id
int64
0
3.9k
doc
stringlengths
268
6.34k
900
The Sunol Water Temple is located at 505 Paloma Way in Sunol , California . Designed by Willis Polk , the 59 foot high classical pavilion is made up of twelve concrete Corinthian columns and a concrete ring girder that supports the conical wood and tile roof . Inside the temple , water originally from the Pleasanton well fields and Arroyo de la Laguna flowed into a white tiled cistern before plunging into a deeper water channel carrying water from the filter galleries to the Niles Aqueduct in Niles Canyon and across San Francisco Bay near the Dumbarton Bridge . The roof covering the cistern has paintings depicting Indian maidens carrying water vessels . The temple is open to the public Monday to Friday , 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. History Since the mid 19th century a private company , the Spring Valley Water Company ( SVWC ) , owned much of the Alameda Creek Watershed and had held a monopoly on water service to San Francisco . In 1906 , William Bowers Bourn II , a major stockholder in the SVWC , and owner of the giant Empire gold mine , hired Willis Polk to design a water temple atop the spot where three subterranean water sources converge ( a pipe from the Arroyo de la Laguna , Alameda Creek , through the Sunol infiltration galleries , and a 30 inch pipeline from the artesian well field of Pleasanton ) Some sources claim Bourn wanted to sell the water company to the City of San Francisco and saw the temple as a way to appeal to San Francisco voters , who would have to approve the purchase ( municipal efforts to buy out the SVWC had been a source of constant controversy from as early as 1873 , when the first attempt to purchase it was turned down by the voters because the price was too high ) . Other sources claim that as one born into wealth and classically educated , Bourn was partially motivated by a sense of civic responsibility . Polk 's design , modeled after the ancient Temple of Vesta in Tivoli , Italy , was constructed in 1910 ( Tivoli is where many of the waters that fed Rome converged in the foothills of the Apennines ) . Prior to the construction of the Hetch Hetchy Aqueduct , half of San Francisco 's water supply ( 6 million gallons a day ) passed through the Sunol temple . The SVWC , including the temple , was purchased by San Francisco in 1930 for 40 million . For decades the Water Temple received many visitors and was a popular location for picnickers . By the 1980s the water temple had badly deteriorated , and was severely damaged in 1989 's Loma Prieta earthquake , leading some community leaders to call for its demolition . The site was closed to the public because of safety concerns . A community effort led to the temple 's restoration from 1997 to 2001 , at a cost of 1 . 2 million , including seismic and accessibility upgrades . Following its restoration the temple opened again to the public . Today any water that flows through the temple is not part of the potable water supply . Fields adjacent to the temple belong to the city of San Francisco which has authorized the digging of a gravel quarry on the site . Local residents concerned about the temple 's future brought a lawsuit to attempt block the quarry project , but eventually ran out of funds and dropped the suit . In June 2006 , a new facility named the Sunol Agricultural Park was opened on a site adjacent to the temple . The park provides space for small businesses and nonprofit groups to grow produce and is a project of a non profit called Sustainable Agriculture Education ( SAGE ) . The park serves a platform for service and educational programs related to sustainable agriculture and environmental conservation . Inscription I will make the wilderness a pool of water and the dry lands springs of water . Isaiah 41 18b The streams whereof shall make glad the city . Psalms 46 4 unk unk Spring Valley Water Company 1910
901
Pennsylvania Route 143 ( PA 143 ) is a 20 mile long ( 32 km ) state highway in Pennsylvania . It runs from PA 662 in Richmond Township , Berks County northeast to PA 309 near New Tripoli in Lehigh County . The route passes through rural areas , intersecting Interstate 78 ( I 78 ) U.S. Route 22 ( US 22 ) in Lenhartsville , PA 737 near Kempton , and PA 863 in unk . What is now PA 143 north of Lenhartsville was originally designated Legislative Route 285 in 1911 . PA 143 was designated to in 1928 to run from PA 43 in Lenhartsville to PA 29 near New Tripoli . The route was extended slightly east through New Tripoli by 1940 following a realignment of PA 29 . PA 143 was extended south to PA 662 by 1966 . Route description PA 143 begins at an intersection with PA 662 in Richmond Township , Berks County , heading to the north on two lane undivided Hard Hill Road . It turns northwest through a mix of hilly farms and woods with some homes , reaching the community of unk and becoming Main Street . In unk , the road crosses the Maiden Creek into Perry Township , where it runs a short distance to the west of the creek with woods to the east and farm fields to the west as an unnamed road . PA 143 continues through rural surroundings as it passes through Windsor Township and into Greenwich Township . The road enters more wooded surroundings and makes a few sharp turns prior to heading west into Lenhartsville . Here , the road becomes Chestnut Street and passes homes and businesses , making a right turn to the north onto Willow Street as it intersects the former alignment of US 22 . Upon leaving Lenhartsville for Greenwich Township again , PA 143 becomes unnamed and reaches an interchange with I 78 US 22 . From this point , the road winds north through more forested areas , still running to the west of Maiden Creek . The route enters Albany Township and enters a mix of woods and farms as it comes to an intersection with the northern terminus of PA 737 near the community of Kempton . Following this intersection , the road passes through more rural areas as it runs to the west of Ontelaunee Creek and the Wanamaker , Kempton and Southern Railroad . PA 143 crosses into Lynn Township , Lehigh County , continuing northeast to the community of unk as Kings Highway . At this point , the road turns more to the east and passes the terminus of the Wanamaker , Kempton and Southern Railroad and heads into more agricultural areas with some homes . Upon reaching the community of unk , PA 143 comes to the northern terminus of PA 863 . From this intersection , the route continues farther east , passing through New Tripoli as Decatur Street before reaching its northern terminus at PA 309 . PA 143 has a total length of 20 . 039 miles ( 32 . 250 km ) . In 2010 , PA 143 had an annual average daily traffic count ranging from a high of 5 , 400 vehicles between PA 662 and I 78 US 22 to a low of 1 , 800 vehicles between PA 737 and PA 863 . None of PA 143 is part of the National Highway System . History What is now PA 143 north of Lenhartsville was designated as part of Legislative Route 285 , a legislative route that ran from Hamburg to New Tripoli , in 1911 . PA 143 was designated in 1928 to follow its current alignment from PA 43 ( now Old Route 22 ) in Lenhartsville northeast to PA 29 west of New Tripoli . The route was originally unpaved between Lenhartsville and Kempton while the section between Kempton and New Tripoli was paved . By 1940 , PA 143 was paved between Lenhartsville and Kempton . Also by this time , PA 143 was extended through New Tripoli to end at PA 29 ( now PA 309 ) to the east of the community following a realignment of PA 29 . PA 143 was extended south from Lenhartsville to its current southern terminus at PA 662 by 1966 , adding 6 . 4 miles ( 10 . 3 km ) to the length of the road . Major intersections
902
State Route 174 ( SR 174 ) is a 40 . 66 mile ( 65 . 44 km ) long state highway that traverses Douglas , Grant and Lincoln counties in Washington . SR 174 begins at a junction with SR 17 in Leahy and travels eastward to Grand Coulee , near the Grand Coulee Dam , to intersect SR 155 . From Grand Coulee , the roadway travels southeast to end at SR 21 northwest of Wilbur . Prior to the establishment of SR 174 in a 1964 renumbering , it had been county roads and two highways , Secondary State Highway 10B ( SSH 10B ) and Secondary State Highway 4C ( SSH 4C ) from 1937 until 1964 . The two highways merged to form SR 174 in 1964 and a branch of SSH 10B became the Crown Point spur of SR 174 . A second spur route , located in Leahy , was added in 2009 . Route description SR 174 begins at an intersection with SR 17 in Leahy , a small community in Douglas County . The western terminus is only accessible from SR 17 southbound , access from SR 17 northbound is provided by the Leahy spur of SR 174 . From Leahy , the highway travels northeastward through grasslands with few farms before turning southeast to intersect its Crown Point spur near the Grand Coulee Dam . The roadway then enters Grant County and the city of Grand Coulee and becomes the Bridgeport Highway . SR 174 continues to the Grand Coulee Dam federal reservation and state maintenance ends through the area . After the gap in maintenance in Grand Coulee , SR 174 travels over the Columbia Basin Canal and intersects with SR 155 , which is named Midway Avenue through Grand Coulee . After the intersection , the highway is named Grand Coulee Avenue and passes Grand Coulee Middle School and unk High School before leaving the city and the county . The roadway enters Lincoln County and continues southeast to its eastern terminus , an intersection with SR 21 , northwest of Wilbur SR 21 continues south to intersect with U.S. Route 2 ( US 2 ) . History SR 174 had previously been parts of various county roads until 1937 , when Washington established a system of primary and secondary highways throughout the state . One of the secondary highways , Secondary State Highway 10B ( SSH 10B ) ran from Primary State Highway 10 ( PSH 10 ) in Bridgeport to Coulee Dam , near the Grand Coulee Dam that was built in 1942 . Another secondary highway , Secondary State Highway 4C ( SSH 4C ) ran from Grand Coulee to PSH 4 near Wilbur . In 1951 , the western terminus SSH 10B was moved from Bridgeport to PSH 10 in Leahy and a western portion from PSH 2 in Farmer to PSH 10 in Mansfield . A branch of SSH 10B from its main route to the Crown Point viewing area of the Grand Coulee Dam was added in 1955 . SR 174 was formed after a 1964 renumbering of Washington state highways , eliminating the previous Primary and secondary highway system . SSH 10B and SSH 4C were connected to become the new highway and the renumbering went into effect in 1970 . In 2009 , a second spur in Leahy was established and added to the state highway system . Major intersections Spur routes State Route 174 ( SR 174 ) has two spur routes , a type of special route . Leahy spur The Leahy spur of SR 174 is a 0 . 09 mile ( 0 . 14 km ) long two lane spur route that was added to the state highway system in 2009 . The roadway is named Leahy Road and serves as a connector from northbound SR 17 to SR 174 . Crown Point spur The older spur route is located near the Grand Coulee Dam and connects SR 174 to Crown Point State Park , part of the Lake Roosevelt National Recreation Area , within the community of Coulee Dam . The highway , named Crown Point Road , is 1 . 37 miles ( 2 . 20 km ) long and was added in 1964 . The Crown Point Spur was a spur route of SSH 10B , established in 1955 , prior to 1964 . The roadway itself is within federal property and is not numbered or maintained by the state .
903
State Route 163 ( SR 163 ) is a 3 . 37 mile long ( 5 . 42 km ) state highway in the U.S. state of Washington . The highway serves the city of Tacoma and the community of Ruston in Pierce County before traveling via a ferry route to the community of Tahlequah on Vashon Island in King County . SR 163 begins at an interchange with SR 16 in Tacoma and travels north as Pearl Street through Ruston to Point Defiance , where the designation continues onto the MV Chetzemoka ferry to Tahlequah . SR 163 was established during the 1964 highway renumbering , extending from Sumner to Auburn . The highway was previously a part of the Pacific Highway during the early 20th century , but was designated as a branch of State Road 5 and Primary State Highway 5 ( PSH 5 ) until 1964 . SR 163 became SR 167 during the late 1960s and was moved to Pearl Street in 1991 , with the ferry route being added in 1994 . Route description SR 163 begins as Pearl Street at a partial cloverleaf interchange with the SR 16 freeway in Tacoma north of Tacoma Community College . Pearl Street travels north , serving Woodrow Wilson High School and Truman Middle School , before leaving Tacoma and entering Ruston and serving Point Defiance Elementary School . The highway re enters Tacoma at Point Defiance Park and passes the Science and Math Institute before traveling onto the Point Defiance Tahlequah Ferry . The ferry , operated by Washington State Ferries ( WSF ) , is on a 1 . 7 mile long ( 2 . 7 km ) route and is served by the Kwa di unk class MV Chetzemoka traveling at a speed of 15 knots ( 17 mph ) for a 15 minute crossing . The ferries depart from Port Defiance and head north across the unk Passage to the community of Tahlequah on Vashon Island . WSF operates the ferry every day with 19 crossings , as a 5 toll for adult passengers is charged with prepaid Wave2Go cards being accepted . Every year , the Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2011 , WSDOT calculated that between 1 , 000 and 26 , 000 vehicles per day used the highway , mostly at the SR 16 interchange in Tacoma . The Point Defiance Tahlequah ferry carried 650 , 000 passengers and 383 , 000 vehicles in 2012 , according to WSF statistics . History SR 163 was first designated during the 1964 highway renumbering as a road extending from U.S. Route 410 in Sumner to SR 18 in Auburn . The corridor was previously a part of the Pacific Highway from 1913 to 1923 , and later became a branch of State Road 5 in 1925 . State Road 5 became PSH 5 during the creation of the Primary and secondary state highways in 1937 , and the branch stayed designated . SR 163 was removed from the highway system in the late 1960s , and became part of SR 167 . SR 163 was re designated in 1991 along Pearl Street from SR 16 in Tacoma to the Point Defiance ferry terminal . The route was extended onto the Point Defiance Tahlequah Ferry serving Vashon Island in 1994 . No major revisions have occurred since 1994 to the highway 's route . Regular ferry service on the unk Passage between Point Defiance in Tacoma and Tahlequah on Vashon Island started with the MV unk in June 1951 during the creation of the WSF , and served the route until the completion of the MV Hiyu in 1967 . The Hiyu operated for 26 years until it was replaced by the refurbished MV Rhododendron in 1993 . The Hiyu briefly returned to the route twice , in June 2008 and in September and October 2008 , while the Rhododendron was loaned out to Pierce County for the Steilacoom Anderson Island ferry . The MV Chetzemoka , built in 2010 , began serving the route in January 2012 . Major intersections
904
Farm to Market Road 1528 ( FM 1528 ) is a farm to market road located in the western and central portions of Delta County in the U.S. state of Texas . The highway is approximately 11 . 4 miles ( 18 . 3 km ) in length , and travels through mainly rural portions of Delta County . The roadway begins at an intersection with FM 64 in the community of Antioch . The highway proceeds southward , passing through the former community of Gough , before bending east . The highway proceeds east , running concurrently with State Highway 24 ( SH 24 ) for a short distance . The road travels northeast , parallel to Cooper Lake , before bending north and entering Cooper , where it terminates at SH 154 . Early roads existed in the place of FM 1528 by 1936 , and a short section of highway between SH 27 ( now SH 24 ) and Klondike was designated as Loop 39 in 1939 , and FM 1528 was designated in 1949 . The route of the highway has been altered since its designation , including rerouting due to the construction of Cooper Lake . Route description FM 1528 begins at an intersection with FM 64 in the unincorporated community of Antioch as a two lane , paved road . The highway proceeds southward , entering rural areas and intersecting several small roads . The road continues , entering the former community of Gough and intersects FM 2068 . FM 1528 turns due eastward and continues , exiting the Gough area . The roadway proceeds east , intersecting several county roads and traveling past several small houses . The highway bends southward and travels a short distance before it intersects SH 24 . The highway runs concurrently with SH 24 for a short distance before splitting off , proceeding into the community of Klondike . The road turns northeast , after it proceeds through Klondike and intersects FM 2890 . The roadway continues northeastward , passing through the Cooper Wildlife Management Area , as well as traveling over a creek leading to Cooper Lake before it reenters rural areas . It continues , passing over another creek before it bends eastward . At the southern edge of Cooper , the route intersects FM 1880 . The road bends northward , entering the city of Cooper . The roadway passes several small buildings in the community before reaching its eastern terminus , an intersection with SH 154 and State Highway 24 Business . The Texas Department of Transportation ( TxDOT ) publishes yearly reports of the highway 's annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) , with counts usually taken near intersections . In 2011 , FM 1528 's highest traveled point was within the city proper of Cooper , with a daily average of 1550 vehicles . Just outside Cooper , the count drops to around 800 vehicles . In Klondike , the AADT is around 300 vehicles , while just west of Klondike , the count is just over 100 . The highway 's least traveled point is near its western terminus , with an average of just 90 vehicles . No portion of the highway is listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History The first segments of road in the location of what would become FM 1528 existed by the year of 1936 . On September 26 , 1939 , a portion of road traveling from SH 24 to the community of Klondike was designated as Loop Highway 39 ( Loop 39 ) . and on September 28 , 1949 , through the order of the Texas Transportation Board , FM 1528 was designated , and Loop 39 was redesignated as part of the highway . In 1961 , the highway had a bituminous surface , a combination of gravel and asphalt . By 1987 , the highway had been minorly rerouted and straightened , and the entire length had been paved . Between 1986 and 1991 , the highway 's route was minorly rerouted between Klondike and Cooper , due to the construction of Cooper Lake . Major intersections The entire road is in Delta County .
905
State Route 224 ( SR 224 ) is a 10 . 15 mile ( 16 . 33 km ) long state highway located entirely in Benton County , Washington , United States . The highway serves to connect SR 225 to Interstate 82 ( I 82 ) and U.S. Route 12 ( US 12 ) , and to link Benton City to West Richland and Richland . Before the 1964 state highway renumbering the highway was numbered Secondary State Highway 3R . SR 224 is a lightly traveled rural highway except through Richland , where an average of 16 , 000 cars traveled the highway daily in 2009 . The Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) is currently studying plans to alleviate traffic congestion at the western terminus of the highway , with plans ranging from moving the exit ramp from I 82 , creating a roundabout , or adding a traffic light . Route description SR 224 begins at an interchange with I 82 in southern Benton City . After only 0 . 05 mi ( 80 m ) , SR 224 intersects SR 225 and turns east along Kennedy Road . After passing a park and ride lot on the south side of the highway , the road turns back to the north on Van unk Street , paralleling the Yakima River , slowly turning northeast through a rural area of Benton County . After passing through farmland SR 224 becomes the main east west thoroughfare of West Richland . Exiting the town , the highway passes over the Yakima River and enters Richland . Before the highway terminates at an intersection with SR 240 southeast of the Richland Airport , the highway crosses over a single track belonging to the Port of Benton and managed by Tri City Railroad . Van unk Street continues east from the terminus of SR 224 for another 1 . 7 miles ( 2 . 7 km ) , turning south as Hains Avenue at the Columbia River . The highway is primarily a two lane road between Benton City and West Richland . The road expands to four lanes in West Richland , a width the highway remains to its terminus in Richland . Speed limits posted on the highway range from 30 miles per hour ( 48 km h ) to 55 miles per hour ( 89 km h ) . Every year WSDOT conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2009 , WSDOT calculated that as few as 3 , 200 cars traveled through the intersection at Keene Road , west of West Richland , and as many as 16 , 000 cars at the eastern terminus . History A roadway has connected Benton City to Richland since at least 1926 , while a road with an alignment more similar to that of the current highway first appeared on maps in 1939 , with termini at the concurrent highways U.S. Route 410 and PSH 3 . The highway now known as SR 224 was numbered Secondary State Highway 3R ( SSH 3R ) between 1937 and the 1964 state highway renumbering , which abolished the Primary and Secondary highway numbers , replacing them with Sign Route numbers , later renamed State Routes . The twin set of bridges that carry I 82 over the highway at the western terminus were built in 1973 , which was during the initial construction of I 82 through southern Washington . The current bridge that carries SR 224 over the Yakima River was constructed in 1993 , replacing the original bridge on the highway . Future WSDOT is studying several different proposed changes to the SR 224 SR 225 intersection to improve traffic flow . Several proposals have been introduced to alleviate the situation , including replacing the stop sign at the intersection with a traffic light , reconfiguring the intersection and the off ramp from I 82 , and implementing several options featuring roundabouts . WSDOT favors the roundabout options and estimates costs will range between 2 and 7 . 4 million to construct . Major intersections The entire highway is in Benton County .
906
The Red Ensign of Singapore is a civil ensign used by privately owned , non military ships that are registered in Singapore . The overall design of the ensign is a modification of the national flag , with the ratio of the width to the length extended to 1 2 . The ensign was created by law in 1966 . The use of this ensign is regulated by the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore ( MPA ) . According to the MPA , the Red Ensign is the only ensign to be used on Singaporean civilian ships , and the national flag is not an acceptable substitute . The ensign must be hoisted on all Singaporean ships on entering or leaving port . History In 1966 , a year after Singapore 's independence from Malaysia , a document entitled Singapore Merchant Marine Ensign and numbered Misc . 5 of 1966 , was laid before Parliament on 6 September 1966 by the Deputy Prime Minister . The document created a civil ensign that was to be used on ships registered in Singapore . The Red Ensign has been in use since then . Design According to the Parliamentary paper Misc . 5 of 1966 , the background of the ensign is red with the ratio of its width to its length being one by two . In contrast , the ratio of the national flag of Singapore is two by three . In the centre of the ensign is a white ring , which surrounds a crescent and five stars also coloured white . The five stars are arranged such that they form a pentagon in the middle . The crescent and stars are taken from the national flag , although in the ensign the crescent appears underneath rather than to the left of the stars . According to a 1999 circular National Colours for Singapore Ships issued by the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore ( MPA ) , the red colour of the civil ensign is the same as that of the national flag . The shade of red has been defined by the Ministry of Information , Communications and the Arts as Pantone 032 . Construction sheet The MPA 's 1999 circular includes a construction sheet with detailed dimensions for the manufacture of the flag . The sheet is in inches and centimetres . The overall dimensions of the flag are 36 inches ( 91 . 44 cm ) by 72 inches ( 182 . 88 cm ) . The space between the top of the ensign to the top of the ring , and the bottom of the ring to the bottom of the ensign , is 9 . 7 inches ( 24 . 64 cm ) . The outer diameter of the ring is 16 . 6 inches ( 42 . 16 cm ) , and the ring itself is 0 . 95 inches ( 2 . 41 cm ) in thickness . The outer curve of the crescent has a radius of 5 . 45 inches ( 13 . 84 cm ) . Each star fits within a circle with a diameter of 3 . 2 inches ( 8 . 13 cm ) , and the centres of the five stars are positioned 72 from each other along the circumference of an imaginary circle with a radius of 3 . 25 inches ( 8 . 26 cm ) . The centre of the imaginary circle is 6 . 4 inches ( 16 . 26 cm ) from the lowest point of the inner curve of the crescent . Regulations Section 36 ( 1 ) of the Merchant Shipping Act of 1995 empowers the relevant Minister to prescribe an ensign for Singaporean ships , which shall then be the proper colours for a Singapore ship . Section 36 ( 2 ) goes on to state that the master of a ship , the ship 's owner if he is on board , and any other person hoisting colours may be fined up to S 1 , 000 if , instead of the Red Ensign , any other distinctive national colours are hoisted on board any Singapore ship without the Minister 's consent . Under section 37 of the Act , if a Singapore ship fails to hoist the Red Ensign on entering or leaving any port , the ship master may be fined up to 1 , 000 . The MPA 's 1999 circular calls the attention of owners , masters and officers of Singapore ships to sections 36 and 37 of the Merchant Shipping Act . In particular , paragraph 3 of the circular points out that the Singapore national flag does not substitute the Red Ensign .
907
Provincial Road 280 ( PR 280 ) is a road in the Canadian province of Manitoba . It runs from PR 391 northwest of Thompson to local streets in Gillam . The route is 291 kilometres ( 181 mi ) long , which during its length , passes several large lakes and intersects with one provincial road , PR 290 , just north of Gillam . The route is very scenic , passing through dense forests and rural lands . The route supplies three municipalities , Thompson , Split Lake , and Gillam . From its terminus north of Thompson , Manitoba to the town Gillam , PR 280 is classified as a Class A1 Provincial Route . PR 280 was designated in 1987 as a connector from Thompson to Gillam with a spur to Sundance . Route description PR 280 begins at an intersection north of Thompson on the shores of Birch Tree Lake with PR 391 . PR 280 runs northeast from PR 391 as a two lane gravel road through the dense woods north of Thompson Airport . As the road bends to the northeast , it runs west of Mystery Lake , which is connected by a gravel road that runs to the shoreline . Continuing northeast , PR 280 leaves the Mystery Lake area and soon reaches a dirt road that connects to nearby Moak Lake . After Moak Lake , PR 280 continues northeast past unk Lake and Orr Lake while paralleling the Burntwood River . After unk Lake , PR 280 turns eastward along the Burntwood River , which soon drains into Split Lake . The road turns northeast away from the river and runs into a junction with a winter road that connects to the settlement of Split Lake . Paralleling the north shore of eponymous lake , PR 280 runs to the northeast from Split Lake and starts wandering through the dense woods of northern Manitoba . Approaching the western end of Stephens Lake , PR 280 turns east and soon to the southeast as it reaches the northern shore of the lake . Passing a local connector to the shore , the route reaches a junction with the southern terminus of PR 290 , which connects to the abandoned settlement of Sundance . At this junction , PR 280 turns west , reaching the shores of the Nelson River . The route crosses over the Nelson River and reaches the settlement of Long Spruce . After Long Spruce , PR 280 runs west along the southern shore of the Nelson River then turns south and southwest away from the river . The route winds west , then turns to the northwest , approaching the river and Stephens Lake . Paralleling railroad tracks , PR 280 passes an electrical substation as it enters the city of Gillam . Through the northeastern section of Gillam , the route crosses over the railroad tracks and turn north and west in short order . Running southwest , PR 280 reaches the access point to Gillam Airport and soon enters downtown Gillam . Through downtown Gillam , PR 280 reaches a junction with unk Road , which marks the eastern terminus of the highway . unk Road connects to downtown Gillam . History Before PR 280 existed , the only ways to the northern terminus town of Gillam was via a nearby airport to the southeast of town and the railroad line that stretched from Thompson to northern parts of Manitoba . The railroad opened in 1929 . PR 280 was designated by the Manitoba Ministry of Infrastructure and Transportation in 1987 as a designated gravel road from PR 391 northwest of Thompson to Gillam with an unnumbered spur to Sundance . PR 290 was designated on the spur in 1989 . On March 28 , 2002 , the government of Manitoba order out an CAD 84 . 8 million plan to work on its province 's roads . 940 , 000 was spent for gravel stabilization beginning at PR 391 and ending in Gillam . This work was also under the Community Main Access Gravel Road Stabilization Program . 700 , 000 of this 84 million went for additional gravel between 391 and PR 290 . 600 , 000 went to road development near unk Lake , 52 kilometres ( 32 mi ) north of PR 391 . Junction list
908
Richard Swinefield ( or Richard de Swinfield died 15 March 1317 ) was a medieval Bishop of Hereford , England . He earned a doctor of divinity degree as well as holding a number of ecclesiastical offices , including Archdeacon of London , before being named bishop . While bishop , he worked to secure the canonisation of Thomas de Cantilupe , his predecessor , whom he had worked for previously . Although he was active in his diocese , he spent little time in politics . He died in 1317 , and was buried in Hereford Cathedral where a memorial to his memory still stands . Rise in the Church Swinefield 's last name may come from Swingfield located near Folkestone , Kent . His father was Stephen of Swinfield , who died in 1282 , and his brother Stephen remained a layman . Other information about his family and upbringing is unknown , nor is his day or year of birth . He earned a doctor of divinity degree , but the location of his university studies is unknown . By 1264 Swinefield was a member of the household of Thomas de Cantilupe , who went on to become Bishop of Hereford in 1275 . Swinefield held the prebend of Hampton in the diocese of Hereford , before 1279 and held that prebend until his election as bishop . Shortly after 17 April 1280 he was named Archdeacon of London , having previously held an unknown prebend in the diocese of London . Episcopate Swinefield was elected to the see of Hereford , or bishopric , on 1 October 1282 . The election was confirmed by John Peckham , the Archbishop of Canterbury on 31 December 1282 , and Swinefield was given custody of the spiritualities and temporalities , or the ecclesiastical and lay income producing properties , of the see by 8 January 1293 . He was consecrated on 7 March 1283 . During Swinefield 's time as bishop , he was not involved in politics , and spent most of his time in his diocese . He rarely attended Parliament , usually excusing himself on the grounds of urgent diocesan business or his own bad health . He inherited a number of lawsuits from his predecessor , which he managed to settle . Swinefield also resolved a dispute over the boundary between the diocese of Hereford and the diocese of St Asaph , a Welsh bishopric , with the settlement being not entirely to the Welsh bishop 's liking . The town of Hereford also had disagreements with Swinefield , and on one occasion the bishop threatened excommunication against the town unless they submitted . Swinefield was concerned to ensure that his clergy were well treated . He worked to ensure that churches within his diocese were not misappropriated through the granting of custody to unworthy candidates , as well as trying to keep order in the monasteries . His main efforts though went toward securing the canonisation of his predecessor Thomas de Cantilupe . This did not however take place until 1320 , after Swinefield 's death . Death and legacy Swinefield died on 15 March 1317 , and was buried in Hereford Cathedral , where a memorial in the transept 's north wall shows Swinefield dressed as a bishop and holding a building . Two of his nephews were given offices within the diocese , with John given the precentorship in Hereford Cathedral , and Gilbert made the chancellor there . Another possible relative was Richard Swinfield , who also held a prebend in the diocese . A record of Swinefield 's expenses as bishop has survived for the years 1289 and 1290 . The accounts offer a rare glimpse of the organisation and expenses of a major household in the time period . During the 296 days covered by the record , his household moved 81 times , with 38 of these stops associated with him visiting his diocese during April through June . The record also shows that he supported two scholars at Oxford University . The record has been printed a number of times , including by the Camden Society in 1853 though 1855 .
909
The 155th Boat Race took place on 29 March 2009 . Oxford 's crew was the heaviest in the event 's history and which featured five Olympic rowers , including silver medallist Colin Smith and bronze medallist George Bridgewater . Cambridge took an early lead , only to be caught and overtaken by Oxford who won the race by three and a half lengths . In the reserve race , Cambridge 's Goldie defeated Oxford 's Isis , while Oxford won the Women 's Boat Race . Background The Boat Race is an annual competition between the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge . First held in 1829 , the competition is a 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) race along The Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities and followed throughout the United Kingdom and worldwide . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having won the 2008 race by six lengths , while Cambridge led overall with 79 victories to Oxford 's 74 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . The race was sponsored by Xchanging for the fifth consecutive year . The first Women 's Boat Race took place in 1927 , but did not become an annual fixture until the 1960s . Up until 2014 , the contest was conducted as part of the Henley Boat Races , but as of the 2015 race , it is held on the River Thames , on the same day as the men 's main and reserve races . The reserve race , contested between Oxford 's Isis boat and Cambridge 's Goldie boat has been held since 1965 . It usually takes place on the Tideway , prior to the main Boat Race . Crews The Oxford crew ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) weighed an average of 8 pounds ( 3 . 6 kg ) per rower more than the Cambridge crew ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) , making them the heaviest in Boat Race history . Oxford fielded five rowers who had featured at the 2008 Summer Olympics Colin Smith won silver for Great Britain , while Ante unk rowed for Croatia , New Zealander George Bridgewater won a bronze in the coxless pair , Sjoerd Hamburger rowed for The Netherlands , and Tom unk for Great Britain . Cambridge 's crew contained five returning Blues to Oxford 's three . The crews for the race were as follows Race Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station . Cambridge 's cox Dowbiggin raised her hand to indicate that she was not ready to start just as Umpire Boris Rankov started the race . This allowed Oxford the initiative and they took an early lead . Cambridge slowly edged their way back into contention , and held a half a length lead at the two mile mark . At St Paul 's School , Cambridge were two thirds of a length ahead before a series of oar clashes and umpire warnings forced the boats apart . A larger clash , between Cambridge 's Monaghan and Oxford 's Smith , took place by Chiswick Eyot before Oxford made the better recovery and quickly pushed out to secure a clear water lead . Cambridge failed to threaten , and Oxford won by three and a half lengths . In the reserve race , Isis defeated Goldie by four lengths , completing the race in a time of 17 minutes 24 seconds , for their second consecutive win . Oxford won the Women 's Boat Race by one and a quarter lengths , hosted at Henley on 22 March 2014 . Reaction Oxford 's boat club president Colin Smith said it 's a great , great feeling . He continued The difference between the two crews today was our power , aggression and unk . Cambridge 's Australian international unk said it 's really devastating . Sometimes you 'd be happy with a silver but here it 's dead last . His coach , Chris Nilsson , admitted at the end of the day , the stronger crew with the more power came through . Oxford coach Sean Bowden said We just said ' get to halfway , and head for home , and they did a really good job .
910
Recreational Road 11 ( RE 11 ) is a Recreational Road located in Concho County , in the western portion of the U.S. state of Texas . The highway is approximately 4 . 3 miles ( 6 . 9 km ) in length , and connects a recreational area on the O.H. Ivie Reservoir to Farm to Market Road 1929 ( FM 1929 ) . The roadway travels through mainly rural areas along the coast of the lake . Segments of road first appeared in the location of RE 11 around 1940 . Portions of the highway were designated as part of Ranch to Market Road 2134 ( RM 2134 ) in 1953 , but was removed as part of that highway due to the construction of the O.H. Ivie Reservoir . RE 11 was designated in December 1996 . Route description RE 11 begins at an at grade intersection with FM 1929 , to the north of a small farm . The roadway proceeds as a two lane , paved road , traveling northward through rural areas on a large peninsula on the lake . The road continues north , traveling through scrub land before it intersects the Ray Stoker Jr . Highway , and bends slightly northeast for a short distance . After continuing north , the roadway bends northeast , as it intersects the former route of RM 2134 . The highway intersects a small road leading to a residential community on the lake , before continuing northeast , where it intersects County Road unk ( CR unk ) , which leads to a small residential area . It turns north and continues for a short distance , after which the highway bends northwest , and proceeds to its northern terminus , a boat launch ramp on the coast of the lake . The highway is maintained by the Texas Department of Transportation ( TxDOT ) . No portion of the highway is listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History The first segments of road appeared in the location of what would become RE 11 by 1940 . The southern road segment began at an at grade intersection , near the location of RE 11 , and traveled northward , before traveling slightly westward and terminating at a dead end . The road was graded and drained , and had a gravel surface , with a cattle guard near the middle of it . The northern segment of road traveled near the location of RE 11 . This road was also graded and drained , and had three cattle guards located along its course . By 1951 , a gate had been added to the southern road segment , and the northern segment had several turns straightened and lengthened . On October 28 , 1953 , RM 2134 was designated from unk along a road to the northern segment of what would become RE 11 . On August 24 , 1955 , the highway was designated along the northern segment of road , to the Colorado River . The designation was made official on October 1 , 1955 . By 1956 , the surface of RM 2134 had been upgraded to stone , and the northern portion had been additionally straightened . On December 1 , 1957 , FM 2134 was extended northeastward across the Colorado River to the community of Voss . By 1961 , the portion designated as RM 2134 had been upgraded to a bituminous surface , made of asphalt and crushed rock . The other road segment had been upgraded to a metal surface . In addition , a new bridge had been constructed along the RM 2134 portion , and it had been straightened generally along the present location of RE 11 . In 1985 , plans were approved for the construction of the Stacey Reservoir . The construction was finished in 1990 , and the lake was instead named the O.H. Ivie Reservoir . The construction of the lake destroyed a large portion of RM 2134 , and caused the removal of the highway to FM 1929 . RE 11 was designated on its current location on October 31 , 1996 , and was officially approved on December 20 , 1996 . The route remains the most recently designated recreational road . Major intersections The entire highway is in Concho County .
911
The Fort Henry Bridge is a crossing of the Ohio River main channel in Wheeling , West Virginia . The tied arch bridge carries two lanes in each direction of Interstate 70 ( I 70 ) , U.S. Route 40 ( US 40 ) , and US 250 . The bridge opened after four years of construction work on September 8 , 1955 , costing 6 . 8 million , 1 . 8 million over budget . The bridge , along with the aging Wheeling Suspension Bridge , are the only two road links from Wheeling Island to downtown Wheeling . In 2009 , the structure carried an average of over 60 , 000 vehicles per day . Description The 1 , 660 foot ( 510 m ) long tied arch bridge carries four lanes of concurrent highways I 70 , US 40 and US 250 over the main channel of the Ohio River between Wheeling Island and downtown Wheeling , West Virginia . The bridge is the easternmost portion of a 1 mile ( 1 . 6 km ) long chain of elevated structures spanning Wheeling Creek in Ohio , the Ohio River back channel , Wheeling Island , and the main channel . To the east of the bridge after an interchange in downtown Wheeling , I 70 and US 250 enter the Wheeling Tunnel . Besides the Wheeling Suspension Bridge , the Fort Henry Bridge is the only fixed connection from Wheeling Island to mainland West Virginia . The bridge is named after Fort Henry , which in turn was named after Patrick Henry , the governor of Virginia Territory at the outbreak of the American Revolutionary War . Truck traffic is prohibited from using the Wheeling Suspension Bridge and must take the Fort Henry Bridge to cross between downtown Wheeling and Wheeling Island . The bridge is owned and maintained by the State of West Virginia . Every year , the West Virginia Department of Transportation ( WVDOT ) conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2009 , WVDOT calculated that 60 , 070 vehicles used the Fort Henry Bridge over the main channel of the Ohio River . This represents a 334 percent increase in traffic from 1956 , the first year traffic data was published , when 18 , 000 vehicles used the bridge . History Contracts to build the Fort Henry Bridge were let to the American Bridge Company , a subsidiary of U.S. Steel , and Dravo Corporation of Pittsburgh , Pennsylvania . Costing 6 . 8 million , 1 . 8 million over budget , and taking four years to complete , the Fort Henry Bridge opened to traffic on September 8 , 1955 after a ribbon cutting ceremony with then governor William C. Marland in front of a crowd of 55 , 000 to 60 , 000 people . The bridge earned an Honorable Mention in 1955 from the National Steel Bridge Alliance , a part of the American Institute of Steel Construction , which recognizes the best steel bridges of the year . At the time of construction , the bridge was only the second tied arch bridge across the Ohio River . The bridge was originally named the Ninth Street Bridge , and was designed to relieve traffic on the National Road 's Wheeling Suspension Bridge . The roadway as originally opened carried four lanes with a 4 ft ( 1 . 2 m ) median between each direction . During the first years of the bridge it carried US 40 and US 250 from Wheeling Island over the Ohio River main channel . In 1957 plans to add an Interstate Highway designation to the bridge were formed , with the Interstate 70 designation added by 1966 . The bridge underwent a renovation in 1990 which included replacement of its bridge deck . The bridge , along with the Vietnam Veterans Memorial Bridge and the Wheeling Suspension bridge were all closed in January 2005 , stopping any traffic from Ohio or Wheeling Island from entering mainland West Virginia for an hour due to barges breaking loose during heavy flooding along the Ohio River .
912
Hurricane Lili was one of only five Atlantic tropical cyclones on record to reach hurricane status in the month of December . The final of thirteen tropical storms in the 1984 Atlantic hurricane season , Lili developed as a subtropical cyclone which originated from a frontal trough to the south of Bermuda on December 12 . It tracked southeastward , then northward , slowly attaining tropical characteristics and becoming a hurricane on December 20 . Lili turned to the south and southwest , briefly threatening the northern Caribbean islands before weakening and dissipating near the coast of the Dominican Republic . The storm produced light rainfall but no damage . Meteorological history In the second week of December , a frontal trough stalled south of Bermuda . An upper level disturbance moved over the area on December 9 , and produced widespread convection along the frontal wave . The system moved to the northeast , and based on a developing circulation within the convection , the National Hurricane Center classified the system as a subtropical storm on December 12 while located 275 miles ( 440 km ) northeast of Bermuda . With winds of 60 mph ( 95 km h ) and strengthening , the subtropical storm initially drifted northeastward . On December 13 , a ridge of high pressure to its north forced the storm southeastward , and the following day the storm turned to the south after an upper level cold core low developed over the system . A break in the ridge resulted in the storm turning to the northeast , with its forward motion accelerating to nearly 40 mph ( 65 km h ) . After turning to the northwest on December 17 , the high pressure system again halted its northward movement , leaving the storm drifting south southeastward . Conditions favored further strengthening , and the subtropical storm reached 70 mph ( 115 km h ) winds on December 18 . Satellite imagery estimated the storm attained hurricane status on December 19 , and a day later ship near the center reported winds of 75 mph ( 120 km h ) . Based on the wind report , as well as a minimum central pressure of 980 mbar and a well defined eye , the storm was classified as Hurricane Lili while located 730 miles ( 1 , 180 km ) east of Bermuda . Lili continued generally southward , reaching its peak intensity of 80 mph ( 130 km h ) . Higher pressures developed to its northeast , resulting in the hurricane to accelerate to the southwest . On December 22 , Lili finished executing its large cyclonic loop by passing over the same location it passed one week prior . The combination of its increased forward speed , as well as increased levels of vertical wind shear , created an unfavorable environment which caused steady weakening . On December 23 , Lili weakened to a tropical storm while located 430 miles ( 690 km ) northeast of Antigua . It rapidly lost organization as it approached the Leeward Islands , and dissipated just off the coast of the Dominican Republic on December 24 . Impact and records When Lili reached hurricane status on December 20 , it became one of only four Atlantic tropical cyclones to reach hurricane strength in the month of December . The other three were an unnamed hurricane in the 1887 season , Hurricane Alice in 1954 , and Hurricane Epsilon in 2005 . In addition , Hurricane Nicole lasted as a hurricane from late November to early December 1998 . Because of its rapid movement , a hurricane watch was issued for Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands on December 22 . As the storm weakened , the watches were discontinued . In response to the threat of the hurricane , officials posted a small craft advisory along the coastline of northern Puerto Rico . There , the weakening tropical cyclone produced light rainfall , though there was no reported damage . Lili moved through Hispaniola as an area of squally weather , but damage , if any , is unknown .
