost 36 million DelDOT paid 16 . 3 million , the city of Rehoboth Beach provided 10 million , and the Federal Highway Administration provided 7 . 75 million . U.S. Senators Tom Carper and Joe Biden helped secure federal funds for the project . Major intersections The entire route is in Sussex County .
|
590 | Cwm ( also known as Come and Welsh Jesuit College of St Francis Xavier ) was a Jesuit gathering place , Ecclesiastical province and college in Llanrothal , Herefordshire , England . It became a Jesuit college in 1622 . Based in a large farmhouse , the Cwm included two houses , called Upper Cwm and Lower Cwm . They were divided by a walled forecourt and each was able to generate 60 ( equivalent to 10 , 000 in 2015 ) during its prime annually in rents from its own land . In 1678 , Cwm came under attack during the Popish Plot , when it was raided by such Protestants as Bishop Croft , John Arnold of Monmouthshire and ultra Protestant Charles Price . Some 150 volumes of its library were confiscated and removed to Hereford Cathedral Library . The original buildings were mostly demolished in 1830 and the existing building dates from soon afterwards , now a Grade II listed building . History The Jesuits ' South Wales Mission was originally based about 14 miles to the south , in Raglan , Monmouthshire , but soon after the year 1600 , their Superior received from the Earl of Worcester an estate called The Cwm in the parish of Llanrothal . The estate consisted of farm buildings and land between the villages of Welsh Newton and Llanrothal , about 5 miles from unk . The Cwm became one of the two focal points of disturbance in June and July 1605 . That year , Father Robert Jones who resided at Cwm , was implicated in an attempt to save two of the Gunpowder Plot perpetrators . Henry Milbourne worshipped with the Jesuits at the Cwm for some time and refused to issue warrants under the Elizabethan legislation , saying that it was not intended for use against Papists . In the early 17th Century , it was home to the recusant William Griffith . The province was founded in 1622 by Fr . John Salusbury ( d . 1625 ) , and it sheltered the College of St Francis Xavier , and the Cwm college became known as the Welsh Jesuit College of St Francis Xavier . After Salusbury 's death , Charles Gwynne ( also known as unk ) became rector . Serving as a refuge for priests ( 1625 1678 ) , in 1648 it was the base of the martyr St David Lewis , who became head of the Catholic seminary there . In 1678 , it came under attack during the Popish Plot , when it was raided by such Protestants as Bishop Croft , John Arnold of Monmouthshire and ultra Protestant Charles Price . Buildings and grounds Based in a large farmhouse , the Cwm included two houses , called Upper Cwm and Lower Cwm . They were divided by a walled forecourt and each was able to generate 60 during its prime ( equivalent to 10 , 000 in 2015 ) annually in rents from its own land . At one time , Cwm had a library , and some 150 volumes were confiscated and removed to Hereford Cathedral Library . The original buildings were mostly demolished in 1830 and the existing building dates from soon afterwards , is on the site of the now demolished 17th century house that held the Jesuit college and incorporates part of it . Enough remains of the original house half way up the long range of hills which slope down to the Monnow to trace the life led by its Jesuit inmates in the penal times . Originally a shooting box , and subsequently a farmhouse , it is Grade II listed , together with the terrace in front of the house , and the retaining wall to the side , which contains rare bee unk . There is a wood in the area known as Cwm Wood today .
