id
int64
0
3.9k
doc
stringlengths
268
6.34k
600
The Old Man of Hoy is a 449 foot ( unk ) sea stack on the island of Hoy , part of the Orkney archipelago off the north coast of Scotland . Formed from Old Red Sandstone , it is one of the tallest stacks in Britain . The Old Man is popular with climbers , and was first climbed in 1966 . Created by the erosion of a cliff through hydraulic action some time after 1750 , the stack is no more than a few hundred years old , and may soon collapse into the sea . Geography The Old Man stands close to Rackwick Bay on the west coast of the island of Hoy , in the Orkney Islands , Scotland , and can be seen from the Scrabster to Stromness ferry . From certain angles it is said to resemble a human figure . Winds are faster than 8 metres per second ( 18 mph ) for nearly a third of the time , and gales occur on average for 29 days a year . Combined with the depth of the sea , which quickly falls to 60 metres ( 200 ft ) , high energy waves on the western side of Hoy lead to rapid erosion of the coast . Geology The Old Man of Hoy is a red sandstone stack , perched on a plinth of basalt rock , and currently the tallest sea stack in Britain . It is separated from the mainland by a 60 metre ( 200 ft ) chasm strewn with debris , and has nearly vertical sides with a top just a few metres wide . The rock is composed of layers of soft , sandy and pebbly sandstone and harder flagstones of Old Red Sandstone , giving the sides a notched and slab like profile . History The Old Man is probably less than 250 years old , and may soon collapse . The stack is not mentioned in the Orkneyinga saga , written unk , and on the Blaeu map of 1600 , a headland exists at the point where the Old Man is now . The McKenzie map of Hoy of 1750 similarly shows a headland but no stack , but by 1819 the Old Man had been separated from the mainland . William Daniell sketched the sea stack at this time as a wider column with a smaller top section and an arch at the base , from which it derived its name . Sometime in the early nineteenth century , a storm washed away one of the legs leaving it much as it is today , although erosion continues . By 1992 a 40 metre ( 130 ft ) crack had appeared in the top of the south face , leaving a large overhanging section that will eventually collapse . Climbing The stack was first climbed by mountaineers Chris Bonington , Rusty Baillie and Tom Patey in 1966 . From 8 9 July 1967 , an ascent featured in The Great Climb , a live BBC three night outside broadcast , which had around 15 million viewers . This featured three pairs of climbers Bonington and Patey repeated their original route , whilst two new lines were climbed by Joe Brown and Ian McNaught Davis and by Pete Crew and Dougal Haston . Red Szell became the first blind person to climb the Old Man , despite suffering from retinitis pigmentosa that left him with 5 per cent vision . With assistance from Martin Moran and Nick Carter , he scaled the stack in 2013 . There are seven routes up the stack , the most commonly used of which is the original landward facing E1 ( Extremely Severe ) . A log book in a Tupperware container is buried in a cairn on the summit , as an unk ' record . As many as fifty ascents of the stack are made each year . BASE jump Roger Holmes , Gus Hutchinson Brown and Tim Emmett made the first BASE jump from the stack on 14 May 2008 . Hutchinson Brown died 11 days later during a jump in Switzerland .
601
Americus , originally named Rey del unk and raced occasionally as Rey del unk ( foaled 1892 , died 1910 ) , was an American Thoroughbred racehorse who was exported to England . He had some success as a racehorse , but was more notable for his influence at stud . He was bred in California and won the 1895 Culver Stakes prior to his export . He continued to race in England , until he was nine years old , while also standing as a breeding stallion . He stood at stud in Italy , Ireland , Germany , and Belgium before dying in Germany in 1910 . Americus ' most famous descendant was his great granddaughter Mumtaz Mahal . Background Americus , a bay stallion , was foaled ( born ) in 1892 . He was bred in California by E. J. Lucky Baldwin . Americus was sired by Emperor of Norfolk and out of the mare Clara D who was sired by the imported stallion Glenelg . His maternal grandmother was a mare named The Nun , sired by Lexington . Americus was inbred to Lexington , as his sire was by Norfolk who was by Lexington . The Nun was a full sister to Norfolk , making Americus even more inbred . He was originally named Rey del unk , but occasionally raced under the name of Rey del unk . Racing career Americus raced as a three year old in America , winning a number of races . In May 1895 , he raced at Louisville under the ownership of the Santa Anita Stable , winning a race on May 14 at a distance of 5 8 of a mile . On May 20 , he finished second in the Schulte Stakes . By June , he was at Coney Island , where he came in second in a sweepstakes race on June 15 . On June 18 , he lost a sweepstakes to Domino , finishing third . On July 4 , he won a sweepstakes at a distance of 3 4 of a mile . As a three year old , Americus also won the Culver Stakes . While still a three year old , he was exported to England where he was registered in the General Stud Book . He was imported by Richard Croker , at a cost of about 8000 guineas . Americus ' importation to England occurred before the imposition of the Jersey Act , which allowed him and his offspring to be registered in the General Stud Book , something that would not have happened had he been imported into England after 1913 , due to the Jersey Act 's prohibition on registering horses tracing to Lexington in the General Stud Book . His new owner continued to race Americus , even though he was no longer in prime racing condition . In 1899 , as a seven year old , Americus was described as looking as fat as a unk bull before he ran in the Stewards ' Cup at Goodwood , but belied his appearance by running well for five furlongs before fading into fourth place . A year later he finished second in the same race . Americus also stood at stud in between races , and raced until he was nine years old . Americus was a sprinter , specializing in short distance races . Stud record In 1905 Americus was standing at stud in Ireland , but spent the years 1906 and 1907 in Italy . He returned to Ireland in 1908 and 1909 , but in 1909 was sold and exported to Germany . It is unknown what happened to him after he went to Germany . At some point before his disappearance in Germany , he also stood at stud in Belgium . Americus died at the unk Stud in Germany in March 1910 . In his breeding career , Americus sired Americus Girl , the dam of Lady Josephine by Sundridge . Lady Josephine was in turn the dam of Mumtaz Mahal , later owned by the Aga Khan and a famous broodmare .
602
The foramen spinosum is one of two foramina located in the base of the human skull , on the sphenoid bone . It is situated just anterior to the spine of the sphenoid bone , and just lateral to the foramen ovale . The middle meningeal artery , middle meningeal vein , and the meningeal branch of the mandibular nerve pass through the foramen . The foramen spinosum is often used as a landmark in neurosurgery , due to its close relations with other cranial foramina . It was first described by Jakob Benignus Winslow in the 18th century . Structure The foramen spinosum is a foramen through the sphenoid bone situated in the middle cranial fossa . It is one of two foramina in the greater wing of the sphenoid bone . The foramen ovale is one of these two cranial foramina , situated directly anterior and medial to the foramen spinosum . The spine of sphenoid falls medial and posterior to the foramen . Lateral to the foramen is the mandibular fossa , and posterior is the Eustachian tube . Variation The foramen spinosum varies in size and location . The foramen is rarely absent , usually unilaterally , in which case the middle meningeal artery enters the cranial cavity through the foramen ovale . It may be incomplete , which may occur in almost half of the population . Conversely , in a minority of cases ( less than 1 ) , it may also be duplicated , particularly when the middle meningeal artery is also duplicated . The foramen may pass through the sphenoid bone at the apex of the spinous process , or along its medial surface . Development In the newborn , the foramen spinosum is about 2 . 25 mm long and in adults about 2 . 56 mm . The width of the foramen extends from 1 . 05 mm to about 2 . 1 mm in adults . The average diameter of the foramen spinosum is 2 . 63 mm in adults . The earliest perfect ring shaped formation of the foramen spinosum was observed in the eighth month after birth and the latest seven years after birth in a developmental study of the foramen rotundum , foramen ovale and foramen spinosum . The majority of the foramina in the skull studies were round in shape . The unk ligament , derived from the first pharyngeal arch and usually attached to the spine of the sphenoid bone , may be found attached to the rim of the foramen . Animals In other great apes , the foramen spinosum is found not in the sphenoid bone but in parts of the temporal bone such as the squamous part , found at the unk suture , or absent . Function The foramen spinosum permits the passage of the middle meningeal artery , middle meningeal vein , and the meningeal branch of the mandibular nerve . Clinical significance Due to its distinctive position , the foramen is used as an anatomical landmark during neurosurgery . As a landmark , the foramen spinosum reveals the positions of other cranial foramina , the mandibular nerve and trigeminal ganglion , foramen ovale , and foramen rotundum . It may also be relevant in achieving unk during trauma surgery . History The foramen spinosum was first described by the Danish anatomist Jakob Benignus Winslow in the 18th century . It is so named because of its relationship to the spinous process of the greater wing of the sphenoid bone . However , due to incorrectly declining the noun , the literal meaning is hole full of thorns ( Latin foramen spinosum ) . The correct , but unused name would , in fact , be foramen spinae . Additional images
603
Chase Promenade ( formerly Bank One Promenade ) is an open air , tree lined pedestrian walkway that opened July 16 , 2004 . It is part of Millennium Park , which is located in the Loop community area of Chicago , Illinois in the United States . The Promenade was made possible by a gift from the Bank One Foundation . It is 8 acres ( 3 . 2 ha ) and used for exhibitions , festivals and other family events as well as private rentals . The Chase Promenade has hosted the 2005 Revealing Chicago An Aerial Portrait photo exhibition , the 2008 Paintings Below Zero exhibition and the 2009 Burnham Pavilions . The Burnham Pavilions were the cornerstone of the citywide Burnham Plan centennial celebration . Details Lying between Lake Michigan to the east and the Loop to the west , Grant Park has been Chicago 's front yard since the mid 19th century . Its northwest corner , north of Monroe Street and the Art Institute , east of Michigan Avenue , south of Randolph Street , and west of Columbus Drive , had been Illinois Central rail yards and parking lots until 1997 , when it was made available for development by the city as Millennium Park . Today , Millennium Park trails only Navy Pier as a Chicago tourist attraction . The Promenade , which spans the park from Randolph Street on the north to Monroe Street on the south , has three sections North Promenade , Central Promenade , and South Promenade . Throughout the year it is available for private rental , and it has permanent tent anchors that make it accommodating year round . Past exhibitions The city has used the Promenade to host several festivals and exhibitions . Revealing Chicago An Aerial Portrait was displayed on the Central Chase Promenade and South Boeing Gallery from June 10 to October 10 , 2005 . The exhibit featured 100 images from Chicago metropolitan area taken on 50 flights that occurred between March 2003 and August 2004 at various seasons of the year . Photographer Terry Evans , a Chicagoan , says that although 90 of the photographs were taken while in a helicopter , her preferred method of travel is hot air balloon , but Chicago was usually too windy to shoot by balloon . Chicago Tribune art critic Alan G. Artner noted that the Mark di Suvero installation ( 2007 unk ) hosted at the smaller Boeing Galleries was limited to his midsize pieces , and even these were a bit tightly bunched . He felt the Chase Promenade might have served as a better forum and would have left the artist unfettered to choose from a wider range of pieces . From February 1 through February 29 , 2008 , Millennium Park hosted a winter celebration called the Museum of Modern Ice . This event featured an exhibition located on the Central Promenade by artist Gordon Halloran entitled Paintings Below Zero . The exhibition 's centerpiece was an abstract artwork on the surface of four ice panels that measured 95 by 12 feet ( 29 . 0 by 3 . 7 m ) . In addition to the ice wall painting , Halloran painted the surface of the McCormick Tribune Ice Rink . In 2009 , the celebration of the fifth anniversary Millennium Park and the 100th anniversary of the Burnham Plan will include two temporary the privately funded pavilions located on the South end of the Chase Promenade . The pavilions by Zaha Hadid and Ben van Berkel will feature information highlighting the Burnham Plan and its implications for Chicago 's present and future . They will be on display from June 19 October 31 , 2009 .
604
The Russian monitor Charodeika was the lead ship of her class of monitors built for the Imperial Russian Navy in the 1860s . She served for her entire career with the Baltic Fleet , mostly as a training ship . She was decommissioned in 1907 , but was not broken up until 1911 12 . Design and description Charodeika was 206 feet ( 62 . 8 m ) long at the waterline . She had a beam of 42 feet ( 12 . 8 m ) and a maximum draft of 12 feet 7 inches ( 3 . 8 m ) . The ship was designed to displace 1 , 882 long tons ( 1 , 912 t ) , but turned out to be overweight and actually displaced 2 , 100 long tons ( 2 , 100 t ) . Her crew numbered 13 officers and 171 crewmen in 1877 . The ship had two simple horizontal direct acting steam engines , each driving a single propeller . The engines were designed to produce a total of 900 indicated horsepower ( 670 kW ) using steam provided by two coal fired rectangular fire tube boilers , but only achieved 786 ihp ( 586 kW ) and a speed of approximately 8 . 5 knots ( 15 . 7 km h 9 . 8 mph ) during her sea trials . She carried a maximum of 250 long tons ( 254 t ) of coal for her boilers . Charodeika was initially armed with a pair of nine inch ( 229 mm ) rifled Model 1867 guns in the forward gun turret and a pair of fifteen inch ( 381 mm ) smoothbore Rodman guns in the aft turret . The Rodman guns were replaced by a pair of Obukhov 9 inch ( 229 mm ) rifled guns in 1871 and all of the nine inch guns were replaced in their turn by longer , more powerful nine inch Obukhov guns in 1878 79 . No light guns for use against torpedo boats are known to have been fitted aboard the ship before the 1870s when she received 4 four pounder 3 . 4 inch ( 86 mm ) guns mounted on the turret tops as well as a variety of smaller guns that included 45 millimeter ( 1 . 8 in ) Engstrm quick firing ( QF ) guns , 1 inch ( 25 mm ) Nordenfelt guns , single barreled QF 47 millimeter ( 1 . 9 in ) Hotchkiss guns , QF 37 millimeter ( 1 . 5 in ) Hotchkiss revolving cannon , and 25 millimeter ( 0 . 98 in ) Palmcrantz Nordenfelt guns . The ship had a complete waterline belt of wrought iron that was 4 . 5 inches ( 114 mm ) thick amidships and thinned to 3 . 75 inches ( 95 mm ) at the bow and 3 . 25 inches ( 83 mm ) at the stern . The armor was backed by 12 to 18 inches ( 300 to 460 mm ) of teak . The circular turrets were protected by armor 5 . 5 inches ( 140 mm ) thick and the walls of the ship 's oval conning tower were also 4 . 5 inches thick . Her deck was 1 inch ( 25 mm ) thick amidships , but reduced to 0 . 25 0 . 5 inches ( 6 . 4 12 . 7 mm ) at the ends of the ship . Construction and service Charodeika ( Sorceress ) was ordered on 26 January 1865 and construction began on 10 June at the Admiralty Shipyard , Saint Petersburg , although the formal keel laying was not until 6 June 1866 . She was launched on 12 September 1867 and completed in 1869 at the cost of 762 , 000 rubles . Construction was considerably delayed by late deliveries of drawings , material , and the death of her original builder . The ship served her entire career with the Baltic Fleet and was later assigned to the Mine ( Torpedo ) Training Detachment . Charodeika was reclassified as a coast defense ironclad on 13 February 1892 and remained in service until 31 March 1907 when she was turned over to the Port of Kronstadt for disposal . The ship was stricken from the Navy List on 7 April and was finally scrapped in 1911 12 .
605
Arden Valley Road is a scenic road located in Southfields , New York , in the United States , that travels through Harriman State Park and is owned by the Palisades Interstate Park Commission . At 5 . 2 miles ( 8 . 4 km ) long , it begins at New York State Route 17 ( NY 17 ) in Southfields and ends at Seven Lakes Drive in Harriman State Park . Arden Valley Road also serves a trout stocking area for the Ramapo River . The road is located entirely in Orange County and is home to the Elk 's Pen Trailhead in Harriman State Park . In 1921 , plans arose by the commission to construct the road , which was completed the same year and stretched along the borderline with the Harriman estate . Major William A. Welch ordered 75 elk from Yellowstone National Park to be placed in a wired cage between Arden and Southfields in 1919 . The elk eventually disappeared from the pen by 1942 , and the area became the current Elk 's Pen trailhead for trails within Harriman State Park . Route description Arden Valley Road begins at an intersection with NY 17 in the hamlet of Southfields ( within the town of Tuxedo ) . The road immediately becomes a part of the right of way for the Appalachian Trail , a roughly 2 , 100 mile ( 3 , 400 km ) trail spanning the eastern United States . The road heads into Harriman State Park and crosses a pain of train tracks before passing over the New York State Thruway . The highway continues along the border of Harriman State Park at the Elk 's Pen Trailhead , the Appalachian Trail leaves Arden Valley Road and heads into the park . The road intersects with Island Pond Road , a dirt path in Harriman , as it heads along the border . Arden Valley Road intersects with Crooked Road thereafter . Harris Mine is visible to the left as the road proceeds around the base of Echo Mountain . To the southeast of Lindley Mountain , Arden Valley Road turns east and into the park . Arden Valley Road passes Lake Cohasset and Upper Lake Cohasset as it heads eastward . The road intersects with the Long Path and Ramapo Dunderberg Appalachian Trails soon afterward . Bradley Mine is visible to the left , and Arden Valley Road comes to an end at unk Circle . , where the road continues eastward as unk Brook Road . History Construction of the Arden Brook Valley Road , which intended to connect Lake Cohasset and the brand new Upper Cohasset Lake started around 1922 , with money given by the New York State Legislature in 1921 Construction of the new road was completed in 1922 , extending along the borderline with the Harriman estate . Originally , people to cross the Erie Railroad tracks and the Ramapo River to continue along Arden Valley Road . This was remedied by building an underpass under the Erie Railroad and a ford over the Ramapo River . When the New York State Thruway was constructed through the Hudson Valley in 1953 , engineers included the ford in construction , and as of 1999 , the structure still stands . In 1919 , Major William A. Welch ordered 75 elk from Yellowstone National Park however , some had died en route . The remaining elk were kept in a wired cage between Arden and Southfields . By 1935 , some of the animals were still alive . However , by 1942 , all of the elk had died . The remaining area is now known as the Elk 's Pen Trailhead , which serves the Appalachian and Arden unk Trails . The remains of the pen still currently stand . Major intersections The entire route is in Orange County .
606
Berkshire No. 7 is a wood and steel barge constructed in 1935 . It is historically important as a transitional canal barge and as one of the few surviving wooden hulled canal boats . It was used to transport bulk cargo , including shipping fertilizer , from Connecticut to Long Island Sound . It sank in 1974 along with the Elmer S. Dailey and the Priscilla Dailey . The sunken vessel has deteriorated to the point that a salvage operation could result in breaking it apart . The Berkshire No. 7 was added to the National Register of Historic Places on December 21 , 1978 . Description The Berkshire No. 7 is a small wood and steel canal barge that measures 104 feet ( 32 m ) long with a 20 feet ( 6 . 1 m ) beam . The depth of the hold is listed at 10 feet ( 3 . 0 m ) and it had a listed capacity of 216 tons . It is a transitional canal barge with steel framing and wood planking over the skeleton . Clouette describes the hull as being nearly rectangular in profile , section and plan , with squared off stern and bluntly rounded bow . Low bulwarks with scuppers rise slightly to a peak where they join the prominently projecting stem . The superstructure is primarily of a single low coaming with convex hatch covers that runs almost the full length of the shop . A rectangular cabin rises up above the coaming and has a companionway in the rear . The Berkshire No. 7 is listed in the U.S. Registry as unk . History The Berkshire No. 7 was constructed in 1935 by Jacobson and Peterson , Inc. in Brooklyn , New York , for Stewart J. Dailey , a former mule driver on the Erie Canal who later became a partner in a Tonawanda , New York , shipbuilding company and afterwards opened his own business , S. J. Dailey Company . The barge was used to ferry materials , including shipping fertilizer from Connecticut to Long Island Sound between 1941 and 1972 . Afterwards it was moored in Bridgeport Harbor together with the Elmer S. Dailey and Priscilla Dailey . In the spring of 1974 , one of the barges began to take on water , dragging down the other two . No part of the Berkshire No. 7 is visible above water . Importance The Berkshire No. 7 has historical importance because of its design , which reflects the construction of 19th century canal boats . However , there is no record that the barge was ever used on a canal . The barge is one of two surviving wooden hulled canal boats in existence . It was added to the National Register of Historic Places on December 21 , 1978 . Its nomination and listing is unusual because the Berkshire No. 7 was not yet 50 years old at the time of its nomination , and it sank in 1974 . It and the other two barges that sank with it are the only shipwrecks in Connecticut listed on the National Register of Historic Places . In 1998 , the historic status of the barges was a concern for the Port Authority of Bridgeport Harbor , as the sunken ships interfered with a billion dollar redevelopment project . Over the years , the barges had deteriorated so that a salvage operation would likely result in them breaking apart . No action had been taken by 2003 , but a report noted that prior to any activity of the Berkshire No. 7 , the Federal Transit Administration and or the City of Bridgeport should document the barge with photos and a technical description . Specifics regarding the documentation based on the activity would be archived at the State Historic Preservation Office and the Mystic Seaport Museum .
607
The 20th Boat Race between crews from the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge took place on the River Thames on 28 March 1863 . Oxford won by 15 lengths in a time of 23 minutes 6 seconds . It took the overall record to ten wins each , the first time since the 1836 race that the scores were level . The race was the third to be held on the ebb tide , along the Championship Course in reverse , from Mortlake to Putney . It was the first time since the race was held in the fashion since the 1856 race . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities , and since the 21st century , is followed throughout the United Kingdom and broadcast worldwide . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having won the 1862 race by ten lengths , with Cambridge leading overall with ten victories to Oxford 's nine . According to Drinkwater , neither boat club president was sensible of their duty to posterity , for they kept no records of the training of the crews . Both crews arrived at Putney on 21 March , one week before the race , and each put in four practice sessions in the run up to the main event . Cambridge 's boat was built by Searle . The race was umpired by Joseph William Chitty who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race . Crews The Oxford crew averaged over 6 feet ( 1 . 83 m ) in height , and weighed an average of 11 st 8 . 5 lb ( 73 . 5 kg ) , 2 . 75 pounds ( 1 . 2 kg ) per rower more than their Light Blue opposition . Six of the Oxford crew had represented their university in the previous year 's race , including W. M. Hoare who was rowing at stroke for the third time . The Cambridge boat contained two members of the 1862 crew , including William Cecil unk and John Graham Chambers . Race Oxford , who were clear pre race favourites , won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey side of the river to Cambridge . Like the 1856 race , the race was conducted on the ebb tide , and the start was moved to Barker 's Rails , to give the steamers room between the Aqueduct and the crews . The start of the race was delayed for around half an hour as a result of a number of steamers impinging upon the course . The future British King , Edward VII , was in attendance . At the time of the race , there was a mild breeze and the water was perfect , but for the steamers . Cambridge made the better start , but Oxford 's steady rowing brought them level and within 300 yards ( 270 m ) of the start , they were nearly half a length up on the Light Blues . By Craven Steps , they were clear and two lengths up by the Mile Post . Oxford crossed over to row directly in front of Cambridge , and according to MacMichael , it was evident here that the race was over , barring accidents . The Dark Blues were three lengths up as they shot Barnes Bridge and won by fifteen lengths . It was Oxford 's third consecutive victory and took the overall total to ten wins each , the first time since the 1856 race that the scores were tied .
608
The Mongol Empire conquered the Qara Khitai in the years 1216 1218 AD . Prior to the invasion , war with the unk dynasty and the usurpation of power by the Naiman prince Kuchlug had weakened the Qara Khitai . When Kuchlug besieged Almaliq , a city belonging to the Karluks , vassals of the Mongol Empire , Genghis Khan dispatched a force under command of Jebe to pursue Kuchlug . After his force of 30 , 000 was defeated by Jebe at the Khitan capital unk , Kuchlug faced rebellions over his unpopular rule , forcing him to flee to modern Afghanistan , where he was captured by hunters in 1218 . The hunters turned Kuchlug over to the Mongols , who beheaded him . Upon defeating the Qara Khitai , the Mongols now had a direct border with the unk Empire , which they would soon invade in 1219 . Background After Genghis Khan defeated the unk in 1204 , Naiman prince Kuchlug fled his homeland to take refuge among the Qara Khitai . The unk Yel unk welcomed Kuchlug into his empire , and Kuchlug became an advisor and military commander , eventually marrying one of the daughters of unk . However , during a war with the bordering unk dynasty , Kuchlug initiated a coup d 'tat against unk . After Kuchlug took power , he allowed unk to rule the Qara Khitai in name only . When the unk died in 1213 , Kuchlug took direct control of the khanate . Originally a Nestorian , once among the Khitai Kuchlug converted to Buddhism and began persecuting the Muslim majority , forcing them to convert to either Buddhism or Christianity , a move which alienated Kuchlug from most of the population . When Kuchlug besieged the Karluk city of Almaliq , the Karluks , vassals of the Mongol Empire , requested aid from Genghis Khan . Invasion In 1216 , after requesting Muhammad II of Khwarazm not to aid Kuchlug , Genghis Khan dispatched general Jebe with two unk ( 20 , 000 soldiers ) to deal with the Qara Khitai threat , while sending Subutai with another two unk on a simultaneous campaign against the unk . The two armies traveled alongside each other through the Altai and unk Mountains until arriving at Almaliq . At that point , Subutai turned southwest , destroying the unk and protecting Jebe 's flank against any sudden attacks from Khwarazm . Jebe relieved Almaliq , then moved south of Lake unk into the lands of the Qara Khitai , where he besieged the capital of unk . There , Jebe defeated an army of 30 , 000 troops and Kuchlug fled to Kashgar . Taking advantage of the unrest fomenting under Kuchlug 's rule , Jebe gained support from the Muslim populace by announcing that Kuchlug 's policy of religious persecution had ended . When Jebe 's army arrived at Kashgar in 1217 , the populace revolted and turned on Kuchlug , forcing him to flee for his life . Jebe pursued Kuchlug across the Pamir Mountains into Badakhshan in modern Afghanistan . According to Ata Malik unk , a group of hunters caught Kuchlug and handed him over to the Mongols , who promptly beheaded him . Aftermath With the death of Kuchlug , the Mongol Empire secured control over the Qara Khitai . Another segment of the Qara Khitai , from a dynasty founded by Buraq unk , survived in Kirman as vassals of the Mongols , but ceased to exist as an entity during the reign of the Mongol Ilkhanid ruler ljait . The Mongols now had a firm outpost in Central Asia directly bordering the Khwarazm Empire . Relations with the unk would quickly break down , leading to the Mongol invasion of that territory .
609
Jan Mayensfield ( ICAO unk ) is an aerodrome serving Olonkinbyen in Jan Mayen , Norway . Operated by the Norwegian Armed Forces , it serves the island 's only population at the combined military and meteorological station . It has a 1 , 500 meter ( 4 , 921 ft ) dirt runway numbered 06 24 . The airfield was built in connection with the LORAN C transmitter at Olonkinbyen and was completed in 1960 . Jan Mayensfield is served eight times per year by Lockheed C 130 Hercules aircraft of the 335 Squadron from Bod Main Air Station , which provide supplies and change crew at the outpost . The nearby Beerenberg volcano can cause a Krmn wind , which creates difficult landing conditions . History North Atlantic Treaty Organization ( NATO ) and the Norwegian Armed Forces started construction of a military communications outpost at Olonkinbyen in 1958 . At first a LORAN A transmitter was built , followed by a LORAN C transmitter in 1960 . In August , it was announced that the island would receive an airfield to allow continual operation of the transmitter . Originally , the aerodrome consisted of a 1 , 200 by 30 metres ( 3 , 937 by 98 ft ) section of the island 's dirt road . This was chosen to reduce the bureaucracy of construction . The first aircraft to land was a Consolidated PBY Catalina of the Royal Norwegian Air Force on 17 September 1960 . The first civilian aircraft was a Douglas DC 4 operated by Braathens SAFE , which landed with some journalists on board on 29 October 1961 . Other early aircraft operating to Jan Mayen were the Grumman HU 16 Albatross and the Douglas DC 6 . The head officer of the Norwegian military 's communications division was later criticized by Chief of Defence Bjarne en , who concluded Gentlemen , I will not have any construction of airports on Norwegian soil by the Communications Division without the plans being presented to the Central Command . In 1970 , a sudden eruption in Beerenberg forced the immediate evacuation of the station . A Hercules was dispatched to the island and successfully landed on the strip . Thereafter the Hercules became the regular military aircraft at Jan Mayen . Aircraft gradually took over more of the transport to the island , and from 1973 all supplies except diesel and special freight was transported by ship . From 1975 the 333 Squadron would occasionally drop mail and supplies using the P 3 Orion as a supplement to the landings of the Hercules . Facilities Jan Mayensfield 's single regular service is the Royal Norwegian Air Force 's Lockheed C 130 Hercules , which operate to the island eight times per year . The aircraft are part of the 335 Squadron , based at Gardermoen Air Station , although the flights from Jan Mayen operate from Bod Main Air Station . The runway is not open for commercial traffic , although it can be used for research and search and rescue operations . The dirt runway is 1 , 500 by 30 meters ( 4 , 921 by 98 ft ) being aligned 06 24 . Jan Mayensfield has variable weather conditions , a lot of fog and often has a Krmn wind . The Krmn wind is created in the wake of the Beerenberg volcano , resulting in regular vortex streets and lee waves . This can cause sudden change to the wind direction on the island . Accidents and incidents In 1991 , a C 130 Hercules aircraft from the Royal Norwegian Air Force almost crashed after take off due to Karman wind suddenly shifting . A WWII plane crash site is also near the airfield .
610
Elizabeth Alkin ( c . 1600 c . 1655 ) was a publisher , nurse and spy for the Parliamentarian forces during the English Civil War . Among the many derogatory names she was called by royalist sympathisers , that of Parliament Joan is one by which she is also commonly known . Background and Civil War activities Nothing is known of Alkin until 1645 because of comments of her age made later in life , her date of birth is taken to be around 1600 . She was the wife of Francis Alkin , a spy for the Parliamentarians who was hanged early in the English Civil War by royalist forces for his activities . She was the mother of three children . In 1645 Alkin was employed by the earl of Essex , Sir William Waller , to be a spy for the Parliamentarians . She received a similar commission from Sir Thomas Fairfax two years later . Parliamentary records show that in 1645 she received payment from the Committee for the Advance of Money for uncovering the activities of George unk , a Surrey based iron merchant , who was supplying metal to the royalist forces . In the seventeenth century , daily news was published in newsbooks which tended to be small eight page publications , the forerunners of newspapers . They were usually sold on the street by what the historian Bob Clarke describes as semi destitute female hawkers , known as Mercury Women . Those publications supporting the royalist cause were closed down and the publishers prosecuted , and Alkin became involved in uncovering those behind the publication . In 1648 the royalist newsbooks the Mercurius unk and the Parliament Kite both referred to her attempts to uncover them , and the following year the Mercurius unk called her an old Bitch who could smell out a unk hearted man as soon as the best Blood hound in the Army . Although Alkin acted as one of the unk sellers , between 1650 and 1651 she published several short lived newsbooks , including The Impartial Scout , The Moderne Intelligencer , Mercurius Anglicus ( formerly a royalist title which she appropriated ) and Mercurius Scoticus , or , The Royal Messenger . Clarke believes Alkin may have used formerly royalist titles , or royalist sounding names to win the confidence of royalist sympathisers , and get them to reveal the location of illicit printers . The historian Marcus unk disagrees , and argues that Alkin was unk Royalist titles for Parliamentarian consumption . In total she produced ten notebook issues of differing titles . One of those she uncovered was William Dugard , who ran four presses at the Merchant Taylors ' School in London Dugard was imprisoned in February 1650 . The following year she was paid 10 for discovering the printers of Edward Hall 's work Manus testium lingua testium , and received further recompense from the Committee for the Advance of Money for other , unknown services . Post Civil War In 1653 , during the First Anglo Dutch War , Alkin assisted Daniel Whistler in setting up a network of casualty reception stations in Portsmouth , Harwich and East Anglia . The stations treated both English and Dutch casualties . Alkin made financial claims from the state for her nursing , some of which were paid , although a petition of 1654 refers to her severe illness . The same letter stated that she had had to sell many of her possessions , including her bed . A petition for financial relief from May 1655 is the last recorded note on her , and it is presumed that she died soon afterwards .
611
Lupo the Butcher is a 1987 three minute animated short comedy film directed and written by Danny Antonucci . The short follows the story of a psychotic butcher who has a huge temper and swears at his meat when the smallest things go wrong . Produced by Marv Newland 's International unk Limited , Lupo the Butcher was a successful short and has earned itself a cult following . Plot An Italian Canadian butcher named Lupo is complaining about his job one day , while cutting meat in his shop . As each new slice falls to the ground , Lupo grows increasingly angry and swears at the meat . He then accidentally cuts off his own thumb , which inexplicably causes his entire body to fall apart . Blood gushes out onto the ground , and the various pieces of Lupo 's body collapse into a pile . The screen darkens and closes in on Lupo 's severed head , but before the scene can disappear entirely , Lupo 's head jumps forward , still alive . It remains on the screen , shouting insults during the credits , and then falls asleep . Production Danny Antonucci , who has worked in animation since the 1970s , decided to create his first solo work . Tired of people thinking that animation was only for children , he wanted to create a character that people would believe in . Due to his Italian heritage , Antonucci wanted his character to be an Italian immigrant who would blame America for all of his problems . Originally named Lupo the Barber , Antonucci eventually settled on the name Lupo the Butcher . This character was inspired by his father and uncle . After the short was finalized , Antonucci was pleased with his creation , and felt that the three and a half minute movie worked out . It was produced by Marv Newland 's International unk Limited . Released in 1987 , it was shown at Spike and Mike 's Festival of Animation . Antonucci went on to found a.k.a Cartoon , Inc . , with which he would create The Brothers Grunt and the Cartoon Network classic Ed , Edd n Eddy . Reception Upon its release , Lupo the Butcher was a successful short and has earned itself a cult following . Eric Fogel , co creator of Glenn Martin , DDS , stated that Lupo the Butcher inspired him to pursue a career in animation , saying That film opened my eyes to a world of animation that was strictly for grownups and inspired me to pursue a career path that was a bit more twisted . In an interview with Take One , Linda Simensky called the short the South Park of its time and stated that she remembers tapes containing the short being passed around her office in 1988 . It was featured in Spike and Mike 's book Outlaw Animation , written by Jerry Beck , and in the Spike and Mike DVD . Other media The Lupo character was eventually licensed by the Converse athletic shoe company . This led to additional work , including animated commercials for Levi Strauss Co. and MTV . In 2010 , Danny Antonucci revealed that a second short called Meat the Family was planned by a.k.a. Cartoon in 1996 , but it remained unfinished . It had to be based on Lupo and his family , composed of his wife Sette unk ( Italian for Seven Ass ) , his son unk ( Retard ) , his father unk unk ( Pissing Dad ) and a cat named unk . The designs also appeared in Spike and Mike 's book Outlaw Animation , written by Jerry Beck . They were then resumed for achieve an animated television series based on the original short no further reports , however , have been made since then .
