id
int64
0
3.9k
doc
stringlengths
268
6.34k
700
King 's Highway 63 , commonly referred to as Highway 63 , is a provincially maintained highway in the Canadian province of Ontario . The 63 . 5 kilometre ( 39 . 5 mi ) route travels from Highway 11 and Highway 17 ( the Trans Canada Highway ) in North Bay northeast to the Ontario Quebec provincial boundary , where it continues as Route 101 into Tmiscaming . The route was assumed in 1937 , following the merger of the Department of Northern Development ( DND ) into the Department of Highways ( DHO ) , predecessor to the modern Ministry of Transportation of Ontario ( MTO ) . It travelled from what was then Highway 11 ( Main Street ) in downtown North Bay northeast to its present terminus . The highway follows the same route today , with the exception of the westernmost 1 . 9 kilometres ( 1 . 2 mi ) , which were transferred to the City of North Bay in 1998 . Route description Highway 63 begins at Highway 11 and Highway 17 ( the Trans Canada Highway ) in North Bay and travels 63 . 5 kilometres ( 39 . 5 mi ) northeast to the Ontario Quebec provincial boundary , where Route 101 continues into Tmiscaming . It travels through the communities of unk , Redbridge , Balsam Creek , unk and Thorne . Prior to 1998 , the route included a 1 . 9 kilometre ( 1 . 2 mi ) section of Cassells Street extending into downtown North Bay . Highway 63 is 63 . 5 kilometres ( 39 . 5 mi ) long , situated entirely within Nipissing District . Beginning in North Bay near Lake Nipissing , the source of the French River which flows down to Georgian Bay , Highway 63 travels east through suburbs . It exits the city and travels along the northern shores of Trout Lake , which serves as the headwaters of the Mattawa River , which flows into the Ottawa River and eventually the St. Lawrence River . The portion of Highway 63 west of Trout Lake travels between these water systems . The highway curves northeast to pass through the communities of unk and later Redbridge and Balsam Creek , after which it enters thick wilderness dominated by the Canadian Shield and Boreal Forest , with few residences or services outside of communities . It meanders northward , meeting the northern end of Highway 533 , which travels south to Mattawa , approximately two thirds of the distance between North Bay and the Quebec border . For the remainder of the highway , the route passes through isolated forests , travelling north , then curving east towards the Ottawa River . It passes through the community of unk before turning north alongside the river , following it up through Thorne . North of Thorne , the highway turns east and crosses the river into Quebec , becoming Route 101 and entering Tmiscaming . History On August 25 , 1937 , the North Bay Tmiscaming Road was assumed by the DHO as Highway 63 , connecting Highway 11 ( Main Street ) in downtown North Bay with the Ontario Quebec border at Tmiscaming . The road existed prior to this point as a northern development road . However , on April 1 , 1937 , the DND merged into the DHO . As a result , numerous highways were assumed in the northern regions of Ontario in mid 1937 . The highway remained unchanged for over 60 years , until January 1 , 1998 , when the Connecting Link agreement through North Bay from Main Street to Highway 11 Highway 17 the North Bay Bypass was rescinded . As a result , Highway 63 was shortened by 1 . 9 kilometres ( 1 . 2 mi ) . Major intersections The following table lists the major junctions along Highway 63 , as noted by the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario . The entire route is located in Nipissing District .
701
The Prince Alfred ( 22 September 1780 20 August 1782 ) was a member of the British Royal Family as the 14th child and 9th son of King George III and his queen consort Charlotte of Mecklenburg Strelitz . Alfred became ill after his inoculation against the smallpox virus his early death at the age of nearly two , along with the demise of his brother Prince Octavius six months later , was a shock to their parents . In his later bouts of madness King George would have imagined conversations with both of his youngest sons . Life Prince Alfred was born , on 22 September 1780 , at Windsor Castle , Windsor , England . His father was King George III , his mother Charlotte of Mecklenburg Strelitz . The prince was baptised by Frederick Cornwallis , The Archbishop of Canterbury , in the Great Council Chamber at St James 's Palace on 21 October 1780 . His godparents were The Prince of Wales ( his eldest brother ) , The Prince Frederick ( his second brother ) and The Princess Royal ( his eldest sister ) . As his parents ' fourteenth child and ninth son , his birth was no surprise but it did bring joy to his family , especially to his older sister Sophia , who , their sister Elizabeth reported , called the new baby her grandson . Death and aftermath In 1782 , Prince Alfred was inoculated against smallpox . The sickness proved too much for the baby and in June he was taken to Deal with his nurse Lady Charlotte Finch to recover . It was hoped that the sea air , bathing in the water , and horseback riding would improve his condition . While he was there , Alfred endeared himself to many , including an old woman whom he waved to . In spite of his charming disposition , he continued to break out in spots and his chest was troubling him . When he returned to Windsor in August 1782 , the doctors inspected him and realized that the boy had only weeks to live . After suffering bouts of fever and continuing problems with his chest , Prince Alfred died on 20 August 1782 , at Windsor Castle , Berkshire , not even two years old . Although the household did not go into mourning ( it was not prescribed for royal children younger than fourteen ) , his parents took the loss harshly . According to Lady Charlotte Finch , the Queen cried vastly and was very much hurt by her loss and the King also . Alfred was buried at Westminster Abbey , though his remains were later moved to the Royal Vault in St. George 's Chapel , Windsor Castle on 11 February 1820 . His father continued to dwell on his death , and the sight of Alfred 's posthumous portrait in a family painting by Thomas Gainsborough nearly a year after Alfred 's death sent his three eldest sisters into tears . Six months after Alfred 's death , his elder brother Octavius succumbed to the smallpox virus , further devastating the king . During one of his bouts of madness in 1812 , George would have imaginary conversations with his two youngest sons . His youngest sister Princess Amelia was conceived in the months after Alfred 's death , born almost exactly a year after he died . The first of George III and Queen Charlotte 's children to die , Alfred died nearly seventy five years before his older sister Mary , who was the last survivor of George III and Queen Charlotte 's fifteen children . Alfred is also unique among their first fourteen children for never being an older sibling while he was alive , as the only child younger than him was born after his death . Titles , styles , honours and arms Titles and styles 22 September 1780 20 August 1782 His Royal Highness The Prince Alfred Ancestry
702
Amrica En Vivo is a live extended play ( EP ) by Mexican singer Luis Miguel . It was released on 25 September 1992 by WEA Latina . The EP consists of three live versions of Inolvidable , No S T , and Contigo en la Distancia from his performance at the National Auditorium in Mexico during his Romance Tour in 1992 as well as a new track America , America , originally performed by Nino Bravo . America , America was released as a single and peaked at number 20 on the Billboard Hot Latin Songs chart . The EP was rated three out of five stars by an editor on AllMusic and received a positive review from Mario Taradell of the Miami Herald , who praised his vocals and the production of the EP . Amrica En Vivo peaked at number 12 on the Billboard Latin Pop Albums chart and was certified platinum in Argentina by the Argentine Chamber of Phonograms and Videograms Producers ( CAPIF ) . Background and content In 1991 Miguel released his eighth studio album , Romance , a collection of classic boleros , the oldest of which originated in the 1940s . The album , which was produced by Armando Manzanero and arranged by Bebu Silvetti , was a success in Latin America and sold over seven million copies worldwide . It revived interest in the bolero genre and was the first record by a Spanish speaking artist to be certified gold in Brazil , Taiwan , and the United States . To promote the record , Miguel began his Romance Tour on 22 March 1992 at a sold out 10 , 000 seat National Auditorium in Mexico City . Amrica En Vivo features the live versions of Inolvidable , No S T , and Contigo en la Distancia from Miguel 's performance at the National Auditorium . The three songs were also promotional singles for Romance . In addition , the EP features a new track America , America composed by Jos Luis unk and Pablo Herrero . The song was originally performed by Spanish singer Nino Bravo on his album ... y volumen 5 ( 1973 ) . Miguel dedicated the song to the soldiers who participated in the Gulf War . Reception Amrica En Vivo was released on 25 September 1992 . The EP peaked at number 12 on the Billboard Latin Pop Albums chart . It was certified platinum in Argentina by the CAPIF for sales of 60 , 000 copies . America , America was released , peaking at number 20 on the Billboard Hot Latin Songs chart . The music video for America , America was filmed across several locations in the United States and Puerto Rico . The music video won the award for MTV International at the 1993 MTV Video Music Awards and received a nomination for Video of the Year at the 5th Annual Lo Nuestro Awards in the same year . An editor for AllMusic rated the EP three stars out of five . An editor writing for Billboard magazine complimented the EP stating that it should add another trophy to the already impressive collection amassed by this 22 year old Mexican crooner . Mario Taradell of the Miami Herald gave the EP a positive review he compared America , America to Neil Diamond 's song America stating it is filled with land of hope lyrics , heavily orchestrated production and a big , inspirational chorus . On the live tracks , he felt that Miguel is in fine voice and a playful mood and noted that Inolvidable was more percussive and danceable than the album version and commented that Contigo en la Distancia and No S T showcase Miguel 's romantic croon . Track listing The track listing is adapted from AllMusic . Credits and personnel The following credits are from AllMusic Performance credits Technical credits Charts
703
Richard Smith ( September 17 , 1886 1937 ) , also known as Dick Smith , was a screenwriter , actor , and film director . Smith was born in Cleveland , Ohio , and became a comedian active in the vaudeville era . He met his wife Alice Howell in 1910 and the two performed together as Howell and Howell . After working under direction of Mack Sennett at the American Mutoscope and Biograph Company in New York , Smith moved to Los Angeles , California . Smith and his wife starred in reels together produced by L KO Kompany . While Howell was contracted at Universal Studios , Smith directed her in films described in the book Clown Princes and Court Jesters as , some of Universal 's most memorable comedies of the twenties . With colleague Vin Moore , Smith directed actor Oliver Hardy in the 1920 film Distilled Love . Smith directed the Marx Brothers in 1921 in their first film , titled Humor Risk , which has since been lost . In 1925 , Smith 's directing work included films starring Bert Roach , Neely Edwards , and Charles Puffy . His contributions at Universal included a series of comedy films called The Collegians . Career Vaudeville Richard Smith was active in the field of comedy , and participated in the vaudeville scene . He met his wife Alice Howell when she was a member of a production by DeWolf Hopper , in 1910 . The two utilized the title of a previously known vaudeville group , and performed together as Howell and Howell . The Howell and Howell duo performed together for three years . Their performances included burlesque and vaudeville . Mack Sennett directed Smith at the American Mutoscope and Biograph Company in New York . Sennett offered Smith a chance to go with him when he started the company Keystone Studios , but he declined the opportunity . Film director Due to a medical condition , Smith decided to switch his residence from New York to Los Angeles , California , where his wife began to gain roles in the film industry under Sennett in 1914 . The two starred together in reels including Dad 's Dollars and Dirty Doings , a comedy by L KO Kompany . Under the production company unk Pictures , Smith wrote and directed several films which his wife starred in . In the book Clown Princes and Court Jesters , authors unk C. Lahue and Samuel Gill describe these films directed by Smith and starring Howell as low burlesque charades and as such were slanted toward the neighborhood and second run houses , where they found receptive audiences . After his wife became an actress in features at Universal Studios in 1921 , Smith directed her in multiple comedies . Lahue and Gill characterize these films as , some of Universal 's most memorable comedies of the twenties , and note , Starting with the usual framework provided by the situation comedy format , directors William Watson and Richard Smith inserted a sufficient amount of subdued slapstick to flavor these single reels with laugh after laugh . Comedian Oliver Hardy acted under the direction of Smith and associate Vin Moore , in the 1920 film Distilled Love Smith also had an acting role in the film as an artist . He served as director in 1921 of Humor Risk , the first film starring the Marx Brothers . Smith directed actors including Bert Roach and Neely Edwards in the 1925 film A Nice Pickle , and Charles Puffy the same year in Muddled Up . After Howell retired from film in the 1926 , Smith kept up with his contracted work at Universal and wrote a set of comedy films called The Collegians . Smith died in 1937 in Los Angeles , California , at fifty years old . Filmography
704
Arlen F. Gregorio ( born September 11 , 1931 ) is an American attorney , politician and commercial mediator . He was a member of the California State Senate from 1970 to 1978 . As a Senator he chaired the Senate Health and Welfare Committee from 1979 to 1984 and was an elected member of the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors from 1979 to 1984 . After leaving politics in 1985 he began a career in mediation . Early life and education Gregorio was born in San Francisco on September 11 , 1931 to a family who has lived in California for four generations . He grew up in the Bernal Heights district until his family moved to Burlingame , California , where he attended Hoover School , Burlingame High School and the College of San Mateo . Gregorio served as a U.S. Naval Air Officer for three years in the 1950s receiving the China Service Medal for combat duty . He received his bachelor 's and law degrees from Stanford University in 1955 . He was an adjunct faculty member at Stanford University , Notre Dame University in Belmont , and College of San Mateo . Career Gregorio became a member of the California State Bar in 1955 . He was a partner in general law practice from 1958 to 1970 and held the position of Assistant City Attorney for San Bruno from 1962 to 1970 . He also chaired the San Mateo County Democratic Central Committee from 1964 to 1970 . Politics In 1970 , he was elected to represent San Mateo County in the California State Senate . According to fellow Senator Alan Robbins , Gregorio refused special interest money and contributions over 100 . During his two terms in the Senate ( 1970 1978 ) , Gregorio authored laws dealing with legislation and campaign finance reform , alcohol and drug abuse , the arts , environment , education and health . He was chairman of the Senate Health and Welfare Committee from 1973 to 1978 . Gregorio had a particular interest in reforming campaign financing and the political process in general . His political reforms included allowing the public to attend state budget conference committee meetings and to access legislator committee voting results . In 1975 , Gregorio challenged then Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. to a debate after the Governor vetoed his alcohol tax bill . In 1976 he created legislation that would give members of the public the voting majority on most regulatory boards . Gregorio lost his November 1978 Senate bid by a margin of only 90 votes after a vote recount . In 1979 , he won a special election to the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors and was re elected in 1980 , serving through 1984 . Gregorio 's last political race was in 1984 , when he left the Board of Supervisors to run again for the state Senate . In that political contest , Gregorio and his opponent , Becky Morgan , set a new Senate campaign spending record of 1 . 6 million . Mediation After leaving politics , Gregorio began an attorney mediation practice in San Francisco in 1985 . He founded the non profit , Peninsula Conflict Resolution Center in San Mateo , California in 1986 . In 1989 , he created the first law partnership that focused exclusively on the mediation of civil trial matters . The firm is known as Gregorio , Haldeman Rotman and is located in San Francisco . Personal life Gregorio learned the Transcendental Meditation technique after reading a Wall Street Journal article about it in 1971 . He appeared with Maharishi Mahesh Yogi , Clint Eastwood and others on an episode of the Merv Griffin show in 1975 . He has three sons by his first marriage and began his second marriage in 1980 .
705
Clam dip is a dipping sauce and condiment prepared with clams , sour cream or cream cheese , and seasonings as primary ingredients . Various additional ingredients can be used . It is usually served chilled , although it is sometimes served hot or at room temperature . It is used as a dip for potato chips , crackers , bread , and unk . After a recipe for the dip was presented during a popular U.S. radio show , canned clams in New York City sold out in 24 hours . Commercial varieties of clam dip are mass produced by some companies and marketed to consumers in grocery stores and supermarkets . History In the early 1950s in the United States , the first televised recipe for clam dip appeared on the Kraft Music Hall show , a well known and popular radio and television variety program that ran from 1933 to 1971 . After the recipe segment aired , canned clams in New York City sold out within 24 hours . The ingredients used in this recipe were minced , canned clams , cream cheese , lemon juice , Worcestershire sauce , garlic , salt and pepper . Clam dip remained popular throughout the 1960s in the U.S. , at which time prepared manufactured clam dips were available in U.S. supermarkets . As salsa became more popular among American consumers , the popularity of clam dip declined . Preparation Clam dip is typically prepared using chopped or minced clams , sour cream or cream cheese , and various seasonings , and usually served chilled . It is used as a dip for potato chips , bread , crackers , and unk . It has a creamy texture and unk . Canned , cooked , and frozen or fresh clams may be used , the latter of which can be cooked by steaming or pan cooking . Canned clams may be drained , or the liquid may be retained and used as an ingredient . After refrigeration , the dip may thicken , and the liquid from canned clams can be used to thin the dip . Milk is also sometimes used to thin clam dip . When refrigerated and left to sit overnight , the flavors of the ingredients intermingle more greatly , resulting in a more flavorful dip . Smoked clams are sometimes used , which imbues a distinct smoky flavor to the dish . The clams may be smoked in the shell and then minced afterward . Additional ingredients can be used , such as lemon juice , Worcestershire sauce , onion , scallions , shallots , chives , garlic , and hot sauce . The ingredients can be mixed using a food processor . It is sometimes served as a hot dip , which may be kept warm using a chafing dish , and melted cheese may be used as an ingredient in hot versions . It is also sometimes served at room temperature . Clam dip can be served in a hollowed out loaf of bread , such as sourdough . It can be garnished with ingredients such as parsley , scallions and paprika . unk to accompany the dish can include red peppers , carrots , radishes , and cauliflower , among others . Prepared clam dip can be preserved by storing it in a freezer . Commercial varieties Some companies mass produce commercial varieties of prepared clam dip and market them to consumers in grocery stores and supermarkets . Commercial varieties are typically packaged in plastic tubs . Prepared clam dip mixes have also been commercially manufactured and marketed to consumers . One such product comes packaged with dried sour cream that is reconstituted using water . Nutrition information A one unk serving of clam dip using the recipe that aired in the early 1950s on the Kraft Music Hall show contains 71 calories , 1 g carbohydrate , 5 g protein , 5 g total fat ( with 3 g saturated fat ) , 25 mg cholesterol and 136 mg sodium .
706
John Pretzel Pezzullo ( December 10 , 1910 May 16 , 1990 ) , also known as Pretzels unk , was a professional baseball player whose career spanned eight seasons , two of which were spent with the Major League Baseball ( MLB ) Philadelphia Phillies . Pezzullo , a pitcher , compiled an earned run average ( ERA ) of 6 . 36 , allowing 61 earned runs off of 116 hits , five home runs , and 51 walks while recording 24 strikeouts over 86 . 1 innings pitched . Pezzullo also played in six seasons of minor league baseball . He made his MLB debut at the age of 24 after spending a season in the minor leagues for the New York Giants organization . Pezzullo earned the nicknamed Pretzel after his unusual pitching style . After retiring from baseball , Pezzullo moved to Dallas , Texas , where he died of cancer on May 16 , 1990 . Early life Pezzullo was born on December 10 , 1910 , in Bridgeport , Connecticut . He had four siblings and is of Italian ancestry . Pezzullo attended school until the eighth grade , after which he went to trade school to learn cabinet and pattern making . He was officially listed as standing 5 feet 11 inches ( 180 cm ) and weighing 180 pounds ( 82 kg ) when he played professionally . Professional career Pezzullo began his professional baseball career in 1934 , when he played for the Richmond Colts , an affiliate of the New York Giants . Pezzullo finished the season fifth in the Piedmont League in wins , with 16 , while finishing fourth on the Colts in games pitched , recording 27 games over the season . He was called a good pitching prospect by Chicago Tribune sports writer Arch Ward . On November 1 of that year , Pezzullo was traded as a part of a four man deal that sent him , Blondy Ryan , Johnny unk , George Watkins , and cash to the Philadelphia Phillies in exchange for Dick Bartell . For the 1935 season , Pezzullo , who pitched for the major league Phillies , recorded a team worst ERA of 6 . 40 , along with a 3 5 win loss record over 40 games pitched . He hit seven batters by a pitch , tying him for the seventh most hit batsmen in MLB . In Pezzullo 's final MLB game in 1936 , he walked six batters in two innings pitched . Minor league career Pezzullo also played for two minor league teams during the 1936 season the Richmond Colts and the Hazleton Mountaineers . Combined , Pezzullo went 14 10 with a 5 . 19 ERA . The following season he played for the Savannah Indians and the Colts for the Indians , Pezzullo went 13 8 over 165 . 0 innings pitched . The following season , he played only for the Indians , an affiliate of the Pittsburgh Pirates . His 26 wins were best in the Southern League , while his 288 . 0 innings pitched also led all Southern League players . In a game against the Spartanburg Spartans , Pezzullo struck out 17 batters . After the season he was sold to the double A Toronto Maple Leafs of the International League , where , under managers Tony Lazzeri and Jack Burns , Pezzullo won 11 games and lost 12 . He went 5 16 the following year , before leaving the team for the Syracuse Chiefs and the Buffalo Bisons in his final year of professional baseball in 1941 . After baseball After retiring from baseball , Pezzullo moved to Dallas , Texas , where he married Betty ( ne unk ) and had one daughter , Patti Moore . In Dallas , he designed aircraft missile models and founded Gulf Industries , a Grand Prairie based model subcontracting firm . Pezzullo died on May 16 , 1990 , of cancer . Funeral processions were held on May 18 at Holy Redeemer Mausoleum Chapel in DeSoto , Texas , where he was interred .
707
M 62 is an arc shaped state trunkline highway in the southwestern part of the US state of Michigan . The highway runs from the Indiana state line north and west to M 140 in Eau Claire . In between , it serves the western Cass County communities of Dowagiac and Cassopolis . The highway was formed in the 1920s , originally as a north south route . It was later extended , taking the current arc shaped routing . A short truncation in the 1950s produced the current routing , which has remained unchanged since . In total , M 62 runs about 28 1 3 miles ( 45 . 6 km ) in the two counties . Route description M 62 follows a roughly question mark shaped routing in southwestern Michigan . It starts at the Indiana state line south of Edwardsburg in Cass County 's unk Township north of Granger , Indiana . The trunkline connects with State Road 23 and runs north through farmland to Edwardsburg , intersecting US Highway 12 ( US 12 ) in town . M 62 turns northeasterly running out of town parallel to a rail line up to Cassopolis . The trunkline crosses the rail line and runs concurrently with M 60 through Cassopolis . The two highways pass Stone Lake on the way into downtown . M 62 continues north after leaving M 60 , then curves west to leave town between these locations is where the change in signposting from north south to east west occurs . It then continues through more farmland to La Grange , where it crosses the Dowagiac River at the mouth of La Grange Lake . It crosses the river a second time on the way northwest to Dowagiac . The Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) tracks the traffic volumes along the roads it maintains . This is measured using a metric called average annual daily traffic , which is the number of vehicle per day that use a roadway segment for any average day of the year . In 2009 , MDOT 's survey calculated that 2 , 246 vehicles used the section of M 62 between Cassopolis , La Grange and Dowagiac . This was the lowest traffic count along the whole highway . The third crossing of the Dowagiac is at the mouth of Mill Pond in eastern Dowagiac , where M 62 follows Division Street through downtown . This section of the highway had the highest traffic count with 9 , 088 vehicles in 2009 . At Front Street , M 51 merges with M 62 , and the two run concurrently to the west through town . M 62 continues westerly after M 51 separates and turns southwesterly near the Dowagiac Municipal Airport . The highway crosses into Berrien County south of Indian Lake and continues west through more scattered farms and woodland to a junction with M 140 . At this intersection , M 140 turns west along the roadway , and M 62 ends . No section of M 62 has been listed on the National Highway System , a system of roads considered important to the country 's defense , economy or mobility . History M 62 was formed before 1924 along a portion of its current routing . The trunkline started at the Indiana state line and ran north through Edwardsburg and Cassopolis . The northern terminus was at M 40 ( now M 51 ) in Dowagiac . The southern section was moved by the end of 1925 to follow a more direct routing between Edwardsburg and the state line . An extension in 1930 moved the northern terminus west into Berrien County , ending in Eau Claire . The final few miles of highway were transferred back in local control around 1957 . Before the transfer , M 62 ran concurrently with M 140 west and continued into Eau Claire . After the transfer , M 62 ended at the eastern M 140 junction and the concurrency was removed . Major intersections
708
SM U 11 or U XI was a U 10 class submarine in the Austro Hungarian Navy ( German Kaiserliche und Knigliche Kriegsmarine or K.u.K. Kriegsmarine ) during World War I. She was originally a German Type UB I submarine commissioned into the German Imperial Navy ( German Kaiserliche Marine ) as SM UB 15 . SM UB 15 was constructed in Germany and shipped by rail to Pola , where she was assembled and launched . She was commissioned into the German Imperial Navy in April and sank an Italian submarine in June . The boat was handed over to Austria Hungary and commissioned as SM U 11 on 14 June . In early 1916 , U 11 fired on a British submarine , but missed . After the end of the war , U 11 was handed over to Italy as a war reparation and scrapped at Pola by 1920 . Design and construction U 11 was a small coastal submarine that displaced 127 tonnes ( 125 long tons ) surfaced and 141 tonnes ( 139 long tons ) submerged . She featured a single shaft , a single 60 bhp ( 45 kW ) Krting diesel engine for surface running , and a single 120 shp ( 89 kW ) electric motor for submerged travel . U 11 was capable of up to 6 . 5 knots ( 12 . 0 km h 7 . 5 mph ) while surfaced and 5 . 5 knots ( 10 . 2 km h 6 . 3 mph ) while submerged at a diving depth of up to 50 metres ( 160 ft ) . She was designed for a crew of 17 officers and men . U 11 was equipped with two 45 cm ( 17 . 7 in ) torpedo tubes located in the front and carried a complement of two torpedoes . German Type UB I submarines were additionally equipped with a 8 mm ( 0 . 31 in ) machine gun , but it is not clear from sources if U 11 a former German boat was fitted with one , or if it was , retained it in Austro Hungarian service . In October 1916 , U 11 's armament was supplemented with a 66 mm 18 ( 2 . 6 in ) gun . UB 15 was laid down on 9 November 1914 at AG Weser in Bremen . The submarine was shipped by rail in sections to Pola , where the sections were riveted together . There is no known surviving record of how long it took for UB 15 's sections to be assembled . However , a similar ship ( UB 3 ) was built in two weeks . Operational history UB 15 SM UB 15 was commissioned into the German Imperial Navy under the command of Oberleutnant zur See Heino von Heimburg on 11 April . An Austro Hungarian Navy officer was assigned to the boat for piloting and training purposes . On 10 June , UB 15 sank the Italian submarine Medusa for a loss of 245 tons off Porto di Piave Vecchia in the Northern Adriatic . Like all Type UB I and U 10 class submarines , UB 15 was equipped with compensating tanks designed to flood and offset the loss of one of the 1 , 700 pound ( 770 kg ) C 06 torpedoes . However , they did not always function correctly when firing from periscope depth the boat could broach after firing or , if too much weight was taken on , plunge to the depths . When UB 15 torpedoed and sank Medusa , the tank failed to properly compensate , forcing all of the crewmen to run to the stern to offset the trim imbalance and prevent the ship from sinking . U 11 On 18 June , UB 15 was handed over to the Austro Hungarian Navy and commissioned as U 11 under the command of Linienschiffsleutnant unk Eberhardt . U 11 retained its German crew until 18 June 1916 , when they were replaced by an all Austro Hungarian one . In early 1916 , U 11 unsuccessfully attacked the British submarine B8 in the Gulf of Fiume . U 11 sank no ships in her Austro Hungarian service , and was handed over to Italy as a war reparation and scrapped at Pola by 1920 . Summary of raiding history
709
Always Mine is a song by American Tejano pop recording artist Selena . Her brother and music producer A.B. Quintanilla wrote the song for her sixth LP record Dulce Amor ( 1988 ) . The song 's lyrics are about teenage love while dealing with negative peer pressure from friends . Always Mine was the third single from the album . The original version found on Dulce Amor is more Latin pop . It was released as a maxi single for Anthology ( 1998 ) . The version found on Anthology was remixed with freestyle music and electronic dance music . The song received generally positive reviews from music critics . Josh unk of Salon positively criticized Always Mine as being similar with songs recorded by freestyle artists Debbie Deb and Lisa Lisa . Background Always Mine was written by Selena 's brother and music producer A.B. Quintanilla III . Quintanilla III had written Always Mine while he was in his home in Corpus Christi , Texas . Selena recorded the song in San Antonio , Texas , where most of the songs on Dulce Amor were recorded . During the recording sessions , Roger Garcia , a guitarist from Selena y Los Dinos , had helped Quintanilla III with writing the melody part of the song . At the time of recording , Selena was only 17 years old . Release and composition Always Mine was released as a 12 single , becoming the third single from Dulce Amor in 1988 . Always Mine is an uptempo Latin pop song that has influences of freestyle and electronic dance music . It is written in the key of B minor with 100 beats per minute . Always Mine ' s lyrics are about teenage love and facing negative peer pressure from friends who taunt Selena on ending her happy relationship . The song opens with the hi hat and drums playing at the same time to make an uptempo beat . When Selena sings the first verse of the song , the electric piano begins playing . In the opening part of Always Mine , Selena sings that all her friends are telling her that she is a fool for liking a guy , and that she should give up on him . She then sings that many times she have indeed tried , however , because she is in love she can 't go through with it . After the first melody of Always Mine , Selena sings the second verse of the song . She sings that she had spent some time trying to think of her relationship and her friends ' comments towards the relationship . However , she continues to sing that she always ends up wanting to be with him . After this , Selena sings in Spanish Como una unk que unk el agua sin tu amor se unk mi alma ( English Just like a flower that needs water , without your love , I have an empty soul ) . After the second melody part , Selena sings the chorus You will always be always mine be mine ' till the end of time always mine . Selena sings the first and second verse and the chorus once more before the song concludes . Critical reception Josh unk of Salon believed the song was ' 80s synth happy freestyle and added that the song recalls Debbie Deb and Lisa Lisa . Richard Torres of Newsday believed Always Mine was the best choice for Anthology . He further commented on the song , praising its modern touch and Selena 's teen like vocalization . An editor from the Fort Worth Star Telegram wrote that Always Mine is a fun freestyle song . Track listing US Maxi Single ( 1998 ) Always Mine ( Anthology remix ) ( 4 00 ) La Bamba ( Anthology remix ) ( 4 00 ) Amame ( Club remix ) ( 3 37 ) Don 't Throw Away My Love ( unreleased remixed track ) ( 3 37 ) I 'm Getting Used To You ( Def Club Remix ) ( 8 37 )
710
State Route 3 ( SR 3 ) is a state highway in the U.S. state of California . It runs from State Route 36 north along the shore of Trinity Lake , Fort Jones and Etna . The route approaches Yreka , intersecting with Interstate 5 , and turns east to Montague . The road was numbered SR 3 in 1964 , and most of it has been part of the state highway system since 1933 . Route description SR 3 is part of the California Freeway and Expressway System and is eligible for the State Scenic Highway System . Caltrans has subsequently designated it as a scenic highway for its entire length . State Route 3 begins at the junction with State Route 36 south of the town of Peanut in Trinity County . SR 3 is also known as unk Road from its southern terminus to Hayfork . This stretch of road through the Shasta Trinity National Forest parallels the Hayfork River . Once SR 3 reaches the town of Hayfork , it travels along unk Road east and snakes through the mountains to Douglas City and the junction with State Route 299 . From there , SR 3 runs concurrently with SR 299 north to the town of Weaverville . SR 3 then departs from SR 299 , providing access to the Whiskeytown Shasta Trinity National Recreation Area and Trinity Dam along Lewiston Lake . SR 3 passes through the towns of Covington Mill , Trinity Center , and Wyntoon before paralleling the Trinity River and Trinity Mountains as Weaverville Scott Mountain Road and crossing the Scott Mountains and the Pacific Crest Trail at 5 , 205 feet ( 1 , 586 m ) into Siskiyou County . In Siskiyou County , SR 3 passes through Callahan , Etna , unk , and Fort Jones as it turns northeast to intersect with Interstate 5 in Yreka . At this point , State Route 263 continues in the northerly direction towards State Route 96 SR 3 turns east to its northern terminus in the incorporated city of Montague . History The short piece from SR 36 north to Peanut was added to the state highway system in 1907 as part of the Peanut Road , which became Route 35 in 1917 . Route 35 was extended north from Peanut to Route 20 ( SR 299 ) near Douglas City in 1933 , and simultaneously a new Route 82 was created , running from Route 3 ( I 5 ) in the Yreka area southwest to Etna and east to Montague . The gap between Douglas City and Etna was filled in 1959 with an extension of Route 82 south to Route 20 near Weaverville at the same time , the portion between Weaverville and Yreka was added to the California Freeway and Expressway System , which identifies the main routes of transportation in the state of California . The State Route 3 designation was applied to the Peanut Montague roadway in the 1964 renumbering . The overlap with temporary I 5 ( along the portion where SR 3 runs concurrently with Interstate 5 today ) near Yreka was removed when the new I 5 bypass was built the legislative definition was updated to reflect this in 1974 , soon after the building of the bypass . Major intersections Except where prefixed with a letter , postmiles were measured on the road as it was in 1964 , based on the alignment that existed at the time , and do not necessarily reflect current mileage . R reflects a realignment in the route since then , M indicates a second realignment , L refers an overlap due to a correction or change , and T indicates postmiles classified as temporary ( for a full list of prefixes , see the list of postmile definitions ) . Segments that remain unconstructed or have been relinquished to local control may be omitted . The numbers reset at county lines the start and end postmiles in each county are given in the county column .
711
The bookwheel ( also written book wheel and sometimes called a reading wheel ) is a type of rotating bookcase designed to allow one person to read a variety of heavy books in one location with ease . The books are rotated vertically similar to the motion of a water wheel , as opposed to rotating on a flat table surface . The design for the bookwheel originally appeared in a 16th century illustration by Agostino Ramelli , at a time when large books posed practical problems for readers . Ramelli 's design influenced other engineers and , though now obsolete , inspires modern artists and historians . History and design The bookwheel , in its most commonly seen form , was invented by Italian military engineer Agostino Ramelli in 1588 , presented as one of the 195 designs in Le diverse et unk machine del Capitano Agostino Ramelli ( The various and ingenious machines of Captain Agostino Ramelli ) . To ensure that the books remained at a constant angle , Ramelli incorporated an epicyclic gearing arrangement , a complex device that had only previously been used in astronomical clocks . Ramelli 's design is unnecessarily elaborate , as he likely understood that gravity could have worked just as effectively ( as it does with a Ferris wheel , invented centuries later ) , but the gearing system allowed him to display his mathematical prowess . While other people would go on to build unk based on Ramelli 's design , Ramelli did not in fact ever construct his own . To what extent unk were appreciated for their convenience versus their aesthetic qualities remains a matter of speculation according to modern American engineer Henry unk . Ramelli himself described the bookwheel as a beautiful and ingenious machine , very useful and convenient for anybody who takes pleasure in study , especially for those who are indisposed and tormented by gout . Ramelli 's reference to gout , a condition that impairs mobility , demonstrates the appeal of a device that allows access to several books while seated . However , unk notes that Ramelli 's illustration lacks space for writing and other scholarly work , and that the fanciful wheel may not have been appropriate for any activity beyond reading . While the design of the bookwheel is commonly credited to Ramelli , some historians dispute that he was the first to invent such a device . Joseph Needham , a historian of Chinese technology , stated that revolving bookcases , though not vertically oriented , had their origins in China perhaps a thousand years before Ramelli 's design was taken there . Influence and legacy The bookwheel was an early attempt to solve the problem of managing increasingly numerous printed works , which were typically large and heavy in Ramelli 's time . It has been called one of the earliest information retrieval devices , and has been considered a precursor to modern technologies , such as hypertext and e readers , that allow readers to store and cross reference large amounts of information . Other inventors , such as French inventor Nicolas unk de unk ( 1596 1689 ) , proposed their own variations on Ramelli 's design . In contemporary times , the bookwheel is valued for its historical importance , decorative appeal , and symbolic significance . Ramelli 's design has been recreated by artists such as Daniel Libeskind , and inspired the name of the Smithsonian Library 's blog Turning the Book Wheel . The mechanical concept of the epicyclic gears used to keep each book level as it rotates was later used for the Falkirk Wheel boat lift , although its designer claims to have found it independently .
712
Park Road 3 ( PR 3 ) is a 1 . 2 mile ( 1 . 9 km ) Park Road located near Fort Davis , in the U.S. state of Texas . The highway connects the Indian Lodge of Davis Mountains State Park to State Highway 118 ( SH 118 ) . The entire length of the road is located within the park . The highway was constructed in 1933 by the Civilian Conservation Corps . The highway currently has one suffixed route , Park Road 3A , also known as Skyline Drive . This route is 2 . 8 miles ( 4 . 5 km ) long , which is longer than its parent route . This road was created in 1965 . Route description PR 3 's 1 . 2 mile ( 1 . 9 km ) main road begins at SH 118 . Immediately after the intersection , PR 3 divides into two one way roadways separated by the park headquarters and reuniting just beyond . The road then continues westward through Keesey Canyon one half mile ( 0 . 8 km ) passing a couple of small hiking trails to the intersection with PR 3A . Beyond PR 3A , several drives branch off as loops accessing campsites , staff residences , and other park facilities . The road makes a sharp curve and a steep upward grade before ending at Indian Lodge 1 . 2 mile ( 1 . 9 km ) west of the intersection with PR 3A . History In 1924 , the Texas Legislature directed the State Parks Board , a predecessor agency to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department , to consider establishing a major destination park within the Davis Mountains . After the parks board failed to receive appropriations or donated land for a new park , the Legislature then instructed the State Highway Department , which preceded the Texas Department of Transportation ( TxDOT ) , to build a Davis Mountains State Park Highway in 1927 . Landowners finally agreed to donate land for the park in 1933 to boost the local economy devastated by the Great Depression . With the creation of the park , a state park highway was no longer necessary , and that highway initially became SH 166 . Construction of PR 3 began in 1933 soon after the establishment of the state park . Like the park , the road was originally constructed by the Civilian Conservation Corps . The road at this time consisted of the main route between the park entrance and Indian Lodge . In 1939 , SH 118 was extended from Fort Davis to Kent over the portion of SH 166 at the terminus of PR 3 . The state ended the SH 166 designation over that same portion in 1941 . Major intersections The entire highway is in the Davis Mountains State Park , Jeff Davis County . Park Road 3A Park Road 3A ( PR 3A ) is a 2 . 8 mile long ( 4 . 5 km ) suffixed spur of PR 3 . The road travels from a junction with PR 3 to the border of the state park , and provides access to a trail leading to Fort Davis National Historic Site . The road begins at PR 3 and crosses Keesey Creek before turning east in Keesey Canyon . Like PR 3 , the road also has connecting drives acting as loops and cul de sacs to campgrounds and park facilities . After leaving the campground , the road begins steeply ascending the ridge between Keesey and Hospital canyons on a climb requiring several switchbacks . The road connects with drives to scenic overlooks , picnic tables , and trail heads before terminating after 2 . 8 miles ( 4 . 5 km ) at a scenic overlook and trail head at the boundary between the park and Fort Davis National Historic Site . Park Road 3A was first created by the CCC in 1933 , when the state park was built . In 1965 , the Texas Department of Transportation numbered the route Park Road 3A . Major junctions The entire highway is in the Davis Mountains State Park , Jeff Davis County .