|
591 | State Route 532 ( SR 532 ) is a short Washington state highway in Island and Snohomish counties , located in the United States . The 10 . 09 mile ( 16 . 24 km ) long roadway begins at Sunrise Boulevard in Camano and travels east through Stanwood to end at Interstate 5 ( I 5 ) . The road first appeared on a map in 1911 and in 1945 was designated Secondary State Highway 1Y ( SSH 1Y ) , which became SR 532 in 1964 . As of 2009 , the Washington State Department of Transportation is improving the whole corridor from Camano to I 5 with repaving projects , new traffic cameras , new lanes and replacing the Mark Clark Bridge between Camano and Stanwood with the Gateway Bridge . Route description State Route 532 ( SR 532 ) begins at an intersection with Sunrise Boulevard on Camano Island , which in turn is the census designated place of Camano . From Sunrise Boulevard , the highway travels east through rural areas and a wetland to cross Davis Slough from Island County to Snohomish County . After entering Snohomish County , the roadway crosses the Stillaguamish River on the Gateway Bridge and enters Stanwood . Between Sunrise Boulevard and the Stillaguamish River bridge , a daily average of 20 , 000 motorists used these sections of SR 532 in 2007 , higher than the 3 , 500 that used the same stretch of road in 1970 . The route intersects city streets , crosses a railroad track owned by the BNSF Railway that serves Amtrak 's Cascades route between Vancouver , British Columbia , and Seattle . The tracks serve the Stanwood station , which was completed on November 12 and opened November 21 , just north of SR 532 . After crossing the tracks , the roadway intersects the Pioneer Highway , which was SR 530 from 1964 until 1991 . The highway eventually leaves Stanwood and continues eastward past suburban housing areas and Sunday Lake to a diamond interchange with Interstate 5 ( I 5 ) . History SR 532 first appeared on a map in 1911 , which showed a road extending from Camano past East Stanwood ( present day Stanwood ) . The state began maintaining the highway in 1945 , when Secondary State Highway 1Y ( SSH 1Y ) was established , running along the current route of SR 532 . The Mark Clark Bridge , which is located on SR 532 between Camano Island and Stanwood , was constructed in 1949 and dedicated on July 23 , 1950 , to World War II general Mark Wayne Clark , who served out of Fort Lewis . During the 1964 highway renumbering , SSH 1Y became SR 532 since the 1964 renumbering , no major renumberings or route changes have been made . The Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) arranged a minor project in 2007 and is currently working on a corridor improvement , a project designed to improve the highway from Camano to Interstate 5 ( I 5 ) . During floods in January 2009 , residents in Stanwood constructed a barrier to prevent water damage to the highway . WSDOT is improving the whole corridor in a project divided into four miniature projects , all of which are expected to be complete by 2011 . The improvements include installing left turn lanes and replacing the Mark Clark Bridge with a wider , four lane bridge . In 2001 , when the project plans were underway , it was suggested that the roadway become five lanes wide and that a ferry from Everett to Camano Island be added WSDOT began seeking contractors in August 2008 and hired four by September . Major intersections
|
592 | The Daily Mash is a British satirical website providing parodic commentary on current affairs and other news stories . Neil Rafferty ( a former political correspondent for The Sunday Times ) and Paul Stokes ( former business editor of The Scotsman ) , created the website in 2007 and remain the lead writers . Both writers earn salaries from the enterprise and also employ freelance contributors . The publication has garnered praise for its absurd , scatological humour and insightful political satire , as well as being compared favourably with US publication The Onion . The current editor is comedy writer and former BBC journalist Tim Telling . History The Daily Mash was launched in April 2007 by journalists Paul Stokes and Neil Rafferty . Stokes is a former business editor of The Scotsman and has also written for Scotland on Sunday and The Daily Record . Rafferty is a former political correspondent for The Sunday Times , has also written for the Press Association and Business AM , and is a former spokesman for the smokers lobby group unk . The site was originally inspired by The Onion , a US satirical publication , as Stokes and Rafferty saw a gap in the market for a similar publication in Britain . Both journalists worked mainly for Scottish newspapers . Stokes and Rafferty earn salaries from the site , and lead a small team of freelance writers . The site earns revenue through advertising and merchandise , and is a successful profit making enterprise . It presents a niche opportunity to advertisers because of its apparent target audience of procrastinating office workers ( Citi employees complained to The Daily Mash and independent publications after the company banned them from accessing the site ) . Highlights of the publication 's first year have been published in book form as Halfwit Nation Frontline Reporting from the War on Stupid , both to acclaim and to complaints of unintelligent , overly crude humour . According to an online survey , the site 's readership mainly consists of university graduates who also read newspapers such as The Independent , The Guardian and The Times . According to the same survey , 65 per cent of its readers have incomes of more than 30 , 000 pounds , with 22 per cent earning more than 70 , 000 pounds . Reception The Daily Mash provides parodic coverage of current affairs and other stories and has been described as the U.K. ' s leading satirical news website . The site satirises with unk centre left humour hence its significant student appeal . The site 's humour has been described as cruel , scatological , absurd and irreverent . It is considered a British alternative and upstart rival to the better known US publication The Onion and its coverage has been compared favourably and in some instances considered superior to that of the latter . Despite its humour , the site is considered to be insightful on occasion . Some critics have remarked that not all of the site 's articles succeed as satire , and that its content lacks the linguistic invention of some other satirical works . The Daily Mash 's stories are sometimes commented upon by other news publications . Acclaimed parodic coverage includes Jeremy Clarkson 's much publicised disparaging remarks aimed at Gordon Brown , the advertising deals of Team Great Britain 's medal winners , the nationalisation of Northern Rock , Gordon Brown meeting the Pope and bankers ' bonuses .