612
The M9 Half track was a half track produced by International Harvester in the United States in World War II for lend lease supply to Allies . It was designed to provide a similar vehicle to the M2 Half Track Car . It had the same body and chassis as the M5 Half track ( also built by International Harvester for lend lease ) but had the same stowage and radio fit as the M2 Half Track . The M9 served for a significant amount of time . 3 , 500 were produced by the end of World War II . It was used during World War II , the Arab Israeli War of 1948 , the Korean War , the Suez Crisis , the Vietnam War , the Six Day War , and the Yom Kippur War . It was used by eleven different countries by the end of its service . Development The United States adopted half tracks in large numbers as they could be built more quickly and cheaply by civilian vehicle producers than vehicles from the established armored vehicle manufacturers . The M2 Half Track Car had first been intended as an artillery tractor but was also used for carrying the machine gun squads of armored infantry regiments and for reconnaissance units until faster and better armed M8 Greyhound armored cars were available . In order to supply U.S. allies , much more production was required than was possible through the firms producing the M2 ( and the larger M3 Half track ) . International Harvester ( IH ) could produce half tracks but some differences had to be accepted due to different manufacturing methods and components . This led to IH producing for lend lease the M5 Half track as a M3 equivalent and the M9 as the M2 equivalent . Design The M9 used the same chassis and mechanical components as the M5 . It was laid out to provide similar stowage , access to the radios from the inside , rear doors , and a pedestal machine gun mount as with the M2 . The M9A1 variant of the M9 matched the improvements made to the M2 , M3 , and M5 , changing to ring mount machine gun mount and three pintle machine gun mounts . As with the M5 , due to the lack of face hardened armor , homogenous armor was used . Although thicker , it gave less protection and could be penetrated by armor piercing rifle bullets from 300 yards ( 270 m ) rather than 200 yards ( 180 m ) . The armor also made the vehicle heavier though the performance was essentially similar . Service history The M9 started production in August 1942 , at IH . The M9 and M9A1 were manufactured en masse and 2 , 026 were produced in total . According to American military historian and defense specialist Steven unk , 2 , 026 M9 and 1 , 407 M9A1 were produced in 1943 . The M9 was used in World War II , the Arab Israeli War of 1948 , the Korean War , the Suez Crisis , and many other conflicts . The production of unk was leased to other countries , like most other IH half tracks produced in World War II . This M9A1 was leased to both the Soviet Union and the United Kingdom , the latter providing it to other countries in the British Commonwealth . Operators The M9 was used by many countries but not the United States as there was sufficient M2 and M3 production for U.S. needs . Th UK leased some half tracks to Free France and other governments in exile . The Soviet Union received supplies directly . Following World War II , the second hand market was a source of supply for some countries , including Israel . M9 half tracks were provided under the Military Aid Program ( MAP ) to the following countries
613
Meica Christensen ( born 24 February 1989 ) is an Australian goalball player . She began playing the sport in 2004 , the same year she made her national team debut . After the national team took a three year break , she was named the captain in 2010 and played in the Goalball World Championships . She was selected to represent Australia at the 2012 Summer Paralympics in goalball , where she captained the side . Personal Christensen was born in unk North , Queensland , on 24 February 1989 . She has a visual disability , with partial sight . She attended Cavendish Road State High School , and played in a goalball demonstration game there in 2004 . Other sports she participates in include skiing . In 2005 , she lived in Birkdale , Queensland , but was living in Wellington Point again by 2011 . In 2011 , she worked at Royal Brisbane and Women 's Hospital as an administrator . Goalball Christensen is a goalball player , and is classified as a B3 competitor . She started playing the sport in 2004 , when she was 15 years old . In 2005 , she played in the New Zealand Goalball Nationals for the Queensland women 's goalball team . Christensen made her national team debut in 2004 , the same year she started playing the sport , when she played in a game against Sweden women 's national goalball team in Malmo , Sweden , as part of a ten team Malmo Women 's International Cup that included seven teams that had qualified for the 2004 Summer Paralympics . She was coached in the competition by Robyn Stephens . In late 2004 , she had a goal of making the Paralympic team for the 2008 Summer Paralympics , but the Australian team did not qualify . She was named the national team captain in 2010 . In her role as captain , she plays the song The Final Countdown before competitions . Going into the 2010 Goalball World Championships with the national team not having played a match in three years , her team finished eighth . She was the national team captain again in 2011 , and was with the team during the 2011 IBSA Africa Oceania Goalball Regional Champions , which served as the Paralympic qualifying tournament . In her first game against New Zealand , her team won 11 4 after leading 7 1 at the half . She scored seven goals in the team 's victory . She also played in the final match against New Zealand women 's national goalball team . Australia won the game against New Zealand by a score of 6 2 , Christensen scored three goals , the second one from a penalty shot . She finished the competition as the fifth highest scorer , and her team finished sixth overall . Christensen was named to the Aussie Belles team going to the 2012 Summer Paralympics . She was the team 's longest serving member going into the Games , and the team 's captain . That the team qualified for the Games came as a surprise , as the Australian Paralympic Committee had been working on player development with an idea of the team qualifying for the 2016 Summer Paralympics , and an Australian team had not participated since the 2000 Summer Paralympics , when they earned an automatic selection as hosts , and the team finished last in the competition . The country has not medalled in the event since 1976 . Going into the Paralympics , her team was ranked eighth in the world . In the 2012 Summer Paralympics tournament , the Belles played games against Japan , Canada , the United States and Sweden . They lost every game , and did not advance to the finals . She scored three goals .
614
Tales of Magic and Mystery was a pulp magazine which published five monthly issues from December 1927 to April 1928 . It was edited by Walter Gibson , and published a mixture of fiction and articles on magic . It is now mainly remembered for having published a story by H.P. Lovecraft . Publication history Tales of Magic and Mystery was published by Personal Arts , which was owned by International Correspondence Schools ( ICS ) . In 1927 ICS had had success with a mailing titled Secrets of the Ages . Bill Kofoed and Walter Gibson suggested a magazine to appeal to the same audience as the mailing , and Haddon Press , also owned by ICS , provided cost estimates that seemed very positive . Kofoed checked the numbers with Haddon Press and was convinced they were accurate , and the magazine was launched in December of that year with Gibson as editor . The contributors included H. P. Lovecraft , with Cool Air , and Frank Owen , with three stories The Yellow Pool , The Black Well of Wadi , and The Lure of the unk Hand . A story by Miriam Allen unk , Ghostly Hands , also appeared , though it later became apparent that it had been printed without permission or payment . Gibson later recalled that the Kofoed obtained some of the submissions from stories submitted to Brief Stories , which Kofoed edited science fiction historian Mike Ashley suggests that Gibson may not have been fully aware of how the submissions were obtained , and believes it is possible that some of the other material printed was also not paid for . The magazine is now extremely rare , and has become a collectors ' item because of the connection to H. P. Lovecraft . Most of Lovecraft 's short fiction appeared in Weird Tales , and it is possible that he submitted to Tales of Magic and Mystery because of his interest in Harry Houdini he had ghost written a story for Houdini a couple of years earlier , and Gibson was a friend of Houdini 's . In addition to fiction the magazine published articles about magic , all of which were written by Gibson , some under pen names . The articles included one on bullet catching ( illustrated by Earle K. Bergey ) , one on mysterious people , and a series on Houdini . Overall , the magazine focused more on magic than on fiction , but the stories chosen were readable . The weird and occult fiction genre was dominated by Weird Tales in the years before World War II Tales of Magic and Mystery and Ghost Stories were the only two magazines to attempt to rival Weird Tales in the years before 1931 , when Strange Tales of Mystery and Terror appeared . After the fifth issue , it became apparent that the reason the cost estimates had appeared so strong was that Haddon Press had forgotten to include the cost of the paper . This made it apparent that the magazine was losing money rapidly , and Tales of Magic and Mystery was immediately shut down . Some of the manuscripts in inventory at the time the magazine was closed down may have been printed in True Strange Stories , another short lived magazine which Gibson edited the following year . Bibliographic details Walter B. Gibson was the editor of all five issues of Tales of Magic and Mystery , which remained in saddle stapled pulp format throughout its run . It was priced at 25 cents , and each issue was 64 pages long . In 2004 , Wildside Press released a facsimile edition of the February 1928 issue , and in 2013 , Adventure House released a facsimile of the March 1928 issue .
615
There are two mobile games in the Ni no Kuni series , developed and published by Level 5 . The mobile games were released in Japan , alongside main Ni no Kuni titles Dominion of the Dark Djinn and Wrath of the White Witch , and were developed and published in partnership with mobile distribution companies . The first game , Ni no Kuni Hotroit Stories , is a role playing game set before the events of the main games . It follows the story of Oliver and his friend Mark , and their attempts to construct a car . The first chapter was released in December 2010 through Level 5 's Roid service . The second title , Ni no Kuni Daibouken Monsters , is a social card role playing game in which players collect cards and use them in battles , and use the abilities of characters who have been trapped in the cards . It was released in a partnership with the GREE mobile service in May 2012 . Ni no Kuni Hotroit Stories Ni no Kuni Hotroit Stories ( unk ) is an episodic role playing video game developed and published by Level 5 . The first chapter was released for mobile devices through the Roid service on December 9 , 2010 . A prequel to Dominion of the Dark Djinn and Wrath of the White Witch , Hotroit Stories follows Oliver and his friend Mark , who create a custom car by finding parts around the town of Hotroit , eventually making their way to an abandoned factory in their search . They are accompanied by a cat . Throughout their search , Oliver and Mark encounter creatures similar to the imajinn familiars of the main game , which they must fight to proceed . Unlike the main games , Hotroit Stories does not feature magic characters instead attack using items such as dry ice for similar effects . Anne Lee of Chic Pixel noted that the game features a similar art style to EarthBound ( 1994 ) . The game was first teased at a press conference in June 2010 , as well as at the Tokyo Game Show in September 2010 , before its formal reveal at the Level 5 Vision conference in October 2010 . The first chapter , titled Oliver and Mark ( unk unk ) , was released in December 2010 . Since its release , there has been no news regarding the development or release of subsequent chapters . Ni no Kuni Daibouken Monsters Ni no Kuni Daibouken Monsters ( unk ) is a social card role playing video game developed and published by Level 5 . It was released for mobile devices through the GREE service on May 11 , 2012 . In the game , players travel to a different world and collect cards featuring creatures known as unk , of which there are over 200 . An occupant of the other world is trapped in every card by flipping the card , players can use the occupant 's abilities during battles . Rare cards are also available , granting players powers such as improved recovery and special attacks . The game also features a cooperative multiplayer mode , in which two players defend against a boss encounter in a Raid battle there are over 40 bosses in the game . All of the cards were redesigned in June 2012 . The team at GREE initially contacted Level 5 to create individual games for the platform this eventually developed into a comprehensive partnership between the two companies , resulting in Level 5 developing three titles for GREE . Early registrations for the game began on March 21 , 2012 . The game was available for iOS and Android devices , through a membership with the GREE service . The game 's servers were terminated on September 28 , 2012 .
616
The 31st Boat Race took place on the 28 March 1874 . The Boat Race is an annual side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . In a race umpired by former Oxford rower Joseph William Chitty , Cambridge won by three and a half lengths in their fifth consecutive victory . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Oxford by three lengths in the previous year 's race , while Oxford led overall with sixteen wins to Cambridge 's fourteen . Cambridge were coached by John Graham Chambers ( who rowed for Cambridge in the 1862 and 1863 races , and was non rowing boat club president for the 1865 race ) , William Henry Lowe ( who rowed for Cambridge in the 1868 , 1870 and 1871 races ) and John Goldie ( the Cambridge boat club president and rower for the 1869 , 1870 and 1871 races ) . Oxford 's coach was S. D. Darbishire ( who rowed for the Dark Blues in 1868 , 1869 and 1870 ) . Cambridge opted not to use the boat built for them by Harry Clasper specifically for the race , in favour of one constructed by unk which had been used by 1st Trinity Boat Club . The race was umpired by Joseph William Chitty who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race , while the starter was Edward Searle . Crews The Cambridge crew weighed an average of 11 st 10 . 625 lb ( 74 . 5 kg ) , 1 . 5 pounds ( 0 . 7 kg ) more than their opponents . Oxford saw the return of two former Blues in William Edward Sherwood and A. W. Nicholson ( who was rowing in his third Boat Race ) . Cambridge 's crew included five Blues , with James Brooks Close and Charles Stokes Read returning for a third time . The Light Blue crew included Australian George Francis Armytage , the only non British participant in the race , who had been educated at Geelong Grammar School . Author and former Oxford rower G. C. Drinkwater described the Oxford crew as something of a disappointment while declaring that Cambridge were a very fine crew . Race Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex side of the river , handing the Surrey station to Oxford . The race started at unk and was rowed on an exceptionally sluggish tide . Cambridge made a good start and held a half length lead at Hammersmith Bridge . As the bend of the river began to give advantage to the Surrey side , Oxford drew back into contention and the crews were level at the bottom of Chiswick Reach . The position of moored barges provided a good course and smooth water for the Dark Blues who took a half length lead . Despite this , fatigue began to set in to the Oxford crew and Cambridge came back into contention . With a steady rhythm , the Light Blues were level at the Bathing Place of Athens and held a clear water advantage by The Bull 's Head pub . A length ahead by Barnes Bridge , Cambridge pulled further ahead to win by three and a half lengths in a time of 22 minutes 35 seconds . It was Cambridge 's fifth consecutive victory and took the overall record to 16 15 in favour of Oxford .
617
Delaware Route 3 ( DE 3 ) is a state highway northeast of Wilmington in New Castle County , Delaware . The route runs from an interchange at Interstate 495 ( I 495 ) in Edgemoor north to DE 92 in Brandywine Hundred . The route passes through the suburban areas of Brandywine Hundred , Bellefonte , and Arden . It intersects U.S. Route 13 ( US 13 ) in Edgemoor , US 13 Business ( US 13 Bus . ) in Bellefonte , and I 95 near Bellevue State Park . DE 3 was built as a state highway during the 1920s and 1930s . By 1968 , the route was designated between US 13 ( now US 13 Bus . ) north to DE 92 on Marsh Road . The route was moved to its current alignment and terminus by 1984 . Route description DE 3 begins at an intersection with Hay Road at an interchange with I 495 in an industrial section of Edgemoor , heading northwest on four lane divided Edgemoor Road . After the I 495 interchange , the road passes over Amtrak 's Northeast Corridor and intersects US 13 in areas of businesses . Past this intersection , DE 3 enters a more residential area as a three lane undivided road with two southbound lanes and one northbound lane . The route narrows to two lanes and turns west and north , coming to an intersection with US 13 Bus . At this point , DE 3 turns northeast to form a concurrency with that route on four lane undivided Philadelphia Pike , running through residential and commercial areas . DE 3 splits from US 13 Bus. in Bellefonte by turning northwest onto Washington Street Extension , a four lane divided highway . The route passes to the southwest of Mount Pleasant High School and turns north onto Marsh Road , a four lane undivided road that forms the western boundary of Bellevue State Park . The road becomes a divided highway as it comes to an interchange with I 95 . Immediately after this interchange , DE 3 crosses under CSX 's Philadelphia Subdivision and narrows into a two lane undivided road that heads into Brandywine Hundred , passing residential neighborhoods and a few businesses . The route gains a second southbound lane between Wilson Road unk Road and Silverside Road . The road turns northeast and forms the western border of Arden . DE 3 turns north again and runs between neighborhoods to the west and woodland to the east , ending at an intersection with DE 92 . Marsh Road continues north past this intersection as an unnumbered road toward the Pennsylvania border . DE 3 has an annual average daily traffic count ranging from a high of 13 , 893 vehicles at the Carr Road intersection to a low of 5 , 021 vehicles on Washington Street Extension . None of DE 3 is part of the National Highway System . History What is now DE 3 existed as a county road by 1920 . Four years later , the road was upgraded to a state highway between Philadelphia Pike and Harvey Road . The state highway was extended north to Naamans Road by 1931 . By 1968 , DE 3 was designated to run from US 13 ( now US 13 Business ) north to DE 92 along Marsh Road . DE 4 was extended onto the Washington Street Extension portion of present day DE 3 three years later . DE 4 was removed from Washington Street Extension by 1981 . Three years later , DE 3 was extended to I 495 in Edgemoor . At this time , DE 3 was realigned to follow Washington Street Extension from Marsh Road to a concurrency with US 13 Business , heading southwest along that route before heading southeast along Edgemoor Road . Major intersections The entire route is in New Castle County .
618
The Central African Republic women 's national football team represents the Central African Republic ( CAR ) in women 's international football competitions . The team has not played any international matches to date , but the country 's youth national team has played in several matches and events , including an Under 19 World Cup qualifying competition in which the team lost in the semi finals . As is the case across Africa , the women 's game faces numerous challenges . Football was only formally organised in 2000 , and there are only 400 players competing at the national level . Women 's World Cup record 1991 to 2003 Did not enter 2007 Withdrew 2011 to 2015 Did not enter African Women 's Championship 1991 to 2004 Did not enter 2006 Withdrew 2008 to 2014 Did not enter Team In 1985 , only a few countries had women 's national football teams , and the Central African Republic was no exception . In 2006 , the team trained five times a week . As of March 2012 , the team was not ranked by FIFA due to it not having played any international matches . The country has a national under 20 side . This team has participated in the qualifying competition for the FIFA U 20 Women 's World Cup , which prior to 2006 was an under 19 tournament in which the CAR team also took part . In 2002 , the qualifiers began with an African Women 's Under 19 Championship . The CAR faced Equatorial Guinea in a home and away series in the first round , winning both matches by scores of 1 0 and 2 0 . The country was set to play Zimbabwe in the quarterfinals , but Zimbabwe withdrew from the competition . In the semi finals , the CAR met South Africa in a home match , but lost 0 2 . The team was scheduled to play a return match in South Africa , but the host country refused to grant the Central African players visas , which led to South Africa 's disqualification from the tournament . South Africa appealed the decision and visas were subsequently issued to Central African players , but the team then withdrew from the competition . In 2010 , the Central African Republic women 's national under 20 football team participated in the African Women 's U 20 World Cup qualifiers . They had a walkover win against So Tom and Prncipe in the first round but did participate in the second or third rounds . Background and development The development of women 's football in Africa faces several challenges , including limited access to education , poverty amongst women , inequalities and human rights abuses targeting women . Many quality players leave the country seeking greater opportunity in Europe or the United States . In addition , most of the funding for women 's football in Africa comes from FIFA , not the local national football associations . The Fdration unk de Football , the CAR 's national football association , was founded in 1961 and became a FIFA affiliate in 1964 . In the CAR , there is no national association staffer dedicated to women 's football and no women on the board or in the executive committee . With assistance from FIFA , the federation developed a women 's programme starting in 2000 . A national competition and school competition were later introduced . Football is one of the most popular women 's sports in the CAR . There were about 200 registered youth players in the country and 200 registered senior players as of 2006 . There are 80 club level teams with women on them , 20 of which are exclusively for women .
619
M 107 was an east west state trunkline highway in the Upper Peninsula of the US state of Michigan . Running for 9 . 576 miles ( 15 . 411 km ) , it connected Lake of the Clouds and the rest of the Porcupine Mountains State Park to M 64 in Silver City . The roadway parallels the Lake Superior shoreline in Ontonagon County . The roadway was built in 1935 and named to honor the 107th Engineer Combat Battalion . The Michigan Legislature named it the 107th Engineer Memorial Road in 2001 . M 107 was transferred from the control of the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) to the Ontonagon County Road Commission on June 4 , 2008 . This transfer decommissioned the M 107 designation and removed it from the state trunkline system . Route description M 107 existed to connect the Porcupine Mountains State Park with the rest of the Michigan state trunkline highway system , running parallel to the Lake Superior shoreline . It began at an intersection with M 64 in Silver City . From there , M 107 ran west into the Porcupine Mountains , crossing the Little Iron River and passing the unk Winter Sports Complex . The western end was at the Lake of the Clouds overlook . Lake of the Clouds Lake of the Clouds is a lake located in Ontonagon County within the Porcupine Mountains Wilderness State Park . The lake is situated in a valley between two ridges in the Porcupine Mountains . Surrounded by wilderness , the lake is a popular destination for hikers , campers , and fishermen . The lake is a prominent feature of the park , and can be viewed at the Lake of the Clouds Overlook at the west terminus of former M 107 . Porcupine Mountains Wilderness State Park Porcupine Mountains State Park was established in 1944 to protect the last large stand of old growth forest remaining in Michigan . Then in 1972 , Michigan passed the Wilderness and Natural areas Act . This act gave the park the new designation of the Porcupine Mountains Wilderness State Park . The facilities provided by the park include an extensive network of backcountry trails for hiking and backpacking , rustic unk cabins , modern campgrounds , swimming and boating areas , and various interpretive programs led by park rangers . The North Country Trail passes through the park . In the winter , a ski area also operates within the park . Because of the copper mining history of the park , it is a cooperating unit of Keweenaw National Historical Park . History The routing of M 107 had been largely unchanged since designation . The designation was created in 1935 as a tribute to the 107th Engineer Combat Battalion . The highway was dedicated on June 13 , 1954 to the battalion at a ceremony by Highway Commissioner Charles M. Ziegler . This ceremony was attended by approximately 1 , 200 people at a highway turnout located along the roadway 4 miles ( 6 km ) west of Silver City . A 3 short ton ( 2 . 7 t ) boulder was placed on a concrete pedestal with a bronze inscription plaque at the location of the ceremony . The Michigan Legislature named M 107 the 107th Engineer Memorial Road in 2001 . On June 4 , 2008 , a transfer agreement was reached transferring the jurisdiction of M 107 from MDOT to the Ontonagon County Road Commission . This transfer marked the end of the M 107 designation as the roadway became a county primary road . The unk has named it the 107th Engineers Memorial Highway . Major intersections The entire highway was in Ontonagon County .
620
Holger Glinicki ( born 25 October 1952 ) is a German wheelchair basketball coach , who coached Hamburger SV . He was assistant coach of the German women 's national team from 2003 to 2005 . He has been coach of the team since 2006 , during which time it has won five European championships , a silver medal at the 2008 Summer Paralympics in Beijing and a gold medal at the 2012 Summer Paralympics in London . Biography Holger Glinicki was born in Hamburg on 25 October 1952 . He was paralysed following a motorcycle accident in 1972 that broke his fourth thoracic vertebra . He became involved in disability sports , playing wheelchair basketball for RSC Hamburg , who were the German national champions in 1983 , and played a total of 123 international games . He became assistant coach of the German women 's national wheelchair basketball team in 2003 , and then coach in 2006 . The team won five consecutive European championships , in 2003 , 2005 , 2007 , 2009 and 2011 , and a silver medal at the 2008 Summer Paralympics in Beijing . The German team started off slow in its games against the United States and China at the 2012 Summer Paralympics , winning these games by slim six point margins . Marina Mohnen thought that they played their best basketball only in the final minutes of a game . They defeated the Australia women 's national wheelchair basketball team at the 2012 Summer Paralympics by 44 58 in front of a crowd of over 12 , 000 at the North Greenwich Arena to win the gold medal . It was the first gold medal that Germany had won in women 's wheelchair basketball at the Paralympics since 1984 . They were awarded the Silver Laurel Leaf by President Joachim Gauck in November 2012 , and were named Team of the Year for 2012 . Glinicki celebrated by plunging off Canary Wharf into London 's River Thames . He was named Hamburg 's coach of the year for 2012 . Glinicki was philosophical about the win , noting in December 2012 that there were many awards and ceremonies , but that the memory of London was fading over time . He returned to coaching his club team , Hamburger SV ( now renamed BG Baskets Hamburg ) , which included national team members Mareike Adermann and Edina Mller ( and Australia 's Bridie Kean ) . It went on to win the national championship for the eighth time in 2013 . The national team was not so fortunate , losing the European Championship to the Netherlands by a point , 56 57 , before a home town crowd in Frankfurt in July 2013 . In April 2014 , Glinicki coached BG Baskets Hamburg to a win in the final of the International Wheelchair Basketball Federation Euro League Challenge Cup , its first International title , with a 62 54 over the Frankfurt Mainhatten Skywheelers . The team also won the Fair Play Award of the International Wheelchair Basketball Federation Europe . Achievements 2003 Gold European Championships ( Hamburg , Germany ) 2005 Gold European Championships ( Villeneuve d 'Ascq , France ) 2007 Gold European Championships ( Wetzlar , Germany ) 2008 Silver Paralympic Games ( Beijing , China ) 2009 Gold European Championships ( Stoke Mandeville , Great Britain ) 2010 Silver World Championships ( Birmingham , Great Britain ) 2011 Gold European Championships ( Nazareth , Israel ) 2012 Gold Paralympic Games ( London , Great Britain ) 2012 Hamburg coach of the year for 2012 . 2013 Silver European Championships ( Frankfurt , Germany ) 2014 Silver at the World Championships ( Toronto , Canada )
621
WASP 43 is a K type star in the Sextans constellation . It is about half the size of the Sun , and has approximately half the mass . WASP 43 has one known planet in orbit , a Hot Jupiter called WASP 43b . At the time of publishing of WASP 43b 's discovery on April 15 , 2011 , the planet was the most closely orbiting Hot Jupiter discovered . The small orbit of WASP 43b is thought to be caused by WASP 43 's unusually low mass . WASP 43 was first observed between January and May 2009 by the SuperWASP project , and was found to be cooler and slightly richer in metals than the Sun . WASP 43 has also been found to be an active star that rotates at a high velocity . Observational history WASP 43 was first observed by the WASP South part of the planet searching SuperWASP project between January and May 2009 . It was determined from the collected data that WASP 43 could potentially host a planet that transited , or crossed in front of , its host star as seen from Earth . Later observations by both the WASP South and SuperWASP North sections of SuperWASP between January and May 2010 yielded a total of 13 , 768 data points . Scientists interpreted that a 0 . 81 day orbit of a possible planet from the data , and followed up with observations using the CORALIE spectrograph on the Leonhard Euler Telescope at Chile 's La Silla Observatory . CORALIE provided radial velocity measurements that indicated that WASP 43 was being transited by a planet that was 1 . 8 times Jupiter 's mass , now dubbed WASP 43b . Another follow up using the unk telescope further defined the light curve of the body transiting WASP 43 . WASP 43b 's discovery was reported on April 15 , 2011 in the journal Astronomy and Astrophysics . Characteristics WASP 43 is a K type star with a mass that is 0 . 58 times that of the Sun , and a radius that is 0 . 93 times that of the Sun . In other words , WASP 43 is far less massive than the Sun , but is approximately the same size . With an effective temperature of 4400 K , WASP 43 is cooler than the Sun . It also has slightly lower quantities of iron than the Sun , with a measured metallicity of Fe H unk ( 89 of that measured in the Sun ) . However , in general , the star has a slightly larger quantity of metals than the Sun . A notable exception is lithium , which is not present in WASP 43 's spectrum . However , the star 's spectrum also indicates that WASP 43 is an active star . WASP 43 has been found to rotate quickly , although the exact mechanism that causes such speed in this rotation is uncertain , it may be possible that this is caused by tidal interactions between WASP 43 and its planet . With an apparent magnitude of 12 . 4 , WASP 43 cannot be seen with the unaided eye . The star is located approximately 80 parsecs ( 260 light years ) away from Earth . Planetary system WASP 43b is a Hot Jupiter with a mass that is 1 . 78 times the mass of Jupiter and a radius that is 0 . 93 times Jupiter 's radius . WASP 43b orbits its host star every 0 . unk days ( 19 . unk hours ) at a distance of 0 . 0142 AU , the closest orbit yet found at the time of WASP 43b 's discovery . WASP 43 's unusually low mass accounts for WASP 43b 's small orbit . Because planets with orbits around stars like WASP 43 are not usually observed , models either suggest that planets like WASP 43b are either uncommon or have short lifetimes caused by a decay in their orbits . WASP 43b has a density of 2 . 20 g cm3
622
Tropical Storm Hazel was a weak East Pacific tropical cyclone that caused heavy damage in Mexico . The costliest storm of the 1965 Pacific hurricane season , it formed from a northward moving disturbance that originated southeast of Socorro Island . After reaching tropical storm strength on the Saffir Simpson Hurricane Scale , the cyclone turned to the east northeast . The storm made landfall near Mazatln on September 26 and quickly transitioned an extratropical cyclone . Although fairly weak , the system was responsible for causing heavy damage to the Mexican economy . Flooding in Mazatln washed out many houses and submerged others in muddy water . At least six people died with damages totaling 10 million ( 1965 USD ) and possibly higher . The name Hazel was retired following this storm . Meteorological history On September 22 , a weak tropical disturbance was first observed southeast of Socorro Island . The disturbance moved northward uneventfully until late on September 23 , when the disturbance became a tropical depression at a distance of 100 mi ( 160 km ) . The next day , the depression intensified into a tropical storm while moving north at 8 mph ( 15 km h ) . Later on September 24 , satellite imagery suggested winds of up to 50 mph ( 80 km h ) near the center . Around that time , Tropical Storm Hazel reached its peak pressure of 986 mbar ( 29 . 1 inHg ) . On September 26 , a ship reported peak winds of 60 mph ( 95 km h ) . The storm then moved towards the east northeast and made landfall just south of Mazatln on September 26 and transitioned into an extratropical cyclone shortly thereafter . Preparations , impact , and aftermath Since meteorologists were expecting Hazel to remain away from land , many residents were unprepared for the storm . However , 10 , 000 people fled the low lying areas of Mazatln . Substantial damage was recorded in the city Many rivers overflowed its banks , and roughly 5 , 000 people were without shelter . The entire city of Mazatln was without power and the city water system was damaged . At least 50 boats were damaged or sunk by the storm . The damage from the storm was estimated to be at least 10 million ( 1965 USD ) , making Hazel the costliest tropical cyclone of the season . Three people were reported killed in Mazatln , two fishermen died when attempted to ride out the storm , and a boy who was electrocuted by a downed power line . Three additional deaths from electrocutions were reported in a rural section of Nayarit . Due to a communications breakdown , no word was received about six vacationers in Mazatln . The city was only reachable by boat . In addition , several shacks made of wood , tin , and cardboard were either washed away or inundated by up to 6 ft ( 1 . 8 m ) of muddy water while flooding from the storm had washed out bridges and roads throughout the state and some merges were cancelled . The cyclone also had a major impact on the coastal economy since Mazatln 's shrimp fleet , which makes up the base of the city 's economy . In southern Sinaloa , 55 , 000 acres ( 220 km2 ) of cotton , corn , and sorghum were lost . There were also reports of heavy losses to livestock . After the storm , 1 , 000 people were sought shelter in schools in the farm areas of Barron and El unk , people were taking refuge on top of trees and homes . Army units and relief agencies rushed to provide aid to coastal cities . The name Hazel was retired the name was replaced with Heather in 1969 .
623
Stephen Fry 's Podgrams is a series of podcasts performed and recorded by British comedian and author Stephen Fry . First made downloadable on 20 February 2008 , the series of podgrams is a collection of Fry 's writings , speeches and collective thoughts . The podgrams vary in length and are not released at any set date . The podgrams are one of the most downloaded podcast series on the internet , and have appeared in the top five most downloaded podcasts from iTunes . Critical reception has been positive , as reviewers have found the podgrams interesting and engaging . Content The subject of Stephen Fry 's Podgrams differs from episode to episode . Normally , each podgram begins with an update from Fry about what he has been doing recently , his activities since the last podgram , and any housekeeping that he needs to do concerning his website , unk Fry then continues to discuss his recent activities although in other editions the introduction leads in to the main subject . The text of the podgrams is sometimes published as part of Fry 's web logs , or unk . Fry 's podgrams consist of anecdotes , such as how he broke his arm while filming a documentary in Brazil . He has also presented lectures , discussed certain themes in detail , or argued against things he sees as being wrong in today 's society . In discussing his hatred of dancing , he said of music , I do not want to use it as an exercise track for a farcical , meaningless , disgusting , brainless physical public exhibition of windmilling , gyrating and thrashing in a hot , loud room or hall . The material is usually original for each podcast , but he may revisit topics that he has previously discussed . For example , one podgram consisted of a speech he had previously made concerning public service broadcasting . His apologetic explanation for the repeated subject matter described his busy life , and he stated that the podgram was all I can offer you . Reception Stephen Fry 's Podgrams have been well received by critics . The series has been in the list of the top five most downloaded podcasts on iTunes , even though only a few episodes have been made so far . Chris Campling of The Times said that Fry was smug , but then he has a lot to be smug about , not least the ability to waffle for 30 to 45 minutes about not very much without being boring or condescending . The Good Web Guide also recommends the series , saying that whether he is bringing you up to date with his recent adventures of just riffing on something that interests him , he is always compelling company . The guide also states , Stephen Fry is one of those very rare people who are incapable of being boring . Jacques Ren Zammit of The Malta Independent reviewed one episode in which Fry talked about the problems within journalism . Zammit wrote positively on Fry 's comments saying , I share Stephen 's worries completely . Every time I sit down to type my excessively long column , I am burdened by the thought that after all this is just a collection of thoughts by someone who may very well be perceived as a pompous ass and if Stephen Fry has these disquisitions , then I definitely should be doing some worrying myself . Episodes The podgrams are released sporadically , with gaps between different podgrams being from one month up to several months . The length of each podgram varies widely as well . The second series began after Fry 's website was revamped . Series 1 Series 2
624
USS Kickapoo was a double turreted Milwaukee class river monitor , the lead ship of her class , built for the Union Navy during the American Civil War . The ship supported Union forces during the Mobile Campaign as they attacked Confederate fortifications defending the city of Mobile , Alabama in early 1865 . She was placed in reserve after the end of the war and sold in 1874 . Description Kickapoo was 229 feet ( 69 . 8 m ) long overall and had a beam of 56 feet ( 17 . 1 m ) . The ship had a depth of hold of 8 feet 6 inches ( 2 . 6 m ) and a draft of 6 feet ( 1 . 8 m ) . She had a tonnage of 970 tons burthen and displaced 1 , 300 long tons ( 1 , 300 t ) . Her crew numbered 138 officers and enlisted men . The ship was powered by two 2 cylinder horizontal non condensing steam engines , each driving two propellers , using steam generated by seven tubular boilers . The engines were designed to reach a top speed of 9 knots ( 17 km h 10 mph ) . Kickapoo carried 156 long tons ( 159 t ) of coal . The ship 's main armament consisted of four smoothbore , muzzle loading 11 inch Dahlgren guns mounted in two twin gun turrets . Her forward turret was designed by James Eads and her rear turret by John Ericsson . Each gun weighed approximately 16 , 000 pounds ( 7 , 300 kg ) and could fire a 136 pound ( 61 . 7 kg ) shell up to a range of 3 , 650 yards ( 3 , 340 m ) at an elevation of 15 . The cylindrical turrets were protected by eight layers of wrought iron 1 inch ( 25 mm ) plates . The sides of the hull consisted of three layers of one inch plates , backed by 15 inches ( 380 mm ) of pine . The deck was heavily cambered to allow headroom for the crew on such a shallow draft and it consisted of a single iron plate .75 inches ( 19 mm ) thick . The pilothouse , positioned behind and above the fore turret , was protected by 3 inches ( 76 mm ) of armor . Construction and service James Eads was awarded the contracts for all four of the Milwaukee class ships . He subcontracted Kickapoo to G. B. Allen Co. of St. Louis , Missouri who laid down the ship in 1862 . She was the first U.S. Navy ship to be named after the Indian tribe , and was launched on 12 March 1864 . Kickapoo was brought to Mound City , Illinois , on the Ohio River , for fitting out and commissioned on 8 July 1864 with Lieutenant David C. Woods in command . The ship was initially assigned to the Mississippi River Squadron and spent the summer off the mouth of the Red River . She was transferred to the West Gulf Blockading Squadron on 1 October . Although the victory at the Battle of Mobile Bay on 5 August had closed the port of Mobile to blockade runners , the city itself had not been taken . The Confederates fortified the approaches to the city and heavily mined the shallow waters surrounding it . Lieutenant Commander unk P. Jones relieved Woods on 23 December . On 28 March 1865 , Kickapoo was at anchor in the Blakely River when her sister ship Milwaukee struck a mine in an area already swept some 200 yards ( 180 m ) away . Milwaukee remained afloat forward long enough to allow her crew to escape without loss and they were rescued by Kickapoo . She rescued the crew of the river monitor Osage the following day after that ship also struck a mine and sank . In late June , the ship sailed to New Orleans to be placed in ordinary she was decommissioned on 29 July . Kickapoo was renamed to Cyclops on 15 June 1869 and then unk on 10 August . The ship was sold on 12 September 1874 .