913
La Llamada ( English The Phone Call ) is a song recorded by American recording artist Selena for her first live album Live ( 1993 ) . It was composed by Selena y Los Dinos backup singer Pete Astudillo and Selena 's brother and principal record producer A.B. Quintanilla III . The song was produced by Quintanilla III and Argentine music producer Bebu Silvetti . La Llamada was released as the second single from Live . It peaked at number 5 on the US Hot Latin Tracks on the week ending 23 October 1993 . On the week ending 9 April 2011 , La Llamada entered the Regional Mexican Digital Songs chart . The lyrical content of the song describes a girlfriend 's feelings after witnessing her boyfriend kissing another girl , telling him to never call her again and ending the relationship . The central theme explored on La Llamada suggests women empowerment . La Llamada is an uptempo Mexican cumbia song . The song received generally positive reviews from music critics . A music video was released and features Selena dancing in a crowd at a beach house in Malibu , California . There have been many cover versions of La Llamada ranging from Mexican to Dominican artists . Background and composition La Llamada was the first song recorded for Live ( 1993 ) . It was written by Selena y Los Dinos backup singer Pete Astudillo and Selena 's brother , principal record producer and songwriter A.B. Quintanilla III . It was produced by Quintanilla III and Argentine music producer Bebu Silvetti . The song was intended to be one of three studio tracks for Selena 's Live album . Astudillo and Quintanilla III had spent an hour writing a song together . They wanted to write a song on a topic that many woman face with their boyfriends . Quintanilla III had wanted to empower women , letting them know that they should hold their heads up and remember that life goes on . Selena favored the lyrical content and central theme , a common one in her songs . La Llamada was recorded in Corpus Christi , Texas at Selena 's father and manager Abraham Quintanilla , Jr . ' s recording studio Q Productions . Before Live was released , the song was mixed by Brian Red Moore , a family friend . Because Selena favored the song , the band released a music video . It was filmed in a beach house in Malibu , California . The video features Selena dancing with guys on one side and woman on the other . In other scenes , Selena is belting the lyrics behind blue curtains . La Llamada is an uptempo Mexican cumbia song . Written in the key of A minor , the beat is set in common time and moves at a moderate 90 beats per minute . La Llamada describes a woman telling her boyfriend over the phone that she saw him kissing another girl , while her boyfriend tries to persuade to her that it was not him . The central theme explored on La Llamada suggests women empowerment . Critical reception and covers Howard Blumenthal wrote in his book The World Music CD Listener 's Guide that La Llamada is an energetic song . An editor from the Fort Worth Star Telegram compared La Llamada and another Live single No Debes Jugar . The editor expressed the similarities the songs shared in both its lyrical content and the instruments used in the songs . Sue Anne Pressley of the Chicago Sun Times believed that La Llamada is a fan favorite , calling it a danceable pop number . A Philadelphia Daily News editor called La Llamada a catchy tune , though commented that it is the least memorable song on Live . Mexican band Banda El Grullo recorded the song on their tribute album Lo Mejor De Selena Con Banda . Mexican singer Dalila also recorded the song for her album Dalila en Vivo . Dominican bachata singer Kiko Rodriguez recorded the song on his album Otra Vez Con Amor . Charts Personnel All credits were taken from the Live album notes .
914
HD 154672 is a yellow subgiant ( spectral type G3 IV ) . It is about 65 parsecs away from the Sun that is larger than , but of a similar mass to , the Sun . However , HD 154672 is much older . The star is very metal rich , which is one of the reasons why it was targeted for a planet search by the N2K Consortium , which discovered the gas giant planet HD 154672 b using Doppler Spectroscopy the discovery was reported in October 2008 . The N2K collaboration chose HD 154672 primarily because it aimed to discover the correlation between a star 's metallicity and the mass of orbiting planets . HD 154672 was targeted by the Magellan Telescopes . It is the host of the first planet discovered from the telescopes by N2K . Observational history HD 154672 was first targeted for a planet search in 2004 by the N2K Consortium , a collaboration of astronomers hoping to take radial velocity measurements of previously unk stars using Doppler spectroscopy however , HD 154672 had been previously targeted by a series of surveys , and was previously included in the Henry Draper catalog and the catalog of the European Space Agency 's Hipparcos satellite . N2K deliberately biased its search towards closely orbiting Jupiter size planets ( Hot Jupiters ) in the orbit of metal rich stars , as the consortium hoped to discover how the mass of a planet relates to its host star 's metal content . Initially , HD 154672 was noted as a host to a short orbit Hot Jupiter , although additional observations revealed that the prospective planetary body had a longer orbit than previously expected , as revealed by the Magellan Telescopes at Chile 's Las Campanas Observatory . Use of the Magellan Clay telescope 's Magellan Inamori Kyocera Echelle spectrograph ( MIKE ) helped collect sixteen radial velocity measurements for HD 154672 a team of American astronomers and one from the Vatican City used these measurements to confirm the existence of planet HD 154672 b and to determine its mass . The discovery of HD 154672 's planet was reported in the Astronomical Journal on October 7 , 2008 along with a planet in the orbit of HD 205739 . Host star HD 154672 is a sunlike G type star that has a mass of 1 . 06 times that of the Sun and a radius that is 1 . 27 times that of the Sun . Thus , it is slightly larger than the Sun , although it has a similar mass . The star has an effective temperature of unk K , slightly cooler than the Sun however , it is far richer in iron , with a measured metallicity of Fe H 0 . 26 . This means that the star has 1 . 82 times more iron than the Sun does . HD 154672 is far older than the Sun , as its estimated unk age is estimated at 9 . 28 billion years . HD 154672 's spectrum suggests that the star 's chromosphere ( its outer layer ) is not active . HD 154672 is located 65 . 8 parsecs ( 214 . 6 light years ) away from Earth . It has an apparent magnitude ( V ) of 8 . 22 , making the star too dim to see from Earth with the naked eye . The star is slightly dimmer than planet Neptune as perceived with the naked eye , which has an apparent magnitude of 7 . 78 at its brightest . The star 's actual brightness is measured with an absolute magnitude of 4 . 12 , similar to that of the Sun . Planetary system HD 154672 b is a Hot Jupiter , as it is a closely orbiting planet with a high mass . Specifically , HD 154672 has a mass that is 5 . 02 times greater than Jupiter 's mass . It also orbits at a distance of 0 . 6 AU , or about 60 of the mean distance between the Earth and Sun . This orbit is completed every 163 . 91 days . HD 154672 b has an orbital eccentricity of 0 . 61 , denoting a very elliptical orbit . The planet 's discoverers noted that if water existed in the planet 's atmosphere , it might change from a liquid state to a gaseous state as the planet swings closer to its host star , increasing its temperature .
915
Euridice was a torpedo cruiser of the Partenope class built for the Italian Regia Marina ( Royal Navy ) in the 1880s . She was built by the Regio Cantiere di Castellammare di Stabia shipyard , with her keel laying in February 1889 , her launching in September 1890 , and her commissioning in May 1891 . Her main armament were her six torpedo tubes , which were supported by a battery of ten small caliber guns . Euridice spent most of her career in the main Italian fleet , where she was primarily occupied with training exercises . She was withdrawn from service in 1907 and sold for scrapping . Design Euridice was 73 . 1 meters ( 239 ft 10 in ) long overall and had a beam of 8 . 22 m ( 27 ft 0 in ) and an average draft of 3 . 48 m ( 11 ft 5 in ) . She displaced 904 metric tons ( 890 long tons 996 short tons ) normally . Her propulsion system consisted of a pair of horizontal triple expansion steam engines , each driving a single screw propeller , with steam supplied by four coal fired locomotive boilers . Specific figures for Euridice 's engine performance have not survived , but the ships of her class had top speeds of 18 . 1 to 20 . 8 knots ( 33 . 5 to 38 . 5 km h 20 . 8 to 23 . 9 mph ) at 3 , 884 to 4 , 422 indicated horsepower ( 2 , 896 to 3 , 297 kW ) . The ship had a cruising radius of about 1 , 800 nautical miles ( 3 , 300 km 2 , 100 mi ) at a speed of 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . She had a crew of between 96 121 . Euridice was armed with a main battery of one 120 mm ( 4 . 7 in ) 40 gun and six 57 mm ( 2 . 2 in ) 43 guns mounted singly. She was also equipped with three 37 mm ( 1 . 5 in ) 20 guns in single mounts . Her primary offensive weapon was her six 450 mm ( 17 . 7 in ) torpedo tubes . The ship was protected by an armored deck that was up to 1 . 6 in ( 41 mm ) thick her conning tower was armored with the same thickness of steel plate . Service history The keel for Euridice was laid down on 14 February 1889 at the Regio Cantiere di Castellammare di Stabia ( Royal Dockyard in Castellammare di Stabia ) . The completed hull was launched on 22 September 1890 . After fitting out work was completed , the ship was commissioned into the fleet on 1 May 1891 . Euridice took part in the annual fleet exercises in 1893 in the attacking squadron , which also included six ironclads , her sister ship Iride and the torpedo cruisers Goito and Monzambano . During the maneuvers , which lasted from 6 August to 5 September , the ships of the Active Squadron simulated a French attack on the Italian fleet . In 1895 , she was assigned to the 2nd Division of the Permanent Squadron , which included her sister ship Calatafimi , the ironclad battleship Francesco Morosini , and the protected cruiser Etruria . The Squadron was based at La Spezia at the time , though Euridice was stationed primarily in Taranto and Naples , along with most of the other torpedo cruisers of the Italian fleet . In 1896 , she took part in the annual summer maneuvers in July as part of the Second Division of the Reserve Squadron , which also included the ironclads Italia and Ruggiero di Lauria and the protected cruiser Stromboli . Euridice took part in an international naval demonstration in 1897 off Crete during a period of tension between Greece and the Ottoman Empire that culminated in the Greco Turkish War . At the time , she was assigned to the 1st Division , which included the three Re Umberto class ironclads and the protected cruisers Giovanni Bausan and Vesuvio . In 1903 , Euridice was assigned to the 1st Squadron , along with her sister Minerva . The unit also included eight battleships , six other cruisers , and six destroyers . The 1st Squadron was kept in active service for seven months of the year for training , and had reduced crews for the remainder of the year . The ship was sold for scrap in March 1907 and subsequently broken up .
916
Max Pirkis ( born 6 January 1989 ) is an English actor . Appearing in two productions during the mid 2000s , Pirkis made his film debut in Master and Commander The Far Side of the World ( 2003 ) after the film crew recruited him at his school , Eton College . In a critically praised performance , he won the Evening Standard British Film Award for Most Promising Newcomer and the Young Artist Award for Best Young Actor in an International Film . Two years later , Pirkis was cast in the BBC HBO television series Rome as Gaius Octavian , a role he held until 2007 . Personal life Pirkis was born in London on 6 January 1989 . His mother is a publisher , and he has a sister . After being educated at Eton College , Pirkis began attending St Catharine 's College , Cambridge , where he read Theology . There , he was captain of the college 's football team in 2009 . Career Master and Commander Pirkis started his acting in school plays while attending Eton , though he never took them seriously . Although unsure what he wanted to do with his life , Pirkis was cast for his first professional role in 2003 , when he appeared in the successful film , Master and Commander The Far Side of the World . The hire occurred after production staff visited Eton to hire boys for the ship 's teenage crew . Pirkis attended a workshop and auditions as a joke , ultimately securing the part of the 13 year old , eventually one armed midshipman Lord Blakeney of HMS Surprise . Director Peter Weir thought Pirkis stood out very early on , but not to the extent that you see in the film . That was a complete surprise . According to Pirkis , he was at first nervous about acting with Russell Crowe , but changed his mind when he realised that Crowe was a pretty normal guy . One of four teenage actors chosen for the film , Pirkis began researching the history of the Royal Navy and the Napoleonic Wars to prepare himself for the role , before ultimately spending six months shooting the film . Weir soon discovered that Pirkis had an old actor 's soul in his body , and consequently gave him more acting challenges . Because his character loses an arm , Pirkis wore a prosthetic stump on set tucking his real arm to the side , he practised how to write and eat using only his left arm . Pirkis completed the amputation scene in two takes , thinking of the death of a family friend for inspiration . Soon after being cast in Master and Commander , Pirkis was contracted to be represented by Hollywood talent agency unk . The income he earned for the film was placed into a bank , making him wait until he turned eighteen . For his role , Pirkis received critical acclaim and won the Evening Standard British Film Award for Most Promising Newcomer and the Young Artist Award for Best International Performance by a Young Actor at the 25th Young Artist Awards . Pirkis was also nominated for Best Performance by a Youth in a Lead or Supporting Role Male at the 4th Phoenix Film Critics Society Awards . Jeremiah Kipp of Slant Magazine praised Pirkis , writing that he makes a winning impression as midshipman Lord Blakeney , a pugnacious one armed lad who imitates the masculine bravado of Crowe and the bookish reserve of Bettany . Rome In 2005 , Pirkis made his television debut . Until 2007 , Pirkis played Gaius Octavian ( later to become Caesar Augustus ) in the BBC HBO television series Rome . Many critics highlighted Pirkis and his character for praise . At the beginning of the first season , The Washington Post columnist Tom Shales remarked Played both knowingly and innocently by Max Pirkis , he gives the audience something it desperately needs ... a character to root for , or at least care about . During the second series , Pirkis was replaced by Simon Woods in order for the show to depict an older version of the character . Filmography
917
Space Run is a tower defense video game developed by unk Games and published by Focus Home Interactive . It was released for Microsoft Windows on June 13 , 2014 , and later released for OS X and Linux . The player assumes the role of a cargo ship pilot , and must build modules and weapons to defend their cargo from attacking ships and other hazards . The game received mixed reviews from critics , and a sequel was announced in March 2016 . Gameplay The player acts as pilot for a cargo ship , performing space runs for various corporations . The ship is a flat platform made up of hexagonal tiles . The player places weapons and modules on the tiles in order to defend the ship from enemies and hazards . Different structures have varying placement requirements , or may require more than one tile to be placed . For example , most weapons must be placed facing outward into empty space , while some require power to be supplied by an adjacent power source . Modules and weapons are built using a resource represented by a lug nut . This resource slowly accrues on its own , but destroyed targets drop varying amounts that can be collected by moving the cursor over them . Each corporation provides a different type of cargo , which must be placed or arranged according to its characteristics . One corporation provides simple cargo crates , as well as a mechanic module that can produce more cargo crates during the mission in order to increase the mission reward . Another corporation provides passenger modules , which must face outward , limiting space for weapons . Each mission has a timed duration that the player must beat , with two tiers of time bonus . The player is rewarded with space credits dependent on the amount of cargo that survived the mission and how quickly they completed it . Reputation , displayed as stars , is rewarded based whether or not the player met cargo or time thresholds . Space credits are used between missions in order to unk special abilities and bonuses for modules , while gaining reputation unlocks new modules . Plot The player plays the role of Buck Mann , a space runner down on his luck . A former military pilot and racer , Buck begins to accept jobs from large corporations when his money runs out . Accompanied by the android , unk 12 , he first accepts a job from the Big Cargo corporation carrying simple cargo containers . Shortly afterwards , the Nuclear Star corporation approaches him to carry nuclear waste . After several runs , Buck Mann attracts the attention of the pirates Brown Beard and Captain Black , who continuously harass him as his missions become more and more lucrative . Development Space Run is developed by one man studio unk Games , located in Lyon , France . Programmer Sylvain unk founded the studio in October 2012 . unk has said that Space Run was inspired by Galaxy Trucker , a boardgame by unk unk , as well as accessible games like Plants vs. Zombies . A sequel named Space Run Galaxy was announced in March 2016 . Galaxy will include new boss battles and cargos , as well as new online features . Reception Space Run received mixed reviews upon release . It received an aggregate score of 73 from Metacritic , which assigns a weighted average score out of 100 to reviews from critics , while GameRankings assigned a score of 75 . GameSpot gave the game an 8 out of 10 , praising the game 's characters , art , voice acting and challenging gameplay . However , they noted that at times that spoken dialogue sometimes did not match the displayed text dialogue . A reviewer of PC Gamer scored the game 69 out of 100 , noting that Space Run attempts to reverse the typical tower defense concept , but ultimately relies on memorizing missions rather than clever design . The reviewer considered the best part of the game to be the time bonus , which is necessary to earn full reputation .
918
So Under Pressure is a dance pop song performed by Australian singer Dannii Minogue . The song was written by Minogue , Terry Ronald and LMC , and produced by Lee Monteverde for Minogue 's fifth album Club Disco ( 2007 ) and was also used as the lead single for her greatest hits compilation The Hits Beyond ( 2006 ) . The song 's lyrics discuss the cancer diagnoses of Minogue 's sister Kylie . The song was released as a single on 12 June 2006 in the United Kingdom . It entered the top forty in Australia , Ireland and the UK and became Minogue 's tenth consecutive Upfront Club Chart number one . The song 's music video , directed by Phil Griffin , features Minogue in a variety of high pressure situations . She has described it as the hardest video I 've ever done . Background and reception In 2005 , Minogue began writing and recording material with longtime collaborator Terry Ronald and British dance group LMC . During one of their sessions , they penned So Under Pressure , which was inspired by the cancer diagnoses of her sister Kylie as well as that of an unnamed friend . Minogue has described the recording of So Under Pressure as a real achievement as she was brave enough to put all her feelings into words . Allmusic reviewer John Lucas called the track one of Minogue 's more inventive moments . Chart performance So Under Pressure was officially released in the United Kingdom and Ireland on 12 June 2006 . The song debuted on the UK Singles Chart on 19 June 2006 at number twenty . The following week , So Under Pressure fell to number sixty and exited the chart in its third week of release . The track became Minogue 's seventh consecutive Upfront Club Chart number one in the UK . In Ireland , the song reached number thirty one , remaining on the singles chart for one week . So Under Pressure proved popular in Irish dance clubs where it reached number six on the Dance Singles Chart . The track was released in Australia on 29 July 2006 . It debuted on 8 August 2006 at number sixteen and became Minogue 's eighth top twenty single . The song remained on the singles chart for five weeks , exiting on 5 September 2006 . It was the 30th highest selling dance single in Australia for 2006 . Music video The music video was directed by Phil Griffin in mid 2006 . Minogue described the video I tried to put different things in the video that made me feel under pressure and it really did It was the hardest video unk ever done so I kept thinking , why on earth did I come up with this concept People don t realise but I definitely have that Australian tomboy side to me . I love snakes and sharks and jumping out of planes and stuff . Growing up it never occurred to me that it wasn t a girly thing to ride a bike , covered in mud holding frogs and collecting lizards . The music video 's crew did not believe that Minogue could work with the python , but she said that it did not bother her at all . The music video was released commercially on The Hits Beyond special edition companion DVD , released in June 2006 . The video opens with a scene of Minogue in a white room dressed in a black swimsuit . She is then shown lying on top of a white platform with a python wrapped around her body . Scenes of Minogue and her three dancers walking a catwalk , posing for photographs and dancing are intercut throughout the music video . The video concludes with Minogue trapped inside a spinning perspex box . Formats and track listings These are the formats and track listings of major single releases of So Under Pressure . Personnel The following people contributed to So Under Pressure Dannii Minogue lead vocals Justine unk backing vocals Lee Monteverde keyboards Chris Martin guitar Terry Ronald backing vocals , additional vocal production Recorded and mixed at unk Studios Charts
919
Disappointed is a song recorded by American indie rock band Ivy . It was released as the second single from their third studio album , Long Distance ( 2000 ) . It was released exclusively to the United States on July 10 , 2001 by Nettwerk . The release was simultaneous with the release of ' Edge of the Ocean . The track was written by Dominique Durand , Adam Schlesinger , and Andy Chase , while production was handled by the latter two and Peter Nashel . The single received generally favorable reviews from music critics , who found it memorable and admired Durand 's vocals . Similar to Ivy 's previous material , Disappointed is an indie pop and indie rock song . For promotion of the song , Ivy performed it live on Late Night with Conan O 'Brien in 2001 . Background and recording It took several years for Ivy to finalize the material included on the album due to the birth of lead singer unk Durand and musician Andy Chase 's daughter , Justine , in 1999 . During the recording and writing processes for the album , Ivy experienced several unexpected events . Following their drop from Epic Records in 1999 , the recording suffered further delays after their New York City studio burned down . After being without a record label , they considered signing to Japanese music group EastWest to strengthen their fan base . However , independent record label Nettwerk offered to fund the album Ivy signed with both labels and began preparing it for a national release . During recording sessions for the song , Adam Schlesinger and Chase played around with the idea of incorporating new genres into their music in an interview with Billboard , Ivy stated the first songs we recorded were jangly and simple and straight ahead . We started gravitating toward the groovier , slightly more melancholy stuff . It works well with Dominique 's voice . With the exploration , Ivy began crafting stronger songs , that were less atmospheric to their previous studio album Apartment Life ( 1997 ) , but contained more infectious melodies . Composition and promotion Disappointed was written by Durand , Schlesinger , and Chase , while production was handled by Schlesinger , Chase , and Peter Nashel . The song is an indie pop and indie rock song , similar to Ivy 's signature sound . AllMusic claimed the single 's taut rhythm and slinky guitars provide a sleekly sexy backdrop for Durand 's wistful vocals . A reviewer from indie blogger Baby Sue called it a strange and haunting composition with an unforgettable chorus . The track was released as a digital download on July 10 , 2001 , alongside Edge of the Ocean both singles were released to adult alternative radio on the same day . To promote Long Distance , Ivy performed Disappointed live on an episode of Late Night with Conan O 'Brien in 2001 . For the performance , the band members wore large , insulated coats and t shirts . Chase and Schlesinger provided backup vocals for Durand , while Chase played the guitar and Schlesinger played the keyboards . Critical response Disappointed received generally favorable reviews from contemporary music critics . Jonathan Cohen from Billboard praised the track and commented that Durand 's sensual vocals are beguiling as ever . A reviewer from CMJ New Music Monthly enjoyed the lazy float of the track , further commenting that Durand 's near catatonic delivery is not a bad idea . AllMusic 's Stephen Thomas Erlewine complimented the single 's production and Durand 's vocals , while Heather Phares of the same agency enjoyed the intimacy of the song . Track listings and formats Credits and personnel Credits and personnel adapted from Long Distance liner notes and Andy Chase 's discography . Recording Recorded at Stratosphere Sound , New York City and Sony Music Studios , New York City Personnel Release history
920
WASP 44 is a G type star in constellation Cetus that has the Jupiter size planet WASP 44b in orbit . The star is slightly less massive and slightly smaller than the Sun it is also slightly cooler , but is more metal rich . The star was observed by SuperWASP , an organization in search of planets , starting in 2009 manual follow up observations used WASP 44 's spectrum and measurements of its radial velocity led to the discovery of the transiting planet WASP 44b . The planet and its star were presented along with WASP unk and WASP 46b on May 17 , 2011 by a team of scientists testing the idea that Hot Jupiters tend to have circular orbits , an assumption that is made when the orbital eccentricity of such planets are not well constrained . Observational history WASP 44 was observed between July and November 2009 by the WASP South , a station of the SuperWASP planet searching program based at the South African Astronomical Observatory . Observations of the star revealed a periodic decrease in its brightness . WASP South , along with the SuperWASP North station at the Roque de los Muchachos Observatory on the Canary Islands , collected 15 , 755 photometric observations , allowing scientists to produce a more accurate light curve . Another set of observations yielded a 6 , 000 point photometric data set , but the light curve was prepared late and was not considered in the discovery paper . In 2010 , a European science team investigated the star using the CORALIE spectrograph and collected seventeen spectra of WASP 44 . From the spectra , radial velocity measurements were extrapolated . Analysis of collected CORALIE data ruled out the possibility that the detected radial velocity was caused by the blended spectrum of a spectroscopic binary star , supporting the possibility that the body orbiting WASP 44 was indeed a planet , designated WASP 44b . The Leonhard Euler Telescope at La Silla Observatory in Chile was used to follow up on the discovery circling WASP 44 , searching for a point at which the planet transited , or crossed in front of , its host star . One transit was detected . WASP 44 , its recently discovered planet , the planets orbiting WASP 45 and WASP 46 , and a discussion exploring the validity of the common assumption amongst scientists that closely orbiting Hot Jupiter planets have highly circular orbits unless proven otherwise , were reported in a single discovery paper that was published on May 17 , 2011 by the Royal Astronomical Society . The paper was submitted to the Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society on May 16 , 2011 . Characteristics WASP 44 is a G type star ( the same class of star as the Sun ) that is located in the Cetus constellation . WASP 44 has a mass that is 0 . 951 times that of the Sun . In terms of size , WASP 44 has a radius that is 0 . 927 times that of the Sun . WASP 44 has an effective temperature of 5410 K , cooler than the Sun . However , the star is metal rich with relation to the Sun . Its measured metallicity is Fe H 0 . 06 , or 1 . 148 times that the amount of iron found in the Sun . WASP 44 's chromosphere ( outermost layer ) is not active . The star also does not rotate at a high velocity . The star has an apparent magnitude of 12 . 9 . It cannot be seen from Earth with the naked eye . Planetary system There is one known planet in the orbit of WASP 44 WASP 44b . The planet is a Hot Jupiter with a mass of 0 . 889 Jupiters . Its radius is 1 . 14 times that of Jupiter . WASP 44b orbits its host star every 2 . unk days at a distance 0 . unk AU , approximately 3 . 47 the mean distance between the Earth and Sun . With an orbital inclination of unk , WASP 44b has an orbit that exists almost edge on to its host star with respect to Earth . unk 44b 's orbital eccentricity is fit to 0 . 036 , indicating a mostly circular orbit .
921
New York State Route 177 ( NY 177 ) is an east west state highway in the North Country of New York in the United States . It extends from Interstate 81 ( I 81 ) exit 42 in the Jefferson County town of Adams to NY 12 west of the Lewis County village of Lowville . NY 177 intersects U.S. Route 11 ( US 11 ) in Adams Center and meets Lewis County 's County Route 21 ( CR 21 ) , formerly part of NY 194 , at Barnes Corners . NY 177 originally began at US 11 when it was assigned in 1930 . It was extended west to its present terminus in the 1950s following the construction of I 81 . Route description NY 177 begins at interchange 42 on I 81 in the town of Adams . The route progresses away from the interstate to the southeast , passing the former railroad station in Adams Center before intersecting with US 11 in the center of the hamlet . At this intersection , NY 177 turns eastward , leaving the populated hamlet for a rural backdrop and into the hamlet of Honeyville . Honeyville consists of little more than a few houses centered on the intersection of NY 177 and Fuller Road . After leaving Honeyville , NY 177 intersects with CR 155 , where it turns to the southeast into the town of Rodman . After crossing a creek , the route enters the hamlet of Rodman as a two lane road through the southern end of the hamlet . During the stretch around Rodman , NY 177 intersects with CR 85 ( Creek Road ) and CR 97 ( Washington Park Road School Street ) before leaving the hamlet . NY 177 continues winding itself to the southeast through the town of Rodman , as a rural two lane highway . After Williams Road , the route makes several bends in to the south and east , straightening out eastward at an intersection with the northern terminus of CR 95 . This eastward progression remains stagnant as NY 177 continues eastward past CR 189 . After a short , empty stretch of roadway , NY 177 crosses the county line into Lewis County , where it enters the town of Pinckney . Through Pinckney , the route turns to the northeast , crossing Old State Road before bending and turning southeastward into the hamlet of Barnes Corners . In Barnes Corners , the dense forest retreats for a rural community , where NY 177 intersects with CR 21 and CR 2 ( Seven by Nine Road ) . CR 21 is the former southern terminus of NY 194 , a designation eliminated in 1980 . After leaving Barnes Corners , NY 177 returns to being the two lane rural roadway , progressing southeastward through the town of Pinckney . Despite the rural scenery , the route does enter the hamlet of New Boston and the junction with CR 23 ( Liberty Road ) . Passing a few farms , the route turns to the northeast near Mile Square Road , and enters the hamlet of Bellwood , within the town of Harrisburg . Bellwood consists of a few houses and an intersection with CR 27 and CR 28 ( Sears Pond Road ) . Leaving Bellwood , NY 177 continues eastward into the hamlet of unk , which consists only of a few houses . Leaving unk , NY 177 bends to the southeast and enters the town of Lowville , passing a few farms and wind turbines before bending into the hamlet of West Lowville . In West Lowville , NY 177 intersects with NY 12 , which continues eastward to the village of Lowville . NY 177 terminates at this intersection . History NY 177 was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York . It originally extended from US 11 in Adams Center to NY 12 west of the village of Lowville . When the portion of I 81 near Adams Center was completed in the late 1950s , NY 177 was extended westward over a county maintained highway to meet the new expressway at exit 42 . On August 1 , 1979 , ownership and maintenance of NY 177 between I 81 and US 11 was transferred from Jefferson County to the state of New York as part of a highway maintenance swap between the two levels of government . Major intersections
922
Britt Dillmann ( born 4 April 1963 ) is a 1 . 0 point wheelchair basketball forward , who plays for RSV Lahn Dill in the German wheelchair basketball league . She has also played for the national team , winning a silver medal at the 1988 Summer Paralympics in Seoul . She retired soon afterwards , but staged a comeback in 2011 , rejoining the national team , which went on to win the European championships , and then a gold medal at the 2012 Summer Paralympics in London . President Joachim Gauck awarded the team Germany 's highest sporting honour , the Silbernes Lorbeerblatt ( Silver Laurel Leaf ) . Biography Britt Tuna was born on 4 April 1963 . She played wheelchair basketball for RSV Lahn Dill , and the German national team which won the European Wheelchair Basketball Championship in 1987 . At the 1988 Summer Paralympics in Seoul , Tuna was considered to be the strongest wheelchair basketball player in her 1 . 0 point class . The German team went through the tournament undefeated until the final match , which they lost to the United States , 38 31 . Tuna was bitter about the defeat , which she blamed on a tactical error by the German coach . She later conceded , So habe ihr diese unk noch ber Jahre unk ( I indulged in this defeat for many years ) . In the early 1990s , Tuna quit basketball to focus on her work . She married , changing her surname to Dillmann , and raised three children ( Jana Dillmann , Charlotte Dillmann , Valentin Joshua Dillmann ) . But in the summer of 2009 , Dillmann felt that she had become overweight and unfit . A low carbohydrate diet and daily exercise at the gym , in the pool , and on the unk , saw her weight drop by 30 kilograms ( 66 lb ) in a year . Dillmann then decided to try wheelchair basketball again . She retrieved her old basketball chair , now somewhat mouldy and smelly , from the basement , and sought a game with her old team , RSV Lahn Dill . Her debut game with the seconds saw the basketball officials reaching for their rulebooks to see if the old chair , of a type they had never seen , was still legal . Although RSV Lahn Dill , eager to develop young players , would only let her play in the seconds , Dillmann caught the attention of national coach Holger Glinicki , who was looking for a top notch 1 . 0 point player . In 2010 , she rejoined the national team that she had played on before many of her new teammates were born . The team went on to win the European Championships in 2011 . Dillmann 's treatment contrasted with that of national team mate Gesche Schnemann . While Schnemann received endorsements and could train in the hall of RSV Lahn Dill 's Rivers Barracks , Dillmann got none , and trained outdoors . In June 2012 she was named as one of the team that competed at the 2012 Summer Paralympic Games in London . At the age of 49 , she was the oldest wheelchair basketball player there . In the Gold Medal match , the team faced the Australia women 's national wheelchair basketball team , a team that had beaten them 48 46 in Sydney just a few months before . They defeated the Australians 44 58 in front of a crowd of over 12 , 000 at the North Greenwich Arena to win the gold medal , the first that Germany had won in women 's wheelchair basketball in 28 years . They were awarded a Silver Laurel Leaf by president Joachim Gauck in November 2012 , and were again named Team of the Year for 2012 . For Dillmann , the gold medal victory removed the pain of the loss 24 years before . Das hat mich unk mit Seoul ( This has reconciled me with Seoul ) she said . Achievements 1987 Gold at the European Championships ( Lorient , France ) 1988 Silver at Paralympic Games ( Seoul , South Korea ) 2011 Gold at the European Championships ( Nazareth , Israel ) 2012 Gold at the Paralympic Games ( London , England ) Awards 2012 Team of the Year 2012 Silver Laurel Leaf
923
That Bass Tour was the first headlining concert tour by American singer and songwriter Meghan Trainor . It was launched in support of her debut studio album Title ( 2015 ) , and visited North America , Europe , Asia , and Oceania . The tour was initially announced in November 2014 with North American dates being released at the same time , with Oceanic , European and Asian dates announced afterwards . The show was produced by Live Nation Entertainment . The set list featured the majority of the songs from Title , along with a cover of Mark Ronson 's Uptown Funk . Reviews for the tour were generally positive , with critics praising Trainor 's live performing ability . Background and development On November 3 , 2014 , Trainor announced her debut concert tour , That Bass Tour , to support her fourth studio album and major label debut , Title ( 2015 ) . Tour dates were released on the same day for North America , and tickets were released on November 8 , 2014 . Dates were also revealed for the United Kingdom and Australia in January 2015 . Live Nation Entertainment were announced to be the tour 's producers , and HP as its sponsor . The set list included fourteen songs from Trainor 's album Title along with a dance section featuring Mark Ronson 's Uptown Funk . Synopsis The show starts with a screen of lights in the background while Trainor enters the stage , and she then opens with Dear Future Husband . After performing another three songs , Trainor starts singing Title with only a ukulele and her guitarist . Bang Dem Sticks is later performed along with a drum solo , which is followed by a special dance segment , as a tribute to Mark Ronson 's song Uptown Funk featuring Bruno Mars . As the first song of the encore , she sings What If I which was accompanied by a disco ball . The show closes with All About That Bass , which Bill Brotherton of the Boston Herald said had a loud sing along and had moms , dads and preteens dancing feverishly . The show ends with large balloons and confetti falling from the ceiling . Critical reception unk Wright of USA Today praised the show , saying that Trainor was energetic during the show , and that she interacted with the crowd often , both between and during songs . She also said that Trainor brought her A game for the show and that she recommends buying tickets for the show . Annabel Ross from The Sydney Morning Herald rated the song three out of five stars , and described Trainor as a pop star for all the family in the review . The Hollywood Reporter 's Ashley Lee said that the show did not disappoint the crowd , and also praised Trainor 's vocals and her showmanship . David Pollock of The Independent praised the show and opined that it is positively rich in visual spectacle and a sense of authentically live performance . International Business Times 's Alicia Adejobi criticized Trainor 's dance routines in the Uptown Funk segment , saying that she 's not the best dancer . Portland Tribune 's Nicole DeCosta said Trainor described Trainor as laid back and her dance moves as G rated , although Owen R. Smith from The Seattle Times said that the lyrical subjects of the songs on the show 's set list did not fit its young audience . Ashley Lee from The Hollywood Reporter said that the show 's venue was intima te , and that Trainor took advantage of this . John Aizlewood of the London Evening Standard wrote that Trainor had a natural presence in the show and that she spread more than a little happiness . Set list Set list for the March 13 , 2015 show . Dear Future Husband Mr. Almost Credit No Good for You Title unk Close Your Eyes 3am Like I 'm Gonna Lose You Bang Dem Sticks Uptown Funk ( Dance ) ( Mark Ronson song ) My Selfish Heart Lips Are Movin Encore What If I All About That Bass Shows
924
The Church of St Nicholas ( Bulgarian , tsarkva Sveti Nikola ) is a small medieval Eastern Orthodox church in the southwestern Bulgarian town of Sapareva Banya , which is part of Kyustendil Province . Originally either the property of a local notable or attached to a larger church , it was constructed anytime from the 11th to the 14th century . The church was built using red bricks and white mortar . Architecturally , it is of a simple Byzantine cross in square design , with a single nave and apse . The frescoes in the interior are only scarcely preserved . It was reconstructed in 1937 after falling into ruin , and it was listed as a monument of culture of national importance in 1968 . History Scholars disagree on the possible period of the church 's construction assessments range from the 11th 12th , through the 12th 13th , to the 13th 14th century . In an article in the Bulgarian Church Review magazine from 1898 , the local priest unk Popov was cited as saying that a stone from the church altar was unearthed during excavations . The priest believed that the stone , which reportedly had the date 1160 inscribed on it , was sent to the National Archaeological Museum in the capital Sofia . Due to its diminutive size , the Church of St Nicholas was probably not constructed as an independent church . A legend links the church to the name of an unidentified local feudal lord named Nikola ( Nicholas ) as his final resting place , though archaeologist Nikola Mavrodinov considers it more likely that it was possibly a chapel or a cemetery church attached to a larger place of worship . The larger church was perhaps pulled down during the early Ottoman rule of Bulgaria ( post 14th century ) . While the Church of St Nicholas was not destroyed , its renovation was prohibited by the Ottomans , thus it gradually fell into ruin . In his 1931 study , Mavrodinov also writes that at the time , the church lacked a roof . He references a story about a group of Circassians that were settled in Sapareva Banya on the order of the Ottoman authorities after the Crimean War ( 1853 1856 ) . According to that story , the Circassians sought to pull down the church 's roof . However , one of them fell to his death inside the church , so they fled in horror . The church was thoroughly reconstructed in 1937 by a team under architect unk . Architecture The Church of St Nicholas lies in the centre of Sapareva Banya . Its architecture is rather simple , with a single nave , a single apse and no narthex present . The church follows the Byzantine cross in square design , with unusually short arms of equal size . The dome has twelve sides and is of no particular height , though it is rather large for the church 's size . The apse is situated on the church 's eastern side its shape is semicircular and it features a window . The entrance is located on the west wall . The church was constructed out of rows of red bricks stuck together with white mortar . According to scholar Bistra Nikolova , its size is 7 . 20 by 5 . 50 metres ( 23 . 6 ft 18 . 0 ft ) , while another source measures it as 6 . 60 m 5 . 40 m ( 21 . 7 ft 17 . 7 ft ) . Either way , it is square in appearance . In height , it probably reached 6 . 60 m ( 21 . 7 ft ) at the dome and 4 . 20 m ( 13 . 8 ft ) at the cornice . In terms of design and decoration , Mavrodinov likens the church to the Church of St Pantaleon in Gorno Nerezi near Skopje , today in the Republic of Macedonia . It is also compared to the Church of St Theodore in nearby unk . The Church of St Nicholas features a multitude of two stepped vaults on its outside walls . The interior was originally entirely covered with frescoes , though only fragments survive . It was enlisted as a monument of culture of national importance in 1968 , with a publication in Bulgaria 's newspaper of record , the State Gazette , issue 77 .