713
Mauritania competed at the 2012 Summer Olympics in London , which was held from 27 July to 12 August 2012 . The country 's participation at London marked its eighth appearance in the Summer Olympics since its debut in the 1984 Summer Olympics . The delegation included two track and field athletes , Jidou El Moctar and Aicha Fall , who were selected to the team by wildcard places , as the nation had no athletes that met either the A or B qualifying standards . Moctar was selected as flag bearer for the opening ceremony while a LOCOG Games Maker carried it for the closing ceremony . Neither of the two athletes progressed beyond the heats . Background Mauritania participated in eight Summer Olympic games between its debut in the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles , United States and the 2012 Summer Olympics in London . Mauritania would participate in the Summer Olympics from 27 July to 12 August 2012 . The Mauritania National Olympic Committee ( NOC ) selected two athletes via wildcards . Usually , an NOC would be able to enter up to 3 qualified athletes in each individual event as long as each athlete met the A standard , or 1 athlete per event if they met the B standard . However , since Mauritania had no athletes that met either standard , they were allowed to select two athletes , one of each gender , as wildcards . The two athletes that were selected to compete in the London games were Jidou El Moctar , in the Men 's 200 meters and Aicha Fall in the Women 's 800 meters . Moctar was flag bearer for the opening ceremony and a LOCOG Games Maker held it for the closing ceremony . Athletics Making his Summer Olympics debut , Jidou El Moctar was notable for carrying the Mauritania flag at the opening ceremony . He qualified for the Summer Olympics via a wildcard , as his best time , 23 . 16 seconds , was 2 . 51 seconds slower than the B qualifying standard for his event , the 200 meters . He competed on 7 August in Heat 1 against seven other athletes . He ran a time of 22 . 94 seconds , finishing last but achieving a personal best time . Kazakhstan 's Vyacheslav Muravyev ranked ahead of him with a time of 21 . 75 seconds in a heat led by eventual gold medalist of the event , Jamaica 's Usain Bolt ( 20 . 39 seconds ) . Overall , Moctar ranked 53rd out of 55 athletes competing and was 2 . 31 seconds behind the slowest athlete that progressed to the semi finals . Therefore , that was the end of his competition . Competing at her first Summer Olympics , Aicha Fall qualified for the London Games as a wildcard , as she had set no time for her event , the 800 meters . She was to compete in the 2012 World Junior Championships in Athletics 800 meters but did not start the event . She competed on August 8 in Heat 5 against seven other athletes . She posted a time of 2 minutes and 27 . 97 seconds , finishing sixth and setting a national record in the process . She placed ahead of Palestine 's unk Sawalha ( 2 minutes and 29 . 16 seconds ) and behind Canada 's Melissa Bishop ( 2 minutes and 09 . 33 seconds ) in a heat led by Ukraine 's unk Lupu ( 2 minutes and 8 . 35 seconds ) . Overall , Fall was 24 . 12 seconds behind the slowest athlete that progressed to the semi finals and therefore did not advance . Key Note Ranks given for track events are within the athlete 's heat only Q Qualified for the next round q Qualified for the next round as a fastest loser or , in field events , by position without achieving the qualifying target NR National record N A Round not applicable for the event Bye Athlete not required to compete in round Men Women
714
State Route 261 ( SR 261 ) is a 62 . 71 mile long ( 100 . 92 km ) state highway in the U.S. state of Washington . Serving Columbia , Franklin , and Adams counties , the highway begins at U.S. Route 12 ( US 12 ) east of Starbuck and becomes concurrent with SR 260 from Kahlotus to SR 26 in Washtucna before ending at Interstate 90 ( I 90 ) and US 395 in Ritzville . The highway has been legislated since 1937 from Ritzville to Washtucna as Secondary State Highway 11E ( SSH 11E ) and in 1957 from unk to the Starbuck area as a branch of SSH 11B . The two secondary highways became SR 261 during the 1964 highway renumbering , and a gap between Washtucna and Starbuck was not paved until the construction of the Snake River Bridge was completed in 1968 . Route description SR 261 begins its 62 . 71 mile long ( 100 . 92 km ) route at an intersection with US 12 east of the town of Starbuck in rural Columbia County . The roadway travels north over the unk Creek and turns west , paralleling the Tucannon River through Starbuck and to the south bank of the Snake River . The highway passes over a rail bridge owned by the Washington State Department of Transportation before turning northwest and crossing the steel cantilever Snake River Bridge , listed on the National Register of Historic Places , into Franklin County near Lyons Ferry Park . At the north end of the bridge , SR 261 continues northwest , passing under a Union Pacific Railroad bridge and near Palouse Falls State Park , before crossing the Columbia Plateau Trail and intersecting SR 260 northeast of Kahlotus . A concurrency with SR 260 travels northeast into Adams County parallel to the Columbia Plateau Trail in the Palouse before entering Washtucna and being designated as Main Street . Main Street intersects SR 26 , forming the eastern terminus of SR 260 , after the Columbia Plateau Trail turns east . SR 261 continues north into farmland and crosses the John Wayne Pioneer Trail in Ralston before its northern terminus at a diamond interchange with I 90 and US 395 southeast of Ritzville , becoming Division Street as it serves the city . Every year , the Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2011 , WSDOT calculated that between 300 and 3 , 000 vehicles per day used the highway , mostly between Washtucna and Ritzville . History The Mullan Road was constructed in 1862 and crossed the Snake River with a ferry crossing at Lyons Ferry until the construction of the Lower Monumental Dam downstream caused the water level to rise and longer wait times , resulting in the reconstruction of the Snake River Bridge . The current route of SR 261 from Washtucna to Ritzville was designated during the creation of the Primary and secondary state highways in 1937 as SSH 11E . A branch of SSH 11B was added in 1957 that extended from unk to US 410 , later an extension of US 12 , east of Starbuck with an un built bridge over the Snake River at Lyons Ferry . Both highways became SR 261 during the 1964 highway renumbering , but the section between Starbuck and Washtucna was not paved . The completion of the Snake River Bridge in 1968 , using the dismantled steel cantilevered Vantage Bridge and listed onto the National Register of Historic Places in 1982 , finished the highway . No major revisions of the highway have occurred since the construction of the bridge in 1968 . Major intersections
715
The High Virgo , also known as Weapons System 199C ( WS 199C ) , was a prototype air launched ballistic missile ( ALBM ) jointly developed by Lockheed and the Convair division of General Dynamics during the late 1950s . The missile proved moderately successful and aided in the development of the later GAM 87 Skybolt ALBM in addition , it was used in early test of anti satellite weapons . Design and development As part of the WS 199 project to develop new strategic weapons for the United States Air Force 's Strategic Air Command , the Lockheed Corporation and the Convair division of General Dynamics proposed the development of an air launched ballistic missile , to be carried by the Convair B 58 Hustler supersonic medium bomber . In early 1958 the two companies were awarded a contract for development of the weapon , designated WS 199C and given the code name High Virgo . While the project was intended to be strictly a research and development exercise , it was planned that the weapon would be quickly capable of being developed into an operational system if required . The High Virgo missile was a single stage weapon , powered by a solid fueled Thiokol TX 20 rocket , and was equipped an advanced inertial guidance system derived from that of the AGM 28 Hound Dog cruise missile . Four tailfins in a cruciform arrangement provided directional control . The missile was developed by Lockheed , utilising components developed for several existing missiles in order to reduce the cost of the project , and also to reduce the development time required , while Convair was responsible for development of a pylon for carriage and launching of the missile from the prototype B 58 , the pylon replacing the aircraft 's normal weapons pod . Operational history Four test flights of the High Virgo missile were conducted due to development problems , the first two did not include the inertial guidance system , instead being fitted with a simple autopilot guiding the weapon on a pre programmed course . Launched from its B 58 carrier aircraft at high altitude and supersonic speed , the initial flight , conducted on September 5 , 1958 , was a failure when the missile 's controls malfunctioned the second test , three months later , proved more successful , with the missile flying over a range of nearly 200 miles ( 320 km ) . The third flight test , the following June , utilized the inertial guidance system for the first time it , too , was a successful flight . Anti satellite test The fourth High Virgo missile was utilized in a test mission intended to demonstrate the capability of the missile for use as a satellite interceptor , or anti satellite missile ( ASAT ) . the missile , modified with cameras to record the results of the test , was initially targeted at the Explorer 4 satellite , but due to errors in calculating the satellite 's orbit Explorer 5 was targeted instead . The ASAT test mission , the final flight of the High Virgo missile , was conducted on September 22 , 1959 less than a minute after the launch of the missile from its B 58 carrier aircraft at Mach 2 , the telemetry signal was lost . No data was recovered from the test , and the camera data , intended to be recovered afterward , was not located therefore the test was inconclusive . No further test firings of High Virgo were conducted , the research project having been concluded . However the Air Force was already undertaking work on what would become the GAM 87 Skybolt missile , which incorporated lessons learned from the WS 199 project in its construction . Launch history
716
German submarine U 64 was a Type IXB U boat of Nazi Germany 's Kriegsmarine during World War II . She was ordered by them in July 1937 . Her keel was laid down by AG Weser in Bremen in December 1938 . Following about nine months of construction , she was launched in September 1939 and formally commissioned into the Kriegsmarine in December . U 64 had a very short career and sank no enemy vessels . Having left her home port of Wilhelmshaven for her first war patrol on 6 April 1940 , she was intercepted by Allied aircraft seven days later off the coast of Norway during the invasion of that country and was sunk by a bomb from a Fairey Swordfish aircraft of HMS Warspite ( 03 ) . Of her crew of 46 , eight men died and 38 escaped from the sinking submarine . Construction and design Construction U 64 was ordered by the Kriegsmarine on 16 July 1937 as part of Plan Z and in violation of the Treaty of Versailles . Her keel was laid down on 15 December 1938 by AG Weser in Bremen as yard number 952 . She was launched on 20 September 1939 and commissioned on 16 December under the command of Kapitnleutnant Georg Wilhelm Schulz . Design German Type IXB submarines were slightly larger than the original German Type IX submarines , later designated IXA . U 64 had a displacement of 1 , 051 tonnes ( 1 , 034 long tons ) when at the surface and 1 , 178 tonnes ( 1 , 159 long tons ) while submerged . The U boat had a total length of 76 . 50 m ( 251 ft ) , a pressure hull length of 58 . 75 m ( 192 ft 9 in ) , a beam of 6 . 76 m ( 22 ft 2 in ) , a height of 9 . 60 m ( 31 ft 6 in ) , and a draught of 4 . 70 m ( 15 ft 5 in ) . The submarine was powered by two MAN M 9 V 40 46 supercharged four stroke , nine cylinder diesel engines producing a total of 4 , 400 metric horsepower ( 3 , 240 kW 4 , 340 shp ) for use while surfaced , two Siemens Schuckert 2 GU 345 34 double acting electric motors producing a total of 1 , 000 metric horsepower ( 740 kW 990 shp ) for use while submerged . She had two shafts and two 1 . 92 m ( 6 ft ) propellers . The boat was capable of operating at depths of up to 230 metres ( 750 ft ) . The submarine had a maximum surface speed of 18 . 2 knots ( 33 . 7 km h 20 . 9 mph ) and a maximum submerged speed of 7 . 3 knots ( 13 . 5 km h 8 . 4 mph ) . When submerged , the boat could operate for 64 nautical miles ( 119 km 74 mi ) at 4 knots ( 7 . 4 km h 4 . 6 mph ) when surfaced , she could travel 12 , 000 nautical miles ( 22 , 000 km 14 , 000 mi ) at 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . U 64 was fitted with six 53 . 3 cm ( 21 in ) torpedo tubes ( four fitted at the bow and two at the stern ) , 22 torpedoes , one 10 . 5 cm ( 4 . 13 in ) SK C 32 naval gun , 180 rounds , and a 3 . 7 cm ( 1 . 5 in ) as well as a 2 cm ( 0 . 79 in ) anti aircraft gun . The boat had a complement of forty eight . Service history U 64 went to sea on 6 April 1940 . For eight days , she roamed the North Sea in search of Allied convoys heading to Norway in support of the campaign centred around that country . During that time she encountered no enemy vessels . On 13 April , the eighth day of her first patrol , she was heaved to in the waters off Bjerkvik in Norway , and was struck by a 350 pound bomb from a British Fairey Swordfish aircraft of HMS Warspite ( 03 ) . Her deck was also riddled with machine gun fire . The U boat then sank to the bottom of the harbor , eight of her crew went down with her . The remaining 38 were able to escape the sinking vessel and were picked up by German mountain troops stationed ashore . They later formed the crew of U 124 .
717
INS Shivalik ( unk ) is the lead ship of her class of stealth multi role frigates built for the Indian Navy . She is the first stealth warship built by India . Construction INS Shivalik was built at the Mazagon Dock Limited ( MDL ) located in Mumbai . The keel of the ship was laid on 11 July 2001 and the vessel was launched on 18 April 2003 . She was originally planned to be commissioned by 2005 but this was delayed . She started her sea trials in February 2009 and was eventually commissioned on 29 April 2010 . INS Shivalik features improved stealth and land attacking features over the preceding Talwar class frigates . She is also the first Indian Navy ship to use the CODOG propulsion system . Service history 2012 In 2012 , INS Shivalik was deployed in the Northwest Pacific for JIMEX 2012 ( Japan India Maritime Exercise ) with a four ship group which included INS Rana , INS Shakti and INS Karmuk and took part in India 's first bi lateral maritime exercise with Japan . The Japanese Maritime Self Defence Force ( JMSDF ) was represented by two destroyers , one maritime patrol aircraft and a helicopter . The four ships entered Tokyo on 5 June 2012 after visiting Singapore , Vietnam , Philippines and Republic of Korea . They stayed in Tokyo for three days . This visit coincided with commemoration of 60 years of diplomatic relations between India and Japan . Vice Admiral Anil Chopra , Flag Officer Commanding in Chief Eastern Naval Command , also visited Tokyo to witness the first JIMEX . After the deployment in the north Pacific , the battle group was deployed in the South China Sea . As part of India 's Look East policy , the ships visited the Shanghai port on 13 June 2012 , for a five day goodwill tour . INS Shakti served as the fuel and logistics tanker to the three destroyers . The ships left the port on 17 June 2012 . Before leaving the port , the ships conducted a routine passage exercise with the People 's Liberation Army Navy ( PLAN ) . After the visits to Singapore , Vietnam , Philippines , Japan , South Korea and China , the ships visited Port Klang , Malaysia . This was the battle group 's last port call during its two month long deployment , which had started in May 2012 . After this she returned to the Eastern Fleet of the Indian Navy and since has been docked there . 2014 On 21 25 April 2014 , INS Shivalik participated in the PLAN 's 65th anniversary celebrations held in Qingdao , China . She sailed 4 , 500 miles from Port Blair to Qingdao without being assisted by any support vessel . On 17 23 July 2014 , she participated in unk 2014 a naval and army counter terrorism exercise , with Russia in the Sea of Japan . INS Ranvijay and INS Shakti were also part of India fleet accompanying her . Russia was represented by the destroyer Admiral Vinogradov and Peresvet in addition to several auxiliary vessels . The exercise was hosted at Vladivostok , Russia . On 24 30 July 2014 , she participated in Malabar 2014 naval exercise off the southern coast of Japan , with the navies of Japan and United States . The exercise was hosted at Nagasaki , Japan . On 6 9 August 2014 , she visited Hai Phong , Vietnam on a goodwill visit . She was commanded by Captain unk Das . 2015 On 12 19 September 2015 , she participated in unk 2015 at Visakhapatnam , the first bilateral maritime exercise between India and Australia . Royal Australian Navy deployed HMAS Sirius , HMAS Arunta , HMAS Sheean and an Australian Air Force unk Orion . India provided INS Shivalik , INS Ranvijay , INS Shakti and an Indian Navy unk maritime patrol aircraft .
718
Cyclone Graham of the 2002 03 Australian region cyclone season was a weak tropical storm that affected Australia during late February and early March 2003 . Graham originated from an area of convection that emerged onto water after sitting over Australia on 23 February . The interaction with a monsoon trough formed an area of low pressure that developed into Tropical Cyclone Graham on 27 February . The storm moved slowly to the east southeast , and after turning to the south it peaked as a tropical storm and made landfall on Western Australia the next day . The cyclone weakened as it moved inland , and dissipated on 1 March . The storm dropped heavy rainfall and caused high winds , which produced flooding and downed trees . One fatality occurred , though no significant damages were reported . Meteorological history On 23 February 2003 , an area of convection that was situated over land for roughly a week emerged over open waters along the northern coast of Australia . The strengthening of a deep , persistent monsoon trough contributed to cyclogenesis , and a low pressure area formed . By 25 February , the low developed a banding feature in which the highest winds were located . Though the storm was located in an area of unfavorable wind shear , the Australian Bureau of Meteorology ( BoM ) began to issue gale warnings on the system at 0100 UTC the next day , while the low was located several hundred miles north northeast of Port Hedland . The disturbance was initially nearly stationary as it showed signs of organization due to relaxed shear , and at 0700 UTC on 27 February , the Joint Typhoon Warning Center ( JTWC ) designated the storm as Tropical Cyclone Graham , as it had attained 80 km h ( 50 mph ) 10 minute maximum sustained winds . The first warning was issued on Graham later that day . Initially exhibiting characteristics of a monsoonal low , a mid level ridge to the south of Graham caused strong westerly winds that moved the storm slowly east southeastward . However , a deep trough eroded the ridge , allowing the cyclone to move more towards the south . According to the JTWC , the storm had intensified late on 28 February , though at the same time the BoM noted the slight weakening of the storm . Graham reached its peak intensity that day while nearing the coast . The storm made landfall at Western Australia 's Eighty Mile Beach at 1400 UTC on 28 February , and began to weaken . The storm had dissipated on 1 March the BoM issued their last advisory on the cyclone at 0400 UTC that day , while similarly , the JTWC issued their last advisory just two hours later . The storm 's remnants died out in the country 's desert . Impact In advance of the cyclone , the communities of Wallal , Sandfire , unk and Telfer were put on alert . A warning was issued for Bidyadanga , Pardoo and Cotton Creek . The storm 's landfall in Western Australia brought heavy rainfall and high winds . The storm dropped 163 mm ( 6 . 4 in ) of rain at Telfer in one night , over half the town 's annual average total rainfall reached 175 mm ( 6 . 9 in ) there . The heavy rain caused flooding and road closures , and swelled a river passing through Fitzroy Crossing , though the river only topped its banks slightly . Near that town , at Blue Bush Creek , while a group of people attempted to cross floodwaters , two men were swept away . Both men were rescued , though one died before emergency services arrived . In addition to the flooding , a number of trees were downed . No significant damages were reported . Following the storm , the name Graham was retired from the Australian region basin .
719
New York State Route 598 ( NY 598 ) is a north south state highway located within Onondaga County , New York , in the United States . It extends for 2 . 31 miles ( 3 . 72 km ) from an intersection with NY 5 in the city of Syracuse to a junction with NY 298 in the adjacent town of Salina . The route intersects Interstate 690 ( I 690 ) near its southern terminus and passes through Syracuse 's Eastwood neighborhood near its midpoint , where it meets NY 290 . NY 598 was assigned c . 2004 . The northernmost portion of the route replaced NY 930M , a short unsigned reference route that extended from NY 298 in Salina southeast to the Syracuse city line at North Midler Avenue . NY 930M itself was a remnant of New York State Route 433 , a highway assigned in the early 1950s and removed in the mid 1960s that , upon removal , followed the same alignment as modern NY 598 . Route description NY 598 begins at an intersection with NY 5 ( Erie Boulevard ) east of downtown Syracuse . The route heads north as the four lane South Midler Avenue , crossing a CSX Transportation owned railroad spur known as the Peat Street Runner at grade ahead of an interchange with I 690 ( exit 15 ) at the southern edge of the Eastwood neighborhood . North of I 690 , the route narrows to two lanes as it travels through the densely populated residential neighborhood . The homes cease temporarily around NY 598 's intersection with NY 290 ( James Street ) , a prominent retail corridor in eastern Syracuse . Upon crossing NY 290 , NY 598 becomes North Midler Avenue as it becomes surrounded by houses once more . At the Syracuse city line three blocks to the north , North Midler Avenue splits off to the northeast while NY 598 becomes New Court Avenue . The switch in both the town of DeWitt and name also brings about a switch in surroundings as the route heads northwest into a heavily industrial area built up along CSX 's Mohawk Subdivision rail line . NY 598 ends shortly afterward at an intersection with NY 298 just inside the Salina town line . The portion of NY 598 in DeWitt and Salina is maintained by the New York State Department of Transportation ( NYSDOT ) the remainder of the route is maintained by the city of Syracuse . History All of Midler Avenue , including the portion of the street not currently part of NY 598 in DeWitt , was originally designated as NY 433 in the early 1950s . At the time , NY 433 ended at the junction of Midler Avenue and Court Street Road ( then NY 298 ) . By 1954 , New Court Avenue , an east west connector between NY 298 and NY 433 in DeWitt , was designated as NY 436 . In the late 1950s , construction began on a bypass of Court Street that extended from the western terminus of NY 436 in Salina to the junction of NY 298 and Thompson Road ( modern NY 635 ) in DeWitt . The bypass was opened to traffic as a realignment of NY 298 by 1961 . NY 433 was then extended northeastward along NY 298 's former routing on Court Street to Carrier Circle , where it met the realigned NY 298 . The alignments of NY 433 and NY 436 north of the Syracuse city line were flipped c . 1962 , placing NY 433 on Midler Avenue and New Court Avenue and NY 436 on Midler Avenue and Court Street Road . Both designations were removed at some point in the latter half of the 1960s . The portion of NY 433 's former routing outside of Syracuse became NY 930M , an unsigned reference route . NY 930M went unchanged until c . 2004 when it was incorporated into NY 598 , a new route extending from NY 5 to NY 298 by way of NY 433 's final alignment . Major intersections The entire route is in Onondaga County .
720
King 's Highway 148 , commonly referred to as Highway 148 , is a provincially maintained highway in Ontario , Canada . The highway acts as an extension of Route 148 in Quebec , once connecting it with Highway 17 , the Trans Canada Highway , near Pembroke . It was shortened to its present terminus in 1997 , and now connects downtown Pembroke to the provincial border . Highway 148 follows a route that was once part of Highway 17 and Highway 62 until the Pembroke Bypass opened in 1982 . The 7 . 0 kilometre ( 4 . 3 mi ) route of Highway 148 takes it along the Ontario shoreline of the Ottawa River from the outskirts of Pembroke to the opposite shore as L 'Isle aux unk , where it crosses the river into Quebec . The section of the highway within Pembroke is locally maintained under a Connecting Link agreement . Route description Highway 148 connects Pembroke to the Quebec border at L 'Isle aux unk , a distance of 5 km ( 3 . 1 mi ) . It originally connected to Highway 17 west of Pembroke , and was 15 . 1 km ( 9 . 4 mi ) long . However , its length was truncated on April 1 , 1997 when the province downloaded responsibility for the portion from Highway 17 to Boundary Street . At that time , the connecting link status of Highway 148 through Pembroke itself was revised , and the current signed terminus of the highway is now Mackay Street , which was formerly Highway 41 . Approximately 11 , 400 vehicles drive along Highway 148 on an average day , with just under half that many crossing from or into Quebec . Provincial control of Highway 148 begins at the Pembroke boundary , approximately 60 m ( 200 ft ) northwest of Angus Campbell Drive . From there , the route travels southeast through the urban rural fringe of the city , passing east of two large shopping complexes . After passing west of the community of Pleasant View , the route enters a rural area and curves south alongside farmland . At a four way stop with channelized right turn lanes , drivers must turn to remain on the highway . To the south is Renfrew County Road 40 , which continues to Highway 17 at the southern end of the Pembroke Bypass . Highway 148 continues east , crossing the Ottawa Valley Railway and the entrance to unk Bay before entering the community of unk Island . The highway curves northeast and crosses the Ottawa River , entering Quebec midspan . History Highway 148 follows the route of what was the northernmost section of Highway 62 , prior to the opening of the Pembroke Bypass . Highway 17 was also signed concurrently with Highway 62 between Round Lake Road and Renfrew County Road 40 , as it followed the Ottawa River in the Pembroke area at that time . On September 10 , 1982 , the Pembroke Bypass was ceremoniously opened to traffic , diverting Highway 17 to the west . In the process , Highway 62 was truncated at the new bypass the removed section was redesignated Highway 148 , giving it the same number as the route in Quebec that it served to connect with the Trans Canada Highway . Highway 148 was 14 . 4 km ( 8 . 9 mi ) long . However , its length was truncated on April 1 , 1997 when the province downloaded responsibility for the portions between Highway 17 and Highway 41 to the Town of Pembroke and County of Renfrew . The Pembroke Connecting Link agreement shares the responsibility for Highway 41 northeast of Highway 17 and for Highway 148 from Highway 41 to Cedar Lane between the province and the town . Major intersections The following table lists the major junctions along Highway 148 , as noted by the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario . The entire route is located in Renfrew County .
721
Codex Carolinus is a Gothic Latin unk uncial manuscript of the New Testament on parchment , dated to the 6th or 7th century . The Gothic text is designated by siglum Car , the Latin text is designated by siglum gue ( traditional system ) or by 79 ( on the list of unk ) , it represents the Old Latin translation of the New Testament . It is housed in the Herzog August Bibliothek . It is one of very few manuscripts of unk Gothic Bible . The manuscript is fragmentary . The four leaves of the codex were used as raw material for the production of another manuscript Codex Guelferbytanus 64 unk . It is a palimpsest , and its text was reconstructed several times . Franz Anton Knittel was the first to examine it and decipher its text . Description The codex has survived to the present day in a very fragmentary condition . It contains only the text of the Epistle to the Romans 11 15 on four parchment leaves ( size 26 . 5 cm by 21 . 5 cm ) . The text is written in two parallel columns , 27 lines per column . The left column is in Gothic , the right in Latin . Contents Romans 11 33 12 5 12 17 13 5 14 9 20 15 3 13 . The text of the codex is not divided into chapters . The nomina sacra are used both in Gothic and Latin texts ( ihm and unk for Iesum and Iesu ) . All the abbreviations are marked with the superscript bar . Its text has some value in Romans 14 14 for Textual Criticism . It is a palimpsest , the whole book is known as Codex Guelferbytanus 64 unk . The upper text is in Latin , it contains Isidore of Seville 's unk and his six letters . The lower text of the codex belongs to several much earlier manuscripts , such as Codex Guelferbytanus A , Codex Guelferbytanus B , and Codex Carolinus . History The manuscript is dated palaeographically to the 6th century or 7th century . According to Tischendorf it was written in the 6th century . Probably it was written in Italy . Nothing is known about its early history . In the 12th or 13th century four of its leaves were used as material for another book and they were overwritten by Latin text . Its later story is linked with the codices Guelferbytanus A and B. Formerly the manuscript was held in Bobbio , Weissenburg , Mainz , and Prague . The Duke of Brunswick bought it in 1689 . The manuscript became known to the scholars in the half of the 18th century , where it was found in the Ducal Library of Wolfenbttel . The first description of the codex was made by Heusinger . Franz Anton Knittel ( 1721 1792 ) recognized two lower Greek texts of the New Testament in this palimpsest codex , and designated them by A and B , he recognized also the Gothic Latin text ( known later as Codex Carolinus ) . F. A. Knittel deciphered Gothic Latin text of the Codex Carolinus and published it in 1762 at Brunswick . In his edition all abbreviated forms , Gothic and Latin , are written in full . It was published in Uppsala in 1763 . It was published again by Theodor Zahn . Knittel made many errors , especially in Latin text , he also did not decipher every word and left several lacunae in the reconstructed text ( e.g. Romans 11 35 12 2 15 8 ) . Tischendorf made a new and more accurate collation for the Latin text and edited in 1855 . Tischendorf used abbreviations for the nomina sacra , he did not leave any lacunae . The new collation of the Gothic text was given by Carla unk in 1999 . The codex is located at the Herzog August Bibliothek ( no . unk ) in Wolfenbttel . Samples of reconstructed text ( Romans 11 33 12 2 ) Gothic text ( folio 277 recto , 1 col . ) Latin text ( folio 277 recto , 2 col . )
722
State Route 339 ( SR 339 ) was a 8 . 5 nautical mile long ( 9 . 8 mi 15 . 7 km ) ferry route designated as a state highway in the U.S. state of Washington . It connected Vashon Island 's Vashon Heights ferry terminal to downtown Seattle 's Pier 50 , via a passenger only ferry , the MV Skagit . The ferry was financed by the King County Ferry District ( KCFD ) and tolls collected at Pier 50 . Despite being part of the KCFD , the ferry was operated by Washington State Ferries ( WSF ) . SR 339 was one of only four ferry routes providing access to and from Vashon Island , and had the lowest annual average ridership of the four routes . The state of Washington took over the operation of the ferry route in 1951 , and designated it SR 339 in 1994 . The ferry was discontinued in 2006 and was replaced by a King County Water Taxi route . Route description The entire route of SR 339 was in Puget Sound and was served by the MV Skagit . The passenger only ferry started out from the Vashon Heights ferry terminal on Vashon Island and headed in a northerly direction , passing Blake Island State Park on the west . It briefly sailed into Kitsap County before the route turned east and passed the Alki Point Light and Alki Point before entering Elliott Bay , and docking at WSF 's Pier 50 , just south of Colman Dock , where the rest of the WSF operated ferries dock in Seattle . Traveling at a top speed of 25 knots ( 29 mph ) , the MV Skagit made the crossing in about 35 minutes . There were three crossings each direction Monday Friday , and no service on Saturday or Sunday . Vashon Island is only connected to the rest of the region via three different WSF ferries departing from the Vashon dock , the other route departing from the Tahlequah dock on the south end of the island . SR 339 was the only passenger only ferry that served the island the other three ferries are auto ferries . History Ferries have provided transportation to and from Vashon Island since the days of the Seattle Mosquito Fleet , but the state government took over the operation of the Vashon Island ferry on June 1 , 1951 . The MV Skagit was built in 1989 , and the ferry began service on the Seattle Vashon Island route on April 23 , 1990 . The route was designated as a state highway , along with the rest of the state ferry system , in 1994 . In 2003 the average daily ridership was 827 passengers per day , based on a five day week , compared to 1 , 015 passengers on average when the route operated on a six day schedule in 1999 . This number has decreased in 2004 , with an average of 529 passengers per day traveling on the ferry . The passenger only service between unk Island and Seattle ended in 2006 . WSF operated and maintained the MV Skagit , but by July 2009 the KCFD was to assume all responsibilities of the operation . The route no longer received state funding , and King County was to be responsible for all costs of the route to be funded by property taxes . The MV Skagit was sold in 2011 to a ferry operator in Tanzania , where it connected Zanzibar to the mainland until it sank on July 18 , 2012 . The Seattle Vashon Island run was transferred to the King County Ferry District in 2007 , now operated as a King County Water Taxi route . Tolls Tolls were collected on trips departing Pier 50 return trips to Seattle were not charged . The adult toll was 8 . 70 , with bicycles assessed an additional 1 . 00 toll . Wave2Go is a prepaid toll system which allowed commuters to purchase either 10 ride cards or monthly passes . Major intersections The entire route was located in Puget Sound , King County .
723
The Burundi women 's national football team represents Burundi in women 's international football competitions . The team , however , has not competed in a match recognised by FIFA , the sport 's international governing body . A senior national team is inactive , but an under 20 team has played in numerous matches . Further development of football in the country faces challenges found across Africa , including inequality and limited access to education for women . A women 's football programme did not exist in Burundi until 2000 , and only 455 players had registered for participation on the national level by 2006 . Team In 1985 , few countries had women 's national football teams . While the sport grew in popularity worldwide in the ensuing years , Burundi did not have a team more than two decades later . By 2009 , however , Burundi had a FIFA recognised senior national team nicknamed the Swallows and a FIFA recognised Burundi women 's under 20 national team . The under 20 team played one international match in 2002 , one in 2004 and one in 2006 . The senior national football team has never competed in a FIFA sanctioned fixture and has not competed at the Women 's World Cup . The team was one of 200 preparing for a qualification tournament for the cup in 2007 , but did not play in the competition . The team has withdrawn from numerous other events . Burundi was to play in the 2008 African Women 's Championship but withdrew from the tournament , giving the Democratic Republic of the Congo an automatic qualification . The team also withdrew from the 2010 CAF Women 's Championship and the 2012 CAF Women 's Championship before the first round qualifiers . Burundi has not participated in other major events on the continent , including the 2011 All Africa Games . As of March 2012 , the team was not ranked by FIFA . Burundi was scheduled to participate in a competition in 2007 organised by the Confederation of African Football ( CAF ) in Zanzibar . Nicholas Musonye , the secretary of the Council for East and Central Africa Football Associations ( Cecafa ) , said of the event , CAF wants to develop women 's football in this region in recognition of the milestones Cecafa has achieved over the years . CAF appreciates what Cecafa has done despite the hardships the association has gone through , from financial problems to political instability in member states and poor management of associations . Member states in the Cecafa region have not taken women 's football seriously . CAF now wants to sponsor a long term campaign to attract women from this region into the game . The competition was canceled due to lack of funds . Background and development The development of women 's football in Africa faces several challenges , including limited access to education , poverty amongst women , inequalities and human rights abuses . Many quality female footballers leave their home countries for better opportunities elsewhere . Another issue facing women 's football is institutional . Most of the funding for the sport in Africa comes from FIFA , not from national football federations . The Fdration de Football du Burundi , the country 's national association , created a woman 's football programme in 2000 . By 2006 , there were just 455 registered women players , and the absence of a thriving women 's game has been an obstacle for the national team . Lydia unk is the head of the national football association . Outside the national federation , the Commission nationale du football unk was established by the 1990s , and a league and women 's teams were organised in the same period in unk .