|
593 | Nothhelm ( sometimes Nothelm died 739 ) was a medieval Anglo Saxon Archbishop of Canterbury . A correspondent of both Bede and Boniface , it was Nothhelm who gathered materials from Canterbury for Bede 's historical works . After his appointment to the archbishopric in 735 , he attended to ecclesiastical matters , including holding church councils . Although later antiquaries felt that Nothhelm was the author of a number of works , later research has shown them to be authored by others . After his death he was considered a saint . Early life Nothhelm was a contemporary of Boniface and Bede , whom he supplied with correspondence from the papal library following a trip to Rome . He also researched the history of Kent and the surrounding area for Bede , supplying the information through the abbot of St Augustine 's Abbey in Canterbury . Before his appointment to the archbishopric , he was the archpriest of the Saxon built St Paul 's Cathedral , London . Archbishop Named to the see of Canterbury in 735 , Nothhelm was consecrated the same year . Pope Gregory III sent him a pallium in 736 . He may have been appointed by thelbald , King of Mercia , whose councilor he was . Whether or not he owed his appointment to thelbald , Nothhelm was one of a number of Mercians who became Archbishop of Canterbury during the 730s and 740s , during a time of expanding Mercian influence . He held a synod in 736 or 737 , which drew nine bishops the meeting adjudicated a dispute over the ownership of a monastery located at Withington . A significant feature of this synod was the fact that no king attended , but yet the synod still rendered judgement in the ownership even without secular oversight , which was more usual . Nothhelm oversaw the reorganisation of the Mercian dioceses which took place in 737 . The archbishop consecrated unk as Bishop of Lichfield and unk as Bishop of Leicester . The diocese of Leicester was firmly established by this action , although earlier attempts had been made to establish a bishopric there . In 738 , Nothhelm was a witness on the charter of Eadberht I , the King of Kent . Bede addressed his work In regum unk XXX unk to Nothhelm , who had asked the thirty questions on the biblical book of Kings that Bede answered . Bede 's work De VIII unk may have been written for Nothhelm . While he was archbishop , Boniface wrote to him , requesting a copy of the Libellus responsionum of Pope Gregory I for use in Boniface 's missionary efforts . Boniface also asked for information on when the Gregorian mission to England arrived in England . This text of the Libellus responsionum has been the subject of some controversy , with the historian Suso Brechter arguing that the text was a forgery created by Nothhelm and a Roman archdeacon . The historian Paul Meyvaert has refuted this view , and most historians incline towards the belief that the text is genuine , although it is not considered conclusively proven . Death and legacy Nothhelm died on 17 October 739 . and was buried in Canterbury Cathedral . He is considered a saint , and his feast day is 17 October . The antiquaries and writers John Leland , John Bale , and Thomas Tanner all felt that Nothhelm was the author of various works , but later research has shown them to be authored by other writers . A verse eulogy for Nothhelm , of uncertain date , survives in a 16th century manuscript now at the Lambeth Palace library .