625
Hurricane Bridget of June 1971 was one of the worst hurricanes to strike the Mexican city of Acapulco . It formed on June 14 as a tropical depression , which is a minimal tropical cyclone with winds less than gale force . However , it was soon upgraded to a tropical storm , and Bridget steadily intensified to become a hurricane on June 15 . After peaking at Category 2 intensity , it weakened to a tropical storm on June 17 , then made landfall in Mexico . Hours later , however , it turned offshore as a tropical depression . Bridget dissipated on June 20 after leaving heavy damage and 17 deaths in the Acapulco area . Meteorological history The origins of the hurricane were from a tropical wave that exited the coast of Africa on June 3 . Around four days later the system entered the Caribbean Sea , passing over the San Andres islands on June 12 . The area of convection , or thunderstorms , spread across Central America . A surface circulation developed offshore El Salvador , and the system formed into a tropical depression on June 14 . For much of the summer of 1971 , a large pool of anomalously warm water temperatures extended from Central America to the Gulf of California off the Mexican coast , reaching 89 . 6 F ( 32 C ) . This allowed for steady intensification as it tracked through the Gulf of Tehuantepec . Early on June 15 , a ship reported winds of 40 mph ( 65 km h ) and 13 ft ( 4 . 0 m ) seas , which prompted the Eastern Pacific Hurricane Center ( EPHC ) to upgrade the depression to Tropical Storm Bridget . The storm maintained a general northwest track toward the southwest Mexican coastline . It gradually intensified , and satellite images late on June 16 indicated that Bridget attained hurricane status about 55 mi ( 95 km ) southwest of Puerto ngel , Oaxaca . It quickly intensified as it neared the coast , reaching winds of 100 mph ( 155 km h ) just southwest of Acapulco coastline before weakening . Bridget paralleled the Mexican coastline just offshore before making landfall at 1200 UTC on June 17 , about 100 mi ( 160 km ) southeast of Manzanillo , Colima . The hurricane rapidly weakened over the mountainous terrain , emerging into the Pacific Ocean as a tropical depression after being over land for only a few hours . Bridget turned westward as a weak tropical cyclone , eventually dissipating on June 20 to the south of the Baja California peninsula . Preparations and impact While passing to the southwest of Acapulco , Bridget produced heavy rainfall and strong wind gusts reaching 104 mph ( 167 km h ) . The winds damaged or destroyed many roofs across Acapulco , signs , and windows . Strong winds also downed trees and power lines , which left most of Acapulco without electricity . Along the coast , the hurricane produced high tides and waves which flooded low lying coastal areas with around 1 . 5 ft ( 0 . 46 m ) of water . The high tides damaged coastal properties and destroyed 21 boats , including the flagship of the Admiral of the Mexican Navy . Debris clogged drains caused drainage facilities to exceed their capacities following the heavy rainfall . Overall , the storm killed 17 people in the region , and caused five additional injuries . Damage in the area around Acapulco was estimated at around 500 million pesos ( 40 million USD ) . This made it the worst hurricane to hit the city in at least 25 years . Where Bridget made its final landfall , no damage reports were available due to the sparse population of the area .
626
A 29 Cent Robbery is a 1910 American silent short drama produced by the Thanhouser Company . The film features the debut of Marie Eline in the main role as Edna Robinson , a young girl who foils an attempt by a robbery to loot her family 's home . All the thief manages to take is her toy bank , containing 29 cents . Edna ends up taking it upon herself to catch the thief after the police fail in the task . It was reviewed positively by critics and was viewed across the United States . The film was the first split reel by Thanhouser , containing this short and The Old Shoe Came Back on a single reel . Plot A thief sneaks into the Robinson home with the intention of looting it . He is discovered by a young girl , Edna Robinson , and flees taking only her toy bank containing the paltry sum of 29 cents USD , equivalent to 7 in 2015 . She is so upset about the theft of her bank that the parents decide to inform the police . They go to the police station and report the robbery , but the police laugh at them . The parents go home and inform Edna that the police will not do anything , which makes her all the more determined . So Edna goes to the police station by herself and informs the police captain of the robbery and its details . He assigns his officers to work on the case and they arrest several men carrying toy banks . They ask Edna to identify the robber , but she says he is not present . The police set the men free and Edna decides to take the task upon herself . So she gets a police whistle and starts investigating on her own , eventually finding the thief . Cast Marie Eline as Edna Robinson Grace Eline Production The director of the film is not known for certain , but two Thanhouser directors are possible . Barry O 'Neil was the stage name of Thomas J. McCarthy , who would direct many important Thanhouser pictures , including its first two reeler , Romeo and Juliet . Lloyd B. Carleton was the stage name of Carleton B. Little , a director who would stay with the Thanhouser Company for a short time , moving to Biograph Company by the summer of 1910 . The American Film Institute credits Barry O 'Neil as the director . Film historian Q. David Bowers does not attribute either as the director for this particular production , but he does credit Blair Smith as the cameraman . The film was the debut of Marie Eline , soon to be known and famous as the Thanhouser Kid . Her older sister , Grace Eline , later recalled being in this Thanhouser production . Grace Eline did not become an official member of the Thanhouser company until 1913 . Release and reception The one reel drama , approximately 750 feet ( 230 m ) , was released on Friday April 15 , 1910 . Another short , The Old Shoe Came Back was also included on the reel , making it a split reel . It was also the first split reel release from the Thanhouser Company . This release was the first Friday release of the Thanhouser company , switching from its Tuesday weekly release . According to an advertisement in the Moving Picture News , the weekly release dates were changed at the request of exhibitors . The film received favorable reviews by critics . The Morning Telegraph said the story was too far fetched to be believable , but it was done in an amusing way . The Moving Picture World stated that the acting and camerawork was satisfactory . The film was advertised in numerous states , sometimes as a comedy , by theaters in Indiana , Kansas , New York , and Pennsylvania .
627
Liberty Bell refers to one of two replicas in Portland , Oregon , United States , of the original Liberty Bell in Philadelphia . The first replica was purchased in 1962 , and installed in the rotunda of City Hall in 1964 . On November 21 , 1970 , it was destroyed in a bomb blast that also damaged the building 's east portico . The second replica was installed outside of City Hall soon after the blast ( c . 1972 ) with funds from private donations . It was constructed at the McShane Bell Foundry in Baltimore and dedicated on November 6 , 1975 . The bell is listed as a state veterans memorial by the Oregon Department of Veterans ' Affairs . History Portland has had two replicas of Philadelphia 's original Liberty Bell . The first replica was purchased in 1962 for 8 , 000 . It arrived in Portland in June 1963 , with a damaged base and beam since the sculpture had slipped off its supports . Repairs were made before the replica was paraded through the city on a flatbed truck , then put into storage until Independence Day . The bell was publicly rung for the first time during holiday celebrations and installed in City Hall 's rotunda on May 5 , 1964 . On November 21 , 1970 , a dynamite bomb that had been placed beneath the bell detonated , damaging City Hall 's east portico columns , shattering windows , and destroying the replica . No one was injured , but shards of bell went everywhere through the main portico . The crime remains unsolved no one claimed responsibility or was prosecuted for the blast . In 1993 , The Oregonian said Wild , highly vocal speculation blamed the blast on either left wing or right wing terrorists , depending , of course , on the accusers ' own political persuasions . Others guessed it was a monumental prank that careened out of control . Portland 's second replica is located outside of City Hall 's east portico , near the intersection of Southwest Fourth and Madison streets and across from Terry Schrunk Plaza . Private donations totaling 8 , 000 allowed a new bell to be purchased for 6 , 000 and installed not long after the blast ( c . 1972 ) . The bell has also been attributed as a gift from Philadelphia residents to Portland school children . It was constructed at the McShane Bell Foundry in Baltimore and received a 25 year guarantee against breakage . The replica was dedicated on November 6 , 1975 . It was surveyed and considered treatment needed by the Smithsonian Institution 's Save Outdoor Sculpture program in October 1993 . The Oregon Department of Veterans ' Affairs lists the bell as one of the state 's veterans memorials . Description and reception The 1 ton ( 910 kg ) sculpture is made of Best Genuine Bell Metal , a sixteen percent min copper alloy , and measures approximately 66 by 64 by 66 inches ( 1 . 7 m 1 . 6 m 1 . 7 m ) . It is attached to a horizontal beam that is supported by two V shaped beams . The base is made of brick , metal ( steel ) and wood ( mahogany covering ) that measures approximately 13 by 76 by 54 . 5 inches ( 0 . 33 m 1 . 93 m 1 . 38 m ) . The west side displays the inscription Pass and Stow Philada unk . Raised lettering along the top of the bell reads unk LIBERTY unk ALL THE LAND unk ALL THE unk unk unk . XX unk . BY ORDER OF THE unk OF THE unk OF unk FOR THE STATE HOUSE IN unk . The founder 's mark also appears . Smithsonian categorizes the sculpture as allegorical for symbolizing liberty . The bell has been included in published walking tours of Portland .
628
The 18th Boat Race took place on the River Thames on 16 March 1861 . Held annually , The Boat Race is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge . The 1861 event , which featured the first ever non British competitor , suffered numerous interruptions from river traffic . Oxford won by 16 lengths . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Oxford by one length in the previous year 's race and led overall with ten wins to Oxford 's seven . The challenge to race was sent from Oxford in the October term which was accepted by Cambridge . Both boats were built specifically for the race , Cambridge 's by Searle and Oxford 's by Salter . Oxford were occasionally looked after by H. Baxter , who rowed in the 1860 race , and C. G. Lane who represented the Dark Blues in the 1858 and 1859 races . The race was umpired by Joseph William Chitty who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race . Crews The Cambridge crew weighed an average of 11 st 4 . 875 lb ( 71 . 9 kg ) , 0 . 875 pounds ( 0 . 4 kg ) per rower more than their Dark Blue opposition . George Morrison returned to the Oxford crew , having rowed in the previous year 's race . Cambridge saw Chaytor , Blake , Coventry and Hall return . The race featured the first non British rower in the history of the event William Robertson of Wadham College , Oxford was educated at Geelong Grammar School in Australia before representing the Dark Blues at number four . Race As a result of strong winds and a large volume of land water running into the river , the race was re scheduled for 11am . Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey station to Oxford . The starter , Edward Searle , gave the command to start , with neither boat taking an early advantage . By the Star and Garter pub , Cambridge had edged ahead and spurted to take a half length lead and by the Duke 's Head pub , the Light Blues had moved further in front . A steering error from Gaskell , the Cambridge cox , saw their lead eroded such that Oxford led by Craven Cottage . At the football ground , rough water created by one of the nearby steamboats ( who , according to MacMichael , had shamefully put her paddle wheels into motion ) caused a swell to slow the Oxford boat . The Dark Blue crew 's rhythm combined with more poor steering from Cambridge allowed Oxford to pull away , three lengths ahead by the Crab Tree and six by Hammersmith Bridge . Further interruption to Cambridge 's passage came from a sailing barge which they forced to steer around , and by Chiswick , they were ten lengths behind . Oxford suffered briefly at the hands of a barge blocking their route but by Barnes Bridge were at least twelve lengths ahead . They passed the flag boat ( indicating the finish of the race ) at the Ship Tavern in a time of 23 minutes 30 seconds , and a lead of 16 lengths . It was the largest winning margin since the 1841 race and would be the first in a series of nine consecutive victories for Oxford .
629
M 143 , also known as Michigan Avenue , is a previously unsigned spur state trunkline highway in the south central region of the US state of Michigan . The M 143 portion of Michigan Avenue runs from the East Lansing city limit to a junction with M 43 at Grand River Avenue . This highway is the second time that there has been an M 143 in Michigan . The first was a connection to the original Cheboygan State Park . The current is a remnant of M 43 in the Lansing area . Route description Michigan Avenue travels through the Greater Lansing area on an east west axis which runs through the Capitol Building in downtown Lansing . While disconnected between Martin Luther King Jr . Boulevard and Capitol Avenue in the downtown area , the eastern portion of Michigan Avenue begins at the Capitol and runs easterly , ending in downtown East Lansing . For much of its length in the City of Lansing , Michigan Avenue is a five lane thoroughfare maintained by the city . Just west of US Highway 127 ( US 127 ) , the street transitions into a six lane boulevard and proceeds easterly to the East Lansing city limit . From that point easterly for about a mile ( 1 . 6 km ) to M 43 at Grand River Avenue in downtown East Lansing , Michigan Avenue is state maintained as a four to six lane boulevard designated M 143 . Michigan Avenue here is the northern boundary of the main campus of Michigan State University near the Red Cedar River . This highway designation was not signed on Michigan Avenue for a number of years , even though the street was under the control of the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) . In 2011 , MDOT 's traffic surveys showed that on average , between 19 , 503 and 20 , 308 vehicles used the trunkline daily . No section of M 143 is listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History Previous designation The first usage of M 143 was designated from US 27 ( now M 27 ) south of Cheboygan eastward for about a mile on Lincoln Avenue to the original Cheboygan State Park in 1931 . The park was removed from the state park system during World War II . The highway along Lincoln Avenue was transferred back to local control in late 1960 . Current designation In late 1962 , US 16 was decommissioned in the state of Michigan as Interstate 96 ( I 96 ) was completed . With the removal of US 16 , several highways were rerouted through Lansing . M 43 was rerouted along M 78 to Grand River Avenue and then along Grand River Avenue to replace US 16 east to Webberville . The former M 43 on Michigan Avenue east of Cedar and Larch streets was redesignated M 143 . As part of the creation of the Capitol Loop , M 143 and Michigan Avenue in Lansing was partially transferred back to local control . The section between Cedar and Larch streets was retained as part of the new Capitol Loop and the remainder inside the city of Lansing was removed from the state trunkline highway system on October 13 , 1989 . At the time , M 143 in the City of East Lansing was not transferred , and MDOT removed the signage , creating an unsigned trunkline . Since then , MDOT has used the trunkline 's designation on maps and in brochures related to a 2013 reconstruction project on Michigan Avenue in East Lansing . Signage has also been erected , and the highway has been restored to the official state map in 2013 . Major intersections The entire highway is in Ingham County .
630
The 38th Boat Race , an annual side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames , took place on 8 April 1881 . In a race umpired by Robert Lewis Lloyd , Oxford won by a margin of three lengths in a time of 21 minutes 51 seconds taking the overall record to 20 17 in their favour . Background The Boat Race is an annual rowing eight competition between the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge . First held in 1829 , the competition is a 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) race along The Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities and followed throughout the United Kingdom and worldwide . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions having won the previous year 's race by three and three quarter lengths , and held the overall lead , with 19 victories to Cambridge 's 17 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . Cambridge were coached by Constantine William Benson ( who rowed for Cambridge in the 1872 , 1873 and 1875 races ) , Charles Gurdon ( a Blue four times from 1876 to 1879 ) , Thomas Edmund Hockin ( also rowed four times from 1876 to 1879 ) and Edward Henry Prest ( who represented Cambridge in the 1878 , 1879 and 1880 races ) . Oxford 's coaches were S. D. Darbishire ( who rowed for Oxford in the 1868 , 1869 and 1870 races ) , William Grenfell ( who rowed in 1877 and 1879 , and was non rowing boat club president in 1879 ) , H. B. Southwell ( a Blue three times from 1878 to 1880 ) and W. B. Woodgate ( who rowed twice , in the 1862 and 1863 races ) . The umpire for the race was Robert Lewis Lloyd ( who had rowed for Cambridge four times between 1856 and 1859 ) and the starter was Edward Searle . The night before the race , an anniversary dinner was held to belatedly commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of the event . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 11 st 11 . 75 lb ( 75 . 0 kg ) , 2 pounds ( 0 . 9 kg ) more than their opponents . Cambridge 's crew included two former Blues , with Humphrey Sandford making his third appearance in the event . Oxford saw five rowers with Boat Race experience return , including J. H. T. Wharton who was rowing for a third time . Race On the day of the race , Oxford 's number six David Edward Brown was ill author and rower George Drinkwater suggested that it was necessary for West Oxford 's stroke to nurse him as much as possible . Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey side of the river to Cambridge . In a cold north easterly wind , the race commenced at unk with the Dark Blues outrating Cambridge and taking an early lead . Taking advantage of the favourable bend in the river , Oxford were half a length ahead by the Crab Tree pub . Cambridge began to reduce the deficit as Oxford decreased their stroke rate , and by Harrods Furniture Depository the crews were nearly level . Although the bend of the river now was in favour of Cambridge , Oxford increased their rating once again and by Hammersmith Bridge held a three quarter length lead . They held off spurts from the Light Blues along Chiswick Reach and by Chiswick Eyot were clear . A two length lead at Barnes Railway Bridge was increased to three by the time Oxford passed the finishing post , winning in a time of 21 minutes 51 seconds . It was Oxford 's second consecutive victory and took the overall record to 20 17 in their favour .
631
Route 68 is a state highway located in Burlington County in the U.S. state of New Jersey , serving as the main connector between the New Jersey Turnpike and Joint Base McGuire Dix Lakehurst ( JB MDL ) . It runs from County Route 616 ( CR 616 ) inside Fort Dix to U.S. Route 206 ( US 206 ) in Mansfield Township , 0 . 34 mi ( 0 . 55 km ) south of the New Jersey Turnpike a total route length of 7 . 92 mi ( 12 . 75 km ) . The route passes through Wrightstown and Springfield Township as a two lane undivided road , crossing CR 537 . It continues through Mansfield Township as a four lane divided highway , intersecting with CR 543 . Outside of JB MDL , Route 68 passes through mostly agricultural and residential areas . The route was originally designated as Route S39 in 1941 , a spur of Route 39 ( present day US 206 ) that was to provide improved access to Fort Dix during World War II . In 1953 , Route S39 became Route 68 and it was legislated to extend south of Fort Dix to the Four Mile Circle with Route 70 and Route 72 . A freeway for Route 68 was proposed to run between a planned Route 38 freeway and the Four Mile Circle in 1960 however , it was never built . Route description Route 68 begins at General Circle ( inaccessible to the general public ) with CR 616 on the grounds of Fort Dix in New Hanover Township , heading to the north as a four lane divided highway called Fort Dix Road . After passing a security gate to JB MDL , the road continues through public areas of the fort and crosses into Wrightstown , where it narrows into a two lane undivided road before heading into Springfield Township . The route exits JB MDL at its intersection with CR 670 and upon leaving the fort , it heads through a mix of farmland and woodland . Route 68 crosses CR 537 before continuing north into agricultural areas with some homes . The road enters Mansfield Township where it widens into a four lane divided highway as it intersects a road that provides access to parallel CR 545 to the east , which heads south to serve as an access road to McGuire Air Force Base . From here , the route turns northwest and crosses CR 543 before heading through a mix of farm fields and suburban residential neighborhoods . Past the intersection with White Pine Road , Route 68 passes in between two large auto auction lots . The route terminates at an intersection with US 206 located a short distance south of that route 's interchange with the New Jersey Turnpike ( Interstate 95 ) . Route 68 serves as the main access route between Fort Dix and the New Jersey Turnpike . History As part of improving road access to the Fort Dix Military Reservation at the onset of World War II , a Works Progress Administration project improved the paved road connecting the fort to Bordentown . In 1941 , this road was legislated as Route S39 , a state highway spur of Route 39 ( now US 206 ) that was to run from the fort to Mansfield Square . Construction on the access road was completed in 1943 at a cost of over 2 million . Route S39 became Route 68 in the 1953 New Jersey state highway renumbering . The same year , an extension of Route 68 was legislated to run south from Fort Dix to the intersection with Route 70 and Route 72 at the Four Mile Circle . In 1961 , a freeway was proposed along the Route 68 corridor , running from a planned Route 38 freeway near Fort Dix south to Route 70 and Route 72 however , this was never built . Major intersections The entire route is in Burlington County .
632
The 29th Boat Race took place on the 27 March 1872 . The Boat Race is an annual side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . In a race umpired by Robert Lewis Lloyd , Cambridge won by two lengths in a time of 21 minutes 15 seconds taking the overall record to 16 13 in Oxford 's favour . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Oxford by one length in the previous year 's race , while Oxford led overall with sixteen wins to Cambridge 's twelve . During the build up to the race , Oxford 's boat club president , Robert Lesley of Pembroke College , strained his side and was prohibited from practice . Worse still , four days before the race , the number two rower Armistead broke down and was replaced by C. C. Knollys , also an untrained man . Conversely , Cambridge saw John Goldie return as president for the third consecutive year , and while all the previous year 's Blues were available , four were selected for the race . Oxford were coached by E. G. Banks of Worcester College and Frank Willan who had rowed for the Dark Blues four times between the 1866 and 1869 races . Cambridge 's coaches were John Graham Chambers ( who rowed for Cambridge in the 1862 and 1863 races , and was non rowing boat club president for the 1865 race ) and William Henry Lowe ( who rowed in three times , in the 1868 , 1870 and 1871 races ) . While sliding seats had started to come to prominence , having been first used by a crew from Pembroke College , Goldie was reluctant to allow them to be tried for the race and disallowed the Light Blue boat manufacturer Harry Clasper from fitting them . The umpire for the race was Robert Lewis Lloyd , the first time since The Boat Race 1856 that the event was not overseen by Joseph William Chitty . Lewis Lloyd had rowed for Cambridge four times , between the 1856 and the 1859 races inclusively . Edward Searle once again performed the duties of the starter . Crews The Cambridge crew weighed an average of 11 st 12 . 875 lb ( 75 . 6 kg ) , 2 . 375 pounds ( 1 . 1 kg ) more than their opponents . Oxford 's crew contained three rowers with Boat Race experience , and saw F. H. Hall return to cox the Dark Blue boat for the third time . Along with stroke and president Goldie , Cambridge 's crew included Edmund Spencer and Edward Randolph ( each rowing their third race ) , and John Brooks Close who had rowed in 1871 . Race Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey side of the river to Oxford . The race started at unk in the teeth of a bitter north easterly gale and snow storm , and proved uneventful with the Light Blues winning by two lengths in a time of 21 minutes 15 seconds . Partway through the race , Goldie had broken a bolt in his rigging although he could no longer contribute to the power of the Light Blue boat , he continued to stroke and provide the required rhythm to lead Cambridge to the victory . It was Cambridge 's third consecutive win and took the overall record to 16 13 in Oxford 's favour .
633
Tropical Depression One was the wettest tropical cyclone in Cuba since Hurricane Flora of 1963 . The first tropical cyclone of the 1988 Atlantic hurricane season , the system developed on May 30 from an area of disturbed weather in the northwestern Caribbean Sea . The tropical depression headed northeastward , making landfall in La Habana Province , Cuba without intensifying . Crossing Cuba , the depression became very disorganized as it emerged into the Straits of Florida and degenerated into an open trough on June 2 . Although only a tropical depression , the system flooded central and western Cuba with over 40 inches ( 1000 mm ) of rain , causing 37 fatalities , damage to over 1 , 000 houses , and the evacuation of about 65 , 000 residents . Meteorological history On May 31 , Tropical Depression One developed in the western Caribbean Sea , a day before the start of the Atlantic hurricane season . The depression moved northeastward , passing just northwest of Isla de la Juventud before striking the Cuban mainland south of Havana . As it crossed the country , its strongest rainfall was east of the center , and the depression failed to intensify beyond winds of 30 mph ( 45 km h ) . The National Hurricane Center never expected it to strengthen further , due to unfavorable wind shear . After a hurricane hunters flight could not detect a circulation , The depression degenerated into an open trough east of Florida on June 2 . Impact and aftermath While crossing Cuba , the depression dropped heavy rainfall , affecting the provinces of Cienfuegos , Villa Clara , Sancti Spritus , Camagey , and Ciego de vila . The precipitation peaked at 40 . 35 in ( 1 , 025 mm ) in Cienfuegos Province , of which 34 . 13 in ( 867 mm ) fell in one day . At the time , it was the second highest rainfall total in the country , only behind Hurricane Flora in 1963 , although Hurricane Dennis in 2005 later surpassed the depression . Rainfall reached 22 . 76 in ( 578 mm ) in Cienfuegos and 21 . 90 in ( 556 mm ) in Sancti Spritus . The heavy rainfall caused flooding in Camagey that damaged about 5 , 700 houses and destroyed 200 . The flooding also damaged 15 schools and hospitals , as well as several crop buildings . The floods left widespread areas without electricity or communications . Six bridges were destroyed in central and western Cuba , which , in addition to damaged roads and rail lines , severely disrupted the country 's transportation infrastructure . A total of 131 roads were unpassable due to the flooding , and 55 rail lines were damaged . The flood waters prompted officials to evacuate 65 , 000 residents in low lying areas , including using helicopters and amphibious vehicles . A tornado was reported in the city of Camagey , destroying five Soviet planes and several buildings . By the day after the depression dissipated , the Cuban government reported nine deaths , although the death toll was later finalized at 37 . The depression also killed thousands of livestock . Following the severe flooding , the Red Cross sent aid to the victims of Tropical Depression One in Cuba . The Red Cross had sent medical units , tents , blankets , and other necessary item to the victims by plane . Overall about 90 , 000 people were affected . With most of the rainfall occurring east of the center , the depression did not produce significant precipitation in Florida . Precipitation of around 1 in ( 25 mm ) spread across the Miami area , peaking at 3 . 18 in ( 81 mm ) in Pompano Beach .
634
USS Washington ( BB 47 ) , a Colorado class battleship , was the second ship of the United States Navy named in honor of the 42nd state . Her keel was laid down on 30 June 1919 at Camden , New Jersey , by the New York Shipbuilding Corporation . She was launched on 1 September 1921 , sponsored by Miss Jean Summers , the daughter of Congressman John W. Summers of Washington . On 8 February 1922 , two days after the signing of the Washington Naval Treaty for the Limitation of Naval Armaments , all construction work ceased on the 75 . 9 unk superdreadnought . She was sunk as a gunnery target on 26 November 1924 by the battleships New York and Texas . Design Washington was 624 feet ( 190 m ) long , and had a beam of 97 . 5 feet ( 29 . 7 m ) and a draft of 30 . 5 feet ( 9 . 3 m ) . She displaced 32 , 600 long tons ( 33 , 123 t ) tons . The ship 's primary armament consisted of eight 16 inch ( 406 mm ) 45 caliber guns in four twin gun turrets . This was augmented by a secondary battery of 20 5 inch ( 127 mm ) 51 caliber guns . The ship was also armed with eight 3 inch ( 76 mm ) 23 caliber antiaircraft guns . The new underwater protection scheme featured five compartments separated by bulkheads on either side of the ship an outer empty one , three filled , and an empty inner one . In addition , the eight boilers were moved from their location in previous designs and placed in separate spaces to port and starboard of the turbo electric power plant , forming another line of defense the ship could still sail even if one or even an entire side of boilers was incapacitated due to battle damage . This new arrangement forced the chief aesthetic change between the New Mexicos and Tennessees the single large funnel of the former was replaced by two smaller funnels in the latter . History With fiscal year 1917 appropriations , bids on the four Colorados were opened on 18 October 1916 though Maryland 's keel was laid on 24 April 1917 . The other three battleships , including Washington , were not laid down until 1919 20 . With the cancellation of the first South Dakota class , the Colorados were the last U.S. battleships to enter service for nearly two decades . They were also the final U.S. battleships to use twin gun turrets the North Carolina and second South Dakota classes used nine 16 45 caliber guns and the Iowas used nine 16 in 50 caliber in three triple turrets . Washington was laid down on 30 June 1919 . On 8 February 1922 , two days after the signing of the Washington Naval Treaty for the Limitation of all Naval Armaments , all construction work was stopped on the 75 . 9 percent completed superdreadnought . By that time , she had her underwater armored protection in place . Sinking The ship was towed out in November 1924 to be used as a gunnery target . On the first day of testing , the ship was hit by two 400 pound ( 180 kg ) torpedoes and three 1 tonne ( 1 . 1 short tons ) near miss bombs causing minor damage and a list of three . She then had 400 pounds ( 180 kg ) of TNT detonated on board , but remained afloat . Two days later , the ship was hit by fourteen 14 inch shells dropped from 4 , 000 feet ( 1 , 200 m ) , but only one penetrated . The ship was finally sunk by Texas and New York with fourteen more 14 inch shells . After the test , it was decided that the existing deck armor on battleships was inadequate , and that future battleships should be fitted with triple bottoms , which was underwater armor with three layers .
635
M 199 is a state trunkline highway near Albion in the US state of Michigan . The western terminus of the 4 . 030 mile long ( 6 . 486 km ) road is in Sheridan Township at exit 119 off Interstate 94 ( I 94 ) . The eastern terminus is a junction with Business Loop I 94 ( BL I 94 ) downtown Albion . The entire road is within Calhoun County and runs through rural farm fields outside of Albion in town it is a residential street . The M 199 designation had previously been applied to a highway in the Upper Peninsula in the 1930s . The current highway was previously part of other highways in the first half of the 20th century before it was transferred to local control around 1960 . It was later transferred back to state control in 1998 and remains unchanged since . Route description As a two lane roadway , M 199 starts at exit 119 along I 94 northwest of Albion in Sheridan Township . The highway runs southward through farm fields along 26 Mile Road before curving to the southwest on Star Commonwealth Road near the campus of the Montcalm School for Boys and Girls , a private boarding school . At the end of this curves , the highway follows 25 Mile Road southward to the intersection with Michigan Avenue . There M 199 turns easterly along Michigan Avenue and passes south of Montcalm Lake . The trunkline runs parallel to a line of the Norfolk Southern Railway until about the intersection with 26 Mile Road . At the intersection with 27 Mile Road , M 199 enters the city of Albion , and the street name changes to Austin Avenue . In town , the highway follows a four lane street through residential neighborhoods . The trunkline passes the northern edge of McAuliffe Park and runs parallel to the Kalamazoo River . At the intersection with Eaton Street , the highway meets BL I 94 , where M 199 ends while the business loop continues southeasterly on Austin Avenue at this corner . M 199 is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) like other state highways in Michigan . As a part of these maintenance responsibilities , the department tracks the volume of traffic that uses the roadways under its jurisdiction . These volumes are expressed using a metric called annual average daily traffic , which is a statistical calculation of the average daily number of vehicles on a segment of roadway . MDOT 's surveys in 2010 showed that 1 , 185 vehicles per day used the roadway between I 94 and Michigan Avenue and between 3 , 174 and 4 , 042 vehicles used section along the combined Michigan and Austin avenues . No sections of M 199 have been listed on the National Highway System , a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History In the middle of 1933 , an earlier designation of M 199 was used for a short spur route from US Highway 41 ( US 41 ) into Daggett in Menominee County . This highway was decommissioned in 1939 . The current M 199 was once part of M 17 starting around July 1 , 1919 . When the US Highway System was created on November 11 , 1926 , the highway was incorporated into US 12 . The Albion area was bypassed by a freeway ( now I 94 ) at the end of the 1950s , and Michigan Avenue was turned over to local control . The current highway routing was transferred to state control on October 1 , 1998 , and the M 199 designation was subsequently assigned to the trunkline . The highway has remained unchanged since designation . Major intersections The entire highway is in Calhoun County .
636
Walter de Lacy ( died 27 March 1085 ) was a Norman nobleman who came to England after the Norman Conquest of England in 1066 . He received lands in Herefordshire and Shropshire , and served King William I of England by leading military forces during 1075 . He died in 1085 and one son inherited his lands . Another son became an abbot . Early life Walter was originally from unk , in Normandy . He had a brother , Ilbert de Lacy . Ilbert was the ancestor of the de Lacy family of Pontefract . Both Walter and Ilbert jointly held the Norman lands that were held of the Bishop of Bayeux . Career in England Walter was given the lordship of Weobley in Herefordshire after the Conquest . He is already attested in the Welsh Marches by 1069 , when he is recorded stopping a Welsh attack and then raiding into Wales in retribution . Walter and Ilbert may have come to England in the household of Odo of Bayeux , the Bishop of Bayeux and half brother of King William the Conqueror . Although some historians , such as W. E. Wightman , have argued that Walter was a follower of William fitzOsbern , others , including C. P. Lewis and K. S. B. Keats Rohan , have argued that Walter was an independent agent in England . By the time of Walter 's death , he held a block of lands in Herefordshire along the border with Wales . Another group of lands was centered on Ludlow in Shropshire . These two groupings of lands allowed Walter to help defend the border of England against Welsh raids . Walter also had other lands in Berkshire , Gloucestershire , Worcestershire , and Oxfordshire . Walter kept a large number of his manors in demesne , managing them directly rather than giving them as fiefs to his knightly followers . Some of these lands in Hereford , including Holme Lacy , were held of the Bishop of Hereford through feudal tenure . In total , Domesday Book records Walter 's lands as being worth 423 in income per year and as comprising 163 manors in 7 different counties . He was one of 21 individuals with land valued at more than 400 at the time of the survey . In 1075 , Walter was one of the leaders of the force that prevented Roger de Breteuil from joining up with the other rebels during the Revolt of the Earls . Walter had joined forces with Wulfstan the Bishop of Worcester , thelwig the Abbot of Evesham Abbey , and Urse d 'Abetot the Sheriff of Worcester . Family and death Walter married Emma or unk and they had three sons Roger , Hugh and Walter . Roger was the heir to Weobley and Walter became Abbot of Gloucester Abbey . Occasionally the elder Walter is claimed to have married twice once to Emma and once to an unk , but this is probably a confusion of the variations of Emma 's name . Walter and Emma also had a daughter who became a nun at St Mary 's Abbey , Winchester . A niece was married to unk de Cormeilles . Considerable confusion exists about Sybil , the wife of Pain fitzJohn . C. P. Lewis names her as the daughter of Walter , but W. E. Wightman calls her the daughter of Hugh , Walter 's son . Yet another pedigree has her as the daughter of Agnes , the daughter of Walter . In this rendition , favoured by Bruce Coplestone Crow , Agnes was married to Geoffrey Talbot . The elder Walter died on 27 March 1085 , falling off some scaffolding at Saint Guthlac 's Priory when he was inspecting the progress of the building at that monastery . He was buried in the chapter house at Gloucester Abbey . He was a benefactor to Gloucester Abbey , as well as Saint Guthlac 's .
637
The Niger women 's national football team is a FIFA recognised team representing Niger in international association football matches . The team has played in two FIFA recognised matches , both of which were losses to Burkina Faso women 's national football team in 2007 . There is an under 20 women 's national team who were supposed to participate in the 2002 African Women U 19 Championship but withdrew before playing a game . There are problems that impact the development of the women 's game in Africa that effect Niger . Background and development Early development of the women 's game at the time colonial powers brought football to the continent was limited as colonial powers in the region tended to take male concepts of patriarchy and women 's participation in sport with them to local cultures that had similar concepts already embedded in them . The lack of later development of the national team on a wider international level symptomatic of all African teams is a result of several factors , including limited access to education , poverty amongst women in the wider society , and fundamental inequality present in the society that occasionally allows for female specific human rights abuses . When quality female football players are developed , they tend to leave for greater opportunities abroad . Continent wide , funding is also an issue , with most development money coming from FIFA , not the national football association . Future , success for women 's football in Africa is dependent on improved facilities and access by women to these facilities . Attempting to commercialise the game and make it commercially viable is not the solution , as demonstrated by the current existence of many youth and women 's football camps held throughout the continent . Niger Football Federation was founded in 1967 and became a FIFA affiliate that same year . The FIFA unk is unk . The national association does not have a full time staffer dedicated to women , and there are no organisational or constitutional provisions specifically pertaining to the women 's game . No organised women 's football programme existed in the country despite football being one of the most popular sports in the country by 2009 . For women though , basketball is the most popular participation sport . In 2006 , there were zero registered female players and zero registered football clubs for women only . Rights to broadcast the 2011 Women 's World Cup in the country were bought by the African Union of Broadcasting and Supersport International . Team In 1985 , almost no country in the world had a women 's national football team including Niger who officially had no women 's national senior A team before 2006 and only had their first FIFA recognised international in 2007 when they competed at the Tournoi de Cinq Nations held in Ouagadougou . On 2 September , they lost to Burkina Faso 0 10 . On 6 September , they lost to Burkina Faso 0 5 . The country did not have a team competing in the 2010 African Women 's Championships during the preliminary rounds or the 2011 All Africa Games . In June 2012 , the team was not ranked in the world by FIFA . The country has never been ranked by FIFA . The country has had a Niger women 's national under 19 team who have competed in the 2002 African Women U 19 Championship , the first edition of the competition to be held . They had a bye in the first round . In the quarterfinals , they were supposed to play Morocco but Niger withdrew from the competition .