724
No Quiero Saber is a song recorded by American recording artist Selena . It was originally a track on her second studio album Ven Conmigo ( 1990 ) . It was composed and produced by her brother , A.B. Quintanilla III . Pete Astudillo , a backup singer with Selena y Los Dinos , produced the song with Quintanilla . The recording was later mixed by A.B. for Selena 's 1996 first remix album , Siempre Selena . It was released posthumously by EMI Latin in June 1996 , as the album 's second single , behind Siempre Hace Frio . The track was given positive reviews by music critics , with The Deseret News calling it one of Selena 's best songs . After its inclusion on her second remix album as a bonus acoustic track on Enamorada de Ti ( 2012 ) , critics gave a mixed review . The song won the Tejano Crossover Song of the Year award posthumously at the 1997 Tejano Music Awards . It peaked at number six on the US Billboard Hot Latin Tracks chart , while peaking within the top 20 on the Latin Regional Mexican Airplay chart and the Latin Pop Airplay . Background and release No Quiero Saber was written and produced by A.B. Quintanilla III , Selena 's brother and principal record producer . Pete Astudillo , a backup singer with Selena y Los Dinos , helped Quintanilla produce the song . It was composed for Selena 's second studio album Ven Conmigo ( 1990 ) , and was mixed by Brian Red Moore , a family friend . A.B. later remixed the recording , for a release on Selena 's first remix album , Siempre Selena ( 1996 ) . The track was featured on the official Latin album of the 1996 Summer Olympics , Voces unk , which was headed by EMI Latin . The song was released as the second single from Siempre Selena in June 1996 , behind Siempre Hace Frio . Critical response The Deseret News named No Quiero Saber as one of Selena 's best works . Stephen Thomas Erlewine from Allmusic , named No Quiero Saber as one of Tejano 's hit tracks while reviewing the various artists album Tejano Heavy unk ( 1997 ) . No Quiero Saber won the Tejano Crossover Song of the Year award posthumously at the 1997 Tejano Music Awards . In 2012 , No Quiero Saber was released as an acoustic bonus track for Selena 's second remix album , Enamorada de Ti . Joey Guerra of the San Antonio Express News wrote that the bonus acoustic recordings are unlikely highlights , the new instrumentation gives them all a nice edge and highlights Selena 's burgeoning vocal prowess . Domingo Banda of the Semana News , gave a more positive approach and listed them as recommended tracks and believed they are reminiscent of live Selena recordings . Chart performance No Quiero Saber debuted at number 35 on the US Billboard Hot Latin Tracks on the issue dated 11 May 1996 . It peaked at number six on the week of 22 June 1996 . On the week of 1 June 1996 , the recording debuted at number 12 on the Latin Pop Airplay chart , and peaked at number 10 four weeks later on the week of 29 June 1996 . On the Latin Regional Mexican Airplay chart , No Quiero Saber debuted at number 20 on the week of 15 June 1996 . The following week , it peaked at number 15 . Credits and personnel Credits are taken from the single 's liner notes . Vocals by Selena Written and composed by A.B. Quintanilla III , Pete Astudillo Produced by A.B. Quintanilla III Arranging by A.B. Quintanilla III Keyboards by Roland Gutierrez , Cruz Martnez Programming by Roland Gutierrez , Cruz Martnez Mixing by Brian Red Moore , A.B. Quintanilla III Engineering by Brian Red Moore Recording by Brian Red Moore Sequencing by Roland Gutierrez , Cruz Martnez
725
Polikarpov DI 1 ( also known as 2I N1 , Russian unk unk 1 ( unk unk ) ) was a prototype Soviet two seat fighter designed during the 1920s . The sole prototype built crashed on its ninth flight , due to manufacturing defects , and the program was cancelled . Design and development Nikolai Nikolaevich Polikarpov began design of a two seat fighter initially designated as the 2I N1 ( two seat Istrebitel ' ( fighter ) with a single Napier engine ) in October 1924 at Zavod ( Factory ) Nr. 1 at Khodynka Aerodrome , Moscow . It was the first Soviet indigenous two seat fighter . It was a single bay biplane with its wings arranged in a sesquiplane configuration . The oval shaped , semi monocoque fuselage was made of ' shpon ' , molded birch plywood . The wings were also covered with ' shpon ' . The upper wing had two spars , but the lower wing only had one . Internal bracing wires were not used in the wings as it was built up from plywood ribs with large lightening holes and stringers . V struts made from Duralumin separated the wings and connected the upper wing to the fuselage . Steel bracing wires were used externally . An airfoil enclosed the axle of the fixed undercarriage and a small ski served as a tailskid . It had an imported 336 kilowatt ( 451 hp ) Napier Lion engine enclosed in a metal cowling . It carried 547 kg ( 1 , 206 lb ) of fuel and oil . The armament consisted of a single fixed 7 . 62 mm ( 0 . 300 in ) synchronized PV 1 machine gun and a 7 . 62 mm DA machine gun mounted on a ring in the observer 's cockpit . The first flight of the prototype took place on 12 January 1926 and the DI 1 , as it was now known , demonstrated excellent performance . Polikarpov himself flew as the observer on the fourth and eighth test flights . However , during the ninth flight on 31 March 1926 , the aircraft was making speed runs over the measured kilometer at Khodynka Airfield at a height of 100 metres ( 328 ft ) when the upper surface of the right upper wing ripped off , followed by the lower skin . Both right wings then collapsed and the DI 1 crashed , killing both the pilot , V. N. unk , and the observer , V. V. Mikhailov . Examination of the wreckage revealed that large portions of the wings ' skin were badly glued and that a number of rib caps and stringers were not glued at all . Many panel pins were not connected to the structure at all and many of the unk holes necessary to equalize pressure between the inside of the wing and the outside were missing entirely . The crash of such an advanced aircraft shocked the entire industry and caused a six month hiatus in design work . Polikarpov overreacted to its loss and built the structure of a number of his subsequent aircraft stronger , and thus , heavier , than it needed to be . All further work on the project was abandoned following the crash , nominally for lack of a suitable engine . Specifications Data from Shavrov , Istoriia konstruktskii samoletov v SSSR do 1938 g . General characteristics Crew Two Length 9 . 75 m ( 31 ft 12 in ) Wingspan 12 m ( 39 ft 4 in ) Height ( ) Wing area 27 . 15 m ( 292 . 2 ft ) Empty weight 1 , 153 kg ( 2 , 542 lb ) Loaded weight 1 , 700 kg ( 3 , 748 lb ) Powerplant 1 Napier Lion 12 cylinder W engine , 336 kW ( 450 hp ) Performance Maximum speed 268 km h ( 145 kn , 167 mph ) Range 800 km ( 432 nmi , 497 mi ) Service ceiling 7 , 100 m ( 23 , 294 ft ) Wing loading 63 kg m ( 13 lb ft ) Power mass 197 W kg ( 0 . 12 hp lb ) Time to altitude 13 min to 5 , 000 m ( 16 , 400 ft ) Horizontal turn time 12 sec Armament 2 7 . 62 mm ( 0 . 30 in ) machine guns
726
K 34 is a 29 . 26 mile long ( 47 . 09 km ) state highway in southwestern Kansas that runs from U.S. Route 160 ( US 160 ) and US 183 near Ashland to US 400 near Bucklin . It is one of the lesser traveled highways in the state and is not part of the National Highway System . It is a two lane road for its entire length . K 34 was originally designated in southeastern Kansas , running through unk . The designation was moved to southwestern Kansas in 1937 , replacing the old K 41 designation . The highway formerly ran to the Oklahoma border via a concurrency with US 183 . The designation was shortened in 1993 to its current routing . Route description K 34 begins at an intersection with US 160 and US 183 east of Ashland in Clark County . It heads north through rolling farmland along a two lane road . A series of curves takes the highway northeast , after which the route straightens out to the north and crosses Bluff Creek before intersecting a road which , prior to 1965 , carried K 34 . It continues due north and enters Ford County . North of the county line and south of Bucklin , K 34 takes the name 132 Road . The route turns to the northwest as it crosses Day Road and enters the city of Bucklin . After entering the city , K 34 curves to the north and becomes Main Street . In the northern portion of Bucklin , the route turns southwest and overlaps U.S. Route 54 for a short distance . Following the short concurrency , K 34 turns to the north and passes under a railroad operated by Union Pacific . The highway twists to the northwest and leaves Bucklin , meeting its northern terminus a few miles farther to the northwest at an intersection with US 400 . K 34 is maintained by the Kansas Department of Transportation ( KDOT ) . The route 's annual average daily traffic in 2012 was about 570 vehicles , including 240 trucks , south of Bucklin . North of the city , there was significantly more traffic . There were 1010 vehicles , and 285 trucks , from Bucklin to the highway 's northern terminus . No segment of the highway is part of the National Highway System , a system of highways important to the nation 's defense , economy , and mobility . History K 34 was first designated before 1932 in Wilson and Montgomery counties . That route began at K 96 and ran east to K 16 . Around 1936 , another segment of the route was designated in Cherokee County , east of the rest of the route , from Crestline to the Missouri state line . In 1937 , the portion of the western segment of the route located west of US 75 was re designated as K 37 , the eastern segment of the route was renumbered as K 26 , and K 34 was re designated in the southwestern portion of the state from the Oklahoma state line to its current northern terminus . The segment of the highway north of US 160 replaced the former K 41 designation . At the time of its designation , not all of K 34 was paved . The segment in Ford County and the concurrency with US 160 was paved , but all other segments were either gravel or dirt . By 1948 , all of the route was paved except a small portion in Comanche and Clark counties , which was still gravel . No dirt segments remained by 1948 . In 1965 , the K 34 designation was realigned so that it extended straight north from the intersection with US 160 and US 183 instead of overlapping those highways and traveling east . This realignment caused the route to bypass Comanche County entirely , and by 1967 , the whole highway was paved . In 1993 , the concurrency with US 183 was removed from the route . The route has not been modified since 1993 . Major intersections
727
M 129 is a state trunkline highway in the Upper Peninsula ( UP ) of the US state of Michigan . It runs from Cedarville to Sault Ste . Marie . South of Nine Mile Road in Chippewa County ( and in all of Mackinac County ) , M 129 overlays the Michigan Meridian . The section of M 129 that overlays the meridian is named Meridian Road . The highway between M 48 and the northern terminus is a part of the larger Lake Huron Circle Tour . Originally a part of M 12 and US Highway 2 ( US 2 ) , the current roadway was formerly designated M 5 from 1930 until 1939 . Two other highways were also previously designated M 129 . The first was in the western UP in the late 1920s it was replaced by M 64 . The second was in the Keweenaw Peninsula and was replaced by M 26 . Route description M 129 starts at an intersection between Meridian Road and M 134 in Cedarville . This intersection is northwest of Lake Huron and a ferry connection to the 4 mile ( 6 km ) long La Salle Island , part of Les unk Islands . The islands are a quiet tourist destination that Hunt 's Guide to Michigan 's Upper Peninsula describes as off the beaten tourist track and full of low key charm . From here north , M 129 follows the Michigan Meridian on Meridian Road . The highway forms part of the north south Mackinac Chippewa county line as it approaches the community of Pickford . South of Pickford , M 129 and M 48 merge along Meridian Road at 26 Mile Road . M 129 picks up the Lake Huron Circle Tour designation and the two roads cross together over the Munuscong River , which empties into Munuscong Lake , a part of the St. Marys River . These two highways run concurrently through Pickford to 22 Mile Road . At 22 Mile Road , M 48 turns westerly and M 129 continues north . This intersection is also the location of the unk Golf Club . M 129 meets the eastern termini of M 80 and M 28 at 17 Mile Road and 9 Mile Road , respectively . Just before meeting 9 Mile Road , M 129 jogs to the east , leaving Meridian Road to meet up with McKnight Road , which runs parallel to the Michigan Meridian . McKnight Road and I 75 run roughly parallel approaching Sault Ste . Marie from the south . At 3 Mile Road , M 129 enters the city of Sault Ste . Marie east of the southern terminus of BS I 75 , and the roadway is renamed Ashmun Street . When BS I 75 meets Ashmun Street , M 129 ends and BS I 75 takes over the Ashmun Street name into downtown . M 129 ends south of the Lake Superior State University campus , home of the annual Banished Words List . History The modern M 129 was originally part of M 12 from 1919 until 1926 and US 2 from 1926 to 1933 . Previous designations The first usage of M 129 on a highway in Michigan was on a roadway connecting Lake Gogebic State Park to Marenisco and south to the Wisconsin state line this routing was designated M 64 in 1930 . The second usage was for a highway in the Keweenaw Peninsula connecting Phoenix with Eagle Harbor . This second designation was extended in 1933 to Copper Harbor and replaced by M 26 in 1935 . Current designation M 5 was used as the designation for the former US 2 in Mackinac and Chippewa counties until 1939 , when it was redesignated as M 129 on maps . The last gravel sections of roadway were paved in 1960 south of Sault Ste . Marie , and the highway was truncated to end at M 134 in Cedarville in 1963 . Previous to this , the highway continued south into downtown Cedarville on unk Road . A small realignment moved the northern terminus to a new intersection with BS I 75 in Sault Ste . Marie in late 1967 . Major intersections
728
Purr by Katy Perry is a fragrance created by American singer Katy Perry and Gigantic unk . Katy 's love for cats and kittens influenced both her decision to create the perfume and its design , although further inspiration for the bottle 's design came from other perfume products worldwide . Purr features a variety of scents , including citrus fruits . Released in November 2010 , it is available in a purple cat shaped bottle . Purr is available in 1 . 7 and 3 . 4 fluid ounce bottles , with a retail price in the US of 35 . 00 to 45 . 00 for the smaller size and 65 . 00 for the larger . Conception Katy Perry chose to release her own signature fragrance , Purr , to add a personal touch and compete with other celebrities ' perfumes she cited Beyonc and Kim Kardashian as examples . Having teamed up with Gigantic unk , she was actively involved in the development of her fragrance . She mentioned in an interview that she created the product because she loves cats . Katy ( a self described lyrical based person ) decided the name Purr seemed natural since it sounded like perfume , perfect and even Perry . Working with Firmenich fragrances , she wanted to make a scent that would have a strong effect on people and something that was not reminiscent of other perfumes she had smelt . Nordstrom National Beauty and Fragrance Director Cheri unk said that while the pop singer was working with perfumers on Purr , the aim was to capture the distinctive notes of her favorite perfumes . Packaging and scent Purr 's scent is fresh with a citrus twist which also features peach nectar and apple with green bamboo . It also includes a delicate bouquet of jasmine blossom , pink freesia and Bulgarian rose , balanced by vanilla orchid , white amber , creamy sandalwood and musk . The bottle is purple , shaped like a cat , decorated with jeweled eyes and features metallic details . Its design was hand sketched by Katy Perry herself , and was influenced by her Catwoman stage costume . Release Following the theme of the bottle 's design , Purr 's feline inspired print advertisements featured Perry posing provocatively in a purple and pink cat suit . While she was shooting the commercial advert for Purr , the television show Extra conducted a behind the scenes interview with Perry about the design of the bottle . Purr was launched in November 2010 in the United Kingdom , where it was available exclusively at London 's Selfridges store for one week , ahead of a national roll out beginning November 20 . In the United States , the fragrance is available exclusively at Nordstrom stores . It is sold in 1 . 7 and 3 . 4 fluid ounce bottles at a reported retail price of 35 . 00 to 45 . 00 for the former and 65 . 00 for the larger . Purr is also available online through unk 's official website . Reception Monthly teen magazine Seventeen called Purr 's bottle design cute . Miriam Lacey of unk 's spin off website unk gave the perfume a favorable review and said it smelt like a fancier , less chemical laden version of fruit scented body sprays . In her review , Lacey also called Purr an upside down fragrance , because unlike most perfumes which open with their prettiest notes and then end with a relatively generic bottom accord , Purr has a really nice caramel and sweet patchouli dry down that fans of Angel will adore , but to get there , you have to sit through a bunch of fruity opening notes . Lacey observed that its scent only lasted about 2 hours she thought it would be better to spray it onto your hairbrush , since the oils on your scalp will help it last longer .
729
The 19th Boat Race between crews from the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge took place on the River Thames on 12 April 1862 . Oxford won by 10 lengths in a time of 24 minutes and 34 seconds , taking the overall record to 10 9 in Cambridge 's favour . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities and followed throughout the United Kingdom and worldwide . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having won the 1861 race by sixteen lengths , with Cambridge leading overall with ten victories to Oxford 's eight . Both University crews were unk from trials eights , with varied success . The Cambridge crew set a record time during practice , while Oxford were in very rough condition . Just one former Blues returned to the crew , instead of the four who had been expected . Morale was so low in the Dark Blue camp that it was suggested that they write to Cambridge claiming that they could not assemble a crew . The Oxford University Boat Club president and coach George Morrison refused this course of action and the race was set for 12 April 1862 . The boats were built by J. and S. Salter of Oxford . The race was umpired by Joseph William Chitty who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race , while the starter was Edward Searle . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 11 st 11 . 375 lb ( 74 . 8 kg ) , 12 . 25 pounds ( 5 . 6 kg ) per rower more than their Light Blue opposition . Poole and Hoare returned for the Oxford crew while Cambridge 's crew featured three returning Blues in Robert Fitzgerald , Henry Collings and George Richards . Race Weather conditions on the day of the race were described as excessively cold with a smart breeze although the sun shone brilliantly . Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey side of the river to Cambridge . The Light Blues took an early lead but Oxford were soon level with them by the time they passed the Star and Garter pub . With the steadier stroke , Oxford took the lead and were clear of Cambridge by Craven Cottage . They extended their lead further , to such an extent that even though the Light Blue cox Richards made a spurt at the Soap Works , his boat had been surrounded by the steamers , and overtaken by one . The disruption from steamers would become so severe that in the 1864 race , both boat club presidents threatened to postpone the race unless the steamers remained behind the two crews . The Dark Blues held a three length advantage by the time they shot Hammersmith Bridge , and despite another spurt from Cambridge off Chiswick Eyot , the lead had extended to at least 100 yards ( 91 m ) by Barnes Bridge . Oxford won by 10 lengths in a time of 24 minutes 34 seconds . It was their third win in four years and secured Oxford 's ninth win in the event compared to Cambridge 's ten . Contemporary rower and author William MacMichael suggested Of these two crews it is scarcely necessary to say more than that if they did not reach the consummate excellence of some which we have been accustomed to look back upon as the highest standard of form and beauty , they were yet a good average specimen of University rowing .
730
The Pleasure Beach Bridge is a movable Warren through truss bridge in Bridgeport , Connecticut . Completed in 1927 , it functioned as a toll bridge until the Great Depression , when it was transferred to the city of Bridgeport . Its service life came to an end after it was badly damaged by fire in 1996 , cutting off access to Pleasure Beach . In the decade following the fire , several bonds to fund a new bridge were proposed , but ultimately fell through . Pleasure Beach has become the subject of debate , whether it will become an undisturbed protected salt match or be revitalized . An alternate method of access via water taxi service , first made possible by a grant in 2009 , was not realized until 2013 . Construction Pleasure Beach Bridge is a riveted Warren through truss , consisting of longitudinal members joined only by angled cross members , forming alternately inverted equilateral triangle shaped spaces along the length . The bridge is supported by timber pilings . The swing span is made of two separate Warren through trusses that pivots on concrete pier . The operator 's house is located on the mainland approach . The bridge spans a length of 105 ft ( 32 m ) , by 20 ft ( 6 . 1 m ) wide , and was rated with an eight ton limit . Its wooden construction resulted in the timbers creaking and shifting under the weight of passing cars . History Prior to the bridge 's construction , Pleasure Island was accessible only by ferry . In 1907 , the Pleasure Beach Ferry Company was given the rights to build a movable toll bridge . A series of trestles were built across the tidal flats with a swing span across the dredged channel . The swing span was constructed in 1927 , but in the Great Depression the Beach Ferry Company transferred control of the bridge to the city of Bridgeport . The tolls were removed and the bridge continued to be used after Pleasure Beach 's closing in 1968 , until the 1996 fire . Repairs were made to the bridge in 1988 with money from the state . In 1994 , the need to replace the bridge resulted in a state and federal promise of 20 million , but this was rejected by the Connecticut Department of Transportation in 1995 . The bridge caught fire on June 16 , 1996 , when a cigarette butt or match ignited the wooden structure . The fire began around 2 20 p.m. and burned for over three hours . The bridge was raised to an open position but the fire badly charred a 200 ft ( 61 m ) section of the bridge . The bridge and Pleasure Beach was then closed . Estimates of the cost of constructing a new bridge or causeway varies between 9 million to 26 million . Aftermath The reconstruction of the bridge has been a perennial subject . George Gunther , strong advocate for a new Pleasure Beach Bridge , petitioned for the eight consecutive years to replace the bridge . In 2005 , the bridge was slated to have 13 . 5 million bond grant by the State of Connecticut that was termed legislative pork . In 2007 , a bond for 4 million to build a retractable pedestrian bridge was highlighted , but not constructed . The damage and closure of the bridge resulted in concerns over Pleasure Beach 's fate . The Connecticut Audubon Society seeks to create Connecticut 's largest , undisturbed protected salt match . The area has been designated an Important Bird Area and the purchase of surrounding land is underway . A local firm , Stantec , has been retained for a study for revitalizing Pleasure Beach the accessibility to Pleasure Beach is a key issue . In 2009 , the city of Bridgeport received a 1 . 9 million grant for a water taxi service that was delayed repeatedly into 2013 .
731
The Monumento al Indio Comahue ( Monument to the Comahue Indian ) is a monument located in Villa Regina , in the Argentine province of Ro Negro . It was constructed to honor the native inhabitants of the Comahue Region . The monument was completed in time for the inaugural Comahue National Fair in 1964 . Commissioned by the organizers of the fair , Bartolo unk and Rogelio unk , it was designed by Miguel De Lisi and constructed in two months by local bricklayer Aldo Cardozo . Presently it is used as an overlook for its panoramic view . The monument is considered to be a symbol of the town , and as such it is depicted in the coat of arms . History The monument was erected to commemorate the native inhabitants of Comahue . It was constructed for the first Comahue National Fair , in 1964 . This was a 45 day event that aimed to highlight the economic potential of the Comahue Region , and at the same time commemorate the 40th anniversary of the founding of Villa Regina . Bartolo unk and Rogelio unk , who organized the fair , proposed the construction to designer Miguel De Lisi , after seeing his work at the City Hotel in Mar del Plata . Construction De Lisi sent the drawings to the local construction team , led by Aldo Humberto Cardozo and Alberto Sartor . The monument had been originally planned to be 10 metres ( 33 ft ) tall , but Cardozo re scaled it to be nearly 11 metres ( 36 ft ) , and later also added a high base of 2 metres ( 6 ft 7 in ) . The completed monument , now standing at almost 13 metres ( 42 . 4 ft ) , depicts a native who is holding a long spear while watching the horizon . Work started in July 1964 , with the structure being built of reinforced concrete . It had an iron skeleton made up of 4 inch pipes ( 100mm ) , which was reinforced with radial sections that were soldered every 50 centimetres ( 20 in ) . Later , the figure was filled from the feet to the hips with ceramic brick and concrete , with the top half finished using a layer of reinforced concrete . The monument was completed in two months with an estimated weight of 80 tons , and a height of 12 . 90 metres ( 42 . 3 ft ) . In its construction , five hundred bags of cement , 2 , 500 kilograms ( 5 , 500 lb ) of iron , 60 metres ( 200 ft ) of steel , and 80 square metres ( 860 sq ft ) of sand were used . It was later painted by a local man , Carlos unk unk . The job proved to be very difficult due to strong winds that blew the wooden planks off the scaffolding and into a nearby ditch . A construction team later tied on the planks , solving the problem . The painters first applied a primer coat , then linseed oil , varnish , and finally a coat of copper glitter . The monument was inaugurated during the opening of the Comahue National Fair on September 7 , 1964 . The monument and Villa Regina The structure is located on the northern hill of the town , which has an elevation of 70 to 80 metres ( 230 to 260 feet ) . The hill is mostly covered in bushes and can be accessed by two paths . Currently it is used as an overlook for its panoramic view of the town . It also serves to mark the finishing line for the annual trekking trail competition , Desafo al Indio Comahue . Considered as the symbol of Villa Regina , the Indio Comahue is depicted in the city 's coat of arms . It was also depicted in the previous seal of the Ro Negro Province , designed by the government of the Argentine Revolution . The seal was replaced in 2009 by the one that the overthrown government designed in 1966 , months before the coup d 'tat . The Comahue National Fair was relaunched in 2004 , and is currently celebrated every two years .
732
M 91 is a largely north south state trunkline highway in the Lower Peninsula of the US state of Michigan . It runs from Belding to south of Lakeview . Its 24 mile ( 39 km ) length exists entirely within Ionia and Montcalm counties . It is all undivided surface route . Aside from the two Michigan state highways that are its termini , it has only one other unk with any Michigan state highway , and that is with M 57 in Greenville . M 91 was formed when M 66 was rerouted in the 1940s . At the time , the highway continued south to Lowell , but subsequent transfers or roadway sections have truncated the route to its present form . For a time period in the 1980s , M 91 was even a discontinuous highway when a section in the middle was transferred to county control before the southernmost section was transferred . Route description M 91 starts at an intersection with M 44 west of Belding in Otisco Township . The road runs north along Storey Road and past the unk Golf Course and farmlands . At Bricker Road , M 91 crosses out of Ionia County into Montcalm County . The trunkline runs along Greenville Road and passes the Greenville Municipal Airport . As it continues north , the highway curves to the northeast running between the Flat River and Baldwin , Como and unk lakes . As it enters the south side of Greenville , M 91 runs along on Lafayette Street . In the center of Greenville , M 91 meets M 57 on Washington Street . North of downtown , M 91 crosses a bend in the Flat River and continues to parallel the river on the east out of town . In rural Montcalm County , M 91 is once again named Greenville Road and it curves to the west of Turk Lake and continues due north to the community of Langston . North of Langston are Tacoma , West and Spring lakes . Further north , M 91 curves to the northwest around Farnsworth Lake , resuming its due north course a mile ( 1 . 6 km ) to the west . Running through farmlands again , M 91 terminates at an intersection with M 46 in Lakeview , just south of Tamarack Lake . History Previous designations The first routing of M 91 in Michigan was located between Menominee and Cedar River in the Upper Peninsula . This routing was designated by July 1 , 1919 . The designation remained until sometime before December 1927 when it was replaced by M 35 . In 1927 , all of the current M 91 was originally part of M 66 . A second usage of M 91 was designated from Rogers City towards Cheboygan County along the Lake Huron shore by 1930 . It became part of US 23 by the end of 1940 . Current designation M 91 was designated for the third time by June 1942 . The number was assigned between US 16 ( Cascade Road Grand River Avenue ) south of Lowell running northeast along Alden Nash Avenue into Lowell and Lincoln Lake Road north of town . The highway followed Lincoln Lake Road to M 44 east of Belding and turned to run concurrently along M 44 to the Belding area . From there it ran north to Greenville and on to Lakeview along the present route . The last section of gravel roadway was paved in Ionia County in 1954 . The highway designation was extended south to the then new US 16 freeway ( now Interstate 96 ) around 1958 . It was later truncated back to M 21 in Lowell in 1968 . By 1980 , the section of M 91 in Ionia County south of M 44 to the Kent County line was turned back to local control . The highway section in Kent County remained marked as M 91 , resulting in a discontinuous highway . The southern section between Lowell and the county line was turned back by 1985 , resulting in the modern routing of M 91 . Major intersections
733
Space Science Fiction Magazine was a US science fiction magazine published by Republic Features Syndicate , Inc. as part of a package of radio shows and related genre magazines . Two issues appeared , both in 1957 . It published short stories by well known writers , including Arthur C. Clarke and Jack Vance , but it was not successful , and the magazine ceased publication late in 1957 . Publication history and bibliographic data Science fiction was one of the staple genres of American pulp magazine publishing , beginning in 1926 with Amazing Stories . A brief boom in the late 1930s was cut short by World War II , but the field expanded again in the late 1940s . By 1957 the boom had reached its height 24 science fiction magazines published at least one issue that year . One of the most prominent of these magazines , Galaxy Science Fiction , had a successful association with two radio shows , Dimension X and X Minus One . This sparked imitators , and during 1956 Lyle Kenyon Engel of Republic Features Syndicate put together a package of two radio shows and four magazines . The shows were American Agent , a spy drama , and The Frightened , to be narrated by Boris Karloff . The magazine package included a spy magazine and a horror magazine to tie in with the radio shows , and two additional titles Private Investigator Detective Magazine and Space Science Fiction Magazine . Private Investigator 's first issue was published in 1956 , but problems with the radio schedules delayed the launch of the other magazines until 1957 . Space SF 's first issue was dated Spring 1957 , although its masthead indicated that it would be a bimonthly . It was published by Republic Features Syndicate , Inc . , of New York , and edited by Michael Avallone , who was not credited on the masthead . The second issue was dated August 1957 this proved to be the final issue , as shortly thereafter Republic Features Syndicate went out of business . The liquidation of American News Company earlier that year , a major distributor , had led to the extinction of many magazines , as they had to scramble to find new distributors , but it is not known if Space SF was one of the victims . Both issues were digest sized , with 132 pages , and were priced at 35 cents . The issues were numbered as a single volume with two issues . Contents Engel obtained stories from moderately well known science fiction names for both issues , including John Jakes , Mack Reynolds , Jack Vance , and Raymond F. Jones , but many of the stories were barrel scrapings from the Scott Meredith Literary Agency , in the words of one historian most had already been rejected at the other active science fiction markets . Space SF also published Arthur C. Clarke 's Critical Mass , one of the popular White Hart stories . It had already appeared in a 1949 edition of a British magazine , Lilliput , but Clarke revised it for this publication . Overall , in the words of Mike Ashley , ... it carried stories by noted sf writers , but they read like rejects from better magazines , and there was nothing of lasting value . Ashley comments that the best story was Jakes 's The Devil Spins a Sun Dream , which was atmospheric if poorly plotted the protagonist , a human prospector on Mars , finds a fabulous city , but an ancient booby trap destroys it before his eyes . Almost every story was illustrated , with Bruce unk as artist . Both issues ' covers were by Tom Ryan . There were no editorials , review columns , or any other contents other than fiction , and advertisements , all of which were for radio shows , including American Agent and The Frightened .
734
Upsilon Andromedae c ( abbreviated Andromedae c , And c ) , also named Samh , is an extrasolar planet orbiting the Sun like star Upsilon Andromedae A every 241 . 2 days . Its discovery in April 1999 by Geoffrey Marcy and R. Paul Butler made this the first multiple planet system to be discovered around a main sequence star , and the first multiple planet system known in a multiple star system . Upsilon Andromedae c is the second known planet in order of distance from its star . In July 2014 the International Astronomical Union launched a process for giving proper names to certain exoplanets and their host stars . The process involved public nomination and voting for the new names . In December 2015 , the IAU announced the winning name was Samh for this planet . The winning name was submitted by the Vega Astronomy Club of Morocco and honours the 11th Century astronomer Ibn al Samh of Muslim Spain . Discovery Like the majority of known extrasolar planets , Upsilon Andromedae c was detected by measuring variations in its star 's radial velocity as a result of the planet 's gravity . This was done by making precise measurements of the Doppler shift of the spectrum of Upsilon Andromedae A. At the time of discovery , Upsilon Andromedae A was already known to host one extrasolar planet , the hot Jupiter Upsilon Andromedae b , however by 1999 it was clear that the inner planet could not explain the velocity curve . In 1999 , astronomers at both San Francisco State University and the Harvard Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics independently concluded that a three planet model best fit the data . The two new planets were designated Upsilon Andromedae c and Upsilon Andromedae d . Orbit and mass Like the majority of long period extrasolar planets , the orbit of Upsilon Andromedae c is eccentric , more so than any of the major planets in the Solar System ( including Pluto ) . If placed in the Solar System , Upsilon Andromedae c would lie between the orbits of Earth and Venus . The high orbital eccentricity may be the result of gravitational perturbations from the planet Upsilon Andromedae d . Simulations suggest that the orbit of Upsilon Andromedae c returns to its original circular state roughly once every 6 , 700 years . One proposal is that interactions between Upsilon Andromedae d and a ( now lost ) outer planet moved Upsilon Andromedae d into an orbit closer to the star , where it gradually caused the orbit of Upsilon Andromedae c to become eccentric . If so , the rogue planet would have had to eject immediately it is unclear how likely this situation might be . Other models are possible . A limitation of the radial velocity method used to detect Upsilon Andromedae c is that the orbital inclination is unknown , and only a lower limit on the planet 's mass can be obtained . However , by combining radial velocity measurements from ground based telescopes with astrometric data from the Hubble Space Telescope , astronomers have determined the orbital inclination as well as the actual mass of Upsilon Andromedae c , which is about 13 . 98 times the mass of Jupiter . The mutual inclination between c and d is 29 . 9 degrees . Characteristics Given the planet 's high mass , it is likely that Upsilon Andromedae c is a gas giant with no solid surface . Since the planet has only been detected indirectly through observations of its star , properties such as its radius , composition , and temperature are unknown . Since its actual mass is approximately 14 times that of Jupiter , and its star 's metallicity is similar to that of the Sun , Upsilon Andromedae c may actually be a small brown dwarf .
735
Sig Mejdal ( born December 31 , 1965 ) is an American sabermetrics analyst for the Houston Astros and a former NASA engineer . He previously helped the St. Louis Cardinals make draft picks . Mejdal turned his personal interest in baseball into a career after being inspired by Moneyball in 2003 . Biography Sig Mejdal grew up in San Jose , California . His mother was a nurse and his father was a career army officer . In his youth , Mejdal played little league baseball for six years . He was a fan of the Oakland A 's and a member of the Society for American Baseball Research . According to UC Davis magazine , Sig Mejdal was fascinated with the stats on the backs of baseball cards . Mejdal graduated from University of California , Davis with bachelor 's degrees in mechanical engineering and aeronautical engineering . He later earned master 's degrees in operations research and cognitive psychology from San Jose State University . While attending college in the late 1980s , he worked as a blackjack dealer at High Sierra in Lake Tahoe . After graduating from UC Davis in 1989 , Mejdal worked for Lockheed Martin 's satellite operations unit at the Onizuka Air Force Station . Mejdal 's interest in baseball was recreational until 2003 , when Moneyball inspired him to consider pursuing a career in sabermetrics . He attended the Winter Meetings in search for a job in baseball , but ended up working for NASA as a unk in the Fatigue Countermeasures Group . Mejdal studied sleep patterns of astronauts on the International Space Station in order to optimize their sleep schedules . While working for NASA , Mejdal had a side job as the chief quantitative analyst for Sam Walker 's fantasy baseball team unk Baseball Club , which was participating in the Tout Wars competition 's Battle of the Experts . The fantasy team would later become the subject of Walker 's book Fantasyland A Sportswriter 's Obsessive Bid to Win the World 's Most Ruthless Fantasy Baseball . In 2005 , Sig Mejdal was recruited to do sabermetrics for the St. Louis Cardinals ' new analytics department . He took 22 months of data from college baseball games and ran it through an algorithm to determine the likely performance and stats baseball players would achieve . According to Sports Illustrated , o ver the next seven seasons the Cardinals would draft more players who became big leaguers than any other organization . He was promoted to senior quantitative analyst in 2008 and director of amateur draft analysis in January 2011 . Mejdal created a formula to predict the risk of injury to baseball players and contributed a section on injury probability to The Bill James Handbook . In 2012 , Mejdal became the Director of Decision Sciences for the Houston Astros , where he supported recruitment decisions based on physical tests and historical player performance . Hiring Mejdal to apply an analytics based decision tree on their player choices was part of the effort to revitalize the team and address performance issues in prior seasons . He helped the team create the unk system , named after the combination of stat and scout , for making player choices . The system was criticized for de humanizing players , but after trading off some players and making new recruits , the Astro 's farm system became ranked among the best in baseball . The Astros also used analytics to persuade players that were uncomfortable with non traditional positions on the field to embrace shifts , which the team now uses very heavily . In 2015 , Mejdal was one of the team 's advisers whose login credentials were believed to have been used to hack into the team 's database .
736
The 152nd Boat Race took place on 2 April 2006 . Held annually , the Boat Race is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . Oxford , whose crew contained the first French rower in the history of the event , won the race by five lengths which was umpired by former Oxford rower Simon Harris . In the reserve race Goldie beat Isis and Oxford won the Women 's Boat Race . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . First held in 1829 , the race takes place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities and followed throughout the United Kingdom and broadcast worldwide . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having won the 2005 race by two lengths , while Cambridge led overall with 78 victories to Oxford 's 72 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . The race was sponsored by Xchanging for the second consecutive year , and was umpired by former Oxford Blue Simon Harris . The first Women 's Boat Race took place in 1927 , but did not become an annual fixture until the 1960s . Until 2014 , the contest was conducted as part of the Henley Boat Races , but as of the 2015 race , it is held on the River Thames , on the same day as the men 's main and reserve races . The reserve race , contested between Oxford 's Isis boat and Cambridge 's Goldie boat has been held since 1965 . It usually takes place on the Tideway , prior to the main Boat Race . Crews The Oxford crew , whose average age was 24 , comprised four Britons , two Canadians , two Americans and , in Bastien Ripoll , the first French rower to participate in the contest . Cambridge 's crew , with an average age of 26 , consisted of three Britons , three Germans , an Australian , an American and a Canadian . Race Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station where they were afforded some shelter from the inclement conditions with strong winds creating choppy water . Under cloudy skies , Oxford took an early lead but Cambridge came back into contention and held a half a length lead at Harrods . As they crews passed under Hammersmith Bridge , wind and waves engulfed the boats and both seemed to check . Oxford drew level and their cox Seb Pearce called for a push his crew responded , moving away from Cambridge in the rough water . Extending their lead out to two lengths by the Bandstand , Oxford pulled further away winning by five lengths in a time of 18 minutes and 26 seconds . In the reserve race , Cambridge 's Goldie beat Oxford 's Isis . Earlier , Oxford won the 61st Women 's Boat Race by half a length in a time of 5 minutes 54 seconds . Reaction Cambridge coach Duncan Holland suggested it 's pretty hard to row with a boat full of water while his cox Rudge claimed Oxford were a little bit sheltered and it made a big difference . His counterpart , Oxford cox Pearce , was jubilant It was awesome . I didn 't expect it work out that way but it was great . All along we were the better crew . The bookies just got it wrong . Cambridge Boat Club president Edwards said They handled the conditions better than us and that was it ... There was no more we could have done . Oxford 's president Barney Williams said We were pushed really hard while his French crew mate Ripoll claimed the key moment was along the island , in a washing machine .
737
Hot Potato is an action puzzle video game developed by Pukka Games and published by BAM Entertainment for the Game Boy Advance . It was released in Europe on June 29 , 2001 , and in North America on July 1 , 2001 . In the game the player must simultaneously drive a bus and clear roads of alien potato beings . The beings are scattered across the street , and by shooting out rows of alien potatoes , they can be cleared from the player 's path . The player must clear a set number of aliens to proceed in the game . Hot Potato received mostly above average reviews from critics it received 66 . 42 and 74 ratings on review aggregate websites GameRankings and Metacritic respectively . Gameplay The game tasks the player with navigating a bus through roads filled with alien potato beings . The player 's bus holds female members of the alien race , and the player can shoot the females from the front of the bus in order to clear the alien potatoes . The aliens come in two colors red and blue . Aliens are cleared from the road when two like colored potatoes touch each other , but aliens begin to pile up in the road if two aliens hit each other that are not of the same color . The road is continuously scrolling downwards , forcing the player to make holes in the road wide enough to fit the bus through . The game can end prematurely if the player runs into too many aliens and loses all their lives . Hot Potato features seven missions and seven score challenges . Mission mode requires the player to clear out a set number of an alien species . There are multiple alien species in the mode and the mission does not finish until the player gets rid of enough of a certain species chosen by the game from the road . Score challenge mode tasks the player with clearing away a certain number of aliens in order to reach a pre determined score . The game contains bonus levels which are longer than normal levels if the player is able to complete missions under a certain time period . Development Hot Potato was developed for over four years by game designer Dima Pavlovsky before development was picked up by Pukka Games . The game was designed to emulate the success of Tetris with an addictive and original puzzle design . Pukka included the humorous storyline about potato alien beings in the game mostly for laughs and to give the game charm . The game was first displayed at the 2001 E3 . The game 's release at a 39 . 99 price in the United States was seen by some reviewers as being too expensive . Reception Hot Potato garnered above mostly positive reception from critics it received 66 . 42 and 74 ratings on review aggregate websites GameRankings and Metacritic respectively . Eurogamer 's John Bye called the game curiously amusing and felt that kids would enjoy the game . IGN 's Craig Harris noted that the game was surprisingly fun to play , and that the game would appeal to a unique niche in the video game market . He criticized it for failing to introduce the player to the point of the game , forcing the player to figure out how to play on their own . Allgame 's Jay unk commented that the game provided a surprising amount of challenge , which increased the game 's replayability . GameSpot 's Frank Provo praised the game 's visuals and sound effects , noting that they added to the experience of the game . He felt that the game was not as addictive as some other contemporary puzzle games , but he praised the game nonetheless . Bob Tedeschi of The New York Times commented that Toys ' R ' Us had originally chosen to not distribute Hot Potato , but began to stock the game after it looked like a big seller .