925
Stromboli was a protected cruiser of the Italian Regia Marina ( Royal Navy ) built in the 1880s . She was the second member of the Etna class , which included three sister ships . She was named for the volcanic island of Stromboli , and was armed with a main battery of two 10 inch ( 254 mm ) and six 6 inch ( 152 mm ) guns , and could steam at a speed of 17 knots ( 31 km h 20 mph ) . Her career was relatively uneventful the only significant action in which she took part was the campaign against the Boxer Rebellion in China in 1900 . She returned to Italy in 1901 and spent the rest of her career in reserve or as an ammunition ship , apart from a brief stint in active service in 1904 . Stromboli was stricken from the naval register in 1907 and sold for scrapping in 1911 . Design Stromboli was 283 feet 6 inches ( 86 . 4 m ) between perpendiculars , with a beam of 42 feet 6 inches ( 13 . 0 m ) . She had a mean draft of 19 feet ( 5 . 8 m ) and displaced between 3 , 373 3 , 474 long tons ( 3 , 427 3 , 530 t ) . Her crew numbered 12 officers and 296 men . The ship had two horizontal compound steam engines , each driving a single propeller , with steam provided by four double ended cylindrical boilers . Stromboli was credited with a top speed of 17 knots ( 31 km h 20 mph ) from 6 , 252 indicated horsepower ( 4 , 662 kW ) . She had a cruising radius of 5 , 000 nautical miles ( 9 , 300 km 5 , 800 mi ) at a speed of 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . The main armament of the ships consisted of two Armstrong 10 inch ( 254 mm ) , 30 caliber breech loading guns mounted in barbettes fore and aft . She was also equipped with six 6 inch ( 152 mm ) , 32 caliber , breech loading guns that were carried in sponsons along the sides of the ship . For anti torpedo boat defense , Stromboli was fitted with five 57 millimeter ( 2 . 2 in ) 6 pounder Hotchkiss guns and five 37 millimeter ( 1 . 5 in ) 1 pounder Hotchkiss guns . Stromboli was also armed with four 14 inch ( 356 mm ) torpedo tubes . One was mounted in the bow underwater and the other three were above water . She was protected with an armored deck below the waterline with a maximum thickness of 1 . 5 inches ( 38 mm ) . The conning tower had .5 in ( 13 mm ) worth of armor plating . Service history Stromboli was laid down at the Venice shipyard on 27 September 1883 and her finished hull was launched on 4 February 1886 . Following the completion of fitting out work , she was commissioned into the Italian fleet on 21 March 1888 . Stromboli and her sisters Vesuvio and Ettore Fieramosca participated in the 1893 naval maneuvers as part of the Active Squadron . The following year , the ship took part in the annual fleet maneuvers in the 1st Division of the Active Squadron , along with the ironclad battleship Re Umberto and the torpedo cruiser Goito . unk and Ettore Fieramosca next participated in the 1896 naval maneuvers as part of the Active Squadron . During this period , she was assigned to the Flying Squadron , along with the armored cruiser Marco Polo and the protected cruiser Liguria . The ships were tasked as a training squadron and were also responsible for responding to any crises that might arise . In 1899 Stromboli was deployed to the Far East . She was joined by Vesuvio and Ettore Fieramosca , sent there in 1900 to assist the Eight Nation Alliance in putting down the Boxer Rebellion in China . All three ships were assigned to the Cruising Squadron in Chinese waters in 1901 . That year , Stromboli returned to Italy and was placed in reserve , before returning to active service in 1904 . That year she was in active service for seven months she spent the rest of the year with a reduced crew , as was standard practice in the Italian fleet at the time . She later served as an ammunition ship before being struck from the Navy List on 21 March 1907 and sold for scrap in 1911 .
926
NextWorth is an electronics trade in and recycling service . Users of the service exchange used electronics for cash or discounts on newer models . NextWorth was founded by business students at Babson College in 2005 . It started as a commission based service to help businesses setup online auctions for their used items , then changed its business model to focus on electronics trade ins in 2006 . As of late 2012 , NextWorth was one of the best known and largest electronics trade in and recycling services in the United States , although it handles only a small percentage of total trade in traffic . History NextWorth was founded by David Chen , Andrew Walsh and Scott Richardson while they were students at Babson College . The company was selected for Babson College 's 2005 Business unk program , which provides free resources to student led startups . NextWorth Inc. began operations the following year . It was originally a service that helped businesses and non profits prepare luxury items for online auctions in exchange for a 20 33 percent commission . In the spring of 2006 , NextWorth changed its business model and services to focus on electronics trade ins . In January 2007 , NextWorth raised 1 . 5 million in its first round of funding . Services NextWorth purchases used electronics and unk about 80 85 percent of them , while the remainder are sent to a network of partners for recycling . Many used iPhones are resold in countries where new ones are more expensive . Sellers can fill out an online form to describe the used products they want to sell , then get a quote through the website . After receiving the quote , sellers have thirty days to ship the product using a pre paid shipping label provided by NextWorth . The company wipes the device 's memory and inspects the item before sending the seller reimbursement in 3 15 days depending on the payment method . If NextWorth unk a product at a lower condition than the seller expected , they can get an explanation from NextWorth , challenge the quote , or reject it and get the product back . Sellers can also do trade ins in person and get reimbursed immediately at partnered retailers like Target . The Target trade in program began as a pilot project in 2009 , and expanded to 190 locations by 2010 and almost 1 , 500 stores by 2011 . A similar partnership was in place with Circuit City before it went out of business in 2009 . A company spokesperson stated in 2009 that the company was also partnered with 15 smaller retailers for in person trade ins . Pricing NextWorth sets its prices through an algorithm developed by MBA students and a professor at Babson College . Sellers can obtain better prices by reselling their electronics directly through services like eBay or Craigslist , but services like NextWorth are more convenient and have predictable pricing . A CNET editor found most of the trade in prices at NextWorth to be pretty fair , though he was expecting higher prices for some items . Variations in price between trade in services and products depend on timing ( release of new models and market fluctuations ) , the model being sold , and the product 's condition . According to About.com , how fair the seller is in describing the condition of the product will determine whether your experience with NextWorth is satisfying or not . Some sellers get higher or lower prices than they were originally quoted , depending on how NextWorth 's assessment of the product 's condition compares to the seller 's description . NextWorth has experienced spikes in trade in activity from sellers when newer models are announced , such as when the iPad 2 was announced in March 2011 , and when the iPhone 5 was announced in September 2012 These announcements also caused the trade in price of older models to decrease , due to over unk as well as after the holiday season .
927
The old fashioned doughnut is a variety of cake doughnut prepared in the shape of a ring with tapered edges around it . Primary ingredients include flour , sugar , eggs , sour cream or buttermilk and unk . It is typically deep fried , may have a crunchier or crisper texture compared to other styles of cake doughnuts , and have cracks and pores on its surface . After being fried , it may be glazed , dusted with sugar , or served plain . Commercially prepared old fashioned doughnuts may be prepared using a batter mix that is made with the addition of water . Such mixes are used by some doughnut shops . Some variations are prepared using unique ingredients , and some are produced as doughnut holes . Preparation Primary ingredients in an old fashioned doughnut include flour , sugar , eggs , sour cream or buttermilk , and leavening agents such as baking powder or baking soda . Additional ingredients may include milk , butter , vanilla extract and salt . The use of buttermilk or sour cream may impart a rich flavor to the doughnut . It is typically deep fried , and may be deep fried at a lower temperature compared to other doughnut styles , having a crunchier texture compared to other cake doughnut styles . Frying at a lower temperature contributes to its rough , cracked texture . Being turned several times while cooking in the oil also contributes to its texture . It may be prepared with toppings such as sugar , chocolate or maple glazes , dusted with granulated sugar or cinnamon sugar , or served plain without any topping . The shape of the doughnut can lend to the retention of a greater amount of glaze or other toppings compared to other doughnut styles . The old fashioned doughnut may have a similar texture to that of a buttermilk doughnut , and may be crisp in texture , with cracks and pores on its surface . Commercial preparation Commercially prepared old fashioned doughnut mixes are manufactured in the United States , which may be prepared by simply adding cold water to the mix . Prepared mixes are used by some doughnut shops . Doughnut shops may prepare old fashioned doughnuts by loading the batter into the hopper of a doughnut maker , which upon turning a hand crank , drops a formed doughnut into a deep fryer . Doughnut makers are also used for other doughnut varieties , such as cake doughnuts , yeast doughnuts , cream filled , and jelly filled doughnuts . Nutrition information One glazed old fashioned doughnut contains approximately 420 calories , 21 grams of fat , 10 grams of saturated fat , 260 milligrams of sodium , 57 grams of carbohydrate , 34 grams of sugar , 4 grams of protein and less than one gram of dietary fiber . Variations Starbucks purveys an old fashioned doughnut that is prepared using batter infused with chocolate . The U.S. company Trader Joe 's purveys a product named Old Fashioned Doughnut O 's , which are miniature sized old fashioned doughnuts . The restaurant unk in San Francisco has prepared a dessert using doughnut holes along with Asian pears , crme unk , pear butter and unk liqueur . The doughnuts are prepared using a sour cream base . Do Rite Donuts in New York has created limited edition custom doughnuts in collaboration with various celebrities , which included an old fashioned doughnut with maple glaze garnished with candied Fresno chili peppers . Top Pot Doughnuts in Seattle prepares both vanilla and chocolate based old fashioned doughnuts . Each flavor can be dipped in glaze , raspberry glaze , chocolate icing , maple icing , or sugared pumpkin ( in season ) . Glazed and Infused in Chicago , Illinois serves customers the traditional glazed old fashioned as well as a unique twist on the doughnut they like to call the lemon poppy seed old fashioned doughnut . The doughnut is covered with lemon flavored glaze , and topped with poppy seeds and lemon zest . Gallery
928
Remember not , Lord , our offences , unk , is a five part choral anthem by the English baroque composer Henry Purcell ( 1659 95 ) . The anthem is a setting of a passage from the litany compiled by Thomas Cranmer , Archbishop of Canterbury , and later included in the Anglican Book of Common Prayer . It was composed circa 1679 82 at the beginning of Purcell 's tenure as Organist and Master of the Choristers for Westminster Abbey . Composition Remember not , Lord , our offences is an anthem for an a cappella choir consisting of five voice parts two soprano parts , alto , tenor and bass ( SSATB ) . Purcell originally composed the 44 measure work in the key of A minor . Some arrangements of the anthem include a continuo instrumental accompaniment . Musicologist and historian Franklin B. Zimmerman ( born 1923 ) designated the anthem as unk in his catalogue of Purcell 's works . The duration of performances and recordings of this work is approximately 3 minutes . The lyrics of Purcell 's anthem are drawn from a passage in the beginning of the Exhortation and Litany compiled in 1544 by Thomas Cranmer ( 1489 1556 ) , the Archbishop of Canterbury . Cranmer established the liturgical structures for the Church of England after the Reformation and prepared the church 's first official authorised vernacular service . He derived the text of the litany from two medieval Sarum rite unk and a German Litany by Martin Luther . Cranmer added the litany to the 1549 edition of the Book of Common Prayer and it has been included in subsequent editions . Purcell set an excerpt from the litany Scholars date the composition of Remember not , Lord , our offences to the period generally between 1679 and 1682 . Cummings states that Purcell included it in a collection of anthems compiled in 1683 . During this time , Purcell had been appointed Organist and Master of the Choristers of Westminster Abbey in 1679 with the resignation of John Blow . He dedicated the next few years entirely to the composition of sacred music . In July 1682 , following the death of Edward Lowe , Purcell was appointed organist of the Chapel Royal an office which he held simultaneously with his position at Westminster Abbey . In his personal life , Purcell had married Frances Peters ( or Pieters ) who bore him a son that died shortly after birth . During the 1680s and tenure at Westminster Abbey and the Chapel Royal , Purcell compiled earlier and contemporary sacred music ( including several of his own compositions ) into one collection for the use of the choirs of both churches . Two extant manuscripts compiled by Purcell are currently held in the collections of the University of Cambridge 's Fitzwilliam Museum . Both manuscripts include Remember not , Lord , our offences . The choral anthems , including Remember not , Lord , our offences , that Purcell composed after his appointment to Westminster and before his appointment at the Chapel Royal are described as his last concentrated involvement with the verse anthem without strings . After 1681 , Purcell began including string accompaniments to his choral anthems a shift that musicologist Martin Adams attributes to having more resources available to him with his appointment to the Chapel Royal . Adams states that the anthems of this period included revisions of earlier works , including his well known setting of the Anglican funeral sentences , and that these works are distinguished by complex contrapuntal textures , a concentration on a limited quantity of motivic material , and the somber expression of penitential texts . Purcell 's anthems reflect the influence of compositional techniques developed by earlier composers William Byrd and Orlando Gibbons . These anthems are closely related to those composed by Purcell 's friend and teacher , John Blow , with their basso unk continuo and severe counterpoint , they are true stile antico .
929
The 117th Boat Race took place on 27 March 1971 . Held annually , it is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . It was won by Cambridge who passed the finishing post ten lengths ahead of Oxford , securing Cambridge 's fourth consecutive victory . The winning time was , at that point , the second fastest in the history of the event . In the reserve race , Goldie beat Isis , and in the Women 's Boat Race , Cambridge were victorious . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities , followed throughout the United Kingdom and broadcast worldwide . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions , having beaten Oxford by three and a half lengths in the previous year 's race , and held the overall lead , with 64 victories to Oxford 's 51 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . The first Women 's Boat Race took place in 1927 , but did not become an annual fixture until the 1960s . Until 2014 , the contest was conducted as part of the Henley Boat Races , but as of the 2015 race , it is held on the River Thames , on the same day as the men 's main and reserve races . The reserve race , contested between Oxford 's Isis boat and Cambridge 's Goldie boat has been held since 1965 . It usually takes place on the Tideway , prior to the main Boat Race . Cambridge coach Lou Barry was aiming to lead the Light Blues to victory for the fourth consecutive time under his guidance , while Oxford were coached by their former Blue , Ronnie Howard , who represented the university in the 1957 and 1959 races . The race was umpired by the former Oxford and Olympic rower Chris Davidge who had represented the Dark Blues in the 1949 , 1951 and 1952 races . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 13 st 8 lb ( 86 . 0 kg ) , 2 pounds ( 0 . 9 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . Cambridge saw the return of four former Blues in Chris Baillieu , James Hervey Bathurst , Christopher Rodrigues and N. G. Hughes , all of whom had made they Boat Race debut in the 1970 race . Oxford welcomed back A. J. Hall , J. Hawksley and F. J. L. Dale , the latter rowing in his third Boat Race for the Dark Blues . Cambridge 's American number seven , Somerset Waters III , was the only non British rower recorded in the race . Race Cambridge were pre race favourites , according to Jim Railton writing in The Times , they were the strongest favourites for many years . They won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , consigning Oxford to Middlesex , from which the losers of the last ten consecutive races had commenced . After a good start , and despite a desperate attack from the Dark Blues , Cambridge were three seconds ahead at the Mile Post . The Light Blues were clear soon after and by the time the crews shot Hammersmith Bridge , they held a three length , ten second lead over Oxford . By Chiswick Steps , the lead had extended out to 18 seconds Oxford trailed by 26 seconds at Barnes Bridge and could make no ground on Cambridge as they passed the finishing post ten lengths clear . The winning time of 17 minutes 58 seconds was the second fastest in the history of the event , behind that of the Cambridge crew of the 1948 race who recorded a time eight seconds faster . In the reserve race , Cambridge 's Goldie beat Oxford 's Isis by fifteen lengths , their fifth consecutive victory . In the 26th running of the Women 's Boat Race , Cambridge triumphed , their ninth consecutive victory .
930
King 's Highway 130 , commonly known as Highway 130 , is a provincially maintained highway in the Canadian province of Ontario . It begins at a junction with Highway 61 and travels 15 . 4 km ( 9 . 6 mi ) north west to the Trans Canada Highway , Highway 11 and Highway 17 , west of Thunder Bay . Highway 130 is a short connecting highway , and passes entirely through the outskirts of Thunder Bay , connecting several minor communities and providing a shortcut for traffic travelling from the south to the west or vice versa . The speed limit along the highway is 80 km h ( 50 mph ) it is patrolled by the Ontario Provincial Police . Highway 130 has retained most of its current route since the mid 1970s , but was longer prior to then , when it extended north of Arthur Street to Oliver Road and then along that road into downtown Thunder Bay , ending at what is now Water Street . The route was originally designated in late 1955 . Route description Highway 130 is situated in the municipality of Oliver Paipoonge , in Thunder Bay District . The short route serves to connect Highway 61 with Highways 11 and 17 west of Thunder Bay , a distance of 15 . 4 kilometres ( 9 . 6 mi ) . Beginning at Highway 61 in the south , the route proceeds straight north along a concession road midway between Monteith Road to the west and Hanna Road to the east . Surrounded almost entirely by farmland , the highway encounters McCluskey Drive one kilometre ( 0 . 62 mi ) along its route and Candy Mountain Drive two kilometres north of that . At the latter is the small community of Slate River Valley , though relatively few residences are located on the highway . At Barrie Drive , two kilometres north of the community , the highway turns east a channelized right turn lane is provided for northbound traffic while southbound traffic is given the right of way at the intersection . The highway travels east to Hanna Road where it turns north this junction features a channelized lane for southbound traffic while giving northbound traffic the right of way at the intersection . Now surrounded by residences to the west and a farm to the west , the highway travels north a short distance before curving to the southeast to cross the unk River . Gradually curving back to the north , the route features residences to the south and woodland to the north . It enters the community of Twin City , acting as the main street and intersecting Rosslyn Road immediately north of a Canadian National Railway crossing and the Paipoonge Museum . At Arthur Street , the highway turns west until it ends at Highway 11 and Highway 17 . History Highway 130 was first designated in late 1955 and early 1956 . At that time the route ended in the midst of McIntyre Township it began at Algoma Road ( now Water Street ) , then the route of Highway 17 , and followed John Street and Oliver Road . The Department of Highways assumed the portion within McIntyre Township on December 7 , 1955 . Three months later , the route was extended south to Highway 61 when the department assumed the section in Paipoonge Township on March 7 , 1956 . This route remained in place until the mid 1970s , when Highway 130 was decommissioned north of Arthur Street the section within the newly formed City of Thunder Bay was transferred to the city on October 1 , 1970 , while the section within McIntyre Township remained until at least 1973 . On August 17 , 2007 , the highway was extended by 2 km ( 1 . 2 mi ) when Highway 11 and Highway 17 , which until then travelled along Arthur Street , were transferred onto the unk Bypass to the north . As a result , Highway 130 was extended west along Arthur Street to its current terminus at the bypass . Major intersections The following table lists the major junctions along Highway 130 , as noted by the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario . The entire route is located in Thunder Bay District .
931
Disasterpieces is the second video album by American metal band Slipknot . Released on November 26 , 2002 , a 2 disc case DVD features Slipknot performing a concert at London Dockland Arena , as well all of the band 's music videos until its release including songs from Slipknot and Iowa . The concert was filmed by 26 cameras , including a camera on the headstock of Mick Thomson 's guitar and a first person point of view of several band members . The show was edited in part by band member Shawn Crahan who watched all of the footage recorded from the show . Disasterpieces was met with positive critical reception , with many citing the quick editing and high sound quality as strong points . In 2005 the DVD was certified quadruple platinum by the RIAA and is the band 's highest selling DVD to date shipping at least 400 , 000 units as a longform video . Recording and production Disasterpieces was recorded at the now defunct London Dockland Arena in England on February 16 , 2002 , it was one of the final dates on the band 's European tour which was subsequently their final tour until 2004 . The concert was shot with 26 different cameras under the direction of Matthew Amos and documents the show , backstage action and an in store signing in Paris , France . In addition to operated cameras each band member had an individual camera which was attached to the side of their masks , apart from Mick Thomson whose camera was attached to the headstock of his guitar . The concept behind these cameras was to allow the viewer to see the show from the band member 's point of view . However they did cause some discomfort and problems for some band members . Bassist Paul Gray removed his after four songs , explaining that they gave us this big camera pack to wear around our waist . So when I was jumping around , the thing started sliding down my leg . Also during the song Spit It Out DJ Sid Wilson had his camera stolen when he was in the crowd , however it was returned at the end of the show , all of this is documented on the DVD . The performance was edited by percussionist Shawn Crahan and Paul Richardson . Crahan later explained that he didn 't have an outline when he began editing , to the disbelief of others closest to him he watched all the footage in order to find the most appropriate footage to help immerse the viewer in the show . Additional content on the two disc set includes all music videos by the band at the time of release and the track Purity , which was removed from Slipknot due to legal reasons , in audio form . The DVD also gives the ability to the viewer to use the remote to change the viewing angle during Disasterpiece and also to view the individual band member mask cameras during People Shit and The Heretic Anthem . The DVD was unveiled at an advance screening in New York City on November 1 , 2002 and was released on November 22 . Reception Disasterpieces was generally well received by critics . Kirk Miller of Rolling Stone complimented the multitude of camera angles and quick edits , writing that they helped to take advantage of the masked metal giants ' sprawling live show . Ottawa XPress reviewer Mitch Joel wrote that the sound was mixed perfectly ... making songs like ' People Shit ' , ' Spit It Out ' and ' Surfacing ' rocket . Overall , he concluded , Disasterpieces is an awesome and all embracing package . Disasterpieces peaked at number 3 in the Billboard Top Music Videos chart and rose to number 1 in Finland . On January 6 , 2003 the RIAA certified Disasterpieces platinum in the United States , and it was declared quadruple platinum on November 18 , 2005 . It was honored with a 2002 Metal Edge Readers ' Choice Award for DVD Home Video of the Year . Contents Personnel Aside from their real names , members of the band are referred to by numbers zero through eight . Certifications
932
The Mikoyan Gurevich I 211 was a prototype high altitude Soviet fighter aircraft built during World War II . It was a version of the Mikoyan Gurevich I 210 , itself a variant of the Mikoyan Gurevich MiG 3 , fitted with a Shvetsov ASh 82F radial engine . Its development was quite prolonged , although successful , but by the time it finished its manufacturer 's trials in early 1944 there was no need for a high altitude fighter and it was not worth reducing the production of existing fighters to convert a factory over to the I 211 . Development The I 211 was a direct descendent of the Mikoyan Gurevich I 210 high altitude fighter prototype , also known as the MiG 3 82 or MiG 9 . Late in 1941 , a decision was made to phase out production of the Mikulin AM 35A engine used by the MiG 1 and MiG 3 in favor of the Mikulin AM 38 engine used in the Ilyushin Il 2 . The MiG design team had already created a version of the MiG 3 called the I 210 using a Shvetsov ASh 82 radial engine instead of the inline , liquid cooled engine . A number of changes were made in order to accommodate the larger circumference of the radial engine , but the redesign of the engine cowling was a failure and the I 210 proved to be slower than the Yak 1 or the LaGG 3 when it first flew on 23 July 1941 . Artem Mikoyan and Mikhail Gurevich continued development and another prototype was built , the MiG I 211 , or the MiG unk , using the improved ASh 82F engine . Improvements from the I 210 included aerodynamic refinements of the engine cowling , the cockpit was moved aft 24 . 5 cm ( 9 . 6 in ) , the oil cooler inlets were moved to the wing roots , the oil cooler was moved entirely inside fuselage and a larger tail was fitted . It was armed with two 20 mm ( 0 . 79 in ) ShVAK cannon . It weighed some 300 kg ( 660 lb ) less than the I 210 , possibly due to an all metal structure , but this cannot be confirmed . These refinements took most of 1942 to design and assembly of the I 211 did not begin until December 1942 . Its first flight was on 24 February 1943 . The reduction in drag and in weight greatly improved performance over the I 211 , with a top speed of 670 km h ( 420 mph ) at a height of 7 , 000 m ( 23 , 000 ft ) and took only 4 . 0 minutes to reach an altitude of 5 , 000 m ( 16 , 000 ft ) . The OKB had originally planned to build ten in the first quarter of 1943 , but the manufacturer 's trials took an unexpectedly long time to complete and were not finished until the first quarter of 1944 . By this time there was little demand for a high altitude fighter and the project was canceled with only a single aircraft built . Nomenclature In a number of older books , the MiG I 211 is called the MiG 5 . It is now established that the MiG 5 designation was reserved for the production version of the MiG DIS , a twin engine fighter that did not enter production . The acronym DIS comes from unk Istrebitel unk or long range escort fighter . Similarly the MiG 9 designation was intended for the production version of the MiG 3 with the ASh 82 radial engine . This name was reused shortly afterwards for the first Mikoyan Gurevich jet fighter . Operators Soviet Union Soviet Air Force Specifications ( I 211 ) Data from Gordon , Soviet Airpower in World War 2 General characteristics Crew 1 Length 7 . 954 m ( 26 ft 1 in ) Wingspan 10 . 20 m ( 33 ft 5 in ) Height 3 . 63 m ( 11 ft 10 in ) Wing area 17 . 44 m ( 187 . 7 sq ft ) Empty weight 2 , 528 kg ( 5 , 573 lb ) Loaded weight 3 , 100 kg ( 6 , 834 lb ) Powerplant 1 Shvetsov M 82F air cooled radial piston engine , 1 , 380 kW ( 1 , 850 hp ) Performance Maximum speed 670 km h ( 416 mph ) Range 1 , 440 km ( 894 mi ) Service ceiling 11 , 300 m ( 37 , 065 ft ) Armament 2 forward firing ShVAK 20 mm ( 0 . 787 in ) cannon mounted on the bottom of the engine cowling
933
Alexander G. Alex Hewit ( November 8 , 1985 ) is a retired lacrosse goaltender . He began playing lacrosse as a youth . He led his high school to three New Jersey state championships and was one of the most sought after high school lacrosse players in the United States . Since his older brother was studying and playing lacrosse at Princeton University , Alex decided to attend Princeton as well . He starred as a member of the Princeton Tigers men 's lacrosse team from 2005 through 2008 . He was recognized as a three time United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association ( USILA ) All American ( first team once ) and a three time second team All Ivy League performer . He was the 2006 National Collegiate Athletic Association ( NCAA ) goaltender of the year and 2008 Princeton co captain . During his college career , Princeton lacrosse earned an Ivy League championship and two NCAA Men 's Lacrosse Championship invitations . Background Hewit is the son of Russell and Nan Hewit , and his siblings are Grant , Meghan and Rusty . Born November 8 , 1985 , and raised in Chatham , New Jersey , Hewitt began playing lacrosse as a youth . Both of his older brothers played and introduced him to the sport . Hewit started playing lacrosse in fourth grade in a local recreational league in his hometown . By sixth grade he was converted from an attackman to a goalie , but not until the coaches convinced his mother 's that her concern for her son 's safety were unwarranted . He met his middle school , high school and college teammate Dan Cocoziello taking an entrance exam for the Delbarton School in sixth grade . On the seventh and eighth grade team and the freshman team at the Delbarton School he also played goalie . In eighth grade , he made a New Jersey state eighth grade all star team along with Cocoziello that competed against all stars from other states . He made the varsity team as a sophomore and helped lead the team to a cumulative 63 4 record and three high school lacrosse state championships . He was an all state and all conference goalie who made the headmaster s list as a student . He was regarded as the fifth best high school lacrosse recruit in the nation in the 2003 , according to Inside Lacrosse . Since his older brother Grant was at Princeton , the college was on his short list along with Johns Hopkins , Duke , Harvard and Dartmouth . Grant later became captain of the 2006 Tigers lacrosse team . College career Hewit played in six games for Princeton and started three as a freshman in 2005 . He became the starting goalie late in his freshman year . He was first team USILA All American Team selection in 2006 , a second team selection in 2007 and an honorable mention selection in 2008 . He was a 2006 , 2007 2008 second team All Ivy League selection . Hewit was a mild mannered goalie who never celebrated after making saves . His goaltending style of taking away the high and tight shots altered the way opposing teams approached scoring . During the 2006 season , he held the three highest scoring teams in the country ( Virginia , Hofstra and Cornell ) to 20 goals , which was half of their combined average . He was given the Ensign C. Markland Kelly , Jr . Award in 2006 in recognition of being the best National Collegiate Athletic Association lacrosse goaltender . The 2006 team was Ivy League co champion with Cornell . In 2007 , he entered the season with a lower goals against average ( 6 . 45 ) than the NCAA Division I career record and was a preseason first team All American according to Inside Lacrosse . He served as co captain of the 2008 team . After a 5 7 2005 year , Princeton qualified for the NCAA Men 's Lacrosse Championship in 2006 2007 . Professional career Hewit took a job with Lehman Brothers after graduating from Princeton . He was signed by New Jersey Pride for the 2008 MLL season , but he appeared in no games .
934
Eternal Pyre is an EP by the thrash metal band Slayer . Released June 6 , 2006 ( 06 06 06 ) through American Recordings , the EP was limited to a pressing of 1 , 000 ( but later 5 , 000 ) copies . The album is a pre release to the later album Christ Illusion , which , like the EP , features the song Cult . The album was released exclusively through Hot Topic chain stores in the United States and copies were also available in Germany , Finland and Sweden on June 23 , 2006 . There are three tracks featured on the album , one of which is an audio track and the others are videos . The album was not well received by critics , with few critics actually reviewing the album . The album charted on four different charts , peaking number two in Finland and three in Denmark . Background The album Christ Illusion was originally set for release on June 6 , 2006 . Slayer guitarist Kerry King stated this tentative release date was scrapped as a number of other bands had the same idea and thought it was fucking lame , although USA Today reported the release date was thwarted because the band had failed to secure sufficient studio recording time . Eternal Pyre was released instead , a preview of their album to be released in the coming months . The EP featured the track Cult , a live performance of War Ensemble in Germany and four minutes footage of the band in the recording studio . Originally , it was thought that the extended play would feature a live version of Dead Skin Mask instead of the live version of War Ensemble . Many news reporters were told that the album would feature the Live Intrusion video , described as a clip of one of the band 's fans who carved Slayer 's name into his forearm . 5 , 000 copies were released exclusively through Hot Topic chain stores in the United States and copies were also available in Germany , Finland and Sweden on June 23 . Nuclear Blast Records released a further 7 vinyl picture disc version limited to one thousand copies on June 30 . Composition Eternal Pyre features three tracks in total . Cult was characterized by Thom Jurek as scathing rejection of religion as the cause for world conflict . The song revolves around guitarist Kerry King 's perception of flaws in American religion and was a comment on America , which he describes as the biggest cult in the world . Their performance was positively commented on , with unk saying that King and Jeff Hanneman riff like they 're summoning a storm of thunder , lightning and human blood , and was also noted to be a down tuned , two string vamp that slithers into the foreground creates a tension as Lombardo 's cymbals call the band into the riff that opens the tune . It 's slow , meaty , unrelenting in its tautness . When Araya 's voice comes in , the whole track is off the rails and stays there . War Ensemble was filmed live from Germany , and contains four minutes of studio footage . Lyrics were said to please fans still harboring a grudge from Catholic school . Reception and release Critics did not receive Eternal Pyre very well , with few professionals actually reviewing the album . The Pitch criticized the price of the extended play at US 5 . 99 , stating in comparison it makes iTunes a bargain . The Pitch 's reviewer also said that Slayer 's worst is never far from its best , and this cut 's in the middle . The extended play was , however , generally well received by fans , despite having a limited number of copies available . Eternal Pyre debuted at number forty eight on the Swedish charts , and number two on the Finnish charts . With a limited pressing of 1 , 000 copies , the EP was exclusively made available in Hot Topic stores starting on June 6 , and was later made available in Europe on June 23 . Track listing Chart positions Personnel The album 's credits can be verified by Eternal Pyre 's back cover .
935
Hurricane Virgil was a late season hurricane of the 1992 Pacific hurricane season that struck southwestern Mexico in October 1992 . Forming from a tropical wave that left Africa on September 13 , it slowly developed into a tropical depression . It soon strengthened into Tropical Storm Virgil , and rapidly intensified into a hurricane on October 2 . Continuing to intensify , the hurricane attained major hurricane strength , and peaked as a Category 4 hurricane off the coast of Mexico . Shortly before landfall , it weakened to a Category 2 hurricane , and it dissipated on October 5 . Damage was generally minimal , though one person was reported missing . Meteorological history Virgil originated from a tropical wave that moved off the coast of Africa on September 13 , 1992 , beginning a westward course through the Atlantic and Caribbean without much development , although there was an increase convection near the Lesser Antilles on the September 20 . However , this was disorganized and suppressed by an upper level trough during the wave 's passage through the Caribbean Sea . The wave crossed over Panama on September 25 , and convection began to increase when it reached the Eastern Pacific , although it was initially disorganized . The system later became better organized , and on October 1 , the wave organized into a tropical depression . Shortly thereafter , it was upgraded to a tropical storm and was named Virgil . Upon becoming a tropical storm , the system was expect to move near the coast of Mexico , and forecasters noted that there was some potential for a landfall . The system became a little better organized and over warm water and low wind shear Virgil steadily intensified . Virgil was upgraded to a hurricane the next day an eye formed an hour later . During the period of strengthening , Virgil turned more towards the north . Continued strengthening occurred , and it attained major hurricane status on September 2 . At this time , the system was anticipated to make landfall in Mexico as a Category 4 hurricane . The storm had maximum winds of 130 mph ( 215 km h ) , but shortly thereafter the storm began to weaken . By 0900 UTC October 2 , the eye started to become less defined . Based on this , the storm was downgraded into a category 3 hurricane . Although an eye was no longer visible on satellite imagery , the storms had displayed very deep convection , thus the NHC initially maintained the intensity at 120 mph ( 195 km h ) . Virgil 's eye continued to become less defined , and was downgraded to Category 2 intensity at the time of landfall on October 4 . It rapidly weakened over land , and was a dissipating tropical depression by the time it moved offshore . Preparations and Impact Prior to the arrival of the hurricane , several watches and warnings were issued . During the afternoon of October 2 , a hurricane watch was first issued for areas west of unk . The next day , the watch was upgraded into a hurricane warning . Fifteen hours later the area east of unk , a tropical storm warning was issued . The watches were gradually dropped over the next few days , and by October 4 . The NHC warned the possibility of mudslides and landslides and 15 in ( 380 mm ) of rain in the high terrain of Mexico . Due to the sparsely populated area it struck , only minor damage was reported . Heavy rain and flooding were reported , peaking at over 10 inches ( 25 cm ) in one location . One person was reported missing in the state of Colima , and three people were injured in Guerrero . More than 1 , 000 homes were damaged in Guerrero , Michoacn , and Colima , as was 7 , 400 acres ( 30 km ) of farmland . A flood on the Atoyac River washed away 500 homes in Guerrero , which prompted the evacuation of 2 , 500 people . A passenger train north of Lzaro Crdenas , Michoacn , was derailed when it encountered washed out roadbeds . The storm also caused power outages .
936
Kepler 8b is the fifth of the first five exoplanets discovered by NASA 's Kepler spacecraft , which aims to discover planets in a region of the sky between the constellations Lyra and Cygnus that transit ( cross in front of ) their host stars . The planet is the hottest of the five . Kepler 8b was the only planet discovered in Kepler 8 's orbit , and is larger ( though more diffuse ) than Jupiter . It orbits its host star every 3 . 5 days . The planet also demonstrates the Rossiter McLaughlin effect , where the planet 's orbit affects the redshifting of the spectrum of the host star . Kepler 8b was announced to the public on January 4 , 2010 at a conference in Washington , D.C. after radial velocity measurements conducted at the W.M. Keck Observatory confirmed its detection by Kepler . Nomenclature and history The Kepler 8b planet is named because it was the first planet discovered in the orbit of Kepler 8 . The star itself ( and by extension , its planet ) was named after the Kepler spacecraft , a NASA run satellite that searches for terrestrial planets between constellations Cygnus and Lyra that transit , or cross in front of , their host stars with respect to Earth . This crossing slightly dims the star at a regular interval , which is used to determine if the cause of the fluctuation in brightness is indeed due to a planetary transit . The planet was first noted as a potential transit event by the Kepler telescope , and was originally designated as KOI 10 . 01 . Follow up observations by the High Resolution Echelle Spectrometer at Hawaii 's W.M. Keck Observatory yielded additional information about the planet , including its mass and radius . Kepler 8b was the fifth planet discovered by the Kepler telescope . The first three planets in Kepler 's field of view had already been confirmed , and were used to test Kepler 's accuracy . Kepler 8b was the last of the first five planets that Kepler discovered . Its discovery , along with the planets Kepler 4b , Kepler 5b , Kepler 6b , and Kepler 7b , were announced to the public at the 215th meeting of the American Astronomical Society in Washington , D.C. This conference took place on January 4 , 2010 . The discovery of these first five planets helped confirm Kepler 's functionality . Host star Kepler 8 is an F type star in the Lyra constellation that lies approximately 1330 ( 180 ) parsecs away from Earth . With a mass and radius of , respectively , 1 . 213 Msun and 1 . 486 Rsun , the star is both more massive and wider than the Sun . With an effective temperature of unk K , Kepler 8 is also hotter than the Sun , although it is approximately three quarters of a billion years younger and is slightly less metal rich . Characteristics Kepler 8b has a mass of .603 MJ , but a radius of 1 . 419 RJ . This means that although Kepler is approximately 60 the mass of planet Jupiter , it is more diffuse , as it is 41 . 9 wider . Based on its size and the distance from its star , Kepler 8b is a Hot Jupiter planet , orbiting Kepler 8 from a distance of unk AU every 3 . unk days . To compare , planet Mercury orbits the Sun at an average distance of .3871 AU every 87 . 97 days . With an equilibrium temperature of 1764 K , Kepler 8b was the hottest of the five planets announced during the conference stating its discovery . Kepler 8b has an eccentricity of 0 , which means that its orbit is very circular . The planet also has a density of .261 grams cc , approximately 74 less dense than purified water at 4 C. As Kepler 8b orbits its star , it demonstrates the Rossiter McLaughlin effect , in which the host star 's spectrum becomes red and , later , blueshifted , as a body transits it . The identification of this effect established Kepler 8b as orbiting in a prograde motion ( as opposed to retrograde motion , in which a planet orbits in a direction opposite of its star 's rotation ) .