638
Strange Stories was a pulp magazine which ran for thirteen issues from 1939 to 1941 . It was edited by Mort Weisinger , who was not credited . Contributors included Robert Bloch , Eric Frank Russell , C. L. Moore , August Derleth , and Henry Kuttner . Strange Stories was a competitor to the established leader in weird fiction , Weird Tales . With the launch , also in 1939 , of the well received Unknown , Strange Stories was unable to compete . It ceased publication in 1941 when Weisinger left to edit Superman comic books . Publication history and contents Fantasy and occult fiction had often appeared in popular magazines before the twentieth century , but the first magazine to specialize in the genre , Weird Tales , appeared in 1923 and by the 1930s was the genre 's industry leader . In 1939 , two magazines were launched in the same niche one was Unknown , from Street Smith the other was Strange Stories , published by Standard Magazines and edited by Mort Weisinger , who was already editing Thrilling Wonder Stories and Startling Stories for Standard . Weisinger obtained stories from many authors who contributed to Weird Tales , including August Derleth , Henry Kuttner , and Robert Bloch , who between them accounted for 40 of the 148 stories the magazine printed over its thirteen issues . Critics consider little of the fiction memorable . Among the better received stories were two by Kuttner Cursed be the City and The Citadel of Darkness in the April and August 1939 issues respectively unk 's Heads , by Derleth , which science fiction historian Robert Weinberg described as perhaps Derleth 's best weird fantasy for any magazine and some stories by Manly Wade Wellman in the early issues . Other contributors included Eric Frank Russell , C. L. Moore , and Seabury Quinn . There were no serialized novels at the time , Standard 's policy forbade them . Weinberg described the covers by Standard 's in house artists , Rudolph unk and Earle K. Bergey , as among the worst ever seen on any pulp . The magazine was an attempt to imitate Weird Tales , but Weisinger was never able to give it any distinctive character of its own . It received little assistance from its sister magazines in Standard 's publishing stable typically each magazine carried advertisements for other Standard publications , but Startling Stories and Thrilling Wonder Stories rarely mentioned Strange Stories in this way . Weisinger left Standard Magazines in 1941 to edit Superman comics , and Leo Margulies , the editorial director at Standard , was not interested in continuing the magazine . The final issue was dated February 1941 . Some of the stories purchased for Strange Stories but left unpublished later appeared in the other Standard magazines , including The Road to Yesterday , by Kuttner , which appeared in the August 1941 issue of Thrilling Adventure , and I Married a Ghost , by Seabury Quinn , which was published in Thrilling Mystery in July 1941 . Bibliographic details The thirteen issues of Strange Stories were in pulp format . They were 128 pages long and priced at 15 cents until June 1940 , after which the page count went down to 96 and the price was reduced to 10 cents . The editor was Mort Weisinger , who was not credited . The publisher was Better Publications , a subsidiary of Standard Magazines of New York . Strange Stories stayed on a bimonthly schedule throughout its run . There were three issues to a volume , except the final volume which had only one .
639
The Joseph Carpenter Silversmith Shop is a historic building that was built between 1772 and 1774 on the green in Norwichtown , now a section of Norwich , Connecticut . It is a 30 feet ( 9 . 1 m ) by 24 feet ( 7 . 3 m ) one and a half story clapboarded building with a gambrel roof . The interior has a single brick chimney that was used for the forge , but it has been modified and adapted for modern use with modern doors , electric lighting and heat , and a disappearing overhead stairway that leads to the attic . Joseph Carpenter ( 1747 1804 ) was a successful of silversmith , clockmaker , and unk , and shared the building with his brother , a merchant . The shop was added to the National Register of Historic Places on October 6 , 1970 , and was listed as a contributory property for the Norwichtown Historic District on January 17 , 1973 . Original occupants Born in 1747 to Joseph and Elizabeth Carpenter ( ne Lathrop ) , Joseph Carpenter was a successful silversmith in Norwich , Connecticut . The shop was constructed between 1772 and 1774 and Joseph shared it with his brother Gardner Carpenter , who operated a mercantile business from the shop . In 1775 , Joseph Carpenter married Eunice Fitch , and they had six children . He died in 1804 . Carpenter was noted to be one of the most successful of the Norwich silversmiths , clockmakers and unk ... Design Facing southeast on the Norwichtown green , the Joseph Carpenter Silversmith Shop is a 30 feet ( 9 . 1 m ) by 24 feet ( 7 . 3 m ) one and a half story clapboarded building with a gambrel roof . Constructed between 1772 and 1774 , the building was built on a stone foundation and has a stone stoop leading to the front entrance . The gambrel roof is framed without a ridge pole . It overhangs the front and back facades by 2 feet ( 0 . 61 m ) , but does not project the sides . At the time of the National Historic Register of Places nomination , the roof used wooden shingles . The interior has a single brick chimney that was used for the forge . The main floor was originally open , with only a single supporting post in the center , but this was later partitioned into several rooms . Modern additions to the shop include modern doors , electric lighting and heat , and a disappearing overhead stairway that leads to the attic . The shop 's cellar was not described in the survey . In 1915 , the house passed out of the Carpenter family , and it was restored by Norman Isham in 1916 . In 1956 , the building came into the ownership of the Society of the Founders of Norwich , Connecticut , Inc . . According to the 1966 edition of Fodor 's Modern Guides , the Joseph Carpenter Silversmith Shop was still furnished as it was when Mr. Carpenter plied his trade . The National Historic Register of Places noted that the partitioning was recent at the time of its 1970 nomination . In 1997 , a 5000 grant was used to replace the roof . Importance The Joseph Carpenter Silversmith Shop is an example of a small frame silversmith 's shop , and is believed to be the only surviving example in New England . The shop was added to the National Register of Historic Places on October 6 , 1970 and it was listed as a contributory property for the Norwichtown Historic District on January 17 , 1973 . As early as 1917 , the shop was the subject of a preservation effort . The shop was photographed by the Historic American Buildings Survey . The shop was featured as part of a historic house tour in 1993 's Reflections on the Past .
640
RMS ( later HMT ) Royal Edward was a passenger ship belonging to the Canadian Northern Steamship Company that was sunk during the First World War with a large loss of life while transporting Commonwealth troops . She was launched in 1907 as RMS Cairo for a British mail service to Egypt . Design and construction Cairo and sister ship Heliopolis were built by the Fairfield Shipbuilding and Engineering Company of Govan , Scotland . Cairo was launched in July 1907 and entered service in January 1908 . As built , she was 160 . 3 metres ( 525 ft 11 in ) long ( overall ) and 18 . 4 metres ( 60 ft 4 in ) abeam . She was powered by three steam turbines that drove three propeller shafts , at up to 19 knots ( 35 km h ) . She could accommodate up to 1 , 114 passengers in three classes 344 in first class , 210 in second class , and 560 in third . Prewar career Cairo entered service for the Egyptian Mail Steamship Company , a British owned company that provided a fast mail service between unk and Alexandria . The service was not successful and Cairo and sister ship Heliopolis were laid up in 1909 when the service ended . Both ships were sold to the newly established Toronto based Canadian Northern Steamship Company , a subsidiary of the Canadian Northern Railway , in 1910 , operating under its Royal Line brand . Cairo was renamed Royal Edward , Heliopolis Royal George , and they were refitted for the North Atlantic . Royal Edward sailed from Avonmouth to Montreal in the summer and to Halifax in the winter . At the outbreak of World War I Royal Edward and Royal George were requisitioned for use as troopships . World War I Royal Edward was used to bring Canadian troops to Europe before being used as an internment ship anchored of Southend on Sea . On 28 July 1915 , Royal Edward embarked 1 , 367 officers and men at Avonmouth . The majority were reinforcements for the British 29th Infantry , with members of the Royal Army Medical Corps . All were destined for Gallipoli . Royal Edward was reported off the Lizard on the evening of the 28th , and had arrived at Alexandria on 10 August , a day after sister ship Royal George had sailed from Devonport . Royal Edward sailed for Moudros on the island of Lemnos , a staging point for the Dardanelles . On the morning of 13 August , Royal Edward passed the British hospital ship Soudan , heading in the opposite direction . Oberleutnant zur See Heino von Heimburg in the German submarine UB 14 was off the island of Kandeloussa and saw both ships . He allowed Soudan to pass unmolested , and focused his attention on the unescorted Royal Edward some 6 nautical miles ( 11 km ) off Kandeloussa . He launched one of UB 14 's two torpedoes from about a mile ( 2 km ) away and hit Royal Edward in the stern . She sank by the stern within six minutes . Royal Edward was able to get off an SOS before losing power , and Soudan arrived on the scene at 10 00 after making a 180 turn and rescued 440 men in six hours . Two French destroyers and some trawlers rescued another 221 . According to authors James Wise and Scott Baron , Royal Edward 's death toll was 935 and was high because Royal Edward had just completed a boat drill and the majority of the men were below decks re stowing their equipment . Other sources report different numbers of casualties , from 132 to 1 , 386 or 1 , 865 . An admiralty casualty list , published in The Times in September 1915 , named 13 officers and 851 troops as missing believed drowned , a total of 864 lost .
641
Judaism is a minor religion in Mauritius . The first Jews arrived from Haifa , British Palestine ( now Israel ) , in the 1940s because they were denied entry to Palestine by the British Government . There currently are about 43 Jews in total in Mauritius . There is a synagogue in Curepipe , and a Jewish cemetery in unk . History Patria and World War II In September 1940 , the Atlantic , Milos , and Pacific , picked up 3 , 600 Jews from Vienna , Gdask and Prague in Tulcea , Romania , to be sent to Palestine . The Jews that arrived in Palestine came without entry permits and were subsequently denied entry by the British government , specifically Sir Harold MacMichael , who was the High Commissioner . The British decided to deport the immigrants to either Trinidad and Tobago or Mauritius , both British colonies . On 25 November 1940 , the first ship carrying the 1 , 800 Jews to Mauritius , the Patria , was accidentally bombed by the Haganah , who wanted the Jews to stay in Palestine . Their intentions were to cripple the ship . There were 260 fatalities and 172 injuries . There were only enough lifeboats for 805 , since the capacity was 805 when the Patria was a French ship . When the British repossessed the boat , they increased the capacity to 1 , 800 but still had the same number of lifeboats . The surviving Jews were sent to Atlit detainee camp . The remaining 1 , 584 refugees from the Atlantic who were not on the Patria were initially also imprisoned in Atlit , but were sent to Mauritius on 9 December 1940 . When they arrived , they were sent to a detainment camp in Beau Bassin . In the camp , the detainees suffered from tropical diseases and inadequate food and clothing . Jewish organizations such as the South African Jewish Board of Deputies , the Jewish Agency , and the Zionist Federation , sent food , clothing , medicine , and religious items to the detainees . Initially , a ban on interaction between the sexes was enforced the men were held in a former jailhouse and the women in adjacent iron huts . After the ban was lifted , 60 children were born in the camp . In total , 128 prisoners died in the camp , and were buried in the Jewish section of St. Martin Cemetery . At the end of World War II , the detainees were given the choice of returning to their former homes in Europe or immigrating to Palestine . Most chose Palestine , and on August 6 , 1945 , 1 , 320 landed in Haifa . Present According to the population census of 2011 , there are 43 Jews in Mauritius . The current community is unrelated to the 1940s fugitives . The first Bar Mitzvah in Mauritius since World War II took place in 2000 . There is also one synagogue in Curepipe , the Amicale Maurice Israel Center , which was opened in 2005 . The Saint Martin Cemetery in Saint Martin near Beau Bassin , is the only Jewish cemetery in unk . The bodies of the 127 died detainees as well as other Jewish people are buried there . Part of this has been fictionalised in Natacha unk 's ' The Last Brother ' . It relates the childhood experiences of Raj and David , a little boy from Prague . Many , if not most Mauritians are unaware of the existence of such a graveyard in Mauritius . Each grave recalls the story of unk life in an alien country , the result of mass deportation from Haifa by the British of refugees who escaped Nazi barbarity , only to find themselves in jail in a tiny British island colony where they died of disease instead of creating new lives for themselves in Palestine Israel .
642
E ( simplified Chinese unk traditional Chinese unk pinyin unk unk ) or unk unk ( simplified Chinese unk traditional Chinese unk pinyin unk unk literally Colored Language ) is a Tai Chinese mixed language spoken primarily in unk Miao Autonomous County , Guangxi , China . It contains features of both Tai and Chinese varieties , generally adopting Chinese vocabulary into Tai grammar . E is a tonal language distinguishing between seven tones and contains a few rare phonemes voiceless versions of the more common nasal consonants and alveolar lateral approximant . Etymology The E language 's unusual pinyin transliterated name , which is also an autonym , consists of a single letter e . The character , which is written unk in Simplified Chinese and unk in Traditional Chinese , denotes an expression of affirmation . The language 's speakers also refer to their language as unk E. unk is a derogatory name for E. Geographical distribution In 1992 , E was spoken by about 30 , 000 people , but by 2008 this number had dwindled to 9 , 000 . Most E speakers are classified as Zhuang by the Chinese government . E speakers live primarily in the Guangxi autonomous region of China , specifically in the unk Miao county and border areas of unk unk . Villages inhabited by E speakers include unk , Simo , unk , and the unk district . Ethnologue classifies E as rank 6b ( Threatened ) . E speakers ' most commonly spoken other languages are Yue Chinese and the unk variant of Southwestern Mandarin . Phonology E 's consonant and vowel inventories are mostly similar to those of its parent languages . However , it contains a few unusual consonants the voiceless nasal consonants n , , m , and the voiceless alveolar lateral approximant l . All are voiceless versions of consonants that , in most languages , are always voiced . E allows syllabic consonants and diphthongs . Like most Southeast Asian languages , including Tai and the varieties of Chinese , E is tonal . The language is described as having seven tones , with the seventh varying allophonically with the length of the vowel it is attached to . With numbers ranging from 1 to 5 , with 1 being the lowest tone and 5 the highest , the contours of the various tones in E are as follows . Grammar and lexicon E is usually classified as a mixed language deriving ultimately from the Tai Kadai and Sino Tibetan families , which both inhabit southern China and Southeast Asia . Some non Chinese scholars , however , consider it a Tai Kadai language with Chinese influence . Whatever its classification , the grammar resembles that of the Tai branch of Tai Kadai . Specifically , scholars consider E 's grammatical features a blend of Northern Zhuang , unk , and Kam . The unk language of Vietnam displays many similarities with E. The vocabulary , however , is mostly Chinese , based on unk and the unk variant of unk . Out of the 2 , 000 most commonly used E words , only about 200 are of Tai Kadai origin . E also inherits elements of these Chinese dialects ' phonology and compound word formation . E morphology is primarily analytic , with concepts such as negation expressed with auxiliary words ( unk , m2 ) and no pronominal agreement . In its pronouns , E distinguishes for person between first , second , and third in number between singular and plural and , in the case of the second person plural , between inclusive and exclusive we . E does not , however , make distinctions for grammatical gender .
643
Hurricane Lili was a moderate tropical cyclone of the 1990 Atlantic hurricane season . It began as a subtropical cyclone over the central Atlantic and became a hurricane while moving westward toward the United States . Lili did not gain any additional strength before curving away from land and weakening into a tropical storm . After transitioning into an extratropical cyclone , it made landfall in southeastern Newfoundland . Overall , the hurricane 's effects on land were minimal , despite multiple tropical cyclone watches and warnings . Initial uncertainty in its track prompted some concern of a landfall in North Carolina , but it remained predominately over the open ocean . Meteorological history In early October 1990 , a non tropical low pressure system existed in the upper levels of the atmosphere southwest of the Azores . By October 6 , the low moved to the surface , and upon doing so it immediately became a subtropical cyclone . The system slowly moved toward the southwest for several days , gradually gaining the characteristics of a tropical cyclone subsequent to turning westward and accelerating in forward speed , it became a hurricane at 0000 UTC on October 11 . Steered by a ridge to the north , Hurricane Lili continued on its westward track . It never intensified significantly , and reached its peak intensity with windspeeds of 75 mph ( 120 km h ) and a minimum air pressure of 987 mbar ( hPa 29 . 15 inHg ) concurrently with its upgrade into a hurricane . Afterward , its air pressure began to slowly rise . Late on October 11 , the cyclone passed about 140 mi ( 230 km ) south of Bermuda . As it approached the United States , the storm slowed and began curving northward , passing 195 mi ( 314 km ) east of Cape Hatteras , North Carolina . It weakened into a tropical storm on October 13 . For a time , the system 's proximity to Tropical Storm Marco resulted in hints of the Fujiwhara effect , in which two tropical cyclone appear to rotate around each other . A high pressure area over Newfoundland steered Lili northeastward , away from the United States , and the tropical storm once again sped up . It skirted the coast of Nova Scotia and transitioned into an extratropical cyclone on October 15 , dissipating shortly after crossing southeastern Newfoundland . Preparations and impact On October 11 , a hurricane warning was issued for Bermuda , although it was replaced by a tropical storm warning later that day . However , the storm 's effects on the island were limited to rainfall and gusty winds . It also caused strong winds in Nova Scotia and Newfoundland . The hurricane 's track was initially uncertain . Some forecasts indicated it would continue westward and make landfall on North Carolina , while others predicted it would miss land . A general evacuation was ordered on Ocracoke Island , while multiple tropical cyclone watches and warnings were posted along the coasts of North Carolina and Virginia . Some residents purchased emergency supplies to prepare for the hurricane . Lili had minimal impact on land , with no deaths or significant damage reported . The North Carolina coast sustained minor beach erosion . A newspaper reported that rainfall from the storm led to flooding in southern Pennsylvania , particularly in and around unk . At least one family was forced to leave their home , and a state highway was temporarily closed . The National Hurricane Center 's preliminary report on Hurricane Lili does not confirm the two events were related , however .
644
55 Cancri c ( abbreviated 55 Cnc c ) , also named Brahe , is an extrasolar planet in an eccentric orbit around the Sun like star 55 Cancri A , making one revolution every 44 . 34 days . It is the third known planet in order of distance from its star . 55 Cancri c was discovered on June 13 , 2002 and has a mass roughly half of Saturn . In July 2014 the International Astronomical Union launched a process for giving proper names to certain exoplanets and their host stars . The process involved public nomination and voting for the new names . In December 2015 , the IAU announced the winning name was Brahe for this planet . The winning name was submitted by the Royal Netherlands Association for Meteorology and Astronomy of the Netherlands . It honors the astronomer Tycho Brahe . Discovery Like the majority of known extrasolar planets , 55 Cancri c was detected by observing changes in its star 's radial velocity . This was achieved by making sensitive measurements of the Doppler shift of the star 's spectrum . At the time of discovery , 55 Cancri A was already known to possess one planet ( 55 Cancri b ) however , there was still a drift in the radial velocity measurements which was unaccounted for . In 2002 , further measurements revealed the presence of a long period planet in an orbit at around 5 AU from the star . Even when both of the two planets were accounted for , there was still a periodicity at around 43 days . However , this period is close to the rotation period of 55 Cancri A , which led to the possibility that the 43 day period was caused by stellar rotation rather than a planet . Both the 43 day planet ( designated 55 Cancri c ) and the 5 AU planet ( designated 55 Cancri d ) were announced in the same paper , labeled in order of increasing distance from the star . Further measurements which led to the discovery of the inner planet 55 Cancri e in 2004 lent support to the planet hypothesis . Photometric measurements of the star over 11 years show no activity with the same period as 55 Cancri c 's radial velocity variations , and furthermore the period is stable over long timescales , which is inconsistent with the hypothesis of stellar activity causing the radial velocity variations . The amplitude of the radial velocity signal is inconsistent with stellar variations on stars with 55 Cancri A 's low level of chromospheric activity . Orbit and mass In the 5 planet solution for the 55 Cancri system , the orbit of 55 Cancri c is mildly eccentric at unk the planet is about 19 further from the star than it is at periastron . It is located closer to 55 Cancri A than Mercury is to our sun , though it has a longer orbital period than the hot Jupiters . The planet is located close to a 3 1 resonance with the inner planet 55 Cancri b however , simulations indicate that the two planets are not actually in this resonance . A limitation of the radial velocity method used to discover the planet is that only a lower limit on the mass can be obtained . Further astrometric observations with the Hubble Space Telescope on the outer planet 55 Cancri d suggest that planet is inclined at 53 to the plane of the sky but innermost b and e are inclined at 85 . Planet c 's inclination is unknown . Characteristics Since the planet was detected indirectly through observations of its star , properties such as its radius , composition , and temperature are unknown . With a mass similar to that of Saturn , 55 Cancri c is likely to be a gas giant with no solid surface .
645
The Gambia women 's national football team represents the Gambia in international football competition . The team , however , has not competed in a match recognised by FIFA , the sport 's international governing body , despite that organised women 's football has been played in the country since 1998 . The Gambia has two youth teams , an under 17 side that has competed in FIFA U 17 Women 's World Cup qualifiers , and an under 19 side that withdrew from regional qualifiers for an under 19 World Cup . The development of a national team faces challenges similar to those across Africa , although the national football association has four staff members focusing on women 's football . The team In 1985 , few countries had women 's national football teams . While the sport gained popularity worldwide in later decades , the Gambia 's national team only played its first game in 2007 . That game was not FIFA recognised . As of March 2012 , the team was unranked by FIFA , and as of the following month the Gambia had not played in a FIFA sanctioned match . The team has not participated in major regional and international tournaments , including the Women 's World Cup , the 2010 African Women 's Championship or the 2011 All Africa Games . The country did not have a FIFA recognised youth national team until 2012 , when the Gambia under 17 women 's team competed in Confederation of African Football qualifiers for the FIFA U 17 World Cup , to be held in Azerbaijan in September 2012 . The Gambia had fielded an under 17 team of 24 players , narrowed from an initial pool of 49 young women . Two girls from the SOS Children s Village unk were chosen as a members of the team . The Gambia first played Sierra Leone in a pair of qualifying matches for the tournament . Gambia won the first match 3 0 in Banjul , the Gambia 's capital . The return match was delayed in for 24 hours and played in Makeni . The Gambia beat Sierra Leone 4 3 to qualify for the final round . The Gambia then beat Tunisia 1 0 at home and won 2 1 in Tunisia . Adama Tamba and Awa Demba scored the Gambia 's goals . Tunisia 's only goal was a Gambian own goal . The win qualified Gambia for the 2012 Azerbaijan World Cup . The Gambia also has an under 19 team that was to play in the African Women 's U 19 Championship in 2002 . The Gambia 's first match was against Morocco , but the team withdrew from the competition . Background and development The development of women 's football in Africa faces several challenges , including limited access to education , poverty amongst women , inequalities and human rights abuses targeting women . Funding is another issue impacting the game in Africa , where most financial assistance comes from FIFA and not national football associations . Another challenge is the retention of football players . Many women footballers leave the continent to seek greater opportunity in Europe or the United States . Gambia 's national football association was founded in 1952 , and became affiliated with FIFA in 1968 . Football is the most popular women 's sport in the country , and was first played in an organized system in 1998 . A national competition was launched in 2007 , the same year FIFA started an education course on football for women . Competition was active on both the national and scholastic levels by 2009 . There are four staffers dedicated to women 's football in the Gambia Football Association , and representation of women on the board is required by the association 's charter .
646
Nitro is a steel Floorless Coaster at the Adlabs Imagica amusement park located in unk , Mumbai , India . Manufactured by Bolliger Mabillard , the roller coaster reaches a maximum height of 132 feet ( 40 m ) and a maximum speed of 65 . 2 miles per hour ( 104 . 9 km h ) . The coaster also features five inversions . Nitro opened to the public in October 2013 . History As construction progressed with the theme park in early 2013 , the owners of the park gave no details about the roller coaster other than that it would be the largest roller coaster in India . Even after the Roller Coaster Database reported that a Bolliger Mabillard Floorless Coaster would be built at the park , the owners still released no details . In April 2013 , the first pieces of the roller coaster were erected . By the end of August , all of the coaster 's track was installed . Then in the third quarter of 2013 , Adlabs Imagica released the details of Nitro . Nitro was originally scheduled to open in May 2013 , however , it did not open until October . Ride experience Once the train is loaded and secured , the steel floor is retracted and the gate in front of the train opens . After being dispatched , the train immediately begins to climb the 132 foot ( 40 m ) chain lift hill . At the top , the train drops down a small straight section before finishing the drop with a sharp turn to the right . When the train reaches the bottom of the drop , it reaches its maximum speed of 65 . 2 miles per hour ( 104 . 9 km h ) and enters a vertical loop , followed by a dive loop . After making a slight turn to the right , the train makes a banked right turn through the loop it passes through before . Then , the train passes through a trim brake ( to slow the train down ) before entering a zero gravity roll . The train then makes a banked turn to the left leading into the first of the interlocking corkscrews . After a banked turn to the right and a slight turn to the left , the train goes through the second corkscrew . The train then enters an approximate 180 degree downward banked turn to the left before making a final right turn into the brake run which leads directly back to the station . When the train arrives back to the station , the floors come back up , the front gate closes , and the next riders board . One cycle of the ride lasts about 2 minutes and 30 seconds . Characteristics Track Designed by Bolliger Mabillard , the steel track of Nitro is approximately 2 , 800 feet ( 850 m ) long , and the height of the lift is 132 foot ( 40 m ) high . The roller coaster also features five inversions . The track is painted red with yellow rails and blue supports . Trains Nitro operates with two steel and fiberglass trains . Each train has six cars that can seat four rides in a single row , for a total of 24 riders per train each seat has its own individual over the shoulder restraint . The structure of the trains are coloured blue , red , and yellow the seats are black and the restraints are yellow . Also , unlike traditional steel roller coasters , Nitro has no floor on its trains . With the trains reaching a top speed of 65 . 2 miles per hour ( 104 . 9 km h ) , Nitro is the second fastest Bolliger Mabillard Floorless Coaster . Reception Neha unk from the Indiatimes said , The roller coaster almost kills you , because it twirls , twists , and turns at a rapid speed , which reminds you of speed from the movies like ' Final Destination ' and ' The Fast and the Furious ' .
647
State Highway 132 , also known as SH 132 , is a state highway in north central Oklahoma . It connects State Highway 51 west of Hennessey to the Kansas state line near Manchester , and is 65 . 3 miles ( 105 . 1 km ) long . It has no lettered spur routes . SH 132 was originally added to the state highway system in 1956 , when it ran between Carrier and U.S. Route 64 ( US 64 ) east of Nash . It was extended further northward to the Kansas state line in 1958 , and southward , to its current southern terminus , in 1962 . Route description SH 132 begins at State Highway 51 in rural Kingfisher County three miles ( 4 . 8 km ) east of the unincorporated community of Lacey . It heads north from there , passing through unincorporated Cato before crossing into Garfield County . Approximately 4 . 5 miles ( 7 . 2 km ) north of the county line , the highway cuts through Barr . Five miles ( 8 . 0 km ) north of Barr , the road skirts the east edge of Drummond , where it crosses a unk Corporation railroad track . The highway then meets U.S. Highway 60 412 west of Enid . SH 132 turns east and overlaps the U.S. routes for one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) , before splitting back off to the north . In Carrier , it briefly overlaps State Highway 45 . North of Carrier , the highway crosses another railroad track , this one operated by Burlington Northern Santa Fe , before running to the west of Hillsdale . At the Garfield Grant County line , the highway curves to the northwest before turning back to a due north heading in order to line up with Grant County 's road grid . SH 132 's first numbered highway junction in Grant County is with US 64 . SH 132 turns to the west , overlapping US 64 for two miles ( 3 . 2 km ) before splitting off to the north in Nash . North of Nash , the highway passes through two sharp curves before crossing over the Salt Fork of the Arkansas River , and through two more sharp curves after the crossing . SH 132 then passes one mile ( 1 . 6 km ) to the west of unincorporated Hawley . Its final highway junction in Oklahoma is with State Highway 11 . From here , the highway continues due north , passing west of Sand Creek , unk , and Gibbon en route to Manchester . After passing through Manchester , the highway turns west along the Oklahoma Kansas state line . The road then curves back to the north , fully entering the state of Kansas , and becomes K 179 . History SH 132 was first designated on July 14 , 1956 . Initially , the highway began at what was then SH 38 ( present day SH 45 ) in Carrier , proceeding north along its present day route to end at US 64 east of Nash . On May 8 , 1958 , the portion of the route concurrent with US 64 into Nash , and from Nash to the Kansas state line north of Manchester , was added . The route did not appear on the official state highway map until the 1959 edition . At this time , portions of the route in Grant County , including from the Garfield Grant county line to US 64 and a segment between Nash and Manchester , were unpaved . By 1961 , the segment of highway north of SH 11 had been paved . On July 2 , 1962 , SH 132 was extended to the south , reaching its present day southern terminus . A minor realignment to the highway occurred in southern Grant County on January 7 , 1963 , the final change to SH 132 's route . By 1963 , the portion of highway in Grant County south of US 64 was paved , leaving only a section extending from north of Nash to SH 11 as unpaved . This section was paved by 1967 . Junction list
648
Bjorli Station ( Norwegian Bjorli stasjon ) is a railway station on the Rauma Line located at Bjorli in unk , Norway . The station opened on 19 November 1921 and was the line 's terminus until 1923 . In addition to a station building , Bjorli had a water tower , roundhouse , turntable and a restaurant seating 700 people , the latter which was bombed to pieces in 1940 . The station is served by Norwegian State Railways ( NSB ) trains four times per day per direction . In the summer , the station is the terminus of a tourist services from ndalsnes . History Construction of the station started in 1918 and was finished in 1921 . The station , excluding its water tower and restaurant , cost 117 , 062 Norwegian krone ( NOK ) to build and took 26 , 883 man hours . The station and axillary buildings were designed by Gudmund Hoel of NSB Arkitektkontor . The station opened with the first part of the Rauma Line on 19 November 1921 . It remained the terminus until 25 November 1923 , when the next section , to Verma Station , opened . The station is located in a wide , flat terrain , so getting sufficient pressure to supply water for the steam locomotives would be very expensive . Instead , a water tower was built at the station , with water pumped from the river Rauma . The pump is located 140 meters ( 460 ft ) from the tower , with the water intake being another 50 meters ( 160 ft ) from the pump . The water tower was built in natural stone brick and is square . After the steam locomotive services ended , was used as a storage facility . The tower cost NOK 103 , 795 to build . The station also received a turntable , which cost NOK 101 , 236 , which had a 20 meter ( 66 ft ) diameter . Although it was planned completed on 1 August 1921 , construction was delayed and it was taken into use one month after the station opened . Bjorli had a temporary roundhouse while the station was the terminus . Built out of wood , the building cost NOK 30 , 373 . On 1 July 1927 , a separate restaurant building with place for 700 diners opened . Open only during summer until September , it was aimed at cruise ship tourists who took the line from ndalsnes to Bjorli . Operated by Norsk Spisevognselskap , it was highly profitable . However , during the German occupation of Norway in 1940 , the building was bombed and burnt down , and was never rebuilt . Facilities The station building is owned by Rom Eiendom , a subsidiary of NSB , while the tracks and infrastructure are owned and operated by the Norwegian National Rail Administration . The station building is unstaffed , but the waiting room is open from 07 00 to 22 00 . The line lacks centralized traffic control , so the station must be manned for trains to pass . The station has three tracks two which are used for trains to pass and one which is designed for loading , and has an effective length of 75 meters ( 246 ft ) . The station has ten parking spaces but lacks ticket vending machines . The station is 575 meters ( 1 , 886 ft ) above mean sea level and located 57 kilometers ( 35 mi ) from both Dombs and ndalsnes , and 400 kilometers ( 250 mi ) from Oslo . It is located in the village of Bjorli in unk , that serves as an Alpine skiing center . Service The Norwegian State Railways operates passenger train services on the line . Using Class 93 trains , they operate four services in each direction per day . During the summer , from June through August , NSB operates the trains as tourist trains , limiting the service from ndalsnes to Bjorli .
649
Greyfriars , in Bristol , England , was a Franciscan friary . The name Greyfriars derived from the grey robes worn by the friars . It was founded at some time before 1234 , within the town walls and then moved to Lewin 's Mead in 1250 . The site included extensive gardens surrounded by a stone wall . Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century , the premises were leased to the town council in 1541 , who desired to use the stone to make repairs to the town walls , and the harbour facilities . In succeeding centuries many different uses have been made of the site , which is currently occupied by an office block and part of Bristol Dental School . History The friary was established at some time before 1234 , this being known because Henry III granted wood for fuel to the friars in that year , followed by further grants of oak wood and fresh fish landed at Bristol . The friars wore long grey coats , with a grey hood or cowl , hence the name , grey friars . Originally located within the town walls , the friary was moved to Lewin 's Mead in 1250 . This followed the diversion of the river Frome into St Augustine 's Reach . A marshy area on the north bank of the Frome was drained and some of the clay and rock from the excavations was deposited on it . The earliest church on the site was approximately 50 by 9 metres ( 164 ft 30 ft ) . It was later enlarged with cloisters , a bell tower and a chapter house being added . The buildings were constructed from the local red sandstone . Bristol City Museum houses some stained glass which was recovered from the chapter house , probably after the dissolution of the monasteries . Writing in the fifteenth century , William Worcester described the area of the precinct as roughly bounded by the modern Upper Maudlin Street , Lower Maudlin Street , Lewin 's Mead and Johnny Ball Lane . The friars had extensive gardens devoted to horticulture . There were also two lime kilns and the whole was surrounded by freestone walls . A report in 1538 , by Richard Yngworth , during the Dissolution of the Monasteries , describes the warden of the friary as stiff . The warden also held office in Richmond and Yngworth went on to say yet for all his great port , I think him twenty marks in debt , and not able to pay it . Six remaining friars surrendered the property to unk and it was dissolved . The precinct was leased to one Jeremy Green for a total annual rent of 20 shillings and 8 pence . In 1541 , Henry VIII granted the friary , together with other dissolved houses , to the Mayor and Commonalty of Bristol for a consideration of 1 , 000 cash and a yearly fee farm rent of 20 . The Mayor had earlier petitioned the king , saying The Grey Friars of Bristol is of the foundation ... of the town , built by ancient burgesses at their cost we should like it to repair the walls and quay and to make a wharf . Post dissolution The site has been redeveloped many times in subsequent centuries amongst other uses , a Moravian church and a chocolate factory have occupied premises there . It is currently occupied by an office development , also called Greyfriars , and parts of Bristol Dental School . Traces of the abbot 's house were discovered during building works in 1989 and a small oval window was incorporated into the new building . Archaeological investigations have found graves with human remains , dating to the thirteenth to fifteenth century , and a medieval conduit , similar to one excavated at Saint Augustine 's Abbey in Bristol .