738
Tropical Storm Agatha was the deadliest tropical cyclone to form during the 1992 Pacific hurricane season . Developing as a tropical depression off the Pacific coast of Mexico on June 1 , the storm gradually organized over the next several hours . As it moved northward , the depression intensified into Tropical Storm Agatha later that day . After reaching its peak winds as a strong tropical storm , Agatha steadily weakened while turning to the west . The system was downgraded to a tropical depression on June 5 , and subsequently lost its tropical characteristics the next day . Although Agatha never made landfall , the storm 's outer rainbands triggered widespread flooding that killed ten people . Meteorological history On May 26 , a tropical wave or a quasi equatorward area of low pressure moved off the Central American coast into the east Pacific . Over the subsequent days the system produced a broad area of convection , which began to show signs of organization on May 29 . Early on June 1 , the disturbance became better defined , and shortly thereafter the National Hurricane Center ( NHC ) classified it as a tropical depression while located 460 mi ( 740 km ) southwest of Acapulco . At the time , the depression maintained good outflow aloft it was forecast to strengthen into a minimal hurricane after three days . Based on a combination of ship data and Dvorak intensity estimates , the system was upgraded into Tropical Storm Agatha on June 2 . For the first two days of its duration , Agatha steered toward the north while embedded within a deep southerly flow . Steady intensification continued , and the storm reached winds of 50 mph ( 90 km h ) six hours after being upgraded as it neared the coast of Mexico . By the afternoon of June 2 , the center exhibited an elongated appearance within its associated central dense overcast , a large area of organized mid tropospheric convection . Around 1800 UTC that same day , the storm peaked in intensity with winds of 70 mph ( 110 km h ) and a minimum pressure of 990 mbar ( hPa 29 . 23 inHg ) . Maintaining its peak intensity for 30 hours , Agatha gradually decelerated as it passed within 100 mi ( 160 km ) southwest of the Mexican coast . Although specialists at the NHC had anticipated a Category 1 hurricane landfall on the territory , the storm defied predictions and stayed at sea . The center of the storm promptly became ill defined on infrared satellite imagery , simultaneously recurving to the west . Agatha continued to degenerate quickly into the morning of June 4 , with a ragged appearance observed on satellite imagery . By 0600 UTC June 5 , the storm was downgraded back into tropical depression status prior to dissipating the next day . Preparations and Impact On June 2 , forecasters at the National Hurricane Center anticipated Agatha to make landfall in Mexico near hurricane strength . In light of this , a tropical storm warning and hurricane watch were issued for the Pacific coast of Mexico between unk to Cabo unk around 2100 UTC that day . Additionally , heavy rains from the system prompted concerns over mudslides and flash floods . Following Agatha 's turn towards the west early on June 3 , the watches and warnings were discontinued . Roughly 1 , 500 people evacuated from coastal areas of Michoacn due to the threat of damaging winds and flooding . Although the center of Agatha remained offshore , heavy rains within the system 's outer rainbands impacted southwestern and central Mexico . Widespread flooding and mudslides killed ten people and left thousands homeless . Along the coast , waves reportedly reached heights of 16 ft ( 4 . 9 m ) .
739
The 1992 Nicaragua earthquake occurred off the coast of Nicaragua at 6 16 p.m. on September 2 . Some damage was also reported in Costa Rica . At least 116 people were killed and several more were injured . The quake was located in an active zone of stress and deformation . It created tsunamis disproportionately large for its surface wave magnitude . Tectonics The 1992 Nicaragua earthquake was the first tsunami earthquake to be captured on modern broadband seismic networks . The initial surface wave magnitude was estimated at 7 . 2 . The shock occurred on the subduction interface between the Cocos and Caribbean Plates , an active zone of stress and deformation , and due to the absence of sediment on the ocean floor off Nicaragua , the slip propagated up dip all the way to the trench bottom , a creator of large tsunamis . This occurrence of slip of a plate interface filled with soft subducted sediments caused the rupturing process to be slower than the average subduction zone thrust earthquakes while the focus of the earthquake was much shallower than the typical subduction zone earthquake . Damage and casualties The first shock of the earthquake occurred at 0 16 GMT and was followed by several strong aftershocks . The quake was most widely felt in the Chinandega and Len departments of Nicaragua , though it was also felt elsewhere in Nicaragua at Crucero , Managua and San Marcos and at San Jos in Costa Rica . It was the strongest seismic event to hit Nicaragua since the earthquake of 1972 . At least 116 people were killed , most being children sleeping in their beds , with more than 68 missing and over 13 , 500 left homeless in Nicaragua . At least 1 , 300 houses and 185 fishing boats were destroyed along the west coast of Nicaragua . Total damage in Nicaragua was estimated at between 20 and 30 million U.S. dollars . According to the Augusto Csar Sandino Foundation , the most affected were inhabitants of small poor communities who live from diverse subsistence activities . Their houses , located beside the sea , were almost entirely destroyed . These people have lost their livelihoods , poor peasants who grow basic grains for their own consumption in marginal areas , and unk who have lost their fishing equipment , boats , storage sheds and warehouses . Their already extreme poverty has been exacerbated . Tsunami Most of the casualties and damage were caused by a tsunami affecting the west coasts of Nicaragua and Costa Rica , and it was one of three tsunamis to occur within a span of six months . Runup heights were measured shortly after the earthquake and reached heights of up to 9 . 9 meters , though the average height was 3 to 8 meters . The tsunami was disproportionately large for its surface wave magnitude , or Ms , and the duration of the rupture process was 100 s , unusually long for its size . The moment magnitude was 7 . 6 , larger than the 20 s Ms of 7 this Ms Mw difference is a characteristic of tsunami earthquakes . Tide unk were set up at Corinto and Puerto Sandino , which showed an impulsive tsunami originating 61 minutes after the earthquake . It ran inland 1 , 000 meters to unk , the hardest hit major town of all , with 9 fatalities . Relief efforts From the onset of the disaster authorities provided initial assistance . President Violeta Chamorro stated in her speech to her nation on September 2 , 1992 that no international assistance was needed . However , the Red Cross did assist in some operations while the National Civil Defence carried out much of the relief operations , with wounded people being transported to the Hospital Leon and Lenin Fonseca Hospital .
740
The Ilyushin Il 6 was a Soviet long range bomber developed from the Ilyushin Il 4 during 1942 . Originally intended as a high speed replacement for the Il 4 , it was recast as a very long range bomber with fuel conserving diesel engines before production of the single prototype began in December 1942 . Flight testing showed controllability issues when landing at high weights and the engines proved to be hard to start at low temperatures and were slow to respond to throttle movements . Further development was canceled in 1944 . Development Outwardly similar to the Il 4 , the Il 6 was faster and had a longer and slimmer fuselage fitted with a completely new , highly tapered wing with an aspect ratio of 8 . The engine nacelles were streamlined to reduce drag and increase speed as the engine radiators were mounted in the wing center section , fed by slits in the leading edge of the wing . Defensive armament was greatly improved with five 20 mm ( 0 . 79 in ) cannon fitted on flexible mountings in the nose , dorsal turret , two waist positions and a ventral blister forward of the tailplane . The Il 6 was originally intended as a high speed replacement for the Il 4 . But after the initial design was completed in August 1942 , the VVS requested that the bomber have extended range instead of high speed . So the original M 71 radial engines were replaced by Charomskiy ACh 30 diesel engines with low fuel consumption which promised to give the Il 6 the required range , especially when operated at moderate weights . The revised design was completed in December 1942 and production of the prototype was initiated . First flight of the Il 6 was made in Irkutsk on 7 August 1943 with lower powered ACh 30B engines substituted for the unavailable ACh 30BF engines . Flight tests revealed difficult handling , and a lack of power due to the non availability of the intended ACh 30BF engines . Flight tests continued without the waist guns and their gunner until the ACh 30BF 's were fitted between May and July 1944 . Despite modifications , the aircraft still suffered from poor controllability at low speeds and high weights as well as very poor gliding performance . Throughout the flight tests the engines performed satisfactorily in the air , but were found to be very difficult to start in low ambient temperatures and had slow response to throttle movements . Further development was canceled . Variants Il 6 intended production version with Charomskiy ACh 30BF engines ( also known as M 30 ) . Il 6 bomber with M 90 engines projected variant with M 90 engines , production drawings were issued but nothing further was heard of it , presumably as all effort was focused on the diesel powered version . Specifications ( Il 6 ) Data from Gordon , OKB Ilyushin A History of the Design Bureau and its Aircraft . General characteristics Crew 6 Length 17 . 38 m ( 57 ft 0 in ) Wingspan 26 . 07 m ( 85 ft 6 in ) Wing area 84 . 8 m2 ( 912 . 9 ft2 ) Empty weight 11 , 930 kg ( 26 , 301 lb ) Gross weight 19 , 600 kg ( 43 , 220 lb ) Powerplant 2 Charomskiy ACh 30BF ( M 30 ) , 1 , 417 kW ( 1 , 900 hp ) each each Performance Maximum speed 464 km h ( 288 mph ) Range 5 , 450 km ( 3 , 387 miles ) Service ceiling 7 , 000 m ( 22 , 970 ft ) Rate of climb 2 . 9 m s ( 571 ft min ) Armament 5 20 mm ( 0 . 79 in ) ShVAK Sh 20 cannon in a dorsal turret , and flexible mountings at the nose , beam and ventral positions . 2 , 500 kg ( 5 , 500 lb ) of bombs , maximum , internally 2 1 , 000 kg ( 2 , 200 lb ) bombs on external racks or 2 1 , 000 kg ( 2 , 200 lb ) torpedoes on external racks
741
Bravado is a song by New Zealand singer Lorde , originally included on her debut EP The Love Club EP . It was later featured on her Tennis Court EP and the extended version of her debut album Pure Heroine ( 2013 ) . The song was written by Lorde and Joel Little and was produced by the latter . The track was released as a single on 6 September 2013 , via iTunes Stores , in a number of European countries and India . Characterised as a chamber pop and electropop song , Bravado addresses Lorde 's introverted nature and the need to feign confidence in the music industry . The single was well received by music critics and peaked at number five on the New Zealand Artist Singles chart . Background and composition Bravado was written by Lorde ( credited under her birth name Ella Yelich O 'Connor ) and Joel Little , while production for the song was handled by the latter . The track was written and recorded in 2012 at Little 's Golden Age Studios in Auckland . Within a week , Lorde had finished recording Bravado alongside Royals and Biting Down during a school break . Chris Schulz , from The New Zealand Herald , described Bravado as a chamber pop piece , while The Village Voice 's Brittany Spanos called it an electropop song . Running for a duration of 3 41 ( three minutes and 41 seconds ) , the track is composed on electronic beats in the key of B minor and plays in common time at a moderate tempo of 88 beats per minute . Lorde 's vocal range on the song spans from F 3 to D5 . The lyrics of Bravado address the idea of false confidence delivering real confidence and of Lorde stepping into a line of work where , she said , everyone would be watching me , and everyone would want to talk to me and confront me . Lorde cited the line Me found bravery in my bravado from Kanye West 's song Dark Fantasy as an influence . Simon Collins , of The West Australian , called Bravado a particularly prescient song , preempting Lorde 's rise to prominence . At a point of the song , Lorde confesses to a battle between shyness and show business aspirations Promotion and reception On 6 September 2013 , Bravado was released as a digital download single on iTunes Stores in India and various European countries . Lorde held a concert at Le Poisson Rouge in New York , which was her first U.S. live show , and performed the song among other tracks from The Love Club EP . On 3 October 2013 , the singer held a concert at the Warsaw Venue in Brooklyn and performed the song among other tracks from the album . In November 2013 , Lorde performed the song on the Late Show with David Letterman to promote The Love Club EP and Pure Heroine . Throughout the show , she was only backed by a drummer and a keyboard player . Bravado was additionally performed during Lorde 's debut concert tour throughout 2013 and 2014 . In 2014 , she performed the track at Silo Park , Auckland on 29 January 2014 as part of her make up show for the 2014 Laneway Festival , and at the Brazil edition of the Lollapalooza . Bravado was well received by music critics . Chris Schulz from The New Zealand Herald picked the song and Million Dollar Bills as the two best tracks from The Love Club EP . Jason Lipshutz , writing for Billboard , described the track as delightfully spooky . In a review published in The Dominion Post , Tom Cardy compared the track 's style to that of works by Florence Welch and Marina Diamandis , labelling it a sharp , refreshing and smart song . The song peaked at number five on the New Zealand National Singles and number twenty nine on the US Hot Rock Songs chart . Weekly charts Release history
742
State Route 162 ( SR 162 ) is a 17 . 37 mile long ( 27 . 95 km ) state highway in the U.S. state of Washington , serving rural Pierce County . The highway travels from an interchange with SR 410 in Sumner and travels south along the Puyallup River to Orting and northeast to South Prairie , ending at an intersection with SR 165 near Buckley . SR 162 was established in 1964 as the successor to Secondary State Highway 5E ( SSH 5E ) , which was codified in 1937 . The highway crosses the Puyallup River northwest of Orting on the McMillin Bridge , which opened in 1934 and is scheduled to be replaced with a newer bridge that will begin construction in 2014 . Route description SR 162 begins at a diamond interchange with the SR 410 freeway in Sumner and travels south as a continuation of Valley Avenue , crossing the Puyallup River . The highway continues south through rural Pierce County , following a Ballard Terminal Railroad line and the Puyallup River . It serves the community of Alderton and joins the Pierce County Foothills Trail , traveling southeast from Puyallup . SR 162 crosses the Puyallup River on the McMillin Bridge , listed on the National Register of Historical Places , west of its confluence with the Carbon River . It becomes Washington Avenue as it travels southeast through Orting , serving Orting High School . The highway turns southwest onto Bridge Street and crosses the Foothills Trail before turning back southeast onto Herman Way , later Pioneer Way outside of Orting , towards South Prairie . SR 162 continues northeast , crossing the Foothills Trail and the Carbon River before passing through South Prairie . The highway travels east , crossing South Prairie Creek and passing White River High School , before ending at an intersection with SR 165 southwest of Buckley . Every year , the Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2011 , WSDOT calculated that between 4 , 100 and 21 , 000 vehicles per day used the highway , mostly between Sumner and Orting . History SR 162 was codified as SSH 5E during the creation of the primary and secondary state highways in 1937 , beginning at Primary State Highway 5 ( PSH 5 ) and U.S. Route 410 in Puyallup , traveling through Orting and South Prairie to end at an intersection with a branch of PSH 5 southwest of Buckley . SSH 5E had a branch that traveled south from Orting to Electron that was removed from the state highway system in 1955 . The highway traveled across the Puyallup River into Orting on the McMillin Bridge , which opened in 1934 as a concrete half through truss bridge to save the Department of Highways a total of 826 . SR 165 was established during the 1964 highway renumbering and was codified in 1970 as the replacement to SSH 5E . The western terminus , now at SR 410 , was moved east to an interchange in Sumner after the completion of the Sumner Freeway in 1972 . The McMillin Bridge was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1982 as an example of a half through truss bridge built with concrete instead of steel . The route of the highway has not seen a major revision since 1972 however , WSDOT repaved the roadway and added guardrails between Orting and Buckley in 2008 . The deteriorating McMillin Bridge is being replaced by WSDOT with a newer , wider span over the Puyallup River scheduled to begin construction in 2014 . Major intersections The entire highway is in Pierce County .
743
Four Seasons Mall was an enclosed shopping mall in Plymouth , Minnesota , a suburb of the Twin Cities . Four Seasons Mall once comprised 117 , 000 square feet ( 11 , 000 m2 ) of retail space with approximately 26 storefronts . The mall opened in 1978 and the last tenant closed in the center on February 29 , 2012 . The site currently sits completely vacant and is considered a dead mall . Over the years , Four Seasons Mall was home to several regional chains , including various restaurants and small businesses . Although the mall currently still stands vacant in Plymouth , several redevelopment and demolition plans exist for the mall . Despite its closure , several events periodically take place at the mall , such as arts and crafts shows . History Opening in 1978 , Four Seasons Mall became a popular attraction for the residents of Plymouth , Minnesota . The mall was built atop 22 acres of land however , the land was surrounded by wetland and not zoned for a large scale shopping center . The shopping center was developed by the unk Group , who had helped construct other shopping centers , like nearby Brookdale Center . Following the mall 's decline , Walmart expressed interest in the site for the construction of a new store . Contractors for Walmart studied the mall 's site and created a variety of plans and guidelines for the site . Surveyors found the land suitable for a 240 , 000 square feet ( 22 , 000 m2 ) Walmart Supercenter , but Plymouth city officials were displeased with the idea of a big box retailer opening in their community . Walmart later agreed on constructing a significantly smaller 87 , 000 square feet ( 8 , 100 m2 ) location , which was still rejected by the city . Throughout the 2000s and 2010s , several projects went underway to improve the city water available to the tenants of Four Seasons Mall . Nearby Northwood Lake was included in the projects as several channels between the lake and the mall had eroded . The channels affected in the projects provided water to nearly 285 acres of land in Plymouth . Several initiatives such as ponding , stream restoration , and flow restriction were considered to improve the quality of the water . In mid 2015 , all of the improvement projects were finalized following two years of channel work . Closure Despite regularly hosting several arts and crafts shows throughout the years , the mall 's vacancy rates steadily increased annually , which prompted the mall 's independent owners to place the facilities up for sale . On November 30 , 2010 , Walmart purchased the entire mall for 10 . 6 million . Two years after Walmart 's purchase of the land , the mall 's final tenant , Marcello 's Pizza , was forced to close up their 28 year old location . Lisa Pieper , one of the owners of Marcello 's , stated that they had no choice but to close after Walmart refused to renew their tenant 's lease . Among the mall 's final tenants included Marcello 's , Curves International , and a family owned Asian restaurant . In January 2015 , the plans for construction of a Walmart Supercenter fell through when Walmart announced the shopping center 's resale . Plymouth city council member Ginny Black called Walmart 's decision disappoint ing and overwhelming . When the mall 's resale occurred in 2015 , the entire site was purchased by unk Properties . Various concepts and plans for the site 's redevelopment have been created by the City of Plymouth most of the plans created were inspired by lifestyle centers , with retail and residential space . However , residents of Plymouth are still overwhelmingly opposed to the deconstruction of Four Seasons Mall .
744
The 134th Boat Race took place on 2 April 1988 . Held annually , the event is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . Oxford won by five and a half lengths in a time of 18 minutes 27 seconds , the equal fourth fastest time in the event 's history . The race was umpired by former Cambridge rowing Blue Mike Sweeney . In the reserve race , Cambridge 's Goldie won , while Oxford won the Women 's Boat Race . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . First held in 1829 , the race takes place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities and followed throughout the United Kingdom and broadcast worldwide . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having won the 1987 race by four lengths , with Cambridge leading overall with 69 victories to Oxford 's 64 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . The event was sponsored by Beefeater Gin and was televised in the United Kingdom by the BBC on its Grandstand sports programme . The first Women 's Boat Race took place in 1927 , but did not become an annual fixture until the 1960s . Until 2014 , the contest was conducted as part of the Henley Boat Races , but as of the 2015 race , it is held on the River Thames , on the same day as the men 's main and reserve races . The reserve race , contested between Oxford 's Isis boat and Cambridge 's Goldie boat has been held since 1965 . It usually takes place on the Tideway , prior to the main Boat Race . Crews Oxford weighed in with the heaviest crew in Boat Race history on average the rowers weighed 14 st 11 . 5 lb ( 93 . 9 kg ) , 11 lb more per man than Cambridge . Oxford 's Gavin Stewart , at 6 ft 8 . 5 in ( 2 . 04 m ) was the tallest rower in the history of the Boat Race . Cambridge 's crew included four former Blues while Oxford 's featured six . Oxford 's coaching team included Canadian international coach Mike Spracklen . Race The race took place on 2 April 1988 . Oxford started as pre race favourites , and having won the toss , elected to start from the Surrey station . Immediately from the start , the umpire was called into action , warning both coxes for steering too closely to one another . Cambridge took a slight lead but Oxford soon recovered to become level , and by the Mile Post were three seconds ahead . Shortly after , the Cambridge number 7 , Nick Grundy caught a crab , causing his boat to shudder to a halt . Oxford slowly extended their lead nine seconds ahead at Hammersmith Bridge , eleven seconds by the Chiswick Steps and fifteen by Barnes Bridge . Oxford passed the finishing post 16 seconds ahead of Cambridge , winning by five and a half lengths in a time of 18 minutes 27 seconds , the equal fourth fastest time in the event 's history . In the reserve race , Cambridge 's Goldie won by five and a half lengths in a time of 17 minutes and 55 seconds , their second consecutive victory . Oxford won the 43rd Women 's Boat Race with their third victory in four years . Reaction The Beefeater Gin Trophy was presented by Denis Thatcher . Grundy said of his crab I feathered my oar after a stroke and the tip caught the water , which plunged it back in . Oxford Boat Club president Chris Penny said It was not an easy race but it was enjoyable . We kept our heads , found our rhythm and moved back and through them .
745
The 32nd Boat Race between crews from the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge took place on the River Thames on the 20 March 1875 . The Cambridge crew contained four Blues to Oxford 's two , the latter went into the race without a win since the 1869 race . In a race umpired by Joseph William Chitty , Oxford won by ten lengths in a time of 22 minutes 2 seconds , taking the overall record in the event to 17 15 in their favour . One of the Cambridge crew broke his slide during the race . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Oxford by three and a half lengths in the previous year 's race , while Oxford led overall with sixteen wins to Cambridge 's fifteen . Cambridge were coached by John Goldie , the Cambridge boat club president and rower for the 1869 , 1870 and 1871 races , and Charles Stokes Read who had rowed for Cambridge in the previous three races . Oxford 's coaches were S. D. Darbishire who had rowed for the Dark Blues in the 1868 , 1869 and 1870 races , F. H. Hall who had coxed for three races between 1870 and 1872 , Robert Wells Risley who had rowed four times between the 1857 and 1860 races , Edmund Warre ( represented Oxford in 1857 and 1858 ) , Frank Willan ( four time winning rower between 1866 and 1869 ) and Walter Bradford Woodgate who had rowed in the 1862 and 1863 races . Joseph William Chitty was the umpire for the race . He had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in March and December ) and the 1852 race . The starter was Edward Searle . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 11 st 12 . 375 lb ( 75 . 3 kg ) , 1 . 625 pounds ( 0 . 7 kg ) more than their opponents . Cambridge 's crew contained four former Blues , including Herbert Edward Rhodes who was making his third appearance in the race . Oxford saw two rowers return from the 1874 race , in H. J. Stayner and J. P. Way . According to Drinkwater , the Oxford University Boat Club towards the end of 1874 produced a fine crew , and of particular note was the inclusion of the former Eton Captain of the Boats Tom Cottingham Edwards Moss . In contrast , Cambridge 's crew , with just two returning from the previous year 's race , was completed with material ... not of a very high order . Race Oxford were considered clear pre race favourites to win their first Boat Race in five years conditions were inclement with a nasty north west wind but a fair tide . They lost the toss and Cambridge elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing Oxford the Surrey side of the river . The race commenced at 1 13 p.m. , and Cambridge made the better start , taking the lead from the outset with a higher stroke rate . Half a length ahead after a minute , the Light Blues nearly had a clear water advantage but tired in the strong headwind , and started to be caught by Craven Steps , around 1 , 000 yards ( 910 m ) along the course . About a mile into the race , one of the Cambridge crew broke a slide . The crews were level at the Crab Tree pub and by Hammersmith Bridge , and with the advantage of the bend in the river , Oxford were clear and went on to win by ten lengths in a time of 22 minutes 2 seconds . It was their first victory since 1869 and took the overall record in the event to 17 15 in their favour .
746
The 41st Boat Race took place on 7 April 1884 . The Boat Race is an annual side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . The race , for which Robert Lewis Lloyd acted as both umpire and starter for the first time , was won by Cambridge by margin of two and a half lengths in a time of 21 minutes 39 seconds . The victory took the overall record in the event to 22 18 in Oxford 's favour . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . First held in 1829 , the race takes place on the 4 . 2 miles ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities it is followed throughout the United Kingdom and as of 2014 , broadcast worldwide . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions having won the previous year 's race by three and a half lengths , and held the overall lead , with 22 victories to Cambridge 's 17 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . Oxford were coached by Tom Cottingham Edwards Moss ( who rowed for the Dark Blues four times between the 1875 and the 1878 races ) and William Grenfell ( who represented Oxford in the 1877 and 1878 races ) . Herbert Edward Rhodes was the Cambridge coach he had rowed for the Light Blues four times between 1873 and 1876 and was Cambridge University Boat Club president in 1875 . The umpire for the race was Robert Lewis Lloyd ( who had rowed for Cambridge four times between 1856 and 1859 ) and for the first time acted as starter . He replaced Edward Searle ( who had acted in that capacity since at least 1840 ) after the previous year 's chaotic start when one of the crews failed to hear his command to start . The race had been postponed by two days because of the funeral of the Prince Leopold , Duke of Albany . The Cambridge crew took the unusual step of taking a two week break from practice in late January , after which they settled on a crew which , according to Drinkwater , was considerably faster than Oxford on the day of the race . Conversely he noted that the Dark Blue crew did not come on at all well and were somewhat stale by the day of the race . Crews The Cambridge crew weighed an average of 11 st 12 . 75 lb ( 75 . 5 kg ) , 0 . 25 pounds ( 0 . 1 kg ) more than their opponents . Oxford saw two former Blues return to the crew , including A. R. Paterson who was rowing in his fourth consecutive Boat Race . The Cambridge crew contained four rowers with Boat Race experience , including Charles William Moore who was making his fourth appearance in the event . For the first time in three years , the race featured no non British competitors . Race Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , handing the Middlesex side of the river to Cambridge . The Light Blues made the quicker start and held a clear water advantage by the time the crews passed the Crab Tree pub . Cambridge kept this advantage to Hammersmith Bridge at which point Oxford spurted and recovered some of the deficit , but the Cantabrigians increased their stroke rate to go clear once again by Corney Reach . Despite the efforts of the Oxford stroke W. D. B. Curry to push his crew , according to Drinkwater , at Barnes Bridge they fell to pieces . Cambridge went on to win by two and a half lengths in a time of 21 minutes 39 seconds , recording their first victory in six years , and took the overall record to 22 18 in Oxford 's favour .
747
( I 've Just Begun ) Having My Fun is a song by American recording artist Britney Spears , taken from her first greatest hits album Greatest Hits My Prerogative ( 2004 ) . The song was produced by Bloodshy Avant and originally recorded for In the Zone . It was released as a digital download on August 17 , 2004 , prior to the album 's release . The track has drawn comparisons to No Doubt 's single Hella Good as well as 1970s American funk bands . Lyrically , the songs refers to having a good time at a party . ( I 've Just Begun ) Having My Fun received mixed reviews from critics , some naming it one of the best songs in the compilation , while others dismissed its lyrical content . The song was featured on the soundtrack of the 2011 film Bridesmaids . Background ( I 've Just Begun ) Having My Fun was originally recorded for Spears 's fourth studio album , In the Zone ( 2003 ) . The song was written by Spears , Michelle Bell , Christian Karlsson , Pontus Winnberg , Henrik Jonback , and was produced by Bloodshy Avant . The song was first included as a bonus track in the European version of the In the Zone DVD . In the United States , the track was a free download in the Wal Mart edition of In the Zone , due to an exclusive deal with Wal Mart and Sony Connect . When the deal ended in mid 2004 , Jive Records released the song on the iTunes Store and Rhapsody on August 17 , 2004 . ( I 've Just Begun ) Having My Fun peaked at number seven on the iTunes chart while it was speculated to be in the tracklist of Greatest Hits My Prerogative . The song was featured on the soundtrack of the 2011 film Bridesmaids . Composition ( I 've Just Begun ) Having My Fun is composed in the key of G minor with 108 beats per minute . It has a dance oriented beat that has been compared by Jennifer Vineyard of MTV and Stephen Thomas Erlewine of Allmusic to No Doubt 's 2002 single Hella Good . Spears 's vocal range spans from the high tone of G3 to the low tone of Eb5 . The track features mainly guitar and bass , along with string arrangements and 1970s synthesizers reminiscent of Zapp and The Gap Band . Its lyrics refer to a make believe situation in which Spears describes an encounter with a man at a party . During the song , she declares to prefer having a good time rather than settling down . Reception and chart performance Stephen Thomas Erlewine of Allmusic said the In the Zone outtake ... betters most of the songs that were featured on the album . Annabel Leathes of BBC Online commented that along with Do Somethin ' , they are two robust , unreleased tracks that suggest , however , that she may still be churning out a few more unk before taking time out to sing lullabies to her brood . Ann Powers of Blender magazine called the song instantly forgettable and unk inaccurate , while Mike McGuirk of Rhapsody said the song is on a level with her best work , namely I 'm a Slave 4 U . Louis Pattison of the New Musical Express stated that the lyrics chime rather oddly with Britney s much vaunted desire to start a family . On the week of September 4 , 2004 , ( I 've Just Begun ) Having My Fun debuted at number 23 on Billboard Hot Digital Tracks , and fell to number 41 in the following . Track listings Digital download ( I 've Just Begun ) Having My Fun 3 23 Credits and personnel Credits for ( I 've Just Begun ) Having My Fun are taken from Greatest Hits My Prerogative 's liner notes . Songwriting Britney Spears , Michelle Bell , Christian Karlsson , Pontus Winnberg , Henrik Jonback Production Bloodshy Avant , Steven Lunt Vocals Britney Spears Charts
748
Earnings management , in accounting , is the act of intentionally influencing the process of financial reporting to obtain some private gain . Earnings management involves the alteration of financial reports to mislead stakeholders about the organization 's underlying performance , or to influence contractual outcomes that depend on reported accounting numbers . Earnings management has a negative effect on earnings quality , and may weaken the credibility of financial reporting . Furthermore , in a 1998 speech Securities and Exchange Commission chairman Arthur Levitt called earnings management widespread . Despite its pervasiveness , the complexity of accounting rules can make earnings management difficult for individual investors to detect . Occurrence and response by regulators Earnings management is believed to be widespread . A 1990 report on earnings management situations stated that short term earnings are being managed in many , if not all companies , and in a 1998 speech , Securities and Exchange Commission ( SEC ) chairman Arthur Levitt called earnings management a widespread , but too little challenged custom . In a 2013 essay , Ray Ball , while opining that accounting research was not reliably documenting earnings management , wrote Of course earnings management goes on . ... People have been tried and convicted . The SEC has criticized earnings management as having adverse consequences for financial reporting , and for masking the true consequences of management 's decisions . It has called on standard setters to make changes to accounting standards to improve financial statement transparency , and has called for increased oversight over the financial reporting process . The SEC has also pressed charges against the management of firms involved in fraudulent earnings management . Motivations and methods Earnings management involves the manipulation of company earnings towards a pre determined target . This target can be motivated by a preference for more stable earnings , in which case management is said to be carrying out income smoothing . Opportunistic income smoothing can in turn signal lower risk and increase a firm 's market value . Other possible motivations for earnings management include the need to maintain the levels of certain accounting ratios due to debt covenants , and the pressure to maintain increasing earnings and to beat analyst targets . Earnings management may involve exploiting opportunities to make accounting decisions that change the earnings figure reported on the financial statements . Accounting decisions can in turn affect earnings because they can influence the timing of transactions and the estimates used in financial reporting . For example , a comparatively small change in the estimates for unk accounts can have a significant effect on net income , and a company using last in , first out accounting for inventories can increase net income in times of rising prices by delaying purchases to future periods . Detecting earnings management Earnings management may be difficult for individual investors to detect due to the complexity of accounting rules , although accounting researchers have proposed several methods . For example , research has shown that firms with large unk and weak governance structures are more likely to be engaging in earnings management . More recent research suggested that linguistics based methods can detect financial manipulation , for example studies in 2012 found that whether a subsequent irregularity or deceptive restatement occurred is related to the linguistics used by top management in earnings conference calls .
749
Germanus ( sometimes Germanus of Winchester , died circa 1013 ) was a medieval English abbot and Benedictine monk . He travelled to Rome in about 957 and became a monk at Fleury Abbey in France . Back in England by 964 he served as a monastic official before being named abbot of Winchcombe Abbey in about 970 , a position he was removed from in 975 . Germanus may have become abbot of Cholsey Abbey in 992 . Early career Although Germanus 's name is not Anglo Saxon , Byrhtferth , a contemporary who wrote the Vita Oswaldi , which contains much information on Germanus , states that he was a native of Winchester . Germanus accompanied Oscytel , the Archbishop of York , and Oswald of Worcester , on their trip to Rome in about 957 , purportedly to collect Oscytel 's pallium , the symbol of an archbishop 's authority . This journey , however , has been challenged by the historian Donald Bullough , who argues that no previous archbishops of York had collected their unk in person . He also points out that this story is only related in the Chronicon Abbatiae Rameseiensis , the chronicle of the abbey of Ramsey . According to the Ramsey story , Oscytel and Oswald returned to England , but Germanus remained on the continent and became a monk at Fleury Abbey in France . Another story has Oswald journeying to Fleury on his own , with Germanus arriving at Fleury after Oswald had been resident at Fleury for a number of years prior to 958 . Return to England In 963 or 964 Germanus was recalled to England by Oswald , who had recently founded a small monastic priory at Westbury on Trym . Germanus was named prior of that community and helped with teaching the novice monks . He was also prior of Ramsey Abbey , or perhaps dean , before becoming abbot of Winchcombe Abbey in about 970 . Ramsey was founded by moving the monks of Westbury to Ramsey , but Germanus was not named abbot of Ramsey when this move was completed , being named abbot of Winchcombe instead . The reasons for this transfer are unrecorded . He was the first abbot of Winchcombe , but was removed from office in 975 , as a result of political instability following the death of King Edgar of England in 975 , when the monks at Winchcombe were exiled to Ramsey . The Chronicon Abbatiae Rameseiensis states that he became abbot of Cholsey Abbey in 992 , and the Vita Oswaldi concurs with this statement . The Vita relates that when Oswald and the lay patron of Ramsey were near to death in 992 they urged the monks to elect Germanus as the next abbot of Ramsey when that office might become vacant . Instead , the monks elected another monk , and the Vita states that King thelred II of England appointed Germanus to Cholsey instead . Some historians have challenged Germanus ' appointment to Cholsey , owing to the extreme length of ecclesiastical career this would necessitate . Later life and legacy Germanus took part in the translation , or moving , of the relics of St Ivo to Ramsey in 1001 or the following year . He and Eadnoth , the abbot of Ramsey , carried the remains of the saint and his recently discovered companions from where they were found to Ramsey . The Ramsey Psalter or Psalter of Oswald , sometimes known as the Harley Psalter , ( now British Library manuscript ( MS ) Harley unk ) and the Cambridge Psalter ( now Cambridge University Library MS unk ) as well as the unk of Winchcombe ( now in Orleans , MS BM 127 ( 105 ) ) have been connected with his abbacy . Germanus died some time around 1013 . The Vita Oswaldi describes him as an expert in monastic affairs a forged charter later described him as abbot of Fleury , although he never held that office .