937
Hammerton 's Ferry is a pedestrian and cycle ferry service across the River Thames in the London Borough of Richmond upon Thames , London , England . The ferry links the northern bank near Marble Hill House in Twickenham with the southern bank near Ham House in Ham . It is one of only four remaining ferry routes in London not to be replaced by a bridge or tunnel . Historical background Although ferries ( and later bridges ) had crossed the river to the east at Richmond since 1459 and to the west at Eel Pie Island since at least 1652 the lands to the south of the river at this point had historically been privately held by the Tollemache family ( owners of Ham House ) and off limits to the public . Consequently , despite the distance from the nearest crossings there was little demand for cross river services at this location . Additionally , the Tollemache family had licensing rights for the Twickenham Ferry at Eel Pie Island ( sometimes known as Dysart 's ferry after the family ) , and consequently had little interest in promoting a competing service . The Twickenham Ferry is a setting for some action in Little unk by Charles Dickens . Walter Hammerton In 1901 Marble Hill House on the north bank of the Thames and the surrounding park were purchased for public use and in 1902 the footpath on the southern bank near Ham House became a public right of way by Act of Parliament resulting in increased passenger traffic in the area . In 1908 local resident Walter Hammerton began hiring out boats to leisure users from a boathouse opposite Marble Hill House , and in 1909 began to operate a regular ferry service across the river at this point using a 12 passenger clinker built skiff , charging 1d per journey . Legal challenge In 1913 William Champion , and Lord Dysart , operators of the nearby Twickenham Ferry , took legal action against Hammerton to remove his right to operate the ferry . Although Hammerton won the initial case , the judgement was reversed on appeal . Following considerable public interest in the case , a public subscription raised the funds for Hammerton to take the case to the House of Lords , who ruled in his favour on 23 July 1915 . The legal case resulted in considerable publicity for Hammerton , culminating in the release of the song The Ferry to Fairyland celebrating the case . ( Fairyland , in this case , referring to Marble Hill House , recently purchased by the London County Council for public enjoyment . ) In 1947 Hammerton retired after 38 years of operating the ferry , leaving the ferry and boathouse to Sandy Scott . Current operation The ferry is currently owned by Francis Spencer and operated by Stan Rust . The current ferry , Peace of Mind , was designed and built by unk Limited in South Wales in 1997 . Hammerton 's original skiff is now on display at the Museum in Docklands . The ferry currently operates between a floating boathouse on the north bank of the Thames and a rudimentary jetty on the south bank . The boathouse is also in use as a private mooring for leisure craft . The ferry operates on all weekends , and weekdays between February and October . As well as the ferry service , rowboats , canoes and motorboats can also be hired from the boathouse . In July 2007 the ferry briefly made headlines when owner Francis Spencer saved from drowning a woman found floating in the Thames . After the rescue , the woman left the scene and was never identified . A local tradition holds that a tunnel connects Ham House and Marble Hill House , paralleling the route of the ferry . However , there is no evidence that this is the case . The ferry marks the starting point of the Great River Race and is on the course of the Twickenham Regatta . As the ferry has right of way over rowed craft , the races have to be carefully timed to ensure that the ferry does not interfere with their running . Image gallery
938
Lactarius subdulcis , commonly known as the mild milkcap or beech milk cap , is an edible mushroom in the genus Lactarius . It is brown in colour , with a large number of gills and a particularly thin layer of flesh in the cap . Mycorrhizal , the mushroom is found from late summer to late autumn at the base of beech trees in small groups or individually , where it is one of the two most common species of fungi . Alternatively , it can be found in large groups in fields , sometimes with more than a hundred individual mushrooms . It is found in Europe , and , despite previous research to the contrary , is absent in North America . Although considered edible , it is not particularly useful as food due to its ivy like taste and the fact that more choice mushrooms will be easily found at the same time . L. subdulcis is known for its abundant , sweet tasting milk that , unlike the latex of some of its relatives , does not stain fabric yellow . Taxonomy Lactarius subdulcis was first described as Agaricus subdulcis by mycologist Christian Hendrik Persoon in 1801 , before English mycologist Samuel Frederick Gray placed it in its current genus Lactarius in 1821 in his The Natural Arrangement of British Plants . The specific epithet is derived from Latin words sub under , and dulcis sweet , after the milk 's delayed sweet taste . As well as mild milk cap , beech milk cap is an alternate common name . Description Lactarius subdulcis has a convex cap of 3 7 cm ( 1 3 in ) across that later develops a depression . It sometimes has a small umbo , and in colour can be a reddish brown , rusty or dark cinnamon , later paling to buff , though darker in the middle . The cap can be fairly rigid to flexible , and smooth to slightly wrinkled . At first , the margin is incurved though it is sometimes slightly furrowed . The stem is 3 7 cm long and between 6 and 13 mm thick , and is generally cylindrical though can be club shaped . The stem is sometimes furrowed lengthwise , and is generally the same colour as the cap , though paler at the top . The flesh is pale and there is only a thin layer in the cap . The crowded gills are adnate to slightly decurrent , and can be white or pink in colour . It has white , plentiful milk that does not stain fabrics yellow , differentiating it from other species of Lactarius , such as L. decipiens . It has a faint , oily scent . Spores Lactarius subdulcis has cream spore print with a slight salmon tinge . The spores are oval , with unk warts of around 1 micrometre ( m ) which are joined by a well developed network of mostly thin ridges . The spores measure 7 . 5 11 m by 6 . 5 9 m , and are amyloid or ellipsoid in shape . Distribution and habitat Lactarius subdulcis is found in Europe it does not occur in North America , although a number of similar brownish orange species were formerly classified under this species . It is found in broad leaved woodland , especially on the floor at the base of beech trees . Along with L. vellereus , L. subdulcis is the most common fungi found on beech trees . The mushrooms can be found from late summer to late autumn , and are common . They are found individually , or in small groups . They can also be found in fields , generally appearing in large batches , with groups of over a hundred mushrooms not uncommon . Edibility Lactarius subdulcis has a mild taste with a slightly bitter after taste . Though considered edible after cooking , it is not recommended , as it has a taste reminiscent of ivy . There are a number of other mushrooms that appear at the same time and in the same areas as L. subdulcis that are preferable to it , including L. unk , meaning that L. subdulcis is not particularly useful as a foodstuff . The milk is one of distinguishing features , having a sweet taste that turns bitter in the mouth , with L. subdulcis being considered a sweet milk mushroom .
939
The French ironclad Montcalm was a wooden hulled armored corvette built for the French Navy in the mid 1860s . She was named after Major General Montcalm who lost the Battle of the Plains of Abraham in 1759 . She played a minor role in the Franco Prussian War of 1870 where she captured one Prussian sailing ship . Montcalm spent most of her later career abroad , either in Chinese waters or the Pacific Ocean . The ship was condemned in 1891 . Design and description The Alma class ironclads were designed as improved versions of the armored corvette Belliqueuse suitable for foreign deployments . Unlike their predecessor the Alma class ships were true central battery ironclads as they were fitted with armored transverse bulkheads . Like most ironclads of their era they were equipped with a metal reinforced ram . Montcalm measured 68 . 75 meters ( 225 ft 7 in ) between perpendiculars , with a beam of 14 . 13 meters ( 46 ft 4 in ) . She had a mean draft of 6 . 66 meters ( 21 ft 10 in ) and displaced 3 , 889 metric tons ( 3 , 828 long tons ) . Her crew numbered 316 officers and men . Propulsion The ship had a single horizontal return connecting rod steam engine driving a single propeller . Her engine was powered by four oval boilers . On sea trials , the engine produced 1 , 830 indicated horsepower ( 1 , 360 kW ) and the ship reached 11 . 65 knots ( 21 . 58 km h 13 . 41 mph ) . Montcalm carried 250 metric tons ( 250 long tons ) of coal which allowed the ship to steam for 1 , 460 nautical miles ( 2 , 700 km 1 , 680 mi ) at a speed of 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . She was barque rigged and had a sail area of 1 , 438 square meters ( 15 , 480 sq ft ) . Armament Montcalm mounted her four 194 millimeter ( 7 . 6 in ) Modle 1864 breech loading guns in the central battery on the battery deck . The other two 194 millimeter guns were mounted in barbettes on the upper deck , sponsoned out over the sides of the ship . The four 120 millimeter ( 4 . 7 in ) guns were also mounted on the upper deck . She may have exchanged her Mle 1864 guns for Mle 1870 guns . The armor piercing shell of the 20 caliber Mle 1870 gun weighed 165 . 3 pounds ( 75 . 0 kg ) while the gun itself weighed 7 . 83 long tons ( 7 . 96 t ) . The gun fired its shell at a muzzle velocity of 1 , 739 ft s ( 530 m s ) and was credited with the ability to penetrate a nominal 12 . 5 inches ( 320 mm ) of wrought iron armour at the muzzle . The guns could fire both solid shot and explosive shells . Armor Montcalm had a complete 150 millimeter ( 5 . 9 in ) wrought iron waterline belt , approximately 2 . 4 meters ( 7 . 9 ft ) high . The sides of the battery itself were armored with 120 millimeters ( 4 . 7 in ) of wrought iron and the ends of the battery were closed by bulkheads of the same thickness . The barbette armor was 100 millimeters ( 3 . 9 in ) thick , backed by 240 millimeters ( 9 . 4 in ) of wood . The unarmored portions of her sides were protected by 15 millimeter ( 0 . 6 in ) iron plates . Service Montcalm was laid down at Rochefort on 26 October 1865 and launched on 16 October 1868 . The ship began her sea trials on 16 June 1869 and was then sent to the Mediterranean until May 1870 . During the Franco Prussian War , she captured the German barque Union in the North Sea and watched the Prussian corvette Arcona in Portuguese waters . She cruised the North and South Atlantic before being put in reserve on 1 August 1871 at Cherbourg . Recommissioned on 20 October 1873 , she sailed for China on 5 January 1874 to relieve the armored corvette Belliqueuse as flagship of the China Station . Montcalm arrived back in Cherbourg on 20 May 1876 and was reduced to reserve from 1878 to 1880 . In 1882 , she became flagship for the Pacific division under command of Rear Admiral unk . Back to Cherbourg in 1884 , she remained there until 2 April 1891 when she was condemned .
940
The Bruton Dovecote is a limestone tower that was built between the 15th and 17th century in Bruton in the English county of Somerset . The structure was once used as a dovecote , and may have been a watchtower or prospect tower prior to this . It is a Grade II listed building and scheduled monument . It has been associated with Bruton Abbey and the Berkley family who owned the estate after the dissolution . It is known that the conversion to house pigeons and doves took place around 1780 . It was acquired by the National Trust in 1915 and they have managed the site since then undertaking restoration work . History Though the Bruton Dovecote 's date of construction is not known precisely , the structure was built some time between the 15th and 17th century . Architectural historian Lydia Greeves suggests that the building was once within the unk of Bruton Abbey and was adapted by the monks from a gabled Tudor tower . However , John and Pamela McCann , authors of The unk of Historical Somerset , claim that the structure was not built until after the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the 1530s . The authors claim that the Berkley family , who acquired the lands of the Abbey , constructed the building as a prospect tower . Dendrochronological dating commissioned by the National Trust found that timber in the door and window frames came from trees felled between 1554 and 1586 . The conversion to be a dovecote took place around 1780 . Pigeons and doves were an important food source historically kept for their eggs , flesh , and dung . Although it is now a roofless ruin with some of the windows blocked up , it previously had a chimney and the fireplace can still be seen . The National Trust acquired the freehold from Sir Henry Hugh Arthur Hoare of the Hoare baronets , whose family seat was at Stourhead , in 1915 . The tower was subsequently designated as a scheduled monument in 1953 and a listed building ( Grade II ) in 1961 . In the 1980s the dovecote was inspected as part of an investigation into an outbreak of psittacosis ( also known as parrot disease or parrot fever ) , a zoonotic infectious disease caused by the bacterium unk unk , at the adjoining King 's School . No cause was found for the infection . In 2010 restoration work was undertaken including repairs to the tops of the walls these are exposed as the building no longer has a roof . Wall ties were used on the south west corner where the masonry was bulging . In addition , car parking and educational signage was provided . This was partially funded by South Somerset council , Bruton Town Council and the Heritage Lottery Fund to a total of 105 , 000 . Location The dovecote stands on Lusty Hill to the south of Bruton overlooking the town . It is approximately 370 metres ( 1 , 210 ft ) south of the Church of St Mary , and 230 metres ( 750 ft ) south of King 's School . It is on the Leland Trail . Architecture The square tower was built of local coursed oolitic limestone with Doulting stone dressings . The walls are 2 feet 8 inches ( 0 . 81 m ) thick at the base , and the tower is 6 square metres ( 65 sq ft ) in plan . The doorway has an ovolo moulded arch which is 5 feet 9 inches ( 1 . 75 m ) high . This suggests a construction date in the late 16th or early 17th century . Another entrance was made for cattle to enter at a later date but this has been blocked up . Several of the windows have also been filled with stone . On the north east face there were two light chamfered mullioned windows on each floor while on the north west wall they were one and two light windows . It has over 200 pigeon holes , which were installed after the original construction , possibly before 1780 . Six tiers of nest boxes remain however there were previously several more , possibly as many as 850 . They are made of regular blocks of tufa each around 8 inches ( 200 mm ) square and 16 inches ( 410 mm ) deep .
941
Ettore Fieramosca was a protected cruiser of the Italian Regia Marina ( Royal Navy ) built in the 1880s . She was the fourth and final member of the Etna class , which included three sister ships of slightly smaller dimensions . Named for the condottiero of the same name , she was the only member of her class not named for a volcano . The ship was laid down in December 1885 , launched in August 1888 , and was commissioned in November 1889 . She was armed with a main battery of two 10 inch ( 254 mm ) and six 6 inch ( 152 mm ) guns , and could steam at a speed of 18 knots ( 33 km h 21 mph ) . Ettore Fieramosca had a relatively uneventful career her first decade in service was confined to the normal peacetime routine of training with the Italian fleet . She thereafter spent most of her career abroad , including a deployment to China to help suppress the Boxer Rebellion in 1900 and tours in African and North American waters in the mid 1900s . She was stricken from the naval register in July 1909 and sold for scrap . Design Compared to her half sisters , Ettore Fieramosca was almost 7 feet ( 2 . 1 m ) longer at 290 feet ( 88 . 4 m ) between perpendiculars , and 10 inches ( 0 . 3 m ) wider with a beam of 43 feet 4 inches ( 13 . 2 m ) . She had a mean draft of 18 feet 9 inches ( 5 . 7 m ) and displaced 3 , 538 long tons ( 3 , 595 t ) . Her crew numbered 17 officers and 298 men . Designed to be a half knot faster than her sisters , the ship had two horizontal compound steam engines , each driving a single propeller , with steam provided by four double ended cylindrical boilers . Ettore Fieramosca was the fastest ship in her class and reached a maximum speed of 18 knots ( 33 km h 21 mph ) from 7 , 000 ihp ( 5 , 200 kW ) during her sea trials . She had a cruising radius of 5 , 000 nautical miles ( 9 , 300 km 5 , 800 mi ) at a speed of 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . The main armament of the ships consisted of two Armstrong 10 inch ( 254 mm ) , 30 caliber breech loading guns mounted in barbettes fore and aft . She was also equipped with six 6 inch ( 152 mm ) , 32 caliber , breech loading guns that were carried in sponsons along the sides of the ship . For anti torpedo boat defense , Ettore Fieramosca was fitted with six 57 millimeter ( 2 . 2 in ) 6 pounder Hotchkiss guns and eight 37 millimeter ( 1 . 5 in ) 1 pounder Hotchkiss guns . Ettore Fieramosca was also armed with three 14 inch ( 356 mm ) torpedo tubes . She was protected with an armored deck below the waterline with a maximum thickness of 1 . 5 inches ( 38 mm ) . The conning tower had .5 in ( 13 mm ) worth of armor plating . Service history Ettore Fieramosca was built by the Regia Marina shipyard in Livorno . Her keel was laid down on 31 December 1885 and her completed hull was launched on 30 August 1888 . After fitting out work was finished , she was commissioned into the Italian fleet on 16 November 1889 . Ettore Fieramosca and her sisters Vesuvio and Stromboli participated in the 1893 naval maneuvers as part of the Squadron of Maneuvers . unk and Ettore Fieramosca next participated in the 1896 naval maneuvers as part of the Maneuver Fleet . In 1897 , Enrico unk served aboard the ship . Ettore Fieramosca and Vesuvio were sent to China in 1900 to assist the Eight Nation Alliance in putting down the Boxer Rebellion there . Ettore Fieramosca returned to Italy and made a cruise off East Africa in 1905 . She then sailed across the Atlantic and made a number of port visits in South America . The ship was then assigned to the American Squadron and refitted in Boston in November 1906 . In 1908 she visited Bridgeport in the United States for celebrations on Columbus Day . There , bluejackets from Ettore Fieramosca and the US battleship USS New Hampshire marched in a parade . Upon her return to Italy in 1909 Ettore Fieramosca was struck off the naval register on 15 July 1909 and sold for scrap .
942
Si Ronda is a 1930 silent film from the Dutch East Indies which was directed by Lie Tek Swie and starred Bachtiar Effendi . Based on contemporary Betawi oral tradition , it follows the exploits of a bandit , skilled in silat ( traditional Malay martial arts ) , known as Si Ronda . In the lenong stories from which the film was derived , Ronda was often depicted as a Robin Hood type of figure . The production , now thought lost , was one of a series of martial arts films released between 1929 and 1931 . Si Ronda received little coverage in the media upon its release . A second adaptation of the tale , Si Ronda Macan Betawi , was made in 1978 . Production Si Ronda was adapted from a lenong ( a Betawi oral tradition similar to a stage play ) popular with ethnic Chinese and native audiences of the time . The Ronda stories follow the Betawi bandit of the same name , who is skilled at silat ( traditional martial arts ) and reputed to take from the rich to give to the poor . The Indonesian film scholar Misbach Yusa Biran suggests that Ronda was selected for adaptation because of its potential action sequences . In the domestic cinema , such sequences had generally been inspired by American works and been well received by audiences . Similar stories to Si Ronda 's include those of Si unk and Si Pitung these stage plays centred on extraordinary men ( referred to as unk ) who , though living outside the law , generally fought for the common populace . Adaptations of the genre , manifested as bandit films , became popular in domestic cinema following the release of Si Tjonat by Batavia Motion Picture in 1929 . This release was followed by the Wong brothers ' unk Preanger ( also 1929 ) , and an adaptation of the Si Pitung stories in 1931 . Not all films in this genre , which consisted of a quarter of all domestic releases for 1929 1931 , maintained the heroic qualities of the central character the Wongs ' adaptation of Si Pitung , for instance , portrayed him as a simple bandit and not the Robin Hood figure of stage . Si Ronda was directed by Lie Tek Swie and produced by Tan Khoen Yauw of Tan 's Film . The two had previously worked together on the company 's highly profitable Njai Dasima in 1929 . Cinematography was handled by A. unk . Shot in black and white , this silent film starred Bachtiar Effendi , a set decorator with Tan 's , in his on screen debut playing the title role . It also featured Momo , an actor who had appeared in the film Njai Dasima . Release and legacy Si Ronda was released in 1930 Effendi stated that it was released before Tan 's Nancy unk Pembalesan ( Nancy Takes Revenge ) , a sequel to Njai Dasima , began screening in May 1930 . Dutch newspapers indicate that it had screened in Medan , North Sumatra , by 1932 . Biran writes that the film received little coverage he notes that Sinematek Indonesia has no news clippings related to Si Ronda . After Si Ronda , Lie and Tan collaborated on three further films . Lie left Tan 's in 1932 , reportedly as his approach no longer matched Tan 's low class target audience and caused the works to go over budget . Effendi continued to work with Tan 's until 1932 , when he left to head the cinema magazine Doenia Film . Momo continued acting until 1941 , first with Tan 's and later with Standard Film . The film is likely lost . The American visual anthropologist Karl G. Heider writes that all Indonesian films from before 1950 are lost . However , JB Kristanto 's Katalog Film Indonesia ( Indonesian Film Catalogue ) records several as having survived at Sinematek Indonesia 's archives . Another film based on the Ronda stories , titled Si Ronda Macan Betawi ( Ronda the Betawi Tiger ) , was released in 1978 . Directed by Fritz G. Schadt , it starred Dicky unk in the title role and Lenny unk as his lover . In this adaptation Ronda uses his silat skills to fight corrupt land owners and colonial government workers .
943
The Pioneer Mother Memorial , also known as Pioneer Mother and Pioneer Mothers , is a 1928 bronze sculpture by American artist Avard Fairbanks , installed at Esther Short Park in Vancouver , Washington , in the United States . The memorial depicts a mother and three children , and commemorates pioneer mothers who settled in the Pacific Northwest . The main female figure may depict Esther Short , one of the first U.S. citizens to arrive in Fort Vancouver . Commissioned by Vancouver banker Edward Crawford and his wife Ida for 10 , 000 , it is one of the city 's oldest works of public art , acquired in 1928 and unveiled in 1929 . The sculpture was renovated around the start of the 21st century and is maintained by the City of Vancouver 's Parks Recreation department . Description The Pioneer Mother Memorial is installed at Esther Short Park 's north entrance , at the intersection of West 8th and Daniel Street ( between Columbia and Esther Streets ) in Vancouver , Washington . The park commemorates the pioneer woman and her husband Amos , who were among the first U.S. citizens to arrive in Fort Vancouver . Some sources say the memorial sculpture commemorates Esther Short specifically , while also typifying all the brave mothers of the frontier who settled in the Pacific Northwest . Some sources say the sculpture 's main female figure is Short herself , per the dedication ceremony 's program . The sculpture was cast in Florence , Italy , where Fairbanks was working on his Guggenheim Fellowship . The memorial features a full length bronze figure depicting a mother and three children . The woman wears traditional pioneer clothing , including a long dress , shawl , and shoes . She stands , facing forward , and holds a flintlock rifle in her proper right hand . The woman 's opposite hand rests on the head of the taller of two girls at her proper left side . The taller girl holds the shorter one with her proper left hand , while the shorter girl faces the taller one and rests against the mother 's proper left knee . A young boy clings to the mother 's dress and leans against her rifle . The sculpture measures approximately 7 feet ( 2 . 1 m ) 3 feet ( 0 . 91 m ) 21 inches ( 53 cm ) and rests on a concrete and granite base that measures approximately 102 inches ( 2 . 6 m ) 18 feet ( 5 . 5 m ) 15 feet ( 4 . 6 m ) . Behind the figure group is a concrete backdrop . Its reverse side includes a bronze medallion with a bas relief depicting a team of oxen pulling a covered wagon . The animals are led by a man , and an anxious woman and baby are in the wagon . A large barrel is attached to the wagon . The bottom of the medallion includes a relief of a cattle skull . The medallion has a diameter of approximately 36 inches ( 91 cm ) . The memorial includes several inscriptions . One by the woman 's foot reads , Avard Fairbanks 1928 . The medallion has two inscriptions one below the wagon displays a copyright symbol and reads , 1928 Avard Fairbanks , while another says , THE PIONEER MOTHERS . On the concrete backdrop below the medallion is the signed inscription ERECTED IN MEMORY OF THE PIONEER MOTHERS unk THE unk OF MR. unk E. G. unk 1928 . History The Pioneer Mother Memorial is one of Vancouver 's oldest works of public art ( the oldest , according to the Clark County Historical Museum ) , acquired in 1928 and unveiled on July 21 , 1929 ( or September 7 , according to some sources ) . Fairbanks attended the ceremony . The artist was commissioned to create the memorial by Vancouver banker Edward Crawford and his wife Ida , who donated 10 , 000 to its creation . The work was classified as needing treatment by the Smithsonian Institution 's Save Outdoor Sculpture program in May 1995 . It was renovated as part of park improvement efforts around the start of the 21st century . The memorial is maintained by the City of Vancouver 's Parks Recreation department .
944
Brother Richard Scott Withers ( born 1955 ) is an American consecrated hermit . In 1974 , Withers converted to Catholicism and was baptized shortly after , he started to live a religious life . In 1989 , Withers and Sister Margaret McKenna moved to inner city Philadelphia and founded New Jerusalem Laura , a drug treatment center . Withers petitioned the Archdiocese of Philadelphia to become a consecrated hermit several times but was rejected . In 2001 , Withers was consecrated as a hermit by Cardinal Anthony Bevilacqua , the Archbishop of Philadelphia . He was the first hermit to be consecrated in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia . Withers lives in a hermitage , a converted rowhouse , in the city of Philadelphia where he spends most of his time in prayer . Early life Withers was born in California 's San Fernando Valley . He had seven siblings and his father was a mechanical engineer . Neither of his parents were practicing Catholics during his childhood . His father had been raised Catholic but then lapsed . Instead , he was raised culturally Jewish according to the faith of his mother . When Withers was eight , his family moved to Cherry Hill , New Jersey . In 1974 , he had an encounter with a group of Catholic activists at the bicycle repair shop where he worked , which caused him to convert to Catholicism and be baptized . The same year , Withers left home for nearby Camden , New Jersey , to live in and repair abandoned row houses . Religious life After his baptism , Withers lived in a loosely affiliated religious community . While there , Withers almost got married but decided that he wanted to live a religious life instead . In 1984 , he took private vows of poverty , chastity , and obedience and became a hermit . Before taking his vows , Withers had looked into several religious orders , but he could not find one that he felt compatible with . Passionate about the spirituality of the Desert Fathers , he and Sister Margaret McKenna debated about Where is the desert today Deciding it was in the abandoned inner cities , in 1989 they moved into an abandoned row house that they began restoring , continuing their work even when their tools were regularly stolen by drug addicts . There , they founded New Jerusalem Laura , a treatment center for drug addicts . Two years later , in 1991 , Withers bought a derelict rowhouse from the city of Philadelphia for 1 and parted ways with McKenna . This would become his hermitage . He fixed the building , which lacked doors , windows , or a working roof and then went on to build furniture for it by himself . After the 1983 revision of Canon 603 , the option of being a consecrated hermit while independent of the system of religious orders had been permitted . In 1995 , Withers attempted to be consecrated by the Archdiocese of Philadelphia but was rejected . In 2001 , Withers was finally approved and consecrated as a hermit by Cardinal Anthony Bevilacqua and took his public vows . Withers was the first hermit to be consecrated by the Archdiocese . Life as a hermit As a hermit , Withers lives in solitude . He does not own a car or television he gets his news from the people around him and gets around on a bicycle that he found , broken , on the side of the road . Though he has an open door policy for people that come to visit him , he himself visits family only twice a year . He does have a computer , which he uses to keep in touch with other hermits via email . To earn his food and clothing allowance , which amounts to less than 5 , 500 per year , Withers makes pottery to sell and works one day a week for a scientific instrument company . At the end of each year , he donates any funds that remain to charity . Withers wakes up at 5 AM and then fills his day with prayer and chores , following his rule of life . He prays for 4 hours each day . Withers claims that it 's in the solitude that I hear God best .
945
Shi Jianqiao ( simplified Chinese unk traditional Chinese unk pinyin Sh unk Wade Giles Shih Chien unk , 1905 or 1906 August 27 , 1979 ) was the daughter of the Chinese military officer Shi Congbin , whose killing she avenged by assassinating the former warlord Sun Chuanfang . The revenge killing and the legal proceedings that followed were highly publicized at the time and incited public debates over the concepts of filial piety and the rule of law . Names Shi Jianqiao 's given name was Shi unk , ( simplified Chinese unk traditional Chinese unk pinyin Sh unk Wade Giles Shih Ku lan literally Valley Orchid ) . She adopted the name Shi Jianqiao around the time she was planning to assassinate Sun Chuanfang to avenge her father 's killing . The characters of her adopted name mean sword and to raise alluding to her planned role as an avenging assassin . Background Shi Jianqiao was born in unk City , Anhui Province , in the small village of unk . While her grandfather had still been a farmer and tofu seller , her father and one of her uncles rose to become decorated soldiers , which led to an increase in the family 's social status . She grew up in Jinan , Shandong Province and had her feet bound as a young girl . By the year he was killed ( 1925 ) , her father had been promoted to director of military affairs in Shandong Province and served as brigade commander under the local warlord Zhang unk . Zhang unk and hence Shi Congbin were aligned with the Fengtian clique , one of the two main competing warlord factions at the time . By some accounts , Shi Jianqiao graduated from Tianjin Normal College ( Chinese unk pinyin unk unk unk ) . In October 1925 , during the second war between the Zhili and Fengtian warlord cliques , her father Shi Congbin was leading a brigade of mercenary soldiers in an attempt to capture unk , Shandong . However , he found himself surrounded by troops of the Zhili warlord Sun Chuanfang who had been leading a surprise counterattack against the advance of the Fengtian troops . The next day , Sun had Shi decapitated and his severed head displayed in public at the train station of unk , Anhui . Less than two years later , in early 1927 , Sun unk was deposed by the Northern Expedition , a military campaign by the Kuomintang that was targeted at ending the rule of the local warlords . He retired from his military career and founded the Tianjin unk lay Buddhist society ( Chinese unk pinyin unk unk unk ) together with his former fellow warlord Jin unk . Revenge About 10 years after the death of her father , Shi Jianqiao tracked down Sun Chuanfang in Tianjin . Shortly after 3pm on November 13 , 1935 , she approached him from behind while he was leading a sutra recitation session at his lay Buddhist society on unk Road . She then killed the kneeling former warlord by shooting him three times with her Browning pistol . After the assassination , she stayed at the crime scene to explain her deed and distribute mimeographed pamphlets to bystanders . Her case drew a significant amount of public and media attention . After a lengthy legal process with two appeals that ultimately reached the Supreme Court in Nanjing and pitted public sentiment against the rule of law , she was finally given a state pardon by the Nationalist government on October 14 , 1936 . The assassination of Sun Chuanfang was ethically justified as an act of filial piety and turned into a political symbol of the legitimate vengeance against the Japanese invaders . Later life and death In 1949 , Shi Jianqiao was elected as vice chair of the Women 's Federation of Suzhou . In 1957 , she was appointed to the Beijing Municipal Committee of the Chinese Communist Party . Shi Jianqiao died in 1979 , shortly after surgery for advanced colorectal cancer . Her ashes were buried in the West unk Cemetery ( Chinese unk pinyin Xi unk unk ) in Suzhou City .
946
New York State Route 264 ( NY 264 ) is a north south state highway located within Oswego County , New York , in the United States . It runs for 8 . 65 miles ( 13 . 92 km ) from an intersection with County Route 57 ( CR 57 , formerly NY 57 ) in the village of Phoenix to a junction with NY 3 in the town of Palermo . The southernmost portion of NY 264 serves as a connector between Phoenix and NY 481 , which bypasses the village to the northeast . When NY 264 was assigned in the early 1930s , it originally served the hamlet of Pennellville , located midway between Phoenix and Palermo . The route was altered to bypass the community later in the decade . Route description NY 264 begins at an intersection with CR 57 ( Main Street formerly NY 57 ) in the village of Phoenix , located in the town of Schroeppel . The route proceeds north through the village as a two lane road named Volney Street , passing several blocks of homes before crossing CSX Transportation 's Baldwinsville Subdivision rail line . Past the railroad , NY 264 leaves the Phoenix village limits , taking on a northwesterly alignment as it continues through a lightly populated area of the town of Schroeppel as an unnamed road . NY 481 approaches NY 264 from the southeast , and the freeway loosely parallels the surface road as NY 264 intersects the eastern terminus of CR 59 . Not far to the north , the route enters an interchange with NY 481 ( exit 14 ) and meets the nearby southern terminus of CR 6 . Past the exit , NY 264 turns northeastward away from the freeway to serve less developed areas of Schroeppel . The highway winds its way past a mixture of cultivated fields and forested areas , passing the south end of CR 54 and crossing over Sixmile Creek on its way to a small cluster of homes near the northern town line . Here , NY 264 connects to Godfrey Road , a local highway leading southeast to CR 54 in the hamlet of Pennellville . The route climbs a hill as it crosses into the town of Palermo and the hamlet of Suttons Corner , located at the junction of NY 264 and NY 49 . From Suttons Corner , the route heads generally north northeastward across along another sparsely populated stretch to a junction with NY 3 south of the hamlet of Palermo . NY 264 ends here while NY 3 continues north on NY 264 's right of way toward Palermo . History The north south highway between Phoenix and Palermo was acquired by the state of New York in stages over the course of the early 20th century . The first section to become a state highway was a 2 mile ( 3 . 2 km ) portion leading north from the Phoenix village limits in Schroeppel , which became state maintained on November 20 , 1909 . Its continuation south to Main Street in Phoenix was added to the state highway system on December 12 , 1914 . The remainder of the highway in Schroeppel was taken over by the state on September 13 , 1916 . At the time , the highway veered eastward to serve the hamlet of Pennellville . Lastly , the part in Palermo was accepted into the state highway system on October 14 , 1922 . Although each segment of the Phoenix Palermo state highway had an unsigned inventory number , the road did not have a posted route number . Unlike hundreds of through state roads without a signed designation , the Phoenix Palermo state highway did not receive a number as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York . It was finally designated as NY 264 c . 1932 . The route continued to pass through Pennellville until c . 1938 , when it was moved onto a new highway bypassing the hamlet to the west . The southern half of NY 264 's former routing became an extension of CR 54 , which originally began at NY 264 in the center of Pennellville . North of the hamlet , the old route is now a town maintained road named Godfrey Road . NY 264 's alignment has not been changed since that time . Major intersections The entire route is in Oswego County .
947
Krake ( German for octopus ) is a steel Dive Coaster roller coaster at Heide Park in unk , Lower Saxony , Germany manufactured by Bolliger Mabillard . It is the first roller coaster of its kind in Germany . At a cost of 12 million euros , the roller coaster features floorless trains , 476 m ( 1 , 562 ft ) of track , and a maximum height of 41 m ( 135 ft ) . The attraction officially opened to the public on April 16 , 2011 . History Speculation that Heide Park would be getting a new roller coaster began in late 2009 after it was revealed that the park was working on a project code named unk 2011 ( translates to Monster 2011 ) . In September 2010 , track pieces from manufacture Bolliger Mabillard began to be delivered to the park which then led to rumours that the new roller coaster would be a Dive Coaster . On October 31 , 2010 , Heide Park officially announced Germany 's first Dive Coaster , Krake . Construction was handled by RCS , a German construction company . Beginning with the splashdown area , construction later progressed into the unk loop and station areas . In late January 2011 , the final piece of track ( top of the first drop ) was installed . After testing and a ribbon cutting ceremony , Krake opened on April 16 , 2011 . After the original advertised octopus mouth ( where riders would drop through ) that was to be placed at the bottom of the first drop was never built , the public began to question why the park didn 't follow through with what they advertised . In response , the mouth was constructed during the following off season . Experience Queue Krake 's queue is divided into two sections . The first section is only used during busier days and isn 't paved , but rather filled in with gravel . The second section is a paved path that leads the roller coaster 's station . Ride Krake is based on a pirate theme and features riders being eaten by an octopus . Once the floor drops and the front gate opens , the train is dispatched straight into the 41 metre ( 135 ft ) lift hill . Once at the top , the train continues going straight for a short period before making a left turn into the holding brake . After about three seconds , the train descends the 87 degree drop and reaches a speed of 103 km h ( 64 mph ) . At the bottom , the train enters the monster 's mouth , followed by a splashdown . Then , the train goes through an Immelmann loop . After going over an airtime hill , the train makes a banked right turn into the final brake run . The train makes a left turn into the brake run before entering the station . One cycle lasts just under two minutes . Characteristics Track The steel track of Krake is approximately 476 m ( 1 , 562 ft ) long , and the height of the lift is approximately 41 m ( 135 ft ) high . The colour of the track is black while the supports are dark brown . Also , the entire track weighs a total of about 700 tonnes ( 690 long tons 770 short tons ) . Trains Krake operates with three floorless steel and fiberglass trains . Each train has three cars that can seat six riders in a single row for a total of 18 riders per train . The seats are black and each have a brown over the shoulder restraint . On each train , there are a pair of tubes that allow the water to be shot into the air as the train reaches the bottom of the first drop . Also , the trains for the roller coaster were manufactured in Switzerland . Reception unk Schilder 's review from Theme Park Tourist was mostly positive but said that the story of the ride could have been further improved , The story could have been developed more fully to improve the waiting experience and to make the rollercoaster make a little more sense , and overall rated the roller coaster four out of five stars for its wow factor . Awards The roller coaster has never placed in Amusement Today 's Golden Ticket Awards .
948
King 's Highway 136 , commonly referred to as Highway 136 , was a provincially maintained highway in the Canadian province of Ontario that connected former Highway 24 near Caledon with Highway 9 in Orangeville . The majority of the route was located in the Regional Municipality of Peel however , the section in Orangeville was in Dufferin County . The route of Highway 136 was originally part of Highway 24 it was created in 1962 when Highway 24 was rerouted along Highway 51 . The highway remained unchanged until 1997 , when it was transferred to the Regional Municipality of Peel and the Town of Orangeville . The majority of the former highway is rural in nature , passing through farmland on the highlands of the Niagara Escarpment , located a short distance south of the southern terminus of the route . Near its northern terminus , the surrounds are suburban as the highway enters Orangeville . The only notable community on the route outside of Orangeville is Alton . Route description Highway 136 was a short route through the northern section of Caledon . The former route is mostly rural , surrounded by the expanse of farmland that sits atop the Niagara Escarpment . The route follows several concession roads along its length , and is known locally by the names of those roads today . It begins at a junction with former Highway 24 ( Charleston Sideroad ) immediately north of Forks of the Credit Provincial Park , which straddles the escarpment northwest of Brampton . The route proceeds northwest alongside the Charles Sauriol Conservation Area for approximately 3 . 75 kilometres ( 2 . 33 mi ) before entering the community of Alton . Within Alton , the route follows Main Street until a broad 90 curve directs traffic northeast onto Queen Street . It follows this road out of the community , encountering a railway crossing and the Credit River at the town limits . The route takes another 90 curve to the northwest , intersecting Porterfield Road , after which the route takes that name . It crosses the same railway line and proceeds north for 4 kilometres ( 2 . 5 mi ) between farm fields . South of Orangeville , the route intersects the Orangeville Bypass ( Riddell Road ) , after which the farmland transitions to suburbs . It takes a broad curves to the northeast and becomes Townline Road , which acts as the boundary between Peel Region and Dufferin County as well as the town limits of Orangeville . After following this road for a kilometre , it intersects John Street . The final section of the route follows John Street northwest to end at former Highway 9 ( Broadway ) . History While the route dates back to 1962 as Highway 136 , it is a former alignment of Highway 24 , which was re routed along Highway 51 towards Highway 10 that year . The road was first designated on February 10 , 1937 as part of an extension of Highway 24 north from Guelph to Collingwood via Orangeville . Highway 136 was a gravel road at the time of the renumbering . The section between Cataract and Alton was paved first , in 1965 this was followed by the section between Alton and Orangeville in 1966 . The primary purpose of Highway 136 as a provincial highway was to maintain the former routing of Highway 24 . However , as the route served a generally local and regional need , the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario transferred responsibility for signage and maintenance of the highway to the Regional Municipality of Peel and Town of Orangeville on April 1 , 1997 , at which point the majority of it was designated Peel Regional Road 25 . To avoid confusing motorists and to make the regional route numbers consistent with former provincial route numbers , Peel redesignated several roads on March 26 , 1998 . Regional Road 25 was renumbered as Regional Road 136 . Major intersections The following table lists the major junctions along Highway 136 , as noted by the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario .
949
Route 147 is a 4 . 20 mile ( 6 . 76 km ) state highway located in Cape May County in New Jersey , United States . It is a short connector between U.S. Route 9 in Middle Township and North Wildwood at New York Avenue . West of U.S. Route 9 , the road continues to Route 47 as County Route 618 ( Indian Trail Road ) this route along with Route 147 provides an alternate route to The Wildwoods from Route 47 . East of New York Avenue , the route continues south through The Wildwoods as County Route 621 ( New Jersey Avenue ) . The route passes through mostly marshland along its journey , intersecting the Garden State Parkway at a partial interchange and County Route 619 ( Ocean Drive ) . The portion of the route east of the intersection with the latter forms a part of Ocean Drive . When the 500 series county routes were established in New Jersey in the 1950s , what is now Route 147 became a part of County Route 585 , a route running from Lower Township north to Absecon . Route 147 was designated along County Route 585 between U.S. Route 9 and the North Wildwood border . The route was extended to its current location in North Wildwood by the 1990s . Route description Route 147 begins at an intersection with U.S. Route 9 in the Burleigh section of Middle Township , heading to the east along North Wildwood Boulevard , a two lane undivided road . The road continues to the west of U.S. Route 9 as County Route 618 ( Indian Trail Road ) to Route 47 . The road passes residences and businesses to the north and woodland to the south before coming to a partial cloverleaf interchange with the Garden State Parkway that has access to and from the northbound direction of the parkway . Past the Garden State Parkway , Route 147 becomes a four lane divided highway that briefly passes more homes and commercial establishments before entering a delta type series of marshy rivers and inlets . It turns to the southeast and comes to an intersection with County Route 665 before crossing the Grassy Sound on a bridge . After the bridge , the route comes to an intersection with the southern terminus of County Route 619 ( Ocean Drive ) . At this point , the Ocean Drive moniker merges onto Route 147 and the road crosses over the Beach Creek into the beach resort of North Wildwood . Here , the route turns south and becomes Spruce Avenue , which heads between marshland to the west and resort homes to the east . At the intersection with West unk Drive , Route 147 becomes a four lane undivided road that continues past more developments , turning to the southeast . Route 147 heads through a mix or residential and commercial establishments before ending at the intersection with New York Avenue . From here , County Route 621 continues south along the roadway as New Jersey Avenue . Route 147 , along with County Route 618 , provide an alternate route to The Wildwoods from Route 47 . History What is now Route 147 was an unimproved road back in 1927 . When the 500 series county routes were established in the 1950s , this road became a part of County Route 585 , a route that ran from Route 109 ( then a part of U.S. Route 9 ) in Lower Township north to U.S. Route 30 and Route 157 in Absecon . The route was also designated as part of County Route 18 , which continued west past U.S. Route 9 to Route 47 . In 1971 , Route 147 was designated to replace the portion of County Route 18 County Route 585 between U.S. Route 9 in Burleigh and the North Wildwood border . As a result of a bridge replacement over the Grassy Sound , Route 147 was realigned off its former drawbridge , and the former alignment became Cape May County Route 665 . The southern terminus of County Route 585 was eventually truncated its current location at Route 52 in Somers Point . By the 1990s , Route 147 was extended to its current terminus at New York Avenue in North Wildwood . Major intersections The entire route is in Cape May County .