650
Route 58 is a former state highway in the city of Newark , New Jersey and nearby borough of Harrison , New Jersey . The highway ran from Orange and Hecker Streets in Newark , eastbound as a four lane freeway across the William A. Stickel Memorial Bridge ( known as the Stickel Bridge ) to Harrison , where it terminated at an intersection with County Route 508 . The route originates as an alignment of Route 25A , a suffixed spur designated in 1939 of State Highway Route 25 . The route was rechristened as Route 58 in the 1953 state highway renumbering . The highway was constructed into Interstate 280 in the 1950s , and the route persisted internally until the 1990s , when it was finally removed as a designation . A stub alignment of Route 58 remains near Hecker and Orange Streets . Route description Route 58 began at an intersection with Orange Street and Hecker Street in the center of Newark . Paralleling Lackawanna Drive , the highway crossed over the Gladstone Branch , Montclair Branch and Morristown Lines maintained by New Jersey Transit . A four lane divided highway , Route 58 headed eastward along the Essex Freeway , a short freeway in Newark . The highway interchanged with Clifton Avenue heading westbound and Martin Luther King Boulevard a short distance later . The interchange with Martin Luther King Boulevard accessed the nearby Newark Broad Street Station . A short distance later , Route 58 interchanged with Route 21 nearby . After Route 21 , the Essex Freeway crossed on the Stickel Bridge over the Passaic River and into Harrison , where Route 58 interchanged with County Route 508 . There the designation terminated . History Route 58 originates as an alignment of State Highway Route 25 A , designated in 1939 as a suffixed spur of State Highway Route 25 from Jersey City to Clifton Avenue in Newark . The route was designated to cross through Kearny and Harrison , crossing the Passaic at the Bridge Street Bridge in Harrison . From there , it continued along , intersecting with State Highway Route 21 and Clifton Avenue . In 1949 , a new bridge for the four lane road was constructed , this bridge was named after William Stickel , an engineer from Essex County . That year , the New Jersey State Highway Department proposed construction of a new freeway to help alleviate traffic on the State Highway Route 10 corridor , designated as the Essex Freeway from the New Jersey Turnpike in Hudson County westward to U.S. Route 46 in Morris County . On January 1 , 1953 , as part of the 1953 state highway renumbering , State Highway Route 25 A was rechristened as Route 58 . In 1954 , the State Highway Department decided to find a state highway to include in the new Eisenhower Interstate System . Originally proposed to use the Route 3 alignment for Federal Aid Interstate Route 105 , the upgrading of Route 3 for standards would be too great . After Route 3 was deemed unusable , they moved focus to short portion of Route 58 that was constructed . In 1958 , the State Highway Department gave Route 58 its official new designation , Interstate 280 , when construction began on an extended Essex Freeway . Although Interstate 280 was designated onto Route 58 's alignment , the Route 58 designation persisted throughout maps and straight line diagrams until at least 1997 , when the designation was removed . A short , unused concrete portion of Route 58 remains at the northern end of Hecker Street , crossing over the New Jersey Transit tracks ending near Interstate 280 . Major intersections
651
Pennsylvania Route 434 ( designated by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation as SR unk ) is a 12 . 47 mile long ( 20 . 07 km ) state highway located in northeast Pennsylvania . The western terminus of the route is at Pennsylvania Route 739 in the Blooming Grove Township community of Lords Valley . The eastern terminus of the route is at the New York Pennsylvania border in Shohola Township , where PA 434 crosses the Delaware River and enters New York , becoming New York State Route 55 at an intersection with New York State Route 97 in the town of Highland . State Route 434 used to be part of Pennsylvania Route 37 and Pennsylvania Route 137 . Route description Route 434 begins at an intersection with Route 739 and Pike County Quadrant Route 4004 in Lords Valley , a community in Blooming Grove Township . Route 434 heads to the northeast , passing businesses and homes before leaving the community . The highway then gets into a more scenic rural region , with trees surrounding the highway . Route 434 , which makes several curves for the next few miles , passes to the south of a lake . The highway continues on for several miles in this way . A short time later , the highway passes a couple homes and crosses Shohola Creek . Just north of the creek , the area becomes somewhat urbanized with homes beginning to surround the road again . However , this does not last long , with forests returning once more . Just north of the community , Route 434 intersects U.S. Route 6 . After the intersection with U.S. Route 6 , the surroundings around the highway become a mix of homes and forests . This lasts for much of the distance on Route 434 until Greeley , where it becomes urbanized again . In downtown Greeley , Route 434 splits at an intersection where Pennsylvania Route 590 begins . The highway makes a curve , turning to the southeast for a distance north of Greeley . Soon afterwards , Route 434 parallels Shohola Creek , heading northeastward . Route 434 begins to become urbanized for a third time , passing some large buildings along with homes and forests . The creek continues to parallel , with the highway turning in several different directions . The forests begin to recede as Route 434 enters Shohola Township . Twin Lakes Road , a quadrant route , terminates at Route 434 before crossing the Delaware River and becoming New York State Route 55 and Sullivan County Route 11 at the border . History In 1928 , what is now Pennsylvania Route 590 between Lackawaxen and present day PA 434 in Greeley was designated Pennsylvania Route 37 . From Greeley , PA 37 continued south along the PA 434 alignment to its southern terminus at U.S. Route 6 . In 1946 , PA 37 was removed from the PA 590 alignment . While PA 37 occupied the 1 . 5 mile ( 2 . 4 km ) segment of modern PA 434 from US 6 to Greeley , a spur of PA 37 , Pennsylvania Route 137 , occupied the remainder of PA 434 from Greeley to the state line from 1928 to 1946 . In 1946 , however , PA 37 was realigned to follow the entire alignment of PA 434 from US 6 to New York , decommissioning PA 137 in the process . PA 37 remained in existence until 1967 when PA 37 was replaced by PA 434 . In 2004 , State Route 434 was extended from its southern terminus down to an intersection with State Route 739 in Lords Valley . PA 434 shared a brief 0 . 1 mile ( 0 . 16 km ) concurrency US 6 after its extension to PA 739 was created . A new unsignalized intersection was built between 2005 and 2008 eliminating this concurrency . Major intersections
652
Pod is the name of a 2002 modern sculpture by American artist Pete Beeman , currently installed at Southwest 10th Avenue and West Burnside Street in downtown Portland , Oregon . The 30 foot sculpture , intended to represent the infrastructure , energy , and vibrancy of Portland , is supported by its static tripod base with a 15 foot diameter . It is constructed from stainless steel , galvanized steel , bronze , titanium , lead and other materials . Pod was fabricated by Beeman and David Bermudez , and engineered by Beeman and Peterson Structural Engineers . It is considered interactive and kinetic , with a central , vertical pendulum that swings back and forth when pushed . The sculpture cost as much as 50 , 000 and was funded by the Portland Streetcar Project . Pod is part of the City of Portland and Multnomah County Public Art Collection courtesy of the Regional Arts Culture Council . Description and history Pod was designed by native Portland resident Pete Beeman as a public art project for the Portland Streetcar . According to Beeman and the Regional Arts Culture Council , the modern sculpture is designed to represent the infrastructure , energy , and vibrancy of Portland . Of the work 's design , Beeman said I was thinking about how Portland is designed and planned and built , and how the planning and infrastructure of Portland is really important in what makes Portland great . I was thinking of the static tripod as the infrastructure . The moving part was the vibrancy and life . The most interesting part of the sculpture will be watching people try to move it . Pod is constructed from stainless steel , galvanized steel , bronze , titanium , lead , plastic and rubber . The 30 foot sculpture is supported by its static tripod base with a 14 to 15 foot diameter . Each of the three legs , cut to size by BBC Steel , stand 14 feet tall and are grounded by two cubic yards of cement . The central pendulum structure consists of 73 titanium rods each of these connects to a star fruit shaped bronze bulb at the base of the pendulum . Pod was fabricated by Beeman and David Bermudez , and engineered by Beeman and Peterson Structural Engineers . The work is considered interactive and kinetic the central , vertical pendulum swings back and forth when pushed . The upper and lower parts of the pendulum swing and flex in different rhythms , affecting each other until returning to a resting position . Pod cost 40 , 000 50 , 000 and was funded by the Portland Streetcar Project . The sculpture was installed at a triangular traffic island at a busy street intersection ( Southwest 10th Avenue and West Burnside Street ) in downtown Portland in November 2002 . In 2003 , Pod was included in a walking tour by the Americans for the Arts Public Art Conference . It was cleaned and underwent maintenance for approximately two weeks in August 2010 . Dual Pendulum ( 2000 ) , Beeman 's kinetic prototype of Pod , was installed at Oregon State University for Da Vinci Days in 2007 . Reception In 2002 , D.K. Row of The Oregonian called Pod a complex , funny piece , comparing it to a mechanical spider with an unlikely spine sticking in the air . Row said the sculpture evoked the curves of sculptor Richard Serra and design style of architect Frank Gehry . Michael Powell , owner of Powell 's City of Books ( located across the street from Pod ) , called the sculpture wonderful . Pod has been compared to a scrotum and has even been referred to as Satan 's Testicle and The unk .
653
The 24th Boat Race between crews from the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge took place on the River Thames on 13 April 1867 . In a race where the lead was exchanged several times , Oxford won by half a length in a time of 22 minutes and 39 seconds . The victory took the overall record to 14 10 in Oxford 's favour . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having defeated Cambridge by three lengths in the previous year 's race and led overall with thirteen wins to Cambridge 's ten . Cambridge , according to The Field were as nearly fit to row as possible ... their rowing was really a pleasure to behold . They were coached by Rev. W. Maule ( who had rowed for Cambridge at the Henley Royal Regatta in 1947 ) and D. F. unk ( who had rowed in the Boat Race in the 1864 and 1865 races ) . Walter Bradford Woodgate , who had rowed for Oxford in the 1862 and 1863 races , and George Morrison , former Oxford University Boat Club president who had rowed three times between the 1859 and 1861 race , coached the Dark Blue crew . Although Cambridge arrived at Putney in very good form , it was considered to their disadvantage because , according to Drinkwater , no crew can be kept at the top of its form for more than a few days . During practice runs , Oxford demonstrated they could outpace Cambridge , but with Frank Willan suffering from a boil , Oxford 's stroke was instructed to keep the rating low for the race . The race was umpired by Joseph William Chitty who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race , while the starter was Edward Searle . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 12 st 0 . 5 lb ( 76 . 2 kg ) , 2 . 5 pounds ( 1 . 1 kg ) per rower more than their opponents for the first time in the race history , a crew weighed more than an average of 12 st ( 76 . 0 kg ) . The Oxford crew saw the cox Charles Tottenham make his fourth Boat Race appearance and three rowers return , including Willan who was competing for the third time . Five former Blues returned for Cambridge , with William Griffiths and Herbert Watney making their third appearance in the event . According to a report in The Times , sixteen finer or better trained young men it would have been difficult to find in England . Race According to the Oxford Book , the weather on the morning of the race was filthy ... raining and blowing like anything . Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey side of the river to Cambridge . The race commenced shortly before 9am , with Cambridge making the better start . Oxford slowly drew back into contention and the crews rowed side by side towards Hammersmith Bridge , by which point the Light Blues held a length 's lead . Beyond the bridge , Oxford began to close the gap once again , and lead was exchanged twice before Barnes Bridge . Following a number of spurts from both crews , Cambridge appeared to be exhausted , allowing Oxford the advantage , winning the race by half a length . It was Oxford 's seventh consecutive victory and took the overall record to 14 10 in their favour .
654
Conte Verde was the third of three Principe di Carignano class ironclads built for the Italian Regia Marina ( Royal Navy ) , though she differed in several respects from her sisters . Unlike the other two members of her class , she did not receive complete iron armor , instead relying on partial plating at her bow and stern . She was laid down in February 1863 , she was launched in July 1867 , and she was completed in December 1871 . Conte Verde was a broadside ironclad armed with a battery of four 8 inch ( 200 mm ) guns and eighteen 164 millimeter ( 6 . 5 in ) guns . Her career was limited , owing to the emergence of more modern ironclads and a severe reduction in the Italian naval budget following their defeat at the Battle of Lissa in 1866 . She was discarded in 1880 and sold to ship breakers to help pay for new ironclads then under construction . Design Conte Verde was 73 . 7 meters ( 242 ft ) long between perpendiculars she had a beam of 15 . 3 m ( 50 ft ) and an average draft of 6 . 5 m ( 21 ft ) . She displaced 3 , 514 metric tons ( 3 , 459 long tons 3 , 874 short tons ) normally and up to 3 , 866 t ( 3 , 805 long tons 4 , 262 short tons ) at full load . She had a crew of 572 . Her propulsion system consisted of one single expansion steam engine that drove a single screw propeller , with steam supplied by six coal fired , cylindrical fire tube boilers . Her engine produced a top speed of 10 . 2 knots ( 18 . 9 km h 11 . 7 mph ) from 1 , 968 indicated horsepower ( 1 , 468 kW ) , making her the fastest member of her class . She could steam for about 1 , 200 nautical miles ( 2 , 200 km 1 , 400 mi ) at a speed of 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . To supplement her steam engine , the ship was barque rigged . Conte Verde was a broadside ironclad , and she was armed with a main battery of four 72 pounder 8 in ( 200 mm ) guns and eighteen 164 mm ( 6 . 5 in ) rifled muzzle loading guns . The ship was equipped with a spur shaped ram at the bow . Unlike her two sisters , Conte Verde did not have complete iron armor on her sides . She instead had wrought iron armor that covered only parts of her bow and stern . The rest of the ship received traditional timber armor . Service history The keel for Conte Verde was laid down at the San Rocco shipyard in Livorno on 2 February 1863 . She was launched on 29 July 1867 , and was completed in December 1871 . The ship did not have a long or particularly active career rapidly surpassed first by central battery and then turret ships , the first generation of ironclads with traditional broadside quickly became obsolete . In addition , the Italian government lost confidence in the fleet after its defeat in 1866 at the Battle of Lissa and drastically reduced the naval budget . The cuts were so severe that the fleet had great difficulty in mobilizing its ironclad squadron to attack the port of Civitavecchia in September 1870 , as part of the wars of Italian unification . Instead , the ships were laid up and the sailors conscripted to man them were sent home . As a result , Conte Verde was not used in any significant way in her nine years in service . The ship was stricken from the naval register in 1880 , but was not actually broken up for scrap until 1898 . The Navy discarded both of her sisters , along with the ironclad Re di Portogallo between 1875 and 1880 to remove the cost of maintaining them from the naval budget , as part of an effort to reduce the financial impact of the new Caio Duilio and Italia classes then under construction .
655
Palestro was an ironclad warship , the second and final member of the Principe Amedeo class , built for the Italian Regia Marina ( Royal Navy ) in the 1860s and 1870s . She was armed with a battery of six 10 in ( 254 mm ) guns and one 11 in ( 279 mm ) gun . The last sail rigged ironclad of the Italian fleet , she had a single steam engine that was capable of propelling the ship at a speed of slightly over 12 knots ( 22 km h 14 mph ) . Obsolescent before she entered service , Palestro had an uneventful career . She served primarily in Italy 's colonial empire and did not see action . In 1880 , she took part in an international naval demonstration off Ragusa to enforce the Treaty of Berlin . Palestro was employed in the defense of La Maddalena from 1889 to 1894 , and thereafter as a training ship . She was stricken from the naval register in 1900 and broken up for scrap in 1902 1904 . Design Palestro was 78 . 82 meters ( 258 . 6 ft ) long between perpendiculars she had a beam of 17 . 3 m ( 57 ft ) and an average draft of 8 m ( 26 ft ) . She displaced 5 , 761 metric tons ( 5 , 670 long tons 6 , 350 short tons ) normally and up to 6 , 318 t ( 6 , 218 long tons 6 , 964 short tons ) at full load . Her propulsion system consisted of one single expansion steam engine that drove a single screw propeller , with steam supplied by six coal fired , cylindrical fire tube boilers . Her engine produced a top speed of 12 . 85 knots ( 23 . 80 km h 14 . 79 mph ) at 6 , 117 indicated horsepower ( 4 , 561 kW ) . She could steam for 1 , 780 nautical miles ( 3 , 300 km 2 , 050 mi ) at a speed of 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . The ship was barque rigged to supplement the steam engine Palestro and her sister were the last rigged ironclads to be built by Italy . She had a crew of 548 officers and men . Palestro was armed with a main battery of six 10 in ( 254 mm ) guns , mounted in three armored casemates . The first was located forward , toward the bow , the second and third were placed close to the stern on each side of the ship . A 11 in ( 279 mm ) gun was mounted forward as a bow chaser . Palestro was protected by iron belt armor that was 8 . 7 in ( 221 mm ) thick and extended for the entire length of the hull . The casemates were protected with 5 . 5 in ( 140 mm ) of iron plating , and the small conning tower had 2 . 4 in ( 61 mm ) thick iron plates . Service history The keel for Palestro was laid down at the Regio Cantiere di Castellammare di Stabia shipyard in August 1865 . The ship was named for the gunboat Palestro , which had been sunk at the Battle of Lissa in 1866 . The date of her launch is unknown , though surviving records indicate either 30 September or 2 October 1871 . The ship was completed on 11 July 1875 , after almost a decade of work . Obsolescent by the time she was completed , Palestro primarily served in the Italian colonial empire , which Italy had begun acquiring in the 1880s . She occasionally took part in training maneuvers with the main Italian fleet throughout her career . In November 1880 , Palestro and the ironclad Roma took part in a naval demonstration off Ragusa in an attempt to force the Ottoman Empire to comply with the terms of the Treaty of Berlin and turn over the town of Ulcinj to Montenegro . Palestro was used as a headquarters ship for the ships defending La Maddalena from 1889 to 1894 . She was then used as a training ship for coxswains . The ship was stricken from the naval register on 14 April 1900 and broken up for scrap between 1902 and 1904 .
656
Out of This World Adventures was a pulp magazine which published two issues , in July and December 1950 . It included several pages of comics as well as science fiction stories . It was edited by Donald A. Wollheim and published by Avon . Sales were weak , and after two issues Avon decided to cancel it . Publication history The early 1950s saw dramatic changes in the world of U.S. science fiction publishing . At the start of 1949 , all but one of the major magazines in the field were in pulp format by the end of 1955 , almost all had either ceased publication or switched to digest format . Despite the rapid decline of the pulp market , several new science fiction magazines were launched in pulp format during these years Out of This World Adventures was one of these . In 1947 Avon Books launched the Avon Fantasy Reader , a series of fantasy anthologies in digest format , edited by Donald A. Wollheim . Two years later , Joseph Meyers , Avon 's president , decided to launch a science fiction magazine , and Wollheim purchased six stories for it before it was cancelled for financial reasons . The following year , Avon 's printer , J.W. Clements , suggested to Meyers the idea of a pulp magazine which included a few pages of comics . Meyers asked Wollheim to try the idea , thinking that the additional section might draw comics readers to buy a pulp magazine , and in July 1950 Wollheim duly launched Sparkling Love Stories and Out of This World Adventures . The romance magazine was cancelled after a single issue because of poor sales but Out of This World Adventures seemed promising enough to try a second issue , which appeared in December 1950 , along with a third magazine in the part comic format Pioneer Western . Neither sold well enough to extend their runs any further . Donald A. Wollheim was the editor for both issues . His editorial policy was slanted towards interplanetary fiction , according to his editorial in the first issue . The magazine included stories by several writers who were either already well known or who would go on to more success the first issue featured A.E. van Vogt , Lester del Rey , Kris Neville , William Tenn , Mack Reynolds , Ray Cummings and A. Bertram Chandler . Science fiction historians Mike Ashley and Wendy Bousfield both regard Tenn 's story , The Puzzle of unk , as the best in the magazine . The 32 page comics section , which was taken directly from an existing Avon comic called Out of This World , included comics written by John Michel and Gardner Fox the latter , a pastiche of Robert E. Howard 's Conan stories , was titled Crom the Barbarian and was illustrated by John Giunta . Michel , like Wollheim a member of the Futurians , a group of sf fans and aspiring writers , wrote the lead comic for both issues , though the second issue of the Canadian edition used a different comic section than the U.S. edition . The interior artwork was the responsibility of Avon 's art director , rather than Wollheim , and illustrators such as William McWilliam , who worked on Avon 's comics , were used . Bibliographic details Out of This World Adventures was intended to be bi monthly , but only two issues were produced , dated July and December 1950 . It was priced at 25 cents for both issues each issue was 128 pages and was in pulp format . The publisher was Avon Periodicals for both issues . A Canadian edition appeared , also priced at 25 cents the cover of the Canadian edition omitted the dates , but the issues appeared in November 1950 and April 1951 .
657
The Whitefish Bay National Forest Scenic Byway is a National Forest Scenic Byway that runs along Whitefish Bay in the Hiawatha National Forest in the U.S. state of Michigan . The byway mostly follows Federal Forest Highway 42 ( FFH 42 ) through Chippewa County in the Upper Peninsula . As a forest highway , it is maintained jointly by the Chippewa County Road Commission ( CCRC ) and the U.S. Forest Service ( USFS ) . The route of the byway first existed as an earth road by the 1930s it was improved into a gravel road in the 1940s and paved between the 1950s and the 1980s . The byway designation was created in 1989 . Route description The byway starts at an intersection with M 123 south of Paradise in the Hiawatha National Forest where it runs eastward along Lake Superior Shoreline Road through birch forests . The roadway runs parallel to the North Country Trail , a hiking trail that spans several northern U.S. states the trail crosses the road near Naomikong Creek . After about three miles ( 4 . 8 km ) , the road comes to the shores of Tahquamenon Bay , part of the larger Whitefish Bay . The byway follows the shoreline running near sandy beaches at the edge of the forest . Near Naomikong Point , the roadway turns inland for about three miles ( 4 . 8 km ) . Along this section , Lake Superior Shoreline Road , which bears the FFH 3150 designation , ends at the intersection with Lakeshore Road . East of here , the byway transitions from FFH 3150 to follow FFH 42 easterly . FFH 42 runs along the shoreline providing access to two campgrounds at Monocle Lake and Bay View as well as picnic areas . The road also provides access to the Point Iroquois Lighthouse which is open for tours . The lighthouse was built in 1870 and offers visitors a view of the Canadian shore at the top of its spiral staircase . After passing through the Point Iroquois area , FFH 42 turns southward to follow the shore line on Iroquois Road , terminating at the national forest boundary west of Brimley . The FFH 42 number is not signed along the roadway . History The roadway is part of the Forest Highway System that is funded and administered by the USFS and the Federal Highway Administration the system was created by the Federal Aid Highway Act of 1921 . An earthen roadway was present through the area by 1936 . In the beginning of 1937 , the easternmost section around Point Iroquois was improved to a gravel road . Two years later , the westernmost section from Naomikong Point to the junction with M 123 was improved to gravel . The entire road surface was improved to gravel by 1945 . Paving started on the road in the mid 1950s on the eastern end . The section through the Naomikong Point area was built starting in 1967 by the Michigan State Highway Department under contract to the USFS . The road , at the time , was intended to be part of a longer scenic highway that would connect a proposed lakeshore road through the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore with roads running along Whitefish Bay and the St. Marys River south of Sault Ste . Marie . The western end was realigned and paved in the late 1970s , moving the roadway closer to Tahquamenon Bay west of Naomikong Point . The former roadway was removed in the process . The last section was paved in 1987 between the two paved sections at Naomikong and Iroquois points . The National Forest Scenic Byway designation was granted on February 8 , 1989 . The roadway is maintained by the CCRC along with the USFS . Major intersections The entire byway is in Chippewa County .
658
Montebello was the second of four Goito class torpedo cruisers built for the Italian Regia Marina ( Royal Navy ) in the 1880s . She was built at the Arsenale di La Spezia between September 1885 and January 1889 , when she entered service . She was armed with a variety of light guns and four 14 inch ( 356 mm ) torpedo tubes , and was capable of a top speed of 18 knots ( 33 km h 21 mph ) . Montebello spent her active duty career with the main Italian fleet , where she frequently took part in annual training exercises . In 1903 , she was withdrawn from front line service and converted into a training ship for engine room personnel she served in this capacity until 1920 , when she was sold for scrap . Design Montebello was 73 . 4 meters ( 241 ft ) long overall and had a beam of 7 . 88 m ( 25 . 9 ft ) and an average draft of 3 . 31 m ( 10 . 9 ft ) . She displaced 801 metric tons ( 788 long tons 883 short tons ) normally . Her propulsion system consisted of three triple expansion steam engines each driving a single screw propeller , with steam supplied by six coal fired locomotive boilers . Exact figures for the ship 's performance have not survived , but the members of the Goito class could steam at a speed of about 18 knots ( 33 km h 21 mph ) from 2 , 500 to 3 , 180 indicated horsepower ( 1 , 860 to 2 , 370 kW ) . Montebello had a cruising radius of 1 , 100 nautical miles ( 2 , 000 km 1 , 300 mi ) at a speed of 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . She had a crew of between 105 and 121 . The primary armament for Montebello was four 14 in ( 356 mm ) torpedo tubes . She was also equipped with six 57 mm ( 2 . 2 in ) 40 caliber guns and two 37 mm ( 1 . 5 in ) 20 cal. guns , all mounted singly . The ship was protected with an armored deck that was 1 . 5 in ( 38 mm ) thick . Service history The keel for Montebello was laid down at the Arsenale di La Spezia shipyard on 25 September 1885 . She was launched on 14 March 1888 and completed on 21 January 1889 . In 1893 , Montebello was laid up in Naples for the year at the time , the Italian fleet mobilized only a handful of vessels for the annual training maneuvers , preferring to keep the most modern vessels in reserve to reduce maintenance costs . In 1895 , Montebello was stationed in the 2nd Maritime Department , split between Taranto and Naples , along with most of the torpedo cruisers in the Italian fleet . These included her sister ships Monzambano , Goito , and Confienza , the eight Partenope class cruisers , and Tripoli . In 1898 , Montebello was assigned to the Levant Squadron that patrolled the eastern Mediterranean . She served on the station with the ironclad battleship Sardegna , the protected cruiser Etruria , Monzambano , and the torpedo cruiser Aretusa . Later in 1898 , Montebello was withdrawn from front line service and employed as a training ship for engine room personnel . In 1903 , her boilers were replaced with a variety of coal and oil burning boilers manufactured by Pattison , Yarrow , and Thornycroft to give trainees several types of equipment to operate . At the outbreak of the Italo Turkish War in September 1911 , Montebello was stationed in Venice along with Tripoli and Goito . None of the vessels saw action during the war . The ship did not see action after Italy entered World War I either , as both the Italian and Austro Hungarian fleets adopted cautious strategies . Montebello continued in service as a training ship until 26 January 1920 , when she was stricken from the naval register and broken up for scrap .
659
Tropical Storm Alice was the first tropical cyclone in the Atlantic Ocean to receive a female name . It was a rare off season tropical cyclone that hit Central America , Cuba , and Florida in late May to early June 1953 . Alice formed on May 25 in the western Caribbean , and executed a large loop over Central America . It passed over western Cuba , causing heavy rainfall and possibly several casualties from drowning . It then executed another loop in the Gulf of Mexico , reached a peak intensity of 70 mph ( 110 km h ) , and weakened before hitting the Florida panhandle on June 6 . Although heavy rainfall occurred in Florida , there was little damage . Meteorological history In May and June 1953 , an unusually long lasting upper level low persisted across Mexico and Central America . On May 25 , a weak warm core surface circulation developed east of Nicaragua . It moved around the upper level low , bringing it to the northwest and later looping to the south through Honduras and Central America . The system weakened over land , but it re intensified over the western Caribbean Sea , moving over western Cuba as a 50 mph ( 80 km h ) tropical storm on May 31 . Advisories for Alice did not begin until June 1 , when the storm entered the Gulf of Mexico . Around the time the cyclone 's naming , reconnaissance aircraft reported winds of around 65 mph ( 105 km h ) , and subsequently Alice executed another loop off the northwest coast of Cuba . Alice weakened quickly to minimal tropical storm status , due to interaction with a cold front off Florida . It deteriorated so much that advisories were discontinued , with Miami Weather Bureau meteorologist James George remarking that no danger existed there whatsoever . After again passing near the Cuban coast , Alice turned to the northwest and began re strengthening . On June 5 , reconnaissance aircraft estimated 70 to 75 mph ( 110 to 120 km h ) winds in brief squalls northeast of the center , along with a pressure of 997 hectopascals ( 29 . 4 inHg ) this would be its peak intensity . The storm again weakened as it approached the Florida peninsula , and Alice made landfall just west of Panama City Beach on June 6 as a minimal tropical storm . It dissipated shortly thereafter . Impact and records While the storm was in the vicinity of western Cuba , it produced heavy rainfall , which broke a nine month drought . The rainfall caused flooding , and there were unconfirmed reports of several deaths due to drowning . When advisories first began on the storm , the National Hurricane Center issued storm warnings from Key West through Tarpon Springs on the west coast of Florida at the same time , the agency posted small craft warnings for the east coast up through Palm Beach . Alice brought heavy rainfall to Florida , peaking at 13 . 48 inches ( 342 mm ) in Lake Placid in the central portion of the state . The rains ended a dry spell in the state . Along the Florida panhandle , workers tied down planes in local Air Force and Naval bases . No evacuations were ordered , and the primary impact was in the form of light rain . There were no reports of damage in the state . From 1950 to 1952 , Atlantic hurricanes were named using the Joint Army Navy Phonetic Alphabet . Before the 1953 season , officials changed the system to using female names hence , Alice was the first in the new format . Male names would not be used until 1979 . The name Alice was later reused twice in 1954 for a hurricane in June and December , as well as for a hurricane in 1973 .
660
A Lemon Drop is a vodka based cocktail that has a lemony , sweet and sour flavor , prepared using lemon juice , triple sec and simple syrup . It has been described as a variant of , or as a take on , the Vodka Martini . It is typically prepared and served straight up chilled with ice and strained . The drink was invented sometime in the 1970s by Norman Jay Hobday , the founder and proprietor of Henry Africa 's bar in San Francisco , California . Some variations of the drink exist , such as blueberry and raspberry Lemon Drops . It is served at some bars and restaurants in the United States , and in such establishments in other areas of the world . Overview A Lemon Drop is a cocktail with a lemony , sweet and sour flavor , whereby the sweet and sour ingredients serve to contrast and balance one another . It is a vodka based cocktail that is prepared with the addition of lemon juice , triple sec and simple syrup . Plain or citrus flavored vodka may be used in its preparation , such as citron vodka . Lemon flavored vodka is also sometimes used . Lemon juice that has been freshly squeezed may be used , which can produce a superior drink compared to using commercially prepared lemon juice . Some versions are prepared using the juice from Meyer lemons . unk brand triple sec is used in some versions , and it may be prepared using a simple syrup that has been infused with lemon juice . Some versions are prepared using sour mix , a cocktail mixer . A garnish of a sliced lemon wheel , wedge , zest , rind or a lemon twist is sometimes used . Lemon is also sometimes included within the drink , such as a lemon wheel . Additional ingredients may also be used in the drink 's preparation , such as ginger syrup and lavender extract . A Lemon Drop is typically prepared straight up , meaning that it is shaken or stirred with ice , strained , and served in a stemmed glass , such as a martini glass . The glass may be prepared with a sugared rim , performed by dipping the rim of the glass in water or lemon juice and then dipping it into a unk ( a shallow tray used in bartending ) , filled with sugar . unk sugar ( also called bar sugar , caster sugar , castor sugar and ultrafine sugar ) , which is more finely ground compared to standard granulated sugar , is sometimes used for this purpose . History The Lemon Drop was invented sometime in the 1970s by Norman Jay Hobday , the founder and proprietor of Henry Africa 's , a fern bar in the Russian Hill neighborhood of San Francisco , California that opened in 1969 . It was originally served in a cocktail glass . The Lemon Drop was most likely named after lemon drop candy . After its invention , the drink swiftly spread to many San Francisco saloons . In the early 1990s , it was often prepared as a shooter or served in a shot glass . Variations Variations of the drink include Lemon Drops prepared with blueberries and raspberries , which may use vodkas or other liquors flavored with these respective berries . These drinks may also be served or garnished with these berries , or with lemon . A blueberry Lemon Drop may be prepared with muddled blueberries , and a raspberry Lemon Drop may be prepared with pured or crushed raspberries . The glass may have a sugared rim , and colored sugar may be used , prepared by adding food coloring to the sugar . In popular culture In 2006 , preparation of the Lemon Drop was presented on The Oprah Winfrey Show , prepared by Oprah Winfrey and Rachael Ray . The drink 's popularity increased during this time .
661
The 42nd Boat Race took place on 28 March 1885 . Held annually , the Boat Race is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . In a race umpired by former Cambridge rower Robert Lewis Lloyd , the lead changed hands several times . Oxford won by a margin of two and a half lengths in a time of 21 minutes 36 seconds . The victory took the overall record to 23 18 in favour of Oxford . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . First held in 1829 , the race takes place on the 4 . 2 miles ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities it is followed throughout the United Kingdom and as of 2014 , broadcast worldwide . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions having won the previous year 's race by two and a half lengths , while Oxford held the overall lead , with 22 victories to Cambridge 's 18 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . Oxford 's coach was G. C. Bourne who had rowed for the Dark Blues in the 1882 and 1883 races . There is no record of who coached Cambridge , who were seriously disrupted in the build up to the race , with Edric Wolseley Haig contracting mumps , J. C. Brown breaking a floating rib and William King unk being introduced to the crew days prior to replace him . The umpire for the race was Robert Lewis Lloyd ( who had rowed for Cambridge four times between 1856 and 1859 ) . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 12 st 6 . 75 lb ( 79 . 1 kg ) , 7 . 75 pounds ( 3 . 5 kg ) more than their opponents . It was the heaviest crew to have ever featured in the Boat Race . Cambridge 's crew contained four rowers who had Boat Race experience , including Fraser Elmslie Churchill and Sidney Swann , both of whom were participating in their third race . Similarly , Oxford saw four former Blues return , with Douglas McLean making his third appearance and rowing with his brother Hector for the first time . The race featured one registered non British participant in Oxford 's number two , J. S. Clemons , who originated from Tasmania . Race Cambridge were pre race favourites . Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , handing the Middlesex side of the river to Cambridge . The race started at 12 26 p.m. in fine weather on a moderate tide . Although Oxford made the better start , Cambridge held a half of a length lead by the time the crews passed the Craven Steps . With the advantage of the bend in the river , the Oxford stroke H. Girdlestone , without increasing the stroke rate , took his crew level , and ahead at the Mile Post . Although the Cambridge stroke Frederick Pitman tried to restore parity by encouraging a spurt , Oxford held the Light Blues off and by Hammersmith Bridge held a length 's lead . Despite appearing as if the crew going to pieces after some difficult conditions , Oxford extended their lead to two lengths by The Doves pub . Approaching Barnes Bridge , the Dark Blues had to avoid a skiff , allowing Cambridge to come back at them , before pushing on once again on to win by two and a half lengths in a time of 21 minutes 36 seconds . After the race it was noted that the Oxford number three , P. W. Taylor , had dislocated his shoulder but had continued despite his injury .
662
The Suquamish Museum is a museum located on the Port Madison Indian Reservation in Washington state . It preserves and displays relics and records related to the Suquamish Tribe , including artifacts from the Old Man House and the Baba unk site . Founded in 1983 , the museum currently occupies a facility opened in 2012 . History The Suquamish Museum opened in 1983 as the Suquamish Museum and Cultural Center , then only the second tribal museum in the state of Washington . In 2009 the Suquamish tribe launched a capital campaign to construct a new facility , enlisting Senator Patty Murray and former Washington Secretary of State Ralph Munro to help lead the effort . The new facility opened in 2012 and is triple the size of the original building . Constructed at a cost of 6 million , the 9 , 000 square foot ( 840 m2 ) purpose built structure is set in a small botanical garden on the Port Madison Indian Reservation and consists of two galleries , a gift shop , a 50 seat auditorium , and a climate controlled storage room used to house artifacts not on display . The facility was designed by the Seattle architectural firm Mithun and is a LEED Gold certified building . In 2013 it received a citation from the Washington Council of the American Institute of Architects . Operations Collection In addition to a large repository of photographs documenting tribal life from the 1860s to the present , the museum 's collection includes 496 archaeological artifacts recovered from the site of the former Old Man House , a massive , 240 meters ( 790 ft ) long longhouse that served as the Suquamish capitol until its destruction in the late nineteenth century . Originally in the custody of the Burke Museum at the University of Washington , the artifacts , which include harpoon points , smoking pipes , and jewelry , were transferred to the Suquamish tribe in 2013 . In 2014 , the Port of Seattle transferred additional artifacts to the museum , including crockery and glass bottles , discovered during archaeological excavations in the 1970s at the Baba unk site , a pre contact village located in what is now Seattle 's Belltown neighborhood . The controversial transfer was contested by the Duwamish , an unrecognized tribe and historic Suquamish rival who claim ownership of the artifacts . Exhibitions The museum 's main gallery features a permanent exhibit titled Ancient Shores Changing Tides that showcases drawings , documents , and historic photographs related to the Suquamish Tribe , contemporary and historic crafts , and interpretative panels and multimedia elements . The centerpiece of this exhibit is a 300 year old carved canoe that was last used in the 1989 Paddle to Seattle , the first of a now annual series of canoe journeys through the Salish Sea undertaken by tribal members . A second gallery is used to house rotating exhibits from the museum 's permanent collection , or items on loan from other museums , including traveling exhibits from the Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service ( unk ) . Exhibits have included a unk display Native Words , Native Warriors , chronicling the history of Native Americans in the U.S. armed forces . Management The Suquamish Museum is governed by a five member board of directors appointed by the Suquamish Tribal Council . The galleries and auditorium of the museum are open daily during the summer , and five days per week the rest of the year . The museum 's storage vault is open to tribal members and accredited researchers weekly .