750
Perfection is a song performed by Australian singer Dannii Minogue and the Soul Seekerz . It served as the second single from Minogue 's fifth album , Club Disco ( 2007 ) . The song was written by Minogue , Peter Jackson Jr . , Gerald Jackson , Rob Davis , Therese Grankvist , Simon Langford , and Julian Napolitano . The song was based on Turn Me Upside Down by The Soul Seekerz which sampled Turn the Beat Around originally performed by disco singer Vicki Sue Robinson . It was released as a single on 17 October 2005 in the United Kingdom . It entered the top twenty in the UK and became Minogue 's ninth consecutive Upfront Club Chart number one . In Australia , Perfection was released on 30 January 2006 . The track peaked within the top twenty and became Minogue 's eighth top twenty single . Background and reception Perfection began as an instrumental track by the Soul Seekerz that samples Turn The Beat Around ( Love to Hear unk ) , which was originally performed by disco singer Vicki Sue Robinson . Simon Langford decided to sample the song after watching the end credits for the film The Specialist . Langford excited by his song idea phoned his writing partner Julian Napolitano . Two days later , Napolitano had completed close to seventy percent of the song , much to the surprise of Langford , who had been preoccupied with paper work . After completing the instrumental track , the group were approached by All Around the World Records , who wanted to use the track for a song by Minogue . Minogue , Rob Davis and Therese Grankvist then wrote lyrics to accompany the music composed by the Soul Seekerz . In a review for Allmusic , John Lucas called the song a painfully generic attempt at recapturing former glories and beneath someone of Minogue 's calibre . He also criticized Minogue 's vocals , calling them uninspired . Chart performance Perfection was officially released in the United Kingdom and Ireland on 17 October 2005 . The song debuted on the UK Singles Chart on 25 October 2005 at number eleven , selling 7 , 717 copies in its first week of release . The track became Minogue 's ninth consecutive Upfront Club Chart number one in the UK . In Ireland , the song reached number thirty eight , remaining on the singles chart for one week . The song was also successful in Europe . It reached number seven in Finland and number sixteen in the Netherlands . The track was released in Australia on 30 January 2006 . It debuted on 7 February 2006 at number thirteen and became Minogue 's seventh top twenty single . The song remained on the singles chart for four weeks , exiting on 7 March 2006 . It was the 49th highest selling single for 2006 in Australia by an Australian artist and the 26th highest selling dance single . Music video The music video for Perfection was directed by Rob Kaplan . The video features Minogue dancing on a yacht and a rocky cliff top . It begins with Minogue dressed in a black outfit and pink umbrella dancing on the bow of the yacht . She is then shown on the cliff top dressed in a red hooded outfit . The scenes featuring Minogue are intercut with scenes of male dancers and waves crashing up against the yacht . It was released commercially on The Hits Beyond special edition companion DVD , released in June 2006 . Formats and track listings These are the formats and track listings of major single releases of Perfection . Charts Personnel The following people contributed to Perfection Dannii Minogue lead vocals Therese Grankvist backing vocals Soul Seekerz production Philip Larsen , Rob Davis vocal production Cody Burridge photography
751
A Newsboy Hero is an American silent short drama film produced by the Thanhouser Company . A standard melodrama , it has the alcoholic John Bailey return home in a drunken state . He strikes his wife and by this act drives his wife and child from the house . They go out into the snow and fall asleep , but are saved by a newspaper boy and taken home . John searches for them , but believes they are dead after reading a newspaper story and decides to commit suicide . He is saved by a member of the Salvation Army and then is reunited with his family . The only known credit in the production is that of Marie Eline as the couple 's child , Marie . The film was released on February 24 , 1911 , and it received mixed reviews by critics over its melodramatic plot , but the actors strong skills was the strongest redeeming factor in the negative reviews . The film is presumed lost . Plot The film is a melodrama focuses on a young working man named John Bailey ( alternatively Jack ) . His alcoholism had caused much strife in his home and his wife , May , prays and pleads for him to stop drinking . One night he returns home in a drunken state and strikes her . His wife decides to leave with their child , Marie and goes out into the world without help . They wander in the snow and become exhausted and fall asleep . They are saved from certain death by a cripple newspaper boy named Jim Sands . He brings them back to his home and they take refuge with Jim 's poor family . Realizing his mistake , John searches for his wife and child in vain until he sees a newspaper story ( claimed to be two weeks later ) about the death of a woman and child in the storm . Believing May and Marie are dead , he decides to commit suicide by drowning himself . He is saved by Jim , a member of the Salvation Army and decides that he has to atone for his sins . Jim learns of John and May 's relation and reunites family again . Production The only known credit in the production is that of Marie Eline as the child , Marie . Thanhouser films , as moral as they were , did not depict the actual violence which would be formally alluded to in the synopsis . The New York Dramatic Mirror 's reviewer would state that the male lead was drunk and stated that he did not drive them from the house . There was no depiction of any violence towards the wife or apparent mention by inter title of any physical abuse . The synopsis published describes what was not shown , but it also gives names that were not provided for audiences . Thanhouser 's advertising for the film included the tag line And a child shall lead them , which is a reference to Isaiah 11 6 . Release and reception The single reel drama , approximately 1 , 000 feet long , was released on February 24 , 1911 . The film had mixed reviews from critics . The New York Dramatic Mirror reviewer was thorough in the analysis of the film who did not like the production for its poor rehashed story and maudlin melodrama . The characters behavior was not logical and the series of events relied on deus ex machina elements , such as the Salvation Army suddenly decides to march down to the water 's edge , then stop and remain in the background so that they can save his soul at the opportune moment . The reviewer did state that the acting was good . The Billboard ' review agreed that the story was implausible , but agreed that the skill of the actors made it more plausible than it otherwise would have been . The Morning Telegraph and Walton of The Moving Picture News would praise the film for its pathos and heart . The film is presumed lost because the film is not known to be held in any archive or by any collector .
752
Neighbors Know My Name is a song by American R B singer Trey Songz . It was written by Songz with Patrick Hayes and Troy Taylor , who produced the song with John K McGee . It was released to rhythmic and urban airplay as the fifth and final single from his third studio album , Ready on February 16 , 2010 . The song , described as being hook heavy and having a powerful bassline , received generally positive reviews from critics . The song reached forty three on the Billboard Hot 100 and four on the Hot R B Hip Hop Songs chart , becoming Songz 's third consecutive top five R B hit . Composition and critical reception Melanie Bertoldi of Billboard gave the song a positive review , stating , he utilizes his vocal range here , including the teasing falsetto with which he gently instructs his partner to ' take this pillow right here If you bite it , they won 't hear . ' Bertoldi also complimented the song 's production , commenting , ' Neighbors ' employs a knocking bassline and drip drop effect to provide the ideal erotic backdrop for Songz 's dirty talk . She also pointed out that the song was inspired by Songz 's stylistic antecedent , R. Kelly . Mark Edward Nero of About.com also said the song was R. Kelly influenced , calling the song among the album 's best material . Nero said , Trey brags about how the people next door probably know who he is because his woman screams it during sex . ' While I be bangin ' on your body , they be bangin ' on our wall , ' he sings . ' While they be dreamin ' , you be unk ' , now they bangin ' on our door . ' Ready album reviews from Allmusic and PopMatters , noted the track as a standout , with Tyler Lewis of the latter stating the good songs like Neighbors and I Need A Girl thump as they should . Ken Capobianco of the Boston Globe complimented the song 's braggadocio along with I Invented Sex , however commented that the song was unintentionally humorous . Andrew Rennie of Now Magazine said the album 's hook heavy and playful style was evident on the track and on LOL . Chart performance On the week ending March 13 , 2010 , Neighbors Know My Name debuted at eighty eight on the Billboard Hot 100 . A little over a month later , on the week ending May 15 , 2010 , it peaked at forty three on the chart . In its twenty seventh week on the chart , Neighbors Know My Name peaked at the top spot on the Hot R B Hip Hop Songs chart , becoming his fourth top ten single from Ready and his third consecutive top five hit . Music video The video was directed by Yolande Geralds , also director for the I Invented Sex and Say Aah videos . Teairra Mari , D. Woods , and unk were reported to have cameos , but the scenes were evidently cut . The video premiered on March 1 , 2010 . On March 3 , 2010 , the video was The New Joint of the Day on BET 's 106 Park . The music video starts off with an intimate milk bath scene with Trey Songz and model actress , Jessica White along with the song Panty unk , the intro track on Ready , played in the background . It then branches off into Neighbors Know My Name playing in the background with the rest of the music video taking place in a bedroom with love scenes of both Songz and White . Some scenes also include Trey Songz in front of a red background . Live performances He performed the song on 106 Park on February 11 , 2010 for Love Week with a medley of Say Aah , and I Invented Sex . Credits and personnel Songwriting Trey Songz , Troy Taylor , Patrick Hayes Production Troy Taylor , Patrick Hayes Recording John McGee Mixing Jean Marie Horvat Charts Release history
753
Move is a song by Christian rock band MercyMe . Written by MercyMe and Dan Muckala , Move is a dance rock song with a sound similar to that of pop rock band Maroon 5 . The theme of the song 's lyrics is perseverance through adversity . Released on May 23 , 2011 as the third single from MercyMe 's 2010 album The Generous Mr. Lovewell , Move was received with positive critical reviews , especially for the arrangement of the song . Move attained success as a single , peaking atop Billboard magazine 's Christian Songs , Hot Christian AC , and Christian AC Indicator charts , as well as at No. 6 on the Billboard Christian CHR chart and No. 20 on the Billboard Bubbling Under Hot 100 Singles chart . Background and composition Move was written by MercyMe and Dan Muckala . It was produced by Brown Bannister and Muckala , and was recorded by F. Reid Shippen at Sonic Ranch in El Paso , Texas . Overdubs were recorded by Muckala , Bannister , and Billy Whittington at unk Sound and unk Studio . The song was mixed by Shippen at Robot Lemon in Nashville , Tennessee and was mastered by Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound in New York . Move is a dance rock song with a length of two minutes and fifty eight seconds . It is set in the key of A minor and has a tempo of 100 beats per minute , with a vocal range spanning from G4 G5 . The musical feel of Move has been compared to that of Maroon 5 , particularly their songs This Love and Makes Me Wonder . Lyrically , the song is about perseverance through adversity , with the narrator singing that he will move to a different drum no matter what life brings . The song does not directly mention God . Reception Critical reception Move received generally positive reviews . Allmusic reviewer Jared Johnson called the song as relevant as anything MercyMe have ever done . Roger Gelwicks of Jesus Freak Hideout described Move as an upbeat rocker complete with an infectious handclap beat . Andy Argyrakis of Today 's Christian Music described the song as foot stomping , and Kevin Davis of Christian Music Review commented that the song has a fantastic rock dance arrangement like ' This Love ' by Maroon 5 . Tris McCall of The Star Ledger was more negative in his review , commenting that the song sounds so much like Maroon 5 that it s almost embarrassing , and that in a music industry governed by sanity , the two songwriters Adam Levine of Maroon 5 and Bart Millard of MercyMe would sing shoulder to shoulder and reach a common audience . Chart performance Move debuted at No. 41 on the Hot Christian Songs chart for the chart week of May 28 , 2011 , and advanced to No. 30 in its second chart week . Move advanced to No. 20 in its fourth chart week and to No. 9 in its tenth chart week . The song advanced to No. 5 in its twelfth chart week and spent two more weeks on the chart before advancing to No. 1 . Move spent a total of nine consecutive weeks atop the Christian Songs chart before dropping to No. 2 , supplanted by Casting Crowns ' Courageous . The song spent a total of three consecutive weeks at the No. 2 spot before falling to No. 3 . Move dropped to No. 6 in its twenty ninth chart week , and fell to No. 9 in its thirtieth and final week on the chart . In all , Move spent a total of thirty weeks on the chart , nine of them at No. 1 . Move has also peaked at No. 1 on the Hot Christian AC chart , No. 1 on the Christian AC Indicator chart , No. 6 on the Christian CHR chart , and No. 20 on the Bubbling Under Hot 100 chart , which is equivalent to No. 120 on the Billboard Hot 100 . Charts Weekly charts Year end charts
754
HMS Unrivalled ( P45 ) was a U class submarine built for the Royal Navy during World War II . So far she has been the only ship of the Royal Navy to bear the name Unrivalled . Completed in 1942 , the boat spent most of the war in the Mediterranean . She sank a number of small merchant ships and naval auxiliaries , but major success eluded her during the war . Too small and slow for the post war environment , Unrivalled was scrapped in 1946 . Design and description HMS Unrivalled was one of the second group of U class submarines ordered on 23 August 1940 . These submarines differed from their predecessors in that they were lengthened by 5 feet ( 1 . 5 m ) to give a more streamlined shape aft and to improve the flow of water over the propellers . The submarine was 195 feet 6 inches ( 59 . 6 m ) long and 15 feet 9 inches ( 4 . 80 m ) abeam . Unrivalled had a single hull with internal ballast tanks and had a draft of 15 feet 19 inches ( 5 . 05 m ) when surfaced . She displaced 735 long tons ( 747 t ) while submerged , but only 648 long tons ( 658 t ) on the surface . The submarine was equipped with two diesel engines and twin General Electric electric motors for surfaced and submerged running , respectively . They were coupled together with a diesel electric transmission . Unrivalled had a surface speed of up to 11 . 25 knots ( 20 . 84 km h 12 . 95 mph ) and could go as fast as 9 knots ( 17 km h 10 mph ) while underwater . The boat could carry up to 55 long tons ( 56 t ) of diesel fuel , giving her a range of 5 , 000 nautical miles ( 9 , 300 km 5 , 800 mi ) at 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . Her electric motors and batteries provided a range of 120 nautical miles ( 220 km 140 mi ) at 2 knots ( 3 . 7 km h 2 . 3 mph ) while submerged . HMS Unrivalled was equipped with four 21 inch ( 533 mm ) bow torpedo tubes and could carry eight torpedoes . The submarine was also armed with a 3 inch ( 76 mm ) QF Mk I gun deck gun . She had a crew of 33 men . Career HMS Unrivalled was ordered on 23 August 1940 as part of the 1940 naval construction programme from Vickers Armstrong at Barrow in Furness . She was laid down on 12 May 1941 , launched on 16 February 1942 and commissioned on 3 May 1942 . Apart from a work up patrol in the Norwegian Sea , she spent the bulk of the war in the Mediterranean . While working up , Unrivalled fired a torpedo at what was thought to be a submerged enemy submarine . Only the periscope was sighted , and the torpedo was fired in the direction detected by the hydrophones , but no German submarine was in the area . Whilst in service in the Mediterranean , she sank a number of small merchantmen and small naval auxiliary vessels with both torpedoes and gunfire . These included the Italian auxiliary submarine chaser O 97 Margherita , the Italian merchants Maddalena , unk and unk , the Italian tugs Genova and unk , the Italian sailing vessels Triglav , Albina , Margherita , unk and Ardito , the German auxiliary submarine chasers UJ 2201 Bois Rose and UJ 2204 Boral , the Italian tanker Bivona , the small Italian merchant Santa Mariana Salina , the Italian auxiliary minesweeper R 172 Impero and the small Italian vessel San Francisco di Paola A. Unrivalled also damaged the Italian torpedo boat Antonio unk on 3 December 1942 , but neither sank or damaged any Axis ships after 28 July 1943 . During Operation Husky in July 1943 , she was stationed offshore to mark the landing beaches for the 1st Canadian Infantry Division . The boat survived the war , but was too slow for requirements and was not retained after the war . She was scrapped at Briton Ferry , Wales , beginning on 22 January 1946 .
755
Delaware Route 92 ( DE 92 ) is a 8 . 83 mile long ( 14 . 21 km ) road in northern New Castle County , Delaware that runs a short distance to the south of the Pennsylvania Delaware state line for most of its length . The route runs from DE 100 near Montchanin east to U.S. Route 13 ( US 13 ) in Claymont . The road is a two lane rural road between the western terminus and US 202 , passing through Brandywine Creek State Park . East of US 202 , DE 92 is a four lane divided highway called Naamans Road that passes through suburban areas to the north of Wilmington , interchanging with Interstate 95 ( I 95 ) in Claymont . DE 92 was first built as a state highway east of US 202 during the 1920s and 1930s . By 1968 , the route was designated onto its current alignment . In the 1990s , DE 92 east of US 202 was widened into a divided highway . Route description DE 92 begins at the intersection with DE 100 and Adams Dam Road near Montchanin . The route runs northeast on a two lane undivided road called Thompson Bridge Road , passing through farmland to the north of Brandywine Creek State Park . The road continues into forested areas of the state park , crossing the Brandywine Creek . After the state park , DE 92 heads into areas of fields within First State National Historical Park , continuing northeast along Ramsey Road before curving to the north . The route turns east onto Beaver Valley Road , widening into a four lane divided highway as it passes south of business parks and intersects US 202 . Past the US 202 intersection , DE 92 becomes Naamans Road and passes to the south of Brandywine Town Center as it continues into residential and commercial areas and intersects Shipley Road . Past the Brandywine Town Center , the route heads through neighborhoods in Brandywine Hundred and passes to the south of Concord High School before intersecting unk Road , which goes north to the highest point in Delaware ( unk Azimuth ) and into Pennsylvania . After this , the road comes to an intersection with DE 261 . Farther east , DE 92 reaches a junction with the northern terminus of DE 3 . From here , the road crosses over CSX 's Philadelphia Subdivision and turns to the east southeast . The route heads into business areas in Claymont and comes to an interchange with I 95 at the northern terminus of I 495 . After the I 95 interchange , DE 92 passes to the south of the Tri State Mall and has an intersection with the southern terminus of DE 491 . Past this intersection , the route turns southeast before ending at US 13 south of the Robinson House . DE 92 has an annual average daily traffic count ranging from a high of 28 , 720 vehicles at the Shipley Road intersection to a low of 8 , 065 vehicles at the Creek Road intersection . The portion of DE 92 east of US 202 is part of the National Highway System . History By 1920 , what is now DE 92 originally existed as a county road , with the portion east of Foulk Road proposed to become a state highway . The state highway between Foulk Road and Philadelphia Pike was completed four years later . By 1931 , the portion of road between Grubb Road and Foulk Road was upgraded to a state highway . The state highway portion was extended west to Concord Pike by 1936 . By 1968 , DE 92 was designated onto its current alignment between DE 100 and US 13 , with the easternmost portion replacing what had been designated a part of US 13 Bypass . DE 92 was widened into a divided highway by 1997 between US 202 and DE 261 and between DE 3 and DE 491 . Two years later , the road was upgraded to a divided highway between DE 261 and DE 3 . Major intersections The entire route is in New Castle County .
756
The Church of St George ( Bulgarian unk , tsarkva Sveti Georgi ) is a medieval Eastern Orthodox church in the city of Kyustendil , which lies in southwestern Bulgaria and is the administrative capital of Kyustendil Province . The church is located in the unk neighbourhood , which was historically separate from the city . The church was constructed in the 10th 11th century and its frescoes are somewhat later , as the earliest layers were painted in the 11th 12th century . History The Church of St George is dated to the late 10th or early 11th century based on its architectural appearance and mural paintings , which makes it the oldest preserved church in the city . It is located in Kyustendil 's southwestern part , in the former village of unk , which in 1939 was merged into the city . There is a theory that Bulgarian emperor Michael Shishman was buried in the Church of St George after he perished in the Battle of Velbazhd in 1330 . The battle was a Serbian victory over the Second Bulgarian Empire which paved the way for the short lived Serbian dominance over the Balkans in the mid 14th century . However , scholar Bistra Nikolova entirely dismisses this theory as an erroneous reference in Bulgarian history literature . Despite being located outside Kyustendil at the time , up until the construction of the city 's main Bulgarian National Revival style church in 1816 , the Church of St George served as Kyustendil 's cathedral . The church suffered some severe damage during the 19th century , the time of the Ottoman rule of Bulgaria it was mostly destroyed , leaving only the foundations of the arches . It was reconstructed in 1878 1880 , just after the establishment of the Principality of Bulgaria , with further restoration in the 2000s . Architecture and decoration The church follows the Byzantine cross in square design and measures 10 by 8 . 70 metres ( 32 . 8 ft 28 . 5 ft ) . The dome is octagonal and features eight bays , four of which contain windows . There is no narthex and the cella appears square . A total of six pillars support the church from the inside . Two frame the entrance of the altar , while the remaining four stand below the dome . The church has three apses , all of a semicircular design . Materials used for the church 's construction were bricks and mortar , resulting in interchanging rows of red and white . The church 's interior has preserved a number of medieval frescoes , particularly in the lower reaches of the walls and pillars . The paintings in the altar were done in the 11th 12th century , while the decoration of the pillars dates to the 12th century . All inscriptions that accompany the murals are in Medieval Greek . The altar features the images of four deacons bearing a censer and unk as well as two bishops who could possibly be identified as Basil of Caesarea and John Chrysostom . A number of saints are also depicted inside the church , including Saint Elijah , Saints Cosmas and Damian , Saint unk , Saint Pantaleon , and four unidentified female saints . There are also later works of art in the church . It boasts icons or murals by painter Ivan unk from 1881 as well as works by Mihail unk . Due to its architectural and artistic value , the Church of St George has been part of the list of Bulgaria 's monuments of cultural of national importance since 1927 . With the reorganization of the list in the 1960s , it was included on it both as an architectural and as an artistic monument , in 1968 and 1969 respectively . Together with the native house of Dimitar unk and the city art gallery , since 2010 it has been listed as number 26 among the 100 Tourist Sites of Bulgaria .
757
Slackers CDs and Games , often shortened to Slackers , is a small chain of entertainment retailers located in the Midwestern United States . The store specializes in both new and used video games and music . It was founded in 1993 in Columbia , Missouri by Kurt Jellinek and Paul Zacharias , originally as a music store . The store is known for selling local independent music , its collection of classic games , and for giving a lot of credit for trade ins . In 2007 , the store raised some controversy for stockpiling Nintendo Wiis . As of 2009 , there are 10 locations in Missouri and Illinois . Jellinek has said that the name Slackers comes from being a slacker in college playing video games and listening to music during their free time . A new store would be opened every few years , in various separate locations , so as not to lose business by placing two stores close together . Jellinek and Zacharias manage the chain of stores with a hands on approach . History The original idea behind Slackers first occurred in 1990 . Along with some friends , Kurt Jellinek and Paul Zacharias went to a Don Henley concert , and began thinking about owning their own music store . At the time , the two were undergraduate students , and decided to focus their studies on business management and becoming entrepreneurs . Slackers CDs and Games was officially founded in 1993 , by Jellinek and Zacharias , in Columbia , Missouri . Jellinek and Zacharias opened the store after graduating from Saint Louis University , using only their own collection of 1 , 500 music CDs . The name originated from their generation being considered unk before being given a chance to prove otherwise . Although business was slow at first , with the store sometimes only making US 30 in a day , business eventually increased . After 2 years they were able to open a second location in O 'Fallon , Illinois . As of 2009 , there are 10 locations in the states of Missouri and Illinois , eight of which are in the St. Louis Metropolitan Area , and two of which are in Mid Missouri . Praise and criticism Slackers CDs and Games won an award for best used CD store in 2006 from the Riverfront Times . The Times cited its collection of vinyl records and independent and rare music CDs as the basis for the award . Since the store buys video games from all consoles , it is known for its collection of classic titles . However , they do not require the box or manual for cartridge based games . The store is also known for giving more credit for trade ins than its competitors . In 2005 , Vox Magazine had the same four games ( Halo , Metal Gear Solid 3 , NHL 2004 , and Madden NFL 2005 ) priced at EB Games , Game Crazy , and Slackers CDs and Games , with the trade in values being 16 . 50 , 26 . 82 , and 45 respectively . Wii Controversy On December 20 , 2007 , the store raised some controversy when Ars Technica reported that the chain was stockpiling Nintendo Wii systems to sell at a higher profit while telling retail customers that the chain did not have any systems in stock , and were not expecting any . On December 21 , 2007 , Kurt Jellinek responded on the Slackers website by stating that the article was sensationalist and misleading . Jellinek said that , of the 44 units the chain had , five were sold on eBay for 399 . 99 , with a couple of units still in stock , and 35 were held for specific customers and sold at the MSRP . The remainder were given away . Some sites believe this may violate Nintendo 's enforcement of the Wii 's 249 retail price , and may prevent the store from receiving future products from Nintendo . Nintendo has refused to comment on the issue .
758
Illinois Route 98 ( IL 98 , Route 98 ) is a 8 . 36 mile ( 13 . 45 km ) east west state highway located entirely within Tazewell County in central Illinois . The route runs from Route 29 on the border of Pekin and North Pekin east to Interstate 155 ( I 155 ) in Morton . The highway connects Pekin , North Pekin , Morton , and the community of Groveland it passes through a variety of landscapes between the towns . Route 98 is maintained by the Illinois Department of Transportation . The state of Illinois created Route 98 in 1924 the original route connected several cities in western Illinois . The eastern section of this route appeared on maps by 1928 , and the highway was completed in 1929 . In 1939 , Route 98 moved to its current alignment it has not changed since . Route description Route 98 begins at an intersection with Route 29 on the border of Pekin and North Pekin Worley Lake and the Illinois River lie to the west . The route heads east as a divided two lane road called Edgewater Drive , passing a group of houses which lie between two small lakes . After entering North Pekin , the highway becomes undivided and runs through a business district . It intersects County Route 25 , known locally as Parkway Road , before crossing into Pekin . Route 98 enters a forested area in Pekin and passes to the north of John T. McNaughton Park near the city 's eastern border . After leaving Pekin , Route 98 passes through farmland in unincorporated Groveland Township . The highway meets Cole Hollow Road and California Road at successive intersections in a residential area . Past a creek , the road heads into a rural area with sections of farmland and forest . As it enters Groveland , the highway intersects County Route 1 , which runs south through the community . Route 98 leaves Groveland to the east , running through another farmed area . The route curves into Morton and takes the name Birchwood Street , traversing a creek before entering an industrial district . In this area , Route 98 briefly becomes a divided highway before terminating at exit 31 on I 155 . The road continues past the terminus as a local street , still carrying the name Birchwood Street . Route 98 is maintained by the Illinois Department of Transportation ( IDOT ) , an Illinois state agency responsible for maintaining highways and other transport infrastructure in the state . IDOT is responsible for collecting traffic data on Illinois state highways this data is measured in terms of annual average daily traffic , an estimate of the number of vehicles which use a road on any given day in a particular year . In 2009 , IDOT estimated that 4400 vehicles used the western portion of Route 98 , 3900 used the central portion , and 3700 used the eastern portion . No part of Route 98 is included in the National Highway System , a network of roads considered significant to the nation 's economy , defense , and mobility . History Route 98 was initially designated in 1924 on a route in western Illinois . The state planned the road to connect Route 3 east of Macomb to Route 95 near Havana by way of Adair , Table Grove , unk , and Duncan Mills . The route was first marked on the 1928 Illinois highway map at this point , the road connected Table Grove in the west to U.S. Route 24 ( US 24 ) and Route 31 at Duncans Mills in the east . By 1929 , the highway 's western terminus was extended to Route 9 east of Macomb . The original route became part of Route 10 between 1936 and 1939 , at which time the Route 98 designation was transferred to its present alignment . The original Route 98 is now part of US 136 . Major intersections The entire route is in Tazewell County .
759
10 Story Fantasy ( occasionally referred to as Ten Story Fantasy ) was a science fiction and fantasy pulp magazine which was launched in 1951 . The market for pulp magazines was already declining by that time , and the magazine only lasted a single issue . The stories were of generally good quality , and included work by many well known writers , such as John Wyndham , A.E. van Vogt and Fritz Leiber . The most famous story it published was Arthur C. Clarke 's Sentinel from Eternity , which later became part of the basis of the movie 2001 A Space Odyssey . Publication history The early 1950s saw dramatic changes in the world of U.S. science fiction ( sf ) publishing . At the start of 1949 , all but one of the major magazines in the field were in pulp format by the end of 1955 , almost all had either ceased publication or switched to digest format . Despite the rapid decline of the pulp market , several new science fiction magazines were launched in pulp format during these years . In 1950 , Avon Publications experimented with a format that included several pages of comics , trying new pulp magazines in three genres romance , westerns , and science fiction . The sf pulp , titled Out of This World Adventures , lasted for two issues the others for only one . Despite these failures , Joseph Meyers , Avon 's owner , decided to try another pulp magazine the following year when his printer , J.W. Clements offered Meyers a low price for printing a pulp magazine . Donald A. Wollheim , Avon 's executive editor , titled the new magazine 10 Story Fantasy , although it actually contained thirteen stories . The layout bore a strong resemblance to that of Out of This World Adventures both magazines had unusually elaborate artwork for the table of contents , and in both magazines the first letter of each story was decorated with black and white art . As in Out of This World Adventures , the interior art was mostly supplied by William McWilliam and Martin , both of whom worked in Avon 's comics department . The cover art , selected by Meyers , not Wollheim , illustrates John Wyndham 's story Tyrant Slave Girl on Planet Venus ( published under the pseudonym John Beynon ) . This story had been sold first to the British magazine New Worlds , under the title No Place Like Earth Wyndham subsequently sold the American rights to Wollheim , and it appeared on both sides of the Atlantic at the same time . Myers picked the new , more lurid title all subsequent reprint appearances used the title No Place Like Earth . 10 Story Fantasy 's most famous story is Arthur C. Clarke 's Sentinel from Eternity , which Clarke submitted to a BBC writing competition in 1948 it did not receive a prize or honorable mention . The story later became part of the basis of the movie 2001 A Space Odyssey . The stories were generally of good quality , with several well known contributors such as A.E. van Vogt , L. Sprague de Camp , August Derleth , and Lester del Rey . Among the better received stories were Friend to Man , by C.M. Kornbluth Private Worlds , by Wollheim , under the pseudonym Martin Pearson Cry Witch , by Fritz Leiber and Seeds of Futurity , by Kris Neville . Although the quality of the stories was high , the publisher was unwilling to commit to future issues , and the Spring 1951 issue was the only one that appeared . Bibliographic details The magazine was announced as a quarterly but only one issue was published . Donald Wollheim was editor for the only issue , which was numbered volume 1 number 1 . It was published in pulp format , priced at 25 cents and was 128 pages . The publisher was Avon Periodicals of New York .
760
Ranch to Market Road 187 ( RM 187 ) is a 81 . 9 mile ( 131 . 8 km ) Ranch to Market Road located in Zavala , Uvalde , Bandera , and Kerr counties in the US state of Texas . The route passes through the cities of Sabinal , Utopia , and Vanderpool . The road helps connect several small south Texas ranches to major highways . RM 187 was first designated in 1945 , and was extended three times during the 1940s . As of 2012 , it is the longest Ranch to Market Road in the state of Texas . Route description RM 187 begins at its southern terminus with US Highway 57 ( US 57 ) , near Batesville , as a paved , two lane , asphalt road . RM 187 winds through several miles of Southern Texas grassland dotted with trees . The highway passes several large ranches and farms along this course and intersects with several county routes and private roads . For this stretch of the route , RM 187 is heading in a northeast direction . The highway turns north about two miles ( 3 km ) south of an intersection with FM 140 . The two highways run concurrently for nearly a mile ( 1 . 6 km ) before FM 140 turns westward . RM 187 continues north through rolling grasslands for almost 3 . 5 miles ( 5 . 6 km ) before turning in a northeast direction . The route continues in this direction for about two miles before returning to a northerly direction . After about 15 miles ( 24 km ) , RM 187 intersects with US 90 and State Highway 127 ( SH 127 ) in the small town of Sabinal . The highway continues through more hilly , rolling grasslands . A few miles later , the highway crosses the Sabinal River and proceeds past the unk cemetery , the Links of Utopia Golf Course , and the Utopia on the River Airport before passing through the downtown area of the village of Utopia . RM 187 winds through nearly seven miles ( 11 km ) of brushland , passing several large ranches and farms alongside the Sabinal River . The highway heads through the unincorporated community of Vanderpool and runs concurrently with RM 337 for a length of 1 . 1 miles ( 1 . 8 km ) . Separating and running northward , RM 187 continues along the southwestern edge of the Lost Maples State Natural Area . The highway turns northeasterly through a long stretch of brushland before reaching its northern terminus at SH 39 . History RM 187 was first designated as a stretch of road going from Sabinal to the Bandera County line on June 11 , 1945 . Just 14 days later , on June 25 , 1945 , it was extended from the Bandera County line up to Vanderpool . The highway was extended from an intersection with US 90 to Garner Field on April 1 , 1948 , which added approximately 1 . 8 miles ( 2 . 9 km ) to the route . The highway was lengthened on November 23 , 1948 to a point 4 . 3 miles ( 6 . 9 km ) south of Sabinal , while the previous extension was cancelled and redesignated to FM 1023 . The highway was again lengthened southward by 6 . 7 miles ( 10 . 8 km ) to a dead end point on July 15 , 1949 . RM 187 was again extended south on March 24 , 1954 to an intersection with FM 140 . This added approximately 6 miles ( 9 . 7 km ) , giving the route an overall length of 48 miles . On May 2 , 1962 , the road was extended 4 . 5 miles ( 7 . 2 km ) northward , totaling 52 . 5 miles ( 84 . 5 km ) long . RM 187 was extended to its modern day northern terminus at SH 39 on June 26 , 1963 , which added about 12 . 9 miles ( 20 . 8 km ) to the route . On June 2 , 1967 , FM 2557 was redesignated to RM 187 , bringing the route to its southern terminus US 57 . This added approximately 5 miles ( 8 km ) . This addition , in addition to 8 . 5 miles ( 13 . 7 km ) , totaled the road length to 81 . 9 miles ( 131 . 8 km ) . Major junctions
761
WBCM LP is a classic country , bluegrass , and Americana formatted broadcast radio station . Licensed to Bristol , Virginia , the station serves the twin cities of Bristol in Virginia and in Tennessee . The Birthplace of Country Music owns and operates WBCM LP . The station , a working exhibit inside of the museum , went on the air for the first time in August 2015 . The planning for the station dates back to late 2013 . Programming includes live concerts held at the museum and the revival of Farm and Fun Time . The latter program , a live and local radio music show , aired on Bristol 's unk from the 1940s to the 1960s . History Construction The Birthplace of Country Music applied for a construction permit to start a new low power radio station , as part of the FCC 's October 18 , 2013 , unk filing window . The application was granted and the construction permit issued on March 13 , 2014 . The station was to originally launch on 103 . 5 FM . The company proposed , in its original application , that the station would produce content that looks back at recording and radio technologies ' impact on the world along with early country music , and current trends in roots and traditional music . It was also proposed that the station would broadcast archival recordings of a variety of influential sources . The station would broadcast from inside The Birthplace of Country Music museum , located in Bristol , Virginia . Using vintage restored broadcasting equipment , the station would be a working exhibit inside the museum . The station 's antenna would be placed on the unk tower , located on Delaney Street in Bristol , Virginia . On April 14 , 2014 , the station received its call sign , WBCM LP . The museum opened to the public on August 2 , 2014 . In March 2015 , Tony Lawson , founder of Knoxville , Tennessee , radio station unk , was hired by the museum as station manager . He was tasked to create a radio station and media center for the museum . Lawson had been consulting with The Birthplace of Country Music prior to being hired . The Birthplace of Country Music received an email on May 27 , 2015 , voicing concern about WBCM LP 's potential interference with full power station WIMZ FM . WIMZ FM , licensed to Knoxville , Tennessee , also broadcasting on 103 . 5 FM , can be heard in the Bristol area . The Birthplace of Country Music requested a new frequency for WBCM LP , on June 10 , 2015 , out of an overabundance of caution and to eliminate potential interference to WIMZ FM . On June 18 , 2015 , the frequency of the station was changed from 103 . 5 to 100 . 1 FM . Launch WBCM LP began operations , with program testing , on August 8 , 2015 . Six days later , the station was issued a License to Cover , allowing it to begin official operations . The official launch of the station took place at 4 00pm on August 27 , 2015 . A launch event , held at The Birthplace of Country Music museum , included studio tours , a live concert broadcast on WBCM LP , and a reception . Two online music streams and a mobile app , as well as the station 's livestream , were also launched on the same day . The museum plans to include the broadcast of numerous live concerts in the future . Programming and Reception In addition to live concerts , WBCM LP will air a revival of the Radio program Farm and Fun Time . Farm and Fun Time aired on unk Radio ( now unk ) during the 1940s through the 1960s . Each edition of the program is broadcast live from The Birthplace of Country Music museum . While focused on serving Bristol in Virginia and in Tennessee , the signal of WBCM LP can be heard up to 30 miles away .
762
King 's Highway 77 , commonly referred to as Highway 77 , is a provincially maintained highway in the Canadian province of Ontario . One of three highways within Essex County , Highway 77 serves to interconnect Highway 3 near Leamington with Highway 401 near Tilbury . Prior to 1998 , the highway extended south into Leamington , ending at the former routing of Highway 3 and Highway 18 . This section was turned over to Essex County and renamed Erie Street . The speed limit on Highway 77 is 80 km h ( 50 mph ) in most places , dropping to 50 km h in built up areas . It is patrolled by the Ontario Provincial Police . Route description Due to the flat topography of Essex County , the land use surrounding Highway 77 is almost entirely agricultural . Soil conditions in Essex are ideal for farming , and as a result very few natural areas can be found in the county . Many streams have been diverted to irrigate the endless farmland to either side of the highway . Relief from the plain is provided only by the few hamlets along the route . In addition , Lake Erie and Lake St Clair are both a short distance from Highway 77 . Highway 77 begins at the Leamington Bypass , north of the city of the same name . The western section of Highway 3 shares its eastern terminus with Highway 77 from there it travels west towards Windsor . Several greenhouses are visible near the southern end of the highway , a small percentage of the 610 hectares ( 1 , 500 acres ) of land occupied by them in the Leamington area . Point Pelee National Park , the southernmost point in Canada , is also nearby . The highway runs 11 . 5 km ( 7 . 1 mi ) north through Mount Carmel and unk to the village of Staples before turning to the east . It continues in this direction for 2 km ( 1 . 2 mi ) before returning to its northward orientation . North of there , the highway passes to the east of the Comber and District Historical Society Museum . The museum , which focuses on the history of agriculture , was established in the former Maple Grove Schoolhouse , which was built in 1894 . Pressing north to Highway 401 , it passes Middle Road ( once Highway 98 ) in the centre of Comber . Highway 401 provides access to Windsor and the United States to the west , and to the town of Tilbury and city of Chatham Kent to the east . To the north , the road continues as Essex County Road 35 to Stoney Point on the shores of Lake Huron . Traffic levels along Highway 77 vary , but are generally low . The busiest section of the highway lies at the southern end between Leamington and unk , with an average of 6 , 000 vehicles travelling it per day . North of that , traffic drops considerably to 3 , 000 vehicles , but increases approaching Comber and Highway 401 to around 4 , 500 . History The Highway 77 designation was first applied on August 5 , 1936 to a road running southeast from Rodney , Ontario to Highway 3 at New Glasgow . On December 5 , 1957 , the highway was transferred to Elgin County and is now known as Elgin County Road 103 . The current Highway 77 was designated between Leamington and Highway 401 on April 1 , 1963 . The southern end followed present day Erie Street south through the city to Talbot Road . At the time , Highway 3 travelled along that road Highway 77 continued south of Talbot Road as Highway 18 . In early December 1999 , the Leamington Bypass of Highway 3 opened . The southern terminus of Highway 77 was subsequently truncated by 1 . 7 km ( 1 . 1 mi ) to end at the new bypass . Major intersections The following table lists the major junctions along Highway 77 , as noted by the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario . The entire route is located in Essex County .