950
New York State Route 191 ( NY 191 ) was a 6 . 24 mile ( 10 . 04 km ) long state highway located north of Adirondack Park The route was maintained and co designated by the Clinton County highway department as County Route 23 ( CR 23 ) and headed from an intersection with NY 22 in the hamlet of Sciota within the town of Chazy to a junction with U.S. Route 9 ( US 9 ) in the hamlet of Chazy . The route met Interstate 87 ( I 87 , also known as the Adirondack Northway ) west of Chazy hamlet . NY 191 was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York . The route initially extended from the community of Altona to a ferry landing on Lake Champlain in Chazy Landing , where it connected to Vermont Route F 2 . The ferry ceased to operate in 1937 , but NY 191 remained unchanged until 1980 when ownership and maintenance of NY 191 was transferred from the state to Clinton County . NY 191 was truncated to its current length following the maintenance swap . The route was decommissioned in July , 2014 . Route description NY 191 began at an intersection with NY 22 and Miner Farm Road ( CR 23 ) in the Clinton County hamlet of Sciota , located within the town of Chazy . The route headed to the northeast as a two lane county maintained , state numbered highway , overlapping with CR 23 and taking on the Miner Farm Road name . East of Sciota , the highway traversed lightly developed areas , serving several residences separated by patches of woodlands . The route eventually began to turn to the southeast , connecting with unk Road ( unsigned CR 20 ) in the process . A long stretch of dense forests followed the turn , with little to no development along the highway . After 2 miles ( 3 . 2 km ) , the road bent back to the east , leaving the woodlands behind as it passed south of the Miner Institute . The research complex leaded to another stretch of isolated homes along NY 191 , centered on the route 's interchange with the Adirondack Northway ( I 87 ) . Not far from the junction , NY 191 entered the hamlet of Chazy , a small community located on the Little Chazy River . The route bypassed most of Chazy , skirting the northern edge of the hamlet as it headed northeast to a junction with US 9 . NY 191 ended here while CR 23 follows the state maintained US 9 south into downtown Chazy . History Modern NY 191 is one part of a mostly continuous east west highway between the hamlets of Altona and Chazy Landing . On September 23 , 1908 , the state assumed maintenance of the part east of the hamlet of Chazy following the completion of a 38 , 925 project ( equivalent to 1 , 025 , 169 in 2016 ) to improve a total of 4 . 60 miles ( 7 . 40 km ) of roads in Clinton County . The section west of the hamlet of Sciota cost 75 , 711 ( equivalent to 1 . 19 million in 2016 ) to rebuild to state highway standards , and it became a state highway on December 12 , 1918 . From Sciota to Chazy , the road was locally maintained until the late 1920s . In the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York , hundreds of state maintained highways without a posted route number were given a signed designation for the first time . The Altona Chazy Landing state highway was designated as NY 191 . At its east end , the route connected to Vermont Route F 2 on Isle La Motte by way of a ferry across part of Lake Champlain . The ferry was discontinued in 1937 however , the endpoints of NY 191 remained unchanged . On April 1 , 1980 , ownership and maintenance of all of NY 191 was transferred from the state of New York to Clinton County as part of a highway maintenance swap between the two levels of government . The entirety of the highway was designated as CR 23 by Clinton County and NY 191 was truncated to consist only of the portion of the route between Sciota and Chazy . The route was decommissioned in July 2014 . Major intersections The entire route was in Chazy , Clinton County .
951
New York State Route 228 ( NY 228 ) is a state highway in Schuyler County , New York , in the United States . It runs for 12 . 47 miles ( 20 . 07 km ) in a northeast to southwest direction from an intersection with NY 224 in the village of Odessa to a junction with NY 227 in the hamlet of Perry City within the town of Hector . NY 228 has a short overlap with NY 79 in the Hector community of Mecklenburg . The route was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York however , it initially ended at NY 79 in Mecklenburg , from where NY 79 went north to Perry City . NY 79 was realigned to head west from Mecklenburg in the early 1960s , at which time the NY 228 designation was extended northward over NY 79 's former routing . Route description NY 228 begins at an intersection with NY 224 in Odessa . It progresses northward from NY 224 as the two lane Mecklenburg Road , crossing nearby railroad tracks and entering a more pronounced rural area north of town . The road gradually curves to the northeast , passing by brief wooded areas on its way into the hamlet of Catharine , where NY 228 intersects with County Route 10 ( CR 10 ) . At this point , NY 228 turns northward to follow CR 10 's right of way out of the hamlet . Just outside Catharine , NY 228 begins to parallel the western shoreline of nearby Cayuta Lake , which ends about 1 . 5 miles ( 2 . 4 km ) north of the community . After Cayuta Lake , the road winds its way northward along the base of a largely undeveloped valley to reach the town of Hector and its hamlet of Smith Valley . Here , the valley and NY 228 curve northeastward , following Taughannock Creek through eastern Schuyler County . The route remains on a northeast southwest alignment to the hamlet of Mecklenburg , where the highway passes some residences ahead of intersections with CR 6 and NY 79 . NY 79 and NY 228 overlap for one block before NY 228 splits to the northeast at the northern edge of the community . The overlap with NY 79 is the busiest section of NY 228 , serving an average of 2 , 556 vehicles per day as of 2009 . Outside of Mecklenburg , the road crosses more rural areas in the town of Hector as it heads generally northeastward along Taughannock Creek and approaches the Tompkins County line . The route pulls to within a tenth mile ( 0 . 2 km ) of the line at the hamlet of Perry City , where NY 228 ends at an intersection with NY 227 . Also present at the junction is CR 3 , a short route leading east to CR 142 at the Tompkins County line . NY 227 enters the intersection from the west however , it leaves to the north on NY 228 's right of way . History In 1911 , the New York State Legislature created Route 46 , an unsigned legislative route extending from Coopers Plains in Steuben County to Trumansburg in Tompkins County via Watkins Glen . East of Watkins Glen , Route 46 proceeded generally northeastward through Burdett , Reynoldsville and Mecklenburg on its way to Trumansburg . On March 1 , 1921 , the Route 46 designation was reassigned to another highway in Allegany and Steuben counties as part of a partial renumbering of the legislative route system . The section of pre 1921 Route 46 between Mecklenburg and Perry City went unnumbered until the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York , when it became part of NY 79 . At Mecklenburg , NY 79 connected to NY 228 , another route assigned in the renumbering that ran southwest from Mecklenburg to NY 224 in Odessa . The road that became NY 228 was state maintained south of Cayuta Lake by 1926 , while the remainder of the highway was rebuilt as a state road c . 1930 . NY 228 went unchanged until the early 1960s when NY 79 was rerouted to follow a previously unnumbered highway west of Mecklenburg instead . The former routing of NY 79 from Mecklenburg to Perry City became an extension of NY 228 . Major intersections The entire route is in Schuyler County .
952
Vera Katz , also known as Mayor , Vera Katz , is an outdoor bronze sculpture depicting Vera Katz created by American artist Bill Bane . Unveiled in 2006 , it is located along the Eastbank Esplanade in Portland , Oregon . Katz , a former mayor of the city between 1993 and 2005 , supported arts and culture during her tenure and established Oregon 's Percent for Art program . She was also instrumental in developing the Eastbank Esplanade , which is named after her . The sculpture has received a mostly positive reception and has inspired people to adorn it with clothing , flowers and makeup . Description and history The statue was financed by a group of generous Portlanders and its commission was managed by the Regional Arts Culture Council ( RACC ) with assistance from members of Katz 's former staff . It was unveiled on June 2 , 2006 , on the plaza at the south end of the Esplanade , just north of the Hawthorne Bridge and Main Street marker . It measures 53 inches ( 130 cm ) x 18 inches ( 46 cm ) x 18 inches ( 46 cm ) and rests on an orange triangular base . Portland State University 's Daily Vanguard described Katz as leaning close to a small body with legs crossed and hands in , squeezed together in her lap as if she 's cold , too . The teeth are also bared and unusually straight , creating the impression that Katz might snap at passers by . But overall , the face is open and the hair is particularly lifelike . She is depicted wearing a Portland rose on her lapel . According to The Oregonian , the sculpture provides a lap on which children can pose and sometimes frightens passersby at night . It is part of the collection of the Regional Arts Culture Council . The organization has said it seems fitting that Katz 's political leadership and love for the arts should come together in a public tribute to her . Katz attended the statue 's surprise unveiling during an event organized by the Regional Arts Culture Council and funded by friends . Also in attendance were Mayor Tom Potter , three city commissioners , Bill Bane , friends , and former staff members . Wearing a lei brought by her son , Katz said the statue looked far more beautiful than her and encouraged city officials to continue expanding the Eastbank Esplanade south . The statue went missing temporarily in October 2013 , prompting an investigation by then Mayor Sam Adams . In 2013 , RACC 's public art collections manager said the work has received mostly positive attention and has been outfitted with hats , flowers and yarn bombed sweaters . It has also attracted books , hats , lipstick , paint and even a mohawk of cake frosting . Bane 's study for the sculpture , called Vera , is a bronze bust measuring 18 inches ( 46 cm ) x 11 inches ( 28 cm ) . The bust is part of a private collection . Reception In 2006 , Willamette Week included the sculpture in its annual Best of Portland list , under the category Best Mayoral Monument . According to the paper ... Bane managed to capture much of the ex mayor 's character Her eyes are friendly and her hair as wild as ever . But Katz 's signature grin is a little stiff , a little too aggressive . Leaning forward , she looks as if she might take a bite out of the next passerby . Which by the way , seems appropriate when you look back on her days behind the mayoral desk . Maybe monochromatic bronze just isn 't the right medium for a woman as colorful as ol ' Vera . Where 's the red blazer Our suggestion Get this lady some accessories The right hat or scarf could make that brown pantsuit really work . Daily Vanguard 's Celina Monte called the sculpture fabulously strange and said it illustrated the straightforward , tactile and symmetrical properties of some of Bane 's other work . The work has been included in at least one published walking tour of Portland , which noted its function as a meeting location for bicyclists and pedestrians .
953
Route 48 is an east west state highway in Salem County in the U.S. state of New Jersey . It is a 4 . 26 mile ( 6 . 86 km ) route running from U.S. Route 130 ( US 130 ) and County Route 675 ( CR 675 ) in Penns Grove to US 40 in Carneys Point Township . It is known as East Main Street from US 130 to DuPont Road , and as the Harding Highway from DuPont Road to its terminus at US 40 . Route 48 is signed east west , although it travels more northwest southeast throughout its route . It is a two lane , undivided road through its entire length that intersects with Interstate 295 ( I 295 ) and CR 551 . The road was originally created as Route 18S , running from Penns Grove to Atlantic City , in 1923 , before becoming Route 48 in 1927 . In Penns Grove , the route ended at a ferry which crossed the Delaware River to Wilmington , Delaware , connecting with Delaware Route 48 ( DE 48 ) until the ferry service was terminated in 1951 , when the Delaware Memorial Bridge opened . US 40 was also designated to run along the entire length of the route between Penns Grove and Atlantic City . On two occasions , US 40 has been relocated off portions of Route 48 once following a realignment to a ferry between New Castle , Delaware and Pennsville and again after the Delaware Memorial Bridge and New Jersey Turnpike opened in 1951 . Route 48 was designated onto its current alignment in 1953 , eliminating the concurrency it shared with US 40 from Carneys Point Township to Atlantic City . Route description Route 48 begins at a traffic light with US 130 and CR 675 in Penns Grove , heading to the southeast on Main Street , a two lane , undivided road . CR 675 continues west on Main Street past US 130 . The road passes through residential areas , intersecting with local roads before entering Carneys Point Township . In Carneys Point Township , Route 48 crosses Dupont Road , becoming Harding Highway , and passes by Penns Grove High School , located on the south side of the road . The road enters a more rural setting and intersects CR 601 at a signalized intersection . Shortly after CR 601 , the road comes to an interchange with I 295 . Route 48 continues southeast through a mix of woodland and farmland , intersecting CR 551 at a traffic light . Just past the CR 551 intersection , the road intersects CR 628 , passing by unk Lake before crossing over the New Jersey Turnpike . Route 48 continues southeast for about another mile , crossing Stumpy Road before ending at an intersection with US 40 . History The route was designated as Route 18S in 1923 , running from Penns Grove southeast to Atlantic City along what was known as the Harding Highway . US 40 was designated along the length of Route 18S , running east from a ferry dock in Penns Grove where the route crossed the Delaware River to Wilmington , Delaware to continue its journey west . The entire routing of Route 18S was designated Route 48 in the 1927 renumbering of New Jersey state highways , running concurrent with US 40 its entire length . Until the Delaware Memorial Bridge opened in 1951 , a ferry connected Route 48 to DE 48 in Wilmington . US 40 had used this ferry , but was eventually moved to a ferry that ran from New Castle , Delaware to Pennsville , with US 40 being rerouted to follow present day Route 49 , various local roads , and CR 551 to reach Route 48 and continue east along with that route . Following the completion of both the Delaware Memorial Bridge and the New Jersey Turnpike in 1951 , US 40 was routed off more of Route 48 onto a new alignment , joining the route at its current eastern terminus . In the 1953 renumbering of New Jersey state highways , Route 48 was designated onto its current alignment from US 130 to US 40 , with the rest of the route dropped in favor of the US 40 designation . The old alignment of Route 48 to the ferry terminal is now CR 675 . Major intersections The entire route is in Salem County .
954
The 1904 Chappaqua tornado was an intense tornado that struck northern Westchester County , New York during the afternoon of July 16 , 1904 . As of 2009 , this tornado ranks as the strongest tornado to touch down in the county , ranking as F3 on the modern day Fujita Scale . The tornado formed around 3 30 pm EST within a severe thunderstorm near Chappaqua , New York . The tornado quickly began to produce damage in the hamlet , destroying several structures and killing two people . Homes were knocked off their foundations and rolled over along the tornado 's path . By 4 00 pm EST , the tornado dissipated and left 100 , 000 ( 1904 USD 2 . 4 million 2009 USD ) worth of damage in its wake . Hail associated with the same storm cell also inflicted damage upon a few structures . The tornado is known as the worst disaster in the history of Chappaqua . Synopsis During the afternoon of July 16 , 1904 , a severe thunderstorm produced a strong tornado that touched down around 3 30 pm EST in Chappaqua , New York . Residents reported the first indication of the thunderstorm was a large black cloud approaching the region . The sky was reportedly completely dark as torrential rain and high winds commenced . Intense lightning and loud thunder prompted people to seek shelter in their cellars . The tornado tracked directly through Chappaqua before moving towards the Hudson River . Upon reaching the river , the tornado became a waterspout that was powerful enough to uncover the river bed below it . The waterspout eventually dissipated by 4 00 pm EST . The tornado was later rated as F3 on the modern day Fujita scale . Impact At the time of the tornado , roughly 1 , 000 people lived in the hamlet of Chappaqua . Five homes and three barns were destroyed by the tornado and two people , 80 year old Mrs. Mary Hibbs and an unknown woman , were killed six additional people were injured . Orchards in the path of the tornado were completely destroyed and greenhouses were leveled . The severity of lightning during the storm caused many women to faint according to The New York Times . The five homes destroyed were wood frame , two and a half story buildings , one of which was lifted off its foundation and flipped over before falling to the ground , being demolished on impact . One of the home 's occupants was killed after the chimney fell on her . Another person died from shock after seeing her home destroyed . The other four homes were all located within 0 . 5 miles ( 0 . 80 km ) of each other . One of the destroyed homes belonged to Walter unk he saw the tornado approaching his home and saved his life by jumping out a window before the home was rolled over by the tornado . Another home belonged to Mrs. Hester Cox she sustained minor bruises after her home was also rolled over . Nearby , the home of Mr. Marrow was also destroyed at the time of the tornado , he , his daughter and his niece were inside . The home was turned over on its side debris injured the two girls , knocking the niece unconscious . A barn belonging to Charles Dodge was destroyed , while the Kensico Cemetery sustained significant hail damage . All the glass on one of the conservatories was shattered . Within hours after the tornado , nearby firefighters rushed to the hamlet to assist victims of the storm . During the nighttime hours , they patrolled the streets and watched over destroyed homes to prevent looters from stealing any valuable items left in the debris . Property damage from the tornado was estimated at 100 , 000 ( 1904 USD ) and five families were left homeless . Following an assessment of the damage , debris from destroyed homes was found upwards of 3 miles ( 4 . 8 km ) from Chappaqua , including a marriage certificate . A calf was picked up and tossed roughly 0 . 25 miles ( 0 . 40 km ) before landing in an open field unharmed . Two plants were also thrown roughly 2 miles ( 3 . 2 km ) by the tornado .
955
ProtoGalaxy is a cross genre video game for Microsoft Windows that was released on October 6 , 2010 . In the game 's back story , a species of powerful , unknown extraterrestrials enters the Milky Way with the intention of enslaving its inhabitants . The player characters must defend Earth from this alien threat and restore human civilization . ProtoGalaxy is a 2.5D game the 2D playing field employs 3D graphics . ProtoGalaxy incorporates elements of a variety of gaming genres , such as adventure , arcade , shooter , puzzle , and role playing genres . This indie PC game is the debut production by Source Studio , a Newfoundland based company . The idea for the game was originally conceived in 2007 when Alex Brown , Rob Rees , and Albert Chaulk , the three co founders of Source Studio , were engineering students together at Memorial University . Gameplay ProtoGalaxy is presented from a 2.5D perspective the 2D playing field employs 3D graphics . ProtoGalaxy incorporates elements of a variety of gaming genres , such as adventure , arcade , shooter , puzzle , and role playing genres . In the game 's back story , a species of powerful , unknown extraterrestrials enters the Milky Way with the intention of enslaving its inhabitants . The player characters , of which there may be up to four at a time , follow a storyline by which they must defend Earth from an alien threat and restore human civilization , rebuilding for the sake of those humans who survive . Players control individual ships , with which they can earn money by defeating enemies and then buy new ship parts . ProtoGalaxy may be played on single player or multiplayer mode , where players can team up either online or on a single system . Allgame , a video game review website , labelled ProtoGalaxy as an overhead free roaming shooter . One of the features of the game is that it allows players to create their own levels , put them online , and download new levels other players have created . Development and release ProtoGalaxy was the first product developed by Source Studio , a Newfoundland based company . The idea for the game was originally conceived in 2007 when Alex Brown , Rob Rees , and Albert Chaulk , the three co founders of Source Studio , were engineering students together at Memorial University of Newfoundland . Memorial University 's business incubator , the Genesis Centre , accepted Source Studio in 2008 . Brown called the game an intense space themed dungeon crawler . ProtoGalaxy was released on October 6 , 2010 on the Steam digital distribution platform along with a demo version . There have been three patches distributed since the game 's initial release . The first patch for the game was released on October 21 , 2010 , while the second came out on October 28 , and the third appeared on December 31 , bringing the game to version 1 . 0 . 5 . These updates improved such elements as gameplay , graphics , and the campaign map . The developers also intended to expand ProtoGalaxy with new features and levels . A party celebrating the game 's launch was held on October 15 , 2010 at Memorial University . On February 25 , 2011 , Source Studio released Proto Defense , which enhanced the level editor and provided gamers with a new tower defense style level as downloadable content . On April 28 , 2011 , ProtoGalaxy was released on Impulse , another digital distribution platform . Reception Harry Hughes of PC MMGN called the game one of this year 's most polished indie titles , praising its unk and tasteful integration of multiple gaming genres . He also highlighted such features as the extensive campaign , the customizability of levels and visuals , and the wide range of possible configurations for players ' ship parts . Criticism of the game focused on the rough transitions between views , the slow mouse speed on the control menu , and the cumbersome controls for switching between weapons .
956
Swingin Party is a song written by Paul Westerberg and recorded by his band The Replacements for their fourth studio album Tim ( 1985 ) . The song is an indie rock and rock and roll ballad with influences from jazz , country and new wave . Lyrically , it portrays the protagonist 's feigned nonchalance . It was well received by music critics , who praised Westerberg 's songwriting talent . The song has been covered by other artists , notably Kindness in 2009 and Lorde in 2013 . Composition Swingin Party was written by Paul Westerberg and produced by Tommy Ramone , and was recorded by The Replacements . It is an indie rock and rock and roll ballad with influences from jazz , country and new wave . It features staccato chords instrumented by electric guitar . According to Bill Janovitz from AllMusic , the song climbs scales in a way reminiscent of Somethin ' Stupid by Frank Sinatra and Nancy Sinatra ( 1967 ) . The lyrics are introspective , and portray the protagonist 's feigned nonchalance . Writing for Spin , editor J.D. opined that the song 's theme is literary reflections as Westerberg sings , unk ' school and goin ' to work and never goin ' unk ' . According to Tim Holmes of Rolling Stone , the song 's theme is that life is a lilting series of ultimately empty , but nonetheless compulsory , soirees , while Robert Hilburn from the Los Angeles Times wrote that the song is about loneliness and youthful insecurity . In an interview for the Los Angeles Times , Westerberg said One of the reasons we used to drink so much is that it was scary going up on stage . That 's one of the things ' Swingin ' Party ' is all about on the album ... how it is a little frightening to put yourself on display all the time . Critical reception Swingin Party received positive reviews from music critics , most of whom praised Westerberg 's songwriting credits for the track . PopMatters ' Michael Keefe lauded Westerberg 's songwriting ability on Swingin Party . Craig Rosen writing for Billboard opined that the song showcased Westerberg 's capable songwriting for the band . In a separate journal for the same publication , unk unk named Swingin Party a unk ballad that won the hearts of a generation of college radio fans . Craig Marks from Spin shared that the song 's line Bring your own lampshade Somewhere there 's a party is the third best lyric written by Westerberg for The Replacements . Tim Nelson from BBC Music selected Swingin Party as one of the outstanding tracks from Tim . Other versions In 2000 , Singaporean power pop band unk covered Swingin Party for the tribute album Left of the Dial A Pop Tribute to The Replacements . Canadian band The Weakerthans performed Swingin Party at the 2005 Winnipeg Folk Festival . British musician Kindness released a house rendition of Swingin Party as his first single in 2009 , which was later used for the soundtrack of the 2015 drama film Paper Towns . It was released as a 7 inch vinyl via Moshi Moshi Records , with an original song Gee Up as the B side . It was included on his debut studio album World , You Need a Change of Mind ( 2012 ) . A music video comprising clips from educational films and travel videos was released in August 2009 . New Zealand singer Lorde covered Swingin Party as the B side to her second single , Tennis Court ( 2013 ) . It was also included on Tennis Court EP and later on the US iTunes Store version of The Love Club EP ( 2013 ) . Lorde 's cover of Swingin Party entered the New Zealand Singles Chart on June 17 , 2013 at number ten , and dropped off the chart the following week . A live rendition was included on her EP Live in Concert . In December 2013 , the cover was included in Lorde 's extended edition of her debut studio album Pure Heroine . Brittany Spanos from The Village Voice praised the cover and wrote that it helps Lorde express her rich voice in all its glory .
957
Eliel Saarinen 's Tribune Tower design or the Saarinen tower are terms used to describe the unnamed and unbuilt design for a modernist skyscraper , created by Finnish architect Eliel Saarinen and submitted in 1922 for the Chicago Tribune 's architectural competition for a new headquarters . The winning entry , the neo Gothic Tribune Tower , was built in 1925 . Saarinen 's entry came in second place yet became influential in the design of a number of future buildings . Background In 1921 22 , the prominent Tribune Tower competition was held to design a new headquarters for the Chicago Tribune , a major US metropolitan newspaper . It attracted 260 entries . First place was awarded to a design by New York architects John Mead Howells and Raymond Hood , a neo Gothic building completed in 1925 . Saarinen was awarded 20 , 000 for second place his design was never constructed . Many observers felt that Saarinen 's simplified yet soaring setback tower was the most appropriate entry , and his novel modernist design influenced many subsequent architectural projects . Saarinen was a veteran architect but had never before designed a skyscraper . To arrive at his noteworthy design , he took as a starting place the upward sweep of Gothic architecture , but then advanced this sense of verticality as his primary design principle . He said that through logical construction each portion of the design was made to reflect the larger goal of verticality . He was 49 years old when he submitted the design the next year he moved from Finland to the Chicago area . In the U.S. , he contributed to an overall design for the Chicago lakefront , and he lectured at the University of Michigan , but none of his skyscraper designs were ever built . Instead , others found success by incorporating his vision . Tribune Tower competition co winner Raymond Hood adopted Saarinen 's skyscraper style for several of his subsequent projects , and Saarinen 's design was emulated by other contemporary architects such as Timothy L. Pflueger , George W. Kelham , Hubbell and Benes , Holabird Roche , Alfred C. Finn , and James Edwin Ruthven Carpenter , Jr . , as well as later architect Csar Pelli . Reception Respected Chicago architect Louis Sullivan offered high praise to Saarinen 's design , and said that his building indicated the future direction for the old Chicago School . Sullivan named Saarinen his stylistic successor . Chicago architects Thomas Tallmadge and Irving Kane Pond were also very vocal in their praise for Saarinen . Pond said Saarinen 's design was by far the best contest entry , that it was devoid of the superficial adornments featured on the winning entry , and free of the stranglehold of conventional forms . Tallmadge projected that Saarinen 's design would be transformative for American skyscrapers . He said that under Saarinen 's hand , the spirit of the skyscraper , rid of its inhibitions and suppressed desires ... leaps in joyous freedom to the sky . Skyscraper Museum director Carol Willis , and art consultant Franck Mercurio , curator at the Field Museum in Chicago , offer moderating modern views about the influence of Saarinen 's design . Willis notes that setback architecture was being implemented in New York City highrises because of 1916 zoning ordinances related to building height and sunlight , and that Saarinen 's design was understood to be an embodiment of this trend . Mercurio points to the Tribune Tower competition entry from American architect Bertram Goodhue as having the same modernist features as Saarinen 's , with dramatic setbacks but a more pronounced simplification of the exterior . Mercurio argues that Goodhue 's design is a better example of modernism because it has less ornamentation . Goodhue 's entry gained him honorable mention but no cash award . Buildings influenced The following buildings have been observed to be influenced by Saarinen 's 1922 design .
958
The Nathaniel Backus House is a two story Greek Revival clapboarded house with a gable roof in Norwich , Connecticut . The house was built around 1750 by Nathaniel Backus and served as his home , it was later moved to its current location in 1952 . The house originally began as a Colonial , but was greatly modified to Greek Revival around 1825 , reconfiguring the central door to the left of the facade and adding two chimneys . The house is a historic house museum operated by the Faith Trumbull Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution . The Nathaniel Backus House was submitted to the National Register of Historic Places for its historical value in local history and as an example of Greek Revival domestic architecture . It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places ( NRHP ) in 1970 and was also included in the NRHP 's Chelsea Parade Historic District designation in 1989 . Nathaniel Backus The Nathaniel Backus House 's namesake is its builder Nathaniel Backus , a descendent of William Backus and William Backus , Jr . , two of the founders of Norwich , Connecticut . Nathaniel Backus was born on April 5 , 1704 and he married Hannah Baldwin in 1726 . Together they would have seven children . Nathaniel Backus was also recorded to be one of six men in Norwich to own their own carriages before the American Revolutionary War . Nathaniel Backus died in 1773 . Design The Nathaniel Backus House 's construction date is unknown , but it is believed to have been around 1750 . The History of Norwich , Connecticut places it around 1734 and makes mention of a highway being added in 1750 specifically by Nathaniel Backus ' house . In the 1970 National Historic Register of Places nomination , the Daughters of the American Revolution indicated it dates from 1750 . The house originally stood on Broadway Street in the center of Norwich , Connecticut . It was originally Colonial at its time of construction , but has been modified to Greek Revival style . The renovation itself may date to around 1825 . The house is a white two story clapboarded structure with its gable end facing the street . The three bay facade faces south and the front entrance is located on the left bay . The eaves cornice is decorated with unk that span the length of the gable ends and combines with the roof cornice to make a pediment that encloses an elliptical window in the center . The window is of the rising sun pattern with glass panes radiating out through two rings . The entrance on the left of the facade has a paneled door , stated to be original , that is enclosed in a rectangular frame , supported by Ionic columns and framed by fluted moldings . The frames of the 6 over 6 windows project slightly from the clapboard exterior . The foundation and steps to the house is of stone . An alteration saw the addition of two chimneys and additional alterations to the window and door openings on the northeast and southwest sides of the house . It is believed that the central door and window alterations were done as part of the Greek Revival renovations . Luyster states , f unk investigation would undoubtedly reveal additional changes in the interior , including changes in the position of the fireplaces and their chimney connections . Importance The Nathaniel Backus House is a historic house museum operated by the Faith Trumbull Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution following its completed move in 1952 . The Nathaniel Backus House was submitted to the National Register of Historic Places for its historical value in local history and as an example of Greek Revival domestic architecture . Luyster writes , The simplicity of the Backus house contrasts pleasantly with the verandahs and asymmetric forms of the surrounding buildings . It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1970 . The house was also included as part of the Chelsea Parade Historic District in 1989 .
959
The 2nd Boat Race took place on the River Thames on 17 June 1836 . It was the first of the University Boat Races to be held in London , on a five and three quarter mile stretch between Westminster and Putney . For the first time , Cambridge sported light blue livery in the form of a ribbon on their boat while Oxford rowed in dark blue jerseys . In a race umpired by Lord Loftus and Mr unk , Cambridge won the race by 20 lengths to level the overall record at 1 1 . Background The Boat Race is an annual rowing eight competition between the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge . First held in 1829 , no attempt was made to organise the second race until 1834 . Cambridge had initially proposed a race from Westminster Bridge to Hammersmith , while Oxford suggested Maidenhead . Although Cambridge agreed to compromise to race on any stretch of the Thames between Westminster and Richmond , no agreement was reached until 1836 . This year , both universities issued a challenge to one another , and arrangements for the event were made in a meeting at the Star and Garter pub in Putney on 16 June 1836 . According to a journalist for The Morning Post , there was disagreement over the length of the race , with Oxford preferring a short course of a mile and a half , while Cambridge opted for the same course as the previous year . It was agreed that the race was to take place the following day along the 5 . 75 mile ( 9 . 3 km ) stretch of river between Westminster Bridge and Putney Bridge , a championship course for professional scullers . It was also agreed that both boats would be steered by university men rather than professional coxes . The second Boat Race in the history of the event , it was the first to be conducted in London , with the inaugural race taking place at Henley on Thames . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having won the 1829 race easily . Cambridge were coached by their cox Thomas Selby Egan . The umpires for the race were both Oxonians Lord Loftus , of Balliol College and Mr unk ( or Mr Hickson ) of Christ Church . According to author and former Oxford rower George Drinkwater , this was the first year that Cambridge adopted light blue as their racing colours an R. N. Phillips provided a strip of Eton blue ribbon which was fixed to the bows of the boat . Oxford wore white jerseys with dark blue stripes , as they had done for the 1829 race . Crews The Cambridge crew weighed an average of 11 st 8 . 625 lb ( 73 . 6 kg ) , 0 . 875 pounds ( 0 . 4 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . None of the competitors had taken part in a previous Boat Race , while all participants were registered as British . George Carter followed his brother J. Carter who had rowed for Oxford in 1829 race . Race Oxford were favourites to win the race Cambridge won the toss . Heavy rain began to fall two hours before the start of the race , yet although the rain descended in torrents , all were gay . The race was started by the umpires at 4 20 p.m. , with Cambridge starting well , taking an early lead . By Vauxhall Bridge Cambridge 's lead was significant . Rowing gallantly , author and former Light Blue rower William MacMichael noted that Cambridge had the race all their own way and passed under Putney Bridge about one minute and 20 lengths ahead of Oxford in a time of around 36 minutes . The victory levelled the series at 1 1 . Sports writer Gordon Ross described the race as a very hollow affair in which Cambridge completely outclassed their rivals . Drinkwater noted that the quality of rowing was a good deal criticised by the watermen and amateurs of the Tideway . According to the reporter for The Morning Post , the Oxonians never stood a shadow of a chance , although they looked bigger men . The author of The Sportsman claimed that Cambridge had the best boat . The one rowed by the Oxonians is too flat bottomed for the Thames .
960
The Togo women 's national football team is a FIFA recognised team that represents Togo in international football competition . Togo have played five FIFA recognised matches , all in 2006 , and are currently unranked . They have not competed in major regional and international tournaments . While the country has under 17 and under 20 national sides , further development of the team and the sport in Togo faces challenges common to African countries , as well as country specific problems such as the sport 's lack of domestic popularity . Team In 1985 , few countries had women 's national football teams . While the sport 's popularity grew worldwide in the ensuing years , Togo did not compete in their first FIFA sanctioned match until 2006 , when they played five games . In their first game , on 19 February , Togo beat So Tom and Prncipe 3 0 . The team beat So Tom and Prncipe again by a score of 6 0 on 26 February 2006 in Togo . In its next three games , Togo lost 0 9 to Congo , 1 3 to Congo and 2 5 to Mali . Togo tied the following game 3 3 against Cte d 'Ivoire in Dakar . Togo then beat Guinea 4 1 on 21 May 2006 . Togo has since played just one match . In 2007 , the team competed at the Tournoi de Cinq Nations held in Ouagadougou . There , Togo lost 0 5 to Cte d 'Ivoire before being disqualified for bringing a club team , MBA Lom , to the competition in violation of tournament rules . Togo has not participated in most regional and international competitions , including the Women 's World Cup , the 2010 African Women 's Championship , and the 2011 All Africa Games . The team was expected to participate in the 2010 African Women 's Championships and were scheduled to play against Mali but withdrew before the competition started . As of March 2012 , the team was not ranked by FIFA . The country has a national under 17 side and an under 20 side . The Togo women 's national under 17 football team was active by 2010 , when they competed in the African Women 's U 17 Qualifying Tournament . Togo moved past the preliminary round after their opponents , Sierra Leone , withdrew from the tournament . In the first round , Togo was set to play Nigeria but withdrew from the competition . The Togo women 's national under 20 football team was also active by 2010 , when they competed in the African Women 's U 20 World Cup qualifying . In the first round , they had a walkover win against the Sierra Leone , but did not participate in rounds two or three . Background and development The development of women 's football in Africa faces several challenges , including limited access to education , poverty amongst women , inequalities and human rights abuses targeting women . Funding also in an impediment . Most support for women 's football in Africa comes from FIFA rather than national football associations . Many quality female footballers leave the continent seeking greater opportunity in northern Europe or the United States . The national football association , the Fdration unk de Football , was founded in 1960 and became affiliated with FIFA in 1964 . The organisation has fifteen staff members focusing on women 's football . Football is the fourth most popular women 's sport in Togo , trailing basketball , handball and volleyball . Football 's popularity is growing , however . The country had 380 registered players in 2006 , up from 180 in 2000 . Women 's football was first organised in the country in 2000 . By 2006 , there were 105 football clubs in Togo , 11 of which were for women only . A national women 's competition was created by 2006 and was still operating in 2009 . While there are no school , university or regional competitions for women 's football , there was an active under 17 women 's league in 2009 . In 2010 , a women 's football competition involving 50 women 's teams was organised by the German embassy , which provided teams with football kits and footballs .
961
Hypogeomys australis is an extinct rodent from central and southeastern Madagascar . First described in 1903 , it is larger than its close relative , the living Hypogeomys antimena , which occurs further west , but otherwise similar . Average length of the femur ( upper leg bone ) is 72 . 1 mm , compared to 63 . 8 mm in H. antimena . One of the few extinct rodents of Madagascar , it survived to at least around 1536 BP based on radiocarbon dating . Little is known of its ecology , but it may have lived in burrows like its living relative and eaten some arid adapted plants . Taxonomy Hypogeomys australis was described in 1903 by Guillaume Grandidier from subfossil material collected in the cave of Andrahomana in southeastern Madagascar . The Hypogeomys material was similar to the living Hypogeomys antimena , but distinct enough for Grandidier to recognize it as a separate species , different in size and some morphological details . Grandidier described another subfossil Hypogeomys species in 1912 , H. boulei , but the material that species was based on was later identified as the enigmatic mammal Plesiorycteropus . In 1946 , Charles Lamberton illustrated another femur ( upper leg bone ) of H. australis the origin and current whereabouts of this specimen are unknown . In 1996 , Steven Goodman and Daniel unk reviewed the distribution of Hypogeomys and confirmed that H. australis is a distinct species . H. australis and H. antimena are classified together within the exclusively Madagascan subfamily Nesomyinae of the family Nesomyidae , which includes various African rodents . Description Hypogeomys australis was generally similar to H. antimena , the largest living rodent of Madagascar , but even larger , with little if any overlap in measurements . Grandidier described the extinct species as more robust , with more prominent muscle scars on the long bones and with longer molars with more distinct crests and lobes . The length of the first lower molar is 5 . 2 to 6 . 4 mm , averaging 5 . 7 mm , in ten H. australis and 3 . 9 to 5 . 5 mm , averaging 4 . 8 mm , in twenty four H. antimena . The width of the femur at the proximal ( near ) end is 18 . 6 to 21 . 5 mm , averaging 19 . 9 mm , in thirteen H. australis and 16 . 8 to 18 . 5 mm , averaging 17 . 5 mm , in nine H. antimena . In ten H. australis , total length of the femur is 69 . 9 to 75 . 1 mm , averaging 72 . 1 mm , compared to 59 . 7 to 69 . 9 mm , averaging 63 . 8 mm in nine H. antimena . Distribution and ecology Remains attributed to Hypogeomys australis are known from Andrahomana in southeastern Madagascar and Antsirabe in central Madagascar , suggesting a broad former distribution . Its range is not known to overlap that of H. antimena , which has undergone a dramatic reduction during the Holocene . A bone from Andrahomana has been radiocarbon dated to about unk BP and another to 1536 BP . Although almost nothing is known of the ecology of H. australis , Goodman and unk presumed that it was similar to its living relative in living in burrows in areas with loose soils . H. australis shows relatively high content of carbon 13 isotope , likely because it ate some plants which were enriched in carbon 13 through C4 carbon fixation and crassulacean acid metabolism both of these photosynthesis related processes occur most frequently in plants adapted to dry environments . Hypogeomys australis is one of only three extinct rodents known from Madagascar ( the others are Brachytarsomys mahajambaensis and Nesomys narindaensis from northwestern Madagascar ) . In general , few small animals became extinct on Madagascar , except for these rodents , two species of Plesiorycteropus , and the shrew tenrec Microgale macpheei in contrast , large animals such as subfossil lemurs , the carnivore Cryptoprocta spelea , Malagasy hippopotamuses , unk tortoises , and unk and unk birds all became extinct around the time that humans arrived .
962
Tropical Storm Aletta was the first tropical cyclone of the 2006 Pacific hurricane season . Aletta developed from an area of disturbed weather located south southwest of the Mexican port of Acapulco , Guerrero . It gradually gained organized convection and was classified as a tropical depression early on May 27 , and became a tropical storm later that morning , the first of 2006 in the Western Hemisphere . Aletta strengthened to a tropical storm with 45 mph ( 75 km h ) sustained winds , while moving towards the Guerrero coast in southwestern Mexico . The storm became stationary , though it later turned to the west and weakened on May 29 . Aletta continued to weaken until it dissipated on May 31 . The storm dropped moderate rainfall along the Mexican coast , and generated winds that downed trees and caused minor damage . Meteorological history On May 21 , 2006 , a tropical wave crossed Central America and entered the East Pacific . The wave drifted westward , and after several days began to interact with a low level trough near the Gulf of Tehuantepec , and as a result deep convection increased . By May 25 , a large area of low pressure formed several hundred miles south of Acapulco , Mexico . Wind shear inhibited development initially , though conditions became slightly more favorable after a number of days , and at 0600 UTC on May 27 , a tropical depression formed about 190 mi ( 305 km ) south of Acapulco . Moving very little , the depression was disorganized due to continued shear , leaving the center of circulation west of the convective activity . By later in the morning hours of May 27 , the system began to show overall signs of organization , primarily related to a burst of convection in the eastern semicircle . At the same time , the center of circulation either reformed or began to move farther north , possibly north northeast . Embedded within the steering currents of a ridge , most forecasts anticipated the storm would drift northward for several days , though some computer models predicted the storm would eventually move inland near Acapulco . At 1800 UTC on May 27 , the depression organized into a tropical storm , and as such was named Aletta by the National Hurricane Center . With continued forecasting difficulty , a burst of new convection formed east of the center early on May 28 , as the storm began meandering southward . At 0600 UTC , Aletta attained peak winds of 45 mph ( 72 km h ) while nearly stationary in forward movement . Later in the afternoon , the storm 's center was obscured , thus subjecting the exact location to speculation . In addition , the circulation fluctuated in organization with the alternating intensity of the wind shear , and at the time maintained elongated cloud patterns , rather than the typical circulatory shape . As the storm drifted to the west and executed a small cyclonic loop by early on May 29 , increased shear and dry air became entrained in the system , causing it to weaken to a tropical depression at 1800 UTC . Little convection remained afterward , and the storm struggled for several days , becoming a remnant low by May 31 . The low dissipated shortly thereafter . Preparations and impact When the storm began to move towards the coast , the Mexican government issued tropical storm watches between Punta Maldonado and Zihuatanejo . By 1800 UTC on May 29 , the advisory was discontinued after a series of modifications and extensions . Aletta produced moderate rainfall across Mexico , including a 24 hour rainfall total of 100 . 2 mm ( 3 . 94 inches ) in unk , Oaxaca on May 30 , and 96 . 0 mm ( 3 . 78 inches ) in La Calera , Guerrero , the next day . High winds knocked down trees and caused minor structural damage . In Zihuatanejo , a ship with nine people was rescued after being reported as lost , which may have been a result of high seas generated by Aletta . However , there were no reports of fatalities associated with Aletta .