663
Priscilla Dailey , previously known as the Elizabeth E. Newell , is a wooden canal boat constructed in 1929 in Whitehall , New York . The barge was used to transport bulk cargo in New York , New Jersey , and Connecticut harbors . It sunk in 1974 along with the Elmer S. Dailey and the Berkshire No. 7 . The sunken boat has deteriorated to the point that a salvage operation could result in it breaking apart . It was added to the National Register of Historic Places on December 21 , 1978 . Description The barge measures 111 . 1 feet ( 33 . 9 m ) long with a 24 feet ( 7 . 3 m ) beam . The depth of the hold is listed at 11 . 8 feet ( 3 . 6 m ) and it had a listed capacity of 311 tons . Clouette describes the Priscilla Dailey as having a nearly rectangular hull in profile , section and plan , with squared off stern and bluntly rounded bow . Low bulwarks with scuppers rise slightly to a peak where they join the prominently projecting stem . There are several raised strakes in the bow . The superstructure consists mainly of a single low coaming which extends nearly the length of the vessel . Toward the stern is a small cabin that has the same width and height of the coaming . In 1978 , the National Register of Historic Places nomination noted that the convex hatch covers likely floated away and that the squarish hood over the companionway had washed away . History The wooden canal boat Priscilla Dailey was originally known as Elizabeth E. Newell until it was purchased by Stewart J. Dailey in 1941 . It was constructed in 1929 in Whitehall , New York , by William J. Ryan for Anthony O. Boyle . The ship was built 24 years after the Champlain Canal 's enlargement , but more closely resembles the specifications of the 19th century canal boats . It was used to transport materials in New York , New Jersey and Connecticut harbors between 1941 and 1972 , and afterward was moored in Bridgeport Harbor together with the Elmer S. Dailey and Berkshire No. 7 . In the spring of 1974 , one of the barges began to take on water , dragging down the other two . At neap tide , one third of the hull of the Priscilla Dailey is visible above water . Priscilla Dailey is listed in the U.S. Registry as unk . Importance The Priscilla Dailey is historically significant because it is one of the few surviving wooden canal boats and is a rare and representative artifact of canal transportation . Its design is characteristic of its 19th century predecessors despite being a 20th century vessel . It was added to the National Register of Historic Places on December 21 , 1978 . Its nomination and listing is unusual because it was not yet 50 years old at the time of its nomination , and it sunk in 1974 . It and the other two barges that sank with it are the only shipwrecks in Connecticut listed on the National Register of Historic Places . In 1998 , the historic status of the barges was a concern for the Port Authority of Bridgeport Harbor , as the sunken ships interfered with a billion dollar redevelopment project . Over the years , the barges had deteriorated so that an operation to salvage them would likely result in them breaking apart . No action had been taken by 2003 , but a report noted that prior to any activity of the Priscilla Dailey , the Federal Transit Administration and or the City of Bridgeport would document the barge with photos and a technical description . Specifics regarding the documentation based on the activity would be archived at the State Historic Preservation Office and the Mystic Seaport Museum .
664
M 106 is a state trunkline highway in the Lower Peninsula of the US state of Michigan in and near the city of Jackson . M 106 travels in a southwest to northeast direction from Jackson to Gregory at a junction with M 36 just a few miles northwest of Hell . The highway was first designated in 1928 running north out of downtown Jackson . It connected U.S. Highway 12 ( US 12 ) to the state prison and Bunkerhill Road . A pair of changes in the early 1930s resulted in the extension eastward to Gregory . From the 1960s until the early years of the 21st century , a section of M 106 in downtown Jackson was routed along one way streets . Route description M 106 starts in downtown Jackson at the corner of Cooper Street and Michigan Avenue . Michigan Avenue runs east west carrying Business Loop Interstate 94 ( BL I 94 ) , Business US 127 ( Bus . US 127 ) and M 50 , and Cooper Street runs northwesterly from here carrying M 106 . The highway passes through residential neighborhoods immediately north of downtown , and turns due north near Jackson Catholic Middle School and the historic Michigan State Prison . Continuing a few miles north through an interchange with I 94 and US 127 , M 106 runs north out of town . Cooper Street continues out of town , and the trunkline runs by the State Prison of Southern Michigan . North of the current prison , the highway curves to the northwest following Bunkerhill Road . Through this area , M 106 runs through farm fields and forests . The highway turns onto Plum Orchard Road near unk Lake and runs east into the community of unk . M 106 merges onto Territorial Road east of the town before crossing the county line into Ingham County . South of Stockbridge , M 106 merges with M 52 and the two run concurrently into that community . M 106 turns east in the downtown area and continues along Morton Road into Livingston County . The highway ends at a junction with M 36 in Gregory . M 106 is maintained by MDOT like other state highways in Michigan . As a part of these maintenance responsibilities , the department tracks the volume of traffic that uses the roadways under its jurisdiction . These volumes are expressed using a metric called annual average daily traffic , which is a statistical calculation of the average daily number of vehicles on a segment of roadway . MDOT 's surveys in 2010 showed that the highest traffic levels along M 106 were the 15 , 474 vehicles daily south of I 94 the lowest counts were the 1 , 550 vehicles per day in near the M 36 junction . The only section of M 106 has been listed on the National Highway System ( NHS ) is between M 50 and I 94 in Jackson . The NHS is a network of roads important to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . History M 106 was first designated in 1928 on a route that ran from US 12 ( Michigan Avenue ) along Cooper Street to Bunkerhill Road , a total of 4 1 2 miles ( 7 . 2 km ) . This highway was extended north to Stockbridge in late 1930 or early 1931 . A further realignment of M 36 resulted in the extension of M 106 to Gregory . Cooper Street in Jackson was converted to one way , southbound traffic in 1967 . A northbound routing along Milwaukee Street was established . The south end of southbound M 106 was trimmed back to end at BL I 94 Bus . US 127 M 50 . Two way traffic was restored in 2004 . M 106 was shifted to run only along Cooper Street ( formerly Milwaukee Street ) , and Francis Street ( formerly Cooper Street ) is left as an unsigned trunkline . Major intersections
665
State Route 279 is a state highway in the U.S. state of Utah . The highway was constructed in 1962 1963 to service the Cane Creek potash mine and processing plant southwest of Moab . The highway was named one of the most beautiful highways opened to traffic in 1963 . The entire length of SR 279 has been designated the Potash Lower Colorado River Scenic Byway by the Utah State Legislature , however is known locally as Potash Road . This highway was intended to be part of a longer highway , State Route 278 , that was to scale the canyon walls between Moab and Dead Horse Point State Park . Only the connection to the potash mine was constructed before the project was cancelled . Although the highway was constructed to aid the mining industry of southeastern Utah , the road is popular with tourists and four wheel drive enthusiasts . The jeep trails beginning where SR 279 ends are used to access Canyonlands National Park and Dead Horse Point . Route description The highway begins just north of Moab at a junction with U.S. Route 191 near the southern boundary of Arches National Park . The road follows the north bank of the Colorado River to the potash mine . The road is legislatively designated north south , but actually serpentines for most of its length . The highway loosely parallels a spur of the Denver and Rio Grande Railroad built at the same time and for the same purpose of serving the potash mine . The route of the railroad features a 1 . 59 mile ( 2 . 56 km ) tunnel that bypasses most of the serpentine bends in the Colorado River between Moab and the potash plant . While in the Colorado River canyon , the highway passes by dinosaur footprints , Indian petroglyphs and jeep trails leading to Canyonlands National Park and Dead Horse Point State Park . The highway also passes by three named natural arches , Corona Arch , Bow Tie Arch , and Jug Handle Arch . History The State Road Commission approved a new State Route 279 in 1960 , connecting US 160 ( now US 191 ) northwest of Moab with Dead Horse Point State Park . The route would be mostly new construction , following the right ( northwest ) bank of the Colorado River to Day Canyon , where it would climb to the southwest onto the plateau containing the park . Within the park , an existing roadway , then its primary access road , would become part of SR 279 . The state legislature approved this highway in 1961 . Later that year , the commission added a second route State Route 278 that would continue south alongside the river from SR 279 to the Grand San Juan County line . However , when it approved the addition in 1963 , the legislature made it part of SR 279 , renumbering the spur to the park through Day Canyon as SR 278 . In addition , the south end of SR 279 was changed to Potash , a point north of the county line where the Texas Gulf Sulphur Company was building a potash plant . SR 279 was soon built , but the road through Day Canyon was never constructed . In 1975 , the legislature deleted SR 278 in favor of a new SR 313 , which followed the existing county road to Dead Horse Point through Sevenmile Canyon . In 1963 , Parade Magazine held the third of an annual competition for most scenic highway that opened to traffic that year . SR 279 was one of four finalists in the competition . The others finalists were I 93 between Windham and Londonderry in New Hampshire , I 84 near Southington , Connecticut and I 405 near Sepulveda Pass in Los Angeles , California . Major intersections The entire route is in Grand County .
666
The Radioplane RP 77 was a small target drone missile , constructed largely of plastic materials , produced by the Radioplane division of the Northrop Corporation . Although the RP 77D was successfully tested by the United States Army , the decision was made not to procure the aircraft . Design and development The development of the RP 77 began in 1955 . Similar in outline to Radioplane 's earlier OQ 19 , four prototypes of the RP 77 were constructed , two each of the RP 77 , powered by a four cylinder McCulloch piston engine , and of the RP 77A , powered by a six cylinder Lycoming engine . Results of flight testing were insufficient to interest the U.S. Army , however in 1957 a proposal for an improved RP 77D , powered by a Boeing 502 turboprop , resulted in a contract for the construction of 20 aircraft . The design of the RP 77D made extensive use of glass polyester plastic materials . The drone was launched using a rocket assisted take off system consisting of four Loki rockets , and was fitted with a radio control apparatus that , with the assistance of radar tracking , allowed the drone to be operated at a considerable distance from its launching point . In addition to equipment typically carried by target drones , the RP 77D could be equipped with reconnaissance or meteorological sensors , or with air sampling equipment . The RP 77D utilised the unk tracking system , developed by Radioplane , using audio frequency tones for control . Tip tanks allowed for carriage of additional fuel to extend the aircraft 's range , and recovery at the end of the flight was by parachute . An improved version of the RP 77D was projected , with provision for launching RP 76 target missiles . Operational history Following its maiden flight in March 1958 , evaluation of the RP 77D by the U.S. Army took place throughout the remainder of that year , nearly 40 test flights being conducted . Although the test results were generally satisfactory , it was determined that the performance of the aircraft was an insufficient improvement over existing types in service to have the aircraft ordered into production , and the project was cancelled , along with the improved RP 86 , a dedicated reconnaissance variant . Following the termination of the Army 's evaluation , Radioplane , as a private venture , conducted an improvement program for the RP 77D , fitting the aircraft with a larger wing , along with other modifications that improved the performance of the drone . However these improvements were insufficient to produce a renewed interest from the Army . Variants RP 77 Prototype model powered by McCulloch piston engine two built . RP 77A Prototype model powered by Lycoming IMO 360 piston engine two built RP 77B Proposed version of RP 77 with turbo supercharged McCulloch engine , none built . RP unk Proposed version of RP 77A with turbo supercharged Lycoming SO unk engine , none built . RP 77D Production prototype with Boeing 502 turboprop twenty built for evaluation . RP 86 Proposed reconnaissance version of RP 77D none built . Specifications ( RP 77D ) Data from General characteristics Crew None Length 14 ft 10 in ( 4 . 53 m ) Wingspan 15 ft 3 in ( 4 . 66 m ) Height 5 ft 2 in ( 1 . 58 m ) Gross weight 1 , 050 lb ( 476 kg ) Powerplant 1 Boeing 502 10F turboprop , 285 shp ( 213 kW ) Propellers 2 bladed Performance Maximum speed 425 mph ( 684 km h 369 kn ) Endurance One hour at 40 , 000 feet Service ceiling 47 , 000 ft ( 14 , 326 m )
667
NSB Class 64 ( Norwegian NSB type 64 ) is a class of three electric multiple units built by Strmmens Vrksted for the Norwegian State Railways . Delivered in 1935 , they were built for the opening of the Hardanger Line and served there until 1985 , when the line closed and the trains were retired . They also periodically served on the Flm Line . The delivery consisted of three motor cars and four carriages , with each train consisting of up to three units . The motor cars were 16 . 3 meters ( 53 ft ) long , had a power output of 464 kilowatts ( 622 hp ) and were capable of 50 km h ( 31 mph ) . The motor units were given road numbers 505 through 507 . Two of the units have been preserved by the Norwegian Railway Club and are at Garnes Station . History The Hardanger Line opened in 1935 as a steep and curvy branch of the Bergen Line to connect Bergen to the Hardangerfjord . The line was 27 . 45 kilometers ( 17 . 06 mi ) long , had a maximum gradient of 4 . 5 percent , a minimum curve radius of 180 meters ( 591 ft ) , a maximum speed of 40 km h ( 25 mph ) , a maximum permitted axle load of 12 tonnes ( 12 long tons 13 short tons ) , standard gauge and a 15 kV 16 2 3 Hz AC electrification system . In 1931 , NSB had taken delivery of its first electric multiple unit , the Class 62 , for use on commuter trains on the Drammen Line . For the Hardanger Line , NSB ordered similar units , but these were modified to have a higher power output . Three motor cars and four carriages were delivered in 1934 . The mechanical components and assembly were done by Strmmens Vrksted , while the electrical equipment was made by Norsk Elektrisk Brown Boveri ( NEBB ) . The class was similar to the future Class 65 , and was regarded as a prototype . Class 64 were the shortest multiple units ever used by NSB . From 21 November 1944 , when the Flm Line received electric traction , Class 64 trains were also used there . The Flm Line is even steeper and more curved than the Hardanger Line , so the trains received track brakes . In 1947 , El 9 locomotives were delivered for the Flm Line . Class 64 trains continued to be used periodically on the Flm Line when there was insufficient availability of El 9s , as well as in periods with very little or very much traffic . Unit 64 . 07 was retired on 20 December 1982 after rust damage had been found on it . By 1984 , the carriages were in such bad shape that they needed to be replaced . Trailers from Class 65 and Class 67 were taken into use , and for a short period a Class 91 trailer . On 28 August 1985 , passenger traffic on the line was terminated and the two remaining trains were retired . Reasons for the termination included a lack of sufficient political support for financing new trains , and also that Class 64 was no longer suitable for use . The last two trains have been preserved by the Norwegian Railway Club and are stored at Garnes Station , part of the Old Voss Line . Specifications The units each had four NEBB unk motors , giving a combined power output of 464 kilowatts ( 622 hp ) . They had an overall length of 16 . 3 meters ( 53 ft ) , weighed 35 . 5 tonnes ( 34 . 9 long tons 39 . 1 short tons ) and had a Bo Bo wheel arrangement . The motor cars had a capacity for 38 passengers and a maximum speed of 50 km h ( 31 mph ) . Because of the steep gradients , the units had a low weight combined with high power output , and had both track brakes and dynamic braking . They were originally given road numbers unk though unk , but this was later changed to 64 . 05 through 64 . 07 .
668
The Rodelkka Line ( Norwegian unk ) is a former line of the Oslo Tramway of Norway . It was in use from 1900 to 1961 , serving the neighborhood of Rodelkka . After closing , the southern part of the line was designated as part of the Sinsen Line . The Rodelkka Line was built by Kristiania Kommunale Sporveie ( KKS ) in 1900 , and was subsequently taken over by Kristiania Sporveisselskab ( KSS ) in 1905 . In 1924 , the ownership was transferred to Oslo Sporveier . It was served by Line 9 until 1949 , when it was replaced by a bus service . In 1955 , a new route from Carl Berners plass to Rodelkka was built , and the line was served by Line 13 until 1961 , when the service was terminated . The tracks were removed between 1962 and 1964 . Route In 1899 , Oslo Municipality established KKS to build and operate three tram lines . The second line to open was the Rodelkka Line on 23 March 1900 , which connected to the KSS owned Grnerlkka Torshov Line at Nybrua near unk gate . The line was built as double track until unk . It ran along Trondheimsveien before it branched off at unk gate towards Rodelkka it followed unk gate , unk and unk before reaching unk . Here , a small depot was built with place for six cars . On 26 January 1901 , a new connection line through unk gate was built from unk to Kirkeristen , and the company no longer needed to lease tracks from Kristiania Elektriske Sporvei in the city center . KKS was bought by KSS in 1905 . The Sinsen Line opened on 1 February 1923 as a branch of the Rodelkka Line , which continued along Trondheimsveien to Carl Berners plass . The entire Rodelkka Line was rebuilt with double track in 1938 . In December 1940 , a service extension of the Rodelkka Line was built from Rodelkka to Sndre sen , operated by the Oslo trolleybus , remaining in service until 14 January 1945 . The tram service on the Rodelkka Line was terminated on 6 February 1949 , and replaced with bus line 27 , although the tracks were kept . A new line to Rodelkka was opened on 3 January 1955 . The bus operation had been more expensive than the tram , and a double track line was built from Carl Berners plass through unk to Rodelkka . The balloon loop was built around the block of unk , unk , unk and unk . The line was connected to the old Rodelkka Line with a triangular loop in unk . On 23 April 1961 , all traffic on the Rodelkka Line was terminated . The tracks were removed between 1962 and 1964 . Service The line was originally connected to unk via Stortorvet . After the line was taken over by KSS , it was given service number 9 and operated with a twelve minute headway , connecting via the city center to Skyen on the Skyen Line . When the Sinsen Line opened , the souther part of the Rodelkka was also served by Line 13 , which gave a six minute headway south of unk gate . From 29 June 1924 , after the takeover of Oslo Sporveier , the headway was changed to fifteen minutes . From 29 May 1927 , Line 13 was replaced with Line 12 , and from 19 June , Line 9 became Line 17 , which continued along the Ullevl Hageby Line on the other side of the city center . From 19 January 1937 , the Sinsen service was also operated by Line 3 . From 10 December 1939 , Gullfisk trams were put into service on the Sinsen services . With the reopening of the Rodelkka Line in 1955 , the service was taken over by Line 13 , which used SM53 trams . Ridership on the new line was less than predicted , and from 1959 , the line was only served during rush hour and started to turn at the Eastern Railway Station in the city center .
669
Tops in Science Fiction was a science fiction magazine which was launched in 1953 . The publisher , Love Romances Publishing , created it as a vehicle to reprint stories from Planet Stories . It was unsuccessful and only lasted for two issues . Although it contained no original stories , it did print some original artwork , including some of Kelly Freas 's early work . A British reprint edition appeared in the mid 1950s . Publication history The early 1950s saw dramatic changes in the world of U.S. science fiction publishing . At the start of 1949 , all but one of the major magazines in the field were in pulp format by the end of 1955 , almost all had either ceased publication or switched to digest format . Despite the rapid decline of the pulp market , several new science fiction magazines were launched in pulp format during these years Tops in Science Fiction was one of the last of these . The publisher , Love Romances Inc . , also published Planet Stories , and Malcolm Reiss , Planet 's editorial director , decided to try to take advantage of the backfile of stories and artwork from Planet 's 14 years of publication . He may have been inspired by the example of Fantastic Story Magazine , which was published by Standard Magazines as a vehicle to reprint their extensive backfile of science fiction . If so , he was evidently not aware that by 1953 Fantastic Story was not doing well financially . The first issue was dated Spring 1953 , and was edited by Jack O 'Sullivan . The cover , by Alexander Leydenfrost , was reprinted from a 1942 issue of Planet Stories . The fiction included Black Friar of the Flame by Isaac Asimov , and The Million Year Picnic , by Ray Bradbury the first of his Martian Chronicles stories . Interior art included some of Kelly Freas ' earliest work . The issue was only modestly successful , and on the advice of his distributor , who told Reiss that they were having trouble getting the magazine distributed , Reiss decided to switch to the digest format for the second issue digests were starting to become more popular than the pulps , which would be almost completely gone from the market within only a couple more years . The second issue was dated Fall 1953 the cover , by Freas , illustrated Lorelei of the Red Mist , by Bradbury and Leigh Brackett . Freas also did the interior illustrations for the story , and later commented that he was delighted by the results but felt he was never quite able to repeat it . A hex , of course . Interior artists for the second issue also included Emsh the fiction included stories by Fredric Brown and Horace Gold . However , this issue received only limited distribution , and Reiss decided against continuing with the magazine . Bibliographic details Tops in Science Fiction 's two issues were dated Spring and Fall 1953 the first in pulp format , and the second a digest . There was a single volume of two numbers . The publisher was Love Romances Publishing , based in Stamford , Connecticut . The magazine was priced at 25 cents for the pulp issue , and 35 cents for the digest issue . Both issues were 128 pages long . The first issue was edited by Jack O 'Sullivan the second by Malcolm Reiss . A British reprint edition appeared , with three 128 page digest editions published by Top Fiction Ltd . These were released in Autumn 1954 , Winter 1955 and Summer 1956 , though none of them were dated . The first two reprinted stories from the first U.S. issue the third reprinted material from the second U.S. issue . They were each priced at 1 6 .
670
The 74th Boat Race took place on 1 April 1922 . Held annually , the Boat Race is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions , having won the previous year 's race , and had the significantly heavier crew . Four of the Oxford crew and three of the Cambridge crew had previous Boat Race experience . In this year 's race , umpired by former rower Frederick I. Pitman , Cambridge won by four and a half lengths in a time of 19 minutes 27 seconds . It was Cambridge 's fourth consecutive victory , the largest winning margin since 1914 and the fastest winning time since 1911 . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . The race was first held in 1829 , and since 1845 has taken place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities it is followed throughout the United Kingdom and , as of 2014 , broadcast worldwide . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions , having won the 1921 race by one length , while Oxford led overall with 39 victories to Cambridge 's 33 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . Oxford 's coaches were George Drinkwater who had rowed for Oxford in the 1902 and 1903 races , E. D. Horsfall ( who had rowed in the three races prior to the First World War ) and R. P. P. Rowe who had rowed four times between 1889 and 1892 . Cambridge were coached by H. Peake ( who had participated in the Peace Regattas of 1919 ) , Sidney Swann ( who had rowed in the four races from 1911 to 1914 ) and G. L. Thomson . For the fourteenth year the umpire was old Etonian Frederick I. Pitman who rowed for Cambridge in the 1884 , 1885 and 1886 races . Crews The Cambridge crew weighed an average of 12 st 11 lb ( 81 . 0 kg ) , 7 pounds ( 3 . 2 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . Five of the Oxford crew had previous Boat Race experience , including cox W. H. Porritt who was making his third appearance in the event . Cambridge 's crew also included five individuals who had previously represented the university , including Humphrey Playford and P. H. G. H S. Hartley who were rowing for the Light Blues for the third consecutive year . Two of the participants were silver medallists in the men 's eight at the 1920 Summer Olympics Oxford 's Sebastian Earl , and Guy Oliver Nickalls . All of the participants in the race were registered as British . Race Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey side of the river to Cambridge . In a light wind and with a good tide , umpire Pitman commenced the race at 4 40 p.m. , which resulted in a false start , with Cambridge being released from their stakeboat too soon . After the restart , Cambridge were clear by the Mile Post and two lengths ahead of Oxford by the time the crews passed under Hammersmith Bridge . According to Oxford 's bow , George Drinkwater , Cambridge were rowing well within themselves and passed the finishing post four and a half lengths ahead in a time of 19 minutes 27 seconds . It was their fourth consecutive victory , the largest winning margin since the 1914 race and the fastest winning time since the 1911 race . The win took the overall record in the event to 39 34 in Oxford 's favour .
671
Foster Payne House is a historic house at 25 Belmont Street in Pawtucket , Rhode Island . Built in 1878 , the two story multi gabled house is distinguished by its clapboarded and exterior woodwork and opulent parlors in the interior . The property also has a matching carriagehouse with gable roof and copula . The house was originally constructed and owned by Theodore Waters Foster , but it was sold to George W. Payne in 1882 . The Foster Payne House is architecturally significant as a well designed and well preserved late 19th century suburban residence . It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1983 . History The house was built in 1878 for Theodore Waters Foster , born on May 19 , 1847 , to Chauncey Foster and Ophelia Remington . He was educated in Pawtucket and joined the Rhode Island Cavalry in 1863 . He served in the American Civil War under Nathaniel P. Banks in the Red River Campaign . In 1873 , he formed a jewelry manufacturing partnership with Walter E. White and Samuel H. Baily , named White , Foster Company . After White retired in 1878 , the company was renamed Foster Bailey . During this time , Foster constructed the house and lived in it for a period of four years , commuting to his place of business in Providence , Rhode Island . Foster would continue to be successful in his jewelry manufacturing business and his son , Theodore Clyde Foster , would succeed him upon his death in 1928 . In 1882 , Theodore Foster sold the home to George W. Payne , the owner of the G. W. Payne Company . Design Constructed in 1878 , the Foster Payne House is a two story home with a low pitched multi gabled roof . The house has a single story open porch on the western side , a kitchen ell that projects from the rear and a single story bay window that projects from the western bay of the front facade . The house is distinguished by its clapboard exterior and wooden trim under the gable peaks , the window trim and the porch brackets . There are three types of windows used on the house , single and paired one over one windows and two over two windows . The small foyer on the western entry porch leads to the main stairhall that features a gently curving staircase with turned balusters and a curving rail . The first floor rooms are arranged in an L pattern on the southern and eastern sides with the kitchen placed on the northern ell . The interior of one room , not specified in the NRHP nomination , has been altered with a pressed tin ceiling . The second floor of the home was not described in the NRHP nomination . The interior of the rooms display late Victorian details , with the front parlor having a carved marble mantlepiece , a molded central ceiling medallion and a painted ceiling with scroll work . The back parlor has a marbleized slate mantlepiece with an over mounted mirror in a Renaissance Revival frame . On the back edge of the lot is a two story clapboarded carriagehouse with a Victorian cupola . This structure was not described in the NRHP nomination , but a photo from 2013 shows the cupola has been damaged . Significance The Foster Payne House is architecturally significant as a well designed and well preserved late 19th century suburban residence , with excellent interior detail and a matching carriagehouse . The area in which it is located was situated in an upper class suburban area , but since the late 19th century commercial and industrial buildings have entered the area . The property was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1983 .
672
Guinea Bissau women 's national football team is a FIFA recognised team representing Guinea Bissau in international association football matches . Guinea Bissau have played in two FIFA recognised matches , both in 2006 against Guinea . The country also has a national under 17 side which participated in the 2012 Confederation of African Football qualifiers for the FIFA U 17 Women 's World Cup . Football is the most popular women 's sport in the country . A women 's football programme was established in 2004 , followed by the creation of a women 's national league . Team In 1985 , few countries had women 's national football teams . While the sport gained popularity worldwide in the ensuing years , Guinea Bissau 's team only began play more than two decades later . By the end of 2006 , the team had played in two FIFA recognised matches . The first was on 28 October 2006 against Guinea in Bissau , which ended in a 1 1 tie after Guinea Bissau led 1 0 at half time . On 12 November 2006 , the team played in their second FIFA recognised match in Conakry , where Guinea Bissau lost to Guinea 1 3 . At the time , the team held three training sessions a week . The team has not participated in some of the major international and regional football competitions , including the Women 's World Cup , the 2010 African Women 's Championship and the 2011 All Africa Games . The team 's average FIFA world ranking since 2006 is 119th . Its highest ever ranking was 92nd in December 2009 , and its lowest ranking was 144th in December 2007 . Guinea Bissau 's best ever rise in the rankings came in March 2008 , when the team climbed 23 places compared to its previous FIFA ranking . In March 2012 , the team was ranked the 135th in the world by FIFA and 30th in the Confederation of African Football . In June 2012 , they moved up five spots to 130th in the world but fell to the 33rd in Africa . Guinea Bissau has a FIFA recognised under 17 football team , which was established in 2006 but did not play any matches that year . The team competed in the Confederation of African Football qualifiers for the FIFA U 17 World Cup to be held in Azerbaijan in September 2012 . They did not advance beyond regional qualifiers . Background and development The development of women 's football in Africa faces several challenges , including limited access to education , poverty amongst women , inequalities and human rights abuses targeting women . Many quality football players leave to seek greater opportunities in Europe or the United States . Funding for women 's football in Africa is also an issue Most of the financial assistance for women 's football comes from FIFA , not the national football associations . Guinea Bissau won its independence in 1974 , the same year its national football federation , Federao de Futebol da unk Bissau , was founded . The federation became a FIFA affiliate in 1986 . Women 's football is provided for in the constitution of Federao de Futebol da unk Bissau , and the organisation has four full time staff members focusing on it . Football is the country 's most popular sport for women , and is supported by football programmes in schools . A national women 's football programme was established in 2004 . By 2006 , the country had 80 total football clubs , five of which were mixed and three of which were for women only . There were 380 registered female players , and a women 's teams played in a national football championship . Three years later , there were 24 active women 's teams in Guinea Bissau .
673
The 37th Boat Race , an annual side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames , took place on 22 March 1880 following a postponement two days earlier as a result of thick fog . It is the only time in the history of the event that the race has been rescheduled . Oxford won by a margin of three and three quarter lengths in a time of 21 minutes 23 seconds . Background The Boat Race is an annual rowing eight competition between the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge . First held in 1829 , the competition is a 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) race along The Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities and followed throughout the United Kingdom and worldwide . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions having won the previous year 's race by three lengths . However , Oxford held the overall lead , with 18 victories to Cambridge 's 17 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . Oxford 's coaches were George Drinkwater Bourne ( who rowed in the 1842 race ) and Tom Cottingham Edwards Moss ( who rowed four times for Oxford between the 1875 and 1878 race ) . There is no record of Cambridge 's coaches . The race was umpired , for the final time , by Joseph William Chitty who had rowed for Oxford twice in 1849 ( in the March and December races ) and the 1852 race , while the starter was Edward Searle . The race was originally scheduled for the preceding Saturday , 20 March , but was postponed until the Monday by the umpire as a result of thick fog . It is the only time the history of the event that such a course of action has been taken . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 11 st 13 lb ( 75 . 6 kg ) , 3 . 5 pounds ( 1 . 6 kg ) more than their opponents . The Cambridge crew contained three rowers with previous Boat Race experience , including the Cambridge University Boat Club president Edward Henry Prest who was participating in his third race . Similarly Oxford saw three former Blues return , including H. B. Southwell rowing for a third time . For the first time in the history of the event , two of the competitors were unk as non British , both rowing for Cambridge . Their number three , William Barton , was born in Wellington , New Zealand , while the number five , C. N. L. Armytage ( whose brother George had rowed in the 1874 race ) , was recorded as being Australian . Race Oxford won the toss and elected to start from the Middlesex station , handing the Surrey side of the river to Cambridge . At the time of the race , which commenced at unk , there was a strong easterly wind . With a higher stroke rate than their opponents , the Light Blues took the lead from the start and by Craven Steps were almost clear . At the Mile Post , Oxford had cut the lead to half a length , but were forced to take evasive action to avoid a collision with river traffic . By Hammersmith Bridge , Cambridge were nearly clear again , but at The Doves pub , Oxford 's stroke L. R. West increased the rate and reduced the deficit . Despite catching a crab , the Dark Blues continued to overhaul Cambridge and were level by the bottom of Chiswick Eyot . They took the lead along Chiswick Reach , held a two length advantage at Barnes Bridge and passed the finishing post fairly comfortably . They won by three and three quarter lengths in a time of 21 minutes 23 seconds , securing their second victory in three years and taking the overall record to 19 17 in their favour .
674
Messina was the second of three Principe di Carignano class ironclads built for the Italian Regia Marina ( Royal Navy ) in the 1860s . She was laid down in September 1861 , her hull was launched in December 1864 , and she was completed in February 1867 . Messina was a broadside ironclad armed with a battery of four 8 inch ( 200 mm ) guns and eighteen 164 millimeter ( 6 . 5 in ) guns . Her career was limited , owing to the emergence of more modern ironclads and a severe reduction in the Italian naval budget following their defeat at the Battle of Lissa in 1866 . She was discarded in 1875 and sold to ship breakers to help pay for new ironclads then under construction . Design Messina was 72 . 8 meters ( 239 ft ) long between perpendiculars she had a beam of 15 . 1 m ( 50 ft ) and an average draft of 7 . 27 m ( 23 . 9 ft ) . She displaced 3 , 868 metric tons ( 3 , 807 long tons 4 , 264 short tons ) normally and up to 4 , 245 t ( 4 , 178 long tons 4 , 679 short tons ) at full load . She had a crew of 572 . Her propulsion system consisted of one single expansion steam engine that drove a single screw propeller , with steam supplied by six coal fired , cylindrical fire tube boilers . Her engine produced a top speed of 11 . 4 knots ( 21 . 1 km h 13 . 1 mph ) from 1 , 968 indicated horsepower ( 1 , 468 kW ) , making her the fastest member of her class . She could steam for about 1 , 200 nautical miles ( 2 , 200 km 1 , 400 mi ) at a speed of 10 knots ( 19 km h 12 mph ) . To supplement her steam engine , the ship was barque rigged . Messina was a broadside ironclad , and she was armed with a main battery of four 72 pounder 8 in ( 200 mm ) guns and eighteen 164 mm ( 6 . 5 in ) rifled muzzle loading guns . The ship was equipped with a spur shaped ram at the bow . The ship 's hull was sheathed with wrought iron armor that was 4 . 75 in ( 121 mm ) thick . Service history Messina was laid down at the Regio Cantiere di Castellammare di Stabia ( Royal Dockyard in Castellammare di Stabia ) on 28 September 1861 . She was launched on 20 December 1864 and completed in February 1867 . This was too late to see action during the Third Italian War of Independence , which had ended the previous August Principe di Carignano was the only member of her class to have been completed in time for the war . The conflict nevertheless had a significant effect on Messina 's career . The government lost confidence in the fleet after the defeat at the Battle of Lissa and drastically reduced the naval budget . The cuts were so severe that the fleet had great difficulty in mobilizing its ironclad squadron to attack the port of Civitavecchia in September 1870 , as part of the wars of Italian unification . Instead , the ships were laid up and the sailors conscripted to man them were sent home . In addition , Messina was rapidly surpassed first by central battery and then turret ships , which rendered the first generation of ironclads with traditional broadside obsolete . As a result , Messina was not used in any significant way in her ten years in service . In around 1870 , the ship 's armament was revised to six 10 in ( 250 mm ) guns , four 8 in guns , and eight 164 mm guns . In 1880 , the Navy struck Messina from the list of ships and broke her up for scrap . The Navy discarded both of her sisters , along with the ironclad Re di Portogallo between 1875 and 1880 to remove the cost of maintaining them from the naval budget , as part of an effort to reduce the financial impact of the new Caio Duilio and Italia classes then under construction .