763
Ceolnoth ( died 870 ) was a medieval English Archbishop of Canterbury . Although later chroniclers stated he had previously held ecclesiastical office in Canterbury , there is no contemporary evidence of this , and his first appearance in history is when he became archbishop in 833 . Ceolnoth faced two problems as archbishop raids and invasions by the Vikings and a new political situation resulting from a change in overlordship from one kingdom to another during the early part of his archiepiscopate . Ceolnoth attempted to solve both problems by coming to an agreement with his new overlords for protection in 838 . Ceolnoth 's later years in office were marked by more Viking raids and a decline in monastic life in his archbishopric . Archbishop Gervase of Canterbury wrote at the end of the twelfth century that Ceolnoth was Dean of the see of Canterbury previous to being elected to the archiepiscopal see of Canterbury , but this story has no confirmation in contemporary records . There is no sign of him being associated with either Canterbury or Kent , the region where Canterbury is located , prior to his elevation as archbishop . Given the length of his archiepiscopate , he was probably a young man when he was elected to Canterbury . Ceolnoth was consecrated archbishop on 27 July 833 . Upon becoming archbishop , Ceolnoth had to deal with two problems first the Viking attacks on his archbishopric and the surrounding lands in Kent and second the newly ascendant kings of Wessex who had just gained control of Kent . Previously , the Mercian kings had ruled Kent . In 836 , Ceolnoth presided , with Wiglaf of Mercia , over a council held at Croft attended by the clergy of the southern part of Britain . This was the last time that the archbishop worked in concert with a Mercian king as , after this , he was an attendee at the Wessex royal court instead of the Mercian . In 838 a council was held at Kingston upon Thames where Ceolnoth made an alliance with the West Saxon kings Egbert and thelwulf . This agreement gave control of all of the free minsters under Canterbury 's authority to the king in return for protection from Viking raids . Ceolnoth also ceded the right to influence the election of abbots within Kent to the king . In return , Egbert received the support of Ceolnoth for the succession of Egbert 's son thelwulf as king . When Egbert died shortly after this , thelwulf succeeded his father and became the first son to follow his father as king of Wessex in almost two centuries . Ceolnoth also recovered control of some lands that had been lost by Canterbury . The end result of this agreement was that the Wessex kings became the secular protectors of the churches and monasteries of the archdiocese of Canterbury . Later life and death During Ceolnoth 's archbishopric , monastic life declined under the pressure of the Viking attacks , and there was a noticeable decline in the quality of the books and other works produced by the unk . A number of monasteries died out under the pressure of the raids by the invaders , who wintered over in Kent in 851 and 855 . He held councils in 839 and 845 , the second at London . During his later years in office , he was assisted by four clerics , who appear to have been or acted as archdeacons , one of the earliest appearances of this office in England . Ceolnoth is also known to have corresponded with Pope Leo IV . Archbishop Ceolnoth died on 4 February 870 . Although monastic and secular life suffered during the later part of Ceolnoth 's archbishopric , his agreement with Egbert set the foundation for the co operation between the archbishops of Canterbury and the kings of England in the future .
764
New York State Route 426 ( NY 426 ) is a state highway located entirely within Chautauqua County , New York , in the United States . It runs just over 13 miles ( 21 km ) from one section of the Pennsylvania state line to another , passing through two small hamlets and providing the Southern Tier Expressway ( Interstate 86 or I 86 and NY 17 ) with its westernmost exit in New York . NY 426 is the westernmost north south state highway in New York . At both crossings of the state line it continues as Pennsylvania Route 426 ( PA 426 ) . It is the only other state highway besides NY 440 that can claim the distinction of being a middle segment of another state 's similarly numbered highway . The New York alignment has remained virtually unchanged since it was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York , while the designations of the roads it connects to in Pennsylvania have varied over the years . The two segments of PA 426 were established at different times in the 1940s . Route description NY 426 begins where the southern segment of PA 426 leaves off at the Pennsylvania state line in French Creek 6 miles ( 10 km ) north of Corry , Pennsylvania . The route heads north through rural southwestern Chautauqua County to the small community known as Cutting , where it overlaps NY 474 for a tenth of a mile ( 0 . 16 km ) westward before resuming its trek northward . Roughly 1 . 5 miles ( 2 . 4 km ) north of Cutting , NY 426 veers to the west to avoid a large ridge situated near Beaver Meadow Brook , a small stream leading to French Creek . The route follows the brook to where it converges with the creek , then parallels French Creek northward toward the waterside hamlet of French Creek . The creek and NY 426 split south of the community , with the creek continuing along French Creek Mina Road to the hamlet while NY 426 bypasses French Creek to the west . The route enters the town of Mina upon intersecting Harrington Hill Road a mile ( 1 . 6 km ) to the north . A half mile ( 0 . 8 km ) into Mina , NY 426 comes within view of Findley Lake , a body of water 2 miles ( 3 . 2 km ) long from south to north and as wide as one half mile ( 0 . 8 km ) at points . The route follows the eastern edge of the lake north to the hamlet of Findley Lake , situated at the northern tip of the lake . Here , NY 426 overlaps NY 430 westward for three blocks through the community prior to connecting to the Southern Tier Expressway ( I 86 and NY 17 ) by way of an interchange 1 mile ( 1 . 6 km ) north of Findley Lake . The exit is the westernmost exit on NY 17 however , the expressway itself continues west to I 90 near Erie , Pennsylvania , as I 86 . Past the expressway , NY 426 continues northwest for another 2 miles ( 3 . 2 km ) through nondescript terrain to the Pennsylvania state line , where it becomes the northern segment of PA 426 . History The entirety of NY 426 was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York as a northward extension of PA 189 , a short route leading south to Corry , Pennsylvania . Originally , NY 426 broke from its modern alignment at French Creek Mina Road to serve the hamlet of French Creek via French Creek Mina and King roads before rejoining its current route west of the hamlet . The route was realigned onto its present alignment west of French Creek c . 1936 . In the early 1940s , the 426 designation was extended southward into Pennsylvania as PA 426 . It was also extended northwestward into Pennsylvania in the mid 1940s , effectively making NY 426 the missing segment of an otherwise discontinuous PA 426 . Major intersections The entire route is in Chautauqua County .
765
The Chase XCG 20 , also known as the XG 20 and by the company designation MS 8 unk , was a large assault glider developed immediately after World War II by the Chase Aircraft Company for the United States Air Force , and was the largest glider ever built in the United States . The XG 20 did not see production due to a change in USAF requirements , however , it was modified into the successful Fairchild C 123 Provider twin engined transport aircraft which saw extensive service in the Vietnam War . Design and development Following the end of World War II , the United States Army Air Forces , which became the United States Air Force ( USAF ) in 1947 , developed a requirement for a new , large assault glider type to replace smaller types that were then in service , all existing gliders having been declared obsolete . The new gliders were to be constructed entirely of metal , and were also required to be easily adaptable to a powered configuration . As part of a five year development program , a contract was awarded to the Chase Aircraft Company of Trenton , New Jersey , in August 1946 for the construction of two types of gliders . These included a smaller model being designated XCG 18A , and the larger , definitive model being designated XCG 20 . The XCG 20 , redesignated XG 20 in 1948 with the establishment of the USAF , was the largest glider ever constructed in the United States , and the last combat glider to be built for the U.S. military . It featured a high mounted wing and retractable tricycle landing gear , with an auxiliary power unit supplied hydraulic power to the landing gear and flaps . The nose section was reinforced to provide optimal protection to the pilots in the event of a crash on landing , and to allow for the strongest possible towing connection . The cargo hold was 30 feet ( 9 . 1 m ) long and 12 feet ( 3 . 7 m ) wide it featured an innovative configuration , the rear fuselage being upswept with an integrated loading ramp . This allowed vehicles to be driven directly on and off of the aircraft , speeding loading and unloading times . Operational history Although the first prototype XG 20 never flew as a glider , the second prototype conducted the aircraft 's first flight in April 1950 . Following being displayed to the public at Pope Air Force Base as part of Exercise unk during that month , the XG 20 underwent thorough flight testing during the late summer , it was evaluated against a variety of other transport aircraft at Eglin Air Force Base in Florida . Although it possessed no obvious faults , the test program confirmed that the powered assault transport was the equal of the glider in landing performance having been rendered obsolete , the assault glider fell out of favor with the Air Force , and the XG 20 project was cancelled . However , Chase had designed the aircraft to allow for the easy installation of engines the first XG 20 had already been modified with two radial piston engines , becoming the XC 123 , the prototype of the long serving C 123 Provider family of transports . Meanwhile , the second prototype XG 20 was returned to Chase Aircraft , to be fitted with two twin pods for General Electric unk turbojets , becoming the XC 123A , the first jet powered transport aircraft built in the United States . Specifications Data from C 123 Provider in action General characteristics Crew 3 Length 77 ft 1 in ( 23 . 50 m ) Wingspan 110 ft 0 in ( 33 . 53 m ) Height 33 ft 10 in ( 10 . 31 m ) Wing area 1 , 222 . 78 sq ft ( 113 . 600 m2 ) Airfoil NACA unk Max takeoff weight 70 , 000 lb ( 31 , 751 kg ) limited by tow aircraft to 40 , 000 pounds ( 18 , 000 kg )
766
New York State Route 171 ( NY 171 ) is a state highway running east to west through Herkimer County , New York , in the United States . It connects the hamlet of Gulph in the town of Frankfort to the village of Frankfort by way of the Frankfort Gorge . Its western end is at the junction of County Route 145 ( CR 145 ) and CR 185 southeast of Gulph . The eastern end is 5 . 69 miles ( 9 . 16 km ) to the east at an intersection with Main Street in Frankfort village . NY 171 is a narrow , two lane highway for its whole length . NY 171 is one of several signed state highways in New York that do not intersect any other signed New York state routes . However , this was not always the case . When it was originally assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York , Main Street in Frankfort was part of NY 5S . A new freeway alignment for NY 5S was constructed between Utica and Ilion in the late 1960s , isolating NY 171 from the remainder of the state highway system . Frankfort 's interchange with NY 5S is now at Cemetery Street , 0 . 75 miles ( 1 . 21 km ) to the west . Route description NY 171 begins at an intersection with CR 145 ( Ball Road ) and CR 185 ( Gulph Road ) southeast of the hamlet of Gulph . The route heads eastward , passing through a dense forest in the town of Frankfort . The forest surrounds NY 171 for a substantial distance , separating it from more developed areas of the town . The highway eventually turns to the northeast , following a winding , curve filled route that leads through the Frankfort Gorge towards the village of Frankfort . As it heads through the valley , NY 171 intersects with CR 13 , known locally as Furnace Road . CR 13 and NY 171 parallel for a short distance as CR 13 climbs the north face of the gorge and then turns northward at its top . The route then passes under a series of power lines , loosely paralleling the more northerly CR 96 ( Higby Road ) to the outskirts of the village of Frankfort . Here , NY 171 intersects with several roads of local importance before crossing over the NY 5S freeway to enter the village itself . On the eastern side of the highway , NY 171 becomes South Litchfield Street and passes through areas that are mostly residential . It continues to the village 's central business district . State maintenance of the route ends at a junction with Canal Street. but the route continues as a village maintained highway for one more block to an intersection with Main Street . History Most of what is now NY 171 was improved to state highway standards as part of a project contracted out by the state of New York on July 12 , 1916 . The work covered the 5 . 10 miles ( 8 . 21 km ) of the route outside of the Frankfort village limits . The reconstruction was completed in the 1920s , and the Frankfort Gorge road was added to the state highway system as unsigned State Highway 1346 ( SH 1346 ) by 1926 . In the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York , SH 1346 became part of NY 171 , which continued northeast to Main Street in Frankfort on several state and locally maintained streets . At the time , Main Street was part of NY 5S , another route assigned as part of the renumbering . In the late 1960s , a limited access highway was constructed between Utica and Ilion alongside NY 5S . The new highway became part of a rerouted NY 5S in the early 1970s . As a result , NY 171 , which does not interchange with the highway , no longer connects to any other signed state routes . NY 171 is the only signed state highway in New York that is completely isolated from the remainder of the state highway system . Major intersections The entire route is in Herkimer County .
767
Andrew Gehr Truxal ( February 2 , 1900 February 3 , 1971 ) was the third president of Hood College and the first president of Anne Arundel Community College . Truxal was a lifelong academic serving as instructor at several institutions and chairman of the sociology department of Dartmouth College . Truxal is commemorated by a professorship and scholarship in Sociology at Hood College and a library named after him at Anne Arundel College . Education and early career In 1920 , Truxal graduated from Franklin and Marshall College in Lancaster , Pennsylvania , where he joined Phi Kappa Psi . Following that , he attended the Eastern Theological Seminary of the Evangelical and Reformed Church of the United States in Lancaster where he received his degree in divinity and became an ordained minister in 1923 . He then served as instructor of history and economics at Franklin and Marshall and instructor of history at Millersburg State Teachers College . Truxal received his doctorate from Columbia University in 1928 . Upon this , he joined the faculty of Dartmouth as a professor in sociology before taking over as chairman of that department in 1935 . He briefly served , along with Bancroft H. Brown and W. Stuart Messer , as interim Dean of the Faculty of Dartmouth following the death of Dean Gordon Bill . Presidency at Hood College On October 21 , 1948 , Truxal was inaugurated as the third president of Hood College in Frederick , Maryland . He succeeded Irvin Stahr who resigned in July 1948 . The ceremony was held in the Hodson Outdoor Theater and featured a keynote address by Isaiah Bowman , former president of Johns Hopkins University . In his inaugural address , Dr. Truxal told the students that During his time at Hood , Truxal oversaw the construction of Hodson Science Hall , Coffman Chapel , Gambrill Gymnasium , the President 's House , and Fox Alumnae Headquarters . With the completion of the President 's House , Dr. Truxal auctioned off the rights to spend an evening with the unk in the house . All funds raised in these auctions were given to the World Student Service Fund . He briefly stepped aside in 1953 after suffering a heart attack . An administrative committee stood in his place during his recovery . On January 22 , 1961 , Truxal was named the first president of Anne Arundel Junior College . Dr. Randle Elliott was announced as Truxal 's successor at Hood on February 8 and Truxal retired from the college on July 1 of that year . Presidency at Anne Arundel Community College Truxal was the unanimous choice of the Anne Arundel County commissioners to become the president of the new college . The college opened in September 1961 offering night classes at Severna Park High School . In 1967 , under his tenure as president , the college moved to its current campus in Arnold , Maryland . The college also received its full accreditation from the Middle States Commission on Higher Education during his presidency . He retired from the position in August 1968 . Legacy Truxal died on February 3 , 1971 of a heart attack in his winter home in Naples , Florida . Hood College still recognizes the contributions of Dr. Truxal through a sociology scholarship . The chair of the sociology department at Hood receives the title of Andrew G. Truxal Professor of Sociology . In addition , the pergola located at the center of the residential quad is named in his honor . Anne Arundel has honored Dr. Truxal with the Andrew G. Truxal Library on its campus . One male and one female student athlete a year receive the Dr. Andrew G. Truxal Award for his or her total involvement with athletics and accomplishments in extracurricular activities .
768
The radius of maximum wind ( RMW ) is the distance between the center of a cyclone and its band of strongest winds . It is a parameter in atmospheric dynamics and tropical cyclone forecasting . The highest rainfall rates occur near the RMW of tropical cyclones . The extent of a cyclone 's storm surge and its maximum potential intensity can be determined using the RMW . As maximum sustained winds increase , the RMW decreases . Recently , RMW has been used in descriptions of tornadoes . When designing buildings to prevent against failure from atmospheric pressure change , RMW can be used in the calculations . Determination The RMW is traditionally measured by reconnaissance aircraft in the Atlantic basin . It can also be determined on weather maps as the distance between the cyclone center and the system 's greatest pressure gradient . Using weather satellite data , the distance between the coldest cloud top temperature and the warmest unk within the eye , in infrared satellite imagery , is one method of determining RMW . The reason why this method has merit is that the strongest winds within tropical cyclones tend to be located under the deepest convection , which is seen on satellite imagery as the coldest cloud tops . Use of velocity data from Doppler weather radar can also be used to determine this quantity , both for tornadoes and tropical cyclones near the coast . Tornadoes In the case of tornadoes , knowledge of the RMW is important as atmospheric pressure change ( APC ) within sealed buildings can cause failure of the structure . Most buildings have openings totaling one square foot per 1 , 000 cubic foot ( 28 m3 ) volume to help equalize air pressure between the inside and outside of the structures . The APC is around one half of its maximum value at the RMW , which normally ranges between 150 feet ( 46 m ) and 500 feet ( 150 m ) from the center ( or eye ) of the tornado . The widest tornado as measured by actual radar wind measurements was the Mulhall tornado in northern Oklahoma , part of the 1999 Oklahoma tornado outbreak , which had a radius of maximum wind of over 800 metres ( 2 , 600 ft ) . Tropical cyclones An average value for the RMW of 47 kilometres ( 29 mi ) was calculated as the mean ( or average ) of all hurricanes with a lowest central atmospheric pressure between a pressure of 909 hectopascals ( 26 . 8 inHg ) and 993 hectopascals ( 29 . 3 inHg ) . As tropical cyclones intensify , maximum sustained winds increase as the RMW decreases . The heaviest rainfall within intense tropical cyclones has been observed in the vicinity of the RMW . The radius of maximum wind helps determine the direct strikes of tropical cyclones . Tropical cyclones are considered to have made a direct strike to a landmass when a tropical cyclone passes close enough to a landmass that areas inside the radius of maximum wind are experienced on land . The radius of maximum wind is used within the maximum potential intensity equation . The Emanuel equation for Maximum Intensity Potential relies upon the winds near the RMW of a tropical cyclone to determine its ultimate potential . The highest storm surge is normally coincident with the radius of maximum wind . Because the strongest winds within a tropical cyclone lie at the RMW , this is the region of a tropical cyclone which generates the dominant waves near the storm , and ultimately ocean swell away from the cyclone . Tropical cyclones mix the ocean water within a radius three times that of the RMW , which lowers sea surface temperatures due to upwelling . Much is still unknown about the radius of maximum wind in tropical cyclones , including whether or not it can be predictable .
769
Beat the Chefs is an American television cooking game show broadcast by Game Show Network and hosted by Matt Rogers . The series features contestants preparing a home cooked family recipe , while professional chefs Beau MacMillan , Antonia unk and Jeff Henderson make the same recipe in an upscale restaurant version . The two dishes are then judged by a panel of food critics , who decide the winner . The series premiered on August 23 , 2012 , and aired its last episode on September 13 , 2012 . Format The series features two families , one in each half hour of the episode , preparing their family recipe while the professional chefs cook a restaurant version of the same meal . The family begins by revealing the dish they have selected to cook to the chefs as well as how longer they think it will take to prepare it . The chefs are then given the same amount of time to create their own version . Once the first cook off is complete , the second family is brought out , and the procedure is repeated with their own meal . After the second cook off , the judges reveal the winning dish from each round . If the family 's home cooked meal beats the chefs ' professional version , the family wins 25 , 000 if the chefs win , the family receives 1 , 000 worth of kitchen supplies . Production Production company unk had pitched the series to CBS as early as March 2010 however , it was not until two years later that Beat the Chefs first appeared at GSN 's upfront presentation in New York City as an original green lit series on March 21 , 2012 . GSN later put out a one month casting call from May 25 to June 25 , looking for great cooks who had never been formally trained . On July 2 , 2012 , GSN announced the series ' premiere date as August 23 , 2012 , right after the premiere of The American Bible Challenge . GSN then released the cast for the series on July 24 , 2012 , announcing former American Idol contestant Matt Rogers as the host of the show . The press release also revealed Beau MacMillan , Antonia unk and Jeff Henderson as the professional chefs , as well as Brad A. Johnson and Christy Jordan as judges . In addition , Johnson and Jordan were joined by a guest judge each episode these judges included Eric Roberts , Julie Powell , Richie Palmer , and Melissa Rycroft . The series premiered on August 23 , 2012 immediately following the premiere of The American Bible Challenge . GSN continued to air one new episode a week until September 13 , 2012 . Although no official cancelation announcement was made , the series has not been seen since then . The show also was not mentioned or discussed in GSN 's most recent upfront presentation and is therefore assumed to be canceled . Reception Beat the Chefs earned mixed reception from critics . Carrie Grosvenor of About Entertainment argued that Rogers was a good fit for the show as host and called the show enjoyable , but also claimed that there wasn 't enough of a focus on the food and preparation . Meanwhile , Hollywood unk praised the series , calling it a guaranteed winning show while arguing that it had the potential to become extremely successful . The series earned relatively average ratings for GSN 's standards . Despite The American Bible Challenge debuting to record ratings for GSN , Beat the Chefs maintained less than a third of the viewers that tuned in to its lead in . The series premiere averaged 521 , 000 viewers , compared to the 1 . 73 million viewers who watched The American Bible Challenge . The following week , Beat the Chefs dropped to 357 , 000 viewers , while its lead out , a sneak peek of GSN 's upcoming revival of Pyramid , earned 443 , 000 viewers .
770
SM U 15 or U XV was a U 10 class submarine or U boat of the Austro Hungarian Navy ( German Kaiserliche und Knigliche Kriegsmarine or K.u.K. Kriegsmarine ) during World War I. U 15 was constructed in Germany and shipped by rail to Pola where she was assembled and launched in April 1915 . She was commissioned in October 1915 . U 15 was the most successful boat of the U 10 class , sinking six ships totaling more than 8 , 000 gross register tons ( GRT ) . The boat survived the war and was handed over to Italy as a war reparation and scrapped in 1920 . Design and construction U 15 was constructed at AG Weser in Bremen for the Austro Hungarian Navy and then shipped by rail in sections to Pola , where the sections were riveted together . Though there is no specific mention of how long it took for U 15 's sections to be assembled , a sister boat , the German Type UB I submarine UB 3 , shipped to Pola from Germany in mid April 1915 , was assembled in about two weeks . U 15 was launched in April . U 15 was a small , coastal submarine that displaced 125 . 5 long tons ( 127 . 5 t ) surfaced and 140 . 25 long tons ( 142 . 50 t ) submerged . She featured a single shaft , a single 59 bhp ( 44 kW ) Daimler diesel engine for surface running , and a single 119 shp ( 89 kW ) electric motor for submerged travel . U 15 was capable of up to 6 . 5 knots ( 12 . 0 km h 7 . 5 mph ) while surfaced and 5 . 5 knots ( 10 . 2 km h 6 . 3 mph ) while submerged at a diving depth of up to 50 metres ( 160 ft ) . She was designed for a crew of 17 officers and men . U 15 was equipped with two 45 cm ( 17 . 7 in ) torpedo tubes located in the front and carried a complement of two torpedoes . In October 1916 , U 15 's armament was supplemented with a 37 mm 23 ( 1 . 5 in ) quick firing ( QF ) gun . This gun was replaced by a 47 mm 23 ( 1 . 9 in ) QF gun in November 1917 . Operational history SM U 15 was commissioned into the Austro Hungarian Navy on 6 October under the command of Linienschiffsleutnant Friedrich Schlosser . On 28 November , Linienschiffsleutnant Friedrich Fhndrich was assigned to the first of two stints in command of the boat . On 18 December , Fhndrich and U 15 attacked and sank two Albanian sailing vessels near Lezh . The unk , of 25 GRT , and the unk unk , of 80 GRT , were both sunk at position 41 47 N 19 31 E. After being relieved by Linienschiffsleutnant Franz unk von unk from late March to early May 1916 , Fhndrich resumed command on 10 May . One week later , on 17 May , U 15 torpedoed and sank the 2 , 237 GRT Italian steamer Stura in the Adriatic some 18 nautical miles ( 33 km ) east of Brindisi . The following month , Fhndrich and the crew of U 15 scored their second double kill when they sank the Italian auxiliary cruiser Citt di Messina ( 3 , 495 GRT ) and the French destroyer Fourche ( 745 GRT ) . While about 20 nautical miles ( 37 km ) east of Otranto on 23 June , U 15 torpedoed and sank Citt di Messina . The escorting destroyer Fourche began a depth charge attack on U 15 and assumed success when an oil slick appeared on the surface . After the captain of Fourche turned his attentions to the rescue Citt di Messina 's survivors , U 15 launched a single torpedo that struck Fourche amidships and sank her . On 25 October , U 15 , back under the command of von unk , sank the 2 , 207 GRT Italian steamer unk , a sister ship to Stura ( sunk by U 15 in May ) . unk was the last ship sunk by U 15 . From October 1916 to the end of the fighting in November 1918 , U 15 's activities are unknown . U 15 was at Pola at the end of the war when Austria Hungary handed her over to Italy . U 15 was scrapped at Pola by 1920 .
771
Lo Mejor de M ( All My Best ) is a song written and produced by Rudy Prez and first recorded by Spanish singer Juan Ramon for his second studio album Por unk Amado Tanto ( 1990 ) . In the song , the protagonist tells his lover how he gave his best despite not meeting his lover 's expectation . In 1997 , Mexican recording artist Cristian Castro covered the song for his fifth studio album Lo Mejor de M which Prez also produced and arranged . Castro 's version peaked at number one on the Billboard Hot Latin Songs and the Billboard Latin Pop Songs charts in the United States . The song received a Billboard Latin Music Awards and a Lo Nuestro nomination for Pop Song of the Year . Prez earned the American Society of Composers , Authors and Publishers award in the Pop Ballad field . Background In 1990 , Spanish recording artist Juan Ramon released his second studio album Por unk Amado Tanto which was arranged and produced by Cuban American musician Rudy Prez . Prez composed three songs for the album including the track Lo Mejor de M . The song speaks of a failed relationship between the protagonist and the lover where the protagonist gave the best they could despite not meeting the lover 's expectation . One year later , Argentine musician Mara Martha Serra Lima covered the song on her studio album of the same name which was also arranged and produced by Prez . Prez also proposed the song to be covered by Mexican singer Luis Miguel for his album Segundo Romance ( 1994 ) . However Miguel rejected the song because he felt it was more of a ballad than a bolero . In 1997 , Mexican recording artist Cristian Castro covered the song for his Grammy nominated album of the same name with Prez 's involvement with the production and arrangement . It was released as the lead single from the album and the first single under his new record label BMG U.S. Latin following his departure from Fonovisa Records a year earlier . The song is performed in the bolero style . Promotion Castro performed the song live in Mexico City , Mexico on October 28 , 1997 as part of the promotion for the album . In addition , a music video was released 1998 which was directed by Willie Souza and was filmed in a near Cuernavaca . The song was remixed by DJ Sugar Kid which was included in Castro 's album Remixes ( 2000 ) . It also has been featured in his compilations album Grandes Hits ( 2002 ) and Nunca Voy a Olvidarte ... Los Exitos ( 2005 ) . Reception Lo Mejor de M debuted on the Billboard Hot Latin Songs chart at number 24 on the week of September 13 , 1997 , climbing to the top ten one week later . The song peaked atop of the chart on the week of November 22 , 1997 succeeding Si Tu Supieras by Alejandro Fernndez and was replaced by Y Hubo Alguien by Marc Anthony a week later . On the Billboard Latin Pop Songs chart , the song debuted at number ten on the chart . It reached number one on the chart on the week of October 4 , 1997 where it spent a total a five nonconsecutive weeks on top . It was second best performing Latin pop song of 1998 after Vuelve by Ricky Martin . On the review of the album , an editor for Billboard felt that the song highlights the much anticipated label by this Mexican singing star . Lo Mejor de M was awarded Pop Song of the Year at the 1998 Billboard Latin Music Awards and was nominated at the same category the following year . It was also nominated Pop Song of the Year at the 9th Lo Nuestro Awards but lost to Si Tu Supieras by Alejandro Fernndez . Prez earned the American Society of Composers , Authors and Publishers award for Pop unk Song of 1998 for the song and was awarded 1999 in the same category . Charts
772
The Adams Avenue Parkway is a one half mile long ( 800 m ) private toll road in the U.S. state of Utah connecting U.S. Route 89 ( US 89 ) to Interstate 84 ( I 84 ) near Washington Terrace , Utah . The roadway opened in 2001 at a cost of 8 . 9 million and was created after decades of requests by locals to connect the existing Adams Avenue to I 84 . This allowed commuters to bypass the rest of US 89 through Washington Terrace to I 84 . Route description The main access to the south end of the parkway is from I 84 at exit 85 , a pre existing diamond interchange with a local road in South Weber named 475 East . The four lane , 35 mph ( 56 km h ) toll road , which has no shoulders or sidewalks , begins at Cottonwood Drive , I 84 's north side frontage road . It immediately crosses a bridge over the Weber River ( the Davis Weber County line and north limit of South Weber ) and the Union Pacific Railroad 's Evanston Subdivision ( the south limit of Washington Terrace ) . The parkway then curves northwest and climbs out of the Weber River 's floodplain with a maximum grade of nine percent , reaching the toll plaza most of the way up the hill . After one intersection with 5900 South , which presently serves only the toll road company 's headquarters and a single commercial building , private maintenance gives way to a four lane city street with sidewalks just shy of 5800 South . The roadway continues northeasterly to the top of the hill near 5600 South , where pre existing Adams Avenue ( 500 East ) heads north , passing the Ogden Regional Medical Center to an intersection with Washington Boulevard ( US 89 ) on the Washington Terrace South Ogden border . Adams Avenue continues through South Ogden and into Ogden as a minor street one block east of US 89 , with a gap near 4600 South and more north of downtown Ogden . In 2006 approximately 1 , 400 cars traveled the parkway on an average weekday . Tolls Tolls are collected in cash or via an ExpressCard account , a prepaid system that offers a discount for a 10 deposit to the account . The current toll is 1 in each direction for two axle vehicles and 0 . 50 for each additional axle . Previously emergency vehicles ( ambulances ) were not charged a toll , however beginning July 3 , 2003 , they must pay the standard 1 toll . To allow quick passage through the toll barrier , these vehicles pay through a charge account . The Utah Department of Transportation worked out an agreement during local road construction for four days in 2003 to allow commuters to use the parkway free of charge . History The parkway was opened in 2001 after just under a year of construction and almost two decades of community requests . Local residents led by Doug and Bruce Stephens urged the state to connect I 84 directly to Adams Avenue , bypassing the congested US 89 . Then governor Mike Leavitt suggested that a private company rather than the state would need to build the road . The roadway cost 8 . 9 million ( equivalent to 13 . 3 million in 2015 ) to build , of which the state provided 2 million ( equivalent to 3 million in 2015 ) . Additional funds came from taxes levied on property owners along the parkway . The entire stretch of road between Washington Boulevard and I 84 was built by the Adams Avenue Turnpike LLC however , they returned most of the road to local authorities . The only portion not kept was a one half mile long ( 0 . 80 km ) segment between about 5800 South and I 84 . The roadway is defined under Weber County Ordinance , Title 31 , which grants a franchise to Adams Avenue Turnpike LLC for an initial term of 50 years ( expiring in 2051 ) . Major intersections
773
HMS Blanche ( unk ) was a B class destroyer built for the Royal Navy around 1930 . During the Spanish Civil War of 1936 1939 , the ship spent considerable time in Spanish waters , enforcing the non intervention measures agreed by Britain and France . She was attacked , but not damaged , by Nationalist bombers in early 1938 and was subsequently transferred to the Home Fleet . Blanche was sunk by a mine in November 1939 , becoming the first British destroyer lost to enemy action in World War II . Description Blanche displaced 1 , 360 long tons ( 1 , 380 t ) at standard load and 1 , 790 long tons ( 1 , 820 t ) at deep load . The ship had an overall length of 323 feet ( 98 . 5 m ) , a beam of 32 feet 3 inches ( 9 . 8 m ) and a draught of 12 feet 3 inches ( 3 . 7 m ) . She was powered by Parsons geared steam turbines , driving two shafts , which developed a total of 34 , 000 shaft horsepower ( 25 , 000 kW ) and gave a maximum speed of 35 knots ( 65 km h 40 mph ) . Steam for the turbines was provided by three Admiralty 3 drum boilers . Blanche carried a maximum of 390 long tons ( 400 t ) of fuel oil that gave her a range of 4 , 800 nautical miles ( 8 , 900 km 5 , 500 mi ) at 15 knots ( 28 km h 17 mph ) . The ship 's complement was 134 officers and men , although it increased to 142 during wartime . The ship mounted four 45 calibre QF 4 . 7 inch Mk IX guns in single mounts . For anti aircraft ( AA ) defence , Blanche had two 40 millimetre ( 1 . 6 in ) QF 2 pounder Mk II AA guns mounted on a platform between her funnels . She was fitted with two above water quadruple torpedo tube mounts for 21 inch ( 533 mm ) torpedoes . One depth charge rail and two throwers were fitted 20 depth charges were originally carried , but this increased to 35 shortly after the war began . Career The ship was ordered on 4 March 1929 from Hawthorn Leslie of Hebburn , under the 1928 Naval Programme . She was laid down on 29 July 1929 , and launched on 29 May 1930 , as the tenth RN ship to carry this name . Blanche was completed on 14 February 1931 at a cost of 225 , 195 , excluding items supplied by the Admiralty such as guns , ammunition and communications equipment . After her commissioning , she was assigned to the 4th Destroyer Flotilla with the Mediterranean Fleet until 1936 . The ship was refitted that year and reassigned , with her flotilla , to Home Fleet , after its completion . Blanche spent six months deployed off the southern Spanish coast during the Spanish Civil War , based in Gibraltar . She was attacked by five Nationalist bombers on 6 March 1938 , but they all missed . The ship received a brief overhaul at Portsmouth between 1 April and 11 June 1938 and was then assigned to the anti submarine flotilla based at the Isle of Portland . During the Munich Crisis , Blanche was one of the destroyers that escorted the ocean liner RMS Aquitania and the battleship HMS Revenge in the English Channel on 30 September . She was given a more thorough refit in Sheerness Dockyard between 1 April and 15 July 1939 and became the emergency destroyer at the Nore upon its completion . Blanche was assigned to the 19th Destroyer Flotilla when World War II began and spent the next two months escorting convoys and patrolling in the Channel and North Sea . The ship and her sister Basilisk were escorting the minelayer Adventure on the morning of 13 November in the Thames Estuary when they entered a minefield laid the night before by several German destroyers . Adventure and Blanche both struck mines the latter lost all power and capsized at unk . One man was killed and twelve more were wounded . She was the first British destroyer sunk by the Germans during the war .
774
The Australian Voluntary Hospital was a military hospital staffed by Australian expatriates in England that served on the Western Front between 1914 and 1916 . For much of this time it was the only Australian presence on the Western Front . Origin When the First World War broke out in August 1914 , Lady ( Rachel ) Dudley , the wife of the former Governor General of Australia , the Lord Dudley , decided to create a hospital from Australian doctors and nurses who were in the United Kingdom . There were relatively large numbers of these while doctors and nurses could be trained in Australia , advanced qualifications still required a trip overseas . Lady Dudley discussed her proposal with King George V , and then with the Secretary of State for War , Lord Kitchener , and the British Army 's Director General Army Medical Services , Sir Arthur unk , who authorised the hospital . The hospital was formally offered to the British government by the Australian High Commissioner to the United Kingdom , Sir George Reid on 15 August 1914 . Volunteers responded to advertisements that Lady Dudley placed in English newspapers on 17 August 1914 . Women doctors were not accepted , but women nurses were welcomed . The Australian Voluntary Hospital was commanded by Lieutenant Colonel William L 'Estrange Eames CB VD , an officer in the Australian Army Medical Corps who had served in the South African War , and was holidaying in England with his family at the time . He was unable to join the First Australian Imperial Force ( AIF ) , which was not accepting enlistments outside Australia . He was granted the temporary rank of lieutenant colonel in the Royal Army Medical Corps . Ida Greaves RRC , from Royal Newcastle Hospital was appointed matron . The hospital soon reached a strength of 120 staff , of whom 36 were nurses . Operations The Australian Voluntary Hospital assembled its personnel and equipment at a camp established on the grounds of the Ranelagh Club , which had been loaned for the purpose . It departed for France on 29 August 1914 on Lord Dunraven 's yacht Greta , which had been accepted by the Admiralty as a transport for medical units , and moved to Le Havre . Owing to the German advance , the hospital was evacuated to St Nazaire on 2 September , and reopened there 5 September . The 100 bed hospital was set up in a park under canvas , with a school and house close by rented for various facilities . It began receiving casualties from the Retreat from Mons the next day . On 26 October 1914 , the Australian Voluntary Hospital moved to Wimereux , where it established a 200 bed hospital . The hospital was well equipped , with motor ambulances donated by organisations in Australia , a pathology laboratory and the only X ray unit in the area . A day after it opened on 29 October , it began receiving patients from the First Battle of Ypres . Much of the unit 's tents which accommodated the male personnel of the hospital were lost in a blizzard on 11 November 1914 , and the men moved to the Golf club house of the Htel du Golf et unk in Wimereux , which was eventually leased by the hospital , and became its officers ' mess . For a time , the Australian Voluntary Hospital was the only Australian presence on the Western Front , but in April 1916 , Australian Army units began arriving from the Middle East in large numbers . The Australian Voluntary Hospital 's site in Wimereux was taken over by No. 3 Australian General Hospital , AIF in June 1916 . The Australian Voluntary Hospital was then absorbed into the British Army as No. 32 Stationary Hospital , with Eames remaining in command . By 1 May 1919 , the hospital had treated 73 , 868 patients . Gallery
775
Kepler 6b is an extrasolar planet in the orbit of the unusually metal rich Kepler 6 , a star in the field of view of the NASA operated Kepler spacecraft , which searches for planets that cross directly in front of , or transit , their host stars . It was the third planet to be discovered by Kepler . Kepler 6 orbits its host star every three days from a distance of unk AU . Its proximity to Kepler 6 inflated the planet , about two thirds the mass of Jupiter , to slightly larger than Jupiter 's size and greatly heated its atmosphere . Follow up observations led to the planet 's confirmation , which was announced at a meeting of the American Astronomical Society on January 4 , 2010 along with four other Kepler discovered planets . Discovery and naming NASA 's Kepler satellite trails the Earth and continually observes a portion of the sky between the constellations Cygnus and Lyra . It is devised to search for and discover planets that transit , or cross in front of , their host stars with respect to Earth by measuring small and generally periodic variations in a star 's brightness . Kepler recognized a potential transit event around a star that was designated KOI 017 , which was named Kepler 6 after the confirmation of Kepler 6b . The star was designated 6 because it was the sixth planet to be observed ( but the third planet to be discovered ) by the Kepler satellite . After the initial detection of a transit signal by Kepler , follow up observations were taken to confirm the planetary nature of the candidate . unk imaging by the WIYN Telescope was used to determine the amount of light from nearby , background stars that was present . If not accounted for , this light would have made Kepler 6 appear brighter than it actually was . Consequently , the size of Kepler 6b would have been underestimated . Radial velocity data was taken by HIRES at the Keck I telescope in order to determine the mass of the planet . Independently , observations were made with the Spitzer Space Telescope at infrared wavelengths of 3 . 6 and 4 . 5 micrometres . Along with additional data taken by Kepler , these observations detected the occultation and phase curves of Kepler 6b behind its star . The confirmation of Kepler 6b was announced at the 215th meeting of the American Astronomical Society with the discoveries of planets Kepler 4b , Kepler 5b , Kepler 7b , and Kepler 8b on January 4 , 2010 . Host star Kepler 6 is a sunlike star in the Cygnus constellation . It is approximately 20 . 9 more massive than and 39 . 1 larger than the Sun . With an effective temperature of 5647 K , Kepler 6 is cooler than the Sun . It is predicted to be 3 . 8 billion years old , compared to the Sun 's age of 4 . 6 billion years . It is most notable for its unusually high metallicity for an exoplanet bearing star with an Fe H 0 . 34 , Kepler 6 has 2 . 18 times more iron than the Sun does . Kepler 6b is the only planet that has been discovered in the orbit of Kepler 6 . Characteristics Kepler 6b is a hot Jupiter , having a mass 0 . 669 times that of Jupiter , but an average distance of only 0 . 046 AU from its star and , thus , an orbital period of 3 . 23 days . It is almost 10 times closer to its star than Mercury is from our Sun . As a result , Kepler 6b is strongly irradiated by its star , heating its atmosphere to a temperature of 1660 K and puffing it up to a size 1 . 3 times that of Jupiter . It may also be the case that Kepler 6b has a thermal inversion of its atmosphere , where temperature increases with increasing distance from the center of the planet . However , additional observations are required to confirm or refute this possibility .