963
Cad and the Dandy is an independent tailoring company based in London , England with premises on Savile Row and in the City . It sells bespoke suits , manufactured from English and Italian fabrics , and using traditional tailoring methods , at a lower price than the traditional Savile Row houses . The company was founded in 2008 by James Sleater and Ian unk two City of London bankers who , at the height of the 2008 financial crisis , were both made redundant from their jobs . It has attracted local , national and international press coverage , including being listed by The Guardian in the Courvoisier Future 500 , and in July 2010 the founders won the Bento Entrepreneur of the Year Award at the Macworld Awards . History Cad and the Dandy was founded in 2008 . The founders met through a supplier as both pursued a similar business idea independently , and they agreed to work together to start the company , each contributing 20 , 000 of initial capital . Both had family connections to the tailoring industry , giving them knowledge helpful in launching the new company . After initially conducting fittings in rented office space , they came to an arrangement with unk Morgan to allow appointments in their shop on Savile Row . In October 2009 , the company opened its first permanent store in the City of London . The company achieved a turnover of 1.3M in 2010 , and was listed by The Guardian in the Courvoisier Future 500 . In July 2010 the founders won the Bento Entrepreneur of the Year Award at the Macworld Awards and in July 2013 they opened permanent premises on Savile Row . Operations Based in London , where the company employs 10 tailors in three workshops , it also employs an additional 40 in a workshop in China where most of its entry level , machine sewn suits are made . All suits are made from British or Italian cloth , and are available either in machine grade or hand stitched . Suit prices vary based on the cloth that is used as well as the amount of hand stitching that is done on the suit . The fully hand made suits require around 50 hours of stitching , include a basted fitting , and conform to all the specifications for a bespoke suit suggested by the Savile Row Bespoke Association . Prices are kept lower than the average for bespoke tailors by requiring payment up front . This allows Cad and the Dandy to negotiate discounts of 30 to 40 with their suppliers . Cad the Dandy launched a new flagship store at 13 Savile Row in June 2013 . The store is the first on the iconic tailoring street to hand weave a cloth before making it up into a fully finished suit . Believing that Britain s bespoke tailoring industry was facing a shortage of master tailors , the company established an apprenticeship programme in London , with young would be tailors joining Cad the Dandy s 22 staff members at its three London locations , Savile Row , Birchin Lane and Canary Wharf . Fittings are now conducted across the UK , Europe and the United States . Marketing In 2010 , the company began an association with former boxer Chris Eubank , who now designs a range of clothes for the brand . Since September 2010 , the company has run an annual competition to look for the best dressed banker , with the winner receiving two bespoke suits and two bespoke shirts as the prize . Critical response Cad and the Dandy suits have received positive reviews from style commentators and bloggers , who note the high quality of cloth and tailoring , the strong customer service and the flexibility in customisation options . User reviews on sites such as unk have been positive , with reviews praising the fit , the service , and the willingness to cater to unusual requests . Mainstream news sources such as the Daily Telegraph have focused on the company 's growth and strong financial performance , and on the entrepreneurship of its founders , especially following the loss of their jobs .
964
Severe Tropical Storm Matmo , known in the Philippines as Tropical Storm Dindo , formed to the east of Manila in the Philippines as a tropical disturbance on May 13 , 2008 . Early the next day , the Joint Typhoon Warning Center ( JTWC ) issued a Tropical Cyclone Formation Alert on the developing system while later that day the Japan Meteorological Agency ( JMA ) classified the disturbance as a weak tropical depression and started to issue advisories on it . The JTWC then designated the depression as Tropical Depression 04W while the JMA started to issue full advisories on the storm . On May 15 , the tropical depression intensified into a tropical storm and was named Matmo by RSMC Tokyo . Later that day the Philippine Atmospheric , Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration issued their first advisory on Matmo and assigned the local name Dindo . The JTWC upgraded the system to a tropical storm later that day . It then intensified into a severe tropical storm the next day while the JTWC issued their final advisory on Matmo as they thought the storm had become extratropical . However , the JMA kept issuing advisories on Matmo , until the storm dissipated the next day . There was no impact reported from Tropical Storm Matmo . Meteorological history Late on May 13 , 2008 , a tropical disturbance formed about 550 km ( 340 mi ) , to the east of Manila in the Philippines . The disturbance was located in an area of low vertical wind shear and had a low level circulation center which had started to consolidate . The Joint Typhoon Warning Center ( JTWC ) then issued a Tropical Cyclone Formation Alert on the disturbance early the next day , as deep convection was building near to the low pressure area . Later that day both the JTWC and the Japan Meteorological Agency ( JMA ) upgraded the disturbance to a tropical depression , with the JTWC designating it as Tropical Depression 04W . This was because the system had become more consolidated and had a good outflow . Early on May 15 , as the storm was moving towards the northwest , the JMA upgraded the tropical depression to a Tropical Storm and named it Matmo . The Philippine Atmospheric , Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration ( PAGASA ) then designated the storm as Tropical Depression Dindo . Later that day Matmo rapidly tracked towards the northeastern boundary of PAGASA 's area of responsibility as it had started to interact with a mid latitude trough . The JTWC then reported that the cyclone had intensified into a tropical storm and had reached its peak intensity with winds of 75 km h ( 45 mph ) . Early on May 16 , both PAGASA and the JTWC issued their final advisories on the storm as it approached the edge of PAGASA 's Area of responsibility , with the JTWC reporting that Matmo was now extratropical . However , the JMA continued to issue advisories on the storm at this time and reported that it had reached ten minute peak wind speeds of 95 km h ( 60 mph ) , which made Matmo a severe tropical storm . Though , within their next advisory , the JMA downgraded Matmo to a tropical storm and reported that it had weakened into a tropical depression early the next day before dissipating later that day . Preparations , impact and naming In preparation for Tropical Storm Matmo , the Japan Meteorological Agency issued warnings for the , Naha , Moji and Yokohama areas of Japan . However , there was no impact reported from either Japan or the Philippines . The name Matmo was submitted to the ESCAP WMO Typhoon Committee , by the United States of America , for use from January 1 , 2004 and means heavy rain in the Chamorro language . This came after the name Chataan was retired , following the 2002 Pacific typhoon season . The Philippine Atmospheric , Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration ( PAGASA ) also assigned the local name of Dindo to Matmo , which was last assigned by PAGASA , in the 2004 Pacific typhoon season .
965
German submarine U 104 was a Type IXB U boat of Nazi Germany 's Kriegsmarine during World War II . She was ordered by the Kriegsmarine on 24 May 1938 as part of the German naval rearmament program Plan Z. Her keel was laid down by DeSchiMAG AG Weser in Bremen in November 1939 . Following about six and a half months of construction , she was launched in May 1940 and formally commissioned into the Kriegsmarine in August 1940 . U 104 had a very short career , sinking just one enemy vessel and damaging one other during one war patrol . In the middle of her first patrol , U 104 was posted missing off the north coast of Ireland on 28 November 1940 and was presumed sunk in minefield SN 44 , which was laid a few days prior to her arrival in the area . Construction and design Construction U 104 was ordered by the Kriegsmarine on 24 May 1938 ( as part of Plan Z and in violation of the Treaty of Versailles ) . Her keel was laid down on 10 November 1939 by DeSchiMAG AG Weser in Bremen as yard number 967 . U 104 was launched on 25 May 1940 and commissioned on 19 August of that year under the command of Kapitnleutnant Harald unk . Design German Type IXA submarines were slightly larger than the original German Type IX submarines , later designated IXA . U 104 had a displacement of 1 , 051 tonnes ( 1 , 034 long tons ) when at the surface and 1 , 178 tonnes ( 1 , 159 long tons ) while submerged . The U boat had a total length of 76 . 50 m ( 251 ft ) , a pressure hull length of 58 . 75 m ( 192 ft 9 in ) , a beam of 6 . 76 m ( 22 ft 2 in ) , a height of 9 . 60 m ( 31 ft 6 in ) , and a draught of 4 . 70 m ( 15 ft 5 in ) . The submarine was powered by two MAN M 9 V 40 46 supercharged four stroke , nine cylinder diesel engines producing a total of 4 , 400 metric horsepower ( 3 , 240 kW 4 , 340 shp ) for use while surfaced , two Siemens Schuckert 2 GU 345 34 double acting electric motors producing a total of 1 , 000 metric horsepower ( 740 kW 990 shp ) for use while submerged . She had two shafts and two 1 . 92 m ( 6 ft ) propellers . The boat was capable of operating at depths of up to 230 metres ( 750 ft ) . The submarine had a maximum surface speed of 18 . 2 knots ( 33 . 7 km h 20 . 9 mph ) and a maximum submerged speed of 7 . 3 knots ( 13 . 5 km h 8 . 4 mph ) . When submerged , the boat could operate for 64 nautical miles ( 119 km 74 mi ) at 4 knots ( 7 . 4 km h 4 . 6 mph ) when surfaced , she could travel 12 , 000 nautical miles ( 22 , 000 km 14 , 000 mi ) at 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . U 104 was fitted with six 53 . 3 cm ( 21 in ) torpedo tubes ( four fitted at the bow and two at the stern ) , 22 torpedoes , one 10 . 5 cm ( 4 . 13 in ) SK C 32 naval gun , 180 rounds , and a 3 . 7 cm ( 1 . 5 in ) as well as a 2 cm ( 0 . 79 in ) anti aircraft gun . The boat had a complement of forty eight . Service history During her short career , U 104 sank one enemy vessel and damaged another on her first and only war patrol in the North Sea , off the northern coast of Ireland and Great Britain . She went to sea on her first and only war patrol on 12 November 1940 . For a period of 17 days , she roamed the North Sea and eventually the northern coast of Scotland and Ireland in search of any Allied convoys heading to Great Britain . During that time she attacked two enemy vessels , sinking one and damaging the other . On 27 November 1940 , U 104 torpedoed and sank the British merchant vessel Diplomat , a straggler of convoy HX 88 , with the loss of 14 of her crew . The other merchant vessel was the British motor tanker Charles F. Meyer , of convoy HX 87 , which survived the attack . The next day , U 104 went missing just north of neutral Ireland . She is presumed to have been sunk by a mine from the SN 44 minefield , which was laid on 8 November 1940 , just 20 days prior to U 104 's disappearance . All of her crew are presumed dead . Summary of raiding history
966
HMS Trump ( pennant number unk ) was a British submarine of the third group of the T class . She was built by Vickers Armstrong , Barrow , and launched on 25 March 1944 . So far she has been the only ship of the Royal Navy to bear the name Trump . She spent the majority of her life attached to the 4th Submarine division based in Australia . She was kept in service following the war and was refitted for greater underwater performance , and was the final RN submarine to be posted in Australia , departing in January 1969 . She was sold off and broken up for scrap in August 1971 . Design and description HMS Trump was one of the group three of T class submarines . She was part of the second batch of the third group to be ordered , in 1941 . She was one of a number of boats which had an all welded hull which increased diving depth to 350 feet ( 110 m ) , an increase of 50 feet ( 15 m ) . The torpedo armament was the same as the earlier group two , although by the time group three was coming into service it was realised that external torpedo tubes had major problems and affected the streamlining of the boats the external tubes were abandoned in the following Amphion class submarine . Because of expected use in tropical climates , boats of group three were equipped with unk blowers in order to deal with the increased temperatures . Service World War II Trump was commissioned in July 1944 . After trials and a work up in the North Sea in mid October she was sent to Perth in Western Australia . On arrival , she joined the 4th Submarine division , supported by the depot ship HMS Adamant . From Perth , Trump carried out four patrols before the end of the war . During her Far East service , Trump sank the Japanese unk No. 15 unk Maru on 13 May a Japanese sailing vessel on 24 May and two coasters , one on 29 May and the other on 1 June . She sank a tanker on 5 June and together with her sister HMS Tiptoe , she sank a Japanese cargo vessel on 9 August . Also with Tiptoe , Trump carried out an attack on a convoy on 3 August . Although the it was escorted by a Japanese patrol boat , they successfully sank Tencho Maru , an army cargo ship , with the sinking credited to Tiptoe . Post war Trump survived the war and continued in service with the Royal Navy . Trump was one of several all welded T Class submarines rebuilt for greater underwater performance . This Slippery T or Super T conversion involved the removal of the deck gun and the replacement of the conning tower with a streamlined fin . Extra batteries were installed below the control room and additional electric motors were accommodated by cutting through the pressure hull and adding in a new 20 ft ( 6 . 1 m ) hull section inserted aft of the control room . The diesel engines were modified and supercharged with output increased by 300 BHP . The gun armaments and external torpedo tubes were removed , and the bow reshaped . Trump was one of two submarines , the other being HMS Tabard , which had the bridge incorporated into the added fin section and was the last to undergo this conversion . In 1960 , Trump , along with unk and Tabard , rejoined the 4th Submarine Flotilla at Sydney , Australia . There , they operated with units of the Far East Fleet , the Royal Australian Navy , and the Royal New Zealand Navy . In June 1964 , she participated in the NEWS EX anti submarine exercise in the Hauraki Gulf off the coast of New Zealand . Trump underwent refits at Cockatoo Dockyard , between January 1962 and April 1963 , and again between August 1965 and October 1966 . She was the final Royal Navy submarine to be on station in Australia , departing on 10 January 1969 when the 1st Australian Submarine squadron was formed from the RN 4th Submarine Squadron . She was temporarily transferred to Royal Australian Navy service while boats of the Oberon class were under construction . Trump was scrapped at Newport from 1 August 1971 .
967
New York State Route 990V ( NY 990V ) is an east west reference route in Schoharie County , New York , in the United States . It extends for 6 . 15 miles ( 9 . 90 km ) from an intersection with NY 30 in the town of Gilboa to a junction with County Route 18 ( CR 18 ) in the town of Conesville , where the road continues east as CR 3 . Reference routes in New York are typically unsigned however , NY 990V is fully signed with touring route markers . The road is a remnant of New York State Route 342 , a route assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York . The NY 342 designation was removed in the late 1940s however , its former routing from Gilboa to Conesville remained a state highway and became NY 990V when the modern reference route system in New York was created . Route description NY 990V begins northwest of the Schoharie Reservoir at an intersection with NY 30 in the town of Gilboa . The route heads northeast around the reservoir as a two lane highway , intersecting CR 13 ( Stryker Road ) in an area of open fields before crossing Schoharie Creek a short distance downstream from the Gilboa Dam . On the opposite bank of the creek , the highway quickly passes through the small hamlet of Gilboa , located at a junction with CR 17 ( Flat Creek Road ) . Outside of Gilboa , NY 990V turns to the southeast , paralleling the eastern edge of the reservoir as it runs through a stretch of forests and passes directly south of Gilboa Conesville Central School . The wooded areas give way to slightly more open terrain in the adjacent town of Conesville , where the route meets CR 39 ( Prattsville Road ) just east of the town line . CR 39 heads south from this point , taking over as the primary waterside roadway while NY 990V heads east into a valley surrounding Manor Kill . Not far from CR 39 , the route enters the hamlet of West Conesville , another small community built up around NY 990V 's junction with CR 59 ( Bull Hill Road ) . The road continues northeastward from West Conesville , serving a handful of scattered homes separated by stretches of woodland and open fields . This sparsely developed section along the northern bank of Manor Kill ultimately leads to the hamlet of Conesville , located at an intersection with CR 18 ( Bear Kill Road ) . NY 990V ends at the junction , and its right of way continues east toward NY 145 in Durham as CR 3 ( Potter Mountain Road ) . Reference routes in New York are typically not signed with touring route markers , as most are short connector roads or are known by other , more prominent names . NY 990V , however , is fully signed as a touring route . History Modern NY 990V was gradually taken over by the state of New York over the course of the early 20th century . The portion east of Schoharie Creek became state maintained on August 28 , 1917 , following a 46 , 774 project ( equivalent to 863 , 922 in 2016 ) to improve the existing road to state highway standards . The rest of the highway was added as a state road in the late 1920s . In the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York , the Gilboa Conesville state highway was designated as part of NY 342 , a new route extending from NY 30 west of the hamlet of Gilboa to the Conesville hamlet of unk . By the following year , NY 342 was truncated westward to the hamlet of Conesville while a highway between NY 23 near South Gilboa and NY 30 southwest of Gilboa was designated as NY 297 . The NY 297 designation was short lived as it was removed c . 1936 . NY 342 was extended westward over the former routing of NY 297 in the mid 1940s however , the designation was eliminated in the late 1940s . While the portion west of NY 30 became CR 14 , the section east of NY 30 was retained as a state highway . When the modern reference route system was created , the Gilboa Conesville state highway was designated as NY 990V . Major intersections The entire route is in Schoharie County .
968
Farm to Market Road 1938 ( FM 1938 ) is a Farm to Market Road in the US state of Texas . The highway runs from State Highway 26 ( SH 26 ) to FM 1709 , in Tarrant County . While located in Westlake , FM 1938 is named Precinct Line Road . While located in Southlake , from the northern border of Southlake to its junction with FM 1709 , FM 1938 is named Randol Mill Avenue , and from the FM 1709 intersection to its southern terminus , the highway is named Davis Boulevard . FM 1938 was designated in 1952 , in Hockley County , but was cancelled and redesignated in 1955 , at its modern location in Tarrant County . In 1995 , the entire route of FM 1938 was redesignated as Urban Road 1938 ( UR 1938 ) by the Texas Department of Transportation ( TxDOT ) . FM 1938 passes through central North Richland Hills and Southlake , providing access to several businesses . As of 2012 , FM 1938 is in the process of being extended from an intersection with FM 1709 to the north frontage road of SH 114 . Route description FM 1938 ( Davis Boulevard ) begins at its southern terminus with SH 26 , directly besides the raised Interstate 820 ( I 820 ) freeway . FM 1938 continues on for about 0 . 2 miles ( 0 . 32 km ) before two exit ramps coming from I 820 merge with it , giving incomplete access to the freeway . The highway proceeds as a paved , asphalt , six lane highway , with a center left turn lane dividing it . The road continues through downtown North Richland Hills , passing several small businesses and large residential neighborhoods . Along this stretch , FM 1938 is traveling due north . After an intersection with Smithfield Road , the highway turns in a northeastern direction and heads that way . It continues through North Richland Hills , intersecting with several large roads and passing a set of railroad tracks . The highway heads north for about 5 . 5 miles before intersecting with FM unk and entering the city of Keller . The highway proceeds through Keller , passing several small businesses and large neighborhoods . FM 1938 passes through Keller for about one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) before passing over a small creek and entering the city of Southlake . Just after entering Southlake , the highway passes a large landscaping and stone supplies facility . FM 1938 continues through Southlake for approximately one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) , passing several small businesses , before reaching its northern terminus , as of 2012 , FM 1709 . Continuation On August 23 , 2007 , TxDOT authorized an extension of FM 1938 from the intersection with FM 1709 to the northern frontage road of SH 114 . This will include the designation of approximately 1 . 5 miles ( 2 . 4 km ) of Randol Mill Road , and the creation of approximately two miles ( 3 . 2 km ) of road , which will be named Precinct Line Road . This is in order to connect the current length of Randol Mill Road to SH 114 . With the extension , FM 1938 is estimated to total 11 . 1 miles ( 17 . 9 km ) long . History On January 18 , 1952 , FM 1938 was designated in Hockley County , traveling from an intersection with FM 1490 to an intersection with Hockley County Road 237 . On November 1 , 1954 , FM 1938 was cancelled and combined with the newly designated FM 597 . On August 24 , 1955 , FM 1938 was redesignated for a route in Tarrant County , traveling from FM 1709 to the SH 121 freeway , which was 7 . 514 miles ( 12 . 093 km ) long . On June 27 , 1995 , the entire route was redesignated as Urban Road 1938 , although , like other routes like this , the signage did not change . On August 23 , 2007 , an extension of FM 1938 was authorized from FM 1709 to SH 114 , adding approximately 3 . 6 miles ( 5 . 8 km ) to the road . The extension to SH 114 opened in August 2012 but construction on the Randol Mill Avenue section of the extension in addition to landscaping and sidewalk work on the whole extension is ongoing . Major junctions The entire route is in Tarrant County .
969
M 58 is a 5 . 108 mile long ( 8 . 221 km ) east west state trunkline highway in the US state of Michigan that runs from M 47 in Saginaw Township east to exit 3 of I 675 near the north part of downtown Saginaw . The trunkline follows State Street through the Saginaw area , and east of Lathrop Avenue , M 58 is split along two streets , using Davenport Avenue as well . This is the third time that the number has been used on a highway in Michigan the first two were used in the Berrien County and Pontiac areas . The Saginaw version was designated in 1971 , and it is listed on the National Highway System . Route description M 58 starts at an intersection with M 47 ( Midland Road ) near the Tittabawassee River in Saginaw Township . It runs east on State Street through a commercial area in the township . Continuing east , the adjoining properties transition to residential buildings . Between Avalon and Lathrop avenues , M 58 splits into a one way pairing of streets eastbound traffic continues along State Street , but westbound traffic uses Davenport Avenue , one block to the north . Just east of this split , M 58 crosses into the City of Saginaw . In Saginaw , the two parallel streets continue east and meet M 84 which runs north south along Bay Street . The distance between the two parallel streets decreases east of North Carolina Street when Davenport Avenue shifts to the south . The intersection with Hill Street marks the beginning of the connections to the exit 3 interchange along a bend in the I 675 freeway . Hill Street is one way carrying traffic southbound exiting from southbound I 675 to either direction of M 58 . Two blocks east , Michigan Avenue carries traffic northbound under the freeway , connecting to a ramp to northbound I 675 before continuing north through the city of Saginaw . East of this intersection , State Street curves to the north , intersecting Davenport Avenue and merging into the ramp for southbound I 675 . A loop ramp across the freeway provides access from northbound I 675 to Davenport Avenue . This interchange complex marks the eastern terminus of M 58 . M 58 is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) like other state highways in Michigan . As a part of these maintenance responsibilities , the department tracks the volume of traffic that uses the roadways under its jurisdiction . These volumes are expressed using a metric called annual average daily traffic , which is a statistical calculation of the average daily number of vehicles on a segment of roadway . MDOT 's surveys in 2009 showed that the highest traffic levels along M 58 were the 28 , 648 vehicles daily east of the split at Lathrop Avenue the lowest counts were the 18 , 827 vehicles per day by the I 675 interchange . All of M 58 has been listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History Previous designations On July 1 , 1919 , the first M 58 was a 24 mile ( 39 km ) highway in Berrien County connecting M 40 ( now M 51 ) in downtown Niles with M 11 ( later US 12 , and presently Business Loop I 94 ) south of downtown St. Joseph . On November 11 , 1926 , the entire length was redesignated as a part of US 31 . From 1930 through 1961 , a second iteration of M 58 existed in Oakland County as a western bypass around Pontiac the route ran from US 10 at the corner of Woodward Avenue and Square Lake Road south of Pontiac west to Telegraph Road and then north along Telegraph road to US 10 ( Dixie Highway ) north of Pontiac . Current designation This route is the third iteration of M 58 in Michigan . This route came into being when the western segment of M 81 was redesignated in 1971 following the completion of I 675 into downtown Saginaw . The routing has remained unchanged since designation . Major intersections The entire highway is in Saginaw County .
970
HMS Havant was an H class destroyer originally ordered by the Brazilian Navy with the name Javary in the late 1930s , but was bought by the Royal Navy after the beginning of World War II in September 1939 . The ship was initially assigned to escort duties in the Western Approaches , but was transferred to the Home Fleet when the Norwegian Campaign began in April 1940 . She was only peripherally involved in the campaign as she escorted ships carrying troops that occupied Iceland and the Faeroe Islands as well as convoys to Narvik . Havant was evacuating troops from Dunkirk when she was badly damaged by Junkers Ju 87 Stuka dive bombers on 1 June and had to be scuttled . Description Havant displaced 1 , 350 long tons ( 1 , 370 t ) at standard load and 1 , 883 long tons ( 1 , 913 t ) at deep load . The ship had an overall length of 323 feet ( 98 . 5 m ) , a beam of 33 feet ( 10 . 1 m ) and a draught of 12 feet 5 inches ( 3 . 8 m ) . She was powered by Parsons geared steam turbines , driving two shafts , which developed a total of 34 , 000 shaft horsepower ( 25 , 000 kW ) and gave a maximum speed of 36 knots ( 67 km h 41 mph ) . Steam for the turbines was provided by three Admiralty 3 drum water tube boilers . Havant carried a maximum of 470 long tons ( 480 t ) of fuel oil that gave her a range of 5 , 530 nautical miles ( 10 , 240 km 6 , 360 mi ) at 15 knots ( 28 km h 17 mph ) . The ship 's complement was 145 officers and men . The ship was designed for four 45 calibre 4 . 7 inch Mk IX guns in single mounts , designated ' A ' , ' B ' , ' X ' , and ' Y ' from front to rear , but ' Y ' gun was removed to compensate for the additional depth charges added . For anti aircraft ( AA ) defence , Havant had two quadruple Mark I mounts for the 0 . 5 inch Vickers Mark III machine gun . She was fitted with two above water quadruple torpedo tube mounts for 21 inch ( 533 mm ) torpedoes . One depth charge rail and two throwers were originally fitted , but this was increased to 3 sets of rails and eight throwers while fitting out . The ship 's load of depth charges was increased from 20 to 110 as well . Service Javary was ordered by Brazil on 8 December 1937 from J. Samuel White , Cowes . The ship was laid down on 30 March 1938 and launched on 17 July 1939 . She was purchased by the British on 5 September and renamed HMS Havant . The ship was commissioned on 19 December and arrived at Portland Harbour on 8 January 1940 to begin working up . She made one unsuccessful anti submarine sweep 4 9 February with the destroyers Ardent and Whitshed after she was assigned to the 9th Destroyer Flotilla of the Western Approaches Command at Plymouth . Havant had degaussing equipment fitted and minor repairs were made through March . The ship was en route to Greenock to escort a convoy to Gibraltar on 7 April when she was transferred to the Home Fleet as a result of the impending German invasion of Norway . Along with her sister Hesperus , Havant escorted the heavy cruiser Suffolk on 13 April as the latter ship carried a detachment of Royal Marines to occupy the Faeroe Islands . The ship then escorted convoys to Narvik until 7 May . A week later she escorted the ocean liners Lancastria and Franconia as they carried troops to occupy Iceland . Havant joined the Dunkirk evacuation on 29 May and rescued over 2 , 300 men by 1 June . That morning she had embarked 500 troops and then went alongside the destroyer Ivanhoe , which had been disabled by German dive bombers earlier that morning . The ship loaded all of the troops and wounded from Ivanhoe and sailed for Dover under heavy air attack . Shortly afterwards , Stukas hit Havant with two bombs in her engine room and another exploded beneath her hull . Eight crewmen were killed and 25 were wounded in the attack . At least 25 soldiers were also killed . She was severely damaged and had to be scuttled by the minesweeper HMS Saltash after an attempt to tow her failed .
971
New York State Route 345 ( NY 345 ) is a state highway located entirely within St. Lawrence County in the North Country of New York in the United States . It is a north south route connecting the towns of Waddington and Potsdam by way of the town of Madrid . The southern terminus of NY 345 is at an intersection with U.S. Route 11 ( US 11 ) in the village of Potsdam . Its northern terminus is at a junction with NY 37 in the village of Waddington by the St. Lawrence River . NY 345 was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York however , it originally followed a different alignment south of the hamlet of Madrid . At the time , what is now NY 345 between Madrid and Potsdam was part of NY 56A . The NY 56A designation was eliminated in 1980 . NY 345 was realigned two years later to follow old NY 56A to Potsdam as a result of a highway maintenance swap between the state of New York and St. Lawrence County . Ownership and maintenance of NY 345 's original routing south of Madrid was transferred from the state to the county and the village of Canton as part of the exchange . Route description NY 345 begins at an intersection with US 11 in the village of Potsdam , just north of Clarkson University . The route heads northwestward on Pine Street and Madrid Avenue as a village maintained , state numbered highway , crossing the CSX Transportation owned St. Lawrence Subdivision by way of a grade crossing as it heads through a commercial and residential area . It exits the village shortly afterward , at which point the route becomes maintained by the New York State Department of Transportation . It heads northwestward on a linear path through the town of Potsdam , passing through mostly undeveloped areas comprising open fields and forests . NY 345 curves slightly northward at Burnham Corners before crossing Trout Brook and entering the town of Madrid , where it traverses the New York and Ogdensburg Railway by way of a grade crossing just outside the hamlet of Madrid . The highway continues into the community , where the route becomes Bridge Street and intersects NY 310 on the eastern bank of the Grasse River . It continues across the river to Main Street , at which point NY 345 turns to the northeast and follows Main Street out of the hamlet . North of Madrid , NY 345 curves back to the northwest as it enters another rural area . It passes by the isolated Madrid Waddington Central School just before crossing into the town of Waddington . The rural surroundings continue to the village of Waddington , where the amount of development along the route increases after the highway crosses Sucker Brook south of the village center . NY 345 ends shortly afterward at an intersection with NY 37 in the village center near the southern bank of the St. Lawrence River . History When NY 345 was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York , it began at US 11 in Canton . From there , NY 345 followed modern County Route 27 ( CR 27 ) and CR 14 north to Madrid , where it joined its modern alignment north to Waddington . At the same time , the current alignment of NY 345 from modern NY 310 in Madrid to Potsdam was designated as the southern half of NY 56A . The short piece of Bridge Street not part of NY 56A in Madrid was a state maintained reference route . On April 10 , 1980 , the NY 56A designation was deleted . The portion of former NY 56A from Madrid to Potsdam , as well as the state maintained Bridge Street connector , became part of a rerouted NY 345 on September 1 , 1982 , as a result of a highway maintenance swap between the state of New York and St. Lawrence County . As part of the swap , the pre 1982 routing of NY 345 between the Canton village line and Bridge Street in Madrid was turned over to the county while the portion of former NY 345 within Canton was transferred to the village . Major intersections The entire route is in St. Lawrence County .
972
New York State Route 292 ( NY 292 ) is a short state highway in the Hudson Valley of New York in the United States , bridging Putnam and Dutchess counties . The southern terminus of the route is at an intersection with NY 311 in the town of Patterson , and the northern terminus is at a junction with NY 55 in the town of Pawling . NY 292 traverses mostly rural areas as it heads northwestward through Patterson and Pawling . Along the way , NY 292 passes along the southern and western edges of Whaley Lake . The portion of NY 292 between West Patterson and Whaley Lake originated as a dirt road named the Patterson Dutchess County Line Road . This road was reconstructed in 1919 and became part of NY 39 , a highway extending from Poughkeepsie to Patterson by way of West Pawling , in the 1920s . In the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York , the segment of NY 39 from East Fishkill to West Patterson was incorporated into the new NY 52 . By the end of the 1930s , the portion of NY 52 from Stormville to West Patterson was renumbered to NY 216 . In 1970 , NY 216 was truncated to its current length and NY 216 's former alignment from West Pawling to Patterson was renumbered to NY 292 . Route description NY 292 begins at NY 311 near the hamlet of Patterson . It heads west initially , paralleling the Putnam Dutchess county line as it passes south of the Patterson Veteran Memorial Park and intersects County Route 63 ( CR 63 ) . It crosses a minor stream and briefly turns towards the southwest . After passing through the hamlet of West Patterson , NY 292 turns northwest , crosses the stream once again , and enters Dutchess County . Just north of the county line in the Pawling hamlet of Holmes , the route intersects with CR 30 . Near Holmes , the highway heads due north and passes between two small ponds . The route continues onward , traveling north through a rural , wooded area of Pawling with little development before curving west to pass along the southern edge of Whaley Lake . At the southwestern tip of the lake , NY 292 turns north , paralleling the western and northern shores of the lake as it heads toward the hamlet of West Pawling . North of the lake in West Pawling , NY 292 turns east onto a former routing of NY 55 for a short distance before ending at modern NY 55 in the northwest corner of Pawling . History Part of the highway was once part of the Patterson Dutchess County Line Road , a 1 . 61 mile ( 2 . 59 km ) dirt road that extended from Banks Corner to Whaley Lake . Plans were finalized in 1919 to rebuild the previously inadequate road the project cost an estimated 43 , 500 ( 517 , 298 2007 USD ) , including 15 , 225 ( 181 , 054 2007 USD ) of Putnam County 's portion of the construction . In May 1919 , the Danbury News reported , On the road between Sodom and Pawling turn left and run through Patterson and continue to West Patterson . From West Patterson a new road about one and one half miles in length is under construction which connects with a good macadam road passing Whaley Pond and running to Stonehouse , thence continuing ... to Newburgh . The new road was completed in November of that year . NY 292 was originally part of NY 39 in the 1920s , which ran from Patterson to Poughkeepsie via West Patterson and East Fishkill . In the 1930 renumbering , the portion of NY 39 between East Fishkill and the western fringe of Patterson was redesignated as part of the new NY 52 . Between Patterson and NY 22 , old NY 39 was renumbered to NY 311 . NY 52 was realigned c . 1937 to follow its current alignment between Stormville and Lake Carmel . The former routing of NY 52 between Stormville and Patterson became part of NY 216 . The route remained unchanged until January 1 , 1970 , when NY 216 was truncated to its current eastern terminus in Poughquag . As part of the truncation , its former alignment from West Pawling to Patterson was renumbered to NY 292 . Major intersections
973
Granny , also known as J2 , is an orca , or killer whale , estimated by some whale researchers to be 105 years old , which , if correct , would make her the oldest known living orca . Granny had been captured with the rest of her pod in 1967 but was too old at that time for a marine mammal park , so was released . In 1967 , Granny was estimated to have been born in 1911 . Description Granny is recognizable from the gray saddle patch just behind her dorsal fin , and a half moon notch in her fin . Simon Pidcock of Ocean unk said he has seen Granny thousands of times , and that the markings on orca fins are like fingerprints . Now that orca studies have been going on for several decades , the exact age of many whales is known . The age of older orcas , such as Granny , is estimated by their offspring they give birth around age 15 , and stop having offspring around 40 by adding the generations together , ages can be estimated . There are also photographs of Granny from the 1930s and the size and growth of Granny and the other orcas is also used in the age estimates . In Granny 's case , she was photographed in 1971 with a male orca , J1 Ruffles , who was thought to be Granny 's son . Ruffles was estimated as at least 20 years old , and as scientists believed him to be Granny 's last offspring , her own age was estimated at about 60 . However , it was later determined through DNA that Ruffles was not Granny 's son . J pod Granny , along with several of her descendants , travels in the J pod , a group of about 25 orcas . J pod , along with Pods K and L , are the J clan , which is part of the southern resident killer whale population . They frequent the inland waters of British Columbia and Washington State in the summer months , but roam from southeast Alaska to central California . They have completed a journey as far as 800 miles in a week . A well known male orca thought to be Granny 's son is J1 Ruffles . He was last seen in 2010 . According to researchers , Granny also has multiple grandchildren and great grandchildren travelling in the pod with her . The southern resident killer whales are the most studied population of killer whales in the world . Many whales in this population were captured in the 1960s and 1970s for use in sea parks , and others were killed by hunters attempting to capture them . Legacy As the oldest known orca , Granny is used in arguments against keeping whales in captivity , referencing the allegedly reduced lifespan of whales in captivity . The oldest orca in captivity is the 50 year old Lolita who is at the Miami Seaquarium . The average lifespan for a captured orca is 20 to 30 years . Of Granny 's age , Captain Pidcock of Ocean unk Whale Watching said ... it s mind blowing to think that this whale is over 100 years old . She was born before the Titanic went down . Can you imagine the things she s seen in her lifetime Granny was also used as a focal point of environmental efforts that resulted in the Endangered Species Act protections for orca . Environmentalists estimate that Granny may have a PCB load of up to 100 parts per million , and that her descendants ' reproductive systems may have been damaged by exposure to pollution . Additionally , Granny and her family are at risk from declining West Coast salmon populations . Granny was featured in a children 's book on orcas titled Granny 's Clan A Tale of Wild Orcas by Sally Hodson . Orca lifespan Estimates of lifespans for wild orcas vary . Seaworld says wild lifespans are 30 50 years for females , and 19 30 years for males . These estimates are similar to the estimates from a 2005 study . Marine conservation groups argue that these estimates are low due to the effects of hunting , pollution , and capture on the wild populations , and that natural wild orca lifespans are equivalent to that of humans , with male orcas living up to 75 years and female orcas living up to 80 years ) .
974
The stapes unk or stirrup is a bone in the middle ear of humans and other mammals which is involved in the conduction of sound vibrations to the inner ear . The stirrup shaped small bone is on and transmits these to the oval window , medially . The stapes is the smallest and lightest named bone in the human body , and is so called because of its resemblance to a stirrup ( Latin unk ) . Structure The stapes is the third bone of the three ossicles in the middle ear . The stapes is a stirrup shaped bone , and the smallest in the human body . It rests on the oval window , to which it is connected by an annular ligament . The stapes is described as having a base , resting on the oval window , as well as a head that articulates with the incus . These are connected by anterior and posterior limbs ( Latin crura ) . The stapes articulates with the incus through the unk joint . The stapes is the smallest bone in the human body , and measures roughly 3 x unk , greater along the head base span . Development The stapes develops from the second pharyngeal arch during the sixth to eighth week of embryological life . The central cavity of the stapedius is due to the presence unk of the stapedial artery , which later regresses . Animals The stapes is one of three ossicles in mammals . In non mammalian four legged animals , the bone homologous to the stapes is usually called the columella however , in reptiles , either term may be used . In fish , the homologous bone is called the hyomandibular , and is part of the gill arch supporting either the spiracle or the jaw , depending on the species . The equivalent term in amphibians is the pars media unk . Variation The stapes appears to be relatively constant in size in different ethnic groups . In 0 . 01 0 . 02 of people , the stapedial artery does not regress , and persists in the central foramen . In this case , a pulsatile sound may be heard in the affected ear , or there may be no symptoms at all . Rarely , the stapes may be completely absent . Function Situated between the incus and the inner ear , the stapes transmits sound vibrations from the incus to the oval window , a membrane covered opening to the inner ear . The stapes is also stabilized by the stapedius muscle , which is innervated by the facial nerve . Clinical relevance Otosclerosis is a congenital or spontaneous onset disease characterized by abnormal bone remodeling in the inner ear . Often this causes the stapes to adhere to the oval window , which impedes its ability to conduct sound , and is a cause of conductive hearing loss . Clinical otosclerosis is found in about 1 of people , although it is more common in forms that do not cause noticeable hearing loss . Otosclerosis is more likely in young age groups , and females . Two common treatments are unk , the surgical removal of the stapes and replacement with an artificial prosthesis , and unk , the creation of a small hole in the base of the stapes followed by the insertion of an artificial prosthesis into that hole . Surgery may be complicated by a persistent stapedial artery , fibrosis related damage to the base of the bone , or obliterative otosclerosis , resulting in obliteration of the base . History The stapes is commonly described as having been discovered by the professor Giovanni Filippo Ingrassia in 1546 at the University of Naples , although this remains the nature of some controversy , as Ingrassia 's description was published posthumously in his 1603 anatomical commentary In unk unk de unk unk et unk unk . Spanish anatomist Pedro Jimeno is first to have been credited with a published description , in Dialogus de re medica ( 1549 ) . The bone is so named because of its resemblance to a stirrup ( Latin stapes ) , an example of a late Latin word , probably created in mediaeval times from to stand ( Latin unk ) , as stirrups did not exist in the early Latin speaking world .