675
John Henry Dick Turpin ( 20 August 1876 10 March 1962 ) was a sailor in the United States Navy in the late 19th and early 20th centuries . Turpin was one of the first African American Chief Petty Officers in the U.S. Navy . He is also notable for surviving the catastrophic explosions of two U.S. Navy ships USS Maine in 1898 , and USS Bennington in 1905 . Early life and career Turpin was born on 20 August 1876 and enlisted in the U.S. Navy in New York City on 4 November 1896 . USS Maine He was a Mess Attendant on Maine when it exploded in Havana under mysterious circumstances on the night of 15 February 1898 . Turpin was in the pantry of the wardroom when the explosion occurred , and felt the ship heave and lift before all went dark . He worked his way aft and climbed out of the wardroom on the captain 's ladder and up onto the deck . He dove overboard and was rescued by a motor launch . Turpin was one of 90 out of the 350 officers and men aboard Maine that night to survive the explosion . According to an obituary that appeared in the Los Angeles Times , Turpin ( whose next ship assignment was not reported ) saw action in China during the 1900 Boxer Rebellion . Bennington explosion By mid 1905 , Turpin had been assigned to the gunboat Bennington . When that ship was raising steam for a departure from San Diego , California , on 21 July 1905 , she suffered a boiler explosion that sent men and machinery into the air and killed 66 of the 102 men aboard . Turpin reportedly saved three officers and twelve men by swimming them to shore one at a time . Eleven men were awarded the Medal of Honor for extraordinary heroism displayed at the time of the explosion , but Turpin was not among them . Later career In 1915 Turpin worked as a diver in efforts to raise the sunken submarine USS F 4 in Honolulu , Hawaii . He became qualified as a Master Diver most probably the first African American sailor to do so . Turpin was also credited with being involved with the development of the underwater cutting torch . Turpin served on several other ships before leaving active duty service in 1916 . After the United States entered World War I in April 1917 , Turpin was recalled to service . On 1 June 1917 , he became a Chief Gunner 's Mate on the cruiser Marblehead , which made him among the first African American Chief Petty Officers in the U.S. Navy . Turpin served at that rank until he was transferred to the Fleet Reserve in March 1919 . In October 1925 , Turpin retired at the rank of Chief Gunner 's Mate . During his time in the Navy , he was the Navy boxing champion in several different weight classifications throughout is Navy career and was a boxing instructor at the United States Naval Academy in Annapolis , Maryland . Later life After his retirement from the Navy , Turpin was employed as a Master Rigger at the Puget Sound Navy Yard in Bremerton , Washington he was also qualified as a Master Diver in his civilian duties . During World War II , Turpin tried to return to active service but was denied an account of his age . He volunteered to tour Navy training facilities and defense plants to make inspirational visits to African American sailors . Death Turpin died in Bremerton , Washington on 10 March 1962 . He was survived by his wife Faye Alice . At his funeral , his pall bearers were six Navy chief stewards . Awards Good Conduct Medal Navy Expeditionary Medal Spanish Campaign Medal China Relief Expedition Medal Nicaraguan Campaign Medal Mexican Service Medal Victory Medal
676
Patriot is a steel inverted roller coaster designed by Bolliger Mabillard at the Worlds of Fun amusement park in Kansas City , Missouri . Announced on September 7 , 2005 , the roller coaster opened to the public on April 8 , 2006 . The ride lasts about 2 minutes and 18 seconds and features four inversions , a maximum height of 149 feet ( 45 m ) and a length of 3 , 081 feet ( 939 m ) . History Patriot was announced on September 7 , 2005 and was the park 's largest investment at the time . Construction started in the transfer track and station area before progressing to the lift hill in early October 2005 . Just over two weeks later , the roller coaster 's 149 foot ( 45 m ) lift hill was topped off . After erecting the first drop and loop , construction on the zero gravity roll was complete by mid November . The third inversion , and Immelmann loop , was completed about a week later followed by the placement of the inclined loop pieces . After the corkscrew and other track elements were completed , the final piece of track was placed in the morning of January 13 , 2006 . After testing was completed , the attraction opened to the public on April 8 , 2006 . Ride experience After departing from the station , the train makes a left turn leading directly to the beginning of the 149 foot ( 45 m ) lift hill . Once the train reaches the top of the lift hill , it makes a sharp , downward 129 foot ( 39 m ) drop followed by a 89 foot ( 27 m ) loop . After exiting the loop and making a slight right turn , the train goes up leading into a zero gravity roll . The train drops back to the ground before going through an Immelmann loop . Next , the train enters an inclined loop . Then the train , goes over a small inverted hill , drops to the ground , and makes a left turn into a corkscrew . Then the train makes a right turn which leads to the brake run . The train then makes a left turn back into the station where the next riders board . One complete cycle of the roller coaster lasts about 2 minutes and 18 seconds . Characteristics Trains Patriot operates with two steel and fibreglass train which were manufactured in Switzerland before being shipped to Kansas City . Each train has seven cars that can seat four riders in a single row for a total of 28 riders per train . The train structure is colored blue , yellow , and white and the seats and over the shoulder restraints are both red . Track The steel track of Patriot is approximately 3 , 081 feet ( 939 m ) long . The height of the lift hill is approximately 149 feet ( 45 m ) high , and ( with the supports ) weighs approximately 1 , 850 , 000 pounds ( 840 , 000 kg ) . It was fabricated by Clermont Steel Fabricators in Batavia , Ohio , who manufactures Bolliger Mabillard 's roller coasters and was erected by unk Steel . The track color is red with a continuous white strip running through the middle , and the supports are blue . Reception Mike ( no last name given ) from NewsPlusNotes likes the fact that Patriot and Talon at Dorney Park Wildwater Kingdom are very similar in terms of their layouts . He also praises the ride for its speed and enjoyability , The train heads through those elements at a good clip and keeps the fun factor up throughout the ride . Awards In Mitch Hawker 's worldwide Best Roller Coaster Poll , Patriot peaked at position 48 in its second year of operation . The ride 's ranking in subsequent polls is shown in the table below . The roller coaster has never placed in Amusement Today 's Golden Ticket Awards .
677
Interstate 705 ( abbreviated I 705 , also known as the Tacoma Spur ) is a short Interstate Highway spur route of Interstate 5 located entirely within Tacoma , Pierce , Washington , United States . I 705 serves as the connector between Interstate 5 , Downtown Tacoma , Tacoma 's waterfront , North Tacoma , and the Tacoma Dome . I 705 was the last portion of the Interstate Highway System to be constructed in Washington . Route description The Tacoma Spur begins as a continuation of Washington State Route 7 ( SR 7 ) underneath I 5 in Tacoma , and has a posted speed limit of 60 miles per hour ( 97 km h ) for the entire length ( 1 . 5 Miles ) . Traveling northbound as a continuation of SR 7 , the first exit is for South 26th Street , which provides access to the Tacoma Dome , the Tacoma Dome transit hub and the Tacoma Amtrak station . A single point urban interchange ( SPUI ) with SR 509 ( South 21st Street ) provides access to the University of Washington Tacoma campus , as well as the Port of Tacoma via the East 21st Street Bridge . The left two lanes of I 705 separate , providing access to A Street , as well as South 15th Street Pacific Avenue , however travelers merging onto northbound I 705 can not access this exit . The Bridge of Glass , linking the Museum of Glass on the unk to downtown Tacoma , passes over I 705 as it continues north , paralleling the Thea Foss Waterway to the east , and unk Park to the west . A signalled at grade intersection with Stadium Way marks the end of I 705 northbound . Traveling southbound towards I 5 , I 705 begins with on ramps from Stadium Way South and from Schuster Parkway . Passing unk Park on the south , traffic from South 9th Street and A Street merge onto I 705 . Traffic coming from Bates Technical College and South 13th Street join the freeway , as well as traffic from South A Street . A SPUI with SR 509 ( South 21st Street ) is the only exit in Tacoma , before either exiting onto I 5 southbound towards Portland , Oregon , I 5 northbound towards Seattle and Vancouver , British Columbia , or onto SR 7 . Every year the Washington State Department of Transportation ( WSDOT ) conducts a series of surveys on its highways in the state to measure traffic volume . This is expressed in terms of average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) , which is a measure of traffic volume for any average day of the year . In 2011 , WSDOT calculated that as few as 26 , 000 cars used the spur at the continuation point from SR 7 , and as many as 72 , 000 cars between the onramp from I 5 and SR 509 . The entire Tacoma Spur is listed on both the WSDOT List of Highways of Statewide Significance , which marks the highway as a critical to connecting major communities in the state , and the National Highway System , a system of roads that are important to the nation 's economy , defense and mobility . History The Tacoma Spur was first codified into law by the Washington State Legislature in 1979 however due to federal budget cuts , construction on the freeway was not completed until 1990 . The highway was the last Interstate to be completed in the state of Washington . The Tacoma City Council in 1992 proposed to name the freeway Martin Luther King Way , however that name was finally applied to nearby K Street . Work on the single point urban interchange , costing 29 . 4 million ( equivalent to 48 million in 2016 ) , was completed in 1993 to accommodate the changes that were made to SR 509 through Tacoma . Exit list The entire highway is in Tacoma , Pierce County . All exits are unnumbered .
678
New York State Route 122 ( NY 122 ) is an east west state highway in northern Franklin County , New York , in the United States . The western terminus of the route is at an intersection with NY 37 in the town of Westville . Its eastern terminus is at a junction with U.S. Route 11 ( US 11 ) in the town of Burke . Near its midpoint , NY 122 has a short overlap with NY 30 in the town of Constable . NY 122 serves as a northerly bypass of the village of Malone , situated 6 miles ( 10 km ) to the south . NY 122 was assigned c . 1938 as a north south connector between what is now NY 11B and US 11 in the nearby town of Bangor . It was extended northeast to Burke via Westville after the state acquired ownership of the Westville Burke highway in 1980 , and truncated to begin in Westville about 10 years later . Modern NY 122 follows what was originally designated New York State Route 188 during the 1930s . Route description NY 122 begins at an intersection with NY 37 in the Westville hamlet of Westville Center as an eastward continuation of County Route 19 ( CR 19 , Jewett Road ) . The route initially heads eastward from NY 37 as a rural , two lane road before ducking to the southeast . After an intersection with Bird Road roughly 0 . 75 miles ( 1 . 21 km ) from Westville Center , it continues on a southeasterly track for 2 miles ( 3 . 2 km ) , running alongside the Salmon River before curving eastward into the town of Constable . NY 122 soon enters the hamlet of the same name , where the undeveloped surroundings give way to a stretch of residences on both sides of the highway . In the center of Constable , NY 122 intersects NY 30 , which overlaps with NY 122 for one block on its way from Malone to the Canadian border . The highway continues east from NY 30 , serving residences in the eastern part of the hamlet before curving to the southeast and entering another rural area . The road crosses into the town of Burke at a junction with Constable Burke Town Line Road 3 miles ( 4 . 8 km ) east of Constable , and subsequently takes on a more pronounced southeasterly alignment . NY 122 ends 1 . 5 miles ( 2 . 4 km ) later at an intersection with US 11 just west of the hamlet of Burke Center . History In the 1930 renumbering of state highways in New York , a north south highway in the town of Bangor that linked the hamlets of Bangor and North Bangor was designated as part of NY 187 , an east west route connecting Nicholville to North Bangor via Bangor . Farther north , an east west roadway between NY 10 ( now NY 30 ) in Constable and US 11 in Burke was assigned the NY 188 designation . NY 187 was realigned c . 1937 to continue east from Bangor to Malone via modern NY 11B . Its former routing between Bangor and North Bangor was designated as NY 122 by the following year . Meanwhile , NY 188 was extended west to NY 37 in Westville c . 1932 before it was removed c . 1939 . On April 1 , 1980 , ownership and maintenance of former NY 188 ( by this point redesignated as CR 22 ) was transferred from Franklin County to the state of New York as part of a highway maintenance swap between the two levels of government . In return , the state transferred all of then NY 122 to Franklin County . The new Westville Burke state highway became part of NY 122 , which was extended north along CR 19 to Westville Center and east along former NY 188 to Burke . NY 122 was truncated between 1985 and 1993 to consist only of the state maintained part of the route between Westville and Burke . Major intersections The entire route is in Franklin County .
679
Desde un Principio From the Beginning is a greatest hits album from American recording artist Marc Anthony . The album was released on November 9 , 1999 by RMM Records Video ( RMM ) . It was a result of Anthony leaving RMM Records and signing on with Columbia Records . The recording contains fourteen tracks from his years with RMM and No Me Ames by Jennifer Lopez and Anthony . Allmusic 's Jose Promis praised Desde un Principio From the Beginning , calling the album an ideal introduction to the artist , although he complained about the songs on it being truncated , particularly towards the end . The album received a Billboard Latin Music Award for Latin Greatest Hits Album of the Year . Desde un Principio From the Beginning reached number one on both the Billboard Top Latin Albums and the Billboard Tropical Albums charts , and became the best selling album of 2000 on both charts . The album was certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America ( RIAA ) after shipments reached 500 , 000 copies . Background After the release of Contra la Corriente in 1997 , disputes over certain business practices arose between Marc Anthony and RMM executive Ralph Mercado . Columbia Records had approached Anthony to sign a contract with their record label . However , Mercado would not allow Anthony to leave RMM Records because of an earlier contract committing Anthony to record two more albums for RMM . Anthony filed a lawsuit , and with the backing of Columbia Records , bought out the remainder of the contract . As part of the settlement , Anthony allowed RMM Records to release a greatest hits collection from his earlier records . Content Desde un Principio From the Beginning includes a total of fifteen songs , most of which came from his recordings with RMM . Four songs were selected from each of his earlier albums ( Otra Nota , Todo a Su Tiempo , and Contra la Corriente ) . The opener , a tropical version of No Me Ames , is a duet with American singer and actress Jennifer Lopez she included the recording on her debut album On the 6 ( 1999 ) . Vivir lo Nuestro , featuring La India , was originally recorded on the RMM Records compilation album unk Perfecta . Preciosa is a cover of the Rafael Hernndez song which Anthony had recorded for a tribute album to Hernandez , Romance Del unk La Musica del Rafael Hernndez . Commercial reception The album debuted at number three on the Billboard Top Latin Albums on the week of November 27 , 1999 and reached number one the following week . The recording debuted atop the Billboard Tropical Albums chart on the week of November 27 , 1999 , and remained at number one for five consecutive months . Desde un Principio From the Beginning peaked at number 151 on the Billboard 200 chart and became the best selling album of 2000 for the Top Latin Albums and Tropical Albums charts . It was then certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America ( RIAA ) . Critical reception Jose Promis of Allmusic gave the album 4 . 5 out of 5 stars . He described it as a superb collection , and wrote that Desde un Principio provides a wonderful introduction to the music of Marc Anthony , a singer that , undoubtedly , will one day rank among the best . Promis also complained that the songs were severely truncated , especially near their end . In 2001 , Anthony received a Billboard Latin Music Award for Latin Greatest Hits Albums of the Year . Track listing The following track information is from Allmusic . Chart performance Album certification
680
Nycticebus linglom is a fossil strepsirrhine primate from the Miocene of Thailand . Known only from a single tooth , an upper third molar , it is thought to be related to the living slow lorises ( genus Nycticebus ) , but the material is not sufficient to assign the species to Nycticebus with certainty , and the species name therefore uses open nomenclature . With a width of 1 . 82 mm , this tooth is very small for a primate . It is triangular in shape , supported by a single root , and shows three main cusps , in addition to various crests . The absence of a fourth cusp , the hypocone , distinguishes it from various other prosimian primates . Taxonomy Nycticebus linglom was described in 1997 by French paleontologists Pierre Mein and Lonard Ginsburg in a report on the fossil mammals of Li Mae Long , a Miocene site in Thailand . The animal is known from a single tooth , and on the basis of comparisons with other prosimian primates Mein and Ginsburg concluded that it is most closely related to the living slow lorises ( genus Nycticebus ) . However , in view of the very limited material , they only tentatively assigned the fossil species to Nycticebus , using open nomenclature . The specific name , linglom , is the Thai word for loris . Description The single known tooth , a third upper molar ( M3 ) known as T Li 41 , is tiny , with a length of 1 . 29 mm and width of 1 . 82 mm . Mein and Ginsburg claim that it is the smallest known prosimian molar . The tooth is triangular in shape and shows a simple , reduced morphology . Three important cusps the protocone , paracone , and metacone are present , connected by a crest . They are low and rounded . The metacone , located at the back of the tooth , is closer to the protocone , which is on the front lingual corner ( the side of the tongue ) , than it is to the paracone on the front labial corner ( the side of the cheeks ) . The protocone is rounded on the lingual side and is attached to a weak crest on the front and back . On the front labial corner , a lengthy crest , the unk crest , is present , which includes a minor cusp known as a parastyle . Some wear is visible on the unk crest , and at the front of the tooth a contact facet with the preceding second upper molar is present . The tooth has a single , well developed root , which contains a number of grooves , suggesting that it consists of three smaller , fused rootlets . Nycticebus linglom is much smaller than the fossil unk primates , and unlike tarsier M3s , the single known fossil is reduced in form and lacks a fourth main cusp , a hypocone . With its reduced , triangular form , it more closely resembles lorises ( family Lorisidae ) , but the absence of a hypocone also distinguishes it from the slender lorises ( Loris ) , the angwantibos ( unk ) , and the pygmy slow loris ( Nycticebus pygmaeus ) . The fossil genus unk lacks the rounded lingual face of the protocone seen in N. linglom and possesses additional cuspules . However , N. linglom strongly resembles the Bengal slow loris ( Nycticebus bengalensis ) , from which it is distinguished by its smaller size and fused roots . Range and ecology Li Mae Long , the collection site of N. linglom , is dated to the latest Early Miocene , corresponding to the European zone MN 4 , around 18 mya . It is in the Thai province of unk . The fossil fauna encompasses 34 species of mammals , including the tarsier Tarsius thailandica and the treeshrew Tupaia miocenica . Mein and Ginsburg conclude that the fauna represents a tropical forest environment close to a shallow lake .
681
Typhula quisquiliaris , commonly known as the bracken club , is a species of club fungus in the family unk . It produces small , white fruit bodies up to 9 millimetres ( 0 . 4 in ) in height , each with a single distinct head and stem . The head is fertile , while the stem attaches to a sclerotium embedded in the substrate . The fruit bodies grow from dead wood , and strongly favours bracken , where the species feeds unk . Though T. quisquiliaris was described under a different name by James Sowerby in 1803 , the specific name quisquiliaris was sanctioned in 1821 by Elias Magnus Fries , and the species was moved to the genus Typhula , which resulted in its currently accepted binomial name by Paul Christoph Hennings in 1896 . The species has been recorded in Europe and north Africa . Taxonomy Typhula quisquiliaris was first described by James Sowerby in 1803 as Clavaria obtusa . However , this name was found to be illegitimate , as it had already been given to a different species by Christiaan Hendrik Persoon in 1797 . The species was given its sanctioned name several years later by Elias Magnus Fries , in his 1821 Systema Mycologicum . Fries named the species unk quisquiliaris , having previously ( in 1818 ) named it Clavaria quisquiliaris . The specific name quisquiliaris is from the Latin meaning pertaining to refuse . In the same year , Samuel Frederick Gray reclassified Sowerby 's Clavaria obtusa , naming it Geoglossum unk . Fries 's name was taken up as the valid one , however , and in 1896 , Paul Christoph Hennings transferred the species to Typhula , giving the species the name by which it is known today . However , the name unk quisquiliaris was sometimes used into the 20th century . For instance , Carleton Rea used it in a 1922 publication . The species is commonly known as the bracken club . Description Typhula quisquiliaris produces fruit bodies in the form of clubs . Each fruit body consists of a single distinct stem and head , and measures up to 7 mm ( 0 . 3 in ) in height . The surface of the head is smooth and white , and measures 1 . 5 to 4 mm ( 0 . 06 to 0 . 2 in ) by 1 to 2 . 5 mm ( 0 . 04 to 0 . 1 in ) . The rounded stem is infertile , and of a similar colour to the head . However , it has a very fine downy covering , and is somewhat translucent . The stem measures from 0 . 3 to 0 . 4 mm ( 0 . 01 to 0 . 02 in ) in width . The stem attaches to sclerotium which is buried into the branch from which the fruit body grows . Microscopic characteristics Typhula quisquiliaris spores are narrowly ellipsoid , and measure from 9 to 14 by 4 to 5 . 5 micrometres ( m ) . The spores are white , and contain small granules . The spores are borne on basidia which measure 50 to 70 by 7 to 8 m , with four spores on each basidium . The downy covering of the stem is made up of thick walled hairs , each measuring 15 to 60 by 3 to 7 m , though they are often swollen towards the base . The sclerotium measures from 1 . 5 to 3 by 0 . 5 m , and is a pale yellow colour . Clamp connections are present in the hyphae . Habitat and distribution Typhula quisquiliaris fruit bodies are typically found in rows , growing from plant detritus . The species favours bracken , especially Pteridium aquilinum , but the colonisation of dead matter from other plants is not unknown . Upon these substrates , it feeds as a saprotroph , breaking down the dead organic matter in order to sustain itself . The species has been recorded in Europe and northern Africa . In Europe , the fruit bodies can be encountered from April to December .
682
Route 65 is a former state highway in the city of Newark , New Jersey . The route went for 4 . 12 miles ( 6 . 63 km ) along Port Street and Doremus Avenue through the industrial districts of the city . Route 65 began at an intersection with U.S. Route 1 and 9 near Newark Liberty International Airport . The route crossed over the New Jersey Turnpike along Port Street until an intersection with Doremus Avenue , where it turned northward for the rest of the distance , terminating at an intersection with U.S. Route 1 and 9 Truck . Route 65 was originally planned in 1939 as a spur of Route 25 , Route 25B , in Newark to connect that route with Route 25T ( now U.S. Route 1 9 Truck ) . The route lasted for 14 years , until January 1 , 1953 , when the 1953 New Jersey state highway renumbering occurred . Route 25B was decommissioned on that day , along with its parent route , Route 25 . Route 25B was redesigned as Route 65 , and was removed from the state highway system by 1963 . The two roads are now maintained by the city of Newark . Route description Route 65 began at an intersection with U.S. Route 1 and 9 in the area of Newark Liberty International Airport in the city of Newark . The route progressed eastward along Port Street , a divided highway for a short distance . The route crossed the access road to the airport before crossing over the newly constructed New Jersey Turnpike south of Interchange 14 . From there , Route 65 continued as Port Street but as one roadway into the industrial districts in Newark . The route progressed further over a railroad before intersecting with Doremus Avenue , where Route 65 turned northward off of Port Street . Both Port Street and Doremus Avenue dead end right after this respective intersection , Doremus Avenue to the south and Port Street to the east . From there , Route 65 headed northward along Doremus Avenue , crossing over the Newark Bay Extension ( Interstate 78 ) just north of the intersection . The route continued through the industrial district , reaching higher in elevation on a bridge over the Central Railroad of New Jersey ( now Conrail Shared Assets Operations , unk ) . From there , the route paralleled the turnpike 's mainline along Doremus Avenue . At the intersection with Raymond Boulevard , Route 65 became a divided highway once again , terminating at an intersection with U.S. Route 1 9 Truck in the city of Newark . History Route 65 was originally designated in 1939 as State Highway Route 25B , a spur off of State Highway Route 25 ( now U.S. Route 1 and 9 ) at a traffic circle near the Newark Metropolitan Airport ( now Newark Liberty International Airport ) . The route was then to commence along Port Street and Doremus Avenue to an intersection with State Highway Route 25T ( now U.S. Route 1 and 9 Truck ) . Route 25B remained intact along the alignment of Port Street and Doremus Avenue until January 1 , 1953 . On that day , the New Jersey State Highway Department renumbered routes in the state , and eliminated Route 25 entirely . Due to decommissioning of Route 25 , Route 25B was renumbered to Route 65 , eliminating the relation to former Route 25 or U.S. Route 1 and 9 . Route 65 remained on the Port Street and Doremus Avenue alignment for a short time , and was completely eliminated from the state system by 1963 . Port Street and Doremus Avenue are both now maintained by the city of Newark but both are of the National Highway System as of 2009 . In 2001 , the bridge over the unk line was reconstructed . Major intersections The entire route was in Newark , Essex County .
683
The 131st Boat Race took place on 6 April 1985 . Held annually , the event is a side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . Oxford won by four and three quarter lengths . Bruce Philp became the first man to row for both universities having previously rowed for Cambridge , and Henrietta Shaw became the first female cox for Cambridge . Isis won the reserve race , while Oxford were victorious in the Women 's Boat Race . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . First held in 1829 , the race takes place on the 4 . 2 mile ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities and followed throughout the United Kingdom and broadcast worldwide . Oxford went into the race as reigning champions , having beaten Cambridge by three and a quarter lengths in the previous year 's race . However Cambridge held the overall lead , with 68 victories to Oxford 's 61 . The race was sponsored by Ladbrokes for the ninth consecutive year . The first Women 's Boat Race took place in 1927 , but did not become an annual fixture until the 1960s . Until 2014 , the contest was conducted as part of the Henley Boat Races , but as of the 2015 race , it is held on the River Thames , on the same day as the men 's main and reserve races . The reserve race , contested between Oxford 's Isis boat and Cambridge 's Goldie boat has been held since 1965 . It usually takes place on the Tideway , prior to the main Boat Race . Crews Oxford were pre race favourites , and weighed an average of 4 pounds ( 1 . 8 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . Oxford 's crew contained four former Blues while Cambridge featured three . Bruce Philp became the first man to row for both universities , having represented Cambridge in the 1982 and 1983 races . Henrietta Shaw became the first woman to cox the Cambridge boat . Race Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station . A quick start from Cambridge coupled with a poor one from Oxford saw the Light Blues take a third of a length lead before being reined back at Fulham Football Club . A one second lead at the mile post preceded a period of warnings from umpire Ronnie Howard to both coxes as they contested the same water . Oxford held a canvas ' lead as the crews passed under Hammersmith Bridge and began to move away along Chiswick Eyot . A ten second lead at Barnes Bridge became a thirteen second lead at the finishing post , as Oxford took the win by four and three quarter lengths in a time of 17 minutes 11 seconds . This was Oxford 's tenth consecutive victory , and their eleventh in twelve years , and took the overall record to 68 62 in favour of Cambridge . In the reserve race , Oxford 's Isis beat Cambridge 's Goldie by six lengths , while Oxford won the 40th Women 's Boat Race . Reaction Cambridge stroke John Pritchard said I tried everything . But at the vital moment , the boat went heavy . His Oxford counterpart Francis unk said I was always optimistic that the power was there waiting to be switched on . When I asked for it , it glowed . Oxford coach Dan Topolski suggested that being given the Middlesex station was to their advantage , I was glad to have Middlesex because in training our first three minutes had always been relatively poor .
684
State Route 247 ( SR 247 ) is a state highway in the U.S. state of California in San Bernardino County . The road passes through the Mojave Desert , connecting SR 62 in Yucca Valley to Interstate 15 ( I 15 ) . SR 247 was designated by the California State Legislature in 1969 the county roads along that route were given to the state in 1972 . Route description SR 247 begins at a junction with SR 62 in the town of Yucca Valley , where it is signed as Old Woman Springs Road . From Yucca Valley , the two lane highway heads northwestward through desert , much of it through Johnson Valley , briefly passing through Flamingo Heights and the western tip of Landers . In the town of Lucerne Valley , SR 18 and SR 247 do not actually intersect , but the highways are less than 0 . 125 miles ( 0 . 201 km ) apart , connected by a short continuation road to extend SR 18 to SR 247 . A right turn at this intersection changes SR 247 's path due north as Barstow Road towards Barstow and its northern terminus at I 15 , passing by Barstow Community College . However , continuing straight on Old Woman Springs Road , instead of turning right at this intersection , leads to SR 18 , heading west by northwest to Apple Valley and Victorville . SR 247 is part of the California Freeway and Expressway System , but is not part of the National Highway System , a network of highways that are essential to the country 's economy , defense , and mobility . The route is eligible for the State Scenic Highway System , but it is not officially designated as a scenic highway by the California Department of Transportation . In 2013 , SR 247 had an annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) of 1 , 700 between Stoddard Wells Road and the Barstow city limits , and 18 , 000 at the northern terminus with I 15 , the latter of which was the highest AADT for the highway . History The California State Legislature defined Route 26 as a route from Lucerne Valley to unk Valley in 1959 . SR 247 was designated in the 1964 state highway renumbering as a route from SR 62 in Yucca Valley to SR 18 near Lucerne Valley , and then from there to I 15 in Barstow . That year , the Lucerne Valley Chamber of Commerce began an effort to have a state highway designated from Lucerne Valley to Yucca Valley along Old Woman Springs Road . By 1969 , county roads had been constructed from Barstow to Lucerne Valley , and from there to Yucca Valley . Barstow Road and Old Woman Springs Road were given to the state by San Bernardino County in 1972 , although the county had agreed to perform some improvements on the two roads after the state began to maintain them . Parts of the SR 247 roadway buckled in the Landers earthquake of 1992 , and 10 miles ( 16 km ) of the highway was closed while repairs took place . In 2001 , Caltrans indicated that most of the highway was considered maintain only until 2020 , except for the portions in Yucca Valley and Barstow , which were to be widened to six lanes . Major intersections Except where prefixed with a letter , postmiles were measured on the road as it was in 1964 , based on the alignment that existed at the time , and do not necessarily reflect current mileage . R reflects a realignment in the route since then , M indicates a second realignment , L refers an overlap due to a correction or change , and T indicates postmiles classified as temporary ( for a full list of prefixes , see the list of postmile definitions ) . Segments that remain unconstructed or have been relinquished to local control may be omitted . The entire route is in San Bernardino County .
685
Miniopterus zapfei is a fossil bat in the genus Miniopterus from the middle Miocene of France . First described in 2002 , it is known only from the site of La Grive M , where it occurs with another fossil Miniopterus species , the smaller and more common Miniopterus fossilis . M. zapfei is known from five mandibles ( lower jaws ) and an isolated fourth upper premolar ( P4 ) . The fourth lower premolar is more slender than in M. fossilis and the cingulum shelf surrounding the P4 is less well developed than in living Miniopterus . The length of the first lower molar is 1 . 57 to 1 . 60 mm . Taxonomy Miniopterus zapfei was described by Pierre Mein and Lonard Ginsburg in a 2002 paper on the ages and faunas of the fossil sites of La Grive Saint Alban in southeastern France . Mein and Ginsburg wrote that it was the second fossil Miniopterus species to be described , after Miniopterus fossilis from Slovakia , but did not mention Miniopterus unk from the Pliocene of Poland or Miniopterus tao from the Pleistocene of China . Another fossil species , Miniopterus rummeli , was described from the Miocene of Germany in 2003 . The specific name , zapfei , honors Helmuth unk , who described M. fossilis . Miniopterus also includes about 20 living species of small , insectivorous bats distributed in southern Eurasia , Africa , and Australia . Although the genus was historically placed in the family unk , it is now classified in its own family , unk . Description The known material ( unk ) of Miniopterus zapfei includes a mandible ( lower jaw ) with the fourth premolar ( p4 ) , first molar ( m1 ) , and second molar ( m2 ) a mandible with m1 a mandible with m1 and m2 a mandible with m2 and the third molar ( m3 ) a mandible without any teeth and an isolated fourth upper premolar ( P4 ) . Some of the mandibles also preserve the alveoli ( openings ) for teeth that have not been preserved . The dimensions of the p4 ( length and width ) are 1 . 03 x 0 . 88 mm m1 is 1 . 57 to 1 . 60 x 1 . 01 to 1 . 07 mm m2 is 1 . 51 to 1 . 64 x 0 . 95 to 1 . 05 mm the single m3 is 1 . 41 mm long and the single P4 is 1 . 38 x 1 . 52 mm . In a well preserved mandible , the length from the alveolus for the first incisor to the end of m3 is 8 . 80 mm and the depth of the mandible at m1 is 1 . 50 mm . Miniopterus zapfei can be identified as a Miniopterus on the basis of the possession of three lower premolars ( designated p2 , p3 , and p4 , because the original first premolar has been lost ) a two rooted p3 and the unk molars , with the posterolophid ( a crest at the back of the molar ) behind the entoconid cusp . M. zapfei is about 30 larger than M. fossilis and has a more slender p4 . Compared to living Miniopterus , the cingulum ( shelf ) that surrounds the P4 is less well developed and the parastyle crest is weaker . Range and ecology Miniopterus zapfei is known only from the site La Grive M in the village of Saint Alban de Roche , department of Isre , southeastern France . La Grive M is one of several fissure filling sites in the area , collectively known as La Grive Saint Alban , which have yielded rich fossil faunas . La Grive M is the reference locality for the MN zone MN 7 8 , about 13 to 11 million years ago . La Grive M is one of the older sites of La Grive , and Mein and Ginsburg proposed taking it as the reference locality for a separate zone MN 7 . M. zapfei is rare in La Grive M Miniopterus fossilis is much more common in the same site , and has also been found in La Grive L7 and other European localities ranging from MN 6 to MN 13 .
686
Brunei , as Brunei Darussalam , competed at the 2004 Summer Olympics in Athens , Greece , which took place between 13 to 29 August 2004 . The country 's participation in Athens marked its fourth appearance at the Summer Olympics since its debut in the 1988 Summer Olympics . The Brunei delegation included only one track and field athlete , meaning Brunei , along with British Virgin Islands and Liechtenstein , sent the lowest number of athletes to the 2004 Summer Games at one . The athlete selected was Jimmy Anak Ahar , who was a middle distance runner that was selected via a wildcard as the nation had no athletes that met the A or B standards in any event . Ahar was also selected as flag bearer for the opening ceremony . Ultimately , Ahar did not progress beyond the heats , meaning Brunei won no medals at this Summer Olympics . Background Although Brunei first participated in the Summer Olympic in the 1988 Summer Olympics in Seoul , South Korea , it was only represented by one official . It would not be until the 1996 Summer Olympics in Atlanta , United States that the country would send athletes to the Games . Since then , it has participated in four Summer Olympics between its debut and the 2004 Summer Olympics . No Brunei athlete had ever won a medal at the Summer Olympics before the 2004 Athens Games . The Brunei National Olympic Committee ( NOC ) selected one athlete via a wildcard . Usually , a NOC would be able to enter up to three qualified athletes in each individual event as long as each athlete met the A standard , or one athlete per event if they met the B standard . However , since Brunei had no athletes that met either standard , they were allowed to select an athlete as a wildcard . The one athlete that was selected to compete in the Athens Games was Jimmy Anak Ahar in the Men 's 1500 meters . Sending only one athlete to the Athens Games meant that the country , along with British Virgin Islands and Liechtenstein , was notable for sending the lowest number of athletes to the 2004 Summer Games . Ahar was flag bearer for the opening ceremony . Among officials , sports official Sofian Ibrahim represented the country . Athletics Making his Summer Olympic debut , Jimmy Anak Ahar was notable for becoming the youngest ever competitor to represent Brunei at the Olympics aged 22 . The age record stood until the 2012 Summer Olympics , when Anderson Chee Wei Lim surpassed it . Ahar qualified for the 2004 Athens Games as a wildcard , as his best time , three minutes , 59 . 81 seconds at the 2003 Southeast Asian Games Men 's 1500 meters , was 21 . 81 seconds slower than the B qualifying standard required . He competed on 20 August in the Men 's 1500 meters against thirteen other athletes in the third heat . He ran a time of 4 minutes , 14 . 11 seconds , finishing 13th . He ranked ahead of Tanzania 's unk unk ( who did not start ) , and behind Guam 's Neil Weare ( 4 minutes , 5 . 86 seconds ) , in a heat led by Great Britain 's Michael East ( 3 minutes , 37 . 37 seconds ) . Overall , Ahar placed 39th out of the 41 athletes that competed , and was 32 . 97 seconds behind the slowest athlete that progressed to the next round . Therefore , that was the end of his competition . Key Note Ranks given for track events are within the athlete 's heat only Q Qualified for the next round q Qualified for the next round as a fastest loser or , in field events , by position without achieving the qualifying target NR National record N A Round not applicable for the event Bye Athlete not required to compete in round Men
687
Caffo was a sixth century Christian in Anglesey , north Wales , who is venerated as a saint and martyr . The son of a king from northern Britain who took shelter in Anglesey , Caffo was a companion of St Cybi , and is mentioned as carrying a red hot coal in his clothes to Cybi without his clothes getting burnt . After leaving Cybi , Caffo was killed by shepherds in the south of Anglesey , possibly acting in retaliation for insults Caffo 's brother had paid to the local ruler . The area where he died has a village , Llangaffo , named after him , as well as the parish church of St Caffo , Llangaffo . Life and martyrdom Little is known for certain about Caffo his dates of birth and death are not given in the sources . He is said to have been one of the sons of St Caw , a king in northern Britain who lost his lands and sought safety with his family in Anglesey the ruler Maelgwn Gwynedd gave him land in the north east of the island , in the district known as Twrcelyn . Other relatives of Caffo included his uncles St Iestyn and St unk ( brothers of Caw ) , his sister St Cwyllog and various brothers including St Gildas ( although the number of his siblings varies from 10 to 21 in different manuscripts ) . Caffo was a companion and cousin of St Cybi , a Christian from Cornwall who was active in the mid 6th century . Cybi established himself in Anglesey within a disused Roman fort in what is now called Holyhead the town 's Welsh name is unk , or Cybi 's fort ) . Caffo is mentioned in connection with Cybi in a manuscript written in about 1200 , which contains two accounts of Cybi 's life . Caffo is not mentioned in the accounts of Cybi 's life until an incident when he was sent to fetch fire from a blacksmith . He returned to Cybi carrying a red hot coal in his clothes , which were not burnt . At some point , Cybi and Caffo parted company , possibly because of a disagreement between them , but possibly because his brother Gildas had insulted Maelgwn , who then forced Cybi to dismiss Caffo both versions appear in the manuscript accounts . Thereafter , Caffo moved towards the south of Anglesey , where he was killed by shepherds from the area now called Newborough , perhaps avenging the insult on their king . Commemoration The area of Caffo 's death became known at some point as Llangaffo , and a church was established there the Welsh word llan originally meant enclosure and then church , and unk is a modified form of the saint 's name . It is thought that there may have at one point been a monastery in this location , known as Merthyr Caffo ( Merthyr being the Welsh word for martyr ) . Caffo is venerated as a saint , although he was never canonized by a pope as the historian Jane Cartwright notes , In Wales sanctity was locally conferred and none of the medieval Welsh saints appears to have been canonized by the Roman Catholic Church . It is uncertain when the name Llangaffo was first used or when the first church was established here , but it was before 1254 , when the church and community were recorded in the Norwich Taxation ( a national survey of church names and property ) . There is still a church dedicated to Caffo in the village , used for worship by the Church in Wales . Caffo is reported to have had a bubbling holy well in the area , called unk Caffo ( Caffo 's cauldron ) or Ffynnon Caffo ( Caffo 's well ) . Parents would offer fowls to be eaten by the attendant priest , in order to stop their children from unk . A nearby farm is still named after the well , although the well itself has been lost .