|
594 | Veratalpa lugdunensiana is a fossil mammal from the Miocene of France . Known from a single astragalus ( a unk ) , the species was assigned to its own genus , Veratalpa , by Florentino Ameghino in 1905 . He placed it in Talpidae , the family of the moles , but in 1974 , John Howard Hutchison argued that the astragalus was not talpid and more likely came from a rodent . The astragalus is about 4 . 5 mm long , broad for a talpid , and has the head oriented farther from the axis of the foot than in talpids . Taxonomy Argentine naturalist Florentino Ameghino described Veratalpa in an overview of the astragali from the middle Miocene of Vieux Collonges in France . The astragalus is a bone of the foot that is part of the ankle joint . He listed several species of the family Talpidae ( moles and related species ) from Vieux Collonges , including espce C ( species C ) , which he named as a new genus and species , Veratalpa lugdunensiana , in a footnote . In a 1906 review of Ameghino 's paper , douard Louis Trouessart affirmed that Veratalpa probably represented a new genus of mole , but noted that the specific name lugdunensiana would have been more correctly written unk . According to Trouessart , the suffix unk is appropriate for names that reference persons , but not for those that refer to places , such as this name , which is derived from Lugdunum ( the Latin name for Lyon ) . In a 1974 review of Miocene European talpids , John Howard Hutchison wrote that the astragalus of Veratalpa lacked any features that would ally it with talpids and commented that it was most likely a rodent . In their 1997 Classification of Mammals , Malcolm McKenna and Susan Bell listed Veratalpa as a member of unk of uncertain affinities . Description The astragalus of Veratalpa is the largest among those from Vieux Collonges that Ameghino assigned to Talpidae . Although at 4 . 5 mm it is about as long as his species A , it is broader , and Hutchison noted the broadness as one of the characters that argue against classification of Veratalpa in Talpidae . Like living moles , it has a broad , flat , and short head , but it forms a noticeably small angle with the body in actual moles , the head is more axially oriented ( i.e. , towards the central axis of the foot ) . The surface of the head that contacts the unk is less rounded than in moles . The body is low and nearly square and has a diameter of about 3 mm . The trochlea a surface on the body of the bone that articulates with the tibia ( lower leg bone ) is not large and pulley like , as in talpids . There is a small perforation on the lower side of the body . This perforation is larger in Ameghino 's other supposed talpids , and Trouessart suggested on the basis of this feature that the internal parts of the toes were reduced in Veratalpa . Distribution Veratalpa is known only from the locality of Vieux Collonges near Lyon in southeastern France Ameghino knew this locality as Mont unk . This rich fissure filling locality has yielded thousands of fossils and is currently dated to the early middle Miocene boundary , around 17 million years ago ( MN 4 5 in the MN zonation ) . As Veratalpa is known from a single astragalus , Ameghino considered it to be rare . He distinguished six talpid species among the astragali , but according to Hutchison only Ameghino 's species F ( which was assigned to Talpidae with a query ) is really a talpid .
|
595 | Pennsylvania Route 958 ( also designated by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation as SR unk ) is an 8 . 63 mile long ( 13 . 89 km ) state highway located in Warren County , Pennsylvania . The designation 's southern terminus is at an intersection with U.S. Route 6 in Pittsfield Township . The route heads through several small communities , including Lottsville , where it goes on a short concurrency with Pennsylvania Route 957 . The northern terminus is at the New York state line at Freehold Township , just east of Bear Lake . There , the route continues through New York as Chautauqua County Route 33 . Route 958 was designated in 1928 as a connector from U.S. Route 6 to the community of Wrightsville , where the designation terminated . The route was extended northward along its current alignment in 1936 and has remained unchanged since . Route description State Route 958 begins at an intersection with a two lane U.S. Route 6 east of the city of Corry . The route progresses northward as a two lane roadway through the rural regions of western Pennsylvania . Route 958 soon enters the community of Wrightsville , a small community of a few residences and mostly fields . At unk Run Road , the highway begins to cross through a populated area , however , it soon leaves Wrightsville and turns to the northwest in the deep fields north of the community . The northwestern bend curves back to the northward progression and Route 958 passes through a large farm near an intersection with Kidder Road . Some residences parallel the highway as it makes another northwestern bend and soon comes on a northward stretch into the community of Lottsville , where the highway intersects with Route 957 . At the intersection , Routes 957 and 958 become concurrent along a westbound residential street , until leaving Lottsville , where the two routes turn to the southwest in fields . As Routes 957 and 958 approach a railroad line used by Norfolk Southern ( and previously the Erie Railroad ) , Route 958 forks to the north , paralleling and soon crossing the rails northwest of Lottsville . The distinctively rural surroundings for Route 958 return , and the Norfolk Southern line parallels to the east as the highway curves northwestward . Soon , Route 958 returns to a farming region and curves away from the railroad on a mountainside . After passing a large pond , the route intersects Greeley Street a t intersection in Bear Lake , where Route 958 turns eastward through the rural areas before intersecting with North Road , where the route turns northward and reaches the New York state line near Niobe , New York . Route 958 terminates here , and the right of way continues northward as Chautauqua County Route 33 ( Panama Bear Lake Road ) . History Route 958 was first designated among many regional highways in the 1928 mass renumbering of state highways throughout Pennsylvania . The alignment , however was only a stub designation , connecting the southern terminus of U.S. Route 6 ( formerly State Route 7 ) to the borough of Wrightsville , only a short distance away . The alignment designed in 1928 only remained intact eight years into 1936 , when it was extended northward to its current terminus at the New York state line near Bear Lake , Pennsylvania and Niobe , New York in 1936 . The alignment has remained unchanged since the 1936 extension . Major intersections The entire route is in Warren County .