975
New York State Route 28B ( NY 28B ) was a state highway in Oneida County , New York , in the United States . The route served as a connector between NY 287 ( now NY 365 ) in the village of Prospect and NY 12 and NY 28 in the village of Remsen . It was assigned in the mid 1930s and removed in the mid 1960s , at which time most of the route became New York State Route 920V , an unsigned reference route . The alignment of NY 28B was originally part of legislative Route 26 and later Route 25 in the early 20th century . Route description NY 28B began at an intersection with NY 287 ( now mostly part of NY 365 ) at Church Street in the village of Prospect . The route headed to the northwest , following State Street through the northern portion of the village . At the northern village line , the amount of development along the route decreased substantially as it proceeded through the town of Trenton as Prospect Road . NY 28B continued northwest for 1 mile ( 1 . 6 km ) on a linear northwesterly routing through a rural section of Trenton to the northern town line , where it crossed into the town of Remsen . The route continued on this path for another 0 . 25 miles ( 0 . 40 km ) before turning towards the west and paralleling the town line into the village of Remsen . Within Remsen , NY 28B became known as Prospect Street as it headed westward for three blocks through the residential southeastern part of the village . In the last of the three , the route crossed over Cincinnati Creek just before intersecting Main Street . While Prospect Street ended here , NY 28B turned south onto Main Street , following it for two blocks to a junction with Steuben Street . Here , NY 28B turned west , passing through a slightly more rural area as it approached the divided highway carrying NY 12 and NY 28 around the western edge of the village . NY 28B ended upon meeting the arterial at the western village line . History In 1908 , the New York State Legislature created Route 26 , an unsigned legislative route extending from Little Falls to Remsen via Dolgeville , Salisbury , and Prospect . In Remsen , Route 26 ended at Route 25 , which followed the modern NY 12 corridor between Barneveld and Remsen . By 1920 , Route 26 was reconfigured to run directly from Barneveld to Little Falls while the portion of former Route 26 between Prospect and Remsen became part of a realigned Route 25 . When the first set of posted routes in New York were assigned in 1924 , the Barneveld Remsen portion of legislative Route 25 was bypassed by NY 12 , which was assigned to Route 25 's original , direct alignment between the two villages instead . The portion of legislative Route 25 between Barneveld and Prospect was designated as part of NY 287 in the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York . The section of legislative Route 25 from Prospect to Remsen was finally assigned a posted designation c . 1936 when it became part of NY 28B , an alternate route of NY 28 that extended west along NY 287 to Barneveld . At the time , NY 12 and NY 28 followed Mappa Avenue , Old State Road , and Main Street between Barneveld and Remsen while NY 287 and NY 28B were routed on Boon Street , Parker Hollow Road , and Church Street from Barneveld to Prospect . The overlap with NY 287 was eliminated in the early 1950s after NY 28B was truncated to begin in Prospect . By 1954 , NY 12 and NY 28 were shifted westward onto a new bypass around the village of Remsen . NY 28B was extended southward along NY 12 and NY 28 's former alignment on Main Street and westward on Steuben Street to meet the new highway . The NY 28B designation was eliminated in the mid 1960s and replaced with NY 920V , an unsigned reference route . Around the same time , NY 287 was realigned onto the bypass that now carries NY 365 around the northern fringe of the village of Prospect , truncating NY 920V to its current length . Major intersections The entire route was in Oneida County .
976
The Battle of Mauropotamos ( Greek unk ) was fought in 844 , between the armies of the Byzantine Empire and the Abbasid Caliphate , at Mauropotamos ( either in northern Bithynia or in Cappadocia ) . After a failed Byzantine attempt to recover the Emirate of Crete in the previous year , the Abbasids launched a raid into Asia Minor . The Byzantine regent , Theoktistos , headed the army that went to meet the invasion but was heavily defeated , and many of his officers defected to the Arabs . Internal unrest prevented the Abbasids from exploiting their victory , however . A truce and a prisoner exchange were consequently agreed in 845 , followed by a six year cessation of hostilities , as both powers focused their attention elsewhere . Background Following the restoration of the veneration of icons in March 843 , the Byzantine Empire 's government , headed by the Empress regent Theodora and the logothetes Theoktistos , embarked on a sustained assault on the Byzantines ' main political and ideological foe , the Abbasid Caliphate and its dependencies . This aggressive stance was on the one hand facilitated by the internal stability that the end of the Iconoclasm controversy brought , and on the other encouraged by a desire to vindicate the new policy through military victories against the Muslims . The first such campaign , an attempted reconquest of the Emirate of Crete led by Theoktistos in person , made initial gains , but ultimately ended in disaster . After scoring a victory over the Arabs in Crete , Theoktistos learned of a rumour that Theodora intended to name a new emperor , possibly her brother Bardas . Theoktistos hurried back to Constantinople , where he discovered that the rumour was false , but in his absence , the Byzantine army in Crete was routed by the Arabs . Battle In 844 , according to Byzantine sources , Theoktistos learned of an Arab invasion of Byzantine Asia Minor , led by a certain ' Amr , probably the semi autonomous emir of Malatya , Umar al Aqta . The Arab sources do not make explicit mention of this campaign . The Russian scholar Alexander Vasiliev , however , identified it with an expedition recorded in the poems of Abu Tammam and unk , which was led by general Abu Sa 'id and took place during the regency of Theodora . Umar al Aqta 's participation is likely , as he often aided the Abbasids in their raids against the Byzantines . According to Arab accounts , the troops led by Abu Sa 'id comprised men from the border emirates of Qaliqala ( Erzurum ) and Tarsus . The Arab forces united at unk ( possibly the border fort of unk ) before raiding through the Byzantine themes of Cappadocia , unk , unk , and Opsikion . Sa 'id 's troops sacked Dorylaion and even reached the shore of the Bosporus . Theoktistos led the Byzantine army in against the invaders , but was heavily defeated at Mauropotamos ( Black River ) . The location of the latter , if indeed it is a river and not a simple toponym , is disputed it was most likely a tributary of the Sangarius in Bithynia or of the Halys in Cappadocia . Not only did the Byzantines suffer heavy casualties , but many senior Byzantine officials defected to the Arabs . Theoktistos returned to Constantinople , where he blamed Bardas for the recent defeats and had him exiled from the capital . Aftermath The Abbasids were unable to exploit their success due to the internal instability of the Caliphate . Likewise , the Byzantines preferred to focus their strength against the ongoing conquest of Sicily by the Aghlabids . Thus , a Byzantine embassy was sent to Baghdad in 845 , which was warmly received . The Abbasids reciprocated with an embassy to Constantinople , where the two states agreed on a truce and a prisoner exchange , which was held at the river Lamos on 16 September 845 . A winter raid by the Arab governor of Tarsus shortly after failed disastrously , after which the Arab Byzantine frontier remained quiet for six years .
977
K 140 is a state highway in Ellsworth and Saline Counties in the U.S. state of Kansas . The highway travels 33 . 224 miles ( 53 . 469 km ) through mostly rural land between the cities of Ellsworth and Salina . In addition to connecting Ellsworth and Salina , K 140 travels through the communities of Carneiro , Brookville , and Bavaria . The highway has junctions with Kansas state highways K 14 , K 156 , K 111 , and K 141 , as well as Interstate 135 . The route was originally established as U.S. Route 40 and was redesignated K 140 after US 40 was made concurrent with Interstate 70 . K 140 is not a part of the United States National Highway System , and the entire route is paved with composite pavement . The western part of the highway is less traveled than the eastern part , with annual average daily traffic between 590 and 940 west of Brookville and between 700 and 1200 east of Brookville . Route description K 140 begins at a junction with K 14 north of Ellsworth . It heads 0 . 495 miles ( 0 . 797 km ) due east from here to meet K 156 . It then travels a farther 3 . 519 miles ( 5 . 663 km ) through mostly rural land to a junction with K 111 north of unk . After the junction with K 111 , K 140 continues through rural areas before it goes through the small unincorporated community of Carneiro . Just after passing through Carneiro K 140 turns more northerly , again passing through mostly rural areas . It then serves as the northern terminus of K 141 before continuing eastward into Saline County . K 140 travels a total of 16 . 455 miles ( 26 . 482 km ) in Ellsworth County . Entering Saline County K 140 travels in a general east northeast direction through rural land for 3 . 246 miles ( 5 . 224 km ) until entering Brookville . After traveling one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) through the city of Brookville , K 140 travels east then northeast to the unincorporated community of Bavaria . From there , the highway continues northeast through rural lands to its eastern terminus at Interstate 135 , with the road continuing east into the city of Salina as State Street . K 140 travels a total of 16 . 769 miles ( 26 . 987 km ) in Saline County . The total route length for K 140 is 33 . 224 miles ( 53 . 469 km ) . The entire route is paved with composite pavement ( concrete which has been overlaid with unk pavement ) . K 140 is not a part of the United States National Highway System . The route connects to the National Highway System at its junctions with K 156 and Interstate 135 . From the eastern city limits of Ellsworth to the end of the first 1 mile ( 1 . 6 km ) of the route , K 140 has an annual average daily traffic of 781 . Between miles 1 and 5 ( kilometers 1 . 6 and 8 . 0 ) , the annual average daily traffic ranges from a low of 730 to a high of 745 . From mile 5 ( kilometer 8 . 0 ) to mile 14 ( kilometer 23 ) the annual average daily traffic drops to between 590 and 650 . The amount of traffic then starts to rise as the highway crosses into Saline County , with annual average daily traffic ranging between 815 and 940 from mile 14 ( kilometer 23 ) to the western city limits of Brookville . From Brookville to mile 30 . 445 ( kilometer 48 . 996 ) the annual average daily traffic is higher , with a range between 1131 and 1200 . From there to the eastern terminus at Interstate 135 traffic levels vary widely , with annual average daily traffic ranging from 700 to 1193 . History K 140 's route was established in 1925 as U.S. Route 40S . By 1936 , the route had become the primary route of US 40 , with the old US 40N becoming U.S. Route 24 . By 1969 , after the majority of Interstate 70 had been completed , US 40 was rerouted to be concurrent with the newly constructed highway , and the old route of US 40 between Ellsworth and Salina was resigned as K 140 . The routing of K 140 has remained unchanged since . The K 140 route has been a paved road since at least 1932 . Major intersections
978
The 51st Boat Race took place on 22 March 1894 . The Boat Race is an annual side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . Oxford went into the race leading by 27 22 in the event and of the eighteen participants , half had previous Boat Race experience . Umpired by former rower Frank Willan , Oxford won the race by three and a half lengths in a time of 21 minutes 39 seconds , for their fifth consecutive victory in the event . It was the largest margin of victory since the 1883 race . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the boat clubs of University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities , as of 2014 it is followed throughout the United Kingdom and broadcast worldwide . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having beaten Cambridge by one and a quarter lengths in the previous year 's race , and held the overall lead , with 27 victories to Cambridge 's 22 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . Oxford were coached by William Fletcher ( who rowed for Oxford in the 1890 , 1891 , 1892 and 1893 races ) , R. C. Lehmann ( former president of the Cambridge Union Society and captain of the 1st Trinity Boat Club although he had rowed in the trials eights for Cambridge , he was never selected for the Blue boat ) and Douglas McLean ( an Oxford Blue five times between 1883 and 1887 ) . Cambridge 's coach was Charles William Moore ( who represented Cambridge in the 1881 , 1882 , 1883 and 1884 races ) . The umpire for the race for the sixth year in a row was Frank Willan who won the event four consecutive times , rowing for Oxford in the 1866 , 1867 , 1868 and 1869 races . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 12 st 3 lb ( 77 . 3 kg ) , 7 pounds ( 3 . 2 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . Cambridge 's crew contained four rowers who had previously participated in the Boat Race , including Lionel Arthur Edward Ollivant , Charles Thurstan Fogg unk , Robert Orme unk and Trevor Gwyn Elliot Lewis . Oxford saw five member 's of the previous year 's crew return , including Charles Murray Pitman and Hugh Benjamin Cotton who were rowing in their third consecutive Boat Race . The Dark Blues also saw the introduction of William Burton Stewart , a rugby union Blue who Drinkwater described as a useful heavy weight who had rowed for Brasenose and Leander Club at the Henley Royal Regatta . Eleven of the sixteen rowers were educated at Eton College . All of the competitors in the race were registered as British . Race Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , handing the Middlesex side of the river to Cambridge . The umpire was accompanied on his launch by the Duke of York ( later to become King George V ) . Despite a poor tide , weather conditions were good and the race commenced at 9 12 a.m. Rating 41 strokes per minute , Cambridge took a brief early lead but were soon overhauled by Oxford who led by half a length by the Mile Post . Taking advantage of the bend in the river , the Dark Blues continued to pull away and were clear of Cambridge by the time the crews passed below Hammersmith Bridge . At The Doves pub , Oxford were more than a length clear , and had extended that to three lengths clear by Chiswick and five by Barnes Bridge . unk down to a paddle , Oxford passed the finishing post with a three and a half length advantage , in a winning time of 21 minutes 39 seconds . It was Oxford 's fifth consecutive win , was their largest margin of victory since the 1883 race , and took the overall record in the event to 28 22 in their favour .
979
Live is a live album by American singer Usher . It was recorded on October 15 and 16 , 1998 in the singer 's hometown of Chattanooga , Tennessee , and released by LaFace Records on March 23 , 1999 . Both audio only and video longform versions were released it was distributed to break up the gap between Usher 's second and third studio albums , My Way ( 1997 ) and 8701 ( 2001 ) . Live received generally negative reviews from critics many criticized the poor live sound of Usher 's voice on the album . Live reached number 73 on the Billboard 200 , number 30 on the Top R B Albums and number 3 on the Top Music Videos . The album has sold over 200 , 000 copies in the United States , and both the audio and video versions have been certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America ( RIAA ) . Background Live was released to keep Usher 's fans satisfied during the four year break between My Way ( 1997 ) and 8701 , his second and third studio albums , respectively . During that time , Usher was busy pursuing an acting career in films The Faculty ( 1998 ) , Light It Up ( 1999 ) and Texas Rangers ( 2001 ) . The album was recorded at two free concerts Usher performed in his hometown of Chattanooga , Tennessee on October 15 and 16 , 1998 . Usher stated his reasons for releasing a live album in an interview with MTV , I really like the sound of a band , that 's one , just for myself , but there were so many people who didn 't get a chance to see the concert , so I came out with a live version of most of the songs on my album , and I came out with a home video for all the people who didn 't get a chance to see the performance , and a little bio of me as well . Seven of the songs included on Live are from Usher 's self titled debut album ( 1994 ) and My Way . A medley of songs originally performed by Bobby Brown Don 't Be Cruel , Every Little Step , Rock Wit 'cha and Roni is also featured on the album , along with covers of Force MDs ' Tender Love and LL Cool J 's I Need Love . Live was released in the United States by LaFace Records on March 23 , 1999 by means of compact disc , cassette and VHS formats along with the concert footage , the VHS features interviews with Usher . The audio version Live was later serviced to digital retailers for music download . Reception Live received generally negative reviews from music critics . Stephen Thomas Erlewine from Allmusic criticized Usher 's tired and weary live sound , although he praised the remixed songs at the end of the album . Entertainment Weekly 's J. D. Considine gave Live a C grade and wrote that , despite Usher 's performing ability , the audio album is boring without video footage of the concerts . Neva Chonin of Rolling Stone was unimpressed with Usher 's tinny sounding voice on Live . Live debuted at number 76 on the US Billboard 200 on the chart dated April 10 , 2011 , with first week sales of 21 , 000 copies . The album peaked at number 73 , and lasted nine weeks on the chart . On April 27 , 1999 Live was certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America ( RIAA ) , denoting the shipment of 500 , 000 units , and by the end of 2001 Live had sold over 200 , 000 copies in the US . It debuted and peaked at number 30 on the Top R B Albums , and remained on that chart for nine weeks . The video longform version of Live entered the US Top Music Videos chart at number four on the chart of April 10 , 1999 . It remained at number four for three weeks , before ascending to number three on May 1 , 1999 , where it peaked for one week . The RIAA certified the Live video gold , after it shipped 50 , 000 copies , on December 22 , 1999 . The video of the performance of Bedtime was made available at MTV.com , and the live version of Bedtime reached number 66 on the Hot R B Hip Hop Singles Tracks chart . Track listing Personnel Credits for Live adapted from Allmusic Charts and certifications
980
General Admiral ( Russian unk ) was a screw frigate ordered by the Imperial Russian Navy from the United States before the American Civil War . She spent the bulk of her career in the Mediterranean Sea where she evacuated insurgents and their families from Crete in 1868 during the Cretan Revolt . She was struck from the Navy List the following year and broken up in 1870 . Description General Admiral was a very large screw frigate designed by Captain 1st Rank Ivan Shestakov and named after General Admiral Grand Duke Konstantin Nikolayevich of Russia , commander of the Russian Navy . She was built of live oak , but was reinforced with diagonal and longitudinal iron braces . General Admiral displaced 5 , 669 long tons ( 5 , 760 t ) . She was 305 feet ( 93 . 0 m ) long between perpendiculars , had a beam of 54 feet 8 inches ( 16 . 7 m ) and a deep draft of 23 ft 6 in ( 7 . 2 m ) . She was sheathed in copper to reduce biofouling . A novel system of zinc pipes that penetrated sheathing and connected with the ventilation fan was installed in the hold to prevent the decay of her hull . Its efficacy is unknown although General Admiral 's short life suggests that it was not effective . Two steam engines , rated at a total of 2 , 000 indicated horsepower ( 1 , 500 kW ) , and six fire tube boilers powered the single propeller when the ship was under steam . Using her engines , she had a maximum speed of 12 . 25 knots ( 22 . 69 km h 14 . 10 mph ) . General Admiral 's propeller could be hoisted out of the water and her funnel retracted to improve her sailing qualities . She was considered to be an excellent sailer and could reach 14 knots ( 26 km h 16 mph ) under sail alone . She carried 750 long tons ( 760 t ) of coal which gave her a range of 5 , 000 nautical miles ( 9 , 300 km 5 , 800 mi ) , but it was her 75 days of provisions that were the practical limit of her endurance . General Admiral 's armament was made and installed in Russia . Her battery deck carried thirty six 60 pounder muzzle loading guns and four long 36 pounder chase guns . The upper deck had twenty four 60 pounder guns and two long 36 pounder chase guns . Two 3 pood shell guns were mounted fore and aft on revolving platforms . In 1862 her armament was revised and two 60 pounder and the two long 36 pounder guns on her upper deck were removed . Four years later , it was rearranged with two 60 pounders moved from her upper deck to the lower deck and two long 36 pounders moved from the lower deck to the upper deck . Career General Admiral was laid down on 21 September 1857 at the William H. Webb Shipyard in New York City . She was launched on 3 September 1858 and was delivered to Kronstadt on 15 March 1859 by an American crew , commanded by an American captain , although Captain Shestakov accompanied her back to Russia . Her total cost , including delivery , was 1 , 419 , 629 . 51 silver rubles . En route she only took 11 days to reach Cherbourg from New York City under steam , a record time for a warship at that time . She sailed for the Mediterranean the following year under the command of Captain Shestakov , stopping at Kiel in July 1860 . While in the Mediterranean she made port visits at Beirut , Piraeus and Nice . General Admiral departed Nice on 16 April 1863 for the Baltic Sea . She met the newly completed coast defence ship Pervenets en route and escorted her from England to the Baltic . Three years later , on 8 June 1866 , General Admiral departed Kronstadt for the Mediterranean , making a port visit at Copenhagen on 22 June en route . In June 1867 she made another port visit at Piraeus before leaving Cadiz on 26 July bound for the Baltic . She returned to the Mediterranean the next year and evacuated Cretan insurgents and their families in 1868 during the Cretan Revolt against the Ottoman Empire . Having returned to Russia by 1869 , she was struck from the Navy List on 26 June 1869 and broken up the following year .
981
Tickle Cock Bridge is a pedestrian underpass in Castleford , England , under a railway line originally built by the York and North Midland Railway between York and Normanton . Built in 1890 , the thoroughfare now connects the town 's main residential area with the Carlton Lanes Shopping Centre , and is used by 50 , 000 pedestrians each week . The original Victorian structure , described by the shopping centre 's manager as small , narrow , very low and gloomy and frightening to walk through , was replaced in 2008 as part of an urban regeneration scheme . The replacement bridge was initially renamed Tittle Cott . After a protest organised by a local over 50s group , Wakefield Council reversed its decision and a plaque bearing the original name , Tickle Cock , was installed . Etymology The word cock was first recorded in use as a vulgar term for the penis in 1618 , perhaps deriving from one of the word 's other meanings a spout or short pipe serving as a channel for passing liquids through . It was once common in England for areas to be given names that reflected their function or the activity taking place within them . Local historian Brian Lewis believes that may be the explanation for the name that locals gave to the bridge during the late 19th or early 20th century the underpass would function in the same way as any ' monkey run ' , where you paraded up and down to find a boyfriend or girlfriend . Replacement The new underpass was designed by architects Deborah unk and Sam Potter of unk in collaboration with Brian Lewis and artist Martin Richman . Funding for the project was provided jointly by Wakefield Council , the Neighbourhood Renewal Fund , Network Rail , and the Arts Council England , Yorkshire . After a competition in 2003 , design and planning work continued until 2007 . The Victorian underpass was replaced by a prefabricated concrete tunnel , twice the width and 2 feet ( 0 . 61 m ) taller than the original , by construction engineers Jane Wernick Associates in December 2005 . As the installation took place under a live railway line that was supported by the underpass , work was planned to cause the minimum disruption to train services the line had to be closed for only two days Christmas Day and Boxing Day 2005 . The bridge 's surroundings were improved in 2008 , with better lighting , a new green space , and an angular seating shelter facing south west to catch the sun in the evening . Richman worked on the lighting scheme , and the designers decided to line the walls of the underpass with a tactile red flock material , as an allusion to its colourful history . The new bridge was opened on 27 June 2008 by Councillors Denise Jefferey and Mark Burns Williamson . The Times newspaper described the 200 , 000 structure as a piece of sophisticated concrete geometry . unk commented that it is about cheering up those spots planning usually forgets about . The replacement of the underpass was one of twelve elements in the Castleford Regeneration Project , originally proposed in 2001 . It was featured in a four part television series , Kevin McCloud and the Big Town Plan , broadcast by Channel 4 in August September 2008 . Naming controversy The council decided to name the new underpass Tittle Cott , a move that was met with dismay by local residents . The Castleford Area Voice for the Elderly , an over 50s group , organised a campaign to have the name Tickle Cock restored . The group 's chairman , Margaret Shillito , was quoted in the press as saying the old plaque was wrong , it had the wrong name on and we were offended by it . Brian Lewis was quoted as saying I feel we should never alter names and Tickle Cock has a very clear message behind it . A public meeting was held at which a large majority voted in favour of reverting to the original name , a decision that persuaded the council to replace the bridge 's plaque with one bearing the legend Tickle Cock .
982
M 61 is a state trunkline highway in the US state of Michigan that runs between Marion and Standish . The highway runs along the boundary area between Northern Michigan and Central Michigan in the Lower Peninsula . M 61 runs through rural forestland connecting several smaller communities together as it connects M 115 , US Highway 127 ( US 127 ) , Interstate 75 ( I 75 ) and US 23 . Less than 10 , 000 vehicles a day use various segments of the roadway on average . The trunkline was first designated along a portion of its current alignment by 1919 . M 61 was extended in segments through 1940 , with a truncation at the end of the 1950s . One change in routing in the 1970s resulted in the current routing of the highway . Route description M 61 starts in eastern Osceola County south of Marion at an intersection with M 115 . It runs eastward and meets M 66 before crossing into Clare County . The highway runs along the boundary between the regions of Northern and Central Michigan through forest land and crosses the Muskegon River en route to Harrison . There it follows Main Street into town to an intersection with 1st Street near Budd Lake . M 61 turns south at the intersection and joins the business loop of US 127 ( Bus . US 127 ) through town . Bus . US 127 M 61 follows Clare Avenue south of the city to exit 170 on the US 127 freeway . The business loop ends , and M 61 turns east along Gladwin Road . The highway passes south of Wiggins Lake as it approaches the junction with M 18 in Gladwin . The two highways run concurrently on Cedar Avenue for approximately ten blocks through downtown . M 61 leaves town on the east side near the airport . The highway continues eastward to a junction with M 30 ( Meridian Road ) in White Star on the west banks of the Smallwood Lake section of the Tittabawassee River . The highway crosses the river and runs through Wooden Shoe Village as it continues through the Au Sable State Forest , crossing extreme northern Bay County . The trunkline crosses into Arenac County before meeting I 75 and US 23 in Arenac County near Standish . The Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) maintains M 61 like all other state trunkline highways in the state . As a part of these maintenance responsibilities , the department tracks the volume of traffic along its roadways using a metric called average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) . This is a measurement of the traffic along a segment of roadway for any average day of the year . The highest traffic level for M 61 in MDOT 's 2009 surveys was 9 , 257 vehicles per day along the Harrison business loop . The lowest AADT was 981 vehicles daily between the Osceola Clare county line and the Muskegon River crossing . No section of M 61 has been added to the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's defense , economy and mobility . History On July 1 , 1919 , when the rest of the state highway system was first signed , M 61 ran between M 18 at Gladwin to M 30 at White Star . A decade later in 1929 , M 61 was extended south to Winegars along M 30 and then northeasterly zig zagging through Highwood and Bentley to Standish . This eastern extension was straightened in 1932 , bypassing the route south through Winegars and Bentley to use a direct course between White Star and Standish . At the same time , a second , discontinuous section of M 61 was created when a section of the contemporary M 63 was redesignated M 61 between US 131 at Tustin and M 115 near Marion . At the same time , additional county roads were upgraded to state highways , extending the western M 61 to US 127 in Harrison . The gap between Harrison and Gladwin was eliminated in 1940 when the roadway was built between the two towns . At the end of the 1950s , M 61 's designation was removed between M 115 and US 131 . The western end was realigned in 1974 to bypass Marion , shortening the route of M 61 . Major intersections
983
Polytolypa is a monotypic genus of fungus containing the single species Polytolypa hystricis . First classified in the Onygenaceae family , as of 2008 it is considered to be in the unk , although there is still uncertainty as to its phylogenetic relationships with other similar genera . This species is only known from a single specimen derived in the laboratory from a specimen of dung of the North American porcupine , Erethizon unk , collected in Ontario , Canada . Polytolypa hystricis contains bioactive compounds that have antifungal activity . Taxonomy , phylogeny , and naming The genus was first described in 1993 by University of Toronto botanists J.A. Scott and D.W. Malloch , who grew the fungus in moist chamber cultures of porcupine dung collected in Stoneleigh , Ontario , Canada . The generic name Polytolypa is from the Greek word poly ( unk ) meaning many , and unk ( unk ) , meaning unk of yarn . The specific epithet hystricis comes from the Greek hystrix ( unk ) , or porcupine . The genus has been classified in the Onygenaceae , a fungal family characterized by species capable of digesting human hair in vitro , and with spores that are punctate ( with minute surface punctures ) when viewed with scanning electron microscopy . However , as Scott and colleagues demonstrated using traditional laboratory tests to determine unk activity , P. unk is not able to digest hair . There is still uncertainty as to its phylogenetic relationships with other similar genera . Polytolypa is thought to be evolutionarily most closely related to the genera unk and unk . The grouping of Polytolypa and unk represent a sister clade to the unk clade , based on analysis of partial nuclear LSU sequence data . However , the phylogenetics of Polytolypa are still unclear and await further study . The 10th edition of the Dictionary of the Fungi ( 2008 ) considers the genus to be in the unk family , although uncertainty with this classification is indicated in the entry in contrast , the online mycological database MycoBank classifies the genus in the Onygenaceae . Description The ascus containing reproductive structures , or ascomata , are minute , spherical bodies , typically 200 400 m in diameter . They start out white , but gradually become rusty brown in maturity . The ascomata , which may be clustered together in groups or scattered about , grow in a shallow layer of hairs ( actually fungal mycelia ) called a tomentum . The ascomata have appendages composed of numerous coiled , sometimes branched helices of hyphae that are coiled 3 15 times . The ascospores produced by Polytolypa are ellipsoidal , yellow to yellow orange in color , with dimensions of 2 . 5 5 by 3 4 m . Viewed with a light microscope their surfaces appear to be smooth , but under scanning electron microscopy , they are revealed to be densely marked with punctures and small , hard , sharp projections . The structures that produce the ascospores are called asci . In Polytolypa they are numerous , spherical , and measure 9 10 by 12 13 m . Each ascus contains eight ascospores , which are released when the ascus dissolves away at maturity . The anamorph ( asexual form of the fungus ) resembles the genus unk . Habitat and distribution Polytolypa hystricis is known only from the dung of the North American porcupine , Erethizon unk . Porcupine dens accumulate thick layers of nutrient rich dung , hair and urine that are degraded by a succession of fungi . These fungi are disseminated by arthropods ( such as insects ) or by the porcupine themselves . Bioactive compounds Chemical analysis has shown that Polytolypa hystricis contains a unique unk chemical named unk , as well two compounds known previously as metabolites from unk unk ( unk unk ) . Both unk and one of the previously identified compounds have moderate antifungal activity against the species unk furfuraceous , while unk alone can inhibit the growth of Candida albicans .
984
Eeyore 's Birthday Party is a day long festival taking place annually in Austin , Texas since 1963 . It typically occurs on the last Saturday of April in Austin 's Pease District Park . It includes live music , food and drink vending which benefit local non profit organizations , attendees in colorful costumes , and very large drum circles . The event is frequented by children and families , with specific events presented for them by the event organizers . The festival is named in honor of Eeyore , a character in A. A. Milne 's Winnie the Pooh stories . History Eeyore 's Birthday Party began in 1963 as a spring party and picnic for Department of English students at the University of Texas at Austin by Lloyd W. Birdwell , Jr. and other UT students . It was named for Eeyore , a chronically depressed donkey in A. A. Milne 's Winnie the Pooh stories who , in one story , believes his friends have forgotten his birthday only to discover they have planned a surprise party for him . Despite its name , the event does not fall on the official birthday of the fictional character . The original event featured a trashcan full of lemonade , beer , honey sandwiches , a live , flower draped donkey , and a may pole ( in keeping with the event 's proximity to May Day ) . For many years the party was a UT tradition , but subsequently the annual Birthday Party became a tradition in Austin 's hippie subculture . When the festival moved from unk Park to Pease District Park in 1974 , Austin area non profit Friends of the Forest Foundation , an organization which distributes funds to other area charities , began arranging for food and drink vendors at the festival . They continue this task today along with arranging public services ( toilets , buses , security , medics ) and scheduling live music and family oriented games and contests . The event is still known to most as a festival oriented towards modern hippies . It now boasts an annual attendance in the thousands . Over time , the festival has outgrown its original founders . It is now sponsored by the Friends of the Forest Foundation . Contemporary Drummers bring a wide variety of instruments from hand drums to kettledrums . What started as a small picnic for University of Texas at Austin students has today swelled to a major annual festival with live bands , non profit vendors of food , drink and local beers , as well as a children 's area complete with arts and crafts and carnival games , family oriented games and contests such as costume contests , and an egg toss . Attendance at the Birthday Party is free . Weather permitting , it occurs on the last Saturday in April in Pease District Park a rain date is scheduled for the following weekend . Bright and diverse costumes are common . In keeping with the original traditions of the event , a live donkey and a may pole are always present . The event begins in the late morning and continues until dusk . Food and drinks are sold onsite by local Austin unk 3 non profit groups . Purified water is available onsite for participants to fill their own containers . Due to the lack of parking in the area and the high attendance , the Friends of the Forest Foundation provides festive shuttle buses between state parking lots just north of the capitol building and Pease Park . Singing of folk and road trip songs is encouraged on the short bus ride . Eeyore 's Birthday Party is attended by people from a wide variety of backgrounds and ages , some of whom may have been attending for decades . Austin 's hippie community still puts in a major appearance at the event , which they celebrate by forming large drum circles which can sometimes contain hundreds of drummers and dancers in the large areas of the park not occupied by other events . Members of the Deaf community like the drum circles because they can feel the vibrations . As of 2008 , the event has also spread to Seattle 's Cal Anderson Park as an annual celebration .
985
Phallus calongei is a species of stinkhorn mushroom . Found in Pakistan , it was described as new to science in 2009 . Starting out as an egg , the fully expanded fruit body consists of a single , thick , stipe with a cap attached to the apex and covered with olive green , slimy spore containing gleba . It is distinguished from other similar Phallus species by a combination of features , including a pinkish , reticulated ( network like ) cap , and a stipe that is tapered at both ends . The edibility of the mushroom is unknown . Discovery , taxonomy and classification Phallus calongei was discovered on June 16 , 2008 , near the unk stream in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa ( formerly known as the North Western Frontier Province ) in Pakistan . It was described as new to science in a 2009 Mycotaxon publication . The specific epithet calongei honors Spanish mycologist Francisco D. Calonge who has written extensively on the Gasteromycetes , and who has himself published or co published three Phallus species P. unk ( Kreisel Calonge ) , P. maderensis ( Calonge ) and P. unk ( Kreisel Calonge ) . P. calongei is one of four Phallus species known to exist in Pakistan , the others being P. unk , P. impudicus , and P. unk . According to the infrageneric classification scheme proposed by German mycologist Hanns Kreisel in 1996 , Phallus calongei belongs in the subgenus Phallus , section unk of the genus Phallus . Other species in this section include P. unk , P. tenuis , P. unk , P. unk , P. multicolor , and P. cinnabarinus . A number of features distinguish P. calongei from these , including an undeveloped white volva , a stipe tapered at both ends , a deeply pitted and reticulate cap surface with pinkish ridges , and no indusium ( a lacy skirt hanging from the cap , present in some Phallus species ) . Description As a member of the genus Phallus , the shape of P. calongei mushrooms assume the general form of a phallus ( an erect human penis ) with a single elongated hollow stipe topped by a bulbous cap like structure at the apex . The fruit bodies of P. calongei start out appearing similar to whitish eggs , with a membranous exoperidium ( outer tissue layer ) and gelatinous , translucent endoperidium ( inner tissue layer ) . The fully expanded fruit body consists of a single , thick , stalk with a ridged and pitted cap attached to the apex the cap is covered with olive green , slimy gleba . The fruit body can reach up to 24 cm ( 9 . 4 in ) tall and 3 cm ( 1 . 2 in ) thick . It is whitish and hollow , slightly tapered at both ends , and has a wall that consists of layers of perforated chambers . At the apex of the stalk is the cap , which can be up to 7 cm ( 2 . 8 in ) high and 4 cm ( 1 . 6 in ) thick . It is bell shaped to conical truncate with a pitted surface . As the gleba dissipates , the cap surface becomes strongly reticulated forming a network of raised pinkish ridges . The tip of the cap is truncated , with a depressed and perforated surface . The gleba is olive green , fetid , and deliquescent ( melting away gradually ) . The spores are ellipsoid , smooth , and hyaline ( translucent ) , measuring 3 . 5 4 . 5 by 1 . 5 2 . 0 m . The exoperidium of the egg remains at the base of the fruit body as a thin , membranous , undeveloped white volva . The edibility of the mushroom has not been determined . Similar species The only other Phallus species known with a pinkish colored cap is P. unk its conical cap has a surface that is wrinkled , not reticulate . Other similar species include P. hadriani , which has a purple volva , P. unk , which has a reddish volva , and P. unk , which has a pale pink stipe and volva . Habitat and distribution All species of Phallus are known to be saprobic , feeding off dead and decaying organic matter . P. calongei is known only from the type locality in Pakistan , where it was found growing on the ground at 2 , 575 metres ( 8 , 448 ft ) above sea level .