688
Brunei , as Brunei Darussalam , competed at the 2004 Summer Olympics in Athens , Greece , which took place between 13 to 29 August 2004 . The country 's participation in Athens marked its fourth appearance at the Summer Olympics since its debut in the 1988 Summer Olympics . The Brunei delegation included only one track and field athlete , meaning Brunei , along with British Virgin Islands and Liechtenstein , sent the lowest number of athletes to the 2004 Summer Games at one . The athlete selected was Jimmy Anak Ahar , who was a middle distance runner that was selected via a wildcard as the nation had no athletes that met the A or B standards in any event . Ahar was also selected as flag bearer for the opening ceremony . Ultimately , Ahar did not progress beyond the heats , meaning Brunei won no medals at this Summer Olympics . Background Although Brunei first participated in the Summer Olympic in the 1988 Summer Olympics in Seoul , South Korea , it was only represented by one official . It would not be until the 1996 Summer Olympics in Atlanta , United States that the country would send athletes to the Games . Since then , it has participated in four Summer Olympics between its debut and the 2004 Summer Olympics . No Brunei athlete had ever won a medal at the Summer Olympics before the 2004 Athens Games . The Brunei National Olympic Committee ( NOC ) selected one athlete via a wildcard . Usually , a NOC would be able to enter up to three qualified athletes in each individual event as long as each athlete met the A standard , or one athlete per event if they met the B standard . However , since Brunei had no athletes that met either standard , they were allowed to select an athlete as a wildcard . The one athlete that was selected to compete in the Athens Games was Jimmy Anak Ahar in the Men 's 1500 meters . Sending only one athlete to the Athens Games meant that the country , along with British Virgin Islands and Liechtenstein , was notable for sending the lowest number of athletes to the 2004 Summer Games . Ahar was flag bearer for the opening ceremony . Among officials , sports official Sofian Ibrahim represented the country . Athletics Making his Summer Olympic debut , Jimmy Anak Ahar was notable for becoming the youngest ever competitor to represent Brunei at the Olympics aged 22 . The age record stood until the 2012 Summer Olympics , when Anderson Chee Wei Lim surpassed it . Ahar qualified for the 2004 Athens Games as a wildcard , as his best time , three minutes , 59 . 81 seconds at the 2003 Southeast Asian Games Men 's 1500 meters , was 21 . 81 seconds slower than the B qualifying standard required . He competed on 20 August in the Men 's 1500 meters against thirteen other athletes in the third heat . He ran a time of 4 minutes , 14 . 11 seconds , finishing 13th . He ranked ahead of Tanzania 's unk unk ( who did not start ) , and behind Guam 's Neil Weare ( 4 minutes , 5 . 86 seconds ) , in a heat led by Great Britain 's Michael East ( 3 minutes , 37 . 37 seconds ) . Overall , Ahar placed 39th out of the 41 athletes that competed , and was 32 . 97 seconds behind the slowest athlete that progressed to the next round . Therefore , that was the end of his competition . Key Note Ranks given for track events are within the athlete 's heat only Q Qualified for the next round q Qualified for the next round as a fastest loser or , in field events , by position without achieving the qualifying target NR National record N A Round not applicable for the event Bye Athlete not required to compete in round Men
689
The 46th Boat Race took place on 30 March 1889 . The Boat Race is an annual side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . For the first time in the history of the event , all eight rowers in the Cambridge crew had rowed the previous year . Cambridge won by three lengths in a time of 20 minutes 14 seconds , their fourth consecutive victory which took the overall record in the event to 23 22 in Oxford 's favour . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . First held in 1829 , the race takes place on the 4 . 2 miles ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities it is followed throughout the United Kingdom and as of 2014 , broadcast worldwide . Cambridge went into the race as reigning champions having won the previous year 's race by seven lengths , while Oxford held the overall lead , with 23 victories to Cambridge 's 21 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . Cambridge 's coaches were Fraser Emilie Churchill ( who had rowed for the Light Blues in the 1883 , 1884 and 1885 races ) , Charles William Moore ( who represented Cambridge in the 1881 , 1882 , 1883 and 1884 races ) , Frederick Islay Pitman ( who rowed in 1884 , 1885 and 1886 ) , Herbert Edward Rhodes ( who rowed in the 1873 , 1874 , 1875 and 1876 races ) and Henry Tudor Trevor Jones . Oxford were coached by Tom Cottingham Edwards Moss ( who rowed for the Dark Blues four times between the 1875 and the 1878 races ) and William Grenfell ( who rowed for Oxford in 1877 , 1878 and was non rowing boat club president in 1879 ) . The umpire for the race was Frank Willan who won the event four consecutive times , rowing for Oxford in the 1866 , 1867 , 1868 and 1869 races . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 12 st 3 . 5 lb ( 77 . 6 kg ) , 3 . 25 pounds ( 1 . 5 kg ) per rower more than their opponents . For the only time in the history of the event , every rower from the Cambridge crew had taken part in the previous year 's race , with Stanley Muttlebury making his fourth consecutive appearance . As a result of the availability of the former Blues , there was little competition in the trial eights , and the Cambridge crew were considered to be not nearly as fast as they had been in 1888 . Only the cox Thomas Welby unk was new to the event . Oxford 's crew contained three former Blues , including H. R. Parker who was rowing in his third Boat Race . All of the competitors were registered as British . Race Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , handing the Middlesex side of the river to Oxford . Commencing at unk , at a high stroke rate Cambridge took an early lead , before settling down to a long , steady and tremendously powerful stroke . By the Crab Tree pub , they were almost clear and despite a spurt from the Dark Blues , Cambridge were a length and a half ahead by Hammersmith Bridge . They continued to pull away at Chiswick and despite the tremendous sea raised by the wind above Barnes , extended their lead further to win by three lengths in a time of 20 minutes 14 seconds . It was Cambridge 's fourth consecutive victory and their fifth in six years , with the fastest winning time since Oxford 's victory in the 1882 race . The victory took the overall record to 23 22 in Oxford 's favour .
690
M 203 is a north south state trunkline highway in the Upper Peninsula of the US state of Michigan . It connects McLain State Park with US 41 on each end in Hancock and Calumet . The trunkline has existed since commissioning in 1933 except a period of time when it was temporarily decommissioned . Route description The M 203 designation is maintained by the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) to provide access to McLain State Park . The trunkline is not listed on the National Highway System , a system of strategically important highways . No section of it is located on the Lake Superior Circle Tour , although it is the closest state trunkline to Lake Superior in the area . The highway runs through forest lands and city streets most of the way , with the section along the Portage Lake Canal being residential most of the way . Southern section The southern terminus of M 203 is at the west end of a pair of one way streets carrying US 41 through the City of Hancock at the bottom of Quincy Hill . Northbound US 41 follows Quincy Street while southbound traffic is directed along Hancock Street . The two directions merge along Lincoln Drive , and M 203 is the two way , western continuation of unk Street west of Lincoln Drive , passing north of the St. Joseph Cemetery . M 203 then runs along the north shore of the Portage Lake Canal turning northward and northwesterly along the canal . South of the canal 's northern entry to Lake Superior , MDOT measured the annual average daily traffic ( AADT ) at 820 vehicles in 2007 . By Bear Lake Road , M 203 turns east to the front gate of the state park running parallel to Lake Superior . McLain State Park McLain State Park is a Michigan state park on the Keweenaw Peninsula , in the Copper Country . It is located on M 203 halfway between Hancock and Calumet . The park is on the shore of Lake Superior , and most of the beach areas are rocky . However , a stretch of land on the edge of the park near the Keweenaw Waterway is sandy and good for swimming . This area is known as the unk , known to some locals as just the Breakers . Northern section Passing the park gate , M 203 continues northeasterly . The roadway skirts the northern shore of Bear Lake on the eastern end of the state park . At Lakeshore Drive , M 203 turns inland running due east to unk Road then turning north and east along Veterans Memorial Highway . Along this section of roadway , the AADT was measured at 440 vehicles in 2007 . The highway follows Veterans Memorial Highway through the neighborhood of Tamarack west of Calumet . From there it continues eastward , following Pine Street north of downtown Calumet , looping back to US 41 M 26 . The northern terminus of M 203 is at the intersection of Pine Street and Calumet Avenue , 17 . 944 miles ( 28 . 878 km ) away from the southern terminus in Hancock . History M 203 was first designated as a spur route from Hancock north to the state park in 1933 . It was later cancelled as a state highway in 1939 . This cancellation was reversed in late 1940 . At this time , the M 203 designation was extended from McLain State Park north ( on what was Houghton Co . Rd . 566 ) to Calumet . A construction project rerouted the roadway near the state park in 1963 . The highway 's routing was moved out of the park proper , bypassing it to the east . The road surface inside the park was partially obliterated in the process . No further changes to M 203 's routing have been made since . Major intersections The entire highway is in Houghton County .
691
Dmonen is a steel Floorless Coaster roller coaster at the Tivoli Gardens amusement park located in Copenhagen , Denmark . Designed by Bolliger Mabillard , it reaches a height of 92 feet ( 28 m ) , is 1 , 850 . 4 feet ( 564 . 0 m ) long , and reaches a maximum speed of 48 miles per hour ( 77 km h ) . The roller coaster features a vertical loop , an immelmann loop , and a zero gravity roll . Dmonen replaced unk , a family roller coaster , and officially opened on April 16 , 2004 . A record number of guests attended the park that year , but the public has since given the ride mixed reviews . History unk , Tivoli Gardens 's family roller coaster , closed on September 21 , 2003 to make room for Dmonen . Once the roller coaster was demolished , construction for the new roller coaster commenced . By the beginning of December , most of the brake run and station portions of the track were erected . By the new year , the lift hill was topped off . The first drop was completed by the end of January 2004 and the last piece of track was placed in February . The ride is currently sponsored by Mazda . Ride experience After riders have boarded and the station floor is retracted , the train begins to climb the 92 foot tall ( 28 m ) chain lift hill . Once at the top , the train makes an approximate 180 degree downward left turn followed by an upward right turn . Following the turn , the train enters the main 65 . 6 foot ( 20 . 0 m ) drop reaching a top speed of 48 miles per hour ( 77 km h ) leading directly into a vertical loop . The train then immediately goes through an immelmann loop . Next , the train makes a slightly banked right turn into a zero gravity roll . After an upward left turn , then another right turn , the train rises up leading into the final brake run . The train then makes a 180 degree left turn leading back to the station . One cycle of the ride lasts about 1 minute and 46 seconds . Characteristics Track The steel track of Dmonen is approximately 1 , 850 . 4 feet ( 564 . 0 m ) long , and the height of the lift is 92 feet ( 28 m ) high . The track was designed by Bolliger Mabillard and is filled with sand to reduce the noise made by the trains . Also , the track is painted red while the supports are silver . Trains Dmonen operates with two steel and fiberglass trains . Each train has six cars that can seat four rides in a single row , for a total of 24 riders per train each seat has its own individual over the shoulder restraint . This configuration allows the ride to achieve a theoretical hourly capacity of 1 , 200 riders per hour . The structure of the trains are colored orange the seats and restraints are black . Also , unlike traditional steel roller coasters , Dmonen has no floor on its trains . Reception Mia Christensen and Andreas unk from BT said that the ride was fantastic and that it has lived up to its name . Ethan Williams from Daily Mail said , the fun didn 't last long enough for me , and gave Dmonen two out of five for speed and surprise factor , three out of five for fear factor , and a three out of five overall . After the first year of the roller coaster 's operation , Tivoli Gardens announced that a record 3 , 346 , 000 guests attended the park in the 2004 season however , attendance dropped 186 , 000 the following year . In 2004 , Dmonen was voted the 98th best steel roller coaster in the world in Mitch Hawker 's Best Steel Roller Coaster Poll . The roller coaster peaked at 65th place in 2005 . Dmonen has never placed in Amusement Today 's Golden Ticket Awards .
692
Poco Pine ( 1954 1974 ) was an American Quarter Horse stallion and breeding stallion . He earned 50 Grand Championships in his showing career and after his death was inducted into the American Quarter Horse Association 's ( or AQHA ) AQHA Hall of Fame in 2010 . Two of his descendants have also been inducted into the AQHA Hall of Fame . 37 of his offspring earned an AQHA Championship during their own showing careers . Life Poco Pine was a 1954 bay stallion , sired by Poco Bueno , and out of Pretty Rosalie , a daughter of Pretty Boy . As a foal , he was bought at E. Paul Waggoner 's 1954 Waggoner Ranch sale by Paul Curtner . Curtner had originally intended to purchase a daughter of Blackburn and a filly by Poco Bueno , but instead ended up purchasing two different horses a mare by Pretty Boy ( Pretty Rosalie ) and a colt by Poco Bueno ( Poco Pine ) . While still at the sale , Curtner was approached by two employees of Waggoner 's , both informing Curtner that in their opinion , he 'd bought the best mare in the sale . One of the employees , Pine Johnson , Waggoner 's trainer , also felt that the colt was the best Poco Bueno colt he 'd ever seen . Because of Johnson 's praise for the colt , Curtner decided to register the foal as Poco Pine . Poco Pine was shown about five times as a weanling , winning all the halter classes he was shown in . Curtner , however , felt that he was slow to develop and therefore didn 't show him as a yearling or as a two year old . By 1957 Curtner felt that Poco Pine was once again ready to perform , and took him to a show in Fort Worth , Texas . Although Poco Pine won his class , Curtner was sure the horse wouldn 't win either Grand Champion or Reserve Grand Champion , and ended up betting B. F. Phillips and Billy Bush that Poco Pine would not win the championship or reserve . Poco Pine won the Championship , which meant that Curtner lost money on his horse winning . Curtner 's goal with Poco Pine 's halter career was to have the stallion win 50 Grand Championships , a goal the stallion accomplished on October 27 , 1960 , when he was six years old . Curtner then retired the horse from halter showing . While Poco Pine was showing at halter , he was also showing in cutting competitions and standing at stud to a large book of mares . In 1958 , for example , he bred 80 mares at a stud fee of 800 ( approximately 6 , 600 in 2016 ) as well as showing both halter and cutting . In August 1960 , Poco Pine earned enough performance points to qualify for an AQHA Championship and was retired from performance showing . In total , Poco Pine earned 135 AQHA Halter points and 17 AQHA Performance points . Curtner had two opportunities to sell Poco Pine during his showing career the first time for 40 , 000 ( approximately 328 , 100 in 2016 ) , the second for 100 , 000 ( approximately 820 , 200 in 2016 ) but both times he turned the offers down . Breeding career Poco Pine 's foals earned 14 , 794 in National Cutting Horse Association competition . He sired 37 AQHA Champions , 19 Superior Wester Pleasure Horses , 2 Superior Trail Horses , 15 Superior Halter Horses , 84 Performance Registers of Merit and 4 year end high point horses with the AQHA . He sired 19 foals crops , with a total of 464 foals . His son Poco unk was the sire of unk Dexter , who was inducted into the AQHA Hall of Fame . Another descendant inducted into the Hall of Fame was Zippo Pine Bar , who was out of a Poco Pine daughter . Poco Pine died in his sleep on November 1 , 1974 . He was inducted into the AQHA Hall of Fame in 2010 . Pedigree
693
Above All State Park is an undeveloped Connecticut state park located in the town of Warren . Founded in 1927 , the park became the site of a military radar installation from 1957 to 1968 . Remnants of the Cold War defense installation may be seen . The park 's only amenities are unmarked , informal trails that are not maintained by the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection . History In his book on Connecticut 's state parks , author Joseph Leary traces the name to when the land was used by the Stone family , who claimed it was the highest working farm by elevation in all of Connecticut . During the 19th century , the site was considered for the Above All Mountain House , a holiday resort that was never built . Leary writes that despite its name , the park is not above all in terms of scale , views or elevation and cites the scale of Lake unk State Park , the views of Mount Tom State Park , and the elevation of Dennis Hill State Park . According to Connecticut A Guide to Its Roads , Lore , and People , the park 's name came from its top of the world isolation . The park was founded in 1927 when the heirs of Seymour Strong gifted three acres of land to the state . The State of Connecticut decided to purchase 28 additional acres from the Stanley estate in December 1927 . Above All State Park was the 36th state park to be designated . From June 1957 to June 1968 , the state park became a military installation known as the New Preston Gap Filler RADAR Annex P 50A Z 50A . In 1968 , a dirt road and cinder block building , a bunker , were added to the top of the hill as part of an upgrade to the site . Located behind the bunker was the launchpad for the Nike missiles , each carrying a 2 to 40 kiloton nuclear warhead . The site also functioned as the command and control center , but Bedell states that it was the command center for the twelve Nike sites across Connecticut . However , the site is also described as an unmanned gap filler that providing low altitude coverage that consisted of the radar and tower along with the building which contained the radar equipment and a diesel generator . Bedell states that the park reappeared on the maps after its decommissioning , but has since reverted to secrecy . This claim of secrecy is countered by it being listed on the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection website . In 1981 , the park was the subject of a study by Northeast Utilities as a possible wind power site . An anemometer and wind vane were placed atop a 65 foot ( 20 m ) tower to record wind data for no less than one year . Status The Above All State Park is managed by the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection , but it is unmarked and undeveloped . The location of the military site is the subject of debate because the website unk states that the site is not within a state park as earlier reported , but proceeds to give the same directions and description as Leary and Bedell . Photos included on the unk website show the condition of the site in 2001 and 2006 both show the buildings are extant in excellent condition , but the site says the radar tower and chain link fencing are missing . The site has been vandalized by graffiti . The park is accessed off Connecticut Route 341 and requires passing a barred gate . There are no markers , toilets , or other facilities at the Above All State Park there are some informal trails near the top of the park that are not maintained or marked by the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection .
694
Peter Aquino Aduja ( 19 October 1920 19 February 2007 ) was the first Filipino American elected to public office in the United States . He was elected as a representative in the Hawaii Legislature in 1954 . Born in the Philippines , Aduja emigrated to Hawaii in his youth , and then served in the United States Army during World War II . After World War II , he worked as a teacher , before becoming one of the first Filipino lawyers in Hawaii . After two years in elected office , he worked for the Hawaiian Department of Attorney General , and served two years as a judge , until being elected to the Hawaii House of Representatives . Aduja died in Las Vegas in 2007 . Early life Aduja was born in Ilocos Sur in the Philippines and emigrated with his family at the age of eight to Hilo , Hawaii . He was raised in nearby Hakalau , Hawaii , while his father worked on a sugarcane plantation as a unk . He attended Hilo High , where he was the student body president and an Eagle Scout , graduating with the class of 1941 as salutatorian . After high school , he went on to the University of Hawaii to major in government and history while attending university Aduja worked as a timekeeper at Pearl Harbor . In 1944 , he joined the United States Army , and along with 50 other individuals volunteered for the 1st Filipino Infantry Regiment . Following World War II he married Melodie unk unk ( died 2002 ) . He taught on the island of Hawaii , at unk Intermediate School , before attending Boston University , where in 1951 he earned a law degree . In 1953 , along with Ben Menor ( later a justice on Hawaii 's Supreme Court ) , Aduja took the bar examination , and both became Hawaii 's first Filipino lawyers . Political career In 1954 , Aduja was elected to the Territorial House of Representatives , becoming the first Filipino to be elected to public office in Hawaii and the United States . He represented one of three seats of the island of Hawaii . In 1956 , he spoke on behalf of the Republican Party at the unk territorial convention in Hilo . After a single term in office , he went on to work for the Department of Attorney General . In 1959 , he ran for State Senate from Oahu , a year when fellow Republican William F. Quinn was elected as the state 's first governor , and lost . From 1960 to 1962 , he was a district court judge , resigning from the bench in June 1962 . After two years out of the public sector , in 1966 , he was elected again to public office , this time as a member of the Hawaii House of Representatives . His district included Kailua , the North Shore , and Kahuku . While a member of the Hawaii House of Representatives , he was a delegate at the Hawaii State Constitution 's 1968 constitutional convention . Aduja departed the Hawaii House of Representatives in 1974 , and returned to the public sector in his final position as a member of the City of Honolulu 's Kaneohe Neighborhood Board , which he was on from 1986 until 1994 . Later years In 1991 , Professor Dan Boylan wrote that Aduja was one of three important Filipino politicians in Hawaii during the beginning era of Filipino politics in Hawaii . Along with Alfred unk and Ben Menor , and a few others minor individuals , they were the few Filipinos in elected office or in significant public office in Hawaii in the mid 20th century . On 19 February 2007 , he died while on vacation in Las Vegas . Governor Linda Lingle declared 29 March 2007 to be Peter A. Aduja Day . Aduja was survived by two children and two grandchildren one of whom is Melodie Aduja , a former Hawaii state senator .
695
The 44th Boat Race took place on 26 March 1887 . The Boat Race is an annual side by side rowing race between crews from the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge along the River Thames . Umpired by Robert Lewis Lloyd , Cambridge won the race by two and a half lengths after one of the Oxford crew snapping his oar in half . The winning time for the race was 20 minutes 52 seconds , and Cambridge 's victory took the overall record to 23 20 in Oxford 's favour . Background The Boat Race is a side by side rowing competition between the University of Oxford ( sometimes referred to as the Dark Blues ) and the University of Cambridge ( sometimes referred to as the Light Blues ) . First held in 1829 , the race takes place on the 4 . 2 miles ( 6 . 8 km ) Championship Course on the River Thames in southwest London . The rivalry is a major point of honour between the two universities it is followed throughout the United Kingdom and as of 2014 , broadcast unk went into the race as reigning champions having won the previous year 's race by two thirds of a length , while Oxford held the overall lead , with 23 victories to Cambridge 's 19 ( excluding the dead heat of 1877 ) . The coaches for Cambridge were Donaldson , Charles William Moore ( who represented Cambridge in the 1881 , 1882 , 1883 and 1884 races ) and Herbert Edward Rhodes ( who rowed in the 1873 , 1874 , 1875 and 1876 races ) . Oxford 's coaches were Tom Cottingham Edwards Moss ( who rowed for the Dark Blues four times between the 1875 and the 1878 races ) , R. S. Kindersley ( who rowed three times for Oxford between 1880 and 1882 ) and A. R. Paterson ( four time Blue for Oxford between 1881 and 1884 ) . The umpire for the race was Robert Lewis Lloyd ( who had rowed for Cambridge four times between 1856 and 1859 ) . Crews The Oxford crew weighed an average of 12 st 3 . 5 lb ( 77 . 6 kg ) , 4 . 25 pounds ( 1 . 9 kg ) more than their opponents . Oxford initially had just two Blues available to them in the Oxford University Boat Club president F. O. unk and Hector McLean , yet the latter 's brother Douglas was persuaded to return for his fifth Boat Race appearance , three weeks before the race following his return from India . Five of Cambridge 's crew had Boat Race experience , including the only non British participant , Australian Steve Fairbairn in his fourth race . Race The weather for the race was good , as was the tide , but a strong breeze made for some rough water . Cambridge won the toss and elected to start from the Surrey station , handing the Middlesex side of the river to Oxford . Making the better start of the two crews , Cambridge were a length ahead by Walden 's Wharf and had extended that by another half length by the time they passed the Crab Tree pub . Oxford came back into contention and by the time the crews shot Hammersmith Bridge there was little or no daylight between the boats . The other side of the bridge the crews hit rough water and as Cambridge had the advantage of shelter on their side of the river , they pulled away quickly to be three lengths clear by Chiswick . As the bend of the river began to favour the Dark Blues , they drew up once again and were almost level by Barnes Bridge when their number seven Douglas McLean broke his oar in two , effectively ending his participation in the race . Cambridge pulled away again and won by two and a half lengths in a time of 20 minutes 52 seconds . It was their second consecutive victory and their fastest time since the 1876 race . The win took the overall record to 23 20 in Oxford 's favour .
696
In Norse mythology , Vgrr or skpnir is a large field foretold to host a battle between the forces of the gods and the forces of Surtr as part of the events of Ragnark . The field is attested in the Poetic Edda , compiled in the 13th century from earlier traditional material , and in the Prose Edda , written by Snorri Sturluson in the 13th century . The Poetic Edda briefly mentions the field as where the two forces will battle , whereas the Prose Edda features a fuller account , foretelling that it is the location of the future death of several deities ( and their enemies ) before the world is engulfed in flames and reborn . Etymology The Old Norse place name Vgrr means battle surge or place on which battle surges . The name Vgrr is sometimes modernly anglicized as unk , unk , or unk . The etymology of the name skpnir is a matter of scholarly debate , but has been proposed as meaning the ( not yet ) created , not made or unk . Attestations Poetic Edda In the Poetic Edda poem Vafrnisml , the god Odin , disguised as Gagnrr faces off with the wise jtunn Vafrnir in a battle of wits . Among numerous other questions , Vafrnir asks Odin to tell him what the name of the plain is where the gods and Surtr will meet . Odin responds that the name of the plain is Vgrr , and that the size of the field is 100 leagues in every direction In his translation notes for these stanzas , Henry Adams Bellows notes that a hundred miles is a general phrase for a vast distance . In the Poetic Edda poem Ffnisml , the dying wyrm Ffnir is asked by the hero Sigurd what the name of the island is where Surtr and the gods will battle is called . Ffnir replies that the island is called skpnir . Prose Edda In the Prose Edda book Gylfaginning , the enthroned figure of High foretells the events of Ragnark . High says the Muspell 's forces will gather at the field Vgrr , a field which he adds is a hundred leagues in each direction . Then the monstrous wolf Fenrir and the immense serpent Jrmungandr will arrive . By that time , the jtunn Hrym with all of the frost jtnar and Loki with all Hel 's people will have also arrived . As these forces gather , the god Heimdallr will stand and blow into his horn , Gjallarhorn , which will awaken the gods . The gods will meet and hold a thing . Odin will ride to the well Mmisbrunnr and will consult Mmir on behalf of himself and his people . Yggdrasil , the cosmological tree , will shiver and all beings will be fearful . The gods and the einherjar will don their war gear and advance to Vgrr . Odin , wearing a golden helmet , a coat of mail , and brandishing his spear Gungnir , will ride in the front . Odin will make directly for Fenrir and the god Thor , by Odin 's side , will be unable to help him because he will be fighting Jrmungandr . The god Freyr will engage the fiery being Surtr and , since Freyr lacks the sword he gave his servant Skrnir , Freyr will fall after a rough struggle . The god Tyr will fight the hound Garmr and the two will kill one another . Thor will kill the serpent Jrmungandr but after nine steps will collapse to the ground , dead from Jrmungandr 's venom . Fenrir will eat Odin , but immediately after Odin 's son Varr will come forward and jet his foot on to the wolf 's lower jaw , and grasp its upper jaw , ripping its mouth apart , killing it . Loki and Heimdallr will kill one another and , after their death , Surtr will spray fire over the earth and burn the entire world . Later in the same chapter , High quotes Odin 's response from the above mentioned chapter of Vafrnisml .
697
thelnoth ( also unk , unk , or unk died 1038 ) was a medieval Archbishop of Canterbury . Descended from an earlier English king , thelnoth became a monk prior to becoming archbishop . While archbishop , he travelled to Rome and brought back saint 's relics . He consecrated a number of other bishops who came from outside his archdiocese , leading to some friction with other archbishops . Although he was regarded as a saint after his death , there is little evidence of his veneration or of a cult in Canterbury or elsewhere . Early life thelnoth was a son of the thelmr the Stout and a grandson of thelweard the Historian , who was a great great grandson of thelred I. In the view of the historian Frank Barlow , thelnoth was probably the uncle of Godwin of Wessex . He was baptised by Dunstan , and a story was told at Glastonbury Abbey that as the infant was baptised , his hand made a motion much like that an archbishop makes when blessing . From this motion , Dunstan is said to have prophesied that thelnoth would become an archbishop . thelnoth became a monk at Glastonbury , then was made dean of the monastery of Christ Church Priory , at Canterbury , the cathedral chapter for the diocese of Canterbury . He was also a chaplain to King Cnut of England and Denmark as well as Dean of Canterbury when on 13 November 1020 thelnoth was consecrated as Archbishop of Canterbury . thelnoth 's elevation probably was a gesture of appeasement , as thelnoth 's brother thelweard had been executed in 1017 by Cnut , who also banished a brother in law named thelweard in 1020 . A later story stated that Cnut favoured thelnoth because thelnoth had bestowed chrism on the king . This may be a garbled account of thelnoth 's participation in Cnut 's confirmation as a Christian in 1016 or his coronation in 1017 . There are some indications that he was a student of lfric of Eynsham , the homilist . Archbishop of Canterbury In 1022 thelnoth went to Rome to obtain the pallium , and was received by Pope Benedict VIII . On his return trip , he bought a relic of St Augustine of Hippo for 100 silver talents and one gold talent . He gave the relic to Coventry Abbey . He also presided over the translation of the relics of lfheah , his predecessor at Canterbury who was regarded as a martyr and saint . In 1022 thelnoth consecrated Gerbrand as bishop for the Diocese of Roskilde , which was in Scandinavia . The archbishop of Hamburg Bremen was the metropolitan of Roskilde , and the fact that Gerbrand was consecrated by an English archbishop later caused friction between the bishop and his metropolitan . Cnut was forced to concede that in the future he would not appoint bishops in Bremen 's archdiocese without the metropolitan 's advice . A later tradition held that thelnoth consecrated two Welsh bishops , one at Llandaff and one at St. David 's . The medieval chronicler William of Malmesbury praised thelnoth 's wisdom . A story of doubtful authenticity tells how he refused to crown King Harold Harefoot , as he had promised Cnut to crown none but a son of the king by his wife , Emma . Death and legacy thelnoth died in 1038 , on either 28 October , 29 October , 30 October , or 1 November . Prior to his death , some of his episcopal functions were performed by a royal priest , Eadsige . He was buried in Canterbury Cathedral . He is considered a saint , with a feast day of 30 October . While he is listed in Jean unk 's Lives of the Benedictine Saints and in the Acta Sanctorum , there is no contemporary or later evidence of a cult being paid to him at Canterbury or elsewhere .
698
M 71 is a state trunkline highway in the Lower Peninsula of the US state of Michigan . It serves as a connector between M 21 in Owosso to Interstate 69 ( I 69 ) southwest of Flint . The highway runs along a rail line in a northwest to southeast direction in rural Shiawassee County connecting a few small towns along its path . The highway dates back to the start of the state highway system in 1919 . There were some changes made to the routing in the 1930s which increased its length . Two adjacent highways have been rerouted which affected the locations of M 71 's termini . The last such change was made in the 1960s when the M 78 freeway ( now I 69 ) was completed near Durand . Route description M 71 starts in downtown Owosso at the corner of Main Street ( M 21 ) and Water Street . It follows Water Street southeasterly until it reaches Washington Street . The highway follows Washington Street south and over the Shiawassee River and turns southeasterly on Corunna Avenue . M 71 runs parallel to , and in between , the river and a branch line of the Canadian National Railway . Corunna Avenue continues this way through the community of Middletown and into Corunna . M 71 turns south through downtown Corunna on Shiawassee Street to McNeil Street . It is along this stretch of the highway that the Michigan Department of Transportation ( MDOT ) measured the highest traffic volumes for M 71 . In their 2009 survey , MDOT calculated that 10 , 577 vehicles used this section of roadway in a measurement called average annual daily traffic ( AADT ) . This value is a count for the average traffic in a day for any average day of the year . From that junction , M 71 turns easterly and then southeasterly out of town . The highway continues to run alongside the rail line through farmland to the outskirts of Vernon . M 71 crosses the Shiawassee River for a second time . The rail line and the highway diverge and run on opposite sides of town the highway rounds the northeast side and the rail line runs along the southwest side . This section of trunkline through Vernon had the lowest AADT value in 2009 with 4 , 371 vehicles . M 71 continues to the interchange with I 69 at exit 118 northwest of Durand , where the highway designation terminates . No part of M 71 has been listed on the National Highway System ( NHS ) . The NHS is a system of roads important to the nation 's economy , defense and mobility . History M 71 was formed by July 1 , 1919 as a spur route from M 21 , which ran along Lytle Road , southerly to Durand . Around 1925 , a realignment of M 21 produced changes in M 71 . M 21 was rerouted to its current alignment between Owosso and Lennon , and M 71 took over the roadway between Owosso and Corunna . At the same time , M 71 was shifted to run through Vernon . The section of M 71 between Durand and M 78 was transferred to M 78 and M 71 was shortened by 1934 . This transfer was reversed in 1935 when M 78 construction was completed . A new section of M 71 was built parallel to the Ann Arbor Railroad between Durand and Corunna in 1938 . This construction paved the last remaining unpaved segment of M 71 . The section of M 71 south of M 78 into Durand was turned back to local control in early 1939 , and M 71 was shortened one final time with the completion of the M 78 freeway ( now I 69 ) in the area in late 1960 or early 1961 . At that time , the eastern terminus was shifted to the freeway interchange instead of the old route of M 78 along Lansing Road . Major intersections The entire highway is in Shiawassee County .
699
Exercise Vigilant Eagle is a series of trilateral military exercises involving the armed forces of Canada , Russia , and the United States . The exercise is designed to prepare the Russian Air Force and the North American Aerospace Defense Command ( NORAD ) to undertake coordinated air intercept missions against hijacked civilian aircraft . Four such exercises have been held . Background Billed by its Russian , American , and Canadian participants as a first of its kind exercise for the former Cold War adversaries , Vigilant Eagle was described by Russian Air Force Col. Alexander unk as a means to develop procedures and bring the relationship between our countries closer together to unite our countries in the fight against terrorism . The groundwork for Vigilant Eagle was laid in a June 2003 meeting in St. Petersburg , Russia between President of the United States George W. Bush and President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin . Coming less than two years after the September 11 attacks , and in the aftermath of an increase in Russian American tensions resulting from the 2003 invasion of Iraq , the meeting saw progress in developing informal comity for bilateral cooperation in areas of anti terrorism . Exercises Vigilant Eagle 2010 The first Vigilant Eagle exercise was planned for 2008 but postponed until 2010 due to the South Ossetia War . According to the U.S. government , that exercise marked the first live flying event between Russia and the United States since the Second World War . Vigilant Eagle 2011 A second Exercise Vigilant Eagle was held in 2011 . In the exercise scenario , a U.S. civilian airliner operating near the Russia United States northern border was seized by terrorists and flown towards Russia . The scenario was then repeated in reverse , with an aircraft originating in Russian airspace violating NORAD 's Alaskan Air Defense Sector where it was intercepted and repelled from North American airspace . The exercise tested the ability of the Federal Aviation Administration to contact both Russian Air Force and NORAD authorities and of NORAD and the Russian Air Force to effectively liaise with each other in tracking and intercepting the hijacked aircraft . The aircraft used to represent the U.S. airliner was a civilian crewed passenger aircraft chartered from Global Aviation . Vigilant Eagle 2012 Vigilant Eagle 2012 was a command post exercise ( unk ) held in 2012 that , for the first time , did not include live flying aircraft , instead using computer simulations . Vigilant Eagle 2013 Exercise Vigilant Eagle 2013 was conducted in August of 2013 . The exercise again involved a live flying element with CF 18s of the Royal Canadian Air Force intercepting a civilian airliner west of Mount McKinley after the aircraft reported a hijacking following take off from Ted Stevens International Airport . The mission was then handed off to the Russian Air Force as the aircraft passed over the international boundary . After completion of the mission , the exercise was repeated in reverse with a Russia originating aircraft reporting a hijacking on an approach toward the international boundary . Future exercises A planned Vigilant Eagle 2014 was suspended due to tensions between the United States and Canada on one side , and the Russian Federation on the other , over the War in Donbass . The exercise would have involved , for the first time , the Japan Air Self Defense Force . According to American and Canadian officials , the exercises were canceled at their initiative .