|
596 | The 2013 CECAFA Cup ( known as the unk CECAFA Challenge Cup for sponsorship reasons ) was the 37th edition of the annual CECAFA Cup , an international football competition consisting of the national teams of member nations of the Council for East and Central Africa Football Associations ( CECAFA ) . The tournament was held in Kenya from 27 November to 12 December . Contested by twelve national teams , the tournament had Zambia invited as a guest nation to fill in for Djibouti , who failed to participate for a second consecutive year . This followed the tournament 's recent tradition of inviting other African nations to take part once a CECAFA nation pulled out Malawi were invited to take part in the previous edition held in Uganda , while they and Zimbabwe took part in 2011 after Eritrea withdrew from the competition . Hosts Kenya ran out 2 0 winners in the final against three time champions Sudan , with a brace from Allan Wanga securing the unk Stars their sixth title after losing to previous hosts Uganda at the same stage the previous year . The third place playoff was won by guests Zambia , who beat Tanzania 6 5 on penalties after playing out to a 1 1 draw after 90 minutes . Background and sponsorship On 25 November 2012 , it was announced that Kenya was chosen to host the tournament after bids were placed by the host nation as well as Rwanda . However , their hosting of the tournament was not confirmed until a congress meeting for the Confederation of African Football held in Marrakesh , Morocco on 11 March 2013 , after it was announced that the Football Kenya Federation had met all the requirements for hosting the tournaments with support from the Kenyan government . The capital city Nairobi , Mombasa , Kisumu , Machakos and Nakuru were identified as host cities for the tournament . On 21 November 2013 , CECAFA announced that unk would be the title sponsors of the tournament , having committed Ksh . 11 . 25 million towards the organisation of the event and a further Ksh . 45 million towards the broadcasting of all 26 matches . Other companies that were sponsoring the tournament were Coca Cola , who committed Ksh . 6 . 5 million , and UAP Insurance , who committed Ksh . 5 . 5 million . Of Ksh . 8 . 7 million ( approx . US 100 , 000 ) that was allocated for prize money , the winners were to receive Ksh . 5 . 6 million , while the runners up were to take home Ksh . 2 . 5 million . The third place playoff winners were to receive Ksh . 600 , 000 . Participants The draw for teams to participate in the tournament was held during the tournament 's launch on 15 November 2013 . Alongside the 12 member nations of CECAFA , Ivory Coast , Malawi and Zambia were initially mooted as invitees for the tournament . However , CECAFA decided against inviting the Ivory Coast , with Secretary General Nicholas Musonye saying that flying in Les unk and keeping them in the country would cost the organisers over US 25 , 000 . The Football Association of Malawi decided not to enter a team for the tournament due to a lack of funds . The following teams were confirmed to participate in the tournament Match officials The following 18 officials were appointed by CECAFA to participate in the tournament . Referees Assistant referees Group stage The group stage began on 27 November and ended on 5 December . The matchdays were 27 29 November , 30 November 2 December and 3 5 December .