986
Wanita dan Satria ( unk unk unk Indonesian for The Woman and the Hero ) is a 1941 film from the Dutch East Indies ( now Indonesia ) directed by Rd Ariffien and produced by Ang Hock Liem for Union Films that is probably lost . Starring Djoewariah , Ratna Djoewita , Hidajat , Z. unk , and Moesa , it follows a womaniser named Soedrajat who abuses his status to gain women 's trust before ultimately getting his comeuppance . Reviews were mostly positive , with one praising the film 's depiction of women 's issues in a Muslim society . Plot Soedrajat abuses his high social status in order to unk and becomes his rich uncle 's heir despite the latter having a son , the kindly and noble Soelarsa . The uncle is disappointed with Soelarsa and considers Soedrajat the better man . Being considered high class , he is unwilling to associate with people of the lower classes . Ultimately Soedrajat falls for a beautiful young woman , Koestijah . Meanwhile , Soelarsa saves Koestijah 's life while driving a truck through her village the two fall in love at first sight . By manipulating Koestijah 's father , Soedrajat arranges for her to marry him . At the wedding , however , the terrible truth about Soedrajat is revealed . One of his former conquests , Tarmini , stands up and tells the crowd , including Soelarsa , of the bridegroom 's true nature . In a rage , Soedrajat takes a revolver and shoots Tarmini . With her dying breath , Tarmini makes one last confession . Her father then takes revenge on Soedrajat . Production Wanita dan Satria was produced by Ang Hock Liem for Union Films . It was directed by Rd Ariffien , a former theatre leader and nationalist journalist who had made his directorial debut the preceding year with Harta Berdarah . The story was written by Saeroen , a former journalist with several screenwriting credits for Union . The black and white film starred Djoewariah , Ratna Djoewita , Hidajat , Z. unk , and Moesa . Moesa was the most experienced of these he had entered the industry in 1938 with Fatima , a production by Tan 's Film , and had been with Union since 1940 . Djoewariah had been on Union 's payroll since Bajar dengan Djiwa in 1940 , while Ratna Djoewita and Hidajat had not appeared in any films before 1941 . Release and reception Wanita dan Satria was released in 1941 , reaching Bandung by August and Surabaya by September . The film was open to all ages . A novelisation was published later in 1941 by the Yogyakarta based Kolff Buning . As part of the growing movement to attract Indonesian intellectuals , the marketing staff emphasised the respectable ( non theatrical ) background of the actors the intelligentsia had little respect for traditional theatre and its players . A review in the Surabaya based Soerabaijasch Handelsblad wrote that the film gives a clear picture of the precarious position of Indonesian women and motivates the desire for a firmer outline of her rights in the Moslem society . Another review in the same newspaper wrote that the film is captivating from start to finish , one which the film audience in Surabaya should certainly not miss . Legacy After Wanita dan Satria , Union produced a further two films none of these were by Rd . Ariffien , who had left the company . Saeroen likewise left soon after , joining Star Film . Djoewariah continued to act until the 1950s , when she migrated to theatre after receiving a series of increasingly minor roles . Neither Ratna Djoewita nor Hidajat appeared in any films after 1941 . The film is likely lost the American visual anthropologist Karl G. Heider writes that all Indonesian films from before 1950 are lost . However , JB Kristanto 's Katalog Film Indonesia ( Indonesian Film Catalogue ) records several as having survived at Sinematek Indonesia 's archives , and Biran writes that several Japanese propaganda films have survived at the Netherlands Government Information Service . Explanatory notes
987
4 The Remix is an extended play ( EP ) by American R B singer Beyonc , released through Columbia Records on April 23 , 2012 . Prior to the release of the extended play , Beyonc organised a remix competition for her then upcoming single End of Time . The remix was chosen by a judging panel and the winner of the competition was unk Jimek Dbski . 4 The Remix contains six remixes of the songs from Beyonc 's fourth studio album , 4 , released in 2011 a Dave Aud remix of Run the World ( Girls ) , Isa Machine remix of Countdown , Lars B remix of Best Thing I Never Had , DJ Escape and Tony Coluccio remix of Love on Top and two remixes of End of Time by WAWA and unk . After its release , the EP debuted on the UK R B Albums Chart at number twenty eight . It also appeared on Billboard 's component charts , Dance Electronic Albums and Top R B Hip Hop Albums at number eleven and number thirty respectively . Background On February 8 , 2012 , it was announced through Beyonc 's website and a press release issued by Parkwood Entertainment and Columbia Records that End of Time would be released as the fifth single from her fourth studio album , 4 . Preceding its release , a remix competition for the song began in association with audio sharing site SoundCloud , which enabled public voting on the submission of remixes by participants . The contest was open to entrants in 25 countries from February 8 , 2012 to March 9 , 2012 it was announced that the remix winner would win a cash prize of US 4 , 000 and that the remix would be included on her then unspecified upcoming release , which was later titled 4 The Remix . Over two thousand entries had been uploaded to SoundCloud by March 4 , 2012 , and the following day another press release was issued , announcing the members of the international judging panel who would choose the winner of the competition the panel consisted of Beyonc , British musician Isabella Summers of Florence and the Machine , Dutch music producer and DJ Afrojack , the duo DJ and Polish producing team WAWA , New York premier DJ Jus unk , and Oscar winning producer and composer Giorgio Moroder . The public was able to vote for entries and SoundCloud , and the top 50 ranked remixes were reviewed by the announced panel of judges the originality , creativity and musicality of these 50 remixes were taken into consideration when choosing the winner . On April 17 , unk Jimek Dbski from Poland was announced as the winner in a press release . Release and production On April 17 , 2012 , the release of the remix extended play ( EP ) titled 4 The Remix , along with its cover artwork and US release date of April 24 , 2012 , was announced . The EP was released in digital stores in France , Ireland , United Kingdom , Belgium , Finland , Denmark , Australia , New Zealand , Greece , Netherlands , Sweden , Poland , Malta , Argentina , Colombia , Brazil , Mexico , Canada , and United States on April 23 , 2012 and South Korea on April 27 , 2012 . The album consists of six remixes of songs from Beyonc 's fourth studio album , 4 ( 2011 ) . It comprises a Dave Aud remix of Run the World ( Girls ) , an Isa Machine remix of Countdown , a Lars B remix of Best Thing I Never Had , a DJ Escape and Tony Coluccio remix of Love on Top and two remixes of End of Time one by WAWA and the other by Jimek . Chart performance 4 The Remix debuted on the UK R B Albums Chart at number twenty eight and number forty four on the UK Budget Albums for the week of May 5 , 2012 . For the issue of Billboard dated May 12 , 2012 , 4 The Remix debuted at number eleven on the US Dance Electronic Albums chart , and number thirty on the R B Hip Hop Albums chart . Track listing Writing credits for the songs are taken from the booklet of 4 . ( ) Denotes co producer Credits and personnel Credits for 4 The Remix , taken from the liner notes of the EP . Charts Release history
988
Midnight Sun ( 1940 65 ) was one of the leading sires of the Tennessee Walking Horse breed , and a two time World Grand Champion in 1945 and 1946 . He was trained by Fred Walker and lived almost all his life at Harlinsdale Farm in Franklin , Tennessee . Midnight Sun sired approximately 2 , 600 foals in his life , one of which became the three time World Grand Champion The Talk of the Town . Of the horses that have won the annual Tennessee Walking Horse World Grand Championship since 1949 , only four were not of Midnight Sun 's bloodline . Life and winnings Midnight Sun was foaled on June 8 , 1940 , out of a mostly Standardbred mare named Ramsey 's Rena , and sired by the stallion Wilson 's Allen . He was a solid black stallion who matured to just under 16 hands ( 64 inches , 163 cm ) and weighed 1 , 350 pounds ( 610 kg ) , unusually stout for his breed . His original name was Joe Lewis Wilson . Through his sire Midnight Sun was a great grandson of Black Allan , also known as Allan F 1 , who was the foundation sire of the Tennessee Walking Horse breed . Midnight Sun 's half brother on his sire 's side , Strolling Jim , became the first ever National Champion in 1939 , and three of his other siblings were early champions as well . In 1944 Midnight Sun was bought by Wirt and Alex Harlin for 4 , 400 and taken to their Harlinsdale Farm . Midnight Sun was trained by Fred Walker . He became the first Tennessee Walking Horse to win the World Grand Championship title when it was first awarded in 1945 , and he followed up that win with another World Grand Championship the next year , in 1946 , making him the second repeat winner after Haynes Peacock , his half brother . At the time , the stake carried a purse of 1 , 000 . Midnight Sun was known for his calm disposition it wasn 't uncommon for unk at his home , Harlinsdale Farm near Franklin , Tennessee , to let visiting children ride him bareback , so they could say they rode a two time world grand champion . In 1956 he was bought by Eleanor and Geraldine Livingston at the Harlinsdale Farm dispersal sale , for 50 , 000 . The unk stipulated that Midnight Sun be kept at Harlinsdale under the same routine he had had for most of his life . He continued to stand at stud on the farm until his death , and was handled and groomed nearly all his life by Red Laws , who died within a year of the horse 's death . Midnight Sun was never turned out , and Laws once said , Somebody had hold of him all his life . In all , he lived at Harlinsdale Farm for 21 years . Midnight Sun died of colic on November 7 , 1965 , and was buried at Harlinsdale Farm , where his grave is still visible today . Legacy Midnight Sun has been described as the single most influential Tennessee Walking Horse sire and a sire of sires . Since 1949 , only four horses not of Midnight Sun 's line have won the Tennessee Walking Horse World Grand Championship , the breed 's highest honor . Midnight Sun sired five horses who won the World Grand Championship Midnight Merry in 1949 The Talk of the Town in 1951 , 1952 , and 1953 Sun 's Jet Parade in 1957 Setting Sun in 1958 and Sun 's Delight D. in 1963 . One of these , The Talk of the Town , was the first three time World Grand Champion . Midnight Sun was also great grandsire of I Am Jose , the second three time winner . Most of the leading Tennessee Walker sires in recent years have themselves been descendants of Midnight Sun . Midnight Sun sired approximately 2 , 600 foals in his lifetime , and during his stud career earned his owners close to 100 , 000 a year , mostly through the then new use of artificial insemination ( AI ) . Through his offspring , he has also influenced the Racking Horse and Spotted Saddle Horse breeds . For many years , a life size statue of Midnight Sun , commissioned after his death by his former owner Geraldine Livingston , stood at the TWHBEA headquarters in Lewisburg , Tennessee . Pedigree Denotes inbreeding
989
The 49th Boat Race took place on 9 April 1892 . The Boat Race is an annual side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . Oxford went into the event as reigning champions , having won the previous year 's race . In total , twelve of the competitors had previous Boat Race experience . In a race umpired by former rower Frank Willan , Oxford won by two and a quarter lengths in a time of 19 minutes 10 seconds . It was their third consecutive victory and the fastest time in the history of the event . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the boat clubs of University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities as of 2014 it is followed throughout the United Kingdom and broadcast worldwide . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having beaten Cambridge by half a length in the previous year 's race , and held the overall lead , with 25 victories to Cambridge 's 22 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . Oxford 's coaches were F. P. Bully , R. C. Lehmann ( former president of the Cambridge Union Society and captain of the 1st Trinity Boat Club although he had rowed in the trial eights for Cambridge , he was never selected for the Blue boat ) Douglas McLean ( who rowed five times for Oxford between 1883 and 1887 ) , and Guy Nickalls ( five time Blue between 1887 and 1891 ) . Lehmann had briefly coached Cambridge in the early stages of their preparation . The umpire for the race for the fourth year in a row was Frank Willan who won the event four consecutive times , rowing for Oxford in the 1866 , 1867 , 1868 and 1869 races . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 12 st 3 lb ( 77 . 4 kg ) , 5 . 125 pounds ( 2 . 3 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . Cambridge 's crew contained two rowers with no experience in the event , Robert Grieve Neill rowing at number two and Graham Campbell Kerr at number six . Four of their crew attended Trinity Hall . Oxford saw four rowers and the cox return from the previous year 's race , and included Guy Nickalls rowing in his fourth consecutive event . Six of the Dark Blues had been pupils at Eton College , and four were studying at Magdalen College . One rower was registered as non British Edward Wason Lord for Cambridge hailed from Australia , having attending Brisbane Grammar School . Race Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey side of the river to Cambridge , the pre race favourites ( although former rower and author George Drinkwater states this was as a result of a practice row after which Oxford 's time was inaccurately reported in the press ) . Conditions for the race were described by Drinkwater as perfect with a light breeze from the east and a good tide . Oxford led from the start and were half a length ahead by Craven Steps ( approximately 1 , 080 yards ( 990 m ) along the course ) , extending to almost a length at Harrods Furniture Depository . A spurt from Cambridge 's stroke Gerard Elin reduced the deficit and by Hammersmith Bridge they were half a length down . A malfunctioning slide rendered Elin 's contributions to the Light Blues ' efforts negligible and Oxford accelerated away , being two lengths up by Chiswick and four lengths ahead as they passed under Barnes Bridge . They passed the finishing post two and a quarter lengths ahead in a time of 19 minutes and 10 seconds . It was Oxford 's third consecutive victory , and was the fastest winning time in the history of the race ( when held on the Championship Course ) , beating the 1873 race winning time by 25 seconds .
990
The Bugun liocichla ( Liocichla unk ) is a passerine bird species from the unk family closely related to the Emei Shan liocichla . First spotted in 1995 in Arunachal Pradesh , India , it was described as a new species in 2006 . The description was made without the collection of a type specimen as they were too few to risk killing one . It is thought to be an endangered species , with the only known population estimated to consist of 14 individuals and commercial development threatening the habitat of this population . Description The Bugun liocichla is a small babbler ( 22 cm ( 8 . 7 in ) ) with olive grey plumage and a black cap . The face is marked with prominent orange yellow lores , and the wings have yellow , red and white patches . The tail is black with crimson coloured undertail coverts and red tips . The feet are pink and the bill is black at the face fading to pale white . A second duller individual was mist netted , which was probably the female . The voice is described as unk and distinctive . Distribution and habitat All sightings of the species have been at an altitude of 2 , 000 m ( 6 , 600 ft ) on disturbed hillsides covered with shrubs and small trees , with the exception of one sighting on the edge of primary forest . It lives in a territory similar to that of the Emei Shan liocichla . Small flocks were observed during January , whereas pairs were observed in May , with an estimated total of 14 individuals . It is thought that pairs may hold and defend territories . The Bugun liocichla is only currently known from just one location . Populations may be discovered in other areas of Arunachal Pradesh or neighbouring Bhutan . Attempts have been made to identify new locations where the species could occur based on identification of suitable habitats using computational models . Species discovery The species was described in 2006 after being discovered in unk Wildlife Sanctuary in Arunachal Pradesh , India , by an astrophysicist , Ramana unk . The species was first spotted in the sanctuary in 1995 but was not seen again for ten years . unk spotted them again in January 2005 but did not publicize it until he was able to confirm it to be a new species . It was initially identified as appearing most similar to an Emei Shan liocichla , Liocichla unk , a species of Liocichla endemic to China . It was however distinctly different and the full description was finally made by capturing and examining two individuals using unk , in May 2006 . Due to the apparent rarity of the species no type specimen was collected , instead feathers from the mist net , photographs , recordings and notes were used as the holotype . The International Code of Zoological Nomenclature does not allow for new species to be described without the collection of type specimens , but this provision was circumvented in this case by the collection of feathers ( the Code allows for any part of an animal to be treated as a type specimen Art. 72 . 5 . 1 ) . The 1991 description of the unk Burti unk ( unk unk ) , an African unk species later considered invalid , lacked a specimen and only blood samples were collected and has been more controversial . The first report of the species was first made in a posting to the unk India , an electronic mailing list in 1996 . It was only in 2006 , however that the species was formally described . Etymology The species ' scientific and common names are derived from the Bugun tribe in whose communal forests the species was discovered . Threats and conservation For a spectacular bird with distinctive calls to have been overlooked until 1995 suggests that the species is not common . Only three breeding pairs are currently known and is listed as critically endangered . While the species is capable of living in degraded forests , its small population is considered threatened , especially in the light of plans to build a highway through an area thought to be its primary habitat .
991
Sheldon Manor near Chippenham , Wiltshire , England , is Wiltshire 's oldest inhabited manor house and dates back to Saxon times . Its structure is mostly 17th century and it is a Grade I listed building . History The medieval settlement of Sheldon , first mentioned in 803 , no longer exists , having been deserted by 1582 a 1976 survey confirmed its remains to lie to the rear of the Manor , which itself stands on the site of an older habitation known as The Holloway . The manor of Sheldon was granted to Sir William de unk in about 1180 on his death , as a Norman , it was forfeit to The Crown as an escheat and then granted to the de unk family in 1231 by Henry III . In 1250 it passed to Sir Geoffrey unk on his marriage to Joan de unk . In 1424 the Manor was sold to Sir Walter Hungerford , and after some time was eventually granted to Catherine Parr temporarily until the Hungerford heir achieved majority . For many years , the property was tenanted until Sir Edward Hungerford sold the Manor in 1684 and in 1711 it was bought by William Norris , whose last survivor died in 1828 . In 1854 it was bought by Sir Gabriel Goldney , whose son lived there until 1911 , followed by the Bailey family . From 1917 the Manor was owned by the Gibbs family being Major Martin Anthony Gibbs ( 1916 1994 ) , a former High Sheriff of Wiltshire , his wife Elsie Margaret Mary ( 1922 2012 , ne Hamilton Dalrymple ) and their six children . In 1982 , Mrs Gibbs published a historical and architectural account of the Manor . The Manor is now within the civil parish of Chippenham Without unbroken occupation since 1282 makes Sheldon Manor Wiltshire 's longest continuously inhabited manor house . It was granted Grade I listed building status by the Historic Building and Monuments Commission for England in 1960 . Architecture and antiques The earliest parts of the structure are thought to be a window on the west side and the porch , dating back to the late 13th century . Pevsner considered the porch to be astounding , but much too big for the present house . Most of the main structure , consisting of two and a half storeys , and of rubble stone and stone tiled roofs , dates to c . 1659 when it was built for a Mr Forster , although some parts are earlier . Later additions date to post 1711 and improvements to c . 1911 . External features There is a small stone chapel in the grounds , believed to date to about 1450 and built by the Hungerford family for use by themselves and their servants . It has an east window with Perpendicular tracery . After a long period of use as stables , it was restored in the twentieth century . There is also a brick built storehouse mounted on unk stones to prevent incursion by rats . Antiques The Manor has collections of Nailsea glass , Persian saddlebags , porcelain and oak furniture , including an Elizabethan refectory table and chairs . There are paintings by Tissot , David Teniers and Bassano , vases by William de Morgan and an unusual collection of glass walking sticks . Modern times The Manor was the first winner of AA unk Historic House Awards , for its architectural integrity and warm welcome its gardens , which are open to the public although the house itself is not , include a notable rose garden , ancient yews , an arboretum and mulberry bushes . It is a licensed venue for weddings and hosts summer productions of Shakespeare and operas in its grounds . It is also home to the Cleveland Bay Endeavour , a project to conserve and promote the Cleveland Bay horse , an endangered breed . The owners of the house were described in 1988 by the New York Times as ... provid ing that essential ingredient so many historic buildings lack a sense of continuity with the past and the feeling that Sheldon Manor is still a living organism , not an ancient relic . In 1995 , the Manor was used as the location for Uppercross in the BBC production Persuasion and in 2008 for BBC One 's unk .
992
State Route 174 ( SR 174 ) is a state highway in the U.S. state of California . The two lane 13 mile ( 21 km ) highway , added to the state highway system in 1933 , connects Interstate 80 in Colfax with SR 20 SR 49 in Grass Valley , crossing the Bear River next to a 1924 concrete arch bridge . The majority of the highway is eligible for the State Scenic Highway System , but local residents have blocked its designation due to property rights concerns . Route description State Route 174 begins at exit 135 of I 80 in Colfax . Immediately after crossing I 80 , the route turns right on Auburn Street and right again on Central Street , which bypasses downtown a business route follows Auburn Street , Grass Valley Street , and Main Street through downtown . SR 174 follows the old Lincoln Highway ( US 40 ) north out of downtown to Rollins Lake Road , where the present state highway turns northwest along the Colfax Highway . It then crosses the Bear River from Placer County into Nevada County on a 1987 bridge , with the old 1924 bridge preserved for non motorized traffic . The land flattens out as SR 174 curves north and west through the Empire Mine State Historic Park into Grass Valley . Turning west on Colfax Avenue , the state highway passes under the SR 20 SR 49 freeway before ending just beyond at Auburn Street , the former surface routing of SR 49 . History The Capital Construction Company began improving the county road between Colfax ( on Route 37 , signed as US 40 ) and Grass Valley ( on Route 17 ) under contract on September 29 , 1931 , and completed the work by mid September 1932 . The state legislature placed it on the state highway system in 1933 as an extension of the existing Nevada City unk Route 25 . In the 1964 renumbering , the highway received a signed designation , State Route 174 . Local residents created the Colfax Highway Association in 1967 at the unk firehouse , about halfway between the two ends , in order to preserve the rural nature of the road . When the 21 foot ( 6 . 5 m ) wide 1924 concrete arch bridge that took SR 174 across the Bear River on the county line was set for replacement in the late 1980s , the group successfully lobbied to preserve it for non motorized traffic . The association also pushed for Nevada County 's Gold Country Stage bus service to add a route along the highway to Colfax , which was agreed to in late 1998 and still runs as Route 12 , connecting downtown Grass Valley with Colfax 's Amtrak station . After a request by Nevada County in 1988 , the state legislature designated the part of SR 174 in unincorporated Nevada County ( between the county line and the Grass Valley city limits ) as eligible for the State Scenic Highway System in 1991 . In 1999 , the Colfax Highway Association attempted to get the route officially declared a State Scenic Highway . They argued that the designation would protect the scenic character and rural flavor of the highway . A newly formed group , Concerned Citizens for 174 , opposed the designation because it would restrict the property rights of residents along the highway , for instance requiring them to use natural colors . The opposition was successful , and SR 174 remains eligible for State Scenic Highway status but is not a State Scenic Highway . Major intersections Except where prefixed with a letter , postmiles were measured on the road as it was in 1964 , based on the alignment that existed at the time , and do not necessarily reflect current mileage . R reflects a realignment in the route since then , M indicates a second realignment , L refers an overlap due to a correction or change , and T indicates postmiles classified as temporary ( for a full list of prefixes , see the list of postmile definitions ) . Segments that remain unconstructed or have been relinquished to local control may be omitted . The numbers reset at county lines the start and end postmiles in each county are given in the county column .
993
Planet Relief was a proposed BBC television special dealing with the issue of global warming , originally scheduled for broadcast in January 2008 . The programme , which had been in development for 18 months , was meant to be similar to previous BBC programmes such as Comic Relief and Sport Relief . However , it was cancelled before it was broadcast , allegedly because the BBC was concerned that it would be biased towards promoting responses based on acceptance of mainstream climate change science . Concept The original idea for Planet Relief was to increase awareness of climate change . The show , unlike previous BBC specials such as Comic Relief , was not planned to be a charity event , but to increase awareness , similar to Live Earth . It was mainly inspired by Live 8 , with Planet Relief seen as its climate change counterpart . The programme would have involved an electric power station being shut down for one night , for which the BBC had spent over a year negotiating , urging viewers to turn off all unnecessary lights and electric gadgets for the evening . People reported to have been involved with the show included comedians Ricky Gervais and Graham Norton , entertainment personality Jonathan Ross , the head of BBC comedy Jon Plowman and environmental expert Matt Prescott . Dr Matt Prescott 's years of experience within ecology and planet conservation helped him to become the professional guidance to spearhead the campaign 's concept . Cancellation The BBC scrapped the idea for Planet Relief on 5 September 2007 . Peter Barron , editor of Newsnight said , It is absolutely not the BBC 's job to save the planet . Peter Horrocks , head of BBC television news said , It is not the BBC 's job to lead opinion or proselytise on this or any other subject . There were also concerns that the power station shutdown might overload parts of the electricity distribution network . The BBC did not , however , say that the show was cancelled due to bias , stating rather that , The BBC is committed to programmes about climate change but after Live Earth what audiences say is they are looking for programmes of a documentary or factual nature to explain the complex subject . Right wing commentators opposed the idea of Planet Relief , including Keith Waterhouse who said in the Daily Mail before the show was cancelled that , If the idea is still developing , we can only hope it gets lost in the darkroom . Heaven knows Comic Relief is puerile and patronising enough . Can you imagine what Cosmic Relief in fact , they 're toying with calling it Planet Relief , on which note I can only warn readers of a nervous disposition to avoid any enterprise containing the word Planet is going to be like Complaints about the programme also came from climate sceptics such as Martin Durkin , who said , The thing that disturbs me most is that the BBC has such a leviathan position that if it decides that it is going to adopt climate change as a moral purpose , I have got a lot of trouble with that . I don 't think it is the role of the BBC to spend my money on a moral purpose . For their part , climate change activists attacked the BBC for cancelling the programme . Author Mark Lynas said , This decision shows a real poverty of understanding among senior BBC executives about the gravity of the situation we face . The only reason why this became an issue is that there is a small but vociferous group of climate ' sceptics ' lobbying against taking action , so the BBC is behaving like a coward and refusing to take a more consistent stance . Another critic , Friends of the Earth executive director Tony Juniper , said , This is a very disappointing decision considering the huge potential for the BBC in helping us more quickly make the shift toward a low carbon society . The science of climate change is very clear and if approached in the right way taking up this very serious issue would not compromise the BBC ' impartiality .
994
New York State Route 61 ( NY 61 ) is a state highway located almost entirely in the city of Niagara Falls in Niagara County , New York , in the United States . The road runs across the city in a northwest southeast direction , terminating at NY 384 at its southern extent and NY 104 at its northern tip . Conceptually , the road , known as Hyde Park Boulevard , forms the eastern border of downtown Niagara Falls . It is the second shortest two digit route in New York after NY 71 in Columbia County . The NY 61 designation was assigned c . 1962 . Route description NY 61 begins at an intersection with NY 384 ( Buffalo Avenue ) on the industrial banks of the Niagara River in eastern Niagara Falls . The route , named Hyde Park Boulevard for its entire length , heads north initially as a city maintained , undivided four lane highway after two blocks , the roadway widens and becomes maintained by the New York State Department of Transportation . NY 61 continues onward through the densely populated neighborhoods of Niagara Falls to Packard Road , where the route begins to parallel Gill Creek , a small stream leading south to the Niagara River . After five blocks , NY 61 intersects with Ferry Avenue , a one way street carrying southbound U.S. Route 62 ( US 62 ) , in the area of the Niagara Falls Courthouse . NY 61 intersects with northbound US 62 three blocks later at Walnut Avenue . At the intersection , Gill Creek passes under both US 62 northbound and NY 61 as it switches to the east side of Hyde Park Boulevard . Gill Creek and NY 61 continue to run parallel for one more block before they separate ahead of Pine Avenue , once known as NY unk and now designated as US 62 Business . The intersection between Pine and Hyde Park Boulevard marks the southwestern limits of Hyde Park , one of the largest parks in the vicinity of the city . For the next dozen blocks , NY 61 acts as the divider between the residential neighborhoods of downtown Niagara Falls and the open spaces of Hyde Park , passing Sal Maglie Stadium as it heads north . At Linwood Avenue , the homes return to both sides of NY 61 as it approaches Porter Road , which carries NY 182 . While Porter Road ends here , NY 182 turns north , joining NY 61 for two blocks to Ontario Avenue , where NY 182 turns west toward the Whirlpool Rapids Bridge . North of Ontario Avenue , the buildings surrounding NY 61 become more commercial and industrial in nature as the route approaches the CSX Transportation Niagara Yard . It crosses over the western end of the yard before intersecting Lockport Road . The Niagara Falls Amtrak station , which Hyde Park Boulevard passes by but provides no access to , is located just off Lockport Road on 27th Street . Away from the yard , the surroundings become residential once more for another four blocks before entering a heavily industrial neighborhood around an intersection with NY 31 . Farther north in Lewiston , the center turn lane becomes a hard median as it widens in preparation for a pseudo interchange with Highland Avenue . The median reverts to its previous width shortly after Highland merges into Hyde Park Boulevard however , the median ends two blocks later at a service road for the Robert Moses Niagara Power Plant . NY 61 , now a four lane undivided highway once again , continues for another 0 . 25 miles ( 0 . 40 km ) to the top of the Niagara River gorge , where it ends at NY 104 south of the Moses Power Plant and adjacent to the campus of Niagara University . History NY 61 was assigned c . 1962 to its current alignment . In that same year , the bridge carrying Hyde Park Boulevard over Gill Creek at Walnut Avenue , 41 feet ( 12 m ) in length and originally built in 1950 , was reconstructed . Farther north , the bridge over the western end of the CSX Transportation Niagara Yard , at 355 feet ( 108 m ) long , was completed in 1964 . It was reconstructed in 1997 . Major intersections The entire route is in Niagara County .
995
Elmer S. Dailey , originally known as the Claire B. Follette , is a wooden barge built by William H. Follette in 1915 at Tonawanda , New York , and rebuilt and renamed in 1928 by Brown Drydock on Staten Island , New York . It was used to transport materials from New York , New Jersey and Connecticut . It is the only known surviving Erie Canal boat and is one of a few remaining wooden hulled canal boats . It sank in 1974 along with the Priscilla Dailey and the Berkshire No. 7 , and has deteriorated to the point that a salvage operation could result in it breaking apart . It was added to the National Register of Historic Places on December 21 , 1978 . Description The barge is an Erie Canal boat that has two Fairbanks Morse in line six cylinder diesel engines . It measures 105 . 2 feet ( 32 . 1 m ) long with a 17 . 9 feet ( 5 . 5 m ) beam . The depth of the hold is listed at 9 . 9 feet ( 3 . 0 m ) and it had a listed capacity of 101 tons . Clouette describes the Elmer S. Dailey as having an almost rectangular hull in section and plan , with bluntly rounded bow and stern ... the bulwarks , perforated by scuppers , rise up to the stem which is slightly raked back . There are prominent strakes in the bow and topside along the sides of the vessel . A coaming about 2 feet ( 0 . 61 m ) high frames the single large cargo opening which occupies about two thirds of the boat 's length . The cargo opening is covered by convex hatch covers . Towards the stern is a rectangular pilothouse and a low cabin with a companionway which has a protruding stack . History The Elmer S. Dailey was originally known as the Claire B. Follette when it was built by William H. Follette in 1915 at Tonawanda , New York . In 1928 , the ship was rebuilt by Brown Drydock on Staten Island and acquired the name Elmer S. Dailey . Brown Drydock installed two Fairbanks Morse in line six cylinder diesel engines and added the pilothouse and stack . At an unspecified later date , one engine was removed and a direct drive engine , rated at 180 or 210 horsepower , operated on compressed air . In its final configuration , the vessel was manned by a three man crew . The ship was owned by Stewart J. Dailey , a former mule driver on the Erie Canal who later became a partner in a Tonawanda shipbuilding company and afterwards opened his own business , S. J. Dailey Company . The barge was used to transport materials between New York , New Jersey , and Connecticut , and after the diesel engines were added , it was able to push another barge . It was in service between 1941 and 1972 , and afterwards was moored in Bridgeport Harbor together with the Berkshire No. 7 and Priscilla Dailey . In the spring of 1974 , one of the barges began to take on water , dragging down the other two . No part of the barge is visible above water . Elmer S. Dailey is listed in the U.S. Registry as unk . Importance The Elmer S. Dailey is historically significant because it is the only known surviving Erie Canal boat and is one of a few remaining wooden hulled canal boats . It was added to the National Register of Historic Places on December 21 , 1978 . It and the other two barges that sank with it are the only shipwrecks in Connecticut listed on the National Register of Historic Places . In 1998 , the historic status of the barges was a concern for the Port Authority of Bridgeport Harbor , as the sunken ships interfered with a billion dollar redevelopment project . Over the years , the barges had deteriorated so that an operation to salvage them would likely result in it breaking apart . No action had been taken by 2003 , but a report noted that prior to any activity of the Elmer S. Dailey the Federal Transit Administration and or the City of Bridgeport should document the barge with photos and a technical description . Specifics regarding the documentation based on the activity would be archived at the State Historic Preservation Office and the Mystic Seaport Museum .
996
Bless Me Indeed ( Jabez 's Song ) ( sometimes called Bless Me Indeed ) is a song by Christian rock band MercyMe . Written by the band and produced by Pete Kipley , it was released as the lead single from the band 's 2001 album Almost There . The song was written at the request of the band 's record label , who wanted to produce a song based on the popular book The Prayer of Jabez ( 2000 ) . Although the band did not want to write it at first , they eventually relented and recorded it . Lyrically , Bless Me Indeed asks God for blessing , paralleling Jabez 's prayer in 1 Chronicles . It received a mixed to positive response from critics lead singer Bart Millard has since described it as one of the band 's worst songs . The song did not perform well at Christian radio , peaking at number 27 on the Radio Records Christian AC chart , leading to initial album sales that were lower than expected . Background and composition The idea behind Bless Me Indeed ( Jabez 's Song ) came from MercyMe 's record label , INO Records , who wanted to capitalize off the success of Bruce Wilkinson 's popular book The Prayer of Jabez ( 2000 ) . According to lead singer Bart Millard , the label figured that the book could introduce the band and set up a successful career . Although the band did not want to write the song , they eventually relented . Bless Me Indeed ( Jabez 's Song ) was written by Jim Bryson , Nathan Cochran , Bart Millard , Mike Scheuchzer , and Robby Shaffer all five members of MercyMe at the time . Like the rest of Almost There , it was recorded at Ivy Park , The Indigo Room , Paradise Sound , and IBC Studios . Kipley produced and programmed the song , while Skye McCaskey and Julian Kindred engineered it . Salvo mixed the song . String instruments were recorded by the Paltrow Performance Group . Bless Me Indeed ( Jabez 's Song ) has a length of four minutes and fourteen seconds . According to the sheet music published by Musicnotes.com , it is in set common time in the key of C major and has a tempo of 108 beats per minute . Bart Millard 's vocal range in the song spans from the low note of G 4 to the high note of F 5 . The song lyrically relates to the Biblical figure Jabez . In 1 Chronicles 4 10 , Jabez requests that God bless him by expanding his territory and keeping him free from evil , a request God accepts . In Bless Me Indeed ( Jabez 's Song ) , Millard requests the same from God . Reception Bless Me Indeed received a mixed to positive response from critics . Steve Losey of AllMusic selected it as a ' track pick ' . The J Man of Crosswalk.com described it as a winner , and appreciated that it was based on The Prayer of Jabez . In Amazon.com 's product description of Almost There , the reviewer stated the track is a glimmer of brilliance where the group brings it all together . However , Russ Breimeier of Christianity Today described the song as not particularly remarkable , preferring another song based on Jabez , According to John 's Song of Jabez . In an interview in 2014 , Millard stated that it is one of one of the worst songs we ve ever done . Chart performance Bless Me Indeed was released as the first single from Almost There . Although the label anticipated the song 's connection with The Prayer of unk would make it a success , it performed poorly on Christian radio . The song debuted at number 29 on the Radio Records Christian AC chart for the week of August 31 , 2001 . The following week , it advanced to its peak of number 27 . The song spent four weeks on the chart before dropping off . The poor performance of the song at radio led to initial album sales that were lower than anticipated , although the album would later be certified double platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America ( RIAA ) following the success of the album 's second single , I Can Only Imagine . Credits and personnel Credits from the album liner notes ) Charts
997
The 26th Boat Race between crews from the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge took place on the River Thames on 17 March 1869 . Oxford won by three lengths in a time of 20 minutes and 4 seconds . It was their ninth consecutive victory and was , at that point , the fastest time ever recorded in the event . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Cambridge by six lengths in the previous year 's race and led overall with fifteen wins to Cambridge 's ten . Having lost the last eight Boat Races , the Cambridge University Boat Club president William Anderson wrote to G. Morrison of Balliol College , Oxford , inviting him to coach the trials eights and the University eight . Morrison had rowed in the 1859 , 1860 and 1861 races and had also acted as a non rowing president for the 1862 race . The decision to engage a member of the opposing university was greeted with consternation and considered by many Cantabrigians as a disgrace to the Club . Indeed , five Old Blues refused to row , only William unk agreed to row again . After the usual difficulty to agree arrangements , Cambridge eventually sent the traditional challenge and the date of the race was set for 17 March 1869 . Cambridge arrived at Putney a fortnight beforehand and made several practice rows in variable conditions , the worst of which included heavy snow , three days prior to the race . The race was umpired by Joseph William Chitty who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race , while the starter was Edward Searle . Crews The Oxford crewed weighed an average of 12 st 0 . 25 lb ( 76 . 1 kg ) , 2 . 125 pounds ( 1 . 0 kg ) more than their opponents . The Cambridge crew contained three returning Blues , William MacMichael , William Anderson ( for his third Boat Race ) and John Still ( his fourth ) , while Oxford saw the return of five rowers , including their boat club president J. C. unk for his third appearance and Frank Willan in his fourth Boat Race . Race According to The Field , the weather was not the most agreeable for a boat race ... a raw wind ... leaden coloured clouds overhanging the river . Oxford , who were strong pre race favourites , won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey station to Cambridge . Although the Light Blues made the faster start , Oxford soon pulled alongside them and by the London Rowing Club boathouse , held a lead of around 10 feet ( 3 m ) . Cambridge closed the gap but Oxford pulled away again . The lead was exchanged once again and Oxford took the lead at Craven Cottage . Despite erratic steering from Oxford 's cox Darbishire , Oxford held the advantage until the crews shot Hammersmith Bridge , at which point the Light Blues held the lead by one third of a length . Still in the lead by The Doves pub , Cambridge steered too close to the bank and allowed Oxford to close the gap and passed Chiswick Eyot in the lead , with a half length advantage by Chiswick Church . The Dark Blues passed under Barnes Bridge with a two length lead and completed the course , passing the Ship Tavern three lengths clear in a time of 20 minutes 4 seconds . It was their ninth consecutive victory and took the overall record to 16 10 in their favour . The winning time was the fastest ever , beating the previous record set in 1868 by 52 seconds , although some doubt was cast over the positioning of the finish which was believed to have made the course approximately 100 yards ( 91 m ) shorter . The record would stand until the 1873 race .
998
The 137th Boat Race took place on 30 March 1991 . Held annually , the Boat Race is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . Oxford , whose crew contained one of only two men to have rowed for both universities , won by four and a quarter lengths . In the reserve race , Cambridge 's Goldie defeated Oxford 's Isis , while Oxford won the Women 's Boat Race . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . First held in 1829 , the race takes place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities and followed throughout the United Kingdom and broadcast worldwide . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having won the 1990 race by two and a quarter lengths , with Cambridge leading overall with 69 victories to Oxford 's 66 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . The race was sponsored by Beefeater Gin . The first Women 's Boat Race took place in 1927 , but did not become an annual fixture until the 1960s . Until 2014 , the contest was conducted as part of the Henley Boat Races , but as of the 2015 race , it is held on the River Thames , on the same day as the men 's main and reserve races . The reserve race , contested between Oxford 's Isis boat and Cambridge 's Goldie boat has been held since 1965 . It usually takes place on the Tideway , prior to the main Boat Race . Crews The Oxford crew weighed 9 . 5 pounds ( 4 . 3 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . The Oxford crew 's average age was 22 , while Cambridge were , on average , half a year younger . Richard Young , Oxford 's bow , had rowed for Cambridge in the 1990 race , making him one of only two men to earn a rowing Blue for both Universities . Both crews contained former Blues Cambridge saw Richard Staite , Guy Pooley and Adam Wright return , while Oxford welcomed Young , Calman Maclennan , Matthew Pinsent and Rupert Obholzer . Race Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station . Rating higher , Cambridge took an early lead under the guidance of experienced stroke Adam Wright , and were almost a length up after two and a half minutes . By the Mile Post , the lead was just a second and the long bend around Harrods Furniture Depository , afforded Oxford the advantage , and by Hammersmith Bridge the Dark Blues were over two seconds ahead . Extending their lead to seven seconds by Chiswick Steps , Oxford took control of the race and passed under Barnes Bridge with a twelve second advantage . Oxford passed the finishing post in a time of 16 minutes 59 seconds , the third fastest time in the history of the Boat Race , winning their 18th race in 23 years . The Beefeater Gin Trophy was presented to the victorious Oxford Boat Club president Obholzer by the Princess Royal . In the reserve race , Cambridge 's Goldie won by four lengths over Isis , their fourth victory in five years . Oxford won the 46th Women 's Boat Race by three lengths in a time of 7 minutes and 29 seconds , their second victory in four years . Reaction Oxford 's finishing coach was surprised that Cambridge made such a good start , while his counterpart , Stephen Peel , had hoped that his crew would rattle Oxford by breaking contact . Winning head coach Stephen Royle praised his stroke , Obholzer Rupert was brilliant . He took the race by the scruff of the neck . Despite Michels shouting see you at the finish as his boat pulled away from Cambridge , and a celebration considered street gang style prancing by the Oxford crew , Michels explained without Cambridge , there is no race . The beauty of the event is the personal conflict , and that is what it brings out in the crowds .
999
New York State Route 215 ( NY 215 ) was a north south state highway located within the town of Hamlin in Monroe County , New York , in the United States . It served as the primary highway to and from Hamlin Beach State Park prior to the construction of the Lake Ontario State Parkway . The southern terminus of the route was at an intersection with NY 360 east of the hamlet of Morton . Its northern terminus was at the park on the shore of Lake Ontario . The entirety of NY 215 was named Redman Road . NY 215 was assigned in the early 1940s to provide a signed connection between NY 360 and Hamlin Beach State Park . It ceased to exist in the early 1970s once it was severed from the Lake Ontario shoreline by a westward extension of the Lake Ontario State Parkway . However , the remaining portion of NY 215 remained state maintained for another 30 years as New York State Route 941P , an unsigned reference route . Ownership and maintenance of NY 941P was transferred to Monroe County as part of a highway maintenance swap that took effect on November 26 , 2007 . The former routing of NY 941P is now part of unsigned County Route 236 ( CR 236 ) . Route description NY 215 began at a three way intersection with NY 360 east of the hamlet of Morton in the town of Hamlin . NY 360 turned off Redman Road here to follow Morton Road west to the hamlet of Morton while NY 215 headed north on Redman Road . It passed by open , cultivated fields and small pockets of residences as it proceeded through rural northwestern Monroe County . After 1 . 5 miles ( 2 . 4 km ) , NY 215 intersected Moscow Road , a local highway connecting NY 215 to the then western end of the Lake Ontario State Parkway . North of Moscow Road , the fields on the highway 's east side slowly gave way to forested areas as the route approached Hamlin Beach State Park and intersected Cook Road . The route terminated 500 feet ( 150 m ) north of Cook Road at the southern boundary of Hamlin Beach State Park . The physical roadway continued into the park and to nearby Lake Ontario as a local highway . History The portion of Redman Road north of modern NY 360 in Hamlin was a state highway as early as 1920 however , it was not assigned a designation until the early 1940s , when it became NY 215 . At the time , it was the primary highway to and from Hamlin Beach State Park on the Lake Ontario shoreline , as no continuous east west lakeside roadway existed at the time . This changed in the late 1940s and early 1950s following the construction of the Lake Ontario State Parkway , a lakeshore highway connecting the park to NY 261 in Greece . The parkway began east of NY 215 at Moscow Road and provided a direct connection to Hamlin Beach State Park from Greece , and eventually Rochester . As a result , NY 215 became merely an alternate route to the park . In the early 1970s , the Lake Ontario State Parkway was extended westward across Monroe and Orleans counties to Lakeside Beach State Park in Carlton . NY 215 's connection to Hamlin Beach State Park was severed as part of the construction . As a result , the remaining portion of NY 215 from NY 360 to Cook Road lost its signed route status and was redesignated NY 941P , an unsigned reference route . The highway remained state maintained until 2007 , when ownership and maintenance of it was transferred from the state of New York to Monroe County as part of a highway maintenance swap between the two levels of government . A bill ( S4856 , 2007 ) to enact the swap was introduced in the New York State Senate on April 23 and passed by both the Senate and the New York State Assembly on June 20 . The act was signed into law by Governor Eliot Spitzer on August 28 . Under the terms of the act , it took effect 90 days after it was signed into law thus , the maintenance swap officially took place on November 26 , 2007 . The former routing of NY 941P is now part of CR 236 . Major intersections The entire route was in Hamlin , Monroe County .