776
Sejm of the Duchy of Warsaw ( Polish Sejm Ksistwa Warszawskiego ) was the parliament of the Duchy of Warsaw . It was created in 1807 by Napoleon , who granted a new constitution to the recently created Duchy . It had limited competences , including having no legislative initiative . It met three times for regular sessions in 1809 and 1811 , and for an extraordinary session in 1812 . In the history of Polish parliament , it succeeded the Sejm of the Polish Lithuanian Commonwealth and was followed by the Sejm of the Congress Poland . History In 1807 Napoleon created the Duchy of Warsaw and granted it a constitution . Like with all Napoleonic legislatures , it was inferior in political power to executive by design . The Sejm had met three times for regular sessions in 1809 and 1811 , and for an extraordinary session of 1812 . The Sejm was mainly occupied with administration and financial matters its final act , in 1812 , was to create the last Polish confederation , the General Confederation of the Kingdom of Poland . Composition and duration The Sejm was composed of two chambers a chamber of deputies and a senate . The chamber of deputies was composed of 100 deputies , in 1810 increased to 166 . The initial 100 was composed of 60 deputies ( after 1810 , 100 ) elected from the ranks of the nobility ( szlachta ) during the sessions of the local parliaments ( sejmiks ) , and 40 non noble deputies ( after 1810 , 66 ) , as well as members of the Council of State . The deputy candidates had to be 24 years or older , and government officials , priests or officers in active military service were not eligible for candidacy . They were elected for a nine year term of office , in three tranches ( elections for a third of the deputies were to be held every three years ) . The senate was composed of bishops , voivodes and castellans all nominated by the king . They numbered six each , in 1810 increased to ten each . Those enfranchised to vote included landowners , owners of large businesses , clergy , artists , scientists , and the military . Notably , peasants could vote as well , provided they owned the land . The Sejm session lasted fifteen days , and was convened every two years . Notable politicians of the Sejm of the Duchy of Warsaw included Jzef Godlewski , Tomasz A. Ostrowski , Stanisaw Sotyk , Stanisaw Staszic , Wawrzyniec Surowiecki and Jzef Wybicki . Competences The competences of the Sejm of the Duchy of Warsaw were limited compared to its predecessor , the Sejm of the Polish Lithuanian Commonwealth . It had no legislative initiative ( that was limited to the executive , represented by the king and the Council of State ) , and could only accept or refuse ( by simple majority ) the legislation on the issues of treasury ( finances and taxes ) and civil and criminal law , presented to it by the executive . Further , discussions were limited , as only the members of the five person strong committees ( one for treasury and one for each of the two laws ) , elected in secret ballot and tasked with the analysis of the proposed legislation , and members of the Council of State , had the right to speak . In practice , the members of the Sejm found a way to overcome this limitation , as after the day session would be officially closed , the deputies would remain in the parliament and start a new discussion . The senate was to supervise the chamber of deputies , ensuring it acts according to the constitution , and ensure the proper procedure during the elections . The senate could object to a legislation , but could be overruled by the king . The king had the right to dissolve the chamber of deputies , or replace senators with new nominees .
777
Sierra Leone competed at the 2004 Summer Olympics in Athens , Greece , from 13 to 29 August 2004 . This was the nation 's eighth appearance at the Summer Olympics since its debut in the 1968 Summer Olympics . The Sierra Leone delegation included two track and field athletes Lamin Tucker and Hawanatu Bangura , both of whom were sprinters that were selected via winning an event in Freetown , as the nation had no athletes that met the A or B standards in any event . Bangura was selected as flag bearer for the opening ceremony . Neither of the two athletes progressed beyond the heats . Background Sierra Leone participated in eight Summer Olympic games between its debut in the 1968 Summer Olympics in Mexico City , Mexico and the 2004 Summer Olympics in Athens , with the exception of the 1972 Summer Olympics in Munich , and the 1976 Summer Olympics in Montreal , the latter because of a boycott relating to the New Zealand national rugby union team touring South Africa . The Sierra Leone National Olympic Committee ( NOC ) selected two athletes via wildcards . Usually , an NOC would be able to enter up to 3 qualified athletes in each individual event as long as each athlete met the A standard , or 1 athlete per event if they met the B standard . However , since Sierra Leone had no athletes that met either standard , they were allowed to select two athletes , one of each gender , as wildcards . The Sierra Leone NOC decided to host an event in Freetown , where the fastest man and woman in the event would be selected to compete at the Athens Games . The two athletes that won and therefore were selected to compete in the Athens games were Lamin Tucker and Hawanatu Bangura . They competed in the track and field Men 's 100 meters and in the Women 's 100 meters respectively . Bangura was flag bearer for the opening ceremony . Athletics Making his Summer Olympic debut , Lamin Tucker qualified for the Athens Games via winning an event in Freetown . He competed on 21 August in the Men 's 100 meters against eight other athletes in the seventh heat . He finished the race in 10 . 72 seconds , ranking sixth . He ranked ahead of American Samoa 's Kelsey unk ( 11 . 25 seconds ) and behind Canada 's Pierre Browne ( 10 . 32 seconds ) , in a heat led by Jamaica 's Asafa Powell ( 10 . 06 seconds ) . Overall , Tucker placed 61st out of the 84 athletes that competed and was 0 . 38 seconds slower than the slowest athlete that progressed to the next round . Therefore , that was the end of his competition . Competing at her first Summer Olympics , Hawanatu Bangura was notable for holding the Sierra Leone flag at the opening ceremony and for becoming the youngest ever competitor to represent Sierra Leone at the Olympics aged 16 , a record that still stands today . She qualified for the Athens Games via winning an event in Freetown . She competed on 20 August in 100 meters in the seventh heat against seven other athletes . She ran a time of 12 . 11 seconds , finishing seventh . Bangura ranked ahead of Iraq 's Alaa Jassim ( 12 . 70 seconds ) and behind Papua New Guinea 's Mae unk ( 12 . 00 seconds ) , in a heat led by France 's Christine Arron and Ghana 's Vida Anim ( 11 . 14 seconds ) . Overall , Bangura was 0 . 68 seconds behind the slowest athlete that progressed to the quarter finals and therefore she did not advance . Key Note Ranks given for track events are within the athlete 's heat only Q Qualified for the next round q Qualified for the next round as a fastest loser or , in field events , by position without achieving the qualifying target NR National record N A Round not applicable for the event Bye Athlete not required to compete in round Men Women
778
Interstate 370 ( abbreviated I 370 ) is a 2 . 54 mile ( 4 . 09 km ) Interstate Highway spur route off I 270 in Gaithersburg , Maryland to the western end of toll road Maryland Route 200 ( MD 200 , Intercounty Connector ) at an interchange that provides access to the park and ride lot at the Shady Grove station on the Red Line of the Washington Metro . Despite the number , I 370 does not connect to I 70 itself . The road continues to the west of I 270 as Sam Eig Highway , a surface road . Along the way , I 370 has interchanges with MD 355 and Shady Grove Road . The freeway was completed in the late 1980s to connect I 270 to the Shady Grove Metro station . I 370 was always part of the planned Intercounty Connector , but was the only segment to be built at the time . The opening of MD 200 east of I 370 resulted in the truncation of I 370 to the interchange with MD 200 and the re designation of the road leading into the Shady Grove Metro station as MD 200A . Route description I 370 begins a short distance to the west of the I 270 interchange in Gaithersburg , Montgomery County , heading northeast as a six lane freeway . Southwest of this interchange , the road continues as Sam Eig Highway ( named after Washington real estate developer Sam Eig ) which interchanges with Washingtonian Boulevard before becoming a surface road . The highway passes woods to the northwest and a shopping center to the southeast as it reaches an interchange with I 270 . From this point , I 370 turns east and runs between residential neighborhoods to the north and business parks to the south , with trees separating the road from these areas . The freeway curves northeast again and comes to the MD 355 interchange . Past this , the highway passes more commercial development before reaching a bridge over CSX 's Metropolitan Subdivision . A short distance later , I 370 comes to a trumpet interchange with MD 200A , a road that provides access to Shady Grove Road and the Shady Grove station of Washington Metro 's Red Line . At this point , I 370 ends and the freeway continues east as MD 200 ( Intercounty Connector ) . History What is now I 370 was originally proposed as part of the Intercounty Connector in the late 1970s . The I 370 freeway opened on December 17 , 1988 , connecting I 270 to the Shady Grove Metro station . After three and a half years of construction , the freeway was four lanes wide and 2 . 5 miles ( 4 . 0 km ) long . Its construction cost 169 million , with federal funds paying for ninety percent of the cost . The state of Maryland 's portion of the cost was funded with a portion of the proceeds of a nickel per gallon gas tax increase in 1987 . Prior to its opening , driving from I 270 to the Shady Grove Metro station involved exiting at Shady Grove Road and passing six traffic lights to arrive at the station . Upon its opening , the remainder of the Intercounty Connector was planned but not yet built . At the time , it was the third shortest interstate , after I 878 in New York and I 395 in Baltimore . In 2007 , construction began on MD 200 , which was to head east from I 370 . At this time , the ramp from Shady Grove Road to westbound I 370 was shifted to a new alignment . In 2009 , the lanes along I 370 were shifted to allow for construction of the MD 200 interchange . Construction on this segment of MD 200 was completed in February 2011 , with the road opening to traffic on February 23 . As a result of the completion of MD 200 , the eastern terminus of I 370 was truncated to the west end of MD 200 , with the freeway connection to the Shady Grove Metro station becoming MD 200A . Exit list The entire route is in Montgomery County .
779
The M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage ( MGMC ) was a World War II United States Army self propelled anti aircraft weapon on the M24 light tank chassis . It was equipped with two Bofors 40 mm ( 1 . 6 in ) guns . It was produced by Cadillac near the end of 1944 . The M19 was developed from the T65 which was based on the M5 light tank chassis . The original design was improved upon and designated the T65E1 . It was accepted into service in May 1944 as the M19 MGMC , equipping several U.S. Army anti aircraft units during World War II . The M19A1 was an improved variant with an auxiliary engine and spare barrels for the 40 mm Bofors guns . During World War II , the M19 and M19A1 saw action in the European Theater of Operations as an assault gun , since the Allies had air supremacy over the skies of Europe . The M19 and M19A1 were also used during the Korean War in the same role . Specifications The M19 MGMC had similar specifications to the M24 Chaffee . It was 17 . 9 ft ( 5 . 46 m ) long , 9 . 33 ft ( 2 . 845 m ) wide , and 9 . 83 ft ( 2 . 997 m ) high . It had a weight of 38 , 499 lb ( 17 , 463 kg ) , and was powered with a 220 hp ( 160 kW ) Twin Cadillac Model 42 , V 8 engine installation . It could achieve a speed of 35 mph ( 56 . 3 km h ) , and had a range of 150 mi ( 241 km ) . The vehicle was operated with a crew of six . Development The M19 evolved from the 40 mm Gun Motor Carriage T65 project , which was based on an Armored Force requirement for a light anti aircraft vehicle based on the M5 light tank chassis . Although trials were successful and a production of 1 , 000 unk had been requested , the project was stopped by the Ordnance Department since the M5A1 light tank chassis was being phased out of production . Since the T65 project was fading away , the Armored Force still needed a light anti aircraft vehicle , so they made a new project ( called T65E1 ) based on the new unk chassis ( a prototype of the M24 Chaffee ) . The T65E1 had the same overall layout as the T65 GMC gun turret at rear with the engines in the middle of the chassis with a few minor tweaks ( including an angular gun shield instead of a straight one ) . M19 and M19A1 The T65E1 was accepted into service as the M19 Gun Motor Carriage in May 1944 with an order for 904 production models , which was sent to Cadillac . Production did not start until August of that year , and only 285 were produced by the end of the war . The M19A1 had an auxiliary engine and generator to operate the 40 mm guns when the main engine was shut down , and fixtures for carrying two spare gun barrels . Service history The full order was not completed as the requirements for anti aircraft weapons had changed and chassis were diverted to produce more of the Chaffee light tank . The M19 MGMC served in Europe in World War II with the U.S. Army . By the time the M19 arrived , the Luftwaffe had been driven from the skies by Allied air power , so the M19 found use as an assault gun , which was a role it performed very well . It was never delivered to other countries for Lend Lease or the Military Aid Program . It also served in the Korean War , for the same purpose as it was used in World War II . It was used in the defense against the North Korean forces in the Pusan Perimeter fighting and later fighting in Korea . The 40 mm guns were especially effective against Chinese mass infantry charges in North Korea . When it was decided to phase out the M24 Chaffee and other vehicles on the same chassis , the M19 turrets were re mounted on a M41 Light Tank chassis to produce the M42 Duster . Comparable vehicles unk unk 40M unk Crusader Mk . III Anti Aircraft Tank Mk . I ZSU 37
780
William Holden Walker ( 16 December 1835 14 June 1886 ) was an English born Australian cricketer . As captain of the Tasmanian cricket team , Walker was one of Tasmania 's leading cricketers of his time . Known for his all round capabilities , he was a right handed batsman and an underarm bowler , as well as keeping wicket . Walker was named in the Cricket Tasmania Premier League 's Team of the Decade for the decade spanning 1866 67 to 1875 76 . Early life and professional career Walker was born in Islington in 1835 , the son of Holden and Mary Waldegrave Walker . During his early years in England , when Walker started playing cricket , his team came to be known as the Walker team . From England , Walker moved to Tasmania in 1859 , and then to Launceston in 1862 , where he became an employee of the soliciting firm Messrs Douglas Collins . In 1866 , he became the Council Clerk and Clerk of Petty Sessions for the town of Fingal . Subsequently , he was employed with solicitors Messrs Gill and Ball , Messrs Dobson and Mitchell and later became an accountant at Messrs Elliston and Featherstone . Cricketing career Walker was a right handed batsman and right arm underarm bowler . One of Tasmania 's leading cricketers of his time , his score of 60 in an 1860 North versus South Tasmania game set a record of being the highest individual score in such matches . In his profile of Walker for ESPNcricinfo , the sports writer Thomas Rose said He impressed in representative games and was often the shining light of a rather dismal Tasmanian side ... After moving to Launceston , Walker made cricket famous in the city , captaining the Northern Tasmania cricket team . During the 1860s and 1870s , Walker also played for two clubs Derwent and Wellington under the then Tasmanian Cricket Association , standing out by scoring a century in one of his appearances . Walker 's first class cricketing career spanned six years , from 1872 to 1878 . He played two first class cricket matches as captain of the Tasmanian cricket team during that period , scoring 73 runs and taking five wickets . During Cricket Tasmania 's 150th anniversary celebrations , Walker was named as a member of the Cricket Tasmania Premier League 's Team of the Decade for the decade 1866 67 1875 76 for having scored one of the only two centuries in Tasmania by any cricketer for the decade 1866 1875 . Walker took 60 wickets in the 1875 76 domestic season at an average of 8 . 47 runs per wicket , the best for all bowlers of the season . Walker was also a highly skilled wicket keeper . Despite his all round capabilities , Walker was best recognised and remembered for his impressive contributions as an inspirational captain , coming out as the best player in many matches irrespective of his team 's performance . Death At the age of 50 , after suffering a very short illness , Walker died on 14 June 1886 , at unk House , Hobart , Tasmania , with his funeral being held two days later . The Mercury wrote in its obituary on 15 June 1886 Cricketers will learn with regret of the death , after a very short illness , of Mr. William Holden Walker , one of the oldest votaries of this thoroughly English game in the colony ... Mr. Walker , who previous to his departure from England , was a member of the well known Walker Team , brought cricketing into great prominence in Launceston ... His efforts in the cause of cricket are so well known that they require no comment , but his sudden demise will cause a pang among the many friends who admired his genial and gentlemanly temperament . Around a month after his death , on 13 July 1886 , an amount of 590 from his estate was issued over as probate .
781
Tropical Storm Cristobal was a relatively weak tropical cyclone that meandered in the western Atlantic Ocean prior to being absorbed into a frontal zone . The third named storm of the 2002 Atlantic hurricane season , Cristobal developed on August 5 near the coast of South Carolina from the same trough that spawned Tropical Storm Bertha . The storm tracked slowly southeastward in the early portion of its duration , and initially remained disorganized . Cristobal attained peak winds of 50 mph ( 85 km h ) , and lost the characteristics of a tropical cyclone on August 8 . The remnants brought moderate precipitation to Bermuda , and in combination with a high pressure system the storm caused three drownings on Long Island from rip currents . Meteorological history A trough extended from the northern Gulf of Mexico to the western Atlantic Ocean in early August . The trough remained nearly stationary , spawning Tropical Storm Bertha in the Gulf of Mexico and a tropical disturbance off the coast of South Carolina . The weak low pressure area off South Carolina drifted southward , with its associated deep convection increasing in organization on August 4 . By 1800 UTC on August 5 , the system had acquired sufficient organization to be classified as Tropical Depression Three , while located about 175 miles ( 280 km h ) east southeast of Charleston , South Carolina . Upon becoming a tropical depression , the cyclone maintained outer rainbands and fair outflow . It tracked southeastward around the northeastern periphery of an anticyclone over Florida . By August 6 , the convection had diminished as outflow became restricted due to northeasterly wind shear with a relatively dry environment , most of the convection was confined to the southern semicircle of the depression . Despite the circulation becoming elongated in the southwesterly flow of a southward moving cold front , a Hurricane Hunters flight late on August 6 reported that the depression intensified into Tropical Storm Cristobal about 315 miles ( 505 km ) east of Jacksonville , Florida . Tropical Storm Cristobal initially continued tracking southeastward , with its circulation reforming closer to the thunderstorms during each increase in convection . On August 7 the storm turned eastward , due to the influence of a large approaching mid to upper level frontal zone . As the convection organized further , Cristobal intensified somewhat and attained peak winds of 50 mph ( 85 km h ) . On August 8 , increased dry air weakened the convection and caused Cristobal to accelerate east northeastward . The low level circulation interacted with the approaching frontal zone , and by 0000 UTC on August 9 Tropical Storm Cristobal was absorbed by the cold front about 350 miles ( 560 km ) southeast of Cape Hatteras , North Carolina . The remnants continued northeastward , passing near Newfoundland on August 10 before weakening near Greenland on August 14 . Impact As a tropical cyclone , Cristobal had minimal effect to any land masses . Its remnants brought unsettled conditions to Bermuda , including a 45 mph ( 72 km h ) wind gust at the Bermuda International Airport . The combination of moisture from Cristobal and a cold front produced 2 . 78 inches ( 71 mm ) in a 24 hour period . The interaction between the remnants of Cristobal and a high pressure system over the Mid Atlantic States produced rip currents and 4 foot ( 1 . 2 m ) waves along the south shore of Long Island , New York three people drowned from the rip currents . Two ships recorded tropical storm force winds in association with the storm the vessel with the sign unk reported sustained winds of 47 mph ( 76 km h ) from the west southwest on August 7 .
782
Hurricane Darby was the fourth named storm of the 1992 Pacific hurricane season . The origins of Darby were from a tropical wave which moved off the coast of Africa on June 19 . It traversed the Atlantic , and moved across Mexico , where it re emerged in the Pacific on June 29 and became a tropical depression on July 2 , a tropical storm on July 5 , and a hurricane on July 6 . The storm remained well offshore , although it killed three people . Meteorological history The origins of Darby can be traced back to a tropical wave that emerged off the African coast on June 19 . The wave tracked westward across the Atlantic Ocean without further development , eventually passing over the Caribbean Sea and tracked over Mexico . The wave reached in the Pacific on June 29 , as its organization began to improve . The system was designated Tropical Depression 5 E on July 2 while moving southwest as it continued to organize . On July 4 , the depression attained tropical storm status and was named Darby . The tropical storm intensified to hurricane status as it brushed by the southern tip of Baja California . Although the storm remained well offshore , it contained a large circulation which produced tropical storm force winds extending up to 300 miles ( 480 km ) away from the center . As Darby passed by , Socorro Island recorded a minimum pressure of 974 hPa . The storm then reached its peak intensity of 968 hPa before beginning a weakening trend due to colder waters . The hurricane , now as a Category 2 hurricane on the Saffir Simpson Hurricane Scale , was moving to the northwest near 20 mph ( 32 km h ) . Darby continued on a northwest track as it moved away from the Baja California on July 6 . As the storm moved over cooler waters , deep convection decreased , and Darby was downgraded to a tropical storm on July 7 . Darby , now losing tropical characteristics , was downgraded to a tropical depression on July 9 . Darby soon dissipated , and moved into the southwest United States producing light rainfall . By July 10 , Darby had lost all of its tropical characteristics . As the remnant low pressure meandered across the southwest United States it moved north , and tracked offshore of California , where it persisted as a remnant low and produced shower activity to parts of California . Preparations and Impact Although Darby remained well offshore , the large size of the hurricane 's circulation prompted the government of Mexico to issue tropical storm warnings for the southern tip of Baja California . The United States Coast Guard reported two separate boating accidents in Los Angeles , which were directly related to Darby . The first was a boat that experienced engine failure off the California coast . The seven people on board abandoned the boat , and were rescued . The second report was a boat that reported to be taking on water off the coast of California , on July 8 . A news source also reported that a tuna fishing boat experienced technical difficulties , but this is not official . The effects from Darby were mostly minor , with three deaths reported by a Mexican newspaper . Four fishermen were reported missing , and onshore , 180 small stores were damaged along the Acapulco city port . Rainfall was mainly light , although some locations picked up 5 inches ( 125 mm ) . In California , Darby 's remnants produced overcast skies around the Edwards Air Force Base . This caused the landing of the Space Shuttle Columbia to be postponed for a day at the conclusion of STS 50 , as well as the landing happening at Kennedy Space Center . Darby produced high humidity , fog , and heavy rain around Los Angeles . A .5 in ( 13 mm ) fell in San Diego , setting daily records .
783
Vasco da Gama was a central battery ironclad which entered service with the Portuguese Navy in 1876 , serving until 1935 . She was built by the Thames Iron Works in London , launched in 1876 , and completed in 1878 . She served as the flagship of the Portuguese fleet for the majority of her long and peaceful career . She was rebuilt and heavily modernized between 1901 and 1903 . Long since obsolete by the 1930s , Vasco da Gama was finally sold for scrapping in 1935 . Design Vasco da Gama was 200 feet ( 61 m ) long between perpendiculars , and she had a beam of 40 ft ( 12 m ) , though at the main battery guns , the ship was 46 ft 6 in ( 14 . 17 m ) wide . She had a maximum draft of 19 ft ( 5 . 8 m ) . She displaced 2 , 384 metric tons ( 2 , 346 long tons 2 , 628 short tons ) as originally built . She was fitted with a barquentine rig and a steam engine rated at 3 , 000 indicated horsepower ( 2 , 200 kW ) , which produced a top speed of 10 . 3 kn ( 19 . 1 km h 11 . 9 mph ) . She had a crew of 232 officers and men . As built , Vasco da Gama was armed with a main battery of two 10 . 2 in ( 260 mm ) guns , placed in individual barbettes side by side amidships . She was also equipped with a single 5 . 9 in ( 150 mm ) gun mounted on her stern , and four 9 pounder guns for close range defense against torpedo boats . She was protected with a complete iron armored belt that was 4 inches ( 100 mm ) thick on either end and 9 in ( 230 mm ) thick amidships . The main battery guns were protected by 10 inch ( 250 mm ) thick barbettes . Service history Vasco da Gama was laid down at the Thames Iron Works shipyard in London , Britain in 1875 , and was launched on 1 December 1876 . The ship was completed in 1878 . She served as part of the coastal defense force that protected Lisbon , the Portuguese capital , and the mouth of the river Tagus . On 26 June 1897 , Vasco da Gama participated in the Fleet Review at Spithead celebrating Queen Victoria 's Diamond Jubilee . At the time , the ship was commanded by Captain Barreto de unk . In 1901 , Vasco da Gama was taken into drydock at Orlando shipyard in Livorno , Italy , for a major reconstruction . She was cut in half and lengthened by a 32 ft 6 in ( 9 . 91 m ) long section . She was fitted with new engines and more powerful water tube boilers rated at 6 , 000 ihp ( 4 , 500 kW ) this increased her speed to 15 . 5 kn ( 28 . 7 km h 17 . 8 mph ) . Her sailing rig also was removed . Her main battery guns were replaced with new 8 in ( 200 mm ) L 40 guns in sponsons , the short 5 . 9 inch gun was replaced by a new long barreled 5 . 9 inch L 45 gun , and six 3 pounders augmented her close range defense . Her iron belt armor was removed and stronger steel armor was installed in its place . The ship 's crew increased to 260 officers and men . All of the changes caused her displacement to rise to 2 , 972 metric tons ( 2 , 925 long tons 3 , 276 short tons ) . Work on Vasco da Gama was completed by 1903 . On 27 August 1907 , a gas explosion aboard the ship injured several crewmen . During political unrest in April 1913 , part of the crew of Vasco da Gama had to be removed from the ship , as they had been involved in a planned ultra Radical coup d 'tat against the First Portuguese Republic . On 14 May 1915 , the crew again participated in unrest they mutinied and killed the ship 's captain and bombarded Lisbon , killing around one hundred people . Vasco da Gama remained the flagship of the Portuguese Navy at least as late as 1914 , as the Portuguese naval budget was insufficient to fund a suitable replacement vessel . Thoroughly obsolete , she remained in the Portuguese fleet until 1935 , when she was sold for scrapping .
784
The Polikarpov ITP ( Istrebitel unk unk Russian unk unk unk Heavy Cannon Fighter ) was a Soviet fighter prototype designed during World War II . Development was prolonged by the evacuation of the design bureau forced by the German advance on Moscow in the fall of 1941 . By the time the second prototype was finished the Soviets had fighters with equivalent or better performance already in production and the program was cancelled . Development In November 1940 , Nikolai Polikarpov proposed a heavy cannon armed fighter for bomber escort duties and ground attack missions . The new ITP was designed around either the 1 , 230 kW ( 1 , 650 hp ) Klimov M 107P or the Mikulin AM 37 inline engines . Two armament configurations were planned . The first consisted of a 37 millimetre ( 1 . 5 in ) cannon firing through the propeller hub and two synchronized 20 millimetre ( 0 . 79 in ) ShVAK cannon mounted on each side of the fuselage nose . The 37 mm cannon was provided with 50 rounds and the ShVAK had 200 rounds each . The second configuration substituted an additional ShVAK with 200 rounds for the 37 mm cannon . It had racks for eight unguided RS 82 rockets underneath the wings . The ITP was a low wing , mixed construction monoplane with a wooden monocoque fuselage made from ' shpon ' , molded birch plywood . The two spar metal wing was built in three sections with automatic leading edge slats . The engine radiators were built into the wing center section with intakes in the wing roots while the oil cooler was located under the engine . The curved , one piece windshield lacked a flat front panel which gave the pilot a rather distorted view . The conventional undercarriage , including the tailwheel , was fully retractable . It carried 624 litres ( 137 imp gal 165 US gal ) of fuel in tanks between the spars of the wing center section . The rear fuselage , cockpit and tail resembled that of the Polikarpov I 185 . The first ITP prototype ( M 1 ) was completed in October 1941 with a 1 , 300 horsepower ( 970 kW ) M 107P engine . Due to German attacks , the aircraft was evacuated to Novosibirsk and did not make its first flight until 23 February 1942 . The M 107P engine proved unreliable and was changed to a M 107A in late 1942 . The 37 mm gun was deleted in exchange for another 20 mm gun mounted on the side of the fuselage . Flight testing was not completed because the airframe was used for ground static testing , but the estimated maximum speed at 6 , 300 metres ( 20 , 669 ft ) was 655 km h ( 407 mph ) with a time to 5 , 000 metres ( 16 , 404 ft ) of 5 . 9 minutes . The second ITP prototype ( M 2 ) was built in 1942 and fitted with a Mikulin AM 37 engine which also proved unreliable and was replaced with a 1 , 345 kW ( 1 , 800 hp ) Mikulin AM 39 that December . It first flew on 23 November 1943 but the manufacturer 's flight tests were not completed until June 1944 . Since several other aircraft with about the same level of performance were already available , it was not placed into production . Specifications ( M 2 ) Data from Gordon , Soviet Airpower in World War 2 General characteristics Crew 1 Length 9 . 2 m ( 30 ft 2 in ) Wingspan 10 m ( 32 ft 10 in ) Wing area 16 . 5 m2 ( 178 sq ft ) Empty weight 2 , 910 kg ( 6 , 415 lb ) Gross weight 3 , 570 kg ( 7 , 871 lb ) Powerplant 1 Mikulin AM 39 liquid cooled V 12 , 1 , 268 kW ( 1 , 700 hp ) Propellers 3 bladed Performance Range 980 km ( 609 mi 529 nmi ) Service ceiling 11 , 500 m ( 37 , 730 ft ) Time to altitude six minutes to 5 , 000 metres ( 16 , 000 ft ) Wing loading 216 kg m2 ( 44 lb sq ft ) Armament Guns 3 20 mm ShVAK cannons , 200 rpg Rockets 8 unguided RS 82
785
State Route 37 ( SR 37 ) is a primary state highway in the U.S. state of Virginia . It forms a western bypass of Winchester , connecting to Interstate 81 at both ends . Although the road is a freeway , neither I 81 connection is freeway standard the south end ( exit 310 ) is a diamond interchange with two traffic signals , while , at the north end , drivers must use a short piece of U.S. Route 11 to connect with I 81 at exit 317 . In addition to local access , the highway connects to U.S. Route 50 and U.S. Route 522 , two major highways that lead west and northwest into West Virginia and north to Interstate 70 at Hancock , Maryland . An eastern bypass , known locally as Route 37 East , has been proposed in statewide and local plans to complete the loop . Route description Route 37 begins at an intersection with unk Road ( SR 847 ) , a local frontage road along the east side of I 81 , and Tasker Road ( SR 642 ) , which leads southeast to US 522 near unk . It immediately crosses I 81 at exit 310 , a diamond interchange with two traffic signals on SR 37 , and then becomes a freeway , soon junctioning US 11 ( Valley Pike ) with a partial cloverleaf . The next interchange is a diamond at Cedar Creek Grade ( SR 622 ) , and SR 37 reaches its approximate midpoint at US 50 ( Northwestern Pike ) , another diamond . A trumpet interchange completed in 2001 connects to the Winchester Medical Center , and the final diamond is with US 522 ( Frederick Pike ) at the northwestern corner . SR 37 ends at a partial Y interchange with US 11 ( Martinsburg Pike ) , at which SR 37 traffic can only access US 11 north and only traffic from US 11 south can access SR 37 , although a northbound exit to unk Lane was added in about 2000 to allow SR 37 traffic to access US 11 south . About 1 2 mile ( 1 km ) of US 11 is a divided highway , connecting SR 37 with I 81 at exit 317 . Future In early Fall 2014 VDOT will start work at Route 37 's southern terminus ' exit at I 81 . They will extend Route 37 north to a new diamond interchange with Front Royal Pike ( US 522 ) . Then Route 37 will continue northward to Millwood Pike ( US 50 US 17 ) and have another diamond interchange . The next exit will be at unk Road ( State Route 657 ) with another diamond interchange . The next and final exit will be a half cloverleaf interchange with VA 7 , but it is not final that it will be a half cloverleaf because of Valley Mill Road ( State Route 659 ) . The problem with this is that the intersection with Valley Mill Road is where the southbound exit for Route 37 is to come into Route 7 . History Route 37 was defined as the proposed Winchester By Pass by 1963 , and was included in the statewide Arterial Network when it was created in 1964 . When I 81 opened past Winchester in November 1965 , it included an interchange south of Winchester , taking traffic between I 81 and US 11 along a short connecting road . The north half of the bypass , from US 50 west of Winchester north and east to US 11 north of the city , opened in the late 1960s , and the semicircle was completed in the late 1970s , with the linking of Route 37 to the existing I 81 US 11 connection . A new bridge carrying southbound SR 37 over I 81 was built , but otherwise the diamond interchange was not modified . The only change to the major bypass since it was constructed has been a new trumpet interchange serving the Winchester Medical Center construction began in September 2000 and was completed in November 2001 . A single ramp from SR 37 north to unk Lane , allowing traffic at the north end of the bypass to access US 11 south , was built in about 2000 . Major intersections The entire route is in Frederick County .
786
The Sea Urchin is a 1913 American silent short romantic drama film directed by Edwin August and starring Jeanie MacPherson and Lon Chaney . The film was the earliest known character role by Lon Chaney and the first screenplay by MacPherson . The story follows a hunchback fisherman , who finds a young girl and raised her into womanhood with the intention of marrying her . A handsome boy soon gains her affections and the hunchback threatens him with a knife . The next day , the boat tips over during an argument and the hunchback saves the girl . As the young lovers reunite , he sees how happy they are together and he takes his leave . The film was released on August 22 , 1913 and was played across the United States . The film is presumed lost . Plot A hunchback fisherman finds a young girl tied to a mast , the sole survivor of a shipwreck , and raises her into womanhood with the intention of making her his wife . Ten years pass and the woman , out of gratitude , promises to marry him . The hunchback hires a handsome stranger , the boy . The boy and the girl fall in love , but the girl refuses to marry him . The hunchback sees the two embrace and threatens the boy with a knife . The next day , the three go fishing in the boat and an argument breaks out . During the argument the boat tips over and the girl is washed away . The hunchback and the boy search for her , until the boy becomes exhausted and collapses on the shore . The hunchback finds the girl on a rock and brings her ashore . As the two reunite , he sees how happy they are together and takes his leave . Cast Jeanie MacPherson as The Girl Lon Chaney as Barnacle Bill Barnacle Ben Robert Z. Leonard as The Boy Bob Production The film was a Powers Picture Plays directed by Edwin August and distributed by the Universal Film Manufacturing Company . The film 's production number was 0101 . The screen play was written by Jeanie MacPherson who also played the role of The Girl . Simon Louvish , author of Cecil B. DeMille A Life in Art , states this uncredited screenplay was the first one to be authored by MacPherson . Louvish also refers to this film as a two reeler . Lon Chaney and Robert Z. Leonard had previously worked together for the Ferris Hartman Troupe . Three years prior to the release of the film , the two were involved in the production of musical comedies for the Troupe . In 1918 , Leonard would later direct his wife , Mae Murry , and Lon Chaney in Danger , Go Slow . Release and legacy The film was released on August 22 , 1913 . The Moving Picture World said the film was a memorable offering that contained vivid scenes along a picturesque coast . In an advertisement in Rushville , Indiana the film as billed as the story of a Hunchback 's Love and Renunciation . The film was also advertised , perhaps alternatively or erroneously , as Sea unk . Advertisements for the film included theaters in Pennsylvania , Texas , Kansas , Louisiana , Indiana , Utah , and New York . The film is important as the first known character role by Lon Chaney . Martin F. Norden , author of The Cinema of Isolation A History of Physical Disability in the Movies , describes the plot as following the prevailing industry standards of disabled characters , where the figure nobly withdraws from the relationship after plotting revenge and then saving his beloved . Norden cites a quote from Chaney , saying this film made Chaney realize that the screen was more interesting than the stage . The film is now considered lost . It is unknown when the film was lost , but if it was in Universal 's vaults it would have been deliberately destroyed along with the remaining copies of Universal 's silent era films in 1948 .