|
597 | HMS Grenville was the flotilla leader for the G class destroyers , built for the Royal Navy in the mid 1930s . She spent most of the pre war period as part of the Mediterranean Fleet . The ship was transferred to the British Isles to escort shipping in local waters shortly after the beginning of World War II . In January 1940 , Grenville struck a mine outside the Thames Estuary and sank with the loss of 77 of her crew . Description Grenville displaced 1 , 455 long tons ( 1 , 478 t ) at standard load and 2 , 053 long tons ( 2 , 086 t ) at deep load . The ship had an overall length of 330 feet ( 100 . 6 m ) , a beam of 34 feet 6 inches ( 10 . 5 m ) and a draught of 12 feet 9 inches ( 3 . 9 m ) . She was powered by Parsons geared steam turbines , driving two shafts , which developed a total of 38 , 000 shaft horsepower ( 28 , 000 kW ) and gave a maximum speed of 36 knots ( 67 km h 41 mph ) . Steam for the turbines was provided by three Yarrow side fired , water tube boilers . Grenville carried a maximum of 470 long tons ( 480 t ) of fuel oil that gave her a range of 5 , 530 nautical miles ( 10 , 240 km 6 , 360 mi ) at 15 knots ( 28 km h 17 mph ) . The ship 's complement was 175 officers and men . The ship mounted five 45 calibre 4 . 7 inch ( 120 mm ) Mark IX guns in single mounts . For anti aircraft ( AA ) defence , Grenville had two quadruple Mark I mounts for the 0 . 5 inch Vickers Mark III machine gun . She was fitted with two above water quadruple torpedo tube mounts for 21 inch ( 533 mm ) torpedoes . One depth charge rail and two throwers were fitted 20 depth charges were originally carried , but this increased to 35 shortly after the war began . Service history Ordered in 1934 , the ship was laid down by the Yarrow Shipbuilding Company at Scotstoun in Glasgow on 29 September 1934 , launched on 15 August 1935 , and completed on 1 July 1936 . Excluding government furnished equipment like the armament , the ship cost 275 , 412 . Aside from a brief period when she was assigned to the 20th Destroyer Flotilla after her commissioning , Grenville spent the prewar period as the flagship of the 1st Destroyer Flotilla with the Mediterranean Fleet . She spent ten months deployed off the Spanish coast in the Western Mediterranean during the Spanish Civil War before returning to Portsmouth for a brief overhaul between 24 May and 9 June 1937 . The ship returned to the Mediterranean until she was given a more thorough refit in Portsmouth between 7 June and 25 July 1938 . On the outbreak of war in September 1939 , Grenville was deployed in the Mediterranean . On 22 October , Grenville and her sisters Griffin , Grenade and Gipsy were transferred to the Western Approaches Command and arrived at Plymouth on 2 November . Grenville and Grenade collided during the night of 7 8 November and Grenville 's No. 3 boiler room was flooded . She was under repair at HM Dockyard , Devonport until 1 December . While the ship was under repair , her flotilla had been transferred to the Nore Command at Harwich for local patrol and escort work . Grenville rejoined them the on 3 December and participated in several attempts to intercept enemy shipping traffic off the Dutch and German North Sea coasts . Whilst returning from one of these missions on 19 January Grenville struck a mine 23 miles ( 37 km ) east of Kentish Knock Light Vessel . Seventy seven of the ship 's company were killed as the ship sank .
|
598 | Shattered Glass is a song recorded by American recording artist Britney Spears . The song was written by Lukasz Dr. Luke Gottwald , Claude Kelly , Benjamin Benny Blanco Levin , and produced by Dr. Luke and Benny Blanco for Spears ' sixth studio album , Circus ( 2008 ) . Shattered Glass is an uptempo pop song , while Spears ' vocals have been Auto Tuned on the track . Lyrically , the song is very emotional , with Spears singing of entrapment and self loathing in her relationship with fame . Reception of the track from music critics was mixed , with some noting its dance and pop sound , while others called it generic and filler . Although the song was never released independently from Circus , it managed to peak on many of the Billboard component charts , including number seventy on the Billboard Hot 100 , seventy five on the Canadian Hot 100 , and number fifty seven on the Billboard Pop 100 . Background and composition Shattered Glass is an uptempo pop song with guitar riffs , jagged and distorted vocals in the verses , and a melodic chorus . Spears ' robotic electro sound , Auto Tuned vocals on the track have drawn comparisons to her 2007 album Blackout , though it has been noted by ABC News ' Allan Raible that her vocals sound more alive than on the rest of Circus . The song contains elements of teen pop , electronic , and dance music . Lyrically , the song has varying emotions in its lyrics , speaking of flirting , betrayal , and a sense of entrapment as well as self loathing in her relationship with fame . The song was written and produced by Lukasz Dr. Luke Gottwald , who also acted as co executive producer on Femme Fatale , and unk Benny Blanco Levin , with co writing credits to Claude Kelly . Background