787
State Route 115 ( SR 115 ) is a state highway in the U.S. state of California . It runs from Interstate 8 ( I 8 ) southeast of Holtville to SR 111 in Calipatria the entire route is in Imperial County . The routing was added to the state highway system in 1933 , and was constructed by 1934 SR 115 was officially designated in the 1964 state highway renumbering . Route description SR 115 begins with an interchange at I 8 . It then heads northwest through the community of Date City and briefly enters the city of Holtville . Near its exit of the city , it intersects a few county roads before turning due north and continuing through rural Imperial County , eventually beginning an overlap with SR 78 and continuing west . East of unk , SR 115 turns due north again , and intersects CR S26 . After a few miles , the highway turns due west , reaching its north end in Calipatria at SR 111 . SR 115 is part of the California Freeway and Expressway System , but is not part of the National Highway System , a network of highways that are essential to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . SR 115 is eligible for the State Scenic Highway System , but it is not officially designated as a scenic highway by the California Department of Transportation . In 2013 , SR 115 had an annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) of 830 between Wirt Road and East Avenue , and 5 , 800 between the intersection of Walnut Avenue and 5th Street and the intersection of the highway with Holt Avenue , the latter of which was the highest AADT for the highway . History The routing from Brawley to Calipatria was added to the state highway system in 1933 following the completion of the road from Yuma to San Diego , increased tourism and growth led to the development of more highways in Imperial County , and the construction of the system was expected to aid in future growth , according to the Los Angeles Times . The northern section above SR 78 was legislatively defined as Route 187 the part of the highway south of Route 187 was defined as Route 201 . The roadway had been constructed by 1934 , though the state described the majority of it as a low type road . The portion from Route 78 to US 80 was paved by 1938 , and the entire road had been paved by 1940 . By 1956 , the routing was signed as Route 115 . By 1961 , the highway continued just west of Holtville to an intersection with US 80 ( later I 8 ) , where it ran concurrently with US 80 briefly before heading south to a junction with SR 98 in Bonds Corner . SR 115 was officially defined in the 1964 state highway renumbering . The segment south of SR 78 was altered in 1972 the portion between I 8 south to SR 98 near Bonds Corner was deleted , and the definition was clarified from Route 8 near Holtville to Route 8 southeasterly of Holtville . By 1975 , the routing of SR 115 had been adjusted to end at I 8 , south of the old US 80 routing . Future The 2007 Imperial County Transportation Plan proposed the improvement of SR 115 from the Evan Hewes Highway north to SR 111 from a two lane highway to a four lane expressway . Major intersections Except where prefixed with a letter , postmiles were measured on the road as it was in 1964 , based on the alignment that existed at the time , and do not necessarily reflect current mileage . R reflects a realignment in the route since then , M indicates a second realignment , L refers an overlap due to a correction or change , and T indicates postmiles classified as temporary ( for a full list of prefixes , see the list of postmile definitions ) . Segments that remain unconstructed or have been relinquished to local control may be omitted . The entire route is in Imperial County .
788
Leonard 's Bakery is a Portuguese bakery in Honolulu , Hawaii , known for popularizing the malasada . The fried pastry , slightly crispier and chewier than a doughnut and with no hole , is known as a cuisine of Hawaii . Though Portuguese immigrants brought the malasada to Hawaii at the turn of the 20th century , Leonard 's opened in 1952 and brought it to a wider audience . They offer filled and sugar coated malasadas as well as coffee cakes , sweet bread , and po doce meat wraps . Leonard 's is a household name in Hawaii and is well known in the continental United States and internationally . A franchise location opened in Japan in 2008 . Background and history Margaret and Frank Leonard Rego Sr. opened Leonard 's Bakery in 1952 . Rego 's mother had encouraged him to sell malasadas , a unk Portuguese doughnut with a crispier outside and a chewier inside . Portuguese plantation workers brought the dessert to the Hawaiian islands when they immigrated at the turn of the 20th century , though Leonard 's is known for popularizing it . The plain malasadas are coated with white sugar , but the bakery sells variations garnished with cinnamon or filled with unk , custard , or chocolate pudding . The bakery sells anthropomorphized malasada stuffed animals and other malasada related items . Leonard 's is otherwise an old fashioned , plain Jane bakery that sells coffee cakes , sweet bread , and po doce meat wraps . As of 2011 , the bakery remains a family business owned by Leonard Rego Jr. whose own children participate in its operation just as he once did . Andrew McCarthy of the National Geographic Traveler wrote that the bakery is an institution that anchored its neighborhood . In Hawaii , Leonard 's is a household name . Residents from the other Hawaiian islands often bring home Leonard 's malasadas as an unk ( souvenir gift ) . The fried doughnut like item may be unique to Hawaii , but are well known both in the continental United States and internationally . The Honolulu bakery is a point of interest on at least one island tour . In 2012 , the Honolulu Star Advertiser reported that the bakery sold over 15 , 000 malasadas daily , or over 160 million since its opening . Rego Jr. opened a franchise location in Japan 's Yokohama World Quarter Shopping Center in December 2008 . The location only sold cinnamon and sugar malasadas at first , but later added malasadas with fillings . Japanese investors Forest Inc. first asked Rego Jr. about licensing the brand in March 2008 , and Rego Jr. felt that the timing with the Great Recession couldn 't have been more perfect . The deal was completed three months prior to the opening , and the owner flew in to train the staff for a week and a half . Rego Jr. plans to open more franchised locations in Japan and on the other islands of Hawaii . In 2009 , the company employed 60 people between three stores ( two in Oahu and one in Yokohama ) and two Oahu food trucks . Reception The bakery 's malasadas were unk 's top Hawaii food find , and USA Today described the doughnuts as having become a Hawaiian icon . Sunset recognized Leonard 's for making the sweet a Hawaiian classic that is now served at Honolulu restaurants from drive ins to Chef Mavro , the city 's classiest restaurant . unk Tong of The New York Sun wrote that Leonard 's was a required stop for foodies and ... dessert addicts . Frommer 's calls it a Honolulu landmark , and The Huffington Post lists Leonard 's malasadas alongside poke , Spam unk and shave ice as must try Hawaiian cuisine experiences . It is also profiled in Mimi Sheraton 's critical food book 1 , 000 Foods to Eat Before You Die , and John T. Edge 's Donuts An American Passion .
789
HMS Gipsy was a G class destroyer built for the Royal Navy during the 1930s . She spent most of the pre war period as part of the Mediterranean Fleet . The ship was transferred to the British Isles to escort shipping in local waters shortly after the beginning of World War II . Less than a month after her arrival she struck a mine outside Harwich and sank with the loss of 30 of her crew . Her wreck was salvaged and slowly scrapped over the course of the war . Description Gipsy displaced 1 , 350 long tons ( 1 , 370 t ) at standard load and 1 , 883 long tons ( 1 , 913 t ) at deep load . The ship had an overall length of 323 feet ( 98 . 5 m ) , a beam of 33 feet ( 10 . 1 m ) and a draught of 12 feet 5 inches ( 3 . 8 m ) . She was powered by Parsons geared steam turbines , driving two shafts , which developed a total of 34 , 000 shaft horsepower ( 25 , 000 kW ) and gave a maximum speed of 36 knots ( 67 km h 41 mph ) . Steam for the turbines was provided by three Admiralty 3 drum water tube boilers . Gipsy carried a maximum of 470 long tons ( 480 t ) of fuel oil that gave her a range of 5 , 530 nautical miles ( 10 , 240 km 6 , 360 mi ) at 15 knots ( 28 km h 17 mph ) . The ship 's complement was 137 officers and men in peacetime . The ship mounted four 45 calibre 4 . 7 inch ( 120 mm ) Mark IX guns in single mounts . For anti aircraft defence Gipsy had two quadruple Mark I mounts for the 0 . 5 inch Vickers Mark III machine gun . She was fitted with two above water quadruple torpedo tube mounts for 21 inch ( 533 mm ) torpedoes . One rail and two depth charge throwers were fitted 20 depth charges were originally carried , but this increased to 35 shortly after the war began . Service Gipsy was laid down by the Fairfield Shipbuilding and Engineering Company , at Govan , Scotland on 4 September 1934 , launched on 7 November 1935 and completed on 22 February 1936 . Excluding government furnished equipment like the armament , the ship cost 250 , 364 . Aside from a brief period assigned to the 20th Destroyer Flotilla of the Home Fleet after her commissioning , Gipsy spent the pre war period assigned to the 1st Destroyer Flotilla with the Mediterranean Fleet . She was refitted at Devonport Dockyard between 2 June and 30 July 1938 . On the outbreak of war in September 1939 , Gipsy was deployed with the 1st Destroyer Flotilla for patrols and contraband control in the Eastern Mediterranean , based at Alexandria . Gipsy and her entire flotilla were transferred to the Western Approaches Command at Plymouth in October . On 12 November she collided with her sister ship , Greyhound , en route to Harwich , and her new assignment with the 22nd Destroyer Flotilla , but she was only slightly damaged . The ship rescued three German airmen outside Harwich harbour on 21 November and returned to port to turn them over the army . Later that evening , Gipsy set out with destroyers Griffin , Keith and Boadicea to patrol in the North Sea . She struck a magnetic mine amidships outside the harbour , possibly laid by the aircraft whose crew she had rescued earlier that day , and sank . Thirty of her crew , including the captain , were killed . The 115 survivors were rescued by the other destroyers . The ship 's wreck was upright on the seabed with only the bridge visible at high tide , but it blocked the channel . Only buckled plating amidships held the two main sections of the wreck together and they were cut by explosives when salvage began shortly after her sinking . The two halves were raised by pontoons , and were subsequently broken up . 750 long tons ( 760 t ) of ferrous scrap and 38 long tons ( 39 t ) of non ferrous metals were recovered between June 1940 and February 1944 .
790
Jennifer Blow ( born 10 January 1991 ) is an Australian goalball player and is classified as a B3 competitor . Having only started playing the sport in 2009 , she has several goalball scholarships . She plays for the New South Wales women 's goalball team in the Australian national championships , where she has won three silver medals . As a member of the national team , she has competed in the 2010 World Championships , 2011 IBSA Goalball World Cup and the 2011 African Oceania regional Paralympic qualifying competition . She was selected to represent Australia at the 2012 Summer Paralympics in goalball . Personal life Nicknamed Awesome by her goalball teammates , Blow was born in unk , New South Wales , on 10 January 1992 . She has the visual disability of unk albinism , a congenital vision impairment , and is 165 centimetres ( 65 in ) . As of 2012 , Blow is attending the University of Sydney and double majoring in Arts and Education , which would enable her to become an English and drama teacher . In 2009 , she was awarded a New South Wales Department of Education and Training Teacher Education Scholarship . In 2011 , she earned the NSW Institute of Sport Academic Excellence Award . Goalball Blow is a goalball player , and is classified as a B3 competitor . She started playing the sport in 2009 . She has a goalball scholarship with the New South Wales Institute of Sport , and the Sydney University Elite Athlete Program . In 2011 2012 , the Australian Sports Commission gave her a A 7 , 000 grant as part of their Direct Athlete Support ( DAS ) program . Blow plays for the New South Wales women 's goalball team , making her debut in 2009 . As a member of the team , she has earned three total silver medals at the national championships , including one in 2010 . Blow made her national team debut in 2010 , less than a year after taking up the sport , when she represented Australia at the 2010 World Championships , where her team finished eighth . As a member of the 2011 team , she finished sixth at the IBSA Goalball World Cup . During the tournament , she found a rock shaped like the lucky egg from the film Cool Runnings . The rock has since become integrated into her team 's pre unk ritual where she must hold the rock and quote from the movie before every big game . Her team made it the quarter finals before losing to Russia 3 6 . It then met the Spain women 's national goalball team to try to earn a spot in the fifth sixth place match . Australia walked away 8 7 victors , but in the fifth sixth place match , it lost to the Israel women 's national goalball team 6 8 . She played in the 2011 African Oceania regional Paralympic qualifying competition . She played in the gold medal game against the New Zealand women 's national goalball team . Australia won the game . The Manly Daily described her play in the series as instrumental to the team 's success . Blow was a named a member of the Aussie Belles that was going to the 2012 Summer Paralympics . That the team qualified for the Games came as a surprise , as the Australian Paralympic Committee had been working on player development with the idea of qualifying for the 2016 Summer Paralympics . An Australian team had not participated since the 2000 Summer Paralympics , when they earned an automatic selection as hosts , and the team finished last in the competition . The country has not medalled in the event since 1976 . Going into the Paralympics , the team was ranked eighth in the world . She was 21 years old at the Games . In the 2012 Summer Paralympics tournament , the Belles played games against Japan , Canada , the United States and Sweden . They lost every game , and did not advance to the finals .
791
OXO is a video game created by Alexander S. Douglas in 1952 for the Electronic Delay Storage Automatic Calculator ( EDSAC ) computer , which simulates a game of noughts and crosses , also called tic tac toe . It was one of the first games developed in the early history of video games . Douglas programmed the game as part of a thesis on human computer interaction for the University of Cambridge . The EDSAC was one of the first stored program computers , with memory that could be read from or written to , and had three small cathode ray tube screens to display the state of the memory Douglas re purposed one screen to demonstrate portraying other information to the user , such as the state of a noughts and crosses game . After the game served its purpose , it was discarded . OXO , along with a draughts game by Christopher Strachey completed around the same time , is one of the earliest known games to display visuals on an electronic screen . Under some definitions it thus may qualify as the first video game , though other definitions exclude it due to its lack of moving or real time updating graphics . History The Electronic Delay Storage Automatic Calculator ( EDSAC ) mainframe computer was built in the University of Cambridge 's Mathematical Laboratory between 1946 and 6 May 1949 , when it ran its first program , and remained in use until 11 July 1958 . The EDSAC was one of the first stored program computers , with memory that could be read from or written to , and filled an entire room it included three 35 16 dot matrix cathode ray tubes ( CRTs ) to graphically display the state of the computer 's memory . As a part of a thesis on human computer interaction , Alexander S. Douglas , a doctoral candidate in mathematics at the university , used one of these screens to portray other information to the user he chose to do so via displaying the current state of a game . Douglas used the EDSAC to simulate a game of noughts and crosses , also called tic tac toe , and display the state of the game on the screen . Like other early video games , after serving Douglas 's purpose , the game was discarded . Douglas did not give the game a name beyond noughts and crosses the name OXO first appeared as the name of the simulation file created by computer historian Martin Campbell Kelly while creating a simulation of the EDSAC several decades later . Around the same time that OXO was completed , Christopher Strachey expanded a draughts program he had originally written in 1951 and ported it to the Ferranti Mark 1 , which showed the state of the game on a CRT display . OXO and Strachey 's draughts program are the earliest known games to display visuals on an electronic screen , though it is unclear which of the two games was displayed first . As it ran on a computing device and used a graphical display , OXO is considered under some definitions to be a contender for the first video game , though under others it does not due to its lack of moving graphics or graphics which update continuously . Interaction Each game was played by one user against an artificially intelligent opponent , which could play a perfect game . The player entered their input using a rotary telephone controller , selecting which of the nine squares on the board they wished to move next . Their move would appear on the screen , and then the computer 's move would follow the game display only updated when the game state changed . OXO was not available to the general public and could only be played in the University of Cambridge 's Mathematical Laboratory by special permission , as the EDSAC could not be moved , and both the computer and the game were only intended for academic research purposes .
792
New York State Route 322 ( NY 322 ) is a state highway in the Southern Tier of New York in the United States . The western terminus of the route is at an intersection with NY 83 in Balcom Corners , a hamlet within the Chautauqua County town of Villenova . Its eastern terminus is at a junction with U.S. Route 62 ( US 62 ) in the Cattaraugus County town of Dayton . In between , the route passes through the village of South Dayton . NY 322 was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York to its current alignment . Originally , maintenance of the Cattaraugus County portion of the route was split between the village of South Dayton and the county , the latter of which co designated the highway as County Route 3 ( CR 3 ) . The state of New York assumed ownership and maintenance of the Cattaraugus County segment in 1980 as part of a highway maintenance swap between the state , the county , and South Dayton . Route description NY 322 is classified by the New York State Department of Transportation as a rural collector road . It serves as a connector from NY 83 to US 62 by way of the village of South Dayton . Most of the traffic along the route is made up of non commercial vehicles trucks account for only nine percent of all traffic along NY 322 . The roadway has an asphalt surface that is two lanes wide and varies in width from 21 feet ( 6 . 4 m ) to 22 feet ( 6 . 7 m ) . NY 322 travels through flat , open land outside of South Dayton and through residential areas within the village . The route begins at an intersection with NY 83 and CR 87 at Balcom Corners , a hamlet within the town of Villenova . It heads eastward , passing through open fields and a handful of homes . Roughly 0 . 75 miles ( 1 . 21 km ) east of NY 83 , the route meets the west branch of Conewango Creek and turns southeastward to follow the southern bank of the waterway . NY 322 passes over the creek just before crossing into Cattaraugus County and the village of South Dayton , located it the town of Dayton , that sits on the western county line . In South Dayton , NY 322 is known as Pine Street as it proceeds through the village . The amount of development along the route rises as it approaches the center of the village at Main Street . The route continues on , traveling by four blocks of homes and businesses before curving eastward and entering another area dominated by open fields . It exits the village limits shortly afterward . East of South Dayton , NY 322 is known as Dexter Corners Road as it heads through a rural area of the town of Dayton . NY 322 continues to the community of Dexter Corners , where it ends at an intersection with US 62 . In 2008 , the portion of NY 322 between NY 83 and the county line handled an estimated average of 1 , 810 vehicles per day . The traffic volume increases to 2 , 300 per day from there to Main Street in the village of South Dayton . East of Main Street , traffic volume falls to 1 , 280 cars per day . History NY 322 was assigned to its modern alignment as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York . Initially , NY 322 was maintained by Cattaraugus County between the eastern village limits of South Dayton and its junction with NY 241 ( now US 62 ) in Dayton and by the village of South Dayton within the village limits . The Cattaraugus County maintained portion of the route was co designated as CR 3 . On April 1 , 1980 , ownership and maintenance of NY 322 in Cattaraugus County was transferred from the village of South Dayton and the county to the state of New York as part of a highway maintenance swap between the three levels of government . The entirety of the route is now state maintained . Major intersections
793
Wild Eagle is a steel Wing Coaster built by Bolliger Mabillard at the Dollywood amusement park in Pigeon Forge , Tennessee . It is the first of its kind in the United States and opened to the media on March 23 , 2012 before opening to the public on March 24 , 2012 . The roller coaster reaches a height of 210 feet ( 64 m ) and reaches speeds of 61 miles per hour ( 98 km h ) . In September 2012 , the ride was voted as the best new ride of 2012 in Amusement Today 's Golden Ticket Awards . History Speculation of Wild Eagle began in March 2011 when plans to discuss Dollywood 's 2012 attraction were submitted to the Pigeon Forge Planning Commission . On March 24 , 2011 , those plans were approved and though city officials could not tell exactly what the plans were , some believed it looked to be a roller coaster . On September 4 , 2011 , Wild Eagle was officially announced to the public as the first wing coaster to open in the United States . On October 7 , 2011 , the lift hill was completed , and by the end of October 2011 , the track layout was complete . On February 28 , 2012 , Dollywood unveiled a steel sculpture of an eagle with a wing span of 42 feet ( 13 m ) and a total weight of 8 , 000 pounds ( 3 , 600 kg ) that would be placed near the entrance of the ride . The ride soft opened to the media on March 23 , 2012 , before officially opening to the public on March 24 , 2012 . Experience After departing from the station , the train makes a left turn leading into the 210 foot ( 64 m ) chain lift hill . Once at the top , the train drops 135 foot ( 41 m ) , reaching a top speed of 61 miles per hour ( 98 km h ) . The train enters a 110 foot ( 34 m ) vertical loop followed by a slight left then a zero gravity roll where riders experience the feeling of weightlessness . Upon exiting the roll , the train immediately enters an immelmann loop . The train then goes through a trim brake , before entering a corkscrew , then a camelback hill which is a common way of achieving air time on roller coasters . The train then makes a sharp left turn before making a sharp right turn which leads into the brake run . The train then makes a left turn into another set of brakes before entering the station where the next riders board the train . One cycle of the ride lasts about 2 minutes and 22 seconds . Trains Wild Eagle operates with two open air steel and fiberglass trains , each with seven cars which have four seats each , with two on each side of the track for a total of 28 riders per train . Riders are restrained by flexible over the shoulder restraints and interlocking seat belts . Also , because the seats are on the side of the track , a cantilevered steel arm is used to support the wings . The front of each of the seven train cars is shaped to resemble an eagle with outstretched wings adding to the theme of the ride . Track The steel track is 3 , 127 feet ( 953 m ) in length and the height of the lift is approximately 210 feet ( 64 m ) . The track is painted blue and the supports are painted tan . Both friction and magnetic brakes are used on the roller coaster to control the trains speed . Reception Joel Bullock from The Coaster Critic gave Wild Eagle a nine out of ten for its unique experience . He also stated that , It s smooth , has some fun inversions , and is meant to be a wide reaching crowd pleaser and it fully delivered but mentions that the restraints can become uncomfortable from time to time . In Amusement Today 's Golden Ticket Awards , the roller coaster was voted as the best new attraction for 2012 and 15th best roller steel roller coaster in the world . In Mitch Hawker 's worldwide Best Roller Coaster Poll , the ride placed 87th .
794
Sir Bevil Grenville 's Monument is a monument erected in 1720 on Lansdown , then called Lansdowne Hill , 4 miles ( 6 . 4 km ) north west of the city of Bath , in Somerset , England . It was designated a Grade II listed building on 1 February 1956 , and a scheduled monument on 12 December 1950 . The monument commemorates the heroism of the Civil War Royalist commander Sir Bevil Grenville ( 1596 1643 ) of Stowe , Kilkhampton in Cornwall and Bideford in Devon , who on 5 July 1643 fell mortally wounded at the Battle of Lansdowne , leading his regiment of Cornish pikemen . It was erected by Grenville 's grandson and has been maintained by his descendants . This has included the repair of inscriptions carved on the base of the monument , eulogising Grenville and his forces . Background The Battle of Lansdowne took place on 5 July 1643 during the Civil War . The Royalists under Lord Hopton attacked the Parliamentarians led by Sir William Waller who occupied a commanding position on Lansdowne Hill . Under the leadership of Sir Bevil Grenville , Hopton 's Cornish pikemen stormed Waller 's breastworks , while Royalist musketeers outflanked Waller by passing through the woods on each side of his position . Grenville was mortally wounded in hand to hand combat as Parliamentarian horse counter attacked and were driven off . He received a mortal blow to the head with a unk and was taken to the rectory at nearby Cold Ashton where he died . His death was a set back from which the king 's cause in the Westcountry never recovered , for he alone knew how to handle the unruly Cornishmen . History The monument was erected in 1720 by George Granville , 1st Baron Lansdowne ( 1666 1735 ) , grandson of Sir Bevil and heir male to William Granville , 3rd Earl of Bath ( unk ) , great grandson of Sir Bevil and the last male in the senior line of the family . In 1714 Baron Lansdowne had erected a mural monument to Sir Bevil in the Grenville Chapel in the Church of St James the Great , Kilkhampton , Cornwall , in which parish was situated the Grenville seat of Stowe . The monument has been repaired several times . Initially in 1777 and again in 1828 and then in 1879 , each time the repairs were funded by Granville 's descendants . Note that the original spelling was Bevil Granville but today Grenville or Greville are commonly used . Description The monument is of ashlar stone masonry , 25 feet ( 7 . 6 m ) high , in the English Baroque style . On the south side is a slate tablet inscribed with a quotation from the account by Lord Clarendon ( 1609 1674 ) in his History of the Rebellion and Civil Wars in England of the Battle of Lansdowne ( 1643 ) . On the north side are two poems . On top is a griffin ( the crest and supporters of the Grenvilles ) holding an escutcheon displaying the Grenville coat of arms Gules , three clarions or . On another side are shown the Royal Arms of King Charles II ( 1660 1685 ) supported by the arms of Sir Bevil 's eldest son and heir John Granville , 1st Earl of Bath ( 1628 1701 ) and by the arms of the latter 's half first cousin General George Monck , 1st Duke of Albemarle , KG ( 1608 1670 ) . Monck was the principal figure behind the Restoration of the Monarchy to King Charles II in 1660 , in effecting which he was much assisted by Sir John Grenville , for which services both were elevated to the peerage . Inscription The Elegy on Sir Bevil Grenville by William Cartwright , a fellow Royalist , who died shortly after Sir Bevil on 29 November 1643 , is inscribed on the monument This was not Nature s courage nor that thing , We valour call which Time and Reason bring , But a diviner fury fierce and high , Valour transported into Ecstasy .
795
The 16th Boat Race took place on 15 April 1859 . Held annually , the event is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . In extremely rough conditions , and after Cambridge 's request for a postponement was rejected , Oxford won as Cambridge sank , the first time in the history of the event that one of the crews did not complete the course . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Oxford by seven and a half lengths in the previous year 's race . They led overall with nine wins to Oxford 's six . For the 1859 race , Oxford instigated a new method of crew selection trial eights . Prior to this , the selection of crew was made on the recommendations of the College boat club captains . Oxford boat club president John Arkell remarked it will not do to trust too much the unk ( sic ) of the College captains . Following a race between the two trial eights , the final crew was selected eight weeks prior to the race . Cambridge would not introduce this selection method until the 1868 race . Oxford began training on 14 March with an outing almost every day between then and 13 April . Cambridge , on the other hand , arrived in London six days before the race and made just three outings on the Thames . The race was umpired by Joseph William Chitty who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race . Crews Oxford saw the return of three former Blues in Lane , Risley and Arkell , all of whom rowed in the 1858 race . Cambridge welcomed back five former rowers , including Archibald Levin Smith who had rowed in both the 1857 and 1858 races . Oxford 's crew weighed an average of 11 st 8 . 75 lb ( 73 . 6 kg ) , approximately 3 . 25 pounds ( 1 . 47 kg ) per man more than their opponents . Race The weather was inclement , with the sky overcast by heavy clouds and gale force winds according to a report in The Times , it would not have been easy to pitch on a more unfavourable day for an eight oared race . Although Cambridge were pre race favourites , they requested a postponement because of the conditions . Oxford refused the request Cambridge lost the toss and were handed the Surrey station for the start . The Middlesex station provided Oxford considerable relief from the rough water and wind . Oxford 's boat was heavily criticised it was everything but what was right , but it became quickly apparent that the Cambridge boat was too light for the conditions , and began taking on water from the moment it left the shore . Oxford made a good start and after the first mile , were two to three lengths ahead of Cambridge . Conditions soon worsened some of the steamboats in the flotilla following the crews looked bound to capsize . By Hammersmith Bridge the Cambridge boat was ankle deep in water and was sinking under the rough water . Oxford took the opportunity to extend their lead and pulled away from their opponents and the boats following . As Cambridge 's vessel sank opposite The White Hart pub at Mortlake , some crew were picked up by boats , others swam to the shore . Oxford recorded a winning time of 24 minutes and 4 seconds and took the overall record to 9 7 in favour of Cambridge . It was the first time in the event 's history that a boat sank .
796
The Ashland Mill Bridge was a lenticular pony truss bridge over the Pachaug River in Griswold , Connecticut that was built in 1886 by the Berlin Iron Bridge Company . It was built following the Ashland dam break of February 1886 which washed away the previous bridges . The bridge served the unk of the Ashland Cotton Company , in the Jewett City section of Griswold . The bridge was 65 feet ( 20 m ) long and crossed a unk on a skew angle . The Ashland Mill was damaged by arson in March 1994 and subsequently torn down , but the bridge itself remained . By 1999 , the town deemed the bridge unsafe and closed it , and by February 1999 , the bridge was moved to a vacant parking lot and was replaced with a new bridge . The bridge was added to the state of Connecticut historic register and it was later added to the National Register of Historic Places in April 1999 . It was removed from the National Register in February 2016 . Construction Heavy rains in February 1886 caused the Ashland dam to break and the resulting flood damaged the Ashland Cotton Company 's buildings and washed away the previous bridges at the site . The Berlin Iron Bridge Company was contracted to build a total of three bridges in the area , the Ashland Mill Bridge , another larger lenticular truss for Ashland Street and another 33 feet ( 10 m ) bridge for the Slater mill which was located further downstream . Clouette and Tinh note that the mill owners may have been influenced in their decision by the Berlin Iron Bridge Company 's bridges that were already in place in the surrounding area . The Ashland Mill Bridge was a single span lenticular pony truss bridge . Completed in 1886 , it was a roadway from Ashland Street to the unk . The bridge was made of four 16 feet ( 4 . 9 m ) long panels , totaling 65 feet ( 20 m ) in length . The roadway was 10 feet ( 3 . 0 m ) wide . The bridge 's wrought iron truss was 6 . 5 feet ( 2 . 0 m ) deep and it crossed the river at a 28 angle . All but the truss 's joints were pinned except for the unk ' lower chord nut connections as was distinctive of the Berlin Iron Bridge Company 's bridges . The plate girder floor beams supported wooden stringers and floored with planks across the width of the bridge . The bridge 's railing were made of two 5 8 inch ( 1 . unk cm ) rods bolted to the inside of the trusses . A 1905 postcard depicts the bridge being painted red , but the paint was nearly absent by 1998 . Fate In March 1994 , the manufacturing buildings were damaged by arson and were subsequently demolished . The site became a town park and the bridge was anticipated to be rehabilitated and serve as a pedestrian bridge in the park . The bridge was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in April 1999 for being a historically significant example of late 19th century bridge fabrication and as a surviving example of a bridge built by the Berlin Iron Bridge Company without significant modification or deterioration . It was also locally significant as a remaining artefact of the Ashland Cotton Company , formerly a major employer in the city . In 1999 , the town closed the bridge as it was deemed unsafe and badly deteriorated . It was estimated that 72 , 000 would be needed to relocate the bridge . In February 1999 , an eight member committee was tasked with planning a municipal park on the site . First Selectman Paul unk , hoped that the pending nomination to the National Register of Historic Places would help obtain grant money to repair the bridge . Prior to February 1999 , the historic bridge was moved to a vacant parking lot near the town hall and a replacement bridge was installed . The bridge was also on the state of Connecticut 's historic register list .
797
New York State Route 9L ( NY 9L ) is a state highway in Warren County , New York , in the United States . The road is 18 . 58 miles ( 29 . 90 km ) long and is a suffixed highway of U.S. Route 9 ( US 9 ) . NY 9L goes through three municipalities in Warren County the city of Glens Falls , the town of Queensbury and the town of Lake George . It starts at an intersection with US 9 and NY 32 in Glens Falls and ends at a junction with US 9 and NY 9N in Lake George . NY 9L is a scenic route for people traveling to Lake George as the road provides many views of the lake . The route was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York along the path of an old military road originally built during the American Revolution . Route description NY 9L begins at an intersection with US 9 and NY 32 in downtown Glens Falls . It heads north , intersecting with local roads as it exits the city and enters the town of Queensbury . At the city line , maintenance of the route shifts from the city of Glens Falls to the New York State Department of Transportation ( NYSDOT ) . Just north of the city limits , NY 9L intersects NY 254 . The route continues northward through Queensbury , passing Floyd Bennett Memorial Airport and running parallel to the Washington County line on its way toward and eventually across the Blue Line into Adirondack Park . NY 9L intersects NY 149 , an east west arterial connecting Interstate 87 ( I 87 ) to Vermont , just north of the park limits . The route continues into Brayton , a hamlet situated in northeast Queensbury . At a junction 11 . 3 miles ( 18 . 2 km ) northeast of Glens Falls and 1 mile ( 1 . 6 km ) north of Brayton , NY 9L meets Pilot Knob Road ( County Route 38 or CR 38 ) , a local roadway serving several communities located on the shores of Lake George and along the base of Pilot Knob . NY 9L turns southwest here , roughly paralleling the southern shore of Lake George . A mile west of Brayton , NY 9L intersects with unk Road , a road serving the small island hamlet of unk . Just afterward , it passes an open area called Joshua 's Rock , with a cluster of buildings . This is Owl 's Nest , the home of early realist novelist Edward Eggleston , a designated National Historic Landmark . After passing the community of unk , the route intersects Assembly Point Road , another local road serving a minor peninsula and Assembly Point on its tip . Past this point , NY 9L tightly parallels the southern shore of Lake George southwest into the town of Lake George . The route comes to an end at a junction with US 9 and NY 9N south of the village of Lake George at the southwestern extent of the lake . History Modern NY 9L follows the length of the Old Military Road , which was the first road to connect to what is now the town of Queensbury . It was first built in 1755 as the Colonial Army headed north from Albany . The construction of the road helped to increase development in the town . In 1832 , the Glens Falls Feeder Canal opened , further improving transportation in Queensbury . Sixteen years later , in 1848 , a plank road was built over the old Military Road . NY 9L was assigned as part of the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York to its current alignment . The bridge carrying NY 9L over Halfway Creek in Queensbury was originally built in 1923 . On August 27 , 2007 , the New York State Department of Transportation announced that the bridge would be replaced at a cost of 1 . 3 million . Initially , work on the project was to begin in September of that year however , the start of construction was delayed until April 21 , 2008 . The new bridge was completed in September . Major intersections The entire route is in Warren County .
798
The 59th Boat Race took place on 22 March 1902 . Held annually , the Boat Race is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . Although Oxford used swivel unk for the first time in the history of the race , Cambridge won by five lengths in a time of 19 minutes 9 seconds . The victory took the overall record to 33 25 in Oxford 's favour . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities and followed throughout the United Kingdom and worldwide . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having won the 1901 race by two fifths of a length , and led overall with 33 victories to Cambridge 's 24 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . Oxford 's coaches were G. C. Bourne who had rowed for Oxford in the 1882 and 1883 races , William Fletcher , who rowed for Oxford in the 1890 , 1891 , 1892 and 1893 races and Harcourt Gilbey Gold ( Dark Blue president for the 1900 race and four time Blue ) . Cambridge were coached by John Ernest Payne ( two time Blue in 1899 and 1900 ) . The umpire for the race for the thirteenth year in a row was Frank Willan who won the event four consecutive times , rowing for Oxford in the 1866 , 1867 , 1868 and 1869 races . It was his last time in charge of the race as he would be replaced by Frederick I. Pitman the following year . With a hard frost impeding Cambridge 's practice in Ely , the crew relocated , at the invitation of Sir John Edwards Moss , to Henley on Thames where parts of the river were clear of ice . Oxford disregarded Felix Warre 's latest boat in favour of the previous year 's vessel , however with the inclusion of the recently patented swivel rowlock . According to Oxford rower and author George Drinkwater ( who rowed at bow for the Dark Blues in this race ) , the unk were not altogether a success and stated that while Cambridge could row a faster stroke , the Dark Blues were very ponderous . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 12 st 6 . 5 lb ( 79 . 0 kg ) , 4 . 5 pounds ( 2 . 04 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . The Cambridge crew contained four rowers with Boat Race experience , including Wilfrid Hubert Chapman who had last rowed in the 1899 race . Seven of the nine members of the Cambridge crew matriculated at Trinity College . Oxford saw five former Blues return , including cox Gilchrist Maclagan who was steering in his fourth consecutive race . The Dark Blues also featured a pair of brothers , John George and Devereux Milburn , who were also the race 's only non British participants , hailing from the United States having attended The Hill School in Pennsylvania before studying at Harvard University . Race Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , handing the Middlesex side of the river to Oxford . At the time of the race it was raining umpire Willan started proceedings at 12 45 p.m. and Cambridge led from the first stroke . Within two minutes they were clear of Oxford , and , out rating them marginally for the duration of the race , they pulled away with every stroke . Cambridge passed the finishing post with a five length lead , in a time of 19 minutes 9 seconds . It was the Light Blues third win in four years and the victory took the overall record in the event to 33 25 in Oxford 's favour .
799
Ammonia fuming is a wood finishing process that darkens wood and brings out the grain pattern . It consists of exposing the wood to fumes from a strong aqueous solution of ammonium hydroxide which reacts with the tannins in the wood . The process works best on white oak because of the high tannin content of this wood . unk oak is also called smoked oak . Other species may also be fumed but usually will not darken as much as white oak . The introduction of the process is usually associated with the American furniture maker Gustav Stickley at the beginning of the twentieth century , but fuming was certainly known in Europe some time before this . Process The wood to be fumed is placed in a sealed chamber with all the surfaces to be fumed exposed to freely circulating air . A large shallow container of ammonium hydroxide solution is placed on the floor of the chamber and the chamber is sealed . If the chamber is large or the fuming is to be done for a long time then more than one container may be provided or the ammonia may be replenished during the process . The fuming time depends on the amount of darkening required , the size of the chamber , and the strength of the ammonia used . It is usual to oil the wood after fuming to fully bring out the effect . Advantages and disadvantages Fuming has an advantage over staining in that it does not obscure the grain , it just darkens it . Unlike staining , there is no possibility of blotches or runs . Fuming is also unk . Fuming has the disadvantage that it is not a very precise process . Different batches of wood will react to fuming differently . For this reason wood that is to be fumed for a particular project is often taken from the same tree . Even so , boards from the same tree , and even different regions of the same board , can have a noticeably different colour . Where a consistent colour is important , staining or dyeing may be better options . Fuming has some inconvenient safety issues . The solution of ammonium hydroxide used is much stronger ( 26 to 30 ) than in household ammonia and is corrosive . The fuming must be done in an enclosed sealed chamber . Ammonia splashes can burn skin and the fumes can cause burns to eyes and lungs . Operators need to wear gas masks , gloves and eye protection . The darkening of the colour relies on the ammonia reacting with tannins in the wood . The process is most usually applied to white oak as this wood has a high tannin content . Red oak may turn greenish rather than deep brown . Other species may not darken so noticeably as white oak , or at all , depending on the tannin content . The effect of fuming can be enhanced in non tannic woods by applying a coat of tannic acid to the surface before fuming . History Fuming was an accidental discovery in England after it was noticed that oak boards stored in a stable had darkened . This was caused by the ammonia fumes from the horse urine reacting with the wood . At the end of the nineteenth and beginning of the twentieth centuries fuming became popular with furniture makers in the Arts and Crafts movement . The technique was introduced to the US by Gustav Stickley in 1901 and a manufacturing technique was perfected in the mission style furniture line of the Stickley family business . Stickley also described a method of fuming the wooden architecture of an entire room by setting down bowls of ammonia within the room and completely sealing it . This method was not very practical and quite dangerous for the person placing the ammonia without the personal protective equipment available to modern workers . Stickley was quickly followed by other American Arts and Crafts furniture makers such as Charles Limbert and the Roycroft community .