vocals were provided by Kelly and Windy Wagner . Critical reception Entertainment Weekly 's Chris William said that Dr. Luke and Max Martin were bringing their B game to the track . The New York Times ' John Pareles said the song and Womanizer , the lead single from Circus , use their pulsing electro arrangements for teen pop tales of flirting and betrayal . PopMatters , however , called the song part of the mid album slump , saying that she reveals her proclivity for the same stomping , unsubtle unk of ' Womanizer ' , but there s a notable lapse in quality . Jim Farber from Daily News said the song had real bubblegum snap while Ben unk from About.com called it a beautiful upbeat pop tune . National Post 's Ben Kaplan called the song a kiss off guitar laden hard disco . Commercial performance Despite not being released as a single , the song managed to chart on many of the Billboard charts . Due to digital downloads from Circus , the song managed to peak at number seventy on the Billboard Hot 100 chart on the week of December 15 , 2008 before dropping off the next week . Shattered Glass charted at number fifty seven on the Pop Songs and number twenty nine on the Hot Digital Songs . It received similar reception in Canada , debuting at number seventy five on the Canadian Hot 100 and number thirty six on the Hot Canadian Digital Singles in the same week . Credits and Personnel Lukasz Gottwald songwriter , producer Claude Kelly songwriter , background vocals Benjamin Levin songwriter Benny Blanco producer Britney Spears background vocals , lead vocals Windy Wagner background vocals Source Charts
|
599 | New York State Route 335 ( NY 335 ) is a north south state highway located within the town of Bethlehem in Albany County , New York , in the United States . It extends for 1 . 77 miles ( 2 . 85 km ) from an intersection with Feura Bush Road near the hamlet of Delmar to a junction with NY 443 in the hamlet of Elsmere . The two lane route , named Elsmere Avenue , also has an intersection with NY 32 about halfway through the route . NY 335 was assigned to its current alignment in the 1930s . Route description NY 335 begins at an intersection with Feura Bush Road southeast of the hamlet of Delmar in the town of Bethlehem . Although Feura Bush Road is now NY unk , an unsigned reference route , it was once part of NY 32 . From Feura Bush Road , NY 335 heads northward as a two lane street named Elsmere Avenue , passing several housing tracts in an otherwise open area of the town . After a half mile ( 0 . 8 km ) , the route meets the Delmar Bypass , a four lane divided highway carrying NY 32 through Bethlehem . Past the bypass , NY 335 traverses dense residential neighborhoods on its way to the hamlet of Elsmere , one of several communities located along NY 443 . In Elsmere , the route runs along the east side of Bethlehem Cemetery on its way to a junction with Kenwood Avenue , a local east west street that becomes NY 140 at a junction less than 1 mile ( 1 . 6 km ) to the west in the adjacent hamlet of Delmar . Continuing on , NY 335 serves two more blocks of homes before passing under an overpass that once carried a Delaware and Hudson Railway line . The abandoned overpass serves as a divider between the residential section of the community and Elsmere 's central business district , where NY 335 ends at a junction with NY 443 ( Delaware Avenue ) one block north of the old railroad bridge . History On May 11 , 1914 , the state of New York awarded a contract to rebuild Elsmere Avenue to state highway standards . The project cost 18 , 489 ( equivalent to 436 , 795 in 2016 ) , and the reconstructed road was added to the state highway system on October 27 , 1914 , as unsigned State Highway 1184 . It did not receive a posted designation until the 1930s , when it was designated NY 335 . At the time , the route connected to NY 32 at Feura Bush Road . In 1959 , the state of New York developed plans for the Delmar Bypass , which would intersect NY 335 a short distance north of Feura Bush Road . The Bethlehem Central Board of Education had called for a grade separated interchange between the highway and NY 335 to ensure the safety of school buses on the latter road , a major bus route however , the junction was ultimately built as an at grade intersection . The Delmar Bypass was opened in December 1963 , connecting Elm Avenue in the west to U.S. Route 9W in the east . The state did not add traffic lights to any of the four intersections on the bypass as a late 1963 study indicated that the signals were unnecessary . In mid January 1964 , the Bethlehem Town Board pushed the state to add traffic lights to every intersection in the wake of several accidents and near misses at the crossings . This request was eventually granted . The Delmar Bypass did not have a signed route number until the 1970s when NY 32 was realigned to follow the highway . As a result , NY 335 no longer connected to a signed route at its south end . Major intersections The entire route is in Bethlehem , Albany County .
|
Subsets and Splits
No community queries yet
The top public SQL queries from the community will appear here once available.